Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About J Graham's Cafe

J. Graham's is the home of the legendary "Hot Brown" and offers guests a bistro-style option for casual dining in the hotel and features the freshest local produce. Open for breakfast and lunch, the Cafe offers guests a contemporary a la carte menu or full buffet option (available Tuesday-Friday) including gourmet soups, salads and entrees and a decadent dessert display. Non-smoking.

335 W Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday 7 am-3 pm

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 am - 11:00 am
Lunch 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Saturday: Breakfast Buffet 7:00 am -11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 9-1

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available at the 4th Street main entrance to the hotel.

Public Transit:
On the corner of 4th and Broadway are East, West, (23 & 17)North & Southbound (4) stops.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room available to accommodate up to 22 people comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Judd Gibbs: (502) 583-1234 ext. 7180

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J Graham's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Sunday Lunch (22)
See All
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Authentic (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Casual (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (12)
Romantic (11)
Business Meals (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
People Watching (9)
Historic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great atmosphere and at a great hotel. Great way to end our trip!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was awesome! Service...the waitress forgot about us serveral times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Had excellent service, pleasant surroundings and great food

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I was disappointed with The "Hot Brown" sandwich. The atmosphere was very nice. The bread pudding and sauce were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Quite a nice venue in an iconic and classy Louisville hotel.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were in town for Father's Day all the dads loved it. It is a beautiful place and the food was wonderful. I just wished there were more breakfast food choices on buffet. Example, bacon and pancakes. But the service was great and the free valet parking was a nice touch. I will recommend it to others.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had the Sunday Brunch and it was excellent. A wide variety of food. We will come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Lunched there while in town for races at Churchill Downs. Arrived a few minutes before our reservations and were seated immediately. Ordered the iconic Hot Brown and Derby Pie. Did not disappoint! The food was delicious and service was very good. The drink and food prices were well within line for this type of resturant.
A must for a visit to Louisville, even if you are not staying at the Brown. Would recommend to friends and definitely eat here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It took a bit of time to receive a glass of water, especially when the water glass is already set on the table. The food was wonderful!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The atmosphere was great! The Hot Brown was excellent! The breakfast buffet was so-so. The server had to leave for a personal emergency so service was slow, hopefully a one time issue.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The place is fantastic. Top to bottom, food, service, perfect in every way!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were visiting Louisville from out of town and wanted to try the famous "hot brown" in a hotel with old charm. The food, including the hot brown, was mediocre, bland, and overpriced. The service was poor, the food took over 25 minutes to arrive, and then we had to ask 4 times for hot sauce to go with our eggs. The setting was clearly grand at one point, but felt past its prime. I would not recommend it. There are much better brunch places in the city.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food and service was great. Was passing through and always wanted to stop at this landmark. Very well worth the trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We did a whirl wind road trip to several states, Kentucky being on the list. We've always heard about the famous Brown Hotel and the Hot Brown they invented, so we had to visit and try it out for ourselves. The hotel is GORGEOUS and the food amazing! Our waitress was also wonderful and very helpful. If you want a really good Hot Brown you need to come here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Loved the Hotel and restaurant. My Hot Brown was outstanding. Service was below my standards. Had a cappacuio but waitress would not come back to table to offer me another one. She seemed to have too many tables. Ate at lunchtime. Once again food is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excellent place to dine. Wonderful place for service & excellent food. Best Hot Brown around. Very comfortable & very relaxing. Recommend it to everyone. I give them a 10 out of 10.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great for out of town guests to have the hot brown. Love that can order from menu rather than buffet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Disappointed with the brunch. Omelet was ok. No gravy for the biscuits. Asked for it and the bowl that was brought to my table was ice cold. Staff semed disorganized. Late getting food out. I didnt expect so many lunch items at 9:00 o'clock in the morning. The food was mediocre for the $28.00 charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We went for a Saturday lunch after our daughter's graduation. We had a quiet table in a separated room. The atmosphere, service and food were all excellent. The Hot Brown and Muhammed Ali Special were wonderful. I would recommend this location to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Just stopped in for lunch on a quick visit to Louisville, and had heard of the famed "The Hot Brown', and have to say, it was Delicious! There's a reason why some things are famous, and this, IMO, lived up the billing. This is not your average turkey sandwich. Really, really good. The hotel looked lovely. Very glad I went.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The hot brown is the real deal here. Where it originated.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was pretty good, but service was not. We were there for brunch and had to wait over 20 minutes beyond our reservation time and the waitress was not friendly. It was disappointing. Otherwise, it's a very nice setting - the service just put a real downer on things.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We made the mistake of getting the all you can eat Sunday buffet. Unfortunately it was way over priced, and although all of it looked amazing, none of it tasted amazing. Definitely not worth $28. The mimosa was $10 for a tiny tiny glass. If you're going to go here get what they are famous for: the hot brown. It looked phenomenal. We definitely blame ourselves for losing that opportunity and unfortunately spending way more on way less than satisfactory.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great venue and delicious food. The Sunday brunch looked absolutely terrific but none of us were quite that hungry; the classic breakfast special was a very good value.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

One of my favorite lunch venues. There's s reason we have our annual Christmas party there. The food, service, and ambiance is very "comfy" without being too casual or too formal. Don't wear jeans; make it at least a khaki lunch

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent service and the food was great! Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Louisville.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Law school graduation

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were promptly seated and all the staff was very friendly. First time having The Hot Brown and it was delicious. It was an excellent choice for brunch during our anniversary weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

From the moment we walked in, the experience was perfect. Had friends from out of state and they just had to visit and eat at the Brown. They did not disappoint.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We dined on a Monday, the restaurant was not very busy, and the service was slow. Several tables around us, who ordered after us, were served before us. Once the food runner dropped our meals, we had to ask for dessert, and the check. The food was great, especially the Hot Brown. The service was sub-par.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I ordered a hot brown and derby pie! Both were AMAZING! The complaints I have won't keep me from returning. Our waitress was late greeting us and our food came before our drinks came out. Then we left and we're taking pictures on the stairs in the lobby and the manager kept coming out asking if we needed anything else. Way to make us feel uncomfortable! We were visiting the famous Brown Hotel! We were taking pics!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had the best experience ever, enjoyed everything about it❣️The Hot Brown and Derby pie were beyond delicious. Highly recommend experiencing this jewel.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

nice recommended host was a gentleman waitress was superb food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great location in the Brown hotel but that is where the "fun" ended. We went specifically to try the signature dish, the "hot Brown" only to discover that it is basically half a chicken dinner for a criminally priced $49.00. Of course it did include a soup, salad and desert bar but $49.00 but really.

When we asked to split the meal we were told that we couldn't so my wife had a $10.00 bowl of pasta for another $44.00.

We will never go there again and will tell all of our friends to avoid it at all cost and we are from LA so we are used to high dinner prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The restaurant was all around wonderful. I was seated the minute I walked in and no sooner did I sit down but the waiter came over to ask if I wanted a drink. The service was really impeccable. The waiter came by several times to make sure everything was ok and to see if I needed anything. The menu has a good variety of food choices but being a vegetarian, they only offered one entre of pasta. I would highly recommend
J Graham's, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The complimentary valet parking was awesome, service was great, beautifully decorated and loved the shop!! Loved all the Derby and local items and art.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We have been before, but some of us had to revisit the Hot Brown. We enjoyed everything that was ordered and we look forward to the next visit when some more of us might branch out and try one of those delicious looking sandwiches!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We enjoyed our hot brown sandwiches but mine was cold . Too embarrassed to send it back. Waitress was attentive but not too concerned about our food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

It was absolutely fabulous!!!!! The best Hot Brown I've ever had!!!!! The host/wait staff were great!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The maitre d' who greeted us was very nice. Things went downhill from there. It's the little things that matter: no pepper on the table and it took 20 minutes to get some. The table busser took my sister's coat and laid it on the window sill behind the table, which was fine, but it was soon joined by an empty dishwasher glassware holder and something else that shouldn't have been placed there. The omelet chef had no idea how to make an omelet. It took forever to get coffee, so we had to pour our own from the bus table (we were not the only ones). We were there for the brunch buffet...it was inconsistent. My sister's flank steak was so tough she couldn't cut it. They put a huge cut of smoked salmon out with no utensils to serve it with. All the selections in the chafing dishes were pretty heavy, old-style recipes that they've probably served for years. The dining room manager stepped in near the end and was very nice as we hadn't seen our server for a lengthy amount of time. She came by and apologized that she was given two big tables and had to serve them all drinks...okay, I get that as I've been a server, but management should have had extra staff as there was a special event in town that weekend...a yearly event, so it was nothing new. Just a disappointment...

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.