About J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Chocolate Velvet Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are recommended.

One East Campus View
Worthington, OH 43235
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 840-9090

Website:
http://www.jgilberts.com/Home.aspx?824

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking.

Executive Chef:
Victor Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
J.Gilbert’s Wood-Fired Steaks and Seafood is the perfect setting for your banquet, wedding rehearsal dinner, private party, business meeting or any other special occasion that demands an excellent meal and elegant setting.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Dearth: (614) 840-9090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy hour food and drink specials: Sunday - Friday | 4pm - 7pm

J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (92)
Good for Anniversaries (85)
Good for a Date (77)
See All
Romantic (65)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Worth the Drive (50)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Business Meals (46)
Cozy (41)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Notable Wine List (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Authentic (18)
Happy Hour (16)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Private Room (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Fun (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Fireplace (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Seasonal (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (5)
Modern Decor (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Family Style (0)
Sort By:
S
2994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

We visited for restaurant week 7/21/17. First time visit and we were impressed. The food was good. Hot food was served on hot plates and cold food was on cold plates, the way it is supposed to be. Our server was very friendly, polite and professional. The atmosphere was good and the decor was nice. We will return to try more of the menu. By the way, the selections for restaurant week were plentiful! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Great dinner great service great value. Everyone was polite and tended to our needs no questions asked

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was so wonderful! Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I went there for the restaurant week.. It was disappointing. I often heard people recommending this place for steak. I order the chicken soup, apparently somebody double or triple the salt. I can't eat it. The salad, crab cake and steak were ok. The rib was plain. Overall, it's not worth.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Great ribs, really good bread, it was a wonderful dinner! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food and atmosphere was great .. Greeter and server could have been more welcoming and friendly

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

All staff was outstanding and courteous! Food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

First time there and the food and service were fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great dinner service was outstanding good bang for your buck.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Perfect for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome food with great service! My husband had a delicious 14oz bone in pork chop and I had a filet with the maple bourbon shrimp.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was cold ... Paid for 6oz filet received 4oz.... Small slice of cake... Bread and butter hot and fresh ... Wedge salad good Service was good .... Surprised food was cold.. First time going thought it would be better do to restaurant week.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter Allen was amazing. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for the first time for Restaurant Week. Many choices, great entrees, Matt provided excellent service . We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We dined during Restaurant Week, although we have enjoyed ourselves here on other occasions. For this visit, we were seated with a straight line view of the entrance...which was the only thing I would've changed. Our server (Jackson) was excellent, and the food was superb.
Thanks for a great experience and a super dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I visited during Restaurant Week and the food was amazing!!! I love this place and will definitely go again soon...

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

We went for my husband's birthday! The meal was great as usual and the service was excellent! We always go here for special occasions or to the bar for happy hour!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

It was dinner for my brothers birthday and the waitress was super nice and the food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

My fav place to celebrate a special occasion. Always fantastic!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and outstanding service as always. Key feature is consistency. I've never had a bad experience at this restaurant. Servers are very knowledgeable of both food and wine. Always helpful when you are having trouble choosing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food and great value. Most high priced steak restaurants do not include sides. J. Gilberts, two sides are included with your steak. After going to several steak places in the Polaris/Worthington area, we decided that J. Gilberts is the only place we go now if we want a great steak.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Service was especially superb this visit. Food was great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 14, 2017

As usual the food and the service was exceptional. The scallops are the best in town and the salmon is always tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Our go to place for special occasions. This was 37th anniversary. Best experience to date.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We were immediately met with friendly greeting and taken right to our table. Our waiter was a great information source of the menu and very good with recommendations. We were celebrating an anniversary and waiter intuitively knew when to ask if we needed anything and when not to. Very enjoyable experience with a very warm friendly, knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Best steaks around. Always consistent service and food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Amazing food! I've had plenty of steak around the area and so far J-Gilberts is now at the top of my list. I had the 8oz Filet and it was prepared and cooked perfectly. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The bone in ribeye steak is one of the best you will find in the country or world for that matter!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 6, 2017

excellent cocktails. beef was amazing as was the crabcake. Big portions.
super friendly staff.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We went on the 4th of July. The restaurant was busy, but not crowded. We both had the 6 ounce filets, and they were cooked perfectly. The waiter and the kitchen got the distinction between medium rare on the rare side, and medium rare on the medium side. The sides were included in the price, giving the the steak house points for value. The sides were excellent, mushroom risotto, zucchini casserole, and potatoes au gratin. We did not have starters or dessert. The sides were generous leaving us no room for dessert. The waiter was attentive, and engaging, making the evening more enjoyable for us. The atmosphere was "masculine", appropriate for a steakhouse.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Wonderful as always. We booked for dinner on July 4th. Allen was,our waiter and he was fantastic! Food and wine excellent

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 4, 2017

JGilbert remains our favorite romantic restaurant in Columbus. The drinks(using age barrel bourbon), food, ambiance and service all combine to enhance a memorable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We were a little disappointed with the smaller size of the Wedge salad, but the rest of the meal made up for it. One of Columbus' best steakhouses.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our dining experience at J Gilbert's was outstanding. The food and service were excellent. Amy, our server, was attentive, friendly, and informative. The scallop dinner was perfectly prepared with tasty seared scallops, the 6 oz filet was cooked to perfection, the crab cakes were loaded with flavorful lump crab, and the bisque, as always, was outstanding in flavor. My only criticism which I have mentioned in other reviews for Gilberts is what I consider to be excessive salt in the mushroom risotto. We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food Service Atmosphere was amazing.. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

There was a wedding and a large party that evening in the restaurant . Our dinner service was incredibly slow. Food was marginal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service was excellent and we really enjoy the grilled over wood flavors.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We visit J Gilbert's a couple times a year when we are looking for a restaraunt for a a special occasion, or simply want a great dinner. They are consistently high quality in terms of service and dining, and we will continue to enjoy dinners with them.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My friend & I had the Copper River salmon (again)!!! It was superb. Our waitress was pleasant, knowledgeable, and efficient. She made us feel at home. Never a complaint when I dine at j. Gilbert's!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.