About Jean Farris Winery & Bistro

6825 Old Richmond Road
Lexington, KY 40515
View Larger Map

From its inception, Jean Farris has embraced our families’ history in agriculture, and, our passion for fine cuisine. With us, wine is best when sharing a table with good friends and good food.

Here on the estate we grow our own fruits, vegetables, herbs, eggs, and honey to use in the winery and in the kitchen. We serve our farm products with the wine, beer, and spirits that speak of our region. To us "Home-made" is a practice not a philosophy. With that our menu changes several times a year, reflecting the seasons. Staying in time and in touch with the cycles of seasons and what is naturally available to us.

We look forward to having you joining us at our table and sharing a night at Jean Farris.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar: Tuesday - Sunday: 12:00pm - close
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 263-9463

Website:
http://www.jeanfarris.com/

Parking Details:
As you enter the property, you drive through the front vineyards of Cabernet Sauvignon and Viognier. All of the parking is close to the building in the private lot. Handicapped parking is offered with easy access to the front door. There is limited overflow parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Our small private Alcove room will sit a group of 8 to 12 and is equipped with a TV monitor ready for showing presentations to the group. Our large private Vineyard Sunroom overlooks the vineyards with an amazing view. It is fully enclosed and climate controlled for up to 80 guests, available for booking through-out the year. During the April-October period the outdoor patio is also available for booking. This space will accommodate 40 guest and can be reserved with the Sunroom or without. Also, it is covered with a large white tent but climate control is not available.

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro as a whole is available for a private party on Monday only.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanie O'Daniel: 8592639463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Duck Breast with goat cheese souffle
Butcher's Board
Filet Mignon
Pan Seared Scallops
Baked Chicken
Garden Vegetable Pasta
Seared Sea Scallops
Lemon Goat Cheesecake
Country Time Martini
Lamb Rack
Pot Pie
Perfect Burger
Duck Confit
Spicy Paloma
Heirloom Tomatoes With Rosemary
Duck
Sea bass
French Onion Soup and salad
Red Wine Poached Pear Gallette
charcuterie
Grilled Tuna with jasmine rice
Lamb
Goat Cheese, Honeycomb, And Pear Desert
Lamb Carpaccio With Blue Cheese Ice Cream.
Chocolate Brownie
Bourbon Brulee´
Carbonara
Tasting Of Country Ham
Filet Mignon with Slow Cooked Duck Egg

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Central Kentucky
Outdoor Dining
Central Kentucky
Romantic
Central Kentucky
5 More
Contemporary American
Central Kentucky
Fit for Foodies
Lexington
Romantic
Lexington
Special Occasion
Lexington
Most Booked
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

special occasion (50)
scenic view (49)
fit for foodies (42)
See All
great for outdoor dining (37)
notable wine list (34)
romantic (33)
good for groups (25)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (9)
great for lunch (4)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

My wife and I ventured to Gene Farris Wi ...

Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I ventured to Gene Farris Winery to celebrate our anniversary. We arrived early and enjoyed a cocktail and appetizer (cheese tray was very good) prior to our reservation seating. We sat at our table for nearly 10 minutes before hearing from our server. We ordered and received our drinks and salads and all was well. My wife halibut and enjoyed her meal. I ordered pork and was greatly disappointed. The menu calls for the pork to be served with estate pea shoots, raisins, almonds, grilled peaches and Granny Smith apples. Instead, it was served with whipped potatoes (which were good) and the pork was covered with a brown gravy / sauce. The unexpected substitution was something I could live with but the pork was overcooked and quite dry. I made a mistake of not sending my meal back to the kitchen and that's my fault. Overall, the service and quality of food did not match the cost of the experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great time at Jean Farris. The ...

Dined 6 days ago

Had a great time at Jean Farris. The wine was excellent and the food delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistency is key in all fine restauran ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Consistency is key in all fine restaurants. Jean Farris nails it time and again in the categories that make a good place great. It's the owners presence and attention to detail that keeps this spot on our list of favorites.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Setting

Dined on June 8, 2016

Food was delicious in a beautiful, peaceful setting. Close to everything, but felt like a true escape from the day to day. Provided a perfect evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner with a view!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Even with the rain pouring down, we loved the view of the beautiful rolling hills out of the patio windows. The cheese and meat board was delicious (I never knew how much I needed pickled watermelon rind with fresh made ricotta in my life!) and our entrees were equally good. Fun to have the options of local bourbons, beers or wines on flight, but also able to choose "higher end" wines if you wanted to from their extensive list. While it was a bit of a drive from Lexington, it was worth it for the peace and quiet and the view! The inside of the restaurant was nothing special, though, so don't think I'd have been as "wow"ed if we'd sat inside. Also, the hostess was wearing jeans, tennis shoes and a sweatshirt....not really setting a great tone for an upscale restaurant--but a great reminder that we WERE on a farm, I guess :)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good place to eat!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Jean Farris is always welcoming. It is a very warm and amicable place to eat dinner with friends and families. Thank you for the continuous great service. The dishes on the menu are all delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was very good. The server was ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was very good. The server was pleasant. However, It took way too long to get entrees.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Short staffed

Dined on May 28, 2016

Since our server disappeared for a while after taking and delivering our drink orders, we asked some questions and learned the chef and much of the wait staff were on vacation due to the long holiday weekend. We noticed no decline in the usual delicious food quality but, although very professional and courteous, the staff simply couldn't keep up with the volume of diners. Since we were in no particular hurry, this small glitch impaired our enjoyment only a little. Scallops and halibut entrée were fantastic and their specialty cocktails were also superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Jean Farris to ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I went to Jean Farris to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary. Everything was delightful!!! We enjoyed seeing the arbors, trees, and other vegetation. The food was extraordinary and we found a new Riesling to enjoy. Service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am so glad Jean Farris is open here in ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

I am so glad Jean Farris is open here in the Bluegrass.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

My wife had the duck and it was cooked p ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife had the duck and it was cooked perfectly! I had the filet and it was great. We shared a cheese plate and the red hawk is a must have. Even though it's a winery, The barrel aged old fashioned is very good.

food3
ambience4
service2

It was my daughters college graduation a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was my daughters college graduation and didn't feel the waiter was very nice at all. The setting was beautiful though.

food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Just OK

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Took Mom to "brunch" here on Mother's Day. Our reservations were at 10am, but there was only one breakfast option, everything else was really lunch (short ribs, etc.) The table where we were first seated was dark with no lighting and no window. I asked to be seated on the porch but was told it was already book, even though I had booked several weeks earlier. After a second inquiry, we were re-seated at a table with a window at least. The service was pretty good, the food was just ok. We won't be back for a meal, but it might be a nice winery to visit during the day for a tasting. (When we left, the patio was still 1/2 empty...might have been a little bit of a different experience has we been able to sit outside).

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A Diamond-in-the-Rough

Dined on May 8, 2016

Arrived from NH for daughter's graduation at UofK. Two other restaurants on OpenTable were booked for an early slot, Jean Farris was the only one whose menu appealed to us. The drive out from Lexington was beautiful and the dinner was perfect, really made our weekend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great place to celebrate

Dined on May 7, 2016

We visited JFW on a Saturday night with a large party, with a reservation. We were seated promptly, and had excellent service throughout the night. The menu was excellent and the dishes were superb, some a bit under seasoned, but overall worth the pricey price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

The scallops & duck were tasty but the f ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The scallops & duck were tasty but the food temp was not warm. The service was fair. The server seemed to be overwhelmed. Overall a very nice meal with exception of food temp & service.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Happy last minute find for dinner for 6

Dined on April 30, 2016

Used Open Table to locate any available restaurant that could accommodate 6 diners on May 1st post Rolex. Jean Farrar popped up. Definitely off the beaten path. There is actually a vineyard in front of the restaurant. Lovely restaurant overall. Food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disapoints us.

Dined on April 24, 2016

We live in Cincinnati and come to the Lexington area 2-3 times a year just as a close get away for the weekend. Dinner at Jean Farris is always a must. The food, service and ambiance always results in a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

They were a little short staffed which d ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

They were a little short staffed which delayed the entire dinner. The food was good, not great. It could be much better with just a little more attention to detail. Server was very kind, informative and professional. The setting is outstanding but the entire experience just didn't match it.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Uninspired wines

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was good,tho the portions were small. The wines were disappointing and well below the quality of those made by other vinyards in the Lexington area. Our waitress was inclined not to smile much.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely evening with friends

Dined on April 22, 2016

We enjoy dining at Jean Farris: the short drive is lovely, the food is creative and very good, it has a laid-back atmosphere for a relaxing and enjoyable evening, and the dining room is quite enough that we can enjoy talking to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect date night

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Yet again we had a fantastic experience here and we are not push overs. From the cocktails to desert it was flawless. Parmesan Chicken and Halibut were outstandingly prepared both bursting with delicate intricate flavors. Service was attentive and professional without being stuffy. You'll love this place. Do yourself and someone you love a favor. Go here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

A so-so experience

Dined on April 21, 2016

Only one waitress for five tables! Really. I had the filet mignon which tasted like it had been cooked the day before and reheated. My husband had the flank steak which had no flavor at all. I've had better food at Texas Roadhouse. The only good thing about the whole experience was the beautiful drive on the way there. I can't see us returning to Jean Farris for the food. It's unfortunate. I really wanted to like it.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience here.

Dined on April 15, 2016

My husband and I had had our first date here a few years ago and have been waiting for an opportunity to come here again as we live in Somerset, Ky. I made reservations for his birthday this year - so easy to do online. The setting was perfect, our waitress was fabulous and the food and wine were delicious. We have both raved about the tri-color carrots. And we have already recommended it to several friends. I can't wait to come again - hopefully sooner than we made it this time !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I had date night here and we loved it. The food was amazing, service was excellent. We did make reservations and went early as it was getting busy when we left so I recommend reservations for sure. Great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A Short Drive for a Great Meal

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

There are many great things about Jean Farris that I will mention, but the first is the spectacular views. We sat on the patio and watched the sun set over the vineyard. It truly was a remarkable sight and would have been great for a romantic evening for two. On this evening, we were accompanied by two other couples and everyone had great things to say about our entire experience. The sausages and cheeses we began with were outstanding and the beet salad with goat cheese was a personal favorite. A few people in our group ordered seafood, one had a pasta dish, and my wife and I split the filet. It was more than enough for the two of us. Everything was cooked perfectly and it was agreed that everyone enjoyed their meals completely. I would like to mention that while Jean Farris is my favorite local winery, it still isn't quite what you might get with a wine from more recognized regions. Their Cabernet Sauvignon is a local favorite, but at almost $50 a bottle I wouldn't consider it a bargain. Their cheaper wines probably won't impress someone with a knowledgable wine palate, but aren't bad for the price. Overall, we very much enjoyed Jean Farris Winery & Bistro and are looking forward to returning.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal with very good wine

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

The cheese appetizer was very tasty. The wine was good and very reasonably priced. Beef was really good. Chicken and macaroni and cheese dish was fantastic. Waitress was great

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

To be honest, we had no wine. The food ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

To be honest, we had no wine. The food was great. Our meals were well cooked and priced. We would gladly come back here.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fine birthday

Dined on March 23, 2016

Have been several times before. Out for relaxing evening with taste of local wines. Excellent appetizer selection. Entrees ranged from heavy to light. Will continue to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I never miss a chance to dine here!

Dined on March 18, 2016

I come to Lexington 1-2 times a year and never miss a chance to dine at Jean Farris. The food is superb and the menu is often changing, so there is generally something to tempt me. And their wines are very appealing also. I'm a bit of a food and wine snob, so was skeptical 10 years ago when first visiting, but now, I make it a point to dine there when I'm in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chuck from Wilmore

Dined on March 13, 2016

We were early, but seated anyway. Restaurant was not busy. Waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Our appetizers were good and the wine was great. The entrée was very good. we all had the medallions. I would go back anytime.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jean Farris-Stalwart and True always

Dined on March 12, 2016

Jean Farris never disappoints. We can always count on the food, service, and ambiance to make it our go-to restaurant in Fayette County. It is a hidden gem of the Lexington food scene.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful meal

Dined on March 6, 2016

We really enjoyed the cheese board and the menu selections were wonderful. My tenderloin melted in you mouth. Soups were excellent. And vegetables were all local and delicious. Our only complaint was the fish special which was smoked and seemed dry. Desserts were over the top. Definitely a keeper and we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for their Valentines prefixe menu. Food was excellent and service was great. Atmosphere was romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Not so impressed this time.

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had valentine's day here 3 years ago and even though we sat on the patio it was amazing. There were white table cloths, great music, wonderful fire pits that provided ambiance as well as warming heat. The food was great, the service was fantastic and the atmosphere was phenomenal. This year we decided to go back and enjoy it all over again. This time we sat in the main dining area. No table cloths at all let alone, white. The whole place felt cold. the service was pretty mediocre at best. My main portion was good, but the sides were pretty plain and flavorless. My wife's food was pretty bland. Nothing compared to our last visit where the food knocked our socks off. When I made the reservation I specifically asked for a table out of the way and quiet. I was told they noted that on the reservation and should be able to accommodate. When we arrived we were seated and what I would describe as the worst seat in the place. RIGHT next to the kitchen. My wife noted to me that she was freezing because every few seconds a draft would blow cold air on her. The noise from the kitchen was VERY distracting. I ended up switching seats with her to at least help her be warmer. I was not at all happy with our placement especially when half the restaurant seemed empty. For these prices I expect there to be a certain level of professionalism and dress. I saw multiple people not wearing black or professional level clothing, but dressed in jeans and what looked like t-shirts. Not the level I expect from a restaurant with this price point and reputation. It wasn't a terrible visit, but for the price I paid, I don't feel like I received the value. We will not be returning any time soon and can't in good conscience recommend to anyone else to either.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1

Always have loved Jean Farris.. Been the ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Always have loved Jean Farris.. Been there many times.. But this time we had the worst service ever.. Been in the business I don't or wouldn't complain but I'd make sure never to get her ever again... Slow on drinks.. Refills.. Waiting for dessert and she bring us 2 more entree's... I really was surprised they have someone that bad working there!!!

food5
ambience4
service3

We were charged twice for our meal and i ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We were charged twice for our meal and it took weeks to correct. I was very unhappy about this. The food and experience is great but the error was poorly handled.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice appetizers, wine, and service.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Nice Valentine's Day location. Nice drive to the restaurant. Would have liked a seat closer to the window. The appetizers were very fun and well made. The wine and dinner was good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, wine and service was outstanding!

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I couldn't have had a better date. The scallops, steak and wine were top quality and so good. We had such a great time at the winery. We look forward to going back for another date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding as always

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I dined at JF for Valentines Day and were as always very happy with our experience. While we have eaten there many times, we have never done a prix fixe before and it was wonderful. Everything was well timed, the service was professional and friendly and the food was excellent. Love this restaurant and look forward to going out again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.