About J Graham's Cafe

335 W Broadway
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

J. Graham's is the home of the legendary "Hot Brown" and offers guests a bistro-style option for casual dining in the hotel and features the freshest local produce. Open for breakfast and lunch, the Cafe offers guests a contemporary a la carte menu or full buffet option (available Tuesday-Friday) including gourmet soups, salads and entrees and a decadent dessert display. Non-smoking.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday 7 am-3 pm

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00 am - 11:00 am
Lunch 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Saturday: Breakfast Buffet 7:00 am -11:00 am
Sunday Brunch: 9-1

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 583-1234

Website:
http://www.brownhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available at the 4th Street main entrance to the hotel.

Public Transit:
On the corner of 4th and Broadway are East, West, (23 & 17)North & Southbound (4) stops.

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining room available to accommodate up to 22 people comfortably.

Private Party Contact:
Judd Gibbs: (502) 583-1234 ext. 7180

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J Graham's Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Historic (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Casual (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Romantic (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Family Style (3)
Fun (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

An historic restaurant in an iconic hote ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

An historic restaurant in an iconic hotel in Louisville, KY. The Sunday buffet had a wide selection of typical Sunday brunch food along with some unusual offerings such as smoked salmon (with onions, capers & egg), marinated asparagus and a good selection of salads. The place has a high ratio of wait staff to diners. There's a price to pay for this; it's a bit more expensive than some other area buffets. But for that special Sunday, it's hard to beat.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A beautiful historic restaurant that goe ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A beautiful historic restaurant that goes the extra mile to make your visit special. My experience was perfect from the valet parking to the Derby Pie split between my friend and me. We chose the renowned Hot Brown for our entree. The menu stated it would require a 20-minute wait but it passed quickly. It was worth the wait. The entire menu looked appetizing but one must try the Hot Brown, at least on your first visit.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Sunday brunch and while I ha ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch and while I had the original Kentucky Hot Brown, my husband opted for the brunch buffet. The Hot Brown was amazing and a very large portion so come hungry. My husband loved the brunch items, especially the smoked salmon. We will be returning to share our experience with our families next month!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was awesome and we were treated so ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

food was awesome and we were treated so special/ the valet parking was also nice

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drove from Cincinnati Ohio to have hot b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Drove from Cincinnati Ohio to have hot browns with my friends/coworkers and we had an outstanding time. They got to experience the real hot brown.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great food , love the atm ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great service, great food , love the atmosphere of the place . Our server Justine was great, very knowledgeable of the food and history of the hotel. 2 of my friends had the buffet, they raved about it specially the tortilla soup. I had the hot brown and it was out of this world! The manager who runs it, Augustine , is cordial and very energetic, we saw him talking with all tables, always with a big smile. For sure we will go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Authentic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for a Sunday Brunch with f ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A great place for a Sunday Brunch with family. the buffet was full of choices with a great selection of local favorites to be ordered off the menu also.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved our brunch! The buffet was fant ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We loved our brunch! The buffet was fantastic, especially the hot brown and the bread pudding. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Hot Brown and the service were amazi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The Hot Brown and the service were amazing. The place is decorated

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Historical restaurant in a beautiful hot ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Historical restaurant in a beautiful hotel. Food is above average and service is friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Modern Decor,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, wonderful service. Lit ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great atmosphere, wonderful service. Little cold by the window, and kale salad had no kale in it, from what I could tell, but otherwise, lovely. Fine Louisville institution, and really a can't-miss for those interested in Kentucky.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend was in town and had never h ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My boyfriend was in town and had never had a hot brown. He'd seen on a tv program about this restaurant and the hot brown. So while he was in town I made reservations. It was delicious. We also enjoyed the hot tea and complimentary valet parking. Our experience was very memorable and when his mom visits in the spring, we will be back!!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our lunch with our friends. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch with our friends. The service was really good and informed us about the food options. We hope to do it again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I would have preferred a table by the wi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I would have preferred a table by the window and was informed they were reserved. I made a reservation the day before. None of those tables had been seated by the time we left.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fiance and I spent the holiday weekend a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Fiance and I spent the holiday weekend at the Brown Hotel. Reserved J Graham for brunch all three mornings. The Saturday buffet was excellent and the Christmas Day buffet was exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was not that friendly. We wo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our server was not that friendly. We would ask questions and her response was short. Almost rude. I have been to this restaurant and service is usually great.

In spite of her attitude we had a great time.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We enjoyed our Christmas brunch at the ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We enjoyed our Christmas brunch at the cafe. We love coming to the hotel Lobby bar also. It's a beautiful place and very elegant. We enjoyed the gingerbread house and the other decorations too. I highly recommend the hotel to my friends and family.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed the J. Graham Brown Café for C ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I enjoyed the J. Graham Brown Café for Christmas brunch.

While the food and selection was excellent, it was the entire staff

that made it feel special and added warmth to the ambiance and occasion.

I will definitely return, and talked with others , afterward ,outside the café

who agreed it was a special experience. (Perhaps, I shouldn't have written this

and perhaps just lost an available seat in the future!?)

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our first visit on Christmas Da ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our first visit on Christmas Day. We enjoyed ourselves immensely with

the food being tasty and staff always keeping up with the quantity needed for

the crowd during lunch.

We will definitely come back.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating Christmas Eve for a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were celebrating Christmas Eve for a family of 8, and had excellent service by Lamar. My mother is in a wheel chair, and they were very thoughtful in setting us at a nice roomy table. We ordered the Hot Browns which were incredible as always. Not sure who was working that day in the kitchen, but they were AMAZING! Had some wonderful Bloody Mary's too! Very piquant and delicious. Thank you for making us enjoy our Holiday. Every time we stay, or visit the Brown, the entire Hotel is full of wonderfully gracious employees.

I love the warmth and thoughtfulness that the staff uses through and through.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding service, great food, will de ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding service, great food, will definitely be back

Tags: Casual, , Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome hot brown and traditional Louisv ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Awesome hot brown and traditional Louisville experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Absolutely wonderful meal and service! ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Absolutely wonderful meal and service! The food was amazing! Had the Hot Brown and pancakes - worth every penny!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the original "Hot Brown" and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We went for the original "Hot Brown" and it was great! The lobby was beautiful was holiday decorations and a huge gingerbread house. Service was attentive and I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

The food was great and the service was o ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was great and the service was on point without being overbearing. The staff was willing to do anything it could to make our annual holiday brunch for 6 friends a special event. We appreciate their attentiveness and good cheer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, , Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Food was good, o ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was good, only wish the rolls were soft, too hard to eat. Nice selection.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place exceeded expectations and was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This place exceeded expectations and was a perfect choice for a large, family meal. The buffet is excellent, and the Hot Browns are of course the real deal. I look forward to my next meal here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, attentive staff, beautiful dec ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Friendly, attentive staff, beautiful decor, delicious food. The original Hot Brown did not disappoint. The flourless chocolate cake I highly recommend, but share a piece with your date. It is very rich!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday brunch was fantastic. The ch ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Sunday brunch was fantastic. The choices were great but even more impressive was the quality of the food, especially for a buffet. The service was great with both staff and managers making sure the buffet was freshly stocked. Everyone was friendly and efficient and our food was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch was most enjoyable; the food ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The brunch was most enjoyable; the food and service were very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was my first time back to The Brown ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This was my first time back to The Brown since 1960. The hot brown and Manhattan were as I remembered. Superb food, great service and ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most pleasant experience from beginning ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Most pleasant experience from beginning to end. The warm and friendly staff definitely made the visit much more enjoyable. The menu is a bit pricey but wanted to check something off my bucket list. Thank you for a beginning to a wonderful day.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very happy, very pleased. The staff and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very happy, very pleased. The staff and food were all very good. We will return and again ask for the Hot Brown. Everyone should come, highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awful wait service. Mass confusion on ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Awful wait service. Mass confusion on the part of servers and who was responsible for which table. One waiter spent all his time drooling over 2 woman enjoying their mimosas. Waited an excessive amount of time to have our order taken. However, the Kentucky Brown was delicious. we split the order, and there was just so much food!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Very good food and tentative service.

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Very good food and tentative service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The famoous "Hot Brown" certainly lived ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The famoous "Hot Brown" certainly lived up to its reputation. Ever so good. We were celebrating a dear friend's 91st birthday and the wait staff made her feel very speical. Just cannot say enough good things about the Cafe. One thing is for sure - we will be back the next time we are in Louisville. It's not a place to be missed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heard about the Hot Brown from Travel Ch ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Heard about the Hot Brown from Travel Channel. When my wife and I had to come to Louisville, we thought we would try it. It was excellent, very well made and lots of flavor. Comfort food. Service was very friendly and decor was nice. We had a window seat but unfortunately there was construction right outside across the street which was the only slight mar on an otherwise excellent lunch.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quintessential Hot Brown! Great service ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Quintessential Hot Brown! Great service and wonderful food -- highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Hot Brown was as good as we had hear ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The Hot Brown was as good as we had heard. Delicious bread pudding; best we've had outside Louisiana!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I rated this low because of the name "Ca ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I rated this low because of the name "Cafe" - it is not at all a cafe. It is a very elegant, formal, expensive place for breakfast. The word cafe connotes a cozy, small moderate to low priced venue. Very disappointed when we got there. I'm sure it's perfect for atmosphere on a romantic date or special anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.