About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Greenbaum

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Jacksonville
Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Most Booked
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Good for Birthdays (22)
Business Meals (20)
Modern Decor (20)
Romantic (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Casual (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Open Kitchen (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Healthy (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Cozy (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (8)
Family Style (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Private Room (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Fireplace (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was great. Had an ahi tuna dinne ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was great. Had an ahi tuna dinner that was excellent. Other members of the dinner were equally pleased. Have always had good service and food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time experiencing this ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my first time experiencing this restaurant. I was with a team of 6 and at first we were kind of hesitant on staying because we had reservations for 8:15 and arrived around 7:50 and still didn't get seated until 15-20 minutes after our reservation time. One thing I would recommend is for there to be a place to wait other than outside because it was freezing cold on Saturday night and the inside lobby is not that spacious so we had to wait outside. When we got inside and was seated everything was perfect from the service to the food we ate and we really enjoyed ourselves!

Tags: Private Room, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OUTSTANDING!! Service was horr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was OUTSTANDING!! Service was horrible, even though I was gracious in leaving a good tip....

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Always a nice time!

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a nice time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Were very impressed with the ambiance, s ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Were very impressed with the ambiance, service, quality of food and the prices. Very, very nice place!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mixed drinks were delicious and containe ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Mixed drinks were delicious and contained alcohol, which is not always the case at other restaurants. Service was good, great salmon and loved the orzo and wild rice. Filet was excellent and good wine. Chocolate cake was awesome. Everything was very high quality.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

food was properly prepared and the meal ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

food was properly prepared and the meal was well timed. the waitstaff was very attentive but not obtrusive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I love this place. I eat here several t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I love this place. I eat here several times a month. The quality of the food, the atmosphere and the employees are consistently great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location, food and service. Very g ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great location, food and service. Very good selection on menu. Particularly liked the salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Well done as usual. Filet was perfect. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Well done as usual. Filet was perfect. Only comment is that we had to send her mashed and my fries back as they were cool.... Other than that it was great as always.. Server was very attentive... My favorite place in Jax....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very knowledgeable about ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and the restaurant. She recommended several menu items which we tried! She even offered a tasting for the soup of the day to help us make our decision. The food was delicious and the ambiance was just what we expected. Menu items were reasonable and portion size was just right! Great experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff was great but the bar/ be ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The wait staff was great but the bar/ beverage service was terable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Bartender was great and made some great ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Bartender was great and made some great recommendations. Table side service was great !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best prime rib and onion rings I've ever ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Best prime rib and onion rings I've ever had. Huge portions, amazing flavor! Really awesome! Make sure to leave room for the carrot cake! It's the best you will ever have...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, zero cork cha ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great food, great service, zero cork charge for BYOB. Need I say more?

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was knowledgeable about the speci ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Server was knowledgeable about the specials and was very accomidating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The dressing on the Caesar salad was hea ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The dressing on the Caesar salad was heavy. Strange that the salmon entree on the menu did not automatically come with a side (all of the other entrees did). Menu seems to lean towards spicy dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Great waitress. Great food. Had res for ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great waitress. Great food. Had res for 8 and was seated promptly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely presentation. 34 dollars for two ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Lovely presentation. 34 dollars for two crab cakes a bit much.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Typically good as always... good service ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Typically good as always... good service and good meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Quality of the food and service was very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Quality of the food and service was very good, friendly and efficient. The entrees came out a little early and our server comped one of the appetizers to make up for that. Everyone enjoyed their meals and the atmosphere in the restaurant was comfortable and modern. Certainly a great place to go to for a nice business dinner or special ocassion but the pricing is still reasonable enough to head there for a fun dinner out as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was maybe my 10th time there and as ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was maybe my 10th time there and as always everything was perfect. I went on a Saturday and I ordered the chili because the waitress recommended it and OMG awesome! Still my number one place to eat....hands down!

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had homecoming dinner here and it was ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had homecoming dinner here and it was a great evening and meal. Food is consistently excellent and the steak, burgers and chicken entrees were all great! We will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the nicest waitress, always smili ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had the nicest waitress, always smiling and super efficient. Her name was Maggie and she is one of the best waitresses we've ever had there. She is an asset to your organization and I fully intend to ask for her the next time I make a reservation. She is absolutely EXCELLENT!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always you will not be disappointed w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

As always you will not be disappointed with this restaurant. Service is quick and friendly.

Although their mashed potatoes come out at times luke warm. I don't understand. All the choices on menu are good tasting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Cozy, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience from start to finish. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great experience from start to finish. Greeted and sat promptly. Reese was attentive with drinks and water (kept water glass full, even though there were cocktails). Young guy, but was incredibly polite and professional. Great evening overall.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall excellent all around experience. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Overall excellent all around experience. Our reservation was ready on time. I left a note on Open Table that it was my wife's birthday and they had a Birthday card for her at the table. Nice touch. (Desert also came free). Our server was perfect -- always attentive and there to assist with ordering, but not overbearing. All menu items were outstanding, but my 16 oz prime rib was about the best I've ever had (med rare cooked to perfection, with VERY LITTLE fat).

To top it all off, the price is very reasonable for the food, service and experience. I highly recommend J. Alexander's as a comfortable - yet first class - dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One lousy meal. Service so-so. Food wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

One lousy meal. Service so-so. Food was not well prepared and of poor quality. Never again with so many better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Decided to stop by J Alexanders for a qu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Decided to stop by J Alexanders for a quick date night with my husband. Server was friendly, very knowledgeable about menu and offered great suggestions. Food came out fast and delicious as always. It was busy as it was a Friday evening but the atmosphere was perfect!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice for a business dinner.

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Very nice for a business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

J.Alexander is a great restaurant. It's ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 24, 2016

J.Alexander is a great restaurant. It's close to retail stores and very easy to walk to. Valet is also available. Close to the highway, but a little confusing with the mall set-up. Great for lunch or dinner. It is very loud in the restaurant with so many people talking. It was hard to hear at times, but the food was amazing. The service was outstanding! Definitely would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and drinks were really good. Th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food and drinks were really good. The customer service doesn't quite compare to other like restaurants but it wasn't very poor. I would probably visit again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Met friends for dinner. Our waitress was ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Met friends for dinner. Our waitress was a little scattered but friendly. Food was good-as were the drinks. Ordered dessert and got the wrong one. Waited a bit and when our waitress didn't come back, we all nibbled at it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The forgot to bring the mash potatoes th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The forgot to bring the mash potatoes then when they offered to give me a dessert they got that wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a great experience. The filet was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We had a great experience. The filet was cooked to perfection. We even got a "tour" of the kitchen and saw the beef prior to going on the grill. Very nice time and we love the Tuesday special with bottles of wine for $20. A perfect date night!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great time. Thank you so much to ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I had a great time. Thank you so much to Mr. Raffle.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my husband's birthday dinner wi ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This was my husband's birthday dinner with his 92 year old mother. We were seated in the back where we thought it would be quiet. But two women with their very small screaming, crying children were seated next to us. I immediately asked the hostess if they would please move them. They wanted to move US, who had been there a good 30 minutes already. Needless to say, it made for an unpleasant celebration. And the two women ordered a bottle of wine--don't know who was driving home with their small children.......... The manager tried to smooth things by giving us complimentary drink cards. Otherwise, food and service was great as always. This is one of our favorite restaurants and will return. Just wish parents would use more common sense as to where they take their small children to eat--Chuckie Cheese would have been a better choice, but then they wouldn't have been able to order a bottle of wine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience for my guest who were c ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great experience for my guest who were celebrating their anniversary.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff on 9/30/16 was awesome

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Staff on 9/30/16 was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place!!!

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Beautiful place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.