About Jake's Del Mar

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Saturday 4:30 to 9:30 pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (176)
Waterfront (174)
Good for a Date (125)
See All
Special Occasion (114)
Good for Anniversaries (101)
Worth the Drive (87)
Good for Birthdays (85)
Romantic (81)
Creative Cuisine (67)
Casual (57)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Great for Lunch (53)
Fun (51)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Bar Seating (44)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Business Meals (41)
Great for Brunch (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Happy Hour (30)
Local Ingredients (28)
People Watching (28)
Healthy (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Modern Decor (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Cozy (26)
Notable Wine List (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Seasonal (17)
Authentic (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Family Style (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Historic (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Tapas (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Organic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3811 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Husband and I went out to celebrate our ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Husband and I went out to celebrate our recent wedding and we had a great time. Food was good and view was spectacular!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner at Jakes was fantastic. We timed ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Dinner at Jakes was fantastic. We timed our reservation so we were seated by sunset which didn't disappoint. Our waiter Dennis was friendly and fun, sharing info about the restaurant and local towns as well. Our meals were delicious and beautifully presented. The highlight of the meal was The Hula Wave dessert which was amazing. Can't wait to go back to Jake's again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had 4 friends from Minnesota visiting ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

We had 4 friends from Minnesota visiting the San Diego area. They wanted a "beachside Dining" experience. They weren't disappointed. The restaurant staff was more than accommodating and changed our table so we had a great view of the ocean in the glassed in patio. The food was exceptional, and even the 2 cattle farmers from South Dakota raved about the seafood. Special recognition to our waiter, he was knowledgeable about the menu and patient with people not familiar with a seafood menu.

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and main dish were fine. The app ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Service and main dish were fine. The appetizers were another story. The calamari was very tuff and the ribs cold.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was just wonderful!!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was just wonderful!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had asked for table by the water, but ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

I had asked for table by the water, but seated 1 table back. That was OK, but a little disappoint as I had made some weeks ago. Service a little slow, but understand lots of people. I was impressed with the front desk and that the birthday card was sitting at the table. Husband was surprised. Also thanks for the unexpected desert Hula Cake - great to share and my husband's favorite desert. All in all the experience was great. We had a nice dinner and drinks amazing. I can see why you had such a high rating. The people made it and server was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been to Jake's a number of times o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

We've been to Jake's a number of times over the years since we've moved here (2000). The food, view and ambience have been good. This visit with relatives/guests from NY was quite different! The service was very slow and the drinks and food portions were a lot smaller than other restaurants. In fact, our table overlooked the next door Poseidon restaurant and I specifically noticed that the brunch dishes, Bloody Mary, beer and wine glasses were quite larger than our beverages and food at Jakes! Obviously, I cannot compare the quality, but...! Jakes did not even serve bread or rolls with any of our 4 brunches! I sadly believe Jakes is shrinking the food and drinks but not the prices!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Great service, food and wine. A wonderfu ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service, food and wine. A wonderful place for a vegetarian get-together with good friends while enjoying a fabulous view.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jake's is ALWAYS a Favorite! It was a r ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Jake's is ALWAYS a Favorite! It was a rainy day - the perfect lunch spot to have a delicious lunch with drinks, while looking at the beautiful Pacific!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Roof had small leak which kept drops Fal ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Roof had small leak which kept drops Fallon on my head. Steak was slightly burnt but didn't want to make my wage uncomfortable. Overall, it was Ok. Previous times were excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Jake's is always really good. Great wait ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Jake's is always really good. Great wait staff, bartenders, food and ambience! Unless you want a really quiet place for dinner, you cannot go wrong with Jake's!

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect. Big fans of Dukes and wanted t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect. Big fans of Dukes and wanted to try Jakes. Absolutely stunning views. Great service. Wonderful food. Service was excellent. Will come back

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant never disappoints. We'v ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant never disappoints. We've been coming to this restaurant for years. Excellent food and service. Can't beat the location.

Tags: , Healthy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tapas, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a long time customer and Jake's has ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I am a long time customer and Jake's has never failed to deliver.

Friendly staff, ocean view, great food and ambiance. Pricing is steep but is worth the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

With a reservation we were seated late. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

With a reservation we were seated late. Our server was very good but the food was not comparable to the prices. They're selling you the ocean view. Very noisy. Steak was a poor cut very fatty. The Caesar salad was definitely just plain. It's a get a drink and look at the ocean kind of place but it's not a fine dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Arrived 20 minutes early to 7 pm reserva ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Arrived 20 minutes early to 7 pm reservation & was told that they were clearing the table for us. After multiple couples & groups who came after us were seated over the next 35 mins, I went to the desk & reminded them we were still waiting; we were seated immediately, so obviously they had overlooked us. When seated, a very nice, but very "over-the-top" waiter waited on us. After salad was finished, he asked if my wife wanted a refill on her water, to which she said "yes". It never came from him & we waited for someone else to fill it much later. Food was "just ok", especially for what we paid. Wife had "chewy" steak; I had scampi with some weird-tasting pasta. Although this was not the first time we had been there, the wife stated she had no interest in returning and I had to agree, as it was not a very satisfactory experience.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Vacationing with friends in So Cal. Awes ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Vacationing with friends in So Cal. Awesome food, service and ambience.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day Diner. A lil $$$. I did ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Valentine's Day Diner. A lil $$$. I did enjoy my diner and time at Jake's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my husband's and my first time ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was my husband's and my first time to dine at Jake's. We had read and heard many nice reviews, so we thought we would try it out for an early Valentine's Day dinner.

We also invited two good friends of ours.

The place is great, nice atmosphere, with gorgeous beachfront views. The service was good. The food was very good as well. However, all four of us had a similar disappointment: Our entrees were not warm enough.

Also, the corking fees are a bit steep compared to other nice restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Ran out of halibut and was given swordfi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Ran out of halibut and was given swordfish for same price as alternative. Pretty tasteless swordfish. Wanted halibut since we ordered 2 specials.

They acknowledged the birthday boy when we arrived which was nice. He was given a birthday card on the table as well. Nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Anytime we are in Del Mar we make it a p ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Anytime we are in Del Mar we make it a point to stop at Jake's. On this visit we stopped twice and were happy with the meals both times. A walk on the beach afterward is a nice perk.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Where to begin. The server was personabl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Where to begin. The server was personable, but the kitchen seemed off. A very long wait on food and even bread for the table took to long. Server explained it was baking, but what eventually arrived, was not freshly baked. Lobster omelet was barely warm, same with egg burrito that was missing salsa! Chicken on salad, very under cooked......I could not eat it. I have not been to Jakes for several years, and doubt I will go back after this.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was great Waited for food to be ser ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great

Waited for food to be served for almost an hour, very crowded day

Servers friendly but very busy

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I took some out of towners here for brun ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I took some out of towners here for brunch and Jake's was nothing but a disappointment.

Yes, the views are incredible. The only way you'll be able to sit next to the window facing the water is if you come with a reservation right when they open. We arrived with a reservation at 10:30am and there were no window tables available despite putting in a request for one.

Our waitress was polite and friendly however service was ridiculous slow. The bread was probably the best part. We got our bread 30 minutes after being seated completely unacceptable. Our food arrived cold. We didn't say anything or send it back because after waiting an hour for our food we didn't want to risk another excessive wait for them to microwave our dishes.

Overall, beautiful scenery, mediocre food, and bad service. If you want to impress someone who has never seen the ocean before, take them here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Great brunch with excellent service by o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great brunch with excellent service by our server named Lauren.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my girlfriend here as a surprise ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I took my girlfriend here as a surprise date after we spent the day in San Diego. We were seated at a table in a corner of the restaurant so we had to sit side by side instead of across from each other but since we were in the corner it was a little more private. I ordered the Truffle Potato Crusted Fish and my girlfriend ordered the Filet Mignon adding on the Seared Scallops. The puree which came with the fish was delicious and it made the dish. Everything on my girlfriend's plate was delicious. The filet was cooked to a medium rare as requested and was tender and nicely seasoned. The mashed potatoes were smooth and scallops were cooked perfectly. We had a wonderful time dining at Jake's and we will definitely be back again when we get the chance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous setting, despite the fog oblite ...

 
 (Berkshire)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fabulous setting, despite the fog obliterating our view. Staff really helpful and friendly. Menu not overly large which made choosing even easier. ..and we liked this. The food was excellent. The crab cake was divine, and the ribs just out of this world. My husband's fish stew was one of the best. Pudding menu was just perfect, and the lemon tart did not disappoint. Brilliant experience, can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Management was very friendly and accommo ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Management was very friendly and accommodating for our lunch. The waiter Henry was knowledgeable and warm with lots of helpful suggestions on the menu and dessert. My girlfriend is a regular and was absolutely delighted with her birthday lunch!

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was cold and over priced for what y ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was cold and over priced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Food and views were wonderful. Nice pres ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Food and views were wonderful. Nice presentation and atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, excellent location on ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Great restaurant, excellent location on the beach , awesome service and fantastic food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food disappointing. Ordered the brisket ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food disappointing. Ordered the brisket beef hash, an old favorite, but this was so poorly prepared the manager asked the kitchen to remove the dish from the menu that day after we spoke to him about it. Lovely setting, cheerful service but undependable kitchen.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious mai tai. We enjoyed the apple ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Delicious mai tai. We enjoyed the apple candied walnut salad, the appetizer ribs, the seared scallops, and the shrimp scampi. We like to eat a nice meal on the last night of a vacation and Jake's fit the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We arrived early for our reservation and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and had a great appetizer and drinks. Our table was perfect, we were able have an intimate dinner with a great view. It was a totally great experience with beautiful and tasty food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant! Great service from H ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Awesome restaurant! Great service from Henry! Waves so close!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, Waterfront, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like the food at Jakes and ser ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We really like the food at Jakes and service at the table is good. However in all the times we have been there, there is always a wait for a table, sometimes an extremely long wait. Obviously it is a very popular place but I can only assume that they overbook.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been going to Jake's for many year ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We've been going to Jake's for many years to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We're now at 48 years and still counting. We haven't always gone to Jake's but when we are in town its at the very top of our go-to places. The food has always been exceptional, the atmosphere presents an pleasing ambience, the service is very friendly and the staff is very knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff is friendly and helpful, and t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The staff is friendly and helpful, and the food and view are both amazing. A great experience!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good place, great food and nice ocean vi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Good place, great food and nice ocean view, very good set up and great service

Value is in the high side, but food taste an service was good for the value

Also bar was a good place to wait before getting the table ready

Good for business dinner as well

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Get there early for the sunset views. Ev ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Get there early for the sunset views. Everything was great from the fresh fish, service, and location. Even though it was a tourist spot, it didn't feel like it. Locals seems to mix with tourists. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.