Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (48)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
See All
Romantic (41)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Casual (32)
Business Meals (29)
Great for Lunch (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Cozy (19)
Bar Seating (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fun (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Family Style (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Authentic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quick Bite (5)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 21 hours ago

Birthday. Destiny was the best server we have had at J's. Been coming for over 10 years.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 2 days ago

We have visited J. Alexander numerous times and have never been disappointed. The service is always prompt and professional. The food is always very good. We recommend this Chattanooga location and will visit again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Always good food. Service is superb. Never wait for attention. Can be a bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the food, the service, and the overall cleanliness of the restaurant. Our server was attentive but not bothersome. We will definitely dine at J. Alexander's, Chattanooga, TN again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was excellent but the pregnant hostess. I understand not feeling well but on Father's Day she definitely needed an attitude adjustment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

We went on a Saturday evening...busy place ! We had reservations so got a booth immediately. Prime rib was good, strip steak was good. Our waitress was incredibly attentive and we were thankful for that, as it was really busy at 6 pm. We would definitely go back for lunch during the week.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The only issue that we encountered was that our reservation was not in the system when we arrived but with the email and confirmation number, we were seated in less than 10 minutes wait time and were given a free appetizer that we weren't expecting since our wait wasn't that long. We've always experienced great service and great food when we've selected this restaurant. We will always find our way back to J's.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Superb brunch. Alexander's is my favorite restaurant. This was our first time for brunch and they didn't let us down. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My husband took me and my sister out prior to a concert and it was fabulous! Food was great, service was great and the restaurant was beautiful. I had the crab cakes as an entree and it was filled with crab meat ONLY! No fillers!! Loved it!!! My husband had steak and smashed potatoes that were piled HIGH!!! My sister had trout, very well prepared with an amazing cold slaw! Highly recommended!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We love dining at J. Alexander's. We know we will have great service and incredible dining.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We don't have J. Alexander's in St. Louis, but sure wish they would open a restaurant near us. Great food and service. Best crab cakes I have ever tasted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 30, 2017

My wife and I were delighted to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary at J Alexander's. The atmosphere was warm and cozy with soft lighting from chandeliers and candles. We were given huge portions of food which was very delicious. Thanks again for helping make our special day even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent Food and Service. The restaurant is just too loud. Can't have a good conversation due to the noise level. It's just people talking but it is too loud. Needs some type of noise absorbers or something to decrease the noise.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great fun with friend on a Saturday. We were running late and we're still accommodated with a wonderful seat. Enjoyed the service, and the food was great as always. Not too many gluten free options if you also can't do potatoes, yet the meal I had was lovely!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Still our favorite. You need to try the carrot cake! I am not a fan of cakes but found this one to be yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

FABULOUS birthday with daughter and granddaughter. The food is always consistent; always delicious; reservations easy. My favorite place in Chattanooga.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Where we were seated was great (table 71), will definitely ask for that table again. We did have a crying baby near us which was annoying (sorry, but we are not a kid friendly group) but they finally took her out about 2/3rds through our dinner and our pleasant evening resumed. Drinks were great, food was great, service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was okay. I'm not sure if you can justify the price for the quality of food you receive, but it could be due to what we ordered (steak and pasta... steak not as tender as you would hope and the pasta could use more flavor).

Know that if you get a side salad or soup with your meal, expect to pay another 6 bucks for either one. Service was great, hostess kicked a**, but based upon the price vs. quality, I can't recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

alexanders is one of our favorites. this time it was mothers day so it was mega busy.
i got something i had never got before and it was just OK.
my wifes filet was a little over cooked.

my son got the philly... and he thought it was just OK.



we will go back... , hopefully better next time.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server did a great job without hovering over us. The noise level was the only drawback but ,there is nothing to do about it except go at a less popular time. The food quality was great, the presentation wonderful. A great celebration with my family.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

J's remains our favorite in Chattanooga. We celebrated Mothers Day there; our reservations were perfect, we were seated immediately; service was as usual very attentive, and the food was all very nice. My wife is a scallop lover and was delighted to find the as a special (although a bit pricey) on the holiday menu. We'll go again soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Way too loud! Could not hear people at our own table. Shrimp taco werejust ok. Server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was great - but at the end of our meal the manager came to our table to rush us out - it was very disrespectful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

J Alexanders is one of my favorite places to eat. Typically, I have no complaints, but this time our order came out wrong on two of our plates. The restaurant was very busy and it took longer than usual for the waitress to return to our table. It took so long, I just did not bother to correct my order. In addition, the restaurant was very UNpleasantly loud. It was difficult to have a conversation with those at my table. I could not wait to get out of there this time. I will not return on a day when it is typically busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

An exceptional meal from steaks to seafood. Great service. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Went for anniversary. Always great service and foid. Tried the famous Mac and cheese is it was alright. Just my opinion.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Very good. It has been a number of years since I've been there and it was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We stopped here to grab a quick dinner on our way home to Atlanta. It was conveniently located near I-75 and the food and service were great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My best friend and I went for a nice dinner to catch up! The hostess was so nice, as well as our server. Our margaritas were to die for, and our meal was amazing! I love J. Alexanders!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good food, need to find way to reduce noise. Difficult to have a conversation with people at the same table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our servers name was Candice and she was terrible. She never refilled our drinks and I understand people can be busy but we watched her talking to fellow employees. The ONLY time we received refills was when another server brought our food out. We seen her when she took out order and when she brought our check. We eat at Jalexandeds several times per month and have been for many years. The food is ALWAYS excellent but this had to be the poorest service we have ever received. I don't expect much but if I am going to spend 100 dollars on dinner I expect great service and great food. That's what I'm paying for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. Jay was great and made the meal with his recommendations.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It was too loud inside but luckily we found a table outside in the courtyard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 18, 2017

we love J's
.........................................................

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Since it was Easter Sunday, We were quite surprised at the level of noise. The seating was fine and we were in a high traffic area from the kitchen. The clatter of plates from the kitchen seemed to be quite noisy. The restaurant is set up as a casual place and is not on the par with other higher priced restaurants. We liked the food and the staff was very engaging and friendly. The manager stopped by for a quick "How was your food." and the tone of the crowd lessened as the afternoon went by. We didn't have to wait too long for our reservation but it was after all a holiday and the crowd seemed to be diverse. It was a nice meal and we will consider returning on a less busy time to evaluate the noise levels.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love J Alexanders and eat here after church at least 2 times per month. If you are seated near the kitchen, you will have a difficult time conversing. It is quite loud. But, the food is consistently good and the service is too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everyone in the restaurant was awesome. We were treated great. I all always stop by when I'm in town. We were seated fast, orders taken fast, and food arrived fast. We were in and out within 45 minutes on a busy holiday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were at the table for quite sometime and the server was so sweet and nice and didn't rush us at all. She was very knowledgeable. The food and service were outstanding. She was one of the best servers that we have ever had there and they are all usually very good. We loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent service and food. Server was attentive and able to provide special requests we asked for food seasoning. Always an enjoyable experience. Here.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.