Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (72)
Good for a Date (64)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
See All
Business Meals (50)
Romantic (50)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Good for Groups (34)
Notable Wine List (28)
Great for Lunch (28)
Casual (27)
Worth the Drive (25)
Cozy (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Modern Decor (21)
Outstanding Value (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fun (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Authentic (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Healthy (6)
Family Style (5)
Great Beer (5)
Seasonal (5)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fireplace (2)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
560 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 3 days ago

The Prime Rib is always wonderful. We had a 9 person B-day celebration and the wait staff was very patient with us. Some of us ordered off the brunch menu and said it was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

In town for tennis tournament

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Next level service and food. My 16 oz. ribeye was melt in your (my) mouth delicious. My wife's prime rib was very tender and favorable. For years this restaurant has been our go-to for dining when visiting the Chattanooga area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Top shelf Service Food and atmosphere

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food was excellent. Too noisy couldn't even hear what our guests were talking about at our own table
Also the handicapped parking was not close to the main entrance it was way down at the other end of the parking lot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent!!!! First time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The quality of food and service are outstanding! Their prime rib is the best in town and their grilled salmon is the best I have eaten anywhere this side of Alaska. I order it regularly and have never been disappointed. No fishy taste. Salads and soup are great. We tried the huevos rolls this time and they were delicious. We made a calorie splurge and ordered a slice of carrot cake to go. It is plenty large enough to share and delicious served warm! J Alexander' is a little pricey but worth it. Our meal with an appetizer, salads, steaks, and dessert to share was $103 before tip. We had no alcoholic beverages.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

As usual the food was terrific and the service excellent. However, the noise level is horrible - acoustics bad. My father is hard of hearing and it is very difficult to have a conversation with him due to the noise level.
I had to submit a "noise level" response above, but my choice does not reflect how bad it is. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

good service, good options on menu , open table reservation according to reservation schedule.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Met friends for dinner here. Good food and ambience for the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Good meal! Steak was a little overdone. Surprised that you did not receive a salad with the filet when the cost was $33.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food, and great service, my date and I had a really good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was great the staff was very attentive and knowledgeable I loved the seating the bar staff was on point enjoyed the evening very much.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food is great but it is extremely loud to the point that it is difficult to have conversation even while sitting side by side.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was a little confusing because we had 3 servers. Overall a great place and I would dine there again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing as always we thoroughly enjoy eating here almost comparable to Ruth Chris love it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Celebrated our daughter's 21st Birthday. Nathan was an outstanding server. Food was amazing. Recommend the mac n cheese if you like that sort of thing. Our first time here. Won't be our last!

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was perfect, as usual! The deviled eggs with candied bacon are a MUST when on the menu! My husband gets the prime rib every time and every time it is cooked and served to perfection! We mentioned it was a birthday celebration and we got a piece of the carrot cake on the house! Love this place!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I'd never been to J. Alexander's. It definitely did not disappoint. The food was amazing and the guest service was GREAT!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

J. Alexanders is one of the best restaurants in East Brainerd. It is always clean, the service is amazjng, and the food is wonderful! My family and I have been going there for years and have never had a disapointing meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We eat at J's a couple times a month. Lunch is always good and we have clients that are always up for a meeting there. Great menu and staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was reasonable, but not great (which I would expect in this price range). Brought our food, but had to ask for silverware twice for our party of 4. Seating was prompt, booth seating was comfortable. I will go back because of quality of food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Have always come to rely on the competence of this chain whether in Birmingham, Alabama or in Chattanooga, Tennessee. It is always busy, the menu diverse, and the staff helpful, friendly and attentive. On this occasion I particularly enjoyed the Ahi tuna that was an ordinary menu item. I had never had tuna steak grilled and served in the manner as a beef tenderloin filet. The fish was fresh, and the seasoning just a bit underdone so that I could then tailor my flavoring with the wasabi mayo and dipping sauce. This preparation and presentation allowed for each bite to be individually perfect. Would have it again in a heartbeat as the cut was of a very generous proportion and cooked perfectly rare.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The waitress was rude. Didn't check on us. Other waiters/waitresses had to bring us drinks and our silverware after food was served. Waitress only came to table rushing us to take away place of food which she thought we were done with. She paid more attention to her other tables then us. Think we only saw her maybe two or three times the whole night. I think this a great place just a few bad apples.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and service. Our waiter was Ericka she was great and I like the way the restaurant works as a team. Everyone helped each other out whenever someone was attending another customer

Tags: Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Overall pleased with the whole experience. Food was phenomenal and service is bar none. Was a little disappointed we still had to wait 20 minutes even though we had a reservation. Also that the stoney river and j. Alexander gift cards are not interchangeable seeing how I was transferred to the j. Alexander website after trying to reserve a table for stoney river. But I was NOT upset that I could not use my gift card because the food was exceptional with great wine selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I surprised my girlfriend with a Valentine's dinner and I had a reservation. They were very busy, but we were seated in about 10 passed out reservation time. Which was very understandable. The server's and management were all working very efficiently and everything was going smoothly. We were very empresses.
The meals were awesome, everything was cooked the way that we had asked it to be.
And I surprised my girlfriend with a carrot cake that I had ordered ahead of time.
It was the best carrot cake that we have ever had.
Thank you J. Alexander's for an awesome experience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

omg!..first time there but FIRST IMPRESSION IS A LASTING ONE!..WILL BE BACK!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

An overall amazing dining experience.. excellent service and great food!! Best in Chattanooga!!!
Bravo

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I went here for Valentine's Day, the whole experience was outstanding, from the food, to the service, everything was outstanding. We will come back. Thank you for making this night even more special. I have and will recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food and service was great. Reservations for Valentine's Day gad us seated in 20 min with walk in guests willing to wait 2+ hours for a table. Great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I'm always pleased with the outstanding service and the beautiful atmosphere here at JALEXANDER's it's definitely a winner for every occasion. Marcus our server was very attentive even though it was very busy. He's awesome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I recently went to j alexanders for valentines but was also our anniversary it was a very good experience our service and food were excellent! We had a great evening and didn't feel rushed! We will definitely be back great staff , great food, great place to eat !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a reservation on Valentine's Day at 5:45pm. We were promptly seated at 5:48pm. The staff was very professional in greeting us and service. The manager even came over and asked if we needed more drinks. He took it upon himself to add that extra touch of class to their already outstanding service.

J Alexander's in Chattanooga sets the standard for service excellence!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding service and food. We booked the reservation two days ahead and we're seated immediately on Valentine's Day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was there for the carrot cake as much as anything and it is amazing....I ordered prime rib sandwich and it was very good...my wife ordered fish tacos...not warning her about how hot the sauce is on them is the reason I could not rate the food a five star...she was able to rake a lot of it off and made it through the meal but a little warning to start would have been nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was great and so was the food! Thank you for making our evening special

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service and quality of the food is always superior, for lunch, or dinner. The brunch is great and the bar service is always top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I made reservations for 845 pm. The restaurant was super busy when we arrived. We only had to wait about 10 minutes passed reservstion time which was amazing cause they really were busy. Our waitress was on her game. This was our 1st time here and we will definitely go back. Best experience at a restaurant hands down.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is one of the best places in Chattanooga to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.