About J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

One East Campus View
Worthington, OH 43235
View Larger Map

J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Chocolate Velvet Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 840-9090

Website:
http://www.jgilberts.com/Home.aspx?824

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking.

Executive Chef:
Victor Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
J.Gilbert’s Wood-Fired Steaks and Seafood is the perfect setting for your banquet, wedding rehearsal dinner, private party, business meeting or any other special occasion that demands an excellent meal and elegant setting.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Dearth: 6148409090

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy hour food and drink specials: Sunday - Friday | 4pm - 7pm

Restaurant Photos

  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

Promotions

Finest Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

Finest Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

$7 appetizers, $7.50 handcrafted martinis & cocktails, $3 lobster claws, $2 oysters on the half shell. Available in the bar and patio. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 10, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
5 More
Steak
Columbus
Best Overall
Columbus
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Steak
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Worthington ›

Special Occasion (144)
Romantic (120)
Fit for Foodies (66)
See All
Notable Wine List (61)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Good for Groups (51)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent room, food was great; the staf ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent room, food was great; the staff was very attentive and special

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot. We love sitting in the bar. ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great spot. We love sitting in the bar. Great waitress that is highly attentive.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our first time dining at J Gilberts. Had ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our first time dining at J Gilberts. Had great experience! It was our anniversary. Had a great waitress as well..very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The sever was very accommodating. She wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The sever was very accommodating. She was awesome and took care of our every need. The filet we order came out well done rather than medium. It was unfortunate as my wife and I were unable to enjoy a anniversary meal together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

This is our consistent "go to" place due ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is our consistent "go to" place due to quality of food and great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our dining experience! We ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Really enjoyed our dining experience! We were celebrating a birthday (mine) and I felt pampered! Great menu and food!! We look forward to our next trip!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a fantastic experience. Food is ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always a fantastic experience.

Food is amazing & service is great :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a disappointment! Even though we h ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

What a disappointment! Even though we had a reservation and there were other tables available, we were seated by the door to the kitchen. Servers and busboys bustled past in two directions the entire meal. We would have requested another table, but by the time we realized how much traffic there was, we already had our wine and bread. The food was good, as usual, but it wasn't the relaxing Sunday evening meal we anticipated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Any side dish that comes in a tiny cast ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Any side dish that comes in a tiny cast iron skillet is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at J. GILBERT is always top-not ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food at J. GILBERT is always top-notch. I enjoy a great meal and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I enjoyed the food and the atmosphere wa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I enjoyed the food and the atmosphere was great. I would go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Have never had a bad meal at this place. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Have never had a bad meal at this place. It is my personal favorite in Columbus and this meal was as outstanding as the last!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose Gilbert's to celebrate my 78th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We chose Gilbert's to celebrate my 78th birthday as we have many other special occasions. As always the food, service and drinks were great and our waiter took good care of us. Prompt and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Au Gratin a little too greasy, too busy ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Au Gratin a little too greasy, too busy to get our desserts before had to be a at movie, so we lost out there.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We LOVE this place, my wife and i look f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We LOVE this place, my wife and i look forward to our visits as I work out of town most of the year. Place is outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was recommended by a friend ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This place was recommended by a friend of ours and he said the food was very good!

I was pleasantly surprised because the place is very nice and cozy inside! The food was very good and the service was excellent! My husband and I both had the steaks and was very satisfied. Would definitely recommend this place !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to J. Gilbert's many times ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We have been to J. Gilbert's many times throughout the years including holidays. The service is always excellent and the food - especially the steak trio - is always great! We also like the bar at Happy Hour!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & wine

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great food & wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food selection and the quality ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very good food selection and the quality of the food &beverages was excellent. Great spot for a business meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best restaurants in town! Alw ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One of the best restaurants in town! Always fabulous and delicious! Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been dining at J. Gilbert's for ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We have been dining at J. Gilbert's for many years. The food is always superb and the wait staff is very attentive and personable. One of our favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, the service is great with att ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

As always, the service is great with attention to detail. The food is prepared as requested, excellent quality and it appears at the right time - you are not rushed to finish one course as the next appears. They pay attention to thses small details which make it a pleasant experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was attentive but not overbea ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our waiter was attentive but not overbearing and highly knowledgeable about the menu. We had a marvelous dining experience and I would highly recommend J. Gilbert's for the start or the end of a romantic night on the town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

From the cocktails to the service to the ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

From the cocktails to the service to the food everything was outstanding.our server paid attention to every detail.great date night with my wife.we will be back...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, lighting is a touch dark but ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food, lighting is a touch dark but not really a big deal. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only disappointment was our seating. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The only disappointment was our seating. We were seated on the servers path and near a service station. The foot traffic was noticeable. There were other tables available when we arrived.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another fabulous meal!!! I have never h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Another fabulous meal!!!

I have never had a bad meal here. The food is consistently delicious, hot and well prepared, even their deserts are top notch. It's one of my favorite dinning spots!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went for restaurant week and everything ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Went for restaurant week and everything was amazing. You could not be the special deals they had and they gave you plenty of options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't like ribs much but I was amazed ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I don't like ribs much but I was amazed at how good their wood fired ribs were. I took the remainder home but my adult children stole them and loved them, too. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The crab cakes are phenomenal! Made with ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The crab cakes are phenomenal! Made with mostly crab meat, very little breading.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food with amazing service

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic food with amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

J Gilbert's has been a favorite of our f ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

J Gilbert's has been a favorite of our family for 15+ years. We found it by happenstance but we celebrate birthdays and anniversaries every year. Their steaks are delicious, but their poblano au grain potatoes are AMAZING. Best potatoes I have ever had -- ANYWHERE! Their carrot cake is unique and is in my top three best desserts I've ever had, too, and I have a huge sweet tooth. I always look forward to going there. We have always had very, very good service. Rarely, if ever, have we been disappointed. Get on their email list to receive special offers. $25 off an entree for your birthday (and FREE dessert). LOVE IT!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rating for food was lower because my wif ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Rating for food was lower because my wife's steak was a little tuff and under cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding service from Rich at the bar ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding service from Rich at the bar and Kim for dining. Always an outstanding evening with my lovely wife.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dinner with my fiancé. We were ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very nice dinner with my fiancé. We were seated quickly and on time with our reservation. Typical inside appearance of a nice restaurant. Lots of wood, low lighting etc. Comfortable seating.

Slightly noisy as we were close to the entrance of the prep area.

I thought the bourbon bottle with the cocktail list was very cool. The salt and pepper shaker combo was cool, never seen that before.

We both had salads to start. Bread was brought out pre meal. We both decided on crab cake and fillet combo. Sides were mashed potatos and asparagus. The dessert was part of the package deal which was awesome. She had chocolate cake with sorbet and i had a apple pie icecream something. The food was excellent. I had 2 specially cocktails, both very good.

The price seemed very reasonable if you get the salad/soup, meal, dessert choice.

The service was good not great. There were a couple time we were left waiting for a drink, etc. Overall good job though.

We'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ordered steak and was more rare than med ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Ordered steak and was more rare than medium rare as I ordered it. Everything else was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. Perfectly prepa ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great dining experience. Perfectly prepared aged NY Strip and the side dishes danced with flavor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We go for our Anniversary dinner each ye ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We go for our Anniversary dinner each year. Love the place, love the food just a little pricey for frequent date nights.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a wonderful surprise to find them ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It was a wonderful surprise to find them open on the 4th of July -- our anniversary. Great service and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were so glad that J. Gilbert's was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were so glad that J. Gilbert's was recommended for dinner by Alex, the front desk manager at the Worthington, Ohio Sheridan Suites.

David was was our waiter at J. Gilbert's. His entree and drink recommendations were excellent. He took great care to make sure our food selection questions were answered and that everything we ordered met our satifaction.

We will be going back the next time we're in the Columbus/Worthington area

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.