About J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

One East Campus View
Worthington, OH 43235
View Larger Map

J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Chocolate Velvet Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 840-9090

Website:
http://www.jgilberts.com/Home.aspx?824

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking.

Executive Chef:
Victor Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
J.Gilbert’s Wood-Fired Steaks and Seafood is the perfect setting for your banquet, wedding rehearsal dinner, private party, business meeting or any other special occasion that demands an excellent meal and elegant setting.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Dearth: 6148409090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy hour food and drink specials: Sunday - Friday | 4pm - 7pm

Restaurant Photos

  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate the special occasion with J. Gilberts. Open Christmas Eve from 4-11pm for dinner.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

1lb. Lobster Tail OR 60oz. Filet + 8oz. Lobster Tail | 2 seasonal sides | 4pm-11pm | Adults $60 | Regular menu also available | Also open New Year's Day

J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
7 More
Special Occasion
Columbus
Steak
Columbus
Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Steak
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Worthington ›

Special Occasion (90)
Good for Anniversaries (80)
Good for a Date (74)
See All
Romantic (64)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Cozy (44)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Worth the Drive (36)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Notable Wine List (33)
Good for Groups (28)
Business Meals (28)
Fireplace (19)
Private Room (17)
Wood Oven (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fun (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Authentic (13)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Seasonal (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My burger was raw in the middle despite ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

My burger was raw in the middle despite being ordered well done and sliced in half before coming to the table- there was mayo when it was ordered without, and no toppings for the loaded baked potato- we eat there regularly, usually good all around but definitely a hiccup on this occasion

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

It was a lovely evening. We always have ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a lovely evening. We always have a wonderful meal. Our waiter Alan was very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice bar area the service was good and t ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Nice bar area the service was good and the food was decent steak was a little over cooked but the rest of meal was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was really good as always as we ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was really good as always as well as the service. We went with friends and they had a great time, we celebrated their anniversary. The new carrots with the sarcha were very good was not over whelming.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was delayed and scattered. O ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service was delayed and scattered. One of the waitresses was rude to us based on where they sat us in the restaurant. Not our choice. A bit to pricey for that experience. Food is still very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Their Thanksgiving special menu was abso ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Their Thanksgiving special menu was absolutely top notch and didn't disappoint. I've gone here for several years now and I have always received top notch service and amazing food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have loved your food in the past, but ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have loved your food in the past, but on Thanksgiving my husband ordered the bone in Ribeye and it was half the size it normally is, the chocolate cake was half the sz had no icing, and was only 1 layer when it is normally 3 layers. OuR waitress didn't offer me more wine, or desert, wasn't that friendly. There were also no baked potatoes.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

First time at J. Gilbert's was Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

First time at J. Gilbert's was Thanksgiving Day...fabulous meal! Everything was great...the place, the food, the service and the price!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here many times. I always e ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I have eaten here many times. I always enjoy the food. It was very busy this time and the waitress seemed rushed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Our go-to place for special occasions. G ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our go-to place for special occasions. Great place

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Food, great service, each of u ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fantastic Food, great service, each of us had a very tasty entre!

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dining - from beginning to end ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent dining - from beginning to end. The server was fantastic, as were the perfectly cooked steaks, and excellent sides.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food and the service. It nev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We love the food and the service. It never fails to

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed our experience at J. Gil ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have enjoyed our experience at J. Gilberts for quite some time, and we typically take advantage of our birthdays, anniversaries, etc. I really like the quiet, relaxing atmosphere, and the food is great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought friends in from Chicago and th ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I brought friends in from Chicago and they loved it and I was proud to show off Central Ohio and one of my favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter, John, was excellent! The foo ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Our waiter, John, was excellent! The food was delicious, although I think it is overpriced, but this was a birthday celebration, and this is where the birthday person wanted to go. You should just put the filet mignon trio entree o the menu, instead of a daily special. It is exceptional!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a lovely dinner celebrating my m ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Enjoyed a lovely dinner celebrating my mother in laws birthday. We were seated in a lovely side room. Food, and service were great! Everyone enjoyed.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J. Gilberts knows how to cook a filet. T ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 13, 2016

J. Gilberts knows how to cook a filet. The crab bisque was tasty as were the scallops. The atmosphere was nice and our server was excellent. Not everything was perfect -- the brussel sprouts were a bit undercooked and desserts were so so.I would, however, highly recommend J. Gilberts. Expect to spend between $150 -$200 with wine included but it is well worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, great service, great food. A m ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As usual, great service, great food. A must for special occasions!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Matt, was very personable and ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our server Matt, was very personable and excellent . The food was terrific, a great value . We will be back....soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome steaks, perfectly cooked! Alan t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Awesome steaks, perfectly cooked! Alan took great care of us...can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered the filet with poblano potatoe ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I ordered the filet with poblano potatoes and asparagus. The steak was cooked exactly as I requested and was excellent. John, our server, was gracious and unobtrusive. He was pleasant and quite knowledgeable. The wedge salad was awesome, as usual, and the creme brulee was perfect, again as usual!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an early dinner before catching a mo ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had an early dinner before catching a movie at Marcus Theatre. Food and service were SUPERB, top-notch, not a moment nor a bite were anything short of commendable. We do not dine at J. GILBERT's for 'value' (which is the only category I couldn't rate highly, but it simply isn't applicable in this case). Our server was extremely attentive, personable, professional in every respect - made sure to get us to our movie on time. My dinner companion said this may have been the best restaurant meal he's ever had, and excellent service certainly factors into such an exceptionally favorable experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great restaurant. Would go back without ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great restaurant. Would go back without hesitation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love this restaurant! Great steak ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always love this restaurant! Great steaks and service. Monica is always efficient and smiling. Nice large booth and just the right lighting. All staff is very friendly. Chocolate cake is always a bonus!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They've been around as long as they have ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 9, 2016

They've been around as long as they have because they are pros. Solid restaurarnt all the way around. Go and enjoy.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went here for a birthday dinner and e ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We went here for a birthday dinner and enjoyed a wonderful meal. The steaks were cooked perfectly. My daughter had the cedar wood salmon and it was delicious. My son had the full rack of ribs - this is a very large meal and we had lots of leftovers. The only not so bright spot was the cheesecake. The menu is large. It is an expensive restaurant but this is to be expected for a good steak house. We would return for another special occasion. We had great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

J. Gilbert's is the quintessential upsca ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 6, 2016

J. Gilbert's is the quintessential upscale steak house without the outrageous prices such places generally charge. No, it's not cheap, but you get a very fine dinner at a very decent price. The three-course options are a good buy, basically saving you the cost of either soup/salad or dessert. What's more, if you sign up for their email list, the restaurant sends $25-off coupons periodically. And Sunday is half-price wine night, so we invariably go on Sundays. What's not to love?

The steaks are always top quality, perhaps cut a bit larger than the ounces stated on the menu, perfectly cooked as ordered, and presented by a friendly and attentive wait-staff. This is our favorite local steak house. Can you tell?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, and atmosphere were all ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food, service, and atmosphere were all outstanding as usual. Appreciate your coupons and participation in Open Table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charlotte was are server and she did a g ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Charlotte was are server and she did a great job...our dinner

Was perfect and cooked perfectly!!!

This is our favorite steak place...we will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our 4th year coming to J Gilbert ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is our 4th year coming to J Gilbert's at our annual convention, and they never fail to excel.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time ever visiting J. Gilbert's and ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 4, 2016

1st time ever visiting J. Gilbert's and everything was amazing. The food, drinks, extensive wine list, and fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Kim is why we go there. The f ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Our server Kim is why we go there. The food is always good. We are in town twice a year. Stop every time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love J. Gilbert's so we will be back. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We love J. Gilbert's so we will be back. A little disappointed about the service and food this time. I got twin medallions and 1 was cooked well and the other one not. They took it back and couldn't get it right. The waitress wasn't very personal either, which is unusual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Wood Oven, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

While in Columbus this weekend, my son a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 4, 2016

While in Columbus this weekend, my son and I dined here and both enjoyed the Bone-In Ribeye. It was cooked to order (rare for me- med rare for my son) and very flavorful. Our sides included salt baked potato, sauteed spinach, wild mushroom risotto and green beans with pecans. All were very good! Our starter, the Tuna Tartare however was not as enjoyable. The avocado and mango instead of being diced, was cut into chunks and spoiled the delicate texture and taste that the Tatare should have. I didn't care for the Sriracha sauce garnish either. I would not hesitate to dine here again when I'm in Columbus.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Filet was outstanding. Jessica's service ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Filet was outstanding. Jessica's service very good also.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

J. Gilbert's just the best, have dinner ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

J. Gilbert's just the best, have dinner here every time I am In Columbus outstanding food and service. I find this true wherever I dine at a J Gilbert's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service excellent . Had filet a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food and service excellent . Had filet and crab cake .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak in Columbus. The sourdough br ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Best steak in Columbus. The sourdough bread they bring out fresh is the best fresh bread you'll get from any restaurant and with the pastrami butter phew - its always super fresh and warm and delicious.

The salads are always dressed to perfection though with the portion size you can probably forgo a salad unless you're a big fan.

The side dishes I've had are always top shelf - make sure you get the poblano au gratin potatoes they are spectacular. Lobster mac and cheese is great as is the mushroom risotto - I forget some of the others but given the quality of everything else I'm sure they are great too.

The real star of course is the steak. Wood fire grilled to absolute perfection. I don't eat steak very often but every steak is compared to these in my mind and all others fall short. They do a trio of filet (3 filets with different toppings like blue cheese etc) which is super popular but I find the KC Strip or Porterhouse equally irresistible as well.

Quiet ambiance, absolutely top tier service and the best steak in Columbus - a winning combination.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate my husband's birthday! ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Went to celebrate my husband's birthday! The food was fantastic! He ordered the porterhouse it was so big and I ordered the 8oz. filet mignon both were delicious, tender, juicy and flavorful...just perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.