Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About J Graham's Cafe

J. Graham's is the home of the legendary "Hot Brown" and offers guests a bistro-style option for casual dining in the hotel and features the freshest local produce. Open for breakfast and lunch, the Cafe offers guests a contemporary a la carte menu or full buffet option (available Tuesday-Friday) including gourmet soups, salads and entrees and a decadent dessert display. Non-smoking.

335 W Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday 7 am-3 pm

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 am - 11:00 am
Lunch 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Saturday: Breakfast Buffet 7:00 am -11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 9-1

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available at the 4th Street main entrance to the hotel.

Public Transit:
On the corner of 4th and Broadway are East, West, (23 & 17)North & Southbound (4) stops.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room available to accommodate up to 22 people comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Judd Gibbs: (502) 583-1234 ext. 7180

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J Graham's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Great for Brunch (18)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Sunday Lunch (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Romantic (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Casual (6)
People Watching (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

You must go there for the best original "Hot Brown" sandwich. We come everytime we visit Louisville just for this. The derby pie is awesome too!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The manager and wait staff were all extremely friendly. The authentic Hot Brown was delicious and the restaurant was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. We will definitely make another visit on our next trip to Louisville!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 4, 2017

As you would expect everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Recommend hot brown for first time visitors.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Hot Brown - Not worth the HYPE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Had breakfast at J. Graham's, excellent food and service!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wanted to enjoy the original 'Hot Brown' sandwich. Wait staff was EXCELLENT!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We were on vacation and wanted to try the original Hot Brown. It was everything we excepted and more. Delicious. Would highly recommend this to anyone traveling in the area. The service was excellent from the time of arrival until we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was delicious and big servings! The staff was great and the ambiance greater.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I was visiting Louisville and had heard about The Brown Hotel and the legendary Hot Brown so my daughter and I went to give it a try. Almost everything about J. Graham's Cafe was great.

It was quiet so you could have conversations without raising your voice at all. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating from the time we arrived.

The furnishings and decor gave me an old world feeling with almost an elegance and antiquity to it without feeling out of place as a casual patron.

I stopped analyzing the "what would you recommend this restaurant for?" categories because there are so many. There are probably more that could apply.

Both my daughter and I had the Hot Brown. While it obviously did not stop me from going or keep me from ordering it as I wanted to experience the original, I am not giving a high rating on value as it costs $17 for what, in my mind, is a modified hot turkey sandwich. To be clear, I enjoyed the Hot Brown very much. It is very good. I just feel it is over-priced and that's why I rated value lower.

Suffice to say, even with my view on the price of the Hot Brown, if you want to go to a restaurant for any personal event that isn't a "party" event or where you feel like you have to wear formal wear (although you certainly could dress like that here and it would fit in also) I highly recommend J. Graham's Cafe.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great place to get the famous Hot Brown sandwich!!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We took my Mom to celebrate her 75th birthday. The wait staff was excellent and the food was delicious. We chose this venue because Mom has always love a "Hot Brown" and the dish originated here at the Brown Hotel. It was a lovely lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We stopped by for Sunday brunch and were throughly impressed with the selection offerred. It was well worth the cost. Service was attentative. And the ambiance was relaxing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Breakfast-Brunch at the brown is phenomenal! We all enjoyed the Buffett and it was absolutely fabulous. The choices were incredible and everything on my plate(s) were delicious.
The service was great and lacked the snobbery you may experience in other higher end hotels and restaurants.
The price for the buffet was a steep $28, but nothing I ate made the price feel unjustified. Wonderful experience, I shall be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great atmosphere and at a great hotel. Great way to end our trip!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was awesome! Service...the waitress forgot about us serveral times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Had excellent service, pleasant surroundings and great food

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I was disappointed with The "Hot Brown" sandwich. The atmosphere was very nice. The bread pudding and sauce were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Quite a nice venue in an iconic and classy Louisville hotel.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were in town for Father's Day all the dads loved it. It is a beautiful place and the food was wonderful. I just wished there were more breakfast food choices on buffet. Example, bacon and pancakes. But the service was great and the free valet parking was a nice touch. I will recommend it to others.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had the Sunday Brunch and it was excellent. A wide variety of food. We will come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Lunched there while in town for races at Churchill Downs. Arrived a few minutes before our reservations and were seated immediately. Ordered the iconic Hot Brown and Derby Pie. Did not disappoint! The food was delicious and service was very good. The drink and food prices were well within line for this type of resturant.
A must for a visit to Louisville, even if you are not staying at the Brown. Would recommend to friends and definitely eat here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It took a bit of time to receive a glass of water, especially when the water glass is already set on the table. The food was wonderful!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The atmosphere was great! The Hot Brown was excellent! The breakfast buffet was so-so. The server had to leave for a personal emergency so service was slow, hopefully a one time issue.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The place is fantastic. Top to bottom, food, service, perfect in every way!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were visiting Louisville from out of town and wanted to try the famous "hot brown" in a hotel with old charm. The food, including the hot brown, was mediocre, bland, and overpriced. The service was poor, the food took over 25 minutes to arrive, and then we had to ask 4 times for hot sauce to go with our eggs. The setting was clearly grand at one point, but felt past its prime. I would not recommend it. There are much better brunch places in the city.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food and service was great. Was passing through and always wanted to stop at this landmark. Very well worth the trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We did a whirl wind road trip to several states, Kentucky being on the list. We've always heard about the famous Brown Hotel and the Hot Brown they invented, so we had to visit and try it out for ourselves. The hotel is GORGEOUS and the food amazing! Our waitress was also wonderful and very helpful. If you want a really good Hot Brown you need to come here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Loved the Hotel and restaurant. My Hot Brown was outstanding. Service was below my standards. Had a cappacuio but waitress would not come back to table to offer me another one. She seemed to have too many tables. Ate at lunchtime. Once again food is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excellent place to dine. Wonderful place for service & excellent food. Best Hot Brown around. Very comfortable & very relaxing. Recommend it to everyone. I give them a 10 out of 10.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great for out of town guests to have the hot brown. Love that can order from menu rather than buffet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Disappointed with the brunch. Omelet was ok. No gravy for the biscuits. Asked for it and the bowl that was brought to my table was ice cold. Staff semed disorganized. Late getting food out. I didnt expect so many lunch items at 9:00 o'clock in the morning. The food was mediocre for the $28.00 charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We went for a Saturday lunch after our daughter's graduation. We had a quiet table in a separated room. The atmosphere, service and food were all excellent. The Hot Brown and Muhammed Ali Special were wonderful. I would recommend this location to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Just stopped in for lunch on a quick visit to Louisville, and had heard of the famed "The Hot Brown', and have to say, it was Delicious! There's a reason why some things are famous, and this, IMO, lived up the billing. This is not your average turkey sandwich. Really, really good. The hotel looked lovely. Very glad I went.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The hot brown is the real deal here. Where it originated.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was pretty good, but service was not. We were there for brunch and had to wait over 20 minutes beyond our reservation time and the waitress was not friendly. It was disappointing. Otherwise, it's a very nice setting - the service just put a real downer on things.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We made the mistake of getting the all you can eat Sunday buffet. Unfortunately it was way over priced, and although all of it looked amazing, none of it tasted amazing. Definitely not worth $28. The mimosa was $10 for a tiny tiny glass. If you're going to go here get what they are famous for: the hot brown. It looked phenomenal. We definitely blame ourselves for losing that opportunity and unfortunately spending way more on way less than satisfactory.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great venue and delicious food. The Sunday brunch looked absolutely terrific but none of us were quite that hungry; the classic breakfast special was a very good value.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

One of my favorite lunch venues. There's s reason we have our annual Christmas party there. The food, service, and ambiance is very "comfy" without being too casual or too formal. Don't wear jeans; make it at least a khaki lunch

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent service and the food was great! Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Louisville.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.