About Jaleo DC

480 7th St. NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés. Jaleo offers an impressive assortment of tapas, the traditional small dishes of Spain, as well as savory paellas, superb sangrias and a fine selection of Spanish wines and Sherries in a festive, casual atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Spanish, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday – Thursday: 11 AM – 11 PM
Friday: 11 AM – midnight
Saturday: 11 AM – midnight
Sunday: 11 AM – 10 PM
Monday: 11 AM – 10 PM

Cross Street:
E St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 628-7949

Website:
http://www.jaleo.com/

Catering:
Catering on a whole new level; José Andrés Catering elevates catering and event planning to new heights in the Washington, DC area and beyond. Now you can experience the inspired creations of celebrated chef José Andrés at your own party or venue. Visit us for more information at www.joseandrescatering.com, or call us at (202) 628-7949.

Public Transit:
We are located 1 block south of the Gallery Place/Chinatown metro station on the yellow, green and red lines. Take the 7th and Arena exit, walk one block south. The restaurant is located on the right hand corner of 7th and E St.

We are also 1 block North of Arhives/Navy Memorial/Penn Quarter station on the green and yellow lines.

Executive Chef:
José Andres; Head Chef Rodolfo Guzman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of the Penn Quarter, the lively atmosphere of Jaleo DC makes it a great place to host a lunch or dinner. For menus, pricing, availability and other information on events at Jaleo, please contact our Events Manager at (202) 628-7949.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jaleo brings alive the spirit and flavors of Spain with a menu reflecting the rich regional diversity of classical and contemporary Spanish cuisine, under the direction of renowned chef José Andrés We offer a variety of spaces for your special event.

Jaleo DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Spanish
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Restaurants in Penn Quarter ›

fit for foodies (423)
good for groups (254)
special occasion (204)
See All
hot spot (193)
neighborhood gem (142)
great for lunch (142)
vibrant bar scene (122)
notable wine list (85)
great for brunch (55)
late-night find (52)
romantic (49)
great for outdoor dining (33)
kid-friendly (31)
scenic view (8)
Sort By:
Newest
5024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Today, I was introduced to two new dish ...

vip
Dined a day ago

Today, I was introduced to two new dishes. A soup with marinated pork and peas and a shrimp and calamari pasta dish prepared similar to paella. Delicious is not an adequate description.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food, mediocre service

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Food was wonderful, the waiter was a dud, not helpful, I asked for suggestions of new menu items, he said menu never changes, I said that while several items have remained since the opening twenty years ago there are many new items, he mentioned a few new plates and repeated that the menu is the same. Tables sat after us received bread first. Thank goodness the food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always outstanding

Dined 4 days ago

Paella always worth the wait, small plates to die for and charismatic servers. Great spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We had the pre-theatre dinner. Helped ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had the pre-theatre dinner. Helped us narrow down the many wonderful choices. We added on the wonderful white sangria. While I missed a few of the tapas I'd enjoyed before the selections were excellent and the price was quite reasonable for this type of restaurant. As always, the service was great. You can't beat Jose Andres's restaurAnts for a wonderful dining experience.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed several small plates: Apple s ...

Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed several small plates: Apple salad, dates, chicken, steak, sausage, mushroom rice...all excellent ! Nice wine selections & great service...fun dinner!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a delicious meal, beginning with ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had a delicious meal, beginning with the olives and one order of the goat cheese/membrillo small plate. The latter was difficult to share, better for one person (and delicious!). The pre-theatre dinner was a substantial amount of food, and the ensalada rusa, olive oil, and Albariño transported me momentarily to Spain. We enjoyed everything we tried.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding meal/experience at Jaleo. c ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

outstanding meal/experience at Jaleo. can't wait for the next time i'm back in town to go again! the waitstaff was insanely kind - treating you like family from the moment you sat down. food was incredible, unique, tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic food and great atmosphere. An ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Fantastic food and great atmosphere. Andres institutions never disappoint. I forgot my itemized receipt for business purposes. I called and they were very helpful. I got the receipt in hours.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

disappointing service

Dined on May 16, 2016

Service was slow and even unpleasant. Restaurant wasn't crowded. I have been here several times and the food was good as always, but this was the worst service that I have had in DC in a while.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and vibe. Dishes wer ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding service and vibe. Dishes were brought out at a very good pace. Jorge, our waiter was fabulous. There was a delay in our desserts but Jaleo and Jorge made things right- true great customer service. We'll be back!!!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Not the same place

Dined on May 15, 2016

I have been to Jaleos for many occasions and absolutely love most of the sister restaurants, but this recent visit was just not up to par. The server was not as friendly as usual, the delivery was rushed, (i.e. no love in the delivery or explanation), and the food was definitely not up to par. I selected the top of the line Jose experience tasting menu (along with wine and cocktails) and I was sorely disappointed by the delivery. I hope this was a rare event, but it was unfortunately a costly disappointment.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm still dreaming of the meal... Everyt ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I'm still dreaming of the meal... Everything exceeded our expectations. Amazing!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was great and the food wa ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The atmosphere was great and the food was amazing. The Lomo de buey con piquillos and the 'Rossejat' were outstanding, and the Flamenquines was one of the best things I've ever eaten.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just fantastic food from start to finish ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Just fantastic food from start to finish. We had the tasting menu and were astonished by the amount of plates we got to taste. Paired with a fantastic wine it was a near perfect meal. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Starting with 'Sangria Hour' and appetiz ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Starting with 'Sangria Hour' and appetizers, the Jaleo restaurant on 7th St NW is a gem. While the main seating area of the restaurant may have been a bit noisy, we were seated in a semi-secluded table for two near the front window that cut out a lot of the noise, even with a 10-top table right behind us. The 48-month cured Spanish ham was a delight, as well as the special grilled cauliflower and the creamy rice with seasonal mushrooms. Top it with a great flan for desert and it's all there!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wow, fantastic Tapas and paella. Excell ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wow, fantastic Tapas and paella. Excellent teamwork by the staff. We tried an assortment of tapas and all were fantastic. We shared a paella that was also very good. Somehow we made room for dessert and the flan was heavenly!! I was a little surprised when our waiter said the were known for their gin and tonic, doesn't seem Spanish to me, but we ordered a round. The table side presentation was great and we all agreed the best gin and tonic we had ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a special occasion a ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We were celebrating a special occasion and Jaleo went above and beyond to make it truly memorable. The food, ambiance, service and attention were outstanding. We could not have been happier with our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Maybe Jaleo has been around too long. I' ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Maybe Jaleo has been around too long. I've been there are few times and think quality has slipped. While still interesting, preparations were inconsistent with overcooked shrimp, overwhipped potatoes, odd combinations - scallops and mint? Noisy!

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All personnel were friendly and always ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

All personnel were friendly and always with a smile. Food selections were varied and great tasting. We had not been there in several years, but now we plan on going back on a more frequent basis!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Shrimp is out of this world! Iberico sli ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Shrimp is out of this world! Iberico sliders and fennel/apple salad were also very good. We had some sausage that was just average. Although the food is very good, it is also very expensive for what you get. I understand it's tapas, but it's borderline not that great of a value. Still and enjoyable experience, but one we will enjoy less often.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I was little disappointed in our overall ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I was little disappointed in our overall dining experience. It was a busy night so the service was only fair. Two people at our table did not have silverware and took several employees to finally get a knife and fork. All of the tapas came out at once and literally no room on the table. I would recommend the restaurant bring out the cold tapas first then space out the hot ones. This way a customer can enjoy all the tapas and not have cold food. This restaurant is better for couples rather than big group. I know it is a trendy restaurant but we all enjoyed the food and service more the next night at Equinox in DC.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food and service - tables too close together

Dined on May 8, 2016

Jaleo was great, as always! Went there to celebrate mother's day and it was delicious! Only small critique is that the tables are really close together. I get they want to seat as many people as possible but we were practically dining with the family at the table next to us, and could hear everything they were saying. Food was excellent and service was good, always a fun time!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent tapas and service!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent tapas choices. Our party of 9 was kept steadily supplied with tapas and refills on our drinks. The variety of tapas is impressive and the waitstaff was great at making recommendations. The red and white sangrias were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

It seems there is more pepper and garlic ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

It seems there is more pepper and garlic in the food than there used to be, especially in the gambas aolio and the patatas bravas. Please offer a few milder seasoned dishes.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for sharing!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Jaleo was recommended to us by friends and we took my parents on a recent evening. Our server was great but he was a little distracted....I think he had many tables he was trying to attend to at once. All of the food was impeccable. Our favorites were the spinach with apples , the Spanish tortilla and the bread appetizer with iberico ham. My husband and I had the sangria which was delicious and not too sweet with lots of fresh fruit. We had the chocolate dessert and it was excellent! Would definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

brilliant

Dined on May 7, 2016

from the liquid olives, the uni toasts, and crab soup to the sublime deserts, i was amazed at the food. our server was prompt, and a real pro. we loved it. jose andresand company...wow

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Tapas, Not Outstanding

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I went to lunch at Jaleo on a Saturday. I believe that on weekdays they have lunch specials, but we didn't have that option, so we ordered off the menu. We don't have a lot of experience with Tapas, but our server was very helpful, pointing out menu items we might or might not like and helping us with my wife's seafood allergy. Everything we had, we liked--but nothing really blew us away. The best item we ordered was the chicken croquettes, which arrived piping hot in a cool-looking glass sneaker. We also had cuts of chorizo, some nice cheese, a fennel-and-apple salad, and a few other dishes. I would like to go back to Jaleo, perhaps during a weekday or at dinner time to take another crack at the menu. The place was definitely worth trying, but not the best Tapas we've had, even in our limited experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

food and service was outstanding

Dined on May 6, 2016

food is great, service is great and they made my wife's birthday wonderful with a super table

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great relaxing day

Dined on May 6, 2016

Visited from out of town and had a wonderful date night. Lovely setting, great drink list and excellent food. Lovely dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Very Helpful Waiter

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our very helpful waiter recommended what I'll call the lunch prix fixe menu, which, in the end, my companion and I agreed (with the waiter) was a good bargain. It also made choosing our dishes much less demanding and gave us more time to get caught up. All of the items were good and the portions were just right--we left satisfied but not over-full.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food, but....

Dined on May 4, 2016

We dined here on a trip 6 years ago and enjoy the experience so much we made two separate locations for this trip. We enjoy the ambience much more on our visit six years ago. The new break mural behind the bar just does not compare to the beautiful painting that was there before. The service was not up to par for this level of restaurant. The wrong main dish was brought to our table and it took quite a while to get the correct dish. We also did not get one of the dishes ordered until the waiter was reminded. We were not offered an apology by the wait staff, a drink while we waited, etc. We canceled our second reservation for later in the trip due to this experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to Impress

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The food is superb. The staff are deserving of a "shout out". Everyone with whom I interacted deomonstrated a positive attitude and a dedication to making the Jaleo experience great. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Great Food Slow Service

Dined on May 4, 2016

Jaleo is one of the restaurants I always take people when they are in town on business. The food and service are always great, and there's something for everyone. On this occasion the wait staff was extremely slow, despite us telling them we were on a time crunch (1 hour), no one came by to offer drinks other than water, and we had to ask for the check 3 times. This might be understandable if the staff were busy, but we were one of the few occupied tables in the restaurant, and there were plenty of wait staff standing around. I hope this is an exception and not a rule, or I'll have to find a quicker place for business lunches.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love Jaleo!

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

I have been eating at Jaleo for over 20 years and have rarely found any fault with anything. The food is always great. I have my favorites (garlic shrimp, spinach, cauliflower, various salads) but usually to try at least one new item. Staff is good. My only complaint is that with tapas you don't always get them in the order you would like. Jose Andres is a visionary and an outstanding member of the community --- not only in the restaurant business, but in his broader commitment to helping people in need.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great and we went out of ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Everything was great and we went out of our comfort zone on several items. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You'll wake up dreaming about it.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Three generations of our family have loved eating at Jaleo, and lots of friends have too. Three of us had a leisurely dinner. I'd asked if we could have a quieter table, if possible, and we were seated in a little window nook. The service was cordial, meticulous and attentive, whether it was the staff in front or wait staff. The food was exceptional. A molecular gastronomy olive just exploded with flavor. The food is chosen with such care, be sure and try something with the jamon and the Spanish cheeses. We had a little bit of everything, scallops in a lively and refreshing spring pea and mint dressing, a robust chorizo, spinach with pine nuts, apple, etc. Everything was delicious. The bottle of rose with the meal was excellent. Probably everyone should try their flan once; it is elevated and simple at the same time. A second chocolate custard dessert was inventive and killer. Several people checked in during the meal and with the check to thank us for coming and to make sure we were having a good experience (this wasn't obnoxious, but gracious.)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Tapas are amazing

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

This was my second time back to Jaleo, and it did not disappoint. Fantastic tapas, most notably the Gazpacho and the Apple, Manchego & Fennel Salad. My only complaint is that all of our tapas came out of the kitchen at almost the same time, so we were overloaded with food. The menu is so large that I'll keep coming back to try more every time we're in DC!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice place for family and friends. ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Very nice place for family and friends. Expensive. The food and service was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Jaleo never disappoints with anything we ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Jaleo never disappoints with anything we have chosen from their menu. And so happy to see the return of the baby artichokes. They were delicious! The grilled asparagus with Romesco is such a perfect flavor/texture combination; we hope it will stay on the menu for a very long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favourite places to ea ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is one of my favourite places to eat in DC because of the great fresh flavours. I hadn't been back since my last trip to DC and it certainly didn't disappoint. My old favourite dishes were better than I remembered and new dishes were fun and enjoyable to discover.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.