About Jacmel Inn

903 E. Morris Street
Hammond, LA 70401
View Larger Map

Jacmel Inn began service in June 1977 after six months renovation to the former residence that was built in 1888. This historic 2-story property sits on 2.2 acres and 9 blocks for the center of historic downtown Hammond. The lush landscaping, new patio, and the ample parking help make Jacmel Inn a culinary oasis worthy of a 60 miles drive from New Orleans. The menu has evolved over the years while always using fresh Louisiana Seafood, cooking techniques and dishes derived from traditional Louisiana culture and for 31 year serving great steaks from Iowa corn fed beef. Our executive Chef Doyle Orlando creates our menu, which evolves seasonally. Our dinner with a winemaker series is very popular with our customers for the past 20 years. Our ambiance is a blend of Caribbean, nautical and New England Inn. Guests will feel comfortable dressed casually or dressed to attend a symphony.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
U. S. Highway 190

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(985) 542-0043

Website:
http://www.jacmelinn.com/

Entertainment:
Blended stereo background music is always available. Three TV screens located in the bar and adjacent dining area quenches the thirst of Louisiana sports fans.

Catering:
Jacmel Inn will cater any event within a 50-mile radius of Hammond anytime. We will custom design a menu to fit the customer's budget, food preferences or creative requests. We specialize in wedding events.

Parking Details:
All parking is on the property with the main parking in front and adjacent to the restaurant on Morris St. (Hwy 190). A circular drive allows drop off and our lot can handle motor coach vehicles. The rear parking lot off of Thomas St. (Hwy 190) can handle 30 cars and customers can access the front door via a brick walkway through the cane landscaping.

Public Transit:
Currently Hammond, Louisiana does not have a public transit system.

Executive Chef:
Doyle Orlando

Private Party Facilities:
Jacmel Inn is available for private parties events using part of the property or the entire restaurant. Film companies have used Jacmel Inn for their movies and TV shows. The upstairs dining area can seat up to 50 people. The side porch area can seat up to 20 people. The bar dining area can seat up to 30 people. With a brick privacy wall, the patio would make a great location for a private party if weather permits. Other features of the patio are a covered pavilion, umbrellas, fountain, and bar area that has music. The features create an ambiance found somewhere in Europe.

Private Party Contact:
Chanc Kinchen: 9855420043

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Jacmel Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Great for Brunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Scenic View (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fireplace (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Business Meals (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I took my girlfriend and when we left sh ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I took my girlfriend and when we left she was my fiance.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Healthy, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been there years and forgot ho ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I had not been there years and forgot how nice it was. We will put on the top of our list. Service and food was great. Will be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy the food and ambiance st ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I always enjoy the food and ambiance st Jacmel's.

I choose either Jacmel's or Commanders Palace for special occasions.

It is a true gem on the North Shore.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our weekly date night out. Change in men ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our weekly date night out. Change in menu was noticed and enjoyed! Great service as always! We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the dining experience: food, ser ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Enjoyed the dining experience: food, service, atmosphere. Restaurant has a "feel good" vibe to it. Creative menu with a relatively new chef. Excellent wine list reasonably priced. Friendly accommodating staff. Well worth the drive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was great, the drinks were on p ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was great, the drinks were on point, the service was a bit slow but ok! Our problem was the loud mouth at the next table! We should have moved! Very nice will be back!

Kb

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have been to Jacmel Inn several times ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have been to Jacmel Inn several times and have always enjoyed it. A beautiful restaurant with excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance was good. The server was n ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The ambiance was good. The server was nice. I ordered the beef filet well done but it was kind of burned along with the asparagus. I think they must have just heated grill and it became too hot and burned the food. The appetizer was not bad at all, quail on a squash pancake. Had I just had the appetizer with a glass of wine and walked out, I would have been pleased.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

We celebrated our anniversary here and w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here and will be coming back again. Food and service were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This is a little gem in the heart of Ham ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is a little gem in the heart of Hammond. The menu was perfectly balanced for a Sunday brunch, from almond crusted redfish to shrimp & grits and of course an eggs benedict plate. Each entree came with a soup of the day or salad, making the prices extremely reasonable. Sunday's soup was cream of artichoke and it was divine! This was a special birthday brunch for one of our family, and everyone was delighted with their meals, the ambiance, and the service. The restaurant sits in a woods-like setting, with windows all around to enjoy the view, and there was an acoustic guitarist providing lovely background music. I couldn't have been more pleased.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great and so was the atmosph ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was great and so was the atmosphere. Food was good but cold. Had to send it back to warm up. something you should not have to do for the price.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My partner and I enjoyed ourselves while ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My partner and I enjoyed ourselves while having a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We went to Jacmel for dinner on Saturday ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went to Jacmel for dinner on Saturday evening the 9th. We went with another couple. The food was very good. Service was great! Disappointed the menu had changed- no turtle soup. I was looking forward to eating a bowl. We will be going again! Really enjoyed!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jacmel's never disappoints! The combin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Jacmel's never disappoints! The combination of well prepared food, delightful ambience, and great service make this a special meal no matter if there is a special occasion or not!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have celebrated our Weddin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My wife and I have celebrated our Wedding Anniversary at Jacmel's for the last 40 years. It has obviously been very good in the past, or we wouldn't have kept going back. Unfortunately, the last few years we have been disappointed. An ongoing problem has been that every time we have been served outstanding dishes and we looked forward to trying them again, the chef would have changed and the food we had loved from previous visits would no longer be on the menu.

This year on our 45th Anniversary we made a reservation through Open Table for a very special table to us, only to be told when we arrived that it was reserved for Special Occasions only. Guess our 45th Anniversary wasn't special enough.

The Heirloom tomato/crab meat appetizer salads @ $17 were too sweet to eat.

The French Onion Soup was terrible - Cheese wasn't even melted and soup was loaded up with sesame seeds. Really! Sesame seeds!

Entrees (roasted duck breast and grilled red-fish) were surprisingly good however.

Charged $37 for a bottle of house white wine with a screw on top.

In summary, next year we will break 40 years of tradition and celebrate our Anniversary somewhere else!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Brunch menu covered variety of tastes. T ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Brunch menu covered variety of tastes. The crab cakes were by far the best we've ever eaten. Entrees were amazing. Creme Brulee' was heavenly!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and atmosphere are fantastic. H ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food and atmosphere are fantastic. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a delicious romantic getaway.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not very good:-( especially for ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was not very good:-( especially for the price. Very disappointed

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Father's Day menu selection terrible . S ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day menu selection terrible . Service good. You would think they would have some of their everyday food offerings, which are very good. Not today which was supposed to be a "special" day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We arrived for an early seating to our d ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We arrived for an early seating to our daughter's dance recital. Service was excellent, loved the ambiance! We hope to come back in cooler weather and sitbon the tiki-torch patio.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere, not very crowded. Enjoy ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Nice atmosphere, not very crowded. Enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Awesome crab cakes

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Endless champagne and or mimosa was great! Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Very accommodating a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was very good. Very accommodating and wait staff very pleasant. Ambiance exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A rainy Saturday night

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We really like Jacmel Inn. We took friends who had never been, and everyone enjoyed the evening. We understand that there is a new chef in place, in fact, who started that evening. Very good food, nice atmosphere, an attentive waiter. Only drawback, and a major one, was a wedding reception taking place in the room adjacent to the bar. Our appetizers for the table came out promptly, but the salads and the entrees took forever. Perhaps a 30 minute wait for each. Kitchen was on overload. Next time, we'll come on a Thursday or Friday or for brunch, when no wedding receptions are scheduled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We celebrated a belated Mother's Day her ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated a belated Mother's Day here. We drove in from Mandeville and Baton Rouge as a middle meeting point. We had a not wonderful experience. The live music was fantastic. Hoping to do it again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always wonderful! One of our favorite p ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Always wonderful! One of our favorite places to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Multiple brunch and dessert options, acc ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Multiple brunch and dessert options, accommodations for guest with disability excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I have eaten at Jacmel many times over the years. The food is always delicious, the service is excellent, and the ambiance is charming. It is great for both lunch and dinner as well as special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, but over priced

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We have enjoyed Jacmel for years. The menu has changed over time. We found the salad to be uninspired, the portions small and the prices very high. Can do better closer to home. #louisianalagniappe

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We came for our anniversary. Top notch!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We came for our anniversary. The food was delicious and the service was great. We loved the atmosphere. It was such a pleasant evening. I can't wait to come back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Jacmel Inn is Always a Special Treat

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

A dining experience at The Jacmel Inn is a unique combination of excellent cuisine, wonderful service, and a delightful atmosphere. I say this as a "foodie" who dines out often at the best restaurants in the region. I could never get tired of the total dining experience at Jacmel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Restaurant

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This is one of the greatest all around dining experiences in Louisiana and I live in New Orleans so that is saying a lot. I have dined here many times for lunch and dinner. The food and service have always been top notch! The charm and atmosphere of the restaurant are unmatched. Go. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service and average food

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

I had roses delivered to the restaurant to celebrate our 50th anniversary. Food was average and expensive. They did nothing to make the evening special. Nothing like our favorite Galatoire's in New Orleans. They are a little arrogant in their attitude--take it or leave it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was Excellent

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

As always, the food was excellent. I have been there many times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Find!!!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Went here for an Anniversary dinner. It was nicely lit and very personal atmosphere. Food was good and wine was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great experience!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Overall a very excellent meal and experience! Very interesting and exciting menu. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good and the service was ve ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

The food was good and the service was very good, but the cost is a little on the high side.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Food

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

great service and food was excellent. We requested the table by the fireplace, which is very romantic and great for 2

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every visit has been special

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 9, 2015

Food, service atmosphere are exemplary. The decor of the restaurant is totally unique in all of our dining experiences.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.