About James at the Mill Restaurant

3906 Johnson Mill Blvd
Springdale, AR 72762
View Larger Map

James at the Mill offers an exciting mix of traditional and contemporary American flavors. Chef Miles James' groundbreaking restaurant offers Ozark Plateau Cuisine that shares the haute couture of Guy Savoy's French bistro cooking, as well as drawing from the Manhattan energy and style of David Burke, tailored to the rhythm of Northwest Arkansas. The restaurant constitutes a seminal work of the renowned architect, James Lambeth, with all of the award-winning flair and style of influences from Rome, Paris, London, and Miami -- striking contemporary design, with tall ceilings, flowing waters, and calming views. Join us at the bar or table, and experience an evening to remember.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed on major holidays

Cross Street:
Johnson Exit #69 off of Interstate 540

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(479) 443-1400

Website:
http://www.jamesatthemill.com/

Executive Chef:
Miles James

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

James at the Mill Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Fayetteville / Northwest Arkansas
Best Value
Fayetteville / Northwest Arkansas
Most Booked
Fayetteville / Northwest Arkansas
3 More
Best Ambiance
Northwest Arkansas
Best Value
Northwest Arkansas
Most Booked
Northwest Arkansas
Best Restaurants in Johnson ›

Romantic (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Scenic View (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Historic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Cozy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Waterfront (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My sister and I were visiting my son's f ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My sister and I were visiting my son's family in Fayetteville and staying at James at the Inn. My husband and I always try to stay at the Inn when we are in town as we love the atmosphere and the service is always top notch! As a special "sister night out" we dined at the Mill and it was fabulous! The service was wonderful and the food was prepared and presented in such an excellent way! We enjoyed our meal so much and I know my husband and I will be up in the early Spring and will definitely dine here! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always reliable, excellent epicurean pre ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always reliable, excellent epicurean preparation that is the very BEST in the Fayetteville area! The set menu for a home game weekend was fantastic. Never felt limited and the preparation was fantastic. There are bargains on the Wine List if you're willing to get exotic. Service is attentive and efficient while being unobtrusive, with plenty of local charm. For those wanting to dine, not just eat, this is your choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent again! Consistently perfect fo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent again! Consistently perfect food and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place ......

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Love this place ......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Expensive and overrated would describe t ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Expensive and overrated would describe this restaurant. Caesar salads had a dressing that was not very flavorful. The lamb was good, but it was served with too many potatoes. The rabbit was good, but it was wrapped with bacon, and it ended up being too much bacon. With three cocktails, and a glass of Pinot noir, the bill came to $160. We didn't really feel like we got our money's worth. We expected excellent, but it wasn't. Our server hardly showed up, and we actually had to ask another server to bring us a round of drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We had reservations for 6. We were seate ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had reservations for 6. We were seated promptly. Food was excellent and properly cooked. We did not wait long for our food. The cowboy ribeye had more fat on it than I normally like but it tasted great . Our only minor complaint was that our server was also serving another table of 6 next to us and they were getting more attention than our table. It took awhile to get her attention to get the check. But overall a very good experience and we will return for the excellent food!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Perfect bone in ribeye.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Perfect bone in ribeye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My group of five enjoyed a delightful di ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My group of five enjoyed a delightful dining experience at James at the Mill. On a busy football weekend, we had excellent dishes, especially the grilled tenderloin with its amazing red wine sauce and the salmon served on leeks. Our drinks from the bar and wine served at the table were refreshing and satisfying. The service was attentive, but not intrusive, and our friendly waitperson exhibited a sense of pride in her job while tending our table. We are anxious to return and once again end our meal with a variety of the heavenly desserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charlie was our server and she made the ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Charlie was our server and she made the evening!!! She was knowledgeable and intuitive! Food was delicious as always! Creative and eclectic menu. Fantastic evening!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were some strange combinations. So ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 12, 2016

There were some strange combinations. Sometimes it is better to let the quality of your food shine and not be overwhelmed by multiple, multiple ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Normally we love James at the Mill but o ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Normally we love James at the Mill but on this night after a Razorback game, my wife's cheeseburger wasjust too dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were very disappointed with this rest ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We were very disappointed with this restaurant. It had come recommended because of their good reviews from years past. I found the place noisy, I had to send my dinner back ( was not

charged for it) and overall it was not good experience . It was also difficult to find. Signage was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We had friends in town for the Alabama / ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had friends in town for the Alabama / Arkansas game and had a great time at James at the Mill. It's nice to enjoy great food and wine in a beautiful atmosphere a little off the beaten path-- a nice change from the Dickson Street crowd. Chef Miles came to our table to introduce himself to our out of town guests and make sure everything was great. Everyone in our group loved their meal--were still raving about it on Sunday!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful with the exception of ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was wonderful with the exception of the strawberry shortcake. It was very dry. The noise level is somewhat high for an intimate dining experience. The service was OK, but not necessarily on par with the food. Not exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I went here for our annivers ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My wife and I went here for our anniversary. The food was great, as was the service. It was quite noisy as they were having a wedding reception. I would highly recommend the sea bass.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Northwest Arka ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on September 28, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Northwest Arkansas – great food, service, atmosphere, the whole nine yards. Everything great about fine dining, without being stuffy or pretentious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Authentic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Historic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was a let down. It was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 27, 2016

This restaurant was a let down. It was an old mill that has been decorated in a very spartan, modern way with wooden based chairs (no padding) and mostly all white, sterile decor. It was the noisiest restaurant we have ever patronized. It was unpleasant. The food was very, very mediocre. It tasted like an untrained cook was trying out a complex recipe that did not get properly executed. We would not go back or recommend it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Very bland and average! We drove from Be ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very bland and average! We drove from Bentonville, full of truly great restaurants, and wished we had not bothered!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

This was our first time dining here and ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was our first time dining here and had a great experience. The staff were nice and attentive and the ambiance was very nice. The restaurant wasn't crowded during our visit and it was quiet and we had a nice view of the mill. The food was good--small portions but creative and tasty. Our dessert selection was just ok, but others looked good. All in all, good experience and we will go back when in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was awesome. Our waitress was excel ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was awesome. Our waitress was excellent. Had a good time, good food, wine and atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and exper ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and experience. We will be returning here in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall it was a average experience. Se ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Overall it was a average experience. Service was VERY slow (nearly 45 minutes from ordering the entree until it arrived) even though we like slow service. And entrees ordered were not available and our reservation was not late. Prices for higher end entrees are not in line with overall menu. Wine selection is top notch. We ordered a sale wine (2013 Syrah) that was charged at full price on bill. Although the price was adjusted after pointing that out, it is disappointing that your system did not catch it. Suspicious!! With all said, we will be back because the restaurant is unique and charming. One final comment. Your online menu and prices are well out of date. Our friends actually wanted items that were not offered and the prices are misleading online.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Have been in Fayetteville, AR for one ye ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Have been in Fayetteville, AR for one year from 28 yrs in Providence, RI. This meal was fantastic !! From the soup through the dessert! This place rivals any restaurant in RI or Ma !! Will return soon!!

The combinations of flavors were outstanding!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful space--drinks were good, servi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Beautiful space--drinks were good, service and food were marginal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was great, service was slow/un-atte ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was great, service was slow/un-attentive and the restaurant was not overly busy.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I live in Seattle but have family in the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I live in Seattle but have family in the Fayetteville area, so I have dined at James at the Mill on several occasions over the years. I must say that the food on this trip was disappointing. There are so very many ingredients in most appetizers and entrees, and an overuse of truffle oil in several of them. Truffle oil is nice, but often drowns out the taste of other ingredients. In general, the food is very, very rich. I would appreciate a lighter touch, and less use of Arkansas bacon. The chocolate cookie crust on my lemon tart was as hard as a rock -- I had to hammer it into edible pieces. I am not normally this critical of restaurant food, but based on my past experiences, James at the Mill needs to step up its game.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was my husband's birthday and we had ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was my husband's birthday and we had a great time. The service was exceptional and the restaurant had a very relaxing atmosphere. We are definitely going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was kind of a disappointment. Food ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was kind of a disappointment. Food quality and service were much better 2 years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Our entrees were served at different tim ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our entrees were served at different times causing some dishes to get cold while waiting on others. We feel this is a major defect in service. Dishes should remain warm until all can be served. We were a party of 5. Foie Gras appetizer was almost completely absent of Foie Gras. It was over powdered with cornbread, it was a miss for us. Desserts were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything about James at the Mill is ex ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything about James at the Mill is excellent. Service is very good without being overly attentive, and as for the entrees, they were exceptional. Only comment, the fusilli is a bit rich with the andouille sausage and the portion is a little bit large. It is rare that a restaurant can make chicken breast into something spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice atmosphere and great service. Foo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Nice atmosphere and great service. Food was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place...it's worth trying at least ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Nice place...it's worth trying at least once. The staff was great and made us feel at home.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Out of town guests

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2016

We were staying at the hotel and decided to try the restaurant because it was convenient . The steak was excellent and prepared as ordered. Creme Brulee was a nicer ending to the meal..

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Salmon was over cooked. Potatoes were dr ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Salmon was over cooked. Potatoes were dry. Corn dog appetizer was awesome. Wife's pasta dish was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at James at the Mill. This is our second time visiting and the setting was perfect, the food was marvelous and the service was top rate. I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was the star

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 15, 2016

First time to James at the Mill and the food did not disappoint. The ambiance and decor left more to be desired. I was hoping for a more updated scene to match the upscale food. Especially shocking was the state of the windows- filled with cobwebs and bugs. Food was the star, the decor detracted from our experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Great place for a special occasion celeb ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great place for a special occasion celebration, or just a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always very creatively prese ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food is always very creatively presented. The chef has put together an amazing mix of flavors resulting in unique delicious food from the appetizers/salads to the entrees and finishing with the desserts! If you are in NW Arkansas and want a one of a kind dining experience you have to try James at the Mill!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2016

We enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairings. Everything was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We hadn't been to James in a year or two--way too long. The food was wonderful, the service was great and unpretentious--a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.