About J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Chocolate Velvet Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are recommended.

One East Campus View
Worthington, OH 43235
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 840-9090

Website:
http://www.jgilberts.com/Home.aspx?824

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking.

Executive Chef:
Victor Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
J.Gilbert’s Wood-Fired Steaks and Seafood is the perfect setting for your banquet, wedding rehearsal dinner, private party, business meeting or any other special occasion that demands an excellent meal and elegant setting.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Dearth: (614) 840-9090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy hour food and drink specials: Sunday - Friday | 4pm - 7pm

J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (122)
Good for Anniversaries (101)
Good for a Date (98)
See All
Romantic (87)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Worth the Drive (53)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Notable Wine List (44)
Business Meals (43)
Cozy (41)
Fireplace (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Wood Oven (32)
Bar Seating (30)
Good for Groups (27)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Happy Hour (18)
Private Room (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Casual (15)
Fun (14)
Authentic (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2915 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Great dining! Service was ok, nothing spectacular but the food was really good

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I just had a very memorable dinner at J. Gilbert's. It was our first time there, and certainly won't be our last. The food and service were exceptional.

We had the shrimp appetizer, which was so good I commented it should be an entree. They have an extensive selection of steak entrees, and each comes with your choice of two sides. The list of sides is also extensive and innovative! The carrots are not to be missed! If I recall, they are cooked with siracha sauce and a hint of fresh mint. They were easily the best carrots I've ever had. Of course, the steaks were perfectly done.

There are a lot of fantastic restaurants in the Columbus area, but don't make the mistake of missing this one!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a pleasure to dine at J. Gilberts. The staff, food , ambiance and cocktails are to notch. A favorite destination of ours!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was great, best steak I've had since moving to Columbus last summer. The waitress was prompt, but when I told her I had received a $25 coupon for my birthday, she turned off her personality and didn't even try to engage us. We heard other tables being told about features and were walked through the menu with recommendations, our waitress looked at us like we were a charity case and would not be able to leave her tip from the moment she I mentioned the birthday coupon. When I ordered a glass a wine she didn't bother to ask which size I wanted, she automatically assumed I wanted the cheapest glass. I can assure you I can afford the full price, but I'm thrifty any smart person that receives a $25 coupon would do the same. I was planning on tipping above the usual 18% since we were using the coupon, but after the way the waitress acted, she only got the 18%.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fantastic service, delicious food! The server was very knowledgeable about the food and the drinks. Cocktails were amazingly good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Finally, a place in Columbus where you can have an enjoyable conversation without shouting. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable (thanks Jackson)! We would recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Never in my life have I had a waiter dictate to the customer an exact dollar amount to tip. That is rude, embarrassing, and quite frankly unacceptable. If you are not happy with the tip you receive, bite your tongue and deal with it. It actually offended our guests that were visiting from another country. We will never return to this restaurant for another business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great food (including excellent sides), great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife thoroughly enjoyed her Mother's Day dinner! This place is consistently excellent! The Worthington location has been our go to special occasion spot for over 10 years and I don't see that changing anytime soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at J Gilberts as we have on past visits. Mother's Day dinner menu had one major disappointment. We arrived at the restaurant at 5:45pm and they were already sold out of the scallop dinner. Terribly early to be out of a main Holiday dinner menu selection. Very disappointing. We had to send one of the steaks back to the kitchen, twice, and the asparagus was not properly cleaned and was fibrous although the tips were quite tasty. Otherwise, steaks were very good, as were the crab cakes and mushroom risotto. The service by Katie was OUTSTANDING. She was friendly, attentive, flexible, and provided such great service my rating for this dinner was five stars as opposed to four stars due to the food issues. Great job KATIE.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was excellent! Even though I wouldn't have considered it a good spot for kids prior to visiting- my 2 yr old son loved it! I won't hesitate to bring him again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place. Food was very good, service was excellent! I'll definitely go back for the next special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was very disappointed. My first bad experience was Mother's Day. We both had the center cut filet and it was tough, and under cooked. Better steaks at Outback!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very disappointing visit. Med well steak dry, food overall just ordinary. Not like our other visits years ago. And bring back the J. Gilbert's sauce! New one not as good. Pleased with wine selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Staff was very friendly and wished my wife happy birthday. Server was very knowledgeable about the menu and the good was incredible! I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 12, 2017

A wonderful anniversary dinner. They made it extra special for us.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was sumptuous! Jackson, our waiter, offered excellent suggestions and made the experience very pleasant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was excellent as usual, thank you.

Kayte made the evening even better with her outstanding service and beaming personality. Great job!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Generally,good food items. Some sides a bit too greasy/oily

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had our own room and our server was fantastic!!! She suggested some great drinks and was always available when we needed something. The food came out with perfect timing, couldn't ask for a better night out with friends!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Consistently good solid food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Never disappointed! Good for any occasion, especially special occasions. The food & beverages are always amazing with service to match. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Second trip to this establishment. This visit was very poor all due too the service. Good was good but I feel over priced. Waiter could not deliver drinks and never brought items which were ordered to begin with, even after being reminded. They serve bread at the beginning, and then took it away when the meal was served. .Not sure Why! Got up to speak with the manager who wasn't very accommodating, and afterwards he never even made an attempt to cone to the table and check up. The waiters hygiene was obnoxious as well.
First visit was one to remember though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at J.Gilbert's
The Staff was friendly and helpful and the
food was excellent. I had the "special"
halibut. It was perfectly prepared. My
vegan daughter had the roasted veggie
plate which she enjoyed.

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Gilbert's rocks. Food is always on point (best lamb in cbus). David is in an incredible server.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was our first time dining here & we were pleasantly surprised. The food, service & atmosphere was exceptional. We'll be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was Hot well seasoned, John was Grate waiter,

Thank you

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Experience and food was outstanding as always. Kim was a wonderful server, making us feel welcome. Amfantastic evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great experience in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Never dissaointed. Food and service consistently good

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

J. Gilberts is always great. Wonderful food, great service. My favorite place to get a quality steak in Columbus.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My husband and I keep coming back to J. Gilbert's for all of our special occasions. We have never been disappointed. The food is EXCELLENT! Great service. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We have dined at J Gilbert's 5 or 6 times but this experience was not one that would bring us back. We were seated near the kitchen which was a high traffic area, the restaurant was very busy, a combination of prom teens and a few large gatherings which made it much noisier than usual. We ordered salads and main courses and the main courses came out before we were able to finish our salads. They took my food back to keep it warm while my wife accepted hers. The potatoes were then a little crusty and the vegatables which in the past have been very good were just average. The brussels sprouts were underdone and tastless and the steamed asparagus was not very tasty. The wait staff was doing their best but the overall experience was lacking its usual pleasantness. We were celebrating our anniversary but did not make that known.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Underrated place. Food is delicious. Service top notch. Great architecture and ambience.
NO TVs!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 28, 2017

J Gilberts is my favorite restaurant to go to for a special occasion . The steaks are delicious , the service is very good and it is quiet enough that you can actually carry on a conversation. I have recommended it to many of my friends and look forward to going there again for our next special event.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The Maryland crab bisque is amazing! Good service and nice menu selection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 27, 2017

J. Gilberts is our favorite restaurant in town. We have been coming here since we moved here 18 years ago. The food is consistently outstanding and the service is as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food at J Gilbert's was great. Nice selection of food and wine. The service was attentive and helpful with selecting flavorful dishes.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 25, 2017

J Gilbert' is one of favorite restaurants in Columbus. The ambiance is great. The steaks are always done to perfection. We have dine here dozens of times. Our server this time left a lot to be desired. I felt like we offended her when I asked her to refresh our coffee with hotter coffee. She told me it was a fresh pot, that she would microwave our mugs. When the coffee came back it was of similar temperature. Server never came back to our table to refill coffee. (At nearly $3 a cup, one would expect a refill) And the manager was no where to be found. We will keep coming back to J. Gilbert's , but I think we will skip the coffee.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.