About J Graham's Cafe

335 W Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

J. Graham's is the home of the legendary "Hot Brown" and offers guests a bistro-style option for casual dining in the hotel and features the freshest local produce. Open for breakfast and lunch, the Cafe offers guests a contemporary a la carte menu or full buffet option (available Tuesday-Friday) including gourmet soups, salads and entrees and a decadent dessert display. Non-smoking.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday 7 am-3 pm

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 am - 11:00 am
Lunch 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Saturday: Breakfast Buffet 7:00 am -11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 9-1

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available at the 4th Street main enterance to the hotel.

Public Transit:
On the corner of 4th and Broadway are East, West, (23 & 17)North & Southbound (4) stops.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Bettis

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room available to accomodate up to 22 people comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Sue Walker: 5025831234x7180

Additional:
Cafe, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • J Graham's Cafe
J Graham's Cafe

J Graham's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Central Kentucky
Contemporary American
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

Great for Lunch (40)
Great for Brunch (29)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (9)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The hot brown was as advertised and wort ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The hot brown was as advertised and worth the trip just for that.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girls and I were visiting Louisville ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My girls and I were visiting Louisville and we wanted to try the famous Hot Brown. The Brown Hotel is the very place the Hot Brown was originally created. We thought it was really delicious and unique. The Cafe was beautiful, while the staff were friendly and professional. This was one of the highlights of our trip. I definitely recommend J Graham's Cafe to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Home of the Hot Brown. Great service and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Home of the Hot Brown. Great service and great meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A lovely experience with family from Dal ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A lovely experience with family from Dallas with delicious food in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had the famous Kentucky Hot Brown and Ke ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had the famous Kentucky Hot Brown and Kentucky Derby Cocktail-outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was cordial and efficient. Thoug ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was cordial and efficient. Though there were many patrons, no delays were experienced. Food selection was appropriate for lunch. We enjoyed the buffet. Cauliflower soup was superb, as was the bread pudding - - best in the state! Wine list is very poor, would recommend cocktails instead. A fun day, good lunch and the gift shop is an added plus which I highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We go for the best Hot Brown. We have b ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We go for the best Hot Brown. We have been twice now and hope to return next year.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was outstanding! Food was good ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was outstanding! Food was good (except chicken was a little tough), but the desserts and the dining experience made up for it. Scott and Derek provided above-average service and should definitely be commended! And the complimentary valet parking is a very classy touch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful atmosphere. Great service. We ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere. Great service. We did not order the buffet but it looked great. Our breakfast from the menu was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good service, and the Hot Brown was deli ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Good service, and the Hot Brown was delicious ! Valet parking was nice too. Plan on going back for Dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance and setting was great. We had ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Ambiance and setting was great. We had a family connection to this restaurant as my grandparents met while both worked here in the late 20's/early 30's. Unfortunately the food was only okay and definitely not worth the cost of a Sunday buffet ($28 per person). I selected a chicken sandwich from the menu. The chicken was dry and the sandwich was very bland. I could not recommend the restaurant with other better choices out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Great service and very pleasant and acco ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great service and very pleasant and accommodating host. Crepes station was a hit and they made custom crepes on request. Well known for Hot Brown...it was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had breakfast here. Did not like it. I ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I had breakfast here. Did not like it. It's different from what I expected. This is personal though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Three friends from college getting together

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Three friends from college getting together for our fiftieth reunion; it was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We included this on our family vacation ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We included this on our family vacation to take the kids to a nice historic spot..also to have the Hot Brown. Everyone was thrilled and even tho we were all road weary it was refreshing. From the valet to the server, gift shop and the meal...everything was super. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch at J Graham's Cafe was fantastic a ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Lunch at J Graham's Cafe was fantastic as usual! We each ordered the Hot Brown which is absolutely delicious! We enjoyed the Strawberry Shortcake for dessert. 🍓 The service was great & food outstanding! When we are in Louisville this is our favorite restaurant. J Graham's Cafe is located in the historic Brown Hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Hot Brown was great but that is it

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I walked in and there is free valet, which was nice for 2 hours. The hostess was lovely and there was a kids menu. The drink was okay and the wait was long. WE never had refills or our plates cleared. Our waiter was not good at all. Our food was yummy but not worth the price. I would recommend the hot brown and the derby pie but otherwise I would not go back. There were much better places that were much cheaper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Get your Hot Brown here!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The original hot brown sandwich is the staple here but the lunch buffet is pretty good too! We went for an after graduation lunch and had an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Hot Brown at the Brown was outstandi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The Hot Brown at the Brown was outstanding! We did not do the buffet as it needed refreshing on all tables.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The hot brown was amazing and the brunch ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The hot brown was amazing and the brunch buffet had lots of choices.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Came here for lunch for a girlfriends ga ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Came here for lunch for a girlfriends gathering. Lovely ambiance, excellent service (though we would have appreciated a coffee refill), and great food. A bit pricey, but it's in a beautiful historic hotel, something that can't be replicated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Pretty good, overpriced for brunch. The ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Pretty good, overpriced for brunch. The upselling was annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Was passing thru town and stopped to get ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Was passing thru town and stopped to get a Kentucky Hot Brown at the home of the hot brown. Didn't disappoint. What an excellent sandwich. Kind of wish it had come with chips but the sandwich was huge and more than enough.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice to visit a historic part of Louisvi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice to visit a historic part of Louisville & enjoy some popular local food favorites. One stop shopping for the tasty Hot Brown & a delicious slice of Derby Pie!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Never disappoints...one of Louisville's ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Never disappoints...one of Louisville's Crown Jewels!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would go back in a heartbeat.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The meal at J Graham's Café was the garland of roses after our great day at Derby. Lovely setting inside the beautiful Brown Hotel (I also highly recommend a drink the Lobby Bar as well). We were a group of 10 and were promptly seated in a semi-private alcove of the restaurant. The food was spectacular due both to the wide selections of salads, appetizers, and soup and the wonderful dessert buffet at the end.

And if you go, make sure to get a Hot Brown. While the other entrée selections were good, you would be really missing out on a true culinary institution. The service was prompt and attentive without being obtrusive. If you are in Louisville, I would highly recommend a visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Hot Brown

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Home of the original hot brown - and it is still fanatic!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Not bad, but certainly not appropriate f ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Not bad, but certainly not appropriate for price. Relative to other places we ate over Derby weekend, this was at the bottom. If you need something in a pinch, this will do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Everything was perfect...except for the ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything was perfect...except for the weather. We were greeted warmly, sat quickly, served drinks timely, had our questions answered promptly. Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Get Your Hot Brown here

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Thank you for serving our table late this past Friday for lunch. It was much appreciated. Also, your staff was great but I have to call out the hostess who has an amazing spirit. Too bad, the rest of the world cant be like her. The food was excellent. The staff were excellent. My cohorts and I loved the meal and the time spent there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Hot Brown

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

On our way to Lexington, we had to make a stop for the famous "Hot Brown". It was delicious! The service was excellent and our server Scott also assisted with selecting a bourbon cocktail. We will definitely make plans to return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Louisville winner

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Perfect spot for a wonderful lunch. Of course we ate the Hot Brown. The food was delicious, the service impeccable. I'd recommend this as a Must for any Kentucky visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and ambiance.

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gotta get the Hot Brown

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

ITs tremendous and decadent so we shared that and a salad. We also went back from brunch. Great staff, delicious food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Casual Elegance

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

I've taken every one of my out of town guests to the Brown Hotel always insisting that my guest have the world- famous Hot Brown. So, unfortunately, my familiarity with the other menu offerings is very limited. I actually like the afternoon atmosphere of the J. Graham's Cafe better than any of the other downtown hotels. It's light and airy, but feels intimate and it's fun to look out the windows. One thing I can say absolutely is that the service and attention of the staff are excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter brunch tasty

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My kids and I went to Easter brunch and had a great experience. There was a wide assortment of food and desserts to please all ages.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service as always!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Derrick!!! At j Graham's !

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great restaurant! Met a nice guy named derick that worked there, he was a great help to me and my family. Very nice and patient. Can't remember my servers name but he was great also!!the ladies in my Family loved the food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the infamous Hot Brown. Wonder ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Went for the infamous Hot Brown. Wonderful! Good service and lovely venue.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husbabd's birthday

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband's birthday fell on Valentine's Day this year and wanted to experience a new brunch buffet, which we found in the J Graham Café. All in all, a memorable experience! The wait staff is exceptional in every way and the food and ambiance were outstanding, of course.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.