Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Theo's FayettevilleTheo's Fayetteville
(246)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Fayetteville, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 2 times today
Ella's RestaurantElla's Restaurant
(182)
$$$$
American | Fayetteville, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 3 times today
Preacher's SonPreacher's Son
(176)
$$$$
American | Bentonville, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 22 times today
The Hive at 21cThe Hive at 21c
(841)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Bentonville, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 6 times today
Grotto Wood Fired Grill & Wine CaveGrotto Wood Fired Grill & Wine Cave
(140)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Eureka Springs, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 9 times today
Eleven at Crystal BridgesEleven at Crystal Bridges
(318)
$$$$
American | Bentonville, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 19 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - RogersRuth's Chris Steak House - Rogers
(428)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Rogers, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 7 times today
MOD Restaurant & SocialMOD Restaurant & Social
(77)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Bentonville, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 3 times today
Vetro 1925 RistoranteVetro 1925 Ristorante
(137)
$$$$
Italian | Fayetteville, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 6 times today
Fiamma RistoranteFiamma Ristorante
(58)
$$$$
Italian | Bentonville, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 5 times today
Fred's Hickory InnFred's Hickory Inn
(57)
$$$$
American | Bentonville, Northwest Arkansas
PressroomPressroom
(36)
$$$$
Café | Bentonville, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 1 time today
Foster's Pint & PlateFoster's Pint & Plate
(73)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Bentonville, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 1 time today
Oven and TapOven and Tap
(8)
$$$$
American | Bentonville, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 1 time today
Petit BistroPetit Bistro
(149)
$$$$
French | Bentonville, Northwest Arkansas
Booked 2 times today

About Permanently Closed - James at the Mill Restaurant

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - James at the Mill offers an exciting mix of traditional and contemporary American flavors. Chef Miles James' groundbreaking restaurant offers Ozark Plateau Cuisine that shares the haute couture of Guy Savoy's French bistro cooking, as well as drawing from the Manhattan energy and style of David Burke, tailored to the rhythm of Northwest Arkansas. The restaurant constitutes a seminal work of the renowned architect, James Lambeth, with all of the award-winning flair and style of influences from Rome, Paris, London, and Miami -- striking contemporary design, with tall ceilings, flowing waters, and calming views. Join us at the bar or table, and experience an evening to remember.

3906 Johnson Mill Blvd
Springdale, AR 72762
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed on major holidays

Cross Street:
Johnson Exit #69 off of Interstate 540

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(479) 443-1400

Website:
http://www.jamesatthemill.com/

Executive Chef:
Miles James

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

James at the Mill Restaurant - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Romantic (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Scenic View (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fun (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Beautiful decor. Service was complicated. Different servers did different things. Food was well prepared. Even their bread was artistically served. Worth going just for the decor

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Expensive...ordered a salad and the pork chop...i was still hungry...suggest a little less foo -foo and make the portions a little bigger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The service and atmosphere are some of the best we've experienced. The food....words won't do it justice. The homemade tomato fettuccine with corn cream, asparagus, oven-dried tomato and hickory grilled shrimp was amazing....the shrimp had a nice hickory flavor and all of the flavors blended to make a delicious entree. My husband had the tenderloin and although it was slightly over cooked every bite was eaten. We splurged and had the flourless chocolate cake for dessert and we weren't sorry. It was delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had an amazing Anniversary dinner. Our waitress was very Good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I've been to JOM a couple of times , and I've yet to be disappointed. My wife and I went for my birthday this occasion , and we both had the Chefs Tasting menu. Everything was perfect. The dishes and their ingredients were well thought through , as were the wine pairings. We had Rabbit , Yellowfin Tuna, Duck , Lamb, and a Chocolate Brûlée . Wu did to the Chef for the meal , but the service was just as amazing. We will be back sooner than later.

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Organic, Business Meals, Great Beer, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My husband and I discovered this gem 6 years ago and have come for our January Birthdays every year. This year I celebrated a friends July Birthday and as usual the food was excellent, the service great attentive without being intrusive. It is a wonderful place to dine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The waitress, Melody, was fantastic! Though the food was very good, I have always felt it's priced a little higher than it should be. I would come here more often, if it was 15-20% lower in price, but that's just my opinion. It was my daughters 21st Birthday, and they were very accommodating not only to her special occasion, but to my daughters food allergies. Again, other than the price, it was an excellent meal and service that was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 5, 2017

As usual, excellent food, great service, good wine list. The aural ambiance was annoying this time. 1. There was a constant mechanical sound, like a vent motor (approx. F#) that was loud enough to equal the background music, the two ended up mixing into a wall of sound that made it difficult to hear my wife, just across from me. The diners also seemed louder than usual.
The dining area is uncomfortably narrow and long. Our table made my chair far enough into the passageway that I was frequently brushed by diners and servers.
Always ask for a table on the rail of the dining balcony. (The big lower level is apparently only used for special dinners?)
The best dish was the appetizer, "corn bread with foie gras and mushrooms." Tasty mushrooms, but the foie gras coating inside the copious corn bread was too thin.
My pricey sea bass serving was about 2.5" X 4" X .75", but perfectly prepared. The Brussel sprouts on the side were tough.
The sorbet dessert was excellent, generous, and had a fine variety of tastes.
James remains one of the best restaurants in the area - we'll return as often as possible.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Not impressed. For the price I did not think it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our experience was excellent. Classy, upscale dining experience without being too stuffy. Our server was terrific - always attentive and friendly without smothering us. Our entre was tasty and unique. The wine list was sufficient and the dessert menu decadent. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Miles always over delivers on quality and taste. Service and atmosphere are top notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Springfield)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very good experience. I had the tasting menu with wine pairings, which was a lot of fun and a lot of food! The bacon on my rabbit dish was very undercooked. My husband enjoyed the Asian ribs appetizer and the chicken and risotto dish. He loved the ribs but the chicken did not stand out much. We had a very good server.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This is my third time here and, as always, the food was superb! While I was not impressed with the particular server we had, previous visits were good.
If I had to have a complaint, it might be the lengthy wait for food. Although it's inconvenient to sit in a restaurant 2 hours, mostly waiting, it does give one some idle time to enjoy conversation with their dinner partner(s).
I'd recommend the restaurant and look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great spot to relax and visit with special friends and adult family. Cocktails are excellent as is the wine list and menu . Appetizers and entrée's are impeccably prepared.
Servers are effecient and engaging........

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Really good food. All ways has good food. Great decor.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

They are very creative with their food and presentation and sometimes get carried away. I ordered salmon and expected a quality piece of fish, expertly cooked for the price ($27 I think). It was a small thin piece of fish, dry and over cooked. The plated vegetables were unimpressive. However, a friend ordered pork-chops and said they were delicious. I'll try those next time. The strawberry shortcake was wonderful, but others were unimpressed with the lemon tart. It just depends upon what you order. Better to keep it simple and don't order for the artfulness. It won't taste as good as they think it looks. The ambiance is phenomenal. James at the Mill is one of Fayetteville's premier restaurants. I just wish they'd do a better job in cooking the ingredients right than trying to be artsy on the plate.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Chef James is world class and so is his restaurant. The food is out of this world and something you would expect to find in New York or Chicago at 3 times the price. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Celebrating the engagement of our daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was excellent! But, waited 2 hours for food. Would reccomend if you have a few hours to spare.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a group of 12 to celebrate a graduation and it was a great decision. On special occasions they use a prix fixe menu at $55 per person. This included a 3 course meal which is an awful lot of food but definitely a perfect way to celebrate a college graduation with friends and family. We were seated on the upper level in a loft-like setting which gave us a bit of privacy and also plenty of room. Everyone enjoyed their meal and there were plenty of tasty options. The chef was available at the end of the meal and shook each person's hand and we were able to thank him for a wonderful celebratory meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Dinner was good but very expensive. It was a pre fixed menu for graduation at 55.00 per person. We were a table of 5 and had a total of 6 cocktails. The bill was close to 450.00 which included the tip. Again, the good was very good but would have liked a less expensive option.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food was very good, great variety on the menu. Wine list was good as well. The desserts were under-whelming, which was surprising. We were looking for a nice ambiance so that we could have a good meal and be able to have a conversation without shouting and this fit that requirement perfectly. I was a little surprised that the service wasn't better. It wasn't bad - waiter was polite, not tardy, etc. - but it just wasn't the level of service you would expect at this price range. Otherwise a great experience and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

As always, excellent service, excellent food! Even though we're local, we will stay at the Inn and have dinner here for a "get away" without the travel. If you take deserts back to your room, ask for utensils!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent meal. EXCELLENT! Lynn, our server, was top notch! We will be back! Thank you JATM!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Best of the best service in NWA!! The food is remarkable! Never seen such presentation. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was good, service below average. The atmosphere and views are much better downstairs than upstairs where we sat. Awkward decorations and table placements upstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We just got engaged plus it was my birthday. It would've been nice if they would have sent a dessert or a glass of champagne to our table but no instead the waitress overcharged us by $20 for an entrée we didn't get

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

For being our 1st time (probably our last)
Everything was going excellent as we expected, until our food arrived , we ordered the salmon & sea bass, our salmon plate had a hair cooked on the vegetables, our server took care of it asap & they replaced it with another sea bass plate, but for such fine dinning/historic restaurant, you would expect they would have a good policy on hair nets on people that handle the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Wonderful fine but casual dining. Lots of nice extra touches in all the foods. I highly recommed the pork chop (hominy and green child is a wonderful combo). ......and don't forget the chocolate martinis as a nightcap. Well done!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We received attentive service at first but then things started to unravel midway through our meal. Our waiter basically disappeared and we had to flag down another to get another drink. It also took a long time to get our check and also to process it. The food was very good! We also noticed that every time the hostess would leave her station a party would enter and had to wait a significant long time to be greeted and seated. It was a cursory greeting and not an overly cheery one. This restaurant tries to be a five star establishment but needs to improve on delivery in customer service. Staff appeared to be disorganized.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a lovely time and will definitely return. The cocktails were wonderful and the food perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We went to James at the Mill for Mom's weekend with our college kids. It was so special. From the drinks and appetizer to dessert. Every bite was delectable. I love the beautiful all-glass design of the building and the fountains that flow down the hill to the mill. A charming setting!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing food, beautiful atmosphere, and en Pointe staff. I visit as often as I can. My guests last weekend threatened to lick their plates.. the Sea Bass is so good. Chef was gracious and engaging when he stopped by and said hello. It made us feel special. Love James at the Mill Restaurant. Inn at the Mill.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Healthy, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Organic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Happy Hour, People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Well...where do I begin? My family and I have been frequenting this restaurant for over a decade. Originally recommended by my father for their "corn dog," I have grown to appreciate other items on the menu over the years. The food, level of service, atmosphere, and pricing has always been reliably consistent over the years. This all changed this past Friday night. I decided at the last minute to take my family and my daughter's boyfriend out for a special dinner. The Open Table app worked great as always. We arrived on time and our table was ready. We were served water and other beverages fairly quickly. Once we ordered our meal, it arrived approximately 55 minutes later. Various items on our plates were in various degrees of temperature. My daughter's pasta with pesto was not edible due to the pasta nearly completely coated wth pesto. Our beverages were infrequently refreshed. Our waiter was friendly enough but seemed ill equipped to handle our party of 5, as well as another table of 6, and, wait for it, another table of 10. The party of 10 obviously required more waiter activity and received it, thereby sacrificing his other two tables. Needless to say, that after having the worst experience of really any restaurant in the area, we did not dare order dessert. We are sad that this restaurant has become as bad as it is after all of these years. Probably not hard to believe due to to fact that the property is for sale. Unfortunately, we won't be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We love dinning at James at the Mill because the food selection is always interesting. However, tonight there was an artichoke soup on the menu that was not good at all. There was almost no flavor to it and the brioche with it was like cardboard. Otherwise, our was up to their usual standard and the dark chocolate creme brûlée is to die for.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on March 2, 2017

A great evening, wonderful food.
Would you please change my email address to the following
mary.lamberth@att.net

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Good food and atmosphere but a little pricey considering, and the menu options were pretty limited.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great special occasion meal with unique tastes and appropriate portions. Creative food accompaniments. Good wine offerings and great service with knowledgeable servers.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my wife there for a late Valentines dinner. Ordered medium rare bone in rib eye. Tasted different but ate it anyhow. 4 hours later, sick for 16 hours.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.