About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Greenbaum

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Romantic (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Business Meals (19)
Modern Decor (19)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Casual (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Healthy (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Family Style (8)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Fireplace (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed our meal and drinks. This is the ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed our meal and drinks. This is the only place in town I can get a perfect dirty martini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was awesome. The food, the wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was awesome. The food, the waitress, the amount of time it took to receive our food. I commend you guys. Keep up the great work.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Disabled Access, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been frequenting this restaurant ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been frequenting this restaurant since it's opening and love the food. Unfortunately, the management allows rowdy, obnoxious large parties to ruin the dining experience for others in the dining room. A group of college age people were celebrating a birthday and for our entire dinner we heard screams, cursing, and had to watch them jump up and down. When my children were little, they were not allowed to behave that way in a restaurant. I don't understand why the manager told me that the group had just as much of a right to celebrate than I had to be in the restaurant. Alright then... if that's the kind of atmosphere you want, have at it. I will choose a business with a more considerate and peaceful clientele and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

J. Alexander's always has good food and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

J. Alexander's always has good food and good service. There is nothing "outside of the box" on their menu but the NYO mac & cheese side dish and the carrot cake dessert are must haves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always enjoy the food, service and vibe ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoy the food, service and vibe at J Alexanders

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always like the food, the service and th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always like the food, the service and the ambiance.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazingly prepared wholesome meals and a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazingly prepared wholesome meals and appetizers--and very good wine choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was awesome but is was a litt ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was awesome but is was a little cold in the restaurant

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A superb dining experience. The steaks ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

A superb dining experience. The steaks are incredible but the entire menu is great. From the moment you walk in you know you are in a special place. Everyone greets you, they never say "no" and the ambiance is great. Awesome location for a nice dinner for two or four. I would say that having 6 (we had six) probably pushes the limit as the seating was not that great.

This is a great value restaurant. I like to say you are getting "Capital Grille" service, atmosphere and fine food at a reasonable value. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time! FOOD WAS GOOOOD!!!!!! Servic ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great time! FOOD WAS GOOOOD!!!!!! Service was spot on as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had our New Year's Eve's dinner there wi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had our New Year's Eve's dinner there with my girlfriend and some friends. The service was great, and the food amazing. Need to try the crime brûlée. It was off the charts.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our New Year's Eve dinner at the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had our New Year's Eve dinner at the restaurant. We were seated immediately (had a reservation). The restaurant is dark and modern in decor. Probably nice for a date. The waitress was nice and informative, but service was a little slow. The food was very good (steaks). I was disappointed in the dessert selection (very average and not too many choices).

I probably wouldn't go here again, but I'd recommend it to someone who was looking for a nice place for dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

This was my and my husband's first time ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was my and my husband's first time there. We went out for date night. It was amazing! The food was awesome and very inexpensive! Our server was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Maui steak, loaded baked potat ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I had the Maui steak, loaded baked potato, and mac and cheese. The steak was one of the best steak I have every had. It was tender and cooked perfectly. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great prime rib and excellent service. C ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great prime rib and excellent service. Chris this manager is on top of his game.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Visited this place for my mother's birth ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Visited this place for my mother's birthday dinner and she was very happy with the customer service, style of restaurant, cleanliness of staff and table and the food.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent experience as always ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had an excellent experience as always! We both ordered the Steak Maui which was so delicious! My husband ordered the Moscow Mule to drink and I ordered the Lemon Drop. Both were well made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Christmas Eve

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything was excellent. Server was fan ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was excellent. Server was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not happy at all. The service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I was not happy at all. The service was slow. Had to ask for bread and also ask for more butter. They also brought out the wrong cut of prime rib and after talking to the waitress - she was new. When you are paying that kind of money you expect to have great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Our family enjoyed a nice Christmas Eve ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our family enjoyed a nice Christmas Eve dinner. The restaurant had great service and great food. The cocktails and wine were a nice plus to the evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Modern Decor, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best restaurants in N ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in NE Fl. Prime rib is worth the drive with very little fat when served to you. Staff aims to please. Onion rings are great appetizer, but they will fill you up. Salads are large and could easily be shared. Key lime pie is extremely good.

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience as usual. Traffic was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Awesome experience as usual. Traffic was horrible which delayed my reservation. I called to let them know and they were very accommodating. Thank you for being First Class in your customer service

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always very good. However y ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food is always very good. However yesterday the atmosphere was dark and dreary. The temp was too cool for the outdoor temps...I was very uncomfortable. The dim lights prevent good reading of the menu and eating the good food. I don't know whether I will return if this continues. There are many restaurants at the beach where I live with better atmospheres. Hope you can fix it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Awesome restaurant, one of my favorites. ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Awesome restaurant, one of my favorites. Always delicious food, great service and wonderful ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The BEST J Alexander in the country due ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The BEST J Alexander in the country due to service. The manager, Andrea, runs the ship exquisitely. In my opinion this restaurant has taken over any and all Bonefish restaurants.

Excellent location, excellent food and exceptional service.

Try for yourself!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been to J.Alexander's in s whi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We hadn't been to J.Alexander's in s while, and I was really looking forward to it. The one thing I love most about this restaurant is the service. On this visit, for the first time EVER, the hostess did not inquire about our evening on the way to the table. I have always appreciated that extra touch, and its absence was noticeable. Fortunately our server was great. But someone should take a look at the hostess staff. They make the first impression.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

People are friendly.

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

People are friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great prime rib. Amazing carrot cake!!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great prime rib. Amazing carrot cake!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Appetizer was brought out after meals so ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Appetizer was brought out after meals so we sent it back - it was left on the bill and we needed to ask to have it removed. 3 of the 5 steaks ordered were not prepared to the proper temp. ( MR requests were MW) completely unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

We have never been disappointed when we ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have never been disappointed when we have dined at this restaurant. The service has always been good and the food excellent.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing - they confirmed my reser ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Disappointing - they confirmed my reservation and then when I arrived on time there were at least 50 people waiting and crowding the bar area. The hostess said it would be a few minutes but several patrons approached while I was waiting asking about their reservations and complaining about the wait. We left. We eat here often and the food ambiance etc is always good. They need to do a much better job with reservations and being truthful to arriving guests about wait times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

reservation for 2 @ 7:15 PM took an addi ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

reservation for 2 @ 7:15 PM took an additional 40 min. to get seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

J. Alexander has to do a better job at t ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 8, 2016

J. Alexander has to do a better job at training its staff. Our waiter had his hands all over the table while we were eating, trying to clean up plates and glasses during the meal, and using strange hand gestures to ask us/signal to us to give him empty glasses. My friend didn't finish his dinner, but instead of asking whether or not he would like a box, the waiter just tossed my friend's dirty napkin on the food. Moreover, despite being under age, any staff should have a general knowledge about wine and other drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Service was great. Had an ahi tuna dinne ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Service was great. Had an ahi tuna dinner that was excellent. Other members of the dinner were equally pleased. Have always had good service and food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time experiencing this ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was my first time experiencing this restaurant. I was with a team of 6 and at first we were kind of hesitant on staying because we had reservations for 8:15 and arrived around 7:50 and still didn't get seated until 15-20 minutes after our reservation time. One thing I would recommend is for there to be a place to wait other than outside because it was freezing cold on Saturday night and the inside lobby is not that spacious so we had to wait outside. When we got inside and was seated everything was perfect from the service to the food we ate and we really enjoyed ourselves!

Tags: Private Room, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OUTSTANDING!! Service was horr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was OUTSTANDING!! Service was horrible, even though I was gracious in leaving a good tip....

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Always a nice time!

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always a nice time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Were very impressed with the ambiance, s ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Were very impressed with the ambiance, service, quality of food and the prices. Very, very nice place!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mixed drinks were delicious and containe ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Mixed drinks were delicious and contained alcohol, which is not always the case at other restaurants. Service was good, great salmon and loved the orzo and wild rice. Filet was excellent and good wine. Chocolate cake was awesome. Everything was very high quality.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.