About Jaleo DC

480 7th St. NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés. Jaleo offers an impressive assortment of tapas, the traditional small dishes of Spain, as well as savory paellas, superb sangrias and a fine selection of Spanish wines and Sherries in a festive, casual atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday – Thursday: 11 AM – 11 PM
Friday: 11 AM – midnight
Saturday: 11 AM – midnight
Sunday: 11 AM – 10 PM
Monday: 11 AM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
E St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-7949

Website:
http://www.jaleo.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-7949.

Public Transit:
We are located 1 block south of the Gallery Place/Chinatown metro station on the yellow, green and red lines. Take the 7th and Arena exit, walk one block south. The restaurant is located on the right hand corner of 7th and E St.

We are also 1 block North of Arhives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter station on the green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
José Andres; Head Chef Rodolfo Guzman

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of the Penn Quarter, the lively atmosphere of Jaleo DC makes it a great place to host a lunch or dinner. For menus, pricing, availability and other information on events at Jaleo, please contact our Events Manager at (202) 628-7949.

Restaurant Photos

Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Iberico Ham-Burger  Sliders
100% Jamon Iberico de Bellota 36Months $198/50gram.
Datiles Con Tocino 'Como Hace Todo El Mundo' Fried Dates Wrapped In Bacon Served With Apple Mustard Sauce
Sangria
Jamon Ibérico Serrano
Queso Manchego
Papas Arrugas
Sea Urchin Toasts
Sangria Rioja
Rosemary Garlic Olive Oil
Chocolate Flan
Wilted Spinach
olive oil ice cream
Endive
cauliflower.
Chorizo
Mejillones A La Vinaigrette
Pimentos Del Piquillo A La Plancha
Erizos de mar con pipirrana
Flan
Patatas Bravas
Pulpo a la Gallega
Hometown Hero Y Mezcal
Pan De Cristal Con Tomate
Skirt Steak
Pulpo a la Gallego (Galician Octopus)
Gambas
Croquetas
Beer Battered Shrimp
gaspacho

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés We offer a variety of spaces for your special event.

Jaleo DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Spanish
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

Fit for Foodies (290)
Good for Groups (189)
Special Occasion (156)
See All
Hot Spot (135)
Neighborhood Gem (104)
Great for Lunch (100)
Vibrant Bar Scene (70)
Notable Wine List (54)
Romantic (50)
Great for Brunch (38)
Kid-friendly (35)
Late-night Find (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Scenic View (9)
Fun (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is good and presentation is always ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food is good and presentation is always well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Ate outside. Great tapas during restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Ate outside. Great tapas during restaurant week along with good value on a special rioja

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was interesting; I had a chance to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was interesting; I had a chance to try new dishes. However I felt the food was only a little better than average and often too salty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

DC Restaurant Week, Summer 2016. Good va ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

DC Restaurant Week, Summer 2016. Good value, great food, interesting wines. On this particular day, the service was not to the very high standard we associate with Jaleo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

I am a regular at Jaleo, and the food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

I am a regular at Jaleo, and the food was as tasty and delicious as ever this time! So yummy--esp. the pan con tomate and the croquetas. Decliciosas!

Keep up the great work. I will be back.

Maria

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant is good chance to attract new ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Restaurant is good chance to attract new customer for their later coming. If you do not treat restaurant week menu seriously, customers will not come back for another meal. For me. No Jaleo DC next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Although a long-standing patron of Jaleo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Although a long-standing patron of Jaleo, this was the first time we had brunch there. It was excellent!

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jaleo was outstanding as usual. It is a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Jaleo was outstanding as usual. It is amazing how Chef Andres has been able to keep up the high quality of food and service at Paleo and his other restaurants.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noisy, marginal food. The paella dish o ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Noisy, marginal food. The paella dish on the menu bared absolutely no resemblance to what a paella is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

The tapas menu is extensive, and it seem ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The tapas menu is extensive, and it seems that anything that is chosen is well prepared and interesting. The service is attentive and the wine selection is varied and well priced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A friend and I came for restaurant week. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A friend and I came for restaurant week. We were seated in the window which was the best possible outcome - their decor is discordant and inelegant. The bathroom aesthetic is particularly confusing. Our waitress was knowledgeable, precise and appropriately attentive despite being a bit quirky, though not exactly off putting. I wasn't a fan of the cocktail I ordered - the Negroni Del Campo - and without a beat she insisted on exchanging it, which I greatly appreciated. I ended up, on her successful recommendation, with one of their gin and tonics. The liquid olives are special. While almost everything we ordered was excellent, I would happily go back for liquid olives and cocktails alone.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

The service was very poor. The waiter w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was very poor. The waiter was slow and had an attitude. When the food with yummy sauces arrived, we asked the waiter no less than 4 times to bring us more bread and he didn't do it until all the food was done and plates taken away. He didn't even have enough self-awareness to see how ridiculous he was. He only took half the table's order for dessert, which delayed the timing of everyone having coffee and dessert together.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Really enjoyed this place! Went for rest ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Really enjoyed this place! Went for restaurant week and it did not disappoint! Some courses were better than others but over all great!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Visited Jaleo for the first time during ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Visited Jaleo for the first time during Restaurant Week. The ambiance was gorgeous and eclectic. The food was great and the tapas were very fulfilling.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Restaurant Week experience. Tr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful Restaurant Week experience. Tried everything on the menu (4 people!). Amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely delicious! The l ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious! The location was also extremely convenient to the Verizon Center, where we had tickets. We felt very lucky to find such a wonderful restaurant during our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Haven't been there in a while and they h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Haven't been there in a while and they have changed the menu. Didn't have my favorites on it that I was looking forward to, so I was disappointed. I found a dish to order and it was just okay. It was very noisy and hard to carry on a conversation. Will re-think before I go there again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to Jaleo's during Restaurant Wee ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went to Jaleo's during Restaurant Week. The tapas were outstanding (as usual),and the service, despite the large number of diners was very good. We would highly recommend Jaleo's to anyone who wanted a great meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was our first time having Tapas and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was our first time having Tapas and it was great. The service was timely and attentive and the food was delicious. The Conos de Salmon are small but big on flavor, a must try!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was great. The food was goo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The ambiance was great. The food was good. It was an all around enjoyable experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had the Restaurant Week menu items th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had the Restaurant Week menu items this time, each of which was delicious. The liquid olives are very special. Bacon-wrapped dates are always good. Food and service here is always excellent.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went to Jaleo during DC Restaurant Week ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Went to Jaleo during DC Restaurant Week 2016 and was not disappointed! First of all, I cannot thank them enough for their understanding and letting me sit down after my friend was late by an hour due to Metro delays. Secondly, the food and their signature sangria was incredible! I was expecting portions to be very small but they were a perfect size (not too much, not too little) and I was still full by tapa #3 with one more tapa and dessert to go! Would definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys food and wants a place with good atmosphere and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service -- knowledgeable on f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent service -- knowledgeable on food, beverages, and the regions from where they originate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Jose Andres is one of my Idols, being a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Jose Andres is one of my Idols, being a Chef it was a great treat!! Our waiter Carlos was precious!

The food was one delicious bite after bite! The Iberico ham was memorable, the Spinach was ethereal. thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved the food and service and we would ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

loved the food and service and we would go back

.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Crowded venue after theater event. Like ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Crowded venue after theater event. Liked the variety of Spanish wines and beers. We tried Loidana Priorat wine and St Moritz beer. So many food choices that we had trouble deciding. We especially liked the beet salad, gazpacho, and tortilla espanola. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything was fine except that my birth ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was fine except that my birthday request was not taken care inspite of me having requested for it while reserving on open table. That was extremely disappointing. We expect such things to be taken care when we come for a special ocassion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I took a friend visiting from Florida to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I took a friend visiting from Florida to Jaleo for dinner on the hottest day of DC's summer so far and the food was such a treat, starting with cool and refreshing gazpacho and ending with a sublime dessert (one each -- too good to share). Jaleo lived up to its reputation for delicious food and friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had three in our party and were seate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had three in our party and were seated in a odd area at the front of the restaurant with a large column and then corner windows to a busy street. It was behind a metal chain curtain - separating us from the rest of the restaurant. We felt like we were in a fish bowl. It was a horrible location that should not be used.

It took a while for our beverage order to be taken, and we ordered some initial dishes at the same time. The dishes came out literally in a few minutes, before our wine was served. We ordered more dishes, which also came out extremely fast - too fast. Except for one dish, all the food was served within about 20 minutes of sitting down. You felt like they wanted to get you quickly out of there so they could turn the table for another unwitting party. We were there no more than an hour.

On the good side, the food was excellent. Everything was very good. Despite the service being rushed, the servers were helpful and courteous. It is hard to recommend a single favorite but some memorable dishes were the garlic shrimp; stuffed anchovy olives; and fried chorizo and potatoes.

In terms of value, some dishes were much better value than others. The cheese dish has three good, but very small portions, for $18. My daughter ordered a mini-burger for about $8 that was smaller than a slider. Other than these two items, the quality and portions of the dishes were very good.

It was not a memorable dining experience, at least in a positive way. However, the food was great so I'd be willing to return if we had a better table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Great food and great service. Enjoyed th ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food and great service. Enjoyed the tapas and the individual flavours of the dishes. The manager helped us with a very good wine choice from the extensive list .

The pulpo was the best we have tasted for a while - great flavour and perfectly prepared. Shrimps were also excellent.

We did not order everything at once and so did not rush through the experience. We were at the side of restaurant away from the bar area , which was quieter than near the main bar .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always love this place!!! One of our f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I always love this place!!! One of our favorite places!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great! The service was a bi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was great! The service was a bit slow. Waiter should have been better at reading ques. It wasn't crowded si I am not sure why service was slow.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Ordered the rapid lunch which was anythi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Ordered the rapid lunch which was anything but. Service was extremely slow and we arrived right when it opened at 11:30. Didn't get out until 1pm. Food was good, but waited too long for the dishes to come out of the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I write my reviews on Yelp where I am an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I write my reviews on Yelp where I am an Elite Reviewer and will post one there in the next few days.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are big fans of Jaleo, although we no ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We are big fans of Jaleo, although we normally eat at their Crystal City location. We ate a very late lunch so Jaleo was largely empty. There were 3 other tables occupied, all in a tiny walled space. The hostess then jammed us in the fourth remaining table in that tiny space. It looked ridiculous considering the rest of restaurant was empty. Since the four tables were all incredibly close to each other, people walking by probably assumed we were all one big group. I asked the hostess why she was jamming us next to all the other people in the restaurant when there were so many other tables available (even close to the other tables just not right on top of them) and she just gave a strange look and said "this is a great table." I suppose I could have fought with her but it was a special occasion and I did not feel like getting in a dispute with the hostess to start the meal. But in the end it did taint what was a special meal out for me and my wife because there was absolutely no privacy in our conversation. Since the restaurant was otherwise empty and largely quiet, everyone at the 4 tables could everything the other groups were saying. We ended talking in hushed voices, which was rather odd.

The waitress was fine. We order the same dishes every time we come to Jaleo. Most of them were fine, but a couple were not up to our expectations (one was overcooked and one used some very poor bacon that you could not chew no matter how hard you tried). Also, for some reason there was a 20 minute gap between when our first 3 plates arrived and our last 3 plates. We've never encountered such a large gap before, and it seemed particularly odd considering there were only three tables occupied. We'll return to Jaleo, but not to JaleoDC anytime soon. Jaleo Crystal City is much better.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Not authentic. Absolute subpar. Really ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Not authentic. Absolute subpar. Really surprised with the poor quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Delicious tapas. Perfect for a pre-dinne ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Delicious tapas. Perfect for a pre-dinner meal before going to the Verizon Center. Only disappointment was that the Cava Sangria is no longer available by the glass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This authentic and well established Span ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This authentic and well established Spanish tapas restaurant has elevated it's menu to a new level of sophistication. I've been its client for +20 years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent sangria, delightful cheesepla ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent sangria, delightful cheeseplate, the grilled chicken was my favorite, followed by the steak. Chorizo was the least exciting to me, but husband liked it

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Traveling on VK. We had reservation an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Traveling on VK. We had reservation and were seated immediately. Great front corner table. Service was excellent. Food was very good. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.