About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Greenbaum

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access

Promotions

20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
$20 on select bottles of wine. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 24, 2016 - May 31, 2016 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.
Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
You know Dad wants a steak for Father's Day! Take him to J. Alexander's! Make your reservations today!
Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
Slow Roasted 10 oz. Prime Rib with a side dish - $19.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 25, 2016 - May 31, 2016 on Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.
Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Hand-crafted premium martinis - $5. 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 25, 2016 - May 31, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Jacksonville
Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

special occasion (77)
romantic (44)
great for lunch (42)
See All
good for groups (40)
fit for foodies (35)
notable wine list (24)
hot spot (20)
neighborhood gem (19)
vibrant bar scene (14)
late-night find (13)
kid-friendly (11)
great for brunch (11)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and service. Highly recommend ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great meal and service. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great

Dined on May 20, 2016

Everything was great

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent, as always

Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent, as always

food3
ambience3
service1

For some reason the service was off yest ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

For some reason the service was off yesterday, not sure what was going on. We weren't seated before the hostess asked what we wanted for an appetizer, the guy that brought out the appetizer slammed the dish and threw the small plates in front of us, the waitress didn't show until approximately 30 minutes later we had to ask a employee walking by who our server was. This is the first time we ever experienced bad service here well at least the bartender was awesome.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

J Alexanders made a special occasion more special

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had been to J Alexander's with a group of friends several times, so decided to have dinner there for our 45th wedding anniversary. The prime rib special was fantastic, both came cooked to perfection, with a huge mound of the signature "smashed" potatoes. In talking with our server, who was very attentive without hovering, my husband mentioned that it was our anniversary. She returned at the end of the meal with a complimentary dessert...a decadent chocolate cake slice (big enough for two) and ice cream. The meal couldn't have been any better! The food and service were exceptional, and the ambiance, although a little louder than we'd have liked, was nice too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Out of Towners

Dined on April 29, 2016

I made the reservations online but was not aware they did not have outside seating. I'm sure it would have been great! But once we got there, we realized they did not have outside seating we had to leave because we had our little puppy with us. Very important info I forgot to mention. Totally my fault.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on April 26, 2016

One of the best restaurants in the Town Center. Great food and service.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

The table order the onion rings and they ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The table order the onion rings and they were wonderful. The crab cakes were vey good, with large lumps of crab meat. The prime rib was excellent. Ordered 2 carrot cake desserts for a table of 4, should have ordered one. It was perfect. Except for an artichoke appetizer I ordered with dinner that did not show up, all in all a good meal. We were not rushed and the server was rewarded.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday with friends

Dined on April 19, 2016

Been looking forward to the grilled artichokes since my last visit - they are on the "must have" list - albeit with drawn butter vs. the sauce that comes with it. My friend says the the place has ruined her for eating burgers anywhere else! I loved the marinated steak! Great food, great service!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2

For a rather quiet evening, service was ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

For a rather quiet evening, service was slow and two of our 5 entrées came out of the kitchen cold.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonder experience!!! Love coming here!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Wonder experience!!! Love coming here!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant and satisfying dining experience

Dined on April 12, 2016

Quality food; quality service; quality restaurant -- all at a reasonable price.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good, but attention to detail was lacking

Dined on April 7, 2016

2 Kids (8 and 10) and 2 adults. Kids meals were spot on, and the mac and cheese was a huge hit..highly recommended. Adult dinner #1--Swordfish special, with Mango and citrus salsa, coleslaw and a rice dish...not bad but lacked flavor punch. Swordfish was cooked well, and not dried out, but the citrus didn't come out as as much a complement. Slaw was great, and the fully loaded potato (extra) was good, but needed more moisture topping... Adult dinner #2 -- Filet with Bearnase. Well, Max the Dog liked it. ordered medium well (explained as pink but cooked) and came out well done--no pink and crispy crunchy on the outside. Also came in 2 pieces--like the end of the cut and so they cooked like a regular thick one, but it wasn't quite there... All in all a return visit is warranted, if not to see if they can actually cook a steak properly, but to see what flavors they can bring to bear. Accomodating the kids was amazing.. "whatever you want" was the key from our very pleasant, but unattentive waitress.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Colossal Onion Rings is my favorite app ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Colossal Onion Rings is my favorite appetizer. The Prime Rib was perfectly cooked. Great place to eat.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Quite satisfying

Dined on March 15, 2016

I booked the reservation on a Tuesday night for my husband's birthday, because he asked her a nice juicy prime rib. I noted on the reservation it was his birthday. When we checked in and was led away to be seated, the hostess wished him a happy birthday, nice touch. When we sat down, he was also given a birthday card signed by some of the staff. We shared the prime rib, and baby back ribs with our 2 daughters. They of course loved the thing cut fries that came with my baby back ribs. He loved his prime rib. My ribs were perfect as well - really tender, but with a chargrilled light crispy outside - really tasty. We ordered his favorite key lime pie dessert, and they brought it out with a lit candle on top. I thought that was a really nice touch. We've had this kind of service before elsewhere, but here I didn't have to remind anyone it was a special occasion. He was very content. This was our 2nd time here, and we'll definitely be back! I also love the ease of booking tables on Open Table!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best of the best!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Best of the best!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious.

Dined on March 6, 2016

Always delicious.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner for four

Dined on March 3, 2016

Service was outstanding as always. Prime Rib and potatoes could have been much warmer. Carrot cake was excellent choice for desert. If you like beer you should try their draft Intuition.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 2, 2016

First time diners, and we loved it. Dinner was wonderful, drinks were great, and most of all the service from the bar to dinner was outstanding. Even though it was an hour drive to get there, it was well worth it.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was awesome! The food was ve ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The service was awesome! The food was very good, the only issue was my baked potatoe and my husband's mashed potatoes were warm NOT hot. Other than that...I love it!!!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food but a bit pricey

Dined on February 26, 2016

We joined friends for dinner and to celebrate a birthday. Service was wonderful and the food was great, but it is a bit pricey. Many of the dinner entrees start around $30.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Undramatic flair

Dined on February 26, 2016

Upon a friend's recommendation, my husband chose J.Alexander's for our monthly date night. As he is a noted carnivore, it seemed like a good choice. Being a Thursday night, our reservation was not actually necessary. Every single member of staff that dealt with us was friendly, attentive and prompt. The service was great, but the food itself was lacking in scope and variety. There was no bread, of any kind, on the table through out the meal. We ordered Calamari, one of our favorites. It came on a plate with absolutely no garnish or embellishment at all. It was fresh and tasty, so we moved on. We both ordered the prime rib and "smashed" potatoes. That, and only that, is exactly what came. There was indeed a large, nice piece of prime rib, and a messy, heaping glob of potatoes next to it. There was not a green, of any description in sight, not even as a garnish. We were both very surprised at the lack of eye appeal, as one eats with their eyes first. To be honest, the meat was of high quality, tender and tasty, and the potatoes were fine, too. It was only marred by the fact that it was no longer hot, and neither were the plates. Lastly came the coffee and a highly touted chocolate cake. Now here the picture changed, and it all tanked. The coffee was mediocre, and the sorry, soggy slice of plain unfrosted Bundt cake was a real disappointment. The quality of the plain vanilla ice cream scoop in a side bowl was okay. We have had better deserts in much "lesser" places. Sooooo, here's the deal. The quality of the food, overall, was fine. However, it was beyond obvious that there was no one plating in the open kitchen that ever graced the halls of any brick and mortar culinary school. For over $100 a couple, sans alcohol, I expected much more flair and attention to detail regarding presentation.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service issue

Dined on February 24, 2016

We go to this location often, this particular night food was excellent as usual, service was lacking. Our server was a mere order taker, lacked any kind of personality .

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A night out.

Dined on February 23, 2016

The Alex salads were great and the crab cakes delicious. We can't wait to return and have the prime ribs.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in Jacksonville

Dined on February 16, 2016

Perfect place for a birthday celebration! When we arrived our manager had left a hand written note on the table wishing our Birthday Boy a special evening. Big rave on our steaks which were good sized and cooked perfectly to our preferences. Service was prompt and freindly. The restaurant was not too loud, well staffed, very clean and comfortable. Overall a great experience! We have finally found our favorite go to place to eat out in Jacksonville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Spot for Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great Host Team, Very Proficient. Allison was a great server, Menu Knowledge was superb.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I love coming here. We have always had great service, great food, and an excellent time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very good ambiance. Nice jazz music playing low, food came out super fast and was great. And wine by the glass for as low as $8. I would definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Very pleasant experience will go again

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very pleasant experience will go again

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed

Dined on February 14, 2016

We love J Alexander's, however we were very disappointed in our food preparation. My wife ordered the pork tenderloin -it came out very rare. Server took it back, apologized and returned with properly cooked. MY filet was ordered medium and was cold inside. The carrot cake (which is the best thing in the world) was cold in the middle.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

R Wright

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and i Love the Food and the ambiance. We would recommend J. Alexander to any one that was looking for Fabulous Food and Beautiful Place for fine Dinning . The Filet Mingion and the Rib Eye is two of the Best steaks they have and the Alex Salad is the Best salad they serve . Don't Wait reserve your table Now and Enjoy the Great Food !!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and service is always excellent. The only downside is that it is always uncomfortably cold in the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic setting.

Dined on February 14, 2016

The overall experience was great! Love the restaurant atmosphere, the food and the drinks was awesome. Overall 5 star for a 5 star restaurant!!! Will come back again and refer a friend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner and wine list

Dined on February 14, 2016

Although disappointed they no longer serve the orange rolls the server brought us sourdough bread and butter and it was delicious. Best fish tacos I have eaten and my husband enjoyed the crab cakes. Server recommended wine was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The grilled artichoke and sauce is outst ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The grilled artichoke and sauce is outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and the staff was ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was very good and the staff was amazing! We had reservations for 9:30pm, but they were able to seat us a tab bit earlier and we were even able to sit next to the fireplace and enjoy a cocktail when waiting for our table.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Horrible experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

It was our first time at J Alexander and we will not be back. Told multiple friends to not go, one actually cancelled their reservation. Horrible food. Couldn't even hear my husband when we were trying to talk over dinner. Way too loud. Continued to bring wrong drink. Placed our food in front of the wrong person. Horrible. Unorganized. Will not be back.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

J Alexander's

Dined on February 11, 2016

Nice , refined quiet atmosphere. Cozy booths and a varied menu with something for everyone. The veggies are crisp, not over cooked. Crab cakes were great made with mostly lump crab, little bread crumbs. The Mac n cheese to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Dinner????

Dined on February 10, 2016

This the the third time I have been here for dinner. Have gone to lunch around 20 times. Lunch is good, dinner questionable. We had a group of 5 and one dinner was cold. Everyone felt it was just ok. The Mac and cheese is the best part of the meal.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

J Alex is our go to place, we choose it ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

J Alex is our go to place, we choose it over Bistro Aix and BB's. We just wish they would add a few more appetizers

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.