Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Jake's Del Mar

Jake’s Del Mar brings new American cooking to the edge – to the water’s edge that is. Located right on the beach in Del Mar Chef Duvinh Ta uses fresh, seasonal products as the inspiration for updating classic preparations of fresh fish, shellfish and premium meats. The lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch menus showcase clean, eclectic flavors and local, sustainable products that are complemented by Jake’s jaw dropping location on the sand. The nightly Chef’s Special is a seasonal creation that features the best seafood, meats and produce available and through the Legacy of Aloha program, Jake’s donates a portion the proceeds from the Chef’s Special to the San Diego Food Bank.

1660 Coast Blvd
Del Mar, CA 92014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday : 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Saturday 4:30 to 9:30 pm; Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
15th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 755-2002

Website:
http://www.jakesdelmar.com/

Parking Details:
$4 parking through Sunset Valet

Executive Chef:
Duvinh Ta

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jake's Del Mar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (212)
Waterfront (209)
Good for a Date (128)
See All
Special Occasion (121)
Worth the Drive (99)
Good for Anniversaries (98)
Romantic (86)
Good for Birthdays (86)
Casual (83)
Creative Cuisine (75)
Great for Lunch (74)
Fun (63)
Bar Seating (61)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Sunday Lunch (52)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Great for Brunch (47)
Business Meals (45)
Happy Hour (44)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
People Watching (41)
Hot Spot (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
Good for Groups (31)
Local Ingredients (29)
Healthy (29)
Authentic (27)
Modern Decor (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Cozy (21)
Gluten Free Options (19)
Seasonal (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Tasting Menu (11)
Family Style (11)
Disabled Access (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Historic (6)
Tapas (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
4024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Whenever we are in Del Mar we make it a point not to miss a sunset dinner at Jake's. You can always count on excellent service and a delicious meal, all with an outstanding ocean view. We were at a horse show with our trainers and some new clients joined us for the first time, they are hooked and plan to make Jake's a must anytime they are in town.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

We come to Jake's often, usually any time we are in San Diego and returning home to OC.
As usual, the table was ready when we got there, the ambience and food/beverage was as awesome as ever. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Waterfront, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

We come to Jakes frequently. Food & service is always EXCELLENT! Can't beat the view!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

The eggs benedict were very disappointing..... dry, stale English muffins.... crab marginal. Would have been nice to have a bit of fruit with the benedicts and omelet.
It was very noisy and difficult to have a conversation. The burger and proscuitto omelet were good. The breakfast potatoes were very good.
Service was excellent.
Probably would go back to the Poseidon next time as food quality better overall.
We were disappointed as we have always loved Jake's at Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed a wedding anniversary brunch at Jake's. We were provided with a window table for the occasion. Our wait person, Alexa, was cheerful, courteous, attentive. The experience was a delight.

Jay and Janet Harris
Fallbrook, Ca.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Very crowded day at Jakes and I waited in line to valet park for 20 minutes. Finally got inside & was disappointed to see that I was seated on the end of a table for 7 ..... was constantly bumped by the wait staff & was only told excuse me once!
Food was fine but took way too long to arrive.
Won't go back till summer is over and crowds disappear!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Swordfish was underdone. The same partially-eaten piece was returned to me after some further cooking with no apology. Two other dining companions had "sub par" ahi Caesar salads. My third companion hit the jackpot with the fish stew.

The hostess had a brusque manner and refused to seat us when 3 of the 4 people in our party were at the hostess stand. I had to spend time discussing the issue with her before she finally relented.

On the positive side, the location of the restaurant can't be beat.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server, I believe his name was Henry, brought over 2 small plates of Brie and two bowls of Brussels sprouts that we did not order. I was the host of the gathering. The bill came and he had charged us for two orders of Brussels sprouts and two orders of Brie. He also charged for avocado and bacon add ons, that were not ordered on a burger, nor were they on the burger. I didn't say anything to him while there as there was no way to be discreet in front of my guests. I called the manager immediately upon leaving to advise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

Good menu, view. Service a bit spotty. But definitely worth a visit.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great location and good food moderately priced. The menu had a good variety of seafood selections along with other surf/turf as well. The wait staff were friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

The wait staff is a fun, happy, and knowledgeable group. Our waiter was Oliver and he was engaging as well as leaving us to ourselves for our dining experience. The view is like no other and always a treat. Delicious food prepared well. Lovely evening...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We came back to Jake's after a several year absence, and now we wonder why it took us so long to return! Our server, Adam, was excellent and the food was delicious.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Beautiful views in covered inside patio. Server was friendly and very efficient. Made our belated Mother's Day celebration just wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

All around excellent for good food service and wine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Disappointing for the price. It was a Mothers Day get together and they were late even though we had a reservation. Waitress never brought bread and didn't refill water glasses. The lobster was undercooked. We have been coming to Jakes for years but it is not keeping up with the other Del Mar restaurants.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We went to Jake's for the view which is lovely. The service was good too our appetizer calamari was quite good not greasy in a light breading. My scallop were excellent though there were only 3 and the corn succotash was excellent! My husband had salmon but it was not good. It was definitely farmed not wild caught and had a mushy texture. The snap peas were overcooked. Dessert was Hula pie and it was outstanding! So only one bad meal but the others were good. The prices seemed high for the quality but I guess you pay for that view!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our waiter Dustin was amazing! He made our Mother's Day dinner enjoyable and smooth. He was attentive to our table, and had a great attitude.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Brunch menu. Wonderful view worth the trip. Wait staff was friendly, quick and efficient.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great location. Great menu. Friendly staff. Waterfront!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing. Everything was spectacular and the view was beautiful. I told my son he needed to dine here.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

the turkey sandwich was bland and lacking personality

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Best On the Beach Restaurant
Food and service always top notch; ocean view outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great fish, as always. Love the seasonal menu changes.
Lovely sea view.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We were very impressed with the entire experience we had a table we had an ocean view table and even though the weather was rainy the experience was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Booked a table for online and my special request was a waterfront table which they let you know they cannot promise. But, we were seated at the absolute best corner window waterfront table there. Our waiter, Oscar, was a great guy. Full of personality and quick to make sure all our needs were being met. The food was delicious. The wine just what I wanted. It was a delight. I grew up in Del Mar and have always enjoyed this place. So glad Jake's is still there after all theses years.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lunch date with The Missus for her birthday and surprise guests.
Worked out very well - a beautiful, stormy day with angry surf outside our protected bubble, a very happy lady, and great dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We just keep coming back! The food is consistently delicious, the view and ambiance are breathtaking and the service is fantastic! We especially like our waiter, Dustin. He's a friendly, efficient server, who takes the time to get to know his customers. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had an early brunch appointment and we were seated along the windows on a stormy day. The sea was rough but beautiful! Great staff, super attentive! Bloody Mary was awesome! I had the Steak & Eggs and my hubby had the Hash. Both were simply delicious! Ask for a side of the salsa great addition to both meals. We finished with the Chocolate Peanut Butter Torte. Amazing. We didn't feel rushed and we enjoyed the entire experience. The staff made us feel comfortable from the moment we walked in the door.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Family Style, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I loved the seafood we had. The seabass was the best fish that I have ever had. It was moist, tender and flavorful. Service was excellent and the beautiful ocean view really adds to the the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was our 12 year anniversary and they helped make it fantastic!

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The burger on the lunch menu was phenomenal! I had mine without a bun and without cheese, and it was still amazing. Hubby had his all the way.
The view can't be beat. Rainy day brought beautiful wave-watching. Sunny days give you the best front row seat for watching surfers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Jake's never disappoints. Their menu changes with the seasons but have not had a bad meal. Lovely atmosphere right on the beach, even when it is raining.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic service and food with an incredible view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food, service and views!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always a good meal and good service. We go with our kids(5 & 3) and they love it too. They have good kids menu and it has even more activities in it now that they loved.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Usually Jakes is great. Not so much the last two times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Everything was great but we had a 8 o'clock reservation and wasn't seen it until 8:45 other than that everything was awesome

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Food and service are always top notch!! That's why we keep going back!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The view from seats was awesome. We were able to see beautiful sunset.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Wonderful view. I'd go again just for the view and a drink. But the lunch menu was very limited and it was super noisy. My steak was way overcooked too, but they did offer to make another one. I would not recommend it for lunch mainly because I wasn't crazy about the menu, but I did have breakfast on 2 prior occasions and it was good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.