About J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington

6880 North High Street
Worthington, OH 43085
View Larger Map

J. Liu Restaurant and Bar of Worthington offers superb culinary creations served within an eclectic setting. Refined and stylish yet relaxed and comfortable. The experienced staff is dedicated to exceeding the expectations of every guest. J. Liu is eager to work with you in every way possible to ensure a most memorable experience. Uncompromising quality, understated elegance, attention to detail, outstanding service and "Something Great For Everyone", only at J. Liu of Worthington!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm Sunday Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Bridge Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 888-1818

Website:
http://www.jliurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
J. Liu offers over 78 parking spaces 24 hours seven days a week on its private lot surrounding the building and toward the back of National City Bank. After 6 pm and all day on the weekends patrons may park at all surrounding lots including National City Bank, Primrose School, CF Bank, and across the street at Huntington Bank. J. Liu provides valet service complimentary for limited lunches and dinners

Executive Chef:
Steven Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
We have an amazing private ballroom with the capacity to seat 200+ guest. We also offer several other smaller options for groups from 25 up to 40. We offer a wide variety of options for your menu selection. Please call for availability for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Todd Brown or Rebekka Rebar: (614)888-1818

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
See All
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Casual (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It may be a while before we return to J ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It may be a while before we return to J Liu's. My wife and I were in the mood for a Sunday brunch and arrived at noon. We found the service a little odd and inexperienced. The amount of buffet choices were less than our last visit and were not refreshed very quickly. Many of the items seemed like they had been sitting and beyond prime. Once again, we arrived at noon for brunch. We have had good experiences at this restaurant in the past, but not this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a great time! Service was except ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a great time! Service was exceptional -- going back to try the menu. We had the brunch

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We got there on time and were taken to o ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We got there on time and were taken to our table and waited and waited and waited. The hostess came back and gave us glasses of water and we waited and waited and you guessed it, we waited longer for a server. I was ready to walk out. Our waiter arrived, Jonathan and he was soft spoken but nice.

We ordered and waited an inordinate length of time for our dinners. There was definitely something wrong at the restaurant. My salmon salad was great. He said his tilapia was good. He had the lobster bisque and was not thrilled with it.

We were celebrating a birthday and Jonathan brought a beautiful desert with a candle and champagne.

Jonathan's service was 100 percent. I'd give him a 5 star but the wait for a server and for our food was ridiculously poor service from the restaurant. We've been to J. Liu before and always had great service and great food.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

J Liu is a favorite of ours. But we had ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

J Liu is a favorite of ours. But we had the worst service we have ever experienced. We were

on the patio, Wed. evening--not busy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The website pictures looked nothing like ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The website pictures looked nothing like the actual restaurant. The carpeting before even entering the main doors looked old, disgusting and unwelcoming. The inside seemed old and drafty, there nats flying around as we were eating. The food was okay, but definitely too overpriced for the venue and the quality, and I had to get a replacement drink as my first drink had a bug in. This was definitely not a good first impression and I probably would not eat here again. On the good side of things, the staff was very friendly and attentive, they did replace my drink without me having to pay additional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Great service from Jonathan! Food and a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great service from Jonathan! Food and ambiance were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was embarrassed to business dinner wit ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I was embarrassed to business dinner with colleagues. Food really sucked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food and I stop by every chance I ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food and I stop by every chance I get when I get back to Columbus. The house fried rice is my favorite. Staff is always attentive and atmosphere is nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the special, which was a short rib ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I had the special, which was a short rib risotto with mushrooms and corn. The waitress recommended it, and it was absolutely delicious.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit it won't be our ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was our first visit it won't be our last. I would highly recommend your place. It was our daughter, who lives in Worthington that told us about you.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It gave us a great place to meet with a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It gave us a great place to meet with a old friend that hasn't been seen in many years. The food was great and it was quiet enough that we were not having to yell across the table so we had a great conversation. Our waiter was great and very helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only reason I didn't give the restau ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The only reason I didn't give the restaurant all 5 stars, is the fact that they were having issues with their electricity and the lighting was off again, on again. I didn't really mind, and we've been having weird weather, so maybe the work had to be done just then. Electricians are in demand, I know, and not cheap!

Food and service were lovely and I look forward to the next time I can enjoy them.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Hour in the bar was great - howeve ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Happy Hour in the bar was great - however they were understaffed. Dinner was excellent in the restaurant though our server was slow to refill water, remove plates, box leftovers and seemed focused on letting us know how hard she works.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Food just wasnt that good, calamari didn ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food just wasnt that good, calamari didnt taste fresh,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Ordered the Thai Shrimp Tacos and got th ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Ordered the Thai Shrimp Tacos and got the Fish Tacos. Ate them anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The buffet is an interesting mix of trad ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The buffet is an interesting mix of traditional brunch fare (prime rib, eggs, pancakes, etc) as well as some of the house Asian specialties, pastas and salads. A few of the items were a bit greasy or cold. Overall the selection and quality of the food is quite good. The mixed drink and wine menu is diverse. While a little pricey it is generally worth the bill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dinner at J Liu was just ok. The mussel ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Dinner at J Liu was just ok. The mussels were just ok. The salmon was just ok. The service was just ok. With so many great restaurants in Columbus to choose from, I don't see myself returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I have enjoyed this restaurant two times ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I have enjoyed this restaurant two times previously for dinner. I would recommend it for dinner. However, this occasion was brunch and I found much of the food unpalatable. Hot food wasn't hot and cold foods were not cold. Much was fried. Bacon and sausage were low quality. Roast beef was all cooked well done.

Overall, I was disappointed. I would not do brunch there again. It was yuck. I hosted a party of eight. My guests were polite about it but afterwards, my adult sons and my husband also shared my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We originally had a party of nine reserv ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We originally had a party of nine reserved, which changed to a party of 12 less than 24 hours before our reservation time at 6:00 p.m. We didn't have any problems with changing the reservation. The food was good, and we we seated in a separate area. My sister was visiting from out of town and my brother (lives in Columbus) suggested J. Liu's. We enjoyed the daily special at the bar. Great evening with family. Thank you, J. Liu's!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had a small business lunch/meeting at ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I had a small business lunch/meeting at J Liu's, my third in the past year. The staff, as always, was prompt and courteous, with just the right amount of attention to ensure our business conversation was not unnecessarily interrupted. I made reservations for 3 people late the night before via OpenTable and included a special request, which was met without reminder by me and reconfirmed upon my arrival. We were seated in a quiet area and when my colleagues arrived they were promptly directed to the table and well attended to. I only had coffee (which was fresh, flavorful and strong, but not bitter), however my colleagues ate and seemed to enjoy their meals. I find J. Liu's an excellent place to meet for business and plan to try their dinner offerings in the near future. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but the service was lousy even ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Good food but the service was lousy even though the restaurant was not busy. We ordered an appetizer and it was brought to our table without providing individual plates. Our server never came around to see if we needed anything. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent service and outdoor seating wa ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent service and outdoor seating was great. We all enjoyed our meals

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice dining experience. The right b ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Very nice dining experience. The right balance between quiet and "buzz". Love the outdoor dining options, weather permitting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I enjoyed the brunch but would like some ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I enjoyed the brunch but would like some more/different options. It's always the same stuff...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

We dined at J Lui's for the Mother's Day ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We dined at J Lui's for the Mother's Day Buffet and decided we would return for the Father's Day Buffet as well. The restaurant was not as crowded on Father's Day which made it more relaxing. The food was identical and was well prepared. Servers kept the main food containers fully stocked. They did have trouble having clean plates ready at the beginning of the buffet. The plates disappeared quickly so we had to stand and wait for more to be delivered a number of times. We tried their special order omelets this time and they were quite delicious. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed with the prime rib. There was too much fat on the slices we were given. The dessert table didn't seem to be a major focus like the rest of the food area because it really needed to be refreshed. Rachel, our server, was wonderful. She had so many tables she was responsible for inside the building and outside on the patio, and did an outstanding job. We will ask for her when we return to J Lui's for another dinner soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was not very attentive. Food was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Server was not very attentive. Food was ok, my husband liked his better than I liked mine. We asked our server for a wine list but he never brought it had to ask someone else for it. Got wine when our food was almost gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Not a place I would visit for brunch. No ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Not a place I would visit for brunch. Not a lot of breakfast food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Only slightly disappointed

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I had called in days before to arrange a birthday dessert be served after lunch. This was totally forgotten and dessert menus were handed out to everyone. Service was slow for it being early lunch time and not very busy. But the food was good as always.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Bar seemed a little slow, took awhile fo ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Bar seemed a little slow, took awhile for our drinks to arrive. Our soup also arrived after lengthy wait. Overall good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Had the Sunday bruch.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had the Sunday branch with 6 of us and we were all satisfied. It's a bit fancy but we were all comfortable. The service was great and the food was tasty. I would have liked to have mashed potatoes available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

So Fresh!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food is always fresh and tasty. I really enjoyed the brunch buffet, it was quiet, well-stocked, and the variety was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This was a first date with a lady that I wanted to impress. J Liu was exactly what I was looking for. I've been there many times and it always meets my expectations. The dinner was fantastic. Service was excellent. My only concern is that if full, it can get pretty loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing Mother's Day Buffet

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We frequent J. Liu and chose for Mother's Day celebration because of the high quality food and service. We were disappointed to realize that Mother's Day "Brunch" buffet was only option. I suppose I should have verified full menu would be available, however, in my opinion Mother's Day "Brunch" should end by 3pm and then regular menu for evening reservations. We had lovely time at theater, and were looking forward to good meal with our 6pm reservation.

The buffet was set up in bar area, on top of bar, which was too high for anyone under 5'5 (including my mother) to actually visualize the food items. The food itself looked and tasted like it had been sitting out since 11am "brunch".

We'll likely go back, but sincerely hope the management reconsiders how/when they serve brunch on such important occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Horrible Mother's Day experience

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I booked our reservation for 5:30 in the evening on Mothers Day. Nowhere on their website did it say that would only be serving a buffet that day. We had chosen this restaurant for their menu, so this was a huge disappointment. Upon arriving we were taken to the outside patio and just left there with no explanation from the hostess as to where to sit or that it was only a buffet. It was only 60 degrees that day and we had an infant and a toddler with us. We had to demand to be seated inside and after some hemming and hawing she finally sat us inside. The food was extremely poor quality for the over $30/person price. It was a random mixture of brunch food and Asian style food, all of which was mediocre at best and picked over by the time we got there. We prefer quality food over quantity so we definitely did not get our money's worth. I had never been to this restaurant before and I will never go again. never have I felt less special on Mother's Day than at this restaurant. Columbus has much better quality restaurants for much better prices. Don't waste your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

My family and I were seated outside and ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My family and I were seated outside and we were assured that we would be comfortable there. We were the only patrons seated in that area. That should have told me that the situation was not good.

As the meal progressed the wind picked up and the temperature continued to drop.

Immediately after eating I asked for the check so that we could get to a warm place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Carving table could have been managed be ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Carving table could have been managed better. Overall food quality was really good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service is my top priority followed by t ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service is my top priority followed by the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very noisy place

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very noisy place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

This was a Mother's Day buffet. Most of ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

This was a Mother's Day buffet. Most of the trays of food were empty and appeared to have been sitting around the bar for an extended period of time. Food was scattered all over the bar. I just couldn't believe it. We were there for over an hour, and virtually no one touched the food bar. No attempt to clean it up, restock it, or in anyway improve things. Our families will never return to this restaurant. Do they not have a competent manager?So disappointing. We could've gone to J, Gilbert's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Poor Service from start to finish

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The service started out bad and remained consistently bad throughout the meal. The food was ok, not very good but not so bad that we sent it back. We pressed our luck and had dessert. The cheesecake was mushy like it had been defrosted in a microwave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.