About Jaleo DC

480 7th St. NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés. Jaleo offers an impressive assortment of tapas, the traditional small dishes of Spain, as well as savory paellas, superb sangrias and a fine selection of Spanish wines and Sherries in a festive, casual atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday – Thursday: 11 AM – 11 PM
Friday: 11 AM – midnight
Saturday: 11 AM – midnight
Sunday: 11 AM – 10 PM
Monday: 11 AM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
E St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-7949

Website:
http://www.jaleo.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-7949.

Public Transit:
We are located 1 block south of the Gallery Place/Chinatown metro station on the yellow, green and red lines. Take the 7th and Arena exit, walk one block south. The restaurant is located on the right hand corner of 7th and E St.

We are also 1 block North of Arhives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter station on the green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
José Andres; Head Chef Rodolfo Guzman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of the Penn Quarter, the lively atmosphere of Jaleo DC makes it a great place to host a lunch or dinner. For menus, pricing, availability and other information on events at Jaleo, please contact our Events Manager at (202) 628-7949.

Restaurant Photos

Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Jaleo DC
Iberico Ham-Burger  Sliders
100% Jamon Iberico de Bellota 36Months $198/50gram.
Sea Urchin Toasts
Datiles Con Tocino 'Como Hace Todo El Mundo' Fried Dates Wrapped In Bacon Served With Apple Mustard Sauce
Papas Arrugas
Sangria
Jamon Ibérico Serrano
Queso Manchego
Sangria Rioja
Rosemary Garlic Olive Oil
Chocolate Flan
olive oil ice cream
Endive
Wilted Spinach
cauliflower.
Chorizo
Pimentos Del Piquillo A La Plancha
Mejillones A La Vinaigrette
Erizos de mar con pipirrana
Flan
Pulpo a la Gallega
Patatas Bravas
Pan De Cristal Con Tomate
Hometown Hero Y Mezcal
Skirt Steak
Pulpo a la Gallego (Galician Octopus)
Gambas
Croquetas
Beer Battered Shrimp
gaspacho

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés We offer a variety of spaces for your special event.

Jaleo DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Spanish
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

fit for foodies (348)
good for groups (213)
special occasion (172)
See All
hot spot (153)
neighborhood gem (121)
great for lunch (117)
vibrant bar scene (88)
notable wine list (56)
romantic (49)
great for brunch (41)
kid-friendly (40)
late-night find (34)
great for outdoor dining (27)
scenic view (8)
Sort By:
Newest
5137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, as always! Very attentive w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, as always! Very attentive waiter who treated me and my guest to dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, especially the vegetable ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent food, especially the vegetables but the scallops were fantastic as well.

Sinful deserts.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Sarai gave us a great introdu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our server Sarai gave us a great introduction to Tapas with her knowledgeable recommendations. She was very friendly and happily spent the time we needed with her, as busy as she was attending other patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My birthday. We had a great time. Good ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My birthday. We had a great time. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Jaleo was marvelous. The sangria was es ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Jaleo was marvelous. The sangria was especially delicious, not-too-sweet, and very aesthetically pleasing as well. The small plates were delectable, and the pacing of their delivery to the table kept things interesting.

The host staff were also very accommodating regarding a same day change to the reservation, requiring a larger table on a busy Friday night. Loved it, and will return the next time we're in Downtown/Chinatown DC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon arriving, our Open Table reservatio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Upon arriving, our Open Table reservation was not in their computer system, despite putting the reservation in online an hour prior to arriving. The hostess was able to seat us within a few minutes. The ambience was eclectic and fun. The waitor was kind and knowledgeable. My friend and I chose the chef tasting for $50.00 per person. The tapas tasted wonderful, were presented well, and came out in a timely fashion. We were pleasantly full a course or two before dessert was even introduced. Overall it was a very fun experience for us. We love trying new foods and I had Jaleo recommended to me several times. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love Jaleo ---- it maintains the old f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I love Jaleo ---- it maintains the old favorites and introduces new items as well. I almost always have the garlic shrimp, cauliflower with dates and olives and then try a new thing or two. Staff is great.

I have been a stead patron for 22 years and will continue. Jose is a tremendous asset to the DC community and beyond.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A party of six, some veterans of tapas a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A party of six, some veterans of tapas and others newcomers,we each ordered the classic tasting menu and loved it. Great combination of flavors. Lots of food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jasmine laid down the perfect meal. Just ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Jasmine laid down the perfect meal. Just ask for advice. Barrafuta sausage, iberico ham, fennel salad. They will lead you to a great meal if you will just let go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My colleague & I had the $70 tasting men ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My colleague & I had the $70 tasting menu with the incredible $58 sangria and we were both totally blown away. It was served in 9 waves and included 19 different dishes. The server explained each dish and the courses were served at a pace to allow you to savor each taste. We dined for 2 hours and 15 minutes. I took pictures of each dish to show my son who recommended the restaurant and I have already shown them to several others . I am a very frequent diner and this was one of the most memorable dining experiences of my life.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointing service can color the enti ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Disappointing service can color the entire experience of a restaurant. I might try Jaleo again, but I would seek out other options first. Examples:

(1) after I'd waited 10 minutes for any service, he brought me a drink menu and immediately asked what I wanted. I asked for a minute to look at the menu ... and another 8 minutes passed.

(2) I told the waiter I am allergic to almonds, but explicitly said that pistachios and walnuts, both of which were in items I ordered, were 100% fine for me to eat. He decided to withhold the walnut bread on the cheese plate, but did not bring a substitute and offered no explanation (maybe the walnut bread also had almond flour, but without an explanation ...).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We celebrated a special occasion . This ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We celebrated a special occasion . This time we had the restaurant choose the tapas dishes fron the Classic menu. Yum. Delightful . Next time we'll drink sangria, also yum.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first trip to Jaleo. What a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was my first trip to Jaleo. What a fantastically fun restaurant! The food was superb, the atmosphere great and the staff pleasant. I'll definitely be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful dining experience!! Special oc ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful dining experience!! Special occasion dinner(our daughter got her MBA) so this dinner was our treat!! Opted for the chef's tasting and we were blown away!! Every tasty course was followed by one even better. They were ALL so fantastic. Our server and ancillary staff were stellar. Just wish we didn't live in MICHIGAN because I would definitely go back. If we are ever in DC again,this is a must go to again place. Would also LOVE to try the other Jose Andres restaraunts in DC.

THANK YOU for an incredible dinner :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Husband and I have been dining here p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My Husband and I have been dining here periodically over the last 12 years and have never been disappointed with the food or service. This was our first visit in a couple of years and again they did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was a must for the foodies in my fa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was a must for the foodies in my family, with 9 of us in tow, they did a wonderful job catering to the needs of a 6 year old, a garlic allergy, and one that is on a diet. The service was a little inattentive, we were all in a sangria mood, but it took too long and everyone seemed to lose interest. Overall, fantastic food, and just the right size for everyone to nibble a little before more museums!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Best tapas we have had. Highly recommend ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best tapas we have had. Highly recommend. Must do in DC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very tasty, creative restaurant with som ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very tasty, creative restaurant with some of the most authentic Spanish food you can find in the DMV. Can get a bit on the pricey side, but usually well worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always love the small plates here; great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Always love the small plates here; great for sharing and always delicious. The paella's cost was steep at $40 since it only had chicken and mushrooms and very little of either. Still, I love this place because of the atmosphere, the service (especially the bar area) and the superlative small plates. Always a fun spot to meet friends and enjoy a fantastic meal. The white sangria is out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Visited here with a friend. We shared a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Visited here with a friend. We shared a paella dish that was made with black rice, squid ink, and octopus. The paella was delicious! The squid ink left our mouths black, but it was worth the temporary embarrassment because the meal was so tasty! Will definitely recommend Jaleo to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We tried a variety of small plates and e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We tried a variety of small plates and every bite was delicious! The "small plates" are generous in size for that description. A great place for sharing several items among diners.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great - we go here every time we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always great - we go here every time we visit DC. The olive oil ice cream over grapefruit ice was so so good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter was fantastic. He spent a lo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The waiter was fantastic. He spent a lot of time talking with us making the experience more enjoyable. The food was amazing and the waiter recommended some fun things we might not have tried otherwise.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've eaten several times at Jaleo DC an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We've eaten several times at Jaleo DC and the food is great, as it was this time, but service was terrible. In the 5:15 reservation we indicated that we had theater tickets for 7:00. After being seated we waited 13 minutes before someone brought us water. We then had to flag down a second person to get a drink menu. Our first server was simply awful, couldn't answer simple questions, and didn't know the drinks menu. After we placed our order, she brought out the second plate and, while standing next to our table, began a discussion with a co-worker--all while still holding our food-almost comical. Somehow, she then disappeared and another server came over, who was great, very knowledgeable and attentive. Maybe this one server was an aberration, not sure, but given all the wonderful DC dining options, no one should put up with sub-standard service, regardless of how good the food is; pretty disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Very inconsistent dinner. Ordered five ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very inconsistent dinner. Ordered five plates (Ham Croquettes, gambas times two, a risotto-like dish w/ mushrooms and the pork slider). Croquettes were OUTSTANDING! The "risotto" was very good; the slider uninspiring; the gambas were under-seasoned (almost no hit of garlic), lukewarm and overcooked: dense and rubbery - had the texture of frozen, farm-raised and precooked shrimp - considered sending them back but they were edible (I'm really not a whingeing guest) and had a pressing social engagement to get to. The food-runners were overall excellent -- polite and informative and most dishes save gambas arrived piping-hot. Wait service was problematic with long waits before initial greeting and delayed/ forgotten beverage orders. Ambiance was lacking as we were seated in Siberia at a two-top that wobbled despite my best efforts throughout the meal. The table was also next to the wait-staff room so had a continuous stream of traffic. Finally, the restaurant seemed, well, a bit dowdy and could do with a facelift. As a side note, the seasoned olive oil was outstanding -- amongst the best I've ever had; downside was that the bread was a bit elderly and "scrunched" down into a dense mass -- hard handling while slicing?; definitely undeserving as a foil to that fine oil

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

The vast menu was perfect for trying and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The vast menu was perfect for trying and tasting many different items that we were curious about, and the portion sizes were perfect for sharing. The waiter we had was wonderful, and very generous with our Cuba Libres. A whole lot more authentic and enjoyable than other tapas places I had been to, and I would definitely go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for early dinner before a show - sm ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went for early dinner before a show - small plates made for easy dining as we were pressed for time and - as usual - the food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Brilliant consistency over the years. Fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Brilliant consistency over the years. Food is imaginative, high quality ingredients, superbly prepared.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have enjoyed eating at Jaleo numerous ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I have enjoyed eating at Jaleo numerous times over the years, but my very recent visit was the most outstanding. There were five in our party for lunch, and each ordered two or three tapas. We shared everything, and each portion was enough for everyone to get a good taste and incredible variety. We enjoyed each item. The vegetable stew topped with eggs was particularly outstanding, as were the chorizo over mashed potatoes, the cauliflower with dates and olives, and the shrimp with garlic. We also ordered two desserts to share -- the grapefruit with olive oil ice cream and a hazelnut chocolate mousse cake. I never would have ordered the former, which was the choice of one in our party, but that is why sharing creates such a rich experience. This dessert was so delightful that I can't wait to go back and order it again. The hazlenut chocolate mousse cake was also incredibly delicious. We all truly enjoyed our lunch at Jaleo.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, drinks, and top notch servic ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food, drinks, and top notch service that evening!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! My friend has Celiac's an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great service! My friend has Celiac's and the staff was very accommodating in providing an allergen marked menu and made sure all of our dishes were gluten free. The food was delicious and the sangria was great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Tapas. This was my first experienc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great Tapas. This was my first experience. We were somewhat abandoned by our server. In fact, the couple next to us left before ordering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellant tapas and extraordinary servic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellant tapas and extraordinary service from Sergio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My only complaint is that my dining comp ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My only complaint is that my dining companion ordered a Scotch after dinner. He asked for Dewar's or Grouse. The waiter didn't seem to have a clue what he was talking about, and ultimately brought him Glen Livet, which was much more expensive than the original order. The waiter should have talked to him about the choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Still great after all these years. Food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Still great after all these years. Food remains excellent and the wine list is better than ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We never go to DC without a visit to thi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We never go to DC without a visit to this great restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dined at Jose Andres' first restauran ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We dined at Jose Andres' first restaurant in DC which has blossomed into 3 other restaurants within ca. 4 blocks featuring small bites of Mediterranean, Mexican, and Peruvian cuisine in DC's Penn Quarter. In honor of the Basque Country program at 2016 Smithsonian Folklife Festival the restaurant featured a flight of Basque wines (apple cider, rose, and a red) and food sampler (salad, albacore tuna, and a chorizo dishes). We tried the Basque and rose wine flights, Basque salad, albacore tuna, hand-made chorizo, quail (codorniz), and roasted red peppers eggplant, and onions (escalivada). All met our high expectations for an fine dining experience! We completed our dining experince with a flight of Spanish cheeses (soft, medium hard, and hard (idiazabal), each paired with an appropiate jam). One of Jose Andres' restaurants is a must visit eatery if you visit DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was great, I love Jaleo and I go to J ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It was great, I love Jaleo and I go to Jaleo at least once a month :)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever we are in DC Jaleo is a must fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Whenever we are in DC Jaleo is a must for our family. The staff and food are fabulous. The peppers on the Basque menu were out of this world delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality and detail of the dishes was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The quality and detail of the dishes was outatanding. Best spanish restaurant I have been at in years. Definitely will visit again whenever back in DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.