About Jake's Del Mar

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
2 More
Scenic View
North San Diego
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

scenic view (344)
special occasion (252)
romantic (176)
See All
great for lunch (143)
fit for foodies (129)
neighborhood gem (122)
great for brunch (90)
good for groups (89)
hot spot (86)
vibrant bar scene (71)
great for outdoor dining (66)
notable wine list (38)
kid-friendly (23)
late-night find (12)
Sort By:
Newest
3230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always great

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined a day ago

As always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best lunch in De Mar!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

The best lunch in De Mar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks for making our evening so special ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Thanks for making our evening so special ..nice Birthday touches!💜

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Jake's! It's always a treat.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

We love Jake's! It's always a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a last minute decision to go to ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

We made a last minute decision to go to Jake's after church on Sunday. It was a beautiful day and we knew it would be crowded. It was wonderful to be able to go online and make a reservation on OpenTable as we drove towards the beach. We were greeted warmly and given a great table. The shrimp and lobster tacos were excellent as were the orange, mango and guava Mimosa. It was a great experience and we will do it again!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. I noted in the reserv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was great. I noted in the reservation I was bringing friends from Montreal and hoped for an ocean view. We got the best table when we arrived. THe whold party was happy.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant. Always go when I ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

My favorite restaurant. Always go when I am in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food quality and service time ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food quality and service time and time again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view of the ocean was great. Comfor ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

The view of the ocean was great. Comfortable dining environment, not too loud, able to have a comfortable conversation with friends. Unfortunately, the food was just average.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Our family goes back many years with che ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our family goes back many years with checks and it has not lost its charm

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I took my Fiance to Jake's, it being bot ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

I took my Fiance to Jake's, it being both our first time there, for a date. We couldn't have been more pleased with our experience there. The waiter we had new his menu like the back of his hand. Even more so, he went into such great detail about the entree that he practically painted the exact picture of what was to show up on my dinner plate. The chef brought out our food in a white coat. Everyone had a smile on their face. It was the greatest date night of our lives. Thanks Jake's!

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Stephen, made our anniversar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our server, Stephen, made our anniversary lunch an even more special occasion and we could not have asked for a better table looking out over the beach and ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent as usual. Brought my ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was excellent as usual. Brought my wife and daughter for our 16 year anniversary. I proposed to my wife at Jake's and it was just as special this time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice gem within Del Mar...great vie ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very nice gem within Del Mar...great view, great food, great service.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Jake's really is the best place to take ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Jake's really is the best place to take a dinner date for a special occasion. The food is fantastic, as well as the view. Hula pie for dessert is a must!

Expect to spend about $150 plus tip for dinner for two for two rounds of drinks, salad and appetizer, two dinners and dessert with espresso.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

Always love to make a visit to Jake's. G ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Always love to make a visit to Jake's. Great food and an amazing view of the beach and sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I really like this restaurant. The view ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I really like this restaurant. The view is wonderful and food good. My one complaint is the Parking. There is very limited street parking, there's a lot across the street that is very expensive for short term parking and usually full with beach visitors and while the restaurant has a small lot, it's valet only and they charge $5 plus tips. I think a patron should be able to park here without paying an upfront fee. I always give a valet a tip. We should have a ticket that can be validated inside after paying our bill and if someone parks there who doesn't eat there for whatever reason they wouldnt get validated and would then pay the fee. I will probably avoid this place during high season from now on. The beach in back is packed with sunbathers now which isn't quite as nice an ambience as my last visit in April. I will be back but after sumner is over!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lobster tacos r the bomb!!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Lobster tacos r the bomb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting right by the ocean! G ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Beautiful setting right by the ocean! Great food, wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After a short wait we were seated at a t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

After a short wait we were seated at a table next to the windows, as we had requested, to view the incredible ocean sunset view with our Phoenix visitors. The swordfish was perfectly done, the wines were wonderful. Our server, Adam was excellent... friendly, informative & we never felt rushed. Thank you, Jakes, for another memorable dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was excellent - the hula pie was ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Dinner was excellent - the hula pie was awesome! Service was attentive and courteous as always.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my mother, a finicky eater, to J ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We took my mother, a finicky eater, to Jake's for her birthday. I had been there before back in 2013 and loved the scenic view and the setting, but I thought my otherwise delicious meal was marred by the fish being slightly overcooked. I wrote a review back then and received a welcoming response from Jon Schmauss, the Service Manager, who urged me to give them another try for another special occasion. This was the occasion to try, and Jon came through. Service was very attentive and friendly. Tré was our waiter and he was excellent. The meal was spectacularly good. The scenic view is so special that it is very difficult to get a table right near the windows, but even the ones set back afford a beautiful view. They even threw in a special birthday treat for dessert, their to-die-for Hula Pie, and our table had a lovely birthday card for my mother, which really set exactly the right tone for the meal. We are looking forward to next year's birthday dinner and will certainly go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh seafood dishes, amazing cocktails, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fresh seafood dishes, amazing cocktails, a wonderful wine list and unforgettable desserts are only scratching the surface of Jake's! The location is perfect and the views are to die for! Not to mention a wonderful staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived early and everyone from the V ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We arrived early and everyone from the Valet to the Receptionist was very accommodating and polite. We were given a window seat as requested and had a beautiful view of the Del Mar beach and all the activities. Food was prompt and the server very professional. Great Birthday outing & highly recommended.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have noticed decline in quality, not sur ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Have noticed decline in quality, not sure why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Beautiful location on the sand in Del Ma ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beautiful location on the sand in Del Mar. Food was well prepared and we were seated [promptly at our reservation. The only annoying thing was the waited . He was all smiles and overly Friendly to an annoying extreme. Every thing we ordered was "great, my favorite" then he disappeared until the food arrived quite a while for lunch, I might add. At that point we were able to tell him he forget to order the soup for an appetizer. His answer was "bad on me"

We asked twice for salt and finally a busboy came with it.

Restaurant was very good just hurt by an overly ambitious waiter who failed to deliver on his approach

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food in An even better atmosphere ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food in An even better atmosphere in Del Mar. Very convenient for lunch if you are going to the track but by itself, Jakes is a Del Mar landmark. You will be very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Jake's is a must every time I visit San ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Jake's is a must every time I visit San Diego! The food, service, atmosphere, and spectacular ocean view make it a fabulous dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Both the service and food was excellent! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Both the service and food was excellent! I'll definitely be back on my next visit to SD.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience overall. Cocktail serv ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great experience overall. Cocktail service in bar was slow. All food was great, except my entree was under-cooked despite a specific request - hoping the kitchen would pay attention to that! This was the exception to all my previous experiences.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Jake's has amazing ocean views. There is ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Jake's has amazing ocean views. There is nothing like enjoying a meal surrounded by the fresh sea breeze. If you are expecting a leisurely dinner, however, look elsewhere. Jake's caters to tourists and they turn the tables fast to maximize revenue. While the food appears exotic, it is on the heavy side and the execution in the kitchen lacks attention to detail. The seafood stew was far too salty and all of the sauces were overwhelmed with butter. I would still stop by once for the views, but would only order something simple like a steak.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Jakes used to have the best Happy Hour! ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Jakes used to have the best Happy Hour! They raised all the prices...selection is poor...service was not up to their usual standard. They either have a new manager or this is unfortunately a "new normal" but needless to say we're really disappointed! And to top it off Happy Hour ends at 5:00 - are they kidding???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

This is one of our very favorite restaur ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is one of our very favorite restaurants and has been for many years. We often come for lunch, but this time we were celebrating a birthday so we made a reservation for dinner. Seated at a window table, we were expecting a perfect evening. Our cocktails were lack-luster, but we adored the calimari. Sadly our server was just so-so, and my husband's steak was not hot, and had little flavor. My mixed seafood pot was outstanding. We were using a promotional coupon that arrived for my birthday ($15 off beverage, appetizer, or dessert) -- our server took the coupon and then brought Mud Pie without asking my preference -- with a $10 value. A small detail but it just didn't stand up to the high expectations based on our previous experiences. We will certainly continue to enjoy lunches at Jakes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Absolutely perfect

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Absolutely perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous view! The setting is the best p ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Fabulous view! The setting is the best part, but the food is good, especially deserts. The hula pie is a must! Fun bar scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Food was great, as usual, but service no ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was great, as usual, but service not up to par; it's usually outstanding. Was disappointing since our group was there celebrating a very special birthday.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I have been here whenever I get to Calif ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I have been here whenever I get to Calif. I was a bit disappointed as I requested a window table

and one was not available and I understand but was informed our table had agreat view....only if we could see through the table of 9 which blocked everything. It was also back in the back corner and Very loud.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Overall we enjoyed it but it was a bit t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Overall we enjoyed it but it was a bit to busy for us. It was also pretty noisy.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Consistently great food. Beautiful atmos ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Consistently great food. Beautiful atmosphere. Attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful time at Jake's Del Ma ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always a wonderful time at Jake's Del Mar. It's a must-go for special occasions. It is a little pricey, but totally worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.