Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

About Jacmel Inn

Jacmel Inn began service in June 1977 after six months renovation to the former residence that was built in 1888. This historic 2-story property sits on 2.2 acres and 9 blocks for the center of historic downtown Hammond.

The lush landscaping, new patio, and the ample parking help make Jacmel Inn a culinary oasis worthy of a 60 miles drive from New Orleans.

The menu has evolved over the years while always using fresh Louisiana Seafood, cooking techniques and dishes derived from traditional Louisiana culture and for 31 year serving great steaks from Iowa corn fed beef.

Our executive Chef Josh Garic creates our menu, which evolves seasonally. Our dinner with a winemaker series is very popular with our customers for the past 20 years.

Our ambiance is a blend of Caribbean, nautical and New England Inn. Guests will feel comfortable dressed casually or dressed to attend a symphony.

903 E. Morris Street
Hammond, LA 70401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
U. S. Highway 190

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 542-0043

Website:
http://www.jacmelinn.com/

Entertainment:
Blended stereo background music is always available. Three TV screens located in the bar and adjacent dining area quenches the thirst of Louisiana sports fans.

Catering:
Jacmel Inn will cater any event within a 50-mile radius of Hammond anytime. We will custom design a menu to fit the customer's budget, food preferences or creative requests. We specialize in wedding events.

Parking Details:
All parking is on the property with the main parking in front and adjacent to the restaurant on Morris St. (Hwy 190). A circular drive allows drop off and our lot can handle motor coach vehicles. The rear parking lot off of Thomas St. (Hwy 190) can handle 30 cars and customers can access the front door via a brick walkway through the cane landscaping.

Public Transit:
Currently Hammond, Louisiana does not have a public transit system.

Executive Chef:
Doyle Orlando

Private Party Facilities:
Jacmel Inn is available for private parties events using part of the property or the entire restaurant. Film companies have used Jacmel Inn for their movies and TV shows.
The upstairs dining area can seat up to 50 people. The side porch area can seat up to 20 people. The bar dining area can seat up to 30 people. With a brick privacy wall, the patio would make a great location for a private party if weather permits. Other features of the patio are a covered pavilion, umbrellas, fountain, and bar area that has music. The features create an ambiance found somewhere in Europe.

Private Party Contact:
Chanc Kinchen: (985) 542-0043

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jacmel Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Romantic (15)
See All
Cozy (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
440 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

we loved the experience, the food was awesome, we will be coming back real soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Not what it used to be. Appetizer portions small, but best part of the meal. Hot beer! Steaks tasteless. Trout and redfish dishes overwhelmed by strong sauces. Gumbo bitter- burned roux?
Haven’t been in a while, wont be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

We love Jacmel. It's always a lovely dining experience. Very accommodating staff. Great atmosphere and delicious food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Jacmel Inn is our “go to” restaurant on the North Shore. From crafted cocktails to dessert, everything was delicious!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Everything was wonderful! Our table was ready as soon as we walked in, the service was great, and the food was delicious. I would definitely recommend!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Too noisy , a lot of confusion on check in , table switching tables.

Was recommended to be a romantic place

Hard to be romantic when you have several guest standing and talking loud like a bar .
Never seen that in any fancy restaurant.
Several couples trying to have their meal and a group of people standing by their friends table , hanging out , talking , laughing , not for a couple minutes , for a long time !! Felt like golden coral kind of athmosphere .

Parking was full , we parked in the back , no signs where to walk through , no lights!!!!'
You need to walk with your wife through a very dark wooded area and there is not ONE light , people walking with their iPhone lights on.

Food was good , very tiny portions , specially for the price .

Not coming back

Heard a lot about this place for years and the whole thing was a disaster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 22, 2017

My wife and I had been wanting to try this restaurant for while and decided with our upcoming 5th anniversary we would make a reservation. It was well worth the wait. The food was excellent and the old house that now serves as the restaurant is full of historic charm.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere for our anniversary. Very romantic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2017

very good for special days enjoy the place. Would plan on a another date for family reunion there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very nice. All staff were very personal and food was very good, atmosphere perfect for an anniversary

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Everything was excellent and all dishes were delicious, shrimp and grits seemed a little salty. Otherwise a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Had a fabulous time with Paul exploring some interesting wines and all the appetizers. The duck was fabulous as was the chocolate bomb. Well worth the drive from Baton Rouge. Hope y’all have as much fun as we did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great service and attentiveness as usual. Tried some new dishes, all were tasty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Very disappointed. Poor service. Food was not hot or very good. Steak was cooked perfect and that's the only positive. Slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food! Great atmosphere! Loved Jacmel's! Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

As always, a wonderful experience. Date night away from the kids taken up a notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The service was wonderful and the food was even better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

One of my favorites for a very long time! The food is always a gastric experience. I love that new items are introduced on a regular basis.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Love the service, quaintness and ambiance of the restaurant. I ordered the veal picata. It was too salty for me and the sauce was too creamy and rich. It was served with cream spinach cannelloni that was made with frozen spinach. It would have been better with fresh chopped spinach. My date ordered the crispy duck which he thoroughly enjoyed. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.
The menu changes every couple of months which makes dining a fresh surprise.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife and I both got steaks and I must say they were both very bland, cooked properly but lacked flavor. All other food was delicious

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Went for the 34 anniversary of our engagement. Everyone was very nice, welcoming and friendly. So glad we went - it was a great evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 30, 2017

One has to love Jacmel Inn. One of Louisiana's greatest restaurants. And, that's saying something!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I can't rave about Jacmel Inn enough.
Though some missteps with overall service were amiss, the well-executed menu, ambience, and drinks were nothing short of amazing.
Certainly worth the drive from New Orleans and highly recommend to locals both on north shore and city. Already committed to dinner at Jacmel Inn in several weeks with northshore locals.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

This is such a great place. Our gathering was last minute and the staff made our impromptu dinner for 18 happen. They had a private room for us and food, service and atmosphere was perfect. (We had so much fun, I think we were the last guests there). We will definitely return our next trip to Hammond.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Service was extremely slow. The excellent food somewhat made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Had a wonderful brunch with a friend. The service was impeccable and the food was amazing. I highly recommend Jacmel!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Fathers Day Brunch was awesome. The food was delicious and the service superb. Perfect ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Everything was exceptional except the staff. They let our needs but it seemed as if we were not in the club.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The salads were enormous 7 the steaks were cooked to perfection. we had told them it was our 50th Wedding Anniversary so I would expect a restaurant of Jacmel's status to have at least offered some special little dessert or something as we had a table of 7 which spent $360 there.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 9, 2017

As always, the food is terrific. I have never had a bad meal at Jacmel's, and my wife and I go there frequently.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This is the second time we've eaten here and both times it has been great.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 3, 2017

You only need to do one thing that I miss to often, Tomato Basil soup! I seem to miss it every other time we come. Still love the bread though.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Server and waiting staff at Jacmel inn are top notch, as for the food it is very lack luster.

I don't mind paying the money for something great, but our steaks were over cooked and our vegetables we undercooked and saturated in butter/ broth.

I had heard great things about Jacmel inn from many people that had ate there in previous years, but I Wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Had excellent meal with efficient service. The duck was excellent as well as a redfish special. As always the hot Italian bread is the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was delicious! First time and will not be the last. The service was great as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Spectacular food and drinks. My favorite restaurant in the New Orleans area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food as always. I had the Roasted Red Fish and it was excellent. The Chicken and Andoulle gumbo was great. And the Creme Brulee' was, as always, out of this word. The Whiskey Sour was right on. Only one other restaurant of Jacmel's caliber makes a whiskey sour as good. I never end a meal at Jacmel's with out some Cafe Jacmel. If you haven't tried it, you absolutely have to do so the next time you visit.

I am always amazed that a small city like Hammond can have an establishment like Jacmel's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The restaurant was really cold when we arrived. However, when we commented on it immediate efforts were made to make us more comfortable and it worked! The food was delicious, especially the deviled eggs and veal picatta. Dessert was very good. We'll definitely go back next time we are in Hammond.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Sunday Brunch was very good. The crab cake benedict was one of the best I have had. The corn crab bisque had an unusual citrusy taste which was also good. The salad dressing was very spicy. Some at my table liked it and some thought it was too spicy. Prices were reasonable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I have always liked Jacmel's, but this visit was especially good. The menu has been updated and well-executed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.