About JB Hooks

2260 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

"Hooks" as it is affectionately known, and it's friendly staff, strive to make our valued locals feel at home and our tourists feel like locals! We specialize in Steaks, Seafood and offer Happy Hour deals that can't be beat.

Our dining room overlooks a panoramic view of the main channel of the Lake, and offers a relaxing atmosphere to add to your dining experience.
Come by and see us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily

11:00am - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-3255

Website:
http://www.jbhooks.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

JB Hooks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

Scenic View (116)
Special Occasion (104)
Romantic (64)
See All
Good for Groups (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Notable Wine List (30)
Waterfront (24)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Casual (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
People Watching (3)
Live Music (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a group of 12 and our waitress Ma ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a group of 12 and our waitress Marty did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waittress was exceptional! Please re ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our waittress was exceptional! Please relat our thanks. Food came out fast and hot and service was truly a great experience!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love JB Hooks! Their steaks are aged ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 7 days ago

We love JB Hooks! Their steaks are aged and cooked to perfection! We always enjoy the beautiful lake views and this time we went at sunset and it was breathtakingly beautiful!

We really like the Greek salad with the balsamic dressing it is fresh and crisp and the

cheese crumbles along with the Greek olives accompanied by crackers with a tomato cream cheese spread. Entrees include a soup or salad, fresh vegetables and either rice pilaff or mashed or baked potato along with fresh rolls and butter. They offer a very diverse menu offering something for everyone!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The view of th ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food was excellent. The view of the lake was beautiful. Jake, our waiter was attentive without being intrusive. Other staff was attentive as well. I guess it was the kitchen staff that brought our food when it was ready and our drink glasses were always full. Great place for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Customer service was fantastic. Reservat ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Customer service was fantastic. Reservations were easy to book. Door greeter was super sweet and very friendly..we had a newer waiter and he did superb. Would highly recommend this to any of my friends/family. The food was, as always, delicious and perfectly served!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Casual, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was very good; food was deliver ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Waitress was very good; food was delivered promptly and was very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to JB Hooks every time we're in Os ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We go to JB Hooks every time we're in Osage Beach. Love the atmosphere and love the food. Service is always excellent! We did notice on this visit that the wine prices seem to have increased.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and Service. John, our waite ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food and Service. John, our waiter was Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other than JB Hooks DID NOT have our res ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Other than JB Hooks DID NOT have our reservation from Open Table (2nd time this has happened to us!!!), we had an outstanding meal at JB Hooks. The service and food was wonderful, and we enjoyed our dinner with a friend we hadn't seen in awhile from St. Louis. Hope to return soon!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We've been several times. One of our fav ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We've been several times. One of our favorite at the lake. A little noisy that night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Our favorite fine dining at the Lake. Fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our favorite fine dining at the Lake. Food is always delicious. Service is OUTSTANDING especially Johnny Grist. He is the BEST! View is outstanding. Great place to have dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great, service was amazing, ask ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was great, service was amazing, ask for Tanna

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious food and cocktails, great serv ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Delicious food and cocktails, great service, beautiful lake view, made reservations and we were seated within 5 minutes of arrival. One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, atmosphere all outstandi ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere all outstanding and the view was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 3rd visit to JB Hooks. We re ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This is our 3rd visit to JB Hooks. We received excellent service from Jake and Phalen during our dining experience. Great view at sunset.

Thanks!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The French Onion Soup was fabulous - not ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The French Onion Soup was fabulous - not to be missed. The appetizers were so large they could serve as a main course. Our friendly waiter has been there for 27 years and attended our table well. Never have had a bad meal here. And the view.... what can I say... wonderful sunsets.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a delicious Greek salad and filet ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had a delicious Greek salad and filets that were tender and juicy perfectly cooked to order. This is our favorite restaurant at the lake and look forward to going back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was much improved since our last vi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was much improved since our last visit. Good service and a great view of the Lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food, great view and great service ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food, great view and great service. Perfect Anniversary celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this was my second the food was great ag ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

this was my second the food was great again ; however their service wasn't as good as last years ; I believe it was because our server was new. but overall it was a great dinning experience...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

I have to say that I was shocked when my ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I have to say that I was shocked when my steak was delivered to me almost ice cold. The butter that they put on top didn't even melt. We have been to this restaurant multiple times over the years and have always had an excellent meal. My wife's steak was fine. The view from our table was outstanding. I am not sure how quickly I will return. There are many other great restaurant choices at the Lake.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was fantastic as was the servic ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was fantastic as was the service. Marty was our server and she was so helpful.. We sat overlooking the lake at sunset. We would definitely go back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We usually get here once a year - and re ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We usually get here once a year - and really look forward to it! Peel & eat shrimp at the bar with a cocktail, then to dinner. Crabs legs and filet. It is all excellent. We even love the crackers and cream cheese spread before dinner. A little pricey, but the view and quality of the food is worth it!

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Pricey for the food you get. Certainly p ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Pricey for the food you get. Certainly paying for the view, but lunch for two was $60 (without alcohol). And both cod and catfish were from Vietnam, so definitely not sustainable practices there. Service was decent which is really the only redeeming value of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We had a great time. Our waitress Tanna ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a great time. Our waitress Tanna was amazing. She gave us great advice about the food. She was very friendly and knowledgable of the menu. Definitively we will be back. Great ambiance, food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wife I were down to attend a wedd ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The wife I were down to attend a wedding on Saturday. Wanted to have a nice evening out alone. Nice romantic table overlooking the lake. Food choices were excellent andprepared and presentations were done nicely. She had scallops, I had Mahi Mahi. Both prepared as if we were close the fresh catch sea side.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TOO LOUD - Just too loud, and that ruine ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

TOO LOUD - Just too loud, and that ruined a good part of the visit. We sat on the up stairs portion, and there was live music going on in the bar. We could not talk to each other at the table, Food, service, etc, was otherwise very good. we where a party of 6, and the place does not have good seating for large groups (ok, they do, but you do not get a view if you have a large party) if you are a party of 2 or 4 - you can get a nice window seat. You get stuck in a room off to the side {which we did not} the large table area is in the middle of the traffic area - wait staff going back and forth, and up and down the stairs. Some of the other seating (2 to 4 top tables) are in excellent locations with great views

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We made our reservation online with no p ...

 
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We made our reservation online with no problem. Arrived 10 minutes early and our table was ready. Our waitress was very nice and food was delicious. We had been here before and our dining experience was great each time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance and food was excellent. We ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The ambiance and food was excellent. We could not have asked for better service, from the hostess to the bus boys. Everything about the restaurant was above board. If we could afford to eat there all the time, we would!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant of all time! Yo ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our favorite restaurant of all time! You can't beat the view ANYWHERE!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J.B. Hook's is a favorite location on th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

J.B. Hook's is a favorite location on the lake for us. In making our reservation well in advance on Open Table, we requested a window seat, which we did receive after requesting a second time upon arrival. Our reservation recorded in their computer system did not reflect our initial request. (??)

We ordered Oysters Rockefeller and Coconut Shrimp for appetizers. The Rockefeller stuffing with sweet Hollandaise sauce was quite excellent; however, the "large oysters" promised on the menu turned out to be very small and were detached from their shells. It gave the impression that canned oysters were used in recycled shells. The Coconut Shrimp were large with a very tasty coconut crust. The accompanying Jezebel dipping sauce made that dish quite perfect.

For salads, we both ordered Gregory's salads, which were bountiful in size and variety of fresh crispy veggies. They came with an especially delicious dressing. Our entrees were Hook's Milan and Chicken Gregory. The Milan Orange Roughy was a moderate serving with a somewhat bland white wine garlic cream sauce. For the Chicken Gregory, which was a plentiful serving, my wife requested a sauce substitution, switching out the standard Supreme sauce for Hook's creamy, cheesy Alfredo sauce. What came out of the kitchen, however, was a somewhat runny and disappointing white sauce. The accompanying garlic mashed potatoes were beautifully presented, piped into a boat-shaped side dish. They were creamy and good, but with barely a hint of any garlic in their composition.

Despite the mixed results with our food order, the wait staff service was what we have come to expect at Hook's, very attentive and friendly by all. Our waitress was thoroughly knowledgeable in all aspects of the menu and provided us with complimentary desserts upon learning of the shortfall with the Chicken Gregory sauce.

We've always loved Hook's and still do, but the normally great kitchen may need some new attention.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I selected JB Hooks for a nice, romantic ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I selected JB Hooks for a nice, romantic dinner for my first anniversary with my wife. I originally made reservations online for 630, but then changed them to 5 instead. Changing was super easy, and everything worked perfectly. We were seated at a table next to a window, with a wonderful view. Our server, Rich, was great! He was very personable, and added a nice comedic touch. All of the food was delicious, even the flat bread and spread they bring, too! My wife had the Chicken Oscar with garlic mashed potatoes and a Peach Sangria that is made in house. I had the Mahi Woodrow with garlic mashed potatoes. The food was all so delicious that we couldn't stop eating until our plates were spotless! And the drink made by the bartender was one of the best she's had. While the rest of the weekend might not have worked out as perfectly as I'd hoped, this dinner was one of the best I've ever had, and I am VERY happy to give JB Hooks and Rich, an EXCELLENT rating!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for our anniversary dinner ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We went there for our anniversary dinner. The atmosphere was quiet & romantic & the view of the lake was beautiful!! They had a great beer & wine selection. Our server, Johnny, was awesome & very attentive. I ordered the lobster tail & it was big & delicious!! My husband ordered prime rib & asked for it to be be blackened & medium rare; however, it came out way overcooked & really not edible. For the price that they charge for the prime rib it should've been cooked as ordered, & if not, maybe a discount should've been offered. We would probably go back for another special occasion if in the area but will not order the prime rib again, which is why I gave the food only 3 stars.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Goggle says number 1 at the Lake and we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Goggle says number 1 at the Lake and we agree. We had a wonderful meal with a great view of the lake. My shrimp (7 large) was terrific. Parking is easy and great signage for those on vacation to find it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Johnny was our waiter and he was excelle ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Johnny was our waiter and he was excellent. Anticipating our every need! Mr Huntsman the GM came by to make everything was great

Lobster was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'd recommend the New Orleans BBQ shrimp ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I'd recommend the New Orleans BBQ shrimp, they were Amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, everything was amazing! We l ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

As always, everything was amazing! We love the grouper fingers!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb meal and excellent ambiance. Stea ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Superb meal and excellent ambiance. Steak, prime rib, shrimp and fish, we it all with our party of four and all were great. Haven't visited here for awhile due to some past mediocre experiences but could find nothing wrong last Saturday night and happy we couldn't. Good job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The happy hour is amazing! Great food at ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The happy hour is amazing! Great food at a great price. Our waitress Holly was great-provided great service with a smile!! Will definitely come back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love JB Hooks. A favorite stop e ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always love JB Hooks. A favorite stop every time we visit the lake. The furnishings have been updated and were very nice. Love the Steak Neptune.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.