About JCT Kitchen and Bar

1198 Howell Mill Rd, Ste 18
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Acclaimed Chef Ford Fry serves up Southern farmstead cooking based on seasonal ingredients at JCT Kitchen & Bar, his restaurant in Atlanta’s Westside Urban Market. JCT Kitchen and Bar provides an upscale yet casual dining experience with a menu reminiscent of family favorites that are elevated to a gourmet level. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner, while JCT.’s rooftop bar offers a small Southern plates menu, innovative cocktails and live music for guests to enjoy while overlooking the historic neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday Supper: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Huff Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-2252

Website:
http://www.jctkitchen.com/index.html

Entertainment:
Occasional "Singer/Songwriters"

Parking Details:
Valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Horn

Private Party Facilities:
JCT Kitchen and Bar offers a variety of options and spaces to fit your event needs that include restaurant buy outs for up to 200, semi-private dining for up to 50 guests maximum, and cocktail events up to 125 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Abigail Pietrobon: 4043555311x212

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Abigail Pietrobon at apietrobon@fordfry.com for special event information.

Restaurant Photos

JCT Kitchen and Bar
JCT Kitchen and Bar
JCT Kitchen and Bar
Chicken and dumplings
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Short Rib Pot Roast
Crab Salad
Crab Sandwich
Truffle Parmesan Fries
Cheese Grits
Shrimp & Grits
Chicken Liver Terrine
Mac and Cheese
Crab Bisque
Springer Mountain Fried Chicken
Angry Mussels
Lamb Burger
Steak Tartare Accompaniments
Georgia White Shrimp & Oyster Po-Boy
steak tartare
Gumbo
Pepper Vinegar Collard Greens
Sweetwater 420 Extra Pale Ale
Flounder
Grilled Salmon Sandwich
Beet Salad
Fried Egg Burger
fried chicken
Sweet Corn & Jersey Cow's Milk Ricotta Tortellini
Crispy Torn Potatoes
Fried Chicken "Oysters"
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Deviled Eggs With Benton's Ham
Deviled Eggs
Truffle Fries
Pasta
Hot Fudge And Ice Cream
Fried Chicken Salad
Beef Tartare
Brown-Butter Almond Cake
Salad
Arugula Salad
Hot Dog
Crispy Oysters
"Cracker Jack" Salad
Shrimp & Grits "Summer Version"
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
"Angry" Mussels
Pork Belly
S'mores Cake
Grilled Trout
Bacon-Wrapped Meatloaf
Au Pear Cocktail
Americana In Paris Cocktail
French Fries
Tomato Monte Cristo
wood grilled chicken blt
Warm almond cake
Profiteroles With White Chocolate Ice Cream
Chocolate Fried Pie
Jct Salad
Spinach Salad
Fried Chocolate Pie With Pecan Ice Cream
Burger
Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwich And Tomato Soup
Country Folk Are Everywhere
Hot Dogs Assortment
Grilled Hangar Steak
Dale's Pale Ale
Lagunitas A Little Sumpin' Sumpin' Ale
White Bean Soup With Pork Belly
Pork Belly, Poached Egg, Kimchee, Creme Fresh Appetizer
Marinated Beets
Crab Roll
Lamb Shoulder
Steak & Egg Salad
Grown Up Grilled Cheese
Fried Apple Pie With Butter Pecan Ice Cream
raw oysters
Shrimp-N-Grits
Macaroni and Cheese
Meat And Potatoes
Bacon Mac & Cheese
Apple Slaw
Coconut Cake
Potato Sunchoke Soup
Sliders
Oysters
Jack O Lantern
Fried Chicken Skin
frito pie burger
Little Gems And Crispy Oysters
Unibroue La Fin du Monde
Bacon Wrapped Dates
House Made BBQ Chips
Red Brick Ale Brown
Peaches & Herbs Sidecar
Holiday Cocktail
Black Drum
Chicken Liver Mousse

JCT Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
American
Atlanta
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in West Midtown ›

Fit for Foodies (170)
Special Occasion (133)
Good for Groups (117)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (107)
Great for Outdoor Dining (86)
Great for Lunch (85)
Hot Spot (81)
Romantic (67)
Vibrant Bar Scene (61)
Great for Brunch (42)
Notable Wine List (34)
Scenic View (30)
Late-night Find (20)
Kid-friendly (13)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Would definitely recommend Sunday Supper ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Would definitely recommend Sunday Supper here... Served four course, fixed price, with choices for main entrees. We had salad, deviled eggs, biscuits, meatloaf, pork loin, mac & cheese, collard greens, mashed potatoes, and chocolate chip cookie pie for dessert. It was like having your grandma cook for you after church. Yum. Great comfort food. Will get fried chicken next time. Great service... the restaurant is a bit loud.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

went for daughters birthday and had out ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

went for daughters birthday and had out of town company with us. We were there for Sunday Supper - great value, great food, love the menu plan they have for Sunday!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. The food was awes ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was great. The food was awesome Mac and cheese is the best I have ever had. The mussels, parmesan fries and fried chicken will blow your mind. The food is well worth the price our bill was around 70 buck(food only). Enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

JCT was great. The food was excellent a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

JCT was great. The food was excellent and the service was even better. Our server Eli was very knowledgeable and friendly. She had all the answers to our questions, sometimes before we even asked. The restaurant was busy and the atmosphere was lively. Overall a great night out. We will definitely be returning to JCT in the future.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I should start by saying that JCT is one ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

I should start by saying that JCT is one of my favorite restaurants in Atlanta, but, my last visit was pretty disappointing on all fronts. Food: The muscles, usually a delicious treat, were in a broth so heavily laden with jalapeno peppers that a bite of bread dipped in the sauce literally burned the inside of my mouth. The steak, a mainstay, had an overwhelmingly potent butter on it that diminished the flavor of the steak; further, my daughter was given my medium steak, while I was served her medium-well cut. Corn, a seasonal offering, was also overly seasoned, so much so that I couldn't taste the vegetable. And, while most things were trying too hard with the spices, the burratta and berries salad was overwhelmingly bland. Clearly, an off night in the kitchen or a bad series of choices for the menu.

It wasn't helped by the subpar service. The entrees took a long time to be delivered (two of them incorrectly - per above), and when we were done, we were super-rushed out of the restaurant by the server. Silly, but the reservation noted that we were celebrating a birthday, and the server mentioned it upon introducing herself, but the kitchen didn't send out even something small to recognize it. It is a simple thing, cheap for the restaurant to do, while making the customer happy (especially when we confirmed that we are repeat customers), so between the pushing us out the door feeling, and the failure to recognize the special day, the service also left a bad taste in my mouth.

Not likely to go back anytime soon, which is disappointing as I ordinarily love JCT. Hoping the overzealous attempts at seasonal zest will temper by the time I return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Absolutely delicious food and incredible ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely delicious food and incredible service from Eli! We split 2 entrees (handmade pasta with crab, cream sauce and sweet corn, and the short ribs with sweet potato mash), and enjoyed chocolate cake to celebrate my friends birthday. Food was perfectly portioned, and cocktails were delish! Eli was attentive and personable (even took our photo for us). Would definitely recommend JCT to others!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extraordinarily loud

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Extraordinarily loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food and service were equally AMAZIN ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were equally AMAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the worst visit I have ever had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was the worst visit I have ever had to this restaurant and it may have been my last. First of all, it was my mother's birthday and for medical reasons she is on a limited diet. We asked 3 times what the options were for a veggie plate and we were told okra, corn and tomatoes all mixed together. My mother asked "is it like a succotash?" and he replied "yes." So she orders something different. Then a couple is seated next to us and they have a different server. Lol and behold he begins to rattle off the vegetables of the day without even being asked ...field peas, heirloom tomatoes, asparagus, etc. What?!?! On top of not knowing the menu, our server was preoccupied, keeping his attention on someone ot something across the room. He never have us his undivided attention. I ordered the fried chicken sandwich as usual. On this occasion it tasted old and flavorless. The Manager replaced it with something different but it still was not the freshest. JCT is usually one of my favorite spots but this is one time I wish I had not gone. I absolutely will not make it my choice for another special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Goff was ok , not up to JCT standards. M ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Goff was ok , not up to JCT standards. My salad was so dry, I had to ask for additional dressing. The service was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Certainly the best fries chicken and col ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Certainly the best fries chicken and collards I've had in some time. Out table also got the pork shop, so very tender, incredible. The red fish was also excellent but we out-ordered him! Good bourbon selection also.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it. Will definitely go back.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Loved it. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Service was bad.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Service was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

We did the Sunday Supper! Since it is so ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We did the Sunday Supper! Since it is sort of family style, I would recommend larger portions for the sides

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We dined on Sunday and thoroughly enjoye ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We dined on Sunday and thoroughly enjoyed the Sunday dinner. Service was excellent! Food was delicious and plentiful. We can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Came here for a girls night out. We orde ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Came here for a girls night out. We ordered the mac-and-cheese as an app and for entrees we shared the hanger steak, chicken and dumplings, fried chicken and braised short rib. The Mac-and-cheese and hanger steak were excellent! Probably one of the best M&C Ive ever had!! (You cant go wrong throwing in some BENTON'S bacon ;) The cocktails we tried weren't the best I've ever had and a little on the pricer side. I would def come back when I visit ATL again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This is one of the best spots for lunch, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is one of the best spots for lunch, food and service is always excellent, in my personal opinion one of the top three in the company.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The shrimp and grits were good and the w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The shrimp and grits were good and the wait staff seems to have cohesive vibe.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food took 40 minutes to come out. The fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food took 40 minutes to come out.

The food was good, but nothing exceptional.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great service and ambiance.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and drink. Shared chicken ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fantastic food and drink. Shared chicken and dumplings, grilled corn, garlic green beans and oysters. All delicious! Server was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is great. Service excellent. Noise ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food is great. Service excellent. Noise level is off the charts. Desperately need to find a way to bring it down so you can carry on a conversation. People at the table next to us were yelling to be heard. I had to wait to speak to my wife between their bursts. The background noise is that loud.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My boyfriend took me for my bday and we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My boyfriend took me for my bday and we have no complaints! Service and food was amazing. My boyfriend ordered the signature fried chicken and he couldn't stop eating even after he was full. I ordered the bone in ribeye which was phenomenal and came with potato a gratin that was very tasty! I later found out that when I ordered they didn't have anymore ribeye but the Chef ran across the street to the company's French concept steakhouse to get me my ribeye. Jct def gets a star for going above and beyond for me. We will we back

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our appetizers (truffl ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We really enjoyed our appetizers (truffle fries and macaroni and cheese). It was some of the best macaroni and cheese I have ever had. The entrée options were slim - and I say that because my friends and I are not from the South. We were not used to seeing items like this on the menu. I had the chicken and dumplings - which I have never had before - and the chicken was wonderful. I did not like the first cocktail I had, so the waitress immediately replaced it with a different option without a charge. I would definitely go back next time I am in Atlanta. Very cool vibe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The adult grill cheese and tomatoe soup ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The adult grill cheese and tomatoe soup was a big hit. This is fast becoming one of my favorite spots.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Sunday supper is a great value at JCT. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sunday supper is a great value at JCT. All the choices were excellently prepared and presented. Portions of the shared sides are more than ample for each person.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had pre-theatre dinner here and were ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had pre-theatre dinner here and were also celebrating our anniversary. We loved the food - it met every expectation we had and then some. Service was efficient and the cocktail I had was perfectly made. We are looking forward to going back and trying more items from the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent venue great waiter. The atmosp ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent venue great waiter. The atmosphere was superb. Good outstanding. Will be back

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice environment, great decor and pretty ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Nice environment, great decor and pretty good food. I had the shrimp and grits and they were great. My friend had the chicken dumpling and said it lacked flavor. So just depends on your taste buds I think. The service was awesome, our server Tiffany was marvelous. I would definitely come back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Decided on JCT Kitchen for dinner before ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Decided on JCT Kitchen for dinner before attending the BB&T tennis tournament. Our waiter was incredible and very attentive. He went out of way to not only serve is but helped make the experience more enjoyable with his great personality. The food was wonderful and we all left very satisfied and full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My first time & will definitely not be m ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

My first time & will definitely not be my last 😊 The service (Keith) was AMAZING and made my evening truly delightful... My peach margarita (seasonal only) & the risotto was simply MAGNIFICENT.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group went for Sunday Supper. The s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our group went for Sunday Supper. The service was amazing. One person in the group wasn't eating due to a stomach bug and our waitress made her a special tea and brought crackers. They were very accommodating to her. We each ordered something different and passed the plates around. The fried chicken was awesome! The bartender made what is probably the best Old Fashioned that I have ever had. Great atmosphere, and the decor is really cute, too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third visit to JCT, and as ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our third visit to JCT, and as always, the food was incredible and the staff were top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! One of the best ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and service! One of the best dinning experience I have had in Atlanta. The menu has a great mix of southern classics and more common dishes with a modern twist. Great drink menu as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was very patient and great wi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The waiter was very patient and great with a party of 10 people, including three kids! I wanted to go somewhere I knew had reservations for a family outing. I had some family visiting from out of town and wanted them to try Southern food and JCT Kitchen was perfect.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was great. I had a special r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was great. I had a special request for a drink that I wasn't anticipating the bar could make and while they didn't have the exact ingredients, the bartender was able to improvise to create the best imitation possible. Definitely a great dining experience all around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The inside of the restaurant is adorable ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The inside of the restaurant is adorable and I loved the layout. My boyfriend and I sat in the back and a small table fit for two. Our server was very friendly and honest about the menu, he made us laugh when he was dissapointed that we couldn't finish the very large basket of truffle fries we ordered for an appetizer. Those things are addicting! But no way could two people finish them. They are a must have though! The fresh bread we got was so soft and warm, and the apple butter was the perfect spread for it. If only we lived in Atlanta, we would be coming back too often for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious! The clam roll was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Absolutely delicious! The clam roll was phenomenal, and the truffle fries were the best I've ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slower than normal based on ...

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Service was slower than normal based on past visits. To that point I've never seen the staff so unkempt in their appearance.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Our cocktails were delicious, and our be ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our cocktails were delicious, and our berries and burrata cheese appetizer was amazing! We loved our entrees and desserts as well, the only complaint is that our server wasn't very attentive or quick, but she was still polite and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.