About Jake's Del Mar

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
  • Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA
Jake's Del Mar, Del Mar, CA

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
Scenic View
North San Diego
1 More
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

Scenic View (189)
Waterfront (141)
Special Occasion (135)
See All
Good for a Date (93)
Romantic (77)
Great for Lunch (75)
Good for Birthdays (74)
Worth the Drive (69)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Casual (53)
Great for Brunch (52)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
Fun (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Hot Spot (37)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Good for Groups (35)
Business Meals (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Happy Hour (27)
People Watching (23)
Healthy (21)
Local Ingredients (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Authentic (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Outstanding Value (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Family Style (6)
Seasonal (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tapas (5)
Historic (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fireplace (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
3479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and waitress were wonderful-front d ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and waitress were wonderful-front desk staff, not as great. Made a reservation for daughter's birthday, arrived a bit early was told to wait closer to reservation time (no problem). However, many tables were sat before us (including walk-ins), they told all the other reservations "Happy Birthday", etc.. but nothing said to my daughter and sat 15min late. Not happy with front desk service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

this is an absolutely lovely spot, direc ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

this is an absolutely lovely spot, directly on the beach. The food was very, very good and the service both efficient and friendly. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Usually this restaurant is spot on, alwa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Usually this restaurant is spot on, always love dining here...but we had terrible service and issues with our meals. Hopefully just a rare disappointment.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

Love Jake's! Friendly, fast service, inc ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Love Jake's! Friendly, fast service, incredible view. Had a wonderful visit with old friends and did not feel rushed since we were catching up.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View is great. Service excellent. Went o ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

View is great. Service excellent. Went on a Saturday hoping for brunch but they don't serve it for some reason. The lunch menu was mediocre especially compared to the great Sunday brunch menu or lovely dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had Ashley and he was a very nice ser ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had Ashley and he was a very nice server. The place was very pretty and the view of the beach was outstanding. The Valet Parking was very useful. Overall, I would go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the only thing that was disconcerting wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

the only thing that was disconcerting was a barking dog. Bet it was not a service dog ( a pretend service dog) as they do not bark. That was a distractor as we could not figure out where the patio is. We know that if you have open patio these inconsiderate folks can bring their dog. Really took away from Jake's class act.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a wonderful Thanksgiving here. Great ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had a wonderful Thanksgiving here. Great service. Great food. Beautiful view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always cooked to perfection and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food is always cooked to perfection and tastes great. Service is outstanding.

Can't beat the ocean view.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Thanksgiving menu. The prime rib ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Amazing Thanksgiving menu. The prime rib was the best I've ever had. Others at the table were Filet Minion, Turkey dinner and Grilled shrimp & everyone gave it 5 stars. Jake's has always been a family favorite & now that I live in Denver, it is a must visit everytime I'm in town.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first visit to Jake's Del Mar was on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My first visit to Jake's Del Mar was on Thanksgiving Day. They had a special menu that included Turkey and Trimmings. I am not a big Turkey fan so I had the Filet and my wife had a mixed seafood bowl. We enjoyed the Brussel sprouts appetizer and the Tartare Tostada. We topped off our visit with Kimo's original Hula Pie. That is an amazing desert and it even served with a custom Spork! The Chocolate Peanut Butter Torte was amazing but was eclipsed by the Hula Pie. This is a friendly and welcoming happy place. Our server was excellent. The ocean view was inspiring. The seating was comfortable and it seemed like every table in the restaurant had a great ocean view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful view, nicely appointed and ou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Beautiful view, nicely appointed and our waiter was very personable.

On the down side, food was good, not great and the prices outrageous considering the small portions. Dinner was $170.00 for a modest meal for two with two cocktails each.

It seems happy hour and Sunday brunch are a much better deal.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

It was extremely loud. The food was fair ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was extremely loud. The food was fairly tasty, but was not served hot. Fish was way over-cooked, potatoes were quite cold, fish soup was excellent, and Brussels sprouts were good. Overall, really not worth the price, so we probably won't go back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Lunch at Jakes is always a very special ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Lunch at Jakes is always a very special event. Great food and service along with a fantastic view......hands down the best!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I proposed to my wife on the beach after ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I proposed to my wife on the beach after dinner so it holds a special meaning for us. The food is always great and we feel at home here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This afternoon we enjoyed a great meal, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This afternoon we enjoyed a great meal, drinks and the ocean view.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was for 11:30 am . My wi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our reservation was for 11:30 am . My wife and I arrived a few minutes early and expected to have to wait for awhile to be seated as they were pretty busy. We were pleasantly surprised when we were seated right away at a great window table. A bit noisy but food was good, service was very good and view was beautiful. We will come back sometime in the future.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We requested a window seat and we were s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We requested a window seat and we were seated in a window corner with windows all around us. Stephen, our server,was outstanding. The food we ordered was most excellent as always. This restaurant is a shining star among other restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for dinner with friends after ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went here for dinner with friends after spending a day at the races. Was lucky enough to get seated at the window on a round table (always the best for 6 or more). Noticed as a round of Mai Tai's were walking by the table that this is the same chain that owns Duke's Huntington, Leilani's and Hula Grill in Maui. Same Mai Tai's and Hula Pie - Yay!! Wife had lamb shank which fell off the bone and I had scallops. Delicious meal finished off with Hula Pie for the table. Excellent..

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Nice place, good service but overpriced. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Nice place, good service but overpriced. Parking can be a problem unless you are willing to pay for valet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

great food, lovely salads, calamari and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

great food, lovely salads, calamari and crab cakes

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was my 2nd time at Jake's DelMar. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was my 2nd time at Jake's DelMar. Their Mixed Seafood Pot is incredible. I dream about this dish it's that delicious. A great restaurant with delicious food and a beautiful view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jake's is always a fun place to visit an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Jake's is always a fun place to visit and the food is great! I would recommend it for any occasion. The service was outstanding and the view is wonderful.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't ask for a better location -righ ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Couldn't ask for a better location -right on the seafront Friendly helpful staff.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Jake''s never fails! Friendly bartender ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Jake''s never fails! Friendly bartenders! Friendly wait staff that never overstays their welcome at the table. Great food with a great view. My out-of-town guest was so impressed with the location, food, and value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aside from the incredible view and locat ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Aside from the incredible view and location, I don't think it was very good food and the service was really poor. The crab cakes were really overcooked, the risotto was under seasoned, and our waiter was never there when we needed him and when he was there he took away food without asking (and after someone has put a thumb in your food, you don't really want them to leave it).

Maybe we just had really bad luck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

What a treat. Friends, who accompanied ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 14, 2016

What a treat. Friends, who accompanied us, had recommended and we were thrilled they did. Requested table with a view in a quiet section of restaurant and, despite busy hour, they graciously complied. Not enough can be said about the quality of the food. Three of us had the grouper and it was superb; the fourth had the ahi and she was very impressed. The service was just the right mix of attentiveness w/out the constant "how is the food." Would highly recommend and will return when in the area.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was absolutely amazing! I had the b ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was absolutely amazing! I had the braised shortrib hash for breakfast and ordered a sticky macadamia coffee cake! The hash was very good although I though it could have been a little bit bigger in portion. The coffee cake was very good, it was served with what I believe was a lemon tart butter what was whipped. Some of the best butter if ever had. This place has a stunning view and our service was amazing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you get Daniel as your server, you'l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

If you get Daniel as your server, you'll have a great evening with fine service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food and service was great. Portions ar ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food and service was great. Portions are on the small side. Prepare to have an appetizer or salad. Drinks are plentiful. How will never beat the view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seafood pot is always delicious. Enjoyed ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Seafood pot is always delicious. Enjoyed the flavor and presentation of grouper - very creative dish. Shrimp and lobster tacos looked amazing - very popular dish - my hubby and I look forward to trying this dush next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been coming to jakes for 30 years. Reli ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Been coming to jakes for 30 years. Reliable good food and service. Menu is not extensive, but what they have they do well. Great views by the window. Latest visit was on a busy evening, but the service was almost as if we were the only ones there.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service. Jakes is ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always great food and service. Jakes is a great place for out of tiwn visitors and friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we love having lunch here. The view is ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

we love having lunch here. The view is incredible, and we always enjoy the food. I was a little disappointed that the gluten free menu has gone, replaced by a few items on the regular menu which are flagged GF, but our server, Henry, was extremely helpful and really knew the menu, so I was able to have a delicious meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

View tells it all

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

View tells it all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Have been eating at Jake's for many year ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Have been eating at Jake's for many years. We had a visitor, and as usual we all enjoyed a superb meal.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in the sun and I almost passed o ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We were in the sun and I almost passed out from the heat. There umbrellas are not adequate for the rooftop. Server was nice but good was only ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Love to celebrate here. The view is so s ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Love to celebrate here. The view is so special.

the staff is warm and caring.

The food is lovely and creative.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were tourist and the resort we were s ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We were tourist and the resort we were staying recommended Jake's. Very good choice. We had a lovely view of the ocean. Service was good. Food good. We had bread pudding for dessert. Only fair. If you want to know how to do great bread pudding then look at any of the great restaurants in New Orleans. They make the best bread pudding anywhere and I have tried many across the country. Overall, a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.