Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (59)
Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Romantic (44)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Casual (38)
Business Meals (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Cozy (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Fun (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Authentic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food! I eat there quite often. It's my favorite place to eat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Our first visit will probably be our last. We went for Sunday lunch. Arrived at 1:15 with a reservation, seated 10 minutes later, took over 30 minutes to get food, and then it was mediocre quality and warm / not fresh and hot. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

Every dinner at J Alexanders has been a great experience. It's our go to place when in Chattanooga.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Dine several times. Each time was very good. Great location, Great service, Great management .

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent! I ordered the filet mignon , medium well and it was cooked to perfection . So tender ! The chocolate cake dessert was also delicious !!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience. Reaturant was busy but they were able to keep reservations moving along. Food was great and wait staff were very attentive. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server Brian is outstanding!!! Regularly sit at his tables.
SPECIALS
Tuscan Steak
Seared Sea Scallops
Very Good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

There were 5 of us who got together for a birthday luncheon. I was disappointed in my Prime Rib. I ordered it medium and it was rare. I sent it back to be cooked longer. It had a funny taste but the rest of lunch was good. The server tried to take my Caesar salad away before I had even touched it. As far as I know, everyone else enjoyed their food but I was the hostess and the birthday girl.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We eat there regularly and like it because the food and service are consistently good. The portion are substantial. The prices are reasonable for what is provided.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, kind of noisy, pretty crowded though. Had halibut, it was good, everyone else ate steak

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was very good. Food was so so but for their high prices it was not a good value. I ordered prime rib and it had no flavor at all. My wife ordered salad with chicken in it and she said it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This is the first time we have eaten at J. Alexander's. Great steak (I ate the NY strip, husband had the filet) Mac N Cheese, Desserts yummy ohhh my! I think this place is as good as Burn's Steakhouse and better pricing and the "air" is not stuffy (but, We have always known TN to be a people friendly place no matter what area we have visited). You must try....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I loved our waiter, but the halibut was too spicy for me, even though he had assured me it wasn't spicy. Turns out the mango salsa on top was the culprit. They brought me another, but honestly, the fish itself just wasn't that good. I like this restaurant chain, & know it's pretty expensive, but I'm usually happy with the food and ambiance. This was a noisy place with just OK food for top price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

This restaurant always has wonderful food. I eat here quite often and I'm never disappointed!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Our meal was very enjoyable. Food and service was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Prime rib outstanding. Don't normally eat that much meat but didn't leave a bite. Creamy horseradish sauce a must.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Would prefer a seasonal menu with more options other than beef...different poultry /fish dishes

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Awesome as always!! We love this restaurant! Our go to favorite.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was great! Service was great! We were celebrating my Moms 82nd birthday .... My Dad who is 84 was a little upset that he couldn't get his drink ( Arnold Palmer) half ice tea and half lemonade.... couldn't make him understand why... lol!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Took teens there for special occasion. Our waitress was wonderful'. The boys loved the food and experience. It was expensive but good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 1, 2017

It's smells like a dirty floor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, friendly service and well trained staff. Food was amazing! Highly recommended for just about any occasion. Especially for date night..

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal except for one thing. My prime rib was full of gristle. The few bites that I had were good but most was not. If this should happen again, I will return it to the chef

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 1, 2017

J's is always a dependable place for any kind of dining. We always invite our out of town friends to enjoy lunch or dinner at J Alexander's. The carrot cake is ALWAYS a delight!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Manuel is a great person! He's so knowledgeable and helpful and he such a awesome waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This was the worst experience we have ever had at J.Alexanders. We were embarrassed to be there with very important business guests. The food was cold and terrible. We ordered appetizers and when delivered to the table the wait staff sat the food down on top of our menus. We asked that they remove it so we could get our menus and they did not and walked away. It is unlikely we will return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was great and the service was as well. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend for a special night out.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always a great experience at J Alexander's. We met our daughter and family from ATL as we are from Nashville , so good meeting point. Know we will have good food and service if we go to Alexander's.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Nice place to dine with friends. Good food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Got the order wrong seem to take forever. Very disjointed service. Not usually the case as I go here fairly frequently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Would visit other locations; good shrimp tacos. Hostess did not record that we had reserved via Open Table even though we told her upon arrival.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 21, 2017

As usual, the food was fantastic and Lauren, our server, was amazing. I would use her time and time again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Steaks were ordered medium well and were medium at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I always look forward to a trip to J. Alexanders because I can trust that the food and service will both be good. I typically go to local food restaurants or locally-owned restaurants, but I will occasionally make the trip to the mall just for J. Alexanders. I've never had a bad experience, and in addition to the good food and service, it's usually a relaxing afternoon or evening out. I definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent meal superb service.. Derek is a fine polite excellent waiter!!! We will ask for him every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We LOVE J Alexanders. We eat at the Nashville and Birmingham locations regularly. The food in Chattanooga was terrible!! It was so disappointing. It will be a while before I can eat at any J Alexanders the food was so disgusting in Chattanooga. Very disappointing!! I had referred several people to come to J Alexanders that weekend as we were all traveling to the eclipse.
From now own we will only eat at Tupelo Honey or Urban Stack in Chattanooga!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Even though we had a reservation, it took 30 mins to get seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It was very good.. we enjoyed our meal thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2017

There were 6 of us in our party to celebrate a birthday. We got in quickly with the Open Table reservation, and our server was very friendly and funny. We had a great time. Oh, and the food was excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Have been to other J Alexanders and staff was very knowledgeable about celiac and gluten free. This group could use a refresher. The prime rib was excellent as usual but the rest of the meal was just ok. Our server Chris tried to make the best of the situation and did a decent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.