About JB Hooks

2260 Bagnell Dam Blvd
Lake Ozark, MO 65049
View Larger Map

"Hooks" as it is affectionately known, and it's friendly staff, strive to make our valued locals feel at home and our tourists feel like locals! We specialize in Steaks, Seafood and offer Happy Hour deals that can't be beat.

Our dining room overlooks a panoramic view of the main channel of the Lake, and offers a relaxing atmosphere to add to your dining experience.
Come by and see us!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily

11:00am - 10:00pm


Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 365-3255

Website:
http://www.jbhooks.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

JB Hooks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

scenic view (57)
special occasion (50)
romantic (45)
See All
fit for foodies (18)
notable wine list (17)
good for groups (14)
great for outdoor dining (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for lunch (10)
late-night find (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (7)
great for brunch (6)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our group of 15 had a reservation for 6: ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our group of 15 had a reservation for 6:45 but showed up early and were still seated right away. The service was excellent from beginning to end and the food was exceptional. The view of the lake from our tables was the extra touch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant at the Lake of the Ozar ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Best restaurant at the Lake of the Ozarks! We enjoyed our dinner and look forward to going back soon. Our steaks were tender and juicy cooked just the way we ordered. Their Greek salad is amazingly crisp with feta cheese, red onion, Greek olives and delicious balsamic dressing. Their mashed potatoes are creamy and had just the right seasoning and the fresh asperagus was very good! Their desserts are all house made and fresh.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my girl friend to JB Hooks for her ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Took my girl friend to JB Hooks for her birtbday. Got seated right away. Great view, great wine, great food. Great service. Definately recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Overpriced

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was way overpriced. Our server, Johnny Grist, did not come to check on us in a timely manner. I had an issue with my expensive entree but since he didn't check on us, I just decided to deal with it.i did not want to make everyone else at my table wait while my problem was fixed or wait for me to finish my meal so I felt like I did not get my money's worth. Servers solicit good reviews because management gives them money as a reward. This makes me uncomfortable and I don't think you can rely on some of the good reviews. Most of them mention the server by name. I think those reviews are from people just trying to be nice to the server and not really representative of their dining experience.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A great way to dine and view the lake

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We haven't dined at J B Hooks for a few years and unlike many spots on the lake they have kept the restaurant updated. The food was outstanding our server didn't mislead us on the dishes. The food was well prepared, fresh and we all had seafood. The wine list is very good and the prices aren't out of line. If you want a great view of the lake and great food to boot Hooks is the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food and Service was excellent! The view outstanding! The noise level was extremely high that I had a hard time hearing the waiter or even my spouse until after the 3 sets of noise makers had left. The only down fall was the noise. If this could of been under control it would of been an awesome special occasion of my spouse and I. Otherwise we enjoyed the evening and will most likely return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Place On The Lake

Dined on May 6, 2016

We on a weekend saw great reviews. It nice evening will return next year.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Johnny, our server, was great.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Johnny, our server, was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

#1 Restaurant at Lake of the Ozarks

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

The outstanding food quality, service and diverse menu make this out top favorite. We love to go for lunch -great menu as well as their happy hour! Can't beat the beautiful lake views from inside as well as their patio. It's perched on a high bluff right on 54.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Reservation?

Dined on April 24, 2016

I called JB Hooks midweek to make a reservation for 2 on Saturday night at 715pm. Long story short, I watched other patrons walk in and be seated without reservations (possibly in the bar area) and I even witnessed another couple with a 730pm reservation seated before us. Finally, we were taken to a table at 742pm. The hostess said they were trying to get us the "best seat in the restaurant". She called me by the wrong name and she also mentioned that she was a new employee, like that was supposed to make me happier. We did have a nice, quiet seating area, but the view was just kinda so-so. I've eaten at JB Hooks before with a better view. The food was good. Service was good. I was just VERY unhappy with the lack of attention to my reservation AND I did not receive an apology for their mishap. I am unlikely to make a reservation at JB Hooks in the future.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent. A professional w ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Service was excellent. A professional waitress that knew when to come by and when not to. Just the right amount of care and very personable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

We had an extremely nice meal at JB Hook ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We had an extremely nice meal at JB Hooks. View was great and the service excellent.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

pbrennan

Dined on April 21, 2016

Was really looking forward to dinner @ JBH.Have never had a bad meal here.My grouper was very disappointing.Didn't even look like it was actually grouper.Not prepared as described on the menu.No flavor except over-powering garlic cream sauce which I scraped off.The two shrimp on top were kind of pitiful.Considering the price it was definitely not worth it.Was looking forward to the spinach salad but they've taken it off the menu.Husband had the tournedos (sp?) and said his wasn't very good either.Has the restaurant changed owners or chefs?Don't frequent Lake of the Ozarks but attend an anually meeting there and always try to dine at JBH.First time we have ever had a disappointing meal.We love sitting at the window and watching the sunset.Our waitress was great.The food just wasn't what we have come to expect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service

Dined on April 18, 2016

Johnny was our server and he did a great job! Very efficient, his recommendations were excellent and he was entertaining as well! He made our experience extra special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a nice table next to the servers sta ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Had a nice table next to the servers station. Food was great. Waitress was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch as always!!! Ordered the filet ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Top notch as always!!! Ordered the filet with crab legs. Everything was fantastic! Thanks again for great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite of ours when visiting ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Always a favorite of ours when visiting the lake area!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

Dined on April 10, 2016

Our server was attentive and the food was great. I recommend that anyone who likes steak and lobster have the Australian lobster tail and prime rib.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening!

Dined on April 10, 2016

My wife and I recently celebrated our 1st anniversary at JB Hooks and we are so glad we did. Everyone made it a special evening for us and our waiter Johnny G was phenomenal. The food was delicious and the view was excellent from our table. Thanks to everyone for making this a memorable night for us!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I've ever had! Everything was ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Best steak I've ever had! Everything was cooked to perfection. We also had great service and a great waitress!

food5
ambience5
service5

Dinning experience was the best! Friendl ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Dinning experience was the best! Friendly staff and very attentive to our needs! Food was fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5

Scallops were perfect!

Dined on March 29, 2016

Scallops were perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5

Signature cocktail is wonderful! Dinner ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Signature cocktail is wonderful! Dinner was delightful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Lobster

Dined on March 12, 2016

We split the stuffed lobster at the suggestion of Marti our Server. She was right on the money when she told us that it was large enough for two. The stuffed lobster came with salad and shrimp scampi and scallops. We were stuffed ourselves when we finished. If you have never been there. You need to put on your list of must do's.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

DELIGHT IN OUR BACKYARD!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We drove to JB Hooks for dinner from Columbia, Mo. The day was beautiful and fit for a little road trip. The experience was worth a drive twice as far! Our waiter, Jake, was both attentive and knowledgeable, showing just the right amount of attention. The filet melted in my mouth and the lobster was a sight to behold. Sharing drinks, dinner, and dessert over candlelight while the sun set was the perfect way to celebrate the day! We will return often!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Lively atmosphere, friendly service

Dined on February 20, 2016

The bar was jammed on a Friday night, but the service was friendly and attentive. The dining room was thankfully much quieter, so we could talk. Food was good. Nice wine selection. Our waitress was perfect. A fun evening.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful decor, picturesque view from o ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Beautiful decor, picturesque view from our table. Food was prepared perfectly. Our server Talya was over the top making sure our dining experience was memorable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Two in a row

Dined on February 15, 2016

Second trip in four years and it was just as we remembered. Great food, service, atmosphere, love it and will be back!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Hostess Clueless

Dined on February 15, 2016

Host stand needs to communicate with each other. Was called over the loud speaker to go to the upper host stand. Once we walked up stairs and up the ramp to the other stand. I was then scolded by the hostess telling me that they we seating me below at the host stand by the entrance. I asked her why we were just called over the loud speaker to come up there and she didn't have an answer and told me to go back to the entrance host. Then stood for another 5 minutes before we we actually seated. For people that are supposed to be the first impression of your place they need to learn the definition of hospitality.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Valentines Day Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had an excellent meal in a very romantic and scenic setting. The service was outstanding as well. To top it off, the restaurant gave each lady a single red rose. What a nice touch for Valentines Day!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines day

Dined on February 14, 2016

As always a great experience but I'm still waiting on those chocolate covered strawberries.. not offered as advertised

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Did not meet expectations

Dined on February 14, 2016

Considering this is a higher-end restaurant, we were sorely disappointed. They were out of the different appetizers we wanted to try while we were waiting at the bar. How can you run out of shrimp on Valentine's weekend? Once we finally got to our table, which was much later than our reservation time, the service was good, but I would not recommend this restaurant for a romantic dinner. I could hardly hear my husband sitting across from me. The steaks had much to be desired. There really was no flavor to them at all. The medium rare steak we ordered had a dry taste to it, almost like it was cooked to medium rare, then let to sit for all the juice to run out of it before being served to us. The filet mignon ordered medium was cooked perfectly, it just had no flavor at all. I know a great steak needs nothing added, but these were just plain flavorless pieces of meat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Favorite Place to Celebrate Special Occasions

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I love to go here for birthdays, anniversary and Valentines Day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic night out

Dined on February 14, 2016

We celebrated Valentine's Day this year at JB Hooks, and it was our second time doing so. Very romantic lighting with superb food. The lady received a rose and the couple received complimentary chocolate covered strawberries. They truly went above and beyond for us, and it is some of the best food we have ever enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening at JB Hooks

Dined on February 14, 2016

Once again we had a wonderful evening at JB Hooks. The dinner was delicious and our server Kim was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Keeps getting better!

Dined on February 14, 2016

JB Hooks is a must stop spot each time we visit Osage Beach. The food is excellent, the drink selection is divine, and the service is fantastic!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely amazing and the ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing and the price was very reasonable for that quality of food. The chocolate covered strawberries from the chef were delicious. Thank you

food5
ambience4
service5

Reservations were late so we decided to ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Reservations were late so we decided to eat at the bar. They were very helpful and attentive for the entire meal. Food was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server Kim was amazing

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went for Valentine's Day dinner. They gave all the women a red rose, and after dinner everyone got a chocolate covered strawberry. Food was great, atmosphere was great, view was great. Server Kim was AMAZING. In a day and age where customer service is hard to find, the world would be better with more people like her

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hooked

Dined on February 13, 2016

We live 2.5 hours away, so we can't be regulars. We've been to JB Hooks twice in the past few years and bothe visits were pleasant, romantic, and consistent. The food is done very well and the wait staff is friendly and available. Just don't expect to get off cheap. JB Hooks is now our go-to fine-dining location when in the Osage Beach area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.