About Jax Fish House - Glendale

650 S. Colorado Blvd
Glendale, CO 80246
View Larger Map

Consistently voted to the "Best of" Awards, Jax Fish House serves up the finest and freshest the ocean has to offer. Sourcing dock-to-door, executive chef Sheila Lucero has built long-standing relationships with coastal fishermen to ship daily the freshest and highest quality seafood available.

If seafood is not your fancy, we also feature delicious "non-swimmers" and a farm-to-table experience that also focuses on FRESH. The menu is diverse, and has one uniting theme...Delicious...

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Creole / Cajun / Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner daily 4:00pm
Sunday Brunch 10am-2pm

Happy Hour Daily 4-6pm
All Night Happy Hour every Monday

Cross Street:
South Cherry Creek

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 756-6449

Website:
http://www.jaxfishhouse.com/glendale

Catering:
We have unmatched access to the freshest seafood on the planet and a staff filled with hospitalitarians; our shuckers, bartenders, servers and chefs are here for you. Let us come to your next event and throw-down with FRESH and delicious in a way that your guests will never forget. Lots of places can do catering. We create unforgettable experiences! If you’d like for your guests to remember your event with a smile, please email or call.

Parking Details:
Jax Glendale is located one block east of the intersection of Colorado Blvd and South Cherry Creek Drive. Complimentary valet parking is available Tues-Sat. Valet is centrally located within the City Set development.

A large public garage is also available should you prefer to self-park.

Executive Chef:
Sheila Lucero

Private Party Facilities:
An event at Jax offers guests a chance to experience something truly unique. Like any great party, the private event space is elegant yet approachable, refined yet playful. With the many different space options available, there is something to suit every whim: relax in our private dining room, let loose on the rooftop, or treat your guests to the whole shabang by renting out the joint. At Jax Glendale, we keep it fresh, we keep it fun.

Contact us today to book your next event

Private Party Contact:
info@jaxglendale.com: 3037566449x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Opening in May, join us on our rooftop for all of your al fresco desires. Fresh raw bar, frozen cocktails and killer outdoor views, our rooftop is the outdoor place for Happy Hour and everything else. Open daily at 4pm until after dark, seasonally.

Jax Fish House - Glendale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Groups (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Lunch (9)
Casual (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Romantic (5)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (4)
Tapas (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Scenic View (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is always excellent, however food w ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food is always excellent, however food was not timed well and kept coming out at different times. Became annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I had the roasted seabass while she had ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

I had the roasted seabass while she had the octopus. Both of us were more than satisfied with our selection. The presentation was pleasant and their Pinot Noir was better than anticipated. Highly recommend a visit or three.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really like the fact that is Happy Hou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

I really like the fact that is Happy Hour all day Monday!! I visit there 2 to 3 times a month and it's lovely!

Tags: Cozy, Quick Bite, People Watching, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dishes were creative and packed with ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

The dishes were creative and packed with flavor...delightful seasonal

Inge. Desserts were rich but tastefully served.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service at the oyster bar. Ash ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service at the oyster bar. Ashley was awesome with food choices, drink creation skills, and just great service.

The food was very unique, extremely fresh, and way tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was wonderful, the halibut, oct ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our food was wonderful, the halibut, octopus, pork fat beignets and seafood chowder. We will come back to eat again and again. Our waiter was outstanding and guided us in the right direction. It is in our neighborhood and a delight to go to.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant! Great Food! Always a f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great restaurant! Great Food! Always a fun place to meet up with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

After having prior good experiences at t ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

After having prior good experiences at this location and their others, this time was different. First, the table we were assigned had very cold air blowing on the seats and although there was an open table (pardon the pun) next to ours the hostess didn't offer to move us and refused to do so went asked. Second, our appetizer, fried calamari, was over cooked and poorly presented. Not a good start.

We dined with another couple and our two kale salads were well dressed and split for sharing -- no problems with this course.

As for entrees, my sea bass' skin was crispy but the skin was too thick compared to the meat of the fish, which the fish chewy, and the side was bland and the sweet pea sauce detracted from versus adding to the dish. Plus, my wife who clearly asked if one of the specials was spicy, including whether it was peppery because she has a very low tolerance for spicy or peppery foods, she was assured that it wasn't. She ordered the special and, by all accounts, the sauce that accompanied the Ono was spicy, especially to someone who can barely tolerate 200 Scoville Units. The server immediately agreed to either take the dish back and have another preparation made or for my wife to chose another entree, but this situation could have been avoided if the server either better knew her fare or at least asked a clarifying question. My wife chose the former. Then, to exacerbate the situation, the cook/chef prepared a cloyingly sweet (Teriyaki'ish) and overly abundant sauce to accompany the fish. Although this general preparation is a standard one, a subtle choice (lemon or lemon butter) may have been safer or options should have been presented before proceeding.

The server did offer my wife a free dessert of her choice but the manager did not stop by our table to offer her/his apologies or to offer to not charge for my wife's entree. She chose the S'mores. The only saving grace to the meal was that the other couple paid for the disappointing dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I'm not a huge seafood lover. My husband ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I'm not a huge seafood lover. My husband truly is. However, he only likes HOT seafood. His "steamed" shrimp with peel on, seemed like cold shrimp merely blanched. Some pieces not hot at all. We had to ask for an off menu single lobster tail, as it w3asnt on the menu, & when my husband found out it was only served as a sandwich (on the menu), didn't order it. Really desiring a lobster tail, I just decided to ask if we could order one; once I noticed the crab & shrimp weren't satisfying enough. Calamari app was good & flavorful. Bread app was great! My burger a lil dry. Nothing amazing, but not horrible. We tried Jax pre the great reviews from friends, so maybe it's the cold dishes that wow? place is nice, service was good. Food was just too average to return. Also, we were starving, so it should've made it that much easier to please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

You go to a fish restaurant to get good ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

You go to a fish restaurant to get good fish, and this was not good fish. My seas bass was over cooked, and had very little taste. Appetizers were good enough, but this is my second trip, and I won't be going again. My wife says.......we are too far from the sea in Denver. But I don't believe this is the issue, it is poor selection of quality fish and simply poor quality in the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I'm from Boulder, where the original Jax ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I'm from Boulder, where the original Jax started and was so thrilled and impressed by the Jax in Glendale! We had the BEST time, LOVED the food and our waitperson was the most wonderful woman who took much care in attending to us! I wish I could remember her name! Anyhow, I highly recommend Jax in Glendale! And it's a fun puzzle figuring out where it is! ;)

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not much to say great place awesome foo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Not much to say great place awesome food well worth it

Tags: Organic, Family Style, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just ok nothing special. Th ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food was just ok nothing special. The service was slow and every request required 2 asks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was excellent. Meal was perfect. I ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was excellent. Meal was perfect. I had butterfish and it was the best fish I have ever had...prepared perfectly.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

King crab legs were overpriced for the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

King crab legs were overpriced for the portion size. AND over steamed. So even less inside. Waiter was not friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Meh, it was okay. Not worth the money fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Meh, it was okay. Not worth the money for the small portions. Probably only worth the happy hour value. It was alright though. Service was a bit pretentious and intrusive, so, for the $$$$, there are much better options.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

I have been to Jax in LoDo on multiple o ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I have been to Jax in LoDo on multiple occasions and am usually happy with the experience. However, I was disappointed in this restaurant.

When we walked in the door we were immediately "hit" with the smell of grease. Perhaps the vent fan wasn't working but it was overwhelming and tainted the entire experience. The smell was so pervasive that I even had to wash my purse to get the lingering odor out of it.

The food was good but it wasn't great. We had a nice salad and an appetizer that was tasty but had too much garlic. Our halibut was also good but not very memorable.

The service was quite good and so were the drinks.

The ambiance of the restaurant was very nice and if it hadn't been for the obnoxious smell we probably would have enjoyed everything a bit more.

Ultimately there are so many outstanding restaurants in Denver that I probably would not take a chance on this one again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Not your typical menu for Sunday brunch, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Not your typical menu for Sunday brunch, which was a nice change from other dining spots. Good food and good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great excepting dessert. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was great excepting dessert. However, we all have a mental picture of the items we order and dessert did not fit ours, but would not lower the review for that. Will definitely return and have already touted it to two othe rcouples.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent sea food. Outstanding happy h ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent sea food. Outstanding happy hour menu. Great value. Not only is the food excellent but the presentation is outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply delightful. Everything was incred ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Simply delightful. Everything was incredible.

Beautiful space too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. Food was excell ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was outstanding. Food was excellent with the exception of a "redo" on a favorite menu item. The Pork Fat Beignets were changed to larger beignets which were no longer in proportion to the amount of pork belly and also had a slightly pumpkin-spice flavor. The "old" menu starter had mini, classic beignets which were the perfect size for the pork belly. Wouldn't complain if the pork belly portions were increased to match the size of the larger beignets, though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice dining experience at Jax in Denver. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Nice dining experience at Jax in Denver. Great seafood. Nice atmosphere. Would rexommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was the worst dinner and service I've ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It was the worst dinner and service I've ever had. The manager was equally rude and argumentative instead of trying to make the customer experience better. Will never go back or recommend this place. AWFUL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Took a work group of about 15 people for ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Took a work group of about 15 people for happy hour. Service and food were both awesome.

We sat up on the rooftop, great views. Oysters great price on happy hour. Martinis very cold.

Server was delightful. Great overall experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointing overall. Go for happy hou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Disappointing overall.

Go for happy hour and oysters. Don't expect anything grand after that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Service and food were wonderful! My husb ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service and food were wonderful! My husband said his drinks were excellent. First time dining here, we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We asked to be seated outside, as it was ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We asked to be seated outside, as it was a nice summer evening. There was a band playing across the courtyard in addition to the overhead music booming out above us. This created a very loud and chaotic environment. Everyone's voices went up in volume and it was not a very comfortable experience. Additionally, our waiter gave us a minimal amount of service. We had to ask for bread on the table and he had no suggestions for us. We realized that the appetizers we were talking about getting, right in front of him, were showcased in an option all together for a better price. The downtown Jax Still Remains a much better quality experience all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was tasty but the waiter never brou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food was tasty but the waiter never brought us anything to clean hands with (wipes or hot towel) like the other occasions. Maybe they ran out when we were there but we had to go to the restrooms to wash our hands instead

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

All in all a great evening! Great servi ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

All in all a great evening! Great service and wonderful food. Noise level pretty high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed Jaxs for dinner so brought my hu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Enjoyed Jaxs for dinner so brought my husband for brunch on Sunday (for his bday). The calamari was good, but everything else sucked to be quite frank. We ordered the polenta chicken which was a soupy mess. The small bowl of jambalaya was nothing to speak about. And the salmon lox salad was nothing spectacular, just salmon and greens. We won't be back for a while...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Had a wonderful time at Jax last weekend ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a wonderful time at Jax last weekend. Plenty of delicious food and cocktails for a great night out! Julia was our server and took fantastic care of us, even exchanging my drink when it was a touch to spicy! Had a wonderful time and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious fish entrees, but VERY chilly ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Delicious fish entrees, but VERY chilly a.c. and slow service. Music could be softer so we could hear each other. Overall, a good dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been here several times before a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We have been here several times before and rated everything much higher. This trip was a big disappointment: food quality and prep was mediocre at best - especially for the price you pay! Speaking of which - servings were way to small for price as well - eg crab cake appetizer was one relatively small cake and was $16 or $18 - and not very good in top of that! Entres were similar in being a very poor Value. And - even the fish tank - which added wonderfully to the ambiance in the past - had lost slot of its luster with much of the coral appearing to have died instead of being so "lively" as it was in past. I don't think we will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

This was an off night at a usually decen ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was an off night at a usually decent restaurant. They have a new manager, so I am told. We couldn't get the right menus despite asking a server for the right ones (Sunday brunch on a Tuesday night?), couldn't get service, waited forever to get noticed and the food was almost average. A very disappointing dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We sat upstairs for the first time and i ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We sat upstairs for the first time and it was great. It was a pleasant Colorado afternoon and we enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved it! Everyone was very attentive an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Loved it! Everyone was very attentive and the food was delicious! We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing!! We did miss the oy ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food is amazing!! We did miss the oyster shucker who no longer works there but still enjoyable dining experience. Great energy level in the restaurant & great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome as always

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

awesome as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a Monday which has all day happy ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Went on a Monday which has all day happy hour prices on their happy hour food and drink items. What a great value and a wonderful way to sample the various food offers without breaking a bank!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.