About JCT Kitchen and Bar

1198 Howell Mill Rd, Ste 18
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Acclaimed Chef Ford Fry serves up Southern farmstead cooking based on seasonal ingredients at JCT Kitchen & Bar, his restaurant in Atlanta’s Westside Urban Market. JCT Kitchen and Bar provides an upscale yet casual dining experience with a menu reminiscent of family favorites that are elevated to a gourmet level. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner, while JCT.’s rooftop bar offers a small Southern plates menu, innovative cocktails and live music for guests to enjoy while overlooking the historic neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday Supper: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Huff Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-2252

Website:
http://www.jctkitchen.com/index.html

Entertainment:
Occasional "Singer/Songwriters"

Parking Details:
Valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Horn

Private Party Facilities:
JCT Kitchen and Bar offers a variety of options and spaces to fit your event needs that include restaurant buy outs for up to 200, semi-private dining for up to 50 guests maximum, and cocktail events up to 125 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Abigail Pietrobon: (404) 355-5311 ext. 212

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Abigail Pietrobon at apietrobon@fordfry.com for special event information.

JCT Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (83)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Comfort Food (65)
See All
Special Occasion (64)
Local Ingredients (46)
Great for Lunch (46)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Business Meals (45)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Good for Groups (44)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Casual (40)
Fun (40)
Hot Spot (39)
Romantic (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Cozy (38)
Worth the Drive (36)
Modern Decor (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Authentic (23)
Seasonal (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Family Style (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Happy Hour (13)
People Watching (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Healthy (10)
Great Beer (10)
Scenic View (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Live Music (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Organic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

The environment was very good. Service was outstanding. The Parmesan fries were way too salty, as were the brussel sprouts. The pork chop was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

The avocado toast is a must try. Still thinking about it. Portions are large so suggest sharing entrees family style. Overall courteous and great service from the valet and bartender, to the server and hosts. Looking forward to trying the other Ford Fry restaurants now.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server kept leaving and not returning to the table for long periods of time. We had a really hard time checking out since she never returned and had to get another server to help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was fabulous for Sunday supper. Very busy but wait staff was very attentive and helpful. We were only in town overnight and we are very pleased with our choice for dinner. We'll be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Went here for the Sunday Super prix fix menu and it was delicious and so worth it! The service was exceptional and we're definitely going to come back!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Bday. Hadn't been before. Prix Fix Sunday Supper was a pleasant surprise, and being a trendy Westside spot Sunday evening was a great night to go.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Really LOVE this place! Great food, and Lemonheads too!!! =D

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress, Claire, was amazing! Some of the best customer service I've had since living in Atlanta , honestly. It seemed genuine and not like she was reading off a script.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Another fine meal -- that chicken! Those truffle fries! -- at JCT. This is one of my go-to places for a good, reasonably priced meal, and I'm never disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

The meal was delicious and we had a wonderful waitress. Pricey but worth it. Love the Pear Force One drink! I would have liked for her to have divided the check as requested but we worked it out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Everything was great except for the hostess kept telling my guests that I didn't have a reservation even after I had been seated. Both had to call me and I had to tell them where I was located.

Other than that it was good like always.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

So much better than anticipated. Shame on me for not coming sooner all these years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Overall a great experience as always! Mia provided excellent and well-rounded service at the table while Powell welcomed us kindly for coffee and dessert at the bar after dinner. We had a fantastic meal that was true to the taste of JCT Kitchen!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My fiancee and I went here for our Valentine's Day dinner per the recommendation of my fraternity brother. Our service was outstanding and the food was delicious! I'll be moving to Georgia in August and we'll surely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and service. I really like this restaurant except the heavy metal (or at least borderline heavy metal) music was obnoxious and certainly not in fitting with fine dining. That was my only complaint but it took away from the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was brought out in a timely manner. All of the waiters/waitresses were extremely friendly, and gave the best recommendation according to taste taste in food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Awesome night at the JCT. Staff was great and knowledgeable. Provided great insight to the menu. Food was outstanding, as is to be expected at a Ford Fry restaurant. Upstairs bar area was perfect for starting the evening. Two thumbs up.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The menu looked and sounded exquisite, however My girlfriend is pretty much a pescatarian and there were really no options for Her on the prixe fix menu. Unfortunately, although the waitress offered to consult the chefs, She did not want to go through that trouble so We left without eating. I enjoy JCT Kitchen personally, but because She is such a picky eater, She would not venture out and try anything which was disappointing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

JCT Kitchen is our favorite restaurant. It never disappoints. From the incredible food and the exceptional staff, to the energetic atmosphere and Atlanta-chic ambiance, it's a can't miss dining experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Looking forward to dining with you all again! Well worth every dollar!

Tags: Vegan, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Atmosphere was great! Food was phenomenal!! Our waitress gave off an impression that she was "higher class" than us.... I feel she treated us differently because we were younger (four 25 year olds) than her. She forgot about one of our drinks. The girl didn't get her drink until 35 minutes after being seated. She came back twice to confirm our order because she failed to write anything down. Waitress focused more on being proper and professional than actually doing her job and bringing us drinks timely and checking on us. Great food but terrible service...

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The pork chop was absolutely delicious but the hanger steak was very chewy and inedible unfortunately. The service was great though. Awesome staff, and they did offer us something else to try. Despite the hanger steak fail I'll still go back because they still have great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Ford Fry's flagship restaurant never disappoints. My girlfriend and I always enjoy our meals here in a big way. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant was amazing. The food was excellent. The chef was very kind to me and my friends. We visited on a Saturday afternoon but we will definitely come back to enjoy the night atmosphere as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had friends of ours come in from out of town and wanted to take them to one of our Atlanta favorites. JCT did not disappoint. Our waitress was incredibly nice and informative.

The food was amazing. Started with the mussels appetizer, which was excellent. For my entree, I had the ribeye cap. It was phenomenal. Highly recommend it. My girlfriend had a salad with sides of Mac'n'cheese and Brussels sprouts. I had a few bites of each and all of them were great. Don't think you can go wrong here with anything on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

amazing. i'll come back to ATL just for this place. and we live in CHS so that's saying a lot. : )

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food and service!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Service was great. Food was average. Noise level was so loud that we could not hear ourselves think.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

For the second time in as many visits to JCT, our main course was significantly delayed, disrupting the flow of our evening and dining experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Must try the Angry mussels!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wonderful experience. Exceptional food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Good customer service and pleasant ambience of the restaurant. Food was delicious and dessert selections were good.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Visited JCT while visiting family in Atlanta. Food was good, drinks can be more generous. I ordered the JCTea and the martini glass was half empty. Service was poor. The hostess was too busy looking at a phone or iPad to even acknowledge we were right in front of her and then it seemed we interrupted her. We waited more than 10 minutes before anyone came to our table to say hello and take drink order. We placed our order and food did arrived 30 min later. We had a burger and shrimp and grits. Overall it took us an hour and 35 mins to have lunch.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of my favorite spots in the west side. Gathered here for a surprise party for a friend and the food, drinks, and atmosphere were amazing as always. We started with the pimento cheese and truffle fries, and whats not to love about those! A few of us ordered the Fried Chicken Sandwich and it was delicious! The service was good, it was very crowded in there so it took almost two hours for lunch, which was fine for our group because we were willing to wait. Overall, this is one of my absolute favorite spots and I always recommend this restaurant to any out of town guests or people looking for a great meal!

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

JCT never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Love the angry mussels and grilled French bread. Just the right combo of flavor and spice. Service is so friendly and they never fail to please.

It's pretty noisy so be prepared, but always a fun experience..

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great food. Service was slow for some reason. Only issue always is that it is very loud and very difficult to carry on conversations at your table.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Starters/Apps are great! Main menu items are good but wish they'd change it up a little.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Not the first time I have been to JCT for Sunday Supper, seriously one of the best deals in town, each time has been the same great food and service !

I am pretty sure I have turned 2 more people to this staple of the Atlanta eater scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was as spectacular as the food. The family style Sunday Supper is the way to go to celebrate special occasions with a few of your favorite people. And those cocktails!!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Family Style, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

They were behind with our reservation and we had to wait 25 minutes but they sent three free appetizers to the table when we sat down. That's just A-CLASS! The food and wine ended up being amazing. I will 100% go back! Great place and great service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was excellent, our waiter gave great recommendations. We had reservations for lunch and there was no wait and the service was quick!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food lacked true southern flair. The waitress was pleasant but dull. My partner and I would not ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My friend and I shared two entrees, and the kitchen and service staff did a great job splitting them for us and presented them beautifully on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food and excellent service as always! Can't beat the JCT salad and grilled chicken sandwich. Y.U.M.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Very nice place! Highly recommended by a NY co worker.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I enjoyed my meal at JCT kitchen, as usual. I tried the Shrimp and Grits for the first time and in my opinion, the shrimp was slightly over cooked.

Next time I visit, I will try the fried chicken, it looked amazing!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The lighting was very dim it made it very difficult to read the menu's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a great experience. We live close by, but chose to go to JCT because of it's service, food, and ambiance. Our waitress was extremely attentive and fun. She had a great sense of humor and made us feel welcomed. Our food was extraordinary. We tried something new for us and it did not disappoint. I highly recommend!

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.