About J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Chocolate Velvet Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are recommended.

One East Campus View
Worthington, OH 43235
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 840-9090

Website:
http://www.jgilberts.com/Home.aspx?824

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking.

Executive Chef:
Victor Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
J.Gilbert’s Wood-Fired Steaks and Seafood is the perfect setting for your banquet, wedding rehearsal dinner, private party, business meeting or any other special occasion that demands an excellent meal and elegant setting.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Dearth: (614) 840-9090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy hour food and drink specials: Sunday - Friday | 4pm - 7pm

Specials

Finest Hour

Sundays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

1/2 price bottles of wine

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Finest Hour

Sundays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Sunday - Friday 4-7pm (bar only) Oysters on the 1/2 shell $2 each Lobster Claws $3.50 each Appetizers starting at $6 $7.50 Specialty Martinis & Cocktails, $6 glasses House Wine, $1 off Beer and Well Drinks. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 11, 2016 - Apr 9, 2017 on Sundays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

J.Gilbert’s will offer a 3-course prix-fixe menu in addition to the regular menu, April 16, 2017 | 11AM-8PM | $42/person.

1/2 price bottles of wine

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Every Sunday enjoy 1/2 price bottles of wine priced $100 or less. Excludes Tax and Tip. Some restrictions may apply. Special valid Dec 11, 2016 - Apr 9, 2017 on Sundays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (136)
Good for a Date (117)
Good for Anniversaries (114)
See All
Romantic (101)
Good for Birthdays (83)
Worth the Drive (60)
Quiet Conversation (57)
Cozy (52)
Fireplace (50)
Business Meals (49)
Notable Wine List (48)
Wood Oven (44)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Bar Seating (32)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Happy Hour (22)
Casual (22)
Fun (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Comfort Food (19)
Private Room (16)
Authentic (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Outstanding Value (9)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Healthy (6)
Family Style (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Historic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2842 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 2 days ago

Presentation of food was lacking, in fact not very appetizing appearing. Waitress lacked clarity in explaining menu items, spoke in clipped sentences and to rapid to fully understand. Descriptions were not thorough enough to make informed decisions. Taste was fine but more to the six ounce steak ... blackened around the edges although cooked properly to the slightly pink medium that was requested. Price/value is very low and I can't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Very good, quality food and nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Matt J was awesome. Made it such a good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Always an excellent meal. Meat cooked just as requested.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fabulous service, as always!! The food is wonderful. We love the half price wine deals on Sunday!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything was excellent, the food, the waiter, the timing of the appetizers and meal and dessert. Loved everything!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic experience! Food was A1, our waiter Jackson was the best !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent service and food. We ordered the porterhouse and brought back very good memories of our home in Texas. Were going back for sure!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great meal, the wood fired steaks are excellent. Best value on the scotch flight!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We always enjoy a meal here and depend on the food being excellent as usual.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our meal. We both had the crab bisque, 4 oz filet combos, coconut cake and the apple croustade. As great as the food was the service was even better. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Never disappointed! Steaks are absolutely fabulous. Just the right amount of char, excellent cuts of beef, and fun, creative sides. Wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Mom's Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Perfect for our Anniversary Dinner! They made it great a vey special evening!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food, atmosphere, and service here are all great. I had my company Christmas meal here and we were treated great. Everyone said how great the food was. I've been back a couple times with fewer people and they haven't disappointed me yet!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Extremely noisy group on both sides of us evidently enjoying there booze !! Food was great ! Service was mediocre. Will probably go back but not to soon.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was good not great. Service was excellent. Very expensive. Nice to say we have been there probably will try somewhere different next time.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The service was great. You are able to substitute side dishes without additional charges. Sea Food was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Outstanding as always expect great food great service and you won't be disappointed

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 6, 2017

High-end steak and chops place ala Morton's, Ruth's Chris, Hyde Park...

Happy hour runs from 4-7PM at the bar with discounted drinks and appetizers. We especially enjoyed the salmon rillette while we waited for our table.

Broad menu and generous portions for the money but don't expect any bargains. Nicely plated and presented.

Watch out for the very rich sauces....and the demi-glace on my lamb chops was overly salty.

We had a wonderful and attentive waitress who added to our enjoyment of the evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food and service, especially nice for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We have always had an above average to excellent dining experience at this restaurant. However, this past Saturday, we were truly disappointed in our meals. I had the 6 oz filet. The steak was dry with little flavor, to say the least. The poblano au gratin potatoes and Brussel sprouts were delicious. My other half had the Waygu burger. It too was extremely dry!! As well, the burger was tasteless, like eating ground cardboard. Our server was extremely busy and apologized more than once for the service. Too bad that the individuals who were going around checking table statuses every 30 minutes didn't think about jumping in to help out their servers who were drowning, because it was so busy.

We will give this restaurant another chance; however, if the above experience is repeated, we will not return as there are too many restaurants out there who go above and beyond to ensure their customers have an amazing experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellence experience. Food was very good. The steaks were amazing. The noise level was a little high. I will definitely return and try a different meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We have dined at J Gilbert's several times and always enjoyed our meal but this time was disappointing. My wife ordered a filet medium well, it arrived between medium rare and medium. The scallops were cold. On the plus side, our waiter was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were seated in the bar in the banquette table for 6. It was pretty quiet in there. Everyone enjoyed their entrees from pork to beef to seafood. Jackson was our server and made great suggestions for wine. He was very attentive and knowledgeable. Our gluten-free diner was happy to have the gluten-free menu given before asking (the reservation stated that one diner needed to eat GF) We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was excellent!! We had a party of 4 and all of our food was great!

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Authentic, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

WE have dined there numerous times. The food is excellent and the service is great. We always request a booth and Kim as our server (she is wonderful).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food was good, although the bar staff was slow in getting to customers. At our table, our waiter, Matt, was exceptional. He answered our questions promptly and checked back occasionally to assure that our food was served in the manner we had ordered it. He made the dining experience the highlight of our evening.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food was fantastic. Nice for a special occasion. I would go back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 3, 2017

J. Gilbert's never disappoints. Fantastic food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We normally go to J. Gilberts for birthdays or anniversaries. We are normally not disappointed. Food is excellent. Drinks are great. Wait staff is friendly and attentive. However, this time we were disappointed. My burger was overdone to the point of being dry. My wife's steak was so rare she could not finish it. Folks in a neighboring booth arrived after us and were paying their bill before our food arrived?! And when I mentioned how dry my hamburger was the waiter did not offer to replace it or remove it from the bill. He simply acknowledged what I was saying. This was not the quality we have come to expect from this restaurant. Not sure what was going on but we were sadly disappointed.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Perfect meal. The salmon app was excellent and followed by Kansas City strips done right. Definitely recommend...special dinner, anniversary. Will return for more...want to try the scallops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our server was amazing and made excellent suggestions for drinks. The appetizers and main entree were absolutely AMAZING!!!! Best steak and steak sauce that I've had in Columbus. The lobster Mac and Cheese and creamed corn and bacon was perfect. Definitely will be visiting again :-)

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very nice atmosphere service was excellent food was great I would recommend for a special occasion or just for a nice romantic dinner date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was great. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I surprised my wife with a date here after our baby turned 3 months old. It was the perfect setting for a nice relaxing evening. The service was fantastic and the food was delicious. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I've been here a couple times and both times it did not disappoint! The steaks are amazing!! (Some of the best I have ever had!) Their sides, bread... everything is made very well and is well thought-out... I will be back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Servers are excellent and the food is very good too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food is always delicious here - from the crab bisque, house salad, crab cakes, scallops, filet and homemade desserts - J Gilberts is consistently a favorite place to dine. They offer half price bottles of wine on Sunday which we also took advantage of. My only complaint is table location; we sat in aisle outside of kitchen and I was actually getting chilled as the wait staff whizzed in and out of the kitchen. It was so noticeable that we actually timed to see if 1 minute could go by without a waiter or waitress walking by our table...there was not. We asked to be moved, but due to the restaurant's popularity, no other tables were available. I'd suggest making a note in your reservation request to hopefully avoid this undesirable location.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was our birthday dinner and we had a late reservation. The entire staff was fantastic and they gave us a free dessert for our special occasion. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.