Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

About J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington

J. Liu Restaurant and Bar of Worthington offers superb culinary creations served within an eclectic setting. Refined and stylish yet relaxed and comfortable. The experienced staff is dedicated to exceeding the expectations of every guest. J. Liu is eager to work with you in every way possible to ensure a most memorable experience. Uncompromising quality, understated elegance, attention to detail, outstanding service and "Something Great For Everyone", only at J. Liu of Worthington!

6880 North High Street
Worthington, OH 43085
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm Sunday Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Bridge Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 888-1818

Website:
http://www.jliurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
J. Liu offers over 78 parking spaces 24 hours seven days a week on its private lot surrounding the building and toward the back of National City Bank. After 6 pm and all day on the weekends patrons may park at all surrounding lots including National City Bank, Primrose School, CF Bank, and across the street at Huntington Bank. J. Liu provides valet service complimentary for limited lunches and dinners

Executive Chef:
Steven Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
We have an amazing private ballroom with the capacity to seat 200+ guest. We also offer several other smaller options for groups from 25 up to 40. We offer a wide variety of options for your menu selection. Please call for availability for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Todd Brown or Rebekka Rebar: (614) 888-1818

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Business Meals (7)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Fun (4)
Romantic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Healthy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort by
S
1283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is good. No complaints. We sat at the bar. The service was wonderful!! You couldn't ask for a better bartender/server.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was served in a timely manner and was hot and tasty. Server was excellent and was very attentive. Recommend reservations.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Our food was delicious. There was a wedding upstairs so the noise level was a bit bothersome. It was busier than usual so service was pretty rushed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

One of the specials was pork shank. I ordered it and it was fantastic!!! My friend ordered Chicken Milanese and said it was outstanding as well. Our waitress was pleasant and unobtrusive. A wonderful dining experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Love this place for brunch but dinner was amazing, too! Highly recommend.....yummy Asian AND Italian.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 8, 2017

J Liu is a restaurant I am comfortable to suggest for an occasion. The food is good and meets diverse tastes, the location and parking are easy to navigate and the layout and design are inviting and spacious. Always trustworthy!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Everything was really good. Tried the fried brie for an app - very delicious but not enough to share with our 3 other guests. Meals were all delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Excellent, as usual. While the bar area is loud and fun, the restaurant area is quiet and cozy. Great attention from staff. Tables were filled with quiet, upscale diners, providing a perfect ambiance for a Sunday night dinner out (the bar area was still hopping). Food was great -- combo fried rice (enough for two or three more meals) and Jason's Spicy Chicken (again, enough for take-home). We will definitely go back and take guests -- we love this place!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Planned on having an early lunch with our son before heading back to Northern Ohio, but we couldn't order anything off the menu because it was Sunday and all they served was the "brunch". The food was adequate, nothing to write home about. Not sure I would go here again for the brunch. Would prefer to have ordered off the menu. Our server was very prompt and filled our drink orders quickly. She also cleared the table of any and all dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2017

I wanted to show my appreciation to my dog-sitting neighbors for all the help they have given me. I suggested dinner out someplace, and thought of J. Liu's. I had been there before, but they had not been. As I expected, we had a great dining experience. We had good food and a wonderful waitress. We were not rushed in any way and were treated very well. My friends remarked on the ambiance and decor. We had a wonderful time, and my friends thanked me for picking such a nice place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Service was poor and food was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Bar area was a little noisy but you could carry on conversation in dining room. Good for special occasion or date night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were married at J.Liu in 2014 and enjoy coming back for our anniversary! We live in New Albany but don't mind the drive and look forward to coming back! Max our server was great! Food was amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food and service was great!
We should have had a table. Was in large circular booth which was hard to get in and out for the buffet.

Don't remember if I had a choice of table when I made reservations on-line.

Thank you for asking!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Parmesan crusted snapper was delicious. Lobster bisque is always amazing. Bar was very noisy, but far enough away from our table that we could still chat. Old Fashioned was on point. Lovely dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Good range of selections. Helpful server. Food tasty and good sized servings. Staff helpful matching people coming for business lunches. Overall a good lunch spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Good and service was great. However, the restaurant was empty and the hostess squeezed our group of 5 people at a 4 top by sticking a chair at the end. It was very tight. I even asked the hostess to push two tables together to make us more comfortable and her reply was "No. we have tables of four and six. You have 5 so we will sit this way." I'll add when we left the restaurant was still empty, I saw maybe 4 tables with people and none were even close to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Staff were friendly and hospitable. Food was delicious. Food portions were large, so looking forward to leftovers tomorrow. Good wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2017

First time at J Liu and will definitely go back! Wonderful food and atmosphere. Never felt rushed and were able to enjoy a great evening celebrating.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 22, 2017

I've been to J Liu several times and was very happy, but this was not a good experience at all. The drinks tasted like pure vodka and the service was very slow. The restaurant wasn't packed for a Saturday night, so I don't know what was going on but I was very unsatisfied. My parents were in town, so I took them and it was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This place has average food, and ous not kept clean. You can look up and see years of dust on the open ceiling heat work, you will also find dust on the detail ledge in the booth. We went to the Sunday buffet, food was ok - carving station roast exremely tough, most was warm at best. Also, check the plate you pick - something black on them that can easily be scrapped of with a fingernail, found it on buffet and desert plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great service and food. Restaurant furnishings are a bit worn- could use some updating.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter brunch and my father's 70th birthday. This is one of our favorite restaurants and I'm sad to hear that they are no longer going to be on OpenTable! Seems like all of our favorite restaurants are leaving OT.

The restaurant was very hot today. They need to cool it down before they open so that people are comfortable. Making excuses that the heat from the buffet is the problem is a little off-putting (someone just didn't turn the air down to 60° so that it stayed cool in there all afternoon). It's spring! It's getting warm!

Other than that the food was really good and we always have a good server.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent time! We met for a women's luncheon and had a great server. Such a sweet time. Our server had the perfect amount of interaction. I had food restrictions and they perfectly met my needs. Very well pleased.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 27, 2017

J. Liu never disappoints. The food is always awesome and the staff is very pleasant. Menu choices are enough to please anyone. This is my go-to for out of town guests; they always love it and you will, too.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service was good but food was not up to usual standard. It was a Sunday
night but not busy in dining room. My flatbread had too much cheese, another
dinner of Tuna tartar was way overcooked. And not enough dressing on
any of the salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is the second time we ate here and we were not disappointed​. Food was very good and the service was prompt. Will be eating here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our go to place for Sunday brunch. Always a great selection of varied options for breakfast, lunch, dessert. Trays are always full and hot, love the mix of Italian, Oriental, and American dishes, several salads to choose from, and a delicious dessert table. We sit around and visit and never feel rushed. Our coffee cups and water glasses are kept full and our servers are always attentive without hovering. Our reservation is always honored on time. The dining room is nicely decorated and while there is usually a crowd we never feel crowded. Good parking.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always wanted to try this place and glad we did! It has become a regular for my husband as he picks up to go orders at least 1-2 times a month! Service and food are great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Requested a booth on Open Table, got seated in the bar next to the wine. Interrupted 3x by servers looking for wine behind our seats. Ordered risotto with scallops. Risotto great, scallops not hot and very boring. Wife's spicy chicken very good. Bartender/server excellent. Previous visit in December the salad came after the entrees arrived. Two unimpressive visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Grren beans with shrimp delicious . Love crabcake on salad too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was very good; food was great, good wine selections.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good food but not worth the price. Our server forgot about us. We waited 20 minutes for her then sent someone to get her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Arrived early to meet friends for a pre dinner cocktail, reservations @ 6:30, we went to the desk about 6:40 and seated promptly. Bree was our server, very upbeat young woman. Pleased with her level of interaction and service. My steak (hangar) was medium, when I had requested medium rare; it was still moist and flavorful. The dish didn't come with a vegetable & I wish she would have pointed that out so I could have ordered a side. 2 people ordered the salmon oscar (that nights special) and loved it. The Pear-fection cocktail was perfect.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This Place is great! This is our go-to location when nobody can agree on what they are in the mood for. The menu offers a little of everything. The meals are always consistent and delicious with every visit. The staff is always cheerful and responsive. The atmosphere is vibrant but by no means overbearing. We've had quite a few large gatherings here and they consistently deliver excellent quality and service at a very great price!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, Organic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was the worst Sunday brunch I have ever been to. Our reservations were at 12:30. There were empty pans and pans with just 1 or 2 items in them. The food was overcooked and dry - the potatoes were hard as rocks, the Eggs Benedict was hard, the ravioli had barely a drop of sauce on the entire panful. The dessert station had empty trays or just 1 or 2 on a tray. No one was attending to these stations. Then the bathroom - my shoes were sticking to the floor. I don't know why this restaurant is always crowded - I spent a lot of money on a dismal meal. I will never go back and neither will the friends I was with or anyone we know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our server was very good but my chicken Milanese was very tough to the point where I was concerned that it was not cooked enough. The waiter offered a new dish or dessert, but I had lost my appetite. I do like the atmosphere and have gone to their brunch several times, which is also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was just okay, nothing to write home about. Our seating was too close to the lobby which is on the other side of the bar. It was very loud. Our server Mandy was the jewel in our visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Local favorite. Good service. Great drink selection.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food.
Nice menu.
Great drinks.
Great service.
Easy parking (free!!).
Dated ambiance -needs updated.
Definitely recommend to others.
Definitely return in the future.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.