Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Jake's Del Mar

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Saturday 4:30 to 9:30 pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (215)
Scenic View (212)
Good for a Date (141)
See All
Special Occasion (124)
Worth the Drive (105)
Good for Anniversaries (104)
Romantic (89)
Creative Cuisine (81)
Casual (75)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Great for Lunch (74)
Fun (64)
Bar Seating (58)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Sunday Lunch (54)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Great for Brunch (45)
Business Meals (45)
Hot Spot (42)
People Watching (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Happy Hour (36)
Good for Groups (33)
Local Ingredients (32)
Modern Decor (29)
Healthy (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Authentic (25)
Cozy (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Gluten Free Options (19)
Seasonal (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Family Style (15)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Historic (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tapas (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Great Beer (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Organic (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vegan (2)
Dancing (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3952 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 9 hours ago

Brunch with dear friends a perfect spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Easily forgettable food - greasy flavored, with a limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Menu has changed and no longer has main dishes anyone in our party wanted. All went with two appetizers.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Daniel was our waiter and he was outstanding. Aside from the great location next to the water at sunset, the food was fantastic!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing service from start to finish, good food, beautiful views. Highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

The view, service, food, wine made Jakes a great place for spending quality time with friends- great evening!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

A beautiful California afternoon is totally enhanced by a meet up with a good friend, a Bloody Mary, and lunch at Jakes.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall, we really liked Jake's. However, the server or chef got our order wrong(ordered swordfish, but got halibut) and by the time the right orders came, the rest of our party were finished. Also, one of the swordfish was raw in the middle and when we asked, we were told it was supposed to be that way. As someone who has dined all over the world, that was a first. By the way, the other swordfish wasn't raw.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

What a lovely meal and experience! Our server, Dennis, was an eccentric delight. He spoke highly of the entire Jake's team--nice to hear that in addition to providing lovely food and ambiance, the establishment is warm and supportive toward their staff.
The food was scrumptious. I enjoyed the seared scallops, while my colleagues indulged in the mahi mahi and shrimp scampi. The shrimp scampi had crunchy bits my colleagues appeared to appreciate. The succotash accompanying the scallops was particularly fantastic.

I don't drink alcohol and was grateful for the mocktails on the menu. The others seemed to enjoy their beverages. We loved overlooking the ocean. The evening was special for all of us, and set the tone for a magical evening. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best restaurants I been to in California, I will be going again in the near future.

Jayden Carter Mcacruse Sr.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Got a great table by the windows as requested! Sunset view. Food was on point- huge scallops and lovely mahi special. Service was attentive and helpful. Made our only visit wonderful. Will visit again when in town.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Family enjoyed Easter dinner there. Food was excellent, and had a killer view of the ocean.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Disabled Access, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fabulous meal! Atmosphere is wonderful and good was fresh and delicious!!!! Staff was so friendly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fabulous! Wonderful seating, top star service with incredible food...melted brie was amazing! Definitely will return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Jakes Del Mar was great! Had a great time and the god and service was on point. I wil definitely be returning!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Have been trying to get here for a couple of months, but personal schedule wouldn't allow.

However, we finally made it! Wasn't sure what to expect, but the results were good!

Seat by the window with a chance to watch the sunset happen. Very nice!

Cocktails to start and with a bottle of red, the 3 course meal was around $200 for the 2 of us. Slightly more than an average spend for annual out, but the view made up for it.

Very attentive and knowledgeable waiter (Clay), we had the two specials. Well recommended and good food all round.

We'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fantastic across the board!! Our waiter, Avi, was amazing! Attentive, yet not intrusive! Made great suggestions that truly complemented our menu choices. View was outstanding of the surf and spectacular sunset!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Healthy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is my husband's favorite place to go to for his Birthday because the food and views are great. Our waiter, Clayton, gave us great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Perfect Birthday venue! We had been to Jake's at night and found it to be lovely. But a sunny afternoon is ideal. We met friends for lunch and were given a beautiful window table, so we could watch the surf crashing and the sunbathers playing. Our server was charming and efficient. The food was delicious: Baked Brie, Barbecued Ribs, Swordfish, and Seafood Soup. The martini was heavenly as was the Hula Pie which came as a gift to the Birthday Boy. We celebrated my husband's birthday, but it was such a wonderful experience, I think I will request an encore when it's my birthday!

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our lunch at Jake's Del Mar last Saturday was absolute perfection. It is a great place right on the beach in Del Mar for lunch. We reserved ahead on Open Table that morning and got a table right on the window with a fantastic view of the ocean and the beach. Valet parking, at a very reasonable charge of $5, makes it so easy. We had swordfish specials. Absolutely delicious! Perfect service from a very charming server.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was disappointing. I ordered the lobster tail and it was a bit dry. We cook it at home much better and I expected for the lobster to be sweet and tender. It was dry because it was overcooked. It really was not worth the money.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Limited menu.
They need to incorporate jumbo shrimp cocktail.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great place for Oceanview dining. Very crowded however. If you want a table by the window, Make a 5 o'clock reservation and get there early. Without a reservation you're pretty much doomed. The food is fabulous , Service is excellent. Fun destination for taking the train from orange county.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fantastic as always. Service kept us waiting a couple of times, but the lag was not prolonged. Wonderful sunset with good friends!

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Dinner was delicious and the service was outstanding! Dining at Jake's is always an uplifting experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food was very good, service was attentive, only gave 3-stars for ambience because they squeezed 5 people into a space designed for 4 which left no room as we exited table. In fact we had to move our table out the way in order to leave the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our party of three at lunchtime was promptly seated at a window table overlooking the beach. The server told us that the menu had just changed that day and described the new items. We started with a new appetizer (brie in pasty with strawberry coulis and a savory filling) that was very tasty. Two of us chose the new chicken salad with olive pesto. The other had grilled local halibut with guajillo chile, chopped greens, and sliced orange . We shared a bottle of California wine with our meals and finished with a slice of hula pie and coffee. It was delightful. The service was professional, polished, and very helpful. The food was excellent. The view of the busy beach was unmatched. Highly recommended.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I have visited Jake's many times. The view and location are fabulous and the service is always good. This time, my business associate and had an OK meal...we he had a very good meal...I had the OK meal. We shared the ribs as appetizer. My companion had the seared ahi and really enjoyed it. I had the sea bass special. It was a 3 inch x 3 inch square of pistachio crusted white fish. You know how fish is supposed to flake when you use your fork...this fillet was so dry, I stuck my fork in and picked up the whole piece. I had to use a knife to cut it. I ate about a half...very disappointing for a $34 entrée.

I did not tell the server because this was a business dinner and I did not want it to drag on. You know how on Hell's Kitchen, Gordon Ramsey checks every entrée as it leaves the kitchen. Jake's doesn't do that!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We stopped for lunch on our drive down to San Diego. It was a great spot on the beach. Great good and excellent service. We had 5 kids and our server was very accommodating. They also have valet service.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Casual, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

What a fantastic place! Sunset is gorgeous, food is so succulent and service is prompt and friendly. We will come again! Hula desert is heavenly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Wonderful dinner with a beautiful view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great service and staff! Always a fun spot with awesome food and view. All the staff have actual personalities :)

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food was excellent - nice innovative flavor touches. We were seated at a wonderful spot next to window and could watch the sunset on the ocean. Excellent menu and excellent servicce

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I took my wife there for a surprise celebration. The food was amazing and the service was awesome. We are watched the waves over the beach as the sun set. Definitely will be there again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Took a friend for bday brunch. Dustin was our waiter and everything was just wonderful. Can't wait to go back. Again and again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food, excellent service and a beautiful view. Perfect Sunday brunch spot. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fun, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food & friendly service! Can't beat the view from the covered deck on the beach. And of course Hula Pie!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was excellent, the Bloody Marys were good, the food was good. The menu is a little limited but otherwise a very nice lunch.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Went for lunch. Arrived 30 minutes early and they were still able to seat us. The service was great. We both had the halibut. It was outstanding. So was the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had a great birthday dinner at Jake's. The potato crusted local halibut was excellent, as was the gnocchi. Fantastic atmosphere too, as always. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.