Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

About Jacmel Inn

Jacmel Inn began service in June 1977 after six months renovation to the former residence that was built in 1888. This historic 2-story property sits on 2.2 acres and 9 blocks for the center of historic downtown Hammond.

The lush landscaping, new patio, and the ample parking help make Jacmel Inn a culinary oasis worthy of a 60 miles drive from New Orleans.

The menu has evolved over the years while always using fresh Louisiana Seafood, cooking techniques and dishes derived from traditional Louisiana culture and for 31 year serving great steaks from Iowa corn fed beef.

Our executive Chef Josh Garic creates our menu, which evolves seasonally. Our dinner with a winemaker series is very popular with our customers for the past 20 years.

Our ambiance is a blend of Caribbean, nautical and New England Inn. Guests will feel comfortable dressed casually or dressed to attend a symphony.

903 E. Morris Street
Hammond, LA 70401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
U. S. Highway 190

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 542-0043

Website:
http://www.jacmelinn.com/

Entertainment:
Blended stereo background music is always available. Three TV screens located in the bar and adjacent dining area quenches the thirst of Louisiana sports fans.

Catering:
Jacmel Inn will cater any event within a 50-mile radius of Hammond anytime. We will custom design a menu to fit the customer's budget, food preferences or creative requests. We specialize in wedding events.

Parking Details:
All parking is on the property with the main parking in front and adjacent to the restaurant on Morris St. (Hwy 190). A circular drive allows drop off and our lot can handle motor coach vehicles. The rear parking lot off of Thomas St. (Hwy 190) can handle 30 cars and customers can access the front door via a brick walkway through the cane landscaping.

Public Transit:
Currently Hammond, Louisiana does not have a public transit system.

Executive Chef:
Doyle Orlando

Private Party Facilities:
Jacmel Inn is available for private parties events using part of the property or the entire restaurant. Film companies have used Jacmel Inn for their movies and TV shows.
The upstairs dining area can seat up to 50 people. The side porch area can seat up to 20 people. The bar dining area can seat up to 30 people. With a brick privacy wall, the patio would make a great location for a private party if weather permits. Other features of the patio are a covered pavilion, umbrellas, fountain, and bar area that has music. The features create an ambiance found somewhere in Europe.

Private Party Contact:
Chanc Kinchen: (985) 542-0043

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jacmel Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Romantic (17)
Good for a Date (14)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Scenic View (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful atmosphere for our anniversary. Very romantic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2017

very good for special days enjoy the place. Would plan on a another date for family reunion there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very nice. All staff were very personal and food was very good, atmosphere perfect for an anniversary

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Everything was excellent and all dishes were delicious, shrimp and grits seemed a little salty. Otherwise a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Had a fabulous time with Paul exploring some interesting wines and all the appetizers. The duck was fabulous as was the chocolate bomb. Well worth the drive from Baton Rouge. Hope y’all have as much fun as we did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great service and attentiveness as usual. Tried some new dishes, all were tasty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Very disappointed. Poor service. Food was not hot or very good. Steak was cooked perfect and that's the only positive. Slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food! Great atmosphere! Loved Jacmel's! Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

As always, a wonderful experience. Date night away from the kids taken up a notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The service was wonderful and the food was even better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

One of my favorites for a very long time! The food is always a gastric experience. I love that new items are introduced on a regular basis.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Love the service, quaintness and ambiance of the restaurant. I ordered the veal picata. It was too salty for me and the sauce was too creamy and rich. It was served with cream spinach cannelloni that was made with frozen spinach. It would have been better with fresh chopped spinach. My date ordered the crispy duck which he thoroughly enjoyed. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.
The menu changes every couple of months which makes dining a fresh surprise.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife and I both got steaks and I must say they were both very bland, cooked properly but lacked flavor. All other food was delicious

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Went for the 34 anniversary of our engagement. Everyone was very nice, welcoming and friendly. So glad we went - it was a great evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 30, 2017

One has to love Jacmel Inn. One of Louisiana's greatest restaurants. And, that's saying something!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I can't rave about Jacmel Inn enough.
Though some missteps with overall service were amiss, the well-executed menu, ambience, and drinks were nothing short of amazing.
Certainly worth the drive from New Orleans and highly recommend to locals both on north shore and city. Already committed to dinner at Jacmel Inn in several weeks with northshore locals.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

This is such a great place. Our gathering was last minute and the staff made our impromptu dinner for 18 happen. They had a private room for us and food, service and atmosphere was perfect. (We had so much fun, I think we were the last guests there). We will definitely return our next trip to Hammond.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Service was extremely slow. The excellent food somewhat made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Had a wonderful brunch with a friend. The service was impeccable and the food was amazing. I highly recommend Jacmel!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Fathers Day Brunch was awesome. The food was delicious and the service superb. Perfect ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Everything was exceptional except the staff. They let our needs but it seemed as if we were not in the club.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The salads were enormous 7 the steaks were cooked to perfection. we had told them it was our 50th Wedding Anniversary so I would expect a restaurant of Jacmel's status to have at least offered some special little dessert or something as we had a table of 7 which spent $360 there.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 9, 2017

As always, the food is terrific. I have never had a bad meal at Jacmel's, and my wife and I go there frequently.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This is the second time we've eaten here and both times it has been great.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 3, 2017

You only need to do one thing that I miss to often, Tomato Basil soup! I seem to miss it every other time we come. Still love the bread though.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Server and waiting staff at Jacmel inn are top notch, as for the food it is very lack luster.

I don't mind paying the money for something great, but our steaks were over cooked and our vegetables we undercooked and saturated in butter/ broth.

I had heard great things about Jacmel inn from many people that had ate there in previous years, but I Wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Had excellent meal with efficient service. The duck was excellent as well as a redfish special. As always the hot Italian bread is the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was delicious! First time and will not be the last. The service was great as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Spectacular food and drinks. My favorite restaurant in the New Orleans area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food as always. I had the Roasted Red Fish and it was excellent. The Chicken and Andoulle gumbo was great. And the Creme Brulee' was, as always, out of this word. The Whiskey Sour was right on. Only one other restaurant of Jacmel's caliber makes a whiskey sour as good. I never end a meal at Jacmel's with out some Cafe Jacmel. If you haven't tried it, you absolutely have to do so the next time you visit.

I am always amazed that a small city like Hammond can have an establishment like Jacmel's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The restaurant was really cold when we arrived. However, when we commented on it immediate efforts were made to make us more comfortable and it worked! The food was delicious, especially the deviled eggs and veal picatta. Dessert was very good. We'll definitely go back next time we are in Hammond.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Sunday Brunch was very good. The crab cake benedict was one of the best I have had. The corn crab bisque had an unusual citrusy taste which was also good. The salad dressing was very spicy. Some at my table liked it and some thought it was too spicy. Prices were reasonable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I have always liked Jacmel's, but this visit was especially good. The menu has been updated and well-executed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great appetizers entree options excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We went for lunch. The building, with all the glass windows, appeared warm and inviting. Entering the restaurant I was set at ease. The waiting area with the large yellow leather chairs were welcoming and comfortable as I waited for my friends to arrive. We were seated in a very quiet part of the restaurant. Our waiter, Alfonso, was very accommodating and friendly. The redfish was delicious as all four of us had ordered the same entree. I will return and will recommend Jacmel's to my friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great atmosphere, neat older building, and the food was good as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had not been to Jacmel Inn in over 15 years. We decided to take our son there for his birthday. We all loved it and plan on going back more frequently!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was outstanding! The staff was friendly and the service was attentive. We were very pleased with the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Enjoyed our visit as usual. Chef subbed an item (smoked salmon instead of red shrimp) waiter informed us after that he didn't want to bother us about it. Unfortunately, one of our group didn't like salmon and was mildly allergic to the second appetizer and was looking forward to the shrimp appetizer. Waiter should have let us know.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The devil eggs with salmon delicious as well as steak tip appetizer. Entrees at brunch appropriate size and value. Can't beat cocktails awesome something for everyone. Desserts can be shared with enough choices to satisfy taste of group.
They accommodated request for wheelchair accessible table

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.