Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About JCT Kitchen and Bar

Acclaimed Chef Ford Fry serves up Southern farmstead cooking based on seasonal ingredients at JCT Kitchen & Bar, his restaurant in Atlanta’s Westside Urban Market. JCT Kitchen and Bar provides an upscale yet casual dining experience with a menu reminiscent of family favorites that are elevated to a gourmet level. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner, while JCT.’s rooftop bar offers a small Southern plates menu, innovative cocktails and live music for guests to enjoy while overlooking the historic neighborhood.

1198 Howell Mill Rd, Ste 18
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday Supper: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Huff Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-2252

Website:
http://www.jctkitchen.com/index.html

Entertainment:
Occasional "Singer/Songwriters"

Parking Details:
Valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Horn

Private Party Facilities:
JCT Kitchen and Bar offers a variety of options and spaces to fit your event needs that include restaurant buy outs for up to 200, semi-private dining for up to 50 guests maximum, and cocktail events up to 125 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Abigail Pietrobon: (404) 355-5311 ext. 212

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Abigail Pietrobon at apietrobon@fordfry.com for special event information.

JCT Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (66)
Comfort Food (65)
Fit for Foodies (57)
See All
Fun (56)
Special Occasion (53)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Good for Groups (49)
Local Ingredients (49)
Worth the Drive (45)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Hot Spot (42)
Casual (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Business Meals (39)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Great for Lunch (30)
Authentic (28)
Cozy (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Bar Seating (22)
People Watching (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Romantic (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Great for Brunch (16)
Seasonal (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Live Music (10)
Organic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Healthy (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Scenic View (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Spicy (3)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
4043 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

My wife and I went to JCT Kitchen for their Sunday prix fixe dinner. It was quite crowded and we waited about 5-10 minutes standing in the bar. We were seated in the dining area near the windows (they do have outdoor seating as well) and promptly given a run down of the menu. I ordered the fried chicken and my wife ordered blackened trout. Service was a bit spotty to start with the server having to retake our order for some reason which delayed things a bit. (She was in training so no big deal.) I ordered a bottle of "The Date" win, a sauvignon blanc, which was unusually full bodied and delicious. The fried chicken and sides were all prepared southern style and very tasty. My wife greatly enjoyed her trout but did said it was quite spicy. Overall a pleasant Sunday evening out at JCT Kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We went to JCT with recommendations from several friends and were very pleased with the food and with the service. The food was a upscale hipster southern and was as every bit as wonderful as we had been told. I was skeptical after looking at the menu online but every meal we ordered was fantastic. Our waitress was quick to distinguish what the differences were on the menu and give us a very accurate description. Her service was incredible and I am just sorry I could not remember her name to place on this review. Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Always great food and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Place is fantastic. Great location, easy access, really cool neighborhood. The menu was unique and the food was top notch. Farm to Fork, good options. Service was the best. Friendly, attentive, fast. Our server had all the answers. If you have not experienced this place, you need to.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Food quality was not what I expected based on reviews. Had the renowned fried chicken and collards with biscuits. Biscuits were not baked all the way through. Dough on the inside. Yuck! The chicken was tasteless. Your local fried chicken places woud be better. Collards were sweet. They added their sweet jct hot sauce which ruined the collards! Service was average, cocktails were weak, but the ambiance was great. I would not revisit this restaurant. I did inform the waiter about the biscuits so they can address the problem before serving other guests, but instead was aked if I wanted more biscuits to go. ???

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I had a great time as usual! Maria was an awesome and pleasant server. I love JCT Kitchen!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Dinner was excellent as was the service.
Unfortunately, the noise level and the music are excessive!

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The mussels were great but the chicken dinner was cold and not crispy seemed to have been cooked well before we received them which was two minutes after we ordered will not go back ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Overall very good, but don't take a date here if you want to be able to talk. Very loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The noise level made it too hard to hear the waiter, to converse with friend 2 feet away and the lights flickered like a disco making me feel sick. I was told there was something wrong with the lights. Really?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Had a great meal. Service was good. Brought two friends that were visiting and we all enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The food and service were great however it was a little too loud.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Amazing food and superb service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Service was extraordinarily slow. We were ready to order quickly and ordered drinks, apps, etc all at once because, and the meal took over TWO HOURS on a Tuesday night. Even getting the credit card back after we paid the check took 20 minutes. Really made an otherwise good experience very frustrating. We had to cancel our plans after dinner because we simply couldn't get out of the restuarant in time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great food Great location Great atmosphere
Con: Pricey for Lunch Okay for Date Night

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Salad was pretty bland and service was not the best. Had to track down waiter to order and we were entertaining clients so wasn’t best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Food was the best I have had the first night and it was also great the second. Staff great and accomadating. I would highly recommend but with reservations!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

It was fantastic! They accommodated is arriving early for our reservation since we came from out of town. The wait staff was great and then they gave me free cake for my birthday. The food was also phenomenal as well as the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great idea for Sunday dining. We had friends in town who loved the food and the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Always my favorite place to go for upscale gourmet "Southern" food. Delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The service here is great. Everyone's very friendly. The food is a bit too fancy for me. (No need to reinvent mac and cheese) The chef clearly has a high level of expertise and has taken great care in crafting his or her dishes, but i would expect to enjoy the taste more at these prices. Even so, I love this place. I will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

My wife and I patronage this establishment quite frequently. The food is always great as well as the service. The manager (Ariel) is always so welcoming when she sees us there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Went on a Saturday for lunch and the service was subpar. We asked for an extra napkin and it never came. We asked for 4 biscuits and they only brought two so we asked for the other two and instead they only brought one. We had several different waiters and they only came by the table occasionally. I can understand if the restaurant were packed during a dinner service but it was lunch. Disappointed with our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We went on a Friday night for date night. The mussels, shrimp and grits, and chicken and dumplings were all fantastic. The service and wine was great as well. Would definitely recommend for a date night.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Lobster rolls are delicious! Cocktails are great and service is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great service! They made my Dad's 70th very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I had a date with my best friend and we enjoyed ourselves. The waitress was awesome. I'd go back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2017

You just can't have a bad meal here. Everything is delicious, fresh and thoughtfully prepared. The service is great and the servers are knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. We've been coming here for years and will keep coming back. Thanks JCT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was fantastic, the server was very good. The only complaint was that it took a really long time to get our check after we had finished eating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Had a great birthday dinner for my wife with 2 of our 3 kids - both in college. Sat outside by the courtyard on a nice evening. All 4 of us loved our meals. Thanks!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

So loud. I forgot JUST how loud it is. You can't hear conversations at your own table. You need sound absorbers. Makes an otherwise great dining experience awful and cacophonous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service and food!! Love JCT ...................... .................................................

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food and service. One of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food, great people-watching ( but definitely a pretentious crowd,) loved the live music of Nate Nelson on Friday night!

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Fun, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual, Hot Spot, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We were celebrating an engagement and shared that with JCT. The hostess and waiter never acknowledged it. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I was celebrating my engagement with family at the Sunday night supper. Great place for groups with amazing food.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We went to JCT Kitchen to celebrate my birthday. I was very pleased with the food, atmosphere & service; and will be returning.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was amazing, perfect ambience and the server was awesome, very atttentive, and always with a smile! I would recommend to have more appetizer options seafood preferably. Thanks

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent Food. A little pricey but worth it. Parking was easier than expected. Decided to eat outside and that was wonderful. Oysters were great.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great place, always good food and service. Love the menu!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.