Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 116 times today

Jake's Del Mar

4.7
4971 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Waterfront
  • Special Occasion
Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Saturday 4:30 to 9:30 pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(858) 755-2002
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Duvinh Ta
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
15th street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
$4 parking through Sunset Valet
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 4971 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.8
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Overall good experience. We were seated at one of the best place with beach in the background. Server was nice, food was great but quantity of food was dismal for the price we paid and what we expected. Side of plates were very disappointing to all of us but food tasted really good. Overall paid almost $300 with no leftovers going home 😊

Dinner entrees are average $30 plus tip and tax. Great place for special occasions and when money is not an issue.

Parking is $6 valet parking.

Overall, I would probably prefer Poseidon or Chart House over Jake.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Fabulous in all categories!! Jake’s never disappoints!! Get the salmon—it is extra delicious now, and the preparation with pineapple compote and yogurt is unique and excellent!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Warm welcome, well-placed comfortable table, amazing sand and surf view, great drinks and fresh, delicious starters and beautifully prepared entrees (chowder, calamari, shrimp ravioli), awesome service provided by Oliver! We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 2 days ago

When we got seated it was an awesome table in the corner with beautiful view of ocean. The waiter was very friendly. Then they surrounded our table with screaming infants at three different tables. We left early and when I left I noticed that the only area that they seated the crying babies was around us. We won’t be going back for an earlier dinner... if at all. We got the rest of the food to go and the waiter asked what was wrong... I guess he didn’t notice the high pitched screams.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Very friendly staff and management. Impressed at how the managers were so involved/hands on with helping their staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Went for Father's Day. Food was good, but our eggs benedict were a bit too runny. Portions not that large, but can't beat the ocean front view! Servers were very friendly.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

We always come to Jake’s when we visit Carlsbad.Our server was excellent but I have a feeling that the kitchen was off.Our food took a long time to come to the table & my entree was cold.We will give it another try.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Awesome! We love Jake's and spe d our special occasions there. Our waiter Ashly was great! Always great service awesome wait staff and can't beat the view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Maggie is AWESOME! She made our family celebration that much more special!! Looking forward to coming back again soon! Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Everyone from the host staff to the wait staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be accommodating. Thank you for a wonderful meal. We will be back, as usual, for our next special occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Service was slow. Help carried buckets of "something" through the dining room (yuck!). Parking is impossible (had to walk 90 YO mom down a hill because valet was backed up). Used to go there for food, service and view. Now I just go for the view and pray the "tall" family isn't between me and the window.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous service and delicious food, as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Definitely one of our go-to places in San Diego. We love Jake’s. Great food. Impeccable service. Superb location. Consistently a great place to have a meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We live in Del Mar, and we try to avoid those places meant to capture out of town people wowed by the view. Jakes delivers great service and friendly staff every time. Their food is not what you would seek from a very high place, but it is consistently good, tasty and cooked to your request. I recommend this place over all other beachside places.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

This is a great San Diego landmark restaurant. Right on the ocean. Great food, beautiful view of the setting sun, Excellent service (thanks Greg!). We have been coming to Jake's for over 30 years and it never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Surprisingly it was soooooo crowded though it was an weekday night. Although we had a reservation, we needed to wait for over half an hour for an window table.

Other than that, it was another great dinner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

I did not think the chicken salad was very good. We have eaten here many times, but this time the food was just okay, disappointing!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 11, 2018

One dinner was served cold, which is rather shocking for an upscale restaurant. It was returned, reheated and served again with the result that the lobster and other ingredients were overcooked. Check including tax and tip was over $180 for the 4 of us. Not great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Great place for every occasion, the view, atmosphere, service, and drinks are outstanding! Thanks for making my Birthday so special :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

View and food never disappoint here. Valet parking is always appreciated during the summer when it gets a little crazy down at the waterfront.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Greg - amazing service top notch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great food, drink and service. The ambiance can’t be beat

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great food and a spectacular location on the beach! Cheers

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Jake's is a mainstay in Del Mar and has been for years. You can always count on a great experience there. Being right on the water, the views are spectacular. The service is always terrific and all are super knowledgeable....

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Did not have a good experience. Food delivered to another table, then picked up and brought to us. I refused to take food delivered to another table...server seemed unconcerned about mistake. Will not return to this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Terrible experience. I work at Amazon, and one of our leadership principles is "Customer Obsession". Jakes fell ASTONISHINGLY SHORT on that, on the (first) and (last) evening, I will ever dine here.

I booked through Open Table and requested a quiet table, away from a high-traffic area because, as I stated in my request, that it is a very important business meeting with a CIO and CTO from a major local Fortune 500 company, and his executives.

Needless to say, they could not have put me in a WORSE location. I was seated with my co-workers and these executives at the end of a busy row - (think people walking by every 5 seconds). Further, we had a party of 5 and they took a 4-person booth and made it into a party of 5 table by adding a chair to the end of the booth.

Over the course of 2 hours of what should have been meaningful customer conversation, my chair was bumped no less than 30 times. The distraction from people walking by in my peripheral vision all night was so distracting.

The drinks (to buffer this upset) were served slow - at best. There was constant tension at the table, and it was NOT as I would have expected from a high-end restaurant such as Jakes.

I wistfully watched other tables who clearly were not experiencing the despair and angst I was, seated the way we were. They laughed and enjoyed their evening as I watched wistfully, wishing I was in a different location, all night. It's as if they ran out of tables, and just sat us somewhere.

I am BEYOND DISAPPOINTED. This was a very key alignment dinner with myself, my peers, and these executives. It was intense to begin with and the seating situation made matters FAR WORSE. Had we been seated in an appropriate table, then it would have buffered the intensity of the conversation we were trying to have.

Unfortunately, what I had hoped would be an amazing, casual, stress-free environment for a dinner, just aggravated the situation for all.

I will NEVER BE BACK.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Jake's is definitely one of my favorite restaurants. It's a 45-minute drive, but well worth the travel time. We love it for the view, the menu selections, the excellent food preparation, and the service. It's top of the list of where to go for special occasions. It's a very popular place, so unfortunately it does get pretty loud at times...that would absolutely be the only downside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Totally please. Hostess, table, food, servers, Excellent!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Loved my experience. Everything on the menu sounded amazing and I had such a hard time deciding what to go with. Ended up going with the crab cake for a starter (it was just ok) and the halibut special for my Entree and it was so delicious, it made up for the mediocreness of the crab cake

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

This was our second visit to Jake's. Food and service was wonderful. On our previous visit, we were seated at a table towards the back of the restaurant. This time we requested a window table since we had guests and wanted them to experience that fabulous view. Next time we'll return to the previous area. The noise was at a level that we could barely hear each other talk. BUT....that was my fault for requesting that location. Should have known better.

GREAT evening all in all. Just louder than we'd anticipated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We had a birthday date night last weekend and it was a perfect evening. The wait staff was friendly and jokey, the food was delicious and the view, of course, was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Consistently excellent. Busy place so make a reservation. Superb food and reasonable prices. Very attentive servers. A favorite of ours. Will definitely have dinner at Jake's many, many more times!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The food matched up to an incredible view of the beach and surf.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Fantastic meal, our service was amazing and overall a great evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

We live close by and love Jake’s! We always come here even if for just lunch or for happy hour. Food is great & the view is explicit. We hope they start treating customers more as a family to become more of a family or neighborhood restaurant. People still think of Jake’s - the Duke’s restaurant of just fancy & pricey. But for us, we love it here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Great fresh food. Wonderful service and amazing ocean view.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 31, 2018

We went to Jakes for two of us celebrating birthdays. The service (Joshua our server) was excellent and the views of the ocean and beach are amazing! The food was very good, beet salad is a good choice. If you like ahi tuna, not bad, but portion is smallish. Brussel Sprouts were another good choice. Sandwiches were good. Four of us shared a piece of hula pie for our birthday dessert. We enjoyed it and it was enough dessert for all of us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

This was our first time at Jake’s Del Mar. We travel extensively and we can truthfully say this was one of our best meals ever! Great service, food and the ocean view was excellent. Don’t miss the Hula Pie!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Amazing experience. Went for a birthday celebration and couldn’t be more happy with the atmosphere the staff created to help us celebrate!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
125

Tweets by Jake's Del Mar