Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Jacmel Inn

4.5
473 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Cozy
  • Special Occasion
Jacmel Inn began service in June 1977 after six months renovation to the former residence that was built in 1888. This historic 2-story property sits on 2.2 acres and 9 blocks for the center of historic downtown Hammond.

The lush landscaping, new patio, and the ample parking help make Jacmel Inn a culinary oasis worthy of a 60 miles drive from New Orleans.

The menu has evolved over the years while always using fresh Louisiana Seafood, cooking techniques and dishes derived from traditional Louisiana culture and for 31 year serving great steaks from Iowa corn fed beef.

Our executive Chef Josh Garic creates our menu, which evolves seasonally. Our dinner with a winemaker series is very popular with our customers for the past 20 years.

Our ambiance is a blend of Caribbean, nautical and New England Inn. Guests will feel comfortable dressed casually or dressed to attend a symphony.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(985) 542-0043
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Doyle Orlando
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Jacmel Inn is available for private parties events using part of the property or the entire restaurant. Film companies have used Jacmel Inn for their movies and TV shows.
The upstairs dining area can seat up to 50 people. The side porch area can seat up to 20 people. The bar dining area can seat up to 30 people. With a brick privacy wall, the patio would make a great location for a private party if weather permits. Other features of the patio are a covered pavilion, umbrellas, fountain, and bar area that has music. The features create an ambiance found somewhere in Europe.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Chanc Kinchen: (985) 542-0043
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Jacmel Inn will cater any event within a 50-mile radius of Hammond anytime. We will custom design a menu to fit the customer's budget, food preferences or creative requests. We specialize in wedding events.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
U. S. Highway 190
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
All parking is on the property with the main parking in front and adjacent to the restaurant on Morris St. (Hwy 190). A circular drive allows drop off and our lot can handle motor coach vehicles. The rear parking lot off of Thomas St. (Hwy 190) can handle 30 cars and customers can access the front door via a brick walkway through the cane landscaping.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Currently Hammond, Louisiana does not have a public transit system.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Blended stereo background music is always available. Three TV screens located in the bar and adjacent dining area quenches the thirst of Louisiana sports fans.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 473 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We haven’t been to Jacmel Inn since last year because we moved. We thoroughly enjoyed coming back-Jerry, at the bar, and Sarah, our server, were awesome. Thank you

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Upon arrival the placed looked very cozy and elegant we were greeted at the door and asked if we had a reservation and they sat us down and the waiter was very inexperienced did not go over your specials like we had hear another waiter tell other customers. also it was my wife's birthday she did not ask what was our occasion and it was on our reservation. food was good but they def need work with their staff. and we were seated in a area were they constantly said corner. what is that when you take your wife to a romantic birthday dinner. not good at all and was not happy at all!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Jacmel has provided an excellent dining experience for over thirty years. The service is attentive, but not overbearing. I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone interested is superb cuisine in a romantic setting. I'm a foodie who dines out often at top-tier restaurants. I've never been disappointed at the Jacmel Inn in Hammond.

Dr. Joseph O'Neil
Mandeville, Louisiana

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The event was our 39th anniversary. The noise level was a little high but was put on a table where most of the noise was buffeted. The food, drinks and over all setting was great. We had a very good dinner and romantic experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Our church had given us a two-night getaway to Michabel Inn. The innkeeper recommended Jamel for dinner. Everything about the place was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Wonderful food and service in a very nice but unpretentious environment.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The place was cozy, and very quiet. We almost felt the need to whisper it was so quiet. We had the Jumbo lump crab cake (only one to an order) to start. We ordered the Salmon and Fresh Gulf Fish. We asked our waitress what the Gulf Fish of the day was. When she returned she said the fish of the day was called Gulf Fish. We tried another waiter who informed us it was Sheephead. Be sure to double check the fish of the day... I would recommend you order an appetizer or a salad with your meal, the portions are medium to small. Although the restaurant was cute and the kitchen has a since of humor we would not attend again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

As always, the food was good and as always, the service was slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The ambiance was great, the food fantastic and Sara was excellent. We are traveling the country and this is the best dining experience to date.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Not as good as the last time we visited. The meal was bland. The noise level and proximity to other diners was uncomfortable. We’ll go back again and hopefully have a better experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We were assured when we called the restaurant prior to our reservation that it is kid friendly. It is not kid friendly, except possibly in the outside area. You could hear a pin drop in the actual restaurant. Our waitress was even whispering to us when taking our order. The food was nothing to write home about. The steak seemed like good quality but everything was incredibly salty causing it to be nearly inedible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great service, love the ambiance, and delicious food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Food was Wonderful but service was extremely slow. Waiter was friendly and explained it was her first night. The restaurant was not full so we didn’t expect a problem but even the drinks took a long time to get. This is my favorite restaurant in the area so we will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Jacmel’s is excellent! Best restaurant On my way! the North Shore.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Great place, good staff and food is always spot on. Great ambiance too. Love the place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Lovely restaurant in an elegant setting conducive to business discussion or an intimate meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Fantastic food and service. Great date night or special occassion place to eat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Food and service were great. Can't beat the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2018

Jacmel never disappoints. Great food, great ambience, a classy dining experience second to none.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2018

Beautiful building, good wine, great food and amazing hospitality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

FOOD WAS GOOD AND OUR SERVER WAS EXCELLENT
GREAT AMBIANCE........QUIET SETTING AND LIKE THE FIREPLACES

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Very lovely restaurant. Just as I remembered it when I went to SLU.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Very nice atmosphere, cozy fireplaces. Nice outdoor lighting. Food was very delicious, not long waiting to be served. Waitress very helpful with menu selections.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Great atmosphere and attentive staff, main dishes came out luke warm at best but tasted good. High price small portions, very limited menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2017

The food was excellent! We have never been there on Sunday's for lunch. Very nice atmosphere for the holidays! We'll be back on New Yr.'s Eve!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Great food and service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Very nice, I wish they would have had some of the fire places burning. Food was excellent! Quiet and affordable. The waitress was very knowledgeable. Would recommend for any occasio

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

The food was awesome. The waiter was very engaging and pleasant. We knew it would be a bit pricey for dinner, but it was well with the money. Planning to go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 29, 2017

It was a lovely evening with exceptional food. I really enjoyed the experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 26, 2017

Or he food was expensive and not worth the price. Our steak was overcooked and our shrimp and grits was quite gross since it was bathing in a bbq based sauce.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 26, 2017

The steak tips appetizer was very good... cooked perfectly and very tender. BUT the rest of our meal was below average. The house is charming, but is in desperate need of repair , cleaning, cleaning, cleaning, and updating. PLEASE clean the ladies room.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 21, 2017

I will start with the good. My main entree was yummy - redfish with crab meat. And the others in our party enjoyed their entrees too. I love the fireplace and the ambiance of this restaurant.

Jacmel used to have such a great salad. I look forward to it. Now it is mixed greens that don't hold up to the heavy, but delicious, dressing and one chunk of cheese and a yellow tomato. Very disappointing.

The gumbo was too dark and lukewarm, so I picked my crab meat and shrimp out of it.

I found the waiter to be distracted & cold. I had to call him by name twice to get my wine refilled and there was only one other table in our section.

And lastly, the bathroom was really bad. I was glad that I hadn't gone in there before my meal.

Having eaten at fine restaurants in my hometown of New Orleans for most of my life and living in Seattle for 11 years, I hold a fine restaurant to higher standards than this. Jacmel used to be all that. But it has gone down over time.

I may not be back. Better options for the money nearby.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

We had heard of Jacmel for many years, but had never tried it. Shame on us, because it was incredible! The chef (whose name escapes me) has been there less than 2 years, but apparently has turned Jacmel into quite the foody place. We ordered the soup, duckling and trout, all of which was perfectly seasoned, perfectly cooked, and beautifully plated. We seriously couldn't stop eating! Each dish had a unique blend of flavors...not the same old stuff you get at every other restaurant.
To top that off, the wine was fantastic. We spend a great deal of time in California, so have had the opportunity to try many of the smaller vineyards, and the owner has also. Each of our wines was less than $10/glass, and they were excellent. You really do NOT have to spend $20 for a glass of wine for it to be good!!
The owner pulled up a chair before and after we ate, and we had a very nice conversation about the history of the restaurant, etc. It was such a pleasure getting to meet him, and visit like old friends.
Seriously, do yourself a favor and make the drive out here! You will not be disappointed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2017

we loved the experience, the food was awesome, we will be coming back real soon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Not what it used to be. Appetizer portions small, but best part of the meal. Hot beer! Steaks tasteless. Trout and redfish dishes overwhelmed by strong sauces. Gumbo bitter- burned roux?
Haven’t been in a while, wont be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 10, 2017

We love Jacmel. It's always a lovely dining experience. Very accommodating staff. Great atmosphere and delicious food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Jacmel Inn is our “go to” restaurant on the North Shore. From crafted cocktails to dessert, everything was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Everything was wonderful! Our table was ready as soon as we walked in, the service was great, and the food was delicious. I would definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Too noisy , a lot of confusion on check in , table switching tables.

Was recommended to be a romantic place

Hard to be romantic when you have several guest standing and talking loud like a bar .
Never seen that in any fancy restaurant.
Several couples trying to have their meal and a group of people standing by their friends table , hanging out , talking , laughing , not for a couple minutes , for a long time !! Felt like golden coral kind of athmosphere .

Parking was full , we parked in the back , no signs where to walk through , no lights!!!!'
You need to walk with your wife through a very dark wooded area and there is not ONE light , people walking with their iPhone lights on.

Food was good , very tiny portions , specially for the price .

Not coming back

Heard a lot about this place for years and the whole thing was a disaster

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

My wife and I had been wanting to try this restaurant for while and decided with our upcoming 5th anniversary we would make a reservation. It was well worth the wait. The food was excellent and the old house that now serves as the restaurant is full of historic charm.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12