About Jake's Del Mar

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
  • Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar
Jake's Del Mar

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
2 More
Scenic View
North San Diego
Most Booked
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Del Mar ›

Scenic View (337)
Special Occasion (247)
Romantic (167)
See All
Great for Lunch (151)
Fit for Foodies (123)
Neighborhood Gem (120)
Great for Brunch (98)
Good for Groups (84)
Vibrant Bar Scene (77)
Hot Spot (75)
Great for Outdoor Dining (75)
Notable Wine List (36)
Kid-friendly (21)
Late-night Find (12)
Sort By:
Newest
3296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I ordered fish kids meals for my little ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

I ordered fish kids meals for my little kids. The waiter didn't inform me the type of fish and I was making an assumption that fish was safe for kids to eat (will not make assumption again). After we finished and on our way out, I casually asked the receptionist what kind of fish it was. I was stunned to be told it was swordfish! There is a warning sign in their reception area that sword fish is one of those fish that children and pregnant women should not eat! The manager told me the sign was " just a warning", and they have been serving swordfish in kids meals and have had no problem in the past! Oh, wow! This restaurant is either ignorant, or unethical, or both!

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a wonderful experience at Jakes. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful experience at Jakes. Our waitress was very attentive and experienced the beautiful sunset on the beach was amazing. Great food. Great ambience. An overall great experience. I highly recommend Jakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband and I were visiting Del Mar. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I were visiting

Del Mar. We decided to have an early dinner at Jakes.

We were so glad we did.

Beautiful view and the food was delicious!

The atmosphere was lively.

Perfect for dates, family dinners,

Elderly.

Just great!! Next time we visit Del Mar we will absolutely eat there .

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

An amazing location with really great fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

An amazing location with really great food. The portions are tiny though.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had 10AM Sunday brunch and it was jus ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had 10AM Sunday brunch and it was just lovely. Get their at 10AM if you want the best seats closest to the beach. All the food and drinks we tried were delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was great and the view was u ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was great and the view was unbelievable! The overall experience was amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No dining place better to spend time wit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

No dining place better to spend time with friends and family than a window table at Jake's in the summer time. Open windows for ocean breeze and creative food. Particularly enjoyed the roasted figs on focaccia.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always had a good dining experien ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I have always had a good dining experience at Jakes.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service!! Stephen was the best e ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing service!! Stephen was the best ever!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jakes continues to change their menu but ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Jakes continues to change their menu but they have never equaled the variety and quality from years past. I certainly understand their desire to be contemporary and thus encourage new clientele but they keep missing the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The ambiance is terrific on the beach in ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The ambiance is terrific on the beach in Del Mar and the food is quite good as well. I had the surf and turf. The jumbo shrimp was excellent, the steak very flavorful. Service was superb. We live out of state, but return to the San Diego frequently and Jake's is now on our must-visit list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy Jake's dining. Service was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always enjoy Jake's dining. Service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good dining experience with excellent se ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good dining experience with excellent service, classic beach setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We went on a Thursday evening. The resta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went on a Thursday evening. The restaurant is loud. It's hard to hear the person across the table from you. Food is good. Hula Pie is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Always on my "hit list" when in the San ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always on my "hit list" when in the San Diego/Del Mar area. Love this place~!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been dining at Jake's ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My wife and I have been dining at Jake's for over 20 years. It's our first choice for special occasions and well worth the drive to Del Mar from Huntington Beach. The food and service are always excellent. Very welcoming staff and the view couldn't be better. The chef's are the best! Everything they prepare is excellent so if you have a favorite selection, you can count on it being prepared just as you expect. They also come up with some new creations that pleasantly surprise you. I can't think of anything that would disappoint at Jake's.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided on Jake's before going to the ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We decided on Jake's before going to the Del Mar Race Track, and it was the perfect choice!!! Everyone loved it!!! Service was great and very friendly! Everyone ordered something different, and everyone was very happy! The Calamari appitiezer was the best all of us had ever had! Great job Jakes!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great, and so was the servi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was great, and so was the service. I enjoyed the view. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jake's helped to make our 42nd anniversa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Jake's helped to make our 42nd anniversary very special!!❤️🎉

We love Jake's Del Mar!!💖

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jake's remains on our list of favorites. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Jake's remains on our list of favorites. Portions are a bit small, but always perfectly prepared. The menu changes enough to provide a good variety.

A view of the beach & surf give Jake's great ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I brought my mom and her best friend for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I brought my mom and her best friend for a celebration of her best friends birthday #80. My mom is 83 and it isn't easy to plan events for my mom and her best friend. I knew Jake's would be the perfect choice for a variety of reasons. Everything was great from service, attention to detail and acknowledging her 80th birthday. Our server was so gracious at assisting my moms best friend from the table without drawing any attention, I was very impressed. Clayton was our server and I have also requested him for this upcoming Sunday. Going to Jake's for a special occasion is my #1 choice. Every family member from England that I have brought to Jake's has always had a memorable experience they share with family and friends. Never been disappointed. It should be called the "Perfect American Experience" for anyone visiting, especially from other countries.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have not been able to eat at Jakes fo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We have not been able to eat at Jakes for a few years. We have been going to the race track for 38 years. Jakes is not the same. I mean food. Not happy with the selection. Will not be back. Sorry Terry

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Incredible food and views Jake's of Del ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Incredible food and views Jake's of Del Mar does not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. The ambiance is ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was very good. The ambiance is great. However, the waiter forgot to bring my Husband his Bloody Mary. He said it was his fault & brought it after the meal. I don't think we should have been charged.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great restaurant right on the beach. Ni ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great restaurant right on the beach. Nice place to take out of town guests. Be sure to use Valet parking on weekends or summer.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food with a great view of the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful food with a great view of the ocean. The interior is decorated beautifully as well. Menu was interesting and at a decent price for the area. We went for brunch and each had the eggs benedict- his classic mine vegetarian- both delicious but the breakfast potatoes were the most amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

What a fabulous lunch! The scenery, the ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

What a fabulous lunch! The scenery, the weather the service could not have been better! Henry was a great waiter and guided us in our choices . Service was great and quick ! But not rushed at all. A great experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal in a stunning location ov ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent meal in a stunning location overlooking Del Mar beach and the Pacific Ocean. Great fish and lobster entrees. Fair price for the overall experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

TOO EXPENSIVE,TOO CROWED NOT WORTH THE C ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

TOO EXPENSIVE,TOO CROWED NOT WORTH THE COST TABLES TOO CLOSE TOGETHER PARKING IS REDICULES

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

My elderly mother was visiting from out ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My elderly mother was visiting from out of state. We went to Jakes because of the beachfront dining. We went for late lunch so the restaurant was not too crowded or noisy. We both ordered the seafood pot. It was an extravagant take on ciopino which I love. Plenty of warm bread for soaking. Our server was very attentive and kept our iced tea glasses full. The food was outstanding, service excellent and the ambiance was as relaxing as expected. The portion was large enough that we each took home a to go container. If Jakes isn't on your favorites list it should be!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a treat!!!!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always a treat!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding view, service, and food. Jak ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Outstanding view, service, and food. Jake's never disappoints.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The ocean view at Jake's is the big attr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The ocean view at Jake's is the big attraction for me. The food is good, but good food can be found at many, many San Diego restaurants. The service was good. The big drawback is there is no parking except valet, which costs $5, for those of us watching their budget. But perhaps people watching their budget should go somewhere else?! We were a senior group and we do watch our budgets. The noise level is very high, and is not conducive to exchange of conversation or a pleasant dining experience for us oldsters.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We'd never been to your restaurant and w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We'd never been to your restaurant and we were pleased with the outstanding service and the view from our table was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is our goal to place for special oc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is our goal to place for special occasions! The food is great and service is always impeccable! Pretty much every table has a view of the ocean. What more could one ask for?!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been a loyal customer at Jake's f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have been a loyal customer at Jake's for a long while. This past experience on Sunday was outstanding because of the unusual poor service and food, certainly an anomaly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value4

Warning on weekends - particularly durin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Warning on weekends - particularly during brunch - parking is a nightmare. Even Valet was full. Had to pay 3 times the amount of valet to park in the lot across the street.

Not to mention waiting 15 minutes to get seated even though I had a reservation and checked in on time.

Vague answers from the hostess... Starting off with nightmare parking is never a good start to a dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We had brunch at Jake's on a Sunday. It ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had brunch at Jake's on a Sunday. It was very busy and the valet was a nightmare (we parked off site and walked in). We waited a long time for food which was trying because we had our kids with us (5 & 2), but the server was very nice and the lemon ricotta pancakes, house potatoes, and bellinis were delicious. I would go back, but on a quieter day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Despite having made the reservation a we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Despite having made the reservation a week before, and having specifically said we were celebrating both a birthday and a 34th wedding anniversary, the table was in the very back instead of closer to the view as requested, there was no offer of a special dessert for either celebration, there wasn't even a congratulations offered by hostess or waiter. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Thank you so much Jakes! Loved the ambi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Thank you so much Jakes! Loved the ambiance, food & the waitress took special care of us as it was my husbands birthday & he was greeted with a birthday card on the table & birthday cake for dessert. Thanks for the great food & taking great care of us while we watched the amazing sunset! Mary

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.