About J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

One East Campus View
Worthington, OH 43235
View Larger Map

J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Chocolate Velvet Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for dinner 7 days a week. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 23

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 840-9090

Website:
http://www.jgilberts.com/Home.aspx?824

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking.

Executive Chef:
Victor Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
J.Gilbert’s Wood-Fired Steaks and Seafood is the perfect setting for your banquet, wedding rehearsal dinner, private party, business meeting or any other special occasion that demands an excellent meal and elegant setting.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Dearth: 6148409090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy hour food and drink specials: Sunday - Friday | 4pm - 7pm

Restaurant Photos

  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
  • J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington
J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington

Specials

Finest Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Finest Hour

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

$7 appetizers, $7.50 handcrafted martinis & cocktails, $3 lobster claws, $2 oysters on the half shell. Available in the bar and patio. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 10, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

J. Gilbert’s – Wood Fired Steaks & Seafood - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Steak
Columbus
3 More
Best Overall
Columbus
Romantic
Columbus
Steak
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Worthington ›

Special Occasion (126)
Romantic (98)
Fit for Foodies (50)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Notable Wine List (44)
Good for Groups (42)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Cozy (19)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Casual (6)
Business Meals (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Fireplace (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Authentic (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Made a reservation. We knew we were goin ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

Made a reservation. We knew we were going to be 15 minutes late so we called in to notify before our reservation time. I accept some fault for that but still didn't expect to wait 25 minutes before we were sat. Service was good until we finished our meal. At that point our server disappeared for 20 minutes. We wanted to order dessert but by the time he came out that passed. Still ordered carrot cake. It would have been much better warm. Steaks/au gratin potatoes and cocktails were good. Asparagus I'd pass on.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place. Our first visit. Will go ba ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place. Our first visit. Will go back. The staff was very nice and knowledgable of the menu. Would recommend highly

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I have eaten at J. Gilbert's ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Every time I have eaten at J. Gilbert's prior everything was excellent. This time there was constant issues as to not bringing our food/sides. Our server was very nice, however, she acted as if we said to her we were in a rush for our food or something when we sat down. I looked at my watch when we left and we had 3 courses in 50 mins. I do not know why. Because of the rush our salad and soup were forgotten, and then one of my sides. They actually brought out entrees without serving the salad and soup. I had the bone-in ribeye and while the flavor was good, 1/3 the steak was inedible because of gristle. Just not a quality cut of meat, especially at $48. Honestly it was a steak more fitting for an Outback Steakhouse in appearance and quality. So while it is tasty, it's not special, and at that price it should be special. Really just a bizarre experience with the confused rushed service to the subpar food quality. The hustle and bustle was more of a lunch dinner, and when spending the money you're spending it on a relaxed dining experience, not a rushed thrown together fest. We still tried to enjoy ourselves, and our server recognized on her own the calamity our dinner had been. So she offered free dessert. Problem is we didn't really want dessert. So instead of knocking a few bucks off the bill or comping the appetizer we had she hand wrote on the back of a business card for the restaurant stating we get a free dessert next time. So, although it's a gesture, it's a goofy one that kind of fit the theme of the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

I felt ripped off-the portion was tiny-f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

I felt ripped off-the portion was tiny-for ounce steak looked to be about 2! 3 tiny scallops!

are you kidding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

My wife and I enjoy this restaurant for ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

My wife and I enjoy this restaurant for special occasions and for meeting with friends. The food is always excellent and David, our wait person, enhanced our occasion with his hospitality. I would recommend JGilbert's as one of the gems in dining.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was great! Food was amazing as always, ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Was great! Food was amazing as always, and our server Katie was great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary and we were seate ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was our anniversary and we were seated at 5:40 at a table out in the middle. Plenty of booths open and never offered or asked if a table was ok. I cancelled another reservation to come here for the ambience and didn't get it. Server was adequate but I expected more. Specials were given last minute, we were asked three times if we wanted our desert to go and when mine came it was the wrong desert. Definitely felt rushed to leave. We've come here many times for our anniversary but next year we'll go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Went here for a birthday dinner. Great f ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Went here for a birthday dinner. Great food, little pricy. Service was fast and polite.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the best place around Columbus t ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is the best place around Columbus to go for a special occasion. The atmosphere, food, and service are all top notch.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant . Our favorite rest ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent restaurant . Our favorite restaurant for any occasion. Love the food, service private room and location.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Paleo Friendly, Late-night Find, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J Gilbert knows how to make any occasion ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

J Gilbert knows how to make any occasion a special occasion. The food and service is excellent. The menu selection is extensive, could use a few more seafood selections but after all it is a steak place. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This is a very underrated restaurant in ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is a very underrated restaurant in Columbus. The atmosphere is warm, special, unique and very "rich" feeling with wood, fireplaces, subtle lighting, and excellent decor. Although I think it's a bit pricey for its category, it always feels "worth it" by the end of the night. The steaks are always excellent, even though mine was a touch overcooked. My dinner companion's salmon was one of the best she had ever had. But the carrot cake is actually worth the trip! It is truly amazing. Lastly, our service was immaculate. Our server was so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food accommodated special request

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Good food accommodated special request

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall food was very good. Quiet enough ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Overall food was very good. Quiet enough to discuss business or take a date. Service was as quick as you want it to be.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Another great dining experience at J. Gi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Another great dining experience at J. Gilbert's. This restaurant focuses on customer service. And getting two sides with your steak is a plus! The food is sooooo delicious. Never had a bad meal at this restaurant. One of our favorite places to go for dinner. Love!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Husband & I always go to J Gilbert's ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My Husband & I always go to J Gilbert's for our special occasions, Birthdays & Anniversaries. The food is always good, Hot & Delicious. The Happy Hour is a good deal for the $$.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely dinner, food was great and excell ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Lovely dinner, food was great and excellent server!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love going to J. Gilbert's and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We always love going to J. Gilbert's and this was no exception. They take good care of us every time and you can always expect the meal to be perfectly cooked every time. Make sure you join their email club for a free birthday entree and great coupons throughout the year!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The filet I had was cooked exactly the w ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The filet I had was cooked exactly the way I wanted it. I was emailed a $25 off $75 coupon which helped tremendously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How dare you! Your steak and mashed pota ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

How dare you! Your steak and mashed potatoes reached a level of deliciousness that has forever ruined any other steak and mashed potatoes we will ever try to eat. The steaks were cooked to perfection and were so juicy and flavorful, the potatoes just melted in our mouths, and the service was excellent! This was hands down our best restaurant experience, and we would recommend j. gilbert's a hundred times over for date night, steak night, or whatever the occasion may be!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants ever and our favorite local. David is always a top notch server as are the rest of the team, and the food and atmosphere are the best in this area. I know they send me out special coupons now and then we use them immediately but we like to go even when we don't have the discount

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent.

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just one word...yummy! The desserts are ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Just one word...yummy! The desserts are house made and one of the best in the city. Steaks are soooo good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently one of the finest restauran ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Consistently one of the finest restaurants in central Ohio. Other than beef the menu is somewhat limited, but perhaps because of fewer selections, the preparation and presentation of each entrée is unrivaled.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was just ok not great!! My husb ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was just ok not great!! My husbands steak was not cooked well to his liking!! I wouldn't suggest this restaurant to a friend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value5

Great food and good service. Food was pr ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and good service. Food was priced just right for what you are getting to eat. My rack of lamb was made just as I ordered it. Server was very knowledgeable about the menu. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go here for many special occasions and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I go here for many special occasions and will continue to. Good price/value/quality. Note to the new chef as I assume there is one: EASY ON THE SALT. You're gaining a reputation for OVERDOING IT.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server, Patrick, was wonderful! Food ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our server, Patrick, was wonderful! Food is always excellent same with drinks

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Alex (James Harden beard) was ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our server Alex (James Harden beard) was exceptional - very intuitive and responsive. Helped make our son's 11th birthday celebration easy and fun. He even brought our ice cream without asking to go with the birthday cake we brought ourselves. Will definitely ask for Alex when we return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been here several times and it i ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We have been here several times and it is a dependable restaurant for menu items, sufficient wine list, and adequate beer list, though not exhaustive. The lamb rack was good, but could have been juicier. Portions are fair. Service was laid-back but attentive. You won't risk a bad experience.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent room, food was great; the staf ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent room, food was great; the staff was very attentive and special

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our anniversary for the 11th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary for the 11th straight year at J. Gilbert's. It is an excellent restaurant and a special place for us. The service was incredible as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about our visit to J. Gilbert ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything about our visit to J. Gilberts was perfect.... Drinks, Food, Service! Better than any Cameron Mitchell restaurant in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot. We love sitting in the bar. ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great spot. We love sitting in the bar. Great waitress that is highly attentive.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our first time dining at J Gilberts. Had ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our first time dining at J Gilberts. Had great experience! It was our anniversary. Had a great waitress as well..very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The sever was very accommodating. She wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The sever was very accommodating. She was awesome and took care of our every need. The filet we order came out well done rather than medium. It was unfortunate as my wife and I were unable to enjoy a anniversary meal together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

This is our consistent "go to" place due ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is our consistent "go to" place due to quality of food and great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed our dining experience! We ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Really enjoyed our dining experience! We were celebrating a birthday (mine) and I felt pampered! Great menu and food!! We look forward to our next trip!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a fantastic experience. Food is ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always a fantastic experience.

Food is amazing & service is great :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a disappointment! Even though we h ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

What a disappointment! Even though we had a reservation and there were other tables available, we were seated by the door to the kitchen. Servers and busboys bustled past in two directions the entire meal. We would have requested another table, but by the time we realized how much traffic there was, we already had our wine and bread. The food was good, as usual, but it wasn't the relaxing Sunday evening meal we anticipated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.