About J. Bruner's

5166 Osage Beach Parkway
Osage Beach, MO 65065
View Larger Map

You are invited to experience casual, fine dining at J. Bruner's! Savor steaks and seafood prepared using our exclusive recipes refined over the past thirty-five years. The warm and inviting dining rooms are the perfect setting for weekly casual dining or that special occasion. Enjoy our Red Room Lounge for a cocktail after work, cocktails before dinner, and/or a tasty ice cream drink afterwards. The best table service completes your dining experience, making J. Bruner's the Lake's Classic Steakhouse. Open 365 days a year.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Red Room Lounge opens daily at 4:30pm.

Dinner served daily year-round: 5:00pm - 9:00pm (often later on weekends and holidays).

Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day: Traditional Turkey, Prime Rib, and menu favorites, 3pm-9pm.

Open for Dinner on New Year's Day at 5pm.

Cross Street:
Lake Road 54-40 (Winn Road)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 348-2966

Website:
http://www.jbruners.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking lot and main entrance in rear of restaurant on lower level. Handicap parking and entrance on upper level.

Executive Chef:
Shane Claspill

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining rooms available for groups from 20-50. Full menu available to all groups, however, customized menus are an option.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Boylan: 5733482966x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day: Traditional Turkey, Prime Rib, and menu favorites, 3pm-9pm.

New Year's Eve Entertainment. Open New Year's Day at 5pm.

Restaurant Photos

  • Ribeye Steak
Ribeye Steak

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

J. Bruner's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Most Booked
Lake of the Ozarks
Best Restaurants in Lake of the Ozarks ›

Special Occasion (19)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (12)
See All
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Casual (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a very classy dinner and friend ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was a very classy dinner and friendly staff

This was the best prime rib and steak we ever had.

The waitress was very helpful with selections and wines

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The best meal we have had on the Lake. ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The best meal we have had on the Lake. The folks in the kitchen are amazing; everything we ordered came out to perfection. Our steaks and fief were of the best quality, preparation and presentation. Our server, Angie, was right on! There is nothing better than a great meal with excellent service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our server was excellent and the food wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our server was excellent and the food was delicious from start to finish. If you're looking for a special night out or a classy meal, this is the place for you!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although we were way overdressed, the fo ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Although we were way overdressed, the food was excellent. My wife and I love the chicken livers. We would highly recommend this restaurant when visiting Lake of the Ozarks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

J Bruner's has been our favorite restaur ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

J Bruner's has been our favorite restaurant for over 25 years. The food is exceptional and the staff is always pleasant and helpful. It is a must for all special occasions and just for a nice evening with your spouse. Delicious!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is decent, however did justify ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food is decent, however did justify price. If are at the Lake for a special occasion your money will better spent elsewhere. The food is semi generic and nothing that was sampled among our group of friends stood out or felt unique. The atmosphere was quite dated as well. The service was good, our waitress was very friendly. Overall, we will not be returning in the near future. The price just isn't justified for such a generic overall feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Always a fantastic place to eat. We reco ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always a fantastic place to eat. We recommend the sautéed chicken livers, and lobster macaroni and cheese appetizers. Great, great service as well. We love the fried lobster tail. If you're looking for an exceptionally nice place for a special occasion this is it! If you haven't tried it, you most certainly should.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been going here for decades. Delicious l ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Been going here for decades. Delicious lobster, green beans, onion rings. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The room where we were seated lacked for ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The room where we were seated lacked for any kind of ambiance...a bit drab and nothing special-- just walls. Lots of tables in this one room so the noise level was high. The service was good but I found the food much too salty; i.e. the butter for the bread was too salty and the prime rib soup looked unappetizing with its big hunks of potato and beef in the broth. Again the soup was way too salty and I could not eat very much of it. The fried lobster was a mistake since the breading overpowered the delicate taste of the lobster. I thought I would try it and I was disappointed. I should have stuck with the broiled lobster. A bit of a disappointment since this was a 20th anniversary celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was very good. Would have liked a s ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was very good. Would have liked a scenic view. Service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Can smell mold really bad as you walk th ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Can smell mold really bad as you walk through the basement into the main level dining area. Only a minor mold smell when seated on the main level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Best place for that special event and me ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Best place for that special event and meal. Food is exceptional, service is outstanding leading to a memorable experience. It seems like they are able to improve on already exceptional serice/food each time we chose them.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We hadn't been to J. Bruner's for over 2 ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We hadn't been to J. Bruner's for over 25 years. The food and service were great. Their famous onion rings are worth the visit. We were disappointed with the atmosphere. It really needs updating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Angela was our waitress and she is aweso ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Angela was our waitress and she is awesome! Our food was excellent! We will be back!!

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. My husband ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. My husband & I ordered 2 meals that we were planning on sharing, and they split the food for us without asking which was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, classic steakhouse at the Lak ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent, classic steakhouse at the Lake of the Ozarks. Definitely try dinner there, you'll love it! Their steaks are always perfect, and the Battered Fried Lobster Tail is awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful and relaxi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful and relaxing dinner. The food was outstanding, especially the prime rib. Our waitress, Angie was wonderful and very enjoyable to talk to. We will definitely be back on our next trip to the Lake.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to J Bruners for ove ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have been coming to J Bruners for over 30 years - always excellent!

Fantastic steaks prepared perfectly, exceptional chicken livers and the BEST onion rings on the planet!!!

Service is outstanding with classic white tablecloth decor!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we enjoyed our anniversary dinner verymu ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

we enjoyed our anniversary dinner verymuch. my wife especially loved the French onion soup. but all of the food was delicious. and the surprise anniversary dessert was greatly appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Decided to go for my birthday celebratio ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Decided to go for my birthday celebration. We were seated in Anji's section. Everything was flawless. Under new management of Mindy the restaurant has really done a 180! I suggest everyone give it a second chance. The food was cooked perfect. Service was amazing. And whole experience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Father's Day - our server wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day - our server was fabulous and so was our food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

great experience, as usual!!!!! great f ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

great experience, as usual!!!!! great food and even better service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Much Better This Time

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Except for the soggy bread and dried cheese they try to pass off as 'a blanket of cheese' atop the French onion soup, the meal was enjoyable and the service very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

For the price the food was marginal. T ...

 
·Dined on May 27, 2016

For the price the food was marginal. The service was good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

J.Bruners has always been an awesome pla ...

 
 (Springfield)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

J.Bruners has always been an awesome place, but not on our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

My husband & I always go to J. Bruner's ...

 
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My husband & I always go to J. Bruner's when we're at the Lake. The food is outstanding as is the service. We request Anji because she's excellent, always remembers us and makes us feel like family. So glad that an 'original' at the Lake remains unchanged. We were at another local restaurant the night before, it's newer, has a lake view and very modern inside, butJ. Bruner's is so much better. My husband said Bruner's steak is so much better. You feel like you're at the best neighborhood restaurant for dinner. We will always go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was acceptable, but not for the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was acceptable, but not for the price and the service was awful

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointed

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Once again the food was superb but there were only two waitresses for more than 50 seated customers. Result long periods of neglect. I think the prices charged by JBruners requires above average service. The young lady we had was polite but clearly stressed. She was literally running between the kitchen the bar and the tables. This was not the atmosphere I expected on a special occasion - Mothers Day.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Been going there for more than 30 years ...

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Been going there for more than 30 years and always great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food selection. Nice portions. Del ...

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food selection. Nice portions. Delicious taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This is a place for a great consistently well prepared meal. The house dressing is subtle and the steaks grilled to perfection. My wife's favorite is the trout and should be on your list to try the next time you visit. If there is anything that needs attention it's the atmosphere. It might benefit from some light entertainment - a pianist or acoustic guitar player possibly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Oldie, but goodie

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

J Bruners has been around for quite a while, yet always manages to provide one of the best dining experiences in Lake of the Ozarks area. Excellent food and service. Nice wine list. Good for a couple's night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The prime rib soup is delicious. Also t ...

 
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The prime rib soup is delicious.

Also their portions for dinners are a good size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food and super service!

 
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Patricia, my server, helped me make the right choices: great glass of wine, onion rings, and a combination lobster entrée. I enjoyed my meal and will certainly go back the next time I'm at the lake. It's interesting that if the diner chooses to omit a side and/or the salad, that price is deducted from the total bill. Next time, I will only have lobster and salad. I ate too much!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best at the Lake

 
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We are locals and dine out frequently. There are many good choices at the Lake, but J. Bruner's is our favorite and the place most requested by our family and friends when they visit. Service is the best - with the happy, relaxed mood set by the great waitresses, like Pat and Angie, and the owner Patrick. Food is consistently excellent. And you must have the onion rings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Atmosphere

 
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and J. Bruner's turned out to be the perfect place for 4 people with diverse tastes. The filet,ribeye, salmon and lobster were all perfectly cooked and presented. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great meal and a nice restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A restaurant that always is wonderfully great

 
·Dined on February 27, 2016

This restaurant will never fail you. They offer plenty of choices on the menu but never specials of the day. Always a great experience. Excellent food and service. Love it every time!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Our server Angie was a hoot, very helpf ...

 
·Dined on February 21, 2016

"Our server Angie was a hoot, very helpful and attentive all night. Please send her our thanks. She also made great recommendations for dinner. I had onion rings, prime rib with fried lobster. All of my food was excellent. However this isn't the place to go if looking for a cheaper dinner. I thought I read the menu before I went there but found out when I got my check that I was charged separately for my asparagus and salad. The other thing is one of the couples ordered onion rings but I got charged a portion of the order of which I really didn't need. It would have been nice to have known all this up front before going into my order. I thought I was ordering my meal as a whole (steak, salad and a side) otherwise I really didn't need all the sides since I got a large meat portion. However I would go again because the food was really good!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

JBruners

 
·Dined on February 15, 2016

One of the best restaurants at the Lake of the Ozarks! Best steaks and prime rib, always great service by friendly servers. Nice bar if you just want a drink or glass of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was very clean and neat. Cl ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Restaurant was very clean and neat. Classy decor, white table cloths, cloth dinner napkins. Lighting was subdued but not dark. There was background music playing but not so loud you couldn't talk normally. Wait staff was prompt and attentive without hovering. The timing of the food delivery was expert. The food was properly prepared, hot and very delicious. Our dining experience at J. Bruner's was everything we hoped it would be and more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.