About J. Alexander's - Jacksonville

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

10296 Bistro Dr
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Big Island Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 996-7147

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Natalie Ippolito

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access

J. Alexander's - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

GoodForDates (57)
SpecialOccasions (48)
Anniversaries (44)
See All
Romance (41)
BusinessMeals (40)
Lunch (39)
Birthdays (36)
Casual (36)
Cozy (34)
Groups (28)
Foodies (27)
ComfortFood (27)
WorthTheDrive (27)
QuietConversation (26)
BarSeating (24)
SundayLunch (21)
NotableWineList (20)
ModernDecor (20)
Fun (19)
CreativeCuisine (19)
HappyHour (19)
OpenKitchen (16)
HandcraftedCocktails (15)
NeighborhoodGem (11)
Brunch (11)
TastingMenu (10)
FamilyStyle (10)
VibrantBarScene (9)
Seasonal (9)
PeopleWatching (8)
HotSpot (8)
QuickBite (8)
DisabledAccess (8)
Healthy (7)
PrePostTheatre (7)
ChildFriendly (6)
LocalIngredients (5)
Authentic (5)
OutdoorDining (4)
Organic (3)
WoodOven (3)
OutstandingValue (3)
AfternoonTea (3)
LateNightFind (3)
VegetarianOptions (3)
GlutenFree (3)
Fireplace (3)
Spicy (2)
Waterfront (2)
AfternoonCoffee (2)
GreatBeer (2)
Tapas (2)
MolecularGastronomy (2)
PaleoFriendly (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
LiveMusic (1)
ScenicView (1)
Vegan (1)
LiveSports (1)
Sort By:
S
842 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

I think when your air conditioner is not working properly you should notify customers not let us set there and sweet while eating, we had planned on staying for coffee and desserts. But it was so hot in there that we went someplace else. My boyfriend also had the Ribeye and it was vey grissely, Thad to cut a lot off. We had been there on our first date and wanted to return. Let's just say, this was not a great evening. We still have a $50 gift card... it may be sometime before we return.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

After volunteering in the heat for 6 hours, this was the absolute choice for me and my friend to grab some food. As usual, the servings were more than ample and the service was great. We will be back again and again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

The air was broken and we were not told that before we were seated and served. It was terribly hot and really ruined the whole evening.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed dinner with great food and service in a nice setting. Looking forward to returning soon.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is always amazing! Always save room for the carrot cake. Best I ever had.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice atmosphere with special food and service. We had two of the specials and they were excellently prepared dishes that were served hot. The most special item was the "home grown" tomato side dish and the onion rings. The tomatoes were the best I have had since leaving Ohio and worth a return trip. The onion rings were large enough to serve four. Very nice food and atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious! Never had crab cakes the way J Alexander served and I am still mesmerized by them. So good!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

One of my most favorite restaurants! Frequent it usually monthly with friends, family for special occasions or just casual get togethers.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing experience. The chef made us creme Brulee per our request. They made my daughter's birthday memorable

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were told the Prime special was on and then when we got there we were told it was not, a little pricey 10 oz prime rib was $26.00 and it was 20% fatty, not a good deal and not that great tasting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Family friendly, there's no children's menu, but they happily accommodated my 4 & 7yr olds with child portions of menu items. Food was delicious, my husband & I both had items off the specials board. I would recommend! 😊

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My husband and I celebrated two occassions, Father's Day and our 29th wedding anniversary on 6/18/17. We anticipated a wait because of it being Father's Day. We had a 5:30 reservation and arrived promptly. We were greeted immediately and placed our order. We received our food and was ready leave within an hour. Our waiter PJ and the entire team did and awesome job. So impressed with the team work and service!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was great. Service was not so much. Didn't cater to our drinks, overlooked some request...and the servers attitude was not really in the game. We go out to be waited on when we do go out, so this kind of ruined the experience for us. Too bad...I'm generous with the tips!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Horrible service ruined what should have been a nice meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Amazing food, great service. Try the spinach queso, deviled eggs, and taco platter. Yummy!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers dayt

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Don't get the artichokes until they learn to cook them to the proper temperature.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We enjoyed our time there. Denise was our server and we enjoyed our time with her.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We really enjoyed our anniversary dinner at J Alexanders. Great service and delicious food. Will definitely be returning!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Although the restaurant was extremely hot, to the point of sweating, the food is very good! I dine here often and instead of ordering the same thing every time, I try to expand my taste buds! Steak is tasteful, salads are to die for, and desserts are amazing. (Carrot cake and chocolate cake)

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very good food and service. Pretty good value for the money. Good selection on the menu.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Celebrated my birthday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Couples anniversary dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Sons 21st birthday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food as usual was fantastic but service was awful. We ordered onion rings but never received them. Also asked for Mac and cheese as a side but received coleslaw. Restaurant fixed it for us very quick and the food was delicious. 1st time service was poor as waitress rarely checked on us. Won't deter us from returning

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food and dessert were delicious. Service was impeccable. The dining experience is always consistent every time I dine at J. Alexander's.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great food. Even better service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great food , great customer service from Michael hands down the best !! The ribs are to die for !!! Also The Cilantro Shrimp !! I could eat here everyday thank you for everything my fiancé had a GREAT BIRTHDAY!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Authentic, Tapas, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Live Sports, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Spicy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great Beer, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Our steak was just perfect.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

the place wasn't busy on Memorial Day but unfortunately they messed up our drinks & salad order. We all ordered the same drinks & salad but wanted it in certain way. How hard is it to mess a salad order? iced tea even?! 😬 the servers need to ask which order goes to whom. It maybe same order but it's ordered differently. One ordered without bacon but was given the one with bacon. Need to realized not everyone eats pork.

Anyway they finally got the orders right everyone's happy but the manager could've check on the customers. We will see when to return to this place. We usually go to this restaurant because of that salad but was very dissatisfied on that day.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Again and again, this is my go-to restaurant. AMPLE portions, great service, never a bad meal or experience here. GO!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Sat at the bar and had lunch. They had made an extra queso and chips so our bar tender gave it to us. She was exceptionally good and the food was amazing. We will definitely go back!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My son is home visiting from the Air Force and he loves J Alexander so of course I made a reservation and we headed there. The waitress was fine however here came our dinner and we had never received our salad I mentioned this to the person that brought it out she looked at me and said oh did you want me to take the food back I said yes we haven't received our salad it's seem to annoy her greatly. then about five minutes later our salad came out. We ate our salad thank you then came our food for some strange reason I would've thought our food would've been remade or at least warm the food was ice cold. Our waitress came back and asked how her meal was and I said the food is ice cold she then offered to have it remade well no thank you now we've been here for 40 minutes and have cold food I'm good I said no I'll go home and reheat it thank you she asked if we wanted to go boxes yes we received to go boxes she then asked if we wanted dessert on the house because of how terrible our mail had been now I just want to check and go home. For $75 just for cold food? this used to be a place for special occasions for happy events for amazing food and now it is become a place that is gone so downhill they feel that being rude and serving cold food is appropriate this will be my last visit

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I really enjoyed the crab cakes, loaded with crab and very little filler! Great flavor. My son appreciated the flavor of the steak and asked to go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We celebrated our 47th wedding anniversary there! Food was terrific. The waiter was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great food, great service, very nice bar if you just want to hang out with friends

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love J. Alexander's, and it was my choice for our family's dinner for Mother's Day. The service is so attentive and any questions are answered without a problem. Our server was wonderful, she told us about the specials and checked with us often to make sure we didn't need anything. I had the Ahi Tuna Steak seared rare and it was as tender as could be. My husband enjoyed his grilled grouper over Israeli couscous, and my son enjoyed his handheld chicken and cheese sandwich with shoestring potatoes. We loved our key lime pie for dessert. I really enjoyed the atmosphere and left feeling "taken care of" and special. Great food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was outstanding as was the selection. The server was very willing to make recommendations and to come up with substitutes. The food was good but not great. Loved the atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had Mother's Day reservations at 1pm and arrived at about 1230 and were seated immediately when we thought we would have to wait around for a table to open up. Thank God, cause we were starving. I enjoy the fact that multiple servers check on you throughout your visit to speed things up and make sure you're doing ok. Overall great food like always and service was top notch.

Thanks,

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service and staff. The food was exceptional! I will definitely be going back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.