About Jake's Del Mar

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA

Report a photo problem

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (168)
Waterfront (163)
Good for a Date (111)
See All
Special Occasion (111)
Good for Birthdays (86)
Worth the Drive (82)
Good for Anniversaries (78)
Romantic (64)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Creative Cuisine (59)
Casual (57)
Great for Lunch (57)
Fun (51)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Bar Seating (44)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Great for Brunch (35)
Business Meals (34)
Good for Groups (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Happy Hour (27)
Hot Spot (24)
Modern Decor (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Healthy (23)
Cozy (23)
People Watching (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Seasonal (15)
Authentic (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Outstanding Value (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Family Style (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great Beer (7)
Historic (7)
Tapas (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
3737 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Super loud because of a football game in ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Super loud because of a football game in the bar. The King Salmon was very small, especially for the price. The seafood stew was not good and tasted like crawfish (only). Kids meals were good. Of course, the view is amazing.

Overall, it's gone down hill since last visit (6mos ago). Server was great and tip reflected that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We sat at a beautiful table with a front ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

We sat at a beautiful table with a front seat ocean view. Whales were spouting in the distance, waves rolling, superb food. Heaven!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was fabulous from the waiter ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was fabulous from the waiter to the view!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous dinner at Jake's! It ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a fabulous dinner at Jake's! It was actually probably the best experience we have had there. We had a wonderful table, terrific service, delightful cocktails, and fabulous food. We were taking out a friend who was visiting from out of town, so it was especially nice to have such an experience. We have had inconsistent experiences in the past, but there has definitely been a change so we will definitely make it a point to visit Jake's more frequently after this visit. Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food (wonderful salmon dish), great ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food (wonderful salmon dish), great service, amazing view right on the beach.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great service!! Top notch food!! ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Always great service!! Top notch food!! The ribs and calamari are amazing!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate our 32nd wedding an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary and it was the perfect setting! Thank you for making it a very special night!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome and the view of the ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was awesome and the view of the cream was perfect

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took British friends there too and th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We took British friends there too and they loved it and the ocean view.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Cozy, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Sunday brunch... delicious food... ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great Sunday brunch... delicious food... we were seated right away, beautiful ocean view, great service, A+++

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Bar Seating, Vegan, Fun, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wanted something on the water! This ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We wanted something on the water! This was awesome - food and view - although it would be even more spectacular at sunset. The food tasted wonderful, and our waiter's attentiveness and humor made it a great experience! Everyone else that I recommended it to was thrilled, as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice. Food good. Waitress was on po ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very nice. Food good. Waitress was on point. One big complaint is the tuna tostadas. Fresh delicate tuna should not be over powered by the chipotle alioli. So so hot. I've had this dish before all over, even in Maine. You want to taste the fish not fire!! Way to much. Otherwise, ribs great, sprouts really delicious. Nice place

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

On my reservation I put that it was my m ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

On my reservation I put that it was my mom's birthday. They treated her and my family so well. They gave her a birthday card and a free desert! The food was amazing and the service was out standing. Looking at the ocean ! This is the place to pick. Amazing service and would recommend to anyone looking for a nice night out. The staff is stand up and classy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Produce wasn't fresh for pear salad incl ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Produce wasn't fresh for pear salad including pear and lettuce on burger or strawberries in mixed berry dessert. Avocado on burger was very fresh though. Ribs were very good as well as the coffee and burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were celebrating my retirement and Ja ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We were celebrating my retirement and Jake's was the perfect place for us. Service was very attentive without being over attentive and we were not rushed to leave the table when we had finished eating so could have a very pleasant conversation about my years working with them.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

To salty. Fish broth had burned rice and ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 2, 2017

To salty. Fish broth had burned rice and instant soup mix taste. Salad was not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Jake's has been our favorite go-to resta ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Jake's has been our favorite go-to restaurant for the past ten years. Unfortunately we are relocating to North Carolina and will definitely miss this place. a special shout out to Jesse who has been a friend over the years!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely love Jake's. I've now been ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I absolutely love Jake's. I've now been there four times and have had a positive experience each and every time. I've had a work meal here, two girl's night dinners and one date night. Great food and the view is second to none.

My one wish is that it were a little less expensive, but I understand I'm paying for the view along with the phenomenal food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A perfect New Years day with glistening ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A perfect New Years day with glistening seas, wonderful company, great bloody marys and a diverse menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great brunch on New Year's Day, with the ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great brunch on New Year's Day, with the Penguin Plunge right out the window. Great food choices and quality. Hash was a huge hit, and bloody Mary's made perfectly spicy. Jakes is always our go-to place in Del Mar, but will make this a New Years Day tradition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We can always count on Jake's to have gr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We can always count on Jake's to have great food, atmosphere and service. Always a go-to for a special occasion, birthday or anniversary etc.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome New Years meal. Staff was super ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome New Years meal. Staff was super friendly and the food was delicious! I would recommend Jake's most definitely!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed an early New Years Eve with g ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed an early New Years Eve with good friends at Jakes. The food was fantastic, calamari and brussels sprouts appetizers, shrimp scampi main dish and a wonderful Zinfandel wine recommended by our waiter Christian. Attentive service and great food contributed to a really lovely evening to welcome in the New Year.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have wanted to go to Jake's for a whil ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have wanted to go to Jake's for a while. The location is great. Had the surf and turf. The lobster and steak were both very tasty. The ocean view at sunset makes for a great backdrop to your dinner. Food was good and the prices are reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I made a reservation because it was my h ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I made a reservation because it was my husband birthday. When i called Jake's Del Mar to request a table with a view, i was told "if you are celebrating a birthday, Jack's provides a card an a small birthday cake." The card was in the table but the cake never made it...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Outstanding, friendly servers, great foo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outstanding, friendly servers, great food. We had a wonderful gathering of friends and had a great visit over excellent food and drinks. Beautiful views of the ocean and surf.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Historic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived hostess wouldn't seat us ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

When we arrived hostess wouldn't seat us until whole party was present. Our table was set and ready so this was unacceptable. Rest of our party of six was parking car. Didn't kick things off too positively. Our waitress was terrific and ver accommodating. Food was presented very well and quality excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Jake's is always excellent. We go there ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Jake's is always excellent. We go there 6+ times a year and enjoy the food and view.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great food and excellent servi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

As always great food and excellent service. Ocean view is an added benefit

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time & great service! Been coming ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great time & great service! Been coming to Jake's for years and it never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I always eat here when visiting my paren ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I always eat here when visiting my parents in San Diego. One of the best!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is lovely, the service by Emily ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The view is lovely, the service by Emily was a delight. Unfortunately, Emily was not backed up by the kitchen staff who, when given plenty of notice with written dietary restrictions (including cow-dairy restrictions for food allergies) went ahead with putting cow-dairy on the plate. When corrected, they lifted up the protein, removed the cow-dairy, and replaced the protein which had already been contaminated: there were still bits of the parmesan/manchego chip on the fish and plate. This was neither respectful nor safe: beware. This is dismissive, disrespctful, and dangerous: beware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Service is always good here, ambiance is ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service is always good here, ambiance is why we continue to take visitors here to enjoy.

Food is always just ok, steaks over cooked , lobster mac& cheese a little bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We have gone to Jakes for years and had ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We have gone to Jakes for years and had good experiences, but this time it was different. They went to a different menu for the holidays and there was nothing on the menu that we wanted, but we had the chicken plate. It was very boring and the vegetables sparse. When we got our bread, there were only 2 small rolls, which meant one per person. When we asked if we could have a burger, the waiter said "no". You had to order from the menu only. I had their famous Mai Tai, which hardly had any rum in it. It was very obvious that they were trying to save a buck and that they were catering to the tourists and didn't care about people that have been going there for years. We plan on never returning.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great view of ocean. Kyle was a superior ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great view of ocean.

Kyle was a superior waiter.

Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food for any occasion. Very noisy ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food for any occasion. Very noisy...difficult to hear conversation at our table. We've been coming to Jake's for years...food has always been good ...noticed a change in that the last few times we've been there but as of this recent time they are back to normal!

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic view, terrific food, wonderful ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic view, terrific food, wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View was amazing. The day was just beaut ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

View was amazing. The day was just beautiful. Food very good. Flavors just right. Service attentive and friendly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Casual, Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jake's never disappoints. The ambiance i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Jake's never disappoints. The ambiance in this ocean front location is beautiful. It is a very busy restaurant but the servers never get in the way. It is my "go to" place when I want to feel like I'm in Hawaii.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Jake's is located right at the beach in ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Jake's is located right at the beach in Del Mar. The view from our window table was beautiful. However, the restaurant is noisy and busy. Parking is a problem--we used the Valet service. The rolls and chowder soup are very good. The waiter was attentive and very pleasant. However, the wait for the food was long. The others at my table had salads, I had the ravioli's. It should have been a hot dish but was less than lukewarm. I think the food had been sitting for awhile waiting to be delivered. They should have extra staff to bring out the dishes when ready if the waiters are busy. The women's bathroom is inadequate for the size of restaurant. It only has two stalls and there was a line out the door. One of the stalls doubles as a handicapped toilet and has a diaper changing table. A mother and grandmother took a long time changing, singing to, and playing with a baby in that stall leaving just one stall available for use. The baby was darling but the situation was not pleasant.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.