Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About J Graham's Cafe

J. Graham's is the home of the legendary "Hot Brown" and offers guests a bistro-style option for casual dining in the hotel and features the freshest local produce. Open for breakfast and lunch, the Cafe offers guests a contemporary a la carte menu or full buffet option (available Tuesday-Friday) including gourmet soups, salads and entrees and a decadent dessert display. Non-smoking.

335 W Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday 7 am-3 pm

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 am - 11:00 am
Lunch 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Saturday: Breakfast Buffet 7:00 am -11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 9-1

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available at the 4th Street main entrance to the hotel.

Public Transit:
On the corner of 4th and Broadway are East, West, (23 & 17)North & Southbound (4) stops.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room available to accommodate up to 22 people comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Judd Gibbs: (502) 583-1234 ext. 7180

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J Graham's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (20)
Great for Lunch (16)
Sunday Lunch (13)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Shared the Hot Brown with my wife and both of us were very impressed with the amount of food for splitting the meal but the taste was excellent. Service was very good and our food was prepared quickly. My only less than stellar visit was the coffee was just average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and lunch was great! Highly recommend the hot brown!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Went with a friend from out of town for their famous Hotbrown. Was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

This was our third anniversary going to the Brown for a Hot Brown. The traditional will continue for years to come. Great service and good when single time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Very nice group of people accommodating in every way. The food was wonderful, the Brown sandwich was an experience we all enjoyed. Will go back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

GREAT AND GENUINE CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM ALL, INCLUDING THE HOTEL!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Had the Hot Brown it was excellent. Sat at the bar had wonderful conversation with the bartender,a nice young lady from New Orleans

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

A group of us get together each month for a brunch at new place. We were very happy with this month's choice!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We went here for one thing and one thing only, the Hot Brown. Did not disappoint. Rest of the menu looked great but we were only ordering one thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My husband and I visited Louisville for our anniversary. We wanted to try some authentic food from Louisville so we decided to go to the Brown hotel to try the famous hot brown dish. It did not disappoint! The dish was delicious and the hotel was beautiful. Valet parking is complimentary when dinning with j Graham which made the meal feel extra special. Our waitress was very attentive and nice. I look forward to returning to this restaurant when I visit Louisville again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Really beautiful building with a lot of history!

It was a Sunday brunch and busy! Our server seemed a bit rushed but she was pleasant when she managed to get to us and it took about 10 minutes to get cappuccinos and waters.

My partners Hot Brown was excellent but my breakfast wasn't ; the grits were really under seasoned and my over medium eggs had runny whites.

Overall we enjoyed it but they could be better with the consistency of the food and have more staff.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The brunch Sunday had a huge variety. We ended up keeping it simple ala carte and were delighted with our choices. Angie was efficient and polite. The Bloody Mary was my only gripe and was only OK with room for improvement.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We went there to have the renowned Hot Brown, it was $17 but certainly enough for two people. It was absolutely scrumptious! My husband had French toast which was excellent. Coffee was surprisingly good. If you enjoy Historic Hotels this is a great dinning experience .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Expensive and very mediocre brunch. Too many other great breakfast places to waste your time and money here.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2017

You must go there for the best original "Hot Brown" sandwich. We come everytime we visit Louisville just for this. The derby pie is awesome too!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The manager and wait staff were all extremely friendly. The authentic Hot Brown was delicious and the restaurant was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. We will definitely make another visit on our next trip to Louisville!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 4, 2017

As you would expect everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Recommend hot brown for first time visitors.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Hot Brown - Not worth the HYPE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Had breakfast at J. Graham's, excellent food and service!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wanted to enjoy the original 'Hot Brown' sandwich. Wait staff was EXCELLENT!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We were on vacation and wanted to try the original Hot Brown. It was everything we excepted and more. Delicious. Would highly recommend this to anyone traveling in the area. The service was excellent from the time of arrival until we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was delicious and big servings! The staff was great and the ambiance greater.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I was visiting Louisville and had heard about The Brown Hotel and the legendary Hot Brown so my daughter and I went to give it a try. Almost everything about J. Graham's Cafe was great.

It was quiet so you could have conversations without raising your voice at all. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating from the time we arrived.

The furnishings and decor gave me an old world feeling with almost an elegance and antiquity to it without feeling out of place as a casual patron.

I stopped analyzing the "what would you recommend this restaurant for?" categories because there are so many. There are probably more that could apply.

Both my daughter and I had the Hot Brown. While it obviously did not stop me from going or keep me from ordering it as I wanted to experience the original, I am not giving a high rating on value as it costs $17 for what, in my mind, is a modified hot turkey sandwich. To be clear, I enjoyed the Hot Brown very much. It is very good. I just feel it is over-priced and that's why I rated value lower.

Suffice to say, even with my view on the price of the Hot Brown, if you want to go to a restaurant for any personal event that isn't a "party" event or where you feel like you have to wear formal wear (although you certainly could dress like that here and it would fit in also) I highly recommend J. Graham's Cafe.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great place to get the famous Hot Brown sandwich!!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We took my Mom to celebrate her 75th birthday. The wait staff was excellent and the food was delicious. We chose this venue because Mom has always love a "Hot Brown" and the dish originated here at the Brown Hotel. It was a lovely lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We stopped by for Sunday brunch and were throughly impressed with the selection offerred. It was well worth the cost. Service was attentative. And the ambiance was relaxing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Breakfast-Brunch at the brown is phenomenal! We all enjoyed the Buffett and it was absolutely fabulous. The choices were incredible and everything on my plate(s) were delicious.
The service was great and lacked the snobbery you may experience in other higher end hotels and restaurants.
The price for the buffet was a steep $28, but nothing I ate made the price feel unjustified. Wonderful experience, I shall be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great atmosphere and at a great hotel. Great way to end our trip!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was awesome! Service...the waitress forgot about us serveral times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Had excellent service, pleasant surroundings and great food

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I was disappointed with The "Hot Brown" sandwich. The atmosphere was very nice. The bread pudding and sauce were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Quite a nice venue in an iconic and classy Louisville hotel.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were in town for Father's Day all the dads loved it. It is a beautiful place and the food was wonderful. I just wished there were more breakfast food choices on buffet. Example, bacon and pancakes. But the service was great and the free valet parking was a nice touch. I will recommend it to others.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had the Sunday Brunch and it was excellent. A wide variety of food. We will come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Lunched there while in town for races at Churchill Downs. Arrived a few minutes before our reservations and were seated immediately. Ordered the iconic Hot Brown and Derby Pie. Did not disappoint! The food was delicious and service was very good. The drink and food prices were well within line for this type of resturant.
A must for a visit to Louisville, even if you are not staying at the Brown. Would recommend to friends and definitely eat here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It took a bit of time to receive a glass of water, especially when the water glass is already set on the table. The food was wonderful!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The atmosphere was great! The Hot Brown was excellent! The breakfast buffet was so-so. The server had to leave for a personal emergency so service was slow, hopefully a one time issue.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The place is fantastic. Top to bottom, food, service, perfect in every way!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were visiting Louisville from out of town and wanted to try the famous "hot brown" in a hotel with old charm. The food, including the hot brown, was mediocre, bland, and overpriced. The service was poor, the food took over 25 minutes to arrive, and then we had to ask 4 times for hot sauce to go with our eggs. The setting was clearly grand at one point, but felt past its prime. I would not recommend it. There are much better brunch places in the city.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.