Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About J Graham's Cafe

J. Graham's is the home of the legendary "Hot Brown" and offers guests a bistro-style option for casual dining in the hotel and features the freshest local produce. Open for breakfast and lunch, the Cafe offers guests a contemporary a la carte menu or full buffet option (available Tuesday-Friday) including gourmet soups, salads and entrees and a decadent dessert display. Non-smoking.

335 W Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday 7 am-3 pm

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 am - 11:00 am
Lunch 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Saturday: Breakfast Buffet 7:00 am -11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 9-1

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available at the 4th Street main entrance to the hotel.

Public Transit:
On the corner of 4th and Broadway are East, West, (23 & 17)North & Southbound (4) stops.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room available to accommodate up to 22 people comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Judd Gibbs: (502) 583-1234 ext. 7180

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J Graham's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (22)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
See All
Comfort Food (14)
Historic (13)
Casual (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (7)
Romantic (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was pretty good, but service was not. We were there for brunch and had to wait over 20 minutes beyond our reservation time and the waitress was not friendly. It was disappointing. Otherwise, it's a very nice setting - the service just put a real downer on things.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

We made the mistake of getting the all you can eat Sunday buffet. Unfortunately it was way over priced, and although all of it looked amazing, none of it tasted amazing. Definitely not worth $28. The mimosa was $10 for a tiny tiny glass. If you're going to go here get what they are famous for: the hot brown. It looked phenomenal. We definitely blame ourselves for losing that opportunity and unfortunately spending way more on way less than satisfactory.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great venue and delicious food. The Sunday brunch looked absolutely terrific but none of us were quite that hungry; the classic breakfast special was a very good value.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

One of my favorite lunch venues. There's s reason we have our annual Christmas party there. The food, service, and ambiance is very "comfy" without being too casual or too formal. Don't wear jeans; make it at least a khaki lunch

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent service and the food was great! Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Louisville.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Law school graduation

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were promptly seated and all the staff was very friendly. First time having The Hot Brown and it was delicious. It was an excellent choice for brunch during our anniversary weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

From the moment we walked in, the experience was perfect. Had friends from out of state and they just had to visit and eat at the Brown. They did not disappoint.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We dined on a Monday, the restaurant was not very busy, and the service was slow. Several tables around us, who ordered after us, were served before us. Once the food runner dropped our meals, we had to ask for dessert, and the check. The food was great, especially the Hot Brown. The service was sub-par.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I ordered a hot brown and derby pie! Both were AMAZING! The complaints I have won't keep me from returning. Our waitress was late greeting us and our food came before our drinks came out. Then we left and we're taking pictures on the stairs in the lobby and the manager kept coming out asking if we needed anything else. Way to make us feel uncomfortable! We were visiting the famous Brown Hotel! We were taking pics!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had the best experience ever, enjoyed everything about it❣️The Hot Brown and Derby pie were beyond delicious. Highly recommend experiencing this jewel.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

nice recommended host was a gentleman waitress was superb food was great

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great location in the Brown hotel but that is where the "fun" ended. We went specifically to try the signature dish, the "hot Brown" only to discover that it is basically half a chicken dinner for a criminally priced $49.00. Of course it did include a soup, salad and desert bar but $49.00 but really.

When we asked to split the meal we were told that we couldn't so my wife had a $10.00 bowl of pasta for another $44.00.

We will never go there again and will tell all of our friends to avoid it at all cost and we are from LA so we are used to high dinner prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The restaurant was all around wonderful. I was seated the minute I walked in and no sooner did I sit down but the waiter came over to ask if I wanted a drink. The service was really impeccable. The waiter came by several times to make sure everything was ok and to see if I needed anything. The menu has a good variety of food choices but being a vegetarian, they only offered one entre of pasta. I would highly recommend
J Graham's, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The complimentary valet parking was awesome, service was great, beautifully decorated and loved the shop!! Loved all the Derby and local items and art.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We have been before, but some of us had to revisit the Hot Brown. We enjoyed everything that was ordered and we look forward to the next visit when some more of us might branch out and try one of those delicious looking sandwiches!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We enjoyed our hot brown sandwiches but mine was cold . Too embarrassed to send it back. Waitress was attentive but not too concerned about our food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

It was absolutely fabulous!!!!! The best Hot Brown I've ever had!!!!! The host/wait staff were great!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Private Room, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Casual, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The maitre d' who greeted us was very nice. Things went downhill from there. It's the little things that matter: no pepper on the table and it took 20 minutes to get some. The table busser took my sister's coat and laid it on the window sill behind the table, which was fine, but it was soon joined by an empty dishwasher glassware holder and something else that shouldn't have been placed there. The omelet chef had no idea how to make an omelet. It took forever to get coffee, so we had to pour our own from the bus table (we were not the only ones). We were there for the brunch buffet...it was inconsistent. My sister's flank steak was so tough she couldn't cut it. They put a huge cut of smoked salmon out with no utensils to serve it with. All the selections in the chafing dishes were pretty heavy, old-style recipes that they've probably served for years. The dining room manager stepped in near the end and was very nice as we hadn't seen our server for a lengthy amount of time. She came by and apologized that she was given two big tables and had to serve them all drinks...okay, I get that as I've been a server, but management should have had extra staff as there was a special event in town that weekend...a yearly event, so it was nothing new. Just a disappointment...

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The menu showed brunch but didn't indicate that brunch wasn't available except for Sunday.

Lunch choices were limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter Brunch and it was very lovely. The food was delicious and the buffet had a great variety.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Beautiful decor and delicious selections for the Easter Brunch! Great flow to get food and such a caring staff. Everyone was so kind and made sure all of our dining needs were met. Just Perfect!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was tasty and generous. Wait staff was friendly and efficient. Recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fabulous brunch on Sundays! The warm salmon in pink sauce melted in my mouth.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was great and our server was fabulous. The only thing we didn't care for we were seated near the brunch buffet. We ordered off the menu. The staff started breaking down the buffet at about 1:40, just as our food arrived to our table. They were removing food, service items, and decorations at a rapid pace giving us the distinct feeling it was time for us to leave the restaurant. We felt rushed by the activity and noise. In our party were 4 (of 6) who had never been here before. We learned to never go back for a 1:15 Sunday lunch reservation again....

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This was the best service I have experienced in years. Our server, Justine from Traverse City, MI, was phenomenal. So attentive, so polite, so professional. She was the epitome of a well trained server. My family went for lunch on a Wednesday. It was my daughter's 14th birthday and the staff went above and beyond to make her feel special. Justine was so thoughtful with my two children. Never rushing their comments or questions, but genuinely listening and commenting back appropriately. The food was excellent. I had the famous Hot Brown, which is a legend in Louisville. It was the first time ordering one and it did not disappoint. My husband had pulled pork sandwich, my girls had kid's cheeseburger and chicken strips. Both child selections came from kids' menu, but were large enough portions for them to have split one order of something. I can't begin to tell you what a treat it was to eat here. We felt so well taken care of. The server and hostess brought out an "on the house" dessert for my 14 year old and a second one for my other daughter, who's birthday was later that week. Totally unexpected as we did not really make a big deal about her upcoming birthday. The icing on the cake is complementary valet parking with a validated ticket. If you're in Louisville, this is a spot that is well worth your time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had the Sunday buffet with the Hot Brown available in the buffet. The hot brown was very bland and had no flavor. I love hot browns but was disappointed in the original served on this day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Brunch at J Graham's was very good. The buffet has a wide selection of items from breakfast food to dessert. The restaurant has an open, casual feel and is well laid out for a comfortable, fairly quiet dining for such an open space. Good food, comfortable seating and good service. Worth the visit.

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Met friends there to kick off tour of louisville and points south. Excellent manhattan!🥃

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We loved this spot for Sunday Brunch. Everything on the brunch buffet was delicious and the waitstaff was great as well. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went for the hot browns and brought friends that had not had one previously. No one was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service and food a little disappointing. Overall, still enjoy the atmosphere. Judd very gracious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch after a Saturday evening event held at the Brown. It was the best brunch in Louisville that I've found! Delish and worth the heafty price! It's the home of the famous hot brown and the hot brown casserole is the stuff cravings are made of!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had the "Hot Brown" which was invented at the Brown Hotel. It is absolutely magnificent. If you haven't had a Hot Brown at J. Graham's you haven't had a Hot Brown! The atmosphere and service was first class.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

An historic restaurant in an iconic hotel in Louisville, KY. The Sunday buffet had a wide selection of typical Sunday brunch food along with some unusual offerings such as smoked salmon (with onions, capers & egg), marinated asparagus and a good selection of salads. The place has a high ratio of wait staff to diners. There's a price to pay for this; it's a bit more expensive than some other area buffets. But for that special Sunday, it's hard to beat.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First of all, the staff at J Graham's are probably the nicest I've ever encountered. We eat here very often as it is a short stroll from my Mom's nursing home. They are always helpful and attentive to our requesting a disabled table. My big disappointment is the menu. While the hot brown is a standout, sometimes one would appreciate some lighter fare that is good. We have tried the salads, and they basically had no toppings and were shy on dressing. Additionally, we sampled the BLT-way too heavy and greasy! The Barbecue sandwich was dry and flavorless. I think it would be nice to add some new healthier options to the menu. The Derby Pie and Hot Brown are the true winners!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A beautiful historic restaurant that goes the extra mile to make your visit special. My experience was perfect from the valet parking to the Derby Pie split between my friend and me. We chose the renowned Hot Brown for our entree. The menu stated it would require a 20-minute wait but it passed quickly. It was worth the wait. The entire menu looked appetizing but one must try the Hot Brown, at least on your first visit.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch and while I had the original Kentucky Hot Brown, my husband opted for the brunch buffet. The Hot Brown was amazing and a very large portion so come hungry. My husband loved the brunch items, especially the smoked salmon. We will be returning to share our experience with our families next month!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

food was awesome and we were treated so special/ the valet parking was also nice

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.