About J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington

6880 North High Street
Worthington, OH 43085
View Larger Map

J. Liu Restaurant and Bar of Worthington offers superb culinary creations served within an eclectic setting. Refined and stylish yet relaxed and comfortable. The experienced staff is dedicated to exceeding the expectations of every guest. J. Liu is eager to work with you in every way possible to ensure a most memorable experience. Uncompromising quality, understated elegance, attention to detail, outstanding service and "Something Great For Everyone", only at J. Liu of Worthington!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm Sunday Dinner: 2:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Wilson Bridge Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 888-1818

Website:
http://www.jliurestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
J. Liu offers over 78 parking spaces 24 hours seven days a week on its private lot surrounding the building and toward the back of National City Bank. After 6 pm and all day on the weekends patrons may park at all surrounding lots including National City Bank, Primrose School, CF Bank, and across the street at Huntington Bank. J. Liu provides valet service complimentary for limited lunches and dinners

Executive Chef:
Steven Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
We have an amazing private ballroom with the capacity to seat 200+ guest. We also offer several other smaller options for groups from 25 up to 40. We offer a wide variety of options for your menu selection. Please call for availability for larger parties.

Private Party Contact:
Todd Brown or Rebekka Rebar: (614)888-1818

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Liu Restaurant & Bar of Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Romantic (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Casual (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Tapas (2)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1126 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful restaurant, menu was varied an ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful restaurant, menu was varied and looked very inviting. My wife and I were out on a date which we don't get many of as we have a two year old, and were excited to eat here. I got the steak and frites and ordered my steak medium. When the runner brought my food out my steak was completely burnt. I told my runner that this steak was supposed to be medium and he asked "Well do you want me to take it back?" To which I replied yes please. Our waitress (who wasn't very attentive) came by and noticed I didn't have my steak and mentioned that something was missing. I said yes, my steak was totally burnt, I sent it back. She said she would check on it and I never saw her until it came time to ask about dessert. The runner brought my steak out and this time it was almost raw, let alone "medium" and they didn't even bother letting it rest on another plate before putting it on my plate letting all the juices soak my French fries making them soggy. I didn't even bother mentioning it to our waitress as she was barely at our table and because I didn't feel like waiting as my wife's food was getting cold because she was waiting on me to eat. Overall I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone else. Was very disappointed as we don't get out often like I mentioned previously. The menu looked great but I doubt I'll be back to try anything else.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was served hot; my husband's dr ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was served hot; my husband's drink was not prepared properly but we didn't complain. As we were seated, I noticed that the booth upholstery was torn. Maybe an update is in order? We had not visited J. Lius recently and probably will not for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

It was a nice place with great ambience ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was a nice place with great ambience which I love, but it was EMPTY for a Friday on a holiday weekend. Large party of 8 to have a holiday dinner. Everyone was provided a glass of water. Lots of bread plates on the table but they did not serve bread. We normally would order an appetizer, but the menu was sparse there.

The server was friendly, but never took a drink order. I had to ask for iced tea and even then never asked anyone if they wanted a drink. Then I still had not gotten my iced tea and I had to remind her on the iced teas after 15-20 minutes. I ordered the risotto which came with 3 scallops. It was good but I wouldn't order it again, scallops were a bit salty and fishy. The only person who was wowed by their meal ordered the Harvest Chicken Salad, it did look great. At the end of the meal she was ready to deliver the bill, but hadnt asked if we wanted to see a dessert menu. Again, we asked to see the menu and ordered desserts. The flourless cake was ok and the buckeye mousse did not impress, but the apple crisp was awesome.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was terrible, not hot enough, bland ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was terrible, not hot enough, bland tasting and they ran out of plates and silverware

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Went for Thanksiving dinner. They had a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksiving dinner. They had a good variety of traditional fair plus some oriental options.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Place looks a little worn and dated. Ups ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Place looks a little worn and dated. Upstairs could use a new rug or good cleaning. Seating downstairs in the back by the elevator leaves little to be desired and takes away from the ambiance. Especially with a big screen TV present. Not impressed.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great food, nice staff. Great value!!! ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food, nice staff. Great value!!! We come here for special occasions because of the diverse and yummy menu .

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, and we will probably ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The food was great, and we will probably go back, but we didn't really think the service was great. We wrote on our reservation for Open Table that we got engaged that day, and no one congratulated us. It's not that we were expecting complimentary this, that, and the other. It would just have been nice to have someone say they were happy we chose to celebrate with J. Liu. The server hardly checked on us and didn't refill the waters till the meal was over. Food was outstanding, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food good but waitress not great. Brough ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food good but waitress not great. Brought wrong dinner dish and didn't bring salad until dinner came we sent it back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A delicious salad with yummy crab cake o ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 17, 2016

A delicious salad with yummy crab cake on top. Served in chilled bowl and perfect amount of dressing. Would have liked a basket of bread with it, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My guest and I were at J.Liu's on Sunday ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My guest and I were at J.Liu's on Sunday for the brunch at 12:30pm. Many of the items were empty or looked like they have been there for some time. I enjoy a good brunch and have been to J. Liu's on numerous brunches. It would be helpful is the menu items changed up. They have been the same for my visits over the last few years.

As for the restaurant as a whole and ordering from the menu, everything there has been great on past visits. I'm just taking J. Liu's off my Sunday Brunch list.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

This, and our last two visits, have not ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This, and our last two visits, have not been very successful, sorry to say -- and I'm sad because J. Liu's was our "go to" place for so long, especially when hosting guests from out of town. But the service is just not up to its former standards; they're always training new waitstaff, who don't stay. In fact, I know the menu better than the last three servers I've had! sigh To her credit, our server did ensure that both couples in our party left with a "$15 off coupon," as a way of apologizing for issues with the service/meal.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent. So good

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent. So good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere. Good menu. There were ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Good menu. There were just two of us. It was quick service and hot food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was an ok experience. I had the hange ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 2, 2016

It was an ok experience. I had the hanger steak and frites and it came cold. Since I was with 6 people I didn't send it back. My wife's tilapia was just ok with her. Her salad and my soup the tomato cherry were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I were celebrating our an ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and had never been there. Good very good had the chopped salad and the ahi tuna and salmon. All very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had 11:00 a.m. brunch reservations on ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had 11:00 a.m. brunch reservations on Sunday and we were seated immediately. We also were told that they didn't have coffee when we sat down and that they didn't know when they would have it for us. How do you have brunch without coffee? You should have gone to Starbucks while you repaired your machine.

Our wait staff was wonderful. She was respectful, friendly, and courteous. She apologized repeatedly about the coffee until I said it must be fixed because I saw others receiving coffee. Her friendliness made the visit pleasant.

I was surprised when I went to get salads, both had bacon. With some many watching pork and nitrates, it came as a surprised. You staff did supply me with a bowl of salad. When I went back for seconds most of the buffet was empty and what was left, I wouldn't eat because it had bacon. The staff did try to bring me more food, but it was time to leave by then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was very good as well as sevice. At ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was very good as well as sevice. Atmosphere was lacking....very boring.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our waitress was somewhat rude. She gra ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our waitress was somewhat rude. She grabbed the menu from my Dad's hands after realizing it was the lunch menu and not the dinner menu. Both the waitress and the manager refused to accept my Entertainment card since I did not bring the whole book with me to the restaurant. If you plan on using your entertainment book coupon, lug the entire book with you to the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Came in from out of town and hadn't bee ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Came in from out of town and hadn't been to J. Luis in a few years, overall food was very good as was the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice place to go for a group, good ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very nice place to go for a group, good food & atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The inside decor does not at all go with ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The inside decor does not at all go with the look of the outside, but I guess that might be expected aince it is a fusion style restaurant . The food was excellent with plenty of variety. The staff had a wonderfully unexpected surprise planned for me since I told them it was my birthday in the reservation! Awesome experience!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've always had good experiences every t ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I've always had good experiences every time I've come here. The servers are very knowledgeable, efficient, and friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It may be a while before we return to J ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It may be a while before we return to J Liu's. My wife and I were in the mood for a Sunday brunch and arrived at noon. We found the service a little odd and inexperienced. The amount of buffet choices were less than our last visit and were not refreshed very quickly. Many of the items seemed like they had been sitting and beyond prime. Once again, we arrived at noon for brunch. We have had good experiences at this restaurant in the past, but not this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a great time! Service was except ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a great time! Service was exceptional -- going back to try the menu. We had the brunch

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We got there on time and were taken to o ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We got there on time and were taken to our table and waited and waited and waited. The hostess came back and gave us glasses of water and we waited and waited and you guessed it, we waited longer for a server. I was ready to walk out. Our waiter arrived, Jonathan and he was soft spoken but nice.

We ordered and waited an inordinate length of time for our dinners. There was definitely something wrong at the restaurant. My salmon salad was great. He said his tilapia was good. He had the lobster bisque and was not thrilled with it.

We were celebrating a birthday and Jonathan brought a beautiful desert with a candle and champagne.

Jonathan's service was 100 percent. I'd give him a 5 star but the wait for a server and for our food was ridiculously poor service from the restaurant. We've been to J. Liu before and always had great service and great food.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

J Liu is a favorite of ours. But we had ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 14, 2016

J Liu is a favorite of ours. But we had the worst service we have ever experienced. We were

on the patio, Wed. evening--not busy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The website pictures looked nothing like ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The website pictures looked nothing like the actual restaurant. The carpeting before even entering the main doors looked old, disgusting and unwelcoming. The inside seemed old and drafty, there nats flying around as we were eating. The food was okay, but definitely too overpriced for the venue and the quality, and I had to get a replacement drink as my first drink had a bug in. This was definitely not a good first impression and I probably would not eat here again. On the good side of things, the staff was very friendly and attentive, they did replace my drink without me having to pay additional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Great service from Jonathan! Food and a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great service from Jonathan! Food and ambiance were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was embarrassed to business dinner wit ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I was embarrassed to business dinner with colleagues. Food really sucked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food and I stop by every chance I ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food and I stop by every chance I get when I get back to Columbus. The house fried rice is my favorite. Staff is always attentive and atmosphere is nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the special, which was a short rib ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I had the special, which was a short rib risotto with mushrooms and corn. The waitress recommended it, and it was absolutely delicious.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit it won't be our ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was our first visit it won't be our last. I would highly recommend your place. It was our daughter, who lives in Worthington that told us about you.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had several business lunches here ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have had several business lunches here and had good service. I took my wife here for her birthday and called ahead. I asked for a quiet spot to enjoy as we were then to go to the theater downtown. We were seated next to the door to the kitchen and were basically ignored while there it took an hour and a half to get our food, additionally, we only received one refill on our drinks even after I asked for more she forgot us. Based upon time, we had to hurry and eat what we ordered, which came out wrong, and leave to make it to the show on time. What could have been an enjoyable evening, became an issue for my wife on her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

It gave us a great place to meet with a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 14, 2016

It gave us a great place to meet with a old friend that hasn't been seen in many years. The food was great and it was quiet enough that we were not having to yell across the table so we had a great conversation. Our waiter was great and very helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only reason I didn't give the restau ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The only reason I didn't give the restaurant all 5 stars, is the fact that they were having issues with their electricity and the lighting was off again, on again. I didn't really mind, and we've been having weird weather, so maybe the work had to be done just then. Electricians are in demand, I know, and not cheap!

Food and service were lovely and I look forward to the next time I can enjoy them.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy Hour in the bar was great - howeve ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Happy Hour in the bar was great - however they were understaffed. Dinner was excellent in the restaurant though our server was slow to refill water, remove plates, box leftovers and seemed focused on letting us know how hard she works.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Food just wasnt that good, calamari didn ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food just wasnt that good, calamari didnt taste fresh,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Ordered the Thai Shrimp Tacos and got th ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Ordered the Thai Shrimp Tacos and got the Fish Tacos. Ate them anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The buffet is an interesting mix of trad ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The buffet is an interesting mix of traditional brunch fare (prime rib, eggs, pancakes, etc) as well as some of the house Asian specialties, pastas and salads. A few of the items were a bit greasy or cold. Overall the selection and quality of the food is quite good. The mixed drink and wine menu is diverse. While a little pricey it is generally worth the bill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.