About James at the Mill Restaurant

James at the Mill offers an exciting mix of traditional and contemporary American flavors. Chef Miles James' groundbreaking restaurant offers Ozark Plateau Cuisine that shares the haute couture of Guy Savoy's French bistro cooking, as well as drawing from the Manhattan energy and style of David Burke, tailored to the rhythm of Northwest Arkansas. The restaurant constitutes a seminal work of the renowned architect, James Lambeth, with all of the award-winning flair and style of influences from Rome, Paris, London, and Miami -- striking contemporary design, with tall ceilings, flowing waters, and calming views. Join us at the bar or table, and experience an evening to remember.

3906 Johnson Mill Blvd
Springdale, AR 72762
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Closed on major holidays

Cross Street:
Johnson Exit #69 off of Interstate 540

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(479) 443-1400

Website:
http://www.jamesatthemill.com/

Executive Chef:
Miles James

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

James at the Mill Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (17)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Scenic View (8)
Cozy (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Historic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Organic (3)
Casual (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (2)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful fine but casual dining. Lots of nice extra touches in all the foods. I highly recommed the pork chop (hominy and green child is a wonderful combo). ......and don't forget the chocolate martinis as a nightcap. Well done!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fun, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We received attentive service at first but then things started to unravel midway through our meal. Our waiter basically disappeared and we had to flag down another to get another drink. It also took a long time to get our check and also to process it. The food was very good! We also noticed that every time the hostess would leave her station a party would enter and had to wait a significant long time to be greeted and seated. It was a cursory greeting and not an overly cheery one. This restaurant tries to be a five star establishment but needs to improve on delivery in customer service. Staff appeared to be disorganized.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a lovely time and will definitely return. The cocktails were wonderful and the food perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We went to James at the Mill for Mom's weekend with our college kids. It was so special. From the drinks and appetizer to dessert. Every bite was delectable. I love the beautiful all-glass design of the building and the fountains that flow down the hill to the mill. A charming setting!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing food, beautiful atmosphere, and en Pointe staff. I visit as often as I can. My guests last weekend threatened to lick their plates.. the Sea Bass is so good. Chef was gracious and engaging when he stopped by and said hello. It made us feel special. Love James at the Mill Restaurant. Inn at the Mill.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Healthy, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Organic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Happy Hour, People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Well...where do I begin? My family and I have been frequenting this restaurant for over a decade. Originally recommended by my father for their "corn dog," I have grown to appreciate other items on the menu over the years. The food, level of service, atmosphere, and pricing has always been reliably consistent over the years. This all changed this past Friday night. I decided at the last minute to take my family and my daughter's boyfriend out for a special dinner. The Open Table app worked great as always. We arrived on time and our table was ready. We were served water and other beverages fairly quickly. Once we ordered our meal, it arrived approximately 55 minutes later. Various items on our plates were in various degrees of temperature. My daughter's pasta with pesto was not edible due to the pasta nearly completely coated wth pesto. Our beverages were infrequently refreshed. Our waiter was friendly enough but seemed ill equipped to handle our party of 5, as well as another table of 6, and, wait for it, another table of 10. The party of 10 obviously required more waiter activity and received it, thereby sacrificing his other two tables. Needless to say, that after having the worst experience of really any restaurant in the area, we did not dare order dessert. We are sad that this restaurant has become as bad as it is after all of these years. Probably not hard to believe due to to fact that the property is for sale. Unfortunately, we won't be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We love dinning at James at the Mill because the food selection is always interesting. However, tonight there was an artichoke soup on the menu that was not good at all. There was almost no flavor to it and the brioche with it was like cardboard. Otherwise, our was up to their usual standard and the dark chocolate creme brûlée is to die for.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A great evening, wonderful food.
Would you please change my email address to the following
mary.lamberth@att.net

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Good food and atmosphere but a little pricey considering, and the menu options were pretty limited.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great special occasion meal with unique tastes and appropriate portions. Creative food accompaniments. Good wine offerings and great service with knowledgeable servers.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I took my wife there for a late Valentines dinner. Ordered medium rare bone in rib eye. Tasted different but ate it anyhow. 4 hours later, sick for 16 hours.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and they were able to accommodate us but probably in the least desirable area of the restaurant. There were not a lot of tables in this area so it seemed like it was put together at the last minute due to overflow. However, the food and service were wonderful. We will come back, but probably request an area other than where we were sat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife and I took our 12 year anniversary date to James at the Mill on recommendations from friends. I really loved the soft lighting, quiet surroundings and great music. It was quite cold in the dining room, however. Surprisingly, the menu was very limited - we expected to find some great appetizers, and there just weren't many appealing options. The wait staff was very friendly and accommodating. Without trying to be critical, the wait for our food was very long despite being one of only a handful (3-4) tables in the entire restaurant. My wife ordered grilled chicken and risotto - the risotto was still crunchy (our waiter substituted a side of grilled veggies that were very good at no charge). The chicken was delicious though - perfectly cooked. I ordered the salmon dish, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Overall, the food was good, but nothing that knocked my socks off - high quality food at about the price you would expect to pay. It was a pleasant experience, but I don't think we'll make the drive down from Bentonville again.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

For such a beautiful over-the-top restaurant the service was strictly second rate. Inattentive staff let emptied plates sit on the tables, empty wine glasses were never refilled from the bottle, interminable times between each course as we waited for some sort of attention. A very ambitious menu albeit limited entrees. Menu prices were comparable to any restaurant of this quality and the broad wine list was very reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I had a great experience dining at James at the Mill. I loved their tea selection and although their menu was on the smaller side, there was a variety of food I think anyone could enjoy. the ribs were outstanding and the goat cheese salad so tasty. I also had the miso glazed sea bass which was on the smaller side but extremely tasty. the chicken with Brussels and sausage was was a great value and me and my boyfriend thoroughly enjoyed everything we tried their. I would dining here for any special occasion or date. service was exceptional as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Creative menu with local Arkansas flavor. Loved the duck breast with fig and Arkansas bacon jam! Kitchen was open to substituting items on the menu. It was disappointing that the signature burger was "unavailable" on a Saturday night!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Unfortunately the 1st 3 things we tried to order they were out of. We should have left at that point. Our server seemed to know very little, although was nice enough. Just expected better based on prior experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Sheer perfection-loved it so! European classic elegance with total warmth and ultimate comfort . This radiated not just within the décor and ambiance , but the congenial and fabulous staff as well. Staff overall was so well trained and just naturally personable- truly amazing. Food not to be believed-must experience-5 star perfection. We will return just for the entire experience and we will gladly travel 3,000 miles for it -I think that says it all!

Very Sincerely,

Patti Mintz

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great Service, without constantly bothering us. Very different menu than your everyday restaurant, but limited. All the food was excellent, and wines paired well. I would not recommend for children palate. If you want a special evening with some elegance without being stuffy this is the place. I will have to say the décor is very dated, actually even the bathroom cabinets are dated. This restaurant could use a facelift and I believe it would be a more desirable dining destination. We will go again for a special occasion, too pricey for every month. All in all I would recommend.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great meal - all 4 of us were very satisfied with food and service.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Restaurant was everything we hoped for and more! Beautiful inside, quiet, and plenty of space. The drinks were delicious and a large amount of wine to choose from. The food was incredible. I had the beef and it was literally melting in my mouth. My date had the chicken and sausage which was cooked perfectly.

We will definitely be back for a special occasion! Had a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

James at the Mill, while lodging at the Inn, is one of our long-time favorite combos. The food is excellent, as is the service, a good wine list, with interest from the chef, which shows. They have a tasting menu with wines, but you may order single plates from that menu, also. Beautiful architecture, some table over look the old, restored mill/hotel. Prices are not outrageous. It is one of our favorites, and we plan many returnes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Husband and I enjoyed the food and atmosphere during our date night. The Inn attached to the restaurant is unique and very nice!

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It was my wife's birthday and she wanted to try the Chef's Tasting Menu. What a great choice that was not to mention a fantastic experience. I highly recommend the tasting menu with the wine added in. $100 per person and you will get to experience the restaurant for a longer time than usual and well worth it. Also, my wife has an auto immune disease called Celiac and the staff was very caring in serving gluten free only products to her side of the table. There are sever al restaurants in the Northwest Arkansas Area that we are not allowed to enjoy due to her disease. James at the Mill is in our Top 5 list for a Gluten Free Menu. Thank you for a wonderful experience and great food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My sister and I were visiting my son's family in Fayetteville and staying at James at the Inn. My husband and I always try to stay at the Inn when we are in town as we love the atmosphere and the service is always top notch! As a special "sister night out" we dined at the Mill and it was fabulous! The service was wonderful and the food was prepared and presented in such an excellent way! We enjoyed our meal so much and I know my husband and I will be up in the early Spring and will definitely dine here! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Always reliable, excellent epicurean preparation that is the very BEST in the Fayetteville area! The set menu for a home game weekend was fantastic. Never felt limited and the preparation was fantastic. There are bargains on the Wine List if you're willing to get exotic. Service is attentive and efficient while being unobtrusive, with plenty of local charm. For those wanting to dine, not just eat, this is your choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent again! Consistently perfect food and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Love this place ......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Expensive and overrated would describe this restaurant. Caesar salads had a dressing that was not very flavorful. The lamb was good, but it was served with too many potatoes. The rabbit was good, but it was wrapped with bacon, and it ended up being too much bacon. With three cocktails, and a glass of Pinot noir, the bill came to $160. We didn't really feel like we got our money's worth. We expected excellent, but it wasn't. Our server hardly showed up, and we actually had to ask another server to bring us a round of drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had reservations for 6. We were seated promptly. Food was excellent and properly cooked. We did not wait long for our food. The cowboy ribeye had more fat on it than I normally like but it tasted great . Our only minor complaint was that our server was also serving another table of 6 next to us and they were getting more attention than our table. It took awhile to get her attention to get the check. But overall a very good experience and we will return for the excellent food!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Perfect bone in ribeye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My group of five enjoyed a delightful dining experience at James at the Mill. On a busy football weekend, we had excellent dishes, especially the grilled tenderloin with its amazing red wine sauce and the salmon served on leeks. Our drinks from the bar and wine served at the table were refreshing and satisfying. The service was attentive, but not intrusive, and our friendly waitperson exhibited a sense of pride in her job while tending our table. We are anxious to return and once again end our meal with a variety of the heavenly desserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Charlie was our server and she made the evening!!! She was knowledgeable and intuitive! Food was delicious as always! Creative and eclectic menu. Fantastic evening!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 12, 2016

There were some strange combinations. Sometimes it is better to let the quality of your food shine and not be overwhelmed by multiple, multiple ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Normally we love James at the Mill but on this night after a Razorback game, my wife's cheeseburger wasjust too dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We were very disappointed with this restaurant. It had come recommended because of their good reviews from years past. I found the place noisy, I had to send my dinner back ( was not
charged for it) and overall it was not good experience . It was also difficult to find. Signage was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had friends in town for the Alabama / Arkansas game and had a great time at James at the Mill. It's nice to enjoy great food and wine in a beautiful atmosphere a little off the beaten path-- a nice change from the Dickson Street crowd. Chef Miles came to our table to introduce himself to our out of town guests and make sure everything was great. Everyone in our group loved their meal--were still raving about it on Sunday!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was wonderful with the exception of the strawberry shortcake. It was very dry. The noise level is somewhat high for an intimate dining experience. The service was OK, but not necessarily on par with the food. Not exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My wife and I went here for our anniversary. The food was great, as was the service. It was quite noisy as they were having a wedding reception. I would highly recommend the sea bass.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on September 28, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Northwest Arkansas – great food, service, atmosphere, the whole nine yards. Everything great about fine dining, without being stuffy or pretentious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Authentic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Historic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.