About Jacqueline Suzanne's Bistro/The Carmichael Dining Lounge

1219 9 Avenue SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0S9
View Larger Map

Located in Historic Inglewood, Jacqueline Suzanne's Bistro/The Carmichael Dining Lounge opened in April 2003. Over the years we have strived to offer a menu that is suitable for all palettes, including Gluten Free and Low Carb.

In celebration of our 10th year, we are pleased to have had the opportunity to update our décor and in doing so we now proudly present...THE CARMICHAEL! Our menu still features the great food of our last 10 years, as well, we have added some new and exciting menu items.

Reservations are encouraged for our Sunday Prime Rib Dinner from 5pm. Enjoy a starter Soup, Caesar or House Salad, followed by AAA Alberta Prime Rib with Potato and Vegetable for only $35/person.

Our weekend ala carte Brunch menu is available from 10am-2pm. Choose from 8 different Eggs Benedict, Chef's Omelet, Cinnamon Raisin French Toast or our Bistro Breakfast. Try our Brunch 3 Course special for only $25.00.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday-Friday From 11am

Dinner Tuesday-Sunday from 5pm

Friday 11am-Late

Saturday 10am-Late

Sunday 10am-9pm

*Please note that we are closed some statutory holidays and Sunday evenings, as well as most Mondays-reservations are always preferred!

Cross Street:
12th Street and 9th Avenue SE

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 266-1005

Website:
http://www.jacquelinesuzannes.ca/

Catering:
Please contact us via e-mail for more information on how we can accommodate your catering needs. Jacqueline Suzanne's offers a wide range of catered menu ideas for Lunch, Dinner or even Appetizers-perfect for an intimate cocktail party, office function or large celebration. Whether it is your place or ours, we look forward to catering to your needs.

Parking Details:
Paid Street parking, as well as City parking lots on either end of the block or free side street parking is available.
Free street parking along 9th Avenue after 6pm.
*Please be aware, between 3:30pm-6pm (rush hour Monday- Friday cars parked along East bound 9th Avenue will be ticketed and towed.

Public Transit:
Traveling East Route 1 bus stop at west end of block.
Traveling West Route 1 bus stop at CIBC.

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Tasker

Private Party Facilities:
Private functions are welcomed. We are able to accommodate 18 comfortably in our upstairs dining loft, and 40 downstairs on the main level. Either section can be booked privately.

Private Party Contact:
Suzanne Tasker: 4032661005x

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunday night from 5pm enjoy a 3 course Prime Rib dinner!

Tuesday Two Can Dine for $69.99! Enjoy a Starter Soup or Salad, Entree Selection and Dessert. This is a dining experience for a not to be missed price.

Wine Down Wednesdays-Half price off of House Wine from 5pm

Thirsty Thursdays! Half price Martinis/Cocktails 4pm to 7pm.

Half price select Appetizers every Friday from 4pm to 6pm.

HAPPY HOUR - HALF PRICE MARTINIS 4PM-6PM DAILY!

Jacqueline Suzanne's Bistro/The Carmichael Dining Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Inglewood ›

Special Occasion (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Romantic (15)
See All
Great for Brunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Casual (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Music (2)
Cozy (2)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tapas (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
769 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a really lovely dinner on sunday ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a really lovely dinner on sunday night. The food was great, the steak and lamb dishes were cooked exactly as requested. Service was excellent. Our server was on her own and ended up with more walk ins than expected. She managed extremely well. Our dinner progressed with just the right amount of time between courses. She had a great sense of humour. Definitely will go back again

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and food was outstanding. P ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service and food was outstanding. Portion size was perfect. We love the ambiance and the piano player was a nice unexpected treat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are always looking for new places to ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We are always looking for new places to dine at before we go to the theatre. This one did not disappoint.

We enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service.

The historic building is so interesting. Great ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great value . the bread and butter pudd ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

great value . the bread and butter pudding was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been here before and like the restaurant ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Been here before and like the restaurant. Used to enjoy the JS special coffee but at $12 not anymore. For 1.5 oz of booze way overpriced.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

There were 3 of us & the service was exc ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

There were 3 of us & the service was excellent!

Two of us had the homemade Beef Stroganoff & it was delicious.

The other person had the Soup of the Day & the Seafood Platter.

Declared both delicious.

Grand Marnier Creme Brulee = the best I've had!

Food was fresh, beautifully presented & hot.

Extensive wine list.

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Family Style, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a beautiful little pl ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This restaurant is a beautiful little place. Great ambience. One steak was overcooked but was quickly replaced. The primerib was disappointing. The yorkshire pudding was huge but not fabulous. Wine list is very average.

Three forks out of five.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

I went with my daughter for a Saturday m ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I went with my daughter for a Saturday morning brunch as we had a Groupon to use. We were there right when it opened and were seated in the window seat. The service, from beginning to end, was perfect. We ordered two dishes to split - the cinnamon raisin french toast and the crab cake benedict. Both were really tasty. The music playing and the ambiance were both great. What a gem of a restaurant. We will definitely return again!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with four of my dearest friends wa ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Lunch with four of my dearest friends was extra special with delicious food and excellent service at Jacqueline Suzanne's Bistro. I look forward to visiting Calgary again soon and experience this fantastic restaurant again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing, the food, the se ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was amazing, the food, the service, the overall atmosphere. Will be going back very soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at the Carmichael a number ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have dined at the Carmichael a number of times. We have never been disappointed. The food is excellent. Great value for your money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waited One hour for their 'special' Ar ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Waited One hour for their 'special' Arrived eventually but was dry and not worth the hefty price. Waiter was the manager and even she was embarrassed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

This was our best dining experience in C ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was our best dining experience in CANADIAN Rockies. Food is excellent and presentation great. High ceilings and intimate surroundings unique and quite - for easy conversation. Night we dined very special because of superb pianist. When in Calgary this is a must dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prime rib was delicious but took 1 hour ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Prime rib was delicious but took 1 hour for food to arrive where as restaurtant was not overly busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

We had the Seafood Pasta which was fanta ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had the Seafood Pasta which was fantastic but I would not recommend the Beef Straganoff. It was below average for the price charged. The service was friendly

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Atmosphere, Staff are the best ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent Atmosphere, Staff are the best, The food is always so well prepared seasoned and fresh. Honestly 10 out of 10 does not even tell say how good it is.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent everything. This is the 3rd ti ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent everything. This is the 3rd time I have been to the restaurant and have never been disappointed. Small and quaint.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose prime rib,and it was not good ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We chose prime rib,and it was not good at all. Very over cooked,not like any beef I have ever had,. The ceasar salad was good,and the deserts terrific. We had a great server wh gave us 10 per cent off the bill because of the beef. We would go back again to give it another try, however ,at this time, would not recommend it,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome prime rib, will be back again fo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Awesome prime rib, will be back again for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My daughter, son in law and granddaughte ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My daughter, son in law and granddaughter went with me. We enjoyed everything about

The evening except their choice of music, none would have been better. What are foodies?

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My third time here and was impressed as ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My third time here and was impressed as usual! Love the ambiance and service is always great. Looking forward to taking my mom there next month!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating a birthday. The food ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday. The food, presentation, service and attention to detail was exceptional. The atmosphere allows for a relaxing evening where one does not feel rushed and you can actually have a conversation without having to raise your voice to hear each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic find! Maeve was our ser ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What a fantastic find!

Maeve was our server for the evening and she was better than great. The food was plentiful and well prepared. It truly was an unexpected treat. The evening we were there, they even had a piano player. We sat upstairs and it was quaint and cozy. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening out

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The night was a evening out / late birthday diner. The atmosphere was calm and quiet,we could talk without screaming above others, or at one another. Our server scheduled time inbetween each course (something seldomly done in this world of turn that table around as fast as you can). The meal was well prepared, served hot, and delicious. We spent 3 hours there and did not even notice as the time flew by. I can honestly say we dined this evening, not just went out for food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The atmosphere is wonderful. We ate ther ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The atmosphere is wonderful. We ate there on a Tuesday and it was rather quiet. There is a table by a window to the street that has a patio/street café feel it to without the noise from the road and exposure. The food is great, a little on the pricy side. Our server was knowledgeable, opinionated, attentive and kind. Overall, you will impress your date:)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful atmosphere, service and food. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, service and food. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOved it

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I brougt my mother here on Mothers day and this place was fantastic from the time we were met at the door to the very end of my night here. The waitress was awesome i can't remember her name but I'm terrible with names anyway. Oh and the bread pudding was so so good!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Inglewood's Girls Night Out

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was excellent, served in a timely manner by a happy, smiling waitress. It was, in all, a terrific evening both in the restaurant and out on the bustling streets of lovely Inglewood.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Same menu as when we first came here many years ago - but consistently high quality maintained.

Lots of decadent creamy sauces!!

My lamb chops were perfectly grilled and tender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

An amazing special occasion experience.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I've been to Jacqueline, Suzannes a few times with my daughter and have had a great experience each time. We have made it a summertime tradition before the school year begins. This time I suggested to my husband that we go for my birthday and he enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. We both enjoyed our meal and once again it was a wonderful place to relax and have great food. Can't wait to come back in Aug.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a special place, the ambiance, s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This is a special place, the ambiance, service and food quality is fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Have been several times and if I lived closer I would go more often. Have recommended the place to tons of people and no one is ever disappointed . Love going to Jacqueline Suzanne's. This time was for Easter brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not up to its usual standard.

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

There was only on person on duty she was a bar tender waitress and greater. The meal arrived with cold vegetables and meat entre. Long gaps between order being taken and food arrival. The entire bill was over priced for the quality of the food and service provided

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Always great atmosphere and fantastic fo ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Always great atmosphere and fantastic food, very good friendly service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a special occasion a ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We were celebrating a special occasion and the service and the welcoming atmosphere made the day. The restaurant accommodated dietary restrictions and everyone was very happy with their choice and the presentation at the table. The location is in an historic part of Calgary with many trendy shopping opportunities.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Good Roast Beef Dinner

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We have been here a number of times over the years. The atmosphere is relaxed and "historical", the service and and the food are very good. We always enjoy the special the Prime Rib dinner! Hope to return for Mother's Day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Quaint Neighbourhood Gem

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We arrived on a Sunday at 1 pm for The Big Tastes. The restaurant was full with two large groups and several smaller groups of two and three people. Even though the kitchen was slammed, the food arrived in a timely manner. The server was attentive and the food was great value. We will probably go back and try the regular brunch menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is okay but...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I had 3 courses meal for the Big Taste Calgary.

I had salad and prime rib and it was pretty decent.

However, they suddenly offered different list of dessert after my prime rib.

I already decided what to have for dessert in online and that was the main reason I came to this restaurant. I was so disappointed, but I ordered different dessert. But.. again.. they gave me the wrong one.... I was so frustrated and even didn't touch my dessert....

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Night

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Two of my girlfriends and I came here for the big taste. The food was gorgeous, portion sizes appropriate, wait staff were lovely and attentive. We stayed for three hours and never felt rushed or pressured to leave. Wine was gorgeous too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent & so was our serv ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

The food was excellent & so was our server. She was so pleasant. There was a table of 4 near us where the women were laughing so loud it was ear piercing. Otherwise it was a pleasant evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.