About Jacks - Portola Hotel & Spa

Two Portola Plaza
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Ideal for any occasion, Jacks Restaurant at the Portola Hotel & Spa located in the heart of downtown Monterey offers the finest regional cuisine and an impressive wine list. Jacks Restaurant serves breakfast and dinner, seven days a week. Sip bottomless mimosas while enjoying our European-style breakfast buffet including made to order omelets. Dine al fresco on our heated, pet-friendly patio while taking in the sites of historic Custom House Plaza and nearby attractions. Experience dinner in our nautically-inspired, dining room and after, cozy-up in our sophisticated, fireside lounge sipping Monterey County wines or barrel-aged cocktails. At Jacks Restaurant & Lounge, you'll find a deliciously unique Monterey flavor and an authentically coastal locale in the heart of historic, downtown Monterey.

Complimentary self or valet parking available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Californian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Buffet:
Monday - Friday 6:00am - 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday 6:00am - 12:00pm

Dinner:
Daily 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Alvarado & Del Monte

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 649-2698

Website:
http://www.jacksrestaurantlounge.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary self or valet parking available. Parking validated for up to 3 hours.

Executive Chef:
Danny Abbruzzese

Private Party Facilities:
Our wine room-inspired private dining room provides a secluded yet elegant space for your party of up to 22. Order from Jacks menu, or work with our chef to customize your own.

For corporate events or wedding receptions ask about buying out the entire restaurant including the heated patio with a fire pit.

Private Party Contact:
Paige Ettin: 8316492692x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Portola Hotel & Spa is the perfect place to host your special occasion. With space for smaller parties or full-restaurant blow outs!
Contact us for more information and let us host your next event.

Jacks - Portola Hotel & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Quiet Conversation (8)
Romantic (6)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
382 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food and good services hard to find ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Good food and good services hard to find and parking is hard tofind

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It was a very nice dinner. Lovely setti ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was a very nice dinner. Lovely setting and good food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I've eaten there a few times, good food, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I've eaten there a few times, good food, excellent service very good vaue

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Set in very nice hotel. Service was exc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Set in very nice hotel. Service was excellent: friendly, helpful and efficient. For us the food is richer than for everyday but on vacation and special ocassions, Jack's is perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything exceeded our expectation. No ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything exceeded our expectation. Not sure what people are complaining about. My family loved it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious foods. Quality ingredients. St ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delicious foods. Quality ingredients.

Starters, entrees and deserts were all excellently prepared.

We were pleasantly surprised to find such delicious cooking in Monterey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good options across the menu. All ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Very good options across the menu. All of the dishes that we had were excellent. Wonderful wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A nice overall experience. The petite f ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 21, 2016

A nice overall experience. The petite fillet was good. A nice selection of wines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Jack's is comfortable and quiet, with un ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Jack's is comfortable and quiet, with uncommon space between tables for a more private experience. The food was excellent (osso buco & scallops), and service was also wonderful. My husband especially appreciated that we had one server waiting on us throughout the evening, in contrast to our recent experience at two restaurants in Calistoga where up to 7 different people came and went from our table, often getting the orders confused, trying to give us the wrong food, and offering no consistency. It was nice to have one person dedicated to attending to our needs. They even provided a candle in the cream brulee for my birthday.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I HAVE DINED AT JACKS MANY TIMES OVER TH ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 30, 2016

I HAVE DINED AT JACKS MANY TIMES OVER THE LAST FEW YEARS, HOWEVER THE SERVICE CONTINUES TO GET WORST AND WORST, TO THE POINT IT REALLY EFFECTS ME WANTING TO GO BACK. THE SERVERS NAME WAS CODY O.

I THINK THE CHEF IS REAL TALENTED AND IT A SHAME TO HAVE A WHOLE MEAL DAMAGE DO TO A SERVE WHO JUST REALLY DOESN'T CARE!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Finally found the worst clam chowder in ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Finally found the worst clam chowder in MRY. Also, I found the HOTTEST restaurant in MRY... When I say HOT I mean temperature. I was sweating while at dinner. I was counting the minutes till I could get the heck out of the dinning room.

My server was lazy. She was sweet, but lazy. No one here seems like they give 2 [insert expletive] about creating a dining experience to remember. Which is pretty weak considering there is a lot of competition in town. Won't be coming here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The new menu is great! LOVED the appeti ...

vip
 (Monterrey)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The new menu is great! LOVED the appetizers: Tempura fried calamari, Dungeness crab cake. My main dish (special) was a fantastic tuna steak with quinoa that was laced with mushrooms and onions. My wife stuck with the nice rib-eye.

Every desert is a treat! We shared a chocolate decadence item.

There's more than enough items on this menu to satisfy the culinary desires of all. And need I say that if you want a lovely QUIET setting where you can actually talk amongst your party -- this is it. (And complementary/validated parking.)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a travelzoo voucher like most fol ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had a travelzoo voucher like most folks there and expected to pay anything extra on the menu but aside from gratuity was a fat city tax bill of almost $40 !! Insane ,,, not for me

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

The good part about this restaurant is i ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The good part about this restaurant is it looks really classy and the service was pretty good. The bad part, is the food was just down right lousy. I decided to keep it light, and got a bowl of the tomato bisque, and the seared ahi. The bisque tasted like something I could get from a can of Campbell's. However it was the Ahi that was truly terrible. The presentation looked pretty good. It was about 5 pieces of ahi surrounding what looked like a croquette, but the ahi didn't have a bright red center like you might be accustom to seeing. Instead this ahi looked grey and unappetizing. There was some sort of green sauce under it, which I assumed would be wasabi, but it wasn't. It was without any real distinct flavor, but I am guessing it was some sort of avocado purée. Then there was that croquette... It looked perfectly fried and unlike the rest of the plate, it look really appetizing. So I cut off a piece and took a bite, which is when I realized it was actually rice. Someone thought it would be a good idea to take some plain white rice, stick it together to form a log and then bread it and deep fry it. The result is a nice looking, flavorless, semi gelatinous, most disgusting croquette you can ever have the misfortune of biting into. That was just the two things that I ordered. My wife did not enjoy her pasta dish, and the sandwiches my kids got looked pathetic. I suggest you steer clear of this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

We came in on a TravelZoo coupon, and en ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We came in on a TravelZoo coupon, and entire menu was available for us to use. Our coupon included 2 appetizers (we had octopus and crab cake), 2 entrees (we had Lobster Cioppino and Sirloin Steak) and 2 desserts. You must try Jack's special dessert "The Bomb"! All food items were delicious and presentation was to be commended. Excellent service and nice ambiance. No view of the wharf at this restaurant....suggest you ask for a booth. Bon appetite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very good dining experience! Food was d ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Very good dining experience! Food was delicious, accordingly to all 4 dining! We had starters and entrees. Bartender made my wife the perfect cucumber/jalapeño martini!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We visited Jack's on Saturday July 23, 2 ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We visited Jack's on Saturday July 23, 2016. The ambiance was very nice. The restaurant was not noisy at all. The server was very attentive. When we asked about a substitution she told us our wish was her command. The food was outstanding and the presentation was excellent. A great place for a special occasion or an everyday dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb. Veronica our server was totally ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Superb. Veronica our server was totally with it and her boss Stacy made us feel like we were really welcome. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Waitress was good. Not su ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was good. Waitress was good. Not sure that we would go back. I think this is a tossup.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went there for our 30th Anniversary. Eve ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Went there for our 30th Anniversary. Everything about this experience was enjoyable. But the food -- from starters to dessert -- everything was exceptionally flavorful and well-prepared. The wine suggested by our server was also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was outstanding and so was the se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Dinner was outstanding and so was the service.There weren't many people there,so it was pretty quiet.We had music at our table,a duet,a guitar and an accordion.They were great. The only real complaint we had was with the bar.We went for happy hour and the drinks were $5,so we ordered 4 drinks,two each.When I went to pay, the bartender charged us double and said a vodka gimlet well drink was not on the happy hour menu.The menu said well drinks $5.I asked her why she didn't tell us since I told her that we were there for happy hour." I don't have time to tell everyone",there was 2 other people in the bar!!!!I feel like we were really ripped off!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had difficulty getting to the Hotel b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had difficulty getting to the Hotel because of street closure due to Farmers Market and construction around the hotel itself.

It would be helpful if they let people know what to expect and how to navigate around these obstacles as many guests are coming from out of town.

Additionally once we arrived at the center, it took time to find the hotel entrance which is kind of buried. The signage and way finding could definitely be improved!

The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place was OK with decent service bu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

This place was OK with decent service but neither of us was overwhelmed with our food at the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

For several years we have enjoyed eating ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

For several years we have enjoyed eating dinner at Jack's, and tonight's meal was no exception!

This was a "date night" for Jan and I, and we chose to dine at Jack's, once again....great service, excellent food, and a pleasant atmosphere, and quiet. Of course, we will return to Jack's again for dinner, possibly with friends.

John & Jan

N. Monterey County

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our server Juan was extremely attentive ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server Juan was extremely attentive and fun! Those of us that got omelettes absolutely loved them and the scones were phenomenal. Coffee was hot and strong just how we like it and the mimosas just kept on coming.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely experience all around. Made us f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Lovely experience all around. Made us feel very special and welcome on our special night. Delicious food and beautiful dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We dine @ Jack's fairly frequently. We p ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We dine @ Jack's fairly frequently. We picked this particular date because it was the last day the mussels were going to be on the menu and we could get Colleen as our server and Stacie was the duty manager. In our experience, that is a "killer" combination. Our expectations were fully met!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, good service and nice ambian ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great food, good service and nice ambiance. We had a Travelzoo voucher, which made it an excellent value!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good choice for your next special occasi ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 23, 2016

Good choice for your next special occasion with your parents - classic and elegant - nice room, friendly staff, good food - very comfortable and not noisy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely loved! Elegant enough for a b ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 23, 2016

Absolutely loved! Elegant enough for a birthday dinner yet kid friendly and family style. The bottle ships were a beautiful touch to the shelled paintings on the wall. Delicious food! For land lovers and the deep blue chasers. The drinks were poured heavy but a little more than I wanted to pay for.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely dinner.

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was great as was the service. The ambiance and the low noise level added to the nice dining experience. This was our second dinner at Jacks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good travelzoo value

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2016

I went to this restaurant for the deal I got from travelzoo which was $69 for 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and 2 deserts ($132 value, good deal). Food was ok, waitress was nice but slow (Monday night, only a few tables). Atmosphere was nice, it's good for romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Simply Put--Overpriced....No Value for Money

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went there with a Travel Zoo voucher, should be a great deal right.....WRONG.....! You pay $69 for the voucher and can order up to $132 worth the food. I got $113 in value of food I'd say the meal was worth the $69 I paid for the voucher--hence overpriced. With a drink each an a $6 meal for our child, after the required gratuity and tax, We paid another $75. So the math shows you pay $144 for $113 in food worth $69. I will say that if we had received good service and properly prepared food I would definitely say the meal would be of a much higher value but on this evening, that was not the case. With good service, the 15% gratuity in justified, I have no problem rewarding good service. In our case, with our required efforts to track down our waitress when needed, service was below standards. For example when your steak comes and you order a glass of wine, it should not show up 15 minutes later, halfway through the meal. I could tell she had forgotten to get it. When prompted, again, she got it in a minute--15 minutes too late. I'll close with the appetizers were just OK, cerviche was a strange mixture and the calamari was fried, hot but burnt. The steaks, one just just right the other overcooked and both were plates would have been great if the meal was hot vice luke warm. The deserts were both good, chocolate cake and gelato were the best part of the meal. So, if your looking for a place with overpriced, overcooked food, substandard service but good deserts, you have found the ideal place and your ready to get "jacked" at Jack's. Please note I am a patient and understanding local not a tourist. Do try their sister pub Peter B's for some decent reasonably price grub. The hotel bar is relaxing and the spa is great. Maybe one day, Jack's will aspire to reach the height of products and services of the other associated venues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

good restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was good and choices worked for us Happy hour drinks were well done and reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

FORMAL PLACE

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant is more of a formal place and we loved it. Great food! Customer service A+!

(from the receptionist to Ms. Veronica (our waitress) and restaurant manager)

Dress code should be applied if I may say so!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were both amazing. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food and service were both amazing. We had the pork osso and the lemon-rosemary chicken as our entrees. Each one was a generous portion with vegetables as sides. Dessert included the bomb, a fantastic concoction of vanilla ice cream with raspberry sorbet, coated with a chocolate shell. Would definitely recommend this restaurant for a quiet, romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An appreciation date with my Bride of 14 years.

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 29, 2016

We were greeted as if long lost friends, seated in a semi-private location and received superb service from the staff. A fine Rye Old Fashioned for me and a glass of good Merlot for my Bride before ordering our three course meal in a very politely attentive atmosphere started this experience very nicely. The gracious service was a compliment to our meal request of an absolutely perfect steak dinner for me and the delectable swordfish selection for my Bride.

The Chef and Wait Staff insured we thoroughly enjoyed this dining experience to the max.

We have no hesitation recommending Jacks to friends and relatives and look forward to a return ourselves.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely dining experience. Quiet enough ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 25, 2016

A lovely dining experience. Quiet enough for good conversation, delicious food, polite service. The bar area is separate and sounded very lively. I'd go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We love Jack's!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great place to bring the fam for breakfast buffet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jack's

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food and service were wonderful. Appetizers, entrees and desserts!! I absolutely loved the white Cioppino, and I order Cioppino a lot!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.