Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

ABC KitchenABC Kitchen
(5192)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Gramercy / Flatiron, Manhattan
Booked 222 times today
ABC CocinaABC Cocina
(1801)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Union Square, Manhattan
Booked 170 times today
CosmeCosme
(1486)
$$$$
Contemporary Mexican | Gramercy / Flatiron, Manhattan
Booked 146 times today
Gramercy TavernGramercy Tavern
(6631)
$$$$
American | Gramercy / Flatiron, Manhattan
Booked 212 times today
UplandUpland
(1300)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Gramercy / Flatiron, Manhattan
Booked 218 times today
MaialinoMaialino
(3408)
$$$$
Italian | Gramercy / Flatiron, Manhattan
Booked 139 times today
Lady MendlsLady Mendls
(367)
$$$$
Afternoon Tea | Union Square, Manhattan
Booked 7 times today
Farmer & The Fish - GramercyFarmer & The Fish - Gramercy
(247)
$$$$
Farm-to-table | Gramercy / Flatiron, Manhattan
Booked 37 times today
The Smith - East VillageThe Smith - East Village
(2603)
$$$$
American | East Village, Manhattan
Booked 79 times today
Beauty & Essex- New YorkBeauty & Essex- New York
(4479)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Booked 273 times today
Gotham Bar and GrillGotham Bar and Grill
(7974)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Union Square, Manhattan
Booked 100 times today
The NoMadThe NoMad
(2716)
$$$$
Contemporary American | NoMad, Manhattan
Booked 169 times today
Casa MonoCasa Mono
(1336)
$$$$
Spanish | Union Square, Manhattan
Booked 16 times today
Blue Water GrillBlue Water Grill
(4615)
$$$$
Seafood | Union Square, Manhattan
Booked 77 times today
Public KitchenPublic Kitchen
(71)
$$$$
Global, International | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Booked 97 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Jack's Sliders and Sushi

Our concept is to present the best bites from the East and the West. We offer delicious eats from sushi and sliders to ramen. The setting here is relaxed and cozy. A great place for a date or for a group to meet after work. Check out our website www.jacksny.com for special events. We also provide catering services and event catering. Follow us on instagram #jacksny

171 3rd Avenue
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian, American, Japanese

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Monday - Saturday:


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 11am - 9:45pm

Friday & Saturday: 12pm - 10:45pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:45pm

Cross Street:
btw 16th and 17th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 466-2828

Website:
http://www.jacksny.com/

Catering:
At Jack’s, we understand that daily planning for business operations can be overwhelming, difficult, and time consuming, let us tailor your catering need. Look us up at Instagram/jacksny for our latest catering photos.

Parking Details:
Meter parking on street, and there are nearby parking lots. Generally street parking is pretty easy to spot.

Public Transit:
We are right by Union Square:4,5,6,N,R,Q and the L train on 14th and 3rd.

Executive Chef:
Anthony T

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Sort By:
S
45 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We went the first time on a Saturday evening for dinner. Very good food and service. We will go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Jack's is now our neighborhood go-to restaurant, before or after a movie or when we want to spend some quality time with friends. It's a casual, cozy, friendly place. The menu is varied and there is something for everyone. Service is personal and attentive. We love the vegetarian sliders, not easy to find. Delicious bread pudding.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My family loves this place. They love the fun menu, something for everyone. Good food, good times!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I made a reservation for my daughter and a group of friends (College students in their early 20's) for 9 o'clock. When they got to the restaurant, the lady at the front said they would have to wait for 5 minutes. They were seated at 9:30pm. My daughter says that by that time the hosts was being rude and rolling her eyes, a little annoyed of "loosing a table" for a group of kids. They ordered. Our food started to arrive but the main entree never arrived. When we asked how much longer it would be for the chicken she said we never ordered and didn't even offer to put in the order again for us.
My daughter, whom is very used to eating at good restaurants, asked to speak to a manager and the waitress blatantly said no and walked away.
The food was not bad, but the service was horrible and ruined her night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was good but the service was so terribly slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

First time at this restaurant. Stopped here before going to a concert at Webster Hall. All of the staff were pleasant and checked in on us regularly. Sliders were good and Sushi very fresh. Overall a very good experience, will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was good. Enjoyed the ramen and thought the sliders were ok too. Although the seating area is tight, they were still able to accommodate 13 of us.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Server not really familiar with menu l, and also brought me the completely wrong meal. Meal I ordered was pretty uninspiring at the end. Menu needs more creativity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2016

It was a nice day - hot and summery - so we figured to grab some after work drinks and food at an outdoor venue. Wanted to get as far away from work without it feeling like a schlep. So we picked this place since it had a nice picture of a outdoor area on their web site, diligently booked a table via OpenTable (requesting a table outside if available), then prepared for the short commute from lower Manhattan to Chelsea.

Its a small, but comfortable, restaurant. We ask the waitress if its possible to get a seat outside (the restaurant was empty) only for her to say that they don't have an outdoor seating area. Much later she said they used to.

Food itself was ok. We didn't try any of the sliders but had a few sushi rolls, tried the grilled vegetables and the pickles. Oh I had the slow cooked pork belly (I make my own - this one had a strange texture).

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Jack's has terrific sliders, many with a distinct Asian flavor. The variety and quality of the food is superb, and the service was excellent. It is a great local spot for a quick lunch or dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2016

The fries and the crunchy curry slider!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Sliders and sushi, I am in heaven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Enjoyable, if not remarkable food. Service was a little lax, but was overall good. Ramen and old bay fries were especially good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2016

Great place for casual and delicious bites. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2015

food was just ok. rather small portions for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2015

Delicious ramen, although the sliders weren't anything special. Would go again!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2015

Be sure to make a reservation because there is a very limited amount of seating. Staff was very sweet and the food delicious, I would definitely recommend trying it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2015

The food was good but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2015

I enjoy the food, atmosphere, and excellent service. Great options for vegetarians! Such a neighborhood gem that I almost don't want others to discover it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2015

Service was excellent and attentive however most of the food items were horrible. Miso Ramen was bland, completely tasteless and the noodles so overcooked they broke apart simply via handling. The first order of sliders had cold (not room temp, but still cold) buns and not until our second order did we even realize the bread was supposed to be toasted and warm. 2nd order of fries was only lukewarm, unlike the first which was hot. The 2nd bottle of hot sake also came lukewarm, but after our complaint the subsequent ones were hot. Very disappointing compared to my two previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Place was on the small side but the flavors were big. Really enjoyed the food and had to sample it all. We really loved the sliders especially the chicken scallion. The sushi rolls were outstanding and soup was equally good. Everyone was pleasant and really had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2015

Cute neighborhood joint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2014

Interesting and delicious combination. Thanks Jack! We came here and each ordered a trio of sliders and a sushi roll, the old bay fries (to share), warm sake and soda. Everything was great. The sushi rolls were delicious and fresh. The sliders were very tasty. Really enjoyed the wasabi mayo for the fries. Service was friendly and prompt. The prices were very reasonable. Put this all together and you get a great place to eat that you'll want to return to. I know I will.

I also got to use the OpenTable app to make a reservation (not knowing how busy the restaurant would be) as well as to pay the bill. Paying using the app was new to me and felt strange to see the check on my smartphone, add in the appropriate tip and pay using a stored CC. It worked like a charm and we were on our way in no time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2014

Jack's sushi was pretty good. I would skip the chicken nuggets as they didn't taste like chicken.

Blue Point pumpkin ale in bottles and a short wine list makes for basic essentials.

The old bay fries are a must as are the American sliders.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2014

Surprisingly good quality. Innovative dishes. They try to please every request.
Not much on the ambience side but in the heart of gramercy this place is a keeper.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 9, 2014

We found this place on the OpenTable search list as a location to satisfy those in our group who wanted Asian fare and those who did not. The menu had a variety of things from sushi to sliders to classic ramen to potstickers. Warning, there are only 8-10 tables in this place and most are 2-tops..it's very small. I think there are tables out back as well though we never saw them. The wait staff are very friendly but the service left something to be desired. A couple people in our party did not receive their meal until we reminded the waitress that we were still waiting for others to be served. This was 10 mins after everyone else got their food. My ramen was excellent but my pork belly slider was meh.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2014

If you are looking for a nice relaxing place for tiny burgers and/or sushi, beer, wine or saki, with reasonable prices, try Jack's. Best fries! Love the sliders - pork belly, salmon, chicken and jack's! The waitress is super nice and will make suggestions.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2014

Hidden gem with great food and great service. It's a really cozy spot with an intimate feel to it. I had the Jack's and Kimchi Sliders, my fiancé had an assortment of sushi and we both shared the incredible fries. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2014

the place is in my neighborhood which I love- and its really tiny- which I don't mind. it is cluster chaos in there. there are really only about 6 tables and a few servers and yet everything seems very all over the place. I got sushi- which I think I should have stuck with the sliders as that is there specialty. everything was fine- nothing tasted bad (except the miso soup which was super salty). the service was not great and I think given the tininess it should have been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 5, 2014

Non-sushi items were mediocre at best. We shared small plates and sampled a good portion of the menu items and nothing stood out. Garden wasn't nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2014

too many times I have been faced with dinning with people who don't like sushi. It's a nice concept to have a menu with both sushi and other fare. We came on a night that was raining so we could not experience the back yard. If you are looking for great / top shelf fish, this is not the place. I had sashimi that was mediocre at best. Others at the table had sliders and enjoyed them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2014

If I can give a 6 starts I could. The food is AWESOME!!! It's not the top notch food you find in a 6-star restaurant, yet, the food was made just right, just delicious enough that everyone on the table went like: "ummm... soooo good.."
Great for groups, the best beer selection I've seen!! I love this place!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2014

The crunchy curry slider.... SUBLIME. The process were spry on as well. My the children and I ate well for under $60.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2014

This was our second time there as a group of nine guys, and once again everything was awesome.
This place is comfortable, not pretentious and has something for everyone. They have great sushi and some pretty imaginative sliders. They also have vegeterian choices, delicious ramen soups & make sure you get the rock shrimp app....

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2014

Good food, good service. Small place, not for large parties.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2014

Really good idea to mix these food types and was really good too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2014

Sushi and sliders! What a unique combination. Really enjoyed the wide selection of sushis and sliders, most with an asian twist. The service was also quick and on point.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2014

This spot was a last minute reservation due to another place being full. We ordered the top recommended sushi dishes which were ok given the price which was too high. I had the veggie ramen and it was really bland and flavorless. There was one piece of tofu at the bottom I found! The service was annoying. The woman who waited on us did not have any patience and the tone of her voice was irritating. I felt horrible for spending so much money on a lousy place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 7, 2014

Really interesting and different burgers. The crunchy curry slider was my favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.