About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Greenbaum

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access

Promotions

Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
Slow Roasted 10 oz. Prime Rib, served with your choice of side - $19.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 20, 2016 - Nov 20, 2016 on Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.
20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
20 outstanding selections of wine for only $20 per bottle!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 20, 2016 - Nov 20, 2016 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.
Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Hand-crafted premium martinis for only $5! 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 20, 2016 - Nov 20, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Best Value
Jacksonville
1 More
Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

special occasion (46)
great for lunch (33)
good for groups (27)
See All
romantic (26)
fit for foodies (21)
notable wine list (15)
neighborhood gem (12)
hot spot (10)
great for brunch (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They need help honoring reservation time ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 7 days ago

They need help honoring reservation times. The hostesses were lost and confused. It will be a while before I go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Visited on 7/19 for my husband's birthda ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Visited on 7/19 for my husband's birthday. The service was very good as usual. It was a Tuesday, so not really crowded. Very enjoyable and the food was fantastic. I had the pork tenderloin and he had the filet. Very large portions, so plenty to take home and enjoy another day. Absolutely a great place to dine for any occassion or for no reason at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, and service. They forgot o ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Amazing food, and service. They forgot our salad and it was on the house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't expect any special treatment for y ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Don't expect any special treatment for your special occasion. I noted in my reservation that we were celebrating a birthday. Did anyone say "happy birthday"; did they decorate the table; did the waiters sign a card; did they offer to take a picture or provide a birthday dessert??? The answer is a resounding no, No, NO. There was absolutely NO recognition of anything I put in my reservation request. Next birthday, I'm heading back to Ruth's Chris or Roy's or Eleven South where they know how to make a birthday special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We were there to celebrate our 30th wedd ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were there to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The food was outstanding and our server, Kayla, was great. Her service was impeccable without being intrusive.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since I've lived in Jacksonville, the nu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Since I've lived in Jacksonville, the number one recommended steak house was J Alexander. We decided to wait until something special came along to go. We decided our 33rd Anniversary was just that occasion. The staff and customer service was really good. The food, on the other hand, was way below our expectations. I ordered a medium steak, I got well done and tough. My wife ordered the steak maui, which was covered in teriyaki sauce, but no very good. I also had the mac and cheese with my steak. I couldn't eat two bites of this. It was in a thick sauce that had no flavor at all. Totally disappointed and doubt we would ever go back.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

From the time we walked in the door, unt ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

From the time we walked in the door, until the time we left, I was amazed! The ambiance, the friendliness of the staff, even down to getting a drink I ordered that was not on their menu, just AWESOME!! Our server, Sarah, was so knowledgeable of the restaurant, very nice and she gave recommendations that blew me and my husband away. The food, more than I could imagine, so delicious! My husband had the Cajun Trout and I had the Carolina Crab Cakes, it did not disappoint. We were celebrating our 16yr. wedding anniversary and it couldn't have been a better experience! It was my first time there, but it won't be my last. Extraordinary service J. Alexander's!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat was rare for my date...handled beau ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Meat was rare for my date...handled beautifully by the staff. Please don't sit people next to others if there is room to spread people out.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Rotisserie Chicken was dry and the mac a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Rotisserie Chicken was dry and the mac and cheese was luke warm. I've been there many times and this was very disappointing...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great food, good service, ok prices. A l ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food, good service, ok prices. A little noisy and distractions from flashlight on phone from nearby table, but otherwise a good experience,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter picks this restaurant every ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My daughter picks this restaurant every year for her birthday. Amazing food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My meal & service at J Alexander were g ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My meal & service at J Alexander were great as usual.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is always lovely here, whether i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Service is always lovely here, whether it's a quiet lunch or a peak-rush dinner. Food is delicious, and the large booths make for an intimate atmosphere even when it's busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was a little disappointed in the food ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I was a little disappointed in the food this time. We sent the Ahi Tuna salad back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was expensive and a small quan ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was expensive and a small quantity.

We had the shrimp and frankly they were small for $23.00.

Also, the food wasn't very tasty.

The waitress was not the most pleasant either.

The ambiance was perfect for the occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

A pleasant and comfortable experience. P ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

A pleasant and comfortable experience. Portions have become smaller, but were adequate. My main complaint is that the restaurant doesn't use Open Table on the weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

not real thrilled with this restaurant.. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

not real thrilled with this restaurant....prices too high for the food quality, felt very rushed to order and served too fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

One of the best restaurants at the Town ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

One of the best restaurants at the Town Center. Be sure and try the hot carrot cake - awesome!!!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This would be one of the top three resta ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

This would be one of the top three restaurants in the greater Jacksonville Area !

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They made our anniversary dinner wonderful!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

It was a great evening! The food was fantastic. The wine was wonderful. The staff was so friendly and very professional. We ended our anniversary dinner with two perfect cappuccinos and that amazing carrot cake!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Filet Mignon! !!!!

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

You must try the Filet Mignon with Béarnaise sauce....OMG! The smoothest Cabernet is the Joseph Carr....went well with the meal. This place is a treat if you know of someone you want treat to a special occasion. The lighting...the service....the food....ALL next level.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J Alexander's is top notch.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

My wife and I visited J Alexander's for the first time to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary.

The store manager opened the door and greeted us with a warm smile and cordial exchange.

The greeters at the front desk immediately acknowledged our reservation and we were seated within a few minutes upon arrival.

Our server was quick to greet us and presented us with the wine list and special offerings for the evening.

The service, the food and the overall experience was stellar. The food quality far exceeded my expectations and the portions were generous. My wife ordered the filet and I had the prime rib. The cuts were fantastic and the meat was of high quality.

The night ended with the warm carrot cake, hot tea and espresso. The warm carrot cake is a hit and was recommended by our server.

Overall, our experience with J. Alexander's was one of the more enjoyable experiences we have had among the many options available at the St.John's Town Center.

We will be back soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect spot for lunch!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Perfect spot for lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and service. Highly recommend ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great meal and service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and Service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was over salted-ALL dishes that came had sea salt all over the food and plate AND salt was used in the cooking. Service was Fair. The server came to our table 5 times in the first 25 mins to take our "entrée" order. We didn't even have our drinks or apps ordered yet. It was a little annoying and RUSHED!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Everything was great

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, as always

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent, as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

For some reason the service was off yest ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

For some reason the service was off yesterday, not sure what was going on. We weren't seated before the hostess asked what we wanted for an appetizer, the guy that brought out the appetizer slammed the dish and threw the small plates in front of us, the waitress didn't show until approximately 30 minutes later we had to ask a employee walking by who our server was. This is the first time we ever experienced bad service here well at least the bartender was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

J Alexanders made a special occasion more special

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We had been to J Alexander's with a group of friends several times, so decided to have dinner there for our 45th wedding anniversary. The prime rib special was fantastic, both came cooked to perfection, with a huge mound of the signature "smashed" potatoes. In talking with our server, who was very attentive without hovering, my husband mentioned that it was our anniversary. She returned at the end of the meal with a complimentary dessert...a decadent chocolate cake slice (big enough for two) and ice cream. The meal couldn't have been any better! The food and service were exceptional, and the ambiance, although a little louder than we'd have liked, was nice too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Out of Towners

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I made the reservations online but was not aware they did not have outside seating.

I'm sure it would have been great! But once we got there, we realized they did not have outside seating we had to leave because we had our little puppy with us.

Very important info I forgot to mention. Totally my fault.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and service

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

One of the best restaurants in the Town Center. Great food and service.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The table order the onion rings and they ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The table order the onion rings and they were wonderful. The crab cakes were vey good, with large lumps of crab meat. The prime rib was excellent. Ordered 2 carrot cake desserts for a table of 4, should have ordered one. It was perfect. Except for an artichoke appetizer I ordered with dinner that did not show up, all in all a good meal. We were not rushed and the server was rewarded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Birthday with friends

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Been looking forward to the grilled artichokes since my last visit - they are on the "must have" list - albeit with drawn butter vs. the sauce that comes with it. My friend says the the place has ruined her for eating burgers anywhere else! I loved the marinated steak!

Great food, great service!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

For a rather quiet evening, service was ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

For a rather quiet evening, service was slow and two of our 5 entrées came out of the kitchen cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Wonder experience!!! Love coming here!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Wonder experience!!! Love coming here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleasant and satisfying dining experience

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Quality food; quality service; quality restaurant -- all at a reasonable price.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, but attention to detail was lacking

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

2 Kids (8 and 10) and 2 adults. Kids meals were spot on, and the mac and cheese was a huge hit..highly recommended.

Adult dinner #1--Swordfish special, with Mango and citrus salsa, coleslaw and a rice dish...not bad but lacked flavor punch. Swordfish was cooked well, and not dried out, but the citrus didn't come out as as much a complement. Slaw was great, and the fully loaded potato (extra) was good, but needed more moisture topping...

Adult dinner #2 -- Filet with Bearnase. Well, Max the Dog liked it. ordered medium well (explained as pink but cooked) and came out well done--no pink and crispy crunchy on the outside. Also came in 2 pieces--like the end of the cut and so they cooked like a regular thick one, but it wasn't quite there...

All in all a return visit is warranted, if not to see if they can actually cook a steak properly, but to see what flavors they can bring to bear.

Accomodating the kids was amazing.. "whatever you want" was the key from our very pleasant, but unattentive waitress.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Colossal Onion Rings is my favorite app ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Colossal Onion Rings is my favorite appetizer. The Prime Rib was perfectly cooked. Great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quite satisfying

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

I booked the reservation on a Tuesday night for my husband's birthday, because he asked her a nice juicy prime rib. I noted on the reservation it was his birthday. When we checked in and was led away to be seated, the hostess wished him a happy birthday, nice touch. When we sat down, he was also given a birthday card signed by some of the staff. We shared the prime rib, and baby back ribs with our 2 daughters. They of course loved the thing cut fries that came with my baby back ribs. He loved his prime rib. My ribs were perfect as well - really tender, but with a chargrilled light crispy outside - really tasty. We ordered his favorite key lime pie dessert, and they brought it out with a lit candle on top. I thought that was a really nice touch. We've had this kind of service before elsewhere, but here I didn't have to remind anyone it was a special occasion. He was very content. This was our 2nd time here, and we'll definitely be back! I also love the ease of booking tables on Open Table!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best of the best!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Best of the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.