About Jacqueline Suzanne's Bistro/The Carmichael Dining Lounge

1219 9 Avenue SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0S9
View Larger Map

Located in Historic Inglewood, Jacqueline Suzanne's Bistro/The Carmichael Dining Lounge opened in April 2003. Over the years we have strived to offer a menu that is suitable for all palettes, including Gluten Free and Low Carb.

In celebration of our 10th year, we are pleased to have had the opportunity to update our décor and in doing so we now proudly present...THE CARMICHAEL! Our menu still features the great food of our last 10 years, as well, we have added some new and exciting menu items.

Reservations are encouraged for our Sunday Prime Rib Dinner from 5pm. Enjoy a starter Soup, Caesar or House Salad, followed by AAA Alberta Prime Rib with Potato and Vegetable for only $35/person.

Our weekend ala carte Brunch menu is available from 10am-2pm. Choose from 8 different Eggs Benedict, Chef's Omelet, Cinnamon Raisin French Toast or our Bistro Breakfast. Try our Brunch 3 Course special for only $25.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday-Friday From 11am

Dinner Tuesday-Sunday from 5pm

Friday 11am-Late

Saturday 10am-Late

Sunday 10am-9pm

*Please note that we are closed some statutory holidays and Sunday evenings, as well as most Mondays-reservations are always preferred!

Cross Street:
12th Street and 9th Avenue SE

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 266-1005

Website:
http://www.jacquelinesuzannes.ca/

Catering:
Please contact us via e-mail for more information on how we can accommodate your catering needs. Jacqueline Suzanne's offers a wide range of catered menu ideas for Lunch, Dinner or even Appetizers-perfect for an intimate cocktail party, office function or large celebration. Whether it is your place or ours, we look forward to catering to your needs.

Parking Details:
Paid Street parking, as well as City parking lots on either end of the block or free side street parking is available.
Free street parking along 9th Avenue after 6pm.
*Please be aware, between 3:30pm-6pm (rush hour Monday- Friday cars parked along East bound 9th Avenue will be ticketed and towed.

Public Transit:
Traveling East Route 1 bus stop at west end of block.
Traveling West Route 1 bus stop at CIBC.

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Tasker

Private Party Facilities:
Private functions are welcomed. We are able to accommodate 18 comfortably in our upstairs dining loft, and 40 downstairs on the main level. Either section can be booked privately.

Private Party Contact:
Suzanne Tasker: 4032661005x

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday night from 5pm enjoy a 3 course Prime Rib dinner!

Tuesday Two Can Dine for $69.99! Enjoy a Starter Soup or Salad, Entree Selection and Dessert. This is a dining experience for a not to be missed price.

Wine Down Wednesdays-Half price off of House Wine from 5pm

Thirsty Thursdays! Half price Martinis/Cocktails 4pm to 7pm.

Half price select Appetizers every Friday from 4pm to 6pm.

HAPPY HOUR - HALF PRICE MARTINIS 4PM-6PM DAILY!

Jacqueline Suzanne's Bistro/The Carmichael Dining Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Inglewood ›

special occasion (18)
neighborhood gem (16)
romantic (15)
See All
great for brunch (9)
fit for foodies (8)
great for lunch (7)
good for groups (1)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent everything. This is the 3rd ti ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent everything. This is the 3rd time I have been to the restaurant and have never been disappointed. Small and quaint.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose prime rib,and it was not good ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We chose prime rib,and it was not good at all. Very over cooked,not like any beef I have ever had,. The ceasar salad was good,and the deserts terrific. We had a great server wh gave us 10 per cent off the bill because of the beef. We would go back again to give it another try, however ,at this time, would not recommend it,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome prime rib, will be back again fo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Awesome prime rib, will be back again for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My daughter, son in law and granddaughte ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My daughter, son in law and granddaughter went with me. We enjoyed everything about

The evening except their choice of music, none would have been better. What are foodies?

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My third time here and was impressed as ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My third time here and was impressed as usual! Love the ambiance and service is always great. Looking forward to taking my mom there next month!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating a birthday. The food ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday. The food, presentation, service and attention to detail was exceptional. The atmosphere allows for a relaxing evening where one does not feel rushed and you can actually have a conversation without having to raise your voice to hear each other.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic find! Maeve was our ser ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What a fantastic find!

Maeve was our server for the evening and she was better than great. The food was plentiful and well prepared. It truly was an unexpected treat. The evening we were there, they even had a piano player. We sat upstairs and it was quaint and cozy. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening out

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The night was a evening out / late birthday diner. The atmosphere was calm and quiet,we could talk without screaming above others, or at one another. Our server scheduled time inbetween each course (something seldomly done in this world of turn that table around as fast as you can). The meal was well prepared, served hot, and delicious. We spent 3 hours there and did not even notice as the time flew by. I can honestly say we dined this evening, not just went out for food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere is wonderful. We ate ther ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The atmosphere is wonderful. We ate there on a Tuesday and it was rather quiet. There is a table by a window to the street that has a patio/street café feel it to without the noise from the road and exposure. The food is great, a little on the pricy side. Our server was knowledgeable, opinionated, attentive and kind. Overall, you will impress your date:)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful atmosphere, service and food. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, service and food. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOved it

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I brougt my mother here on Mothers day and this place was fantastic from the time we were met at the door to the very end of my night here. The waitress was awesome i can't remember her name but I'm terrible with names anyway. Oh and the bread pudding was so so good!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Inglewood's Girls Night Out

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was excellent, served in a timely manner by a happy, smiling waitress. It was, in all, a terrific evening both in the restaurant and out on the bustling streets of lovely Inglewood.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Same menu as when we first came here many years ago - but consistently high quality maintained.

Lots of decadent creamy sauces!!

My lamb chops were perfectly grilled and tender.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

An amazing special occasion experience.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I've been to Jacqueline, Suzannes a few times with my daughter and have had a great experience each time. We have made it a summertime tradition before the school year begins. This time I suggested to my husband that we go for my birthday and he enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. We both enjoyed our meal and once again it was a wonderful place to relax and have great food. Can't wait to come back in Aug.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a special place, the ambiance, s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This is a special place, the ambiance, service and food quality is fantastic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Have been several times and if I lived closer I would go more often. Have recommended the place to tons of people and no one is ever disappointed . Love going to Jacqueline Suzanne's. This time was for Easter brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not up to its usual standard.

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

There was only on person on duty she was a bar tender waitress and greater. The meal arrived with cold vegetables and meat entre. Long gaps between order being taken and food arrival. The entire bill was over priced for the quality of the food and service provided

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Always great atmosphere and fantastic fo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Always great atmosphere and fantastic food, very good friendly service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a special occasion a ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We were celebrating a special occasion and the service and the welcoming atmosphere made the day. The restaurant accommodated dietary restrictions and everyone was very happy with their choice and the presentation at the table. The location is in an historic part of Calgary with many trendy shopping opportunities.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Good Roast Beef Dinner

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We have been here a number of times over the years. The atmosphere is relaxed and "historical", the service and and the food are very good. We always enjoy the special the Prime Rib dinner! Hope to return for Mother's Day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Quaint Neighbourhood Gem

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We arrived on a Sunday at 1 pm for The Big Tastes. The restaurant was full with two large groups and several smaller groups of two and three people. Even though the kitchen was slammed, the food arrived in a timely manner. The server was attentive and the food was great value. We will probably go back and try the regular brunch menu.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is okay but...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I had 3 courses meal for the Big Taste Calgary.

I had salad and prime rib and it was pretty decent.

However, they suddenly offered different list of dessert after my prime rib.

I already decided what to have for dessert in online and that was the main reason I came to this restaurant. I was so disappointed, but I ordered different dessert. But.. again.. they gave me the wrong one.... I was so frustrated and even didn't touch my dessert....

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Night

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Two of my girlfriends and I came here for the big taste. The food was gorgeous, portion sizes appropriate, wait staff were lovely and attentive. We stayed for three hours and never felt rushed or pressured to leave. Wine was gorgeous too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent & so was our serv ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

The food was excellent & so was our server. She was so pleasant. There was a table of 4 near us where the women were laughing so loud it was ear piercing. Otherwise it was a pleasant evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, atmosphere and service

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I went to Jaqueline Suzanne's with my girlfriend during the Big Taste and as usual very much enjoyed the experience. The food was excellent as always and the service continued to impress. I will certainly be back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was "Fine"

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We visited the Carmichael during the Big Taste of Calgary. The servers were clearly over worked and understaffed so unfortunately the service took a hit. The food was fine...but sorry to say that "fine" won't bring me back again. There was no excitement to the menu, nothing we haven't tasted many times before. And the room was HOT! HOT! HOT! We couldn't wait to get out of there to cool down...did I mention how HOT it was? Glad we got to try it at a cheaper price and didn't spend too much to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was good but not as good as I had h ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Food was good but not as good as I had heard. Will definitely go back and try something different. Fun atmosphere. Large portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

We went for the big taste. There was a t ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We went for the big taste. There was a three or a four course menu option. Food was decent, although not too memorable. One person at our table ordered from the regular menu and said his entree was very good. Service was very slow, despite there being 3 or 4 waiters and the restaurant was not completely full. We waited about 15 minutes before our waitress greeted and introduced herself. Also waited a long time between courses and long wait to pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Disappointing

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Server was great, food came out barely warm, quality of food was below than expected and took long for order to arrive.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Valentine Special

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This was a great venue for a Valentines dinner out. We were going to a concert, so we ate a little early. There were not that many people in the area where we were seated and it was hard to have any privacy. As the restaurant filled and the noise level increased we were spared the burden of overhearing other conversations. The food and service were excellent. The only down side was that there were too many choices on the fixed menu. Just kidding. It had to have satisfied every taste. We all had different choices and they all were great. A nice evening and we even made the concert on time. A great spot in a neat neighbourhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is the second time that we dined at ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This is the second time that we dined at Jacqueline Suzanne's bistro. The experience was equally as good the second time and worth the drive from SW Calgary. We went for breakfast this time and everything is homemade and fresh tasting. There selection of Eggs Benedict is beyond comparison. Do not be in a hurry. The atmosphere and music are intoxicating and the food is worth waiting for.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Disappointed on V-Day

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My GF and I like to try a new restaurant every couple of weeks and decided on this one for Valentines Day based on reviews. We requested the window table which we were assured was ours, but when we arrived, there was already couple sitting in the table we were promised.

Appetizer: We ordered the escargots for appetizer. they were quite good, but came with two small crustinis, and a lot of tasty butter sauce. Because this is a French restaurant, we expected some nice crusty bread to start and to use for for our appetizer. None arrived, so we requested some bread which resulted in an uncomfortable blanc stare from our server. She said she would go see what she could find, and returned with two small dinner rolls. The ones you buy in Safeway, that come all joined together that you have to pull apart. I think they sell them for about 1.20/doz. If they are making crustinis, they must have some french bread back there somewhere. Hmmm, very curious...

Main: My GF ordered salmon and I went for the rack of lamb. The poached salmon was ok. Needed seasoning. Nice size portion though. The rack of lamb was cooked nicely, but the balsamic reduction was cold and congealed and not very appetizing. Again, nice size portion and plating was nice.

Dessert: I'm not a desert fan, so I just ordered a espresso and my GF ordered coffee and creme brule'. The server seemed confused by the espresso order. I don't know what happened here, but the order came out like this. My espresso arrived, then the her coffee came 3 minutes later (I was finished my espresso), creme brule' came ten minutes after her coffee. Unacceptable. Not sure I would go back here based on the prices, I expected more than this.

our bill: including wine and tip, $230.00

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Romance

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Great spot to entertain the special someone; walk the streets a bit before eating, then settle in to quiet comfort and great service with great food. A little pricey but you get what you pay for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Really great service with really great food

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

It was our wedding anniversary and it was very special at Jacqueline Suzanne's. The waitress was very attentive but still fun in what was an upscale environment. The food cam at the right time, not too soon and and not too late so that we could enjoy the evening. I recommend if you have a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff and manager are amazing people ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The staff and manager are amazing people they seemingly without effort made our night perfect. Everything from aquiring the flowers I requested and the romantic window seat down to the perfectly cooked food and attentive servers.

This is a hidden slice of heaven and will be recommending this place to people I know that will appreciate all it has to offer

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming, Romatic!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

The ambiance was beautiful, quiet and romantic. Our waitress was charming and funny and gave us lots of menu suggestions to aid us in our decisions. Our meals came out in the right amount of time in between. The chef came out and met the people throughout the night. The only thing I was surprised about was the black paper napkins vs having cloth? that was odd.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely lunch spot in Inglewood

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

Met a girlfriend for lunch at Jacqueline Suzanne's during the week. It was quiet and we sat right in front of the window so had a nice view of the comings and goings on 9th Ave. The sweet waitress was so welcoming, pleasant, and wanted to ensure we had a nice meal and visit. The ambiance is very warm, calm and peaceful. The egg dish was tasty and filling. The wine was fabulous. No one was in a rush to have us leave. All in all a very nice afternoon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth a Second Chance

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The ambiance of this little restaurant is wonderful and the menu is very enticing. However, the 6oz tenderloin fillet (smaller after being cooked) is not worth the price. The vegetables consisted of 4 baby new potatoes, 1 tiny piece of broccoli floret, 4 small slices of carrot and 2 small slices of zucchine. It all looked a bit lost on the plate.

The wait between appetizers and entrees was a little long and although we did not mention this, it was noted by the restaurant and we were offered free deserts and coffees. Nice touch and nice staff.

We'll give the restaurant a second chance but will steer clear of the tenderloin.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

unimpressed to say the least

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Started off pretty nice. Location is in a nice neighborhood and atmosphere is good.

The cocktails were pretty good and the wine price was reasonable compared to peers. Even the appetizers were pretty good; other than the delivery of the dip which came with crostini (which were good) and the bread (which was like wonder bread sliced up - not good).

The main was underwhelming. over done steak. uncooked vegetables. The pasta was average.

The service was just ok. The waitress could not 'reach' to poor the wine and we never got water refilled until after the meal was completed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Fantastic food. Had the blue cheese esca ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Fantastic food. Had the blue cheese escargot and the Lamb chops and the Tenderloin with peppercorn sauce. Delicious!!! Way better than pigeonhole and just as good as Rouge. Signage in inglewood difficult to see but plug in the address in GPS, well worth it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.