Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (58)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Romantic (45)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Casual (30)
Business Meals (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Great for Lunch (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Cozy (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fun (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (3)
Spicy (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 3 days ago

I always look forward to a trip to J. Alexanders because I can trust that the food and service will both be good. I typically go to local food restaurants or locally-owned restaurants, but I will occasionally make the trip to the mall just for J. Alexanders. I've never had a bad experience, and in addition to the good food and service, it's usually a relaxing afternoon or evening out. I definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent meal superb service.. Derek is a fine polite excellent waiter!!! We will ask for him every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

Even though we had a reservation, it took 30 mins to get seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It was very good.. we enjoyed our meal thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2017

There were 6 of us in our party to celebrate a birthday. We got in quickly with the Open Table reservation, and our server was very friendly and funny. We had a great time. Oh, and the food was excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Have been to other J Alexanders and staff was very knowledgeable about celiac and gluten free. This group could use a refresher. The prime rib was excellent as usual but the rest of the meal was just ok. Our server Chris tried to make the best of the situation and did a decent job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent service, good atmosphere, get the prime rib, medium rare. Enough said. We will be going back many times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My spouse and I ate here for our 10th anniversary. The service was incredible! When our server asked if we were celebrating anything special, he told the manager who came to our table and wished us a happy anniversary and treated us to a delicious piece of chocolate cake. The food here is always good, but the extra touches made this a memorable evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We all had steaks (3 NY Strip and 1 Filet) and everyone was wonderful made, just like they should be! Best Steak in Town!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great experience and here's the reason in one word: DEREK

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent food, service and hospitality. Would recommend to everyone!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service. We will be dining there again when in Chattanooga

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

It was a perfect experience! Impeccable service, impeccable food. That's why we love them so much! Excellent value!

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We enjoyed a family get together. I was delighted that I was able to make dining reservations online through OpenTable. There were eight in our party and I had only made reservations for seven. The hostesses were able to accommodate us and I was so very grateful. There were 3 elderly persons in our party. The waitress was so patient and accommodating with their requests. I was impressed that the waitress was constantly checking on our table and refilling our water glasses. She was extremely attentive. The food was all quite delicious, cooked to perfection, and delivered to our table in a short amount of time. Thank you, J. Alexander's, for making this family get together so very delightful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We have been going to this location for years finding the food and service to be excellent. We will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Went for our 7th wedding anniversary, first time visit. Was well worth it, we will diffently be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

AWESOME SERVICE AND FOOD
Our favorite Chattanooga restaurant. Food is always excellent and consistent. Service superb. Took new neighbors for their first visit and they were pleased and will revisit.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The service and the food were not worth the prices. Ww will never eat here again, nor will we recommend this restaurant to family or friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our food was not very good, and overpriced for what we got. The pork tenderloin was so obscured by the Thai bang bang sauce that I could've had just sauce, & wouldn't have known the difference. The key lime pie tasted good but was too rich, & even though we shared a slice, we were both suffering with too-full, too-rich symptoms the next day. Even my sautéed spinach (which tasted good) had too much added to it. Husband's salmon was too richly seasoned as well. Healthier options would have been appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The table was ready when we arrived and the service and food were great. The manager came by twice to check on us to make sure everything was okay.

The manager was well groomed and well dressed. Much better than most casual restaurants.

Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Had a very good experience! Our server was WONDERFUL--very friendly, knowledgeable and willing to ask questions of the kitchen when we had them while ordering.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We haven't been in a while because the noise level
Was so loud and the meat was a lower quality... this experience was maybe the best in a long time.. steak was a better quality we were very surprised... hope it will continue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food , great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 14, 2017

More window sitting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The service at this J Alexander's is always top notch!

The Emerald Shrimp appetizer, Ahi Tuna Salad, and the AMAZING carrot cake made for a delicious dinner!

I will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

On our way through Chattanooga home from vacation, found J. Alexander's as it was next to our hotel. Great food and great service! Prices are a little high, but the steaks were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants! We go for date night, friend visits, occasions or any time. Just a great place to have a very nice meal and be served by friendly attentive staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I went to dinner solo after a long day at work. Other than it being really loud in the dinning room (might have been the Large party celebrating someone's birthday), everything was great.

Adam was my waiter and he took exceptional care of me. He ended up getting me 3 different water glasses as the previous ones were dirty (not his fault). I had the prime rib with roasted beets and it was amazing! I would diffenty go back and recommend it to those eating alone or with a group.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Tuna is wonderful and
New York strip one of best ever eaten

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Friendly and excellent service.. The best Prime Rib in all of Chattanooga. My wife and I have had dinner on most of our anniversaries dinners here and we love the restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great as always. Our favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 2, 2017

- Food was above average but nothing extraordinary. We ordered the salmon dip, and two filets.
- Service was fantastic! Our drinks were never empty and the staff was very knowledgeable.
- There was an odd smell near the center of the restaurant. Not sure if that was the building or a patron's BO. Didn't really effect us as we were seated at the edge next to a window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a party of 10 and were seated and served in no time at all. Great experience from start to finish. Hats off to the staff a J Alexander's.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food and service were excellent. It was very noisy and very cold. It would have been perfect without the cold draft blowing on us.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent food and service consistently. The only complaint I have ever had its that is is a touch too loud. I will say that a tall booth did help that significantly!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great service! Great food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary. The staff was exceptional and the customer service was excellent from beginning to ending. Everyone from waitress to management and all in between came to wish us a Happy Anniversary.....even giving us a card abd free dessert. It made us feel really special. We will usually visit other cities for special occassions, but this did the trick and we didn't have to leave our city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We sat at a very dim lit table. Loved this atmosphere. Romantic for our date night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Birthday. Destiny was the best server we have had at J's. Been coming for over 10 years.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.