About J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington

6880 North High Street
Worthington, OH 43085
View Larger Map

J. Liu Restaurant and Bar of Worthington offers superb culinary creations served within an eclectic setting. Refined and stylish yet relaxed and comfortable. The experienced staff is dedicated to exceeding the expectations of every guest. J. Liu is eager to work with you in every way possible to ensure a most memorable experience. Uncompromising quality, understated elegance, attention to detail, outstanding service and "Something Great For Everyone", only at J. Liu of Worthington!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm Sunday Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Bridge Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 888-1818

Website:
http://www.jliurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
J. Liu offers over 78 parking spaces 24 hours seven days a week on its private lot surrounding the building and toward the back of National City Bank. After 6 pm and all day on the weekends patrons may park at all surrounding lots including National City Bank, Primrose School, CF Bank, and across the street at Huntington Bank. J. Liu provides valet service complimentary for limited lunches and dinners

Executive Chef:
Steven Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
We have an amazing private ballroom with the capacity to seat 200+ guest. We also offer several other smaller options for groups from 25 up to 40. We offer a wide variety of options for your menu selection. Please call for availability for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Todd Brown or Rebekka Rebar: (614)888-1818

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Romantic (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Private Room (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I asked for a table with my reservation ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

I asked for a table with my reservation and we were seated in the bar area and there were t.v.'s and noise. Would have preferred a quieter environment, but we had an overall positive experience. Food was delicious and more than enough for two meals!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The pork shank I had and the twin medall ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

The pork shank I had and the twin medallions my wife had were both delicious. Terrific service and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely birthday dinner at J. Liu's - app ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely birthday dinner at J. Liu's - appetizers were great, hot and served in a reasonable amount of time. Each guest enjoyed their dinner. Thank you for taking care of us on a special evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We keep going back hoping it will be gre ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

We keep going back hoping it will be great like it used to be, but keep being disappointed. Service wasn't great, took forever to get bread after waiter asked if we wanted any. We finished our soups before bread arrived. My pesto chicken was dry and my daughters fries were limp and greasy.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Waitress did a great job!! Food was good ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Waitress did a great job!!

Food was good! The wraps were a little messy to eat but good!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved the atmosphere. I definitely wil ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I loved the atmosphere. I definitely will be returning.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Service. Great way to ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent Food and Service. Great way to spend an evening out with some friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time , disappointed that we were p ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time , disappointed that we were placed in bar area for dinner. Having the TV's there was a distraction for a fine dining experience. Good food and service though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food and service. Overpriced f ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good food and service. Overpriced for what you get. Drinks are over the top expensive. Just don't understand it. Would recommend for special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Good atmospheric great service.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good atmospheric great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat in the lively bar area. Service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Sat in the lively bar area. Service was friendly. Interesting selection of beers on tap and decent wines by the glass.

Appetizers were great! Spring rolls, fried Brie, blue cheese chips were all delicious. Pot stickers were good. Main courses - we got salads and burgers - were all pretty average. Overall enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was fabulous, as always!

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything was fabulous, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered the lobster bisque soup and it ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I ordered the lobster bisque soup and it was great. My entrée was the salmon and it was equally great. Our server was both pleasant and professional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is tired and more incongruent t ...

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food is tired and more incongruent than fusion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was excellent. Three people or ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was excellent. Three people ordered lemon with their water. One person ordered coffee with cream. When the server brought the drinks, he needed a reminder that lemon and cream were part of the request. He returned with a bowl of lemons and informed us that the cream was in the basement and he would go and get it. Several minutes passed, we saw him wait on other tables and then another wait staff person carried a bucket of creamers past our table. Later, our server brought TWO creamers to the table and handed them to the person drinking her now cold coffee. He did "warm up" her cup.

Seemed very odd to all of us.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had reservations for Christmas Eve. ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had reservations for Christmas Eve. It was very crowded when we arrived and it took a while to be taken to our table. We were given a table upstairs in their party room that has zero ambience. Very disappointing . Food and service were okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Very disappointed. Have gone there every ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very disappointed. Have gone there every year for Christmas Eve. Very slow and unorganized service. Also, the spicy chicken is prepared with dark meat now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

THe food was great as always, but the wa ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 23, 2016

THe food was great as always, but the wait staff is GREAT!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to J Liu several times (Wor ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We have been to J Liu several times (Worthington as well as Dublin locations). Food is ALWAYS good and the atmosphere is even better. I was a bit disappointed in my meal this last time (Risotto with Scallops). I've had Risotto many times from various restaurants ; this time at J Liu it was a bit chewier than usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service was poor. We were sat at our ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our service was poor. We were sat at our table without menus and we waited for about 10 minutes before we got them. The restaurant wasn't busy but our waitress was slow, she didn't know the menu and she was a little spacey. Food was great. It always is!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Often dine at Jliu for many years unfort ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Often dine at Jliu for many years unfortunately this visit was not good. The hostess ignored us and was unattentive eventhough lobby was not busy. One in our party's dish was bland...and I made a request for "white chicken breast" in my asian dish and my waittress brought it with "dark" meat and I had to send it back...so disappointed this time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Our food was amazing and our severe was ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our food was amazing and our severe was 5 star!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Arrived on time for 6:30 reservation and ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Arrived on time for 6:30 reservation and was seated 30-40 minutes later. They tried to squeeze six of us into a small table in the bar area. Ten minutes later they squeezed us into a slightly bigger table in dining area. J Liu's was our favorite restaurant in W'Ton. Not any more. Too many other good restaurants just down the road.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Only problem with this Jliu's is parking ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Only problem with this Jliu's is parking is limited. Also they need more valets. Other than that we enjoyed the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always wonderful. We had a r ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food is always wonderful. We had a reservation for 10 PM after a concert, and they were really nice and kept the kitchen open even though we were running a little late. We were the only people in there and probably the last people out, but they gave us the wonderful service that they always do. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Horrible service- we ate dinner with our ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Horrible service- we ate dinner with our dirty appetizer plates and empty soup bowls still on the table. The food was too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The server did a good job but the kitche ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The server did a good job but the kitchen delivered the entrees before we received our salad. He said things were chaotic in the kitchen and didn't seem to know what to do. So we told him to cancel the salad. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The food was excellent. The wine select ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food was excellent. The wine selection was good and there was a nice variety of beers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Atmosphere very pleasing and the food wa ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Atmosphere very pleasing and the food was delicious!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Only slightly above average on everythin ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Only slightly above average on everything, food, service, price and ambiance.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Beautiful restaurant, menu was varied an ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, menu was varied and looked very inviting. My wife and I were out on a date which we don't get many of as we have a two year old, and were excited to eat here. I got the steak and frites and ordered my steak medium. When the runner brought my food out my steak was completely burnt. I told my runner that this steak was supposed to be medium and he asked "Well do you want me to take it back?" To which I replied yes please. Our waitress (who wasn't very attentive) came by and noticed I didn't have my steak and mentioned that something was missing. I said yes, my steak was totally burnt, I sent it back. She said she would check on it and I never saw her until it came time to ask about dessert. The runner brought my steak out and this time it was almost raw, let alone "medium" and they didn't even bother letting it rest on another plate before putting it on my plate letting all the juices soak my French fries making them soggy. I didn't even bother mentioning it to our waitress as she was barely at our table and because I didn't feel like waiting as my wife's food was getting cold because she was waiting on me to eat. Overall I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone else. Was very disappointed as we don't get out often like I mentioned previously. The menu looked great but I doubt I'll be back to try anything else.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Nice spot for our Friday night out. We e ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Nice spot for our Friday night out. We enjoyed the pork shank dinner and scallop risotto, and especially the pumpkin soup. We'll try the happy hour at some point.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was served hot; my husband's dr ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was served hot; my husband's drink was not prepared properly but we didn't complain. As we were seated, I noticed that the booth upholstery was torn. Maybe an update is in order? We had not visited J. Lius recently and probably will not for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

It was a nice place with great ambience ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was a nice place with great ambience which I love, but it was EMPTY for a Friday on a holiday weekend. Large party of 8 to have a holiday dinner. Everyone was provided a glass of water. Lots of bread plates on the table but they did not serve bread. We normally would order an appetizer, but the menu was sparse there.

The server was friendly, but never took a drink order. I had to ask for iced tea and even then never asked anyone if they wanted a drink. Then I still had not gotten my iced tea and I had to remind her on the iced teas after 15-20 minutes. I ordered the risotto which came with 3 scallops. It was good but I wouldn't order it again, scallops were a bit salty and fishy. The only person who was wowed by their meal ordered the Harvest Chicken Salad, it did look great. At the end of the meal she was ready to deliver the bill, but hadnt asked if we wanted to see a dessert menu. Again, we asked to see the menu and ordered desserts. The flourless cake was ok and the buckeye mousse did not impress, but the apple crisp was awesome.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was terrible, not hot enough, bland ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was terrible, not hot enough, bland tasting and they ran out of plates and silverware

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Went for Thanksiving dinner. They had a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksiving dinner. They had a good variety of traditional fair plus some oriental options.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Place looks a little worn and dated. Ups ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Place looks a little worn and dated. Upstairs could use a new rug or good cleaning. Seating downstairs in the back by the elevator leaves little to be desired and takes away from the ambiance. Especially with a big screen TV present. Not impressed.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great food, nice staff. Great value!!! ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food, nice staff. Great value!!! We come here for special occasions because of the diverse and yummy menu .

Tags: , Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, and we will probably ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The food was great, and we will probably go back, but we didn't really think the service was great. We wrote on our reservation for Open Table that we got engaged that day, and no one congratulated us. It's not that we were expecting complimentary this, that, and the other. It would just have been nice to have someone say they were happy we chose to celebrate with J. Liu. The server hardly checked on us and didn't refill the waters till the meal was over. Food was outstanding, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food good but waitress not great. Brough ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food good but waitress not great. Brought wrong dinner dish and didn't bring salad until dinner came we sent it back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.