About Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi

601 S Harbour Island Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33602
View Larger Map

Jackson’s Bistro Bar & Sushi opened on Harbour Island in 1997 and has been witness to a rapidly changing downtown Tampa. Because it is locally owned and independently managed, Jackson’s can keep up with the demands of an ever evolving Tampa and deliver the upscale experience and tremendous value that our Guests demand.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Franklin/Channelside

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 277-0112

Website:
http://jacksonsbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Friday Night Happy Hour- Live Entertainment
Saturday Night – Tampa’s Biggest House Party
Jackson’s sexiest night brings a South Beach vibe to Tampa. The music is provided by local and guest DJ’s who mix up the hottest and most current trends. Jackson’s sleek and swanky style is the perfect place to get your house music fix. VIP tables and cabanas are available nightly.






Saturday Latin Nights are sure to get you dancing! The music starts at 10pm and plays inside the Backjack's Lounge and outside on the Terrace.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage below the restaurant and we can validate for the first two hours. Each additional 1/2 hour is $1 or maximum of $6 with the ticket validation. (Parking garage is owned by a separate company.) On Saturday nights there is valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Rachid El Yamani

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re organizing a business lunch presentation, rehearsal dinner or a memorable event, let Jackson’s do everything to create an unforgettable experience for every one of your guests. We combine the perfect venue with our attention to detail and offer a waterfront location with spectacular views- making Jackson's the ideal destination for all your event needs. Whatever you imagine for your event, we're here to help you realize your dreams.

We'll help you every step of the way, from planning and budgeting to coordinating the day or night. We'll personalize the menu that is right for your event and when requested we offer pre-event tastings. Events come together here! Celebration, Corporate, Group Activity, Presentation, Reception, Seated Meal, Wedding, Workshop.























Restaurant Photos

  • Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi
Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Thank you for your interest in Jackson’s Bistro Bar & Sushi for your event! Jackson’s Bistro is a waterfront restaurant with a great view of Tampa Bay and Downtown Tampa. We have space available for groups of any size, from ten people to over 500!

Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

scenic view (104)
great for outdoor dining (97)
special occasion (64)
See All
good for groups (48)
romantic (40)
great for brunch (36)
neighborhood gem (27)
fit for foodies (25)
great for lunch (25)
hot spot (20)
notable wine list (19)
late-night find (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This has been my fourth or fifth time di ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 3 days ago

This has been my fourth or fifth time dining here! It has a relaxed outside area or a quitier more intimare setting inside. It is perfect for all occassions! The food is excellent, the calamari is the best! Service is always perfect! Highly recommend

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait staff was great and very accomm ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The wait staff was great and very accommodating, however, we asked for our steak medium and it was almost well done.

We also had sushi and the quality was great. It was nice to sit outside and enjoy the evening ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Lovely experience. It was quiet with del ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Lovely experience. It was quiet with delicious food. What more can I say? We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Our waitress was fantastic. Food was gr ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our waitress was fantastic. Food was great. Ambiance was awesome.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, gorgeous view of downtown Ta ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food, gorgeous view of downtown Tampa, outstanding service. I would definitely come back here. The sushi is delicious and very fresh. Every plate is a work of art!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

6 of us got together for an impromptu br ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

6 of us got together for an impromptu brunch at Jackson's Bistro. 4 had never been before and thought it was fantastic. We enjoyed the brunch very much. Everything was fresh and very tasty. Our waiter, Sequoia, was very attentive to our needs, refilled our drinks and took away dishes that were no longer needed. Excellent service, excellent food, excellent value.

Thanks

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great Brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Location location location!! Even in Ju ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Location location location!! Even in July the breeze off the water makes it comfortable. As always the food was amazing. Whenever I have out of state guests we have Sunday brunch here. Everyone wants to go back over and over!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place to have a cocktail or food e ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great place to have a cocktail or food especially if you have visitors from out of town. The downtown scenery is great.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was a phenomenal experience! The serv ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was a phenomenal experience! The service was excellant and friendly. Our server made recommendations that proved to be delicious. The food presentation was exquisite.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal here. This was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We had a wonderful meal here. This was not our first time at this restaurant. Every time we have dined here, we have not been disappointed. It is not a place I would take children, however, there were children present this particular time. Because it is pricey, we like to have a quieter, peaceful and more intimate atmosphere. When we are in Tampa, we try to get to Jacksons.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was the 4th of July and they were VER ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It was the 4th of July and they were VERY busy!

Our server was fabulous and had s great personality - I think her name was Amanda. But we waited 20 minutes to get our dessert- not her fault as she was waiting for the kitchen , which was very backed up.

They needed more servers and better management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

The salmon and snapper were very well pr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The salmon and snapper were very well prepared. Lily was an amazing server. We will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jackson's has always been a go-to restau ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Jackson's has always been a go-to restaurant for me. The menu includes a nice variety of dishes and a complete wine list. The location and the ambiance are great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I first went to Jackson's Bistro Bar & S ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I first went to Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi for a Business dinner that was held inside in a room that had some terrific views of the water and city. This dinner was buffet-style and was delicious.

I went back on my own and sat outside and the Island Bar and that was terrific. My server was excellent and offered opinions of my selections when I asked her. There was live music and a beautiful view.

The food was the best I had in the 5 days I was in Tampa.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good. We both had ste ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was very good. We both had steak and were pleased with the overall presentation. We sat outside on the rail and near the water and it was great. Wonderful place to have a date with my wife. The service was not great (really slow) but it reminded us of dining in Europe where it is an event with no pressure to move people in and out of the tables. So, it worked out well for us to enjoy a 2 1/2 hour experience. But, if you are in a rush or have plans after the fact, this service would have been awful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Our waiter, Mark Ben was awesome!! He wa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our waiter, Mark Ben was awesome!! He was happy to see us, had our table ready, follow up with us regularly, and had a great attitude.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food, great ambiance. Have a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent food, great ambiance. Have a variety of desserts that are very tasty...several diners gave the key lime pie rave reviews!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Execellent ambiance the service from our ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Execellent ambiance the service from our server was extraordinary. Crab cakes were on point!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall nice atmosphere. The sushi was a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall nice atmosphere. The sushi was amazing, but the rest of the food was awful. Grouper and crab cakes tasted bland and very undercooked. Not worth the price. I will not be going back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

My sister, dad, and I actually dined at ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My sister, dad, and I actually dined at Jackson's Bistro the Friday before our Father's Day brunch outing. We received such wonderful service from our server, Thomas, that before I left, I requested him for Sunday brunch. Thomas didn't let us down for brunch either! He really knows how to make the patron feel welcome, comfortable, and well taken care of. The brunch was one of the best I've been to! There are pasta, carving, omelette, and Belgian waffle (yum!) stations; breakfast and dinner selections; fruit, salad, sushi, smoked fish, and more! The only selections I wasn't overly impressed with were the desserts. The cookies and ice cream were good but the other desserts - aside from the fondue which I didn't try - were mediocre at best. They should probably go back to the table and brainstorm different or better dessert selections... and use REAL frosting on their cupcakes - not that whip cream nonsense!... We loved sitting outside overlooking the river under a trellis-like structure with a ceiling fan. Very serene and relaxing.... This brunch is an excellent value for the price and If I'm ever in Tampa again I will definitely revisit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was really disappointed with this visi ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I was really disappointed with this visit. It was my first time taking my dad here, and the service was sub-par. Our waiter didn't know ANYTHING about the menu and didn't treat us with respect until we began ordering several dishes. He couldn't tell me whether or not they served iced tea, he couldn't tell us what was in the bread, and he didn't know what the specials were (but began reading them from a crumpled piece of paper after we had already decided what we wanted to order from the regular menu). Then he seemed more helpful because he knew he may get a larger tip. In retrospect, I should have tipped him less.

As far as the food quality, I tried the filet mignon flatbread. Word of advice: don't. The steak was not great and the flatbread was soaked in olive oil.

This was such a different experience from my first visit here. I don't think I'll be recommending it to friends or returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great sushi! Good food. Nice view of do ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great sushi! Good food. Nice view of downtown Tampa.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

My husband and I went with friends so th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband and I went with friends so the company was great. The view was the next best thing. Although I did eat every bite of my meal (basically, I'm one of those people that will eat anything), my critique would be that it was just so so. I could tell right away that my dish had been sitting under the heat lamp because the cream sauce had a film on top of it. The temp was just warm, not freshly hot. The snapper and scallops were over seasoned so quite salty. The chocolate cake for dessert was delicious but I'm sure it is not being made on premises. I happen to be a really good cook myself so I can be hard to please at times. The dinner I made for my family yesterday for Father's day was far better. Sorry.

Overall, I tried it, not impressed and probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Had to send back the soup it was to butt ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Had to send back the soup it was to buttery, the service was slow. very slow. Loved the view and drinks but the band at the bar and the music playing in the restaurant was a little to much. the rest of the food was just ok.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Love this place! Try the tuna carpaccio. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Love this place! Try the tuna carpaccio. Good entertainment, beautiful views, service is very friendly and all the food is really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food, excellent view.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food, excellent view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best part of this dining experience ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The best part of this dining experience was the service. We had two young men who waited on us and were very attentive. However, the food was so ordinary and tasteless. We both had the french onion soup which was ok but nothing special - quite salty. Then, I had the red snapper and scallops which was supposed to be in Thai curry style sauce. The sauce was definitely made with coconut milk but the curry was lacking - no heat whatsoever. The fish was overcooked and super salty. I did think the scallops were good - tender. My husband was also disappointed in his swordfish which was overcooked and salty as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Jackson's is always a favorite! This was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Jackson's is always a favorite! This was my niece's choice for her birthday celebration. The sushi is always amazing! My mom said her steak was one of the best she's had and wants to return for her birthday! Our waiter was awesome. When I jokingly asked him if he was going to lead our happy birthday song, he pipes right up :-) and of course you can't beat The View! We will be back again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and in an atmosphere where I ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food and in an atmosphere where I can actually hear my table companions. Indoor and outdoor dining, plus a great view.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Quality poor for higher end restaurant

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food took longer than expected to come out, the server was kind but spent too much time conversing with staff and customers which delayed service, took significantly long time to bring us water after we were empty and after having told us he would bring it soon, the quality of the food was not worth the price of the food (I had to return my scallops because they were the fishiest I had ever tasted scallops, even my wife it was like forcing yourself to eat after I ate the scallops). We were planning on going to Bern's Steakhouse and regretted not going and trying Jackson's for the first time.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Location, Good Food, Slow Service

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I took a group of business associates to Jackson's for dinner as they were staying in a nearby hotel. We were seated promptly but the time it took for us to order drinks, order our meals and finally for our food to arrive it took the shine off the evening. Some of the food was other than hot but nobody was going to return their food as it took so long to get it initially. My lobster bisque was excellent and the rest of the meals were well received - except the French fries were cold.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Unbelievable Food & Service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We did not have the time available to wait an hour during our first visit to Jackson's. Just walking through the restaurant the plating and presentation of the food was impeccable. We knew we had to come back the next night and we talked all day about the dishes we had witnessed.

The food and service were second to none and the Salmon was as good as any other I have ever had. The restaurant is well managed and the view perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Good experience. Food was good. Service was excellent. It was a hot day out and people kept going in and out of the doors l, so it was warm inside.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Somewhat disappointed

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Very good service. Had Thai Chicken Salad. I could have made it better and I don't even cook. Over priced as well. Very hot inside (trying to save money on AC?). Nice ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Night

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Awesome food and view. Our serve was busy, but other servers and managers helped him out to ensure our dining experience was pleasant.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

great sushi and entrees lacked in service

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and myself ate here for dinner one evening while we were on vacation near Tampa. Our Sushi and my sword fish entree were wonderful. My wife God a flatbread pizza that was good but wasn't nearly as good as the rest of our food. Our main criticism was the service. In our waiters defense he had a large party that he was taking care of but had told us he had 2 other waiters helping with his tables (we never saw them). I finished my drink while we were eating our sushi and was told when the plate were cleared that they would bring me a refill. I was told again when my meal came and told yet another time when they took my plate away before finally receiving my refill as they brought out our dessert. My wife also finished her drink while eating her meal and did not receive a refill until dessert either. It may have been a result of the large group but my review would be... Great food but poor service.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Perfect setting under cabana by the water

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Been here many times and this time we had exceptional service and a perfect sunset by the water with our business clients in town from IN.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and great view of the Tampa ba ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Good food and great view of the Tampa bay. Our server was super friendly and outgoing. Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place for any occasion!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Atmosphere, food, staff and drinks were perfect! Sushi was yummy!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.