About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Natalie Ippolito

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Slow Roasted 10 oz. Prime Rib, served with your choice of side - $19.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 16, 2017 - Jun 16, 2017 on Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

20 outstanding selections of wine for only $20 per bottle!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 16, 2017 - Jun 16, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Hand-crafted premium martinis for only $5! 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 16, 2017 - Jun 16, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (58)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Romantic (37)
See All
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Worth the Drive (26)
Modern Decor (23)
Casual (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Cozy (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Business Meals (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Healthy (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fun (9)
Seasonal (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Family Style (7)
Authentic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (4)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Waterfront (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
734 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was good but service was really slow, especially getting drinks. I wish they would add more appetizer selections. Maybe some shrimp or scallop choices. Not many people want a huge stack of onion rings for an appetizer....too filling. The filet with béarnaise sauce was really good. Not many dessert choices either....we skipped that course too.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

the food was excellent but the service was inattentive

the cocktails were not served all together. they were served in stages. the main courses were served minutes after we started our salads and to be placed under heat lamps. certainly not there best effort

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This was my first dining experience at J. Alexander's and I was thoroughly impressed from the first minute until the last. It was a perfect dining experience. I will definitely dine here again and more frequently.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, People Watching, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

First timer - found the total experience to be better than expected. Though very slight, the only negative - inadequate outdoor and bar seating. Our server - Erica (I believe) was fantastic. A thoroughly enjoyable "first time". And YES, we will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Hadn't been there in a while and had forgotten how great the dinner ambiance is. Great booth great server . . . my chicken tender platter was outstanding and my wife loved her entree. Great wine also ... great night!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great ambience and service. Angela in Jacksonville was terrific.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

Had the fish special, Hake, said it came with Cole slaw, it didn't, still good meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best place ever !! Hands down. The environment, waitress, & there was a wait but they made sure they kept you very at ease with little appatizars and champagne.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Fun, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a Balentines Day date. We showed up to be seated and the restaurant was already informing guests they were approximately 30-45 minutes behind for appointments. We were given the buzzer (hoping it wouldn't be as long as they said of course) and made our way to the bar area. The restaurant and bar area were pretty full but we were able to find seats at the bar and ordered drinks. They came quickly and service was great so far. We were not seated for approximately an hour though. Once seated, we were approached by the manager who advised hat she knew of our wait and as appreciation for us staying and waiting that she comped our drinks and appetizer. That was a very nice gesture. We ordered the Cajun ribeye and crab cakes respectively. The food was very good. We will come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was our first visit near our home for our Valentines special. We really like the ambiance and were taken care of and assisted well, as we were accompanied by our 2 months daughter.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a party of 4 on Valentines Day. I think that was one of the busiest nights ice ever been to J Alexanders. We all 4 had different dishes, perfectly coursed with impeccable service. Fun, bistro atmosphere. Several super healthy options to choose from.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our reservation was at 7pm, which we got to our table at 7:30pm...The staff was very friendly and very helpful in everything from seating to taking the other. For the occassion of beening Valentine's the service was amazing. The Carrot cake was amazing serve hot which we did not except. Overall my first visit was amazing and I will be return before another holiday.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's day date with wife. Very crowded but the service was still excellent. Food was perfect. Love the chopped salad. Prime rib (shared) was cooked perfectly. In spite of the "holiday" the service was excellent. Our favorite for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

I enjoyed my visit , food was great, great flavor and quantity. But wished there would have been a soup or salad prior to dinner . Wine was superb .

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good food great service. I will be back..and definitely recommend to friends...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Meghan was our server and she was terrific. The food was very good. I would suggest reducing the portion of mashed potatoes as a side item. It would be better to have two side items included versus one heaping portion of potatoes. Otherwise, all went well. And the chocolate cake is terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Came in here with my wife for our Pre-Valentines Dinner and it was outstanding! Service was great and the food was great as well! Wow Portion were really Nice and Worth the Price. The servers were really attentive and and really focus with the guest and the attention to details is outstanding. All the managers were really professional and visited our table as well each time a course would come in. Would definitely be back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I went to a date night and everyone from the hostess to the bar tenders to the waitress was fantastic! One of the best place to eat at Towncenter!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service are always consistently good. Not a lot of healthy menu options but lots of steaks and fish options you can have altered.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good quiet ambience for a date. Impeccable service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

The manager Andrea processed my credit card 6 times creating a fraud alert which disable the card. The was a special occasion That becam an extreme disappointment. The only outstanding part of our experience was Erica she was fabulous ! Capital Grille will be our go to restaurant at the Town center.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is always excellent and PLENTIFUL! An eclectic menu satisfies all palates. Must try their version of carrot cake! Staff and service wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always happy when I leave J Alexanders. Great food and excellent service, a great place for any occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 8, 2017

Everything was excellent with the service and food with the exception that they have no birthday cake/cupcake or similar for a birthday celebration. I would not recommend you go here for a birthday, based on this experience. Too bad, since it is a nice restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 6, 2017

J Alexander's is always a favorite. I can always depend on the food being well above the average. This trip was a business lunch with business partners, from out of town - they had never eaten here before and were very impressed. I've been eating here on a regular basis since they opened and the consistency & quality is what keeps bringing me back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything was great, the only problem was we made reservations but it took an extra 30 minutes to get a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

We probably eat there at least 50 times. This time the seating was slow even with a reservation. After check back a few times found out they drop my seating thought that I was going to eat at the bar.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Even though I went through Open Table we still waited over 30 minutes for our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

I invited friends out for dinner and recommended J Alexander's as I had ate there several times in the past and enjoyed the food and service. We had a reservation for 7:30pm but didn't get seated until 8:00pm. When our food arrived my steak was overcooked and the server took it back while my guests ate their meals. Everyone in my party said that their meals tasted good so I was glad that they enjoyed their dinner. By the time the server returned with my steak everyone else had finished their meals so needless to say I was less than pleased. Especially since I was the one picking up the check. The server was very nice but to say I was less than satisfied with the service is an understatement. When the manager asked me how our dinner was and I explained to him my experience I felt it fell on deaf ears. Not sure I'll ever return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was tepid when delivered to our table and over priced for the quality. In addition, making a reservation is useless as despite being reserved at 7, we were not seated until 7:15. Try another chain steakhouse; same food but for a cheaper price.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a great dinner and great service! The bar area is nice , and we sat at the long bar height area after dinner and enjoyed another drink! Love the fireplace outside too. Everyone from the bar to the wait staff were friendly and knowledgeable GOOD JOB! To all! We've already made plans to return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

This experience was 150% better than my last visit... Waiter was very attentive, the food was OUSTANDING !!! at a great price... J Alexander's and Cooper's Hawk are my favorite eating spots... I highly recommend this dining establishment for any person having date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Hot Spot, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

J. Alexander's is a pleasure. My wife and I have eaten there on multiple occasions, and the food is consistently good. Steaks are excellent - only Ruth's Chris can match (and J. Alexander has better price point for the truly high quality). On our most recent visit, we were made to feel welcome by all staff members that dealt with us. We arrived early before our guests, and ordered an hot appetizer. It was delivered before our guests arrived. Our waitress graciously took the appetizer back and replaced it with a fresh one when guests arrived. We had a very pleasant evening. Kudos to this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Both my wife and I got steak. Best in town. Excellent service.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, great service, great value. I call J Alexanders a "poor mans" Capital Grille which is a compliment to J Alexanders.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always great food and exquisite service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food here is always consistant, however the service is very all over the place. This time it was just subpar. Had to wait for refills and my husband waited for his beer for 25 mins. Seems a bit long. The food was very good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Service here is awesome! Food and prime rib excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was excellent, and at good prices for the quality. Good wine list, although we would have liked to see a bigger selection of draft beer. My only real quibble was an overeager server who bordered on annoying when we were trying to enjoy our meal and conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on January 24, 2017

Romantic ambience. Great food and service. Awesome carrot cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food and service were very good overall. A few missteps here and there (my boyfriend's steak was on the plate with my side and we had to wait about 10 minutes after our reservation time for a table).

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had the deviled eggs and the seafood pasta and yum yum Yum. Great place and first visit. Thanks to our server Brittney for service excellence.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

The atmosphere and the service were great. However, I feel that the menu selections as well as the quality of the food received for the price were lacking. We all ordered steak and smashed potatoes, and although each steak was different, we all paid around $35. The potatoes were not very flavorful, the steaks were not tender, and that is all we received for $35; no salad, soup, or bread. The highlight of the meal was the Colossal Onion Rings. True to their name, the serving was indeed colossal and came with 2 dipping sauces. The four of us shared them and had several to take home. We do not plan to return.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was outstanding, our waitress was phenomenal. She really tried hard to make sure we were happy & satisfied. Unfortunately, the cooks managed to mix up our requests for steaks. I asked for medium & wifey asked medium well...I got the medium well. L

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

A kind greeting at the door. Seated quickly . Attentive server . The food, atmosphere and service was outstanding .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 19, 2017

I had the shrimp tacos and got nauseated 4 hrs after dining and was sick all night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 17, 2017

Enjoyed our meal and drinks. This is the only place in town I can get a perfect dirty martini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everything was awesome. The food, the waitress, the amount of time it took to receive our food. I commend you guys. Keep up the great work.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Disabled Access, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have been frequenting this restaurant since it's opening and love the food. Unfortunately, the management allows rowdy, obnoxious large parties to ruin the dining experience for others in the dining room. A group of college age people were celebrating a birthday and for our entire dinner we heard screams, cursing, and had to watch them jump up and down. When my children were little, they were not allowed to behave that way in a restaurant. I don't understand why the manager told me that the group had just as much of a right to celebrate than I had to be in the restaurant. Alright then... if that's the kind of atmosphere you want, have at it. I will choose a business with a more considerate and peaceful clientele and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

J. Alexander's always has good food and good service. There is nothing "outside of the box" on their menu but the NYO mac & cheese side dish and the carrot cake dessert are must haves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.