About Jake's Del Mar

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
2 More
Scenic View
North San Diego
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

scenic view (347)
special occasion (248)
romantic (173)
See All
great for lunch (144)
fit for foodies (134)
neighborhood gem (123)
hot spot (94)
great for brunch (94)
good for groups (84)
vibrant bar scene (74)
great for outdoor dining (49)
notable wine list (40)
kid-friendly (20)
late-night find (12)
Sort By:
Newest
3162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful setting. Good service. Food pr ...

Dined a day ago

Beautiful setting. Good service. Food presented attractively though not particularly delectable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing place for our one-year w ...

Dined 3 days ago

What an amazing place for our one-year wedding anniversary. My wife and I came to Jake's to celebrate, and we were treated like royalty. Not only was the service impeccable but our food was amazing and the view of the Pacific Ocean (right on the beach) was world class. The icing on top of the cake was literally that -- a delicious piece of ice cream cake (I forgot the menu name) on the house to honor the occassion! We will definitely be back next time we are in Del Mar. Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The location is awesome. Food was great ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The location is awesome. Food was great. Certainly worth going to.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was great for our out of town r ...

Dined 4 days ago

The view was great for our out of town relatives. The reservation was on time and we were treated great by the staff. The local fish selection was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The view was amazing. The service was ab ...

Dined 4 days ago

The view was amazing. The service was above average. The food was average.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and Service You can always ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous food and Service You can always count on Jake's for great tasting food and super service; views of beach make for a relaxing dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I literally stumbled onto Jake's a few y ...

Dined 5 days ago

I literally stumbled onto Jake's a few years ago on a business trip and now it is my favorite restaurant anywhere! The view from the restaurant is to die for and the food is fantastic! Never disappointed here. I make a point that whenever I am in the San Diego area, Jake's is a must!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

Up until this last visit Jake's has been ...

Dined 5 days ago

Up until this last visit Jake's has been one of our favorite places to go for weekend lunch or Brunch. We often take out of town visitors there and have always had a great experience. Unfortunately it seems as though they either have a new manager or a new chef and they've changed the portion sizes. We went for lunch Saturday and the portions were frankly an insult. My son and I both had the salmon. It was the tiniest piece of salmon I've ever been served as a meal. The menu said it came with shrimp. It came with 1 shrimp. My husband and cousin had the steak and wedge. It looked like a child's portion of steak. For entrees which costs $18 each for lunch I expect more than a 1/4 portion. Unfortunately I feel we must start searching for a new favorite place because we all left the restaurant hungry. If you look through the reviews on Yelp you'll see I'm not the only one who has noticed the change.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was very good, but the kitchen s ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

Service was very good, but the kitchen seemed very slow. The local yellowtail was worth the wait however. Great view and we love the vibe. And the Voss by the glass. We'll be back.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best places in Del Mar, maybe ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

One of the best places in Del Mar, maybe anywhere. View is amazing and so is the food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is breathtaking and it by itsel ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

The view is breathtaking and it by itself would be a good reason to come to this restaurant. The food is exquisite, service is excellent and not overwhelming, and the whole atmosphere is very uplifting. Definitely will come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I requested a table by the beach for a b ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

I requested a table by the beach for a birthday celebration. When we arrived, we were escorted to a table right in the middle of the Windows next to the beach, with a perfect view of the setting sun. A "Happy Birthday" card adorned the table! The service was excellent, with great recommendations on a great bottle of Pinot Noir and wonderful entrees. The waiter was attentive, polite, and also wished my wife a happy birthday. All in all, an exceptional evening!

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The ambiance was very nice and the view ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

The ambiance was very nice and the view was great. The food was only fair. We had the swordfish special, steak and lobster, lobster tails, and a seafood stew. I expected some special flavors and/or recipes but nothing was memorable. The green beans that were on 2 of our plates were large and too crisp. The steak was fatty and too chewy. Lobster was meh as was the swordfish. Service was good and attentive though. We shared the Hula pie that one of our friends told us we had to try and were disappointed in that as well. The serving is huge and it's sweet but doesn't have any intensity of flavor. Won't go back.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Have always loved dining at Jake's. Been ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Have always loved dining at Jake's. Been one of my favorites for approximately 30 year's. Do miss the Spice beans in the bloody Mary's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had friends visiting from Germany an ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

We had friends visiting from Germany and they originally wanted to go to the Marine Room, but we convinced them to try Jake's and they really enjoyed the dinner. Myself,,,, my favorite part of the meal was the Hula Pie!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary at Jakes t ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Jakes this year and it was a wonderful experience. Our waiter, Trevor , was attentive but not overbearing. The food was excellent from the crab cakes to the whitefish. The setting sun over the ocean reminded us of why we have come to San Diego to live. Our meal was complete with a complimentary mud pie to finish off our memorable day. Thank you Jakes for always setting high standards for food and service!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The view was fantastic. The service wa ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

The view was fantastic. The service was impeccable. The food was wonderful.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an amazing experience due primari ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had an amazing experience due primarily to the experienced staff. The food was good but the service, including the valet, the bar service and the servers, was really over the top good. Better than good, it was awesome. Thank you Jake's.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Desert and burrata! I loved both dishes ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Desert and burrata! I loved both dishes in that order... Would have preferred just arugula under burrata w avocado swipe. Cabbage was overwhelming and detracted.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Del Mar PERIOD! ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The best restaurant in Del Mar PERIOD! Been going there for years and never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious and great ambiance. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was delicious and great ambiance. Had a beautiful view of the ocean.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jake's is consistently good. Three of u ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Jake's is consistently good. Three of us went for dinner on a Friday eve around 8:30 PM. All the tables were full, so we were glad we had a reservation. I had mini ahi tacos and the baked eggplant, which were stellar, and then the chowder, which was good as well. One of my guests had the fish entree and other the big New York steak. We all loved the food and service. Drinks were good too, with many choices. This is not a budget restaurant, but is great for a special meal out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful place right on the beach. Suns ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Beautiful place right on the beach. Sunset is stunning her with a great glass of wine and amazing food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to Jake's for almost ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We have been coming to Jake's for almost nine years after moving to SD from upstate NY. We get a lot of east coast visitors and bring them all to Jake's because of the ocean views, great food, and terrific service. We always feel very welcome with the friendly staff. It is a special place for us and we recently celebrated my wife's birthday there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from the entire team! Amaz ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Great service from the entire team! Amazing view, since it's right on the beach. Seafood pot was really good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ocean-side dining, albeit inside. ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great ocean-side dining, albeit inside. Food was varied and wonderful (we go for seafood).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

The noise level was so high,it was hard ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The noise level was so high,it was hard to carry on a conversation between the two of us. The quality and taste of the food was below par as well.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Food was wonderful and the view amaz ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The Food was wonderful and the view amazing. I would go back outside of Brunch to try more of the food they have to offer.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and beautiful view! I went fo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and beautiful view! I went for my birthday and it was wonderful! Their potatoes are the best! I recommend Jakes for any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure

Dined on June 11, 2016

Its always a treat when hubby and I get to come here for dinner. Whether its for a special occasion or to relax and get a good jump on the weekend, Jakes is always a wonderful experience. We haven't been to Jakes in awhile (due to new baby), and boy has their menu changed drastically! Less food options and menu has dwindled down to only one page. Normally, this would make it easier to choose your meal, but would like to see more of a variety (hence the 4 stars for food). It would make my whole year if Jakes would bring back their tournedos of tenderloin.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A+ All Around

Dined on June 11, 2016

Jake's is unique in that it covers all of the bases, ambiance, food, service, location, all a perfect "10." If anything lacks, I'd say they need a better beer selection. For being located in an area known for microbreweries their selection could use some improvement. Yet everything else is worth the trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place, Good food

Dined on June 10, 2016

Jake's has an upscale casual feel with great ocean front views from most tables. Our service at recent visit excellent. (Thanks to Perry~friendly, attentive and didn't make us feel rushed) We were disappointed with the appetizer calamari, but wowed the brussel sprouts. My yellowtail was excellent, but husbands white bass was bit mushy. So mixed bag on food... Still, we'll happily return. Those views and breezes so inviting!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love coming back to Jake's. We l ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Always love coming back to Jake's. We live in Milwaukee and it's so wonderful to have a view of the ocean while dining.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Service

Dined on June 9, 2016

The waitress delivering drinks was very rude. The 2nd drink tasted different so we asked to have them remade. She took our drinks poured then into a shaker and put back in the same glass! And still charged us $12 per drink. The service was very slow and the wait staff inattentive .. We went for the location but the food and service were way below par especially when you spend $400 on your meal!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

Dined on June 7, 2016

The view was amazing, the food was delicious and the service was excellent. Planning another visit next month for a Birthday Celebration.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and service superb.

Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was excellent and service superb.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy Birthday

Dined on May 30, 2016

My Wife and I enjoyed my Birthday celebration. The appetizers were excellent. We had the crab cakes and calamari. We had a second course of seafood chowder and the golden beet salad which was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the special sea bass and mahi selections which were cooked perfectly and accented with delicate sauces and additions like pea tendrils, fingerling potatoes and wild mushrooms. A nice Pinot Noir and a complimentary desert for my birthday made the evening fantastic. The beachside views and beautiful sunset made for an unforgettable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Food's a bit blah but the ambiance is fantastic

Dined on May 29, 2016

Loved the front end hosting staff. They helped secure a great window seat for our out of town friends. Food was just o-k, which is a bummer because I wanted the food to be GREAT! Service was a bit off - they overcharged by accident & wasn't around too much. Either way we will return for ambiance

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The service was slow, the food was not u ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The service was slow, the food was not up to its normal quality. My husband ordered a scallop dish that came with three scallops. There was so much time between courses during a time the restaurant wasn't even busy. So much time passed that I downgraded my entree to a bowl of soup because I was already full from apps and bread. Disappointed over all and won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely

Dined on May 29, 2016

We came here for my daughter's 15th birthday and had excellent service. The waitstaff is wonderful and the bar staff. The food (mahi mahi) was fresh and light with an amazing sauce. I am still craving. My daughter was well taken care of and thoroughly enjoyed the Hula Pie!! We will be back very very soon!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.