Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Good for a Date (62)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
See All
Romantic (51)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Business Meals (40)
Casual (33)
Great for Lunch (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Cozy (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Modern Decor (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Family Style (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Authentic (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
People Watching (6)
Seasonal (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great fun with friend on a Saturday. We were running late and we're still accommodated with a wonderful seat. Enjoyed the service, and the food was great as always. Not too many gluten free options if you also can't do potatoes, yet the meal I had was lovely!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Still our favorite. You need to try the carrot cake! I am not a fan of cakes but found this one to be yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

FABULOUS birthday with daughter and granddaughter. The food is always consistent; always delicious; reservations easy. My favorite place in Chattanooga.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Where we were seated was great (table 71), will definitely ask for that table again. We did have a crying baby near us which was annoying (sorry, but we are not a kid friendly group) but they finally took her out about 2/3rds through our dinner and our pleasant evening resumed. Drinks were great, food was great, service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was okay. I'm not sure if you can justify the price for the quality of food you receive, but it could be due to what we ordered (steak and pasta... steak not as tender as you would hope and the pasta could use more flavor).

Know that if you get a side salad or soup with your meal, expect to pay another 6 bucks for either one. Service was great, hostess kicked a**, but based upon the price vs. quality, I can't recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

alexanders is one of our favorites. this time it was mothers day so it was mega busy.
i got something i had never got before and it was just OK.
my wifes filet was a little over cooked.

my son got the philly... and he thought it was just OK.



we will go back... , hopefully better next time.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server did a great job without hovering over us. The noise level was the only drawback but ,there is nothing to do about it except go at a less popular time. The food quality was great, the presentation wonderful. A great celebration with my family.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

J's remains our favorite in Chattanooga. We celebrated Mothers Day there; our reservations were perfect, we were seated immediately; service was as usual very attentive, and the food was all very nice. My wife is a scallop lover and was delighted to find the as a special (although a bit pricey) on the holiday menu. We'll go again soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Way too loud! Could not hear people at our own table. Shrimp taco werejust ok. Server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

J Alexanders is one of my favorite places to eat. Typically, I have no complaints, but this time our order came out wrong on two of our plates. The restaurant was very busy and it took longer than usual for the waitress to return to our table. It took so long, I just did not bother to correct my order. In addition, the restaurant was very UNpleasantly loud. It was difficult to have a conversation with those at my table. I could not wait to get out of there this time. I will not return on a day when it is typically busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

An exceptional meal from steaks to seafood. Great service. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Went for anniversary. Always great service and foid. Tried the famous Mac and cheese is it was alright. Just my opinion.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Very good. It has been a number of years since I've been there and it was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We stopped here to grab a quick dinner on our way home to Atlanta. It was conveniently located near I-75 and the food and service were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My best friend and I went for a nice dinner to catch up! The hostess was so nice, as well as our server. Our margaritas were to die for, and our meal was amazing! I love J. Alexanders!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good food, need to find way to reduce noise. Difficult to have a conversation with people at the same table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our servers name was Candice and she was terrible. She never refilled our drinks and I understand people can be busy but we watched her talking to fellow employees. The ONLY time we received refills was when another server brought our food out. We seen her when she took out order and when she brought our check. We eat at Jalexandeds several times per month and have been for many years. The food is ALWAYS excellent but this had to be the poorest service we have ever received. I don't expect much but if I am going to spend 100 dollars on dinner I expect great service and great food. That's what I'm paying for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. Jay was great and made the meal with his recommendations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It was too loud inside but luckily we found a table outside in the courtyard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 18, 2017

we love J's
.........................................................

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Since it was Easter Sunday, We were quite surprised at the level of noise. The seating was fine and we were in a high traffic area from the kitchen. The clatter of plates from the kitchen seemed to be quite noisy. The restaurant is set up as a casual place and is not on the par with other higher priced restaurants. We liked the food and the staff was very engaging and friendly. The manager stopped by for a quick "How was your food." and the tone of the crowd lessened as the afternoon went by. We didn't have to wait too long for our reservation but it was after all a holiday and the crowd seemed to be diverse. It was a nice meal and we will consider returning on a less busy time to evaluate the noise levels.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love J Alexanders and eat here after church at least 2 times per month. If you are seated near the kitchen, you will have a difficult time conversing. It is quite loud. But, the food is consistently good and the service is too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everyone in the restaurant was awesome. We were treated great. I all always stop by when I'm in town. We were seated fast, orders taken fast, and food arrived fast. We were in and out within 45 minutes on a busy holiday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were at the table for quite sometime and the server was so sweet and nice and didn't rush us at all. She was very knowledgeable. The food and service were outstanding. She was one of the best servers that we have ever had there and they are all usually very good. We loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent service and food. Server was attentive and able to provide special requests we asked for food seasoning. Always an enjoyable experience. Here.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We love the food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Husband's birthday! Also, great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Really nice place, food was excellent, but quite pricey. Loud, hard to carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Felt a bit rushed on this occasion...entrees arrived while we were only half way through salad, but they did take them back to the kitchen until we finished salads....caesar salad is still delicious but wish they would return to the shaved cheese they jettisoned a year or so ago which was just more elegant than the shredded they use now...would love it if they brought back flat breads and included lemon or lime with the shrimp tacos...a squeeze of it would amp up the dish a bit....we were seated within 4-5 minutes of our scheduled reservation on a night when the wait for walk ins was over an hour...it is still a solid chain restaurant...lots and lots of servers who work as a team better than almost any other restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Alexander's is very consistent in quality and service. Excellent steaks great sides.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The Prime Rib is always wonderful. We had a 9 person B-day celebration and the wait staff was very patient with us. Some of us ordered off the brunch menu and said it was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 24, 2017

In town for tennis tournament

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Next level service and food. My 16 oz. ribeye was melt in your (my) mouth delicious. My wife's prime rib was very tender and favorable. For years this restaurant has been our go-to for dining when visiting the Chattanooga area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Top shelf Service Food and atmosphere

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food was excellent. Too noisy couldn't even hear what our guests were talking about at our own table
Also the handicapped parking was not close to the main entrance it was way down at the other end of the parking lot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent!!!! First time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The quality of food and service are outstanding! Their prime rib is the best in town and their grilled salmon is the best I have eaten anywhere this side of Alaska. I order it regularly and have never been disappointed. No fishy taste. Salads and soup are great. We tried the huevos rolls this time and they were delicious. We made a calorie splurge and ordered a slice of carrot cake to go. It is plenty large enough to share and delicious served warm! J Alexander' is a little pricey but worth it. Our meal with an appetizer, salads, steaks, and dessert to share was $103 before tip. We had no alcoholic beverages.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

As usual the food was terrific and the service excellent. However, the noise level is horrible - acoustics bad. My father is hard of hearing and it is very difficult to have a conversation with him due to the noise level.
I had to submit a "noise level" response above, but my choice does not reflect how bad it is. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

good service, good options on menu , open table reservation according to reservation schedule.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Met friends for dinner here. Good food and ambience for the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.