About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Greenbaum

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access

Promotions

Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Slow Roasted 10 oz. Prime Rib, served with your choice of side - $19.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 20, 2016 - Nov 20, 2016 on Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

20 outstanding selections of wine for only $20 per bottle!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 20, 2016 - Nov 20, 2016 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Hand-crafted premium martinis for only $5! 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 20, 2016 - Nov 20, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (41)
Great for Lunch (33)
Romantic (28)
See All
Good for Groups (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Notable Wine List (17)
Hot Spot (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd or 4th time here... we ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was our 3rd or 4th time here... we try it now and again when we're at Town Center. In the past, there's been some issues, but tonight was the straw that broke this camel's (hungry) back. The restaurant was out of tuna. Scratch off everything with tuna in it, which is quite a few dishes actually. They were also out of prime rib (eh, not a big deal to me). Service was slow. I asked for a lemonade and got a sideways look... turns out the bar has to make it, and I guess my request was a bother for the bar staff. I ordered a medium filet and it was medium rare at best... after being recooked it was not to temp but wasn't as bloody. A friend with us ordered a salad and didn't receive it until about 15 minutes after the steaks arrived. We won't dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service very prompt, food came out quick ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service very prompt, food came out quickly from appetizers to main courses. If this were a special occasion I would have wanted it just a tad slower, otherwise a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Had to send cocktail back - was not what ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Had to send cocktail back - was not what I ordered. Ordered prime rib rare and it was served medium. J. Alexanders is much better for lunch. Salads, sandwiches and burgers are good. I have never experienced a good dinner entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

I always enjoy eating at J. Alexander's. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I always enjoy eating at J. Alexander's. There is no other restaurant in Jacksonville with better service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lunch meet up location for busines ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great lunch meet up location for business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was really good but it was my a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was really good but it was my anniversary and I felt like we were rushed in and out. It would've been nice to just have a moment to relax. Fast service is expected at a fast food restaurant, Not a place that charges $30 a plate. As soon as they noticed I wasn't eating anymore they offered a box and then the check...

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

One of our favorite places. Food always ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of our favorite places. Food always excellent. Service-waiter this time very pleasant but not very experienced. Nightly specials were superb.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great good, great service-waiter was ver ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great good, great service-waiter was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall great experience... the only neg ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall great experience... the only negatives was a menu option was recommended on the daily special only to be told they were out of it once I ordered and this was after two people mentioned the daily special, and I called twice to inform the hostess I was bringing my husband for his birthday and asked if they could do a dessert with a candle I was assured twice they would acknowledge his birthday and they didn't....The food is great but I would advise don't go when they're busy or for a special occasion.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere! This is one o ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! This is one of our favorite places to eat at, especially for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wednesday is $5 martini day. Definitely ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wednesday is $5 martini day. Definitely be sure to take advantage of this. Their martini comes with a sidecar which is basically a second drink.

The appetizers were exceptional as well as the entrees. Terrific food, excellent service and a great looking place. For an exceptional meal with service that is beyond compare, this is the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There were three of us. One person was d ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

There were three of us. One person was delayed for a little more half an hour. Our server was very understanding, remained attentive to drinks and served us a wonderful dinner. We had a great evening. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was amazing. The server was ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was amazing. The server was charming and attentive. The food was spectacular!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely restaurant. Very noisy though. Ou ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lovely restaurant. Very noisy though. Our wine bottle arrived hot and it never chilled so had to be replaced. We didn't get our first glass of wine until after our meal arrived. Wasn't able to enjoy it so we had it corked to take home. The steak was fine but potato was cold and undercooked. I didn't complain because I'd already had to request that the wine bottle be chilled. The meal did not come with any bread or additional sides. Mediocre dinner for two was 122.00. Very disappointing birthday. Should have gone to the Capital Grill instead.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Delish. Delishhhhhhh.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delish. Delishhhhhhh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Due to the heat here in Jacksonville, th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Due to the heat here in Jacksonville, this place was extremely hot internally. Once the sun went down and the door traffic slowed, we were able to enjoy a great night there. I enjoyed the NY Strip and became a member of the wine club. This place will always be considered a classy, classic scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Everything was very nice, as always. I d ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything was very nice, as always. I do have one issue. I've been coming to J. Alexander's since you opened your doors. I always order the prime rib because, I believe it's the best in town. Lately, however, I've noticed that your your portion has been schrinking. Since there is a good bit of fat that comes with the prime rib, for the price, I should be receiving more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

J Alexander's is always on with a changi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

J Alexander's is always on with a changing menu, daily specials as well as great service. We have dined at J Alexander's across the South East US and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They need help honoring reservation time ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

They need help honoring reservation times. The hostesses were lost and confused. It will be a while before I go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Visited on 7/19 for my husband's birthda ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Visited on 7/19 for my husband's birthday. The service was very good as usual. It was a Tuesday, so not really crowded. Very enjoyable and the food was fantastic. I had the pork tenderloin and he had the filet. Very large portions, so plenty to take home and enjoy another day. Absolutely a great place to dine for any occassion or for no reason at all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, and service. They forgot o ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Amazing food, and service. They forgot our salad and it was on the house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't expect any special treatment for y ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Don't expect any special treatment for your special occasion. I noted in my reservation that we were celebrating a birthday. Did anyone say "happy birthday"; did they decorate the table; did the waiters sign a card; did they offer to take a picture or provide a birthday dessert??? The answer is a resounding no, No, NO. There was absolutely NO recognition of anything I put in my reservation request. Next birthday, I'm heading back to Ruth's Chris or Roy's or Eleven South where they know how to make a birthday special.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We were there to celebrate our 30th wedd ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were there to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The food was outstanding and our server, Kayla, was great. Her service was impeccable without being intrusive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since I've lived in Jacksonville, the nu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Since I've lived in Jacksonville, the number one recommended steak house was J Alexander. We decided to wait until something special came along to go. We decided our 33rd Anniversary was just that occasion. The staff and customer service was really good. The food, on the other hand, was way below our expectations. I ordered a medium steak, I got well done and tough. My wife ordered the steak maui, which was covered in teriyaki sauce, but no very good. I also had the mac and cheese with my steak. I couldn't eat two bites of this. It was in a thick sauce that had no flavor at all. Totally disappointed and doubt we would ever go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

From the time we walked in the door, unt ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

From the time we walked in the door, until the time we left, I was amazed! The ambiance, the friendliness of the staff, even down to getting a drink I ordered that was not on their menu, just AWESOME!! Our server, Sarah, was so knowledgeable of the restaurant, very nice and she gave recommendations that blew me and my husband away. The food, more than I could imagine, so delicious! My husband had the Cajun Trout and I had the Carolina Crab Cakes, it did not disappoint. We were celebrating our 16yr. wedding anniversary and it couldn't have been a better experience! It was my first time there, but it won't be my last. Extraordinary service J. Alexander's!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat was rare for my date...handled beau ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Meat was rare for my date...handled beautifully by the staff. Please don't sit people next to others if there is room to spread people out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten at JA's in Chattanooga and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We have eaten at JA's in Chattanooga and Atlanta but recently moved to JAX and decided to try this location. The food is very good at this location with excellent service. The day we dined there were several nice specials and as always...the carrot cake was outstanding! I miss the chicken salad as a regular menu item but glad to know that it is a lunch special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Rotisserie Chicken was dry and the mac a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Rotisserie Chicken was dry and the mac and cheese was luke warm. I've been there many times and this was very disappointing...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great food, good service, ok prices. A l ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food, good service, ok prices. A little noisy and distractions from flashlight on phone from nearby table, but otherwise a good experience,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter picks this restaurant every ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My daughter picks this restaurant every year for her birthday. Amazing food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My meal & service at J Alexander were g ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My meal & service at J Alexander were great as usual.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is always lovely here, whether i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Service is always lovely here, whether it's a quiet lunch or a peak-rush dinner. Food is delicious, and the large booths make for an intimate atmosphere even when it's busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was a little disappointed in the food ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I was a little disappointed in the food this time. We sent the Ahi Tuna salad back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was expensive and a small quan ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was expensive and a small quantity.

We had the shrimp and frankly they were small for $23.00.

Also, the food wasn't very tasty.

The waitress was not the most pleasant either.

The ambiance was perfect for the occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

A pleasant and comfortable experience. P ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

A pleasant and comfortable experience. Portions have become smaller, but were adequate. My main complaint is that the restaurant doesn't use Open Table on the weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

not real thrilled with this restaurant.. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

not real thrilled with this restaurant....prices too high for the food quality, felt very rushed to order and served too fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

One of the best restaurants at the Town ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

One of the best restaurants at the Town Center. Be sure and try the hot carrot cake - awesome!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This would be one of the top three resta ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This would be one of the top three restaurants in the greater Jacksonville Area !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They made our anniversary dinner wonderful!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

It was a great evening! The food was fantastic. The wine was wonderful. The staff was so friendly and very professional. We ended our anniversary dinner with two perfect cappuccinos and that amazing carrot cake!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.