About Jean Farris Winery & Bistro

6825 Old Richmond Road
Lexington, KY 40515
View Larger Map

From its inception, Jean Farris has embraced our families’ history in agriculture, and, our passion for fine cuisine. With us, wine is best when sharing a table with good friends and good food.

Here on the estate we grow our own fruits, vegetables, herbs, eggs, and honey to use in the winery and in the kitchen. We serve our farm products with the wine, beer, and spirits that speak of our region. To us "Home-made" is a practice not a philosophy. With that our menu changes several times a year, reflecting the seasons. Staying in time and in touch with the cycles of seasons and what is naturally available to us.

We look forward to having you joining us at our table and sharing a night at Jean Farris.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar: Tuesday - Sunday: 12:00pm - close
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 263-9463

Website:
http://www.jeanfarris.com/

Parking Details:
As you enter the property, you drive through the front vineyards of Cabernet Sauvignon and Viognier. All of the parking is close to the building in the private lot. Handicapped parking is offered with easy access to the front door. There is limited overflow parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Our small private Alcove room will sit a group of 8 to 12 and is equipped with a TV monitor ready for showing presentations to the group. Our large private Vineyard Sunroom overlooks the vineyards with an amazing view. It is fully enclosed and climate controlled for up to 80 guests, available for booking through-out the year. During the April-October period the outdoor patio is also available for booking. This space will accommodate 40 guest and can be reserved with the Sunroom or without. Also, it is covered with a large white tent but climate control is not available.

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro as a whole is available for a private party on Monday only.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanie O'Daniel: 8592639463x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Duck Breast with goat cheese souffle
Spaghetti Squash
Butcher's Board
Filet Mignon
Pan Seared Scallops
Baked Chicken
Garden Vegetable Pasta
Seared Sea Scallops
Lemon Goat Cheesecake
Country Time Martini
Heirloom Tomatoes With Rosemary
Duck
Sea bass
French Onion Soup and salad
Red Wine Poached Pear Gallette
charcuterie
Grilled Tuna with jasmine rice
Lamb
Goat Cheese, Honeycomb, And Pear Desert
Pot Pie
Perfect Burger
Bourbon Brulee´
Duck Confit
Lamb Rack
Lamb Carpaccio With Blue Cheese Ice Cream.
Spicy Paloma
Filet Mignon with Slow Cooked Duck Egg
Tasting Of Country Ham
Carbonara
Chocolate Brownie

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Central Kentucky
Fit for Foodies
Lexington
Romantic
Lexington
1 More
Special Occasion
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Special Occasion (52)
Scenic View (48)
Fit for Foodies (37)
See All
Romantic (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Notable Wine List (32)
Good for Groups (25)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

dinner was great until a party of 6 was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

dinner was great until a party of 6 was seated behind us, then we couldn't hear our own conversation for theirs.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Had previously heard good things about J ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had previously heard good things about Jean Farris, but our experience was Outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a pleasant meal but there were a ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a pleasant meal but there were a few items that did not meet our expectations.

Although the weather had been unsettled during the day, by the time we arrived it was quite nice and we wished to sit outside. We were told we could not (the restaurant wasn't very crowded). In the enclosed porch/dining area, the AC seemed to be on high and blew across the table. We changed seats to sit in the room with the bar. This was somewhat better. The main courses were very good but once again, we noticed a few things. The white wine that we were served was chilled far too much. The portions on the cheese sampler were very small, especially the goat cheese. The server asked if we wanted dessert while two of us were still eating our main course (we were not the last people in the restaurant). Overall, the dining experience was good but we had had better experiences at Jean Farris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Beautiful location. Started with the f ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Beautiful location. Started with the fried green tomatoes. The filet mignon was perfectly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the fried green tomato appetize ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We loved the fried green tomato appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious restaurant! Nice farm-to-table ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delicious restaurant! Nice farm-to-table menu options that change with the seasons. You can get flights of wine from the winery to try their many different wines. Food complements the wine nicely. The cheese options were delicious as a starter. Beautiful location overlooking the fields during sunset.

Tags: Outdoor Eating, Romance, Scenic View, Special Occasions, Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Jean Farris with guests from ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went to Jean Farris with guests from TX and were looking forward to showing them the vineyards. We did not realize than nearly all of the vineyards are gone due to the hard freeze two winters ago. We also remembered the food being much better than it was. While the BBQ chicken was very tender, my sister-in-law commented "This tastes like any baked chicken with Kraft BBQ sauce poured on it". Our server was friendly and knowledgeable, but she had too many tables to serve. The sunset was beautiful from our sunroom seating. Overall the experience was much less than we had hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Early evening reservation on a Wednesday ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Early evening reservation on a Wednesday to celebrate 48th wedding anniversary. Not crowded, seating and service was immediate. I was served the best Old Fashion I have had in years. Quiet enough to carry on a conversation in a normal voice.

Elected to go straight for entrees, flank steak, pork loin, and 2 filets (MR & Med). Flank steak & pork loin were perfectly prepared. Both filets were excellent cuts, unfortunately the MR was over done and finished dry. However the flavor was still good. The au gratin potatoes were to die for but the blanched green beans were the other extreme, but that might just be my taste.

The deserts (bread pudding, peach turnover) were good but not overwhelmingly so. A very nice nite.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There is nothing that I can ever say neg ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

There is nothing that I can ever say negative about this place! The service, atmosphere, food and of course wine is always stellar. We try to get here as often as we can. It is hands down one of our favorite spots in Lexington for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good. The service and ambia ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was good. The service and ambiance was great. We will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect place for good food and to enjoy ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Perfect place for good food and to enjoy a scenic food. Very accommodating staff and kid friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From drinks at the bar to lava cake a wo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

From drinks at the bar to lava cake a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Jean Farris is a winery with an amazing ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Jean Farris is a winery with an amazing bistro that serves fabulous food in a beautiful setting. Sitting on the covered patio or the outdoor patio is a special treat since you are able to watch the sun setting over the Kentucky countryside (it feels like it is miles away from everything, even though it is actually well-located in close proximity to much of Lexington's more populated areas). I went with my mother as a girls' night out, and we enjoyed sharing a cheese plate - always a favorite for us. She had the flank steak and I had the filet, and both were cooked exactly as ordered and were melt-in-your-mouth succulent. Both came with perfectly cooked vegetables (incredibly fresh and flavorful as always). The wine paired well with the dinner, and they have a nice selection of other spirits if you are so inclined. We split a very tasty peach dessert with bourbon creme anglaise that was ridiculously good. The service is top-notch, and everyone is always very friendly. I highly recommend it for a nice night out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequently go to Jean Faris for dinne ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We frequently go to Jean Faris for dinner but the other night was the worst experience we've ever had there. Terrible service. Waited a half hour for appetizers and then one hour for entrees. No one was hungry at that point. Dinner was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

Beautiful setting, great attentive and f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful setting, great attentive and friendly waitstaff. Food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The owner is a gem. Her sincerity with c ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The owner is a gem. Her sincerity with customers is refresshing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable upscale dining. My wife w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very enjoyable upscale dining. My wife was blown away by her pasta dish, I was underwhelmed by my lamb (probably was prepared well, but I learned I'm not a lamb guy). Very good wine and cocktail list. Nice view and ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Bobby took care of us at the bar and pro ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Bobby took care of us at the bar and provided wonderful service. Watching him make cocktails was such an experience too! The food was amazing as well as the wine. We plan on going back OFTEN! Great ambience, service, and food/drink. Definitely a gem in Lexington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice view overlooking beautiful farm whi ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Nice view overlooking beautiful farm while enjoying an excellent dinner with attentive service. Will be a repeat performance soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The atmosphere was incredible!! Sit on t ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The atmosphere was incredible!! Sit on the patio. Service and food amazing. Wine as you would expect... Fab!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow. Food was not ver ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was very slow. Food was not very good and certainly not worth the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Always love going there! Wonderful food ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Always love going there! Wonderful food, wines are some of the best KY wines. Ambiance is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, fresh, creative food. Invent ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent, fresh, creative food. Inventive and delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was great. Patio was really cozy. E ...

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was great. Patio was really cozy. Excellent dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expansive sun room with views of vineyar ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Expansive sun room with views of vineyards and rolling pastures. Perfect for creating the atmosphere of outdoor dining - without all the bugs. Engaging and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the scallops and my wife had the B ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I had the scallops and my wife had the Bouillabaisse which she did not like at all. I had a total of 3 scallops and a small be of rice which for the price was ridiculous. My wife said her sauce was off and the bread slices were actually burnt. She did like her flight of wine and I did not like anything. I left still hungry and now I know why Jonathan's restaurant went under with this chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

Was anxious for some summer seafood and ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Was anxious for some summer seafood and ordered the bouillabaisse. Was disappointed to say the least. It lacked substance (really popcorn shrimp?), i.e. seafood but was big on potato.

Be awhile before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I took my guests to the winery they were ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I took my guests to the winery they were in from Germany. We have visited a lot of wineries in Germany and this was top rate. I would recommend the wine and the restaurant. Great service great ambience .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I ventured to Gene Farris Wi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I ventured to Gene Farris Winery to celebrate our anniversary. We arrived early and enjoyed a cocktail and appetizer (cheese tray was very good) prior to our reservation seating. We sat at our table for nearly 10 minutes before hearing from our server. We ordered and received our drinks and salads and all was well. My wife halibut and enjoyed her meal. I ordered pork and was greatly disappointed. The menu calls for the pork to be served with estate pea shoots, raisins, almonds, grilled peaches and Granny Smith apples. Instead, it was served with whipped potatoes (which were good) and the pork was covered with a brown gravy / sauce. The unexpected substitution was something I could live with but the pork was overcooked and quite dry. I made a mistake of not sending my meal back to the kitchen and that's my fault.

Overall, the service and quality of food did not match the cost of the experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Had a great time at Jean Farris. The ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a great time at Jean Farris. The wine was excellent and the food delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistency is key in all fine restauran ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Consistency is key in all fine restaurants. Jean Farris nails it time and again in the categories that make a good place great.

It's the owners presence and attention to detail that keeps this spot on our list of favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Setting

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Food was delicious in a beautiful, peaceful setting. Close to everything, but felt like a true escape from the day to day. Provided a perfect evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with a view!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Even with the rain pouring down, we loved the view of the beautiful rolling hills out of the patio windows. The cheese and meat board was delicious (I never knew how much I needed pickled watermelon rind with fresh made ricotta in my life!) and our entrees were equally good. Fun to have the options of local bourbons, beers or wines on flight, but also able to choose "higher end" wines if you wanted to from their extensive list. While it was a bit of a drive from Lexington, it was worth it for the peace and quiet and the view! The inside of the restaurant was nothing special, though, so don't think I'd have been as "wow"ed if we'd sat inside. Also, the hostess was wearing jeans, tennis shoes and a sweatshirt....not really setting a great tone for an upscale restaurant--but a great reminder that we WERE on a farm, I guess :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always good place to eat!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Jean Farris is always welcoming. It is a very warm and amicable place to eat dinner with friends and families. Thank you for the continuous great service. The dishes on the menu are all delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. The server was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was very good. The server was pleasant. However, It took way too long to get entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Short staffed

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Since our server disappeared for a while after taking and delivering our drink orders, we asked some questions and learned the chef and much of the wait staff were on vacation due to the long holiday weekend. We noticed no decline in the usual delicious food quality but, although very professional and courteous, the staff simply couldn't keep up with the volume of diners. Since we were in no particular hurry, this small glitch impaired our enjoyment only a little. Scallops and halibut entrée were fantastic and their specialty cocktails were also superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My husband and I went to Jean Farris to ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My husband and I went to Jean Farris to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary. Everything was delightful!!! We enjoyed seeing the arbors, trees, and other vegetation. The food was extraordinary and we found a new Riesling to enjoy. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I am so glad Jean Farris is open here in ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

I am so glad Jean Farris is open here in the Bluegrass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had the duck and it was cooked p ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife had the duck and it was cooked perfectly! I had the filet and it was great. We shared a cheese plate and the red hawk is a must have. Even though it's a winery, The barrel aged old fashioned is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was my daughters college graduation a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was my daughters college graduation and didn't feel the waiter was very nice at all. The setting was beautiful though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.