About Jean Farris Winery & Bistro

6825 Old Richmond Road
Lexington, KY 40515
View Larger Map

From its inception, Jean Farris has embraced our families’ history in agriculture, and, our passion for fine cuisine. With us, wine is best when sharing a table with good friends and good food.

Here on the estate we grow our own fruits, vegetables, herbs, eggs, and honey to use in the winery and in the kitchen. We serve our farm products with the wine, beer, and spirits that speak of our region. To us "Home-made" is a practice not a philosophy. With that our menu changes several times a year, reflecting the seasons. Staying in time and in touch with the cycles of seasons and what is naturally available to us.

We look forward to having you joining us at our table and sharing a night at Jean Farris.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar: Tuesday - Sunday: 12:00pm - close
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 263-9463

Website:
http://www.jeanfarris.com/

Parking Details:
As you enter the property, you drive through the front vineyards of Cabernet Sauvignon and Viognier. All of the parking is close to the building in the private lot. Handicapped parking is offered with easy access to the front door. There is limited overflow parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Our small private Alcove room will sit a group of 8 to 12 and is equipped with a TV monitor ready for showing presentations to the group. Our large private Vineyard Sunroom overlooks the vineyards with an amazing view. It is fully enclosed and climate controlled for up to 80 guests, available for booking through-out the year. During the April-October period the outdoor patio is also available for booking. This space will accommodate 40 guest and can be reserved with the Sunroom or without. Also, it is covered with a large white tent but climate control is not available.

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro as a whole is available for a private party on Monday only.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanie O'Daniel: 8592639463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Duck Breast with goat cheese souffle
Butcher's Board
Filet Mignon
Pan Seared Scallops
Baked Chicken
Garden Vegetable Pasta
Seared Sea Scallops
Lemon Goat Cheesecake
Country Time Martini
Heirloom Tomatoes With Rosemary
Duck
Sea bass
French Onion Soup and salad
Red Wine Poached Pear Gallette
charcuterie
Grilled Tuna with jasmine rice
Lamb
Goat Cheese, Honeycomb, And Pear Desert
Lamb Carpaccio With Blue Cheese Ice Cream.
Chocolate Brownie
Lamb Rack
Pot Pie
Perfect Burger
Bourbon Brulee´
Carbonara
Tasting Of Country Ham
Duck Confit
Spicy Paloma
Filet Mignon with Slow Cooked Duck Egg

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Central Kentucky
Outdoor Dining
Central Kentucky
Fit for Foodies
Lexington
3 More
Romantic
Lexington
Special Occasion
Lexington
Most Booked
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

scenic view (54)
special occasion (52)
great for outdoor dining (42)
See All
fit for foodies (39)
romantic (37)
notable wine list (34)
good for groups (26)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for brunch (6)
hot spot (4)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jean Farris is a winery with an amazing ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Jean Farris is a winery with an amazing bistro that serves fabulous food in a beautiful setting. Sitting on the covered patio or the outdoor patio is a special treat since you are able to watch the sun setting over the Kentucky countryside (it feels like it is miles away from everything, even though it is actually well-located in close proximity to much of Lexington's more populated areas). I went with my mother as a girls' night out, and we enjoyed sharing a cheese plate - always a favorite for us. She had the flank steak and I had the filet, and both were cooked exactly as ordered and were melt-in-your-mouth succulent. Both came with perfectly cooked vegetables (incredibly fresh and flavorful as always). The wine paired well with the dinner, and they have a nice selection of other spirits if you are so inclined. We split a very tasty peach dessert with bourbon creme anglaise that was ridiculously good. The service is top-notch, and everyone is always very friendly. I highly recommend it for a nice night out.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequently go to Jean Faris for dinne ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

We frequently go to Jean Faris for dinner but the other night was the worst experience we've ever had there. Terrible service. Waited a half hour for appetizers and then one hour for entrees. No one was hungry at that point. Dinner was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

Beautiful setting, great attentive and f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful setting, great attentive and friendly waitstaff. Food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The owner is a gem. Her sincerity with c ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The owner is a gem. Her sincerity with customers is refresshing

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable upscale dining. My wife w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very enjoyable upscale dining. My wife was blown away by her pasta dish, I was underwhelmed by my lamb (probably was prepared well, but I learned I'm not a lamb guy). Very good wine and cocktail list. Nice view and ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Bobby took care of us at the bar and pro ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Bobby took care of us at the bar and provided wonderful service. Watching him make cocktails was such an experience too! The food was amazing as well as the wine. We plan on going back OFTEN! Great ambience, service, and food/drink. Definitely a gem in Lexington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice view overlooking beautiful farm whi ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Nice view overlooking beautiful farm while enjoying an excellent dinner with attentive service. Will be a repeat performance soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The atmosphere was incredible!! Sit on t ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The atmosphere was incredible!! Sit on the patio. Service and food amazing. Wine as you would expect... Fab!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow. Food was not ver ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was very slow. Food was not very good and certainly not worth the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Always love going there! Wonderful food ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Always love going there! Wonderful food, wines are some of the best KY wines. Ambiance is great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, fresh, creative food. Invent ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent, fresh, creative food. Inventive and delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was great. Patio was really cozy. E ...

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was great. Patio was really cozy. Excellent dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expansive sun room with views of vineyar ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Expansive sun room with views of vineyards and rolling pastures. Perfect for creating the atmosphere of outdoor dining - without all the bugs. Engaging and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the scallops and my wife had the B ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I had the scallops and my wife had the Bouillabaisse which she did not like at all. I had a total of 3 scallops and a small be of rice which for the price was ridiculous. My wife said her sauce was off and the bread slices were actually burnt. She did like her flight of wine and I did not like anything. I left still hungry and now I know why Jonathan's restaurant went under with this chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

Was anxious for some summer seafood and ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Was anxious for some summer seafood and ordered the bouillabaisse. Was disappointed to say the least. It lacked substance (really popcorn shrimp?), i.e. seafood but was big on potato.

Be awhile before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I took my guests to the winery they were ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I took my guests to the winery they were in from Germany. We have visited a lot of wineries in Germany and this was top rate. I would recommend the wine and the restaurant. Great service great ambience .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I ventured to Gene Farris Wi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I ventured to Gene Farris Winery to celebrate our anniversary. We arrived early and enjoyed a cocktail and appetizer (cheese tray was very good) prior to our reservation seating. We sat at our table for nearly 10 minutes before hearing from our server. We ordered and received our drinks and salads and all was well. My wife halibut and enjoyed her meal. I ordered pork and was greatly disappointed. The menu calls for the pork to be served with estate pea shoots, raisins, almonds, grilled peaches and Granny Smith apples. Instead, it was served with whipped potatoes (which were good) and the pork was covered with a brown gravy / sauce. The unexpected substitution was something I could live with but the pork was overcooked and quite dry. I made a mistake of not sending my meal back to the kitchen and that's my fault.

Overall, the service and quality of food did not match the cost of the experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Had a great time at Jean Farris. The ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a great time at Jean Farris. The wine was excellent and the food delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistency is key in all fine restauran ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Consistency is key in all fine restaurants. Jean Farris nails it time and again in the categories that make a good place great.

It's the owners presence and attention to detail that keeps this spot on our list of favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Setting

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Food was delicious in a beautiful, peaceful setting. Close to everything, but felt like a true escape from the day to day. Provided a perfect evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with a view!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Even with the rain pouring down, we loved the view of the beautiful rolling hills out of the patio windows. The cheese and meat board was delicious (I never knew how much I needed pickled watermelon rind with fresh made ricotta in my life!) and our entrees were equally good. Fun to have the options of local bourbons, beers or wines on flight, but also able to choose "higher end" wines if you wanted to from their extensive list. While it was a bit of a drive from Lexington, it was worth it for the peace and quiet and the view! The inside of the restaurant was nothing special, though, so don't think I'd have been as "wow"ed if we'd sat inside. Also, the hostess was wearing jeans, tennis shoes and a sweatshirt....not really setting a great tone for an upscale restaurant--but a great reminder that we WERE on a farm, I guess :)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always good place to eat!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Jean Farris is always welcoming. It is a very warm and amicable place to eat dinner with friends and families. Thank you for the continuous great service. The dishes on the menu are all delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. The server was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was very good. The server was pleasant. However, It took way too long to get entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Short staffed

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Since our server disappeared for a while after taking and delivering our drink orders, we asked some questions and learned the chef and much of the wait staff were on vacation due to the long holiday weekend. We noticed no decline in the usual delicious food quality but, although very professional and courteous, the staff simply couldn't keep up with the volume of diners. Since we were in no particular hurry, this small glitch impaired our enjoyment only a little. Scallops and halibut entrée were fantastic and their specialty cocktails were also superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My husband and I went to Jean Farris to ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I went to Jean Farris to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary. Everything was delightful!!! We enjoyed seeing the arbors, trees, and other vegetation. The food was extraordinary and we found a new Riesling to enjoy. Service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I am so glad Jean Farris is open here in ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

I am so glad Jean Farris is open here in the Bluegrass.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had the duck and it was cooked p ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife had the duck and it was cooked perfectly! I had the filet and it was great. We shared a cheese plate and the red hawk is a must have. Even though it's a winery, The barrel aged old fashioned is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was my daughters college graduation a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was my daughters college graduation and didn't feel the waiter was very nice at all. The setting was beautiful though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Just OK

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took Mom to "brunch" here on Mother's Day. Our reservations were at 10am, but there was only one breakfast option, everything else was really lunch (short ribs, etc.) The table where we were first seated was dark with no lighting and no window. I asked to be seated on the porch but was told it was already book, even though I had booked several weeks earlier. After a second inquiry, we were re-seated at a table with a window at least. The service was pretty good, the food was just ok. We won't be back for a meal, but it might be a nice winery to visit during the day for a tasting. (When we left, the patio was still 1/2 empty...might have been a little bit of a different experience has we been able to sit outside).

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

A Diamond-in-the-Rough

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Arrived from NH for daughter's graduation at UofK. Two other restaurants on OpenTable were booked for an early slot, Jean Farris was the only one whose menu appealed to us. The drive out from Lexington was beautiful and the dinner was perfect, really made our weekend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to celebrate

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We visited JFW on a Saturday night with a large party, with a reservation. We were seated promptly, and had excellent service throughout the night. The menu was excellent and the dishes were superb, some a bit under seasoned, but overall worth the pricey price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The scallops & duck were tasty but the f ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The scallops & duck were tasty but the food temp was not warm. The service was fair. The server seemed to be overwhelmed. Overall a very nice meal with exception of food temp & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Happy last minute find for dinner for 6

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Used Open Table to locate any available restaurant that could accommodate 6 diners on May 1st post Rolex. Jean Farrar popped up. Definitely off the beaten path. There is actually a vineyard in front of the restaurant. Lovely restaurant overall. Food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Never disapoints us.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We live in Cincinnati and come to the Lexington area 2-3 times a year just as a close get away for the weekend. Dinner at Jean Farris is always a must. The food, service and ambiance always results in a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were a little short staffed which d ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

They were a little short staffed which delayed the entire dinner. The food was good, not great. It could be much better with just a little more attention to detail. Server was very kind, informative and professional. The setting is outstanding but the entire experience just didn't match it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Uninspired wines

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was good,tho the portions were small. The wines were disappointing and well below the quality of those made by other vinyards in the Lexington area. Our waitress was inclined not to smile much.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Lovely evening with friends

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We enjoy dining at Jean Farris: the short drive is lovely, the food is creative and very good, it has a laid-back atmosphere for a relaxing and enjoyable evening, and the dining room is quite enough that we can enjoy talking to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A perfect date night

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Yet again we had a fantastic experience here and we are not push overs. From the cocktails to desert it was flawless. Parmesan Chicken and Halibut were outstandingly prepared both bursting with delicate intricate flavors. Service was attentive and professional without being stuffy.

You'll love this place. Do yourself and someone you love a favor. Go here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A so-so experience

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Only one waitress for five tables! Really. I had the filet mignon which tasted like it had

been cooked the day before and reheated. My husband had the flank steak which had

no flavor at all. I've had better food at Texas Roadhouse. The only good thing about the

whole experience was the beautiful drive on the way there. I can't see us returning

to Jean Farris for the food. It's unfortunate. I really wanted to like it.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We had a wonderful experience here.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

My husband and I had had our first date here a few years ago and have been waiting for an opportunity to come here again as we live in Somerset, Ky. I made reservations for his birthday this year - so easy to do online. The setting was perfect, our waitress was fabulous and the food and wine were delicious. We have both raved about the tri-color carrots. And we have already recommended it to several friends. I can't wait to come again - hopefully sooner than we made it this time !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.