About J. Bruner's

5166 Osage Beach Parkway
Osage Beach, MO 65065
View Larger Map

You are invited to experience casual, fine dining at J. Bruner's! Savor steaks and seafood prepared using our exclusive recipes refined over the past thirty-five years. The warm and inviting dining rooms are the perfect setting for weekly casual dining or that special occasion. Enjoy our Red Room Lounge for a cocktail after work, cocktails before dinner, and/or a tasty ice cream drink afterwards. The best table service completes your dining experience, making J. Bruner's the Lake's Classic Steakhouse. Open 365 days a year.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Red Room Lounge opens daily at 4:30pm.

Dinner served daily year-round: 5:00pm - 9:00pm (often later on weekends and holidays).

Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day: Traditional Turkey, Prime Rib, and menu favorites, 3pm-9pm.

Open for Dinner on New Year's Day at 5pm.

Cross Street:
Lake Road 54-40 (Winn Road)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(573) 348-2966

Website:
http://www.jbruners.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking lot and main entrance in rear of restaurant on lower level. Handicap parking and entrance on upper level.

Executive Chef:
Shane Claspill

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining rooms available for groups from 20-50. Full menu available to all groups, however, customized menus are an option.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Boylan: 5733482966x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day: Traditional Turkey, Prime Rib, and menu favorites, 3pm-9pm.

New Year's Eve Entertainment. Open New Year's Day at 5pm.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

J. Bruner's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Romantic (11)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Authentic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Might be the best steak I've ever had. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Might be the best steak I've ever had. Everything comes "on the side" so you can enhance the flavors to your own liking. Ice Cream Crunch is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Our server, Angi, was great. She was he ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our server, Angi, was great. She was helpful & took very good care of us. We made a stop on the way from Memphis to Kansas City just for the chicken livers! Always have been a favorite of ours. Great wine list & cocktails.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Our meal, the prime rib and house salad ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our meal, the prime rib and house salad was outstanding as usual. The atmosphere and staff are always exceptional and would recommend t to everyone. Our server, Pat, was a real pleasure and wish we could come to the lake more often for a visit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant! Ribeye was fant ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Outstanding restaurant! Ribeye was fantastic! This restaurant has been at the Lake for years. They know what they are doing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love J Bruners. It is a favorite. You ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We love J Bruners. It is a favorite. You will not be disappointed

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The onion rings were every bit as good a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The onion rings were every bit as good as the previous reviews raved they are. Soups were flavorful a good potion size and served hot. We just had salads and appetizers so I can't comment on entrees but everything we ate was delicious. And our server Angie was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We all were carnivores that night and we ...

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

We all were carnivores that night and we each bragged incessantly about how great our steaks were. I had the filet and truly think it was one of the best filets I've ever had. The meat was flavorful and was cooked perfectly. There were 3 of us and we shared 2 desserts. The chocolate cake was great, but ohhhh the cheesecake. Fabulous cheesecake with a layer of fudge chocolate and draped in carmel. Yum! Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding onion rings, as good as we r ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Outstanding onion rings, as good as we remembered they were. Waitress was very attentive although not hovering. Meals were served hot wirh good presentation.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We go here every time we come to the lak ...

 
·Dined on October 13, 2016

We go here every time we come to the lake! Excellent Chicken Liver Appetizer and the Fried lobster is awesome!!!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

For the price you pay they need to upgra ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

For the price you pay they need to upgrade there dining facility. It is needing attention ASAP. No windows or view of the lake plus old decor and furniture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

They dropped fried chicken off their men ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

They dropped fried chicken off their menu a few years ago so we quit going there! First time back in about 5 years, it was as good as ever, of course, got the fried chicken!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service was great. I did have ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food and service was great. I did have a problem with the green beans. I figured for an "upscale" restaurant they would have fresh cut beans.... but they were just soggy ole canned green beans.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was delicious. Steak was cooke ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was delicious. Steak was cooked perfectly. Very nice presentation of the lobster bisque soup. Tiger chocolate cake was to die for! Server was very good, but we waited a long time for our entree. They seemed to be short staffed that evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant sits on a cliff overlooki ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The restaurant sits on a cliff overlooking the lake and the toll bridge. Just a spectacular view. A nice variety of salads, the filet w/bearnaise sauce was good although had to request more béarnaise as pretty skimpy serving, extensive wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very classy dinner and friend ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This was a very classy dinner and friendly staff

This was the best prime rib and steak we ever had.

The waitress was very helpful with selections and wines

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The best meal we have had on the Lake. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The best meal we have had on the Lake. The folks in the kitchen are amazing; everything we ordered came out to perfection. Our steaks and fief were of the best quality, preparation and presentation. Our server, Angie, was right on! There is nothing better than a great meal with excellent service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our server was excellent and the food wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our server was excellent and the food was delicious from start to finish. If you're looking for a special night out or a classy meal, this is the place for you!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although we were way overdressed, the fo ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Although we were way overdressed, the food was excellent. My wife and I love the chicken livers. We would highly recommend this restaurant when visiting Lake of the Ozarks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

J Bruner's has been our favorite restaur ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

J Bruner's has been our favorite restaurant for over 25 years. The food is exceptional and the staff is always pleasant and helpful. It is a must for all special occasions and just for a nice evening with your spouse. Delicious!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is decent, however did justify ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food is decent, however did justify price. If are at the Lake for a special occasion your money will better spent elsewhere. The food is semi generic and nothing that was sampled among our group of friends stood out or felt unique. The atmosphere was quite dated as well. The service was good, our waitress was very friendly. Overall, we will not be returning in the near future. The price just isn't justified for such a generic overall feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Always a fantastic place to eat. We reco ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always a fantastic place to eat. We recommend the sautéed chicken livers, and lobster macaroni and cheese appetizers. Great, great service as well. We love the fried lobster tail. If you're looking for an exceptionally nice place for a special occasion this is it! If you haven't tried it, you most certainly should.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been going here for decades. Delicious l ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Been going here for decades. Delicious lobster, green beans, onion rings. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The room where we were seated lacked for ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The room where we were seated lacked for any kind of ambiance...a bit drab and nothing special-- just walls. Lots of tables in this one room so the noise level was high. The service was good but I found the food much too salty; i.e. the butter for the bread was too salty and the prime rib soup looked unappetizing with its big hunks of potato and beef in the broth. Again the soup was way too salty and I could not eat very much of it. The fried lobster was a mistake since the breading overpowered the delicate taste of the lobster. I thought I would try it and I was disappointed. I should have stuck with the broiled lobster. A bit of a disappointment since this was a 20th anniversary celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was very good. Would have liked a s ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was very good. Would have liked a scenic view. Service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Can smell mold really bad as you walk th ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Can smell mold really bad as you walk through the basement into the main level dining area. Only a minor mold smell when seated on the main level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Best place for that special event and me ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Best place for that special event and meal. Food is exceptional, service is outstanding leading to a memorable experience. It seems like they are able to improve on already exceptional serice/food each time we chose them.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We hadn't been to J. Bruner's for over 2 ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 3, 2016

We hadn't been to J. Bruner's for over 25 years. The food and service were great. Their famous onion rings are worth the visit. We were disappointed with the atmosphere. It really needs updating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Angela was our waitress and she is aweso ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Angela was our waitress and she is awesome! Our food was excellent! We will be back!!

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. My husband ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. My husband & I ordered 2 meals that we were planning on sharing, and they split the food for us without asking which was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, classic steakhouse at the Lak ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent, classic steakhouse at the Lake of the Ozarks. Definitely try dinner there, you'll love it! Their steaks are always perfect, and the Battered Fried Lobster Tail is awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful and relaxi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful and relaxing dinner. The food was outstanding, especially the prime rib. Our waitress, Angie was wonderful and very enjoyable to talk to. We will definitely be back on our next trip to the Lake.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to J Bruners for ove ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have been coming to J Bruners for over 30 years - always excellent!

Fantastic steaks prepared perfectly, exceptional chicken livers and the BEST onion rings on the planet!!!

Service is outstanding with classic white tablecloth decor!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we enjoyed our anniversary dinner verymu ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

we enjoyed our anniversary dinner verymuch. my wife especially loved the French onion soup. but all of the food was delicious. and the surprise anniversary dessert was greatly appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Decided to go for my birthday celebratio ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Decided to go for my birthday celebration. We were seated in Anji's section. Everything was flawless. Under new management of Mindy the restaurant has really done a 180! I suggest everyone give it a second chance. The food was cooked perfect. Service was amazing. And whole experience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Father's Day - our server wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day - our server was fabulous and so was our food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

great experience, as usual!!!!! great f ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

great experience, as usual!!!!! great food and even better service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Much Better This Time

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Except for the soggy bread and dried cheese they try to pass off as 'a blanket of cheese' atop the French onion soup, the meal was enjoyable and the service very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

For the price the food was marginal. T ...

 
·Dined on May 27, 2016

For the price the food was marginal. The service was good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

J.Bruners has always been an awesome pla ...

 
 (Springfield)·Dined on May 25, 2016

J.Bruners has always been an awesome place, but not on our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

My husband & I always go to J. Bruner's ...

 
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My husband & I always go to J. Bruner's when we're at the Lake. The food is outstanding as is the service. We request Anji because she's excellent, always remembers us and makes us feel like family. So glad that an 'original' at the Lake remains unchanged. We were at another local restaurant the night before, it's newer, has a lake view and very modern inside, butJ. Bruner's is so much better. My husband said Bruner's steak is so much better. You feel like you're at the best neighborhood restaurant for dinner. We will always go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.