About Jaleo DC

480 7th St. NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés. Jaleo offers an impressive assortment of tapas, the traditional small dishes of Spain, as well as savory paellas, superb sangrias and a fine selection of Spanish wines and Sherries in a festive, casual atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday – Thursday: 11 AM – 11 PM
Friday: 11 AM – midnight
Saturday: 11 AM – midnight
Sunday: 11 AM – 10 PM
Monday: 11 AM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
E St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-7949

Website:
http://www.jaleo.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-7949.

Public Transit:
We are located 1 block south of the Gallery Place/Chinatown metro station on the yellow, green and red lines. Take the 7th and Arena exit, walk one block south. The restaurant is located on the right hand corner of 7th and E St.

We are also 1 block North of Arhives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter station on the green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
José Andres; Head Chef Rodolfo Guzman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of the Penn Quarter, the lively atmosphere of Jaleo DC makes it a great place to host a lunch or dinner. For menus, pricing, availability and other information on events at Jaleo, please contact our Events Manager at (202) 628-7949.

Restaurant Photos

Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Iberico Ham-Burger  Sliders
100% Jamon Iberico de Bellota 36Months $198/50gram.
Sea Urchin Toasts
Datiles Con Tocino 'Como Hace Todo El Mundo' Fried Dates Wrapped In Bacon Served With Apple Mustard Sauce
Papas Arrugas
Sangria
Jamon Ibérico Serrano
Queso Manchego
Sangria Rioja
Rosemary Garlic Olive Oil
Chocolate Flan
olive oil ice cream
Endive
Wilted Spinach
cauliflower.
Chorizo
Pimentos Del Piquillo A La Plancha
Mejillones A La Vinaigrette
Erizos de mar con pipirrana
Flan
Pulpo a la Gallega
Patatas Bravas
Pan De Cristal Con Tomate
Hometown Hero Y Mezcal
Skirt Steak
Pulpo a la Gallego (Galician Octopus)
Gambas
Croquetas
Beer Battered Shrimp
gaspacho

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés We offer a variety of spaces for your special event.

Jaleo DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Spanish
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

fit for foodies (390)
good for groups (232)
special occasion (180)
See All
hot spot (171)
neighborhood gem (131)
great for lunch (128)
vibrant bar scene (107)
notable wine list (70)
romantic (48)
late-night find (46)
great for brunch (43)
great for outdoor dining (36)
kid-friendly (34)
scenic view (7)
Sort By:
Newest
5081 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

We sat with no server for about 20 minut ...

Dined 3 days ago

We sat with no server for about 20 minutes and were about to leave when busboy noticed and must have told a server. The server was good but there was a hair in our oil for bread and food was decent but experience made it underwhelming-esp for a first visit. Cute place though.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is amazing! I was overwhelmed ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

This place is amazing! I was overwhelmed with the good service and great food. I wish we have restaurant in Raleigh, NC . Planning to come back here every year.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've always been a Jose Andres fan and m ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

I've always been a Jose Andres fan and my wife booked the reservation without knowing that - so it was a real treat to finally try one of his restaurants and Jaleo did not disappoint. The tapas pricing is a little more than the average Tapas restaurant, but the plates were also large enough to justify it. We had the Pan Cristal - delicious bread with a savory tomato and olive oil topping, Jamon Iberico de bellota (phenomenal!), papas arrugas, and the Gambas al ajilio - all were awesome. Our waiter was very fast and courteous, he helped us pick between the many options. I also ordered a Cuba Libre and you can see that there is an attention to detail with the cocktails that you rarely see now...the waiter brought the glass to the table with a cinnamon stick, bitters, and lemon in the glass, then he poured the Rum and Mexican coke tableside. It was the best version of a Cuba Libre I've ever had! I highly recommend Jaleo and can't wait to go again on our next trip to DC.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jaleo is a "must dine here" when in DC.

Dined 4 days ago

Jaleo is a "must dine here" when in DC.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love Jaleo and make a point to try diffe ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Love Jaleo and make a point to try different dishes each time. It's all good!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a 6:30 reservation on the evening ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had a 6:30 reservation on the evening of an 8 PM concert at the nearby Verizon Center. Unfortunately, our table wasn't ready for over a half hour, and while the staff were very nice and explained the situation, it made for a rather rushed dinner. And with the tapas we ordered, the dishes are served as they are ready, so at 8 PM when we were ready to leave, another dish showed up at the table. I would recommend that if you are going to Jaleo before a Verizon event, make your reservation earlier so you have time to enjoy your meal or simply avoid choosing a location at or near the Verizon Center. When we left the restaurant at 8 PM, it was empty. . everyone else had left for the same concert!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed our first trip to Jaleo. Eve ...

Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our first trip to Jaleo. Everything we ordered was delicious and our waitress was outstanding at explaining the various dishes. Keep in mind that this is a tapas restaurant, so you will receive small portions. Ideally you order a variety and share around the table. It is fairly expensive, but the food is very good. We enjoyed the chorizo with olive oil mashed potatoes, the tuna spring roll, a cheese and meat assortment, garlic shrimp and several other items. My favorite was the bacon wrapped dates, and I had to try a liquid olive, which was surprisingly good and unique. With a couple of adult beverages each, and dessert, our grand total for three adults was around $215 before tip- just as an FYI. I would go again and will recommend to friends with the caveat that it is a bit pricey for small plates, and so is maybe more of a special occasion type of place (at least for us).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I had higher expectations. The food was ...

Dined 6 days ago

I had higher expectations. The food was okay, service was mediocre.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was good but the service was al ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was good but the service was aloof and sloppy. Our table got jostled a couple times by passing servers without an apology. We had to ask for drink menus. We had to flag people down to put in orders. Going to the bathroom, nobody got out of the way, just kept going and brushed past you. When the wrong item was brought out, our server acted like it was our fault. The trash in the men's room was overflowing. Servers left a cabinet with glasses and cleaning supplies hanging open. It brought the entire evening down.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Far too noisy; it was impossible to cond ...

Dined 6 days ago

Far too noisy; it was impossible to conduct a conversation indoors, so we moved outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure dining at Jaleo DC. We ...

Dined 6 days ago

Always a pleasure dining at Jaleo DC. We had a little issue with the "secret" pork. They took it off the bill -- which wasn't necessary -- and insisted if it wasn't an exceptional dining experience, it wasn't up to Chef Andres' standards. The excellent staff made certain that it was indeed exceptional. Can't wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paleo always has great Spanish food and ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Paleo always has great Spanish food and they keep updating the dishes. Staff are all very personable and helpful. A wonderful experience

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is a bit pricey but it always taste ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Food is a bit pricey but it always tastes fantastic so you don't really mind paying a bit extra

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I liked Jaleo a lot. But this last time ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I liked Jaleo a lot. But this last time was not good. The food was too salted, not good. The sangria was the joke, could not taste the wine or fruits in it, just ice and bubbles. I am not sure if I would come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE have enjoyed dining at Jaleo's before ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

WE have enjoyed dining at Jaleo's before or after our visit to the Shakespeare Theatre for many years. We have not been disappointed. We love the food and atmosphere of Jaleo's. Very imaginative menu. Energetic but not too noisy .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance. Service was ex ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and ambiance. Service was excellent and fast.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening, the Paella was outsta ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful Evening, the Paella was outstanding and the liquid olives were so cool!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent restaurant. Food is diverse a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent restaurant. Food is diverse and well prepared. Everyone in our party had a good time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was fantastic. The gin & tonics ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Dinner was fantastic. The gin & tonics were the best I ever had, and each tapas was great. I recommend ordering 2 plates/person and then ordering more if you're still hungry, since the portions were actually larger than we thought.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice would go there again. Great st ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Very nice would go there again. Great staff. Burger the best. Jamon was ok expected better on that. Shrimp great, cheese great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

It was difficult to get our waiter to at ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

It was difficult to get our waiter to attend to us.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service4

The food was not as impressive as I had ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was not as impressive as I had expected or would anticipate from a Jose Andres Spanish themed restaurant. The fennel/Apple salad was fair but too large and the fennel wasn't flavorful. I also had a Pisto Manchego with quail eggs which was good but needed more pimenton and maybe sea salt. I finished with a tuna spring roll with black garlic aioli which was pretty good and savory and the pulpo which was flavorful but I was disappointed in the texture. The service was very good and the waiter made excellent wine recommendations. I would try it again and other dishes but not my favorite this time.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Every dish presents a bit of a surprise. ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Every dish presents a bit of a surprise. Great service. One dish was not pleasing to the palate, and was removed from our tab.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

As excellent for our group of 10 as for ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

As excellent for our group of 10 as for a couple. Dense option of menu choices clearly explained by our server so the dishes and the sangria kept coming during brunch! Paella served tableside a must for every outing here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Spanish Tapas at its finest.

Dined on June 12, 2016

Spanish Tapas at its finest.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jaleo is one of my favorite restaurants ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Jaleo is one of my favorite restaurants in DC, and never fails to please! The food is fantastic, as is the Sangria. It can be a little louder than I like, but the atmosphere is lively and fun. Favorites this time were the apple-fennel salad with manchego, cured Iberico ham (we had the 36-month aged, OMG, it's fantastic!), and Ensaladilla Rusa.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice venue with excellent food. Service ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Nice venue with excellent food. Service is high quality -- we lingered a bit too long when they were crowded but they were very polite in encouraging us to vacate the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really, really good...but

Dined on June 10, 2016

We love Jaleo. The food is always good. During this visit with some old friends from out of town, we realized after we left that we never received one of our dishes - the stuffed olives with anchovies. Not a huge deal as overall the service, food, and experience were excellent, but this almost happened the last time we ate there as well. That time, my wife and I noticed and the waiter brought the dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

our favorite tapas place

Dined on June 9, 2016

We found Jaleo last fall on our trip to DC, and made it a point to return to celebrate our anniversary. The suggestions made by our waiter was spot-on, and the food was delectable. Would suggest Jaleo to anyone who goes to DC. It is our favorite tapas restaurant anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and great service from Jo ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Wonderful food and great service from Jorge L. We were also very pleased to meet the new manager, Becky, and we look forward to seeing her again. The menu at Jaleo never ceases to be both innovative and delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

poor service

Dined on June 8, 2016

Went there for my birthday and was disappointed with the service and food

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Usually a favorite spot, just not this time

Dined on June 7, 2016

Jaleo is one of my go-to spots and I have had many many fun meals sharing its eclectic mix of small plates. This particular time it was hitting a rough patch. We came for lunch. The long menu was accompanied by a shorter lunch-special menu, half of which was made up of sandwiches, which came with a salad or soup or some such thing. We all planned to order a sandwich, but the waiter informed us there was no bread. This was 12:30, and the place was not crowded, so I can only assume there was some failure in the deliveries that morning, but it seemed strange that they continued to pass out that menu. Anyway, we ordered something else, thinking it still came with the salad/soup or some such. None of that came and I am still not sure if it is because it didn't come with the new dish or the servers just forgot. And the dish we ordered was ho hum. So - I put it down to a bad day for a good restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Honestly if our wallet had a bottomless pit we'd have ordered one of each tapa. We sat at the bar during happy hour and ordered off both the happy hour menu as well as the dinner menu- neither were disappointing. I'd love to go daily and enjoy dinner with chef Andrés!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Tapas Meal

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our group ate at Jaleo on the recommendation of a colleague who once lived in DC and we were not disappointed. Each of the three of us ordered 3 dishes to share. My personal favorite was the tuna spring rolls - the tuna was perfectly seared and the rolls delicately crunchy. The other winners for the meal were the bleu cheese tenderloin, the fried crab cakes, the braised lamb with potatoes and garlic, and the garlic shrimp. I personally do not like asparagus, but the other two in our group raved about it. Our server was sarcastically funny and helped us well with our selections. We ended the meal with a delicious flan that you must save room for as you are ordering entrees. This was a great meal and dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The perfect lunch spot in Chinatown DC

Dined on June 3, 2016

This place is perfect for a quick lunch to catch up with friends. Me and my friend met there for some lunch on her day off and in between meetings for me. The quick pick 4 lunch special was an awesome deal for her and the small plates were just what I wanted. The chicken was awesome and the scallops were cooked to perfection. Definitely going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Prix fixe to the rescue

Dined on June 3, 2016

The lunch prix fixe menu is a good value and allows for those unused to the tapas "format" to ease into it, compared to the regular menu which can be overwhelming.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Amazing!!!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Jaleo is simply amazing. Beautiful decor, excellent service, delicious and innovative cuisine. Our third visit, we continue to be delighted. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food, service, and ambiance

Dined on May 29, 2016

Jaleo was as pleasing aesthetically as it was delicious! Their conos, aceitunas, and datiles were phenomenal. I had to walk about one mile in the rain with my wife (we're not from DC and forgot an umbrella), and I honestly would have walked 2 more miles to eat at Jaleo!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great tapas! Not to be missed....

Dined on May 29, 2016

Another great meal. They really are one of the best tapas restaurants in the country -- if not actually the best. A great taste of Spain that even a Spaniard would appreciate! Heartily recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Consistently good.

Dined on May 29, 2016

We arrived damp and chilled and the hostess showed us to an outside corner table, behind a chain curtain, which was warmer and less noisy than others. The waitress was knowledgeable about the extensive menu and the wines. We had tapas and they were all consistently good, so I will not point out any ones specifically. I will comment that the flan was quite nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.