About Jaleo DC

480 7th St. NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés. Jaleo offers an impressive assortment of tapas, the traditional small dishes of Spain, as well as savory paellas, superb sangrias and a fine selection of Spanish wines and Sherries in a festive, casual atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday – Thursday: 11 AM – 11 PM
Friday: 11 AM – midnight
Saturday: 11 AM – midnight
Sunday: 11 AM – 10 PM
Monday: 11 AM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
E St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-7949

Website:
http://www.jaleo.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-7949.

Public Transit:
We are located 1 block south of the Gallery Place/Chinatown metro station on the yellow, green and red lines. Take the 7th and Arena exit, walk one block south. The restaurant is located on the right hand corner of 7th and E St.

We are also 1 block North of Arhives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter station on the green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
José Andres; Head Chef Rodolfo Guzman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of the Penn Quarter, the lively atmosphere of Jaleo DC makes it a great place to host a lunch or dinner. For menus, pricing, availability and other information on events at Jaleo, please contact our Events Manager at (202) 628-7949.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Datiles Con Tocino 'Como Hace Todo El Mundo' Fried Dates Wrapped In Bacon Served With Apple Mustard Sauce - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Sangria - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Jamon Ibérico Serrano - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Queso Manchego - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Papas Arrugas - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Iberico Ham-Burger  Sliders - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
100% Jamon Iberico de Bellota 36Months $198/50gram. - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Sea Urchin Toasts - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Sangria Rioja - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Rosemary Garlic Olive Oil - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Mejillones A La Vinaigrette - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Pimentos Del Piquillo A La Plancha - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Erizos de mar con pipirrana - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Flan - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Patatas Bravas - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Pulpo a la Gallega - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Hometown Hero Y Mezcal - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Pan De Cristal Con Tomate - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Wilted Spinach - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
olive oil ice cream - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Endive - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Chocolate Flan - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
cauliflower. - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Skirt Steak - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Chorizo - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Pulpo a la Gallego (Galician Octopus) - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Gambas - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Croquetas - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
Beer Battered Shrimp - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC
gaspacho - Jaleo DC, Washington, DC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés We offer a variety of spaces for your special event.

Jaleo DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (151)
Creative Cuisine (102)
Fit for Foodies (94)
See All
Special Occasion (78)
Good for a Date (72)
Authentic (69)
Pre/post Theatre (67)
Fun (65)
Tasting Menu (58)
Modern Decor (54)
Hot Spot (54)
Good for Groups (52)
Casual (50)
Good Vegetarian Options (46)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Great for Lunch (43)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
People Watching (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Business Meals (27)
Bar Seating (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Late-night Find (22)
Healthy (21)
Family Style (21)
Quick Bite (21)
Romantic (21)
Happy Hour (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Comfort Food (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Molecular Gastronomy (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Seasonal (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Spicy (7)
Organic (7)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great Beer (4)
Vegan (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
5728 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved it!!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined a day ago

Loved it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good - the shrimp in garlic ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good - the shrimp in garlic were delicious, as was the bread with tomato and the asparagus. The menu was a little light on vegetarian / pescatarian options, which is not entirely surprising given that Spain is so meat-oriented, but I'd like the menu more of there were a few more choices from that capacity.

Service at the table was as expected - nothing fantastic, nothing horrible. The hostess, though, tried to put me at a table that was directly next to the door to the kitchen despite there being about ten open tables to choose from. That's very odd - she needs additional training.

Prices were a little high - recognizing that they serve small tapas servings, I'd have dropped each price by about $1.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The table did the Classics tasting menu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

The table did the Classics tasting menu and it was certainly the way to experience the food as it should be. Good option if tapas menus get too overwhelming and/or too many tempting choices.

Service was right on point and had perfect timing.

One night in DC and it was a great way to spend the evening. Loved the ambiance and decor. Chef Andres' personality is visible in every aspect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Following time touring some of our favor ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Following time touring some of our favorite museums, a late lunch at Jaleo was perfect. The Brussels sprout salad is divine and some of our favorites (creamy rice with mushrooms and those amazing liquid olives) played a major part, too. Terrific service provided by Paola!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! Service was lacking. But ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great! Service was lacking. But overall good night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The experience was really good overall a ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

The experience was really good overall and the food was amazing. I just felt that the service was just OK... not very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

It was great! My server Laura was super ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It was great! My server Laura was super attentive and the food - always - amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was awesome, service was very g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was awesome, service was very good, and a nice setting just we were seated a little close to the door so it was a bit chilly. Food very inventive, and we did the classic tasting menu which was wonderfully varied and plenty of food. Server was very knowledgeable and took the time to explain our dishes. Great experience and I look forward to eating at Jaleo again soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was very disappointed with my experien ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was very disappointed with my experience here. Some of the food was quite good, but some of the tapas were very salty, whereas most were undersalted. When we let our deer-in-the-headlights waiter know about how salty our potato dish was (unbearably so), he took the dish away, and let us know that he'd talk to the kitchen. He then brought the same potatoes back and said, sorry, they're just this salty, some people may not like this, and mentioned he would take it off our tab. He was very awkward about the whole situation, and, once we left the restaurant, we realized the awfully salty dish was still on our tab - and we came away having had a series of uncomfortable exchanges with the waiter. Overall, the food was okay - but the poor service made it an unpleasant experience overall.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Another gem by José Andrés worth visitin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Another gem by José Andrés worth visiting and coming back

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. The food is always in ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Never disappoints. The food is always interesting and well prepared. Brought a member of my work team for a thank you dinner. She was delighted by the dishes. Pappas fritas and pollo croquettes as well as ceviche big hits. Memorable as always.

Tags: Organic, People Watching, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fab as always. Love the food love the ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Fab as always. Love the food love the wine. Service great

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and wine, with plenty of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent food and wine, with plenty of variety and in perfect portions to share. Jaleo's is an oldie but very goodie and more food lovers should check it out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Jaleo never disappoints. This time, I d ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Jaleo never disappoints. This time, I dined with just one other person, which had the unfortunate consequence of limiting the number of plates you can try. It took a bit of haggling, but we got our list down to four savory plates and one dessert plate. Yum.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointed. Jaleo used to be one ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Very disappointed. Jaleo used to be one of my favorites but everything was below average and not worth the money $45+ per person for a few apps and a pitcher of sangria. Will not go back considering the options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We went there later Friday for our anniv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We went there later Friday for our anniversary and had mentioned when we made our reservations. All the staff wished us a happy anniversary and we even received a anniversary treat. The food was wonderful and fresh. We had 2 servers waiting on us so we never really wanted for anything and they let us set the pace of our meal. My only complaint has nothing to do with the restaurant and had everything to do with the large table of kids by us, the restaurant set us in a privateish area that was wonderful but the parents seemed oblivious to the fact that their kids were screaming and coming over and playing right next to our table. I felt bad for the staff trying to serve and step over them as the parents just talked away. But like I said not the restaurants fault so I'm not going to fault them. They made our anniversary special and no we don't hate kids just don't want to deal with others on one of our very few kid free nights.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Tapas, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our night there. We had more peopl ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Loved our night there. We had more people come to dinner than we expected and the employees awesomely accommodated: brought more chairs and delt with more orders. Service was chill and I did not feel rushed at all eventho it was a Friday night. Also they were cool with kids being at the table as were the other diners around us. It felt like I would think it feels to dine in Spain: chill and welcoming with amazing food. Thank you so much!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing tapas. The menu kept giving and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing tapas. The menu kept giving and giving and giving. Go with and appetite and a credit card, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food matched with attentive and fr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food matched with attentive and friendly service in a comfortable and gracious setting. Kudos to professional restauranteurs, in an age of amateurs.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and enjoyable din ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Consistently good food and enjoyable dinner before Shakespeare play.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ate prior to a theater performance at ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We ate prior to a theater performance at Kennedy Center. Our server accommodated our time constraints, and made good recommendations. Tables for 2 are situated to make them very private - which was nice for quiet conversation. Food and service were very good. and timely.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent and a real gastro ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was excellent and a real gastronomic delight! Can't wait to return and try something different. Great interior design and fun place to relax, have a sangria, and chat with a friend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Somewhat disappointed with experience. P ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Somewhat disappointed with experience. Place is nice, service good but food very fair. Nothing special.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Buzzy and fun. Delicious food. Some exce ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Buzzy and fun. Delicious food. Some excellent takes on Spanish classics, some creative dishes as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was okay :) food portion was little ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was okay :) food portion was little bit small but tasty.

Server was poor. Didn't even refill the water. Didn't even bother to ask if we wanted to drink something. Didn't even asked how we were doing while eating the entree. Waiter only came during appetizer and after we finished our meal. So, i wont be coming back after poor service. Didn't feel like i was eating a fine dining restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Have made Jaleo a fun destination for fa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Have made Jaleo a fun destination for family and friends since they opened in the late 90s. It's always a fun time with consistently good food and wine for special occasions or date nights. I must confess that I prefer the original decor and vibe and feel that the renovation brought less ambiance with significantly ramped up pricing. Not to be a kill joy though--sharing tapas is super fun and a good time is still always had by all!

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

I NEVER leave reviews, but Jaleo is spec ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I NEVER leave reviews, but Jaleo is special. I think my first date there was in the late 90s, about five boyfriends ago. Is that possible? Since then my parents, siblings, and now husband have picked it over and over for graduations, reunions, engagements, baby showers, and most recently, our fifth wedding anniversary. Andres has brought so much joy and creativity to D.C. dining. Before that, fine dining was a steakhouse, French, maybe Italian. Clearly a lot has changed and that might have happened independently of Andres, but he certainly seemed to wake the town up to new possibilities. We've never had a bad experience at any of his restaurants but keep coming back to Jaleo because we have quite a history of celebrating good times there. I have my favorite tapas but go and find your own, and try 2-3 new things each time too. Thanks again Jaleo, most recently for such a lovely anniversary brunch with my husband. Happy New Year!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a expecting a great menu of tapas. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was a expecting a great menu of tapas... when they even were not tapas at all... It was a poor menu of different spanish plates... nothing great... The service was regular, and the waiter had the guts to even ask for a bigger tip!!! And he argue with me because of that!!!! The tip should be a reward for a great service, they cant assume they deserve it... when they do nothing for it... so if he is rude I have to tip him??? This really ruin the night!!! I would never recommend this place to anyone... And it was really expensive for all we had... Not worthy of it!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Amazing everything, fabulous New Year 's ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing everything, fabulous New Year 's Eve.

Despite being so busy, they didn't cut corners...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have been to Jaleo 4-5 times over the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have been to Jaleo 4-5 times over the last 6 years (we are not locals) and have mostly enjoyed the food and the setting. This last time was for a New Year's early seating.

Some of the tapas were good, a couple were disappointing. The bread with tomato (Pan de cristal con tomate) was good, and the calamari (Puntillitas a la Andaluza) was fine, if unexceptional. One the other hand the shrimp in garlic sauce (Gambas al ajillo) was made with a brandy sauce which imparted an odd, and overpowering taste, the the shrimp. The cheese plate was a bit disappointing (served w/o bread and with small portions of cheese).

Overall we enjoyed the evening, did not feel rushed and liked the wine (Finca Buenavista

Valsotillo, Tempranillo 2012).

Tags: People Watching, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We ordered from the tapas menu and the i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We ordered from the tapas menu and the issue was winnowing down our choices to a reasonable number of selections. The food was good, the service prompt, and we made to the theater without feeling rushed.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Tapas, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Creative, flavorful tapas. Fair price, g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Creative, flavorful tapas. Fair price, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always great. Ate here 2 nights ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food is always great. Ate here 2 nights in a row. Love Jaleo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had the chef's selectio ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband and I had the chef's selection of tapas and it was fantastic. Great location. Easy access to metro. Get the sangria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time, the sangria (white) ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a great time, the sangria (white) was excellent, and some of the food was exceptional. Pan de cristal de tomate was simple, fresh, perfect. Asparagus with romanesco, oysters gin and tonic, and fennel salad were delicious. Especially recommend the grilled boneless shoulder with mashed potatoes and red pepper confit. Our group of six also shared four desserts, including olive oil ice cream with grapefruit granita, and left not a speck. So what kept our meal from perfect scores? Croquetas were not a big hit, nor was the hamburguesa, and our server, although helpful when we asked for recommendations, seemed distracted, and we had long waits to order. The experience was fun, a little frenetic, almost but not quite five stars. And would we return? Definitely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Service was off, perhaps because the res ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was off, perhaps because the restaurant was exceptionally busy. I usually rate the servic e more highly. Food, excellent as always. One of DC's best places to dine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great tapas - they really know how to co ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great tapas - they really know how to cook vegetables!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We took our grandsons and they enjoyed s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We took our grandsons and they enjoyed sitting at the Foosbal table. $7.50 for a burger slider is pretty steep for a 7 year old who can eat 2 or 3 but the boys loved it. The 9 year old declared it his new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Broad selection of Spanish dishes. The c ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Broad selection of Spanish dishes. The choices are daunting at first, but our server, Jeff, was very informative, patient, and up to speed on all the selections. Food was quite good, bursting with flavor, and attractively presented. A lively atmosphere, but we had pleasant conversation and loved the view of the street. A fun evening.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been to Jaleo a number of times ove ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Have been to Jaleo a number of times over many years and it never disappoints. Plan to go back for our next theater trip in March our last experience was so perfect.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.