Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - ColumbusCooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Columbus
(2100)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Columbus, Columbus
Booked 92 times today
Mitchell's Ocean Club - Easton Town CenterMitchell's Ocean Club - Easton Town Center
(3913)
$$$$
Seafood | Easton, Columbus
Booked 71 times today
Hudson 29 - Upper ArlingtonHudson 29 - Upper Arlington
(1261)
$$$$
American | Upper Arlington, Columbus
Booked 52 times today
Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - GrandviewCap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview
(3140)
$$$$
American | Grandview Heights, Columbus
Booked 55 times today
The Avenue Steak TavernThe Avenue Steak Tavern
(724)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Grandview Heights, Columbus
Booked 36 times today
The PearlThe Pearl
(2320)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Short North - Arena District, Columbus
Booked 75 times today
Marcella'sMarcella's
(2984)
$$$$
Italian | Short North - Arena District, Columbus
Booked 41 times today
Lindey'sLindey's
(3623)
$$$$
Contemporary American | German Village, Columbus
Booked 64 times today
Buca di Beppo - WorthingtonBuca di Beppo - Worthington
(851)
$$$$
Italian | Worthington, Columbus
Booked 6 times today
Martini Modern ItalianMartini Modern Italian
(2155)
$$$$
Italian | Short North - Arena District, Columbus
Booked 45 times today
The Whitney HouseThe Whitney House
(763)
$$$$
American | Worthington, Columbus
Booked 56 times today
Forno Kitchen and BarForno Kitchen and Bar
(513)
$$$$
American | Short North - Arena District, Columbus
Booked 73 times today
The Guild House - ColumbusThe Guild House - Columbus
(795)
$$$$
American | Columbus, Columbus
Booked 60 times today
Nada - ColumbusNada - Columbus
(655)
$$$$
Mexican / Southwestern | Short North - Arena District, Columbus
Booked 51 times today
The Barn at Rocky Fork CreekThe Barn at Rocky Fork Creek
(1549)
$$$$
American | Gahanna, Columbus
Booked 51 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

About J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington

J. Liu Restaurant and Bar of Worthington offers superb culinary creations served within an eclectic setting. Refined and stylish yet relaxed and comfortable. The experienced staff is dedicated to exceeding the expectations of every guest. J. Liu is eager to work with you in every way possible to ensure a most memorable experience. Uncompromising quality, understated elegance, attention to detail, outstanding service and "Something Great For Everyone", only at J. Liu of Worthington!

6880 North High Street
Worthington, OH 43085
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm Sunday Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Bridge Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 888-1818

Website:
http://www.jliurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
J. Liu offers over 78 parking spaces 24 hours seven days a week on its private lot surrounding the building and toward the back of National City Bank. After 6 pm and all day on the weekends patrons may park at all surrounding lots including National City Bank, Primrose School, CF Bank, and across the street at Huntington Bank. J. Liu provides valet service complimentary for limited lunches and dinners

Executive Chef:
Steven Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
We have an amazing private ballroom with the capacity to seat 200+ guest. We also offer several other smaller options for groups from 25 up to 40. We offer a wide variety of options for your menu selection. Please call for availability for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Todd Brown or Rebekka Rebar: (614) 888-1818

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Good for Birthdays (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (8)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Private Room (5)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Cozy (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Romantic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (3)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter brunch and my father's 70th birthday. This is one of our favorite restaurants and I'm sad to hear that they are no longer going to be on OpenTable! Seems like all of our favorite restaurants are leaving OT.

The restaurant was very hot today. They need to cool it down before they open so that people are comfortable. Making excuses that the heat from the buffet is the problem is a little off-putting (someone just didn't turn the air down to 60° so that it stayed cool in there all afternoon). It's spring! It's getting warm!

Other than that the food was really good and we always have a good server.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent time! We met for a women's luncheon and had a great server. Such a sweet time. Our server had the perfect amount of interaction. I had food restrictions and they perfectly met my needs. Very well pleased.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 27, 2017

J. Liu never disappoints. The food is always awesome and the staff is very pleasant. Menu choices are enough to please anyone. This is my go-to for out of town guests; they always love it and you will, too.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service was good but food was not up to usual standard. It was a Sunday
night but not busy in dining room. My flatbread had too much cheese, another
dinner of Tuna tartar was way overcooked. And not enough dressing on
any of the salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is the second time we ate here and we were not disappointed​. Food was very good and the service was prompt. Will be eating here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our go to place for Sunday brunch. Always a great selection of varied options for breakfast, lunch, dessert. Trays are always full and hot, love the mix of Italian, Oriental, and American dishes, several salads to choose from, and a delicious dessert table. We sit around and visit and never feel rushed. Our coffee cups and water glasses are kept full and our servers are always attentive without hovering. Our reservation is always honored on time. The dining room is nicely decorated and while there is usually a crowd we never feel crowded. Good parking.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Requested a booth on Open Table, got seated in the bar next to the wine. Interrupted 3x by servers looking for wine behind our seats. Ordered risotto with scallops. Risotto great, scallops not hot and very boring. Wife's spicy chicken very good. Bartender/server excellent. Previous visit in December the salad came after the entrees arrived. Two unimpressive visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Grren beans with shrimp delicious . Love crabcake on salad too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was very good; food was great, good wine selections.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good food but not worth the price. Our server forgot about us. We waited 20 minutes for her then sent someone to get her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Arrived early to meet friends for a pre dinner cocktail, reservations @ 6:30, we went to the desk about 6:40 and seated promptly. Bree was our server, very upbeat young woman. Pleased with her level of interaction and service. My steak (hangar) was medium, when I had requested medium rare; it was still moist and flavorful. The dish didn't come with a vegetable & I wish she would have pointed that out so I could have ordered a side. 2 people ordered the salmon oscar (that nights special) and loved it. The Pear-fection cocktail was perfect.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 21, 2017

This Place is great! This is our go-to location when nobody can agree on what they are in the mood for. The menu offers a little of everything. The meals are always consistent and delicious with every visit. The staff is always cheerful and responsive. The atmosphere is vibrant but by no means overbearing. We've had quite a few large gatherings here and they consistently deliver excellent quality and service at a very great price!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Casual, Good for a Date, Private Room, Business Meals, Healthy, Organic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was the worst Sunday brunch I have ever been to. Our reservations were at 12:30. There were empty pans and pans with just 1 or 2 items in them. The food was overcooked and dry - the potatoes were hard as rocks, the Eggs Benedict was hard, the ravioli had barely a drop of sauce on the entire panful. The dessert station had empty trays or just 1 or 2 on a tray. No one was attending to these stations. Then the bathroom - my shoes were sticking to the floor. I don't know why this restaurant is always crowded - I spent a lot of money on a dismal meal. I will never go back and neither will the friends I was with or anyone we know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was just okay, nothing to write home about. Our seating was too close to the lobby which is on the other side of the bar. It was very loud. Our server Mandy was the jewel in our visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our server was very good but my chicken Milanese was very tough to the point where I was concerned that it was not cooked enough. The waiter offered a new dish or dessert, but I had lost my appetite. I do like the atmosphere and have gone to their brunch several times, which is also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Local favorite. Good service. Great drink selection.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food.
Nice menu.
Great drinks.
Great service.
Easy parking (free!!).
Dated ambiance -needs updated.
Definitely recommend to others.
Definitely return in the future.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Long-time fan but very disappointed this evening. Service was just bad - inattentive at best. Scallops were under-cooked and had to sent back. Usually sit at the bar and regretting we had a table tonight. Way too many good options to tolerate such service, probably won't be back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I love J. Liu's menu. There is something for every mood and everything sounds great to me. Our most recent trip was underwhelming, though. The child with us ordered the kid's pasta with butter (yawn). The menu offered the choice of linguini or campanelli with a side dish -- we ordered the campanelli (a fun pasta shape) . Instead, a tiny portion of penne arrived in a butter soup with a basket of French fries that could have fed an army. But no kid complains about lots of fries (a smart strategy when the kitchen has no pasta to serve), so I'll mention my dried out, overcooked salmon. Oh, and when one of our party ordered a chicken dish, but with extra broccoli, and hold the chicken, the server asked, "What? You don't like chicken or somethin'? Huh." Drinks took forever to arrive and it was an overall blah meal and experience. But it wasn't our first trip to J. Liu and we'll be back for happy hour -- I just hope they up their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was fine. Got seated at the bar area, would have preferred the main dining room. Vday rush was over. Good food as always

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was horrible. Waited 20 mins for the staff to come up with kids menus. Very unfriendly server.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place, good food, serving staff is a little inexperienced for up scale dining however very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Disappointed. Made the reservations for 4 in January for Valentines Day. We were placed in the bar area at a table with traffic constantly behind the 2 seats (with the bar behind.) It was very noisy and we really wanted to have a nice conversation with our friends. This is the annual date for us to get together. Our friend's chair broke while he was sitting on it. He is not heavy, it came unglued. The food was so-so nothing really stood out. The one saving grace was the Long Island ice teas they were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The ambiance was wonderful and the service was quick, but the food was mediocre (at best), so we won't be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great time, chicken pad Thai was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The brunch used to be fantastic but it seems to be going down hill. Hot plates for salad, food always low, needed freshened up, omelet order took forever. The desert table was out of most items. Our reservations was for noon so it wasn't like we came at the end of brunch. I have had brunch many times before the quality has been lacking the last few times , but this time was the worst. I expect much more for the amount that is charged for brunch. That will be our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sunday Bunch buffet is very Great!!! we will go there for future

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice but the food was terrible. I would not recommend. My wife and I were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were looking for a place to have dinner and to use our Prestige Dining Card. J Liu was on our list! We had never dined here before and thought we would give it a try. We had a wonderful dinner. Our waitress was attentive and helpful. So glad it was on our dining card. We will definitely return!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Way too loud. Remind me never to be seated in the bar area again. This was for my mom's 82nd birthday. It was very difficult to hear each other

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 29, 2017

There are a lot of choices for food from the buffet for brunch. The service was good but we arrived about 10 minutes early and they had everyone wait in the lobby until all servers were there before seating anyone. This was a little frustrating . But overall the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Mussels were delightful. Both of us enjoyed the meal. Lots of diverse choices for dinner. Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a wonderful experience for friends and out of town guests

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Fabulous Food! Great Service!!! Seated quickly. Waitstaff was wonderful!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was very good. The menu has a nice mix of dishes. Drinks were excellent. Plan to return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I have eaten at J. Liu several time, and the food and service are always top notch. The salmon and pork shank entrees are fabulous!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time at the Worthington ton location. Nice decor,service was excellent. Portions sizes good for the price. Good menu options for everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Friends Birthday 🎂👍🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I asked for a table with my reservation and we were seated in the bar area and there were t.v.'s and noise. Would have preferred a quieter environment, but we had an overall positive experience. Food was delicious and more than enough for two meals!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.