Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Jake's - Palm Springs

This hip-yet-casual American bistro serves up fresh, innovative fare and comfort food favorites, along with beverages from a full bar. Dine alfresco in our charming courtyard or sleek dining room. Join us for lunch, dinner, or brunch (served Sat. and Sun.) Takeout and catering available for your next event.
VOTED TOP 100 OUTDOOR DINING RESTAURANT IN USA BY OPEN TABLE USERS!

664 North Palm Canyon Drive
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday- Friday: 11:00am - 2:45pm;
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:45pm;
Dinner: -Tuesday- Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:45pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:45pm

Cross Street:
Granvia Valmonte & Tamarisk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-4400

Website:
http://www.jakespalmsprings.com/

Entertainment:
Jake's is great for people watching, and some times the staff is entertaining to watch, however we have no paid live entertainment!

Catering:
Catering is offered on an event by event basis. Please call the restaurant directly for more information.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the street

Public Transit:
PS Buzz stop across the street on palm canyon drive

Executive Chef:
Mario Curci

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jake's - Palm Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (116)
Neighborhood Gem (79)
Good for a Date (69)
See All
Casual (68)
Special Occasion (64)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Great for Lunch (61)
Great for Brunch (50)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Cozy (45)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Hot Spot (42)
Fun (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (31)
Bar Seating (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
People Watching (25)
Comfort Food (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Authentic (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Groups (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Business Meals (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Seasonal (10)
Disabled Access (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Scenic View (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Had to go to Jake's one more time before they close for the summer. Always have spectacular meals and always eat too much. Jake's is our number one favorite restaurant in Palm Springs.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great brunch! We had both a bacon and a horseradish Bloody Mary. Very nice. For brunch we had the roasted vegetable omelet and the Cuban sandwich with egg. Both perfect. Friendly service by Juan rounded out a fun brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Had brunch today with friends -- so good!! And it's the last day of the season for Jake's. We've already made our Open Table reservation for September 26th.

Have a great summer away and we can't wait to be back at Jake's in SEP!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the valley. I live in Indio and have no problem driving there as the food is fabulous. Staff is so effecient. Cakes are marvelous. The presentation of the food is phenomal. GREAT GREAT GREAT!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We stopped at Jakes on our way into town - we sat on the patio which is beautiful, had amazing service and took a piece of cake and the Boston cream cupcake with us to our hotel. So good we went back for brunch on Sunday.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Try the Miami Vice salad...delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I can't believe it took me so long to finally get to Jake's. It's one of those places that always pops up in Open Table and then I end up going somewhere I've been before. I finally decided to try it for brunch this past Sunday. I noticed they were closing for the summer in a week and decided I better give it a try before they did. I'm kicking myself I've been missing out on this place for so long. We reserved and sat at one of the indoor tables. The patio is lovely and I'd love to sit out there, but it was over 100 degrees before noon that day. The A/C indoors worked great. We were given a table right by the window - great for people watching. Our server wasted no time in coming to the table. He had a huge smile and made us feel really welcome. He didn't rush our ordering but checked back often to make sure we were ok. Bloody Marys were delicious. My husband ordered the 3 egg breakfast. The eggs were cooked to perfection. There was a medley of baby potatoes (multi-colored), grilled bread with butter & jam, fresh fruit and applewood smoked bacon. At first glance the bacon seemed undercooked for his liking, but the quality was so great and the bacon so meaty that any further cooking would have ruined it. I had the Monte Cubano, a take on a Monte Cristo. The turkey tasted fresh roasted and the ham was high quality. The sandwich was lightly sauteed and there was no heavy batter. It was quite delicious and came with lightly dressed mixed greens. I had read about their deserts and while we were stuffed from our meal we decided to get a slice of cake to go. I went to check out the selections in the bakery case. I swear I wanted a slice of each one. One of the owners suggested the citrus. It was the only one that hadn't been sliced yet so I couldn't see what it looked like but I took him at his word. Later that day I was glad I did. Each layer was flavored differently - lime, lemon, and orange - with an amazing butter cream frosting. All in all a great brunch.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Some good and not so good to report on a recent Saturday evening visit to Jake’s. There were 4 of us friends celebrating the end of a very taxing week and we wanted to go somewhere special, and Jake’s was chosen because of its fine reputation and also because none of us had been there for dinner.
Good:
Service is friendly.
The outdoor spaces are wonderful (when it’s not too hot, i.e. < 100°).
Cocktails are wonderful.
Food is good.
Not so good:
The waiter recited a lengthy description of the daily specials right after delivering our drinks. This meant we had to wait far too long before we could make a toast. One of us could have interrupted him, but we were all intent on being positive - it had been a rough week for all of us for different reasons. A good waiter would have first asked if we wanted a few minutes before hearing about the specials. The cocktails were warming by the time he left and ‘sweating’ profusely.
We were seated in the small interior, but the other patrons were very loud and obviously on a 3rd or 4th round of drinks. This made it very challenging to have a conversation. I had the impression that Jake’s attracted a much more sophisticated clientele, but this may have been a chance situation.
While the food was good, I suppose I was expecting it to be much better. Having worked in the restaurant business myself, I know restaurants have their ‘off’ days. Given its reputation, I believe the food is much better that what I experienced last Saturday.
Bottom line, I have been to Jake’s for breakfast twice and was impressed both times. I make it a point not to judge a restaurant on just one visit (with some exceptions of course), and I won’t hold this experience against Jake’s, but this visit does not give me incentive to want to go back. But I promise I will go back another time, perhaps midweek, and give this place another chance. I would love to report that it’s the little gem of a place that other reviewers have expressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Had a wonderful, romantic meal outside under the misters (it was 104 degrees out). Very friendly service. Very accommodating when we wanted to switch tables. Free at wine recommendation. Food was delicious with very generous portions. Chicken Marsala was scrumptious, and their baby-back ribs are to die for. Definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The dinning was experience was assume and food was exultant with fantasist service. Thank You!!

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Usually good today was a bust dinners came out at random times not together a mark of an untrained chef. my dinner which was last was totally wrong they fixed it but burnt it in heating too fast i expect much better from jakes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This restaurant was wonderfully terrific. The servers were all lovely, and our dinner was amazing. This restaurant is also walking distance from the Alcazar hotel.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very good overall. Food is always great, and the patio is always nice--even on a hot summer evening! Service was a little sketchy this time, which took the review down a bit. But, still highly recommend the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 16, 2017

If your visiting & looking for a great local restaurant, this is a great place to go. Great old time Palm Springs charm, great food, great service, great vibe. I highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 16, 2017

As always, great service, great food, great atmosphere. I love this place. And I am so happy that it is just across the street from my office!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great place, fun, good food. Glad I've recently found this place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Nice spot! Would definitely return. Great desserts!

Tags: Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on June 14, 2017

Lola is a gem. What a fantastic employee. Every time we come in she is so kind, so attentive and so "on it." Food is always excellent. God help me... the desserts are amazing! Great owners... always smiling. The patio was a little warm at times and I might suggest not sitting right under the misters... but overall a wonderful place to share an excellent meal with friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Our newest favorite in PS! Every dish of every course was absolutely delicious. Creative but still approachable cuisine, in a lovely setting, with excellent service all around. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Everything was wonderful, as usual. One of my favorite Palm Springs restaurants.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Jake's is one of my favorite restaurants in Palm Springs. It's food offering are creative and of high quality, the service is excellent, the setting, especially the outdoor courtyard, is lovely and all this at a reasonable price.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Birthday Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My girlfriend and I went to Jake's before heading back to LA. Soft Scrambled Eggs were absolutely to die for, probably the single greatest eggs plate I've ever had!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Love this restaurant. We went for restaurant week and the food was fantastic. Great service and the peanut butter pie for dessert was to die for! Don't forget to reserve the outside patio.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Friendly staff and outdoor seating. Came here for a bachelorette brunch and it happened to be Palm Springs Restaurant Week.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 9, 2017

What stood out for me is that they executed well at every level. The teamwork was sublime. The food was simply outstanding and well presented. The $29 restaurant week price point was exceptional for the quality and detail. Seeing the owner present and engaged with customers was a nice touch.

It was our first try here, and we compared notes with the table next door. Our mutual conclusion was that we found our new "go to" place when we want something special.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Had the scallops with the potato brochette and asparagus - outstanding! Also the starter shrimp was a nice touch. I also had the best lemon drop- not too sweet or sour.

My mom had the meatloaf with a generous portion on mac and cheese. The was a great meal as well.

The coconut cake was outstanding!

Would definitely recommend as a dining spot in Palm Springs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Jakes never disappoints! The staff always welcomes us warmly and manager or owner stops by our table to makes certain we are enjoying our meal. The patio is lovely with umbrellas and misters to cool diners in the summer and heaters to warm in our brief winter. The menu is tried and true, consistently good, with portions that satisfy. The Miami Vice Salad and Eggs Purgatory are two of my personal favorites, and I always leave room for a slice of decadent cake -- all excellent. The wine list is notable and fairly priced. It is a pleasure to recommend this local gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Fun, Hot Spot, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Normally, our visits to Jake's have been largely good...the food is always good, and the atmosphere is quite nice, especially on the patio. From time to time we've had spotty service...typically orders of coffee that go unfulfilled, a lack of follow up by the server, and the failure to check on the status of cocktails once ordered. This visit, the server had the usual problem in remembering all the types of gin served at the bar, and when he did remember one that wasn't familiar to us, we asked if we might have a taste to be sure that it would be a better choice than the rest mentioned, having never had it before. He returned to the table and told us that--rather oddly--"the bartender said we don't give tastes...that would be a full shot, and we don't do that". Strange, we thought, since ever other restaurant we've ever been to in town has offered to do this--we actually never thought of it ourselves, originally-- and...of course, a taste is not by any means a "full shot". Yet another service issue, this time, it seems. The food was very good as usual, the atmosphere never disappoints. But don't go if you expect any extra level of service...it seems to through them off completely.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We came to Jake's for our third year wedding anniversary! The restaurant week menu was perfect in every way. Ashley was our server and she was wonderful! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at Jake's. I brought a colleague who has not dined before and we chose the Restaurant Week Menu!! Fabulous service and food. We will return soon.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Always fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Went for restaurant week. When we complained about the poor quality of our entrees, the manager's first comment was "It looks good to me!" Barely received an apology, although he did comp our meal since we did not eat it. We have had such nice experiences here and the manager could have easily made this another with a sincere apology. This was not a good impression for a local repeat customer, and I'm not sure if we will return. On a good note, the waitstaff is very good and attentive.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The special occasion was Restaurant Week, although I do go to Jake's fairly often. The meal was excellent and so was our server Ashley. They do not have a happy hour for cocktails and I find their wine by the glass pricey, just my opinion. I always enjoy my experiences there and will continue my patronage.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I've heard so many good things about Jake's that when Restaurant Week rolled around, it was one of the first reservations we made. I hope my experience with the food was a symptom of the whole Restaurant Week vibe... high volume, focused menu, pressure to perform. The service was excellent. We love the vibe of Jake's. We chose to sit inside where the dessert cooler is rather than outside in the shaded courtyard. Jake's is impeccably decorated, the restroom is clean, and the food arrived in a timely manner. Unfortunately the food was oddly off key in terms of flavors. I got the "tri color salad" which was bitter and unpalatable. My wife had the calamari with spicy aioli... which was way too hot, and we both enjoy spicy foods. I had the fish and the wife had the filet mignon, medium rare. The protein was credibly prepared, but bland, as were the side vegetables. I paid extra for the banana cream pie (not on the prix fixe menu), and my wife had the carrot cake. The desserts were tasty but about four times as much food as any reasonable person wants in a dessert proportion. Overall, of the restaurants we tried that week, Jake's was the weakest performance. We're going to have to go again in the fall to give it a fair try.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food was very nice. I had scallops. Two out of the 3 were burned, they replaces the 2 of which one was burned. The restaurant was packed, so I gave them the benefit of the doubt and the pressure the kitchen was under. Nice service. A hidden gem.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We ate there on the Tuesday night of Palm Springs Restaurant Week. We unfortunately made an 8:00 reservation, at which time they got crowded to the point of being overwhelmed. We waited a ridiculous amount of time for our first course--two salads and a crab cake. We were ignored during most of this time until I finally got a chance to speak to our waitress. They did not even have any bread for us. The food when we got it all was great, with the cake slices for dessert enormous and delicious. It is a very god restaurant and I am sure we will return but never again at 8:00.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Fab restaurant with great service as well in a cool and funky ambience

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.