About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
10 More
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Best Value
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

Special Occasion (74)
Romantic (38)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Great for Lunch (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Brunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's a great place to eat with one of th ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It's a great place to eat with one of the best steaks I've had even in trips abroad.

I will be going back many more times and recommend them to everyone

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jonathan my server was very attentive to ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Jonathan my server was very attentive to my needs and his service was great. The manager Andrew stopped by our table before and after our meal that is impressive to me. Other places do not have that attention to detail but J Alexenders does perfect 10 out of 10. Love this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is top-notch! Brian always t ...

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service is top-notch! Brian always takes great care of us going above and beyond. Jay, Thomas, Nick and Carley are favorites as well. We dine at J Alexander's at least once a week as the food is great as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a good dinner of swordfish and wo ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a good dinner of swordfish and wonderful service!

The restaurant was a little loud, no soft sound absorbers .

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a blast dining with your restaura ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a blast dining with your restaurant this past Friday evening. We were celebrating my Mom's 60th birthday. My husband planned it and I executed his idea. She completely and pleasantly surprised and it was worth the hard work! Everything was wonderful! The service was outstanding, our servers were on top of everything throughout the entire evening. The food excellent and came out in a very timely manner. The atmosphere in general was so warm and comfortable. Also, having the manager pay our family so much attention was awesome! Everything that transpired on that very special evening was perfect! I want to personally thank J's for the stand up service that my family received.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great; the service was exce ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was great; the service was excellent. It's a lot pricier than other restaurant chains but the food is a lot better and the menu much more varied. This is my favorite place near the mall in Chattanooga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary at j Alexa ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at j Alexander's and we loved it. Steak Maui and carrot cake are our new favorites. Highly recommend going.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to JAlexanders for ye ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We have been going to JAlexanders for years. Great place.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually a great meal. However our prime ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Usually a great meal. However our prime rib was not very good. It as an end cut and was lukewarm and dry. Not up to the usual high standard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great and the service was fanta ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was great and the service was fantastic! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good. J Alexanders generally has ex ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very good. J Alexanders generally has excellent service and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is an amazing mix and match men ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food is an amazing mix and match menu. The sides are by far consistently good at every J's I've been too. Meat and fish selections are equally enhance with flavor! Must start with the queso dip and the featured steak rolls where divine !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I had the grilled pork w/Thai chili sau ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I had the grilled pork w/Thai chili sauce. It was fabulous....just be sure to room for the carrot cake!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another solid dinner...always a plus whe ...

vip
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Another solid dinner...always a plus when the table is ready as it was tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great meal! Never disappointed ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always a great meal! Never disappointed. They have the freshest salads in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was very good. The special fish ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was very good. The special fish was excellent. The desert, toffee ice cream, was amazing (and HUGE)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have are there several times. Great f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We have are there several times. Great food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This place never disappoints. It's all g ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This place never disappoints. It's all great, but one of the best things is the consistency of having a truly efficient, competent, knowledgeable, and friendly wait staff . Hard to find this day and time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table was ready when we arrived. Service ...

vip
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Table was ready when we arrived.

Service was excellent.

Food was great. BTW, wish they hadn't changed the cheese on the Caesar salad but it was still good.

Solid solid performer...a definite go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit J Alexander's every time we're ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We visit J Alexander's every time we're in the Chattanooga area. Never disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always and consistently one of my top 5 ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always and consistently one of my top 5 restaurants anytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Never a bad experience here. Fine food, ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Never a bad experience here. Fine food, fine service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Straightforward menu and everything is h ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Straightforward menu and everything is high quality. If you like classic preparations of chicken, shrimp, burgers, salads and a few upscale entrees, J. Alexander's is great. While it may seem a little pricey, portions will often serve two people. Wait staff and hostesses are friendly but professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent.

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Can't miss as usual... Great job with o ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Can't miss as usual... Great job with our table of eight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We have waited approximately 17 years to ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We have waited approximately 17 years to return to eat at J. Alexander's. Well, worth the wait. Exquisite food, outstanding service, interaction with manager delightful. We have suggested J. Alexander's to many traveling friends. No fears of them ever being dissappointed. We look forward to returning sooner than another 17 years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the 1st time we had dined at J ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was the 1st time we had dined at J Alexander's it was a Very enjoyable dining experience.. The food and service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. Our waiter w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent service and food. Our waiter was the best. The food was delicious and it was quick service for such a busy day. I hadn't eaten here in years and it still has great service and food. It's also kid friendly with it food selections.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for our anniversary but it ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were there for our anniversary but it was Father's Day so the place was rocking. The food was very good as usual and the meal was nicely paced despite the large crowd. Nice touch -- our waitress quietly but emphatically told us to split one dessert. It was very good advice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hello Everyone. J.Alexander's is a fanta ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Hello Everyone.

J.Alexander's is a fantastic restaurant for anyone to enjoy; no matter what the ages are. This is one of my husband and I favorite restaurants to din

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was recommended this place by a Chat loc ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Was recommended this place by a Chat local we met in a mall - very pleased they mentioned it. Smart but not fussy restaurant with a 'proper' menu, so different to the beige grease available in most American eateries. Had excellent squid starter, crab cake main course, friend had artichokes with dip which was a great find in the menu. Mojito at the bar was a bit average but everything else was really fresh, tasty and a bit of a joy after 4 days of Tennessee deep friedness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We drive almost an hour and a half to ea ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We drive almost an hour and a half to eat at J Alexander's for special occasions and sometime.....just because we LOVE it. The food is always delicious. The service is always impeccable and the carrot cake is worth everything!

We have brought all of our adult children as well as our grandchildren and they love it as well!

We tell everyone, who will listen, about "our favorite place!"

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Cosmos do Manhattan were outstanding. M ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Cosmos do Manhattan were outstanding.

Miranda did a great job.

Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

All was good,until near end of meal.A la ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

All was good,until near end of meal.A large party was seated next to us for 10-12 .

Evidently,there was more people than table spots.The one person moved very close to our table.One of our guest had to slide all way across to get out.Not a big deal,however when you spend a lot.I feel waiters or mgr.should have handled.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was excellent, the noise level w ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Service was excellent, the noise level was a little high and heard to hear and talk over. Overall, the food was great, but the sauces that were applied were hit or miss with a few in our party of 8.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a great evening,great service and ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It was a great evening,great service and great food. I would recommend dining here to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The staff is always great as well as the ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The staff is always great as well as the food. One of our top 3 places to go for any special dinners or lunch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always very good. The foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The service is always very good. The food is always too notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Nathan, was excellent! We we ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server, Nathan, was excellent! We were originally seated in another server's section, but we preferred a booth. He got permission from the other server to remain with us. He recommended some great beverages from the bar and was very attentive. He made the experience that much better. Our appetizer, salmon dip, and NY strip entrees and side dishes were good. All in all, we had a great dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.