About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Natalie Ippolito

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Prime Rib Special

Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Slow Roasted 10 oz. Prime Rib, served with your choice of side - $19.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 16, 2017 - Jun 16, 2017 on Sundays and Mondays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Celebrate Easter with your loved ones at J. Alexander's! Now accepting lunch and dinner reservations.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

J. Alexander's is now offering Mother's Day reservations! Book a table today and treat Mom to an amazing meal!

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Treat Dad to one of the best steaks in town by taking him to a great meal at J. Alexander's! Accepting reservations for lunch and dinner!

20 for $20 wine on Tuesdays!

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

20 outstanding selections of wine for only $20 per bottle!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 16, 2017 - Jun 16, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM.

Martini Wednesdays!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Hand-crafted premium martinis for only $5! 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 16, 2017 - Jun 16, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (59)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Romantic (39)
See All
Special Occasion (39)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Business Meals (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Casual (28)
Modern Decor (28)
Great for Lunch (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Cozy (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Open Kitchen (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Happy Hour (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Healthy (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Fun (10)
Family Style (9)
Seasonal (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Disabled Access (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great Beer (5)
People Watching (5)
Fireplace (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Private Room (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Scenic View (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Live Sports (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
757 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Our first time after trying all the other restaurants in the area. Great server, good food. Would come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Very consistent quality of food and service . . . a very nice setting. One of our go-to places on a Saturday night. I had the chicken fingers platter again - great, although the coleslaw was pretty bland. My wife was as crazy about her fish dish as last time - too much sauce but still good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

The quick service was amazing. They gave us dessert on the house since we were there celebrating our anniversary which I thought was cool. The food was amazing especially the MEXICO CITY SPINACH CON QUESO DIP!!! A must try especially with the Pico de gallo! The fresh squeezed lemonade was tangy and fizzy from the seltzer which is refreshing. Not that Minute Maid mix which is a disappointment at times. The waitress that was serving us checked in once in a while and was very accommodating and polite. She earned her $15 tip. The only issue I had was when I had to ask multiple people for a to go cup for my lemonade. It went through 3 people before I finally got one which is annoying to have to keep asking but that isn't going to stop me from going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, J.Alexander's delivered a wonderful experience. Typically my husband and I come here for date night or celebration night, just the two of us. We love J.'s, we just cant quit it. This time we brought our kids and my father in law, to celebrate my husbands birthday. The experience as a group was just as wonderful as just the two of us. We arrived for an early dinner and got to sit at a great booth that accommodated us quite well. The team here works together so well because not only was our server great, but all his teammates were great as well. The food was phenomenal (apps, dinner and dessert) as usual. All 3 steaks were perfectly medium rare and tasted fanstastic. My lemon drop martini was perfect. Thank you for remaining consistently great on every level! I was nervous to bring the kids somewhere without a kids menu, but y'all were awesome at not making us feel weird about it. Thank you!

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Love J Alexanders ..always delicious! Never disappoints

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Our experience was excellent. We went for an anniversary dinner. The food and the service was fantastic. It was a bit overpriced but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great service and food was amazing. The prime rib was very good and the wait staff was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall great service! I would recommend J. Alexander to anyone. I would enjoyed the occasion and the environment was great as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Staff was very accommodating and the service was very attentive but not intrusive. A great experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I made reservations the day before and arrived 10 minutes before time expecting to wait a little. We were greeted with smiles from all the beautiful staff and seated immediately. The service was excellent and not only our waitress checked in on us but any staff member checked as well as they passed our table. The Prime Rib and NY steaks were perfectly cooked. The Mac and Cheese too rich for my taste. I did not like the cheese in it. Enjoyable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We usually have a great experience and love our food but our steaks were awful, unfortunearely. Very disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always a great time here. Service and food are amazing. We enjoy the attentiveness of the wait staff. Drinks are never near empty and they always make sure you are satisfied. We will continue to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I had one of the special's and it was amazing. The martini ' are really good, I loved the red head and on Wednesday they are 5 dollars.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Nice setting for a business lunch. Very good God, atmosphere & service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Not much of a talking. But enjoy the Aviance, food and the service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The Prime Rib is the best!
The service was exceptional!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Love this place very good food and service. The Ribs are delicious and their Steak & Fries excellent. Plus Ahi Tuna Steak or Filet gray assortment.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wife brought me t J Alexander's for my birthday. Amazing place with outstanding food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and service are consistently top notch with each dining visit. We made a dining reservation, and upon arrival, we were seated in one of the nicer locations of the restaurant. The staff was professional and attentive the entire evening, as usual. J Alex is a dining experience which you can count on being brilliant; and is why my party and I are repeat customers. We ordered appetizers, entrees, substituted some items in our entree orders for others; had two rounds of drinks, dessert and cappuccinos - all served with perfection and gracious wait staff; and thoroughly enjoyed by my party and me to make the special occasion that evening perfect, happy, and memorable.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent meal. The service was top notch. The crab cakes were worth the price.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Dependable chain, with a good variety of menu options and nightly specials. Our waitress was adorable and very attentive. 4 of us all had something different and we were all very please.
It is noisy and busy, so not romantic , but fun !

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I had the filet with mushroom sauce, mashed potatoes and Brussels sprouts. Usually the food is exceptional but the filet was fatty this time. I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was good but service was really slow, especially getting drinks. I wish they would add more appetizer selections. Maybe some shrimp or scallop choices. Not many people want a huge stack of onion rings for an appetizer....too filling. The filet with béarnaise sauce was really good. Not many dessert choices either....we skipped that course too.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

the food was excellent but the service was inattentive
the cocktails were not served all together. they were served in stages. the main courses were served minutes after we started our salads and to be placed under heat lamps. certainly not there best effort

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was my first dining experience at J. Alexander's and I was thoroughly impressed from the first minute until the last. It was a perfect dining experience. I will definitely dine here again and more frequently.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, People Watching, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First timer - found the total experience to be better than expected. Though very slight, the only negative - inadequate outdoor and bar seating. Our server - Erica (I believe) was fantastic. A thoroughly enjoyable "first time". And YES, we will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Hadn't been there in a while and had forgotten how great the dinner ambiance is. Great booth great server . . . my chicken tender platter was outstanding and my wife loved her entree. Great wine also ... great night!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great ambience and service. Angela in Jacksonville was terrific.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Had the fish special, Hake, said it came with Cole slaw, it didn't, still good meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best place ever !! Hands down. The environment, waitress, & there was a wait but they made sure they kept you very at ease with little appatizars and champagne.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Fun, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a Balentines Day date. We showed up to be seated and the restaurant was already informing guests they were approximately 30-45 minutes behind for appointments. We were given the buzzer (hoping it wouldn't be as long as they said of course) and made our way to the bar area. The restaurant and bar area were pretty full but we were able to find seats at the bar and ordered drinks. They came quickly and service was great so far. We were not seated for approximately an hour though. Once seated, we were approached by the manager who advised hat she knew of our wait and as appreciation for us staying and waiting that she comped our drinks and appetizer. That was a very nice gesture. We ordered the Cajun ribeye and crab cakes respectively. The food was very good. We will come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was our first visit near our home for our Valentines special. We really like the ambiance and were taken care of and assisted well, as we were accompanied by our 2 months daughter.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our reservation was at 7pm, which we got to our table at 7:30pm...The staff was very friendly and very helpful in everything from seating to taking the other. For the occassion of beening Valentine's the service was amazing. The Carrot cake was amazing serve hot which we did not except. Overall my first visit was amazing and I will be return before another holiday.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a party of 4 on Valentines Day. I think that was one of the busiest nights ice ever been to J Alexanders. We all 4 had different dishes, perfectly coursed with impeccable service. Fun, bistro atmosphere. Several super healthy options to choose from.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's day date with wife. Very crowded but the service was still excellent. Food was perfect. Love the chopped salad. Prime rib (shared) was cooked perfectly. In spite of the "holiday" the service was excellent. Our favorite for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I enjoyed my visit , food was great, great flavor and quantity. But wished there would have been a soup or salad prior to dinner . Wine was superb .

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good food great service. I will be back..and definitely recommend to friends...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Meghan was our server and she was terrific. The food was very good. I would suggest reducing the portion of mashed potatoes as a side item. It would be better to have two side items included versus one heaping portion of potatoes. Otherwise, all went well. And the chocolate cake is terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Came in here with my wife for our Pre-Valentines Dinner and it was outstanding! Service was great and the food was great as well! Wow Portion were really Nice and Worth the Price. The servers were really attentive and and really focus with the guest and the attention to details is outstanding. All the managers were really professional and visited our table as well each time a course would come in. Would definitely be back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.