About Jaleo DC

480 7th St. NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés. Jaleo offers an impressive assortment of tapas, the traditional small dishes of Spain, as well as savory paellas, superb sangrias and a fine selection of Spanish wines and Sherries in a festive, casual atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday – Thursday: 11 AM – 11 PM
Friday: 11 AM – midnight
Saturday: 11 AM – midnight
Sunday: 11 AM – 10 PM
Monday: 11 AM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
E St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-7949

Website:
http://www.jaleo.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-7949.

Public Transit:
We are located 1 block south of the Gallery Place/Chinatown metro station on the yellow, green and red lines. Take the 7th and Arena exit, walk one block south. The restaurant is located on the right hand corner of 7th and E St.

We are also 1 block North of Arhives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter station on the green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
José Andres; Head Chef Rodolfo Guzman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of the Penn Quarter, the lively atmosphere of Jaleo DC makes it a great place to host a lunch or dinner. For menus, pricing, availability and other information on events at Jaleo, please contact our Events Manager at (202) 628-7949.

Restaurant Photos

Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Iberico Ham-Burger  Sliders - Jaleo DC
Datiles Con Tocino 'Como Hace Todo El Mundo' Fried Dates Wrapped In Bacon Served With Apple Mustard Sauce - Jaleo DC
Sangria - Jaleo DC
Jamon Ibérico Serrano - Jaleo DC
Queso Manchego - Jaleo DC
Papas Arrugas - Jaleo DC
100% Jamon Iberico de Bellota 36Months $198/50gram. - Jaleo DC
Sea Urchin Toasts - Jaleo DC
Sangria Rioja - Jaleo DC
Rosemary Garlic Olive Oil - Jaleo DC
Chocolate Flan - Jaleo DC
Wilted Spinach - Jaleo DC
olive oil ice cream - Jaleo DC
Endive - Jaleo DC
cauliflower. - Jaleo DC
Chorizo - Jaleo DC
Mejillones A La Vinaigrette - Jaleo DC
Pimentos Del Piquillo A La Plancha - Jaleo DC
Erizos de mar con pipirrana - Jaleo DC
Flan - Jaleo DC
Patatas Bravas - Jaleo DC
Pulpo a la Gallega - Jaleo DC
Hometown Hero Y Mezcal - Jaleo DC
Pan De Cristal Con Tomate - Jaleo DC
Skirt Steak - Jaleo DC
Pulpo a la Gallego (Galician Octopus) - Jaleo DC
Gambas - Jaleo DC
Croquetas - Jaleo DC
Beer Battered Shrimp - Jaleo DC
gaspacho - Jaleo DC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés We offer a variety of spaces for your special event.

Jaleo DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Spanish
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

Fit for Foodies (226)
Good for Groups (132)
Special Occasion (123)
See All
Hot Spot (106)
Neighborhood Gem (91)
Great for Lunch (78)
Notable Wine List (49)
Tapas (48)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Romantic (44)
Great for Brunch (34)
Late-night Find (31)
Fun (30)
Kid-friendly (26)
Modern Decor (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Casual (16)
Authentic (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Healthy (9)
Scenic View (9)
Business Meals (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Cozy (4)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic tapas and paella. We were a g ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic tapas and paella. We were a group of 3 and ordered various tapas, cheese plates, and a dish of paella to share. It was fabulous. The service was also great--our server was able to make great wine suggestions. We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful afternoon brunch on a warm sun ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful afternoon brunch on a warm sunny fall day at the sidewalk. Great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was attentive, prompt, and c ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service was attentive, prompt, and courteous. The space is interesting-- modern, colorful, yet warm and inviting. The food is very Spanish, but the editor made great suggestions for the type and quantity that we should order, so it wasn't intimidating like so many tapas restaurants are in Spain. I would definitely return and will recommend Jaleo to friends traveling to DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first trip to Jaleo in sever ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

This was my first trip to Jaleo in several years. We tried two different tasting menus and neither of us was overly impressed. I think if we had ordered a la cart, it would have been better. The tasting menus are A LOT of food. I couldn't eat the last 2 courses because I was stressed out we were running late. If you have an event to get to after dinner, it's best to tell the server in advance. We showed up at 6 pm and had 8 pm theatre tickets (literally next door to Jaleo at the STC) and were rushing through the last 3 courses. It was partially my fault, I never thought the dinner would take 2+ hours so I didn't mention to the server we had theatre tickets. We couldn't get our included dessert because we ran out of time. But the manager gave us her email address and followed up the next day with an email reminding us we could come back any time to get our dessert since we had already paid for it. Give metro irregularities, we don't go to Chinatown except when we have theatre tickets so I'm not sure if we'll ever redeem it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We had been to Jaleo some time ago B.D. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We had been to Jaleo some time ago B.D. (before dog). The food and atmosphere were always great! We loved to bring friends from out of town there because Jaleo is a really unique dining experience. After we got our dog, we had to head home after work and rarely ate out in DC.

So, on a Monday morning after we got married in the DC courthouse, we knew where we had to go: Jaleo! It was the perfect place for our special occasion ("real marriage" after almost 20 years together). We enjoyed an early lunch with our very small wedding party, just two friends.

The food was even better than we remembered! We loved the "almuerzo rapido" menu that provided excellent options. One of our guests just wanted a grilled cheese. Since we were sharing everything, we all had a bite of the most delicious grilled cheese that I've ever eaten! And the flan!!! Magnifico!!

I had not mentioned our special occasion when I made the reservations. When I did tell the waiter, he, the chef, and the manager came to our table separately to offer very sincere and warm congratulations. Believe me when I say that we greatly appreciated their kind words.

Jaleo is going to continue to be "our special place." We must go more often!! Time to get a dog sitter.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like Jaleo, and it seems to be ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We really like Jaleo, and it seems to be growing on us. Each time we go, of course there's something new to try. The servers are very attentive, and they manage the 'delivery' of the food in a way that enhances the experience. Our server, unasked, recommended a dessert we'd never have tried on our own . . . and it was great. Very good place to go, whatever the occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was extremely salty. Waitress was M ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was extremely salty. Waitress was MIA most of the evening, we had to track down other waitstaff to refill our waters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

As always, the tapas are superb and auth ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

As always, the tapas are superb and authentic, and the wine and sherry selection is outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the $55 / pp Classic menu. Not che ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had the $55 / pp Classic menu. Not cheap, but truly outstanding. One of the best meals we've had in years. Dined outdoors... (decibel level is high indoors)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Jaleo has changed a bit over the years b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Jaleo has changed a bit over the years but the food has been consistently excellent and my last outing there was no exception. This time I introduced a friend who had never eaten there and he agreed that it was outstanding. Service is good, not overly attentive but efficient nonetheless. The noise level is moderate but nothing that makes conversation difficult. And the location near both the Verizon Center and the Shakespeare Theater is also a plus as it is a perfect spot for dinner before an event at either of those venues. Jaleo continues to be one of my go-to spots for great food and an evening with friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

You pay for the atmosphere here, which i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

You pay for the atmosphere here, which is great. The food is pretty mediocre and very expensive. But the vibe and the drinks are great. If you know that going in, you'll have fun. But if you're looking for a gourmet meal, you'll likely be disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Casual, Late-night Find, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Jaleo successfully live up to the hype. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Jaleo successfully live up to the hype. The food was amazing; they had a great wine selection and the overall experience was fantastic. I must say that our waitress was a little slow; which was the only downside, but otherwise it was a fantastic evening out

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I moved away a few years ago, and miss s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I moved away a few years ago, and miss some of the vegetable dishes that are no longer on the menu.☹️️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place, good food and cocktails. Ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great place, good food and cocktails. Excellent service

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff are helpful in ensuring that pre-t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Staff are helpful in ensuring that pre-theater diners like us enjoy their meal without feeling rushed. Tapas are very tasty, but the pre-theater set menu might be a little much for those with smaller appetites. Wines mark-up are hefty even by Washington standards.

Tags: People Watching, Tapas, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

They didnt have the menu that they show ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

They didnt have the menu that they show on the website so that was really disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Great food that's always well executed a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food that's always well executed and expertly delivered to the table in increments. The paella with squid ink is a steal at $42, with heaping unctuous umami servings of rice, and delicious non-rubbery squid. It's also enough to feed 4 people.

The bathrooms here are kind of disgusting, and not quite large enough to serve this large and vibrant restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Establishment is relatively small and fi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Establishment is relatively small and fills up quickly after 6 pm so reservations are recommended. Juan R, 67 was our server at table 63/1 which was just across from kitchen/server station, which was not ideal, especially since we had a reservation and there were several other open tables. We noticed all other tables getting bread and olive oil which we were not offered and upon request of our server we were told we could order some toasted tomato-rubbed bread. Not sure why Juan R did not bring us the gratis "hospitality" bread but it was certainly inconsistent with what the other servers were doing. We ordered a few of the summer heirloom tomato specials which were excellent with the exception of the fried green tomato

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Jaleo never disappoints. In a word it i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Jaleo never disappoints. In a word it is amazing. The food is impressive and so is the service. I have traveled from Los Angeles - twice - to celebrate my birthday here. Totally worth it! The simplicity, yet refined presentation and food pairings are a taste of modern Spain. Love it!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent for small groups

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

excellent for small groups

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal and amazing waitress. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Outstanding meal and amazing waitress. A completely enjoyable and flavorful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you visit DC is a must for the fun of ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

If you visit DC is a must for the fun of it. Tapas are good and nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Food was absolutely amazing and the rest ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was absolutely amazing and the restaurant had a very nice, fun vibe! I highly recommend coming! This is fabulous for birthdays and other special events with a small or large group. Only downside was our waitress was not very friendly, attentive or helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food did not particularly stand out as c ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food did not particularly stand out as compared to other tapas asserting the country. Do not try the fried bacon and dates. The bacon was undercooked and the overall taste was actually bad. Everything else was fine but average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Delicious food, fun ambience, and great ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious food, fun ambience, and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was not up to par. Training is n ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was not up to par. Training is needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Not what we were expecting at all! The f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Not what we were expecting at all! The food looked like when you invite someone and you don't want to cook so you throw fancy stuff over bread (coca con erizos, pan de cristal con tomate, etc). The ambience not so good either, looked like a typical American grill but Spanish. The service was good though. We were expecting a little more refinement from Jose Andres (we have been to The Bazaar in Miami and it is much better).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Great food, great service by Laura! We t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food, great service by Laura!

We tried different tapas that were amazing but they also offer regular size entrees

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was of little help when ask ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our waitress was of little help when asking about things that she would recommend for first time diners at the restaurant. She was not engaging, helpful, or attentive. Very disappointed. The food was fair compared to another Spanish Tapas restaurant visited last week. In addition, my wife had something spilled on her by one of the servers and did not get much help to clean up. I would not recommend eating at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Excellent food and presentation.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent food and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great white sangria! All food fabulous ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great white sangria! All food fabulous with perfect descriptions from staff. Attention to detail is much appreciated. Would refer without reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best gin & tonic. Food is good, not gre ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Best gin & tonic. Food is good, not great. A little bit of a hit or miss but positive experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Jaleo's is my favorite restaurant! Of al ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Jaleo's is my favorite restaurant! Of all the fabulous restaurants in DC I pick Jaleo's every time. Everything about it, I find exceptional. Always love coming back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was weak- and food came out whe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Waitress was weak- and food came out whenever. Watress came to bring /get sesert and we still hd not gotten 4 plates even though we had been there for over an hour. Guess A TEAM does not work on Sundays. Too many staff jakking at ckech in desk. Could not fet Happy Hour Price on Sangria at table only at bar. Does not say that on website

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

We wanted to like the place but service ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We wanted to like the place but service was not good and tapas were expensive all things considered. There are much better places to dine in DC area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Impeccable service. The manager Jorge w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Impeccable service. The manager Jorge was incredibly attentive, especially when he found out that we were celebrating a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We introduced friends to their first exp ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We introduced friends to their first experience of Jaleo dining. They, and we, were delighted and were rewarded by the excellent special menu of Restaurant Week!

Tags: Seasonal, Vegan, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was totally disorganized as ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was totally disorganized as soon as we walked in the door. My partner and I made reservations, and while we were greeted with a smile, it was a comedy of errors while the three hostesses argued over where to seat us. When the finally made a decision, we were led to a dirty table at which point the young lady, clearly embarrassed, apologized and asked us to wait by the bar while she cleared the table. Soon after, she fetched us and sat us down.

An assortment of menus was dropped at our table, with no explanation on how the restaurant worked or without offering a drink. When another server stopped by to grab our drinks, she asked for ID. We produced our driver's licenses and were told that we were required to show our passports (we are Canadian citizens), so she brought the manager over. He came over and asked for our IDs once more, and studied them closely for 90 seconds in complete silence. And then just walked away. We did not get any type of verdict or decision, we were just left in annoying suspense as to whether we would get a drink or not. After another 10 minutes, our drink orders were dropped off, and then I asked the server to explain the food options (it's tapas style, which we didn't know - tourists), and she did an awesome job of explaining. The food was good, not memorable.

Get ready for a whirlwind of annoyance with the staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food is good and presentation is always ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food is good and presentation is always well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Love the concept of small plates, it's b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Love the concept of small plates, it's best with 3 or 4 people who like to share everything. Don't miss the Catalan bean salad nor the piquillo peppers stuffed with goat cheese. Then, go for the gambas, squid, quail and the traditional chorizo.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.