About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Natalie Ippolito

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Business Meals (37)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Casual (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Romantic (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Cozy (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fun (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Authentic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Seasonal (11)
People Watching (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent as always. On open table I was asked if it was a special event and I marked it yes as it was my Birthday. No one at the restaurant acknowledged it so not sure why the question?

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. Gets a little noisy as the crowd grows, though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful inside and out. Staff was very friendly and professional from the opening
of the front door for us upon our arrival, thru dinner, and opening the door for our departure. Service was top notch. Our main server was Brie, but there were additional people eager to help as needed. It was quite impressive.
Brie: my wife(Beth) and I cannot over state how please we were that she was our main server. Friendly and very easy to talk to. Very knowledgeable about the cuisine and even making additional meal recommendations to further enhance our meal selection. Her recommendation as to the preparation of my Prime Rib was phenomenal. Her medium well recommendation after I describe my normal level of pinkness desired, was spot on. I think it truly made the meal! Additionally her wine recommendation for dinner was greatly appreciated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a fantastic experience. Our server Brooklyn was amazing and the deviled eggs.....WOW, first time I have them but they will be a must going forward!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Here to celebrate our anniversary with friends. Seated promptly. We really don't know how many servers we had or who was the responsible person for our table but as a team they were effective and efficient. We know we are usually rushed in this restaurant but if you allow yourself to set the pace the dinner is relaxing and food is good. My wife's filet came out rare instead of medium but was replaced with another filet which was closer to the ordered temp. Wines were good but I wish there weren't special wines on the menu that w e couldn't access.We will come back because we like this place and the food

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Our visit was a wonderful experience. The three of us had generous martinis which are a special on Wednesday evenings at $5. Our appetizers were undoubtedly the largest and most delicious onion rings I’ve ever had, very filling and plentiful offering. We followed with wonderful entree salads. This was a great meal!

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Service was wonderful food was delicious. I would go back time and time again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Been going to J's for years. The steak Maui and the crispy chicken platter are favorites. You can switch out the sides, which are almost all excellent. Switch the smashed potatoes/fries for the mac n cheese or couscous! End off the night with their carrot cake and I guarantee a perfect night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Have never been disappointed. Quality of food and service has always been consistently high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great place for eating lunch or dinner. The menu is pretty broad and their wines also offer a wide selection. We love their Steak and Fríes, Ribs, Ahí Tuna Steak and this Carrot Cake is just awesome. Service is excellent fast and friendly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We were seated on time with our reservation and everything from that point got even better. The service is superb, food fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We set on the patio. It was to hot for the fire, but there was a nice view and atmosphere. Patio is small, so there were just my friend and I. Stuff were super friendly, they haven't bothered us every 10 minutes as waiters usually do at other places. So, we could talk without nobody interrupting us. Food was great. Our waiter went beyond and ordered customized just for us platters and meals. Great experience, best trained stuff I've even seen. Definitely would be back!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We really enjoyed ourselves (4), the service was outstanding, the food was very good. Very nice place. Will definitely go again after saving enough money. I had French dip sandwich and one drink. My wife had a salad and tacos and our bill was $100 with tip. Seems a little high for salad and sandwich.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Had the special (Ribeye). Server recommended Cajun seasoning which was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Too dark for lunchtime and freezing cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable, it was our first time there and we will be definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Be careful- very big portions!! Good or bad ? Be the judge ;) you have to try it at least once!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We went here for my husband's birthday because he loves it and especially the "fall off the bone" ribs. On this special night it was disappointing because after he ordered the ribs they came back to tell him they were out. 😞 Service was slower than usual and this was a Tuesday night. We've been here on much busier nights and service wasn't this slow. Overall a little disappointing because The experience at J Alexanders is usually great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 5, 2017

My friend and I met for dinner and had a great time. J's is cozy and with dimly lit tables and soft leather seating. The wait staff is so professional and we're attentive. We enjoyed a great meal, a special that night, smoked salmon over Caesar salad was perfect and the macaroni and cheese, a staple, is superb. We finished with freshly homemade carrot cake still warm. We loved everything.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Always delicious, the service and the food are always good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great variety with something for everyone. Healthy sized portions, so if you prefer to share this is the restaurant to do so, but leave room for dessert! Lots of tasty options for the final course as well!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Loved the quiet atmosphere. Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive. The fish tacos were delicious, and so was the chocolate bundt cake.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

It was my husband's birthday and it was perfect! The food is excellent and the service was phenomenal! We will be back

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excelllent food and nice atmosphere. Waitress was attentive and very nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 20, 2017

First time here and the food and service was great. From start to finish. I will be returning again.

Excellent our waitress Monica was exceptional customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food and Great service from front of house to bar and tables. The Short ribs were the best I ever had - we have been here many times and will always return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I want to thank Katie for taking good care of my table. She was always filing glasses and cleaning off the table. She had a friendly flirty smile.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Great Beer, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Jacksonville. It's a must go-to when you're in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great place for lunch! I go there regularly and am always pleased with their food and service. Many good menu choices.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Delicious menu and wonderful drinks. Meats are cooked just as ordered, and excellent cuts.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Simply didn't see the value here. The food was ok; fries were served cold but quickly replaced when the server was informed. Prices are a bit higher for average taste/quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This restaurant is a great place to hang with friends. The food and service was subpar. Thanks to all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Love J Alexanders. For years, its been a staple "go to" place when the family wants to go out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We love J Alexanders. We dine there personally and for business dinners. The menu is broad and offers something for everyone, the atmosphere is inviting and comfortable, staff is professional and high level. Our most recent visit the group all enjoyed their meals. I had the NY Steak and really liked it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I was not that impressed with the food but the atmosphere and the service were good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This was my first time but one of the people in our group has been to this chain in another city and really recommended it. I was not disappointed and the carrot cake for dessert was great too. I will go back again.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food and big portions as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I ordered a new filet medalions Brazzo dish and it was more like a beef stew well done. Tough, well done, hard, burnt and dried out. It was pretty bad to be honest. The server was very nice.

Also, when we were watching the tables being cleaned and turned over it literally turned my stomach... the hostess who was cleaning it literally picked up what was on the table , used a rag and did one swiped to clean off the condensation on the table and put new settings on it....

This is the second time we've gone here and the second less than acceptable experience we've had. Maybe it's just the JAX location because we've always heard such good things about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Love the veggie burger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.