About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Greenbaum

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Slow Roasted 10 oz. Prime Rib, served with your choice of side - $19.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 20, 2016 - Nov 20, 2016 on Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

20 outstanding selections of wine for only $20 per bottle!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 20, 2016 - Nov 20, 2016 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Hand-crafted premium martinis for only $5! 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 20, 2016 - Nov 20, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
See All
Great for Lunch (28)
Good for Groups (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Casual (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always excellent service. Food was su ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

As always excellent service. Food was superb as usual. Always a top choice when going out for a nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time experience was not good @ ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our first time experience was not good @ all. Our waitress did not anticipate our needs and the food was not worth the high prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Great Server in Amber!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great Server in Amber!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Parking is impossible to find close by, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Parking is impossible to find close by, even if are handicapped, due to parking lots available only if using their valet. Horrible horibble way to treat customers making pay to park. Please don't say it's free when you know people are going to have to tip. Even worse is having to walk a ways during the rain. Not sure where the attendants were that night. Fish was perfectly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The wait staff was very professional, fr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The wait staff was very professional, friendly and responsive. The portions for our appetizer, salad and entree were just enough to give us an option for leftovers. The food was very filling and tasted wonderful. The environment is set up in such a way that even though some patrons were a little "animated" it didn't affect our ability to talk comfortably and relax in such a warm yet modern setting. I highly recommend J. Alexander's.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently good food and service.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Consistently good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived before our reservation and we ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We arrived before our reservation and were still seated immediately. Having small children in our party was made so much better by the quick preparation of their food, keeping them occupied while the adults reviewed the menu options. The onion rings are amazing but don't eat too many or you won't be able to finish your meal. Very positive experience.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the atmosphere . Lively but also i ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Loved the atmosphere . Lively but also intimate and not stuffy. Steak was cooked perfectly but quality was disappointing though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Dana and team were awesome!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server Dana and team were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was just "too good". Appetizers ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was just "too good". Appetizers arrived before wine. Salads came before appetizers were eaten -- and plates cleared to make a place for them. We felt really rushed, not relaxed.

Also would be nice if there were a children's menu -- a whole rack of ribs for an 8 year old is a bit much. The hostess did honor my request for seating in a quiet area -- nice booth that accommodated the 5 of us. We go the Alexander's frequently. The boys love the roasted artichokes and huge onion rings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

GREAT Service! Good Food, Perfect for a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

GREAT Service! Good Food, Perfect for a Business meeting.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. So glad we tried it. W ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great restaurant. So glad we tried it. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Healthy, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Jax's best restaurant experiences ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

One of Jax's best restaurant experiences. Service and food are always outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We love J. Alexanders and go there often ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We love J. Alexanders and go there often! The menu is great and we have several favorites!

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

For the first time ever, we found the fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

For the first time ever, we found the food to be disappointing. My flounder was large but too peppery and covered with gravy (!) and a few bits of pecan. I sent it back and the fresh fish was ultra plain. Our friend sent back her crab cake--too peppery as well. My husband's club sandwich was dry and unexciting. Not sure what is going on with the chef. Our servers were very professional and helpful.

Tags: Modern Decor, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Our group of six enjoyed a late lunch at ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our group of six enjoyed a late lunch at J Alexander's . Food and service were both very good; I had the Prime Rib Sandwich, several people had the chicken soup, and two had the fish special. Everyone enjoyed their meals. We particularly like the great wine selection and reasonable value of both the food and wine.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is not as good as it was years ago.

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food is not as good as it was years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Always one of my favorite places do dine ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always one of my favorite places do dine, however this particular visit was a bit lackluster. Started out well with delicious cocktails, great table and fantastic calamari and salads. Unfortunately, we received inattentive service, the food presentation was very rushed and we ended up with apps, salads and entrees on the table at sea time. I ordered the ahi tuna and despite asking beforehand and being assured of a thick cut filet, the tuna was very thin filet, simply doubled up to look thick but overcooked and quite disaapointing. Not the best experience but I'll be back I'm sure.....in time and more wary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

The food was amazing!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd or 4th time here... we ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was our 3rd or 4th time here... we try it now and again when we're at Town Center. In the past, there's been some issues, but tonight was the straw that broke this camel's (hungry) back. The restaurant was out of tuna. Scratch off everything with tuna in it, which is quite a few dishes actually. They were also out of prime rib (eh, not a big deal to me). Service was slow. I asked for a lemonade and got a sideways look... turns out the bar has to make it, and I guess my request was a bother for the bar staff. I ordered a medium filet and it was medium rare at best... after being recooked it was not to temp but wasn't as bloody. A friend with us ordered a salad and didn't receive it until about 15 minutes after the steaks arrived. We won't dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service very prompt, food came out quick ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service very prompt, food came out quickly from appetizers to main courses. If this were a special occasion I would have wanted it just a tad slower, otherwise a great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Had to send cocktail back - was not what ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Had to send cocktail back - was not what I ordered. Ordered prime rib rare and it was served medium. J. Alexanders is much better for lunch. Salads, sandwiches and burgers are good. I have never experienced a good dinner entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

I always enjoy eating at J. Alexander's. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I always enjoy eating at J. Alexander's. There is no other restaurant in Jacksonville with better service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lunch meet up location for busines ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great lunch meet up location for business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was really good but it was my a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was really good but it was my anniversary and I felt like we were rushed in and out. It would've been nice to just have a moment to relax. Fast service is expected at a fast food restaurant, Not a place that charges $30 a plate. As soon as they noticed I wasn't eating anymore they offered a box and then the check...

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

One of our favorite places. Food always ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of our favorite places. Food always excellent. Service-waiter this time very pleasant but not very experienced. Nightly specials were superb.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great good, great service-waiter was ver ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great good, great service-waiter was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall great experience... the only neg ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall great experience... the only negatives was a menu option was recommended on the daily special only to be told they were out of it once I ordered and this was after two people mentioned the daily special, and I called twice to inform the hostess I was bringing my husband for his birthday and asked if they could do a dessert with a candle I was assured twice they would acknowledge his birthday and they didn't....The food is great but I would advise don't go when they're busy or for a special occasion.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere! This is one o ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! This is one of our favorite places to eat at, especially for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wednesday is $5 martini day. Definitely ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wednesday is $5 martini day. Definitely be sure to take advantage of this. Their martini comes with a sidecar which is basically a second drink.

The appetizers were exceptional as well as the entrees. Terrific food, excellent service and a great looking place. For an exceptional meal with service that is beyond compare, this is the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There were three of us. One person was d ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

There were three of us. One person was delayed for a little more half an hour. Our server was very understanding, remained attentive to drinks and served us a wonderful dinner. We had a great evening. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was amazing. The server was ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was amazing. The server was charming and attentive. The food was spectacular!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely restaurant. Very noisy though. Ou ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lovely restaurant. Very noisy though. Our wine bottle arrived hot and it never chilled so had to be replaced. We didn't get our first glass of wine until after our meal arrived. Wasn't able to enjoy it so we had it corked to take home. The steak was fine but potato was cold and undercooked. I didn't complain because I'd already had to request that the wine bottle be chilled. The meal did not come with any bread or additional sides. Mediocre dinner for two was 122.00. Very disappointing birthday. Should have gone to the Capital Grill instead.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Delish. Delishhhhhhh.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delish. Delishhhhhhh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Due to the heat here in Jacksonville, th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Due to the heat here in Jacksonville, this place was extremely hot internally. Once the sun went down and the door traffic slowed, we were able to enjoy a great night there. I enjoyed the NY Strip and became a member of the wine club. This place will always be considered a classy, classic scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Everything was very nice, as always. I d ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything was very nice, as always. I do have one issue. I've been coming to J. Alexander's since you opened your doors. I always order the prime rib because, I believe it's the best in town. Lately, however, I've noticed that your your portion has been schrinking. Since there is a good bit of fat that comes with the prime rib, for the price, I should be receiving more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

J Alexander's is always on with a changi ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

J Alexander's is always on with a changing menu, daily specials as well as great service. We have dined at J Alexander's across the South East US and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They need help honoring reservation time ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

They need help honoring reservation times. The hostesses were lost and confused. It will be a while before I go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Visited on 7/19 for my husband's birthda ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Visited on 7/19 for my husband's birthday. The service was very good as usual. It was a Tuesday, so not really crowded. Very enjoyable and the food was fantastic. I had the pork tenderloin and he had the filet. Very large portions, so plenty to take home and enjoy another day. Absolutely a great place to dine for any occassion or for no reason at all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, and service. They forgot o ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Amazing food, and service. They forgot our salad and it was on the house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.