Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 39 times today

J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington

4.1
1413 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Casual
J. Liu Restaurant and Bar of Worthington offers superb culinary creations served within an eclectic setting. Refined and stylish yet relaxed and comfortable. The experienced staff is dedicated to exceeding the expectations of every guest. J. Liu is eager to work with you in every way possible to ensure a most memorable experience. Uncompromising quality, understated elegance, attention to detail, outstanding service and "Something Great For Everyone", only at J. Liu of Worthington!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm Sunday Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(614) 888-1818
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Steven Kelly
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have an amazing private ballroom with the capacity to seat 200+ guest. We also offer several other smaller options for groups from 25 up to 40. We offer a wide variety of options for your menu selection. Please call for availability for larger parties.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Todd Brown or Rebekka Rebar: (614) 888-1818
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Wilson Bridge Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
J. Liu offers over 78 parking spaces 24 hours seven days a week on its private lot surrounding the building and toward the back of National City Bank. After 6 pm and all day on the weekends patrons may park at all surrounding lots including National City Bank, Primrose School, CF Bank, and across the street at Huntington Bank. J. Liu provides valet service complimentary for limited lunches and dinners
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1413 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 16 hours ago

As always, great service and good food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The food was wonderful. The server was very accommodating in setting up a table outside that was not directly in the sun. Interesting menu choices for drink and food that you won't find anywhere else.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Our service was excellent. The food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Great food and atmosphere. The Pad Thai is fantastic. Service was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We had Sunday brunch at J Liu in Worthington (prior to a graduation). All of the food was excellent, and our seating was prompt!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Enjoyable evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Food was outstanding prepared perfectly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Everything was remarkable. Only critique is that my wife did not get the demiglace on her twin medallions because she does not like the flavor of wine — we wish there would have been additional seasoning added to the steaks due to taking away the sauce. We chalk that up to live and learn — next time we’ll ask.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Went for anniversary and had a great time. Waitress was a bit confused, but other than that we had a wonderful dinner. No one wanted to leave. Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We came for dinner for Mother's day after making an online reservation. We had never eaten at J. Liu's before so did not know that only a buffet would be offered. I did not see the price of the buffet but was shocked by the price after the meal experience. The buffet by 6 pm was worn out, food flipped out of bowls, sauces dripped all over the place, potatoes left in the ketchup serving bowl, food smashed into the mats near the buffet. The mats were askew and dirty. The food was up very high on the bar rather than on tables where it would be easier to reach - the height probably added to me mess each patron made serving themselves. Not all the food was fresh and full; again, it looked like a buffet that had been out for hours. The dessert bar was bare and contained little variety. There were three plates alone of rice crispy treats; sub par for a $30 per adult and $18 per child buffet. The desserts that were not rice crispies were smashed a bit withe serving tools caked with moist dessert residue. The carving station served the fattiest cuts of meat I've every eaten. It was not appetizing. The taste of the food was NOT amazing as the price tag should have demand. We rarely go out and Mother's day was a treat. We were very disappointed at the bill for 2 adults and 2 children after that buffet experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We were unaware that the buffet was the only option on Mother's Day. My parents are 90 years old, we were far from the buffet area, the food was high so they could not see the food, I described the food, put it on their plates as we went through buffet. A 20% tip was added the bill, which seems high for buffet. Our table of 8 eight (4 seniors, 1 child, spent $360, including wine. We would have gone somewhere else if we had known buffet the only option.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Had good service with regular restaurant service before. Mother’s Day experience was less than spectacular. We made reservation for 5:00 pm expecting brunch to be over and receive menu service. When we arrived three staff were more interested in what was on their computer screen than helping us to our table. We were told to just go upstairs and someone up there would help us up there. We were herded to a table among masses of other people and waited for service amazed that we were now in an environment we were not at all expecting. The first comment from the waitress was “since there’s more than six of you we will automatically be adding the tip”. Great start! We found out later after experiencing trays of food unfilled that the buffet was closing at 6:00 and they had no selection for children. Had I known what we were getting ourselves into I would have found another place to go. To add to the experience was a bill that exceeded any price point on their regular menu. Big let down. Good thing we enjoyed the company we were keeping.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We didn't stay. Once we were seated we asked for a menu and was told that it was buffet only. I wasn't told this when I made the reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Wonderful Mother’s Day Brunch. Proximity to the freeway was convenient for my kids coming in from Cleveland. Food selection was great; something for everyone. Food choices were continually replenished and fresh. We all raved over the house salad. Maddie, our server, was quite attentive and very accommodating. From first arriving to leaving, staff we encountered were very kind and customer oriented on a very busy day. Always enjoy and recommend J. Lui!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I have been to J Liu many times Happy Hour & Brunch always been very good. I will continue to go, however never again on a Holiday this time was Mother’s Day. The Buffet was a mess and was out of items several times. They were just overbooked, Too Many People. The waitress said they had over 2000 reservations. The Crowd, the Messy Buffet, and the inability to keep the Buffet Stocked will keep me away on Special Occasions

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went for mother's day buffet. Food was average at best and not well stocked/soggy/overcooked. Had to flag down anyone to get any kind of drink refills, including water, but also soda and coffee. There was a mandatory 20% tip for my party of 5 plus an infant. I wouldn't mind tipping that if the drink service wasn't horrible. Extremely over-priced for the food and service. Would not recommend for special occasion brunches/buffets.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went with my Family for Mother's day. Food was terrible, service was slow....even though the meal was a buffet waited nearly a half hour for a glass of wine. Had I realized that the meal was buffet, I would not of made the reservation. Cost was really high considering the quality of food. I expect better of this restaurant. Won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our server was outstanding....we were there for the Mothers Day Buffet, yet she was very attentive and polite. Over all it was a great experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for Mother’s Day brunch very crowded my chair kept hitting the chair behind me when I got up. The egg Benedict was way over cooked and there was no other eggs or an omelet station for a brunch. Bacon was way too greasy Was not the type of brunch I was expecting

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

A busy Mother's Day buffet. Nothing special. Normal buffet. Service was excellent with Jeff .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went for the Mother’s Day brunch. They had so many good choices that I couldn’t try everything I wanted. Would have enjoyed more if food was warmer but typical for a buffet. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for the Mother’s Day brunch. Food was just ok and very overpriced. Kids price was outrageously expensive considering there were very few kid friendly options on the buffet.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Came in for Mother’s Day brunch, expected it to be a little busy, and it was. There was a long line to wait for the buffet, but it moved pretty quickly. Staff did a great job of replenishing food. Our server Bre was awesome.
However, while waiting in line, several guests and myself overheard one of the bartenders berate a server for undercharging for the “Mom-osa”. That they rang up the beverages as Mimosa, which would only cost $6 normally. Instead of charging for the “Mom-osa” at $9.
I find this to be a pathetic attempt to take advantage of what should have been all about the Mother’s whom we were there celebrating.
I understand that you can charge whatever you want, whenever you want, but when given the chance to keep business as usual and have all of that extra business for the day, your business opted to prey on its costumers for a couple of extra dollars.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

It was a very busy Saturday evening but the service was very disappointing. I believe wait staff must have called off on this night since it was obvious our server was overtaxed. Took a long time for our drink order and then I had to go up to the Maitre’d to get tableware. Food was very good and I will be back to give it another go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

A big thanks to the staff. We had a party of 6 and were coming in town to celebrate our son's graduation. Breonna was a wonderful server. Food was great and our out of town guests were very pleased with the whole experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great food--from the appetizer through desserts. Max was also a great waiter. He was fast, friendly, attentive, and happy to make recommendations where asked. Overall super experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Between high school proms and OSU graduation weekend, the place was busy! (Too loud for conversation with older friends, unfortunately.) As usual, the food was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Meal was excellent, and we had a very good server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Excellent food and service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 23, 2018

My wife and I made reservations for our anniversary. Unfortunately, they were not able to accommodate her dietary restrictions and were not willing to offer alternates. We ended up leaving and going to another local restaurant that went out of their way to make sure my wife could eat and even made a special dessert just for her. We will not be returning to J Liu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Always great food and great service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Very pleasant Saturday evening dinner-out with friends experience. Quality of food, drinks and ambiance was good relative to price. Service was spotty but consistently polite. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The pork shank was very good. The server was impeccable: friendly, attentive, unobtrusive, and thoroughly professional.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Nice server, decent dinner. My friend and I ordered the grilled avocado, in large part based on the promise of it being served "alongside grilled pretzel bread." The bread served was not pretzel bread, which went unexplained---and there was not enough of it. We asked for a bit more, and I was surprised when reviewing our bill to see that we were charged a modest fee for our request for a bit more of the (wrong) bread. It might seem inconsequential in isolation but a quality restaurant like J. Liu should and, I'm sure, can do better

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

This was my second visit to J. Liu's in three weeks, but this time I was with a different group. Usually I start with a glass of wine, but the cocktails were so tempting! Two of us thoroughly enjoyed the Bite the Bulleit drink.

As always, the menu has a wonderful variety of appetizers and entrees, some Asian and others more American. I made a meal out of a cup of the Broccoli Cheese Soup and the Asian Lettuce Wraps appetizer. There was so much food that I took the rest of the appetizer home and ate it for lunch the next day.

The ambience and service were also good, and we'll be back again soon!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Overall expected better. Went for brunch, but all the items listed on the website were not on the buffet; one of which i went for. The bacon was a bit jerky like, but my husband liked it. For 20 bucks a person, i was hoping for something to really talk about. Not the worst I’ve had, but not the best either. Maybe we will give it another try sometime, but unsure at this time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great drinks & food as usual! Love this place! Sangria is the best I’ve every had. Will go again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We got seated immediately with our reservation. Our waiter was very polite but did not really understand the special. Thought a filet was a fish. The piece of salmon that was on the salad that two of us got was incredibly small. We did not complain as we really don’t eat that much but it was much smaller than I’ve had in the past. That made for a very expensive plate of lettuce. This is not what I’ve experienced in the past at J Luis but I have to say if I go again and it has the feel of lowering standards as it did this last time I will not return. There are just too many good restaurants.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Walked out before service. Horrible experience with rude and uninterested server. Strange ambience in restaurant.
Went to another restaurant and had a wonderful dinner and experience.
Do not regret leaving for one second.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

J Liu is an excellent restaurant, but I was very disappointed on Easter Sunday! I had no idea it was buffet, which I am NOT a fan of. This type of menu should have been advised when making the reservation. The food was either cold or not there (empty pans) while going through the line. Also, the serving pans were so high that (shorter) people had trouble seeing what was in them. I don't mind paying more money for a good meal, but $29.95 per person was a bit outrageous for the type of food being served cafeteria style Not to mention the 20% gratuity that was automatically added to the bill. Paying that much for a tip when we had to serve ourselves was not acceptable! I brought my family for a wonderful Easter luncheon and ended up spending over $200.00!!!!! Never again...

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
36