About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
You know Dad wants a steak for Father's Day! Take him to J. Alexander's! Make your reservations today!

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Value
East Tennessee
9 More
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Romantic
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

special occasion (103)
romantic (75)
great for lunch (50)
See All
fit for foodies (49)
good for groups (41)
notable wine list (39)
neighborhood gem (33)
vibrant bar scene (28)
hot spot (27)
great for brunch (25)
late-night find (17)
kid-friendly (15)
great for outdoor dining (11)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for old friends to reunite! ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great place for old friends to reunite! Good food, pleasant folks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal. Great place for a very n ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent meal. Great place for a very nice dinner/special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Am definitely going back and recommend t ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Am definitely going back and recommend to everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael, the manager, went over the top ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Michael, the manager, went over the top to accommodate us and take care of our group for the birthday girl. We felt like he truly cared about our experience and was so kind!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Last time I wrote a review, I was not ha ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Last time I wrote a review, I was not happy about the service. This time the service was top notch! This is what we have come to expect when we come here. The food is outstanding. We had our usual grilled artichokes. I highly recommend trying these as they are the best I have had anywhere. I had the amberjack which was cooked to perfection. They always seem to cook fish to just the right texture for my taste. This is one of our favorite places, and we highly recommend trying it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an evening!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everyone there went out of their way to make us feel special. We went to celebrate our 34th anniversary, and we will be back. Special thanks to the Manager Andrew, Randy and Peyton. They welcomed us by name and treated us like the only customer they had. Thank you for a memorable evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful friendly professional service. ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Wonderful friendly professional service. Food is great. You've got to try the carrot cake.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. J Alexander's does it right!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved it. J Alexander's does it right!

food3
ambience3
service4

It was Mothers Day so was very crowded. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mothers Day so was very crowded. The orzo side dish was fabulous as always. I ordered a ribeye and it was very tough. The manager did offer to get another one for me, which I declined. so he removed it from our bill.

food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful place for quiet lunch. Menu ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

A wonderful place for quiet lunch. Menu extensive, delicious and presented well. Manager checked to see if everything was satisfactory. I would highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Consistently good, Emerald Coast Sh ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food Consistently good, Emerald Coast Shrimp, Filet & Salmon and wonderful desserts, carrot cake

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was Spectacular and food was fantastic

Dined on May 7, 2016

The server was the best ever in my life, and i have quite a bit of eating out experience. The appetizer Smoked Salmon Dip came out fast and was very tasty. Not a hint of fishy just delicious sea aromas, and very light and subtle. Dinner course came out right on time. Meat was prepared to the perfect temperature and was well seasoned. Dessert was a decadent carrot cake. Warm and not overly sweet. We have been to this restaurant before and enjoyed it but they were on top of their game that Saturday night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food

Dined on May 7, 2016

We are never disappointed with our meals at J Alexander's. The internet booking option worked great for us. We made our reservation online and our table was ready when we arrived. Great service. Great food. Consistent quality.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food, great service. Will go back ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Good food, great service. Will go back again. Good atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great birthday gathering

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food and service is always consistently good. One of my favorite places in Chattanooga to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was exceptional. Woul ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Food and service was exceptional. Would highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We eat at J Alexander's whenever we are in Chattanooga. It is consistently great food and a great value. Service is always good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great ambiance... Great exp ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food, great ambiance... Great experience!

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Not worth the money

Dined on April 23, 2016

Loud like a cafeteria, Food not worth the money, I've had a lot better for a lot less. Its supposed to be fine dining (shorts and hats shouldn't be allowed). Only ordered dinner and it took forever, wasn't busy at all. Should give you some type of bread/rolls. Only seen our waitress 3 times throughout the night, she took my order, asked about dessert and gave us the check.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Afternoon lunch with close friends

Dined on April 19, 2016

I have been going to this restaurant for over 15 years and have never had any bad food. The upgrades to the interior are very pleasing. However, I have noticed a trend for the noise level to be approaching an unacceptable level that hampers a quiet conversation between two couples. My wife loves the food, especially the Emerald Coast Shrimip. The location in Chattanooga seems to quite a bit better than the location in Birmingham at the Gallaria Mall. The ability to make an advance reservation will increase my attendance there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food. Had the filet and chicken salad. Very busy place. Manager does a great job.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and Fantastic

Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I love coming to J. Alexanders-Chattanooga for our monthly date night! We always are excited to get the Queso for appetizer, and follow it up with Steak Maui. This meal beats any other restaurant by a mile.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch dining experience, never rushe ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Top notch dining experience, never rushed.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Bad Experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

We showed and up and was seated early. Ordered our drinks and when we received our water is smelled like fish and didn't even have ice in the cups. We recieved our steaks which were orderd medium and they were pouring blood when you tried to cut it. The server came back to check on us maybe twice. Overall this was not a good experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

spectaculer

Dined on April 9, 2016

I could not say enough good things about our visit.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch

Dined on April 8, 2016

We love to go to Jays, although, I wish that they would serve brunch on Sundays. We love going out after lunch and would like to have somewhere closer to go

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 2, 2016

Wonderful meal, my wife had the filet and I the prime rib and my son the shrimp with the waiter suggestions. Great meal , our Waiter was top notch. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

lATE DINING

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had to cancel our reservation due to heavy traffic conditions, but got in on our own just a few minutes before closing. The food was good, the service was great, and we did not feel at all rushed. We plan to return next time we are in the Chattanooga TN area .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebration!!!

Dined on March 31, 2016

We celebrated our daughters's 18th birthday and the experience was great. Thanks for helping to make the day special!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a Very good dining experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent food, and service will certainly return. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Always a great meal when dining here. Te ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a great meal when dining here. Tends to be a little loud atmosphere but still enjoyable. If you are looking for a quite dinner spot might want to pick another place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my all time favorites in Chattanooga

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

This is my always go to stop if in the Chattanooga area. Great food and super service every time. I would love to tell you about their menu but cannot seem to get past their wonderful chicken tender platter. Just the most friendly staff and always top-notch service!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Wonderful food. Beautiful ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great service. Wonderful food. Beautiful atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Stopped here in middle if long road trip and wanted a good meal. We were blown away! Walked in and greeted by 3 huge smiles (one opened the door for us) then we were greeted in seconds by a friendly server who was not our own. Shelley was the server and she was fantastic from start to finish. We have two small kids and we really appreciate how Shelley and the rest of the staff smiled and interacted with our kids but were mindful not to put knives and hot dishes within reach. You would be surprised how often these things are overlooked when we dine out. The food was what really went over the top. We were offered roasted oysters and couldn't say no. So glad we didn't. They were amazing! Reminded me of Drago's oyster house in New Orleans! Wife got chili and salad. She said it might be the best chili she's ever had in a restaurant. I got the fried shrimp and they were spot on perfect. This was the perfect stop on a long trip and I'm so glad we tried it out. We will return on the way back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Andrew was our server. He was spectacula ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Andrew was our server. He was spectacular. Food was great, as usual.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

FIrst visit made a lasting impression

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was our first time dining at J. Alexanders. We were visiting Chattanooga for our anniversary and the hotel had a Ruth Chris Steakhouse attached but my husband didn't want that so we decided to try J. Alexanders. We used open table to reserve our time and love that we did because when we got there we were seated immediately. The service is impeccable and we loved the food. Found out there is one here in Atlanta that we will definitely add to our date nite list of restaurants.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scotty's Favorite

Dined on February 27, 2016

Our family loves J. Alexander's. The atmosphere is always positive. The food is great! Managers and Servers are always so courteous and professional.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My absolute favorite place to eat. The w ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

My absolute favorite place to eat. The whole staff makes us feel so special. Don't leave without the trying the carrot cake. You can thank me for it later. :)

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Consistent excellent dining

Dined on February 22, 2016

I love J Alexander's grilled salmon. I really have a difficult time not ordering it and making another choice. At dinner, I order the lunch portion, loaded baked potatoe and a salad. It is the only restaurant I get Thousand Island dressing, on the side. There is something "spunky" about it and I really enjoy it. Wish I had room for desert. Know there Carrot Cake is awesome, but no room! I make reservations on Open Table and no wait. Great choice for dining out.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Definitely not their best effort

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

This time ja was off from their usual A game....table was not ready at the reservation time and then we circled the dining room and went by the first and second tables that were supposedly ready and circled until we came to a third table at which we were seated Food was up to standard but carrot cake was not available..."making more" ..."10 minutes" said 2 separate people spaced a good interval apart...maybe or maybe not...service was not the usual best in town this particular night but it still is the best chain restaurant experience in general We have had excellent flat bread appetizers here but lately none available...,"the Nashville location always has them"said the waiter assistant..why?

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.