About J&G Grill - St. Regis Bal Harbour

9703 Collins Avenue
Bal Harbour, FL 33154
View Larger Map

A comfortable yet elegant hideaway – signature Jean-Georges sophistication realized far from home.
J&G Grill combines a curated selection of Jean-Georges" greatest appetizers, side dishes and accompaniments from his portfolio of domestic and international restaurants around the world with the highest quality meats and freshest seafood available in the market. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the J&G Grill dining experience at the St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort. J&G Grill offers an extensive wine selection, handcrafted specialty cocktails and house-made sodas.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:30pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Directly Across From Bal Harbour Shops

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 993-3333

Website:
http://www.jggrillmiami.com/

Catering:
Our semi private room with ocean view can accommodate up to 16 guests. Kindly email pedro.infante@stregis.com to reserve.

Parking Details:
$15.00 Discounted with validation

Executive Chef:
Dagan Stocks

Private Party Contact:
Pedro Infante : 305-993-3436x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hamachi Sashimi W Shiitakes And Ginger Soy
Hamachi Sashimi W Shiitakes And Ginger Soy

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 6:30PM - 6:45PM 10:30PM - 10:30PM

J&G Grill - St. Regis Bal Harbour Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (17)
romantic (12)
scenic view (12)
See All
notable wine list (12)
fit for foodies (10)
good for groups (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for brunch (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The employees were very lazy till the ma ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

The employees were very lazy till the manager took a look! They didnt want to give me the desire table for not going to clean the table; lack of customer service when all the tables were empties, not respect for the client who prefers them when we have choices; this wouldn't happened in an European country.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Everything was perfect. From The beginin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything was perfect. From The begining to The end

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We asked the salmon medium cooked and we ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We asked the salmon medium cooked and we got it to much cooked

It change the pleasure to eat that particular fish

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was what I would expect at the St. Re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was what I would expect at the St. Regis...first class service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great place but very bored, f ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Good food, great place but very bored, few guests and they close early

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Birthday celebration

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our event last evening was spectacular! Thank you very much for treating us so well. The food, service and ambiance were excellent and just what i have experienced in the past.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food Good ambience But charged my ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food

Good ambience

But charged my credit card double. Same happened to my friend.

Now trying to solve it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

I love how intimate the setting and the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I love how intimate the setting and the noise level was perfect for conversations. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dining

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

J&G is a lovely place to have dinner. The room is beautiful and quiet and the food is always delicious. It's a special place with wonderful service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time but wife's birthday not stated

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was exceptional as well as staff. Only disappointme was nobody recognized or stated anything about it being the wife's birthday. The front desk was advised and duly noted and I believe the Dining Room was also notified.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food and atmosphere were fantastic. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food and atmosphere were fantastic. The chef executed everything perfectly. The only blip on our evening was our server. He just seemed a bit off. It was difficult to tell whether he was rude or just aloof, but by the end of the meal we were trying to avoid interacting with him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Limited menu.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The chef was unable to service special requests. The service was slow. The NY strip was over done. The dining room needs updating. Overall rated fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

J&G grill

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I made the reservation on line. It was easy. The website gave an accurate feel of the restaurant . On arrival, the valet service was friendly & relaxed. The restaurant service was very professional and unpretentious. The food was excellent. The wine and all beverages were great. Desert was decadent...as it should be. Expensive, but worth it . Highly recommended. I will be back!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

What a great dining experience. The service was amazing. From the time we entered until the time we left all was great. We had the tuna. Cooked to perfection and great sides of mashed potatoes and carrots. Finished it off with a nice molten chocolate cake. Perfect way to celebrate my 25th anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great but disappointed they ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

The food was great but disappointed they didn't serve fois gras. The location is beautiful and the service is impeccable. Highly recommend for lunch, dinner and special occasions. I particularly enjoyed the jazz music during our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not for Every day dinning

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

So my husband and I both had the wild salmon entrée, it came with roasted vegetables .

The salmon was good (probably 5 or 6 ounces) and the vegetable portion very, very, very small yet both bites delicious. We ordered a bottle of Pierre water, had no other drinks . The check came to $135 for the two of us, definitely overpriced food. Oh and we had the tuna tartare appetizer, very good.

The ambiance, view and service were excellent.

Bottom line probably not the best choice for everyday dinning, we should have gone on a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Very good food and service.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Very good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

J&G Grille - Amazing Dining Experience!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

My wife, daughter, and I were on vacation on the Gulf Coast of Florida and I wanted to take them to one of my favorite restaurants in the world........ that is J&G Grille (or for that matter, any of Jean-Georges prestigious restaurants). Our 2-hour trip to Bal Harbour (North end of Miami Beach) was well-worth the drive! As expected, our entire dining experience was just amazing! Incredible view and restaurant interior design, impeccable service, and amazing food. J&G's executive chef creates an amazing array of tastes and combination of textures and flavors that astound. Ambiance, service, food, and wine menu is definately commenserate with the price.

In addition, our server, Antoinne overheard that my 9-yr old daughter has aspirations to become a famour chef one day......... so he arranged for her to go into the kitchen and meet the Executive Chef. The Executive Chef gave her an autographed dessert cookbook that he authored.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was very slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great from start to finish....

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

What a great experience. The appetizers where prepared perfectly and a perfect amount of food. My steak was tasty, tender and cooked to perfection. The side dishes where prepared to perfection. Dessert was sweet and simple!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Restaurant looks great and ambience ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The Restaurant looks great and ambience as well and the food was great , we just had food poisoning and didn't sleep all night , next day when we called and wanted to speak with a manager , didn't have any representative call us and basically, ask how we felt .

Ronit

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Single Entree Mars Perfection

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Ambiance, service, wine list (and sommelier), and sea view were all outstanding. The foes gras terrine, matched with a fairly priced sauterne, and sweet right-from-the-sea shrimp salad were both sublime appetizers. So too was the lemon butter lobster entree. But, yikes, the short ribs were beyond dry and all but tasteless--and that marred an otherwise lovely evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Wonderful suprise

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

The J &G grill was just fantastic! The service we got was outstanding and the food was amazing. We got a tasting menu and it was great. I will definately go back to this restaurant another time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a special treat to go there but eve ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

It's a special treat to go there but even then it is obscenely expensive . One of those places you go to once in a blue moon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good was delicious but very small portio ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Good was delicious but very small portions especially for a man .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Wonderful evening

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Service was outstanding. Food was cooked by an artist, not just a chef. Thank you for a perfect evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love their Blackened Octopus, I think ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

I love their Blackened Octopus, I think it's a must try!

And all their food is just amazing!!!

Specially their dessert!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

juppeats4star

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

My guest and I had a lovely dinner at J&G. We had the tomahawk steak for two. It was perfectly done rare and nicely presented. It was tasty, but based on its cost vs. taste, on future visit think we'll go for tasting menu instead. Service was spot on. Only negative for the evening was the wine steward steering me away from a rhone red to something I had never heard of. I wanted a big red and knew the rhone I asked for would have been excellent. The one he suggested was not anywhere close to what I wanted. Also, never saw him again the entire meal so we ended up pouring our own wine.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Fantastic food, wonderful ambiance, outstanding service, all with lovely live background music. The perfect setting for our mother's 89th birthday celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely time despite the fact th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We had a lovely time despite the fact that the next table had noisey children and the parents weren't taking their kids out. The manager was very nice and changed our table. This is not a restaurant for children. We especially went there to get away from the crowds and noisy atmosphere at most restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Bellow our expectations

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was very good ,our waitress was very nice.

The food made me regret that we went to eat there.

We choose to stay in Ball Harbor area due to traffic this Valentine's Day weekend and the Boat show .We choose J&G Grill .They only served 4 corse meal ,not too many options and the food was well below what we expected.

Well bellow Azul,Truluck's,Il Gabiano,Stripsteak by Michael Mina.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

An expensive disappointment.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

As a regular, we found the food and the service below par, and yet very expensive. A return or recommendation is unlikely for some time and certainly not to entertain guests again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Great experience.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried and true

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

This is not the first time I have eaten at this restaurant and it did not disappoint. Or waiter was very knowledgeable . The last time I Dined He had recommended an excellent French red wine. I did not remember the name but he produced the Chateau Haut Goujon Pomerol 2010 and it was wonderful!!!! I love duck and the duck breast was delicious. We skipped dessert . It is becoming my go to restaurant when I am in Bal Harbourl

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent restaurant

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

I think one of the best restaurant in south florida

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

extra plates came when stake was cold.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Was noisy. Veal was OK but had better.

Desert was very good.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A rather unfortunate experience.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Regrettably, J & G has suffered in terms of overall quality. The food was so salty to the point we hadron return it. This coming from a family of four who are salt heavy on all our food. But this was not the worst part. When we explained the problem to our waitress ( very nice and courteous ), she returned minutes later only to report the chef said "it was not salty", despite the four of us returning our dishes. Upon further questioning, our waitress admitted there was no current chef de cuisine as they were in between chefs, whatever that meant. This would explain the unfortunate amateur reaction from the temporary cook tha night. The same atrocious level of saltiness applied to our main dishes. The maitre d was also advised, hopefully he will address it.

A word of advice to JG: when a customer returns a dish because they find it's too salty, too dry, undercooked, overcooked, or whatever reason ( provided it's reasonable), the restaurant - be it the chef or waiters/waitress- should never challenge the customer counter argue. This is the worst thing you can do. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Restaurant canceled our reservation last minute!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

About 2 hours before our reservation, the restaurant called us to cancel our reservation. They were not going to open for lunch even though we had previously received from them a confirmation of our Open Table reservation. This left us stranded regarding our plans for New Year's Day and we were particularly disappointed since it seemed to us as totally unexpected poor service from a Five Star Hotel.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

I ordered a filet mignon. They brought s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

I ordered a filet mignon. They brought something different. Meat was horrible. It looked like it was frozen and purchased from supermarket an hour ago. I was really surprised to see this in such a high rated restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

I was not impressed with this place. I h ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

I was not impressed with this place. I have eaten at a number of JG restaurants in other cities and expected much more. The service was particularly bad. We had to ask multiple times for simple requests, like ice and more water. It took close to 20 mins for the waiter to appear and ask if we wanted a drink. Perhaps that was because he wanted to avoid the wait at the bar--the drinks didn't arrive for another 10 mins! The food was also just ok. There was no attempt at plate presentation.

Anyway, we were disappointed and will think twice before visiting another JG restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.