About Jake's Del Mar

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
Scenic View
North San Diego
1 More
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

Scenic View (294)
Special Occasion (215)
Romantic (135)
See All
Great for Lunch (130)
Fit for Foodies (106)
Neighborhood Gem (106)
Great for Brunch (85)
Great for Outdoor Dining (75)
Vibrant Bar Scene (67)
Good for Groups (67)
Hot Spot (66)
Waterfront (41)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for a Date (21)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Casual (15)
Late-night Find (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
People Watching (8)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Historic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Cozy (2)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely brunch! Hostess and waitress ver ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined a day ago

Lovely brunch! Hostess and waitress very kind . Ambience and presentation of food was on spot!

We will be returning again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This has always been a great place and c ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

This has always been a great place and continues to be. The food is excellent and service is outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite dining with an ocean view. My ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

Favorite dining with an ocean view. My burger was excellent and very large. Wonderful server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good although a little disappoi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food was good although a little disappointed in the fresh fish selection

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely love Jakes! It's a must for u ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Absolutely love Jakes! It's a must for us to visit every time we are in DelMar. Great food, staff, right on the Pacific Ocean! A short walk from the village.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a destination brunch spot for us ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is a destination brunch spot for us. Oceanfront dining so always something to see. Good food, very friendly servers. Reservations highly recommended. Inventive changing menu. Good craft cocktails. Very limited parking so must valet.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely slow service, food was excelle ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Extremely slow service, food was excellent and the setting is beautiful on the beach. Took 1 1/2 hours to receive our food. Definitely not impressed with the waiter. We have been on many occasions and the service is lacking.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Ambiance is nice. View was great. Servic ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Ambiance is nice. View was great. Service was outstanding. Food and wine were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservation was at 2:15 PM hoping to ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our reservation was at 2:15 PM hoping to miss the lunch crowd, and being able to relax for a few hours, have a few drinks then something to eat, as it was a special occasion. when we arrived our waiter told us "the kitchen was closing very soon, and we would have to order something quickly". We were disappointed, and said we didnt want to eat immediately, and he said "the order could be held in the kitchen for a while". We were having a first drink when he came back for our order, and within 10 minutes, also disappointing, it was on the table. We really wanted to have a few drinks and relax. Then he asked if we wanted another drink, and we passed. He said he had to leave and close out our tab so gave it to us and left. So, instead of a relaxing celebration, we were in and out in about an hour, feeling very rushed.

I have been to Jakes several times but never had this experience. I would recommend it with some conditions. I probably wouldnt personally do that again.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I asked for a table close to the water f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I asked for a table close to the water for my birthday and they made sure that I got it! We had a great meal and enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am never disappointed with Jakes, the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I am never disappointed with Jakes, the view and food are amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was far to loud due to nearby tables ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

It was far to loud due to nearby tables with extremely loud customers. It made a very special night a lot less special. Although we have always liked Jakes, we won't go back for a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have eaten at Jake's many times and e ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We have eaten at Jake's many times and each time it is a wonderful experience. Dennis was our waiter and we could not have asked for better service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My only problem was that they seated us ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

My only problem was that they seated us facing directly into the sun and made no effort to change it.

The server was excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Love the Mixed Seafood Pot and the view. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love the Mixed Seafood Pot and the view. But it was crowed and noisy

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Lobster omlet was excellent and the view ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Lobster omlet was excellent and the view can't be beat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant is gorgeous but we had a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The restaurant is gorgeous but we had a very poor experience. The food was not very good and neither of us finished anything. My fish was very tough and needed a knife to cut through it. In retrospect, I should have sent it back. Our service was fine back lacking in attentiveness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Jesse the bartender was great and so was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Jesse the bartender was great and so was our server Daniel.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent on every level!! Keep up the ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent on every level!!

Keep up the great food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Historic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Jakes and go there with my friend ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I love Jakes and go there with my friends to celebrate birthdays, we love the pie!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Nathan, was attentive, but n ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server, Nathan, was attentive, but not intrusive, friendly and knowledgeable. The food was outstanding and the view wonderful. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great fish dishes and love the se ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always great fish dishes and love the seasonal menu changes.

Always noisy but we are used to that and the view of the ocean is wonderful.

Very attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Saying goodbye to a friend I wanted to t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Saying goodbye to a friend I wanted to take her someplace I knew would have a great view. Jakes has that and great service. We ordered the same thing. Hers was amazing the local catch. Mine was a little different. Jakes is amazing and I will bring more people here for a great experience

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Casual, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. Like the varie ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great service and food. Like the variety of menu with a wide range of flavors to suit anyone's taste. Great seafood.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A few of my girlfriends took the train t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

A few of my girlfriends took the train to Solana Beach and ubered to Jake's to celebrate a special birthday. The service was fantastic and the location is amazing!! The menu looked very appealing but the seafood caesar salad was not that great. Desert was fabulous-- Kimo Hula pie- YUM!

I would go back because of the great view but the food would not be the attraction, in my opinion.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated my best friend's birthday. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We celebrated my best friend's birthday. She enjoyed the view and the food.

She praised the birthday dessert.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Healthy, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Granted it was a Sunday at 11:00 am for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Granted it was a Sunday at 11:00 am for brunch....but we waiting 50 minutes for our food to arrive once we ordered......

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Nice that the waitress recognized me as ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nice that the waitress recognized me as a frequent guest. Jakes is my place to recommend to meet up with friends for a simple gals get together. We always enjoy the small gathering.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated right away (even though n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were seated right away (even though not all our party was together). Nice views of the ocean. Decent wine list and mixed cocktails. Menu is varied, yet not too extensive. Ordered the local fish of the day. Very good. Brussel sprout appetizer was delicious. Overall, a pleasant beachside place. Parking seemed a bit crazy, but it was the weekend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Every time we go to Del Mar, Jakes is th ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Every time we go to Del Mar, Jakes is the first dinner of our stay. We asked the hostess to seat us in the room with a view of the ocean. Thank you for accommodating the request.Clayton was a great waiter. He explained things well and there was no pressure to buy things we didn't want. He explained the menu from appetizers to dessert. He promptly positioned the circuses on the table as my wife and I made our dinner choices. We had the Ono and gazpacho tortilla plate....both excellent. We both had the Ono plate and once again excellent. And both had the chocolate-peanut butter torte. Of course we washed it down with one of our favorites (Rombauer). It was nice to not be rushed just to fill the table again. We have made Jakes a wedding anniversary place to dine and will continue to do so. Please thank the chef for keeping the consistency of the food excellent. It's what keeps us coming back every year. Thanks to your gracious staff. Mark and Sylvia Buza

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated a bit earlier, that was nice. Wa ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Seated a bit earlier, that was nice. Waiter friendly and knowledgeable about menu and specials. Great food, never disappointed, we've been coming here for at least 5 years and always planning to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always dine at Jake's Del Mar for sp ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We always dine at Jake's Del Mar for special occasions, i.e. birthdays and anniversaries. We had a window table as we celebrated our wedding anniversary. As always, great food and great service. It was also a wonderful beach day and watched a great sunset. Receiving complementary dessert (Hula Pie) was awesome!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have celebrated numerous anniversarie ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We have celebrated numerous anniversaries and birthdays here watching the sunsets

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jake's is consistently a great restauran ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Jake's is consistently a great restaurant, wonderful selection of fresh food, great location and staff. This is my first choice to bring friends that are visiting and celebrate any special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I ordered fish kids meals for my little ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I ordered fish kids meals for my little kids. The waiter didn't inform me the type of fish and I was making an assumption that fish was safe for kids to eat (will not make assumption again). After we finished and on our way out, I casually asked the receptionist what kind of fish it was. I was stunned to be told it was swordfish! There is a warning sign in their reception area that sword fish is one of those fish that children and pregnant women should not eat! The manager told me the sign was " just a warning", and they have been serving swordfish in kids meals and have had no problem in the past! Oh, wow! This restaurant is either ignorant, or unethical, or both!

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a wonderful experience at Jakes. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Jakes. Our waitress was very attentive and experienced the beautiful sunset on the beach was amazing. Great food. Great ambience. An overall great experience. I highly recommend Jakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband and I were visiting Del Mar. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband and I were visiting

Del Mar. We decided to have an early dinner at Jakes.

We were so glad we did.

Beautiful view and the food was delicious!

The atmosphere was lively.

Perfect for dates, family dinners,

Elderly.

Just great!! Next time we visit Del Mar we will absolutely eat there .

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

An amazing location with really great fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

An amazing location with really great food. The portions are tiny though.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had 10AM Sunday brunch and it was jus ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had 10AM Sunday brunch and it was just lovely. Get their at 10AM if you want the best seats closest to the beach. All the food and drinks we tried were delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was great and the view was u ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was great and the view was unbelievable! The overall experience was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.