About J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Chocolate Velvet Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are recommended.

One East Campus View
Worthington, OH 43235
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 840-9090

Website:
http://www.jgilberts.com/Home.aspx?824

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking.

Executive Chef:
Victor Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
J.Gilbert’s Wood-Fired Steaks and Seafood is the perfect setting for your banquet, wedding rehearsal dinner, private party, business meeting or any other special occasion that demands an excellent meal and elegant setting.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Dearth: (614) 840-9090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy hour food and drink specials: Sunday - Friday | 4pm - 7pm

J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (140)
Good for a Date (125)
Good for Anniversaries (106)
See All
Good for Birthdays (95)
Romantic (90)
Quiet Conversation (66)
Cozy (62)
Worth the Drive (57)
Business Meals (53)
Notable Wine List (52)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Authentic (21)
Casual (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Fun (15)
Local Ingredients (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great Beer (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Seasonal (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
3318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

VERY MUCH ENJOY THIS ESTABLISHMENT. GREAT FOOD, GREAT SERVICE AND A WONDERFUL PLACE FOR AN EVENING OUT.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I love eating at J Gilbert. It wasn’t as good as normal this time around. Probably because of the Valentines Day crowd. We’ll still come back. Our waiter (Matt) was great, though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Boyfriend and I went here for a late Valentine's Day date. Ambiance was really nice, but not pretentious. We both got filets, cooked the way we like. We both got the mashed potatoes, delicious. I got the lobster mac n cheese side, ALSO delicious. Great experience. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was amazing. The onion rings were the best I’ve ever had.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Valentine’s Day with my husband

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is normally fantastic but when our waiter served the lobster tail he commented that it looked over-cooked and promptly had ordered another to replace it! Such great attention to detail makes this restaurant wonderful. It was a very busy Valentine evening but we never felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I had a great meal...(best steaks we've had in years) and our server was outstanding. It was the best dining experience we've had since we were at J Gilbert's last year!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent. Our server was experienced and we enjoyed his recommendations. We really enjoy dining here for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great but a little disappointed that we weren’t asked if we were celebrating a special occasion. Order came out wrong but was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

It was me and my boyfriends second time at this location and we had a great time. We were lucky enough to have the same waiter we had our first time dining, his name is Matt and he is absolutely amazing. He is very kind courteous and took very good care of us. I’ll always go back as long as he’s there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely lovely, everything was perfect. Have been here a couple times before and it's always wonderful. My boyfriend's first time going, and he was impressed as well. Thought the meal was perfect, truly couldn't be better!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

I ordered the lobster which was over cooked (chewy) and lasted like lowtide. I couldn’t even finish it. My boyfriend had the porterhouse which was good but not for the price. The steak quality was that of outback but with 2 glasses of wine a beer appetizer and 2 entrees our bill was over $200. The food quality was not worth the price. IF the entrees were 20-30 I wouldn’t of care but they were $60-$70. The calamari was good but there was maybe 6 small pieces of calamari and the rest was just fried veggies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience as always! We've dined here for several special occasions every year for the past 13 years. It is the best steak and service in town. Thank you again for another lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

The crabcake appetizer and house dressing was fantastic. Overall meal is one of the best in the city. My biggest criticism was that the waiter never really checked back with us. I would have ordered a second cocktail and my wife the brule, but when he came back, it was too late. Also, I am used to the manager making his rounds to each table just to wekcome you and see how is your meal. Never met or saw the manager.
The atmosphere was very adult, quiet and perfect for a date. I recommend making a reservation today.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Another great experience on Valentines Day. Our favorite for a special dinner or anytime. Great food, atmosphere and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our 1st time their and we thought everything was excellent

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was fantastic, a bit overpriced. The drinks were very overpriced and seemed a little watered down.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

There was hair in my food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a very enjoyable Valentine's dinner, and we are basically regulars at J. Gilberts. The people are very professional, and the quiet atmosphere is great.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Early Valentines dinner. Great service -Joe. Great food. Great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic. My wife and love this place. Excellent food, warm, rustic atmosphere, professional staff. New bartender Alani is top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2018

food and service was great It was a little cold and a draft when the door was opened

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Favorite restaurant in Central Ohio because the great food is more than matched by the terrific service.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2018

server , Rainer, was efficent ,attentive and quirkly enjoyable . Food was perfect almost.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Excellent food as always. Filet was excellent and love those mushrooms. The cab from washington is a must have.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Still my favorite steak place in Columbus. The consistency and quality is in the food year after year! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2018

We were visiting from out of town, because of the weekend being before Valentine's Day, I assume that is why you were so busy, I tried to book a reservation for 7-730, the earliest we could get was 8:45, it was later than we anticipated being new to the area, we took the 8:45, once we arrived, we were able to sit in the bar area within 15 minutes. Lucky for us. However, our server, Joe K, really wasn't happy, could this be his personality, (if so, not a good place to be with people) or maybe he was tired, didn't feel well, not sure what the reasoning was, he was doing only what he had to to serve us, I apologized several times for having dinner in the bar, thinking that made him unhappy, not sure what it was, he sure didn't make us feel welcome. My husband and I shared a meal, which we often do, since I don't have a large appetite, however, he wasn't happy before knowing we were sharing. We ask for gluten free bread, he said he only had cheese crackers, my husband opted for them, he practically dropped 2 of them on the table as he was walking by. Normally, we would tip on 2 meals, even though we only had one, he did receive almost a 20% tip from our check, however, had he been more welcoming, he would have doubled his tip. We may choose to try J Gilberts again, however, we'll try the dining room. We had the bone in rib eye, it was very tasty, cooked to perfection. Thank you so much for the opportunity to share our experience. I was going to email you anyway.
Sincerely,
Karen Parsons

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on February 10, 2018

It was our first time eating here and we were celebrating our 21st Anniversary and Valentine's Day. Reserving and even modifying our original time was easy. The waiter was very attentive and even gave us both a glass of champagne to celebrate and a dessert for my husband because my meal option came with one and his didn't. We will definitely recommend this place to others and will return again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Allen was our server and he was amazing!! Fantastic service, and knowledge of the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2018

The food and service was excellent. Our server/host Allen was fun, helpful and pleasant. I’d definitely recommend J. Gilbert’s for a fine dining experience or just having a good time with family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2018

They have the best steak in Ohio, and Jessica is awesome server.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Good place for date, special occasion or business. Prices comparable to other upscale steak restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Consistently good food and service. However, I was a little disappointed that we were charged $2.50 for my husband's fountain soda water.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 9, 2018

I can't say enough good things about this place. It has become one of my favorites in Columbus. The food is great, The steaks are great (the best in Columbus IMO), the cocktails are generous, and the service is terrific. Although they recently changed their recipe for the creamed corn (it was still good ;) We specifically ordered no steaks this trip to veer from our norm. I had the Ahi, wife had the tortilla soup (surprised it was so tasty!), son had lobster bisque and scallops! All were delicious!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 9, 2018

A special dining experince with attentive wait staff and a superb menu. We appreciate the consistent quality of food as well as the restaurant layout which enables a more intimate dining experince.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Excellent meal - there were 5 of us and everyone enjoyed everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Great value and very reasonable prices plus relaxing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 5, 2018

The service, food, and ambience was perfect. We will definitely be returning..

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Rainier was our server and was outstanding. Amazing customer service and took extra special care of us all night. He kept us laughing too, which was even better. Would return and recommend this to anyone looking for a special occasion or even for just a date night, like we were on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.