About J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Chocolate Velvet Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are recommended.

One East Campus View
Worthington, OH 43235
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 840-9090

Website:
http://www.jgilberts.com/Home.aspx?824

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking.

Executive Chef:
Victor Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
J.Gilbert’s Wood-Fired Steaks and Seafood is the perfect setting for your banquet, wedding rehearsal dinner, private party, business meeting or any other special occasion that demands an excellent meal and elegant setting.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Dearth: (614) 840-9090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy hour food and drink specials: Sunday - Friday | 4pm - 7pm

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Join us Thanksgiving Day from 11am-8pm for a traditional Thanksgiving feast, featuring favorites like roasted turkey and pumpkin pie. 3-course Prixe Fixe menu: Adults $38, children 12 & under $19. Our regular dinner menu will also be available.

J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (89)
Special Occasion (89)
Good for a Date (83)
See All
Good for Birthdays (67)
Romantic (55)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Worth the Drive (42)
Cozy (41)
Business Meals (37)
Notable Wine List (37)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Happy Hour (25)
Authentic (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Casual (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (14)
Local Ingredients (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort by
S
3127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Fabulous Food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We enjoyed our meals and the service provided by Kelly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Service is top three in C'bus. Sir close to the bar area - better atmosphere. Food is very good. 1/2 off bottles of wine on Sunday. Don't sit in the back. Skip the Brussels sprouts!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was perfect from service to food. Definitely will return. Manager checked on us after the food came out also. Great place to eat.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

THIS PLACE WAY EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS AND WE ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO COMING BACK

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

If you’re going to charge the prices for a prime steak house, you have to play the part. That means the oysters can’t be all shell and no oyster, the bar staff has to be attentive and the servers can’t be one rung below Flo from the local diner. This place disappoints on all levels. And vacuuming while people are dining?? Mel wouldn’t even have done that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best steaks I’ve ever had. Pleasant service and wonderful atmosphere. Pricey, but well worth a visit to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Great meal, top shelf bourbon and great service. Always try to make it to J. Gilbert’s when I’m in Columbus.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Our server (Alex) was GREAT! Food was, as usual, outstanding.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Seated in booth in direct path of cold air from outside every time someone entered. It was frustrating but our meal was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Crab Bisque is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Their new smoke salmon appetizer is a must have - so delish

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 7, 2017

One of our favorite places for a great dinner. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2017

This is the best steak in Columbus. Better than Hyde Park or Smith and Wilensky or The Palm (not in Cbus). Sides are amazing, sauces are a great add, the food value to the dollar is very acceptable. I’ve been to steak places across the country and the grilling that they do here is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2017

JGibert's is a consistent winner for good wine selection, outstanding food and professional,
friendly service in a romantic setting. When we go on Sundays we always ask for Mercedes as our wait staff who is excellent in providing service and a sense of hospitality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Absolutely the best place I’ve gone to with my wife. Food was so good that I recommend it for my whole family and friends. Must go back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2017

This was the first time that we’ve ever been to J Gilbert’s and not had a fantastic experience. It has been one of our favorites for over 10 years, but on this night it was not the experience we’ve become accustomed. The seating was too tight and I had multiple servers hit and bump my chair. It took over 10 minutes for us to be greeted and over 15 to get drinks. My steak was not medium well vs medium rare which I always order. My wife’s scallops were tonight. In short, we will give it another try and chalk it up to a bad night. But, that maybe our last try if we have a similar experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

I have dined here at least 20 times over the past few years. As always, our waiter was outstanding. However, I was underwhelmed when it came to the food. The crab bisque didnt tast the same as usual and they changed the house steak sauce which I loved. I also usually get the sea scallops and the lobster risotto. Since they removed this from the prix-fixe menu, I have to order items individually in order to create the meal I like. Also ordered a filet that was supposed to be medium well but was flat out burnt. I live J Gilbert's but for the price they charge, it may be time to find another steakhouse with more consistent quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Sat at the bar...the restaurant wasn't busy. Service wasn't great sitting at the bar. The bartender, talked to an obnoxious couple at the end of the bar. He seemed to take care of their "needs" more than us. Took forever to get our bill. I made a comment to him about overlooking our service and he got a little miffed. Will def be back. Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Excellent food! Steaks were cooked to perfection, sides were unique yet familiar. But our server, Kim, was what made it a special dining experience. She was attentive and informative. She learned it was a special occasion and went over the top for our celebration. We’ll be back to see her!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food was excellent , service was nice and competent but was over accommodating. The gentlemen that brought us our food removed my appetizer before I was finished and I even said so but took it anyway so he could put my main course on the table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Always my go to restaurant for special occasions or just want an amazing steak.
They also have a great happy hour and Sunday half price wine by the bottle 💙

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Consistently great food and service, but expensive

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food was amazing as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Kim was great , food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Everything was just OK. We had a 6:30 reservation, arrived 10 minutes early and were seated after 6:45. Not impressed there. Food was hit and miss. Bone in ribeye was ordered medium rare and was served closer to rare. Calamari was excellent. Mushroom risotto was very good. Brussels were awful. Service was not what I expect in this price range. Our sever was quirky to say the least. Recommended a wine that wasn't available in the State of Ohio. That was bizarre. Our table was located right next to where the staff entered and exited what I assume was the kitchen so nonstop traffic. Overall, below average. The place seemed to be packed, so it must be a popular spot, but many better options for steak in Columbus. I've had worse experiences, but this one was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Always a pleasurable meal. First class food and impeccable service. So glad to have a restaurant around for so long be consistently wonderful. I have never had a less than exceptional experience here. One of my favorite restaurants in greater Columbus.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Mothers birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 2, 2017

My sister and I were here celebrating my birthday. We both had the blackberry martini, which was delicious. The bread and whipped butter was also very good but the real treat were our entree’s. She had the salmon- it was perfectly prepared and the presentation was beautiful. I had the scallops and risotto. The dish itself was delicious. I was a bit surprised that whomever prepped the scallops didn’t know enough to remove the tough, chewy “foot” from them.
We also shared the berries and cream dessert which was yummy except some of the berries were moldy.
The waitress was clearly bothered by it and removed it from our bill.
All in all, our food and service were good.
We’ll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 31, 2017

We really enjoy this restaurant, partly because the noise level lets us talk to each other! The food is great, and we have a waiter whom we request who knows us and knows the kinds of things we like.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

I love J. Gilbert’s!! My husband and I absolutely love their steak!! Perfection every single time!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Amazing to say the least! Best dinner I’ve had in the 4 years I’ve been living in Columbus. The ribeye dinner was outstanding! Our new favorite place to eat!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The food and service was wonderful! Excited every time we plan a dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We were attending a sporting event in Columbus with a group of friends and decided to try J. Gilbert’s after the game. The food, drinks, and wine were very good. We had a selection of steaks including the dry aged Kansas City strip which were all excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We have been going there for years and went back again with some friends from out of town. The food and service was excellent as always. Our friends were a little late getting there and not rushed at all to get food and get out. This is a great place to eat and hang if you wish too. Dan runs a great place and is consistently great.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

The Service was amazing the wait staff was off the hook. Food was most definitely five star look forward to future visits

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We arrived 45 minutes prior to our reservation time and we were expecting to have to wait. However we were seated immediately. Every meal was delicious and the service was outstanding. I will definitely consider going back the next time I am in Columbus.

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Food was great! Service was incredible. Just a little expensive!! Not for just a night out but awesome for a special occasion!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 21, 2017

ANOTHER GREAT EXPERIENCE AT J. GILBERTS. WE WERE SEATED IMMEDIATELY. OUR SERVER WAS FRIENDLY, EFFICIENT AND KNOWLEGABLE. SHE HAD GREAT SUGGESTIONS AND MADE SURE WE GOT EXACTLY WHAT WE WANTED.
THE FOOD WAS SERVED STILL STEAMING AND WAS DELICIOUS.

WE WILL RETURN SOON AND OFTEN.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

The waiter was very helpful with the drink and food suggestions. He was also timely on when he checked on us and was very friendly. Everything was served in a timely manner and the wait staff was very professional. The place was nicely decorated and the noise level was very good as you could have a conversation with out yelling. A very good over all experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.