About JB Hooks

2260 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

"Hooks" as it is affectionately known, and it's friendly staff, strive to make our valued locals feel at home and our tourists feel like locals! We specialize in Steaks, Seafood and offer Happy Hour deals that can't be beat.

Our dining room overlooks a panoramic view of the main channel of the Lake, and offers a relaxing atmosphere to add to your dining experience.
Come by and see us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily

11:00am - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-3255

Website:
http://www.jbhooks.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

JB Hooks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

Scenic View (108)
Special Occasion (95)
Romantic (65)
See All
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for Groups (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Notable Wine List (27)
Great for Lunch (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sort By:
Newest
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Johnny was our waiter and he was excelle ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Johnny was our waiter and he was excellent. Anticipating our every need! Mr Huntsman the GM came by to make everything was great

Lobster was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'd recommend the New Orleans BBQ shrimp ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I'd recommend the New Orleans BBQ shrimp, they were Amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb meal and excellent ambiance. Stea ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Superb meal and excellent ambiance. Steak, prime rib, shrimp and fish, we it all with our party of four and all were great. Haven't visited here for awhile due to some past mediocre experiences but could find nothing wrong last Saturday night and happy we couldn't. Good job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The happy hour is amazing! Great food at ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

The happy hour is amazing! Great food at a great price. Our waitress Holly was great-provided great service with a smile!! Will definitely come back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love JB Hooks. A favorite stop e ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always love JB Hooks. A favorite stop every time we visit the lake. The furnishings have been updated and were very nice. Love the Steak Neptune.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tilapia with Grand Marnier sauce - fish ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Tilapia with Grand Marnier sauce - fish flaky and moist and the sauce was excellent. My husband ordered scallops with his filet, both of which were cooked to perfection. The toddler grandkids loved the Grouper Fingers. Highly recommend The French Gentleman or The French Lady martini! Four generations of our family had a wonderful dinner and evening.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined there several times when w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We have dined there several times when we are at the Ozarks. Food and service are always excellent!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most of the food was delicious (except f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Most of the food was delicious (except for the dish discussed in this review), and the views were very good, but our server was lacking. She was almost argumentative with us, and we felt like we were being rather easy going guests. We had a member of our group who was celiac, and she proceeded to inform us that there was only 1 item on the menu he could eat, and without any seasoning at that, and wouldn't let him order anything else. We thought this very strange, since many of the items on the menu should not contain gluten, based on the descriptions and common preparation methods. When provided an ingredient list for one of the items he was not allowed to order, there was nothing in it that would indicate an allergen issue, and all of the ingredients were very straight forward. We got the impression that the server was confusing gluten with some other allergen, though we couldn't figure out what other allergen would be. Normally we would just chalk something like this up to an overly helpful/protective server, but she was insistent that the celiac in our group was only going to be allowed to eat the one item. In addition, she was almost pushy in insisting the rest of the party order what she recommended. If we had a different server, we may have ended up with a 5 star review.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Our family group, including 2 small chil ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our family group, including 2 small children, had an exceptional meal with professional service. The steaks were prepared to our specification. Cocktails were excellent and we were able to sample wines before ordering a full glass. Desserts were delicious! We will definitely return to JB Hooks next time we are in the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

JB Hooks has outstanding food! The view ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

JB Hooks has outstanding food! The view is the best on the lake. Service is excellent! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for a great place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal in Osage Beach! The service ha ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best meal in Osage Beach! The service had s little bit to be desired, but the food and atmosphere was over the top!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Had a great time with my wife for her 50 ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had a great time with my wife for her 50th Birthday, setting the reservation was easy, I noted the occasion and special window request on the reservation, they were not tracking either item until I requested it again at the desk. Had to wait a few minutes for our reservation but hardly worth mentioning and they did honor the window location. A jazz band playing up near the bar for entertainment was very good and far enough away that the noise level was fine for our discussions. The food was good and portions were sufficient. The wait staff was very good and even though he didn't introduce his position, I assumed the owner came around and checked on us. Would definitely recommend as a place to eat and go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our food was excellent, our waiter ( R ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our food was excellent, our waiter ( Richard ) was also excellent !! Our table was kept clean and cleared at all times, Great dining we recommend it to all.

Thanks !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wonderful view, and an aweso ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food, wonderful view, and an awesome server. Jake was fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

terrible service and food not cooked. no ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

terrible service and food not cooked. not worth money or my time ever again

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We were seated in sunset room! It was qu ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were seated in sunset room! It was quiet and

Romantic! Great view of lake! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I now understand how this restaurant has ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I now understand how this restaurant has earned the title "JB Crooks". All food was overpriced, and not just because it is a nice restaurant - the same glass of Chardonnay at Baxters was $4 less. Our meals were substandard across the board (except for the Jr. menu steak - really, though, that from 8 meals is sad). Baxters has just as good of a view, better service, better ambiance, and way better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Love JB Hooks It's our favorite restaur ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Love JB Hooks

It's our favorite restaurant at the lake. Whether lunch, dinner or happy hour they have the diverse selections on their menu for everyone. The service is always great and prompt. We can't go to the lake without going there once or twice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

JB Hooks provides an outstanding dining ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

JB Hooks provides an outstanding dining experience and offers the finest seafood/fish meals, as well as delicious steaks. If you want outstanding service, ask for Kim. Great personality compliments her serviing expertise!The owner, Bruce Elliott, is also there to welcome returning customers and to see that all customers are having an enjoyable dining experience! $$$$ prices but outstanding dining experience!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great view of the lake, delicio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a great view of the lake, delicious food, and excellent service. Adding it to our list of lake traditions. Everyone loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The lake view was very nice. Steaks wer ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The lake view was very nice. Steaks were cooked perfect & loved the salads

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

JB Hooks was recommended by a couple of ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

JB Hooks was recommended by a couple of people we know. As we are new to the area, we decided to try what others like first and then explore on our own. The food and service were great, although it was pretty pricy. It was packed on a Thursday night, so it must be a local favorite. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and great food! So good we ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great service and great food! So good we ate there twice this trip! The steaks are tender and delicious-we love JB Hooks! Great service very attentive but never intrusive! Great wine list! And happy hour is amazing!

We are hooked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, a bit pricey. But w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was excellent, a bit pricey. But would go back and pay it again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our second visit to JB Hooks fo ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was our second visit to JB Hooks for a birthday. It was really delicious, service was excellent and the view was very nice. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I went to Jb hooks for my ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My husband and I went to Jb hooks for my birthday. Jake our server was fantastic. We had crab cakes to start with and for dinner we did the steak and lobster for 2. Everything was wonderful. At the end of our dinner Jake surprised us with a fantastic dessert. I would recommend all of my friends and family here. Service And food are spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Celebration of my bday was made extr ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The Celebration of my bday was made extra special with my wonderful Gift Card supplied by Heather Smith to me as a Bday Gift.. to have a Romantic Dinner with my Hubby.. The meal was beyond wonderful.. and the waiter Jake was SUPERB. I loved my Mojito Beverage which was recommended by Heather and made by her I suspect.. with all the fresh mint and fruit.. just what I needed to top off a great day!.. I so loved the dessert and I think my hubby even enjoyed it better than I did... with that said Thank You JB Hook's for one awesome Bday Dinner..

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JB Hooks is one of my favorite places to ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

JB Hooks is one of my favorite places to eat at the lake, but my absolute favorite for the view - you simply can't beat it! Put the combination together and you have the scene for a great lunch or dinner. The food has always been fantastic and the staff are great. We'll be back again next year -- it wouldn't be the same without a visit there.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was delicious. My son ordered a ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our food was delicious. My son ordered a steak and cleaned his plate. My husband ordered crB cakes and he really savor end every bite.

I ordered chicken wings, they were excellent, however one of the wings looked like someone had been eating it. I did report it to management when they asked about our meal; I was was surprised at there (or lack of) respond. They did ask if I wanted more wings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

the food was excellent. we had a table ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

the food was excellent. we had a table by a window with a spectacular view of the lake. we were very impressed by our server Kim, she was very professional and helpful. we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy a meal at Hooks each tim ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We always enjoy a meal at Hooks each time we go to the Lake of the Ozarks. Love it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

6th time this year. Never disappoint ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

6th time this year. Never disappointed.

Will recommend to everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the Best crab cakes and grouper ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Some of the Best crab cakes and grouper we've had in the midwest! The Service was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I used the online reservation system abo ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I used the online reservation system about 1/2 hour before we wanted to dine on a Thursday evening. We walked in and were immediately seated at a requested window seat. The view, service, and meal were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the prime rib. It was very over co ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I had the prime rib. It was very over cooked. My wife had the chicken and it was dry as a bone. We have visited this restaurant before and had good meals. But this time was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

We made a reservation for 7:45pm and was ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We made a reservation for 7:45pm and was not seated till close to 8:15. Once seated, we asked for a wine list and never got one. My wife just decided to ask for a glass of Riesling. After another 10 minutes our drinks finally came, but our server did not take our order. We waited another 10-15 minutes for her to come back to get our order. My wife enjoyed her meal (fillet and lobster tail). I thought mine was pretty good as well (fried shrimp). The French Onion soup was not the best, but their salads are pretty good. In the end, we felt pretty neglected by our waitress. We ended up being there for 2 hours with a reservation. The food was alright for the price, but for that price I would suggest Baxters, Bentley's or JJ's at the Copperpot.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Food was great-had reservation and they ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was great-had reservation and they seated us on arrival-great view of the lake

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food except Oysters should not have ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Good food except Oysters should not have been served

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our group of 6 had wonderful service and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our group of 6 had wonderful service and food. No complaints. We all enjoyed the Gregory salad and I loved the lobster I ordered. My friends had steak and said it was prepared to their taste. We will be back soon

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place a,ways try to get there ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Love this place a,ways try to get there when we are in the Ozarks

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.