About J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington

6880 North High Street
Worthington, OH 43085
View Larger Map

J. Liu Restaurant and Bar of Worthington offers superb culinary creations served within an eclectic setting. Refined and stylish yet relaxed and comfortable. The experienced staff is dedicated to exceeding the expectations of every guest. J. Liu is eager to work with you in every way possible to ensure a most memorable experience. Uncompromising quality, understated elegance, attention to detail, outstanding service and "Something Great For Everyone", only at J. Liu of Worthington!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm Sunday Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Bridge Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 888-1818

Website:
http://www.jliurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
J. Liu offers over 78 parking spaces 24 hours seven days a week on its private lot surrounding the building and toward the back of National City Bank. After 6 pm and all day on the weekends patrons may park at all surrounding lots including National City Bank, Primrose School, CF Bank, and across the street at Huntington Bank. J. Liu provides valet service complimentary for limited lunches and dinners

Executive Chef:
Steven Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
We have an amazing private ballroom with the capacity to seat 200+ guest. We also offer several other smaller options for groups from 25 up to 40. We offer a wide variety of options for your menu selection. Please call for availability for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Todd Brown or Rebekka Rebar: (614)888-1818

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (42)
good for groups (38)
great for brunch (29)
See All
fit for foodies (25)
neighborhood gem (23)
great for lunch (22)
romantic (19)
vibrant bar scene (9)
notable wine list (9)
kid-friendly (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1078 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice dining experience. The right b ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Very nice dining experience. The right balance between quiet and "buzz". Love the outdoor dining options, weather permitting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

I enjoyed the brunch but would like some ...

Dined 6 days ago

I enjoyed the brunch but would like some more/different options. It's always the same stuff...

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined at J Lui's for the Mother's Day ...

Dined 6 days ago

We dined at J Lui's for the Mother's Day Buffet and decided we would return for the Father's Day Buffet as well. The restaurant was not as crowded on Father's Day which made it more relaxing. The food was identical and was well prepared. Servers kept the main food containers fully stocked. They did have trouble having clean plates ready at the beginning of the buffet. The plates disappeared quickly so we had to stand and wait for more to be delivered a number of times. We tried their special order omelets this time and they were quite delicious. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed with the prime rib. There was too much fat on the slices we were given. The dessert table didn't seem to be a major focus like the rest of the food area because it really needed to be refreshed. Rachel, our server, was wonderful. She had so many tables she was responsible for inside the building and outside on the patio, and did an outstanding job. We will ask for her when we return to J Lui's for another dinner soon.

food3
ambience4
service2

Server was not very attentive. Food was ...

Dined 7 days ago

Server was not very attentive. Food was ok, my husband liked his better than I liked mine. We asked our server for a wine list but he never brought it had to ask someone else for it. Got wine when our food was almost gone.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not a place I would visit for brunch. No ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Not a place I would visit for brunch. Not a lot of breakfast food.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Only slightly disappointed

Dined on June 9, 2016

I had called in days before to arrange a birthday dessert be served after lunch. This was totally forgotten and dessert menus were handed out to everyone. Service was slow for it being early lunch time and not very busy. But the food was good as always.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2

Bar seemed a little slow, took awhile fo ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Bar seemed a little slow, took awhile for our drinks to arrive. Our soup also arrived after lengthy wait. Overall good.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Had the Sunday bruch.

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had the Sunday branch with 6 of us and we were all satisfied. It's a bit fancy but we were all comfortable. The service was great and the food was tasty. I would have liked to have mashed potatoes available.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So Fresh!

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food is always fresh and tasty. I really enjoyed the brunch buffet, it was quiet, well-stocked, and the variety was excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was a first date with a lady that I wanted to impress. J Liu was exactly what I was looking for. I've been there many times and it always meets my expectations. The dinner was fantastic. Service was excellent. My only concern is that if full, it can get pretty loud.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Disappointing Mother's Day Buffet

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We frequent J. Liu and chose for Mother's Day celebration because of the high quality food and service. We were disappointed to realize that Mother's Day "Brunch" buffet was only option. I suppose I should have verified full menu would be available, however, in my opinion Mother's Day "Brunch" should end by 3pm and then regular menu for evening reservations. We had lovely time at theater, and were looking forward to good meal with our 6pm reservation. The buffet was set up in bar area, on top of bar, which was too high for anyone under 5'5 (including my mother) to actually visualize the food items. The food itself looked and tasted like it had been sitting out since 11am "brunch". We'll likely go back, but sincerely hope the management reconsiders how/when they serve brunch on such important occasions.

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Horrible Mother's Day experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

I booked our reservation for 5:30 in the evening on Mothers Day. Nowhere on their website did it say that would only be serving a buffet that day. We had chosen this restaurant for their menu, so this was a huge disappointment. Upon arriving we were taken to the outside patio and just left there with no explanation from the hostess as to where to sit or that it was only a buffet. It was only 60 degrees that day and we had an infant and a toddler with us. We had to demand to be seated inside and after some hemming and hawing she finally sat us inside. The food was extremely poor quality for the over $30/person price. It was a random mixture of brunch food and Asian style food, all of which was mediocre at best and picked over by the time we got there. We prefer quality food over quantity so we definitely did not get our money's worth. I had never been to this restaurant before and I will never go again. never have I felt less special on Mother's Day than at this restaurant. Columbus has much better quality restaurants for much better prices. Don't waste your money.

food5
ambience3
service4

My family and I were seated outside and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My family and I were seated outside and we were assured that we would be comfortable there. We were the only patrons seated in that area. That should have told me that the situation was not good. As the meal progressed the wind picked up and the temperature continued to drop. Immediately after eating I asked for the check so that we could get to a warm place.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Carving table could have been managed be ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Carving table could have been managed better. Overall food quality was really good.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service4

Service is my top priority followed by t ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Service is my top priority followed by the food.

food2
ambience1
service3

Very noisy place

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very noisy place

food1
ambience1
service3

This was a Mother's Day buffet. Most of ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

This was a Mother's Day buffet. Most of the trays of food were empty and appeared to have been sitting around the bar for an extended period of time. Food was scattered all over the bar. I just couldn't believe it. We were there for over an hour, and virtually no one touched the food bar. No attempt to clean it up, restock it, or in anyway improve things. Our families will never return to this restaurant. Do they not have a competent manager?So disappointing. We could've gone to J, Gilbert's!

food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Poor Service from start to finish

Dined on May 1, 2016

The service started out bad and remained consistently bad throughout the meal. The food was ok, not very good but not so bad that we sent it back. We pressed our luck and had dessert. The cheesecake was mushy like it had been defrosted in a microwave.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

All the service at J. Liu's was great. We enjoyed the food and selections. It was relaxing and kid friendly. Our server was outstanding and attentive. We will be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Server was rude to all of us. Short tem ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Server was rude to all of us. Short tempered, felt we were rushing her, and generally not very responsive. Gale was her name.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have to say I was disappointed in the brunch this time. This is always been my favorite restaurant. I have taken many many people there for special occasions. Food was OK. I didn't think it was exceptional. It didn't have the same variety that I recall it's had in the past. It lacked that extra something that it typically has. I really miss the music.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Asian fusion fare was delicious, but eve ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Asian fusion fare was delicious, but everything very salty. Nice atmosphere, comfortable seating. Very good, diverse wine list. Reasonable prices. Excellent service. I can recommend.

food2
ambience3
service2

Really mediocre food. We probably won't ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Really mediocre food. We probably won't go back.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food, horrible service.

Dined on April 15, 2016

The restaurant was not that busy that evening but we had reservations just in case. After being seated for nearly 10 minutes (with no water or bread) our server came to the table and apologized for being late, no big deal. At that time we were ready to order but she only took our drink orders and disappeared again. Our drinks took a while to come out, and when she finally returned with them we inquired about the bread that other tables had received and she shad "oh I could get you some, some people don't like it so I just wait to see if they ask"....definitely not a standard practice at restaurants I have been to before. Then she left to get the bread before taking or order, we even tried to call her back so that we could get our food put in. It was like she could only focus on one thing at a time. Finally we ordered and the food came out and was delicious! Trying to get our bill and then subsequently paying was equally long and frustrating. The whole dinner took close to 2 hours, which was just way too long when the food was quick to arrive. We love J. Liu and their food but hope this was a one time problem, we will definitely give them another chance because the food and atmosphere is that good!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Easter Buffet

Dined on March 27, 2016

The size of the Worthington location is larger than the Dublin location. As far as buffet's go, we have had better food at other buffet's and at a better cost. It was a learning experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

We went for Easter brunch and were not d ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for Easter brunch and were not disappointed! Best Easter brunch I have had, a great variety with more than just the same old standbys and the dessert bar was phenomenal. Our service was excellent too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J Liu presented a fantastic Easter Buffe ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

J Liu presented a fantastic Easter Buffet! We thoroughly enjoyed everything about the whole event.

food4
ambience4
service5

We dined here for their Easter buffet. T ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We dined here for their Easter buffet. There was a great selection and everything was good. Pretty tough to get good eggs Benedict on a buffet, but the knocked it out of the park. We had not been there prior to the buffet, but will return for dinner sometime.

food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable Brunch!! Would have given i ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Unbelievable Brunch!! Would have given it 10 stars! The gentleman who served us was great. Didn't have to ask for water, coffee or tea refills.........he was always there when it needed to be taken care of.

food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance is pretty great. It definitely ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Ambiance is pretty great. It definitely comes across as a social place to enjoy dood with friends and family.

food5
ambience3
service5

Just a little noisy for holding a casual ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Just a little noisy for holding a casual conversation with an older friend. Other than that a very good experience.

food1
ambience4
service2
value3

Bad sesame chicken

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

I'm normally not one to complain, however, I did complain about receiving the worst sesame chicken meal that I have had in many years to our waitress and the manager and was still not satisfied. The waitress just shrugged off my comment so I went to the manager with my complaint. He indicated that he has had the same negative review from other customers and would pass on my information to the executive chef who walked by us and ignored me. The manager indicated that they had a change of chicken suppliers and were not happy either. Why would you serve poor chicken to your customers? I watched the table next to me only eat a third of their sesame chicken. I will not go back for a very long time. If they do not respect me as a customer I will not respect them as a eating establishment.There are too many good choices in Columbus for my dining dollars.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner was average. Salad was good; entr ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Dinner was average. Salad was good; entree seemed to be a processed chicken breast as opposed to fresh.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was great, but they were not busy, ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Food was great, but they were not busy, but seemed to take a long time for everything. Was not offered any bread or dessert without us first asking for it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

My wife came away from the restaurant wi ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife came away from the restaurant with food poisoning. She had the risotto . The Porkchop was just OK, there was not a whole lot of flavor.

food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Visited J.Liu for Valentine's Day. They ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Visited J.Liu for Valentine's Day. They were running a much smaller compressed menu which cut out many of the best options. We asked about ordering from the standard menu and were told that was not an option. Our food came out of the kitchen so quickly it was clear that it had been batch made and quickly plated and pushed out. What should have been a romantic evening felt like a race. We were in and out with drinks, dinner, and dessert in less than 40 minutes.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

GOOD FOOD... GREAT SERVICE!

Dined on February 13, 2016

THE FOOD I HAD ON MY LAST VISIT WAS GOOD... I HAVE BEEN HERE A FEW TIMES NOW, AND I DID NOT LEAVE DISAPPOINTED. ALSO, THE STAFF WAS GREAT AS ALWAYS! OUR SERVER WAS JORDAN... WE HAVE HAD HIM BEFORE AND THINK HE DOES A GREAT JOB!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Would have been nice to know that the me ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Would have been nice to know that the menu was condensed down for Valentines Day

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch

Dined on February 7, 2016

Sunday brunch was very good and a great value. Will return.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food and great service! We will def ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Good food and great service! We will definitely return.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.