About J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

One East Campus View
Worthington, OH 43235
View Larger Map

J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Chocolate Velvet Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 840-9090

Website:
http://www.jgilberts.com/Home.aspx?824

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking.

Executive Chef:
Victor Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
J.Gilbert’s Wood-Fired Steaks and Seafood is the perfect setting for your banquet, wedding rehearsal dinner, private party, business meeting or any other special occasion that demands an excellent meal and elegant setting.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Dearth: 6148409090

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy hour food and drink specials: Sunday - Friday | 4pm - 7pm

Restaurant Photos

  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Steak
Columbus
2 More
Romantic
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Worthington ›

special occasion (150)
romantic (119)
fit for foodies (68)
See All
notable wine list (63)
good for groups (48)
neighborhood gem (48)
vibrant bar scene (18)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was terrific and they made our ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was terrific and they made our anniversary very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Was disappointed in the whole experience ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Was disappointed in the whole experience, for a special dinner that was almost $500. Service was very slow, food was luke warm, and absolutely no flavor. This meal should have been on par with Eddie Merlot's, Mitchell's, and Ruth's Chris. When reservation was booked, we were very excited for the seafood selections. It's very sad when you pay $100 for lobster and it was cold and rubbery.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice location, great service, del ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice location, great service, delicious meal!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. The food is won ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We love this restaurant. The food is wonderful, the service excellent and well worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was date night with my fiancé and her ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was date night with my fiancé and her first time to J Gilbert's. She was duly impressed by the restaurant, the food and the service. Again J Gilbert's delivers on a great meal. I have never been disappointed by this classy restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good steaks and ribs. Salmon could be b ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Good steaks and ribs. Salmon could be better. Prices are a little high for a frequent visit, but it's a good place for special occasions. Lounge area is very fun and has a good menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

The food and service were very good. We ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and service were very good. We enjoyed our dinner, especially the potatoes and filet trio. Did not have room to try dessert. Our server was really great!

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and service -a little pricey.

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and service -a little pricey.

food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Our waitress was horrible. They used to ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Our waitress was horrible. They used to give a free dessert for birthdays. They did not this time. Not sure if we will comeback to this restaurant. Expensive which I don't min d but expect excellence for the price

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and wine, top notch servi ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Delicious food and wine, top notch service

food4
ambience4
service4

Overall a very good meal for the money w ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Overall a very good meal for the money when compared to Hayden Park

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great steakhouse

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had an excellent meal, we each ordered off the prix fixe menu and also shared an appetizer of burrata. Creme brulee for dessert was very good as well.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

J. Gilberts ... my favorite restaurant

Dined on May 30, 2016

Every thing I've had here has been wonderful. Great food, great service, good prices.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service & Food

Dined on May 29, 2016

We dine here at least twice a year and the service can't be beat. Our server Kayte was wonderful and timed the meal perfectly. Steaks were cooked tour liking and everything tastes wonderful. We'll be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always

Dined on May 29, 2016

What a great place for special occasions. The food is always wonderful and the service outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always yummy

Dined on May 29, 2016

As usual our dinner was outstanding in every way except for the lighting. It is supposed to be dimly lit for the ambiance but we couldn't see the menus very well. Our waiter was friendly & helpful. The food was soooo good as it always is. Which is why we go there for every special occasion we can fit in.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you want to eat MEAT!

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Not a budget steakhouse, but more reasonably priced than others offering comparable quality. My wife and I manage to dine here maybe 4 times a year, and we always enjoy the experience. We most often go on Sunday to take advantage of the 1/2 price wines that night. The prix fixe menu (3 courses for less than the total would be if ordered a la carte) is a good deal, and what we usually opt for. We shared an order of tuna tartare as an extra appetizer (not an option offered among the prix fixe starters, but hard to pass up). We both enjoyed the crab bisque (a favorite. not to be missed!). For my main course on this visit, I had the rack of lamb, nicely coupled with generous helpings of steamed spinach and mushroom risotto. My wife had a small filet and broiled scallops (with asparagus and baked potato). The meats were cooked just as we'd ordered, pink, tender, and juicy. Ended up too full to manage dessert (included in the prix fixe price), so had to take that home for later.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Great Dining Experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I dine at J Gilberts about twice a year. We had our anniversary dinner there last Saturday, and we were not disappointed. Our waiter, Marcus, quickly realized we wanted a leisurely meal. We never felt neglected, but he was not constantly be our tableside either. A perfect balance. The food was excellent, as usual. As exceptional as the food is at J Gilberts, it's the staff that makes it an extra special place for us and keeps us coming back for special occasions. P.S. We love the cocktails menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorites. The food is excelle ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

One of my favorites. The food is excellent and the service could not be any better. Great atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you like top quality steaks and seafo ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

If you like top quality steaks and seafood this will become your favorite place. Couldn't ask for better service. I can promise that you will be more than pleased with everything about J. Gilberts.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the special which was Trout, the c ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

I had the special which was Trout, the chef put on a Cajun spice that really made the meal fantastic!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently the best steakhouse and one ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Consistently the best steakhouse and one of the top 5 restaurants in Columbus.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As ever, the appetizes, entrees, sides, ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

As ever, the appetizes, entrees, sides, desserts, and wine were all delicious. Service was prompt and the server was helpful and attentive. We'll definitely eat there many times in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Great happy hour option ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Love this place. Great happy hour options. Nice and friendly staff. Wine down Sunday's are awesome too

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated our kids graduations on a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We celebrated our kids graduations on a Saturday night at J Gilberts. The food was great and our serve went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed to make dinner fantastic..

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING AGAIN

Dined on May 21, 2016

I made this reservation for a friend of mine and her family who were from out of town. They could not stop raving about the food and service that J Gilberts provides. We have become regulars. Bravo J Gilberts!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Impressed!

Dined on May 21, 2016

I have driven past J. Gilbert multiple times but never thought to go in. I recently did an online search for the best steak restaurants in Columbus and J. Gilbert's came up as one. I looked at the online reviews and decided it was worth a try. When my Boyfriend and I were seated we were greeted by a lovely server. She was very helpful with the menu. We never felt rushed and she welcomed us as first time guests from finding that out on our online reservation. The food was amazing and so flavorful. I felt like I could really taste the meat and the sides were spot on. I was so full but I didn't want to stop eating. At the end of the meal we were told because it was our first visit we would be treated to dessert. I was so impressed and happy. That is true customer service. We enjoyed every bite of the Apple Crostade. Overall it was a very memorable meal and we decided that anytime we celebrate an occasion we will be visiting J. Gilbert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful, romantic anniversary ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a wonderful, romantic anniversary dinner. The music and lighting set the mood. The food was good. Our waitress was top notch and made our dining experience extra special. Thank you Kim!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We got a private space that was really n ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We got a private space that was really nice so we could catch up and not disturb everyone else. This was my first visit and there were so many choices on the menu I will definitely have to go back. All of my meal was amazing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was very good, the service was very ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was very good, the service was very good but the meals are very over priced.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at J. Gilberts!

Dined on May 13, 2016

J. Gilberts is an excellent steakhouse and you get a lot of food for the price. I had the 4 oz steak with shrimp. Their food was great, service was excellent. We had Kim as our server and she was so great. The restaurant is beautiful. We will definitely be back. TIP: If you sign up for their email club, you get some great deals.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Not worth a visit

Dined on May 9, 2016

Had been here several times before, was OK back than. The food was really low quality and not up to the mark with the exception of the desert. The Steak (Filet Mignon) was ordered medium rare and came rather well done. The quality of the meat was quiet poor. My colleague ate a surf and turf combination. the scallops clearly lacked freshness (there is an easy way to tell whether scallops are fresh or not, these were not).

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My experience at J Gilbert's was absolut ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

My experience at J Gilbert's was absolutely perfect. Food perfectly prepared and extremely tasty, wait staff was outstanding, the whole experience was nothing short of flawless. I would not hesitate to recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of 3 on Mother's Day and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were a party of 3 on Mother's Day and college graduation celebration! It wasn't as busy as I thought it would be so we were seated right away, our server was prompt, courteous and fun! The filet mignon entree on the pre-fix menu was excellent, the Kansas City strip was big and delicious. Dessert was a slice of carrot cake...so yummy! Thank you for a great meal along with an enjoyable atmosphere!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother' day meal

Dined on May 8, 2016

This an excellent restaurant for fine dining. Our server was great but I can't remember her name. Speed was also good considering how full they were because of mother's Day. We enjoyed crabm cakes aahi tuna and a rack of lamb. I had the lamb and it may have been the I have had. It was cooked to perfection and with the excellent spinach and pilaf made it a great meal. Dessert was a delicious strawberry cheesecake. Deceptively light.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, excellent food, nice di ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service, excellent food, nice dining atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5

All of the food was excellent! We had th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

All of the food was excellent! We had the ribs, risotto, and the burger, and we would order them all again. The bleu cheese chips appetizer was large and a great starter and the bread they bring to the table tasted great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time and food. Par for the course

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined at J Gilberts dozens of times, and it is always wonderful. We were 15 minutes for our reservation, and did not have to wait. Our food was amazing, our server AJ was tremendous and made it a fun experience for our 9 year old daughter. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great surf and turf

Dined on May 8, 2016

The scallops and petite filet were delicious! We really enjoyed the wedge salad and the greens salad. We also loved the chocolate cake.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the food and service was spec ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

As always, the food and service was spectacular. This was my first Mother's Day without my mom; she passed away in January. J. Gilbert's was her favorite restaurant, and we came every year for her birthday and Mother's Day. Our server was excellent, and didn't look at me strangely when I asked that the extra place setting stay on the table, or when I ordered a glass of wine for that empty seat. The filets were cooked perfectly, and the crab cakes are still among the best I've ever had. Thank you, and I will continue the tradition in mom's honor as long as I'm still around myself.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.