About James at the Mill Restaurant

James at the Mill offers an exciting mix of traditional and contemporary American flavors. Chef Miles James' groundbreaking restaurant offers Ozark Plateau Cuisine that shares the haute couture of Guy Savoy's French bistro cooking, as well as drawing from the Manhattan energy and style of David Burke, tailored to the rhythm of Northwest Arkansas. The restaurant constitutes a seminal work of the renowned architect, James Lambeth, with all of the award-winning flair and style of influences from Rome, Paris, London, and Miami -- striking contemporary design, with tall ceilings, flowing waters, and calming views. Join us at the bar or table, and experience an evening to remember.

3906 Johnson Mill Blvd
Springdale, AR 72762
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed on major holidays

Cross Street:
Johnson Exit #69 off of Interstate 540

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(479) 443-1400

Website:
http://www.jamesatthemill.com/

Executive Chef:
Miles James

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

James at the Mill Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Scenic View (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Historic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fun (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Miles always over delivers on quality and taste. Service and atmosphere are top notch.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Springfield)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very good experience. I had the tasting menu with wine pairings, which was a lot of fun and a lot of food! The bacon on my rabbit dish was very undercooked. My husband enjoyed the Asian ribs appetizer and the chicken and risotto dish. He loved the ribs but the chicken did not stand out much. We had a very good server.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This is my third time here and, as always, the food was superb! While I was not impressed with the particular server we had, previous visits were good.
If I had to have a complaint, it might be the lengthy wait for food. Although it's inconvenient to sit in a restaurant 2 hours, mostly waiting, it does give one some idle time to enjoy conversation with their dinner partner(s).
I'd recommend the restaurant and look forward to my next visit.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great spot to relax and visit with special friends and adult family. Cocktails are excellent as is the wine list and menu . Appetizers and entrée's are impeccably prepared.
Servers are effecient and engaging........

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Really good food. All ways has good food. Great decor.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

They are very creative with their food and presentation and sometimes get carried away. I ordered salmon and expected a quality piece of fish, expertly cooked for the price ($27 I think). It was a small thin piece of fish, dry and over cooked. The plated vegetables were unimpressive. However, a friend ordered pork-chops and said they were delicious. I'll try those next time. The strawberry shortcake was wonderful, but others were unimpressed with the lemon tart. It just depends upon what you order. Better to keep it simple and don't order for the artfulness. It won't taste as good as they think it looks. The ambiance is phenomenal. James at the Mill is one of Fayetteville's premier restaurants. I just wish they'd do a better job in cooking the ingredients right than trying to be artsy on the plate.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Chef James is world class and so is his restaurant. The food is out of this world and something you would expect to find in New York or Chicago at 3 times the price. Highly recommend!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was excellent! But, waited 2 hours for food. Would reccomend if you have a few hours to spare.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a group of 12 to celebrate a graduation and it was a great decision. On special occasions they use a prix fixe menu at $55 per person. This included a 3 course meal which is an awful lot of food but definitely a perfect way to celebrate a college graduation with friends and family. We were seated on the upper level in a loft-like setting which gave us a bit of privacy and also plenty of room. Everyone enjoyed their meal and there were plenty of tasty options. The chef was available at the end of the meal and shook each person's hand and we were able to thank him for a wonderful celebratory meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Dinner was good but very expensive. It was a pre fixed menu for graduation at 55.00 per person. We were a table of 5 and had a total of 6 cocktails. The bill was close to 450.00 which included the tip. Again, the good was very good but would have liked a less expensive option.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food was very good, great variety on the menu. Wine list was good as well. The desserts were under-whelming, which was surprising. We were looking for a nice ambiance so that we could have a good meal and be able to have a conversation without shouting and this fit that requirement perfectly. I was a little surprised that the service wasn't better. It wasn't bad - waiter was polite, not tardy, etc. - but it just wasn't the level of service you would expect at this price range. Otherwise a great experience and we will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

As always, excellent service, excellent food! Even though we're local, we will stay at the Inn and have dinner here for a "get away" without the travel. If you take deserts back to your room, ask for utensils!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent meal. EXCELLENT! Lynn, our server, was top notch! We will be back! Thank you JATM!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Best of the best service in NWA!! The food is remarkable! Never seen such presentation. Wonderful experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was good, service below average. The atmosphere and views are much better downstairs than upstairs where we sat. Awkward decorations and table placements upstairs.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We just got engaged plus it was my birthday. It would've been nice if they would have sent a dessert or a glass of champagne to our table but no instead the waitress overcharged us by $20 for an entrée we didn't get

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

For being our 1st time (probably our last)
Everything was going excellent as we expected, until our food arrived , we ordered the salmon & sea bass, our salmon plate had a hair cooked on the vegetables, our server took care of it asap & they replaced it with another sea bass plate, but for such fine dinning/historic restaurant, you would expect they would have a good policy on hair nets on people that handle the food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Wonderful fine but casual dining. Lots of nice extra touches in all the foods. I highly recommed the pork chop (hominy and green child is a wonderful combo). ......and don't forget the chocolate martinis as a nightcap. Well done!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fun, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We received attentive service at first but then things started to unravel midway through our meal. Our waiter basically disappeared and we had to flag down another to get another drink. It also took a long time to get our check and also to process it. The food was very good! We also noticed that every time the hostess would leave her station a party would enter and had to wait a significant long time to be greeted and seated. It was a cursory greeting and not an overly cheery one. This restaurant tries to be a five star establishment but needs to improve on delivery in customer service. Staff appeared to be disorganized.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a lovely time and will definitely return. The cocktails were wonderful and the food perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We went to James at the Mill for Mom's weekend with our college kids. It was so special. From the drinks and appetizer to dessert. Every bite was delectable. I love the beautiful all-glass design of the building and the fountains that flow down the hill to the mill. A charming setting!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing food, beautiful atmosphere, and en Pointe staff. I visit as often as I can. My guests last weekend threatened to lick their plates.. the Sea Bass is so good. Chef was gracious and engaging when he stopped by and said hello. It made us feel special. Love James at the Mill Restaurant. Inn at the Mill.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Healthy, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Organic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Happy Hour, People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Well...where do I begin? My family and I have been frequenting this restaurant for over a decade. Originally recommended by my father for their "corn dog," I have grown to appreciate other items on the menu over the years. The food, level of service, atmosphere, and pricing has always been reliably consistent over the years. This all changed this past Friday night. I decided at the last minute to take my family and my daughter's boyfriend out for a special dinner. The Open Table app worked great as always. We arrived on time and our table was ready. We were served water and other beverages fairly quickly. Once we ordered our meal, it arrived approximately 55 minutes later. Various items on our plates were in various degrees of temperature. My daughter's pasta with pesto was not edible due to the pasta nearly completely coated wth pesto. Our beverages were infrequently refreshed. Our waiter was friendly enough but seemed ill equipped to handle our party of 5, as well as another table of 6, and, wait for it, another table of 10. The party of 10 obviously required more waiter activity and received it, thereby sacrificing his other two tables. Needless to say, that after having the worst experience of really any restaurant in the area, we did not dare order dessert. We are sad that this restaurant has become as bad as it is after all of these years. Probably not hard to believe due to to fact that the property is for sale. Unfortunately, we won't be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We love dinning at James at the Mill because the food selection is always interesting. However, tonight there was an artichoke soup on the menu that was not good at all. There was almost no flavor to it and the brioche with it was like cardboard. Otherwise, our was up to their usual standard and the dark chocolate creme brûlée is to die for.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A great evening, wonderful food.
Would you please change my email address to the following
mary.lamberth@att.net

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Good food and atmosphere but a little pricey considering, and the menu options were pretty limited.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great special occasion meal with unique tastes and appropriate portions. Creative food accompaniments. Good wine offerings and great service with knowledgeable servers.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I took my wife there for a late Valentines dinner. Ordered medium rare bone in rib eye. Tasted different but ate it anyhow. 4 hours later, sick for 16 hours.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and they were able to accommodate us but probably in the least desirable area of the restaurant. There were not a lot of tables in this area so it seemed like it was put together at the last minute due to overflow. However, the food and service were wonderful. We will come back, but probably request an area other than where we were sat.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife and I took our 12 year anniversary date to James at the Mill on recommendations from friends. I really loved the soft lighting, quiet surroundings and great music. It was quite cold in the dining room, however. Surprisingly, the menu was very limited - we expected to find some great appetizers, and there just weren't many appealing options. The wait staff was very friendly and accommodating. Without trying to be critical, the wait for our food was very long despite being one of only a handful (3-4) tables in the entire restaurant. My wife ordered grilled chicken and risotto - the risotto was still crunchy (our waiter substituted a side of grilled veggies that were very good at no charge). The chicken was delicious though - perfectly cooked. I ordered the salmon dish, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Overall, the food was good, but nothing that knocked my socks off - high quality food at about the price you would expect to pay. It was a pleasant experience, but I don't think we'll make the drive down from Bentonville again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

For such a beautiful over-the-top restaurant the service was strictly second rate. Inattentive staff let emptied plates sit on the tables, empty wine glasses were never refilled from the bottle, interminable times between each course as we waited for some sort of attention. A very ambitious menu albeit limited entrees. Menu prices were comparable to any restaurant of this quality and the broad wine list was very reasonably priced.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I had a great experience dining at James at the Mill. I loved their tea selection and although their menu was on the smaller side, there was a variety of food I think anyone could enjoy. the ribs were outstanding and the goat cheese salad so tasty. I also had the miso glazed sea bass which was on the smaller side but extremely tasty. the chicken with Brussels and sausage was was a great value and me and my boyfriend thoroughly enjoyed everything we tried their. I would dining here for any special occasion or date. service was exceptional as well.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Creative menu with local Arkansas flavor. Loved the duck breast with fig and Arkansas bacon jam! Kitchen was open to substituting items on the menu. It was disappointing that the signature burger was "unavailable" on a Saturday night!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Unfortunately the 1st 3 things we tried to order they were out of. We should have left at that point. Our server seemed to know very little, although was nice enough. Just expected better based on prior experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Sheer perfection-loved it so! European classic elegance with total warmth and ultimate comfort . This radiated not just within the décor and ambiance , but the congenial and fabulous staff as well. Staff overall was so well trained and just naturally personable- truly amazing. Food not to be believed-must experience-5 star perfection. We will return just for the entire experience and we will gladly travel 3,000 miles for it -I think that says it all!

Very Sincerely,

Patti Mintz

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great Service, without constantly bothering us. Very different menu than your everyday restaurant, but limited. All the food was excellent, and wines paired well. I would not recommend for children palate. If you want a special evening with some elegance without being stuffy this is the place. I will have to say the décor is very dated, actually even the bathroom cabinets are dated. This restaurant could use a facelift and I believe it would be a more desirable dining destination. We will go again for a special occasion, too pricey for every month. All in all I would recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great meal - all 4 of us were very satisfied with food and service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Restaurant was everything we hoped for and more! Beautiful inside, quiet, and plenty of space. The drinks were delicious and a large amount of wine to choose from. The food was incredible. I had the beef and it was literally melting in my mouth. My date had the chicken and sausage which was cooked perfectly.

We will definitely be back for a special occasion! Had a great time!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on December 28, 2016

James at the Mill, while lodging at the Inn, is one of our long-time favorite combos. The food is excellent, as is the service, a good wine list, with interest from the chef, which shows. They have a tasting menu with wines, but you may order single plates from that menu, also. Beautiful architecture, some table over look the old, restored mill/hotel. Prices are not outrageous. It is one of our favorites, and we plan many returnes.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.