Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.77mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 1.22mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About JCT Kitchen and Bar

Acclaimed Chef Ford Fry serves up Southern farmstead cooking based on seasonal ingredients at JCT Kitchen & Bar, his restaurant in Atlanta’s Westside Urban Market. JCT Kitchen and Bar provides an upscale yet casual dining experience with a menu reminiscent of family favorites that are elevated to a gourmet level. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner, while JCT.’s rooftop bar offers a small Southern plates menu, innovative cocktails and live music for guests to enjoy while overlooking the historic neighborhood.

1198 Howell Mill Rd, Ste 18
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday Supper: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Huff Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-2252

Website:
http://www.jctkitchen.com/index.html

Entertainment:
Occasional "Singer/Songwriters"

Parking Details:
Valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Horn

Private Party Facilities:
JCT Kitchen and Bar offers a variety of options and spaces to fit your event needs that include restaurant buy outs for up to 200, semi-private dining for up to 50 guests maximum, and cocktail events up to 125 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Abigail Pietrobon: (404) 355-5311 ext. 212

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Abigail Pietrobon at apietrobon@fordfry.com for special event information.

JCT Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (104)
Comfort Food (90)
Fit for Foodies (87)
See All
Special Occasion (71)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Fun (55)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Good for Groups (53)
Romantic (52)
Local Ingredients (52)
Casual (52)
Handcrafted Cocktails (52)
Hot Spot (52)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Worth the Drive (50)
Great for Lunch (47)
Cozy (43)
Modern Decor (40)
Business Meals (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Family Style (27)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Bar Seating (24)
Authentic (24)
Happy Hour (23)
People Watching (23)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Seasonal (17)
Scenic View (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Late-night Find (12)
Organic (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Live Music (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Great Beer (9)
Healthy (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Kid-friendly (6)
Historic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
3790 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

This was actually my first time coming to this restaurant as well as my date's first time. The food was really good and the atmosphere was amazing. Marie was our server and she made it 10x better...I will definitely request her on our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

I love JCT Kitchen because the food is great and the staff is friendly but they were very busy on my last lunch visit. Busy equals slow food and lots of noise. I'll go back but not on a Friday for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Love the food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

I have eaten at JCT Kitchen numerous times but it's been a while since I had lunch there. I enjoyed my meal and my companion enjoyed his as well. Our server was attending to a very large party as well as our table (and one or two others) and he was remarkable in being able to stay on top of everything! A big shout out to Jameson! Will certainly be back for lunch and dinner. My next meal will be Sunday Supper! Such a great food experience and value!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The service was great, however the food deplorable! Absolutely too salty. Even the chocolate cake had sprinkles of ROCK SALT on top of it! Who puts salt on top of cake?? The salty chicken and dumplings was Irish pub style, FYI, not the country style with gravy...The fried chicken was the only thing that I can recommend. The collards were full of vinegar, and the banana pudding had 2 banana slices with no wafers, just a bunch of whipped cream.
Overall the waitress was very nice, but other than that, I can't even recommend the food at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Damien was phenomenal! Our food was amazing and everyone was super personable. Can't believe I took so long to dine here, can't wait to return.

Thank you!!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great experience at JCT Kitchen. Wonderful food, great service, and wonderful atmosphere. Food is normally extremely enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

When we arrived (party of 3) I let the hostess know we had a 7:45pm reservation, but we were late (8pm). I was ok with having to wait due to being late. The hostess said she had us all checked in and would have us seated. We were escorted to a table that was outside of the main dining area by the door leading to the outside. The table resembled a kids dining table or the time out area. I asked the hostess if we could be reseated to an area in the main dining area and she was extremely rude about it basically saying no. I had to ask for a manager. The manager graciously agreed to move us. By the time our appetizers came our booth was ready. This incident is the reason why I give 4 stars. I was bringing my family from out of town to a new dining experience and had to start the dining experience with a negative one. No other party was sat at that table for the remainder of the night. One of our waitresses mentioned that the hostess should not have sat us there. The remainder of the night was great. The food was amazing, the waitresses, and the ambiance were great. I will definitely return. We dined on the fried chicken, collard greens, macaroni and cheese, and chicken and dumplings. The original table we were seated at needs to be removed from the facility.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good food and service. Noisy atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

JCT is always spot on great! Food always good, can't beat the service & cool atmosphere

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My friends and I came here to celebrate two birthdays and a new job in the group. Upon entering the hostess wished me a happy birthday by name and the entire experience was stellar. I love the vibe of JCT and my friends who were there's for the first time absolutely loved the menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Perfect place for a conversation, lingering over a meal and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Eli and Ariel were great. They made The Experience very good even after it took three times to get my hamburger right :-) I appreciate your diligence in trying to make sure that our experience was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great waitress. Best kale salad ever. Also fried chicken on top of salad was very tender and had a little spice to it, really tasty. It was loud as there were several big tables but quieted down a great deal as they left. Fifth time eating here, first time for dinner. We will be coming back!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Wonderful ambience and food! It was cool to have the train go by every now and again, too.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The service was great but someone dumped way too much salt in my food. It was mostly inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

1st time visit, loved the decor and the food was awesome. Would love to have sat on the rooftop bar with the live music but maybe on our next visit.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed the first part of our meal (appetizers, service) but the latter part of our meal (entrees, service) were lacking. Fried chicken tasted like it had been cooked much earlier and sat. Been here a number of times and this was the only time that I was not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We used to love this place. Sadly, the shine is gone. Slow, disinterested service. Food was fine, not as good as it used to be. We wont be going back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 14, 2017

JCT is always perfect. Great food and drinks, great environment and great service. One of my favorites in the city.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Romantic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent food and service, as always. It's one of our go-to places in Atlanta. Just one issue this time. The "background" music was anything but. It was more like "foreground" music. Way, way too loud, and it was too aggressive in terms of music style. I like all kinds of music, including what they played, but the music for this atmosphere and for dinner music was just inappropriate. And again, way too loud. We even told the server and he had the manager come over and apologize only to tell us it was controlled by Corporate and it was some Spotify playlist; therefore the restaurant had to control over type or volume of music locally. Weird.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Reservation made for 2:30 which is the time they close to transition for evening dining. Why accept reservations?

2:00 should at least be your cut off

Server seemed really disengaged

Food mediocre .. crispy fish sandwich too much batter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

All of us ordered the fried chicken plate. Absolutely amazing! The Deviled eggs are a must appetizer!

Tags: Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Always a great meal. Excellent service, one of our in-town favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 13, 2017

What a great night celebrating mine and Zelda's birthday with great friends. Eli was a fantastic server, she was attentive and funny and her recommendations were on point. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I've been to JCT several times and I am never disappointed. Service is great. Food is fantastic. I can't wait for another opportunity to come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great as usual. The Avocado Toast was a terrific appetizer, and the fried chicken is always delish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We went to Sunday Supper. Good menu. Go there hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We come after theater several times a year. The Sunday supper choices are very good & you can't beat the value!! The last 3 times we were here our Servers were especially pleasant & very helpful. The wait staff seems to be especially pleasant & helpful at JCT. Would definitely recommend JCT.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great pre-Anniversary dinner for me and my husband of 34 years! Can't wait to come back again for Sunday Dinner!!!

The Byrds

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The shrimp and grits were good overall the rest of the food we ordered we didn't really care to eat it .

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was our 2nd time at JCT. As previously, the food did not disappoint. We went for late dinner 9:15 after a show at the Fox. The pork chop was amazing.

The server was a little inattentive but perhaps she had a lot of tables. She brought a coffee we ordered then when a food runner brought our dessert the coffee was empty. Waitress passed by a few times. Finally we waved her over to ask for more coffee...usually people want that with their dessert. It's okay to bring it before but better check back when dessert arrives

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Super cute place with great atmosphere. Our waitress was absolutely amazing. Service was great. Food was great and drinks were strong. A great place to put away the cell phones and chat it up with friends, family or date.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I was so excited to try JCT but it did not live up to the expectations. The restaurant, atmosphere and server were all wonderful. As for the meal, the best part was the bread and butter. We ordered deviled eggs to share, they were ok. Our main meal was not great. I ordered the pasta dish and it was so salty, I could not taste of any the flavors of the food. After 3 or 4 bites, I could not eat it anymore. The person in my party had the pork chop. While it was a generous portion, the pork was not tender and it was a struggle to cut with a knife. We had 2 glasses of wine and a cocktail but I expected more for $150 dinner. I really wanted to like this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food! Great service. Our server Eli was knowledgeable and good! Would recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I have just had back surgery. I left a special note and called the restaurant requesting a booth/comfort seating. I was told they would take care of it. We arrived for dinner and didn't have booth seating. Williams had to sit in regular hard chairs. But, we were told we could wait an additional 45 mins for a booth. . No bueno with a recovering back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great place. The truffle parmesan fries were excellent as always. The veggie plate was lackluster and its presentation not appealing at all. Have eaten here many times but that was the first I was dissatisfied with the vegetarian entree.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great atmosphere supported by delicious creative cuisine with strong local/regional influences. Always reliable for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Another great meal at JCT. If you need your occasional fix of comfort food, you can't go wrong here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 5, 2017

My second time to JCT and as always delivers tasty food, great beers, impeccable service. I'd definitely recommend JCT to all my friends and colleagues for a lunch time business meal or a family dinner.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Healthy, Organic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.