About Jean Farris Winery & Bistro

6825 Old Richmond Road
Lexington, KY 40515
View Larger Map

From its inception, Jean Farris has embraced our families’ history in agriculture, and, our passion for fine cuisine. With us, wine is best when sharing a table with good friends and good food.

Here on the estate we grow our own fruits, vegetables, herbs, eggs, and honey to use in the winery and in the kitchen. We serve our farm products with the wine, beer, and spirits that speak of our region. To us "Home-made" is a practice not a philosophy. With that our menu changes several times a year, reflecting the seasons. Staying in time and in touch with the cycles of seasons and what is naturally available to us.

We look forward to having you joining us at our table and sharing a night at Jean Farris.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar: Tuesday - Sunday: 12:00pm - close
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 263-9463

Website:
http://www.jeanfarris.com/

Parking Details:
As you enter the property, you drive through the front vineyards of Cabernet Sauvignon and Viognier. All of the parking is close to the building in the private lot. Handicapped parking is offered with easy access to the front door. There is limited overflow parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Our small private Alcove room will sit a group of 8 to 12 and is equipped with a TV monitor ready for showing presentations to the group. Our large private Vineyard Sunroom overlooks the vineyards with an amazing view. It is fully enclosed and climate controlled for up to 80 guests, available for booking through-out the year. During the April-October period the outdoor patio is also available for booking. This space will accommodate 40 guest and can be reserved with the Sunroom or without. Also, it is covered with a large white tent but climate control is not available.

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro as a whole is available for a private party on Monday only.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanie O'Daniel: 8592639463x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Spaghetti Squash - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Duck Breast with goat cheese souffle - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Butcher's Board - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Filet Mignon - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Pan Seared Scallops  - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Baked Chicken - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Garden Vegetable Pasta - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Seared Sea Scallops - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Heirloom Tomatoes With Rosemary - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Duck - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Sea bass - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
French Onion Soup and salad - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Red Wine Poached Pear Gallette - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
charcuterie - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Grilled Tuna with jasmine rice - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Lamb - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Goat Cheese, Honeycomb, And Pear Desert - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Pot Pie - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Perfect Burger - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Bourbon Brulee´ - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Lemon Goat Cheesecake - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Country Time Martini - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Duck Confit - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Lamb Rack - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Lamb Carpaccio With Blue Cheese Ice Cream. - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Spicy Paloma - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Filet Mignon with Slow Cooked Duck Egg - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Tasting Of Country Ham - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Carbonara - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY
Chocolate Brownie - Jean Farris Winery & Bistro, Lexington, KY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Scenic View (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Fun (7)
Casual (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Organic (5)
Private Room (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (5)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
1380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I go at least once a year an ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I go at least once a year and are always impressed . We enjoy the quiet atmosphere and the food and wine. We cant wait to go again

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful food and service. Well fed an ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Delightful food and service. Well fed and well taken care of.

Couldn't have been nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A good Thanksgiving meal, although the f ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A good Thanksgiving meal, although the flimsy metal seating was rather uncomfortable.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro has an excel ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro has an excellent atmosphere. The food, and the service is amazing!!!!❤ I would highly recommend Jean Farris Winery & Bistro for any occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Organic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our small family enjoyed a wonderful Tha ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our small family enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving meal, great service and the warm ambiance at Jean Farris.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday and I wanted a romant ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was my birthday and I wanted a romantic dinner with my wife. The atmosphere was great and the food was even better! The duck egg rolls are a must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm a red-wine lover, so tried the red f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I'm a red-wine lover, so tried the red flight of four Jean Farris wines. All were excellent, but especially the Cabernet Franc. Food was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Especially in the warmer months and long ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Especially in the warmer months and longer days, Jean Farris offers a relaxing view of vineyards, its garden and nearby fields. We sat on the porch to savor the sunset. I've visited JF several times. The food is usually excellent, and we've only been disappointed a couple of times. It seems they have a good chef on board now. JF uses many vegetables and herbs from their own garden along with many Kentucky products. We took relatives for a special night out and started with cocktails and the Cheese Board. Our cocktails were excellent, although one of the craft cocktails on the menu was no longer available. One of us had a tasty and pretty-too-look-at Cosmo. I had an Old-fashioned, made with the Single-barrel Four Roses. It was delicious oh, so smooth. I didn't see any cherries, but an orange peel floated in the glass. My experience is that JF's wines can vary in quality from year to year. I've had some that were amazing and others that were not drinkable. I'd recommend a tasting, as that way you can decide which suit your particular taste. Unlike many wineries, though, Jean Farris also serves other wines, including a few by the glass. On this night, I selected a glass of Malbec with dinner. We opted out of other appetizers or salads this time, but you can make a meal on those alone. For entrees, two of us had the filet, which was grilled to their liking. Another had the lobster pasta, which was full of chunks of lobster in a rich, creamy sauce, mixed in fresh pasta. I chose the duck breast with sauteed spinach and goat-cheese gnocchi. It was perfectly cooked, with crispy skin and drizzled with raspberry wine sauce. We all cleaned our plates and couldn't manage dessert, though there were many tempting items. Service was excellent! JF offers a wide range of entrees and specials from $21 to $32. Several items are labeled Gluten Free. The chairs on the heated, glassed in porch are not especially comfortable, however. Even so, we'll return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Presentation of food was excellent, del ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Presentation of food was excellent, delicious meal. Only complaint the noise level in covered patio.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Had a great experience at Jean Farris wi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Had a great experience at Jean Farris winery and Bistro. Took my fiancé there for his birthday dinner. We sat outside. They brought us a glass of champagne to toast. The cheese plate was excellent as well as our meals. Very fresh and steaks cooked perfectly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent. The serving size ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was excellent. The serving size of the duck breast was small, maybe .5 of the breast. I tried to order an after dinner drink but the staff was too busy trying to locate a clear credit card that had dropped on the floor. I did really enjoy my meal and I would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

One of the Best places to eat in Lexingt ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

One of the Best places to eat in Lexington KY, the food is prepared with love I think. They serve amazing loose leaf tea.

High end style. Will be back soon.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Scenic View, Private Room, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Healthy, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Jean Farris this evening and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We dined at Jean Farris this evening and had a lovely time. The entire staff was delightful and attentive. I had the duck eggroll and beet salad and my spouse had the chicken and endive salad. The food was delicious. The chicken was served with mashed potatoes and they were the best we have had in a restaurant. We highly recommend both this restaurant and the Jean Farris wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vegan, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live right across the river and love ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We live right across the river and love your restaurant! Used to be only for special occasions, but now we come often, just to relax. Restful atmosphere and good food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Selections were great and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was good. Selections were great and food variety nice. The food could have been hot. It was warm at best my pork chop was tough and over cooked.

The cheese plate was a great experience as was the wine. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I had the Halibut which was outstanding! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I had the Halibut which was outstanding! This was fresh - the server said they fillet the fish themselves. I'm sure this must have been Halibut from the Pacific since I prefer it from there. This was better Halibut than what I had the last time we were in Seattle. My wife had the lobster pappardelle which was rich sauce with lots of flavor. We also got the mac&cheese with white truffles. This dish popped with flavor. The truffles distinguished this from any other mac&cheese. White truffles give food a pizzazz unlike anytime else!

The wine is by far the best wine in Kentucky and has won contests in California. We have been wine club members for several years and always happy with such high quality wines.

The new chef is very creative and talented. I can't wait to see what he comes up with next. This is our favorite restaurant in Lexington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very impressed by the kitchen's ability ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Very impressed by the kitchen's ability to cater to the Gluten-free, garlic-free, onion-free diner in our party of five. The menu features a designated vegetarian entree, as well as vegetarian and/or gluten-free salads and appetizers. The staff are flexible about modifying menu items to make them Vegan. The omnivores in our group were well-pleased with their choices; the New York Strip special, the Filet Mignon, chicken, mussels and duck egg roll all were exceptionally tasty. The service was prompt, attentive and well-coordinated in delivering all of our food simultaneously. Enhancing the experience was a bottle of Jean Farris Merlot, which the wine lover in our group recommended highly. We had a lovely evening and look forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting the Lexington area, and ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were visiting the Lexington area, and found this place on Open Table. The food was very good, proper temperature- french onion soup could have been hotter. However, the service was mediocre at best, we waited quite a long time between appetizers and dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

First, the wait times were unusually lon ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

First, the wait times were unusually long. Literally waited at every stage; from the reception area to be seated, to the wait to order drinks, to ordering the food and then of course the wait to get the food. We were there two hours in total, which was too long.

The service was okay but they mentioned they had all new kitchen staff and I think it showed throughout the whole process.

My wife tried a dish and it was initially under cooked, which we sent back. It came back and she still didn't like it. I asked if we could have it taken off the check since she hadn't eaten much of it. They would not take it off the check.

My wife then ordered a dessert (a molten Nutella cake). It was literally a few flat chocolate brownies with fudged sauce on it. She had been offered ice cream to accompany it and lessen the richness of it, by the waitress. They of course charged us for the ice cream they offered to help their dessert.

We spent $93 on an underwhelming dinner with poor service. Applebees would have adjusted my check for a bad dish. Don't know that we'll be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Seated in the patio area which really ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Seated in the patio area which really has perhaps the most uncomfortable chairs I sat in and tables that are really too small. After a few minutes of discomfort we asked to be moved to the dining area - and well, you would have thought we had asked to have our entire meal comped. Eventually we were moved. The place was very busy, and service was so slow. Drinks came very late and our server was pretty much not paying attention to us. She might have been overwhelmed with other tables, but not sure. Heard some of the wait staff talking about the kitchen being "in the weeds" and that bled over into the front side of the house were it appeared nothing was going right. No management to help or ever see if things were ok.

Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Overall is a nice restaurant but food qu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Overall is a nice restaurant but food quality is inconsistent. Service is a bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Well, the food was okay. Not great and W ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Well, the food was okay. Not great and WAY overpriced for what we received in terms of quality and amount. Ambiance decent. We waited over an hour for our food. The waitress apologized and tried to give us a free dessert, but we were just ready to get out of the there. She also noticed the steaks were over-cooked, but then did nothing about it. No manager ever came to our table to check on us or apologize. The meal was to celebrate my 40th birthday. Apparently, my husband had contacted them before hand and asked them to do something special. They said they would take care of it....NOTHING. Overall we were extremely disappointed and we will not be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

This was my first visit to Jean Farris. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was my first visit to Jean Farris. My date has been there a few times. The atmosphere is nice, with a sunset view of the vineyards. The lettuce wrap appetizers were very good. My scallops were only okay, not very generous serving size. My date's duck was under cooked and had to be sent back. Our server was very nice but there was a very long delay between apps and entrees. I think this was a problem in the kitchen, not with the server. Ordered a bottle of chardonnay from their vineyard. The wine, too, was mediocre. For the price, there are many superior options in Lexington.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great place tucked away with beautiful v ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great place tucked away with beautiful vineyards and food was

Great along with service would

Recommend to anyone wanting

Great food with atmosphere and wine

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places to go. We go ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

One of our favorite places to go. We go for our date night. A little expensive, but worth every penny. We had a buy one entree-get one free as we are members of the wine club.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance is great! Scenic spot. Food ver ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Ambiance is great! Scenic spot. Food very good. We enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Did a wine and cheese tasting before din ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Did a wine and cheese tasting before dinner that was great. The food was excellent. Everyone there was very attentive and very courteous. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited our daughter at UK and this w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We visited our daughter at UK and this was recommended for dinner. It was absolutely wonderful! The food was amazing, our service was outstanding and the view was incredible. We loved it and would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone living or visiting the Lexington area!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have a great experience at Jean F ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always have a great experience at Jean Farris. The rural surroundings are gorgeous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time here, I had the Scallops ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our second time here, I had the Scallops. I got three small scallops drenched in liquid for 30 bucks. Not very appetizing or satisfying. They were well cooked, but I expected more !!!!!!! The other two guests had steak and it was lovely with actual sides. Not happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Set in a beautiful setting in their vine ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Set in a beautiful setting in their vineyard, Jean Farris has become a favorite for my wife and I for special occasions and dining with friends. We always find the staff to be welcoming and knowledgeable, and the the food never fails to delight. This particular trip Heather enjoyed the chicken, while I tried the surf and turf special which was well-cooked and seasoned. The meal continued to justify our recommendation of Jean Farris to our friends and we look forward to our next visit. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Sincerely,

Kevin and Heather Walton

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hands down the best food I've eaten in a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Hands down the best food I've eaten in a very long time. There truly wasn't anything that I would not try again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, wine and service. Reall ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food, wine and service. Really good place to relax and enjoy a high quality meal.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our hostess was absolutely wonderful! Ve ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our hostess was absolutely wonderful! Very attentive and helpful, and knowledgeable about wines, which is mainly what we came to sample. The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere with a nice view of the country. And the food and wine were excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We call it "our happy place". Love the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We call it "our happy place". Love the music, loud enough to hear and low enough to hear each other. Wonderful wine, food and wait staff!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fun, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Private Room, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was wonderful! I had reserve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The service was wonderful! I had reserved a table in the sunroom. When I arrived we requested to be moved outside to the patio, which was wonderful because we got to enjoy the views of the winery. the downside to being outside was the mosquitos. Service was impeccable. Ekaterina was our waitress and she was lovely and provided all the answers to our questions re: libations and food. overall, the experience was pleasant and I would recommend it to anybody wanting to get away from the city for a lovey country night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

dinner was great until a party of 6 was ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

dinner was great until a party of 6 was seated behind us, then we couldn't hear our own conversation for theirs.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Had previously heard good things about J ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had previously heard good things about Jean Farris, but our experience was Outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a pleasant meal but there were a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a pleasant meal but there were a few items that did not meet our expectations.

Although the weather had been unsettled during the day, by the time we arrived it was quite nice and we wished to sit outside. We were told we could not (the restaurant wasn't very crowded). In the enclosed porch/dining area, the AC seemed to be on high and blew across the table. We changed seats to sit in the room with the bar. This was somewhat better. The main courses were very good but once again, we noticed a few things. The white wine that we were served was chilled far too much. The portions on the cheese sampler were very small, especially the goat cheese. The server asked if we wanted dessert while two of us were still eating our main course (we were not the last people in the restaurant). Overall, the dining experience was good but we had had better experiences at Jean Farris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Beautiful location. Started with the f ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Beautiful location. Started with the fried green tomatoes. The filet mignon was perfectly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.