About J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

One East Campus View
Worthington, OH 43235
View Larger Map

J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Chocolate Velvet Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 840-9090

Website:
http://www.jgilberts.com/Home.aspx?824

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking.

Executive Chef:
Victor Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
J.Gilbert’s Wood-Fired Steaks and Seafood is the perfect setting for your banquet, wedding rehearsal dinner, private party, business meeting or any other special occasion that demands an excellent meal and elegant setting.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Dearth: (614) 840-9090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy hour food and drink specials: Sunday - Friday | 4pm - 7pm

Restaurant Photos

  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington, Worthington, OH

Report a photo problem

Specials

Finest Hour

Sundays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

1/2 price bottles of wine

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Finest Hour

Sundays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Sunday - Friday 4-7pm (bar only) Oysters on the 1/2 shell $2 each Lobster Claws $3.50 each Appetizers starting at $6 $7.50 Specialty Martinis & Cocktails, $6 glasses House Wine, $1 off Beer and Well Drinks. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 11, 2016 - Apr 9, 2017 on Sundays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

1/2 price bottles of wine

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Every Sunday enjoy 1/2 price bottles of wine priced $100 or less. Excludes Tax and Tip. Some restrictions may apply. Special valid Dec 11, 2016 - Apr 9, 2017 on Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (94)
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Good for a Date (83)
See All
Romantic (68)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Cozy (51)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Worth the Drive (39)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Business Meals (33)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Fireplace (29)
Wood Oven (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Private Room (16)
Fun (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Authentic (15)
Casual (15)
Outstanding Value (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Seasonal (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Local Ingredients (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
2699 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

J. Gilberts was a great restaurant exper ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

J. Gilberts was a great restaurant experience. The hostess seated us very quickly to our table, the waitress was attentive without being overbearing, and the food was excellent and came out timely. I loved the big bread and the pastrami butter it came with.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best steakhouse in Columbus. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

This is the best steakhouse in Columbus. Always good service from Monica, Alan and all the staff. Their steaks are always perfect and you can't beat the chocolate cake. Will go back many times.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Late-night Find, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited for restaurant week. Was our fi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Visited for restaurant week. Was our first time. Excellent ambiance, comfortable. Steaks were prepared exactly as requested. Wait staff was attentive and friendly. An enjoyable experience. Will definitely return to sample more of the menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to J. Gilbert's ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first visit to J. Gilbert's, and we were enticed there by Restaurant Week. Overall, we enjoyed our meal. Our waiter was attentive, the steaks were done properly, and I enjoyed my crab soup. We should have taken our desserts home, as we were quite stuffed from the rest of the dinner! There was a good selection of wines available by the glass.

I wish we had not been seated so close to a party of 10 who showed up shortly after we were seated. It just took away from the ambiance. Also, a note for the kitchen: Yukon Gold potatoes make for very gummy, pasty mashed potatoes. Try using Russets instead! We like fluffy mashed potatoes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

J Gilbert's has been in Columbus for som ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

J Gilbert's has been in Columbus for some time now. It's quality of food has always remained outstanding. Good service too. Great place to take people for a good dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our food and service was excellent. I ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Our food and service was excellent. I look forward to having my next meal there soon! Also, you can't go wrong with the signature Manhattan.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the food and service. Great plac ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the food and service. Great place for a night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love J Gilbert's. Perfect ambiance, f ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

We love J Gilbert's. Perfect ambiance, food is always reliably exceptional. Our server, Kellie, was outstanding with perfect timing and an enchanting personality.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Matt was so sweet and patient with us la ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Matt was so sweet and patient with us ladies. We had a small room that was perfect for talking business and catching up with each other. Exceptional service and food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience and enjoyed th ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great experience and enjoyed the atmosphere and food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They accommodate folks w/ food allergies ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

They accommodate folks w/ food allergies

Sunday always have 1/2 price on wine bottles but not $100 or over

Food very gourmet n good/palatable

It's one of our favorite restaurants

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wood fired steaks are one of a kind. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The wood fired steaks are one of a kind. They service was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I love this place! Great ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My husband and I love this place! Great wine, steaks, seafood! I love the crab bisque and the roasted brussel sprouts!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lori and I frequent J. Gilbert's We al ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Lori and I frequent J. Gilbert's We always request David. The quality of the food and the service are the best in the area. The value is there to especially with the prefix menu! I recommend joining their email group/service as they will occasionally send a great coupon as well as notifications for events. This is A hidden gem in the Crosswoods center… We highly recommend! Oh yeah, ask for David you can't go wrong

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time there, we absolutel ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It was my first time there, we absolutely loved it. Not close to where we live, but will definitely make the drive and ask for our server Kim. She made our experience that much better!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always lives up to expectations, one of ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Always lives up to expectations, one of our very favorite places for dining!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at this restaurant several ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have dined at this restaurant several times. The steaks in the past were prepared as ordered. The last three times my steaks were undercooked. The last time I ordered a filet trio and each was prepared at a different level from medium rare to medium. I not sure how that is even possible if they were cooked together. The appetizer and wine made up for the steak. It seems that a steak house should be able to cook steak consistently.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

2 center cut filet dinners and one crab ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 1, 2017

2 center cut filet dinners and one crab and center cut combo. The meat was done to perfection. Potatoes au gratin were excellent. Baked potato could have been a little hotter. Great environment. Gilberts has become an annual New Year's day tradition for our family. Its probably the best value of all the high end steak houses in Columbus. Get the carrot cake for desert. 3 people shared one slice and no one felt short changed! Very nice wine list too! We had a great dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the few places you can have a rom ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 1, 2017

One of the few places you can have a romantic dinner, and not need to shout across the table, even with a good crowd at the restaurant. Generous servings of interesting flavors!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful and versatile menu, great serv ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful and versatile menu, great service, and well flavored food! We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the atmosphere, but the food was o ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loved the atmosphere, but the food was only fair. Everything lacked flavor, including the steaks. Sadly, I found the best tasting portion of the meal to be the bread. For the price ($120 for two, without drinks), this was simply not worth the money. We won't be back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

J.Gilberts is our go-to special occasion ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

J.Gilberts is our go-to special occasion dining spot. Service is excellent and food always very good. Prices reasonable. Except for the several 2-seater tables along the corridor (which I wont accept) ambiance is nice and comfortable everywhere. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious as always, never a bad meal or ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious as always, never a bad meal or service. Loved the scallops!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the steak was the best in Col ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As always, the steak was the best in Columbus. Even though it was New Year's Eve, we were not rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food and service... Enjoyed a 2 ho ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service... Enjoyed a 2 hour dinner on New Year's Eve and didn't feel rushed at all! All of the courses were very well paced and the food was amazing!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's dinner.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was terrible however the manager wa ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was terrible however the manager was extremely helpful and understanding of my complaint

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Had an early New Year's celebration with ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had an early New Year's celebration with friends. Food is simply fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a 1st class experience at J Gilbe ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always a 1st class experience at J Gilberts.

Sat in alcove room Better spacing with kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful new place we just disco ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

What a wonderful new place we just discovered!!! We will definitely be returning here again for another dinner. Thank you for a wonderful dinner

Tags: Modern Decor, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined here several times before. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I have dined here several times before. The food has always been fantastic and service excellent. This time, the steak was almost raw (asked for medium well) and the service was poor. They were understaffed and the staff just could not keep up. Our server was rather disgruntled. I would go back again to make sure this experience was a one time thing. I think they deserve a second chance

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

Had another very good dinner! Three of ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Had another very good dinner! Three of us celebrated Christmas and had a nice, relaxing time. Atmosphere is welcoming and makes for easy conversation and the restaurant associates are always friendly and efficient. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

service was poor, never ask if the meal ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 27, 2016

service was poor, never ask if the meal was good bad or how.

food was not of the quality we have experienced in the past.

never given a chance for a extra cup of coffee

steak was very salty, but well prepared

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

We had a reservation for five at 8:30 an ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a reservation for five at 8:30 and didn't get seated until 8:45, and the table only seated four comfortably. We then didn't see our waiter until 9:00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Excellent food that was hot, seasoned pe ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent food that was hot, seasoned perfectly and plentiful. The server was friendly and efficient. It was noisy and not as relaxing for Christmas Eve. My husband loves the filet and can find no comparison. Prices are a little steep, but OK for the occasional special dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Our food was not really good and service ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our food was not really good and service was terrible. The water was right behind me and I kept refilling our water. Our waiter never ask if we wanted anything to drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Enjoyed a quality meal in a nice atmosph ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Enjoyed a quality meal in a nice atmosphere. Nice menu variety, seemed to be something for everyone without sacrificing quality.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Staff was very helpful and attentive. Fo ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Staff was very helpful and attentive. Food was good, prices were in line with other restaurants.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went on Christmas Eve for the first time ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went on Christmas Eve for the first time, Husband and I wonder why we have never been here before.

Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service and the food were excellent. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The service and the food were excellent. We celebrated my boyfriend's birthday and we both had a great time. For sure we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.