About JCT Kitchen and Bar

1198 Howell Mill Rd, Ste 18
Atlanta, GA 30318
View Larger Map

Acclaimed Chef Ford Fry serves up Southern farmstead cooking based on seasonal ingredients at JCT Kitchen & Bar, his restaurant in Atlanta’s Westside Urban Market. JCT Kitchen and Bar provides an upscale yet casual dining experience with a menu reminiscent of family favorites that are elevated to a gourmet level. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner, while JCT.’s rooftop bar offers a small Southern plates menu, innovative cocktails and live music for guests to enjoy while overlooking the historic neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday Supper: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Huff Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 355-2252

Website:
http://www.jctkitchen.com/index.html

Entertainment:
Occasional "Singer/Songwriters"

Parking Details:
Valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Horn

Private Party Facilities:
JCT Kitchen and Bar offers a variety of options and spaces to fit your event needs that include restaurant buy outs for up to 200, semi-private dining for up to 50 guests maximum, and cocktail events up to 125 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Abigail Pietrobon: 4043555311x212

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Abigail Pietrobon at apietrobon@fordfry.com for special event information.

Restaurant Photos

JCT Kitchen and Bar
JCT Kitchen and Bar
JCT Kitchen and Bar
Chicken and dumplings
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Short Rib Pot Roast
Crab Salad
Crab Sandwich
Truffle Parmesan Fries
Cheese Grits
Shrimp & Grits
Chicken Liver Terrine
Mac and Cheese
Crab Bisque
Springer Mountain Fried Chicken
Angry Mussels
Lamb Burger
Steak Tartare Accompaniments
Georgia White Shrimp & Oyster Po-Boy
steak tartare
Gumbo
Pepper Vinegar Collard Greens
Sweetwater 420 Extra Pale Ale
Flounder
Grilled Salmon Sandwich
Fried Egg Burger
fried chicken
Sweet Corn & Jersey Cow's Milk Ricotta Tortellini
Crispy Torn Potatoes
Beet Salad
Fried Chicken "Oysters"
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Deviled Eggs With Benton's Ham
Truffle Fries
Pasta
Hot Fudge And Ice Cream
Deviled Eggs
Fried Chicken Salad
Beef Tartare
Brown-Butter Almond Cake
Salad
Arugula Salad
Hot Dog
Crispy Oysters
"Cracker Jack" Salad
Shrimp & Grits "Summer Version"
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
"Angry" Mussels
S'mores Cake
Pork Belly
Grilled Trout
Bacon-Wrapped Meatloaf
Au Pear Cocktail
Americana In Paris Cocktail
French Fries
Tomato Monte Cristo
wood grilled chicken blt
Warm almond cake
Profiteroles With White Chocolate Ice Cream
Chocolate Fried Pie
Jct Salad
Spinach Salad
Fried Chocolate Pie With Pecan Ice Cream
Burger
Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwich And Tomato Soup
Country Folk Are Everywhere
Hot Dogs Assortment
Grilled Hangar Steak
Dale's Pale Ale
Lagunitas A Little Sumpin' Sumpin' Ale
White Bean Soup With Pork Belly
Pork Belly, Poached Egg, Kimchee, Creme Fresh Appetizer
Marinated Beets
Crab Roll
Lamb Shoulder
Steak & Egg Salad
Grown Up Grilled Cheese
Fried Apple Pie With Butter Pecan Ice Cream
raw oysters
Shrimp-N-Grits
Macaroni and Cheese
Meat And Potatoes
Bacon Mac & Cheese
Apple Slaw
Coconut Cake
Potato Sunchoke Soup
Sliders
Oysters
Jack O Lantern
Fried Chicken Skin
frito pie burger
Little Gems And Crispy Oysters
Unibroue La Fin du Monde
Bacon Wrapped Dates
House Made BBQ Chips
Red Brick Ale Brown
Peaches & Herbs Sidecar
Holiday Cocktail
Black Drum
Chicken Liver Mousse

JCT Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
American
Atlanta
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in West Midtown ›

Fit for Foodies (133)
Special Occasion (116)
Good for Groups (108)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (89)
Great for Lunch (71)
Hot Spot (66)
Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
Vibrant Bar Scene (54)
Romantic (51)
Great for Brunch (36)
Notable Wine List (30)
Scenic View (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Comfort Food (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fun (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Casual (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Modern Decor (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (5)
Seasonal (5)
Live Music (3)
Historic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed the atmosphere and food . The ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed the atmosphere and food . The staff was amazing and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

average at best, the salad was full of d ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

average at best, the salad was full of dirt. the server was rude, service was slow.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

This place was a great find. Top to bott ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This place was a great find. Top to bottom outstanding. Best service I've received in a while and I eat out frequently. The food was fresh and delicious. My friend and I had a great time there. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered chicken skins as an appetizer ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We ordered chicken skins as an appetizer and lobster roll (WOW good!) and fried chicken as entrees and enjoyed all of it. Our server Angel made us feel very welcome. If anything, the lobster roll will bring us back.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second time visiting the est ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was my second time visiting the establishment and I must say it didn't disappoint. The food was very flavorful and brought out in a timely manner. I will most certainly visit again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The ambiance and service was amazing. Un ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The ambiance and service was amazing. Unfortunately, the food did not live up to our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

This is very overrated place and unless ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is very overrated place and unless until you have exhausted all your options in the city, refrain self from going JCT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Fries over cooked, one guest arrived to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fries over cooked, one guest arrived to the table late, but wasn't offered the bread others at the table had received. Server pretty much absent; another waitress came to refill our drinks. Would go again in hopes of a different server and definitely a dish without the fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Incredible service and food!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Incredible service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great. Outside dow ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food and service was great. Outside downstairs courtyard is relaxing and quiet, more intimate for one on one conversation - great if weather is nice. Inside is a bit crowded and louder. Outside upstairs is a great for hanging out with friends, enjoying music, happy hour or after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Atlanta restaurant - Southern meal ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great Atlanta restaurant - Southern meals were so good. I had the Fried Chicken - fabulous!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful server, Angel. Best wait ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had a wonderful server, Angel. Best waiter I've ever had in my life. Made the experience great. Request him if you can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter recommended two dishes that w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The waiter recommended two dishes that we never have tried and they were amazing. The wine list was nice. Just the best dining experience we have had in a while.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for a nice, but not too fanc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great place for a nice, but not too fancy dinner with my parents.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I have eaten here numerous times for wee ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I have eaten here numerous times for weekday and weekend lunches and have always loved every single menu item I've ordered. This time, however, not so much. Had the pork belly sandwich but was very disappointed. While the ingredients matched the menu description, it was simply not good. The fries that came with it were subpar also. YET, the coconut cake for dessert (needed something sweet after all of the salt in the entree) totally redeemed the experience for me that day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was delicious and fresh, and th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food was delicious and fresh, and the service was wonderful!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food is delicious and service is goo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

the food is delicious and service is good but the music is so loud even inside that it is difficult to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Dinner was great. The staff was friendly ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Dinner was great. The staff was friendly and quick with service. Definitely, try the garlic parmesan fries to share. Bonus points for fantastic collards and creative southern fare. The wine list could use some revision, the selection offered isn't worth the markup even by restaurant standards.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

JCT Kitchen used to be a top notch resta ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

JCT Kitchen used to be a top notch restaurant but no more. Ford Fry in name only, no longer in quality. This restaurant needs a major overhaul starting with management.

Our sever Keith was the only good thing about our most recent visit here. He was gracious in the midst of being called in on Labor Day when the managers had understaffed the restaurant and gave him a whole section of the restaurant by himself.

The managers Casey and Miller who were rarely seen were apathetic and never followed through with anyone much less our experience.

Although we had a reservation, we waited 30 minutes to be seated and were told curtly and with attitude after 25 minutes of waiting "we'll try to accommodate you if we can"; meanwhile there were 8 tables open not seated and after much ballyhoo, we were seated 5 minutes later at one of the tables that had been open from the time we arrived 30 minute earlier.

The hostess Cynthia was rude, unprofessional and could use several training classes in hosting, PR, decorum and how not to chomp gum about the restaurant or come out of the serving area eating food.

It took 25 minutes to get water (because they were out of sparkling water we later found out) and 45 minutes for our food. Never saw a manager on the floor period, much less at our table. Perhaps, they could have rolled up their sleeves and helped in the kitchen or run food!

The food was average on this day, no shrimp in the shrimp salad, the Cheeses were good, soup tepid.

The bathrooms were atrocious. No toilet paper, some toilets completely unusable, trash everywhere.

Keith stayed positive and did his best to make our experience positive . He should be promoted immediately to management. He is the gem in this mess of a restaurant.

We eat out everyday of the week and will continue to frequent our other favorites such as Bones, Blue Ridge Grill, Table & Main, Local Three where both service and food are excellent quality. We will not be returning to JCT again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Ran out of mashed potatoes ! Should be a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Ran out of mashed potatoes ! Should be a staple especially when Sunday supper is a very limited menu. Everyone raves about the fried chicken. Wasn't my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, ambiance, and decor. If you ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food, ambiance, and decor. If you go on a Sunday, then please know that they have a set family-style menu. You can't order from the regular menu...that was a little bit of a disappointment, but the food was still good for a reasonable price.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I've been a huge fan of JCT Kitchen for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I've been a huge fan of JCT Kitchen for several years, so when special friends from DC were in town, I knew immediately where I wanted to take them for a special dinner. It was a first experience with "Sunday Supper", and the meal was fabulous. The number and variety of entree and side selections were perfect, and the food, as always, was delicious and beautifully presented. Hunter, our server, was friendly and attentive and did an especially good job of pacing the service. Congratulations to everyone at JCT Kitchen for continuing to maintain such a high standard of excellence in every way.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried chicken the best on earth!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fried chicken the best on earth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was delicious with an exciting atmospher ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Was delicious with an exciting atmosphere. Our waiter couldn't have been nicer or more knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress totally messed up our order ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our waitress totally messed up our order. It took 45 minutes for them to get it right. It would have been nice for a manager to come by our table to apologize. Needless to say we will not be back. They obviously do not care whether or not their customers leave happy or not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

I found it to be well worth it. Outstand ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I found it to be well worth it. Outstanding service and the food was too good. A+

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! Thank you Keith for w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was amazing! Thank you Keith for wonderful service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice set up.....food too a little l ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very nice set up.....food too a little long to come out...but was VERY GOOD! I would return...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Everything was outstanding! The oysters, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Everything was outstanding! The oysters, shrimp and grits, and fried chicken were hands down the best we've ever had. A wonderful date night choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful restaurant! As soon as you w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

A beautiful restaurant! As soon as you walk in it's like you are in a mansion. The food was great and so was the atmosphere. Very friendly crew and the French fries and to die for! Overally a great restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Historic, Organic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Had family visit ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great food and service. Had family visiting out. Perfect for dinner. Abit noisy, but will return and recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was top-notch. Staff was ver ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The service was top-notch. Staff was very attentive. Entree was delicious and the desserts were even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The music was ridiculously loud which wo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The music was ridiculously loud which would prevent our return. Asked to have it turned down which our waiter did but to no avail. Too bad, we couldn't really have a conversation or hear our waiter.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

JCT is phenomenal. Our service was grea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

JCT is phenomenal. Our service was great. The meal was so flipping good. I couldn't resist having the fried chicken, paving the way for it with truffled french fries. The fries were outstanding. The chicken knocked my socks off -- as did the biscuits and collard greens that came with it. My colleagues who joined me also thought the food was great.

I highly recommend this restaurant. It is a go-to for virtually any occasion. Simply wonderful.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, People Watching, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drewcilla! My parents loved you! We had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Drewcilla! My parents loved you! We had a blast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was awful. The lady serving our ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Service was awful. The lady serving our table was so unprofessional and often used curse words in her conversation. She also was not trained well on running checks as we had issues during check out. I also noticed 3 days later my card was charged for an incorrect amount and I have a receipt that was signed For a totally different amount. Totally horrible experience and they need to clean up some of their unprofessional lazy staff.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

My family and I decided to dine at your ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My family and I decided to dine at your establishment only to celebrate two birthdays. We were greeted by your wonderful hostess and asked to wait for our party to arrive.After being seated,we were provided bread and our glasses were filled with water by another nice and pleasant female.When it came time for our server to come to the table,we all noticed that she seemed very cut and dry. She didn't greet us with a smile,nor did she ask our reason for being there.She didn't recommend any of your top dishes,but did however share the fish/dish for the day.My biggest complaint is customer service.My family and I could have chosen any restaurant in Atlanta to celebrate my father and aunt's birthday,but instead we chose to dine here. Needless to say,the server's personality was very robotic,and unpleasant. She didn't ask:"Could I get you anything else?"(once the food was brought out?,"how was your food?Her personailty and body language clearly stated that she was only there to work and not there to provide service.When asked a question,she would just stand in one spot and answer questions from that area regardless as to where our party was sitting.When it was time to pay,she took my husband's money and did not bring back his change... (11.00 or so).She was an ethnic female with dreads that served my family.I was very excited to be there,only because it was my first time and secondly to celebrate birthdays. She made our experience there uninviting.I would not want her to provide service to me ever again.

Reign

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Our server was excellent. Very personab ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our server was excellent. Very personable and knowledgeable. I think her name was Brett? Anyway, it was a nice evening with my husband. He loved the fried chicken!

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome food! Highly recommend! The frie ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Awesome food! Highly recommend! The fried corn on the cobb is spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food & Atmosphere. Loved the Burge ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great Food & Atmosphere. Loved the Burger with the Bacon Jam along with Truffle Fries! My husband & I had it for the first time a few weeks ago & decided to return for a repeat. Sooooo Good. In the past, I have had the lobster roll & the Spring Chopped Salad & both are excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.