Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Jake's Del Mar

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Saturday 4:30 to 9:30 pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (229)
Scenic View (222)
Special Occasion (128)
See All
Good for a Date (126)
Worth the Drive (104)
Good for Anniversaries (99)
Casual (90)
Good for Birthdays (87)
Romantic (81)
Great for Lunch (79)
Creative Cuisine (68)
Fun (67)
Bar Seating (59)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Sunday Lunch (51)
Great for Brunch (48)
Happy Hour (46)
People Watching (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Hot Spot (41)
Business Meals (40)
Good for Groups (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Healthy (29)
Authentic (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Kid-friendly (25)
Notable Wine List (20)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Seasonal (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Cozy (15)
Tasting Menu (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Family Style (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Tapas (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Great Beer (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Historic (3)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
4093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Server was very attentive. We had a toddler and a 9 month old so we had 2 high chairs. Server did not skip a beat picking up napkins and other dropped items and never acted annoyed 😊 It was a little loud so the kids hopefully didn't bother any other guest. They were actually pretty quiet relative to the surrounding noise level. Great weather and view. We love coming here.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Loved the feel of the place! The ocean view was so relaxing while the atmosphere inside was high energy. Great time being with friends and meeting a few new ones. We all enjoyed our entrée selections. The only complaint about the evening was the parking. The valet could not even handle all cars and one of our party had to park almost back on the main street.

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

My son's birthday- we LOVED the ambiance, the food, everyone was happy, view was gorgeous, and the food excellent- our new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a reservation for 8:15 but we weren't seated until almost 9 PM. Although there were lots of empty tables near the window they seated us all the way in the back next to a loud office party. They eventually moved us to a nice table but the service was really slow. Overall not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Jake's has one of the best restaurant views in San Diego. Their view of the beach and sunsets are second to none.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My family ate here for Father's Day. Between my in-laws, my husband, and myself, we all ordered different fish dishes and all of them were packed with flavor - so much variety and so delicious! Additionally, our waitress was extremely attentive and she was very accommodating to our toddler, as well. We came from about 40 minutes away and we will definitely be back - thanks!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

It's a little pricey, but amazing view! Our service was outstanding. The food was delicious. I would love to come here every day :)

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

It's hard to go wrong with Jake's. Amazing ocean views, good food, and great service. This is one of our favorite places to dine and hang out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The location of our table was amazing. Window seat, open view to the water, and a gorgeous, sunny day. This is the downside, and one if which Jake's should not be proud. We had a service dog for one of our family members, the restaurant was notified beforehand, and the dog was introduced to the hostess before seating. Our seating arrangement allowed the dog to lie on the floor in a corner, well hidden from other patrons, and he was practically motionless throughout the entire dinner. Almost immediately after we had been served our meals, the manager rushed our table, and in a very unfriendly tone, demanded the 4-time Iraq veteran put the leash back on the dog, with his vest. By itself, this is not an unreasonable request, but it was the manner in which she so rudely interrupted us, and her tone was argumentative, and harsh. The leash, with tag, was immediately put back on the dog, but it was an uncomfortable situation from that moment on. We all realized she was doing her job, but her request was neither professional, managerial, or even kind. Four tours of Iraq, so she has the right to scold a veteran in public. Other ways to have handled this situation. Doubt we will be returning. But....our server was awesome!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

For the price, the service was TERRIBLE. We had to reach around and grab the pitcher to pour our own water. We were there at 445 on father's day - in between busy service time. Restaurant was not packed at all - server was scarcely seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

As always the view was outstanding and the friendliness of the staff was superb. It was Father's Day brunch and the service was very slow, and the food was mediocre, but as to be expected with the standing room only crowd. I know Jake's is much better on any other day, so I have no complaints, and if you go out on these holidays, you need to expect slow service and not the best food. Not complaining about the food, it was just not their usual standard. But, hey, I had mimosas and got to stare at the ocean. I love Jake's!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The manager was very accommodating to our large party of 12. 5 stars for the friendly service. The ginger mocktail was very refreshing. I would skip the calamari app next time. It was just ok. I ordered the seafood pot. It was good, could use some crusty bread with it though. Just ask for it when you order. Ambience is very nice with view of the beach. Valet is $5.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Fathers Day

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great time and had an exceptional waitress. Jenna! Very cordial

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Healthy, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

It was our 18 year anniversary and the restaurant staff greeted us acknowledging this very special event. Our waiter Dustin was attentive but also discreet. The food was excellent. There were 4 in our party, we ordered the meatball and calamari as our appetizer. We also had the rib eye and salmon. We ordered the ribs and crab cakes from the appetizer menu as our entree. We enjoyed the Hula pie for dessert. We will definitely be returning to Jakes in Del Mar.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Omg, I love Jake's. The staff was fantastic and made our birthday celebration so special. The service was excellent. We enjoyed the delicious food and the beach view was awesome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Jake's is a favorite all time restaurant that has been consistent over a long period. The atmosphere is unbeatable (right on the shoreline) and the windows allowing the sea breeze to come in puts you in a different place. The food is always exciting and innovation with great selections of fresh fish. Get there soon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Fathers Day

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Great review, great service and food allergy friendly. I highly recommend our server Henry. He was helpful and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Surprised to see server with less knowledge than they usually have on menu, drinks and food in general. Food pace was BAD and he even warned the kitchen was backed up and to get our food in so we didn't have to wait too long. That is SUPER TACKY at a place like Jake's. Also really surprising they could not substitute no truffle in the mashed potatoes because they were already pre-made. Kinda lame you cant whip up masked potatoes for someone who doesn't do truffle.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Everything was great. Only issue is that we had a 7PM reservation and weren't seated until 7:20. It was incredibly crowded though, so they were probably trying to be as efficient as possible with seating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great in all ways 👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍😃😃😃👏👏👏👏👏👏

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I have been going to Jake's for 26 years. For the most part, things are consistent but I was surprised and disappointed when we ordered two beet salads and asked to split one of them into two. The two halves that arrived together were half the size of the one beet salad that our friend had so while the kitchen was nice to split it for us, we should have split it ourselves. the price was the same. Since we were with a guest, I did not make a fuss but the waiter should have noticed as should have the kitchen. We ordered a burger and I had one last week and it seems to have shrunk in the one week gap. Hope this is not the new normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 14, 2017

They wouldn't sit us until all parties arrived. The resort was empty so that would of been nice if they would of let the two of us be seated without waiting on the 3rd party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Very pretty views and great food to match. Service was excellent. Make reservations as this is a popular spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Jakes is my favorite. The food is amazing, you can't beat the view and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Was in San Diego with the family and went to Jake's for dinner after a wonderful hike on Torrey Pines. The view from Jake's is AWESOME with the Pacific lapping at the sandy shore. The place is child friendly, with a nice mix of everything with regards to clientele. The food was terrific, although they could be a little more generous with their appetizer portions. Definitely a place I would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 12, 2017

As always, Jakes is an excellent place to show off the California coast and great dining options.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We had a great table with an amazing view! For some reason, they never acknowledged my wife's birthday, even though I noted it in the reservation. I didn't say anything because we had dessert waiting at home, however, I found this odd. Service was good, but a bit slow at times. We had to ask for bread after seeing it on other tables. Water was not refilled until we requested it. Once we did, they were on top of it...just found it weird we had to ask for more.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Birthday dinner, table of four on a Sunday night. Seated promptly, great views from all tables including ours. Service was a little slow to start, then felt rushed. But earnest and personable. Food was just good- crab cakes, salmon, lamb. Seared ahi was tough and small portion for the price. We'll go back, of course, it's iconic. Just needs a little spruce up, there is competition out there that seems to be trying harder.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Perfect in every way! Dustin was incredible ‼️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Loved the view, and the staff was wonderful! Friendly and fun. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Casual, Waterfront, People Watching, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Delicious food & great service with a beautiful view!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Really a wonderful place! All the staff are great & the food is out of this world (especially the sea bass). Never had a bad meal there & the atmosphere on the water can't be beat. Highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderfull view, goog service and menu. Food was good although halibut a little less than fresh. Very popular. Nice bar.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We went in a group after my daughter's promotion ceremony and it was a very enjoyable experience with great seating, views, drinks, and food. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Service was great. Food mediocre at best. We expected a little more quality.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I had an important business dinner with a key client. The ambience, and service capped off our negotiations perfectly and we ended up closing the deal. This place is one of my favorite when visiting San Diego and I have never been disappointed in the view, the food or the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Went for a birthday dinner. Food was superb (and even more so after getting to dine at Posiden the following night). Our waiter was FABulous. Service excellent. Flavors were awesome. Highly recommend. We are going back tonight!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.