About JB Hooks

2260 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

"Hooks" as it is affectionately known, and it's friendly staff, strive to make our valued locals feel at home and our tourists feel like locals! We specialize in Steaks, Seafood and offer Happy Hour deals that can't be beat.

Our dining room overlooks a panoramic view of the main channel of the Lake, and offers a relaxing atmosphere to add to your dining experience.
Come by and see us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily

11:00am - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-3255

Website:
http://www.jbhooks.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

JB Hooks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

scenic view (54)
special occasion (50)
romantic (43)
See All
fit for foodies (21)
great for outdoor dining (16)
good for groups (15)
neighborhood gem (11)
notable wine list (10)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

We've been coming to the lake for 20 yea ...

vip
Dined a day ago

We've been coming to the lake for 20 years and I had never tried JB Hooks and was so surprised at how good it was tonight! Definitely worth the wait and the view is amazing!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We've eaten at JB Hooks a couple of time ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We've eaten at JB Hooks a couple of times and enjoy the food and atmosphere. Our waitress was nice, but not very engaging. Food wasn't as good as last time. Kind of disappointed, but all in all, had a pleasant time.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was by far the best steak I have ev ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was by far the best steak I have ever had. Service was above and beyond expected. It was a little loud but we did not mind at all. I will be back and will spread the word about you all. Thanks for a great meal .

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Our food was wonderf ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was great. Our food was wonderful. View was wonderful.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Asked the chef to prepare Sea Bass with ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Asked the chef to prepare Sea Bass with capers, butter, lemon. This was a special request, not on the menu. It was absolutely amazing. As always JB Hooks has met and exceeded our expectations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 5th Anniversary with dinn ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Celebrated our 5th Anniversary with dinner at one of the Lakeview tables. The view was amazing and food was delicious. Filet was cooked perfectly and cut like butter. Will definitely be returning when we visit the area again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Service was great and so was the view. R ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was great and so was the view. Restaurant was a bit noisy. Food was good, but way overpriced for quality in my opinion.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

You may find a better meal somewhere els ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

You may find a better meal somewhere else but it'd be hard to find a better view! Grouper fingers were highlight of entire meal. Lobster pasta was nothing special. Instead of going for dinner you'd be better off just going for appetizers and socializing on the patio. View is second to none but there are definitely other restaurants that don't make you question if the food is worth the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for special occasions

Dined on June 6, 2016

The food is great and the service is great, also. The menu selections are varied and tasty. It is an upscale restaurant, though, so expect to spend. Even keeping this in mind, the only problem with the restaurant is the high prices for drinks. I feel the drinks are overpriced. But overall, it was a positive 40th anniversary experience. Our server was polite and attentive, and we got way more food than we could eat. She took what we couldn't finish and boxed it up for us to enjoy later.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome Views , Perfect for that Special Night

Dined on June 5, 2016

Awesome views of the Lake, and Sunset. Service is great and perfect timing, and the food is I top rate. Steaks were cooked perfectly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal for 2! The food was grea ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful meal for 2! The food was great and everything I hoped for. It was my husband's birthday so I wanted something more than just the chain restaurant. Our waiter was very attentive! Would recommend to anyone!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a bad meal

Dined on May 29, 2016

We have been coming to JB Hooks since they opened in the 90's and have never had a bad meal. The service is always very professional. The wait staff goes out of their way to fulfill our requests and the ambiance is superb. Business or Personal it ALWAYS hits a 12 on a scale of 1 to 10!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!!

Dined on May 29, 2016

From the Bam Bam Shrimp appetizer to the creme brulee dessert, everything was FANTASTIC!! The crab legs were so meaty and flavorful. The homemade peach sangria was perfect on a beautiful summer evening. But the best part of the evening was our server Johnny. He was friendly but professional and was great at making suggestions for appetizer and drinks!! Great service and we will definitely be back!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, great service

Dined on May 27, 2016

JB hooks is our favorite treat at the lake. We have been going back for many years. The food is great, I have the kc strip, my wife and daughter split a steak and a HUGE lobster tail. Service is fantastic! Oh, and the view is great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our group of 15 had a reservation for 6: ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Our group of 15 had a reservation for 6:45 but showed up early and were still seated right away. The service was excellent from beginning to end and the food was exceptional. The view of the lake from our tables was the extra touch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant at the Lake of the Ozar ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Best restaurant at the Lake of the Ozarks! We enjoyed our dinner and look forward to going back soon. Our steaks were tender and juicy cooked just the way we ordered. Their Greek salad is amazingly crisp with feta cheese, red onion, Greek olives and delicious balsamic dressing. Their mashed potatoes are creamy and had just the right seasoning and the fresh asperagus was very good! Their desserts are all house made and fresh.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my girl friend to JB Hooks for her ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Took my girl friend to JB Hooks for her birtbday. Got seated right away. Great view, great wine, great food. Great service. Definately recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Overpriced

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was way overpriced. Our server, Johnny Grist, did not come to check on us in a timely manner. I had an issue with my expensive entree but since he didn't check on us, I just decided to deal with it.i did not want to make everyone else at my table wait while my problem was fixed or wait for me to finish my meal so I felt like I did not get my money's worth. Servers solicit good reviews because management gives them money as a reward. This makes me uncomfortable and I don't think you can rely on some of the good reviews. Most of them mention the server by name. I think those reviews are from people just trying to be nice to the server and not really representative of their dining experience.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A great way to dine and view the lake

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We haven't dined at J B Hooks for a few years and unlike many spots on the lake they have kept the restaurant updated. The food was outstanding our server didn't mislead us on the dishes. The food was well prepared, fresh and we all had seafood. The wine list is very good and the prices aren't out of line. If you want a great view of the lake and great food to boot Hooks is the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food and Service was excellent! The view outstanding! The noise level was extremely high that I had a hard time hearing the waiter or even my spouse until after the 3 sets of noise makers had left. The only down fall was the noise. If this could of been under control it would of been an awesome special occasion of my spouse and I. Otherwise we enjoyed the evening and will most likely return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Place On The Lake

Dined on May 6, 2016

We on a weekend saw great reviews. It nice evening will return next year.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Johnny, our server, was great.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Johnny, our server, was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

#1 Restaurant at Lake of the Ozarks

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

The outstanding food quality, service and diverse menu make this out top favorite. We love to go for lunch -great menu as well as their happy hour! Can't beat the beautiful lake views from inside as well as their patio. It's perched on a high bluff right on 54.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Reservation?

Dined on April 24, 2016

I called JB Hooks midweek to make a reservation for 2 on Saturday night at 715pm. Long story short, I watched other patrons walk in and be seated without reservations (possibly in the bar area) and I even witnessed another couple with a 730pm reservation seated before us. Finally, we were taken to a table at 742pm. The hostess said they were trying to get us the "best seat in the restaurant". She called me by the wrong name and she also mentioned that she was a new employee, like that was supposed to make me happier. We did have a nice, quiet seating area, but the view was just kinda so-so. I've eaten at JB Hooks before with a better view. The food was good. Service was good. I was just VERY unhappy with the lack of attention to my reservation AND I did not receive an apology for their mishap. I am unlikely to make a reservation at JB Hooks in the future.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent. A professional w ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Service was excellent. A professional waitress that knew when to come by and when not to. Just the right amount of care and very personable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

We had an extremely nice meal at JB Hook ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We had an extremely nice meal at JB Hooks. View was great and the service excellent.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

pbrennan

Dined on April 21, 2016

Was really looking forward to dinner @ JBH.Have never had a bad meal here.My grouper was very disappointing.Didn't even look like it was actually grouper.Not prepared as described on the menu.No flavor except over-powering garlic cream sauce which I scraped off.The two shrimp on top were kind of pitiful.Considering the price it was definitely not worth it.Was looking forward to the spinach salad but they've taken it off the menu.Husband had the tournedos (sp?) and said his wasn't very good either.Has the restaurant changed owners or chefs?Don't frequent Lake of the Ozarks but attend an anually meeting there and always try to dine at JBH.First time we have ever had a disappointing meal.We love sitting at the window and watching the sunset.Our waitress was great.The food just wasn't what we have come to expect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service

Dined on April 18, 2016

Johnny was our server and he did a great job! Very efficient, his recommendations were excellent and he was entertaining as well! He made our experience extra special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a nice table next to the servers sta ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Had a nice table next to the servers station. Food was great. Waitress was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch as always!!! Ordered the filet ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Top notch as always!!! Ordered the filet with crab legs. Everything was fantastic! Thanks again for great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite of ours when visiting ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Always a favorite of ours when visiting the lake area!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

Dined on April 10, 2016

Our server was attentive and the food was great. I recommend that anyone who likes steak and lobster have the Australian lobster tail and prime rib.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening!

Dined on April 10, 2016

My wife and I recently celebrated our 1st anniversary at JB Hooks and we are so glad we did. Everyone made it a special evening for us and our waiter Johnny G was phenomenal. The food was delicious and the view was excellent from our table. Thanks to everyone for making this a memorable night for us!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I've ever had! Everything was ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Best steak I've ever had! Everything was cooked to perfection. We also had great service and a great waitress!

food5
ambience5
service5

Dinning experience was the best! Friendl ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Dinning experience was the best! Friendly staff and very attentive to our needs! Food was fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5

Scallops were perfect!

Dined on March 29, 2016

Scallops were perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5

Signature cocktail is wonderful! Dinner ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Signature cocktail is wonderful! Dinner was delightful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Lobster

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

We split the stuffed lobster at the suggestion of Marti our Server. She was right on the money when she told us that it was large enough for two. The stuffed lobster came with salad and shrimp scampi and scallops. We were stuffed ourselves when we finished. If you have never been there. You need to put on your list of must do's.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

DELIGHT IN OUR BACKYARD!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We drove to JB Hooks for dinner from Columbia, Mo. The day was beautiful and fit for a little road trip. The experience was worth a drive twice as far! Our waiter, Jake, was both attentive and knowledgeable, showing just the right amount of attention. The filet melted in my mouth and the lobster was a sight to behold. Sharing drinks, dinner, and dessert over candlelight while the sun set was the perfect way to celebrate the day! We will return often!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Lively atmosphere, friendly service

Dined on February 20, 2016

The bar was jammed on a Friday night, but the service was friendly and attentive. The dining room was thankfully much quieter, so we could talk. Food was good. Nice wine selection. Our waitress was perfect. A fun evening.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.