About Jean Farris Winery & Bistro

6825 Old Richmond Road
Lexington, KY 40515
View Larger Map

From its inception, Jean Farris has embraced our families’ history in agriculture, and, our passion for fine cuisine. With us, wine is best when sharing a table with good friends and good food.

Here on the estate we grow our own fruits, vegetables, herbs, eggs, and honey to use in the winery and in the kitchen. We serve our farm products with the wine, beer, and spirits that speak of our region. To us "Home-made" is a practice not a philosophy. With that our menu changes several times a year, reflecting the seasons. Staying in time and in touch with the cycles of seasons and what is naturally available to us.

We look forward to having you joining us at our table and sharing a night at Jean Farris.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar: Tuesday - Sunday: 12:00pm - close
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 263-9463

Website:
http://www.jeanfarris.com/

Parking Details:
As you enter the property, you drive through the front vineyards of Cabernet Sauvignon and Viognier. All of the parking is close to the building in the private lot. Handicapped parking is offered with easy access to the front door. There is limited overflow parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
Our small private Alcove room will sit a group of 8 to 12 and is equipped with a TV monitor ready for showing presentations to the group. Our large private Vineyard Sunroom overlooks the vineyards with an amazing view. It is fully enclosed and climate controlled for up to 80 guests, available for booking through-out the year. During the April-October period the outdoor patio is also available for booking. This space will accommodate 40 guest and can be reserved with the Sunroom or without. Also, it is covered with a large white tent but climate control is not available.

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro as a whole is available for a private party on Monday only.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanie O'Daniel: 8592639463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Jean Farris Winery & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Central Kentucky
Romantic
Central Kentucky
Fit for Foodies
Lexington
2 More
Romantic
Lexington
Special Occasion
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

special occasion (55)
scenic view (53)
fit for foodies (50)
See All
notable wine list (47)
romantic (47)
great for outdoor dining (35)
good for groups (27)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for brunch (10)
great for lunch (6)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Jean Farris to ...

Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I went to Jean Farris to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary. Everything was delightful!!! We enjoyed seeing the arbors, trees, and other vegetation. The food was extraordinary and we found a new Riesling to enjoy. Service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am so glad Jean Farris is open here in ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

I am so glad Jean Farris is open here in the Bluegrass.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

My wife had the duck and it was cooked p ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife had the duck and it was cooked perfectly! I had the filet and it was great. We shared a cheese plate and the red hawk is a must have. Even though it's a winery, The barrel aged old fashioned is very good.

food3
ambience4
service2

It was my daughters college graduation a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was my daughters college graduation and didn't feel the waiter was very nice at all. The setting was beautiful though.

food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Just OK

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Took Mom to "brunch" here on Mother's Day. Our reservations were at 10am, but there was only one breakfast option, everything else was really lunch (short ribs, etc.) The table where we were first seated was dark with no lighting and no window. I asked to be seated on the porch but was told it was already book, even though I had booked several weeks earlier. After a second inquiry, we were re-seated at a table with a window at least. The service was pretty good, the food was just ok. We won't be back for a meal, but it might be a nice winery to visit during the day for a tasting. (When we left, the patio was still 1/2 empty...might have been a little bit of a different experience has we been able to sit outside).

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A Diamond-in-the-Rough

Dined on May 8, 2016

Arrived from NH for daughter's graduation at UofK. Two other restaurants on OpenTable were booked for an early slot, Jean Farris was the only one whose menu appealed to us. The drive out from Lexington was beautiful and the dinner was perfect, really made our weekend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great place to celebrate

Dined on May 7, 2016

We visited JFW on a Saturday night with a large party, with a reservation. We were seated promptly, and had excellent service throughout the night. The menu was excellent and the dishes were superb, some a bit under seasoned, but overall worth the pricey price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

The scallops & duck were tasty but the f ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The scallops & duck were tasty but the food temp was not warm. The service was fair. The server seemed to be overwhelmed. Overall a very nice meal with exception of food temp & service.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Happy last minute find for dinner for 6

Dined on April 30, 2016

Used Open Table to locate any available restaurant that could accommodate 6 diners on May 1st post Rolex. Jean Farrar popped up. Definitely off the beaten path. There is actually a vineyard in front of the restaurant. Lovely restaurant overall. Food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disapoints us.

Dined on April 24, 2016

We live in Cincinnati and come to the Lexington area 2-3 times a year just as a close get away for the weekend. Dinner at Jean Farris is always a must. The food, service and ambiance always results in a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

They were a little short staffed which d ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

They were a little short staffed which delayed the entire dinner. The food was good, not great. It could be much better with just a little more attention to detail. Server was very kind, informative and professional. The setting is outstanding but the entire experience just didn't match it.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Uninspired wines

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was good,tho the portions were small. The wines were disappointing and well below the quality of those made by other vinyards in the Lexington area. Our waitress was inclined not to smile much.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely evening with friends

Dined on April 22, 2016

We enjoy dining at Jean Farris: the short drive is lovely, the food is creative and very good, it has a laid-back atmosphere for a relaxing and enjoyable evening, and the dining room is quite enough that we can enjoy talking to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect date night

Dined on April 22, 2016

Yet again we had a fantastic experience here and we are not push overs. From the cocktails to desert it was flawless. Parmesan Chicken and Halibut were outstandingly prepared both bursting with delicate intricate flavors. Service was attentive and professional without being stuffy. You'll love this place. Do yourself and someone you love a favor. Go here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

A so-so experience

Dined on April 21, 2016

Only one waitress for five tables! Really. I had the filet mignon which tasted like it had been cooked the day before and reheated. My husband had the flank steak which had no flavor at all. I've had better food at Texas Roadhouse. The only good thing about the whole experience was the beautiful drive on the way there. I can't see us returning to Jean Farris for the food. It's unfortunate. I really wanted to like it.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience here.

Dined on April 15, 2016

My husband and I had had our first date here a few years ago and have been waiting for an opportunity to come here again as we live in Somerset, Ky. I made reservations for his birthday this year - so easy to do online. The setting was perfect, our waitress was fabulous and the food and wine were delicious. We have both raved about the tri-color carrots. And we have already recommended it to several friends. I can't wait to come again - hopefully sooner than we made it this time !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I had date night here and we loved it. The food was amazing, service was excellent. We did make reservations and went early as it was getting busy when we left so I recommend reservations for sure. Great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A Short Drive for a Great Meal

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

There are many great things about Jean Farris that I will mention, but the first is the spectacular views. We sat on the patio and watched the sun set over the vineyard. It truly was a remarkable sight and would have been great for a romantic evening for two. On this evening, we were accompanied by two other couples and everyone had great things to say about our entire experience. The sausages and cheeses we began with were outstanding and the beet salad with goat cheese was a personal favorite. A few people in our group ordered seafood, one had a pasta dish, and my wife and I split the filet. It was more than enough for the two of us. Everything was cooked perfectly and it was agreed that everyone enjoyed their meals completely. I would like to mention that while Jean Farris is my favorite local winery, it still isn't quite what you might get with a wine from more recognized regions. Their Cabernet Sauvignon is a local favorite, but at almost $50 a bottle I wouldn't consider it a bargain. Their cheaper wines probably won't impress someone with a knowledgable wine palate, but aren't bad for the price. Overall, we very much enjoyed Jean Farris Winery & Bistro and are looking forward to returning.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal with very good wine

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

The cheese appetizer was very tasty. The wine was good and very reasonably priced. Beef was really good. Chicken and macaroni and cheese dish was fantastic. Waitress was great

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

To be honest, we had no wine. The food ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

To be honest, we had no wine. The food was great. Our meals were well cooked and priced. We would gladly come back here.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fine birthday

Dined on March 23, 2016

Have been several times before. Out for relaxing evening with taste of local wines. Excellent appetizer selection. Entrees ranged from heavy to light. Will continue to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I never miss a chance to dine here!

Dined on March 18, 2016

I come to Lexington 1-2 times a year and never miss a chance to dine at Jean Farris. The food is superb and the menu is often changing, so there is generally something to tempt me. And their wines are very appealing also. I'm a bit of a food and wine snob, so was skeptical 10 years ago when first visiting, but now, I make it a point to dine there when I'm in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chuck from Wilmore

Dined on March 13, 2016

We were early, but seated anyway. Restaurant was not busy. Waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Our appetizers were good and the wine was great. The entrée was very good. we all had the medallions. I would go back anytime.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jean Farris-Stalwart and True always

Dined on March 12, 2016

Jean Farris never disappoints. We can always count on the food, service, and ambiance to make it our go-to restaurant in Fayette County. It is a hidden gem of the Lexington food scene.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful meal

Dined on March 6, 2016

We really enjoyed the cheese board and the menu selections were wonderful. My tenderloin melted in you mouth. Soups were excellent. And vegetables were all local and delicious. Our only complaint was the fish special which was smoked and seemed dry. Desserts were over the top. Definitely a keeper and we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for their Valentines prefixe menu. Food was excellent and service was great. Atmosphere was romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Not so impressed this time.

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had valentine's day here 3 years ago and even though we sat on the patio it was amazing. There were white table cloths, great music, wonderful fire pits that provided ambiance as well as warming heat. The food was great, the service was fantastic and the atmosphere was phenomenal. This year we decided to go back and enjoy it all over again. This time we sat in the main dining area. No table cloths at all let alone, white. The whole place felt cold. the service was pretty mediocre at best. My main portion was good, but the sides were pretty plain and flavorless. My wife's food was pretty bland. Nothing compared to our last visit where the food knocked our socks off. When I made the reservation I specifically asked for a table out of the way and quiet. I was told they noted that on the reservation and should be able to accommodate. When we arrived we were seated and what I would describe as the worst seat in the place. RIGHT next to the kitchen. My wife noted to me that she was freezing because every few seconds a draft would blow cold air on her. The noise from the kitchen was VERY distracting. I ended up switching seats with her to at least help her be warmer. I was not at all happy with our placement especially when half the restaurant seemed empty. For these prices I expect there to be a certain level of professionalism and dress. I saw multiple people not wearing black or professional level clothing, but dressed in jeans and what looked like t-shirts. Not the level I expect from a restaurant with this price point and reputation. It wasn't a terrible visit, but for the price I paid, I don't feel like I received the value. We will not be returning any time soon and can't in good conscience recommend to anyone else to either.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1

Always have loved Jean Farris.. Been the ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Always have loved Jean Farris.. Been there many times.. But this time we had the worst service ever.. Been in the business I don't or wouldn't complain but I'd make sure never to get her ever again... Slow on drinks.. Refills.. Waiting for dessert and she bring us 2 more entree's... I really was surprised they have someone that bad working there!!!

food5
ambience4
service3

We were charged twice for our meal and i ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We were charged twice for our meal and it took weeks to correct. I was very unhappy about this. The food and experience is great but the error was poorly handled.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice appetizers, wine, and service.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Nice Valentine's Day location. Nice drive to the restaurant. Would have liked a seat closer to the window. The appetizers were very fun and well made. The wine and dinner was good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, wine and service was outstanding!

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I couldn't have had a better date. The scallops, steak and wine were top quality and so good. We had such a great time at the winery. We look forward to going back for another date night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding as always

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I dined at JF for Valentines Day and were as always very happy with our experience. While we have eaten there many times, we have never done a prix fixe before and it was wonderful. Everything was well timed, the service was professional and friendly and the food was excellent. Love this restaurant and look forward to going out again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pre Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

Hadn't been in a long time. Valentine's Day menu was excellent and the day before Valentine's Day turned out too be less crowded and more convenient. Wine was excellent.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was absolutely the best. Wond ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our server was absolutely the best. Wonderful date night out with great food, great wine, and great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for a special night out!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We've been to Jean Farris multiple times and it always exceeds our expectations! The menu changes seasonally and there are weekly specials so there is always something new to try. Their wines are also amazing! It's a perfect spot for happy hour too. They have a great patio with spectacular winery views. It's one of our favorite places in Lexington, especially for a romantic special occasion dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Experience

Dined on February 6, 2016

Very nice place to eat. For the price there was not enough food. I ordered the flank steak and got 4 small pieces. Mashed potatoes were sufficient though. My boyfriend ordered the lobster pasta. Although it was good just not enough portion sizes. Would recommend for price to eat somewhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our third visit. Excellent in everyway.

Dined on January 29, 2016

Get the Charcuteri plate to start for sure. Great variety and quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Anniversary Dinner

Dined on January 28, 2016

We celebrated our 44th Anniversary at Jean Farris. The staff welcomed us and each wished us a Happy Anniversary. The waiter even brought us a couple small glasses of sparkling wine to start our evening. My wife had the flank steak and I had the lobster parpadelle. Both dinners were excellent and very appealing to the eye. The glasses of wine the winery were truly outstanding, and they greatly enhanced the evening. I prefer to not name our wine selection for purely selfish reasons, sorry. We would definitely recommend Jean Farris Winery and Bistro to anyone who enjoys fine wines that can compete with any West Coast wines as well as an excellent menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

Food was excellent and the ambiance nice. It was a great birthday dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an excellent restaurant with exc ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

This is an excellent restaurant with excellent food, wine and service. It is a little pricy but you get quality. This is an excellent place for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.