Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Jake's Del Mar

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Saturday 4:30 to 9:30 pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (222)
Scenic View (211)
Special Occasion (142)
See All
Good for a Date (132)
Good for Anniversaries (115)
Casual (103)
Good for Birthdays (99)
Worth the Drive (99)
Romantic (96)
Great for Lunch (93)
Fun (77)
Creative Cuisine (71)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Bar Seating (63)
Happy Hour (61)
People Watching (61)
Sunday Lunch (54)
Great for Brunch (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Hot Spot (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Business Meals (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Good for Groups (35)
Authentic (34)
Local Ingredients (32)
Notable Wine List (29)
Seasonal (19)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Cozy (16)
Tasting Menu (14)
Quick Bite (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Great Beer (10)
Tapas (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Spicy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
4247 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 20 hours ago

Birthday- the Hula Pie was AMAZING! ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 20 hours ago

What nderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first visit - very busy place (but it's Friday lunch and summer at the beach). You can sit right at the edge of the sand. Beautiful view. The food and service were great. I had the seafood cioppino and my husband had the fish tacos. Both delicious. The watermelon salad and flatbread appetizers were outstanding. We're anxious to go back to try dinner. Worth the trip for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Was busy due to the racing season but was worth it. Great service, great location and view. Hula pie was phenomenal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

GREAT location -- you can hear the waves hitting the sand -- food was delicious -- the restaurant was packed

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and an even greater view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Great dinner with the family from out of town. The staff was most attentive and pleasant, the view unmatched and the food delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful and delicious anniversary dinner... Incomparable views and exceptional service provided by Daniel. We've never been disappointed at this beautiful waterside restaurant, which makes every occasion special!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Jake's remains a stalwart beach place. Right on the beach with a great view. Food and service are both fine, but the view is the real deal. Particularly good place to take visitors from the North or East during the winter months. You don't have to say a thing - they just look at the people enjoying the beach and think of the weather to which they will soon be returning. And you can enjoy watching them suffer and think about how smart you are to live in San Diego. Quick, inexpensive valet parking is a nice plus.

Tags: Healthy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Beachfront, gorgeous atmosphere, reasonable prices, friendly staff... what's not to like? The two times I've been to Jake's, I've been impressed with the quick service, the friendly nature of the staff (even when they were crazy busy), and the quality of the food. Our latest server, Josh, was exceptionally attentive and considerate, yet non-intrusive. A perfect host!

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely restaurant. Have been coming here for many years. Had a wonderful dinner and you can't beat either the food or the view.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. Service was superb! and pricing was not outrageous..!

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Jake's made our anniversary memorable. We were wished "happy anniversary" by each staff member who served us and a card wishing us the same was on our table, signed by all the "crew". I had asked if we might have table with a lovely view for our dinner; Jake's came through with a table with an ocean view! The complimentary "hula pie" was a treat. We will visit Jake's again!
Thanks to all the Jake's crew!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

good experience, very good service, great view, food needs a little work

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

One of our favorite places, but can be busy. Food is consistently good and not overpriced for a beachfront location. THE place for dinner and a sunset in Del Mar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Casual, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Good service, great food, high prices. But, with the gorgeous view right on the beach, it's well worth the splurge! I'd do it again in a minute.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our server Daniel was truly remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Good is always outstanding, it's right on the beach, pretty pricey, always loud and busy, worth the noise to me!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Authentic, Waterfront, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Basically on the beach, but inside (windows open) so you are not subject to the elements like you could be completely on a patio. The food was amazing. I thought it a bit noisy, but my wife and I could hear each other across the table. It was our anniversary, and we think we want to go to Jake's every year. It was really that good and that special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Authentic, Healthy, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Come here everytime we are in San Diego. Love the food and the whole ambience.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Literally one of the best dining experiences I've had in recent years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great food and great service. Worth the drive from Laguna Niguel,

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Flawless location if you can get a table at the window. You're literally on the beach. Completely beautiful. The food was fine. The price is in alignment with the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Jakes has been here forever and dumpy and dull and dark......the new remodel and new menu make it a place we will keep going to! Had a watermelon salad that was unique and yummy. Fish tacos were great and the salsa was actually spicy. Had a grapefruit martini that was different and good... the setting right on the beach with the breeze and crash of the waves can't be beat.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Always amazing service and an unbelievable view. All staff is very accommodating and super friendly. Got the caesar salad, fig, pig and blue flatbread to start. Every single bite was delicious. The swordfish special with polenta was phenomenal. I look forward to trying a new dish every time. I have no doubt that it will delight my tastebuds! Thanks Jake's!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I lived in Del Mar for 2 years, and Jake's was my favorite! I moved to Northern California 3 years ago and was so happy to be able to dine at Jake's while I was visiting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Jake's has become really casual... people right off the beach covered in sand with shorts were seated across from us. NOT a great date night restaurant anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Birthday lunch with out of town friend was delightful. Setting is gorgeous, staff are very professional and efficient and food was delicious. Thank you to Chelsea for making it a special day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great neighborhood spot. Wish they'd up their draft beer game a bit though.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was our anniversary and everything was great, as usual. They put us at a quiet table in the back next to the window. The ambiance, the service (great waiter - friendly and knowledgable), and the food was exactly what we expected. Our favorite beach spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Casual, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We went for lunch to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. We had no doubt as to why it was the number one restaurant on yelp and at our hotel. We wanted to go for dinner but it was booked, even on a weeknight. The waiter was outstanding and helped us select wonderful fresh fish choices. He was also extremely attentive to our needs as well as our privacy. Definitely, a memorable experience. Thank you!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The food here is awesome. Right on the beach so the view is fantastic. Favorites: Brussels sprouts, BBQ ribs (unbeatable anywhere), grilled Baja fish tacos, steak & wedge. You can't go wrong here.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We loved dining at Jakes: delicious filet Mignon and great fish. Nice ocean views and charming waiter (Daniel). The children also had a wilde choice of kids menu's. We liked it so much, we immediate made Reservations for the next day.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Coming back next year. No greater place to eat well and watch the sun set. Too bad you can't take your cocktail outside.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, People Watching, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great seafood chowder, scallops, seafood pot, Flatbread. Gorgeous view. Waited for a table by the ocean, worth the wait. Only downside was the noise level. We practically had to shout to hear each other.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 1, 2017

View is spectacular and we had good service
Only downside is valet parking was full so we had to pay double and walk across the street

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Visiting from Arizona. Second year in a row. Jakes is a must do for us.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food server was a little slow (it was very busy) but we enjoyed our view and just being able to enjoy each other's company.
One of our group is from Louisiana two are from Arizona one Northern California and one from Elko Nevada.
Great place I would recommend to all our friends when in San Diego area it's right on the beach in Old Del Mar.
The food was excellent the curry dish was the best I have ever had.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Have been coming here for 25years but feel menu has declined. Juevos ranchero don't even look Mexican anymore. Tortillas way too crisp. Same with fish tacos. Vegan salad delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.