Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About J Graham's Cafe

J. Graham's is the home of the legendary "Hot Brown" and offers guests a bistro-style option for casual dining in the hotel and features the freshest local produce. Open for breakfast and lunch, the Cafe offers guests a contemporary a la carte menu or full buffet option (available Tuesday-Friday) including gourmet soups, salads and entrees and a decadent dessert display. Non-smoking.

335 W Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday 7 am-3 pm

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 am - 11:00 am
Lunch 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Saturday: Breakfast Buffet 7:00 am -11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 9-1

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available at the 4th Street main entrance to the hotel.

Public Transit:
On the corner of 4th and Broadway are East, West, (23 & 17)North & Southbound (4) stops.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room available to accommodate up to 22 people comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Judd Gibbs: (502) 583-1234 ext. 7180

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J Graham's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (23)
Great for Lunch (18)
Sunday Lunch (15)
See All
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Romantic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Casual (3)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort by
S
307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Classic atmosphere in Louisville’s Brown Hotel. Very friendly wait staff, accommodating to dietary restrictions, and generous in providing birthday cake.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2018

We had brunch upstairs as they are remodeling downstairs. The room we were placed was freezing and smelled strongly of paint remover. The food was great as usual, but the overall experience was not as nice as it usually is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

My trip to J. Graham was to celebrate my sister 70th birthday. We both love hot browns and there wasn't a better way to celebrate than with the original hot brown. The service and atmosphere was beautiful. The seating was a little to close for my liking, only because it makes you feel like you can't talk to each other without interfering in other people's conversations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

Could not have been better...It was the best!!!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Had a wonderful time at the Christmas brunch!
Thank you for providing an enjoyable meal on a holiday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Food and service was excellent to superb. I was dissatisfied with having to look at the beverage/service area. This should have been screened off!! Also, the air intake panels above the beverage/service area were disgustingly filthy. There was at least a quarter of an inch of dirt and grime on the vent slats. When I spoke to the manager on duty, he said he would have that attended to tomorrow. Not at all satisfactory in my book. I wish I had taken a few photos, but had guest and didn’t want to be obvious with my obvious displeasures. Interestingly enough, the head chef of the restaurant was socializing with friends and wasn’t the least concerned with everything around him!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

Top Service, with an amazing Hot Brown!!!
Your care was outstanding. The private dinner room with the children able to sit together at one table and the parents at the next while all in one room was so enjoyable!!

I believe a new Christmas tradition has begun!!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2017

We bring my Mother here for Christmas Eve, and other special occasions because it's close to the nursing home she is in, and we are able to walk down the street. It was outstanding this year. The staff is always friendly and welcoming from the moment you walk in. The buffet is delicious, but the Hot Brown is all of our favorites, along with the bloody Mary's. Iconic hotel, with incredible people and service is always with a smile.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 23, 2017

On Dec. 23 there was a group of 6 of us that had our annual pre Christmas brunch at the JGraham Brown Cafe in the Brown Hotel. Consistent with the last several years since we started our tradition, the experience was wonderful! Some of always enjoy the Hot Brown and this year it was a good as ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 19, 2017

Ate lunch with friends for Christmas. Perfect buffet. DELICIOUS food except soup. Too spicy for us all. Made future reservations while we were there. Bedt value in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. I have recommended the Sunday brunch to friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Have eaten there many times, it’s a family favorite.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 17, 2017

I think the brunch is overpriced.. A toaster that would not work for the customers trying to use it was unacceptable. Taking away the Brown Sandwich, that had been there last Christmas, was a major disappointment to our party of eleven. If it was price, there could have been some of the other dishes taken. What do you go to eat at the Brown but the Brown sandwich.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

I always leave satisfied! The food is always so good! And the staff at the Brown are always so attentive!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Holiday lunch with dear friends was delicious. We all got the Hot Brown and it was everything we heard it would be. Simply the best!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Disappointed Christmas office lunch. Poor food options on the buffet.

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Great atomsphere and food. Hot Brown was great. Valet car service for restaurant is free.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

We had always wanted to try a Hot Brown, so we added J. Graham's to our itinerary for our getaway to Louisville to experience the magic of Lights Under Louisville. The meal was so scrumptious!! I would definitely order it again. I loved the classy yet comfortable ambiance, especially the low key background music, which made it possible to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 3, 2017

So glad we picked this place. The brunch was fabulous and a great treat.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 23, 2017

My family and I had Thanksgiving lunch (buffet) at J Graham’s. It was amazing and such a relaxing way to spend the holiday. We were able to enjoy each other’s company without having the stress of cooking. The food was delicious and the staff was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Buffet selection was very good. Our server, Regina, was excellent: Courteous, friendly and attentive to our needs.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 23, 2017

It was perfect. The Waite staff was outstanding. We drove 200+ miles to be with friends and could not have had a better brunch.
Thanks
Kurt Vezner

Tags: Romantic, Quick Bite, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Great Thanksgiving brunch and lunch items on the buffet line. Service was great. Such a good place for Thanksgiving!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 23, 2017

The food was very well prepared and fresh--regional and traditional fare. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The decor needs an update.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

We recently drove 700 miles and dined at a historic hotel in West Point, NY. We drove 7 minutes to J Graham's and had a far better buffet with service beyond comparison. J Graham's may well become a Thanksgiving tradition. The pastry chef is a goddess!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Hot brown and Derby Pie was delicious! Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Shared the Hot Brown with my wife and both of us were very impressed with the amount of food for splitting the meal but the taste was excellent. Service was very good and our food was prepared quickly. My only less than stellar visit was the coffee was just average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and lunch was great! Highly recommend the hot brown!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Went with a friend from out of town for their famous Hotbrown. Was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

This was our third anniversary going to the Brown for a Hot Brown. The traditional will continue for years to come. Great service and good when single time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Very nice group of people accommodating in every way. The food was wonderful, the Brown sandwich was an experience we all enjoyed. Will go back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

GREAT AND GENUINE CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM ALL, INCLUDING THE HOTEL!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Had the Hot Brown it was excellent. Sat at the bar had wonderful conversation with the bartender,a nice young lady from New Orleans

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

A group of us get together each month for a brunch at new place. We were very happy with this month's choice!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We went here for one thing and one thing only, the Hot Brown. Did not disappoint. Rest of the menu looked great but we were only ordering one thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My husband and I visited Louisville for our anniversary. We wanted to try some authentic food from Louisville so we decided to go to the Brown hotel to try the famous hot brown dish. It did not disappoint! The dish was delicious and the hotel was beautiful. Valet parking is complimentary when dinning with j Graham which made the meal feel extra special. Our waitress was very attentive and nice. I look forward to returning to this restaurant when I visit Louisville again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Really beautiful building with a lot of history!

It was a Sunday brunch and busy! Our server seemed a bit rushed but she was pleasant when she managed to get to us and it took about 10 minutes to get cappuccinos and waters.

My partners Hot Brown was excellent but my breakfast wasn't ; the grits were really under seasoned and my over medium eggs had runny whites.

Overall we enjoyed it but they could be better with the consistency of the food and have more staff.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The brunch Sunday had a huge variety. We ended up keeping it simple ala carte and were delighted with our choices. Angie was efficient and polite. The Bloody Mary was my only gripe and was only OK with room for improvement.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We went there to have the renowned Hot Brown, it was $17 but certainly enough for two people. It was absolutely scrumptious! My husband had French toast which was excellent. Coffee was surprisingly good. If you enjoy Historic Hotels this is a great dinning experience .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Expensive and very mediocre brunch. Too many other great breakfast places to waste your time and money here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.