About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
10 More
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Best Value
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

special occasion (84)
romantic (47)
fit for foodies (44)
See All
great for lunch (36)
good for groups (32)
notable wine list (22)
great for brunch (22)
neighborhood gem (18)
hot spot (17)
late-night find (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
kid-friendly (11)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is an amazing mix and match men ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food is an amazing mix and match menu. The sides are by far consistently good at every J's I've been too. Meat and fish selections are equally enhance with flavor! Must start with the queso dip and the featured steak rolls where divine !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I had the grilled pork w/Thai chili sau ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 4 days ago

I had the grilled pork w/Thai chili sauce. It was fabulous....just be sure to room for the carrot cake!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal! Never disappointed ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great meal! Never disappointed. They have the freshest salads in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was very good. The special fish ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was very good. The special fish was excellent. The desert, toffee ice cream, was amazing (and HUGE)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have are there several times. Great f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have are there several times. Great food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This place never disappoints. It's all g ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This place never disappoints. It's all great, but one of the best things is the consistency of having a truly efficient, competent, knowledgeable, and friendly wait staff . Hard to find this day and time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table was ready when we arrived. Service ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Table was ready when we arrived.

Service was excellent.

Food was great. BTW, wish they hadn't changed the cheese on the Caesar salad but it was still good.

Solid solid performer...a definite go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit J Alexander's every time we're ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We visit J Alexander's every time we're in the Chattanooga area. Never disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always and consistently one of my top 5 ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always and consistently one of my top 5 restaurants anytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Never a bad experience here. Fine food, ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Never a bad experience here. Fine food, fine service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Straightforward menu and everything is h ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Straightforward menu and everything is high quality. If you like classic preparations of chicken, shrimp, burgers, salads and a few upscale entrees, J. Alexander's is great. While it may seem a little pricey, portions will often serve two people. Wait staff and hostesses are friendly but professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent.

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Can't miss as usual... Great job with o ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Can't miss as usual... Great job with our table of eight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We have waited approximately 17 years to ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We have waited approximately 17 years to return to eat at J. Alexander's. Well, worth the wait. Exquisite food, outstanding service, interaction with manager delightful. We have suggested J. Alexander's to many traveling friends. No fears of them ever being dissappointed. We look forward to returning sooner than another 17 years.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the 1st time we had dined at J ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was the 1st time we had dined at J Alexander's it was a Very enjoyable dining experience.. The food and service was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. Our waiter w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent service and food. Our waiter was the best. The food was delicious and it was quick service for such a busy day. I hadn't eaten here in years and it still has great service and food. It's also kid friendly with it food selections.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for our anniversary but it ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were there for our anniversary but it was Father's Day so the place was rocking. The food was very good as usual and the meal was nicely paced despite the large crowd. Nice touch -- our waitress quietly but emphatically told us to split one dessert. It was very good advice!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hello Everyone. J.Alexander's is a fanta ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Hello Everyone.

J.Alexander's is a fantastic restaurant for anyone to enjoy; no matter what the ages are. This is one of my husband and I favorite restaurants to din

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was recommended this place by a Chat loc ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Was recommended this place by a Chat local we met in a mall - very pleased they mentioned it. Smart but not fussy restaurant with a 'proper' menu, so different to the beige grease available in most American eateries. Had excellent squid starter, crab cake main course, friend had artichokes with dip which was a great find in the menu. Mojito at the bar was a bit average but everything else was really fresh, tasty and a bit of a joy after 4 days of Tennessee deep friedness.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We drive almost an hour and a half to ea ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We drive almost an hour and a half to eat at J Alexander's for special occasions and sometime.....just because we LOVE it. The food is always delicious. The service is always impeccable and the carrot cake is worth everything!

We have brought all of our adult children as well as our grandchildren and they love it as well!

We tell everyone, who will listen, about "our favorite place!"

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Cosmos do Manhattan were outstanding. M ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Cosmos do Manhattan were outstanding.

Miranda did a great job.

Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

All was good,until near end of meal.A la ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

All was good,until near end of meal.A large party was seated next to us for 10-12 .

Evidently,there was more people than table spots.The one person moved very close to our table.One of our guest had to slide all way across to get out.Not a big deal,however when you spend a lot.I feel waiters or mgr.should have handled.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was excellent, the noise level w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Service was excellent, the noise level was a little high and heard to hear and talk over. Overall, the food was great, but the sauces that were applied were hit or miss with a few in our party of 8.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a great evening,great service and ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It was a great evening,great service and great food. I would recommend dining here to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The staff is always great as well as the ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The staff is always great as well as the food. One of our top 3 places to go for any special dinners or lunch.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always very good. The foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The service is always very good. The food is always too notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Nathan, was excellent! We we ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server, Nathan, was excellent! We were originally seated in another server's section, but we preferred a booth. He got permission from the other server to remain with us. He recommended some great beverages from the bar and was very attentive. He made the experience that much better. Our appetizer, salmon dip, and NY strip entrees and side dishes were good. All in all, we had a great dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, salad was outstanding. Bleu ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food, salad was outstanding. Bleu Cheese dressing is the best that I have ever eaten.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I went Tuesday evening for anniversary

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Since it was for our 36th anniversary I had requested a more than normally private table. The person I spoke with by phone suggested the raised area. I was familiar with that part of the restaurant and thought that would be great, so he said he would make a note of it; however, when we arrived about 5 minutes early for our 6:45 reservation, we were seated in the main floor area of the restaurant. I was kind of disappointed that the gentleman either didn't make a note as he said or the hostess didn't check. I chose not to say anything not wanting to put a damper on the evening for my wife. Our server did a great job and the food as usual was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

carrot cake

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The carrot cake is fantastic. We love this place always good food and service. My husband gets the prime rib every time and it is always perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service & atmosphere were excellent!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had the trout and it was a great value for the amount of food served. The carrot cake is the best ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife & I were celebrating our wedding ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

My wife & I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and picked Alexander's on line due in large part to their menu. We had never been in Chattanooga before so it was an unknown quantity. The noise level was high when we entered. We were seated promptly at an upper level corner table and I did not notice the noise being too distracting from then on. Both the service and food were excellent from the soup through desert. Our waiter was attentive without being obtrusive and was able to describe the menu. Overall it was a quite pleasurable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for old friends to reunite! ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great place for old friends to reunite! Good food, pleasant folks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal. Great place for a very n ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent meal. Great place for a very nice dinner/special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Am definitely going back and recommend t ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Am definitely going back and recommend to everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Michael, the manager, went over the top ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Michael, the manager, went over the top to accommodate us and take care of our group for the birthday girl. We felt like he truly cared about our experience and was so kind!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last time I wrote a review, I was not ha ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Last time I wrote a review, I was not happy about the service. This time the service was top notch! This is what we have come to expect when we come here. The food is outstanding. We had our usual grilled artichokes. I highly recommend trying these as they are the best I have had anywhere. I had the amberjack which was cooked to perfection. They always seem to cook fish to just the right texture for my taste. This is one of our favorite places, and we highly recommend trying it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What an evening!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Everyone there went out of their way to make us feel special. We went to celebrate our 34th anniversary, and we will be back. Special thanks to the Manager Andrew, Randy and Peyton. They welcomed us by name and treated us like the only customer they had. Thank you for a memorable evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful friendly professional service. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Wonderful friendly professional service. Food is great. You've got to try the carrot cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.