Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Jake's Del Mar

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Saturday 4:30 to 9:30 pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (187)
Scenic View (184)
Good for a Date (120)
See All
Special Occasion (117)
Good for Anniversaries (99)
Worth the Drive (93)
Romantic (81)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Creative Cuisine (69)
Great for Lunch (67)
Casual (65)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Fun (51)
Bar Seating (49)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Business Meals (37)
Great for Brunch (36)
Hot Spot (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Modern Decor (29)
Happy Hour (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
People Watching (27)
Cozy (26)
Healthy (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Notable Wine List (21)
Seasonal (18)
Authentic (18)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Family Style (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Historic (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great Beer (6)
Tapas (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Celebrated my Dad's 84th. Fantastic evening. Every entree was knock out. Love this spot.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Very nice view of the waterfront. Service was very good. Food was pretty good. My meal was a little salty but my husband's was delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Jake's is a great place for a casual lunch. Friendly service & creative menu set next to the ocean. Their prices are a little high but the views are worth it.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything works-- the sum of the parts is greater than the whole.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the view of the ocean!! I hear that it's more beautiful at sunset. Will be returning to see that.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic server - Greg. Gave great recommendations. Their ribs are truly incredible - all the meat just falls off the bone and the sauce is delicious! The calamari were great, blood orange salad amazing and main courses delicious as well. The special dessert was definitely worth having ( in fact we ordered a second one!). All that on top of a spectacular view looking out at the waves and the surfers made for an exceptional meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, atmosphere and service. Amazing views that were well worth the trip up from our downtown hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Marginal food, arrogant waiter, way overpriced
Nice view, that is the only positive
Overall really bad experience
Certainly will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful ocean-front view. Food was okay, not special. Our server was a bit too "in your face."

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Wow. Food was great. Everyone was super nice. Very surprised how much I liked this restaurant. And on the water!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Derrick was great! I had food restrictions and he spoke with the Chef and was able to do a vegetarian and gluten free dish not even on the menu.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Went here for brunch on 3/19/17. As always, the food, service, and ambiance were all excellent. Jake's never disappoints and remains my go-to place for any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Waiter nice , food very slow in arriving then it was cold, complained and they took it back and brought me another cold crab cake . Don't recommend for dinner too crowded and busy. We had lunch here yesterday and it was nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Rush you in and then put you on the clock! Not a great venue if you want a relaxed environment where you can have a business conversation, as noise levels are so high that you can't hear a thing. Still the best view of the sunset in San Diego County and that will never change! In summary, hurry in, get on the clock and watch the server do as trained to turn the table as quickly as possible. Food always OK and sometimes is better than that. One last thing,not clear that they know or care who have been their long time customers!

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Business meeting

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fabulous dinner with magnificent view. Couldn't ask for a better evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Love being there - great fish dishes. Staff made my birthday special - gotta have a Hula pie !

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Historic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

wonderful lunch to celebrate my husbands 84th, it is nice to find good food with a great view and fun time with friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The four of us have birthday lunches here twice a year. This time the grilled shrimp salad was over dressed & way too salty. The shrimp alone were perfect. Other group comments were...The pina colada was foamy on top & lacking flavor. The burger was a hit as well as the seafood soup, chicken salad, margarita & bloofy mary. So more positives than negatives! The view of the ocean is as always the best!

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Our experience was phenomenal, we were seated right before our reservation time and were able to get a oceanfront table which started off our night exceptionally well. Our server was great, had such great knowledge on the menu and made great recommendations. The atmosphere was great for a date. My boyfriend and I are going back again for our last meal while in Del Mar.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Too bad it was so foggy, as we love to come to Jake's for the surf view. But, the food, wine and scene are always great.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Jake's is a great place to take out of town guests. The view, service, food, and drinks set up a great evening each time we visit!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Thr best food, service and ocean view in North County, always our first and last stops when we spend the winter in California!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Casual, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fun, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Avi was a wonderful waiter, we ordered a few different dishes for tasting and he knew exactly how to stage them out to perfection. We found this place by chance when typing in "best dinner driving from San Diego to Los Angeles" we were traveling home and needed something quick, we were so happy to find out that jakes had sister restaurants called Dukes in Malibu where we live- we were willing to take the 1.5 hour drive to go there again in Del Mar! PERFECT EXPEREINCE.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was my granddaughter 's birthday. I mentioned it in my open table reservation. Every person we interacted with wished her a happy birthday. I really appreciated their kind attention to my granddaughter.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Arrived 45 minutes before reservation on Sat night to get a window view. Took 1 1/2 hours to be seated, and view was great (yes, by then it was dark but they do have lights). Food and service was great, but next time we'll skip the window wait. White bass special was tasty. Good wine list. Enjoyed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My favorite restaurant in the La Jolla Del Mar Encinitas oceanside corridor. Food is always excellent, service outstanding, and the view wonderful. Highly recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The service was great. We ordered the steak special. The steak was delicious but it sat on a few pieces of charred brocollini that was inedible and for $40 a plate some mashed potatoes would have been nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I took my friend to dinner for his birthday. Jake's was great. They made a little "big deal" about his birthday, but not over the top (which would have embarrassed him). They told him Happy Birthday and gave him a free dessert, but did not sing Happy Birthday. The food and ambiance were excellent, and they seated us at a window so we had a fabulous ocean view. I would definitely recommend Jake's.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Way too noisy..... could not hear conversation at my own table. Our server was average. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I love Jake's. Beautiful ocean view and great menu. However, when ordering any form of beef I found it to always arrive too rare - like it could moo. I have eaten at Jake's several times in the past month and ordered a range of beef entrees. Each arrived too rare, given I order "medium."

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Fabulous restaurant and fabulous food! We have celebrated 3 special occasions there and never been disappointed !

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our waitress was fabulous! Food was great. Noise level MADE IT VERY difficult to converse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 9, 2017

All good, food, service and the view. The burger was excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Average at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

They took extra special care of us for my birthday. Got a great view and the food was delicious! Note- all of the tables directly against the windows are for 4, so be prepared to sit a little farther from the windows with a smaller group of 2.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Jake's is such a high quality and fun place. It does not get any better than having a gorgeous view of sunset with by far the best Mai Tai on the planet. Then my family shared the iconic Hula Pie to top off a priceless evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This was my third time visiting Jake's Del Mar, and each time I have gone, I have enjoyed it even more than the last! The food is outstanding and the view was one of a kind. If you are looking for great food with an even better view, Jake's is your place!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Had the salmon, cooked perfectly. Jena, our server was friendly and attentive, fabulous table by the windownload. We loved it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Felt like waiter was performing, not waiting tables. Service was very good, but the over the top flamboyant performance was both annoying and distracting to an otherwise amazing dinner. The quality of the food was far higher than expected, or what we experienced on previous visits....am thinking a new chef has done some amazing work. We'll be back.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.