About J. Bruner's

5166 Osage Beach Parkway
Osage Beach, MO 65065
View Larger Map

You are invited to experience casual, fine dining at J. Bruner's! Savor steaks and seafood prepared using our exclusive recipes refined over the past thirty-five years. The warm and inviting dining rooms are the perfect setting for weekly casual dining or that special occasion. Enjoy our Red Room Lounge for a cocktail after work, cocktails before dinner, and/or a tasty ice cream drink afterwards. The best table service completes your dining experience, making J. Bruner's the Lake's Classic Steakhouse. Open 365 days a year.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Red Room Lounge opens daily at 4:30pm.

Dinner served daily year-round: 5:00pm - 9:00pm (often later on weekends and holidays).

Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day: Traditional Turkey, Prime Rib, and menu favorites, 3pm-9pm.

Open for Dinner on New Year's Day at 5pm.

Cross Street:
Lake Road 54-40 (Winn Road)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 348-2966

Website:
http://www.jbruners.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking lot and main entrance in rear of restaurant on lower level. Handicap parking and entrance on upper level.

Executive Chef:
Shane Claspill

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining rooms available for groups from 20-50. Full menu available to all groups, however, customized menus are an option.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Boylan: 5733482966x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day: Traditional Turkey, Prime Rib, and menu favorites, 3pm-9pm.

New Year's Eve Entertainment. Open New Year's Day at 5pm.

Restaurant Photos

  • Ribeye Steak
Ribeye Steak

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

J. Bruner's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

special occasion (22)
fit for foodies (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
See All
good for groups (9)
romantic (9)
notable wine list (5)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

we enjoyed our anniversary dinner verymu ...

Dined 5 days ago

we enjoyed our anniversary dinner verymuch. my wife especially loved the French onion soup. but all of the food was delicious. and the surprise anniversary dessert was greatly appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decided to go for my birthday celebratio ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Decided to go for my birthday celebration. We were seated in Anji's section. Everything was flawless. Under new management of Mindy the restaurant has really done a 180! I suggest everyone give it a second chance. The food was cooked perfect. Service was amazing. And whole experience was great.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We went for Father's Day - our server wa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day - our server was fabulous and so was our food!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great experience, as usual!!!!! great f ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

great experience, as usual!!!!! great food and even better service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Much Better This Time

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Except for the soggy bread and dried cheese they try to pass off as 'a blanket of cheese' atop the French onion soup, the meal was enjoyable and the service very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

For the price the food was marginal. T ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

For the price the food was marginal. The service was good.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

J.Bruners has always been an awesome pla ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

J.Bruners has always been an awesome place, but not on our last visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband & I always go to J. Bruner's ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My husband & I always go to J. Bruner's when we're at the Lake. The food is outstanding as is the service. We request Anji because she's excellent, always remembers us and makes us feel like family. So glad that an 'original' at the Lake remains unchanged. We were at another local restaurant the night before, it's newer, has a lake view and very modern inside, butJ. Bruner's is so much better. My husband said Bruner's steak is so much better. You feel like you're at the best neighborhood restaurant for dinner. We will always go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was acceptable, but not for the ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was acceptable, but not for the price and the service was awful

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

Once again the food was superb but there were only two waitresses for more than 50 seated customers. Result long periods of neglect. I think the prices charged by JBruners requires above average service. The young lady we had was polite but clearly stressed. She was literally running between the kitchen the bar and the tables. This was not the atmosphere I expected on a special occasion - Mothers Day.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going there for more than 30 years ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Been going there for more than 30 years and always great.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food selection. Nice portions. Del ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food selection. Nice portions. Delicious taste.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience

Dined on April 10, 2016

This is a place for a great consistently well prepared meal. The house dressing is subtle and the steaks grilled to perfection. My wife's favorite is the trout and should be on your list to try the next time you visit. If there is anything that needs attention it's the atmosphere. It might benefit from some light entertainment - a pianist or acoustic guitar player possibly.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Oldie, but goodie

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

J Bruners has been around for quite a while, yet always manages to provide one of the best dining experiences in Lake of the Ozarks area. Excellent food and service. Nice wine list. Good for a couple's night out.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The prime rib soup is delicious. Also t ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The prime rib soup is delicious. Also their portions for dinners are a good size.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and super service!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Patricia, my server, helped me make the right choices: great glass of wine, onion rings, and a combination lobster entrée. I enjoyed my meal and will certainly go back the next time I'm at the lake. It's interesting that if the diner chooses to omit a side and/or the salad, that price is deducted from the total bill. Next time, I will only have lobster and salad. I ate too much!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best at the Lake

Dined on March 17, 2016

We are locals and dine out frequently. There are many good choices at the Lake, but J. Bruner's is our favorite and the place most requested by our family and friends when they visit. Service is the best - with the happy, relaxed mood set by the great waitresses, like Pat and Angie, and the owner Patrick. Food is consistently excellent. And you must have the onion rings.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Atmosphere

Dined on March 5, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and J. Bruner's turned out to be the perfect place for 4 people with diverse tastes. The filet,ribeye, salmon and lobster were all perfectly cooked and presented. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great meal and a nice restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A restaurant that always is wonderfully great

Dined on February 27, 2016

This restaurant will never fail you. They offer plenty of choices on the menu but never specials of the day. Always a great experience. Excellent food and service. Love it every time!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

"Our server Angie was a hoot, very helpf ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

"Our server Angie was a hoot, very helpful and attentive all night. Please send her our thanks. She also made great recommendations for dinner. I had onion rings, prime rib with fried lobster. All of my food was excellent. However this isn't the place to go if looking for a cheaper dinner. I thought I read the menu before I went there but found out when I got my check that I was charged separately for my asparagus and salad. The other thing is one of the couples ordered onion rings but I got charged a portion of the order of which I really didn't need. It would have been nice to have known all this up front before going into my order. I thought I was ordering my meal as a whole (steak, salad and a side) otherwise I really didn't need all the sides since I got a large meat portion. However I would go again because the food was really good!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JBruners

Dined on February 15, 2016

One of the best restaurants at the Lake of the Ozarks! Best steaks and prime rib, always great service by friendly servers. Nice bar if you just want a drink or glass of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Restaurant was very clean and neat. Cl ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Restaurant was very clean and neat. Classy decor, white table cloths, cloth dinner napkins. Lighting was subdued but not dark. There was background music playing but not so loud you couldn't talk normally. Wait staff was prompt and attentive without hovering. The timing of the food delivery was expert. The food was properly prepared, hot and very delicious. Our dining experience at J. Bruner's was everything we hoped it would be and more!

food3
ambience2
service2

Waitress brought Margarita glasses out w ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Waitress brought Margarita glasses out with bottle of wine and tried to convince me that these were their red wine glasses. I didn't purchase their best wine but the bottle was pricey enough to be able to drink it from a legitimate wine glass. After pressing the issue she fessed up stating "there were no clean glasses". I asked that she hold the wine until there were. Prime rib was good but my wife's fish was overcooked. I am not sure why you mix bacon bits with a mushroom sauce and pour it over Mai Mai but I suppose most people are into the bacon craze right now. The noise level was moderate and when the intoxicated table of cackling ladies left it improved. Ok evening but hard to justify the price around $180 under the circumstances.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on February 14, 2016

We got in 15 min earlier than our reservation. We had a party of 6. Great service and the food was excellent. We had steaks done perfectly. The Mahi Mahi was fantastic and unique. Bread was perfect.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappointing

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our 2nd time at J. Bruner's and as before it was excellent food, great service, and a great experience. The food is served warm and well prepared. The flavors are excellent and the chocolate martini was beyond my expectations. The place was very busy, but I never felt like I waited too long for service, food, or drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Just as good as ever!

Dined on January 2, 2016

My wife and I had not eaten at J. Bruner's for several years so we were not sure what to expect. We were not disappointed. The service and food was excellent. The chicken liver appetizer was delicious and my steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food on the lake!

Dined on January 1, 2016

This is by far the best restaurant on the Lake of the Ozarks. The quality of food is head and shoulders above all the rest. I'm a local resident and have tried them all. Hands down, this is the best!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic and everyone received ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Food was fantastic and everyone received their meal as they ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner

Dined on December 25, 2015

Very Good everyone had a great time, was nice to be able to go out for a nice dinner on Christmas Eve

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite for years!

Dined on December 13, 2015

J Bruners has been a favorite of mine for many years and a "definite "when we make a trip to the Lake . The onion rings are a must & can not pass up the deep fried lobster. I have NEVER been disappointed!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Always Good

Dined on December 5, 2015

We dine out frequently. We like Bruner's for special occasions. Steaks are cooked right and they serve a very good fried Lobster.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Maybe my expectations were too high -but ...

Dined on November 28, 2015

Maybe my expectations were too high -but we had read a lot of good reviews for this restaraunt and since we were enjoying a romantic weekend away - we really wanted something nice and special. I was not at all impressed by anything here. The parking lot was dimly lit - it was not at all clear as to where the main entrance of the building was. When we walked in what seemed like the back door to a seedy club we were very confused at to what was going on. There was a loud group of people in a very tacky bar and an empty hostess stand. We waited for what seemed like an eternity while the locals at the bar either stared at us or continued with their loud obnoxious conversations. When we were finally escorted to our table - we were taken up stairs. A steep dimly lit stair case to the dining area upstairs. The layout of this restaurant was very confusing. I dont know why you would bill yourself as "fine dining" and then have your patrons enter through the basement/bar. The decor and everything just seemed very cheap. The staff was not dress nice at all - everything was just very dissapointing. The food was fine - but definitely over priced. Will not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints

Dined on November 27, 2015

We go to J Bruners once a year for a special occasion and it never disappoints!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

truly awesome

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

We were celebrating our sons final adoption, it was as always a great experience with the best food you can buy. Was our first thought when we asked where do we celebrate!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

see below

Dined on November 1, 2015

My wife likes her steak well done, she rarely orders steak in any restaraunt, but her past experience (6+ years ago) with J Bruners was good, however tonight she ordered the end cut of prime rib and it was rare, she would never send it back fearing she would insult the chef, needless to say a large amount of her steak came to our home and will be used in soup. We were SHOCKED when we received our bill and found that our meal was ala carte! Good Lord, $6 for a SALAD and $5 for a baked potato, 8 years ago we brought our grandchildren here to eat on Friday night and everyone ordered prime rib, we would not be able to afford this treat at these prices now, 2 dinners, water to drink $102 was a BIT much in our opinion

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As always great meal, Sierra our server ...

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

As always great meal, Sierra our server was awesome

food5
ambience2
service5

Our dinner was fantastic. The most exci ...

Dined on October 25, 2015

Our dinner was fantastic. The most exciting thing of the night was our server. She did an over the top job. We felt like we were family and it felt nice! Of course the food was very good! This was our first visit but we will be back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best at the Lake

Dined on October 18, 2015

We have dined at J Bruners on multiple occasions. We have never been disappointed. Whether eating the filet(my favorite at the Lake), the prime rib(always tender and well seasoned), or the seafood the food quality is second to none. On this occasion 3 of our party ate the trout. It was enormous in size and very tasty. The other member of our party had the lobster tail and I can honestly say it was as good as any I've ever eaten on either coast. The wait staff is very attentive and pleasant. Anyone visiting Lake of the Ozarks who wants to experience fine dining has to go to J Bruners.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Party Tyme

Dined on October 16, 2015

First time here in about two years, still as good as we remember.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food, great portions

Dined on October 4, 2015

Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene. Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view. Has a notable wine list with vibrant bar scene.Wonderful place, romantic, for special occasions and has a scenic view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.