About Jake's Del Mar

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
2 More
Scenic View
North San Diego
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

scenic view (371)
special occasion (262)
romantic (190)
See All
great for lunch (155)
fit for foodies (150)
neighborhood gem (130)
hot spot (103)
great for brunch (94)
vibrant bar scene (91)
good for groups (79)
great for outdoor dining (58)
notable wine list (43)
kid-friendly (21)
late-night find (14)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Spot

Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful location, RIGHT on the beach, with very handy valet parking! Service was good, though busy at lunch. Food was generally very good. Biggest drawback was the noise level...though most tables were full, the noise seemed more of a structural or poor acoustic problem.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Jake's is the total package! Unbelievab ...

Dined 5 days ago

Jake's is the total package! Unbelievable location, right on the sand in Del Mar, excellent food (no one makes better calamari in San Diego, or S CA for that matter), and the service had never disappointed! Jake's is a little slice of heaven on earth.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Very disappointed.

Dined 7 days ago

Jake's has a great view. But the food was just terrible. I enjoyed the bread and the meatball appetizer. But the steak was overcooked, tiny and just tasted bad. The lobster was a joke. It was the size of a prawn and had no flavor. For $350 (4 people), I expected more.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Yum!!

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had an awesome dinner at Jake's! Everything we had was amazing! My husband had the seafood pot and I had the steak and shrimp. I'm lukewarm on shrimp, but this shrimp was so good I tried to replicate the recipe last night for dinner. I love the look and feel of Jake's. We would definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

SEated as soon as we arrived, service wa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

SEated as soon as we arrived, service was great. I had a $44 steak that was fatty and flavorless. My date had salmon but he didn't care for the sauce. The desserts were wonderful. Pricey for the quality of the food.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, Classic, Beachside spot.

Dined on May 21, 2016

I was really impressed with my experience at Jake's. I hadn't been in a couple of years but had always remembered it as being one of the best views in San Diego for daytime dining. The food wasn't complicated, which I like and it held up to my picky taste.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

I love Jake's, but honestly the noise on ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I love Jake's, but honestly the noise on the enclosed patio was painful. Beautiful view of the ocean, but the trade-off is the noise. There were three of us, and only one could talk at a time - directly into one other person's ear. Everything else was wonderful. Next time I'll sit in the main dining room - it's got to be a little quieter. The complimentary birthday dessert was a real treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful day at the beach with friends. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Beautiful day at the beach with friends.😍

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous place to dine!

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Can always count on good food, great service, and marvelous view! Husband loved the seafood pot; the Hula pie is to die for! Great service from A. Dilley; she made sure we always had everything we needed and was there to check on food.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Place

Dined on May 17, 2016

The best part of Jakes is the ocean view. Request a window seat if possible. The bar scene looked like a lot of fun, as well. Being Vegan there was only 1 item on the menu other than a salad and that was gnocchi which was OK. Other people's food looked tasty and they said they enjoyed it. I thought the quantity was small for the prices. I couldn't believe the crowd for a Monday night. It was very loud inside and servers are moving about quickly. They were very attentive and gave my husband a piece of mud pie for his birthday. Would I drive an hour to eat there again? No. But if you live near by, you should try this place.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant has an amazing ocean view ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The restaurant has an amazing ocean view! We all had the Seafood chowder and it was excellent. The hula pie is a must but definitely share it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3

Outstanding views and good food but the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding views and good food but the service was rushed. With an appetizer and main dishes for two we were rushed in and out within an hour

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Noise rating doesn't give you terrible. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Noise rating doesn't give you terrible. The table next to us was loud, obnoxious and likely heavy drinkers. BIG disappointment for all the times I've been to Jake's. Would not go back on a Friday night, for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were disappointed with the "new" crab ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We were disappointed with the "new" crab cake...definitely not nearly as impressive as the previous one on the menu. And as usual, we waited for 15 minutes or so to be seated. The food is good, the atmosphere is fabulous - beautiful ocean views...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Choice!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were vacationing in Southern California and were looking for a great restaurant with good food and a fantastic ocean view and we found it at Jake's. The service was outstanding and the location can't be beat.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful view, delicious food

Dined on May 13, 2016

Jake's is a great restaurant and the atmosphere is always festive. The food is always delicious--we especially recommend any of the fish dishes. It can be very noisy sometimes, so be aware of that. But you can't go wrong sitting by the window and watching the sun go down with the waves breaking nearby.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Dinner was excellent, the view was aweso ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Dinner was excellent, the view was awesome and our server was very sweet - just a little bummed we had to wait more than an hour to be seated for dinner, after our reservation time. :(

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent seafood..had the local fresh c ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent seafood..had the local fresh catch of the day..yellow tail tuna

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

All was prepared as expected. There was ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

All was prepared as expected. There was just enough time to talk between courses. The salad was a little skimpy. Our server was quick, courteous and attentive, as always is the case at Jake's.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our request for a booth was available, h ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our request for a booth was available, however, after entering the restaurant, we decided that we would prefer a view of the beach/ocean. We were accommodated nicely, with a wonderful view. It was, however, a bit noisy in the "enclosed area with a view", and we could hear other conversations besides our own. Perhaps a better acoustical system could be installed? Our server was very helpful, except for one thing. I had asked for more water, and, apparently he hadn't told anyone. I waited, perhaps, 15 - 20 minutes for a water refill. My friends told me that the chowder was outstanding. We all ordered the same item, i.e., encrusted yellowtail, and each of us said that the yellowtail was excellent. It was a vice nice-sized portion. We all (3 of us) agreed that we would return.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great setting , friendly efficient servi ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great setting , friendly efficient service - nice menu

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely new summer menu. Fish very good. ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Lovely new summer menu. Fish very good. Lovely ambience and service. Love the view of the ocean.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We always love and enjoy Jake's and have ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We always love and enjoy Jake's and have for many years. Great for special occasions, or just for a casual sunset dinner on the way home from San Diego. Don't miss the Seafood Pot - absolutely a must try!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Anniversary & Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been going to Jake's for many years, and this is the first time we were very disappointed in the menu choices. They no longer offer a filet mignon or the braised short ribs, and the au gratin potatoes are no longer on the menu. The prices seemed quite a bit higher as well. We will probably go back, but may check the menu online first. The seafood choices were fine. We received good service and got the table we wanted.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service, light coastal fare, beaut ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service, light coastal fare, beautiful view.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best

Dined on May 8, 2016

Jake's is a must whenever we visit Southern California. The location on the sand, the waves lit up at night, and the great food make it a winner. The service is excellent and the staff engaging. My family and I always look forward to an evening at Jake's.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Ocean View

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food, service, and ocean view. Definitely a good place to take family from out of town (Phoenix) so they can enjoy the ocean view while eating great seafood.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was friendly, the food was de ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server was friendly, the food was delicious, and the view can't be beat. We had a perfect evening!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants for atmos ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants for atmosphere and good food, staff and food consistently worth the drive of us.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great views, great food... Highly recomm ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great views, great food... Highly recommend!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating our daughter's birthday! Abs ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Celebrating our daughter's birthday! Absolutely spectacular dinner! Clayton our server was amzaing & food was delicous as always! Great dining experience!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and sunset view!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a perfect dining experience! All of the seating requests we made on Open Table were fulfilled. Dennis, our server, was amazing. I would highly recommend the salted caramel creme brule.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Really stellar service tonight!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Really stellar service tonight!

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

New Menu

Dined on May 6, 2016

Jake's has just implemented a new menu and I was not impressed. Some of the standbys were kept and were still excellent (Brussel sprouts appetizer, beet salad and yes, the Hula Pie). I was not impressed with the new entrees which were very small and not that good. I ordered the surf and turf medium and it was very rare. The potatoes were o.k., the baby bok choy was good. My husband ordered the salmon, which again was pretty small piece and was just o.k., no great sauce or seasonings. Hopefully over time they will improve. I had always loved their food before, not sure if I will be coming back any time soon. :(

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, ambiance & service. Great ocean view!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great food! Great ambiance! Great service! Great ocean view!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience.

Dined on May 1, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day a week early since my folks were in town. Our waiter Steven and the food were outstanding. The Hula Pie was a big hit.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Great view, need greater focus on food

Dined on May 1, 2016

Alas, Jake's is not what it used to be. Four of us went to Sunday Brunch and the food was very mediocre. Can't beat the views if you are not a foodie.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

It's been 10 years since I'd been to Jak ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

It's been 10 years since I'd been to Jake's Del Mar. It was wonderful to come back and see that service and quality, which were great to start, have only improved with time!

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Enjoy the wait!

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had to wait about 40 minutes for our table even though we had a reservation, then ended up at a cramped table in the back that they claimed had a great view, but not so much so...my most disappointing visit to Jake's ever...very loud in the restaurant as well.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best view - best food - best service!

Dined on April 26, 2016

Jake's del Mar is our go-to place to celebrate birthdays and special occasions for departing postdocs from UCSD ... we'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.