About Jasper's - Plano

7161 Bishop Rd. Suite G-1
Plano, TX 75024
View Larger Map

Jasper's is a comfortably upscale restaurant, which features a menu focused on the best of America's regional cuisine, including rotisserie chicken, fish, steaks, salads, and pizza. "Jasper's serves the type of food you'd get at my house if I were cooking" says Executive Chef Kent Rathbun. "We want this to be a place where diners can visit whether they're looking for an inexpensive light meal or a higher-end dining experience-we've got it all". The casual design with a "modern outdoors" theme makes Jasper's the perfect place for any occasion. Chef Rathbun is a nationally recognized chef, who defeated Bobby Flay on Iron Chef America. He has also appeared on The Early Show, The Today Show, The Rosie O'Donnell Show and Ready, Set, Cook to name a few. Chef Rathbun has Abacus Restaurant in Dallas and Jasper's in Austin and The Woodlands.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Legacy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(469) 229-9111

Website:
http://www.jaspersplano.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Iron Chef America Winner Kent Rathbun's award winning cuisine at your home or other venue! Let Kent Rathbun Catering cook up the goods at your next event.

Parking Details:
Jasper's offers complimentary valet parking with dining receipt

Executive Chef:
Kent Rathbun

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For that special occasion or business function, Jasper's can offer you several alternatives-a semi-private dining area, a board room enclosed with frosted glass, and a private room that seats 50. The private room is perfect for presentations, social events, or business meetings.

Jasper's - Plano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Dallas Suburbs
Most Booked
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Plano ›

special occasion (95)
fit for foodies (77)
romantic (68)
See All
good for groups (61)
neighborhood gem (49)
great for lunch (48)
notable wine list (42)
hot spot (34)
vibrant bar scene (34)
great for brunch (30)
great for outdoor dining (19)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was excellent and the service s ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent and the service superb. Mike our server was awesome (as he always is).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice space

Dined on May 23, 2016

I really wanted to like Jasper's, but left underwhelmed. The service was fine - was greeted and welcomed quickly - but the food was disappointing. I ordered the pork and 1/3 was dry. The onion ring garnish was distracting and inconsistent, and there was too much of the corn side. The sauce was sweet and disappointed as a compliment or balance to the dish. The recommended wine wasn't able to stand up to the robust flavors of the dish and the flavor of the wine was lost. Again, service was fine and the space was very nice (fantastic people watching!), but left feeling I over paid for the food. Nothing was horrible, just did not live up to expectation.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience. Like all restaurants i ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great experience. Like all restaurants in Plano, it seems, the noise/chatter level was too loud.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Jasper's to celebrate our wed ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We went to Jasper's to celebrate our wedding anniversary and were treated like royalty. Scott, our server, took great care of us all evening. We were treated to a glass of Prosecco to start, enjoyed the calamari, Caesar salad, salmon and prime rib - all prepared to perfection. Then the final surprise, a dessert trio platter with 'Happy Anniversary' written in chocolate! We had a fabulous experience and can't wait to go back again. Many thanks to the kitchen and service teams!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Not familiar with Legacy area, was meeti ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Not familiar with Legacy area, was meeting someone for business lunch and after scouring around, Jasper's sounded good and it was! Had a few missteps with ordering, but they made it right, which we appreciated. Ambiance is great -

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to celebrate a 50th birthday. Prime ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Went to celebrate a 50th birthday. Prime rib and scallops were excellent! Portion size is large. Price is a little high.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Post-shopping dinner! We started with t ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Post-shopping dinner! We started with the prosciutto & arugula flatbread which was tasty if unwieldy. Next came the masa soup - amazingly yummy. For dinner we had the ribs (yes, it's all true) and the night's special, a flounder dish. We both liked these, along with the creamed spinach, Brussels sprouts, and jalapeno corn. All were good, with top nods to the sprouts and the corn. Dessert was the Brown Sugar Bundt Cake - meh. Service was attentive but a bit slow from the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without a doubt, the highlight of our ev ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Without a doubt, the highlight of our evening was the scintillating service of the beautiful Rachel ! It was a Bon Voyage luncheon for our Chinese daughter, Hatty Wu, who left the next day for Beijing. Rachel not only remembered her name, she remembered her favorite food. The food was perfect. We left as 3 happy customers. Will return as many times as possible !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

We went for my wife's birthday and it wa ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday and it was a great meal. The prime rib was excellent!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I booked this on open table and honored ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I booked this on open table and honored my reservation. However, I was very disappointed when I received an E-mail from open table telling me the restaurant was saying I didn't honor my reservation when I have a bill on my credit card from them and I was there. Everything was finally sorted out and they agreed that I did honor my reservation but was just really disappointed in open table and the restaurant for dropping the ball on this in the first place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We have been here several times for spec ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We have been here several times for special occasions. One of our family's favorite places usually. On this visit, they were off their mark with regards to service and quality of the food. Not sure when we will be back here, if at all, for special occasions in the future.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service, food, and bar drinks were all e ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service, food, and bar drinks were all excellent. Two of our guests had the salmon and loved it but thought the serving size was too small even for brunch. One guest had eggs benedict and raved about how delicious it was and the other guest had the waffles which can be described as "melt-in-your-mouth", every bite yummy addictive. We enjoyed the live jazz music as well as our tasty entrees and highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jaspers is one of our very favorite dinn ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Jaspers is one of our very favorite dinner spots. We live in Richardson and have often gone to the Frisco location for a movie at the Angelika and dinner afterwards. Now, we are very excited that Jaspers has opened in Richardson only blocks from our house. So...more Jaspers than ever in our future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience Dining at Jaspers

Dined on May 13, 2016

I recently went to Jasper's for a Mother's Day lunch, and the experience was fantastic. Thanks to our great server, our drinks were always filled, the food came out quickly, and he remembered to say "Happy Mother's Day" to my mom upon greeting and when we left. The food was cooked perfectly and tasted delicious. I will certainly be going back very soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Ribs were excellent, fall-off-the-bone t ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Ribs were excellent, fall-off-the-bone tender with a great bbq sauce. Wait staff were friendly and well informed of all of their food selections and focused on a great dining experience. Highly recommended.

food2
ambience3
service2

The quality wasn't close to what we expe ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The quality wasn't close to what we experienced a few years ago. Steak was salty.

food2
ambience1
service3
value2

For a restaurant in this price category, ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

For a restaurant in this price category, we were disappointed there were not tablecloths, the flower on the table was dead, and the service was slow.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Long time Jasper's client

Dined on May 1, 2016

The quality of food last Sunday was mediocre at best, for what would be considered fine dining prices. I have seen a decline over the last 12 months, and this might have been the last time we will drive from tarrant county over to what used to be my favorite spot. Ken needs to make some surprise visits to make sure the quality control is up to par. Really disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

40th Anniversary Lunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

This is a great restaurant for special occasions. The food was great, we sat in the outdoor patio under an oak tree, and the weather was perfect. Our waiter was great, gave good recommendations on food and our wine. They brought us a desert to celebrate our anniversary that we did not order, very thoughtful. A throughly enjoyable experience, we will go back again. We have been for an anniversary dinner there previously.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

We attended a jazz brunch on Sunday. The band marvelous. The food was incredible. The service was fabulous. I had such a wonderful time.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

We were obviously on a date, and were sa ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We were obviously on a date, and were sat next to a loud obnoxious party. We couldn't talk to each other it was so loud.

food2
ambience3
service2

Sat outside in a beautiful night. Ordere ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Sat outside in a beautiful night. Ordered drinks and two apps to share that were overdone, over sauced, over salted and expensive. Barely ate them and servers cleared the table with no interest. Paid the check in full and headed elsewhere. Don't understand the hype.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Good but pricey

Dined on April 23, 2016

Wife and I went Saturday night. I am a prime rib freak and wanted to try their rotisserie prime rib. I ordered the 16 ounce cut medium rare. It came out perfectly cooked and tasted fantastic. My only complaint is it cost $48. I had a glass of Merlot with it and that cost $13. My wife had a fish dish, which she liked and also a glass of wine. When the bill came, it was a whopping $128. Would I go back? Maybe if I hit the lottery. I can go down to Costco and buy a 7 pound real prime rib roast for about 90 bucks, cook it just as perfectly as Jasper's and serve 8 people.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great all around restaurant

Dined on April 22, 2016

I have been to Jasper's several times and it NEVER disappoints. The food and service are both excellent! I have tried the ribs, the burger and the cajun fish sandwich recently and all were delicious! If you are looking for can't miss food, Jasper's is the place.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Pleasant lunch place

Dined on April 18, 2016

Had a relaxing birthday lunch with girlfriends. The sandwiches, especially the turkey/avocado blt was delicious! Service was excellent and very accomodating to our group. Ambiance was ok but not as nice as I expected considering the location. Would have also been nice if they had given the birthday celebrant a dessert like most of the other restaurants do.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Love love love their blue cheese chips a ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Love love love their blue cheese chips and the pork belly!! It's like a delicious bacon steak! ❤️❤️

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

All Good Except....

Dined on April 16, 2016

I had dinner with six other friends. Quite an all around good experience. The entrees were great , which included pork tenderloins and stuff pork chops. The only exception was a surf and turf dish was a filet and ahi tuna. The filet wasn't to bad. However, the ahi tuna was VERY bland and had no seasoning. It was obvious that marinating was not part of the food preparation for this dish.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved it!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Been there for dinner and for brunch, and both were really awesome! The atmosphere is cool and the food is fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Pls do not stop serving the ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food. Pls do not stop serving the pork appertizer. Brittany was amazing as a server. She went out of her way to make the evening a very pleasant night.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Jaspers Helped Me Meet My Diet Needs

Dined on April 15, 2016

I am on a 1,200/day calorie diet, which makes dining out a little challenging. Jaspers worked with me to find the best option, Cedar Plank Salmon (without sauce, just seasonings) and steamed broccoli. It was a great meal! Our server was great; very concerned about getting it right

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3

They were out of a number of menu items. ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

They were out of a number of menu items. On a Thursday??

food3
ambience4
service4

Jasper is a reliable mid range fine dini ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Jasper is a reliable mid range fine dining experience. Nothing blows you away on the menu but very consistent. I had the stuffed pork chop which was a bit dry and had some odd concoction of herbs and spices. I think the mainstream are in need of an overhaul. Actually the bar there is the highlight and as I said it is consistently mid range + on the food. Staff attentive and accommodating.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We went for Easter Brunch - we were a li ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for Easter Brunch - we were a little early so we ended up sitting in the bar area instead of waiting. The food was great but it was noisy and cold. I didn't realize the jazz was playing on the other side of the restaurant so we didn't really get to enjoy it. The service was okay but who serves frozen butter?

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jasper's=game-changer

Dined on March 27, 2016

Please try Jasper's. They provide a top notch dining experience. We went by for Easter Brunch. Every detail from the cocktails to the food was amazing. We love Jasper's!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Umm, not easy to recommend

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food quality has only been fair both times we have gone there. For the prices, the food should be MUCH better and the portions a bit larger. Great service and we really like the ambiance with the live jazz.

food3
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant, terrific atmospher ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Very nice restaurant, terrific atmosphere and very prompt and courteous service. Easter Brunch was pretty average for the price point. Was glad that they had kid's menus. If the full brunch menus were required it would have been too pricey for the fare. My steak was undercooked, and the biscuits in the breakfast had a slightly burned flavor. Kids French toast had a slight lemon flavor, which turned my daughter off (she is 7). Overall, the experience was average. If the food was better, it would easily have garnered 4-5 stars, but the atmosphere and service couldn't quite compensate for the food at this price.

food4
ambience5
service4

We love Jasper's, as we met there and we ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

We love Jasper's, as we met there and were engaged there. The food is always good, and the service is friendly. I would recommend the Caesar salad and scallops. The scallops are seared to perfection. Also, the tuna is always amazing. The filet is a bit salty for my taste, but overall the food is great!

food5
ambience5
service5

The Jasper's menu is concise, yet includ ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

The Jasper's menu is concise, yet includes a variety of choices. We have tried almost everything on the menu and have never been disappointed. The presentation is amazing. Jasper's is a neighborhood gem that allows you to take your time and enjoy the entire experience from drinks to desert.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great time. There were 8 in our party; fun!

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Everyone in the restaurant was so helpful and friendly. We were a party of eight, seated in a great spot for conversation. We brought our own cake as it was a favorite of the birthday girl; they furnished the candles, plates, etc. Lovely service, delicious food. I thought my serving was going to be a bit small, but it turned out to be more than enough! Thank you, Jasper's! Also, the combo that was playing was friendly and played a special song for us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Jasper's

Dined on March 13, 2016

Great menu! Wonderful ribs, pork chops, scallops, and prime rib! Had to order an extra potato chip/blue cheese appetizer!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.