Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About JCT Kitchen and Bar

Acclaimed Chef Ford Fry serves up Southern farmstead cooking based on seasonal ingredients at JCT Kitchen & Bar, his restaurant in Atlanta’s Westside Urban Market. JCT Kitchen and Bar provides an upscale yet casual dining experience with a menu reminiscent of family favorites that are elevated to a gourmet level. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner, while JCT.’s rooftop bar offers a small Southern plates menu, innovative cocktails and live music for guests to enjoy while overlooking the historic neighborhood.

1198 Howell Mill Rd, Ste 18
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday Supper: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Huff Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-2252

Website:
http://www.jctkitchen.com/index.html

Entertainment:
Occasional "Singer/Songwriters"

Parking Details:
Valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Horn

Private Party Facilities:
JCT Kitchen and Bar offers a variety of options and spaces to fit your event needs that include restaurant buy outs for up to 200, semi-private dining for up to 50 guests maximum, and cocktail events up to 125 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Abigail Pietrobon: (404) 355-5311 ext. 212

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Abigail Pietrobon at apietrobon@fordfry.com for special event information.

JCT Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (60)
Special Occasion (58)
Comfort Food (55)
See All
Good for Birthdays (44)
Fun (42)
Good for Groups (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Casual (35)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Romantic (34)
Local Ingredients (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Business Meals (31)
Authentic (27)
Cozy (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Hot Spot (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Seasonal (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
People Watching (12)
Happy Hour (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Organic (7)
Healthy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tapas (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Music (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
4156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 18 hours ago

A very pleasant atmosphere. It was easy to carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I'm biased, because I work for the same company, but even with that aspect of full disclosure, JCT hits all the marks. The care and attention given to every aspect of the dining experience, from the look and feel of the restaurant, the obvious quality of the ingredients and preparation, and the genuine hospitality of the staff create a value-driven meal for all guests. Great food,wonderful job, (thanks Hayley!) with love from your Opti fam.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

waitress was great never have had a bad meal or experience. food is tasty and with
great presentation

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

We took friends from out of town to JCT Kitchen for Sunday Supper. I was surprised at how crowded it was when we arrived. We arrived a little early and had a short wait for our table. Our server was friendly and informative. She checked in with us frequently.

The food was really good. Each of of us got a different entree and everyone was pleased. The meatloaf got the least enthusiastic response. The trout, fried chicken and seafood gumbo were more well-received. The best of the sides was the brussel sprouts. They were fantastic. Mac and cheese was really good as were the collards.

The olive oil, orange rum cake for dessert was a fine way to end the meal.

This was our first time at JCT Kitchen and we will definitely return. The Sunday Supper is a great value.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was not as good as in past Dining experiences

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We visited Sunday night which to our surprise delight there was a "Sunday Supper" menu that included multi course selections and it was out of this world. Although this restaurant was not labeled kid friendly, we made early reservations after the theater matinee with our elementary school children and the waitress was fabulous and accommodating for our girls. Overall it was delicious and a wonderful experience and we will definitely visit again to try the regular menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere, great southern food with modern flare, wonderful service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our reservation was at 8:30 pm We were 15 minutes late because of downtown market traffic. Iwe finally asked to be seated in the bar at 10:10 pm

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

JCT Kitchen is one of our favorite restaurants when we come in town for the mart! Food is always delicious! Excellent service and ambiance! A wonderful meal after a busy day!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was my boyfriend and I first time at JCT. I was searching for a place to take my boyfriend for his 30th birthday. So I asked my aunt where should I take him and JCT was at the top of list. He loved everything from the service to the food. Everyone was very attentive and aware of the reason we were there. They made him feel very special and it’s very important for someone to feel special on their birthday. So again thank you guys so much for the great experience and we’ll definitely be back again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing experience! Best pecan pie I’ve ever had! We did small plates and ate more family style so we could tast a lot of menu items. Everything was fabulous!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Keep in mind we went early so the vibe may be different later in the evening, but everything about the meal was great. I would say the most impressive thing was our server. She was so on top of it. My guest has Celiac Disease and has to be very selective and careful about what she eats. Our server was patient, understanding and knowledgable. She was a great representative of the restaurant. I'm sorry I can't remember her name.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

JCT had a great atmosphere! Awesome food. Loved the decor.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Consistently great food and service
Would highly recommend

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2018

We found this to be a great restaurant with well prepared food. One thing to note is they only offer canned beer and no draft. Otherwise, a wonderful experience with several dinning options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Sunday supper was awesome and a good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2018

We went for their special Sunday Supper, and frankly, I thought that I had died and gone to heaven. I had their trout, and my mother had their classic fried chicken. We paired those with some incredible cocktails, and you couldn't go wrong with any of the sides. I will sing the praises of JCT kitchen to anyone asking for dinner recommendations in Atlanta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2018

We were in Atlanta for the college football national championship. JCT Kitchen is a very high energy restaurant. The southern fare of fried chicken was excellent. The deviled eggs were very good. The service was excellent and the noise level was elevated as was to be expected. Overall, it was an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Service and Food were both Impeccable as always! Can't recommend JCT enough, whether you're looking for a sit down dinner in the dining room or a snack and drinks on the rooftop bar.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Food was great but service was not good. From the confused hostess, to the long delay before we were approached by the waitress, long wait for drinks and confusion around the open table dining reward I had. I have been there many times and had great service so I will go back but if it were my first experience at this restaurant I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Amazing dinner, atmosphere, service and COCONUT CAKE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We had NYE dinner there. It was a different menu that had some good options but didn't have their signature fried chicken. I enjoyed the food, but unfortunately the server team made it very obvious to my date and I that they wanted to flip the table quickly. They were polite, but they kept asking us if we were ready with our order. The server then said that he needed to take our entree order at the same time as the appetizer so that the kitchen would be ready. They kept trying to clear our dishes and drinks before we were done. We were trying to enjoy a nice, expensive, NYE date dinner, but unfortunately we just felt very rushed. I've been here before and haven't experienced this. I definitely won't be back for NYE here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Prefix menu for NYE was amazing. Will have to make it back here on my next trip back to Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

JCT Kitchen is a dining must for me when I visit Atlanta

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Appetizers were great! Should have stopped there, my husband ordered a burger and only a half which is very unusual ! Simply not worth eating, The music was so loud, you could not hear each other talk! We kindly asked if they could turn the music down but apparently our request fell on deaf ears! I’m not sure who JCT is trying to appeal to but it has certainly lost my vote!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Fantastic service food and ambiance. The entire staff was attentive. The prices for dinner very reasonable for the exquisite meal you get. We enjoyed Cicken and Dumplings, the Hangar Steak and Fried Chicken. All were perfection. Perfectly cooked and delicious flavor. We had the Caramel Toffe Cake for dessert and it was the final perfect touch to a great experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Excellent all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Our experience was great. The appetizers and entrees arrived in reasonable time. The food and service was excellent. I would recommend this spot to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Best service I had in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Food was consistently delicious. Offered a creative take on regional favorites. Our server, Gloria, was superb and extremely personable. Will go back again

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Super consistent and fantastic food. I only have one single complaint. It is more and more noisy every time I go. I found myself shouting to the person across the table from me.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

My second visit here and the service and food was outstanding!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Had a really good time and our server Tiffany was amazing and so was the management staff. We were a few min late due to an accident on 85S but our table was ready when we arrived.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2017

The food was good and our server was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2017

JCT Kitchen is a great, dependable spot. Super noisy as everyone is having fun and enjoying good food, good times. Shout out for the clam sandwich! Truffle parm fries! Burger! Fried chicken!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Dined here with a party of 5 on a busy Friday night. We arrived right on time @ 7:45PM & were seated immediately. We were quickly greeted by our friendly and knowledgeable server, who described the food/drink style, highlighting items of particular interest, gave us a few minutes to peruse the drink options & then took drink orders. Drinks arrived quickly, (they have several interesting twists on classic favorites); and then we were onto ordering our meals. Our group included 1 vegetarian, 1 pescatarian, 1 flexible diner & 2 solid carnivores, so we covered every section of the menu with our order. The pacing of the meal was perfect, the apps were excellent, drinks were refreshed as needed, etc. The only glitch was with the vegetarian option, which tasted fantastic, but was delivered lukewarm - once we told our server about that it was whisked away & returned quickly @ the appropriate temperature. We shared two desserts (rum infused coconut cake & a caramel apple cake); the coconut cake was top notch, the apple cake was tasty, but a bit dry. We really enjoyed our experience, the food was very good & our server was FANTASTIC. We will definitely return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 15, 2017

We have never had bad food at JCT Kitchen. If you have never been be sure someone in your party gets the fried chicken, they take the humble meal and make it special. The fish special the day we went was Arctic Char, it was the best we have ever eaten anywhere. Always consistently great food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 14, 2017

JCT is one of my favorite ATL restaurants... southern favorites meets French flair. Great tasting food, impeccable service, with a nice ambiance. There are curtains used as walls, so there is a high noise level, but a certain exuberance from your fellow dining patrons.
I highly recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 14, 2017

Always the best and never disappointed! One of my favorites!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 14, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and everyone made a point of making our special date extra special. Food and service were wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.