About JCT Kitchen and Bar

1198 Howell Mill Rd, Ste 18
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Acclaimed Chef Ford Fry serves up Southern farmstead cooking based on seasonal ingredients at JCT Kitchen & Bar, his restaurant in Atlanta’s Westside Urban Market. JCT Kitchen and Bar provides an upscale yet casual dining experience with a menu reminiscent of family favorites that are elevated to a gourmet level. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner, while JCT.’s rooftop bar offers a small Southern plates menu, innovative cocktails and live music for guests to enjoy while overlooking the historic neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday Supper: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Huff Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-2252

Website:
http://www.jctkitchen.com/index.html

Entertainment:
Occasional "Singer/Songwriters"

Parking Details:
Valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Horn

Private Party Facilities:
JCT Kitchen and Bar offers a variety of options and spaces to fit your event needs that include restaurant buy outs for up to 200, semi-private dining for up to 50 guests maximum, and cocktail events up to 125 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Abigail Pietrobon: 4043555311x212

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Abigail Pietrobon at apietrobon@fordfry.com for special event information.

Restaurant Photos

JCT Kitchen and Bar
JCT Kitchen and Bar
JCT Kitchen and Bar
Chicken and dumplings
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Short Rib Pot Roast
Crab Salad
Crab Sandwich
Truffle Parmesan Fries
Shrimp & Grits
Cheese Grits
Chicken Liver Terrine
Mac and Cheese
Crab Bisque
Springer Mountain Fried Chicken
Angry Mussels
Lamb Burger
Steak Tartare Accompaniments
Georgia White Shrimp & Oyster Po-Boy
steak tartare
Gumbo
Pepper Vinegar Collard Greens
Sweetwater 420 Extra Pale Ale
Flounder
Grilled Salmon Sandwich
Beet Salad
Sweet Corn & Jersey Cow's Milk Ricotta Tortellini
fried chicken
Crispy Torn Potatoes
Fried Egg Burger
Fried Chicken "Oysters"
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Deviled Eggs With Benton's Ham
Deviled Eggs
Pasta
Truffle Fries
Hot Fudge And Ice Cream
Fried Chicken Salad
Beef Tartare
Brown-Butter Almond Cake
Arugula Salad
Hot Dog
Salad
Crispy Oysters
"Cracker Jack" Salad
Shrimp & Grits "Summer Version"
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
"Angry" Mussels
Pork Belly
S'mores Cake
Grilled Trout
Bacon-Wrapped Meatloaf
Americana In Paris Cocktail
Au Pear Cocktail
French Fries
Tomato Monte Cristo
wood grilled chicken blt
Chocolate Fried Pie
Profiteroles With White Chocolate Ice Cream
Warm almond cake
Jct Salad
Spinach Salad
Fried Chocolate Pie With Pecan Ice Cream
Burger
Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwich And Tomato Soup
Country Folk Are Everywhere
Hot Dogs Assortment
Grilled Hangar Steak
Lagunitas A Little Sumpin' Sumpin' Ale
Dale's Pale Ale
Pork Belly, Poached Egg, Kimchee, Creme Fresh Appetizer
White Bean Soup With Pork Belly
Crab Roll
Marinated Beets
Lamb Shoulder
Grown Up Grilled Cheese
Steak & Egg Salad
Fried Apple Pie With Butter Pecan Ice Cream
raw oysters
Shrimp-N-Grits
Macaroni and Cheese
Meat And Potatoes
Bacon Mac & Cheese
Coconut Cake
Potato Sunchoke Soup
Apple Slaw
Sliders
Oysters
Fried Chicken Skin
Jack O Lantern
frito pie burger
Little Gems And Crispy Oysters
House Made BBQ Chips
Unibroue La Fin du Monde
Bacon Wrapped Dates
Red Brick Ale Brown
Peaches & Herbs Sidecar
Jct Fried Chicken Skins
Brussels Sprouts
Jct Fried Chicken

JCT Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
American
Atlanta
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in West Midtown ›

fit for foodies (203)
special occasion (158)
good for groups (134)
See All
neighborhood gem (123)
great for outdoor dining (104)
great for lunch (98)
hot spot (95)
romantic (78)
vibrant bar scene (65)
great for brunch (48)
notable wine list (36)
scenic view (31)
late-night find (24)
kid-friendly (12)
Sort By:
Newest
3166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I been here a few times already, not my ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

I been here a few times already, not my first time, I got seated right away. was expecting an exceptional service but maybe it a hit or miss now since the place have been very popular.

some of the food item were not on point. especially my entre their fried chicken. usually it always hit the spot but this time the entre came out about 1 hour and 45 minute later of being there. the chicken must use different breading this time or something was different. I am sure. they use to sell out of their fried chicken almost every time I am there. bread service change a bit but I'm not a friend of bread anyways. something is different or I was treated differently. either way, next time I would just stop by the bar for the drinks and maybe the oyster.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was fantastic. Extremely ge ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was fantastic. Extremely generous portions. I took food home. My niece graduated from college and the management and staff made her feel very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience! I'm one of those 'comp ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience! I'm one of those 'complicated orderers' and our waitress was incredibly patient!! Loved our lunch there. Will come back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I kind of hate to give this restaurant a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

I kind of hate to give this restaurant a less than great review because I've heard great things about it and have been meaning to try it for so long, but once we finally made it for a Saturday lunch I just wasn't impressed. Everything we ate was SO salty and predictable - deviled eggs, shrimp and grits and chicken and dumplings. Even the sweet tea wasn't up to par for a nice southern themed restaurant like this. Idk, it wasn't bad, but there's definitely better options nearby.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Gloria provided great insight in the men ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 5 days ago

Gloria provided great insight in the menu. She was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I celebrated our 8th wedd ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our 8th wedding anniversary atJCT. From start to finish, everything was above average. Damien was ourserver. He ensured timely deliveryof our food and our drinks stayed full. A must go!! Thanks JCT & Damien!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy. Bathroom was disgusting and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very noisy. Bathroom was disgusting and smelled. Food portions were small and liquor selection was weak. They claim to use truffle oil on an order of french fries. Truffle oil costs about $1,000 an ounce and is not good 15 minutes after pressing..... Ordered Shrimp and Grits, I believe there was 2 shrimp and one sliver of polish sausage for $19???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

JCT always has consistent food and servi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

JCT always has consistent food and service, and the atmosphere is super fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were really excited about going after ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were really excited about going after a friend's referral - the service was insincere and inattentive (had to wave her down several times for more drinks, etc.) and both entrees at our table came out cold. The food runners were friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Perfect combination of southern charm sp ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Perfect combination of southern charm sprinkled with modern and eclectic touches. Our waitress was not only personable but always smiled whenever she dropped by. Her sense of humor added to a relaxing evening. "Supper" was perfect. I enjoyed the shared side plates and each bite was more delicious than the last. Had plenty of food for a late night snack later! Enjoyed every minute of JCT!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JCT has the best Sunday supper ever! You ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

JCT has the best Sunday supper ever! You have to try it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great experience.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Another great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time at JCT Kitchen and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was our first time at JCT Kitchen and we had an incredible experience. The food and drinks were great, but what truly made our visit memorable was the service. Drew was personable, knowledgeable, funny, and patient with us. She answered all our questions, gave us great recommendations and was attentive throughout our visit. Food was great, but the service was even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The color palette and entire mood of res ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The color palette and entire mood of restaurant was casual elegance. It was a very happy atmosphere & staff was extremely friendly. Our server, Neeki, was a definite pro and made some fabulous food recommendations. I tried the mussels which were cooked to perfection with a real kick. The toast had a perfect crunch and great taste on its own but when dipped in mussel broth, melted in my mouth. I also had the peekytoe crab and pasta which was like seafood in smooth buttersauce but I would ask them to add less corn if I ordered again. My husband had the JCT Burger with added bacon and truffle fries as rec of the server and she was spot on. He also had the Potato and Vidalia Onion soup which was buttery smooth and layers of flavor. We are definitely going back and I'm getting hungry just thinking about it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The word that comes to mind is fresh. T ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The word that comes to mind is fresh. The ambiance was upscale casual; and the food was excellent. The staff was very accommodating; called a taxi for us. We were in Atlanta on business and JCT was recommended by friends who live in Atlanta. Overall, a very positive experience. JCT is a keeper.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I took my daughter, while out back to sc ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I took my daughter, while out back to school shopping, for a special treat. We had the oysters, and chicken and dumplings that were both delicious. My favorite course was the seasonal peach salad- so fresh and amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and awesome service. I h ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic food and awesome service. I highly recommend JCT Kitchen and Bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining here! The service and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

First time dining here! The service and food were delicious, can't wait to return for dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at this rest. It ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was my first time at this rest. It was high energy but VERY loud and HOT.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Love the Angry Mussels and the Small Fry ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Love the Angry Mussels and the Small Fry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Knowing that Ford Fry one of the "it" ch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Knowing that Ford Fry one of the "it" chefs of the south, I had high hopes for JCT Kitchen and all of them were exceeded. Our server, Eli, went above and beyond to accommodate my friend's gluten-free and dairy-free needs and made some fantastic suggestions for me as well. We will definitely make this a regular spot when in Atlanta.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best fried chicken and collards ever ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Best fried chicken and collards ever Great service. Lots of fun

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Shrimp and grits wer ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was great. Shrimp and grits were on point! Service was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Looking forward to Oxtail dinner .. Got ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Looking forward to Oxtail dinner .. Got there at 7:45pm and it was not available .. Disappointed! Vegetarian option came late and not included on original dish.. Had to remind server.. Asked several times for additional item ..came late.. Collared greens were not good.. Peas and corn stunk.. Like out of can..

So disappointed!! Last time I raved and raved about mussels and risotto!! Server too busy this time to really check on us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Every dish was seasoned perfectly and fu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Every dish was seasoned perfectly and full of flavor. The fried chicken is on point. The staff are knowledgeable and super friendly. We had a great bottle of wine the server recommended to go with all of the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the Sunday supper, which allowed ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had the Sunday supper, which allowed us to try a variety of items, starting with biscuits and deviled eggs and salad followed by our choice of protein and three sides. I had the chicken, which was crispy and tasty, while he had the fish. They were very helpful in avoiding items we were allergic to and even brought us a second salad unasked when it was noticed that it had a veg we were allergic to hidden within. Great dessert, lovely ambiance and very tasty. Will definitely try again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined here before and the food a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have dined here before and the food and service were great! This visit was lack luster, I ordered the oxtail. I had a huge slab of fat in my bowl. Everybody knows there is not that much fat on oxtail a

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

It was a good experience overall, was my ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was a good experience overall, was my wife's birthday, but it started off rocky. The receptionist was very rude. She seemed to be upset because I had a reservation for two, but i ended up inviting my friends so it became a party of 8. I called ahead of time a few days before and told them my reservation was changing because of a bigger party. The person over the phone said that it was be fine, that I would just have to sit outside and it's first come first serve which wasn't an issue. So, I get there, all of my friends are there and one friend tells me that when he told the receptionist at the front my name and she noticed I only had a reservation for 2 and was told that it would be 8 she seemed to have an attitude because my party was larger. So, because I like to see for myself, I told him I would talk to her, so nicely, I said "Hi, I had a reservation for 2, but it changed to..." and before I could finish she cut me off an said "Yes, you changed from 2 to 8". So, I let her have that one and didn't react to her cutting me off, so I continued " Yes, so when I called earlier in the week, I was told that it would be fine if the tables are available to sit outside". The receptionist replied "Yes...you have no choice". So I calmly walked away and waited to be seated. Once we were sat, it took 15-20 minutes for anyone to even come and offer us water. For this to be my wife's birthday and things start this way, I was really upset and said I would never come here again, but as the night went on things go better and she had a good time. Please teach your receptionist to speak to people better, if she's not happy with her job or can't handle simple changes, she needs to find another job. Thanks.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Last minute choice based on friend recom ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Last minute choice based on friend recommendation. Food was very flavorful and creative. Service was excellent. Would highly recommend and we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food. A bit pricey on the mimosas ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food. A bit pricey on the mimosas though. Would be nice to have an bottomless option.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Tiffany was our server and she was fast, ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Tiffany was our server and she was fast, thorough and sharp as a tack. If only she was wearing a short skirt and a long jacket. Food was fucking delectable, drinks were on point and the ambiance was perfect. Thanks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was awesome and knowledgeable ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was awesome and knowledgeable about the menu and food suggestions!! Parking was packed but the spot was a great late night fix. Definitely go back again!!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go. I have been several ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great place to go. I have been several times and never disappointed. It is usually busy on weekends and noise level can be hard to hear your dining companion. The portion of the food is great, but depending on what you get, it can be pricey.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The serving staff is very entitled and r ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The serving staff is very entitled and rude, but the food is worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We heard great things about JCT from fri ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We heard great things about JCT from friends and family so we decided to try. They were very accomadating to my father in law with him needing ramps and easy seating. Our waiter had a ton of great suggestions but he was soft spoken and could hardly be heard over the loud music. Great place for a friend get together but wouldn't recommend if you're looking for a restaurant where you want to be heard easily. The food was great but not the typical southern food you'd expect. Dumplings were more like gnocchi. Kind of salty food but all in all great flavor. Great cocktail menu as well.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had an awesome dinner last night at J ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had an awesome dinner last night at JCT Kitchen and Bar! It was our first time eating here, so our server, Keith, did an excellent job of walking us through the menu and making excellent suggestions. His suggestions did not disappoint! The sourdough bread with apple butter was delicious. The fried chicken was incredible. When there was an issue with the biscuits not being ready, he brought us out a free appetizer, which was delicious! We will definitely be back, and we will be requesting Keith again! Excellent experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic and the staff is ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was fantastic and the staff is great, very friendly.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love JCT, but can you guys get some good ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Love JCT, but can you guys get some good IPAs on the bar menu downstairs? It's just disappointing that in this city the beer selection is meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

It has been over a year since I've been ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

It has been over a year since I've been to JCT and i am never going to let that much time pass before I'm back. The food was beyond delish, service was perfection and the memory was made. Great birthday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and terrific service. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always great food and terrific service. Knowledgeable about food and able to accommodate food allergy issues. Great wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.