About J Graham's Cafe

335 W Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

J. Graham's is the home of the legendary "Hot Brown" and offers guests a bistro-style option for casual dining in the hotel and features the freshest local produce. Open for breakfast and lunch, the Cafe offers guests a contemporary a la carte menu or full buffet option (available Tuesday-Friday) including gourmet soups, salads and entrees and a decadent dessert display. Non-smoking.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday 7 am-3 pm

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 am - 11:00 am
Lunch 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Saturday: Breakfast Buffet 7:00 am -11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 9-1

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available at the 4th Street main enterance to the hotel.

Public Transit:
On the corner of 4th and Broadway are East, West, (23 & 17)North & Southbound (4) stops.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Bettis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room available to accomodate up to 22 people comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Sue Walker: 5025831234x7180

Additional:
Bar Dining, Cafe, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • J Graham's Cafe, Louisville, KY
J Graham's Cafe, Louisville, KY

J Graham's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

Great for Lunch (16)
Special Occasion (13)
Historic (11)
See All
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Romantic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (4)
Authentic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Business Meals (1)
Waterfront (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was excellent. Food was good, o ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was good, only wish the rolls were soft, too hard to eat. Nice selection.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place exceeded expectations and was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This place exceeded expectations and was a perfect choice for a large, family meal. The buffet is excellent, and the Hot Browns are of course the real deal. I look forward to my next meal here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, attentive staff, beautiful dec ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Friendly, attentive staff, beautiful decor, delicious food. The original Hot Brown did not disappoint. The flourless chocolate cake I highly recommend, but share a piece with your date. It is very rich!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday brunch was fantastic. The ch ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Sunday brunch was fantastic. The choices were great but even more impressive was the quality of the food, especially for a buffet. The service was great with both staff and managers making sure the buffet was freshly stocked. Everyone was friendly and efficient and our food was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch was most enjoyable; the food ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The brunch was most enjoyable; the food and service were very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was my first time back to The Brown ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This was my first time back to The Brown since 1960. The hot brown and Manhattan were as I remembered. Superb food, great service and ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most pleasant experience from beginning ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Most pleasant experience from beginning to end. The warm and friendly staff definitely made the visit much more enjoyable. The menu is a bit pricey but wanted to check something off my bucket list. Thank you for a beginning to a wonderful day.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very happy, very pleased. The staff and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very happy, very pleased. The staff and food were all very good. We will return and again ask for the Hot Brown. Everyone should come, highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awful wait service. Mass confusion on ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Awful wait service. Mass confusion on the part of servers and who was responsible for which table. One waiter spent all his time drooling over 2 woman enjoying their mimosas. Waited an excessive amount of time to have our order taken. However, the Kentucky Brown was delicious. we split the order, and there was just so much food!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Very good food and tentative service.

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Very good food and tentative service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The famoous "Hot Brown" certainly lived ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The famoous "Hot Brown" certainly lived up to its reputation. Ever so good. We were celebrating a dear friend's 91st birthday and the wait staff made her feel very speical. Just cannot say enough good things about the Cafe. One thing is for sure - we will be back the next time we are in Louisville. It's not a place to be missed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heard about the Hot Brown from Travel Ch ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Heard about the Hot Brown from Travel Channel. When my wife and I had to come to Louisville, we thought we would try it. It was excellent, very well made and lots of flavor. Comfort food. Service was very friendly and decor was nice. We had a window seat but unfortunately there was construction right outside across the street which was the only slight mar on an otherwise excellent lunch.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quintessential Hot Brown! Great service ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Quintessential Hot Brown! Great service and wonderful food -- highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Hot Brown was as good as we had hear ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The Hot Brown was as good as we had heard. Delicious bread pudding; best we've had outside Louisiana!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I rated this low because of the name "Ca ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I rated this low because of the name "Cafe" - it is not at all a cafe. It is a very elegant, formal, expensive place for breakfast. The word cafe connotes a cozy, small moderate to low priced venue. Very disappointed when we got there. I'm sure it's perfect for atmosphere on a romantic date or special anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was awkward when time to pay bill. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 28, 2016

It was awkward when time to pay bill. I had spoken with the waiter privately and said it would be one check and I would pay. We had a gift certificate with $207 on it. The waiter came back to our table and asked if there was enough to pay the bill on the certificate ($111.00) after he took the bill back to the cashier. As the waiter was coming back to the table - everyone took a deep breath thinking he was going to say it didn't go through. Then there was the question was the tip going to be placed on the certificate or would it be cash. We were embarrassed. Other than the waiter having to make two trips back to our table to ask questions about the bill - we didn't want to put our guest in this awkward situation. Because now, it is apparent I was paying the bill. I wanted to just pay the bill quietly and not make a production out of it. It was a great meal...but I have to add the "big but" to it - it was awkward.

Tags: Private Room, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were seated 15 minutes late for our r ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We were seated 15 minutes late for our reservations then waited 20 minutes for our server to take our drink order. We ran out of time to order from the menu, so we had to get the buffet. By that time food was gone, no bacon or fruit was left. The buffet was uninspired, mostly bread choices. We will NOT be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Sunday brunch, poor service, powdered eg ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Sunday brunch, poor service, powdered eggs, tasteless bacon and sausage. Vanishing waiter, understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Being in the Brown Hotel was special. Ho ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Being in the Brown Hotel was special. However, the service was really slow and the food only mediocre. Might go back for the Sunday Brunch.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We had another wonderful dining experien ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We had another wonderful dining experience at J Graham's Cafe. The Hot Brown is absolute perfection in a dish. The original Hot Brown is by far the best ever. The service is outstanding. We were celebrating a birthday and was treated to a delicious piece of derby pie. We will definitely return to J Graham's Cafe when visiting Louisville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience from start t ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent dining experience from start to finish. The Hot Brown and Derby Pie were amazing! Staff was super friendly and helpful. Beautiful dining room! Can't wait to return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an hour for lunch before heading bac ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Had an hour for lunch before heading back to the airport, and we ate, perused the Brown Hotel lobby and were back to our car in the adjacent garage in 55 minutes. Lovingly cared for old hotel ambiance, nice dining room. We both had Hot Browns and mint juleps… so Kentucky it hurts. Having only read about the Hot Brown, I figured we may as well get one from the source. Thick cuts of very tender turkey breast on Texas toast, bacon, grilled tomato to the side and a heavenly creamy, cheese sauce that I want to fill a pool with and swim in. Filling without being too much. Perfection in a broiler dish. 10/10 would unhesitatingly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Sunday brunch buffets I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of the best Sunday brunch buffets I have ever had. My sorority sisters and I made a last minute, large-party reservation and we were completely accommodated. Our waiter was very funny and kind, having perfect timing for refills, collecting plates, etc. The food was phenomenal and had a wide range of choices between hot breakfast dishes and desserts. Would highly recommend to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first time and Louisville and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was our first time and Louisville and the Hot Brown met all expectations!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing how xxperiencrn and truly hope y ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Amazing how xxperiencrn and truly hope you had s great weekend

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Historic location and a really enjoyable ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Historic location and a really enjoyable environment. Very impressive staff. Not a great value, likely because they have the benefit of the hotel crowd, which will pay a premium. A good place to have breakfast or lunch with a friend, especially an out of town friend who can experience the ambiance of The Brown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was wonderful. The Hot Brow ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service was wonderful. The Hot Brown is the best! The interior is beautiful, in a historic hotel.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came here for lunch aft ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 25, 2016

My husband and I came here for lunch after our city hall wedding in 2015 and it was wonderful. This year we decided to make it a tradition to have lunch here on our anniversary. The atmosphere is relaxing and the staff is outstanding. They made our day even more special. Can't wait to go back next year!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The hot brown was as advertised and wort ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The hot brown was as advertised and worth the trip just for that.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girls and I were visiting Louisville ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2016

My girls and I were visiting Louisville and we wanted to try the famous Hot Brown. The Brown Hotel is the very place the Hot Brown was originally created. We thought it was really delicious and unique. The Cafe was beautiful, while the staff were friendly and professional. This was one of the highlights of our trip. I definitely recommend J Graham's Cafe to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Home of the Hot Brown. Great service and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Home of the Hot Brown. Great service and great meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A lovely experience with family from Dal ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 31, 2016

A lovely experience with family from Dallas with delicious food in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had the famous Kentucky Hot Brown and Ke ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had the famous Kentucky Hot Brown and Kentucky Derby Cocktail-outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was cordial and efficient. Thoug ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was cordial and efficient. Though there were many patrons, no delays were experienced. Food selection was appropriate for lunch. We enjoyed the buffet. Cauliflower soup was superb, as was the bread pudding - - best in the state! Wine list is very poor, would recommend cocktails instead. A fun day, good lunch and the gift shop is an added plus which I highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We go for the best Hot Brown. We have b ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 18, 2016

We go for the best Hot Brown. We have been twice now and hope to return next year.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was outstanding! Food was good ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was outstanding! Food was good (except chicken was a little tough), but the desserts and the dining experience made up for it. Scott and Derek provided above-average service and should definitely be commended! And the complimentary valet parking is a very classy touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful atmosphere. Great service. We ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere. Great service. We did not order the buffet but it looked great. Our breakfast from the menu was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good service, and the Hot Brown was deli ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good service, and the Hot Brown was delicious ! Valet parking was nice too. Plan on going back for Dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance and setting was great. We had ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Ambiance and setting was great. We had a family connection to this restaurant as my grandparents met while both worked here in the late 20's/early 30's. Unfortunately the food was only okay and definitely not worth the cost of a Sunday buffet ($28 per person). I selected a chicken sandwich from the menu. The chicken was dry and the sandwich was very bland. I could not recommend the restaurant with other better choices out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Great service and very pleasant and acco ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great service and very pleasant and accommodating host. Crepes station was a hit and they made custom crepes on request. Well known for Hot Brown...it was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.