Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.93mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.19mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

About Jacmel Inn

Jacmel Inn began service in June 1977 after six months renovation to the former residence that was built in 1888. This historic 2-story property sits on 2.2 acres and 9 blocks for the center of historic downtown Hammond.

The lush landscaping, new patio, and the ample parking help make Jacmel Inn a culinary oasis worthy of a 60 miles drive from New Orleans.

The menu has evolved over the years while always using fresh Louisiana Seafood, cooking techniques and dishes derived from traditional Louisiana culture and for 31 year serving great steaks from Iowa corn fed beef.

Our executive Chef Josh Garic creates our menu, which evolves seasonally. Our dinner with a winemaker series is very popular with our customers for the past 20 years.

Our ambiance is a blend of Caribbean, nautical and New England Inn. Guests will feel comfortable dressed casually or dressed to attend a symphony.

903 E. Morris Street
Hammond, LA 70401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
U. S. Highway 190

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 542-0043

Website:
http://www.jacmelinn.com/

Entertainment:
Blended stereo background music is always available. Three TV screens located in the bar and adjacent dining area quenches the thirst of Louisiana sports fans.

Catering:
Jacmel Inn will cater any event within a 50-mile radius of Hammond anytime. We will custom design a menu to fit the customer's budget, food preferences or creative requests. We specialize in wedding events.

Parking Details:
All parking is on the property with the main parking in front and adjacent to the restaurant on Morris St. (Hwy 190). A circular drive allows drop off and our lot can handle motor coach vehicles. The rear parking lot off of Thomas St. (Hwy 190) can handle 30 cars and customers can access the front door via a brick walkway through the cane landscaping.

Public Transit:
Currently Hammond, Louisiana does not have a public transit system.

Executive Chef:
Doyle Orlando

Private Party Facilities:
Jacmel Inn is available for private parties events using part of the property or the entire restaurant. Film companies have used Jacmel Inn for their movies and TV shows.
The upstairs dining area can seat up to 50 people. The side porch area can seat up to 20 people. The bar dining area can seat up to 30 people. With a brick privacy wall, the patio would make a great location for a private party if weather permits. Other features of the patio are a covered pavilion, umbrellas, fountain, and bar area that has music. The features create an ambiance found somewhere in Europe.

Private Party Contact:
Chanc Kinchen: (985) 542-0043

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jacmel Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
See All
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Cozy (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fireplace (3)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was extremely slow. The excellent food somewhat made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Had a wonderful brunch with a friend. The service was impeccable and the food was amazing. I highly recommend Jacmel!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The Fathers Day Brunch was awesome. The food was delicious and the service superb. Perfect ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Everything was exceptional except the staff. They let our needs but it seemed as if we were not in the club.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The salads were enormous 7 the steaks were cooked to perfection. we had told them it was our 50th Wedding Anniversary so I would expect a restaurant of Jacmel's status to have at least offered some special little dessert or something as we had a table of 7 which spent $360 there.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 9, 2017

As always, the food is terrific. I have never had a bad meal at Jacmel's, and my wife and I go there frequently.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This is the second time we've eaten here and both times it has been great.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 3, 2017

You only need to do one thing that I miss to often, Tomato Basil soup! I seem to miss it every other time we come. Still love the bread though.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Server and waiting staff at Jacmel inn are top notch, as for the food it is very lack luster.

I don't mind paying the money for something great, but our steaks were over cooked and our vegetables we undercooked and saturated in butter/ broth.

I had heard great things about Jacmel inn from many people that had ate there in previous years, but I Wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Had excellent meal with efficient service. The duck was excellent as well as a redfish special. As always the hot Italian bread is the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was delicious! First time and will not be the last. The service was great as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Spectacular food and drinks. My favorite restaurant in the New Orleans area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food as always. I had the Roasted Red Fish and it was excellent. The Chicken and Andoulle gumbo was great. And the Creme Brulee' was, as always, out of this word. The Whiskey Sour was right on. Only one other restaurant of Jacmel's caliber makes a whiskey sour as good. I never end a meal at Jacmel's with out some Cafe Jacmel. If you haven't tried it, you absolutely have to do so the next time you visit.

I am always amazed that a small city like Hammond can have an establishment like Jacmel's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The restaurant was really cold when we arrived. However, when we commented on it immediate efforts were made to make us more comfortable and it worked! The food was delicious, especially the deviled eggs and veal picatta. Dessert was very good. We'll definitely go back next time we are in Hammond.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Sunday Brunch was very good. The crab cake benedict was one of the best I have had. The corn crab bisque had an unusual citrusy taste which was also good. The salad dressing was very spicy. Some at my table liked it and some thought it was too spicy. Prices were reasonable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I have always liked Jacmel's, but this visit was especially good. The menu has been updated and well-executed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great appetizers entree options excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We went for lunch. The building, with all the glass windows, appeared warm and inviting. Entering the restaurant I was set at ease. The waiting area with the large yellow leather chairs were welcoming and comfortable as I waited for my friends to arrive. We were seated in a very quiet part of the restaurant. Our waiter, Alfonso, was very accommodating and friendly. The redfish was delicious as all four of us had ordered the same entree. I will return and will recommend Jacmel's to my friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great atmosphere, neat older building, and the food was good as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had not been to Jacmel Inn in over 15 years. We decided to take our son there for his birthday. We all loved it and plan on going back more frequently!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was outstanding! The staff was friendly and the service was attentive. We were very pleased with the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Enjoyed our visit as usual. Chef subbed an item (smoked salmon instead of red shrimp) waiter informed us after that he didn't want to bother us about it. Unfortunately, one of our group didn't like salmon and was mildly allergic to the second appetizer and was looking forward to the shrimp appetizer. Waiter should have let us know.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The devil eggs with salmon delicious as well as steak tip appetizer. Entrees at brunch appropriate size and value. Can't beat cocktails awesome something for everyone. Desserts can be shared with enough choices to satisfy taste of group.
They accommodated request for wheelchair accessible table

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Always a pleasant experience! I consider Jacmel my favorite "special occasion" place to go.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great appetizer, stakes were perfectly cooked, chocolate martini was as good as any desert we could of had.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The hostess who took our drink order and brought us our drinks was not fine dining trained. She was confused about the wine menu and when she brought the wine glasses to the table she gave the glasses for us to distribute!! Our server was excellent and well informed on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The service was a little rocky at first because it took almost 20 minutes before our waiter came to the table. The hostess had taken our drinks but those were still not brought to the table and the waiter still wasn't present. However after we were finally greeted and received our drinks the food came quickly and the service was fine. The food was amazing and the reason we will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 18, 2017

While the food was pretty good, the service was pretty uneven. Our designated server was fine, but the young woman appointed to bring our menus, fill our water glasses, etc. was absolutely horrible. She was impersonal, bordering on rude. She seemed put out when we asked for a wine list (and only then bringing a drink menu, not an actual wine list) and, at times, appeared to roll her eyes when asked for more water or extra time to look over the menu before deciding on drinks. The overall effect was that we didn't feel welcome. Our actual waitress was good, but those crucial first impressions made by an inept and indifferent assistant ruined the meal. I'd be very hard pressed to go back. It just isn't worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The whole experience was great. I would definitely go back to eat there again. My wife and I enjoyed every thing about the restaurant. The ambiance was great, the waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu. It was a very romantic setting. We are planning on going back for Valintine day. We may go back prior to that. The food was excellent we were planning to drive to New Orleans for our special occasion,but we're so glad that we decided to go to Jacmel Inn, as it is a hidden gem in Hammond.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

what can I say. the food was awesome the service was fantastic. we enjoyed bringing friends from out of town to one of our favorite spots in Hammond area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were disappointed.
The dishes were mostly "good", but not really up to our fine dining expectations (and the prices). One unfortunate exception was the asparagus dish, which 3 of our party of 4 tried and all found to have an unpleasant flavor (rancid oil? or just the wrong oil for asparagus?).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was excellent as always. Very noisy, but it was New Years Eve.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was wonderful and wait staff very attentive. The tables are just too close for comfort. I can't count on two hands the number of times someone bumped into me or our table. It was impossible to hold a private conversation. I also couldn't get past the carpet. My family members are asthmatics. I can't imagine what's under that carpet. Food and carpet should never go together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We were thankful to celebrate Christmas with our staff at Jacmel Inn. Delicious food and excellent service.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Awesome place it was our 15th wedding Anniversey, we ask for a quiet spot it was wonderful quiet by a fireplace , amazing

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Casual, Cozy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food, service, and atmosphere where AMAZING!!! Everyone was friendly, definitely would recommend, and if we are in the area again, we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We chose Jacmel, as we wanted something really special for special family birthday. The setting was lovely and the food was really, really outstanding! However the service was lacking-slow & erratic. Server was very personable but clearly inexperienced. The atmosphere was overly casual and just not what we expected for fine dining at this renowned restaurant. We were not made to feel special, sort of like we were in the way. We would recommend, with reservation. We will return, but possibly for a quick lunch or brunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Jacmel Inn was such a pleasant surprise. A small intimate former home full of ambiance! From the time we entered the front foot, we felt so welcomed by all the staff! The "Red Shrimp Appetizer" with Vinegarette Marinated Black Eyed Pea Salsa was such a delightful introduction to a perfect entree! We had Herb Crusted Speckled Trout (local) that was the best I have ever had anywhere in USA!
From Beginning to End, Our Experience at Jacmel Inn was an Exceptional Experience! We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We enjoyed sharing the hidden gem of Jacmel with our friends!! It's been one of our favorite restaurants for years!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.