About J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

One East Campus View
Worthington, OH 43235
View Larger Map

J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Chocolate Velvet Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 840-9090

Website:
http://www.jgilberts.com/Home.aspx?824

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking.

Executive Chef:
Victor Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
J.Gilbert’s Wood-Fired Steaks and Seafood is the perfect setting for your banquet, wedding rehearsal dinner, private party, business meeting or any other special occasion that demands an excellent meal and elegant setting.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Dearth: 6148409090

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy hour food and drink specials: Sunday - Friday | 4pm - 7pm

Restaurant Photos

  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
6 More
Special Occasion
Columbus
Steak
Columbus
Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Worthington ›

special occasion (154)
romantic (128)
fit for foodies (73)
See All
notable wine list (68)
neighborhood gem (56)
good for groups (52)
hot spot (17)
vibrant bar scene (16)
late-night find (10)
great for lunch (10)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food & wine

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food & wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants in town! Alw ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best restaurants in town! Always fabulous and delicious! Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been dining at J. Gilbert's for ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have been dining at J. Gilbert's for many years. The food is always superb and the wait staff is very attentive and personable. One of our favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, the service is great with att ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

As always, the service is great with attention to detail. The food is prepared as requested, excellent quality and it appears at the right time - you are not rushed to finish one course as the next appears. They pay attention to thses small details which make it a pleasant experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was attentive but not overbea ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter was attentive but not overbearing and highly knowledgeable about the menu. We had a marvelous dining experience and I would highly recommend J. Gilbert's for the start or the end of a romantic night on the town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

From the cocktails to the service to the ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

From the cocktails to the service to the food everything was outstanding.our server paid attention to every detail.great date night with my wife.we will be back...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, lighting is a touch dark but ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food, lighting is a touch dark but not really a big deal. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only disappointment was our seating. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The only disappointment was our seating. We were seated on the servers path and near a service station. The foot traffic was noticeable. There were other tables available when we arrived.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another fabulous meal!!! I have never h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Another fabulous meal!!!

I have never had a bad meal here. The food is consistently delicious, hot and well prepared, even their deserts are top notch. It's one of my favorite dinning spots!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went for restaurant week and everything ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Went for restaurant week and everything was amazing. You could not be the special deals they had and they gave you plenty of options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't like ribs much but I was amazed ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I don't like ribs much but I was amazed at how good their wood fired ribs were. I took the remainder home but my adult children stole them and loved them, too. We will go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The crab cakes are phenomenal! Made with ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The crab cakes are phenomenal! Made with mostly crab meat, very little breading.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food with amazing service

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic food with amazing service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

J Gilbert's has been a favorite of our f ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

J Gilbert's has been a favorite of our family for 15+ years. We found it by happenstance but we celebrate birthdays and anniversaries every year. Their steaks are delicious, but their poblano au grain potatoes are AMAZING. Best potatoes I have ever had -- ANYWHERE! Their carrot cake is unique and is in my top three best desserts I've ever had, too, and I have a huge sweet tooth. I always look forward to going there. We have always had very, very good service. Rarely, if ever, have we been disappointed. Get on their email list to receive special offers. $25 off an entree for your birthday (and FREE dessert). LOVE IT!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rating for food was lower because my wif ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Rating for food was lower because my wife's steak was a little tuff and under cooked.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding service from Rich at the bar ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding service from Rich at the bar and Kim for dining. Always an outstanding evening with my lovely wife.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dinner with my fiancé. We were ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very nice dinner with my fiancé. We were seated quickly and on time with our reservation. Typical inside appearance of a nice restaurant. Lots of wood, low lighting etc. Comfortable seating.

Slightly noisy as we were close to the entrance of the prep area.

I thought the bourbon bottle with the cocktail list was very cool. The salt and pepper shaker combo was cool, never seen that before.

We both had salads to start. Bread was brought out pre meal. We both decided on crab cake and fillet combo. Sides were mashed potatos and asparagus. The dessert was part of the package deal which was awesome. She had chocolate cake with sorbet and i had a apple pie icecream something. The food was excellent. I had 2 specially cocktails, both very good.

The price seemed very reasonable if you get the salad/soup, meal, dessert choice.

The service was good not great. There were a couple time we were left waiting for a drink, etc. Overall good job though.

We'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Ordered steak and was more rare than med ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Ordered steak and was more rare than medium rare as I ordered it. Everything else was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. Perfectly prepa ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great dining experience. Perfectly prepared aged NY Strip and the side dishes danced with flavor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We go for our Anniversary dinner each ye ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We go for our Anniversary dinner each year. Love the place, love the food just a little pricey for frequent date nights.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a wonderful surprise to find them ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It was a wonderful surprise to find them open on the 4th of July -- our anniversary. Great service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were so glad that J. Gilbert's was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were so glad that J. Gilbert's was recommended for dinner by Alex, the front desk manager at the Worthington, Ohio Sheridan Suites.

David was was our waiter at J. Gilbert's. His entree and drink recommendations were excellent. He took great care to make sure our food selection questions were answered and that everything we ordered met our satifaction.

We will be going back the next time we're in the Columbus/Worthington area

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Table was very dark. Hard to read menu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Table was very dark. Hard to read menu and see food. Waitress not very sympathetic. Had to use phone flashlight to see if steak cooked ok. It was, but a lot of pepper on both the steak and augratin potatoes.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our steaks both were not cooked correctl ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our steaks both were not cooked correctly. Had to take them back as these were rare and asked for medium and medium well. Steaks had a lot of grizzle. These should be high end steaks for the money.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food excellent. We had a really great time

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service we had was outstanding! When ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service we had was outstanding! When asked between a few dishes, he recommended great choices. We also had a dessert and he raved about the chocolate mousse cake....SO DELICIOUS! Overall, very good experience and amazing food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited for more than 1 hour to receiv ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We waited for more than 1 hour to receive our food. There was a large party there that evening that likely delayed things. Another couple dining near us was so upset by the wait that they refused to be served by their server and instead were assisted by the manager. Not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

I always come back for Copper River Salm ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I always come back for Copper River Salmon. It was tremendous again this year!!! And my friend came back with me for a third year in a row to get it, also!! He loved it as well. For dessert, we had the creme brulee and it was excellent. Patrick, our server, was thoroughly professional and very pleasant. Overall, a great dining experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, waiter knowledgeable ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent service, waiter knowledgeable and efficient. Menu varied, almost too many choices to decide.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress Amy was the best. Knowledgeable ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Waitress Amy was the best. Knowledgeable, made great recommendations, and attentive. Side dishes at steakhouses have a tendency to be mediocre at best but they were all terrific at J. Gilberts, not to mention they had a wider selection than the other steakhouses in the area. I ordered the special, a grass-fed 16oz. bone-in strip and it came out a perfect "rare" like I requested, which is difficult for other restaurants to pull off. They barrel age in-house their version of a Manhattan which was quite the treat. Can't wait to return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal and service was excellent as ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great meal and service was excellent as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

JGilbert's is one of our favorite restau ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

JGilbert's is one of our favorite restaurants. The food is always excellent with great service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was terrific and they made our ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was terrific and they made our anniversary very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was disappointed in the whole experience ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Was disappointed in the whole experience, for a special dinner that was almost $500. Service was very slow, food was luke warm, and absolutely no flavor. This meal should have been on par with Eddie Merlot's, Mitchell's, and Ruth's Chris.

When reservation was booked, we were very excited for the seafood selections. It's very sad when you pay $100 for lobster and it was cold and rubbery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Very nice location, great service, del ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice location, great service, delicious meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this restaurant. The food is won ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love this restaurant. The food is wonderful, the service excellent and well worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was date night with my fiancé and her ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was date night with my fiancé and her first time to J Gilbert's. She was duly impressed by the restaurant, the food and the service. Again J Gilbert's delivers on a great meal. I have never been disappointed by this classy restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good steaks and ribs. Salmon could be b ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good steaks and ribs. Salmon could be better. Prices are a little high for a frequent visit, but it's a good place for special occasions. Lounge area is very fun and has a good menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food and service were very good. We ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and service were very good. We enjoyed our dinner, especially the potatoes and filet trio. Did not have room to try dessert. Our server was really great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great food and service -a little pricey.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and service -a little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.