Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About J Graham's Cafe

J. Graham's is the home of the legendary "Hot Brown" and offers guests a bistro-style option for casual dining in the hotel and features the freshest local produce. Open for breakfast and lunch, the Cafe offers guests a contemporary a la carte menu or full buffet option (available Tuesday-Friday) including gourmet soups, salads and entrees and a decadent dessert display. Non-smoking.

335 W Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday 7 am-3 pm

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 am - 11:00 am
Lunch 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Saturday: Breakfast Buffet 7:00 am -11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 9-1

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available at the 4th Street main entrance to the hotel.

Public Transit:
On the corner of 4th and Broadway are East, West, (23 & 17)North & Southbound (4) stops.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room available to accommodate up to 22 people comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Judd Gibbs: (502) 583-1234 ext. 7180

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Come on join us celebrating the most important woman in your life. Enjoy a lavish buffet that includes: Rib Eye Carving Station, Smoked Salmon, Chicken and Waffles among another delicacies. Adults $42.00 Kids $18.00.
3 seatings 10 am , 12pm and 2:30pm

J Graham's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Historic (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Casual (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Romantic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter Brunch and it was very lovely. The food was delicious and the buffet had a great variety.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Beautiful decor and delicious selections for the Easter Brunch! Great flow to get food and such a caring staff. Everyone was so kind and made sure all of our dining needs were met. Just Perfect!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fabulous brunch on Sundays! The warm salmon in pink sauce melted in my mouth.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was great and our server was fabulous. The only thing we didn't care for we were seated near the brunch buffet. We ordered off the menu. The staff started breaking down the buffet at about 1:40, just as our food arrived to our table. They were removing food, service items, and decorations at a rapid pace giving us the distinct feeling it was time for us to leave the restaurant. We felt rushed by the activity and noise. In our party were 4 (of 6) who had never been here before. We learned to never go back for a 1:15 Sunday lunch reservation again....

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This was the best service I have experienced in years. Our server, Justine from Traverse City, MI, was phenomenal. So attentive, so polite, so professional. She was the epitome of a well trained server. My family went for lunch on a Wednesday. It was my daughter's 14th birthday and the staff went above and beyond to make her feel special. Justine was so thoughtful with my two children. Never rushing their comments or questions, but genuinely listening and commenting back appropriately. The food was excellent. I had the famous Hot Brown, which is a legend in Louisville. It was the first time ordering one and it did not disappoint. My husband had pulled pork sandwich, my girls had kid's cheeseburger and chicken strips. Both child selections came from kids' menu, but were large enough portions for them to have split one order of something. I can't begin to tell you what a treat it was to eat here. We felt so well taken care of. The server and hostess brought out an "on the house" dessert for my 14 year old and a second one for my other daughter, who's birthday was later that week. Totally unexpected as we did not really make a big deal about her upcoming birthday. The icing on the cake is complementary valet parking with a validated ticket. If you're in Louisville, this is a spot that is well worth your time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had the Sunday buffet with the Hot Brown available in the buffet. The hot brown was very bland and had no flavor. I love hot browns but was disappointed in the original served on this day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Brunch at J Graham's was very good. The buffet has a wide selection of items from breakfast food to dessert. The restaurant has an open, casual feel and is well laid out for a comfortable, fairly quiet dining for such an open space. Good food, comfortable seating and good service. Worth the visit.

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Met friends there to kick off tour of louisville and points south. Excellent manhattan!🥃

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We loved this spot for Sunday Brunch. Everything on the brunch buffet was delicious and the waitstaff was great as well. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went for the hot browns and brought friends that had not had one previously. No one was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service and food a little disappointing. Overall, still enjoy the atmosphere. Judd very gracious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch after a Saturday evening event held at the Brown. It was the best brunch in Louisville that I've found! Delish and worth the heafty price! It's the home of the famous hot brown and the hot brown casserole is the stuff cravings are made of!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had the "Hot Brown" which was invented at the Brown Hotel. It is absolutely magnificent. If you haven't had a Hot Brown at J. Graham's you haven't had a Hot Brown! The atmosphere and service was first class.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

An historic restaurant in an iconic hotel in Louisville, KY. The Sunday buffet had a wide selection of typical Sunday brunch food along with some unusual offerings such as smoked salmon (with onions, capers & egg), marinated asparagus and a good selection of salads. The place has a high ratio of wait staff to diners. There's a price to pay for this; it's a bit more expensive than some other area buffets. But for that special Sunday, it's hard to beat.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First of all, the staff at J Graham's are probably the nicest I've ever encountered. We eat here very often as it is a short stroll from my Mom's nursing home. They are always helpful and attentive to our requesting a disabled table. My big disappointment is the menu. While the hot brown is a standout, sometimes one would appreciate some lighter fare that is good. We have tried the salads, and they basically had no toppings and were shy on dressing. Additionally, we sampled the BLT-way too heavy and greasy! The Barbecue sandwich was dry and flavorless. I think it would be nice to add some new healthier options to the menu. The Derby Pie and Hot Brown are the true winners!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A beautiful historic restaurant that goes the extra mile to make your visit special. My experience was perfect from the valet parking to the Derby Pie split between my friend and me. We chose the renowned Hot Brown for our entree. The menu stated it would require a 20-minute wait but it passed quickly. It was worth the wait. The entire menu looked appetizing but one must try the Hot Brown, at least on your first visit.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch and while I had the original Kentucky Hot Brown, my husband opted for the brunch buffet. The Hot Brown was amazing and a very large portion so come hungry. My husband loved the brunch items, especially the smoked salmon. We will be returning to share our experience with our families next month!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

food was awesome and we were treated so special/ the valet parking was also nice

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Drove from Cincinnati Ohio to have hot browns with my friends/coworkers and we had an outstanding time. They got to experience the real hot brown.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great service, great food , love the atmosphere of the place . Our server Justine was great, very knowledgeable of the food and history of the hotel. 2 of my friends had the buffet, they raved about it specially the tortilla soup. I had the hot brown and it was out of this world! The manager who runs it, Augustine , is cordial and very energetic, we saw him talking with all tables, always with a big smile. For sure we will go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A great place for a Sunday Brunch with family. the buffet was full of choices with a great selection of local favorites to be ordered off the menu also.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We loved our brunch! The buffet was fantastic, especially the hot brown and the bread pudding. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The Hot Brown and the service were amazing. The place is decorated

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Historical restaurant in a beautiful hotel. Food is above average and service is friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great atmosphere, wonderful service. Little cold by the window, and kale salad had no kale in it, from what I could tell, but otherwise, lovely. Fine Louisville institution, and really a can't-miss for those interested in Kentucky.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My boyfriend was in town and had never had a hot brown. He'd seen on a tv program about this restaurant and the hot brown. So while he was in town I made reservations. It was delicious. We also enjoyed the hot tea and complimentary valet parking. Our experience was very memorable and when his mom visits in the spring, we will be back!!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch with our friends. The service was really good and informed us about the food options. We hope to do it again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I would have preferred a table by the window and was informed they were reserved. I made a reservation the day before. None of those tables had been seated by the time we left.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Fiance and I spent the holiday weekend at the Brown Hotel. Reserved J Graham for brunch all three mornings. The Saturday buffet was excellent and the Christmas Day buffet was exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our server was not that friendly. We would ask questions and her response was short. Almost rude. I have been to this restaurant and service is usually great.
In spite of her attitude we had a great time.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We enjoyed our Christmas brunch at the cafe. We love coming to the hotel Lobby bar also. It's a beautiful place and very elegant. We enjoyed the gingerbread house and the other decorations too. I highly recommend the hotel to my friends and family.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I enjoyed the J. Graham Brown Café for Christmas brunch.
While the food and selection was excellent, it was the entire staff
that made it feel special and added warmth to the ambiance and occasion.
I will definitely return, and talked with others , afterward ,outside the café
who agreed it was a special experience. (Perhaps, I shouldn't have written this
and perhaps just lost an available seat in the future!?)

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our first visit on Christmas Day. We enjoyed ourselves immensely with
the food being tasty and staff always keeping up with the quantity needed for
the crowd during lunch.
We will definitely come back.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were celebrating Christmas Eve for a family of 8, and had excellent service by Lamar. My mother is in a wheel chair, and they were very thoughtful in setting us at a nice roomy table. We ordered the Hot Browns which were incredible as always. Not sure who was working that day in the kitchen, but they were AMAZING! Had some wonderful Bloody Mary's too! Very piquant and delicious. Thank you for making us enjoy our Holiday. Every time we stay, or visit the Brown, the entire Hotel is full of wonderfully gracious employees.

I love the warmth and thoughtfulness that the staff uses through and through.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding service, great food, will definitely be back

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Awesome hot brown and traditional Louisville experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Absolutely wonderful meal and service! The food was amazing! Had the Hot Brown and pancakes - worth every penny!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We went for the original "Hot Brown" and it was great! The lobby was beautiful was holiday decorations and a huge gingerbread house. Service was attentive and I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was great and the service was on point without being overbearing. The staff was willing to do anything it could to make our annual holiday brunch for 6 friends a special event. We appreciate their attentiveness and good cheer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.