Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Special Occasion (50)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Romantic (44)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Casual (30)
Worth the Drive (25)
Business Meals (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Cozy (23)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Fun (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Authentic (5)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
627 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a very good experience! Our server was WONDERFUL--very friendly, knowledgeable and willing to ask questions of the kitchen when we had them while ordering.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We haven't been in a while because the noise level
Was so loud and the meat was a lower quality... this experience was maybe the best in a long time.. steak was a better quality we were very surprised... hope it will continue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 14, 2017

More window sitting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The service at this J Alexander's is always top notch!

The Emerald Shrimp appetizer, Ahi Tuna Salad, and the AMAZING carrot cake made for a delicious dinner!

I will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

On our way through Chattanooga home from vacation, found J. Alexander's as it was next to our hotel. Great food and great service! Prices are a little high, but the steaks were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants! We go for date night, friend visits, occasions or any time. Just a great place to have a very nice meal and be served by friendly attentive staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I went to dinner solo after a long day at work. Other than it being really loud in the dinning room (might have been the Large party celebrating someone's birthday), everything was great.

Adam was my waiter and he took exceptional care of me. He ended up getting me 3 different water glasses as the previous ones were dirty (not his fault). I had the prime rib with roasted beets and it was amazing! I would diffenty go back and recommend it to those eating alone or with a group.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Tuna is wonderful and
New York strip one of best ever eaten

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Friendly and excellent service.. The best Prime Rib in all of Chattanooga. My wife and I have had dinner on most of our anniversaries dinners here and we love the restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great as always. Our favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 2, 2017

- Food was above average but nothing extraordinary. We ordered the salmon dip, and two filets.
- Service was fantastic! Our drinks were never empty and the staff was very knowledgeable.
- There was an odd smell near the center of the restaurant. Not sure if that was the building or a patron's BO. Didn't really effect us as we were seated at the edge next to a window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a party of 10 and were seated and served in no time at all. Great experience from start to finish. Hats off to the staff a J Alexander's.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food and service were excellent. It was very noisy and very cold. It would have been perfect without the cold draft blowing on us.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent food and service consistently. The only complaint I have ever had its that is is a touch too loud. I will say that a tall booth did help that significantly!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great service! Great food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary. The staff was exceptional and the customer service was excellent from beginning to ending. Everyone from waitress to management and all in between came to wish us a Happy Anniversary.....even giving us a card abd free dessert. It made us feel really special. We will usually visit other cities for special occassions, but this did the trick and we didn't have to leave our city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We sat at a very dim lit table. Loved this atmosphere. Romantic for our date night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Birthday. Destiny was the best server we have had at J's. Been coming for over 10 years.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We have visited J. Alexander numerous times and have never been disappointed. The service is always prompt and professional. The food is always very good. We recommend this Chattanooga location and will visit again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always good food. Service is superb. Never wait for attention. Can be a bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Loved the food, the service, and the overall cleanliness of the restaurant. Our server was attentive but not bothersome. We will definitely dine at J. Alexander's, Chattanooga, TN again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everything was excellent but the pregnant hostess. I understand not feeling well but on Father's Day she definitely needed an attitude adjustment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We went on a Saturday evening...busy place ! We had reservations so got a booth immediately. Prime rib was good, strip steak was good. Our waitress was incredibly attentive and we were thankful for that, as it was really busy at 6 pm. We would definitely go back for lunch during the week.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Menu prices are extremely expensive for Chattanooga, TN. I ordered a prime rib sandwich, which was $19, and I could not eat it as a sandwich. Meat was too thick and too tough. I was sorely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The only issue that we encountered was that our reservation was not in the system when we arrived but with the email and confirmation number, we were seated in less than 10 minutes wait time and were given a free appetizer that we weren't expecting since our wait wasn't that long. We've always experienced great service and great food when we've selected this restaurant. We will always find our way back to J's.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Superb brunch. Alexander's is my favorite restaurant. This was our first time for brunch and they didn't let us down. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The place is very nice and clean. We were seated very quickly. Our waiter came to the table shortly after. He answered our questions and gave recommendations. I had the rotisserie half chicken, baked potato and broccoli. Everything was very flavorful and plenty of food! My grandson got the prime rib and said he has never tasted any better than this. He was very impressed with it. The restaurant has a relaxed atmosphere and was fairly quiet, so we were able to visit. We enjoyed our meal and the time spent there. We will be back and recommmend this place to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My husband took me and my sister out prior to a concert and it was fabulous! Food was great, service was great and the restaurant was beautiful. I had the crab cakes as an entree and it was filled with crab meat ONLY! No fillers!! Loved it!!! My husband had steak and smashed potatoes that were piled HIGH!!! My sister had trout, very well prepared with an amazing cold slaw! Highly recommended!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We love dining at J. Alexander's. We know we will have great service and incredible dining.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Way to loud not an energetic loud obnoxious loud don't remember it like that. Steaks have fallen short over last 6 mo... tough w gristle ... service was lengthy.very hit and miss lately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We don't have J. Alexander's in St. Louis, but sure wish they would open a restaurant near us. Great food and service. Best crab cakes I have ever tasted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 30, 2017

My wife and I were delighted to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary at J Alexander's. The atmosphere was warm and cozy with soft lighting from chandeliers and candles. We were given huge portions of food which was very delicious. Thanks again for helping make our special day even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent Food and Service. The restaurant is just too loud. Can't have a good conversation due to the noise level. It's just people talking but it is too loud. Needs some type of noise absorbers or something to decrease the noise.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great fun with friend on a Saturday. We were running late and we're still accommodated with a wonderful seat. Enjoyed the service, and the food was great as always. Not too many gluten free options if you also can't do potatoes, yet the meal I had was lovely!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Still our favorite. You need to try the carrot cake! I am not a fan of cakes but found this one to be yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

FABULOUS birthday with daughter and granddaughter. The food is always consistent; always delicious; reservations easy. My favorite place in Chattanooga.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Where we were seated was great (table 71), will definitely ask for that table again. We did have a crying baby near us which was annoying (sorry, but we are not a kid friendly group) but they finally took her out about 2/3rds through our dinner and our pleasant evening resumed. Drinks were great, food was great, service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was okay. I'm not sure if you can justify the price for the quality of food you receive, but it could be due to what we ordered (steak and pasta... steak not as tender as you would hope and the pasta could use more flavor).

Know that if you get a side salad or soup with your meal, expect to pay another 6 bucks for either one. Service was great, hostess kicked a**, but based upon the price vs. quality, I can't recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We eat here at least 8 to 10 times per month. I took my mother for Mother's Day dinner and it was not a very pleasant experience. The staff was inexperienced and the food was subpar for this location. It was disappointing to say the least.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.