About Jake's - Palm Springs

This hip-yet-casual American bistro serves up fresh, innovative fare and comfort food favorites, along with beverages from a full bar. Dine alfresco in our charming courtyard or sleek dining room. Join us for lunch, dinner, or brunch (served Sat. and Sun.) Takeout and catering available for your next event.
VOTED TOP 100 OUTDOOR DINING RESTAURANT IN USA BY OPEN TABLE USERS!

664 North Palm Canyon Drive
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday- Friday: 11:00am - 2:45pm;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:45pm;
Dinner: -Tuesday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:45pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:45pm

Cross Street:
Granvia Valmonte & Tamarisk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-4400

Website:
http://www.jakespalmsprings.com/

Entertainment:
Jake's is great for people watching, and some times the staff is entertaining to watch, however we have no paid live entertainment!

Catering:
Catering is offered on an event by event basis. Please call the restaurant directly for more information.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street

Public Transit:
PS Buzz stop across the street on palm canyon drive

Executive Chef:
Mario Curci

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jake's - Palm Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (76)
Neighborhood Gem (68)
Good for a Date (57)
See All
Great for Lunch (55)
Casual (54)
Special Occasion (50)
Great for Brunch (47)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Cozy (36)
Romantic (32)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Bar Seating (27)
Hot Spot (25)
People Watching (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fun (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Business Meals (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Healthy (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Scenic View (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Quick Bite (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorites when in Palm Spring ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

One of our favorites when in Palm Springs. Great food and service. The cakes are so so. We had the calamari and filet wedge salads. Even the kids enjoyed--meatloaf.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Jake's NEVER disappoints. Quality, class ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Jake's NEVER disappoints. Quality, classy yet casual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice outdoor dining. The food is go ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice outdoor dining. The food is good - not great. Even though we had a reservation we had to wait 15 minutes for a table. The waitress was very attentive - but the runners were a bit mixed up and confused (removing all silverware and dishes after only appetizers were served, mixing up the entrees among the guests, etc.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had dinner with a friend there. Vegetar ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Had dinner with a friend there. Vegetarian option (eggplant) was very tasty. Their deserts, mile high cakes and many varieties are so good, always save room for them! Love their "dining room" with only the open sky for a ceiling! Was noisy during dinner but every restaurant is noisy now - unless they are not busy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Valentine's day. They seemed overwhelme ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentine's day. They seemed overwhelmed. Service was poor,. Slow fake friendly but dismissive. Amuse bouche was 1/4 of a med. size shrimp! Took desert order, then bought "free" choc. covered strawberries. My steak was grossly overcooked but all too busy to send it back. We still like Jake's but stay away on occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Jake's is our favorite restaurant in Pal ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Jake's is our favorite restaurant in Palm Springs and has been for years !

Our third Valentine's Dinner in a row and always perfection - such good food and service and atmosphere........on the patio.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Jakes is a lovely place to eat outside o ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Jakes is a lovely place to eat outside on a beautiful day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything was wonderful. Service was ex ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was wonderful. Service was excellent from start to finish. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice brunch spot. I'm gluten free out of ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice brunch spot. I'm gluten free out of necessity, and the restaurant was very good in accommodating my needs. It was a lovely, sunny day and it is always my first choice to eat outside, especially when coming from cold, snowy winter at home. Jakes accepts walkins and reservations. Many brunch spots require lining up for hours: not my style! And Jake is named after a lovely little dog named Jake! Now that's a winning combo. Good food good service and fun people watching!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quick Bite, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fun Hip Spot. Food is great. Service awe ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fun Hip Spot. Food is great. Service awesome. Love this place!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a large group, and Jake's accomm ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were a large group, and Jake's accommodated us with separate checks. The service was friendly and efficient. The entrees were good, but not extraordinary, and the menu was not real creative.

What was extraordinary was the cake! One piece was enough for 4 - 5 people, and everyone agreed it was amazing. It seems as if many people come to Jake's primarily for the cake.

Jake's should think about adding a restroom. One shared male/female one-person rest room for the entire restaurant is ridiculous, considering the population. No fun having a continuous restroom waiting line. Detracts from the experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Back Table on Patio by the Bar Far Left ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Back Table on Patio by the Bar Far Left as you walk in where chair's kept had a Draft flowing right through would be only thing we would have changed. Food and everything else was Just GREAT!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, , Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We love Jake's so much that we had dinne ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love Jake's so much that we had dinner there twice during our trip to PS last week.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food! Beautiful environment. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food! Beautiful environment. Excellent service. Great vibe and casual, but elengantly understated.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jake's, as always, provided fine food an ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Jake's, as always, provided fine food and superior service.

The chef is one of the best in Coachella Valley.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Really enjoyed dinner at Jake's. The foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Really enjoyed dinner at Jake's. The food was great - try the swordfish it's fabulous. Service was a little over attentive, but I'll put that down to me being European and not being used to that level of interruption. Still, I would recommend Jake's for dinner and especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our favorite restaurant in PS . The food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in PS . The food is always excellent, the service and ambiance is the best! Love the Sea Bass!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was awesome as usual always enjoy di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was awesome as usual always enjoy dining at jakes

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only problem with the menu is WHAT t ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The only problem with the menu is WHAT to order!!! Everything sounds so great. There were 4 of us and everybody LOVED what they ordered. Salads, main course, AND save room for dessert. Great service, ambiance, and food. What more could you want!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great atmosph ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food, great service, great atmosphere, love this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always. Have met some wond ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fantastic as always. Have met some wonderful people (other diners) seated at the bar. Staff and owners are wonderful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are many MANY food choices in Palm ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

There are many MANY food choices in Palm Springs. Jake's never disappoints. The owners Bruce and Chris are always on site greeting the clients . This is MY FAVORITE GO TO RESTAURANT!!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a romantic birthday dinner here. I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Had a romantic birthday dinner here. It's upscale without being pretentious. Food and wine were outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

jakes is consistently good and the servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

jakes is consistently good and the service is steady.

Be forewarned the portions, at least for what we ordered, are quite generous.

Unless you have a hearty appetite, you'll be taking home leftovers.

The meatloaf mac and cheese entree comes to mind as an example of abundance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Jake's is consistently one of my favorit ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Jake's is consistently one of my favorite restaurants in Palm Springs. This latest meal was a Sunday brunch and my crabcake benedict was the best I've been able to find on the West Coast (I'm used to Maryland crabcakes!). Fortunately I had reservations as there were several conventions in town and all restaurants in the area had long waits otherwise. Even with the crowds we did not feel at all rushed although their service is normally first rate so this was not unusual.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jakes is a great restaurant; friendly st ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Jakes is a great restaurant; friendly staff, great food and perfect location. I've never had a less than wonderful experience there. I highly recommend Jakes to everyone - locals and visitors!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, , Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Historic, Authentic, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at Jake's at least once a month a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We eat at Jake's at least once a month and they never fail to be a totally reliable restaurant to have great food and friendly staff. I had the lamb chops and they were perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Jake's never disappoints! The drinks, fo ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Jake's never disappoints! The drinks, food and service are always great and sitting on the patio is delightful. The hardest

part is making a choice from all the tempting choices on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My partner's pork chop was done to perfe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My partner's pork chop was done to perfection, which, to his fussy standards, is a great accomplishment. My filet was done just as I like it, too. Our waiter was friendly and attentive, the owner adjusted the outdoor heater as soon as I requested it, and the cake, oh the cake, was delicious as always, even though it wasn't the salted caramel one we love so much.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was slow and very poor. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our service was slow and very poor. The food was just OK. We would not recommend this to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Jake's is the best al fresco dining in P ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Jake's is the best al fresco dining in PS!

We had a group of 6 - some of whom were coming from golf and were going to be a little late and Jake's was great in changing the reservation and in communication. We were chatty at lunch and were never rushed. Salads were delish! Deserts are HUGE - four of us split an apple pie!

Thanks Jake's!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We always have a great dining experience ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We always have a great dining experience at Jake's. I love their weekend brunch menu. The service was exceptional as it always is. I highly recommend Jake's for dinner and brunch. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely delicious Sunday brunch with ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Absolutely delicious Sunday brunch with out-of-town friends. Varied menu, great beverage list, and I challenge you to walk out without trying one of their gorgeous and delicious cakes. We took ours to go because we were full from brunch. Not only do the cakes look spectacular, they are also very fresh.

All of the serving staff was so gracious and anticipated guest needs.

We recently moved to the valley and this is our new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Sunday Brunch at Jake's, and had ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had Sunday Brunch at Jake's, and had a wonderful time. The setting is Palm Springs casual with a laid back "funky" feel. The best seating is out on the patio. It's less noisy and not so dark. I had the Croquet Benedict, and although the portions were small, the dish was very good. My companion had the Miami Vice Salad. The romaine lettuce was somewhat bitter and the salad was underdressed. They were happy to provide additional dressing. There were generous portions of tasty jumbo shrimp mixed into the salad. The waiters were attentive and pleasant. The highlight of the meal were the tangy and tasty bloody marys, and the coconut cake was scrumptious. I would return to Jake's. There were so many unique menu items I'd like to try in the future.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had a great brunch with some unique food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a great brunch with some unique food and awesome bloody Mary's !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved it! Great brunch spot on a nice da ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Loved it! Great brunch spot on a nice day. Save room for cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not good. Salty burnt food. Butter sal ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Not good. Salty burnt food. Butter salad. Poor and rushed , terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Our server couldn't have been more enjoy ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our server couldn't have been more enjoyable and professional. Food was outstanding. Fun, festive and satisfying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jake's serves excellent food from an ecl ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Jake's serves excellent food from an eclectic menu. The atmosphere is friendly and inviting, with both indoor and patio options. Service is good tho occasionally erratic. I've only had lunch here, which I've enjoyed very much. You may have to walk a bit since parking is at a premium in this neighborhood midday.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had outstanding service and delicious ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had outstanding service and delicious food. The tables are too close together and a little crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.