About JB Hooks

2260 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

"Hooks" as it is affectionately known, and it's friendly staff, strive to make our valued locals feel at home and our tourists feel like locals! We specialize in Steaks, Seafood and offer Happy Hour deals that can't be beat.

Our dining room overlooks a panoramic view of the main channel of the Lake, and offers a relaxing atmosphere to add to your dining experience.
Come by and see us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily

11:00am - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-3255

Website:
http://www.jbhooks.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

JB Hooks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

Scenic View (69)
Special Occasion (58)
Waterfront (36)
See All
Romantic (34)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Casual (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Business Meals (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Live Music (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great view, great service, great food! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Great view, great service, great food! It was our anniversary and we really enjoyed our night.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding, as always! We frequent th ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding, as always! We frequent this restaurant during the "lake season" and find it exceptional. Our waitress, Kim, was excellent as well.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing and so was the f ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was amazing and so was the food. The only bad thing was that i should have done more research before making reservations. We went on a Sunday at 4 for a romantic dinner but I did not realize that 4 o'clock was the bar happy hour (which was the only place you could be seated at that time). The downfall of sitting on the bar side was that it was rather loud and crowded and you could smoke in there. I specifically went to dinner at 4 to watch the sunset because i heard of how amazing it is to watch when youre eating at JB Hooks. So because I was sitting on the bar side, they were only serving drinks and appetizers ( me and my date are under 21 so it was a little disappointing). But once we asked if they were serving dinner, they explained that they had 2 kitchens and the dinner kitchen was preparing for dinner at the moment and the waiter nicely gave us some dinner menus. Now the food was amazing, I had the Chicken Gregory and it was to die for!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Rich our waiter was very knowledgeable a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Rich our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu. His service was excellent and the food was outstanding.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was disappointed in the slow service, fo ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Was disappointed in the slow service, food was not as tasty as other visits in the past and since this dinner was for a special occasion, celebrating a 50th birthday, it was very disappointing for a milestone event.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a nice evening. Food was pretty ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a nice evening. Food was pretty good. The Pepper Steak was very tender and seasoning was good. Salmon was nice. Too much reflection to really get great evening view of the lake after dark. Staff was really nice.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a fantastic meal with equal servi ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a fantastic meal with equal service. We were excited to have Marty be our server again and she never disappoints!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was great. Our server was out ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was great. Our server was outstanding. Jessie was the best. I had leftover's today for Lunch and it was still really fresh and good. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Kim was great. Suggested a co ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server Kim was great. Suggested a cocktail off the menu after I described what I liked and I loved it. Food was very good. Loved the atmosphere. We didn't go to the bar but the had live music that looked fun. Perfect night. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

JB Hooks is a must for fine dining at th ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

JB Hooks is a must for fine dining at the lake. The views are spectacular, the service is sensational but friendly and not stuffy. Everything is fresh and the steak and seafood is always top notch. Do yourself a favor, and give them a chance to provide a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Jesse was the best he added t ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Our server Jesse was the best he added to the evening and made it a great experience for my clients. I would always ask for her if I came back to this restaurant. She really knew the food and made good recommendations.

Jim

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Rich was our server with 10+ years worki ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Rich was our server with 10+ years working at the restaurant... Rich was great and catered to every single want and need. When I go back.., I'll ask to be seated in Rich's section. Thanks, Rich.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and great food. The waiter ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great service and great food. The waiter made great recommendations. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

At first, disappointed in host organizat ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

At first, disappointed in host organization skills and the table assigned. However, we had a very good waitress, energetic and helpful. Salmon and steak entrees were both very delicious. Sunset was extra good also. We find JB Hooks to be as dependable and consistent quality of food and service of any nice dining facility @ the Lake of the Ozarks.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jake was our server and he did an outsta ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Jake was our server and he did an outstanding job. Very friendly and fun to talk to.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and watching the sunset. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Loved the food and watching the sunset. Marty was a wonderful server. Thanks for a great ending to our vacation at the lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All was quite good. One exception - the ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

All was quite good. One exception - the wine by the glass has gotten out of control on price. Please come back to reality. Competitive pricing should be in the 6-7 dollar range.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We loved the food and our server Marty w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We loved the food and our server Marty was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jake was an excellent server and the foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Jake was an excellent server and the food was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food, good service. A little loud ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Good food, good service. A little loud on a Saturday night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We go to JB Hooks every time we're at th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We go to JB Hooks every time we're at the lake. Always great service and wonderful food. The smoked cream cheese spread with crackers is a favorite of ours! I had the Ahi tuna, and requested that they prepare it with sesame seeds like the appetizer version, and they did not hesitate to accommodate my request. It was wonderful! My husband had the Mahi Mahi and said it was delicious. JB Hooks never disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an amazing anniversary dinner at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had an amazing anniversary dinner at JB Hooks! Amazing view of the Lake and watched the sun go down. Our waitress, Kim, was great! She brought us a complimentary creme brulee that was fabulous!

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food, Kim did a great job serv ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

Wonderful food, Kim did a great job serving and the sunset was gorgeous after the cloudy day. The only problem was the a/c blasting down on our table, freezing us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fabulous experience as a first timer. My ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Fabulous experience as a first timer. My only criticism is that the waiter seemed very rushed at our table. More like what you would expect at an Applebee's or similiar place. For such a high end restaurant you should feel like wait staff is relaxed and can give you a bit of their time and attention.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Pretty pricey for the quality of the foo ...

 
·Dined on September 30, 2016

Pretty pricey for the quality of the food. Presentation is lacking too. Great service and great setting, though.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We had a group of 12 and our waitress Ma ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had a group of 12 and our waitress Marty did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waittress was exceptional! Please re ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our waittress was exceptional! Please relat our thanks. Food came out fast and hot and service was truly a great experience!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love JB Hooks! Their steaks are aged ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We love JB Hooks! Their steaks are aged and cooked to perfection! We always enjoy the beautiful lake views and this time we went at sunset and it was breathtakingly beautiful!

We really like the Greek salad with the balsamic dressing it is fresh and crisp and the

cheese crumbles along with the Greek olives accompanied by crackers with a tomato cream cheese spread. Entrees include a soup or salad, fresh vegetables and either rice pilaff or mashed or baked potato along with fresh rolls and butter. They offer a very diverse menu offering something for everyone!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The view of th ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food was excellent. The view of the lake was beautiful. Jake, our waiter was attentive without being intrusive. Other staff was attentive as well. I guess it was the kitchen staff that brought our food when it was ready and our drink glasses were always full. Great place for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Customer service was fantastic. Reservat ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Customer service was fantastic. Reservations were easy to book. Door greeter was super sweet and very friendly..we had a newer waiter and he did superb. Would highly recommend this to any of my friends/family. The food was, as always, delicious and perfectly served!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Casual, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was very good; food was deliver ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Waitress was very good; food was delivered promptly and was very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to JB Hooks every time we're in Os ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We go to JB Hooks every time we're in Osage Beach. Love the atmosphere and love the food. Service is always excellent! We did notice on this visit that the wine prices seem to have increased.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and Service. John, our waite ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food and Service. John, our waiter was Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other than JB Hooks DID NOT have our res ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Other than JB Hooks DID NOT have our reservation from Open Table (2nd time this has happened to us!!!), we had an outstanding meal at JB Hooks. The service and food was wonderful, and we enjoyed our dinner with a friend we hadn't seen in awhile from St. Louis. Hope to return soon!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We've been several times. One of our fav ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We've been several times. One of our favorite at the lake. A little noisy that night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Our favorite fine dining at the Lake. Fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our favorite fine dining at the Lake. Food is always delicious. Service is OUTSTANDING especially Johnny Grist. He is the BEST! View is outstanding. Great place to have dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great, service was amazing, ask ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was great, service was amazing, ask for Tanna

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious food and cocktails, great serv ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Delicious food and cocktails, great service, beautiful lake view, made reservations and we were seated within 5 minutes of arrival. One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, atmosphere all outstandi ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere all outstanding and the view was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 3rd visit to JB Hooks. We re ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 6, 2016

This is our 3rd visit to JB Hooks. We received excellent service from Jake and Phalen during our dining experience. Great view at sunset.

Thanks!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.