Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

J Graham's Cafe

4.5
346 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Sunday Lunch
  • Great for Lunch
J. Graham's is the home of the legendary "Hot Brown" and offers guests a bistro-style option for casual dining in the hotel and features the freshest local produce. Open for breakfast and lunch, the Cafe offers guests a contemporary a la carte menu or full buffet option (available Tuesday-Friday) including gourmet soups, salads and entrees and a decadent dessert display. Non-smoking.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Everyday 7 am-3 pm

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 am - 11:00 am
Lunch 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Saturday: Breakfast Buffet 7:00 am -11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 9-1
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(502) 583-1234
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
James Adams
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private dining room available to accommodate up to 22 people comfortably.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Agustin Sosa : (502) 583-1234 ext. 7069
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
4th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking available at the 4th Street main entrance to the hotel.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
On the corner of 4th and Broadway are East, West, (23 & 17)North & Southbound (4) stops.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 346 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Came for the Hot Brown, was not disappointed. The brunch buffet looked amazing, maybe next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

A great spot in Louisville to grab a bite. The hotel is stunning and the feel of it carries into the cafe. Must try the Hot Brown too! Best in town!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Even though I have lived in Louisville nearly all my life, I had never had a Hot Brown at the Brown hotel. It absolutely lived up to expectations!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I'll keep it simple ... the Hot Brown is an absolute must do!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went to the Mother's Day buffet was excellent. Buffet was extensive and eveything I tried was tasty. The surprise was that they included Hot Brown in the brunch price, so a couple of people at our table got to taste for first time.

J. Graham Cafe is a go-to for business lunch - valet parking and daily buffet make for quick work.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

First time at J. Graham's Cafe was for Mother's Day brunch. It was probably one of the best brunch buffets we've ever been to. Food was excellent not only in terms of quality but choice - enough variety for everyone without being overwhelming. Old world charm of the venue was also nice. Classy but not overbearing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had a terrific Mothers Day Brunch. It was the perfect weekend ending for my sons Graduation weekend. The food choices at the buffet were amazing. There were many choices of hot foods and cold ones. The biscuits were just amazing. It was our best meal out in KY.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Had Mother's Day brunch here. Outstanding! Of course you must try the Hot Brown here if not anywhere else.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I did not give this a good review because of a couple of things. I made reservations without being told/disclosed that it was a fixed price. We assumed we could order off of the menu and there was no reference to the brunch on Open Table nor did the person that confirmed the reservation over the phone disclose it. When we were seated we were given menus only for them to be later taken away. Additionally, the price was way too high to not include champagne. For $42 on Mother's Day it should at least included Mimosa's or plain champagne.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The meal and service was wonderful! The hotel is gorgeous inside and out, and we would most definelty return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Fabulous way to begin the Derby! Service and food were amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The home of the hot brown did not disappoint. Everything was delicious. IT was derby day and things were a bit chaotic but overall we had a great experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We enjoyed a meal after the Oaks Race. Great salad bar, excellent food!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We were there during the Derby, and had reservations for 2, we had a very difficult time getting waited on. It was not their first Derby, but they were seriously understaffed. The actual food was very good but the experience was not. We had a lovely gentleman try to make the experience better named Derrick who was only supposed to clean tables but he really tried to assist us better, and that was appreciated.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I am sure the issue was Derby Weekend... Restaurant had a VERY LIMITED fixed menu..
8 oz Filet $75, Braised Short Rib $60, Chicken wrapped w prosciutto and fig stuffing $45, Pasta Pomodoro $45 and Kentucky Hot Brown $ 45. All items included a self service salad bar with self serve sides.

First The Good... Reservation on time, party of 8 good seating and nice efficient waitress... that basically it...

Food choice was difficult for some, especially for lite eaters.. I asked for my self and others for anything possible lighter ......nothing.... I assume most would select the pasta, that what some did , however this dish was basically a higher version of mac and cheese . Served as a baked casserole style dish in a thick creamy garlic sauce with heavy cheese, and yes a few small grape tomatoes. ok this of Kentucky, not NY.. I get it. but not even close..

The Meat offerings were fine, nothing special.. tiny , I mean tiny mixed drinks, average wine bottle prices...

I guess the item here is the Hot Brown turkey, but I WARN you , real creamy and needed salt..

I would pass on this old guard.. so sorry management.. you missed it on the menu selections

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Breakfast reservation before the Oaks at Churchill Downs. Service was exceptionally slow but I’m trying to be gracious because they were very busy. My husband had the buffet and it was very good however the frittata I ordered took over 40 minutes to arrive and the grits were cold and undercooked. We would definitely give them another chance if we were are in Louisville again but we would definitely hope an experience on a less busy weekend would surpass this one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

4/25 Wanted to do something special with my grandson to celebrate his 17th birthday. Picked him up at his nearby school, walked over and we had a delicious lunch. I had made a reservation an we were treated royally. Our waitress delivered excellent service and hospitality. He had his first Hot Brown and loved it. Then because I had said it was a special occasion, he was brought a fabulous dessert of 2 slices of Derby Pie surrounded by fresh raspberries with whipped cream. Thank you so much for contributing to this special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

A Hot Brown at The Brown (where they were invented) is a must if visiting Louisville. Two hours free valet parking with reservations is a bonus.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Staff was excellent. Atmosphere - very nice. Everyone liked their lunch - except me - the kale salad I ordered was tasteless and the kale (spinach?) seemed tired. The salmon I ordered with it was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

This is casual elegance, a great way for hotel guest of city visitor or resident to stop in for breakfast, or lunch in a suite or jeans and polo. Wait staff was awesome and spent a lot of time explaining and making you feel like a valued guest. Yes the food was awesome and of course at least one of the folks at your table has to order the Hot Brown.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Very impress with the service, friendly, professional. We ordered the hot brown, perfect. I even asked about the brand of coffee served, some of the best I’ve tasted.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Wonderful experience for an all-girls lunch. Can't wait to do it again next year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Having brunch with a good friend that works there

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Whenever I lunch with my closest friends, this is the place. Service is rapid and unobtrusive and the food is fresh and excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had Easter brunch at J. Graham's and we all thought the food was very good. It had a great seafood and beef selection. Additionally, it had a great omelet and waffle bar and everything was cooked to perfection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch was fabulous! From complimentary valet to hostesses to table service all were not only cheerful and genuine but above and beyond accommodating! Service was the best I have had in The Ville yet (11 years).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Everything about our experience here was top rate. The food was served piping hot with great presentation and was all delicious. ALL of the staff encountered were efficient, professional and friendly, especially our server. She even took the time to advise us on some local attractions that may interest us. Even our special reservation request for a window seat was honored. Loved every minute of it!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Loved it! We loved all the history too! The service was excellent and the suggestions right on. We each had a Hot Brown and the Derby pie. It was a delicious, memorable meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

My first experience here, good food, friendly staff. I'll return and try brunch. It looked fresh and appetizing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Every bite was delicious! Service was excellent. They were more than willing to allow us to split a salad, a hot brown and derby pie. All this and two lovely cocktails made for a lunch that was well worth the walk from our hotel near 4th street.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Hot Brown is a must. Friendly, attentive wait staff. Everything was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We've been to Sunday brunch on many occasions, and recently had found the food to be somewhat hit-or-miss. Never bad, but sometimes a bit less than impressive. Yesterday made up for that and more. Perhaps a new chef or two? All of the entrees were incredible, many nice salads including a shrimp salad that was incredible and seafood packed, good carving/omelette station, and, amongst a nice selection of desserts, the bread pudding with bourbon/caramel sauce was spectacular. Truly a memorable brunch, and, if there is a new chef at work there, it will be a permanent gig.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Excellent breakfast. Service and food was great. Glad that we skipped the free breakfast in our hotel to eat at The Brown.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

I sent guests that wanted to try something truly authentic to the area. What better place than home to the hot brown! They were very happy with the service and both loved their lunch. They were impressed with the value and would go back! Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

I had the Hot Brown. It was awesome. The food came quickly and was well put together. The turkey was cooked just right. Service was outstanding also. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone who’s going to visit Louisville. When I come back, I will be visiting this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The brunch had so many options it was a challenge not to overeat. Pamela was our server and she treated us like long-time friends. That made the experience even better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Found the service was excellent the food very good . the staff very courteous

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Get to the Brown Hotel and put an authentic Hot Brown in your belly, for a Sunday Brunch treat! We came into town for a show at the Palace Theater and stayed at the Brown for convenience of location and being home of the Hot Brown. Two historic landmarks and one culinary legend. The Hot Brown isn't your usual melted globular fare found at fast/casual restaurants. A sizzling crock, loaded with cheese, bacon, cheese, turkey and did I say cheese arrives at your table for a mere $18. It's bigger than your head and two diners of reasonable appetites could easily split one plate. The environment is lovely and our seating faced Main Street which provided ample people watching opportunities. The service was spot on and as you would expect from a national historic landmark hotel boasting numerous stars. Do yourself a flavor and order up a Hot Brown in the Brown Hotel. Your waistline and cholesterol count won't forgive you, but your taste buds will thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Hot brown was wonderful! THe hotbrown is huge. Took home half! Enjoying it for lunch the next two days!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2018

Classic atmosphere in Louisville’s Brown Hotel. Very friendly wait staff, accommodating to dietary restrictions, and generous in providing birthday cake.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9

Tweets by J Graham's Cafe