About Jacks - Portola Hotel & Spa

Two Portola Plaza
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Ideal for any occasion, Jacks Restaurant at the Portola Hotel & Spa located in the heart of downtown Monterey offers the finest regional cuisine and an impressive wine list. Jacks Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner, seven days a week. Sip bottomless mimosas while enjoying our European-style breakfast buffet including made to order omelets. Dine al fresco on our heated, pet-friendly patio while taking in the sites of historic Custom House Plaza and nearby attractions. Experience dinner in our nautically-inspired, dining room and after, cozy-up in our sophisticated, fireside lounge sipping Monterey County wines or barrel-aged cocktails. At Jacks Restaurant & Lounge, you'll find a deliciously unique Monterey flavor and an authentically coastal locale in the heart of historic, downtown Monterey.

Complimentary self or valet parking available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Californian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Buffet:
Monday - Friday 6:00am - 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday 6:00am - 12:00pm

Dinner:
Daily 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Alvarado & Del Monte

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 649-2698

Website:
http://www.jacksrestaurantlounge.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary self or valet parking available. Parking validated for up to 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Danny Abbruzzese

Private Party Facilities:
Our wine room-inspired private dining room provides a secluded yet elegant space for your party of up to 22. Order from Jacks menu, or work with our chef to customize your own.

For corporate events or wedding receptions ask about buying out the entire restaurant including the heated patio with a fire pit.

Private Party Contact:
Paige Ettin: 8316492692x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Portola Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to host your special occasion. With space for smaller parties or full-restaurant blow outs!
Contact us for more information and let us host your next event.

Promotions

20% Off a Bottle of Wine w/ Purchase of 2 Entrees

Special valid Jul 7, 2016 - Aug 16, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

20% Off a Bottle of Wine w/ Purchase of 2 Entrees

Special valid Jul 7, 2016 - Aug 16, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Jacks - Portola Hotel & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
California Central Coast
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

special occasion (21)
romantic (18)
fit for foodies (12)
See All
neighborhood gem (8)
good for groups (7)
notable wine list (6)
great for brunch (6)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went there for our 30th Anniversary. Eve ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Went there for our 30th Anniversary. Everything about this experience was enjoyable. But the food -- from starters to dessert -- everything was exceptionally flavorful and well-prepared. The wine suggested by our server was also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was outstanding and so was the se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Dinner was outstanding and so was the service.There weren't many people there,so it was pretty quiet.We had music at our table,a duet,a guitar and an accordion.They were great. The only real complaint we had was with the bar.We went for happy hour and the drinks were $5,so we ordered 4 drinks,two each.When I went to pay, the bartender charged us double and said a vodka gimlet well drink was not on the happy hour menu.The menu said well drinks $5.I asked her why she didn't tell us since I told her that we were there for happy hour." I don't have time to tell everyone",there was 2 other people in the bar!!!!I feel like we were really ripped off!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had difficulty getting to the Hotel b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had difficulty getting to the Hotel because of street closure due to Farmers Market and construction around the hotel itself.

It would be helpful if they let people know what to expect and how to navigate around these obstacles as many guests are coming from out of town.

Additionally once we arrived at the center, it took time to find the hotel entrance which is kind of buried. The signage and way finding could definitely be improved!

The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place was OK with decent service bu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This place was OK with decent service but neither of us was overwhelmed with our food at the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

For several years we have enjoyed eating ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

For several years we have enjoyed eating dinner at Jack's, and tonight's meal was no exception!

This was a "date night" for Jan and I, and we chose to dine at Jack's, once again....great service, excellent food, and a pleasant atmosphere, and quiet. Of course, we will return to Jack's again for dinner, possibly with friends.

John & Jan

N. Monterey County

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our server Juan was extremely attentive ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server Juan was extremely attentive and fun! Those of us that got omelettes absolutely loved them and the scones were phenomenal. Coffee was hot and strong just how we like it and the mimosas just kept on coming.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely experience all around. Made us f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Lovely experience all around. Made us feel very special and welcome on our special night. Delicious food and beautiful dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We dine @ Jack's fairly frequently. We p ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We dine @ Jack's fairly frequently. We picked this particular date because it was the last day the mussels were going to be on the menu and we could get Colleen as our server and Stacie was the duty manager. In our experience, that is a "killer" combination. Our expectations were fully met!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, good service and nice ambian ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great food, good service and nice ambiance. We had a Travelzoo voucher, which made it an excellent value!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good choice for your next special occasi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Good choice for your next special occasion with your parents - classic and elegant - nice room, friendly staff, good food - very comfortable and not noisy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely dinner.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was great as was the service. The ambiance and the low noise level added to the nice dining experience. This was our second dinner at Jacks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good travelzoo value

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I went to this restaurant for the deal I got from travelzoo which was $69 for 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and 2 deserts ($132 value, good deal). Food was ok, waitress was nice but slow (Monday night, only a few tables). Atmosphere was nice, it's good for romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Simply Put--Overpriced....No Value for Money

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went there with a Travel Zoo voucher, should be a great deal right.....WRONG.....! You pay $69 for the voucher and can order up to $132 worth the food. I got $113 in value of food I'd say the meal was worth the $69 I paid for the voucher--hence overpriced. With a drink each an a $6 meal for our child, after the required gratuity and tax, We paid another $75. So the math shows you pay $144 for $113 in food worth $69. I will say that if we had received good service and properly prepared food I would definitely say the meal would be of a much higher value but on this evening, that was not the case. With good service, the 15% gratuity in justified, I have no problem rewarding good service. In our case, with our required efforts to track down our waitress when needed, service was below standards. For example when your steak comes and you order a glass of wine, it should not show up 15 minutes later, halfway through the meal. I could tell she had forgotten to get it. When prompted, again, she got it in a minute--15 minutes too late. I'll close with the appetizers were just OK, cerviche was a strange mixture and the calamari was fried, hot but burnt. The steaks, one just just right the other overcooked and both were plates would have been great if the meal was hot vice luke warm. The deserts were both good, chocolate cake and gelato were the best part of the meal. So, if your looking for a place with overpriced, overcooked food, substandard service but good deserts, you have found the ideal place and your ready to get "jacked" at Jack's. Please note I am a patient and understanding local not a tourist. Do try their sister pub Peter B's for some decent reasonably price grub. The hotel bar is relaxing and the spa is great. Maybe one day, Jack's will aspire to reach the height of products and services of the other associated venues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

good restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was good and choices worked for us Happy hour drinks were well done and reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

FORMAL PLACE

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant is more of a formal place and we loved it. Great food! Customer service A+!

(from the receptionist to Ms. Veronica (our waitress) and restaurant manager)

Dress code should be applied if I may say so!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were both amazing. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food and service were both amazing. We had the pork osso and the lemon-rosemary chicken as our entrees. Each one was a generous portion with vegetables as sides. Dessert included the bomb, a fantastic concoction of vanilla ice cream with raspberry sorbet, coated with a chocolate shell. Would definitely recommend this restaurant for a quiet, romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An appreciation date with my Bride of 14 years.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We were greeted as if long lost friends, seated in a semi-private location and received superb service from the staff. A fine Rye Old Fashioned for me and a glass of good Merlot for my Bride before ordering our three course meal in a very politely attentive atmosphere started this experience very nicely. The gracious service was a compliment to our meal request of an absolutely perfect steak dinner for me and the delectable swordfish selection for my Bride.

The Chef and Wait Staff insured we thoroughly enjoyed this dining experience to the max.

We have no hesitation recommending Jacks to friends and relatives and look forward to a return ourselves.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely dining experience. Quiet enough ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

A lovely dining experience. Quiet enough for good conversation, delicious food, polite service. The bar area is separate and sounded very lively. I'd go back again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We love Jack's!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great place to bring the fam for breakfast buffet!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jack's

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food and service were wonderful. Appetizers, entrees and desserts!! I absolutely loved the white Cioppino, and I order Cioppino a lot!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Monterey Memorable

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Jack's was a great experience for us "first timers" in Monterey. The decor reminded us of a private country club, the wine list presented via iPad was extensive and informative. Both chicken and pasta dishes were extraordinary and we highly recommend it for high end fine dining. An intimate quiet dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice ambiance but disappointing food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Very quiet, comfortable restaurant. Service was fine. Ribeye was terrible. Perfectly cooked but a terrible cut/grade of meat. Save your money and go to a steakhouse that has prime cuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Restaurant

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This is starting to become a favorite for my girlfriend and I. This was our second time here and we always head to the bar area before dinner for drinks. Very relaxing atmosphere and I really enjoy the decorum. The restaurant area is very old school looking, and very relaxing. I particularly enjoy it because not many people are present whenever we have gone. This creates a very quiet and romantic atmosphere whenever we go out to dinner here. The food here is very good and decently priced. I would recommend this restaurant for a romantic occasion.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Monterey Gem

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This is easily one of the most underrated restaurants in Monterey. Dark quiet and romantic. Food and service were top-notch. I will certainly be back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Like being On Board an Ship with Delicious Food

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

This was our second time at Jack's and it was even better than the first. We like the atmosphere there; it is wood paneled with large old ship models as a nod to Monterey's past. The booths are very comfortable. We started with the butter lettuce with Marcona almonds salad and the Caesar salad. The Caesar is served with the romaine in tight rolls - very different- and a very zesty dressing. Our entrees were the Lobster Cioppino and the Swordfish - both excellent. There was such a creamy smoothness about the swordfish and the risotto. For dessert I had the sorbets, the lemon was my favorite. My husband had the German Chocolate Cake, a huge serving with very dark chocolate cake and delicious frosting. We'll be back at Jack's next time we're in Monterey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A jewel in Monterey

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Booked the reservation because it was 1000 points and we love to try new places. Ambiance, food, service and price were way above average for Monterey. Will definitely return even if no 1000 points.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The omelet bar is amazing

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The omelet bar is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great breakfast brunch experience with g ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Great breakfast brunch experience with good service. Glad we didn't hesitate trying this out even though this is a restaurant within Portola Hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was my birthday and both the Lounge a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

It was my birthday and both the Lounge and Dining area were most accommodating and attentive to us .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Comfortable dining

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Nice ambience in a beautiful setting. Tables set far enough apart that you don't hear every conversation. The sand dabs were plentiful and excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We are regulars at Jacks, and find the S ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We are regulars at Jacks, and find the Sunday Brunch to be nearly perfect. The assortment of quality foods is excellent and we love the variety. Wonderful eggs, French toast, eggs Benedict, pancakes, lox and bagels, fresh fruit and much more. The wait staff is attentive and gracious. We can highly recommend Jacks for a scrumptious brunch with lovely mimosas! Don't wait any longer, you must try Jacks in Monterey any Saturday or Sunday!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A local gem

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Food was good and plentiful. Could have used more spicing and a bit more warmth. Waiter was pleasant and competent. Lovely setting.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We love Jacks. Yes, it isn't cheap. But, the ambiance, the food, the service are all first rate.

The tables and booths aren't shoved together so that you must dine with people you don't know and probably wouldn't want to know anyway. It's always quiet enough that we can have a conversation unlike so many fine restaurants we know of where it is impossible to talk across a booth table.

The servers are always attentive, polite and reliable. Not the first class rude psuedosnobs we so often encounter in San Francisco.

The food? Well, we had the prix fixe Valentine's dinner on a romantic weekend just recently and the food was too die for. Spouse had the salad and I had the Lobster Bisque. Fantastic all!

The filet mignon was done just right. Well for her and blood rare for me. Fantastic!

The potatoes were great and the asparagus were superb.

The deserts were decadent.

And all this for $99 plus alcohol. A fantastic deal in this day and age of pretend four stars.

We love the Portola and we love Jacks. I almost hate to give this review for fear that the hordes will discover it and make it a crowded and unruly place like so many these days.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Valentines Dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and daughter and her boyfriend and I went to Jacks for Valentines Day. They were very accommodating to seat all 4 of us as the reservations were just for 2 since my daughter came home unexpectedly. We were immediately seated and the staff was amazing. They had a set menu and started with an wonderful beet and blue cheese salad. We all had the filet and prawns and I said the filet was the best I have ever tasted. The sauce was unbelievable. We have eaten at some of the nicest restaurants in Monterey and Carmel and Jacks food was up to the highest standards. We were all extremely pleased with everything including the decadent desserts. I will definitely be referring family and friends to this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's was nice, quiet, and romantic exper ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

It's was nice, quiet, and romantic experience. Food was delicious and filling. The servers are fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, quiet environment

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

We ate here while vacationing in Pacific Grove - it was delicious. Very quiet and elegant setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good not great

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Jack's was/is extremely conveniently located, if you are staying at the Portola Hotel and Spa (as we were). Was reasonably easy to get a table, and the staff was friendly and accommodating of us being early. The positives were clearly the ambiance and the friendly staff. The neutrals (not really negatives) were that the portions were relatively small, and that for a seafood place the chowder was more like a corn chowder than a seafood chowder. The complimentary bread was very good, the wine list is extensive. The desserts were average. Overall, if you are in the hotel, this is a good option. Kid friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Value

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

We had dinner here on Tuesday night. The room is beautiful - wood paneling, linen tablecloths, elegant. We each had a starter, an entree and a desert. My wife had the pumpkin soup, it was excellent. Entrees were osso buco and a large rib eye. Very generous portions and very well prepared. The service was perfect. This restaurant is highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Classy, Elegant, Clubby

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

When you enter Jack’s you feel like you’ve entered a private English club. The walls are paneled in rich woods, a fire is burning, the tables have leather chairs, and the booths stylish upholstery. The menu is well executed. We came on a Friday night with a Travelzoo voucher that cost $65 for a three course dinner for two and had this upscale establishment completely to ourselves. Our attentive waiter informed us that there were no restrictions on what to order. For starters we had braised octopus and crab cakes, entrees included a 14 ounces Angus beef steak and a white wine based fish stew of ½ a lobster, clams, mussels, shrimp, and salmon. Dessert was a dark flourless cake and cheesecake. Everything was delicious and we recommend a visit for any special occasion. The bar next door is cozy and clubby with big leather chairs, shelves of books, wood paneled walls and a fire. From 4-6pm it’s happy hour with $4-6 drinks. We were told they are remodeling, but we love it just the way it is. Very classy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch service

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

My husband and I had a romantic dinner here. The warm sourdough bread was fresh and tasty. The pumpkin bisque was the best I ever had. I ordered the pork Osso Busco, a pork roast with mashed potatoes and asparagus. The portion was huge. The pork was full of flavor. For dessert I had the Bomb dessert. It was layered with a brownie crust and raspberry sorbet and vanilla topped with the chocolate brownie. It was huge. I liked it, however the German chocolate cake my husband ordered was even better. My husband ordered the calamari which he loved. He ordered the ribeye which he ordered rare. He said it was a bit charred. He liked the cream of spinach as a side. I took a bite and loved it.

The Service was amazing. Our water glass was never empty always filled. Service was amazing. I recommend this restaurant and plan on returning .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.