Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About JCT Kitchen and Bar

Acclaimed Chef Ford Fry serves up Southern farmstead cooking based on seasonal ingredients at JCT Kitchen & Bar, his restaurant in Atlanta’s Westside Urban Market. JCT Kitchen and Bar provides an upscale yet casual dining experience with a menu reminiscent of family favorites that are elevated to a gourmet level. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner, while JCT.’s rooftop bar offers a small Southern plates menu, innovative cocktails and live music for guests to enjoy while overlooking the historic neighborhood.

1198 Howell Mill Rd, Ste 18
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday Supper: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Huff Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-2252

Website:
http://www.jctkitchen.com/index.html

Entertainment:
Occasional "Singer/Songwriters"

Parking Details:
Valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Horn

Private Party Facilities:
JCT Kitchen and Bar offers a variety of options and spaces to fit your event needs that include restaurant buy outs for up to 200, semi-private dining for up to 50 guests maximum, and cocktail events up to 125 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Abigail Pietrobon: (404) 355-5311 ext. 212

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Abigail Pietrobon at apietrobon@fordfry.com for special event information.

JCT Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (96)
Comfort Food (81)
Fit for Foodies (80)
See All
Special Occasion (69)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Casual (49)
Local Ingredients (48)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Handcrafted Cocktails (45)
Fun (45)
Romantic (45)
Hot Spot (45)
Great for Lunch (44)
Worth the Drive (43)
Cozy (41)
Good for Groups (41)
Business Meals (40)
Modern Decor (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Family Style (25)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Authentic (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Happy Hour (19)
People Watching (19)
Seasonal (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Scenic View (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Organic (9)
Great Beer (8)
Live Music (8)
Healthy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Historic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
3730 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Family was in town visiting from out of state and we went for Sunday Supper. They don't have things like that on the west coast so it was a nice treat for them.

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We were at the area and still haven't been here before. A friend recommended their fried chicken, after a discussion on where to get the best one in Atlanta so we gave it a go. It happened to be a Sunday and we chanced upon their Sunday Supper that comes with the ff:

1. Biscuits -one of the best ones I've ever had and the only one I've really enjoyed eating without meat in it! The combination of flaky exterior and moist interior was just perfect!

2. Deviled Eggs - really tasty! wish they had more pieces to serve. My husband and I just had a half each. The yolk mixture topped with micro scallions left me wanting more!

3. Salad - not a big salad eater but I did enjoy this one. Not sure what it's called exactly but it had lettuce, beans, grated cheese, brussel sprouts and the one ingredient I really loved, beets!

4. Your choice of Meat.
* Fried Chicken - what we came here for. It was definitely one of the good ones we've had in Atlanta but it came with just two small pieces. Wish they had larger portions! We got one wing and one thigh, wing was OK, thigh was really good!
*Oxtail - served with cheese grits. Oxtail, perfect cook! Tender, melt-in-your mouth and seasoning was great! It was served on top of warm and comforting cheese grits which I usually don't touch, but this one I really liked!

5. Your choice of three sides to share:
*Mac & Cheese - best side of the night no doubt! It had thick cut bacon in it which just brought out the flavor of the cheese even more!
*Potato Salad - cook on the potatoes were spot on, not mushy at all! Downside, a little too strong on the mustard.
*Butter Beans - bland! I ordered it because it's supposed to have ham hock in it or at least flavored with, but it was not there.

6. Pecan Pie - I was afraid it would be too sweet but it was just right! The crust was so good too. Perfect was to cap the night.

Everything was for $26 per person without drinks. Will definitely come here when craving for elevated Southern Cooking.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a most enjoyable Sunday supper at JCT. Kitchens. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. After we were seated, the server brought us the best biscuits I think I have ever eaten, served with strawberry jam. Next, deviled eggs and a wonderful salad were brought to the table. My daughter and I enjoyed the fried chicken for the main course, which was served with drizzled honey and was crispy and delicious. My husband ordered the oxtails over grits. The oxtails were well seasoned and the grits were very creamy. For our sides, we chose the collard greens, macaroni and cheese, and sweet potatoes. All three were hit! Dessert topped off the mean, and was an exquisite pecan pie tartlet. Be sure you go hungry so you can enjoy all that is offered.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Highly recommend the "Sunday Supper"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, service, and drinks! Also, sometimes they have live music on the upstairs patio. Awesome.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

It was my sister's birthday and I needed to find a different place to take her and my other 4 sister's to have a good time and enjoy great food. JCT Kitchen was definitely the place. We had an amazing time. The food, drinks, service and atmosphere was perfect. We all where impress and satisfied with the entire experience. Perfect for a first date, date night, engagement, birthday, etc. Thanks for an amazing experience! We all had an amazing time. SJC

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Casual, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic evening - drinks, food, ambiance, menu & Eli was superb waiter! Highly recommend !!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience all the way around! A delight from the moment we sat down at the bar to our last bite of dessert at the table. Tremendous food, outstanding service, and great environment for dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Went to JCT Kitchen with 3 colleagues. The service was very good. I ordered the spring pea pasta. It was ok - not quite as good as I expected but ok. Everyone else got the striped bass that was the fish that night and loved it. I would go back an try other items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food! Excellent service!
Tips on our list for restaurants in Atlanta!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was beyond amazing! And, the service was superb as well! Several people came by our table to offer personalized service! We will be dining there again soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great restaurant with great food. Love the atmosphere and the service was great! Thank you Chelsea for being a great server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My husband and I watch the travel and food channel a lot and seen this restaurant, they were talking about how great the truffle fries are, we been looking for truffle fries since we left Hawaii , finally found them at JCT and they were GREAT!!!! This really is a 5 star restaurant , we will be back. Oh we drove 2.5 hrs just to dine at JCT.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

All six of us had a fabulous meal! Our waiter, Angel was one of the best waiters we've ever had! Even more impressive was how they handled the problem when 2 plates of food did not come to the table hot. They made our special occasion "Special" by bringing the table some of their excellent deserts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great first time experience. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 7, 2017

It was my birthday and I thought we were getting a free birthday dessert like several restaurants do, but we got charged and I didn't like that because I asked if they had birthday desserts and thought it was free, otherwise wouldn't have gotten it. Suggest you give free desserts for birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Pretty good; not great. Service was slow. Food was fine.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Everything was amazing! Best dinner in Atlanta!!! Which I lived there because I would be there every Sunday for supper.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Amazing food, incredible ambience, top-notch service. Five star experience!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Entertained out of town guests visiting-and a restauranteur. Prompt service, attentive and the food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service fantastic. Food excellent..."meat and 3" Southern Sunday dinner served family style. We were a large group of Georgia Tech lacrosse players and their parents. We were treated and fed like champions! Go Jackets!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was amazing and we have enjoyed the restaurant many times. This visit we found the ladies restroom to be gross. One stall was out of order. The other 2 were well used and looked unclean. I found the odor was horrific when I took my daughter to wash her hands before we sat down. Our reservation was at 4:45 so I find it hard to believe the restroom was cleaned from the day prior. Had the food not been so good I would question going back again.

Just not acceptable for a place of that caliber.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Family Style, Organic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

What a wonderful surprise. Absolutely the best fried chicken that we ever had. Jules was a great server and proactively comped a meal that did not come out as ordered. We will definitely return our next time in Atlanta!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious meal in a wonderful setting. Don't miss the chicken and dumplings...a little bowl of heaven.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always a treat to come here! My friend and I ordered a number of sides to share and we enjoyed everything. Service was friendly and the decor lovely!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were seated quickly and the service was very attentive from start to end. All the entrées were excellent. Our table had slight issue but management handled it quickly and professionally. I would definitely recommend JCT and will return for future business and social occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent service and dining experience. All the reasons JCT remains a trusted fav for a Friday night date with my love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

the food and service was excellent. I was disappointed that they didn't have filtered water. I'm a health nut, and I would like my food to be prepared with filtered water. I did love the atmosphere , service, and freshness of the food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Meat and potatoes with truffle fries was fantastic. The waiter was not very attentive, nor was he very friendly unfortunately. Other than that I would definitely return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 2, 2017

What a fantastic experience for our anniversary. The food was "can't stop talking about how good it was" good.

The service was equally awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food- fun atmosphere and very attentive and friendly staff

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a great time on Sunday evening for the "Meat and Three". I thoroughly enjoyed my oxtail and grits. Our server, Chaz, was excellent. Thank you.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Restaurant is located in a very cool area of Atlanta. Food was fantastic! Our server was nice but not very attentive.....waited for a long time for water refills & didn't converse with us a lot. The young lady who brought us our appetizer was very nice & engaging!
The restaurant is very dimly lit making it difficult to read the menu easily. Decor is very unique & overall a great ambiance. Overall will recommend & return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I wanted something a bit more upbeat since it state lounge in it's title. However, the food and drinks were good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A member of our group enjoyed the hanger steak, another the fried chicken and mac and cheese, and another the hamburger. All three of those dishes were great. The last person had the special of a rib eye steak with lobster. The steak was somewhat tough, but the lobster was good. The kale that was served with it, was not eatable.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Love this place been here 4 times in 4 months. Lively and truffle fries are made from heaven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was great, our waitress Nicole was Fantastic!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was a nice experience with great service. Will be back..

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Banana Pudding---the best I have had in years! Biscuits just oh my!!!! A must go place......add it to your list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.