Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Jake's Del Mar

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Saturday 4:30 to 9:30 pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (221)
Scenic View (202)
Special Occasion (158)
See All
Good for a Date (151)
Worth the Drive (114)
Good for Anniversaries (111)
Romantic (110)
Great for Lunch (109)
Casual (105)
Good for Birthdays (103)
Fun (78)
Neighborhood Gem (74)
Creative Cuisine (72)
People Watching (70)
Sunday Lunch (68)
Bar Seating (64)
Happy Hour (62)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Business Meals (52)
Hot Spot (51)
Great for Brunch (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Healthy (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Good for Groups (35)
Local Ingredients (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Authentic (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Cozy (30)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Seasonal (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Tapas (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Great Beer (11)
Quick Bite (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Live Sports (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Spicy (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
4404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Was my Birthday, Jake's my choice for Brunch!! Where else. Such a beautiful location on the pacific ocean, watching the waves roll in~~~~ Food, service and ambience perfect for a celebration! I always use Open Table, so know at what time to go and that is important!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Jake's is our favorite place to go for special occasions. The food is always great, and the wait staff are the best. Combine that with the beautiful view of the coastline, and it adds up to an incredible dining experience. The restaurant is located right on the beach, and offers an advantage over outdoor seating, in that the windows can be opened to accommodate the outside temperature, and the shades can be adjusted to make sure that you're comfortable.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Right on the sand so the view is unobstructed and spectacular. Food was very fresh and exquisitely prepared. Enjoyed the salmon with bok choy. Service was top notch. Great place for out town guests!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Ate lunch here for a birthday celebration and while the restaurant was busy we were seated at a corner table facing the ocean. There were good options for vegetarian and meat eaters alike! Food was served quickly and the staff/waiter were knowledgeable and friendly. Overall, it was a lovely place to celebrate my birthday with coworkers.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Vegan, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Seared tuna is awesome and great salads.
Great views.
Fiekt noisy and sometime will make you wait past reservation to be seated

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

A regular customer, and find Jake's to have excellent food; however, this time my steak left something to be desired. It was significantly over seasoned with peppercorn, something the chef should have noticed. The service, as usual, was outstanding and we'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Jake's is one of my favorite restaurants! The view is always spectacular and the food delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Took awhile to get service initially, but we were a half hour early for a reservation and they seated us right away so that could have contributed. Other than that food and service was amazing and it's one of our favorite places to eat when we are in the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Well worth the drive to this scenic restaurant with full picture windows on to the Pacific Ocean. We ate chowder soup and fish cakes as starters - both unexceptional and similar to those in other locations. The main fish dish however was exceptional - sword fish cooked to perfection, delicious, moist and bone-free - delightful! It is something to drive there to taste! My son ordered the surf and turf and this was cooked to his taste. The desserts were lovely - we ate peanut butter tart and the chocolate grenache - both were delicious. The sea front location at sun set is idyllic- a lovely restaurant and well worth a visit. Service was great too. Thank you.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent customer service and food. We were celebrating a birthday and they went all out to make it special!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

My vegan meal was very good. It would be great to have more than one option, but I was happy to see at least one option.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Jake's is the best oceanfront restaurant in San Diego. Great sunset views. Our waiter Avi gave us good recommendations and was even able to get one of us an entree that was only on the lunch menu. He went over and above to make sure we had a great dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Excellent food
Very engaging, hardworking staff
Would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Great evening! Our waiter-Christian, I think- was terrific! We’ll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We enjoyed our visit. We look forward to coming again

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Three of us all had eggs benedict which were cold & our mimosas were warm. Eggs whites were runny. Service was very slow. Waitress comped one meal but all were cold. Didn't have time to wait for new meals. We had to add ice cubes to our cocktails. I also suggest you use some sort of garnish. Plate was all tan & white (eggs & potatoes). Looked boring & bland. Nice location but beach was very busy, noisy volleyball players. We won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

I went with a small group of friends. We ordered the brussel sprouts and calamari for appetizers. Both were delicious. The calamari was fresh and lightly battered with an orange glaze on the plate... tasty. For dinner I had one of the specials... a Miso Mahi Mahi. It was fantastic! Overall the food was tops. The one subtle negative was that we ordered drinks and they did not come until after our appetizers were served. But other than that the service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

We have been to Jakes a few times and the service is always fabulous. This time was no exception but for the first time, we were disappointed with the food. It was all quite bland. For over $400 after wine and tip for 4 people, we wanted to be wowed with the food but Jakes missed the mark this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Jake's is always our go to place for out of town visitors. The beach with floodlights, waiters who care, well prepared dishes, etc. Far and away the gem of Del Mar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

We celebrated our civil wedding, and it was amazing! Great service thanks so much!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Amazing view but tables are so close together and the noise was so bad, could not hold a conversation with our table. Service was slow, our waiter would disappear (never even saw him at other tables) and it was 10 minutes after sitting down before he even arrived. Prices are high-buyer beware. Only go if you want beach dining view.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Jake's Del Mar was so great that we ate there twice during our 4 day trip to San Diego. We sat inside in the beach-front section of the restaurant where the windows can be opened wide to allow the sea air to blow in. You control the windows by your table, opening or closing as needed. It was lovely. Watching families and surfers enjoying the ocean waves was fun & entertaining. Beautiful weather both days in October.

The food was great! Fresh and generous and our server, Christine was so friendly and helpful. She made menu and wine suggestions and offered to have the kitchen split our entrees since we wanted to share. There was no additional cost for splitting the plates.

I will return to Jake's Del Mar every time I visit San Diego in the future.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2017

We are obsessed with Jake's Hula pie. It is so good! We have come to Jake's in the past and loved it and recently came again while on our honeymoon. Great staff. Amazing view of the beach and great food! Jake's is a must go!

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Loved the view the food and the service. Such a beautiful setting

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 10, 2017

The fish Guajillo dish I had was fabulous! And my friend's salmon was great. Who could fail to have the Hula Pie!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2017

The waiter divided the salad in the kitchen, which was a nice touch. The food was good, the hula pie fabulous and the requested ocean view table did not disappoint. The bartender was a true professional-- I could have watched him all night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 9, 2017

I felt we waited a little too long for food. $42 steak ordered med rare and was “maybe” medium at best. BEAUTIFUL VIEW as we sat by windows, but so loud we had to nearly converse nose to nose to hear each other. Our waiter was very good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Special anniversary dinner. We were seated between 2 families with 5 children with parents that didn't care about how their kids behave. Just a bad night! Food nothing special. Service was good.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our waiter, Derek was great. We Enjoyed our lobster tail meals. 😋

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 8, 2017

First time at Jake's. Great dinner, amazing service from Derek, and beautiful views. Will make thus place a go-to for our future trips to Del Mar for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2017

First time dining at Jake's. It was highly recommended by our kids. We would highly recommend Jake's. Great food and cocktails. Our server Danny, did a fantastic job describing the cooking styles and make solid recommendations on our selections. Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Jake's is a must-do. From the nice valet to the kind (and efficient) hostesses, to great service and amazing food. Topped off with one of the best views in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We love Jakes! The view, the food, the service! Impeccable!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had an excellent time for a 2nd year in a row, celebrating our anniversary at a corner table by the windows at Jake's. Our server was excellent, and we enjoyed the walnut/pear salad we split and the seafood pot was delicious. The complimentary mud pie was top notch as always. We love going to Jake's - it always feels special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Such a great view and equally great food and service, especially at the bar. Enjoyed so much that we came back a 2nd time during our week long stay. Try the spicy margarita and ask for extra jalapeño!! Can't wait to go back next visit.
Thanks Jake's!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Location, Location, Location… Jakes is situated right on the ocean with a stunning setting for dinner if you are seated along the window by the ocean. Parking is by valet and only $5. If you park across the street in the public lot after 5PM you pay 5 or 6 dollars an hour, so just valet. We were lucky enough to have a wonderful table at the end of the patio/outside dinning area. We were warmly greeted by our waiter and given plenty of time to look over the menu for our dinner choices. We started out with the BBQ ribs and Tartare Tostada as suggested by our server, both excellent. Ribs were tender and full of flavor. The Tostada was well constructed with each item’s flavor standing on its own. We also shared the grilled local pear salad as well as the apple and candied walnut. Both salads were crisp and fresh. For mains the table had the shrimp scampi, Crusted Ahi tuna and the Mixed Seafood Pot. All the mains were prepared with care but none stood out as a must have again. The broth of the Seafood pot was exceptional, but the seafood and fish within the dish was slightly overcooked. All in all Jake’s is a fine restaurant for a special occasion meal with a great view and just OK food. Prices were on the high end but that is expected for the location.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

The hi priced steak I had was very tough and the waiter did not seem real interested in serving us. Service was also very slow. Over all a disappointing time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

In my opinion, the staff here is one of the best in San Diego area.
Experienced, professional and friendly.
The cocktails are always full-pours, high quality ingredients, and never diluted.
The starter menu is excellent, I enjoy the BBQ Ribs and grilled Brussels Sprouts.
For entrees, any of their "By the Sea" items are outstanding...That being said, I've never had any non-seafood entree!
If possible, determine the time of sunset in San Diego, and make reservations accordingly.

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 4, 2017

This was a birthday celebration and the waitress was wonderful and a delicious birthday mud pie on the house made it even more special with a birthday card from Jake's!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Great as always. Love Jakes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.