About JCT Kitchen and Bar

1198 Howell Mill Rd, Ste 18
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Acclaimed Chef Ford Fry serves up Southern farmstead cooking based on seasonal ingredients at JCT Kitchen & Bar, his restaurant in Atlanta’s Westside Urban Market. JCT Kitchen and Bar provides an upscale yet casual dining experience with a menu reminiscent of family favorites that are elevated to a gourmet level. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner, while JCT.’s rooftop bar offers a small Southern plates menu, innovative cocktails and live music for guests to enjoy while overlooking the historic neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday Supper: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Huff Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-2252

Website:
http://www.jctkitchen.com/index.html

Entertainment:
Occasional "Singer/Songwriters"

Parking Details:
Valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Horn

Private Party Facilities:
JCT Kitchen and Bar offers a variety of options and spaces to fit your event needs that include restaurant buy outs for up to 200, semi-private dining for up to 50 guests maximum, and cocktail events up to 125 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Abigail Pietrobon: 4043555311x212

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Abigail Pietrobon at apietrobon@fordfry.com for special event information.

Restaurant Photos

JCT Kitchen and Bar
JCT Kitchen and Bar
JCT Kitchen and Bar
Chicken and dumplings
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Short Rib Pot Roast
Crab Salad
Crab Sandwich
Truffle Parmesan Fries
Shrimp & Grits
Cheese Grits
Chicken Liver Terrine
Mac and Cheese
Crab Bisque
Springer Mountain Fried Chicken
Angry Mussels
Lamb Burger
Steak Tartare Accompaniments
Georgia White Shrimp & Oyster Po-Boy
steak tartare
Gumbo
Pepper Vinegar Collard Greens
Sweetwater 420 Extra Pale Ale
Flounder
Grilled Salmon Sandwich
Beet Salad
Sweet Corn & Jersey Cow's Milk Ricotta Tortellini
fried chicken
Crispy Torn Potatoes
Fried Egg Burger
Fried Chicken "Oysters"
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Deviled Eggs With Benton's Ham
Deviled Eggs
Pasta
Truffle Fries
Hot Fudge And Ice Cream
Fried Chicken Salad
Beef Tartare
Brown-Butter Almond Cake
Arugula Salad
Hot Dog
Salad
Crispy Oysters
"Cracker Jack" Salad
Shrimp & Grits "Summer Version"
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
"Angry" Mussels
Pork Belly
S'mores Cake
Grilled Trout
Bacon-Wrapped Meatloaf
Americana In Paris Cocktail
Au Pear Cocktail
French Fries
Tomato Monte Cristo
wood grilled chicken blt
Chocolate Fried Pie
Profiteroles With White Chocolate Ice Cream
Warm almond cake
Jct Salad
Spinach Salad
Fried Chocolate Pie With Pecan Ice Cream
Burger
Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwich And Tomato Soup
Country Folk Are Everywhere
Hot Dogs Assortment
Grilled Hangar Steak
Lagunitas A Little Sumpin' Sumpin' Ale
Dale's Pale Ale
Pork Belly, Poached Egg, Kimchee, Creme Fresh Appetizer
White Bean Soup With Pork Belly
Crab Roll
Marinated Beets
Lamb Shoulder
Grown Up Grilled Cheese
Steak & Egg Salad
Fried Apple Pie With Butter Pecan Ice Cream
raw oysters
Shrimp-N-Grits
Macaroni and Cheese
Meat And Potatoes
Bacon Mac & Cheese
Coconut Cake
Potato Sunchoke Soup
Apple Slaw
Sliders
Oysters
Fried Chicken Skin
Jack O Lantern
frito pie burger
Little Gems And Crispy Oysters
House Made BBQ Chips
Unibroue La Fin du Monde
Bacon Wrapped Dates
Red Brick Ale Brown
Peaches & Herbs Sidecar
Jct Fried Chicken Skins
Brussels Sprouts
Jct Fried Chicken

JCT Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
American
Atlanta
1 More
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in West Midtown ›

fit for foodies (211)
special occasion (158)
good for groups (142)
See All
neighborhood gem (125)
great for outdoor dining (113)
hot spot (111)
great for lunch (106)
romantic (90)
vibrant bar scene (70)
great for brunch (49)
notable wine list (37)
scenic view (33)
late-night find (32)
kid-friendly (15)
Sort By:
Newest
3116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere! Staff was am ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great food and atmosphere! Staff was amazing! We had our 4 month and 18 month old kids and they had a blast!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love JCT kitchen & bar! I had to bring ...

Dined 5 days ago

I love JCT kitchen & bar! I had to bring my roommate to try it out for the Sunday supper! She was so impressed she said the next time her boyfriend was in town that she was going to bring him! So once again it did not disappoint!! Great food, and delightful service as always!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for lunch ! Girls weekend f ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great place for lunch ! Girls weekend find! We loved the food, wine selections, atmosphere and our server Drew!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exceptional !!! Our waitres ...

Dined 7 days ago

Service was exceptional !!! Our waitress was precious I

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The fried chicken is absolutely amazing. ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The fried chicken is absolutely amazing. This is a great restaurant a girls lunch. I split the Parmesan fries with a friend and they were delicious and a perfect sharing size.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Visited again after several years - this ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Visited again after several years - this time with a business group. Fried chicken continues to be amazing. We were wowed by the fresh farm food - peaches were juicy and we fought over the slices in the salad. Was surprised that the field peas were fresh green peas and not the red ones I had eaten before, but was assured that the peas were in the field only days before and fresh.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Keith, was fantastic! A perf ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

Our server, Keith, was fantastic! A perfect representation of southern hospitality. Friendly, informed, and enjoyable! Service matched the quality of JCT's cuisine! We each ordered a cocktail... - I got the Eden Project - Light (though not in color) and refreshing. Recommended for a hot day for sure! - my boyfriend had the Peak Time, refreshing with a little bite. Tasty beverage. The eats... They started us off with the most delicious fresh cooked bread served with the MOST scrumptious Apple butter. This apple butter was too amazing - we treated it more like cream cheese than butter with no regrets. - Georgia Peach Salad (fromage blanc, marinated cucumbers, radish, vinaigrette). Georgia doesn't lie, their peaches are dang good!! Interesting fresh flavors together with the soft cheese and cucumber. I may need to try making this back home. - Cheese plate of 5 cheeses (battery park, marissa, ga gold, the Flying Dutchman, Asher blue) - we both loved the the marissa, aged with a complex and rambunctious flavor. They were all good though. We got a half serving (by recommendation of our waiter). - JCT fried chicken - we split this and it was still a hefty proton for each of us with a total four pieces of chicken (3 wings, 1 drumstick), two biscuits and a bowl of collard greens. The chicken was moist on the inside where it should be and perfectly crisp beautiful deep brown fried shell. The biscuit may have been the best I've every had, fluffy and the perfect amount of flakey. Even more delectable with the apple butter. - side of mac n cheese - this was pretty good, and probably would have tasted better if I wasn't so full already! - dessert, we were stuffed but decided to order their homemade raspberry sorbet. It was refreshing, tangy, a little too sweet for me, but still delicious. My only critical comment - the music was just a little too loud when we first got there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We were very disappointed with our meal. ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We were very disappointed with our meal. Firstly, the menu was very limited, with no choices for starters and dessert. Secondly, the main dishes were unappetizing. For example, the fried chicken was both greasy and limp. The biscuits (part of the starter) were undercooked , while the vegetable sides were overcooked and poorly seasoned. Even the dessert was uninspiring, and quite different from the dish described in the menu. The servers were attentive but could not make up for the bad food. We enjoyed the company and the conversation but not the restaurant .

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was great. Dessert were wonderful

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was great. Dessert were wonderful

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Angel was absolutely awesome. Everythin ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Angel was absolutely awesome. Everything we ordered was amazing - fried corn, the chicken, the mac and cheese, the biscuits... I will dream about the food for a long, long time. Or at least until I return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service as always. This i ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and service as always. This is my 3rd time at JCT and I love it.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a fun birthday celebration. The f ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a fun birthday celebration. The food was fantastic, but we liked our server, Drew, even better. Drew made the experience a great one and we will return because of it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Went for a friends Birthday and reservat ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Went for a friends Birthday and reservations were at 9:15 didn't get sat until 9:30. They were not that busy with tables open and we only had 5 in our party. They were out of a couple of beers that we wanted and also out of food that we wanted. I ended up getting the trout that was burnt on one side and a small side helping. Was not what I was looking for in a $28 dollar plate. The waitress that we had was very friendly but you could tell that we were not on the top of her list as it took forever to get our drinks and food. The meal didn't even come together for the group it was scattered. I will not go back as the first time ruined it for me.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was awesome!!!

Dined on June 17, 2016

Waitress was awesome!!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Server knew that we ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent service. Server knew that we did not need to be hovered over and made sure we were not disturbed. Food was good.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

The noise level was way too loud and it ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The noise level was way too loud and it was difficult to have a conversation, and if it not for that, this would have been a great experience.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Nice location, never was asked if we wan ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Nice location, never was asked if we wanted another slice of bread metered out one slice at a time. Salads excellent, food ok. Server Staff and door greeters very nice, Bartender not very personable, their in the people business.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Melissa, made our JCT experi ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server, Melissa, made our JCT experience even more superb! The food couldn't have been better and the service only enhanced our terrific evening. We love JCT Kitchen.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first visit to JCT Kitchen a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was my first visit to JCT Kitchen and Bar, but I won't be my last! The food was presented nicely and had wonderful flavor. Our waitress was very informative and gave excellent service. I will be going back to try the Sunday Supper.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Love love love JCT Kitchen!!!! The Lobst ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Love love love JCT Kitchen!!!! The Lobster Rolls are the best!!!!

food4
ambience4
service4

Perfect ladies lunch experience for 2 de ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Perfect ladies lunch experience for 2 dear friends. We split the lobster roll/truffle fries and split the chopped salad. Great idea and delicious!! I had been a couple of times but this was my favorite outing at JCT. I will return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my favorite so I am a well known frequen ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

my favorite so I am a well known frequent visitor and always provided great food and enthusiastic service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Disappointment

Dined on June 9, 2016

The service was overall poor. We had to track down our server to even put in drink orders. The drinks took too long to get there as did the food. Basically we felt as if we were a burden to serve. Made for a very disappointing experience particularly since we were introducing several of our friends to JCT for the first time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best fried chicken I've ever ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Some of the best fried chicken I've ever had! It was complimented with the perfect balance of flavors in the JCT salad. Our server was very attentive, continuing to refill our drinks. JCT has an atmosphere that makes you feel at home...I'd highly recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My First Time at JCT

Dined on June 9, 2016

A friend and I came here on another friend's recommendation. We were not disappointed. The Pork Chop was amazing. The Deviled Eggs exquisite. The service was perfect. I will definitely be back, though not too often, my budget would bust. But I see a date night for me and the wife soon. And will definitely recommend it to others. Thanks for a great time with a dear friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Sunday Supper was so much fun!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Sunday Supper was so much fun!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday Supper

Dined on June 5, 2016

Enjoy going to Sunday Supper at JCT 3-4 times per year. The high quality comfort food and laid back environment on a Sunday evening finishes the weekend off on a relaxed note.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find!

Dined on June 4, 2016

I was in Atlanta on business and stumbled upon JCT! Great atmosphere & food! The service and ambiance were impeccable! The upstairs bar had great live music! Would certainly venture back when in the area - also, the deviled eggs were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Always love JCT, the service is good an ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Always love JCT, the service is good and the food and drinks are great. It gets extremely loud on busy nights.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food, great service

Dined on June 3, 2016

Three of us dined at JCT. We all got different appetizers and entrees - then traded bites. EVERYTHING was delicious - the deviled eggs, the clams and especially the Kale salad (appetizers) AND the braised ribs, the monkfish (tasted like lobster!) and the trout. After eating all this, we were stuffed, so we shared dessert: chocolate pound cake with BLACKBERRIES (which were a delicious and unexpected compliment to the chocolate), vanilla ice cream and hot fudge. How one person could eat this whole dessert, we couldn't comprehend! It was "just right" for the 3 of us. And the service was impeccable - our every wish & whim was instantly attended to. Wow! What a superb evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

We had an awesome time celebrating my mi ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

We had an awesome time celebrating my milestone birthday at JCT Kitchen! Our server, Eli, was the best. Kept drinks flowing and made the fab recommendation of chicken and dumplings. The dumplings, y'all. They're something really special. We'll be back!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Delish and Awesome Service

Dined on May 30, 2016

It was our first time in Atlanta, and overall we had found the city to be a little stressful and just way overcrowded over Memorial Day weekend. Coming to this restaurant was truly a breath of fresh air. From the hostess who opened the door and greeted us with a smile, to the active managers who are clearly involved in the day-to-day, and our wonderful server, Michael, it truly became one of our favorite parts of the whole trip. Good customer service and caring people really can make a world of difference. To top it off, we were there for the Sunday Supper and that pork loin with grilled peaches was sweet, savory and all things good. Ton of food that could fill even the hungriest of giants. We sat right by the kitchen door so it was a little hectic, but, otherwise, it was the perfect dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Sunday Supper

Dined on May 29, 2016

Hubby and I stopped in for Sunday Supper. The food was delicious and plentiful. A bit more than we would spend normally but we were celebrating our 8th anniversary. The service was excellent--all staff members were attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Service, Great Food, Lovely Atmosphere

Dined on May 28, 2016

Egnacio was an outstanding server. He was very attentive but didn't hover. The portions were generous and we enjoyed sharing out meals. The fried chicken was perfect and I took my leftovers home to make chicken & waffles for breakfast. Everything was very fresh and beautifully presented. We definitely look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Jules, our server, was awesome. ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Amazing! Jules, our server, was awesome. We wanted to enjoy the meal and our bottle of wine and she spaced everything out so we didn't feel rushed. The mussels are a must try, according to us and The Food Network apparently. The peach salad was light and yummy and the scallop entree was delicious. Not on the restaurant menu but at the bar upstairs, the Devils on Horseback were so good as well.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Patio Sipping

Dined on May 27, 2016

Ran across a blog (ATL Bucket List) that listed the best rooftop patios just in time for my late lunch date! First time at JCT Kitchen and it was the perfect excuse to go. Nice menu options for any taste and a beautiful covered patio looking into a courtyard. Drinks were a little pricey compared to taste but recommend anyone to check it out. Adult Grilled Cheese was so good!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great lunch, excellent fried chicken/bis ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great lunch, excellent fried chicken/biscuit/collards. Lobster sandwich also a standout.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Quaint Place

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

I've been to JCT a couple of times and have thoroughly enjoyed all the food. It is definitely not a place to be rushed for time and unless you are sitting on the patio, don't expect to have an intimate conversation as it gets pretty loud in there. The pimento cheese and fried chicken are awesome and the signature cocktails are quite yummy.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

JCT never disappoints

Dined on May 25, 2016

Exceptional service from Hillary and great food all around. The music was unnecessarily loud but no big deal--we came for the food and (with the exception of a very mediocre steak tartar) it did not disappoint. One other note...the Spring Chopped Salad is one of the best salads I've ever had...ever! Kudos?

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

We had a private area table next to the ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We had a private area table next to the bar. The bartender was our server and his service was terrible. He spent the entire time helping the folks at the bar and didn't even check to see if we needed more water. He highly recommended the braised short ribs and while they were tender, they really lacked flavor. My trout was very good. One of the servers, Caitlyn was her name, saw that we were neglected so she brought us a couple of appetizers, comped. She was a real bright spot in an otherwise forgettable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.