About J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

One East Campus View
Worthington, OH 43235
View Larger Map

J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Chocolate Velvet Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 840-9090

Website:
http://www.jgilberts.com/Home.aspx?824

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking.

Executive Chef:
Victor Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
J.Gilbert’s Wood-Fired Steaks and Seafood is the perfect setting for your banquet, wedding rehearsal dinner, private party, business meeting or any other special occasion that demands an excellent meal and elegant setting.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Dearth: 6148409090

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy hour food and drink specials: Sunday - Friday | 4pm - 7pm

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat dad to something specials for Father's Day. Join us for a special Prix-Fixe menu in additional to our regular menu. Make a reservation today.

J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Steak
Columbus
2 More
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Worthington ›

special occasion (213)
romantic (164)
fit for foodies (93)
See All
notable wine list (79)
good for groups (57)
neighborhood gem (56)
vibrant bar scene (34)
hot spot (22)
great for lunch (11)
late-night find (10)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (6)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2283 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Great happy hour option ...

Dined 3 days ago

Love this place. Great happy hour options. Nice and friendly staff. Wine down Sunday's are awesome too

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated our kids graduations on a ...

Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our kids graduations on a Saturday night at J Gilberts. The food was great and our serve went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed to make dinner fantastic..

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Impressed!

Dined 4 days ago

I have driven past J. Gilbert multiple times but never thought to go in. I recently did an online search for the best steak restaurants in Columbus and J. Gilbert's came up as one. I looked at the online reviews and decided it was worth a try. When my Boyfriend and I were seated we were greeted by a lovely server. She was very helpful with the menu. We never felt rushed and she welcomed us as first time guests from finding that out on our online reservation. The food was amazing and so flavorful. I felt like I could really taste the meat and the sides were spot on. I was so full but I didn't want to stop eating. At the end of the meal we were told because it was our first visit we would be treated to dessert. I was so impressed and happy. That is true customer service. We enjoyed every bite of the Apple Crostade. Overall it was a very memorable meal and we decided that anytime we celebrate an occasion we will be visiting J. Gilbert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful, romantic anniversary ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful, romantic anniversary dinner. The music and lighting set the mood. The food was good. Our waitress was top notch and made our dining experience extra special. Thank you Kim!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We got a private space that was really n ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We got a private space that was really nice so we could catch up and not disturb everyone else. This was my first visit and there were so many choices on the menu I will definitely have to go back. All of my meal was amazing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was very good, the service was very ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was very good, the service was very good but the meals are very over priced.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at J. Gilberts!

Dined on May 13, 2016

J. Gilberts is an excellent steakhouse and you get a lot of food for the price. I had the 4 oz steak with shrimp. Their food was great, service was excellent. We had Kim as our server and she was so great. The restaurant is beautiful. We will definitely be back. TIP: If you sign up for their email club, you get some great deals.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Not worth a visit

Dined on May 9, 2016

Had been here several times before, was OK back than. The food was really low quality and not up to the mark with the exception of the desert. The Steak (Filet Mignon) was ordered medium rare and came rather well done. The quality of the meat was quiet poor. My colleague ate a surf and turf combination. the scallops clearly lacked freshness (there is an easy way to tell whether scallops are fresh or not, these were not).

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My experience at J Gilbert's was absolut ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

My experience at J Gilbert's was absolutely perfect. Food perfectly prepared and extremely tasty, wait staff was outstanding, the whole experience was nothing short of flawless. I would not hesitate to recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of 3 on Mother's Day and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were a party of 3 on Mother's Day and college graduation celebration! It wasn't as busy as I thought it would be so we were seated right away, our server was prompt, courteous and fun! The filet mignon entree on the pre-fix menu was excellent, the Kansas City strip was big and delicious. Dessert was a slice of carrot cake...so yummy! Thank you for a great meal along with an enjoyable atmosphere!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother' day meal

Dined on May 8, 2016

This an excellent restaurant for fine dining. Our server was great but I can't remember her name. Speed was also good considering how full they were because of mother's Day. We enjoyed crabm cakes aahi tuna and a rack of lamb. I had the lamb and it may have been the I have had. It was cooked to perfection and with the excellent spinach and pilaf made it a great meal. Dessert was a delicious strawberry cheesecake. Deceptively light.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, excellent food, nice di ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service, excellent food, nice dining atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5

All of the food was excellent! We had th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

All of the food was excellent! We had the ribs, risotto, and the burger, and we would order them all again. The bleu cheese chips appetizer was large and a great starter and the bread they bring to the table tasted great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time and food. Par for the course

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined at J Gilberts dozens of times, and it is always wonderful. We were 15 minutes for our reservation, and did not have to wait. Our food was amazing, our server AJ was tremendous and made it a fun experience for our 9 year old daughter. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great surf and turf

Dined on May 8, 2016

The scallops and petite filet were delicious! We really enjoyed the wedge salad and the greens salad. We also loved the chocolate cake.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the food and service was spec ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

As always, the food and service was spectacular. This was my first Mother's Day without my mom; she passed away in January. J. Gilbert's was her favorite restaurant, and we came every year for her birthday and Mother's Day. Our server was excellent, and didn't look at me strangely when I asked that the extra place setting stay on the table, or when I ordered a glass of wine for that empty seat. The filets were cooked perfectly, and the crab cakes are still among the best I've ever had. Thank you, and I will continue the tradition in mom's honor as long as I'm still around myself.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was fantastic: attentive, che ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server was fantastic: attentive, cheerful, engaging. Food was delicious. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I love J Gilbert's. Best res ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I love J Gilbert's. Best restaurant in Columbus!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambiance

Dined on May 7, 2016

The atmosphere is upscale formal and it was quiet. Food was very good as you would expect. We enjoyed ourselves very much as we celebrated my wife's birthday

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and seating for group of five

Dined on May 7, 2016

We took our son their for graduation as well as for mothers day for me. We did not have to wait to be seated as with some reservations and we were able to talk and enjoy the evening as a group. Server was wonderful and food was delicious - I had halibut, my husband had lamb and others had steak and everything was cooked perfectly and delicious. We would go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not disappoint

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food is normally very good and we were not disappointed this time. Had the halibut special and it was excellent. Service was up to normal standard. Friendlyand helpful. All in all, another enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The server. Was absolutely the best!

Dined on May 6, 2016

The server. Was absolutely the best!

food5
ambience5
service5

Kasich showed up

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Kasich showed up

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and ambiance

Dined on May 5, 2016

This restaurant is wonderful. This is our second time back in the past two months. Highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AEP --- Project Managment Meeting 5/2/2016

Dined on May 3, 2016

Great place, great steaks and seafood. Top notch!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall Good Experience At J Gilbert's

Dined on April 30, 2016

J Gilbert's is our favorite northwest Columbus area restaurant. The food is typically delicious and consistently prepared. Service is always outstanding. The facility is always clean and comfortable. We did experience a food disappointment at this last visit (Saturday evening April 30th). The risotto on two of the dishes was undercooked. The lobster risotto and the wild mushroom risotto were much too al dente for both our tastes however not enough to make mention to our server. Since the risottos were a main event of our meals, I rated the food as four stars instead of my normal five. Otherwise the meal was excellent.

food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on April 30, 2016

We've dined at J. Gilbert's many times, but this time I was disappointed in our seating, service and the extreme noise. Had requested a more isolated table area with more light, but ended up in busiest area near kitchen, which was very dark. Server did not ask how steak was to be cooked, ignored request for more light for visually impaired guest, forgot to bring side dish, and had to be flagged to get his attention. Noise was extreme. If we return, will book direct rather than through Open Table to be sure of seating location.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and excellent food

Dined on April 28, 2016

The service at J. Gilbert's is outstanding. Our waitress chose the perfect wine for us, and was very attentive. The steaks are always cooked to perfection, and the sides are delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fo

Dined on April 24, 2016

Loved the blue cheese chip appetizer. Creme brûlée was not as good as the last time - top burnt. Everything else was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

By far our favorite 'special occasion' restaurant.

Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been to J. Gilbert's many times over the past 15 years, and have yet to be disappointed by the ambiance, service, or food. We have our own special table for two, and J. Gilbert's never fails to get our table at the time we want. The servers are attentive without being annoying, and have always treated us graciously and with just the right amount of humor! There is NO snootiness here - you will feel welcome and treated right whether you wear a suit or jeans. And the food... the onion ring appetizer is our favorite, as it comes with three sauces made in-house (as is everything, including the ice cream). We especially love their steaks, but my wife also swears by their fish entrees. This is a pricey restaurant, but if you are looking for that special place for that special event, this is the place to go HANDS DOWN!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

While the ambiance is nice and the servi ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

While the ambiance is nice and the service excellent, the food is really mediocre at best. It is not a good value for the prices charged. We chose J Gilbert's as a default because we were not able to get a reservation at our first choice. Will not go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 22, 2016

My husband took me to J. Gilbert's for my birthday dinner. The food was wonderful, the service was top notch and we had a great evening. He had the pork chop dinner and I had the filet and scallops dinner. We topped off the evening with dessert...what would a birthday celebration be without dessert?Our serv I had my favorite, Creme Brulee and he had the Carrot Cake. Both meals and desserts were delicious. Thanks to all who made our evening great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect date night

Dined on April 22, 2016

My husband and I made reservations for a Friday night dinner. Arrived a few minutes early and our table was ready. Waitress was wonderful! We both did the pre-fixe menu and loved every bite. We had the pork chop and salmon which were seasoned and cooked perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant! For some reason ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Our favorite restaurant! For some reason you can't get great service just anywhere but at J Gilbert's it's a guarantee. Wonderful food, bar & service.

food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Protein, disappointing sides.

Dined on April 17, 2016

I wish I could give the food a better star rating , as my halibut was phenomenal and my mother's scallops were delicious. However, both of us got the lobster risotto and it was very under cooked, almost crunchy. We did tell our server and he brought out their lobster mac n' cheese, another strike out. It lacked flavor and sauce. For such great proteins and at a high dollar price tag, this is unacceptable from such a fine establishment. The 1/2 price bottle of wine Sunday, was a great deal and why I gave a 3 star to value, if it were for the wine and I was going on food, I would have given value a 1 star.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Jgilberts. Went for a double da ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We love Jgilberts. Went for a double date night. Table spacing was tight, back of my chair kept getting hit. My scallops were amazing, dreaming about them still. My husband was underwhelmed with his steak. Overall we will be back.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Nice

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food and service were great. Best lamb chops I've had outside the home. Very nice place and a decent kids menu. They were very accommodation when our 5 year old daughter ordered off menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find! And we'll be back!

Dined on April 16, 2016

We were in town to spend the weekend celebrating our anniversary and just happened upon J Gilberts and it was well worth the find. The steaks were grilled exactly the way we ordered and had a wonderful fire wood taste and just melted in your mouth. And the sides were just as good. The prices are what you would expect for a fine steakhouse. I would not consider this a restaurant for young kids and that is fine. The servers were great. Well informed of the meals and did not pester us while we ate. Bottom line, we WILL return!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Business Dinner

Dined on April 12, 2016

The dinner was for a business group and everyone truly enjoyed the evening. The service was excellent and the food was perfect. J. Gilbert's definitely has their act together. I was impressed with the food and the service. Definitely will return in the future.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was wonderful. We will certa ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Our dinner was wonderful. We will certainly go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.