About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Natalie Ippolito

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for a Date (55)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Business Meals (47)
Romantic (42)
Great for Lunch (41)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Good for Groups (36)
Worth the Drive (35)
Casual (34)
Cozy (30)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Comfort Food (27)
Fun (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Seasonal (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
People Watching (12)
Authentic (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Healthy (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tapas (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Waterfront (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place for lunch! I go there regularly and am always pleased with their food and service. Many good menu choices.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious menu and wonderful drinks. Meats are cooked just as ordered, and excellent cuts.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Simply didn't see the value here. The food was ok; fries were served cold but quickly replaced when the server was informed. Prices are a bit higher for average taste/quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is a great place to hang with friends. The food and service was subpar. Thanks to all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Love J Alexanders. For years, its been a staple "go to" place when the family wants to go out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We love J Alexanders. We dine there personally and for business dinners. The menu is broad and offers something for everyone, the atmosphere is inviting and comfortable, staff is professional and high level. Our most recent visit the group all enjoyed their meals. I had the NY Steak and really liked it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I was not that impressed with the food but the atmosphere and the service were good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was my first time but one of the people in our group has been to this chain in another city and really recommended it. I was not disappointed and the carrot cake for dessert was great too. I will go back again.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food and big portions as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I ordered a new filet medalions Brazzo dish and it was more like a beef stew well done. Tough, well done, hard, burnt and dried out. It was pretty bad to be honest. The server was very nice.

Also, when we were watching the tables being cleaned and turned over it literally turned my stomach... the hostess who was cleaning it literally picked up what was on the table , used a rag and did one swiped to clean off the condensation on the table and put new settings on it....

This is the second time we've gone here and the second less than acceptable experience we've had. Maybe it's just the JAX location because we've always heard such good things about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Love the veggie burger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We went here for my daughter's birthday. I had told them about it when I made the reservation and they made a point of greeting her and giving her a card. She was touched. The food was so good and there was plenty of it. It was a little pricey but well worth it. I will come again to enjoy a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very consistent and always good. Salads are great. Service always top notch. We have been coming for years and never had a bad meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I have dined at this restaurant many times before and have never been disappointed. The food is good, the service attentive but, what I like the most, not in your face every 5 minutes. You are well served but not pestered. And the atmosphere is as good as a popular restaurant can be. Overall, the experience makes for a relaxing night on the town and is why I will return to this restaurant time and time again.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Server was not very attentive to our table. Servers in general did not seem like team players. Very similar to a Houston's but not quite. Portions were fair and food was good. Fries were more like potato sticks and room temp. French Dip was great, but cold (maybe that's how they serve it). Mac and Cheese was crazy hot, maybe that's why other food was cold because kitchen waited on it before sending the 2 entrees (It was ordered as an additional side so meals were complete without it). Server couldn't be bothered to tell us about specials if there were any and brought check before asking if we wanted coffee or dessert so we just paid and went elsewhere for it.

Not sure I would go back and spend another $85 there for dinner for 2, I think I can do better elsewhere for that kind of money in the Jacksonville Area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our entrées were not as expected but the service was EXCELLENT (Megan G.)! However the carrot cake was delicious!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Waiter never bothered to read the note on our reservation that said it was my husband 's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was one of many restaurants at a shopping center. The food was good, the prices a little high, but the flavors were unique enough to have us try it again.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 24, 2017

This is my go-to place to eat with friends. This particular evening there was a very large table next to ours and I can honestly say in all the many many times I have eaten here, the service was a little bit slower but our food arrived on time and was wonderful as usual. I will give the lack of the usual fabulous service a pass this time due to the large party in our area. Will definitely be back. Delicious and ample portions of food, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

A friend and I were both craving steak at work on a Sunday. So, where better to go after work then...... J.Alex. I had the NYstrip, my personal favorite and he had the Filet. Both were cooked just the way we like it. Fantastic!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Best crab cakes ever! Great atmosphere, very nice to dine there in the afternoon. We took carrot cake to go and it was phenomenal. I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 19, 2017

My friend and I met for drinks and dinner on Wednesday night. Lucky for us, it was $5 martini Wednesday. We ordered a dirty vodka martini and an English martini. Both were wonderful. Our dinners were superb and it was a fun evening. The service was great, we felt well taken care of and I highly recommend J. Alexander's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 17, 2017

My friend and I had a wonderful lunch at J. Alexander's. We had great service and the best food. I had the tuna salad which is served rare with fabulous dressing. My friend had the Alex salad with grilled chicken. We were both so happy with our food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Nice, clean restaurant with great service and good food. Staff is very friendly. Will certainly return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Service was great. Calimari was the best I've ever had but the steak my wife got was poor and my dinner was not very good.
I'm sure we will come back at some point but for me, this last visit overall, was disappointing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always a favorite, I chose to go to J Alexanders for my birthday dinner. Regardless of the occasion, I always find myself ordering the Thai Kai chicken salad. It is filled with fresh ingredients and As flavorful as you could ever desire. My husband had the club sandwich and filled up with less than half of it. The portion sizes are huge and we made two meals out of the leftovers. One of Our friends had the special which was grouper and apparently it was very good because we were not offered a single bite and it was gone before all of our meals. The other had the chicken tender meal that comes with slaw and a huge portion of fries and chicken tenders. They were able to take home leftovers. We always start with the spinach queso and are never disappointed.
I highly recommend this restaurant for the service, the food, and the atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Mariah is a superstar! Very personal, patient and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We had a group of 6 for a business dinner. J Alexanders has a great environment, a large comfortable table with ample space for the group, good wine list, and great service.

We had a slow progressive dinner to allow the group to talk. We enjoyed some great wine and delicious meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Seated immediately, food was fresh and the service was great. Looking forward to another dining experience at J. Alexander's soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food and good service another great meal! We always enjoy our dinners there!

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great dinner, as always. Delicious food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Best by strip I've had. Steak and fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Delicious meal. Especially enjoyed seafood entree of hake fish and couscous. Also shared a great house salad. Large portions. Hake was 10 oz. Maybe should have shared that as well! Good service and nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great as always. Awesome food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The service here is always superb! My husband and I decided to come here for our 20th anniversary dinner. The team was sweet enough to wish us many more with a card. The food was outstanding, service top notch, facilities very clean, and the company was the best! Well done J.Alexander's! You never disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

J Alexander's is consistently great for the food and atmosphere! It's one of our favorites!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant. Get the Maui rib eye steak, enough to split . Great service .

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a great dinner. The service was awesome and the food was cooked perfectly. The portions were very generous . The martinis also amounted to 1 1/2 drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We visited the J.Alexander on 6/29/17 at 11:30 am, we ordered the Bayou pasta without the meat as we are vegetarian, the pasta was so buttery we were unable to eat it, we ordered a side of broccoli which was sitting in olive oil so it wasn't appetizing at all. The waitress ask how was it and if we wanted to box it and we explained that we weren't pleased and she cleared the plates and offered dessert. She recommended the carrot cake, we received the carrot cake and it was so mushy that it wasn't edible, she ask about it and again we explained our dislike. She didn't say let me get the manager, I am sorry can I get you something else instead. We ordered the chocolate cake which was awesome!!! We received the check and were charged for everything. This was very disappointing because it seems like it didn't matter if we enjoyed our meal or not.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.