About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Natalie Ippolito

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Slow Roasted 10 oz. Prime Rib, served with your choice of side - $19.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 16, 2017 - Jun 16, 2017 on Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

J. Alexander's is now offering Mother's Day reservations! Book a table today and treat Mom to an amazing meal!

20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

20 outstanding selections of wine for only $20 per bottle!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 16, 2017 - Jun 16, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Hand-crafted premium martinis for only $5! 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 16, 2017 - Jun 16, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (68)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Romantic (41)
See All
Special Occasion (36)
Modern Decor (33)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Casual (32)
Business Meals (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Great for Lunch (31)
Cozy (27)
Notable Wine List (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Bar Seating (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Open Kitchen (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Happy Hour (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Fun (12)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Healthy (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Family Style (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
People Watching (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great Beer (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Private Room (3)
Scenic View (2)
Waterfront (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
786 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

I visit this restaurant all the time because of the consistency and the quality of the meal, atmosphere and staff.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and atmosphere

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My crab cakes had too much breading and sauces - the crab didn't get a chance to shine through and VERY overpriced. My husband's steak was very overlooked, he asked for medium rare and got well done. Wine was good. But definitely won't be going back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I absolutely LOVE their prime rib sandwich! It is always seasoned just right and well worth the drive just to get my sandwich. Also absolutely LOVE their carrot cake. I have tasted carrot cake at many restaurants including my own recipe, but none of them can even come close to J. Alexander's!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Took my employees out to celebrate one of their birthdays. Food was great, the waitress very attentive and very good. It was an enjoyable event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Another wonderful meal at J Alexanders. Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

i have eaten here before food was always fine except one time the macaroni and cheese was runny but won't be eating here again after the worst experience of my life dining out. Ive eaten out many many times with no problem but not this time. I have never been so sick in my life the filet mignon was not cooked properly i had ordered it medium well and it was red but i was busy talking and its dark so honestly i never noticed it till i was almost done and by then i just finished it . I will never be so oblivious again unfortunately i learned that the hard way. I guess i was naive because of all the times I've eaten out nothing had ever happened. Certainly i would never eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were putting pepper on our salad and our dinner came. A manager came over and said they would reheat the sides if we wanted. That really wasn't going to help. Our reservations were at 630 and we were out of the restaurant at 7:25. Rushed us through like it was Taco Bell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed every minute at the restaurant. Our dishes included the Steak Maui which I normally order is always awesome. I opted for the crab cakes this time and they were just as amazing. The filet mignon was tender and delicious. The pasta dish was very fulfilling as well. Great place to dine. Would recommend to families and couples as well. Don't miss this one!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Cozy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent experience- excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a Great Place to just come and dine at any time. We love it

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was great, healthy, fresh, cozy atmosphere. Great place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Booked on open table 3 weeks prior to arrival, table for 5. When we arrived they couldn't find the reservation even after showing my conformation on my phone. They put us in a table for 4 with a step up with a chair at the end. That obviously wouldn't work so after complaining they moved us to another table for 4 on floor level and a chair. During our meal there were several tables that would have worked for us left unoccupied. This was one of our favorite restaurants in town and have been there many times. After this experience I'm not sure I will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Open table was great....walked into the resteraunt at 7:50pm was told that there was a 45min to 1hr wait. Open table was able to book a reservation for 4 only 10 minutes after our arrival at 8pm. Loved that we were able to be seated but didn't understand why the resteraunt couldn't have just seated us as quickly if I was able to make the reservation in such short time through the app

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

In our experience, using the OpenTable app to make reservations is the best especially when on vacation or business travel. We had several options, however we chose J Alexander's. We were not disappointed with the quick service or delicious meal. We both ordered the French Brasserie style steak with garlic. I had the sautéed corn and my wife had the baked loaded potato as opposed to the fries which came with. We shared a house salad as it was huge, literally enough for two. We simply had a wonderful time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We always enjoy the service and quality of good food here at J Alexanders. It's one of our favorite special dinner locations in JAX. There are few establishments who make you feel as though you are their most valuable VIP but they manage to portray that to each person before they even get to the door. A hostess is waiting on the other side of the glass anticipating your arrival and from that moment on, you just feel the high standards of customer service and anticipation of what your needs might be throughout the rest of your dining experience. Kudos to the managerial staff who have trained so diligently to instill this high standard to their service staff and entire team.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Outstanding food and service, will definitely go there again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Love this place for business meetings! Great food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Had a reservation at 8pm, didn't get seated until 8:25pm. Waitress seemed like she was in a hurry and paid little attention to our table. Unfortunate because we have ate here many times before and never had an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Took my fiance for birthday dinner the food and wine was good no birthday cake or ice cream offered?

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We came for a business meeting and had a lovely and attentive waitress named Brie. She also made excellent wine and food recommendations. The meal was perfect in every way; our complements to the chef as well. We will definitely return and ask for this waitress.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Service is outstanding. Food is always delicious. Absolutely one of our favorite places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I can't say enough about this J Alexander's location. The food is always perfect, the service is always excellent. Quickly seated; food comes out in an incredible quick amount of time and is always abundant! Love love love this place.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 29, 2017

J's is a fantastic choice. The food never disappoints, and the service is attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had a great birthday dinner here. Food came out quickly and was delicious as always.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our first time after trying all the other restaurants in the area. Great server, good food. Would come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very consistent quality of food and service . . . a very nice setting. One of our go-to places on a Saturday night. I had the chicken fingers platter again - great, although the coleslaw was pretty bland. My wife was as crazy about her fish dish as last time - too much sauce but still good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The quick service was amazing. They gave us dessert on the house since we were there celebrating our anniversary which I thought was cool. The food was amazing especially the MEXICO CITY SPINACH CON QUESO DIP!!! A must try especially with the Pico de gallo! The fresh squeezed lemonade was tangy and fizzy from the seltzer which is refreshing. Not that Minute Maid mix which is a disappointment at times. The waitress that was serving us checked in once in a while and was very accommodating and polite. She earned her $15 tip. The only issue I had was when I had to ask multiple people for a to go cup for my lemonade. It went through 3 people before I finally got one which is annoying to have to keep asking but that isn't going to stop me from going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

As always, J.Alexander's delivered a wonderful experience. Typically my husband and I come here for date night or celebration night, just the two of us. We love J.'s, we just cant quit it. This time we brought our kids and my father in law, to celebrate my husbands birthday. The experience as a group was just as wonderful as just the two of us. We arrived for an early dinner and got to sit at a great booth that accommodated us quite well. The team here works together so well because not only was our server great, but all his teammates were great as well. The food was phenomenal (apps, dinner and dessert) as usual. All 3 steaks were perfectly medium rare and tasted fanstastic. My lemon drop martini was perfect. Thank you for remaining consistently great on every level! I was nervous to bring the kids somewhere without a kids menu, but y'all were awesome at not making us feel weird about it. Thank you!

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Love J Alexanders ..always delicious! Never disappoints

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Our experience was excellent. We went for an anniversary dinner. The food and the service was fantastic. It was a bit overpriced but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great service and food was amazing. The prime rib was very good and the wait staff was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall great service! I would recommend J. Alexander to anyone. I would enjoyed the occasion and the environment was great as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food and service is always excellent. Food comes out quickly and is plentiful. My go-to restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Staff was very accommodating and the service was very attentive but not intrusive. A great experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was excellent and served hot. Service was outstanding. Very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I made reservations the day before and arrived 10 minutes before time expecting to wait a little. We were greeted with smiles from all the beautiful staff and seated immediately. The service was excellent and not only our waitress checked in on us but any staff member checked as well as they passed our table. The Prime Rib and NY steaks were perfectly cooked. The Mac and Cheese too rich for my taste. I did not like the cheese in it. Enjoyable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We usually have a great experience and love our food but our steaks were awful, unfortunearely. Very disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always a great time here. Service and food are amazing. We enjoy the attentiveness of the wait staff. Drinks are never near empty and they always make sure you are satisfied. We will continue to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I had one of the special's and it was amazing. The martini ' are really good, I loved the red head and on Wednesday they are 5 dollars.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.