About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Ryan Greenbaum

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Jacksonville
Contemporary American
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

special occasion (45)
great for lunch (33)
good for groups (25)
See All
romantic (22)
fit for foodies (18)
notable wine list (12)
hot spot (11)
neighborhood gem (11)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

not real thrilled with this restaurant.. ...

Dined 7 days ago

not real thrilled with this restaurant....prices too high for the food quality, felt very rushed to order and served too fast.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants at the Town ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

One of the best restaurants at the Town Center. Be sure and try the hot carrot cake - awesome!!!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This would be one of the top three resta ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

This would be one of the top three restaurants in the greater Jacksonville Area !

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They made our anniversary dinner wonderful!

Dined on June 7, 2016

It was a great evening! The food was fantastic. The wine was wonderful. The staff was so friendly and very professional. We ended our anniversary dinner with two perfect cappuccinos and that amazing carrot cake!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Filet Mignon! !!!!

Dined on May 28, 2016

You must try the Filet Mignon with Béarnaise sauce....OMG! The smoothest Cabernet is the Joseph Carr....went well with the meal. This place is a treat if you know of someone you want treat to a special occasion. The lighting...the service....the food....ALL next level.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

J Alexander's is top notch.

Dined on May 24, 2016

My wife and I visited J Alexander's for the first time to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary. The store manager opened the door and greeted us with a warm smile and cordial exchange. The greeters at the front desk immediately acknowledged our reservation and we were seated within a few minutes upon arrival. Our server was quick to greet us and presented us with the wine list and special offerings for the evening. The service, the food and the overall experience was stellar. The food quality far exceeded my expectations and the portions were generous. My wife ordered the filet and I had the prime rib. The cuts were fantastic and the meat was of high quality. The night ended with the warm carrot cake, hot tea and espresso. The warm carrot cake is a hit and was recommended by our server. Overall, our experience with J. Alexander's was one of the more enjoyable experiences we have had among the many options available at the St.John's Town Center. We will be back soon.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect spot for lunch!

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Perfect spot for lunch!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and service. Highly recommend ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Great meal and service. Highly recommended.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food and Service

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was over salted-ALL dishes that came had sea salt all over the food and plate AND salt was used in the cooking. Service was Fair. The server came to our table 5 times in the first 25 mins to take our "entrée" order. We didn't even have our drinks or apps ordered yet. It was a little annoying and RUSHED!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great

Dined on May 20, 2016

Everything was great

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent, as always

Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent, as always

food3
ambience3
service1

For some reason the service was off yest ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

For some reason the service was off yesterday, not sure what was going on. We weren't seated before the hostess asked what we wanted for an appetizer, the guy that brought out the appetizer slammed the dish and threw the small plates in front of us, the waitress didn't show until approximately 30 minutes later we had to ask a employee walking by who our server was. This is the first time we ever experienced bad service here well at least the bartender was awesome.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

J Alexanders made a special occasion more special

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had been to J Alexander's with a group of friends several times, so decided to have dinner there for our 45th wedding anniversary. The prime rib special was fantastic, both came cooked to perfection, with a huge mound of the signature "smashed" potatoes. In talking with our server, who was very attentive without hovering, my husband mentioned that it was our anniversary. She returned at the end of the meal with a complimentary dessert...a decadent chocolate cake slice (big enough for two) and ice cream. The meal couldn't have been any better! The food and service were exceptional, and the ambiance, although a little louder than we'd have liked, was nice too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Out of Towners

Dined on April 29, 2016

I made the reservations online but was not aware they did not have outside seating. I'm sure it would have been great! But once we got there, we realized they did not have outside seating we had to leave because we had our little puppy with us. Very important info I forgot to mention. Totally my fault.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on April 26, 2016

One of the best restaurants in the Town Center. Great food and service.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

The table order the onion rings and they ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The table order the onion rings and they were wonderful. The crab cakes were vey good, with large lumps of crab meat. The prime rib was excellent. Ordered 2 carrot cake desserts for a table of 4, should have ordered one. It was perfect. Except for an artichoke appetizer I ordered with dinner that did not show up, all in all a good meal. We were not rushed and the server was rewarded.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday with friends

Dined on April 19, 2016

Been looking forward to the grilled artichokes since my last visit - they are on the "must have" list - albeit with drawn butter vs. the sauce that comes with it. My friend says the the place has ruined her for eating burgers anywhere else! I loved the marinated steak! Great food, great service!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2

For a rather quiet evening, service was ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

For a rather quiet evening, service was slow and two of our 5 entrées came out of the kitchen cold.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonder experience!!! Love coming here!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Wonder experience!!! Love coming here!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant and satisfying dining experience

Dined on April 12, 2016

Quality food; quality service; quality restaurant -- all at a reasonable price.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good, but attention to detail was lacking

Dined on April 7, 2016

2 Kids (8 and 10) and 2 adults. Kids meals were spot on, and the mac and cheese was a huge hit..highly recommended. Adult dinner #1--Swordfish special, with Mango and citrus salsa, coleslaw and a rice dish...not bad but lacked flavor punch. Swordfish was cooked well, and not dried out, but the citrus didn't come out as as much a complement. Slaw was great, and the fully loaded potato (extra) was good, but needed more moisture topping... Adult dinner #2 -- Filet with Bearnase. Well, Max the Dog liked it. ordered medium well (explained as pink but cooked) and came out well done--no pink and crispy crunchy on the outside. Also came in 2 pieces--like the end of the cut and so they cooked like a regular thick one, but it wasn't quite there... All in all a return visit is warranted, if not to see if they can actually cook a steak properly, but to see what flavors they can bring to bear. Accomodating the kids was amazing.. "whatever you want" was the key from our very pleasant, but unattentive waitress.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Colossal Onion Rings is my favorite app ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Colossal Onion Rings is my favorite appetizer. The Prime Rib was perfectly cooked. Great place to eat.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Quite satisfying

Dined on March 15, 2016

I booked the reservation on a Tuesday night for my husband's birthday, because he asked her a nice juicy prime rib. I noted on the reservation it was his birthday. When we checked in and was led away to be seated, the hostess wished him a happy birthday, nice touch. When we sat down, he was also given a birthday card signed by some of the staff. We shared the prime rib, and baby back ribs with our 2 daughters. They of course loved the thing cut fries that came with my baby back ribs. He loved his prime rib. My ribs were perfect as well - really tender, but with a chargrilled light crispy outside - really tasty. We ordered his favorite key lime pie dessert, and they brought it out with a lit candle on top. I thought that was a really nice touch. We've had this kind of service before elsewhere, but here I didn't have to remind anyone it was a special occasion. He was very content. This was our 2nd time here, and we'll definitely be back! I also love the ease of booking tables on Open Table!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best of the best!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Best of the best!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious.

Dined on March 6, 2016

Always delicious.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner for four

Dined on March 3, 2016

Service was outstanding as always. Prime Rib and potatoes could have been much warmer. Carrot cake was excellent choice for desert. If you like beer you should try their draft Intuition.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 2, 2016

First time diners, and we loved it. Dinner was wonderful, drinks were great, and most of all the service from the bar to dinner was outstanding. Even though it was an hour drive to get there, it was well worth it.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was awesome! The food was ve ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The service was awesome! The food was very good, the only issue was my baked potatoe and my husband's mashed potatoes were warm NOT hot. Other than that...I love it!!!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food but a bit pricey

Dined on February 26, 2016

We joined friends for dinner and to celebrate a birthday. Service was wonderful and the food was great, but it is a bit pricey. Many of the dinner entrees start around $30.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Undramatic flair

Dined on February 26, 2016

Upon a friend's recommendation, my husband chose J.Alexander's for our monthly date night. As he is a noted carnivore, it seemed like a good choice. Being a Thursday night, our reservation was not actually necessary. Every single member of staff that dealt with us was friendly, attentive and prompt. The service was great, but the food itself was lacking in scope and variety. There was no bread, of any kind, on the table through out the meal. We ordered Calamari, one of our favorites. It came on a plate with absolutely no garnish or embellishment at all. It was fresh and tasty, so we moved on. We both ordered the prime rib and "smashed" potatoes. That, and only that, is exactly what came. There was indeed a large, nice piece of prime rib, and a messy, heaping glob of potatoes next to it. There was not a green, of any description in sight, not even as a garnish. We were both very surprised at the lack of eye appeal, as one eats with their eyes first. To be honest, the meat was of high quality, tender and tasty, and the potatoes were fine, too. It was only marred by the fact that it was no longer hot, and neither were the plates. Lastly came the coffee and a highly touted chocolate cake. Now here the picture changed, and it all tanked. The coffee was mediocre, and the sorry, soggy slice of plain unfrosted Bundt cake was a real disappointment. The quality of the plain vanilla ice cream scoop in a side bowl was okay. We have had better deserts in much "lesser" places. Sooooo, here's the deal. The quality of the food, overall, was fine. However, it was beyond obvious that there was no one plating in the open kitchen that ever graced the halls of any brick and mortar culinary school. For over $100 a couple, sans alcohol, I expected much more flair and attention to detail regarding presentation.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Service issue

Dined on February 24, 2016

We go to this location often, this particular night food was excellent as usual, service was lacking. Our server was a mere order taker, lacked any kind of personality .

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A night out.

Dined on February 23, 2016

The Alex salads were great and the crab cakes delicious. We can't wait to return and have the prime ribs.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in Jacksonville

Dined on February 16, 2016

Perfect place for a birthday celebration! When we arrived our manager had left a hand written note on the table wishing our Birthday Boy a special evening. Big rave on our steaks which were good sized and cooked perfectly to our preferences. Service was prompt and freindly. The restaurant was not too loud, well staffed, very clean and comfortable. Overall a great experience! We have finally found our favorite go to place to eat out in Jacksonville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Spot for Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great Host Team, Very Proficient. Allison was a great server, Menu Knowledge was superb.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I love coming here. We have always had great service, great food, and an excellent time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very good ambiance. Nice jazz music playing low, food came out super fast and was great. And wine by the glass for as low as $8. I would definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Very pleasant experience will go again

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very pleasant experience will go again

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed

Dined on February 14, 2016

We love J Alexander's, however we were very disappointed in our food preparation. My wife ordered the pork tenderloin -it came out very rare. Server took it back, apologized and returned with properly cooked. MY filet was ordered medium and was cold inside. The carrot cake (which is the best thing in the world) was cold in the middle.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

R Wright

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and i Love the Food and the ambiance. We would recommend J. Alexander to any one that was looking for Fabulous Food and Beautiful Place for fine Dinning . The Filet Mingion and the Rib Eye is two of the Best steaks they have and the Alex Salad is the Best salad they serve . Don't Wait reserve your table Now and Enjoy the Great Food !!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and service is always excellent. The only downside is that it is always uncomfortably cold in the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.