About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
3 More
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (33)
Romantic (31)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Business Meals (26)
Good for Groups (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Casual (13)
Cozy (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Family Style (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
454 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always consistently good food and servic ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

Always consistently good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The waitress was amazing. She made sure ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The waitress was amazing. She made sure we were happy with everything, kept our drinks full, and at the end of the meal boxed our food up for us. The food was delicious! I had the New York Strip medium well and it was cooked perfectly and my date had the salmon and she loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for my oldest son's birthday dinner ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Went for my oldest son's birthday dinner. The food and service was second to none.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service. The pumpkin ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fantastic food and service. The pumpkin pie was amazing and I don't like punkin.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy JAs. My favorite go to for ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Always enjoy JAs. My favorite go to for the Hamilton Place Mall area!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time at this particular locat ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our second time at this particular location. While the food was good and the best cup of coffee I've had in some time, the service was lacking. We had to ask multiple times for bread and it finally arrived after we finished our salads. I believe we should be asked if we want bread rather than the other way around and it should be brought out shortly after being seated. We also had to ask for drink refills each time. This place would get 5 stars from me across the board if the service were better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

My husband and I had a late, quiet dinne ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My husband and I had a late, quiet dinner here on a Saturday night after running some errands. Still crowded at 7:45, but reservation was honored promptly. We have had lunch here many times but I had forgotten that this is a great place for a glass of wine and a cozy dinner. Food was good, service was lovely.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ate at the bar this particular time. Lo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ate at the bar this particular time. Love Travis and everyone that works the bar. They are the best. Excellent service as well as wine pairing suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For the area, J.Alexander's is a little ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

For the area, J.Alexander's is a little more expensive than the norm; but in general, the quality of the food and the service set it apart. Jeremy, our server, was okay. He needs to work a little more on at least seeming to be interested in his guests. He was concerned about what he said and seeming to be enthusiastic. He was not that attuned to the members of our party. Having said that, the noise level can make that a challenge. I would prefer a softer level of ambient sound, but I have been thinking that ever since my first visit to J. Alexander's on April 29, 2015. Apparently, the management likes the sound level fine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

great place to eat. food and drinks wer ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

great place to eat. food and drinks were fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will get more than enough food for t ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

You will get more than enough food for the price you pay. The waitress was amazing and the rest of the staff that helped us was also amazing. All in all I would say 10/10 and I would go back again if it were closer to me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the bar as we like to do when ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We sat at the bar as we like to do when we dine out. We do this because we like the general mood in a bar setting and the interaction with the other customers and bartenders. Unfortunately, this experience was not good. Service was slow and non-attentive. We had to ask for water and drink refills every time. Needless to say, the good food was ruined by the poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Four of us celebrated my husband's birth ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Four of us celebrated my husband's birthday. Started with a delicious smoked salmon dip. Hubby ordered a 16 oz prime rib, the rest of us got seafood (grilled Scottish salmon, Carolina crab cakes and a featured trout dish). Finished with a warm carrot cake. The food was amazing; service was attentive; portions were generous enough for a take-home-meal; and the restaurant (on a Saturday night) was quiet enough for conversation. An over-all great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

One of the most consistently good restau ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

One of the most consistently good restaurants in Chattanooga. Great food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The wait staff and Management were very ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The wait staff and Management were very accommodating, I asked for special instruction and they went above board with friendliness and service. The food and atmosphere was spot on you could not find a better place in Chattanooga for overall service and food. My experiences in Chattanooga TN with other restaurants has not been good but they bring their A game to the customers. Thanks for a great evening and I /we will be returning more often.

R.C.L.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good and perfectly prepared food, had th ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good and perfectly prepared food, had the pork loin and was for sure outstanding!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice place to eat. Great service. Food w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Nice place to eat. Great service. Food was inexpensive

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very great service, I loved it. The wait ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very great service, I loved it. The waitress was very nice and always on the spot to refill the waters and to check up on us. I was surprised of how well we got treated.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great for a special occasion date night! ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great for a special occasion date night! Service is excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The experience was amazing, I surprised ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The experience was amazing, I surprised my girlfriend for her birthday and ordered her a carrot cake. The food was awesome.

The service was by far the best I have ever experienced and the cake was amazing.

Thank you

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and experience every time!

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food and experience every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service--very pleas ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food and great service--very pleasant place to dine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time at J. Alexander's ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This was my first time at J. Alexander's. I have heard so much about it and it didn't disappoint. The service was awesome!! The food was awesome!! I think I just found my new favorite place!! Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good , service not so much....t ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was good , service not so much....too much time waiting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The service at J. Alexander's is always ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The service at J. Alexander's is always very attentive-in fact, it was leaning toward too much on this particular evening. The food is consistently good. I had baked chicken, which was savory and the portion was quite generous. My colleague had the fried chicken and was in heaven (he's from Europe and apparently they don't fry as well as we do!) The only real drawback is how loud it becomes. For some reason people shout in this restaurant more than any other I can think of. Once people get a couple of drinks in them it's quite loud. Nevertheless, I enjoyed my dinner and they always try to make it a nice evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We took our out of town friends there fo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We took our out of town friends there for a lovely dinner! They loved it and so did we. We were all completely overjoyed with our meal and took desert home to enjoy later that evening. Great experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant. Probably the best ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Probably the best chain restaurant aroune

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy traveling through Chattan ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I always enjoy traveling through Chattanooga when I can stop at J. Alexanders.

It is an awesome place. I have always had great experiences here. If you have a chance try the dessert called the Powerful Stuff it is the stuff of dreams.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table was in an odd spot. It was in ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Our table was in an odd spot. It was inset into a wall and the table beside us was very close basically in the center of our table. Not the ideal setup for a private dinner...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

J. Alexander's has gone down since our l ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 7, 2016

J. Alexander's has gone down since our last visit. The food is still decent, but only that, and the service was not good. The cocktails had pitifully short pours, and the menu descriptions did not match what was served. You can do much better than J. Alexander's in Chattanooga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Early Thursday night and restaurant wans ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Early Thursday night and restaurant wans out of two entrees, plus calamari appetizer. Otherwise, food was average at best

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We love J.Al's. One of our favorite res ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We love J.Al's. One of our favorite restaurants in the Hamilton area in Chattanooga. Great service and consistent. We visit at least twice/month when we're in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quality and food used to be very good, b ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Quality and food used to be very good, but lately both have diminished

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I heard rave reviews about the restauran ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I heard rave reviews about the restaurant. I was totally disappointed. The food was terrible, and there was a very slim selection for entrees on the menu. I will not be recommending this place to friends nor will I visit this establishment again. Service was great, ambience was very nice. I was on a first date and had to conversate over a child being loud.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Service was great. Food was horrible. Mo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Service was great. Food was horrible. Most bland steaks that my wife and I have ever had. I learned a valuable lesson that just because something is expensive, it doesn't mean that it's better than a cheaper meal. I've had better food from my local Cracker Barrel. Definitely will not be eating here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The servers are awesome.The food is very ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The servers are awesome.The food is very good. They can make adjustments to your meal at your request. The wine is good and it is a big meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were both wonderful. Lo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Food and service were both wonderful. Love the atmosphere. A favorite for our business dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has been our "go to" spot for quite ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 26, 2016

This has been our "go to" spot for quite a few years because the food and service is consistently good and the atmosphere is nice but not over done. Favorites are the Alex's salad, the seared ahi salad, rattlesnake pasta, blackened trout, and when one wants to be really bad, the prime rib. Unfortunately, inflation seems to have reared its ugly head as prices are up in the last few months on some of these items by as much as 20% so we may less frequent visitors in the future.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was prepared wonderfully. The e ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food was prepared wonderfully. The environment was very clean and waiters/waitresses were very knowledgeable about the menu. They really paid close attention to our needs and were very accommodating to our parties needs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.