About J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington

6880 North High Street
Worthington, OH 43085
View Larger Map

J. Liu Restaurant and Bar of Worthington offers superb culinary creations served within an eclectic setting. Refined and stylish yet relaxed and comfortable. The experienced staff is dedicated to exceeding the expectations of every guest. J. Liu is eager to work with you in every way possible to ensure a most memorable experience. Uncompromising quality, understated elegance, attention to detail, outstanding service and "Something Great For Everyone", only at J. Liu of Worthington!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm Sunday Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Bridge Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 888-1818

Website:
http://www.jliurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
J. Liu offers over 78 parking spaces 24 hours seven days a week on its private lot surrounding the building and toward the back of National City Bank. After 6 pm and all day on the weekends patrons may park at all surrounding lots including National City Bank, Primrose School, CF Bank, and across the street at Huntington Bank. J. Liu provides valet service complimentary for limited lunches and dinners

Executive Chef:
Steven Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
We have an amazing private ballroom with the capacity to seat 200+ guest. We also offer several other smaller options for groups from 25 up to 40. We offer a wide variety of options for your menu selection. Please call for availability for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Todd Brown or Rebekka Rebar: (614)888-1818

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Great for Brunch (24)
Good for Groups (21)
See All
Great for Lunch (20)
Romantic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Notable Wine List (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1090 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It gave us a great place to meet with a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It gave us a great place to meet with a old friend that hasn't been seen in many years. The food was great and it was quiet enough that we were not having to yell across the table so we had a great conversation. Our waiter was great and very helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only reason I didn't give the restau ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The only reason I didn't give the restaurant all 5 stars, is the fact that they were having issues with their electricity and the lighting was off again, on again. I didn't really mind, and we've been having weird weather, so maybe the work had to be done just then. Electricians are in demand, I know, and not cheap!

Food and service were lovely and I look forward to the next time I can enjoy them.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Hour in the bar was great - howeve ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Happy Hour in the bar was great - however they were understaffed. Dinner was excellent in the restaurant though our server was slow to refill water, remove plates, box leftovers and seemed focused on letting us know how hard she works.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Food just wasnt that good, calamari didn ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food just wasnt that good, calamari didnt taste fresh,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Ordered the Thai Shrimp Tacos and got th ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Ordered the Thai Shrimp Tacos and got the Fish Tacos. Ate them anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The buffet is an interesting mix of trad ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The buffet is an interesting mix of traditional brunch fare (prime rib, eggs, pancakes, etc) as well as some of the house Asian specialties, pastas and salads. A few of the items were a bit greasy or cold. Overall the selection and quality of the food is quite good. The mixed drink and wine menu is diverse. While a little pricey it is generally worth the bill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dinner at J Liu was just ok. The mussel ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Dinner at J Liu was just ok. The mussels were just ok. The salmon was just ok. The service was just ok. With so many great restaurants in Columbus to choose from, I don't see myself returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I have enjoyed this restaurant two times ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I have enjoyed this restaurant two times previously for dinner. I would recommend it for dinner. However, this occasion was brunch and I found much of the food unpalatable. Hot food wasn't hot and cold foods were not cold. Much was fried. Bacon and sausage were low quality. Roast beef was all cooked well done.

Overall, I was disappointed. I would not do brunch there again. It was yuck. I hosted a party of eight. My guests were polite about it but afterwards, my adult sons and my husband also shared my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We originally had a party of nine reserv ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We originally had a party of nine reserved, which changed to a party of 12 less than 24 hours before our reservation time at 6:00 p.m. We didn't have any problems with changing the reservation. The food was good, and we we seated in a separate area. My sister was visiting from out of town and my brother (lives in Columbus) suggested J. Liu's. We enjoyed the daily special at the bar. Great evening with family. Thank you, J. Liu's!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had a small business lunch/meeting at ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I had a small business lunch/meeting at J Liu's, my third in the past year. The staff, as always, was prompt and courteous, with just the right amount of attention to ensure our business conversation was not unnecessarily interrupted. I made reservations for 3 people late the night before via OpenTable and included a special request, which was met without reminder by me and reconfirmed upon my arrival. We were seated in a quiet area and when my colleagues arrived they were promptly directed to the table and well attended to. I only had coffee (which was fresh, flavorful and strong, but not bitter), however my colleagues ate and seemed to enjoy their meals. I find J. Liu's an excellent place to meet for business and plan to try their dinner offerings in the near future. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but the service was lousy even ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Good food but the service was lousy even though the restaurant was not busy. We ordered an appetizer and it was brought to our table without providing individual plates. Our server never came around to see if we needed anything. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent service and outdoor seating wa ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent service and outdoor seating was great. We all enjoyed our meals

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice dining experience. The right b ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Very nice dining experience. The right balance between quiet and "buzz". Love the outdoor dining options, weather permitting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I enjoyed the brunch but would like some ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I enjoyed the brunch but would like some more/different options. It's always the same stuff...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

We dined at J Lui's for the Mother's Day ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We dined at J Lui's for the Mother's Day Buffet and decided we would return for the Father's Day Buffet as well. The restaurant was not as crowded on Father's Day which made it more relaxing. The food was identical and was well prepared. Servers kept the main food containers fully stocked. They did have trouble having clean plates ready at the beginning of the buffet. The plates disappeared quickly so we had to stand and wait for more to be delivered a number of times. We tried their special order omelets this time and they were quite delicious. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed with the prime rib. There was too much fat on the slices we were given. The dessert table didn't seem to be a major focus like the rest of the food area because it really needed to be refreshed. Rachel, our server, was wonderful. She had so many tables she was responsible for inside the building and outside on the patio, and did an outstanding job. We will ask for her when we return to J Lui's for another dinner soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was not very attentive. Food was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Server was not very attentive. Food was ok, my husband liked his better than I liked mine. We asked our server for a wine list but he never brought it had to ask someone else for it. Got wine when our food was almost gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Not a place I would visit for brunch. No ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Not a place I would visit for brunch. Not a lot of breakfast food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Only slightly disappointed

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I had called in days before to arrange a birthday dessert be served after lunch. This was totally forgotten and dessert menus were handed out to everyone. Service was slow for it being early lunch time and not very busy. But the food was good as always.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Bar seemed a little slow, took awhile fo ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Bar seemed a little slow, took awhile for our drinks to arrive. Our soup also arrived after lengthy wait. Overall good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Had the Sunday bruch.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had the Sunday branch with 6 of us and we were all satisfied. It's a bit fancy but we were all comfortable. The service was great and the food was tasty. I would have liked to have mashed potatoes available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

So Fresh!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food is always fresh and tasty. I really enjoyed the brunch buffet, it was quiet, well-stocked, and the variety was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This was a first date with a lady that I wanted to impress. J Liu was exactly what I was looking for. I've been there many times and it always meets my expectations. The dinner was fantastic. Service was excellent. My only concern is that if full, it can get pretty loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing Mother's Day Buffet

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We frequent J. Liu and chose for Mother's Day celebration because of the high quality food and service. We were disappointed to realize that Mother's Day "Brunch" buffet was only option. I suppose I should have verified full menu would be available, however, in my opinion Mother's Day "Brunch" should end by 3pm and then regular menu for evening reservations. We had lovely time at theater, and were looking forward to good meal with our 6pm reservation.

The buffet was set up in bar area, on top of bar, which was too high for anyone under 5'5 (including my mother) to actually visualize the food items. The food itself looked and tasted like it had been sitting out since 11am "brunch".

We'll likely go back, but sincerely hope the management reconsiders how/when they serve brunch on such important occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Horrible Mother's Day experience

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I booked our reservation for 5:30 in the evening on Mothers Day. Nowhere on their website did it say that would only be serving a buffet that day. We had chosen this restaurant for their menu, so this was a huge disappointment. Upon arriving we were taken to the outside patio and just left there with no explanation from the hostess as to where to sit or that it was only a buffet. It was only 60 degrees that day and we had an infant and a toddler with us. We had to demand to be seated inside and after some hemming and hawing she finally sat us inside. The food was extremely poor quality for the over $30/person price. It was a random mixture of brunch food and Asian style food, all of which was mediocre at best and picked over by the time we got there. We prefer quality food over quantity so we definitely did not get our money's worth. I had never been to this restaurant before and I will never go again. never have I felt less special on Mother's Day than at this restaurant. Columbus has much better quality restaurants for much better prices. Don't waste your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

My family and I were seated outside and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My family and I were seated outside and we were assured that we would be comfortable there. We were the only patrons seated in that area. That should have told me that the situation was not good.

As the meal progressed the wind picked up and the temperature continued to drop.

Immediately after eating I asked for the check so that we could get to a warm place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Carving table could have been managed be ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Carving table could have been managed better. Overall food quality was really good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service is my top priority followed by t ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service is my top priority followed by the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very noisy place

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very noisy place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

This was a Mother's Day buffet. Most of ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

This was a Mother's Day buffet. Most of the trays of food were empty and appeared to have been sitting around the bar for an extended period of time. Food was scattered all over the bar. I just couldn't believe it. We were there for over an hour, and virtually no one touched the food bar. No attempt to clean it up, restock it, or in anyway improve things. Our families will never return to this restaurant. Do they not have a competent manager?So disappointing. We could've gone to J, Gilbert's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Poor Service from start to finish

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The service started out bad and remained consistently bad throughout the meal. The food was ok, not very good but not so bad that we sent it back. We pressed our luck and had dessert. The cheesecake was mushy like it had been defrosted in a microwave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Birthday Brunch

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

All the service at J. Liu's was great. We enjoyed the food and selections. It was relaxing and kid friendly. Our server was outstanding and attentive. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was rude to all of us. Short tem ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Server was rude to all of us. Short tempered, felt we were rushing her, and generally not very responsive. Gale was her name.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Brunch

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I have to say I was disappointed in the brunch this time. This is always been my favorite restaurant. I have taken many many people there for special occasions.

Food was OK. I didn't think it was exceptional. It didn't have the same variety that I recall it's had in the past.

It lacked that extra something that it typically has.

I really miss the music.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Asian fusion fare was delicious, but eve ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Asian fusion fare was delicious, but everything very salty. Nice atmosphere, comfortable seating. Very good, diverse wine list. Reasonable prices. Excellent service. I can recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Really mediocre food. We probably won't ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Really mediocre food. We probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great food, horrible service.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The restaurant was not that busy that evening but we had reservations just in case. After being seated for nearly 10 minutes (with no water or bread) our server came to the table and apologized for being late, no big deal. At that time we were ready to order but she only took our drink orders and disappeared again. Our drinks took a while to come out, and when she finally returned with them we inquired about the bread that other tables had received and she shad "oh I could get you some, some people don't like it so I just wait to see if they ask"....definitely not a standard practice at restaurants I have been to before. Then she left to get the bread before taking or order, we even tried to call her back so that we could get our food put in. It was like she could only focus on one thing at a time. Finally we ordered and the food came out and was delicious! Trying to get our bill and then subsequently paying was equally long and frustrating. The whole dinner took close to 2 hours, which was just way too long when the food was quick to arrive.

We love J. Liu and their food but hope this was a one time problem, we will definitely give them another chance because the food and atmosphere is that good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Easter Buffet

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The size of the Worthington location is larger than the Dublin location. As far as buffet's go, we have had better food at other buffet's and at a better cost. It was a learning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We went for Easter brunch and were not d ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for Easter brunch and were not disappointed! Best Easter brunch I have had, a great variety with more than just the same old standbys and the dessert bar was phenomenal. Our service was excellent too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

J Liu presented a fantastic Easter Buffe ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

J Liu presented a fantastic Easter Buffet! We thoroughly enjoyed everything about the whole event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here for their Easter buffet. T ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We dined here for their Easter buffet. There was a great selection and everything was good. Pretty tough to get good eggs Benedict on a buffet, but the knocked it out of the park. We had not been there prior to the buffet, but will return for dinner sometime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.