About Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi

601 S Harbour Island Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33602
View Larger Map

Jackson’s Bistro Bar & Sushi opened on Harbour Island in 1997 and has been witness to a rapidly changing downtown Tampa. Because it is locally owned and independently managed, Jackson’s can keep up with the demands of an ever evolving Tampa and deliver the upscale experience and tremendous value that our Guests demand.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Franklin/Channelside

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 277-0112

Website:
http://jacksonsbistro.com/

Entertainment:
Friday Night Happy Hour- Live Entertainment
Saturday Night – Tampa’s Biggest House Party
Jackson’s sexiest night brings a South Beach vibe to Tampa. The music is provided by local and guest DJ’s who mix up the hottest and most current trends. Jackson’s sleek and swanky style is the perfect place to get your house music fix. VIP tables and cabanas are available nightly.






Saturday Latin Nights are sure to get you dancing! The music starts at 10pm and plays inside the Backjack's Lounge and outside on the Terrace.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage below the restaurant and we can validate for the first two hours. Each additional 1/2 hour is $1 or maximum of $6 with the ticket validation. (Parking garage is owned by a separate company.) On Saturday nights there is valet parking available.

Executive Chef:
Rachid El Yamani

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether you’re organizing a business lunch presentation, rehearsal dinner or a memorable event, let Jackson’s do everything to create an unforgettable experience for every one of your guests. We combine the perfect venue with our attention to detail and offer a waterfront location with spectacular views- making Jackson's the ideal destination for all your event needs. Whatever you imagine for your event, we're here to help you realize your dreams.

We'll help you every step of the way, from planning and budgeting to coordinating the day or night. We'll personalize the menu that is right for your event and when requested we offer pre-event tastings. Events come together here! Celebration, Corporate, Group Activity, Presentation, Reception, Seated Meal, Wedding, Workshop.























Restaurant Photos

  • Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi
Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Thank you for your interest in Jackson’s Bistro Bar & Sushi for your event! Jackson’s Bistro is a waterfront restaurant with a great view of Tampa Bay and Downtown Tampa. We have space available for groups of any size, from ten people to over 500!

Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

scenic view (127)
great for outdoor dining (121)
special occasion (75)
See All
good for groups (62)
romantic (49)
great for brunch (48)
fit for foodies (35)
neighborhood gem (35)
great for lunch (34)
hot spot (27)
vibrant bar scene (20)
notable wine list (19)
late-night find (15)
kid-friendly (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, great ambiance. Have a ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, great ambiance. Have a variety of desserts that are very tasty...several diners gave the key lime pie rave reviews!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Execellent ambiance the service from our ...

Dined 6 days ago

Execellent ambiance the service from our server was extraordinary. Crab cakes were on point!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Overall nice atmosphere. The sushi was a ...

Dined 7 days ago

Overall nice atmosphere. The sushi was amazing, but the rest of the food was awful. Grouper and crab cakes tasted bland and very undercooked. Not worth the price. I will not be going back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service2

I was really disappointed with this visi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I was really disappointed with this visit. It was my first time taking my dad here, and the service was sub-par. Our waiter didn't know ANYTHING about the menu and didn't treat us with respect until we began ordering several dishes. He couldn't tell me whether or not they served iced tea, he couldn't tell us what was in the bread, and he didn't know what the specials were (but began reading them from a crumpled piece of paper after we had already decided what we wanted to order from the regular menu). Then he seemed more helpful because he knew he may get a larger tip. In retrospect, I should have tipped him less. As far as the food quality, I tried the filet mignon flatbread. Word of advice: don't. The steak was not great and the flatbread was soaked in olive oil. This was such a different experience from my first visit here. I don't think I'll be recommending it to friends or returning anytime soon.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great sushi! Good food. Nice view of do ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great sushi! Good food. Nice view of downtown Tampa.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My husband and I went with friends so th ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband and I went with friends so the company was great. The view was the next best thing. Although I did eat every bite of my meal (basically, I'm one of those people that will eat anything), my critique would be that it was just so so. I could tell right away that my dish had been sitting under the heat lamp because the cream sauce had a film on top of it. The temp was just warm, not freshly hot. The snapper and scallops were over seasoned so quite salty. The chocolate cake for dessert was delicious but I'm sure it is not being made on premises. I happen to be a really good cook myself so I can be hard to please at times. The dinner I made for my family yesterday for Father's day was far better. Sorry. Overall, I tried it, not impressed and probably won't be back.

food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Had to send back the soup it was to butt ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Had to send back the soup it was to buttery, the service was slow. very slow. Loved the view and drinks but the band at the bar and the music playing in the restaurant was a little to much. the rest of the food was just ok.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Love this place! Try the tuna carpaccio. ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Love this place! Try the tuna carpaccio. Good entertainment, beautiful views, service is very friendly and all the food is really good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, excellent view.

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food, excellent view.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The best part of this dining experience ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The best part of this dining experience was the service. We had two young men who waited on us and were very attentive. However, the food was so ordinary and tasteless. We both had the french onion soup which was ok but nothing special - quite salty. Then, I had the red snapper and scallops which was supposed to be in Thai curry style sauce. The sauce was definitely made with coconut milk but the curry was lacking - no heat whatsoever. The fish was overcooked and super salty. I did think the scallops were good - tender. My husband was also disappointed in his swordfish which was overcooked and salty as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Jackson's is always a favorite! This was ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Jackson's is always a favorite! This was my niece's choice for her birthday celebration. The sushi is always amazing! My mom said her steak was one of the best she's had and wants to return for her birthday! Our waiter was awesome. When I jokingly asked him if he was going to lead our happy birthday song, he pipes right up :-) and of course you can't beat The View! We will be back again and again!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and in an atmosphere where I ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food and in an atmosphere where I can actually hear my table companions. Indoor and outdoor dining, plus a great view.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Quality poor for higher end restaurant

Dined on June 9, 2016

The food took longer than expected to come out, the server was kind but spent too much time conversing with staff and customers which delayed service, took significantly long time to bring us water after we were empty and after having told us he would bring it soon, the quality of the food was not worth the price of the food (I had to return my scallops because they were the fishiest I had ever tasted scallops, even my wife it was like forcing yourself to eat after I ate the scallops). We were planning on going to Bern's Steakhouse and regretted not going and trying Jackson's for the first time.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Location, Good Food, Slow Service

Dined on June 8, 2016

I took a group of business associates to Jackson's for dinner as they were staying in a nearby hotel. We were seated promptly but the time it took for us to order drinks, order our meals and finally for our food to arrive it took the shine off the evening. Some of the food was other than hot but nobody was going to return their food as it took so long to get it initially. My lobster bisque was excellent and the rest of the meals were well received - except the French fries were cold.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable Food & Service

Dined on June 5, 2016

We did not have the time available to wait an hour during our first visit to Jackson's. Just walking through the restaurant the plating and presentation of the food was impeccable. We knew we had to come back the next night and we talked all day about the dishes we had witnessed. The food and service were second to none and the Salmon was as good as any other I have ever had. The restaurant is well managed and the view perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Brunch

Dined on June 5, 2016

Good experience. Food was good. Service was excellent. It was a hot day out and people kept going in and out of the doors l, so it was warm inside.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Somewhat disappointed

Dined on June 5, 2016

Very good service. Had Thai Chicken Salad. I could have made it better and I don't even cook. Over priced as well. Very hot inside (trying to save money on AC?). Nice ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Night

Dined on June 5, 2016

Awesome food and view. Our serve was busy, but other servers and managers helped him out to ensure our dining experience was pleasant.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

great sushi and entrees lacked in service

Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and myself ate here for dinner one evening while we were on vacation near Tampa. Our Sushi and my sword fish entree were wonderful. My wife God a flatbread pizza that was good but wasn't nearly as good as the rest of our food. Our main criticism was the service. In our waiters defense he had a large party that he was taking care of but had told us he had 2 other waiters helping with his tables (we never saw them). I finished my drink while we were eating our sushi and was told when the plate were cleared that they would bring me a refill. I was told again when my meal came and told yet another time when they took my plate away before finally receiving my refill as they brought out our dessert. My wife also finished her drink while eating her meal and did not receive a refill until dessert either. It may have been a result of the large group but my review would be... Great food but poor service.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect setting under cabana by the water

Dined on June 2, 2016

Been here many times and this time we had exceptional service and a perfect sunset by the water with our business clients in town from IN.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food and great view of the Tampa ba ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Good food and great view of the Tampa bay. Our server was super friendly and outgoing. Good food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for any occasion!

Dined on June 1, 2016

Atmosphere, food, staff and drinks were perfect! Sushi was yummy!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere. The view was outstanding ou ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Atmosphere. The view was outstanding outside...made the meal that much better

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice Brunch!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Treated my Mom to a belated Mother's Day Brunch and was very pleased with the brunch selection. I liked that it was in a separate room and not the main area of the restaurant. We sat outside as the weather was just mild enough. Lots of shade and fans available. The Red Snapper was wonderful! Also loved the variety of salads. Great value for the price, only wish they included non-alcoholic drinks. I think it was the first brunch I've been to that didn't include at least coffee and tea. But overall, very nice and would return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service1

My friend got the crab cakes which were ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

My friend got the crab cakes which were awful. My salmon was delicious with sweet chili sauce on the side. The ambiance is beautiful but our waiter was bad. It took forever for EVERYTHING.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Water Views

Dined on May 27, 2016

We were visiting and looking for someplace for seafood. Saw this mentioned in a tour book and thought we would give it a try. Our waiter was excellent, he gave us menu suggestions that were right on, made sure we were taken care of without hovering. The water view was very relaxing. The patio had fans going so it was very comfortable for a early evening.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4

The strip steak ordered medium can out ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The strip steak ordered medium can out med rare with lots of inedible fat. Appetizer of sushi rainbow roll was good

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Popular Location for travelers

Dined on May 25, 2016

Popular location near hotels and on the water. Otherwise it's fairly average and a bit over priced.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday Brunch

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had 1:00pm reservations and by 1:30 the buffet was out of a lot of dishes, which was disappointing. At the carving table we asked what the next meats were-the chefs did not have any idea or when they were going to be bringing them out. A number of the dishes were very salty. The dessert choices were good and the poached salmon was outstanding! We have had dinner previously and the food was very good, so not sure what happened for brunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Porkchop was tender and juicy

Dined on May 21, 2016

Porkchop was tender and juicy

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Although the view is amazing and the amb ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Although the view is amazing and the ambience was great, the food was lacking a lot especially for the price that you're paying. Our server was sarcastic and the table as a whole felt as though he was rude and pompous. The food looked great but lacked in taste. The grouper was overly salted and had a fairly fishy taste that gave a bad after taste and was inedible. The tuna tartare was bland with no seasonings. The lobster roll says it comes with chips and literally it's a snack size bag of cape cod chips. For the price it should have been something made by the chef. I would not recommend this place. I think the food is highly lacking.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great location, great views. Solid food. ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great location, great views. Solid food. Service can be slow at times, but overall a good experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Jackson's is a special place to my girlf ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Jackson's is a special place to my girlfriend and I, we choose this location for our prom night and wanted to take her back for a datedate. It was wonderful

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful Outside dining

Dined on May 14, 2016

Beautiful night to sit outside under the cabana and enjoyed the great drinks and food. Our server was great and it was a great dining experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sat outside on a beautiful sunset over t ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Sat outside on a beautiful sunset over the Hillsborough Bay. Couldn't ask for a better evening

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect waterfront urban oasis, nestled ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Perfect waterfront urban oasis, nestled in the heart of downtown town Tampa. Great service, amazing views, and fun, inviting atmosphere!

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Husband's veggie burger was very good. K ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Husband's veggie burger was very good. King crab legs for $45--definitely overpriced. Serving size was small for the price and they were overcooked. Would not recommend them. Vegan dessert was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was wonderful. He made us fee ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server was wonderful. He made us feel welcome and special. The food was delicious and we will certainly be back!

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great view, not so great service

Dined on May 6, 2016

We arrived early but were seated promptly, view is GREAT! A little noisy but not too bad. It took a few minutes for the waiter to show up but it was a Friday evening, no big deal. When he did arrive he asked for our drink orders and if we would like any wine. Problem #1: no wine list at the table. He promptly relieved the patrons next to us of theirs so we could peruse the list. He promptly took our orders and away he went. A large group was seated next to us and their waitress was on top of her game.. Asked if it was a special evening or just dinner and recited the house specials for the evening. Problem#2: We received neither from our server and one of the house specials was something that my wife would have enjoyed. Glass is now empty and no one in sight.. appetizers arrive which gives me the opportunity to ask for a refill. Dinner arrives, no our waiter, glass empty again and no steak knife.. about 5 mins later our waiter shows and asks how everything is.. Problem#3: Glass EMPTY and nothing to cut my steak with, seriously!! Food was great but the service apparently is hit or miss, wasnt terrible but definitely doesnt have me wanting to go back..

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

OK

Dined on May 5, 2016

SERVICE WAS GOOD ONCE WE GOT SEATED AFTER ARGUING WITH THE WAITER BEACUSE IT WAS SO WINDY. THEN WE GOT A REALLY GOOD WAITRESS..... BUT THE PLACE IS IN NEED OF HELP. IT DOESNT LOOK LIKE IT HAS BEEN CLEANED SINCE IT OPENED. JUST MY OPINION.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.