About JCT Kitchen and Bar

1198 Howell Mill Rd, Ste 18
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Acclaimed Chef Ford Fry serves up Southern farmstead cooking based on seasonal ingredients at JCT Kitchen & Bar, his restaurant in Atlanta’s Westside Urban Market. JCT Kitchen and Bar provides an upscale yet casual dining experience with a menu reminiscent of family favorites that are elevated to a gourmet level. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner, while JCT.’s rooftop bar offers a small Southern plates menu, innovative cocktails and live music for guests to enjoy while overlooking the historic neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday Supper: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Huff Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-2252

Website:
http://www.jctkitchen.com/index.html

Entertainment:
Occasional "Singer/Songwriters"

Parking Details:
Valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Horn

Private Party Facilities:
JCT Kitchen and Bar offers a variety of options and spaces to fit your event needs that include restaurant buy outs for up to 200, semi-private dining for up to 50 guests maximum, and cocktail events up to 125 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Abigail Pietrobon: 4043555311x212

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Abigail Pietrobon at apietrobon@fordfry.com for special event information.

Restaurant Photos

JCT Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
American
Atlanta
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in West Midtown ›

fit for foodies (225)
special occasion (155)
good for groups (142)
See All
neighborhood gem (134)
hot spot (123)
great for lunch (108)
great for outdoor dining (104)
romantic (98)
vibrant bar scene (81)
great for brunch (40)
late-night find (36)
notable wine list (36)
scenic view (27)
kid-friendly (17)
Sort By:
Newest
3071 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Sunday special is an outstanding val ...

Dined 4 days ago

The Sunday special is an outstanding value! Be sure your reservation early since this is very popular.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

JCT was a nice restaurant.. The food was ...

Dined 5 days ago

JCT was a nice restaurant.. The food was really great, and JCT is a kid friendly environment... The service was beyond great... They have a lot of patience , and they are very understand with kids... Plus, the food came out at a decent time, and the food was fresh to order... 😊

food5
ambience5
service4

Service isn't the "best"....our waiter w ...

Dined 7 days ago

Service isn't the "best"....our waiter was very nice, but he would disappear for long periods and trying to flag down another waiter proved impossible. That aside, the food was amazing. By far the best shrimp and grits I have ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy the menu selections and atm ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Always enjoy the menu selections and atmosphere! The service is always excellent and it's perfect for lunch or dinner dining.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love to visit JCT Kitchen & Bar overt ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We love to visit JCT Kitchen & Bar overtime that we visit Atlanta. The food just keeps getting better. Make sure that you order the Potato and Vidalia Onion Soup. The JCT Fried Chicken is off the charts... make sure that you the hot sauce on it too... their homemade hot sauce puts the rest to shame!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I always enjoy JCT whenever I'm in town. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I always enjoy JCT whenever I'm in town. The fried chicken is terrific but so is everything else I've tried so far. The onion soup is a must but I'd love to see a return of the incredible peanut soup they offered about five years ago.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The deviled eggs were delicious. While ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The deviled eggs were delicious. While the fried chicken skin was relatively tasty, it was too thin and held too much grease. And, ideally it should be served with a Texas or Louisiana hot sauce for exactly the right flavor addition. I will say that my burger was perfect and the service was not only good looking but excellent!!!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate outside in the patio and had a gr ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We ate outside in the patio and had a great time. Great food!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, atmosphere was perfect

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food, atmosphere was perfect

food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time dining at JCT an ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was my second time dining at JCT and it was just as great as my first. The food, ambiance and service are all fantastic! Coming from New York I definitely think my standard of restaurants is set pretty high. JCT far exceeds expectations! If you are looking for great food, great service in a fun and happening atmosphere look no further. I have already made a third reservation for my fathers Birthday when he comes to ATL. Oh and if you have the pleasure of having Beverly as your server you are LUCKY!

food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Dinner on a Thursday

Dined on May 12, 2016

Service was great! Happy to report a marked improvement in their Fried Chicken since the last time I had it. Our shrimp app was a little under cooked for our tastes. We opted not to send it back for additional cooking but the onus for that is on us as the server did offer to do so.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Angry mussels are amazing! Also love th ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Angry mussels are amazing! Also love the truffle fries and the fried chicken. cocktails are pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch was fantastic as always! I love t ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Lunch was fantastic as always! I love the Shrimp and Avocado Salad. SO good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great American food for any occasion!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I went here with my family who was visiting for graduation, and we did the Sunday Supper menu at JCT. Everyone got the catfish and I got the pork, with sides of roasted vegetables, mashed potatoes, and rice. It was all excellent and definitely worth the fixed price, but the absolute bets part was the dessert. Strawberry cheesecake panna cotta, one of the best desserts I've ever had! Service was also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not as Good as I remembered but Not Bad

Dined on May 8, 2016

I visited this restaurant some years back and loved it. Maybe my expectations were too high but this time I was underwhelmed. The biscuits were really good, but the rest of the food wasn't really up to foodie level. It was just decent, but the wow and impressiveness were missing. The service was good, but I could see some "southern" guests in for a shock with the character of our waitstaff. I'm not sure I'm compelled to return or recommend the restaurant. I found the recipe for the biscuits in a local newspaper so I'm not sure if I need anything more. I went for Sunday Supper by the way.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Not what we were looking for, but great anyway

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I were looking for a place to celebrate our anniversary, and we picked JCT because it boasted a nice outdoor seating area with a city view. When we arrived, we found out that the upstairs patio is actually part of the bar, had loud music blasting, and only offered a limited menu. So instead we opted to sit on the downstairs patio with a courtyard garden view. It was much more quiet and romantic, and the food was great, so for that I couldn't recommend it enough. Our only regret is that we were really hoping for something with a city view, and if you want the full dining experience than that just isn't the case with JCT.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined here before and they are co ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I have dined here before and they are consistently good. And they always do a new twist on old favorites like Chicken and dumpling.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great modern southern cooking!!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Great modern southern cooking!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was Angel, he made the experi ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our server was Angel, he made the experience wonderful. He was funny and answered All our questions and the service was excellent. The food was excellent and the portion sizes were definately more than we expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

I always get the Trout...always outstand ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

I always get the Trout...always outstanding!! My husband and I split the Kale and Blue cheese salad...delicious!! I especially like the fresh season vegetables served w the entrees. To top it off w a raspberry or strawberry sorbet is a perfect way to end a meal. The servers Christin and Christina are the best, and Josh the Sous chef even sent some Ramp onions out to taste. We shall return.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was pretty good. The bread and ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

The food was pretty good. The bread and honey butter were fantastic. The service was amazing, our water glasses were always full!

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Sets the standard for New South, with th ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Sets the standard for New South, with the right balance of tradition and innovation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyable

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

This was my second time visiting this restaurant. Its located in a nice revitalized area, the service on both of my visits has been outstanding. The food is good as well, I recommend the Angry Mussels as a starter. Although they are know for their fried chicken, the shrimp and grits is just as good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply amazing. Lunch was superb and ser ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Simply amazing. Lunch was superb and service equally as wonderful. Loved the chicken and dumplings. We had a great time and prices were very reasonable for the quality.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday Supper is a favorite!

Dined on May 1, 2016

All was spectacular with amazing service with the exception of the catfish. Should have ordered fried chicken like everyone else. Outstanding mac-n-cheese and collard greens. Great value!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience. Our waiter was excel ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Awesome experience. Our waiter was excellent. I had the oxtail and grits. Very good. My boyfriend had the chicken. We will definitely be back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Sunday Supper

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went for Sunday supper. More limited menu (fixed price) but still plenty of choices for entrees. Food all delicious and a terrific value. Well prepared, nicely presented, a very good meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Another great experience.

Dined on May 1, 2016

This was our second dining experience at JTC and was awesome. We had late reservation which took us past closing. We never felt rushed. The food was outstanding. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3

Probably my 100th time, well 6th to be e ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Probably my 100th time, well 6th to be exact and each time they have proved to be a 5 star establishment. Keeping southern cuisine very much alive and adding interesting twists, JCT is by far among the top brunch places in atlanta. Sexy decor and vibrant ambiance, delicious cocktail options, from the strong and stormy drinks to the fruity and less bitter, this place is perfect for a weekend brunch with family/friends. Of course the location itself is nothing short of 5 stars. Located at the heart of west side, there's plenty to do before and/or after the meal. Back to JCT, the service can range from very friendly to straight forward yet very efficient. We had a nice server, she wasn't in the conversation mood nor charmed us with smiles or extra warmth but was very efficient yet gave us the time to calmly enjoy our meal without feeling rushed. Her drink recommendations were top notch. Ordered the grilled chicken sandwich; very crispy and flavorful. The truffle Parmesan cheese fries were a great compliment to the sandwich. Also ordered the spiced collard greens, very nice twist to a southern classic.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My parents were in town and I wanted to ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

My parents were in town and I wanted to take them to one of my Atlanta favorites. Always yummy food and great service! Although, I was disappointed they were out of the crab toast.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Rude hostess

Dined on April 29, 2016

I was meeting someone for a business lunch and the first half of my party arrived 25 minutes early (I already had reservations). I told them to ask to be seated early if they had available seating. There were multiple tables available and when asked if they could be seated early, they were told no by the hostess. I arrived 10 minutes later and requested a table and was seated immediately (with no mention of my reservation). This completely turned off my business associates and set the tone for the entire lunch. To add insult to injury our food was luke warm when it came out like it had been sitting in the window several minutes before it arrived to our table. The only good thing was our waiter who was friendly and attentive. I normally take business colleagues to JCT Kitchen, but after this experience, never again.

food3
ambience5
service4

Went for lunch, my husband had the lobs ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Went for lunch, my husband had the lobster roll. He Loved that the fact there was a lot of filler. I got the fried chicken with collards and it was very good. Service was perfect.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

would go back

Dined on April 28, 2016

This was my second time to the restaurant. The food was excellent both times. The service was good except that the waiter brought our tab as I was just starting my dessert- too early in my opinion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal all around ! The lunch menu h ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Phenomenal all around ! The lunch menu has something for everyone. Lighter fare options as well as gamey entrees. Price is extremely affordable

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Melissa was amazing! Our food took a lit ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Melissa was amazing! Our food took a little longer than expected and we were served drinks at no charge!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3

Great Food, Great price for the dollar, ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great Food, Great price for the dollar, and Good experience. This restaurant was very busy and the waiter at times seemed overwhelmed, but I was still able to enjoy my experience.

food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Great food bad service

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Usually JCT never disappoints however this past weekend it was was very disappointing. We waited over 30 min for our table that we had a reservation for. Then waited another 20 min to even have our waters filled and have a waiter greet us. The food was great, price was great, atmosphere is great. But service was bad. I hope they can work out the service kinks. Its a special spot intown.

Tags: hot spot
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The Sunday Supper Rip-Off!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Sunday Supper at JCT is not the good value it may appear to be. $26 per person for half an egg, a biscuit, "family" salad, 3 sides, desert. Go with 2 people and you get all of that. Go with 4 people and for the additional $52 you get an egg and 2 main dished. The "family" salad is the same size, so it spreads very, very thin when 4 people have to eat it. Then there are the sides, you get the same 3 sides, same size, that you get for 2 people -- once again it spreads very thin for 4. Get something extra, even if it offered to you to compensate for the smallish portions, and you get charged for it as an extra. The food is good, but DO NOT make the mistake of going with a party of 4 unless you plan to leave unsatisfied!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sunday Supper with mom

Dined on April 24, 2016

Took my mom for Sunday Supper as it was her first time visiting Atlanta. Such a great staff and the food was amazing. Food was a bit more delayed between courses than usual but it was completely terrible.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Always yummy...slow server this time

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food is always great. Ambiance is always great. Drinks are always great. Service is normally great, but this time our server was ridiculously slow. It took almost an hour to get our entrees from when we were done with the salad. It felt like he just kept forgetting about us. Anyways, I will still go back because I love it, but I'll definitely make sure I get a different server.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.