About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
11 More
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Best Value
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Romantic
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

Special Occasion (62)
Romantic (41)
Good for Groups (37)
See All
Great for Lunch (33)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for a Date (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Casual (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was prepared wonderfully. The e ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was prepared wonderfully. The environment was very clean and waiters/waitresses were very knowledgeable about the menu. They really paid close attention to our needs and were very accommodating to our parties needs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the ribs and was a little disa ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I ordered the ribs and was a little disappointed the ribs were really good but the size of them were little

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and the best service in t ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food and the best service in the business. We love this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a great time catching up with a frie ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Had a great time catching up with a friend. Food is good as always. Brian is the most amazing server ever. It's rare I have to ask for anything as he is always so on top of things. So glad we were able to get in to sit with him.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner for my 30th B-Day was great. The ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Dinner for my 30th B-Day was great. The restaurant had a interesting menu, wonderful meal that was perfectly served by our waiter, who also filled us in on the local community. Hot food and oh so good. All in all, It was perfect I will recommend a lot of people to this restaurant it was awesome!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband told the hostess we had two b ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My husband told the hostess we had two birthdays. She made no comment. The server knew nothing about them at the end of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I love J Alexander's! It has been my fav ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I love J Alexander's! It has been my favorite restaurant for many years considering that I worked there for 6 years I know how clean their kitchen is, how well they prep their food they really go above and beyond!! Very clean, great food, awesome service, and consistent EVERY TIME!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I get to eat there often, it is a 2 1/2 ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I get to eat there often, it is a 2 1/2 hour drive for me but if I'm going to be in Chattanooga I eat there. I didn't have it this trip but their Spinach Queso is excellent! This trip I had the Alex Salad (no tomatoes or cucumber) with salmon. It came out perfect and I especially appreciated the salmon wasn't on top of the cheese to melt it! My only complaint, I only got 3 of the wonderful croutons!

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entrees arrived much too soon, before we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Entrees arrived much too soon, before we could make it halfway through the appetizer. I had the marinated ribeye, but wasn't a fan. However, my wife had the filet and said it was really good. Large birthday party complete with a loud rendition of "Happy Birthday" interrupted the evening. The waiter did apologize, which was nice. The chocolate cake was massive and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent Ribeye, cold drinks, sultry ch ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent Ribeye, cold drinks, sultry chocolate cake and very professional wait staff. I was prepared for expensive but it still seemed high. Although the steak was amazing so I was still very satisfied. I could not afford to go back so I am glad I went for the steak special while I was there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Adam was great, He was always ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our waiter Adam was great, He was always there when needed and very professional. Talked to us like he new us, and showed his knowledge of the menu. Good young man to have on staff.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible steaks! Great service. Moder ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Incredible steaks! Great service. Modern, fun environment.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love J Alexander's, but it was pa ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always love J Alexander's, but it was particularly good on Friday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J. Alexander's was my favorite for such ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

J. Alexander's was my favorite for such a long time. Menu changes, price increase with a food value decrease has damaged what once was a great place. Pollock for grilled fish tacos was bad, fishy and not in a good way. Great if you like cabbage. Shrimp were much better.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

It's a great place to eat with one of th ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It's a great place to eat with one of the best steaks I've had even in trips abroad.

I will be going back many more times and recommend them to everyone

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jonathan my server was very attentive to ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Jonathan my server was very attentive to my needs and his service was great. The manager Andrew stopped by our table before and after our meal that is impressive to me. Other places do not have that attention to detail but J Alexenders does perfect 10 out of 10. Love this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is top-notch! Brian always t ...

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service is top-notch! Brian always takes great care of us going above and beyond. Jay, Thomas, Nick and Carley are favorites as well. We dine at J Alexander's at least once a week as the food is great as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a good dinner of swordfish and wo ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a good dinner of swordfish and wonderful service!

The restaurant was a little loud, no soft sound absorbers .

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a blast dining with your restaura ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a blast dining with your restaurant this past Friday evening. We were celebrating my Mom's 60th birthday. My husband planned it and I executed his idea. She completely and pleasantly surprised and it was worth the hard work! Everything was wonderful! The service was outstanding, our servers were on top of everything throughout the entire evening. The food excellent and came out in a very timely manner. The atmosphere in general was so warm and comfortable. Also, having the manager pay our family so much attention was awesome! Everything that transpired on that very special evening was perfect! I want to personally thank J's for the stand up service that my family received.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great; the service was exce ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was great; the service was excellent. It's a lot pricier than other restaurant chains but the food is a lot better and the menu much more varied. This is my favorite place near the mall in Chattanooga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a great meal!!! Outstanding job by ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

What a great meal!!! Outstanding job by the chef!! Thank you J Alexandar!! I might have been away from home but it felt like home!! You made an impression on my friends also which isn't easy to do!! SUCCESS!!! Thank you again for a wonderful evening!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary at j Alexa ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at j Alexander's and we loved it. Steak Maui and carrot cake are our new favorites. Highly recommend going.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to JAlexanders for ye ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We have been going to JAlexanders for years. Great place.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually a great meal. However our prime ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Usually a great meal. However our prime rib was not very good. It as an end cut and was lukewarm and dry. Not up to the usual high standard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great and the service was fanta ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was great and the service was fantastic! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good. J Alexanders generally has ex ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very good. J Alexanders generally has excellent service and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is an amazing mix and match men ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food is an amazing mix and match menu. The sides are by far consistently good at every J's I've been too. Meat and fish selections are equally enhance with flavor! Must start with the queso dip and the featured steak rolls where divine !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I had the grilled pork w/Thai chili sau ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I had the grilled pork w/Thai chili sauce. It was fabulous....just be sure to room for the carrot cake!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another solid dinner...always a plus whe ...

vip
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Another solid dinner...always a plus when the table is ready as it was tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great meal! Never disappointed ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always a great meal! Never disappointed. They have the freshest salads in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was very good. The special fish ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was very good. The special fish was excellent. The desert, toffee ice cream, was amazing (and HUGE)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have are there several times. Great f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We have are there several times. Great food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This place never disappoints. It's all g ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This place never disappoints. It's all great, but one of the best things is the consistency of having a truly efficient, competent, knowledgeable, and friendly wait staff . Hard to find this day and time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table was ready when we arrived. Service ...

vip
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Table was ready when we arrived.

Service was excellent.

Food was great. BTW, wish they hadn't changed the cheese on the Caesar salad but it was still good.

Solid solid performer...a definite go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit J Alexander's every time we're ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We visit J Alexander's every time we're in the Chattanooga area. Never disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always and consistently one of my top 5 ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always and consistently one of my top 5 restaurants anytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Never a bad experience here. Fine food, ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Never a bad experience here. Fine food, fine service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Straightforward menu and everything is h ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Straightforward menu and everything is high quality. If you like classic preparations of chicken, shrimp, burgers, salads and a few upscale entrees, J. Alexander's is great. While it may seem a little pricey, portions will often serve two people. Wait staff and hostesses are friendly but professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent.

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Can't miss as usual... Great job with o ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Can't miss as usual... Great job with our table of eight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.