About James at the Mill Restaurant

3906 Johnson Mill Blvd
Springdale, AR 72762
View Larger Map

James at the Mill offers an exciting mix of traditional and contemporary American flavors. Chef Miles James' groundbreaking restaurant offers Ozark Plateau Cuisine that shares the haute couture of Guy Savoy's French bistro cooking, as well as drawing from the Manhattan energy and style of David Burke, tailored to the rhythm of Northwest Arkansas. The restaurant constitutes a seminal work of the renowned architect, James Lambeth, with all of the award-winning flair and style of influences from Rome, Paris, London, and Miami -- striking contemporary design, with tall ceilings, flowing waters, and calming views. Join us at the bar or table, and experience an evening to remember.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed on major holidays

Cross Street:
Johnson Exit #69 off of Interstate 540

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(479) 443-1400

Website:
http://www.jamesatthemill.com/

Executive Chef:
Miles James

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

James at the Mill Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fayetteville / Northwest Arkansas
Best Food
Fayetteville / Northwest Arkansas
Best Service
Fayetteville / Northwest Arkansas
11 More
Best Ambiance
Fayetteville / Northwest Arkansas
Fit for Foodies
Fayetteville / Northwest Arkansas
Special Occasion
Fayetteville / Northwest Arkansas
Most Booked
Fayetteville / Northwest Arkansas
Best Overall
Northwest Arkansas
Best Food
Northwest Arkansas
Best Service
Northwest Arkansas
Best Ambiance
Northwest Arkansas
Fit for Foodies
Northwest Arkansas
Special Occasion
Northwest Arkansas
Most Booked
Northwest Arkansas
Best Restaurants in Johnson ›

special occasion (25)
romantic (21)
fit for foodies (18)
See All
scenic view (16)
notable wine list (13)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (5)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our entrees were served at different tim ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our entrees were served at different times causing some dishes to get cold while waiting on others. We feel this is a major defect in service. Dishes should remain warm until all can be served. We were a party of 5. Foie Gras appetizer was almost completely absent of Foie Gras. It was over powdered with cornbread, it was a miss for us. Desserts were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice atmosphere and great service. Foo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Nice atmosphere and great service. Food was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place...it's worth trying at least ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Nice place...it's worth trying at least once. The staff was great and made us feel at home.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Out of town guests

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We were staying at the hotel and decided to try the restaurant because it was convenient . The steak was excellent and prepared as ordered. Creme Brulee was a nicer ending to the meal..

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Salmon was over cooked. Potatoes were dr ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Salmon was over cooked. Potatoes were dry. Corn dog appetizer was awesome. Wife's pasta dish was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at James at the Mill. This is our second time visiting and the setting was perfect, the food was marvelous and the service was top rate. I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was the star

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

First time to James at the Mill and the food did not disappoint. The ambiance and decor left more to be desired. I was hoping for a more updated scene to match the upscale food. Especially shocking was the state of the windows- filled with cobwebs and bugs. Food was the star, the decor detracted from our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Great place for a special occasion celeb ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great place for a special occasion celebration, or just a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always very creatively prese ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food is always very creatively presented. The chef has put together an amazing mix of flavors resulting in unique delicious food from the appetizers/salads to the entrees and finishing with the desserts! If you are in NW Arkansas and want a one of a kind dining experience you have to try James at the Mill!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairings. Everything was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We hadn't been to James in a year or two--way too long. The food was wonderful, the service was great and unpretentious--a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Caesar Salad was bland. The house salad ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Caesar Salad was bland.

The house salad with all the veggies was great.

The beef tenderloin was overcooked and tough and basting in a horrible sauce.

Salmon was dry.

Seabass was great.

Bone in ribeye was good.

Great pinot noir from Oregon from Lange winery.

Service great.

Nine of us ate for $800.

Will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Blissful food, wine, and ambience

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We have used The Inn at the Mill and James at the Mill Restaurant as a romantic getaway for 18 years. The architecture is outstanding, as is the food. 1/2 price Wine Wednesday Happy Hour can't be beat. They plated our shared side salad on separate plates, each which was a masterpiece. The apple tart dessert is perfect. The french fries with mustard/horseradish sauce as well as ketchup were so good we had to take half of our fat bacon cheeseburgers home. We went at 5:30 and sat at a window table toward the back of the room and away from the balcony, so we were not disturbed by the large party in the downstairs area. Perfect in every way!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Server recommended gre ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great experience. Server recommended great options and steered us clear of things that weren't to our liking. Drinks and food were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Prom night......

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Not for my group, but it was great people-watching to see the kids all decked out and using the big mill wheel for a photo op. But then we had to get busy checking out the menu. Lots of good choices! They accommodated our requests for a Caesar salad without chicken on it for a starter salad. I thought it was ODD that they didn't offer a side salad. Their salads either had chicken or potatoes in them. But the entree selections were varied and interesting. The one that caught the eye of three-of-the-four of us was the pork chops. They were delicious. Our other friend had a pasta dish that she was savoring. Wine was delish, also. Service was friendly, but rather young and inexperienced. No complaints though. Would definitely return if in NWA again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner at JaTM

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

I booked through OpenTable and added in the comments that it was for my wife & daughter's b-days. Our hostess welcomed the girls with a "Happy Birthday" as soon as we walked in the door. And the wait staff was also aware of the occasion and brought their desserts with a candle in each. Every trip to James at the Mill is a great experience. The bar is friendly and fun, wine tasting nights are always great, and dinner never disappoints. Miles & crew do a phenomenal job!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food & service!!!!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Wonderful food & service!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Wonderful

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

The food, ambience and service are ALWAYS exceptional!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique farm fresh menu and beautiful vie ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Unique farm fresh menu and beautiful views as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite for the tasting menu p ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Always a favorite for the tasting menu paired with wines. Each dish from the bread plate to the dessert is a work of art in presentation. Love the seasonal changes in the menu so there is always something new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing for the price

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We felt the wines were very overpriced - almost 3 x the retail cost, which is excessive. The crab cake had hardly any crab in them. The ceasar salad was limp. The service was good, but food was not so good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Good every time

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

We dine at James whenever we can get to this area. This time the food was excellent, as I always expect. Sea bass perfectly prepared. The wine list is good, and the waiters friendly and efficient. Easy to recommend James to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunning venue, delectable cuisine

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Our first visit to James at the Mill was a topnotch dining experience. The menu is interesting and varied, the service was aces, and the place is absolutely beautiful--great ambiance. The downstairs dining area's design is built around a tree and overlooks an outdoor patio and a waterspout. The bread presentation was fun and delicious, my glass of cabernet was excellent, and the warm chocolate cake divine. Portions were ample. It's an expensive outing, but worth it!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Have been here several times and the food is always consistently excellent. The desserts are divine. The chocolate cake is probably the best dessert I've had and I've had a lot. Very chocolatey but not overwhelming. Could do with varying the menu some however.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful place, but was a little disappointed..

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Fat too much time in between courses. Food didn't taste as spectacular as it looked.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent Restaurant

 
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had the 5 course special tasting menu for the Valentines Day celebration.

There were 4 of us and we could not have been more pleased.

Special thanks to the Chef and his crew for an outstanding performance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Occasion

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This place is very nice to take someone special or a special occasion. But beware, tips are included in a already very expensive meal even without a glass of wine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Miles has put a great new 30 day dry age ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Miles has put a great new 30 day dry aged bone in rib eye on the menu! It's so good. I cannot wait to come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great, need more confident staff.

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

All the dishes were delicious! The ambiance and architecture will amazing! However our server was so shy or nervous that it was painful to interact with her each time she came to the table. Not sure what exactly was going on, she did forget to put in one of our appetizers, which was fine because it was taken care of but if you work in fine dining, there has to be a level of confidence and pose.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Superb

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

After being greeted and most certainly treated by the owner/chef, Miles, to a complimentary bottle of SLV 'Investors'; the night, food and wines could be described as, exquisite and sublime. Do the tasting menu. Superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expected better

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

This would be a good restaurant to take a first date if you want to impress them which how much money you're willing to spend, but the quality as compared to the price could have been much better. The hostess was incredibly friendly, and probably would be better suited for a job as a server because of her hospitable personality. Our actual server, while friendly, was not very attentive. She never asked if we wanted to order a second drink, and we eventually had to ask another server to put in a wine order with our dinner as ours kept passing and not looking at our table. The food is plated beautifully but the taste was less than anticipated. The vegetables and other side items were delicious, but the pork tenderloin was over-cooked and dry. Without the sauce that was served with it, I probably would not have eaten it. The ambience was beautiful, but the seating is uncomfortable. Overall, for the price of the restaurant we expected better. We normally eat at Bordino's for a nice evening out, but thought we would try something new. Next time we will stick to Bordino's.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I was expecting a bit more intimate setting.

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

I hate sitting in a restaurant just a foot or so away from another table of people. Also the place i was seated at had my back to the rest of the restaurant. My view was a bunch of teapots!

The food was presented well - but was just ok. It wasn't "special" and it needed to be special to justify the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Beautiful restaurant. Very good food. Up ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Beautiful restaurant. Very good food. Upscale for Arkansas. The chairs are wooden and not comfortable. That would be the only negative. Pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very good Dinner

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

The food was excellent and service was attentive. There was a wedding reception while we were there , so it was a little noisy. It took a while to get our food but was well worth the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very disappointed, had heard great thing ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Very disappointed, had heard great things about chef and restaurant but every detail of our experience was below par

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

When ambiance is the best thing going yo ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on November 18, 2015

When ambiance is the best thing going you might want to look elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Truly Memorable

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Few restaurants can match the combination James at the Mill has achieved: food that is both delicious and well presented; service that makes you feel fully cared for; and a seamlessly blended modern and natural character. Four days later and I have already recommended it to four people. Go and enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem in NWA

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

I've had the pleasure of eating at James at the Mill several times and it has never disappointed. I made a reservation for eight people (four couples) on a recent trip to NWA. As soon as I made the reservation, I began to hear that the quality had slipped and it wasn't as good as it used to be. Then, the night before we were to travel to NWA, I was sent an article saying the owners were selling. So, I was really nervous since I had raved and recommended James at the Mill to my friends.

As it turned out there was nothing to fear. It is still just as beautiful and the food is just as good. All eight people loved their meal and some are very picky and can usually find something not to like. I was so relieved. The only complaint any of us had was the ridiculous mark up on wine. It's about a 3 1/2 times mark up, which is gouging. If the wine prices were more in line, it would have been a perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The restaurant is lovely with contemporary decor

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

The food was great, service attentive and great ambiance. The only flaw was that the address provided is inaccurate and has no satellite coverage. Using the address given by Open Table and James, we ended up in the middle of a field and arrived 30 minutes late for our res! The staff wasn't real clear on directions either. Note: restaurant is located just off the 69th exit off of I-49.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Just amazing

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

I can't say enough good things. I took my boyfriend here for his birthday and we both got the tasting menu and every course was better than the last. The cocktail menu was also delicious! We will be eating here again for sure!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.