About Jacmel Inn

903 E. Morris Street
Hammond, LA 70401
View Larger Map

Jacmel Inn began service in June 1977 after six months renovation to the former residence that was built in 1888. This historic 2-story property sits on 2.2 acres and 9 blocks for the center of historic downtown Hammond. The lush landscaping, new patio, and the ample parking help make Jacmel Inn a culinary oasis worthy of a 60 miles drive from New Orleans. The menu has evolved over the years while always using fresh Louisiana Seafood, cooking techniques and dishes derived from traditional Louisiana culture and for 31 year serving great steaks from Iowa corn fed beef. Our executive Chef Doyle Orlando creates our menu, which evolves seasonally. Our dinner with a winemaker series is very popular with our customers for the past 20 years. Our ambiance is a blend of Caribbean, nautical and New England Inn. Guests will feel comfortable dressed casually or dressed to attend a symphony.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
U. S. Highway 190

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 542-0043

Website:
http://www.jacmelinn.com/

Entertainment:
Blended stereo background music is always available. Three TV screens located in the bar and adjacent dining area quenches the thirst of Louisiana sports fans.

Catering:
Jacmel Inn will cater any event within a 50-mile radius of Hammond anytime. We will custom design a menu to fit the customer's budget, food preferences or creative requests. We specialize in wedding events.

Parking Details:
All parking is on the property with the main parking in front and adjacent to the restaurant on Morris St. (Hwy 190). A circular drive allows drop off and our lot can handle motor coach vehicles. The rear parking lot off of Thomas St. (Hwy 190) can handle 30 cars and customers can access the front door via a brick walkway through the cane landscaping.

Public Transit:
Currently Hammond, Louisiana does not have a public transit system.

Executive Chef:
Doyle Orlando

Private Party Facilities:
Jacmel Inn is available for private parties events using part of the property or the entire restaurant. Film companies have used Jacmel Inn for their movies and TV shows. The upstairs dining area can seat up to 50 people. The side porch area can seat up to 20 people. The bar dining area can seat up to 30 people. With a brick privacy wall, the patio would make a great location for a private party if weather permits. Other features of the patio are a covered pavilion, umbrellas, fountain, and bar area that has music. The features create an ambiance found somewhere in Europe.

Private Party Contact:
Chanc Kinchen: 9855420043

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Jacmel Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Value
New Orleans / Louisiana
Romantic
New Orleans / Louisiana
8 More
Special Occasion
New Orleans / Louisiana
Contemporary American
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Best Value
New Orleans
Romantic
New Orleans
Special Occasion
New Orleans
Contemporary American
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Hammond ›

special occasion (22)
romantic (20)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
great for lunch (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
good for groups (8)
great for brunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
notable wine list (6)
scenic view (5)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

We celebrated a belated Mother's Day her ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated a belated Mother's Day here. We drove in from Mandeville and Baton Rouge as a middle meeting point. We had a not wonderful experience. The live music was fantastic. Hoping to do it again!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Multiple brunch and dessert options, acc ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Multiple brunch and dessert options, accommodations for guest with disability excellent

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great

Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place.

Dined on March 18, 2016

I have eaten at Jacmel many times over the years. The food is always delicious, the service is excellent, and the ambiance is charming. It is great for both lunch and dinner as well as special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good, but over priced

Dined on March 17, 2016

We have enjoyed Jacmel for years. The menu has changed over time. We found the salad to be uninspired, the portions small and the prices very high. Can do better closer to home. #louisianalagniappe

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for our anniversary. Top notch!

Dined on March 6, 2016

We came for our anniversary. The food was delicious and the service was great. We loved the atmosphere. It was such a pleasant evening. I can't wait to come back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Jacmel Inn is Always a Special Treat

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

A dining experience at The Jacmel Inn is a unique combination of excellent cuisine, wonderful service, and a delightful atmosphere. I say this as a "foodie" who dines out often at the best restaurants in the region. I could never get tired of the total dining experience at Jacmel.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Restaurant

Dined on February 28, 2016

This is one of the greatest all around dining experiences in Louisiana and I live in New Orleans so that is saying a lot. I have dined here many times for lunch and dinner. The food and service have always been top notch! The charm and atmosphere of the restaurant are unmatched. Go. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Good service and average food

Dined on February 25, 2016

I had roses delivered to the restaurant to celebrate our 50th anniversary. Food was average and expensive. They did nothing to make the evening special. Nothing like our favorite Galatoire's in New Orleans. They are a little arrogant in their attitude--take it or leave it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was Excellent

Dined on January 31, 2016

As always, the food was excellent. I have been there many times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great Find!!!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Went here for an Anniversary dinner. It was nicely lit and very personal atmosphere. Food was good and wine was great!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience!

Dined on December 19, 2015

Overall a very excellent meal and experience! Very interesting and exciting menu. We will definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was good and the service was ve ...

Dined on December 18, 2015

The food was good and the service was very good, but the cost is a little on the high side.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food

Dined on November 28, 2015

great service and food was excellent. We requested the table by the fireplace, which is very romantic and great for 2

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Every visit has been special

Dined on November 9, 2015

Food, service atmosphere are exemplary. The decor of the restaurant is totally unique in all of our dining experiences.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

Good food ... But..

vip
Dined on October 28, 2015

Good food, small portions, high prices. Need to review value for customers. Not sure locals will come out if value is not here.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

New Chef

vip
Dined on October 22, 2015

I was a little worried when my waitress told me that they have a new chef at Jacmel. The last chef had been with them for quite some time now, and I have gotten used to his offerings. My fears went away when Chef Po (I hope I got his name right) introduced himself, and assured me that I can have things the way I want them. Last week, I had drum with a medley of mushroom, onion, and snow pea. The crunchiness of the snow pea was noticeable and brought the whole experience to a new level. It is precisely this attention to detail that makes good restaurants great. The following day, I had hanger steak with another medley that has okra. This may have been a healthier medley, but this could also be the reason why I appreciated the other medley better. I like both medleys, but give me the snow peas anytime. Yesterday, I had bouillabaisse. It had been a while since I had this dish, and boy, the things that they have done with it. One thing that I appreciated a lot was the broth. I noticed the saffron, and I was in heaven. The drum was perfect, and so was the scallop. The shrimp, unfortunately, was a tiny bit over cooked (just a bit, but remember, attention to details). Not that it wasn't edible. If I had not restrained myself, I would have gulped that everything on the plate, including the shrimp shell, and particularly the absolutely wonderful broth. Today, I had the Chilean sea bass. Chef Po simplified the preparation, and all I tasted was the freshness of the ingredients (but I also wished that they peeled the tomato), brought together by that broth. One thing I wish that will happen is that one day, out of the blue, Chef Po would offer the same exact thing (bouillabaisse or sea bass) except for that little hint of pickle that would awaken all of your senses and will make you say, "Ah! Life is truly good."

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

PeterB

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

Have been to Jacmel Inn many times, and it's always enjoyable. Interesting menu selections, notable bar and wine menu, friendly and accommodating staff. Menu items are well prepared and nicely presented. I particularly enjoy perusing the wine list; Paul Murphy always has some hidden gems and great values within.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service3

Beer bottles in the parking lot.

vip
Dined on October 1, 2015

My first impression of Jacmel was that the staff/owners don't care. We arrived for lunch at about 1:00 and there were numerous beer bottles in the parking lot. I will admit, that my hamburger was very good. I also had the turtle soup, which was a little too salty. Our server was nice but when I told her about the beer bottles, she laughed and said that they had a wedding on the previous Saturday. We ate there four days after the wedding. Needless to say, if they don't care, neither do I. I'll never go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

COMING HERE FOR 20 YEARS FOR REALLY SPEC ...

Dined on October 1, 2015

COMING HERE FOR 20 YEARS FOR REALLY SPECIAL OCCASIONS.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

All around a pleasant dining experience. ...

Dined on September 11, 2015

All around a pleasant dining experience. Cocktails were great and the food outstanding, service great!!

food5
ambience3
service2

JACMEL

Dined on August 23, 2015

FOOD WAS VERY GOOD, BUT THE MAIN SERVER LEFT SOMETHING TO BE DESIRED! HE WAS NOT VERY ATTENTIVE OR ACCOMMODATING TO OUR QUESTIONS OR REQUESTS!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat and visit

Dined on July 24, 2015

Jacmel's is perfect for a leisurely-paced business dinner and is my place of choice within 50 miles of its location. I frequently have colleagues from New Orleans and Baton Rouge make the trip here. Superlative, non-obtrusive service and outstanding food, of.course!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

AS ALWAYS, PROBABLY THE BEST IN HAMMOND. ...

Dined on July 19, 2015

AS ALWAYS, PROBABLY THE BEST IN HAMMOND. EXPENSIVE, BUT WORTH EVERY PENNY

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service4

My finance and I had a romantic dinner a ...

Dined on July 11, 2015

My finance and I had a romantic dinner at Jacmel Saturday evening. The service was great, we both had a steak and lobster. Her filet was delicious as well as the lobster. My ribeye was very fatty, and not the good kind of steak fat. It was a lot of the tough fat that you couldn't really chew up, which for a $38 entree I expected better.

food3
ambience3
service4

Quaint Restaurant on the Northshore

Dined on June 6, 2015

While Jacmel Inn did not live up the "One of Louisiana's Most Romantic Restaurants" hype, it was still a great experience. The food was prepared as ordered. I highly recommend the Cast Iron Steaktips. However, the tuna had little flavor. It is hard to compete with the options New Orleans has to offer, but if you are on the Northshore looking for a unique place to dine, check it out!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a table of six women -3 of which ...

Dined on May 31, 2015

We had a table of six women -3 of which were out of town guests. Our waiter was spectacular and allowed us as much time as we needed to catch up with one another. It was more than a meal, it was an experience! We ate together the night before at a renowned restaurant in downtown New Orleans, and the food at Jacmel far exceeded the meal in NOLA! You can close your eyes and pick anything from this menu without disappointment!

food4
ambience5
service3

Just a great dining experience

Dined on May 30, 2015

Good food Nice place Good service It is nice not to have to drive down to New Orleans to enjoy great food

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service2

Updated menu a hit

Dined on May 24, 2015

We have not dined here in several months, perhaps longer. In the interim they have updated the brunch menu, and possible the others, too. The new items are a welcome change. My wife had the wedge salad with oysters, and I had the Egg Pontchartrain (basicallyi eggs benedict with fried oysters). Both entrees were delicious. The Tomato Basil (soup du jour) and French Onion soups were good, but nothing to get excited about. Service was a bit lackluster. Our server, Brandon, came across as though this was his first day. Perhaps it was. He got a bit more attentive towards the end of the meal. All in all, this was a nice brunch, and one of the better ones we have had here in the recent past. We will definitely be back to try out some of the other new menu options.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food, somewhat inexperienced wait staff

Dined on May 22, 2015

Jacmel Inn was an overall very good experience. Lovely cottage atmosphere and wonderful music selections playing softly in the background. Hands down the best French Onion Soup that I've ever had. Shrimp and grits was very good too. I didn't care for the blue cheese dressing..it was full of garlic and pink in color.. tiny specs of blue cheese rather than nice chunks.. The salad was very nice and fresh, though. The bread was outstanding-hot and crispy on the outside. Shrimp toast was good, but a lot of bread and very filling. Definitely enough for three people. Wait staff was young and inexperienced. Server didn't offer what kind of dressing came on the salad until we asked and it wasn't mentioned on the menu. He also didn't ask how we wanted appetizers/soup/salads brought to the table, so we had awkward periods of one person eating by themselves, then the other person eating by themselves. Waiter had a little bit of an attitude whenever we questioned him or asked him about anything. My pet peeve: when we said "thank you" to the waiter, he responded "no problem". What happened to "you're welcome"?? "no problem" sounds like you're not bothering me too much. Overall very nice but it could move up to excellent with a little coaching/training of the young wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, service and friendly waitstaff.

Dined on May 16, 2015

My wife and I have been trying to get to Jacmels Inn for some time for dinner. We finally made it . We celebrated our 45 wedding anniversary there Friday night. What a great time we had. We enjoyed everything about the restaurant. Great food, service etc.... We definitely plan to return soon to enjoy the experience again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The setting is lovely and the food is al ...

Dined on May 9, 2015

The setting is lovely and the food is always great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

Disappointing

Dined on April 5, 2015

We went for Easter Sunday Brunch and were disappointed. Service was slow and food was adequate but not impressive. My husband order a ribeye and it was fatty. I ordered scallops which were good but the risotto was cold and too cheesy. My gumbo was very different, no meat, just tomato and okra. Overall we had always enjoyed this restaurant but will not be back.

food2
ambience3
service2

Loved the Steak, not the Piccata

Dined on March 14, 2015

So, my husband had steak and my daughter had Veal meatballs. They loved their meals. Mine was very strange. I ordered Veal Piccata, it was over seasoned and actually spicy, over cooked and too dark, you could not see the capers and where was the wonderful, chardonnay, butter, lemon sauce? The dish was so off the mark. The woman next to me also complained that the food was over seasoned. The waitress never poured our wine throughout the meal and the air conditioner froze us out. Other than that the rest of family loved their meals.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite special occasion restaurants

Dined on March 8, 2015

Jacmel is a tad pricey, but for a special occasion its worth it. Its fine to bring well-behaved children, but not ones who cannot sit still at the table and talk with lowered voices. We just celebrated my mom's birthday, and they allowed her to select a free dessert from the dessert menu. Their bread pudding is incredible. Their crab cakes are wonderful. I do not recommend the lobster mac and cheese. Their petite filet is excellent. I have ordered their house dressing to go (literally in a cup of soup container) and carried it across 3 state lines to my sister who no longer lives in the area. Their salad dressing is a cross between ranch and creamy caesar and tastes like no other. For a group of 8, our bill was $250, including a 20% tip. We skipped appetizers and dessert.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Food and Ambiance

Dined on March 8, 2015

We enjoyed a wide variety of food, from the turtle soup, fried oysters with bacon, strawberry topped spinach salad, scallops, and osso buco. It was all delicious and the portions were generous for a fine restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2

A little disappointing but would try it again

Dined on March 1, 2015

Steak appetizer was really good...my husband's veal meatball was not cooked at all on the inside (pink and mushy), they charged us for it and I had to request that it be taken of the bill. My steak was not Med Well but my husband ate the middle while my 2 year old and I shared the outer part of the steak, the flavor was delicious. My friend ordered the Scallops and she loved them. They were out of the only dessert we were all going to order (not their fault)... The server was sweet, just very young and inexperienced. I would give it another try!

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

Dined on March 1, 2015

Wonderful setting and great service! Had the shrimp toast for app- was terrific! Recommend the veal ( wonderful!) and my husband said the ribeye was the best he'd had in a long time!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

Wonderful evening

Dined on February 28, 2015

It has been 30 years since we last dined there. It is even better than we remembered.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

Dined on February 28, 2015

The establishment was cozy and inviting. The meals were amazing. The apple brioche bread pudding and the lobster bisque were the highlights of our outstanding meal. I'm not a fan of lobster but the seafood Alfredo with lobster great. My wife's steak was perfection. I would highly recommend Jacmel if you don't mind the price.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.