Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

4.6
1130 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(904) 996-7147
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Natalie Ippolito
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Big Island Drive
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access
What 1130 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined a day ago

My favorite restaurant here in Jacksonville. J Alexander has the best prime rib!
Monique our server was on the ball. I think you will be happy to dine here as I had always been.
Oh, did I mention the warm carrot cake desert is to die for.
Happy diner here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great people, Great Food Always a Pleasure. One of my favorites in Jacksonville Florida

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

A favorite, great food and service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

J. Alexanders has great food and they consistently get it right. The menu is varied so that they are options for everyone who is in your party. It is our favorite restaurant at the town center.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Nice Mother’s Day dinner. Unfortunately they were out of a lot of items on the menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went here for Mother’s Day and expected there to be a wait even with a reservation but was seated right away. Food can be pricey but also worth the price. Everything we had was delicious except one of the children’s bun was hard but they replaced the meal and took it off the bill. Love this place ❤️❤️❤️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for Mothers Day lunch and truly enjoyed ourselves. We did have to send a steak back to cook longer but even in that it was a great experience. Superb staff and management on Mothers Day and the other few times we have gone. We have visited as a family and as a quiet dinner for my wife and I. My wife and son have even gone for lunch one time as well. Overall a definite favorite of ours.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our first time here. Good experience and food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We are probably what might be considered regulars now. We try to get in at least once a month. We really enjoyed our dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Excellent as always! Food AND service was outstanding! Server was attentive and prompt!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The ribs had phenomenal flavor with every bite. Wow! I will definitely be ordering those again. The Alex's Salad was the perfect start to my meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Waitress never brought a cocktail that was ordered. Also, asked for a to go box for leftovers. Presented the bill and paid and never got the leftovers. Waitress was friendly but obviously forgetful and not attentive. On two occasions, she sprinted away before we could ask a question or order something additional. I go here often, both for family and business meals. This was not up to par.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Fish dish was over sauced with a thick white sauce that definitely did not enhance the delicate flavor of the fish. The waitress seemed to be rushing us and didn’t understand any typical cues.

Al in all, thought the dinner was overpriced for the experience we had.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Not the best I’ve had. Server not very attentive. Order was partially incorrect. A lot of noise in our area from groups

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great place for Lunch or Dinner, many-menu options, among our favorites Ahi Tuna Steak, Steak and Fries (addictive), ribs, and many others. And don’t miss the best Carrot Cake in town, just awesome dessert. Very good wine selection and nice bar setting. Plainly an excellent option and one of my favorites

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Service and good were, as always, great. The staff waitress who worked out table was especially efficient. The decor was pleasant, lighting subdued.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Eat here often & are quite happy that they take reservations now. The food was great. Definitely will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Had made reservations and asked for a cozy spot. The place was barely half full and we were seated at booth close to the restroom. Not very cozy. Didn't ask to be moved bc we figured we already had but it was ignored.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Everything was awesome until hair was found in our food. We always go to J Alexander if there is one in the city we’re visiting. It was great that they comped the meal, but no one likes to find hair in their food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Delicious as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food was delicious. Great service. Tried the new tuna sandwich and it was excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Tonight our experience was that great... something was wrong in the kitchen...our steak we're done correctly on the inside but on the outside they were charbroiled beyond recognition...and lacked flavor....will go back and hope the kitchen is having an on night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Always a treat, great food and service and not loud and noisy. Consistent quality across the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

I was thoroughly impressed with the food and the service. I will definitely be coming here again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Great corner booth and server left us alone enough so we were able to catch up

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

A lovely place. Excellent food and service. We have been several times and have never been disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

I had reservations to get me a window seat to see the town center lights and buildings. This was done and we had a great team helping us. I enjoyed my bottle of wine and my date it was amazing !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The food was delicious and the server was very nice as well. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Had the chefs special. Ribeye. Flavor off the chart, service that is to be rivalled and I don't think overly expensive

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Service was bad

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The food, as usual, was fantastic. However, our foursome sat at a booth and, for one side of the booth, the distance from the seat to the table was far, and thus uncomfortable while eating. Since the tables and booths are bolted down, this could not be easily fixed. I recommend that the restaurant provide pillows, upon request, to fill the extra space and make for a more comfortable dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

This one of our go-to places in Town Center. Nice atmosphere & good food. We had a great young lady as our server, Danielle. Just super - one of the best ever. We had a great booth in our favorite section of the restaurant. I had my usual, chicken fingers platter. Great chicken fingers!
My wife's special fish platter was not so good - not much taste and smothered in something. I let her have some of dinner - I felt sorry for her. All in all, a nice evening dinner experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Out excellent waiter, 1053 Parker, saved the evening for our group. I ordered the center cut Filet Mignon and it turned out to be to be a composite piece of meat formed to resemble
a perfectly normal steak and it was over cooked! I was about to send it back when two others in our party were expressing surprise at their completely Rare Rare prime rib that they
ordered Medium! They sent them back for addition cooking, but I was too discussed to anything but suggest we leave the restaurant as quickly as possible it is completely possible
that this establishment knew what they were doing and hoped their customers would not know what a fine steak should be!!!!
“ Fool me, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me!” There will be NO second time!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

My husband and I had a date night there. Making a reservation was fantastic! We got right in even 5 minutes early, while most people had a 40 mini year wait.
Food was delicious and portions were large. It was a bit pricey but worth the occasional visit. Would definitely recommend it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Everyone one at our table loved their food from the 8 yr old to the 45 yr old. The side salad was one of the best I have had. The veggie burger was wonderful. We will forsure fo back next time we are in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Was our first time dining at J Alexander's and to keep it short we will be coming for another visit!💯

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Another satisfying visit! BBQ ribs are among the most fall off the bone tender I've ever had. Roasted brussell sprouts and NYO (not your ordinary) mac and cheese are a must have. Cocktails were mixed to perfection - kudos to the mixologist tending bar! Will be back again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Loved my "Cilantro Shrimp"....beautiful presentation as shown in photo. My husband also enjoyed his Pasta with bay scallops, shrimp, etc. and our friend raved about the "Baked Shrimp with Crabmeat" special which was accompanied by a large portion of perfectly prepared broccoli. It was a Wednesday when martinis are a steal at $6.00 ....mine was a great " Lemon Drop ".

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Birthday dinner with wife

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

This was my first visit to J. Alexander's and I was not disappointed. We were late to our reservation and they accommodated us without hesitation. The food was amazing and the service was outstanding. We sat and talked until 11:30 pm and no one rushed us or seemed annoyed that we were still there after closing hours. Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
29

Tweets by J. Alexander's - Jacksonville