Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About JCT Kitchen and Bar

Acclaimed Chef Ford Fry serves up Southern farmstead cooking based on seasonal ingredients at JCT Kitchen & Bar, his restaurant in Atlanta’s Westside Urban Market. JCT Kitchen and Bar provides an upscale yet casual dining experience with a menu reminiscent of family favorites that are elevated to a gourmet level. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner, while JCT.’s rooftop bar offers a small Southern plates menu, innovative cocktails and live music for guests to enjoy while overlooking the historic neighborhood.

1198 Howell Mill Rd, Ste 18
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday Supper: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Huff Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-2252

Website:
http://www.jctkitchen.com/index.html

Entertainment:
Occasional "Singer/Songwriters"

Parking Details:
Valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Horn

Private Party Facilities:
JCT Kitchen and Bar offers a variety of options and spaces to fit your event needs that include restaurant buy outs for up to 200, semi-private dining for up to 50 guests maximum, and cocktail events up to 125 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Abigail Pietrobon: (404) 355-5311 ext. 212

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Abigail Pietrobon at apietrobon@fordfry.com for special event information.

JCT Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (96)
Comfort Food (85)
Fit for Foodies (74)
See All
Fun (70)
Special Occasion (68)
Handcrafted Cocktails (65)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Good for Groups (63)
Local Ingredients (56)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Casual (52)
Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Worth the Drive (49)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Business Meals (46)
Hot Spot (46)
Great for Lunch (44)
Authentic (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Bar Seating (32)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Romantic (31)
Cozy (27)
Happy Hour (24)
Great for Brunch (21)
People Watching (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Seasonal (17)
Scenic View (14)
Live Music (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Organic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Great Beer (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3985 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The shrimp and grits were very bland and not really a lot of shrimp. My wife enjoyed the ribeye, but it was overpriced for what she got. I was disappointed with my meal but the service great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

A little loud but always have a fun time! The food was good as usual !

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

JCT never disappoints. Creative menu of southern favorites. Get the fried chicken. Drink the cocktails. It's all good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My girlfriend and I wanted a nice night out before she moved out of the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a marvelous time for my friend's birthday! Memorable!!!!! Loved all the menu!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

we are long term customers, but something was quite off this time. Our appetizer's never came, and one of our two dinner orders was not what was ordered, but they never said a thing until I started eating it and brought it to their attention. the waitress was awesome and rating does not reflect her, but the rest of the operation. She asked if we wanted more another glass of wine, or dessert, etc, on the house. we did not take advantage of the situation and declined. we were further disappointed when after the manager told us they screwed up and our dinner was on the house, he still presented us with a bill for our alcohol ( 2 glasses of wine.) food was still great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The deviled eggs and fried chicken were delicious, and service was extremely attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was excellent, but it was so loud that it was difficult to have a conversation. I asked for the music to be turned down a bit, but that did not happen. The restaurant needs some noise-absorbing panels.

While it is fine to ask how everything is, we were interrupted probably eight to ten times, outside the waiter's visit at our table, which was just too much and a bit disruptive. Let the main manager come by once, or maybe twice; that would be entirely sufficient.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food and service great as always! Great place to with friends for good food and drinks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Service was great!! They even switched out a meal for my date because she didn't like the appearance. Very friendly staff and great at pleasing the diner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Nice place. Would definately go again. Good menu with traditional and unique selections.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Party of 6- mixed reviews on food taste-my BLT was really good - Too long between ordering and delivery to table :-( The table of 8 next to us got really loud and made it difficult to talk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 8, 2017

This place is great! The food was excellent and waiters awesome.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

One of my favourite restaurants in Atlanta! Everything is fantastic and their burger is the best!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Best fried chicken in atlanta. Service was excellent as usual. They make one of the better old Fashioneds in the City in my opinion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The service was very slow and there was no explanation given to us by our waiter. We had to ask several times when the food was coming. Food was good but not great. My egg & olive sandwich was very bland, there was no taste that I could discern from the olive. The corn side dish was the star of the show!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2017

My only complaint is the amount of times our waiter felt the need to fill our water glasses. After just a few sips he'd be there filling it back up. I can appreciate him wanting to make sure they didn't go empty but it was disruptive at times and not necessary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our experience at JCT could not have been more exceptional. To start, the food was truly excellent -appetizer, entrees and desserts, alike -, the drinks were crafted brilliantly and the ambiance was vibrant and energetic, but not at all overwhelming and loud as is all too common in restaurants these days. However, what was most striking and impressive about the night was the people - the waitstaff, host...everyone that works there. Watching them all work as a cohesive team to ensure every guest's positive experience was remarkable - something I have found to be somewhat rare in restaurants (though, I am finding that a cohesive team is a reliable staple of Ford Fry restaurants). Of all of the wonderful people that made our night a success, I have to specifically mention Sydney (our server) and Emily (not our server, but helped take care of us as if we were). These two made sure that our experience was flawless and took care of every minor detail to guarantee we had a great time. They were so kind and were genuinely invested in making sure we enjoyed ourselves. Definitely find time to dine at JCT Kitchen. And, if you see Sydney or Emily, tell them Jarrad, Jonathon and Jordan say hi!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great service and a delicious meal. Try the deviled eggs and the shrimp and grits were amazing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

JCT is a great place eat, drink, people watch and have a great time. The menu is amazing with many meat, vegetables and dessert choices and they are all very tasty! It's a great location with a live bar area upstairs.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Our waiter, Marcelo, was fantastic, moving the experience from really good to truly great. Thank you for a memorable first restaurant experience at JCT.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

My wife and i had an amazing meal and overall experience. Can not stress how amazing this place is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We waste traveling from out of town and wanted to make reservations to ensure we would get a table. Had been told by friends that the restaurant can be busy. Went online with open table and they only had openings for 615 (or earlier) or 915. We ideally wanted to eat around 7 or eight because we had an 8 hour drive from Virginia that day. We decided to go with the 615. We had to rush to get there and by the time we did get there the restaurant was empty! No need for reservations! We left around 730 and the restaurant was still empty! No line to get a table and about 1/2 of the tables were empty. Very upsetting since we couldn't make a reservation for the time we wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Always delicious good quality food, good service. Their outdoor seating is really wonderful.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The service and the food are always quite good at JCT, but the noise level seems to increase each time I go there. Consequently, I will not return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Delicious southern food, cold drinks, attentive service, cool atmosphere, easy parking, close to the office, heirloom tomatoes, truffle fries. What else can we want in our already privileged lives ?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2017

There was a nice greeting from the host and the bartender was extremely friendly while waiting for our table. Good choice of food. However, the service was poor. We had to ask for new utensils replacements once dinner arrived. The wine glasses weren't topped off once empty. The attention to detail was missing during dinner service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

i came here a month ago for Sunday Supper and it was amazing. this time around there were a couple flaws.

1. The music was awfully loud inside making it a bit overwhelming.
2. The service is exceptional and a bit overzealous. We ordered a salad to share and the staff removed my friends salad plate and fork before we finished. Now granted her plate was empty but the half of the salad remained.
3. I had the trout and succotash. the succotash was a nice treat however the skin of the trout was overly salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We have eaten here many times and always enjoyed it. A couple of weird things this time. We asked for bread... it didn't come... asked again and we were told that the bread service was on "rotation" It took forever to get the bread. Another odd thing... our entree came out with our salads. Not good but we knew if we sent the pork chop back it would sit under a warmer and get very well done. It wasn't worth the hassle.

I have to say this is the first odd experience we have had at JCT. perhaps it was an off night. The food is excellent there is just something up with the service. I truly felt rushed through dinner so the table could be flipped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Top notch. Service food presentation all A plus. Noise a bit of a problem but I've heard worse. Love the place and spectacular staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food and service always reliably good. Staff seem to genuinely care to provide good service. The Sunday Night Supper is a great deal, always good, worth driving to the West Side. They also do a great job for special occasions--make you feel special. We've been coming here since they opened, sometimes a year's break between visits, and there has never been a decrease in the service, food or ambiance. That to me says a lot about good management and caring about customers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Steven our server was the best. Recommended the best bottle of wine and the food was great.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food and service. One of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Delicious southern food done right. Service is always spectacular and the restaurant itself had a great vibe. Cannot recommendation this place enough if you want a good, relatively upscale southern dining experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We arrived just after a rush so had to wait for a little while after being seated for our server to come over. However, one of the other servers recognized it and took our drink order. Then the manager came by to say that we would get a free appetizer, all before we even said a word. We could see everyone was rushing around so wasn't at all concerned but it was nice to have them go out of their way to acknowledge it. Food was delicious and hot when it arrived and service from the point of when the server arrived was excellent. Great experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our server was amazing. It is a very nice place to eat. My food was ok. We had had a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Always enjoy the food and service but it is sooo loud even at lunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great way to celebrate a birthday, a bit loud but the great food and great service (good job Jordan!) made up for the noise level. The Sunday night, family style meal was amazing...we all had trout that melted in our mouth, just superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

So loud! Our waitress was very disorganized, it was a set menu. Our deviled eggs didn't come, we asked her about it, she told us we sent them back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

It was our first time dining at JCT Kitchen and it was a great experience - will definitely return! The waiter suggested the mussels and they certainly did not disappoint. Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.