About Jake's - Palm Springs

664 North Palm Canyon Drive
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

This hip-yet-casual American bistro serves up fresh, innovative fare and comfort food favorites, along with beverages from a full bar. Dine alfresco in our charming courtyard or sleek dining room. Join us for lunch, dinner, or brunch (served Sat. and Sun.) Takeout and catering available for your next event.
VOTED TOP 100 OUTDOOR DINING RESTAURANT IN USA BY OPEN TABLE USERS!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
LATE SEASON HOURS!
Lunch: Thursday- Friday: 11:00am - 2:45pm;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:45pm;
Dinner: - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:45pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:45pm

CLOSED FOR THE SEASON AFTER BRUNCH ON JULY 3
RE-OPEN SEPTEMBER 27

Cross Street:
Granvia Valmonte & Tamarisk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-4400

Website:
http://www.jakespalmsprings.com/

Catering:
Catering is offered on an event by event basis. Please call the restaurant directly for more information.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street or in the Bank of American ATM parking lot located on Indian Canyon Way.

Executive Chef:
Mario Curci

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Restaurant Photos

Jake's - Palm Springs
Jake's - Palm Springs
Jake's - Palm Springs
Soft Shell Crab "Blt"
Maple Bacon
Caprese Fritta With Arugula Salad
Horseradish Bloody Mary
Chicken Milanese
Lobster Tempura
Mahi Mahi
Wedge Salad
Fudge Marble Cake Inside Shot
Tri Colore Salad
Amuse Bouche
dopio espresso
Cauliflower Soup
Seafood Pad Thai
Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcake
Soft Shell Crab Blt
Monte Cubano Sandwich
Petite Filet Mignon and Wedge Salad
Miami Vice Salad
Coconut Cake
Chicken Curry Wrap
Chocolate Cake
Crabcake Benedict
fish tacos
Peanut Butter Chocolate Ice Cream Pie
White Sangria
chicken milanese sandwich
Spicy Bloody Mary
Jake's Sandwich
Ceasar Salad
Filet mignon and eggs
Cinnamon Bun
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Monte Cubana
Pork Chop Stuffed W/ Fontina & Mushrooms, Broccolini & Wasabi Mashed Potatoes, Cabernet Sauce
Roasted Lamb Sandwich
Arnold Palmer
Mushroom soup
Egg Salad Sandwich

Jake's - Palm Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Contemporary American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Value
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
1 More
Contemporary American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

great for outdoor dining (157)
neighborhood gem (146)
fit for foodies (137)
See All
great for brunch (104)
great for lunch (101)
special occasion (93)
romantic (67)
hot spot (58)
good for groups (39)
notable wine list (34)
scenic view (14)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
1119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had to be at Jake's for the last dinn ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had to be at Jake's for the last dinner service of the season. Closed until SEP, so we're counting the days when they reopen. Two of us had the filet, both a perfect temperature, and two had the cioppino, which is full of seafood and the broth is super delicious. Started out with crab cakes, excellent, and watermelon gazpacho, which doesn't seem to be on anyones menu elsewhere and very refreshing on a hot day. To everyone at Jakes, have a great summer!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place to eat. The ribs and mea ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic place to eat. The ribs and meatloaf were the best that we have ever eaten. Highly recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A MUST GO-TO PLACE EVERY TIME WE VISIT P ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A MUST GO-TO PLACE EVERY TIME WE VISIT PALM SPRINGS. NEVER EVER A BAD EXPERIENCE AND THE CAKES ARE WORTH THE TRIP ALONE! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fish tacos and Bloody Mary!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great fish tacos and Bloody Mary!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we live in palm springs and eat brunch h ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

we live in palm springs and eat brunch here often. they have a small outdoor

patio, which has a garden look. the bar is located outside and the bartenders

are great. there is also a dining area inside. this is a great place to enjoy

a meal outside when the weather is good. they close for the summer months.

when you are visiting the area Jakes should be on your list.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jake's is a great liitle hidden gem. I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Jake's is a great liitle hidden gem. I like to order a few appetizers as my meal. The lobster tempura and special scallop and lobster ceviche tostada were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

THE SOFTSHELL CRAB BLT WAS THE BEST SAND ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

THE SOFTSHELL CRAB BLT WAS THE BEST SANDWICH I'VE HAD FOR AGES. TOO HOT FOR OUTSIDE, AM LOOKING FORWARD TO COOLER TIMES . BRENDAK

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

They had no air conditioning which made ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

They had no air conditioning which made it a very unpleasant experience they say they had it on but I do not think they have one I believe they only have a swamp cooler which does not work very well for a room fill of people trying to relax and have a cool pleasant time.

They had a single overhead fan on for a room filled with people which was just moving air around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

The only fault I've ever found at Jakes ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The only fault I've ever found at Jakes is getting a good table. Even though my wife and I have reservations and are the first to arrive at the restaurant, we can never get a table we ask for. It is always reserved for someone else. Food is always good and fairly priced for Palm Springs. The atmosphere is busy but not extremely loud which allows for casual conversation. Wait staff is always good except for the hostess that never puts us where we would like to sit and never has a good explanation as to why.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Love everything about Jake's. And the Sa ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love everything about Jake's. And the Salted Carmel and the Coconut cakes are worth the trip just for then. Bruce and Chris could not be smarter or nicer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took friends for one last Jake's brun ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We took friends for one last Jake's brunch before summer break. The food is excellent and the owners and staff are wonderful. Sadly, we can't get our fix again before they reopen in September. But we'll be there when the doors open!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was AMAZING!!! And Jake is ador ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was AMAZING!!! And Jake is adorable! Service was a little slow, but nothing to keep from going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Consistently excellent food. Service wa ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Consistently excellent food. Service was perfect. It just doesn't get better than having an evening at Jake's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted to go someplace different for ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We wanted to go someplace different for Father's Day brunch and found out about Jake's online.

Fabulous food, outstanding service. The brunch menu was very diverse with interesting choices. The best Bloody Mary I've ever had. Incredible We will definitely be coming back in the Fall.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We sat inside and that may have been the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We sat inside and that may have been the problem. Very small seating area--not much atmosphere. Service just OK. Had to ask twice for a few things.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

As always- great food

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

As always- great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was our first time at Jake's, but def ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It was our first time at Jake's, but definitely not our last. A beautiful courtyard setting with great attentive staff. Try the caperberry martini! OMG, it is so good! And a perfect companion to the lobster tempura appetizer....The sea bass was perfectly cooked. My dining partner had the meatloaf and scarfed down every last morsel. Said it was some of the best. Highly recommend Jake's. We look forward to a return visit!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jakes is always reliable. There is some ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Jakes is always reliable. There is something for all tastes. The owners are present and it shows. Love that they call to confirm your reservation & honour it!-like a fine michelin star European restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the special manila clams entree, w ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I had the special manila clams entree, which I spooned up every bit or broth and my partner had the always-great swordfish entree. We usually share the tuna tartare and the wedge to star, which we did again. We are very regular diners at Jakes --- never disappoints.

Starting to go through Jakes' withdrawal symptoms as currently closed 2 extra days and soon will be closed for summer break. We start counting the days soon until they reopen in the fall!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ahi tuna is one of the best around, ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The ahi tuna is one of the best around, also the tricolor salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed the restaurant week menu. Staff ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Enjoyed the restaurant week menu. Staff was very friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Should not have had to wait 30 minutes w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Should not have had to wait 30 minutes with a reservation! A comped glass of wine would have gone a long way. Locals remember things like this. Food was well presented and tasty. 3 of our party of 4 enjoyed their entrees, the chicken marsala quite tough and rubbery. Unusual for Jakes, maybe too busy during Restaurant Week.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A Palm Springs Tradition

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Jake's is really a bit of a Palm Springs landmark. Gorgeous outdoor seating in the heart of the design district with an eclectic menu. The service is always excellent and friendly. If you're in the mood for a salad, the trio of salads that you a select from their wide number of choices is truly delicious. We enjoy lunch and dinner at Jake's and dine there regularly. The only reason why I don't rate it with 5 stars is that it's just not that type of restaurant. Jake's is casual and unpretentious and the prices are reasonable for all of their dishes and drinks. You can't go wrong with Jake's.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Scallops, calamari and beet salad were e ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Scallops, calamari and beet salad were excellent. Service was just right and not intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food great; setting great; value great; ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food great; setting great; value great; service poor--from the beginning when our seating was 35 minutes late to the no service we had throughout the meal to the final check.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Great Food - Uncomfortable Table and Seating

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food at Jake's is always very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our appetizers, entrees, and decadent deserts. The outside tables and chairs do not make for a comfortable experience though. A table for four is no bigger than a table for two. There is no room for beverages, plates, and utensils when four people are seated at such a small table. The chairs are also hard as a rock. Cushions would be nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Always excellent

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We brought friends to Jake's for the first time. As expected, they have now delared Jake's to be their favorite restaurant in Palm Springs. Jake's is an evening of fine dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great place!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was fantastic, service was perfect! We were there during Restaurant Week, and our choices were plenty, including scallops, which is not on the regular menu; I hope that they will get added!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was great the only problem it is su ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was great the only problem it is summer and the available seating was outside.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best in Palm Springs

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Palm Springs. Imaginative (but not weird) food, terrific brunch. And lunch, and dinner...

But best of all may be their array of house-baked cakes. Make sure you save room!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and friendly ambieance

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Food was terrific choices for restaurant week specials were well varied. Should be no problem in satisfying almost any palatte. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The special omelette was delicious. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The special omelette was delicious. The hot waiter was also delicious. A lovely place to sit indoors

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A small restaurant with big deserts.

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were in Palm Springs for a wedding and were looking for a restaurant nearby to grab lunch with friends. Jake's menu and service were great for the occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Jakes

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great service and food. Definetly recommend this place to friends traveling to Palm Springs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always very happy at jakes. Great servi ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Always very happy at jakes. Great service, great cuisine. Never disappointed!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choices for restaurant week. Fant ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great choices for restaurant week. Fantastic ribs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Parking is difficult - majority is patio seating

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Although the food was better than average, the parking situation does not lend for an enjoyable experience. Drove around 10 minutes before we found a spot and this is off-season! Service was spot on - until the server who was refilling water and beverage wiped his nose first with one hand and then the other and never went to wash his hands! It was a triple digit evening and most of the seating is on a patio -- very warm. Our first time so did not know to reserve inside seating. Distracting music increased the level of conversation.

Tried once... will not go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We both had great meals on a Sat. during ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We both had great meals on a Sat. during Restaurant Week. All 3 courses of both meals were very good. Service was top notch and even though it was113 degrees it was still pleasant enough on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always great!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything was perfect: Ahi tuna salad, tempura crab sandwich, salty caramel cake and the coconut cake. Food and service and atmosphere wonderful. Always!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I normally give Jakes 5 stars across the ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I normally give Jakes 5 stars across the board but food was tad off. Ribs were dry (and I love their ribs). I got more bbq sauce and ate them.

Ashley was fabulous as always.

Thank you for doing Restaurant week once more and keeping the lower price point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.