About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Natalie Ippolito

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Romantic (25)
Business Meals (24)
Casual (24)
Cozy (21)
Bar Seating (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutly enjoyed myself, my teenage son was impressed. The waitress Jessica was amazing, the wait time was short, the food was excellent. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was DELICIOUS my only drawback would be the table was really small and we had a party of 8 .The waitress was ok she seemed a little overwhelmed.however the overall dinning experience I would give 7 out of 10 stars

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Great restaurant, have been there several times before. Always enjoyed it, very good attentive staff and good food.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Here’s the main problem with J Alexander’s. They have a valet parking station outside. This is where the mall company gets a. Chance to rip you off for parking. It was raining so I used the valet. It’s also Xmas season so they charge you $10. Then they ask you for a tip for the guys when you pay by credit card from their app and the. Have the nerve to charge you a $1 convenience fee. So when I go outside I assumed they’d have my car ready. I watch as three other cars are brought around and inquire where my car is. They tell me the app doesn’t work so they’ll now go get my car. Already paid the tip and convenience fee so I paid $13 total to sit in the rain ☔️ and wait for my car. I think J Alexander’s should consider giving complimentary parking.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Great! I wish they brought something out for the birthday girl tho

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 5, 2017

The quality of the entrees is always above par. The service is very personable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 5, 2017

Celebrated my husbands 60th birthday. Service was excellent as was our meal. Our server Michael was excellent. Well done.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Tuna steak is a must have! The service was prompt and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Very nice experience. Excellent food (onion rings are the best) and service, definitely will dine here again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 1, 2017

This was our second visit and the service and the food was as great as the first time. We really loved our server, Brie, we specifically requested her for our recent visit. She was wonderful on our first visit, so we wanted to have her again. Her attention to our needs, food recommendations and pleasant demeanor made both visits wonderful. We will be back again very soon.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Service, food and ambience were awesome. Thank You:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 1, 2017

J Alexanders is always a great dining experience. Take friends and family there often for relaxing and enjoyable experience. Have been going to J Alexanders properties in Florida for many years....always good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

We went for our anniversary. We both really enjoyed it. Food was great and atmosphere was relaxed. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Really professional restaurant with terrific food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 29, 2017

My go-to restaurant. The food and service are always great. The carrot cake is a MUST TRY.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Excellent food and outstanding service. We would highly recommend JAlexanders.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 22, 2017

One of our favorite places. We love it everytime. We usually go for dinner and the service and food is great !

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Food was excellent! Price was a bit steep for what I had. Crabcakes, at seasonal price, but was worth it.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 14, 2017

We always have a great time at J. Alexander’s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

The food was incredible from our appetizer to the soup to our meal. Cocktail drinks were spot on as well. My husband and I went for our anniversary and we were not dissapointed. Our waitress was super sweet and polite too. Very happy girl. The food came out so quick too! I was very impressed for our first time and will return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Everything was wonderful!!!!! Our waitress deserved a $100 tip he did an awesome job with taking care of my family. First time going to this restaurant to celebrate my husband and I 1 year anniversary and his birthday I’m definitely going back

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

To start the booth on one side was very far from the table so I had to lean over to even touch it. Second the water tasted kinda funky. Third I ordered the specialty steak of the night and ordered it medium rare and recieved a medium to medium well steak. Fourth when asked to box up our food not only did qe not recieve the same portions we had left over but also we didnt recieve a fresh bernaise sauce as promised. For the price of the aged steak I ordered I would have rather gone to texas road house and had a better steak for half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Came with the family and service was average. We all ordered the prime rib which was overly salty. Artichoke appetizer was probably the best next to the Mac n Cheese, but unfortunately the steak didn’t live up to expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 8, 2017

My husband, daughter and I enjoyed a wonderful evening at J. Alexander’s. It was a Wednesday, which is $5 martinis night. We started with dirty martinis and onion rings which are phenomenal, large, plump and deliciously battered. Followed by Ahi Tuna Steak, seared and rare for me, and Cajun Snapper and Israeli couscous for them, our evening was a huge success. Enjoyed our food so much.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

The service was unorganized and forgetful. The food was good, filling and priced appropriately.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The portion sizes were good and so was the service. But the steak was unflavorful. The pork loin was not a good cut - usually very lean but this had a lot of fat on it. It also was smothered with a sweet pepper sauce (?) which is not the preparation that they used to have. The old prep was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 2, 2017

We were continuing the celebration with another couple who had recently celebrated their 50th Wedding Anniversary. They had not been to J. Alexander's so we introduced them to the fabulous restaurant. It was a hit!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 31, 2017

I have always been pleased with the food, atmosphere, and great staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Been here many times; typically always good. Love the chicken tenders platter but not as good this time and my wife's shrimp dish was so-so. The biggest disappointment was how our bottle of wine made it to our table. We ordered one of the Oregon Pinot Noirs, which we prefer because of less sugar vs. CA. Lately, most come with screw caps. This one was corked. The cork was broken in half when our server tried to uncork. She said she would right back. Instead of a fresh bottle, she returned with our original bottle open ("my manager helped me open it"). I told her we wanted a different bottle - a cork should not break in half if handled and stored in the right way. We will not be returning any time soon. Seems like quality of food, food preparation & service attitude have deteriorated to some extent over time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

The best grilled salmon in Jacksonville and just a wonderful place for casual anytime dinning.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Great food! Get the artichokes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 27, 2017

WE asked server to not place all the food orders so we are not rushed. Four people for appetizers and cocktails. Salads arrived in the middle of appetizers. no chance for second cocktail entree arrives as we were finishing salads. We tried to tell the server to slow down on telling us what the specials were. For some reason she was in a hurry. She would never make it at the Fort Lauderdale location

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Everything was handled very professionally. The atmosphere was amazing, nice dimmed lights but enough light to see each other and our food. Service was incredible. I will be coming back very soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2017

As always, the food quality was outstanding.

The only issue arose when the server asked about dessert and coffee while my wife was still eating her meal, and then the server placed the check on the table. Please understand that we did not linger (I eat too fast) and occupy the table for an inordinate period of time. I should also point out that the restaurant was not crowded given that we were there at 5:30pm on a Sunday.

I realize that turnover is key, and we are not people that order appetizers and expensive drinks, thus there may be a desire to open up the table sooner as opposed to later.

The tip was not adjusted (20%) since the Service had been good up to that point, however we did make point of mentioning it to the hosting staff on our way out of the restaurant. We declined their offer to speak with a manager since this is really an improvement opportunity, not an earth shattering issue.

We will return to this establishment because of the value and quality, but only as long as we are permitted to relax and enjoy ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great Date night locale!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2017

I have always had great experiences at J's. The artichokes, steaks, salads, mac n cheese, and carrot cake are all amazing. The portions are huge!! We did order the fish tacos this time and that was a big mistake. They said that it was red fish, but I really don't think it was. It was very fishy smelling and tasting. Everything else was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Great place! The atmosphere was really nice. Wait staff was attentive without having to come to the table to see if we needed anything. Nothing I hate more than wait staff constantly coming to the table. Food was good. Carrot cake was fantastic! Overall great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Amazing place love the crab cakes and the maui steak

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Best Mac and Cheese, salmon, and carrot cake we have ever had in our lives! This is our new favorite place!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Amazing place! I ordered the Maui steak. It was perfectly cooked and the smashed potatoes were an excellent accompaniment. Our server Nate was very attentive, knowledgeable and professional. I highly recommend J'Alexanders!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.