About Jean Farris Winery & Bistro

6825 Old Richmond Road
Lexington, KY 40515
View Larger Map

From its inception, Jean Farris has embraced our families’ history in agriculture, and, our passion for fine cuisine. With us, wine is best when sharing a table with good friends and good food.

Here on the estate we grow our own fruits, vegetables, herbs, eggs, and honey to use in the winery and in the kitchen. We serve our farm products with the wine, beer, and spirits that speak of our region. To us "Home-made" is a practice not a philosophy. With that our menu changes several times a year, reflecting the seasons. Staying in time and in touch with the cycles of seasons and what is naturally available to us.

We look forward to having you joining us at our table and sharing a night at Jean Farris.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar: Tuesday - Sunday: 12:00pm - close
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 263-9463

Website:
http://www.jeanfarris.com/

Parking Details:
As you enter the property, you drive through the front vineyards of Cabernet Sauvignon and Viognier. All of the parking is close to the building in the private lot. Handicapped parking is offered with easy access to the front door. There is limited overflow parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Our small private Alcove room will sit a group of 8 to 12 and is equipped with a TV monitor ready for showing presentations to the group. Our large private Vineyard Sunroom overlooks the vineyards with an amazing view. It is fully enclosed and climate controlled for up to 80 guests, available for booking through-out the year. During the April-October period the outdoor patio is also available for booking. This space will accommodate 40 guest and can be reserved with the Sunroom or without. Also, it is covered with a large white tent but climate control is not available.

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro as a whole is available for a private party on Monday only.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanie O'Daniel: 8592639463x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Duck Breast with goat cheese souffle
Spaghetti Squash
Butcher's Board
Filet Mignon
Pan Seared Scallops
Baked Chicken
Garden Vegetable Pasta
Seared Sea Scallops
Heirloom Tomatoes With Rosemary
Duck
Sea bass
French Onion Soup and salad
Red Wine Poached Pear Gallette
charcuterie
Grilled Tuna with jasmine rice
Lamb
Goat Cheese, Honeycomb, And Pear Desert
Pot Pie
Perfect Burger
Bourbon Brulee´
Lemon Goat Cheesecake
Country Time Martini
Duck Confit
Lamb Rack
Lamb Carpaccio With Blue Cheese Ice Cream.
Spicy Paloma
Filet Mignon with Slow Cooked Duck Egg
Tasting Of Country Ham
Carbonara
Chocolate Brownie

Specials

The Weekday Grind

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

The Weekday Grind

Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

"The Weekday Grind" is an interesting unique Burger Special available Tuesday through Thursday. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 30, 2016 - Dec 15, 2016 on Tuesdays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Central Kentucky
Outdoor Dining
Central Kentucky
Romantic
Central Kentucky
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Lexington
Romantic
Lexington
Special Occasion
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Special Occasion (49)
Scenic View (44)
Romantic (38)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Groups (23)
Good for a Date (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fun (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Casual (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place tucked away with beautiful v ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great place tucked away with beautiful vineyards and food was

Great along with service would

Recommend to anyone wanting

Great food with atmosphere and wine

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite places to go. We go ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

One of our favorite places to go. We go for our date night. A little expensive, but worth every penny. We had a buy one entree-get one free as we are members of the wine club.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance is great! Scenic spot. Food ver ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Ambiance is great! Scenic spot. Food very good. We enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Did a wine and cheese tasting before din ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Did a wine and cheese tasting before dinner that was great. The food was excellent. Everyone there was very attentive and very courteous. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited our daughter at UK and this w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We visited our daughter at UK and this was recommended for dinner. It was absolutely wonderful! The food was amazing, our service was outstanding and the view was incredible. We loved it and would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone living or visiting the Lexington area!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have a great experience at Jean F ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always have a great experience at Jean Farris. The rural surroundings are gorgeous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time here, I had the Scallops ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our second time here, I had the Scallops. I got three small scallops drenched in liquid for 30 bucks. Not very appetizing or satisfying. They were well cooked, but I expected more !!!!!!! The other two guests had steak and it was lovely with actual sides. Not happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Set in a beautiful setting in their vine ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Set in a beautiful setting in their vineyard, Jean Farris has become a favorite for my wife and I for special occasions and dining with friends. We always find the staff to be welcoming and knowledgeable, and the the food never fails to delight. This particular trip Heather enjoyed the chicken, while I tried the surf and turf special which was well-cooked and seasoned. The meal continued to justify our recommendation of Jean Farris to our friends and we look forward to our next visit. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Sincerely,

Kevin and Heather Walton

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hands down the best food I've eaten in a ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Hands down the best food I've eaten in a very long time. There truly wasn't anything that I would not try again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, wine and service. Reall ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food, wine and service. Really good place to relax and enjoy a high quality meal.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our hostess was absolutely wonderful! Ve ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our hostess was absolutely wonderful! Very attentive and helpful, and knowledgeable about wines, which is mainly what we came to sample. The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere with a nice view of the country. And the food and wine were excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We call it "our happy place". Love the ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We call it "our happy place". Love the music, loud enough to hear and low enough to hear each other. Wonderful wine, food and wait staff!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fun, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Private Room, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was wonderful! I had reserve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The service was wonderful! I had reserved a table in the sunroom. When I arrived we requested to be moved outside to the patio, which was wonderful because we got to enjoy the views of the winery. the downside to being outside was the mosquitos. Service was impeccable. Ekaterina was our waitress and she was lovely and provided all the answers to our questions re: libations and food. overall, the experience was pleasant and I would recommend it to anybody wanting to get away from the city for a lovey country night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

dinner was great until a party of 6 was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

dinner was great until a party of 6 was seated behind us, then we couldn't hear our own conversation for theirs.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Had previously heard good things about J ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had previously heard good things about Jean Farris, but our experience was Outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a pleasant meal but there were a ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a pleasant meal but there were a few items that did not meet our expectations.

Although the weather had been unsettled during the day, by the time we arrived it was quite nice and we wished to sit outside. We were told we could not (the restaurant wasn't very crowded). In the enclosed porch/dining area, the AC seemed to be on high and blew across the table. We changed seats to sit in the room with the bar. This was somewhat better. The main courses were very good but once again, we noticed a few things. The white wine that we were served was chilled far too much. The portions on the cheese sampler were very small, especially the goat cheese. The server asked if we wanted dessert while two of us were still eating our main course (we were not the last people in the restaurant). Overall, the dining experience was good but we had had better experiences at Jean Farris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Beautiful location. Started with the f ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Beautiful location. Started with the fried green tomatoes. The filet mignon was perfectly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely fabulous.... And ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was absolutely fabulous.... And did I mention the wine? Our server was great. Overall wonderful experience!

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the fried green tomato appetize ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We loved the fried green tomato appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious restaurant! Nice farm-to-table ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delicious restaurant! Nice farm-to-table menu options that change with the seasons. You can get flights of wine from the winery to try their many different wines. Food complements the wine nicely. The cheese options were delicious as a starter. Beautiful location overlooking the fields during sunset.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Jean Farris with guests from ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We went to Jean Farris with guests from TX and were looking forward to showing them the vineyards. We did not realize than nearly all of the vineyards are gone due to the hard freeze two winters ago. We also remembered the food being much better than it was. While the BBQ chicken was very tender, my sister-in-law commented "This tastes like any baked chicken with Kraft BBQ sauce poured on it". Our server was friendly and knowledgeable, but she had too many tables to serve. The sunset was beautiful from our sunroom seating. Overall the experience was much less than we had hoped for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Early evening reservation on a Wednesday ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Early evening reservation on a Wednesday to celebrate 48th wedding anniversary. Not crowded, seating and service was immediate. I was served the best Old Fashion I have had in years. Quiet enough to carry on a conversation in a normal voice.

Elected to go straight for entrees, flank steak, pork loin, and 2 filets (MR & Med). Flank steak & pork loin were perfectly prepared. Both filets were excellent cuts, unfortunately the MR was over done and finished dry. However the flavor was still good. The au gratin potatoes were to die for but the blanched green beans were the other extreme, but that might just be my taste.

The deserts (bread pudding, peach turnover) were good but not overwhelmingly so. A very nice nite.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There is nothing that I can ever say neg ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

There is nothing that I can ever say negative about this place! The service, atmosphere, food and of course wine is always stellar. We try to get here as often as we can. It is hands down one of our favorite spots in Lexington for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good. The service and ambia ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was good. The service and ambiance was great. We will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect place for good food and to enjoy ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Perfect place for good food and to enjoy a scenic food. Very accommodating staff and kid friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From drinks at the bar to lava cake a wo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

From drinks at the bar to lava cake a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Jean Farris is a winery with an amazing ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Jean Farris is a winery with an amazing bistro that serves fabulous food in a beautiful setting. Sitting on the covered patio or the outdoor patio is a special treat since you are able to watch the sun setting over the Kentucky countryside (it feels like it is miles away from everything, even though it is actually well-located in close proximity to much of Lexington's more populated areas). I went with my mother as a girls' night out, and we enjoyed sharing a cheese plate - always a favorite for us. She had the flank steak and I had the filet, and both were cooked exactly as ordered and were melt-in-your-mouth succulent. Both came with perfectly cooked vegetables (incredibly fresh and flavorful as always). The wine paired well with the dinner, and they have a nice selection of other spirits if you are so inclined. We split a very tasty peach dessert with bourbon creme anglaise that was ridiculously good. The service is top-notch, and everyone is always very friendly. I highly recommend it for a nice night out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequently go to Jean Faris for dinne ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We frequently go to Jean Faris for dinner but the other night was the worst experience we've ever had there. Terrible service. Waited a half hour for appetizers and then one hour for entrees. No one was hungry at that point. Dinner was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

Beautiful setting, great attentive and f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful setting, great attentive and friendly waitstaff. Food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The owner is a gem. Her sincerity with c ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The owner is a gem. Her sincerity with customers is refresshing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable upscale dining. My wife w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very enjoyable upscale dining. My wife was blown away by her pasta dish, I was underwhelmed by my lamb (probably was prepared well, but I learned I'm not a lamb guy). Very good wine and cocktail list. Nice view and ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Bobby took care of us at the bar and pro ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Bobby took care of us at the bar and provided wonderful service. Watching him make cocktails was such an experience too! The food was amazing as well as the wine. We plan on going back OFTEN! Great ambience, service, and food/drink. Definitely a gem in Lexington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice view overlooking beautiful farm whi ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Nice view overlooking beautiful farm while enjoying an excellent dinner with attentive service. Will be a repeat performance soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The atmosphere was incredible!! Sit on t ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The atmosphere was incredible!! Sit on the patio. Service and food amazing. Wine as you would expect... Fab!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow. Food was not ver ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was very slow. Food was not very good and certainly not worth the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Always love going there! Wonderful food ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Always love going there! Wonderful food, wines are some of the best KY wines. Ambiance is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, fresh, creative food. Invent ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent, fresh, creative food. Inventive and delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was great. Patio was really cozy. E ...

 
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was great. Patio was really cozy. Excellent dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expansive sun room with views of vineyar ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Expansive sun room with views of vineyards and rolling pastures. Perfect for creating the atmosphere of outdoor dining - without all the bugs. Engaging and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the scallops and my wife had the B ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I had the scallops and my wife had the Bouillabaisse which she did not like at all. I had a total of 3 scallops and a small be of rice which for the price was ridiculous. My wife said her sauce was off and the bread slices were actually burnt. She did like her flight of wine and I did not like anything. I left still hungry and now I know why Jonathan's restaurant went under with this chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.