About J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington

6880 North High Street
Worthington, OH 43085
View Larger Map

J. Liu Restaurant and Bar of Worthington offers superb culinary creations served within an eclectic setting. Refined and stylish yet relaxed and comfortable. The experienced staff is dedicated to exceeding the expectations of every guest. J. Liu is eager to work with you in every way possible to ensure a most memorable experience. Uncompromising quality, understated elegance, attention to detail, outstanding service and "Something Great For Everyone", only at J. Liu of Worthington!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm Sunday Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Bridge Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 888-1818

Website:
http://www.jliurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
J. Liu offers over 78 parking spaces 24 hours seven days a week on its private lot surrounding the building and toward the back of National City Bank. After 6 pm and all day on the weekends patrons may park at all surrounding lots including National City Bank, Primrose School, CF Bank, and across the street at Huntington Bank. J. Liu provides valet service complimentary for limited lunches and dinners

Executive Chef:
Steven Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
We have an amazing private ballroom with the capacity to seat 200+ guest. We also offer several other smaller options for groups from 25 up to 40. We offer a wide variety of options for your menu selection. Please call for availability for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Todd Brown or Rebekka Rebar: (614) 888-1818

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Birthdays (12)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Romantic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Private Room (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1247 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was just okay, nothing to write ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was just okay, nothing to write home about. Our seating was too close to the lobby which is on the other side of the bar. It was very loud. Our server Mandy was the jewel in our visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was very good but my chicken ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server was very good but my chicken Milanese was very tough to the point where I was concerned that it was not cooked enough. The waiter offered a new dish or dessert, but I had lost my appetite. I do like the atmosphere and have gone to their brunch several times, which is also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Local favorite. Good service. Great dri ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Local favorite. Good service. Great drink selection.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Nice menu. Great drinks. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food.

Nice menu.

Great drinks.

Great service.

Easy parking (free!!).

Dated ambiance -needs updated.

Definitely recommend to others.

Definitely return in the future.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Long-time fan but very disappointed this ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Long-time fan but very disappointed this evening. Service was just bad - inattentive at best. Scallops were under-cooked and had to sent back. Usually sit at the bar and regretting we had a table tonight. Way too many good options to tolerate such service, probably won't be back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

I love J. Liu's menu. There is somethin ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

I love J. Liu's menu. There is something for every mood and everything sounds great to me. Our most recent trip was underwhelming, though. The child with us ordered the kid's pasta with butter (yawn). The menu offered the choice of linguini or campanelli with a side dish -- we ordered the campanelli (a fun pasta shape) . Instead, a tiny portion of penne arrived in a butter soup with a basket of French fries that could have fed an army. But no kid complains about lots of fries (a smart strategy when the kitchen has no pasta to serve), so I'll mention my dried out, overcooked salmon. Oh, and when one of our party ordered a chicken dish, but with extra broccoli, and hold the chicken, the server asked, "What? You don't like chicken or somethin'? Huh." Drinks took forever to arrive and it was an overall blah meal and experience. But it wasn't our first trip to J. Liu and we'll be back for happy hour -- I just hope they up their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Service was fine. Got seated at the bar ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was fine. Got seated at the bar area, would have preferred the main dining room. Vday rush was over. Good food as always

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Service was horrible. Waited 20 mins fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was horrible. Waited 20 mins for the staff to come up with kids menus. Very unfriendly server.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Great place, good food, serving staff is ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place, good food, serving staff is a little inexperienced for up scale dining however very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointed. Made the reservations for ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Disappointed. Made the reservations for 4 in January for Valentines Day. We were placed in the bar area at a table with traffic constantly behind the 2 seats (with the bar behind.) It was very noisy and we really wanted to have a nice conversation with our friends. This is the annual date for us to get together. Our friend's chair broke while he was sitting on it. He is not heavy, it came unglued. The food was so-so nothing really stood out. The one saving grace was the Long Island ice teas they were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The ambiance was wonderful and the servi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The ambiance was wonderful and the service was quick, but the food was mediocre (at best), so we won't be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Great time, chicken pad Thai was top not ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great time, chicken pad Thai was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch used to be fantastic but it s ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The brunch used to be fantastic but it seems to be going down hill. Hot plates for salad, food always low, needed freshened up, omelet order took forever. The desert table was out of most items. Our reservations was for noon so it wasn't like we came at the end of brunch. I have had brunch many times before the quality has been lacking the last few times , but this time was the worst. I expect much more for the amount that is charged for brunch. That will be our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Sunday Bunch buffet is very Great!!! we ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sunday Bunch buffet is very Great!!! we will go there for future

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was very nice but the foo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The atmosphere was very nice but the food was terrible. I would not recommend. My wife and I were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We were looking for a place to have dinn ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were looking for a place to have dinner and to use our Prestige Dining Card. J Liu was on our list! We had never dined here before and thought we would give it a try. We had a wonderful dinner. Our waitress was attentive and helpful. So glad it was on our dining card. We will definitely return!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Way too loud. Remind me never to be seat ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Way too loud. Remind me never to be seated in the bar area again. This was for my mom's 82nd birthday. It was very difficult to hear each other

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

There are a lot of choices for food from ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 29, 2017

There are a lot of choices for food from the buffet for brunch. The service was good but we arrived about 10 minutes early and they had everyone wait in the lobby until all servers were there before seating anyone. This was a little frustrating . But overall the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was great

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mussels were delightful. Both of us enj ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Mussels were delightful. Both of us enjoyed the meal. Lots of diverse choices for dinner. Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a wonderful experience for friend ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a wonderful experience for friends and out of town guests

Tags: Modern Decor, , Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food! Great Service!!! Seated q ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Fabulous Food! Great Service!!! Seated quickly. Waitstaff was wonderful!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. The menu has a nice ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was very good. The menu has a nice mix of dishes. Drinks were excellent. Plan to return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten at J. Liu several time, and ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I have eaten at J. Liu several time, and the food and service are always top notch. The salmon and pork shank entrees are fabulous!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time at the Worthington ton locati ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time at the Worthington ton location. Nice decor,service was excellent. Portions sizes good for the price. Good menu options for everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friends Birthday 🎂👍🏻

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Friends Birthday 🎂👍🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I asked for a table with my reservation ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I asked for a table with my reservation and we were seated in the bar area and there were t.v.'s and noise. Would have preferred a quieter environment, but we had an overall positive experience. Food was delicious and more than enough for two meals!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The pork shank I had and the twin medall ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The pork shank I had and the twin medallions my wife had were both delicious. Terrific service and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely birthday dinner at J. Liu's - app ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Lovely birthday dinner at J. Liu's - appetizers were great, hot and served in a reasonable amount of time. Each guest enjoyed their dinner. Thank you for taking care of us on a special evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We keep going back hoping it will be gre ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We keep going back hoping it will be great like it used to be, but keep being disappointed. Service wasn't great, took forever to get bread after waiter asked if we wanted any. We finished our soups before bread arrived. My pesto chicken was dry and my daughters fries were limp and greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Waitress did a great job!! Food was good ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Waitress did a great job!!

Food was good! The wraps were a little messy to eat but good!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved the atmosphere. I definitely wil ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I loved the atmosphere. I definitely will be returning.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Service. Great way to ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent Food and Service. Great way to spend an evening out with some friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time , disappointed that we were p ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time , disappointed that we were placed in bar area for dinner. Having the TV's there was a distraction for a fine dining experience. Good food and service though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food and service. Overpriced f ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good food and service. Overpriced for what you get. Drinks are over the top expensive. Just don't understand it. Would recommend for special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Good atmospheric great service.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good atmospheric great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat in the lively bar area. Service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Sat in the lively bar area. Service was friendly. Interesting selection of beers on tap and decent wines by the glass.

Appetizers were great! Spring rolls, fried Brie, blue cheese chips were all delicious. Pot stickers were good. Main courses - we got salads and burgers - were all pretty average. Overall enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was fabulous, as always!

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything was fabulous, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered the lobster bisque soup and it ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I ordered the lobster bisque soup and it was great. My entrée was the salmon and it was equally great. Our server was both pleasant and professional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is tired and more incongruent t ...

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food is tired and more incongruent than fusion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.