Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Jacks - Portola Hotel & Spa

Ideal for any occasion, Jacks Restaurant at the Portola Hotel & Spa located in the heart of downtown Monterey offers the finest regional cuisine and an impressive wine list. Jacks Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner, seven days a week. Sip bottomless mimosas while enjoying our European-style breakfast buffet including made to order omelets. Dine al fresco on our heated, pet-friendly patio while taking in the sites of historic Custom House Plaza and nearby attractions. Experience dinner in our nautically-inspired, dining room and after, cozy-up in our sophisticated, fireside lounge sipping Monterey County wines or barrel-aged cocktails. At Jacks Restaurant & Lounge, you'll find a deliciously unique Monterey flavor and an authentically coastal locale in the heart of historic, downtown Monterey.

Complimentary self or valet parking available.

Two Portola Plaza
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Californian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Buffet:
Monday - Friday 6:00am - 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday 6:00am - 12:00pm

Dinner:
Daily 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Alvarado & Del Monte

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 649-2698

Website:
http://www.jacksrestaurantlounge.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary self or valet parking available. Parking validated for up to 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Danny Abbruzzese

Private Party Facilities:
Our wine room-inspired private dining room provides a secluded yet elegant space for your party of up to 22. Order from Jacks menu, or work with our chef to customize your own.

For corporate events or wedding receptions ask about buying out the entire restaurant including the heated patio with a fire pit.

Private Party Contact:
Paige Ettin: (831) 649-2692

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Portola Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to host your special occasion. With space for smaller parties or full-restaurant blow outs!
Contact us for more information and let us host your next event.

Jacks - Portola Hotel & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Romantic (11)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Cozy (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Fireplace (3)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Historic (2)
Fun (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome supper, amazing decor, execellent service with very friendly server.
Will go back even if a bit expensive .

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Jacks is set inside the beautiful Portola Hotel(currently under renovations) and is a fabulous place for a delicious meal. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our dinner and our server, Veronica, was wonderful. We started with the calamari and the mussel/clams with fries appetizer,(I did miss the braided octopus starter though) , ordered the ribeye, along with a scallop entree to share. The flavors and portions are large! Wrapped it up with creme brûlée. We drove from San Jose to dine at Jacks and we will definitely come as often as we can!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Historic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Loved the antique, luxurious feel of the restaurant. The food was amazing and the service top notch. It was the highlight meal of our honeymoon. We will definitely eat here again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The place is nicely laid out and not cramped at all. The wait staff was attentive. The manager came around to check on us which is always nice. The eggplant was just right and my shrimp scampi was in a delicious sauce. Overall a nice evening and we did not feel rushed.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The ambiance, food and service were all outstanding.
Best pork shank ever. We will return!

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Outstanding overall. Menu choices were excellent and food was prepared beautifully. The entire wait staff was very efficient, courteous and helpful. The prices are a tad on the high side but if one uses a discount or promotional coupon (e.g. Travelzoo), the 3 course menu for two is a terrific deal. Getting to the venue can be a bit tricky since the Portola Hotel is undergoing renovations (driveway and lobby areas). Validated parking at the nearby parking garage is included but it is a bit confusing finding the entry to the parking structure. I, for one, look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Delicious breakfast and good customer service! The omelets were made to order and the buffet food was delicious!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We usually celebrate Valentines Day dinner at Jack's annually, but 2017 was very disappointing! There were 4 of us this year, but we will probably try another restaurant for V-Day in 2018.
John Davenport
8317244208

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have seen this valentine special for a few years now and was excited that I remembered to book early. I was on top of Valentine's Day for once and excited. The add on from Open Table got me a box of chocolate covered strawberries to take home for two.

I have never felt assaulted after a meal. It was $64 per person with an added (not at my choice) 18% gratuity coming to $181 for the meal. The tip thing was stupid because I usually tip 25%.

Now, why did I feel assaulted? We start with a half glass of flat champagne. After informing the waitress that it was flat, I asked for another glass (the waitress agreed it was flat and admitted it was the brunch champagne) which I did get charged extra for. The food was the worst I have had in years. My wife had salmon that was so over buttered that she could not eat it. The oysters were not freed from the shell and had nothing but cheap caviar and lemon. No horse radish, cocktail sauce or anything. We even had to ask for small forks. On and on I could go, but the final straw was the most disgusting soufflé I have ever tasted. Flavor of the soufflé was the weirdest idea and obviously not pre-tested by a true chef.

I chose not to cause a scene because it was Valentines Day and didn't want to upset the other (very few) diners. I won't go back and as I sit here with a very upset stomach, I would advise others to skip this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

After reading some of the reviews, I was hesitant about going. My experience was amazing. The food was wonderful and the service was good. Had a travelzoo voucher which made dinner that much more perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Waitress was very helpful but that is the only positive I can give. Food was rushed though - we were out within one hour- Caesar salad was served as a pile of ingredients that I had to toss to create the actual salad! I was astounded! How difficult is it to make a ceasar salad!? All the dressing and Parmesan was at the bottom and the anchovies had simply been dumped on the top - appalling!! Also serving the main course two minutes after clearing the starter plates is not good - a good restaurant knows how to pace a meal and this one did not!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent service and nice quiet atmosphere. The portions were big, and we had leftovers.. We used a TravelZoo coupon and it was worth its' value. The food was also delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

All you can eat brunch and bottomless mimosas! The omelette chef was wonderful!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and value for the Travelzoo voucher we bought. Service was awesome also.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had high hopes for restaurants in Monterrey, especially those with 4+ stars on OpenTable. The food, service, and feel of this restaurant was extremely poor. Here are a few specifics:

1) Upon arrival we were told our reservation would be delayed by 15 min. We actually were not seated until 30 minutes later.

2) Staff and servers were polite but extremely absent and non-attentive.

3) I ordered their filet medium-rare, it was charred.

4) Others in my party ordered salads. None of the ingredients looked or tasted fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The staff were friendly and attentive. I really enjoyed the overall experience. The single negative is that I ordered a starter which was the shell fish (muscles and clams) with fries. great appetizer with about 6 muscles and perhaps as many clams, there were about 3 muscles that were bad and I didn't notice until I was chewing them. I know that from time to time with shell fish this can happen, but three bad ones means that the chef may not have checked them before cooking them. I enjoyed the dining experience enough to give them a pass this time and hope it was an isolated case. I will definitely go back. I do recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We visited Jack's while on a trip to Carmel. It's location is just off Monterey wharf. The decor is rich and tasteful, while the food is outstanding. The clam chowder reminded me of my visits to Boston. My wife's scallops were large and well prepared, just the right texture, and bathed in a concoction of mushrooms and potatoes that was both unique and tasty. My petite filet was perfectly grilled and very tender. Jack's special "Bomb" dessert was a pie-like dish made up of vanilla ice cream, raspberry sorbet, thin brownie shell, and dried fudge topping. It was delicious. Razzle, our server, was polite, friendly, and efficient. We would definitely recommend Jack's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Booked thru open table very early but got reservation time for 8:30pm.
By the time we get there, want to sit us at a table by the entrance. Asked for the empty booth but won't let us sit at the booth and instead put us in a solitary bar area.
Dinner seem like bein rushed thru and finished in about an hour . Have to flag them down for bread and water.
Not too happy. And is our 1st Christmas dinner out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Jack's, once, again, did not disappoint. The food, service and ambiance were excellent. We visit the Pacific Grove/Monterey area several times a year, and discovered Jack's earlier this year. We now make sure it's on our "to do" list for dining each time we visit. The only suggestion I would make is that they expand the menu as it's rather limited. But, the items I've ordered - this time, the petite filet mignon - were great. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We enjoyed the brunch buffet so much, went back that evening for dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Good food and good services hard to find and parking is hard tofind

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was a very nice dinner. Lovely setting and good food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I've eaten there a few times, good food, excellent service very good vaue

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Set in very nice hotel. Service was excellent: friendly, helpful and efficient. For us the food is richer than for everyday but on vacation and special ocassions, Jack's is perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything exceeded our expectation. Not sure what people are complaining about. My family loved it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delicious foods. Quality ingredients.
Starters, entrees and deserts were all excellently prepared.
We were pleasantly surprised to find such delicious cooking in Monterey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Very good options across the menu. All of the dishes that we had were excellent. Wonderful wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 21, 2016

A nice overall experience. The petite fillet was good. A nice selection of wines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Jack's is comfortable and quiet, with uncommon space between tables for a more private experience. The food was excellent (osso buco & scallops), and service was also wonderful. My husband especially appreciated that we had one server waiting on us throughout the evening, in contrast to our recent experience at two restaurants in Calistoga where up to 7 different people came and went from our table, often getting the orders confused, trying to give us the wrong food, and offering no consistency. It was nice to have one person dedicated to attending to our needs. They even provided a candle in the cream brulee for my birthday.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 30, 2016

I HAVE DINED AT JACKS MANY TIMES OVER THE LAST FEW YEARS, HOWEVER THE SERVICE CONTINUES TO GET WORST AND WORST, TO THE POINT IT REALLY EFFECTS ME WANTING TO GO BACK. THE SERVERS NAME WAS CODY O.
I THINK THE CHEF IS REAL TALENTED AND IT A SHAME TO HAVE A WHOLE MEAL DAMAGE DO TO A SERVE WHO JUST REALLY DOESN'T CARE!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Finally found the worst clam chowder in MRY. Also, I found the HOTTEST restaurant in MRY... When I say HOT I mean temperature. I was sweating while at dinner. I was counting the minutes till I could get the heck out of the dinning room.

My server was lazy. She was sweet, but lazy. No one here seems like they give 2 [insert expletive] about creating a dining experience to remember. Which is pretty weak considering there is a lot of competition in town. Won't be coming here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Monterrey)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The new menu is great! LOVED the appetizers: Tempura fried calamari, Dungeness crab cake. My main dish (special) was a fantastic tuna steak with quinoa that was laced with mushrooms and onions. My wife stuck with the nice rib-eye.
Every desert is a treat! We shared a chocolate decadence item.
There's more than enough items on this menu to satisfy the culinary desires of all. And need I say that if you want a lovely QUIET setting where you can actually talk amongst your party -- this is it. (And complementary/validated parking.)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had a travelzoo voucher like most folks there and expected to pay anything extra on the menu but aside from gratuity was a fat city tax bill of almost $40 !! Insane ,,, not for me

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The good part about this restaurant is it looks really classy and the service was pretty good. The bad part, is the food was just down right lousy. I decided to keep it light, and got a bowl of the tomato bisque, and the seared ahi. The bisque tasted like something I could get from a can of Campbell's. However it was the Ahi that was truly terrible. The presentation looked pretty good. It was about 5 pieces of ahi surrounding what looked like a croquette, but the ahi didn't have a bright red center like you might be accustom to seeing. Instead this ahi looked grey and unappetizing. There was some sort of green sauce under it, which I assumed would be wasabi, but it wasn't. It was without any real distinct flavor, but I am guessing it was some sort of avocado purée. Then there was that croquette... It looked perfectly fried and unlike the rest of the plate, it look really appetizing. So I cut off a piece and took a bite, which is when I realized it was actually rice. Someone thought it would be a good idea to take some plain white rice, stick it together to form a log and then bread it and deep fry it. The result is a nice looking, flavorless, semi gelatinous, most disgusting croquette you can ever have the misfortune of biting into. That was just the two things that I ordered. My wife did not enjoy her pasta dish, and the sandwiches my kids got looked pathetic. I suggest you steer clear of this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We came in on a TravelZoo coupon, and entire menu was available for us to use. Our coupon included 2 appetizers (we had octopus and crab cake), 2 entrees (we had Lobster Cioppino and Sirloin Steak) and 2 desserts. You must try Jack's special dessert "The Bomb"! All food items were delicious and presentation was to be commended. Excellent service and nice ambiance. No view of the wharf at this restaurant....suggest you ask for a booth. Bon appetite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Very good dining experience! Food was delicious, accordingly to all 4 dining! We had starters and entrees. Bartender made my wife the perfect cucumber/jalapeño martini!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We visited Jack's on Saturday July 23, 2016. The ambiance was very nice. The restaurant was not noisy at all. The server was very attentive. When we asked about a substitution she told us our wish was her command. The food was outstanding and the presentation was excellent. A great place for a special occasion or an everyday dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Superb. Veronica our server was totally with it and her boss Stacy made us feel like we were really welcome. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was good. Waitress was good. Not sure that we would go back. I think this is a tossup.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Went there for our 30th Anniversary. Everything about this experience was enjoyable. But the food -- from starters to dessert -- everything was exceptionally flavorful and well-prepared. The wine suggested by our server was also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.