About J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Chocolate Velvet Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are recommended.

One East Campus View
Worthington, OH 43235
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 840-9090

Website:
http://www.jgilberts.com/Home.aspx?824

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking.

Executive Chef:
Victor Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
J.Gilbert’s Wood-Fired Steaks and Seafood is the perfect setting for your banquet, wedding rehearsal dinner, private party, business meeting or any other special occasion that demands an excellent meal and elegant setting.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Dearth: (614) 840-9090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy hour food and drink specials: Sunday - Friday | 4pm - 7pm

J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (91)
Special Occasion (87)
Good for a Date (80)
See All
Romantic (68)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Quiet Conversation (58)
Worth the Drive (51)
Cozy (43)
Business Meals (41)
Notable Wine List (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Authentic (26)
Good for Groups (23)
Happy Hour (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Casual (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Fun (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Seasonal (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3061 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was wonderful! Steak was awesome! The crab bisque was wonderful! The sides were so good. Different kinds of sides or different take on them. Loved the augratin potatoes, zucchini bake and creamed corn! ! We got the pri-fix dinner and it was a great deal!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our 2nd visit to J Gilbert's and will not be our last . This local establishment does not get enough credit in our minds as a top dining destination. It is every bit as a top Columbus restaurant as any.
Paul & Deb Fleming

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Great meal and outstanding service. Our server was just the best as she was helpful and really was enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Outstanding food and wine. Great service and overall, a great experience as usual- our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Fabulous anniversary dinner with my wife. We highly recommend the tuna tartare appetizer and any of their steaks. Matt J was our server and he's fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 18, 2017

I have been coming here for years, for special occasions. Once was for a family gathering, and the others are for birthday celebrations for my husband and I. We truly love coming here. We always have wonderful service and the food is the best. This time our server was Alex S and he was probably our favorite. :-)

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I was dining with friends.. we were from out of town. We picked the restaurant randomly from an online description. We were so lucky...a beautiful restaurant... great ambiance...food...service! One of the best dinners I've had in a long time.. I wish they were where I live.. I'd be a regular! The only downside was the bartender... we were going to have an after dinner drink ... he had such an attitude that we got up and left .. didn't have a drink.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was phenomenal and the service was top notch! John, our waiter, was outstanding - very personable and treated us like special guests. He was friendly, informative, personable and showered us with special attention and perks in honor of our special occasion. This was our first time dining at J. Gilbert's and we can't wait to go back - this will certainly become a regular choice for us when looking for a great meal and/or special occasion. Thank you for the special treatment!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 14, 2017

our dinner was great,and my special request for a particular mixed drink , a sidecar was met and my wife was best she has had. Great ambiance, also

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Jackson accurately described menu and details indicating the preparation of items. Presentation was very good. All aspects exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

My husband and I have been to J Gilberts on several occasions and have NEVER had a bad experience. My adult children were so impressed with the food, atmosphere and service. Kelly was fantastic! Jeff and I have traveled to many places and feel so lucky to have JGilberts near our home for fine dining. The steaks and selection of sides,salads, and desserts are super! You truly set the bar for other establishments! Thank you! Jeff & Sandy Young

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I always enjoy J.Gilbert. Apparently, this time, service was not up to par. Our server took too long to take our order. The tea my sister ordered was not good and we had to tell him to take off the bill. The food was tasty as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a great time as the food was fabulous and cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was GREAT, but the service was even better. Used to be our faborite place before the road construction. Now it will be our new favorite!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Service was distracted. A number of other tables experienced the same thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

It was my wife's birthday and your staff help make it a special evening!
Not to mention that the steaks were unbelievable !!
Thanks,

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We were not aware of J. Gilberts for many years although we have lived close by, but once we learned of the restaurant we so look forward to having a special evening out to enjoy their well-prepared food. It is a cut above the rest! Worth a try if you have not been there before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

My spare ribs were serve completely burnt on the bone side. I tried to eat it but the charring was too thick ; every bite had a charcoal taste. I am very surprised that the kitchen would let it be served. After notifying the server it was taken care of...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This has truly become our favorite restaurant. The entire staff is the best group of servers ever IMO, although David is still our favorite. The value and service and food quality cannot be beat by even more expensive establishments. Lori and I highly recommend J. Gilbert's for any occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Never a disappointment! Food is great and service impeccable. Love the ambiance as well

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 3, 2017

J.GILBERTS is consistently a quality destination and our "Go To" place for both casual and special event dining.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Was a special occasion for us and a new try in Columbus. Was extremely happy with the food, was made to perfection, with good but not suffocating flavors. Not what I would consider a dinning experience meal, but the service and food were balanced to its prices. We will go again when we want an outstanding steak with some delicious sides. Wine list was very solid as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 2, 2017

One of the best steak houses in Columbus. Great service and great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

We've been coming to J. Gilbert's for years and can always count on great food and service. The staff always makes us feel special, and we've never been disappointed. It's our destination for celebrations!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Had a wonderful dining experience for our birthdays. Alex was very attentive and answered all of our questions. The food was nothing short of amazing and abosultely delicious. They even comped our dessert because it was for our birthday. We will definitely be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 28, 2017

It is difficult, if not impossible, for a fine dining site to consistently deliver excellence in food and service, season in, year out, but J. Gilbert's has found the secret. Even after the lapse of several months, a return to this restaurant carries no risk of disappointment. And we love that the food is always selected and prepared to fully satisfy the diner rather than argue the chef's inventiveness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Probably my favorite restaurant in Columbus. Great atmosphere and great food. Love all of the cozy booths.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was our first visit to J. Gilbert's. The food quality and menu selection was similar to Hyde Park. The pricing is a bit better than Hyde Park because steaks come with side dishes included. I got the pre-fix menu which included a salad, entree and dessert for $44. My entree was delicious. It was a lump crab cake and petite filet with grilled asparagus and mashed yukon gold potatoes. The crab cake had tons of lump crab, and the filet was cooked to a perfect medium rare. The salad and dessert were plenty to share with my hubby. My husband got an 8oz filet, asparagus, and the spicy zucchini bake. The menu described the zucchini side as spicy which I think is inaccurate. It is a very tasty and flavorful gratin of zucchini, but not spicy. Our service was good, but not great. Our server was good, but she lacked the personal touch we consistently receive at Hyde Park or Cameron's (two of our favorites). The atmosphere is cozy with a lot of booths and dim lighting. Overall we a had a great experience at J. Gilberts and will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We celebrated our son's 12th birthday. The entire dining experience was fantastic as always -
food was fresh and tasty and the service was awesome. We always ask for Alex who makes the entire dining experience comfortable and exceptional!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 24, 2017

This restaurant is our favorite restaurant in town. My husband and family have been going here for over 20 years! It consistently has excellent food, service and is at a great value. We highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 23, 2017

My wife and I go to J. Gilbert's on our anniversary every year. Outstanding food, service and ambience. One of our favorite restaurants in the Columbus area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I was familiar with J. Gilbert's in McLean, VA and walking into the Worthington location made me feel right at home. Our hostess Katie was amazing and incredibly helpful. She was very knowledgeable of the menu as well as the extinsive wine list. She definitely made our date night better with her attentive service and her warm personality. I highly recommend making your next dinner night out with J. Gilbert's!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Our steaks were cooked to perfection, sides were delicious, onions rings and sauces are a must. Joseph was a terrific server. Definitely will be back, highly recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Everything was great, our eaitress was very poliet and helpful (she got me the last dried steak) Already suggested it to others and we will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great food, drinks and service but the romantic ambiance makes reading the extensive menu featuring great steaks and tasty seafood offerings a bit tricky. The wine list is long and thus in a relatively small print, too. We would highly recommend this upmarket (but not over-priced) restaurant, but if your night vision isn't what it used to be, consider reading the menu either online or perhaps in the better lit bar area before being seated... Enjoyable dining spot in the N Worthington/Polaris area.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Service was outstanding as waiter offered us a free glass of champagne and dessert for our anniversary. Steaks were cooked to perfection with good flavor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The server was stretched over the restaurant. He was not able to provide the time to give good service. We had to wait on things several times.

Also, happy hour really stinks and is not a great value to attract a special stop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our dining experience was once again wonderful. We celebrated my birthday with delicious food and dessert. Our server was delightful and attentive but not annoying. It was a great way to celebrate the occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2017

J Gilberts is our "go to" place when we go out for a fine dining experience. Excellent food and the service is superb. Our server Jess L. went above and beyond providing us with professional and prompt service while remaining low key.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We went on A Sunday evening at 4:30, with reservations; from cocktails through dessert we felt rushed although they were not busy. The food was good; although, my lobster tail was just short of cooked through. I thought the fixed price menus were a good value. Service was unobtrusive and pleasant.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.