Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Jacmel Inn

4.4
488 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Cozy
Jacmel Inn began service in June 1977 after six months renovation to the former residence that was built in 1888. This historic 2-story property sits on 2.2 acres and 9 blocks for the center of historic downtown Hammond.

The lush landscaping, new patio, and the ample parking help make Jacmel Inn a culinary oasis worthy of a 60 miles drive from New Orleans.

The menu has evolved over the years while always using fresh Louisiana Seafood, cooking techniques and dishes derived from traditional Louisiana culture and for 31 year serving great steaks from Iowa corn fed beef.

Our executive Chef Josh Garic creates our menu, which evolves seasonally. Our dinner with a winemaker series is very popular with our customers for the past 20 years.

Our ambiance is a blend of Caribbean, nautical and New England Inn. Guests will feel comfortable dressed casually or dressed to attend a symphony.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(985) 542-0043
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Doyle Orlando
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Jacmel Inn is available for private parties events using part of the property or the entire restaurant. Film companies have used Jacmel Inn for their movies and TV shows.
The upstairs dining area can seat up to 50 people. The side porch area can seat up to 20 people. The bar dining area can seat up to 30 people. With a brick privacy wall, the patio would make a great location for a private party if weather permits. Other features of the patio are a covered pavilion, umbrellas, fountain, and bar area that has music. The features create an ambiance found somewhere in Europe.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Chanc Kinchen: (985) 542-0043
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Jacmel Inn will cater any event within a 50-mile radius of Hammond anytime. We will custom design a menu to fit the customer's budget, food preferences or creative requests. We specialize in wedding events.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
U. S. Highway 190
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
All parking is on the property with the main parking in front and adjacent to the restaurant on Morris St. (Hwy 190). A circular drive allows drop off and our lot can handle motor coach vehicles. The rear parking lot off of Thomas St. (Hwy 190) can handle 30 cars and customers can access the front door via a brick walkway through the cane landscaping.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Currently Hammond, Louisiana does not have a public transit system.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Blended stereo background music is always available. Three TV screens located in the bar and adjacent dining area quenches the thirst of Louisiana sports fans.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 488 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Anniversary dinner. Very romantic setting. Appetizers where great. Filet was so tender. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

My 5th at the restaurant and it just keeps getting better. I am always happy with the selections on the menu that is constantly evolving and just keeps getting better

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

This place is a hidden gem. Alex our waiter was great!! He fit it with the whole group and all of our shenanigans!! Would recommend to anyone. Can’t wait to go back for dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The atmosphere, especially the lighting, was very nice. The food was truly outstanding for a small town restaurant. The daily soup was corn and eggplant. Very good. Had the daily fish special, grouper, which was also very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Food and service were great. Great atmosphere. Quiet. Thumbs up all the way around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Always enjoy Jacmel. Christopher waited on us and was very pleasant and down to earth. Food was great as expected; never any surprises with the quality.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

A wonderful place for dear friends to meet for lunch! Delicious crab cake appetizer. One of us had crab and shrimp pasta which was very good. Nice broth and veggies. Three in our party ordered the burger. They were not asked how they wanted them cooked, and all came out extremely rare with the middle being raw and, to them, inedible. They mostly ate the toppings, although found the bacon to be very fatty. Very disappointing! They would have enjoyed them had they been cooked to medium or even medium rare. Service was good, except for server neglecting to ask for doneness of meat. Will try again when back in Hammond. It’s a lovely place and other dishes were good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

We went for lunch on a Thursday and all three of us had a very nice meal. We shared crispy fried oyster appetizer, then each of us had a different entrée (veal parmesan, Jacmel burger and pan fried grouper. Prices were reasonable for the quality of the entrees.

The restaurant is a throwback (in a good way) with classic wood decorations, walls and floors. The noise level was very low, allowing us to have a pleasant conversation. I'd suggest it would also be good for a business lunch.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2018

I’ve loved Jacmel’s my whole life but over the last year this restaurant has changed management and thereby declined in customer service and ambiance. Food is very good but the charm is lost when simple services (like a “no separate checks” policy) and building maintenance is overlooked. Hopeful things will be turning around with the new management .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The crab cake appetizer is the best we've ever had with lots of crab and little breading. Great atmosphere, good food and wonderful service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

We were there for graduation. Food was amazing. Staff was great. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Dinner for my youngest daughter. She graduated from high school! Great way to close the book on this phase of life. The waiter was extremely nice. Food was excellent. Served hot and timely. Thanks to Jacmel Inn for being a part of a wonderful evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Friendly staff, excellent food, and quiet ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great food but not cheap. Flavors were incredible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

I made my reservation at least 2 weeks before the set date (which turned out to be a great thing, since we kept changing the reservation details). Even so, when we finally did make our way to the restaurant, we had an extra person who had been unaccounted for. The staff had no problems, however, and simply set out an extra chair. The service was attentive and kind, and the food was absolutely excellent. We tried some out-of-the-box appetizers, an we were all very impressed. Thank you, Jacmel Inn.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We haven’t been to Jacmel Inn since last year because we moved. We thoroughly enjoyed coming back-Jerry, at the bar, and Sarah, our server, were awesome. Thank you

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Upon arrival the placed looked very cozy and elegant we were greeted at the door and asked if we had a reservation and they sat us down and the waiter was very inexperienced did not go over your specials like we had hear another waiter tell other customers. also it was my wife's birthday she did not ask what was our occasion and it was on our reservation. food was good but they def need work with their staff. and we were seated in a area were they constantly said corner. what is that when you take your wife to a romantic birthday dinner. not good at all and was not happy at all!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Jacmel has provided an excellent dining experience for over thirty years. The service is attentive, but not overbearing. I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone interested is superb cuisine in a romantic setting. I'm a foodie who dines out often at top-tier restaurants. I've never been disappointed at the Jacmel Inn in Hammond.

Dr. Joseph O'Neil
Mandeville, Louisiana

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The event was our 39th anniversary. The noise level was a little high but was put on a table where most of the noise was buffeted. The food, drinks and over all setting was great. We had a very good dinner and romantic experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Our church had given us a two-night getaway to Michabel Inn. The innkeeper recommended Jamel for dinner. Everything about the place was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Wonderful food and service in a very nice but unpretentious environment.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The place was cozy, and very quiet. We almost felt the need to whisper it was so quiet. We had the Jumbo lump crab cake (only one to an order) to start. We ordered the Salmon and Fresh Gulf Fish. We asked our waitress what the Gulf Fish of the day was. When she returned she said the fish of the day was called Gulf Fish. We tried another waiter who informed us it was Sheephead. Be sure to double check the fish of the day... I would recommend you order an appetizer or a salad with your meal, the portions are medium to small. Although the restaurant was cute and the kitchen has a since of humor we would not attend again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

As always, the food was good and as always, the service was slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The ambiance was great, the food fantastic and Sara was excellent. We are traveling the country and this is the best dining experience to date.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Not as good as the last time we visited. The meal was bland. The noise level and proximity to other diners was uncomfortable. We’ll go back again and hopefully have a better experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We were assured when we called the restaurant prior to our reservation that it is kid friendly. It is not kid friendly, except possibly in the outside area. You could hear a pin drop in the actual restaurant. Our waitress was even whispering to us when taking our order. The food was nothing to write home about. The steak seemed like good quality but everything was incredibly salty causing it to be nearly inedible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great service, love the ambiance, and delicious food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Food was Wonderful but service was extremely slow. Waiter was friendly and explained it was her first night. The restaurant was not full so we didn’t expect a problem but even the drinks took a long time to get. This is my favorite restaurant in the area so we will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Jacmel’s is excellent! Best restaurant On my way! the North Shore.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Great place, good staff and food is always spot on. Great ambiance too. Love the place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Lovely restaurant in an elegant setting conducive to business discussion or an intimate meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Fantastic food and service. Great date night or special occassion place to eat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Food and service were great. Can't beat the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2018

Jacmel never disappoints. Great food, great ambience, a classy dining experience second to none.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2018

Beautiful building, good wine, great food and amazing hospitality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

FOOD WAS GOOD AND OUR SERVER WAS EXCELLENT
GREAT AMBIANCE........QUIET SETTING AND LIKE THE FIREPLACES

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Very lovely restaurant. Just as I remembered it when I went to SLU.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Very nice atmosphere, cozy fireplaces. Nice outdoor lighting. Food was very delicious, not long waiting to be served. Waitress very helpful with menu selections.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Great atmosphere and attentive staff, main dishes came out luke warm at best but tasted good. High price small portions, very limited menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2017

The food was excellent! We have never been there on Sunday's for lunch. Very nice atmosphere for the holidays! We'll be back on New Yr.'s Eve!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13