About Jack's Sliders and Sushi

171 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Our concept is to present the best bites from the East and the West. We offer delicious eats from sushi and sliders to ramen. The setting here is relaxed and cozy. A great place for a date or for a group to meet after work. Check out our website www.jacksny.com for special events. We also provide catering services and event catering. Follow us on instagram #jacksny

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian, American, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Saturday:


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 11am - 9:45pm

Friday & Saturday: 12pm - 10:45pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:45pm

Cross Street:
btw 16th and 17th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 466-2828

Website:
http://www.jacksny.com/

Catering:
At Jack’s, we understand that daily planning for business operations can be overwhelming, difficult, and time consuming, let us tailor your catering need. Look us up at Instagram/jacksny for our latest catering photos.

Parking Details:
Meter parking on street, and there are nearby parking lots. Generally street parking is pretty easy to spot.

Public Transit:
We are right by Union Square:4,5,6,N,R,Q and the L train on 14th and 3rd.

Executive Chef:
Anthony T

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Jack's Sliders and Sushi
Jack's Sliders and Sushi

Jack's Sliders and Sushi Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
See All
Good for Groups (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
Newest
38 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good. Enjoyed the ramen and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was good. Enjoyed the ramen and thought the sliders were ok too. Although the seating area is tight, they were still able to accommodate 13 of us.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Server not really familiar with menu l, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Server not really familiar with menu l, and also brought me the completely wrong meal. Meal I ordered was pretty uninspiring at the end. Menu needs more creativity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Decent - but no outdoor seating.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

It was a nice day - hot and summery - so we figured to grab some after work drinks and food at an outdoor venue. Wanted to get as far away from work without it feeling like a schlep. So we picked this place since it had a nice picture of a outdoor area on their web site, diligently booked a table via OpenTable (requesting a table outside if available), then prepared for the short commute from lower Manhattan to Chelsea.

Its a small, but comfortable, restaurant. We ask the waitress if its possible to get a seat outside (the restaurant was empty) only for her to say that they don't have an outdoor seating area. Much later she said they used to.

Food itself was ok. We didn't try any of the sliders but had a few sushi rolls, tried the grilled vegetables and the pickles. Oh I had the slow cooked pork belly (I make my own - this one had a strange texture).

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great spot for a quick and tasty meal.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Jack's has terrific sliders, many with a distinct Asian flavor. The variety and quality of the food is superb, and the service was excellent. It is a great local spot for a quick lunch or dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The fries and the crunchy curry slider!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The fries and the crunchy curry slider!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Sliders and sushi, I am in heaven!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Sliders and sushi, I am in heaven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyable, if not remarkable food. Servi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Enjoyable, if not remarkable food. Service was a little lax, but was overall good. Ramen and old bay fries were especially good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great place for casual and delicious bit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Great place for casual and delicious bites. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

just ok

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 30, 2015

food was just ok. rather small portions for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Try the Ramen!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Delicious ramen, although the sliders weren't anything special. Would go again!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Be sure to make a reservation because th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Be sure to make a reservation because there is a very limited amount of seating. Staff was very sweet and the food delicious, I would definitely recommend trying it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good but nothing special.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

The food was good but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Always wonderful

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

I enjoy the food, atmosphere, and excellent service. Great options for vegetarians! Such a neighborhood gem that I almost don't want others to discover it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent and attentive howe ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

Service was excellent and attentive however most of the food items were horrible. Miso Ramen was bland, completely tasteless and the noodles so overcooked they broke apart simply via handling. The first order of sliders had cold (not room temp, but still cold) buns and not until our second order did we even realize the bread was supposed to be toasted and warm. 2nd order of fries was only lukewarm, unlike the first which was hot. The 2nd bottle of hot sake also came lukewarm, but after our complaint the subsequent ones were hot. Very disappointing compared to my two previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Wow! What a gem.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Place was on the small side but the flavors were big. Really enjoyed the food and had to sample it all. We really loved the sliders especially the chicken scallion. The sushi rolls were outstanding and soup was equally good. Everyone was pleasant and really had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Cute neighborhood joint

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 12, 2015

Cute neighborhood joint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Burgers and Sushi? YES!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 20, 2014

Interesting and delicious combination. Thanks Jack! We came here and each ordered a trio of sliders and a sushi roll, the old bay fries (to share), warm sake and soda. Everything was great. The sushi rolls were delicious and fresh. The sliders were very tasty. Really enjoyed the wasabi mayo for the fries. Service was friendly and prompt. The prices were very reasonable. Put this all together and you get a great place to eat that you'll want to return to. I know I will.

I also got to use the OpenTable app to make a reservation (not knowing how busy the restaurant would be) as well as to pay the bill. Paying using the app was new to me and felt strange to see the check on my smartphone, add in the appropriate tip and pay using a stored CC. It worked like a charm and we were on our way in no time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Jack's is worth a visit

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 8, 2014

Jack's sushi was pretty good. I would skip the chicken nuggets as they didn't taste like chicken.

Blue Point pumpkin ale in bottles and a short wine list makes for basic essentials.

The old bay fries are a must as are the American sliders.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food for great prices

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 21, 2014

Surprisingly good quality. Innovative dishes. They try to please every request.

Not much on the ambience side but in the heart of gramercy this place is a keeper.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Nice enough

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2014

We found this place on the OpenTable search list as a location to satisfy those in our group who wanted Asian fare and those who did not. The menu had a variety of things from sushi to sliders to classic ramen to potstickers. Warning, there are only 8-10 tables in this place and most are 2-tops..it's very small. I think there are tables out back as well though we never saw them. The wait staff are very friendly but the service left something to be desired. A couple people in our party did not receive their meal until we reminded the waitress that we were still waiting for others to be served. This was 10 mins after everyone else got their food. My ramen was excellent but my pork belly slider was meh.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Yummy and Variety

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2014

If you are looking for a nice relaxing place for tiny burgers and/or sushi, beer, wine or saki, with reasonable prices, try Jack's. Best fries! Love the sliders - pork belly, salmon, chicken and jack's! The waitress is super nice and will make suggestions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great spot with delicious bites

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2014

Hidden gem with great food and great service. It's a really cozy spot with an intimate feel to it. I had the Jack's and Kimchi Sliders, my fiancé had an assortment of sushi and we both shared the incredible fries. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

not a huge fan

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2014

the place is in my neighborhood which I love- and its really tiny- which I don't mind. it is cluster chaos in there. there are really only about 6 tables and a few servers and yet everything seems very all over the place. I got sushi- which I think I should have stuck with the sliders as that is there specialty. everything was fine- nothing tasted bad (except the miso soup which was super salty). the service was not great and I think given the tininess it should have been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Non-sushi items were mediocre at best. W ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 5, 2014

Non-sushi items were mediocre at best. We shared small plates and sampled a good portion of the menu items and nothing stood out. Garden wasn't nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

neat menu idea

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 31, 2014

too many times I have been faced with dinning with people who don't like sushi. It's a nice concept to have a menu with both sushi and other fare. We came on a night that was raining so we could not experience the back yard. If you are looking for great / top shelf fish, this is not the place. I had sashimi that was mediocre at best. Others at the table had sliders and enjoyed them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I love this place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2014

If I can give a 6 starts I could. The food is AWESOME!!! It's not the top notch food you find in a 6-star restaurant, yet, the food was made just right, just delicious enough that everyone on the table went like: "ummm... soooo good.."

Great for groups, the best beer selection I've seen!! I love this place!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 12, 2014

The crunchy curry slider.... SUBLIME. The process were spry on as well. My the children and I ate well for under $60.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Time Again

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2014

This was our second time there as a group of nine guys, and once again everything was awesome.

This place is comfortable, not pretentious and has something for everyone. They have great sushi and some pretty imaginative sliders. They also have vegeterian choices, delicious ramen soups & make sure you get the rock shrimp app....

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great apps! Not for large parties.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2014

Good food, good service. Small place, not for large parties.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great mix of foods

vip
 (London)
·Dined on March 18, 2014

Really good idea to mix these food types and was really good too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Unique menu

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2014

Sushi and sliders! What a unique combination. Really enjoyed the wide selection of sushis and sliders, most with an asian twist. The service was also quick and on point.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

disappointed

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 8, 2014

This spot was a last minute reservation due to another place being full. We ordered the top recommended sushi dishes which were ok given the price which was too high. I had the veggie ramen and it was really bland and flavorless. There was one piece of tofu at the bottom I found! The service was annoying. The woman who waited on us did not have any patience and the tone of her voice was irritating. I felt horrible for spending so much money on a lousy place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Really interesting and different

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 8, 2014

Really interesting and different burgers. The crunchy curry slider was my favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

I am officially obsessed with

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 2, 2014

I am officially obsessed with this restaurant. The food is awesome and there's lots of variety which makes it a great place for many occasions. The sushi was so fresh, the shrimp appetizer was so good and my favorite was the chocolate bread pudding and green tea ice cream. Fabulous and definitely recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wow

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 16, 2014

This tiny place serves food with gigantic taste! The concept is great and our party of six couldn't be happier with the menu and food.

The staff (Tang) couldn't be more pleasant and accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Looks better online than in person

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2014

I was surprised when we arrived to find the restaurant could only seat about 20 people in one small room. Many people were cold from the door constantly not shutting....it was December. The wait staff was friendly but quite annoying. The drink selection was very limited and the overall impression of the food was mediocre. Not worth coming back given all the options in nyc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Small inviting restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 25, 2013

Cute little restaurant (has about 10 tables) and very friendly waitress. My husband doesn't like sushi so this place was perfect for us. I ordered some specialty rolls and he got a slider and some gourmet ramen. The sushi was good but my husband couldn't stop talking about how amazing his food was. Next time I would definitely order some of the ramen, it really was unlike any you've had before.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Quick bite

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 21, 2013

Not bad for a burger and sushi fusion. The mini-burgers were satisfying and the sushi was OK. The ambiance caters for two or a small group of friends. Nothing too fancy or plain.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.