About JB Hooks

2260 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

"Hooks" as it is affectionately known, and it's friendly staff, strive to make our valued locals feel at home and our tourists feel like locals! We specialize in Steaks, Seafood and offer Happy Hour deals that can't be beat.

Our dining room overlooks a panoramic view of the main channel of the Lake, and offers a relaxing atmosphere to add to your dining experience.
Come by and see us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily

11:00am - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-3255

Website:
http://www.jbhooks.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

JB Hooks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

scenic view (79)
special occasion (70)
romantic (50)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
great for outdoor dining (27)
good for groups (24)
notable wine list (20)
great for lunch (12)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
neighborhood gem (10)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
386 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had the prime rib. It was very over co ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had the prime rib. It was very over cooked. My wife had the chicken and it was dry as a bone. We have visited this restaurant before and had good meals. But this time was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

We made a reservation for 7:45pm and was ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We made a reservation for 7:45pm and was not seated till close to 8:15. Once seated, we asked for a wine list and never got one. My wife just decided to ask for a glass of Riesling. After another 10 minutes our drinks finally came, but our server did not take our order. We waited another 10-15 minutes for her to come back to get our order. My wife enjoyed her meal (fillet and lobster tail). I thought mine was pretty good as well (fried shrimp). The French Onion soup was not the best, but their salads are pretty good. In the end, we felt pretty neglected by our waitress. We ended up being there for 2 hours with a reservation. The food was alright for the price, but for that price I would suggest Baxters, Bentley's or JJ's at the Copperpot.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Food was great-had reservation and they ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was great-had reservation and they seated us on arrival-great view of the lake

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food except Oysters should not have ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Good food except Oysters should not have been served

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our group of 6 had wonderful service and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our group of 6 had wonderful service and food. No complaints. We all enjoyed the Gregory salad and I loved the lobster I ordered. My friends had steak and said it was prepared to their taste. We will be back soon

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place a,ways try to get there ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Love this place a,ways try to get there when we are in the Ozarks

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a great dinner. Everything taste ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had a great dinner. Everything tasted good. Service was good, and they cleaned up the table right after we were done eating.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was Excellent. Lobster was grea ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was Excellent. Lobster was great. Goodview of the Lake. Beer was good and cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wish I had remembered our waitresses n ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I wish I had remembered our waitresses name, because she was a gem.....it was hot and humid and she ran up and downstairs a million times and always had a smile on her face. I felt bad for her because not only was it hot, but they are required to wear black and shirts are long sleeved.. They should have summer uniforms, too....

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best place at the lake for dinner. ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The best place at the lake for dinner. Awesome view and very accommodating. Scallops were phenomenal . My son had the crab legs and was in heaven. We had a party of 8 and all were happy!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gorgeous view of the lake in two directi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Gorgeous view of the lake in two directions and the sunset. Food was terrific too and our service from Tyler was great. Glad we dined there on our first trip to the Lake of the Ozarks.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

we arrived about 15 minutes ahead of our ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

we arrived about 15 minutes ahead of our reservation time and were seated right away, had asked for and was seated at a window........... priceless!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A restaurant like J.B. Hooks is at the h ...

 
·Dined on June 28, 2016

A restaurant like J.B. Hooks is at the high end of our budget. We were there with family from out of town, and wanted something special. We arrived at the time we had reserved, and were seated very quickly ... granted it wasn't a weekend, but this is a tourist destination and the parking lot was full. We were treated with utmost courtesy by those who seated us, our waitress was friendly and fun and helpful. The service was impressively attentive ... water glasses were refilled quickly and often, dishes were delivered and removed in timely fashion, and we noticed that many of the staff moving around the restaurant would put their eyes on our table as they went by to make sure things were taken care of. The food was delicious and cooked just as we asked. Everything seemed to be thoughtfully done and it was a time where we felt it was worth every penny we paid.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Smoking is allowed in the bar area. NOT ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Smoking is allowed in the bar area. NOT a pleasant place to enjoy a cocktail before dinner

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We've been coming to the lake for 20 yea ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We've been coming to the lake for 20 years and I had never tried JB Hooks and was so surprised at how good it was tonight! Definitely worth the wait and the view is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We've eaten at JB Hooks a couple of time ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've eaten at JB Hooks a couple of times and enjoy the food and atmosphere. Our waitress was nice, but not very engaging. Food wasn't as good as last time. Kind of disappointed, but all in all, had a pleasant time.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This was by far the best steak I have ev ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was by far the best steak I have ever had. Service was above and beyond expected. It was a little loud but we did not mind at all. I will be back and will spread the word about you all. Thanks for a great meal .

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Our food was wonderf ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was great. Our food was wonderful. View was wonderful.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Asked the chef to prepare Sea Bass with ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Asked the chef to prepare Sea Bass with capers, butter, lemon. This was a special request, not on the menu. It was absolutely amazing. As always JB Hooks has met and exceeded our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our 5th Anniversary with dinn ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Celebrated our 5th Anniversary with dinner at one of the Lakeview tables. The view was amazing and food was delicious. Filet was cooked perfectly and cut like butter. Will definitely be returning when we visit the area again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great and so was the view. R ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was great and so was the view. Restaurant was a bit noisy. Food was good, but way overpriced for quality in my opinion.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

You may find a better meal somewhere els ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

You may find a better meal somewhere else but it'd be hard to find a better view! Grouper fingers were highlight of entire meal. Lobster pasta was nothing special. Instead of going for dinner you'd be better off just going for appetizers and socializing on the patio. View is second to none but there are definitely other restaurants that don't make you question if the food is worth the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great for special occasions

 
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The food is great and the service is great, also. The menu selections are varied and tasty. It is an upscale restaurant, though, so expect to spend. Even keeping this in mind, the only problem with the restaurant is the high prices for drinks. I feel the drinks are overpriced. But overall, it was a positive 40th anniversary experience. Our server was polite and attentive, and we got way more food than we could eat. She took what we couldn't finish and boxed it up for us to enjoy later.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome Views , Perfect for that Special Night

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Awesome views of the Lake, and Sunset. Service is great and perfect timing, and the food is I top rate. Steaks were cooked perfectly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful meal for 2! The food was grea ...

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful meal for 2! The food was great and everything I hoped for. It was my husband's birthday so I wanted something more than just the chain restaurant. Our waiter was very attentive! Would recommend to anyone!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a bad meal

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have been coming to JB Hooks since they opened in the 90's and have never had a bad meal. The service is always very professional. The wait staff goes out of their way to fulfill our requests and the ambiance is superb. Business or Personal it ALWAYS hits a 12 on a scale of 1 to 10!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

From the Bam Bam Shrimp appetizer to the creme brulee dessert, everything was FANTASTIC!! The crab legs were so meaty and flavorful. The homemade peach sangria was perfect on a beautiful summer evening. But the best part of the evening was our server Johnny. He was friendly but professional and was great at making suggestions for appetizer and drinks!! Great service and we will definitely be back!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, great service

 
·Dined on May 27, 2016

JB hooks is our favorite treat at the lake. We have been going back for many years. The food is great, I have the kc strip, my wife and daughter split a steak and a HUGE lobster tail. Service is fantastic! Oh, and the view is great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of 15 had a reservation for 6: ...

 
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Our group of 15 had a reservation for 6:45 but showed up early and were still seated right away. The service was excellent from beginning to end and the food was exceptional. The view of the lake from our tables was the extra touch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant at the Lake of the Ozar ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Best restaurant at the Lake of the Ozarks! We enjoyed our dinner and look forward to going back soon. Our steaks were tender and juicy cooked just the way we ordered. Their Greek salad is amazingly crisp with feta cheese, red onion, Greek olives and delicious balsamic dressing. Their mashed potatoes are creamy and had just the right seasoning and the fresh asperagus was very good! Their desserts are all house made and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my girl friend to JB Hooks for her ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Took my girl friend to JB Hooks for her birtbday. Got seated right away. Great view, great wine, great food. Great service. Definately recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced

 
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was way overpriced. Our server, Johnny Grist, did not come to check on us in a timely manner. I had an issue with my expensive entree but since he didn't check on us, I just decided to deal with it.i did not want to make everyone else at my table wait while my problem was fixed or wait for me to finish my meal so I felt like I did not get my money's worth. Servers solicit good reviews because management gives them money as a reward. This makes me uncomfortable and I don't think you can rely on some of the good reviews. Most of them mention the server by name. I think those reviews are from people just trying to be nice to the server and not really representative of their dining experience.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

A great way to dine and view the lake

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We haven't dined at J B Hooks for a few years and unlike many spots on the lake they have kept the restaurant updated. The food was outstanding our server didn't mislead us on the dishes. The food was well prepared, fresh and we all had seafood. The wine list is very good and the prices aren't out of line. If you want a great view of the lake and great food to boot Hooks is the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding Service

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food and Service was excellent! The view outstanding!

The noise level was extremely high that I had a hard time hearing the waiter or even my spouse until after the 3 sets of noise makers had left.

The only down fall was the noise. If this could of been under control it would of been an awesome special occasion of my spouse and I. Otherwise we enjoyed the evening and will most likely return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Place On The Lake

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We on a weekend saw great reviews. It nice evening will return next year.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Johnny, our server, was great.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Johnny, our server, was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

#1 Restaurant at Lake of the Ozarks

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The outstanding food quality, service and diverse menu make this out top favorite. We love to go for lunch -great menu as well as their happy hour! Can't beat the beautiful lake views from inside as well as their patio. It's perched on a high bluff right on 54.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation?

 
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I called JB Hooks midweek to make a reservation for 2 on Saturday night at 715pm. Long story short, I watched other patrons walk in and be seated without reservations (possibly in the bar area) and I even witnessed another couple with a 730pm reservation seated before us. Finally, we were taken to a table at 742pm. The hostess said they were trying to get us the "best seat in the restaurant". She called me by the wrong name and she also mentioned that she was a new employee, like that was supposed to make me happier. We did have a nice, quiet seating area, but the view was just kinda so-so. I've eaten at JB Hooks before with a better view. The food was good. Service was good. I was just VERY unhappy with the lack of attention to my reservation AND I did not receive an apology for their mishap. I am unlikely to make a reservation at JB Hooks in the future.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was excellent. A professional w ...

 
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Service was excellent. A professional waitress that knew when to come by and when not to. Just the right amount of care and very personable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an extremely nice meal at JB Hook ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We had an extremely nice meal at JB Hooks. View was great and the service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.