About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Good for a Date (59)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
See All
Romantic (47)
Business Meals (46)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Good for Groups (29)
Notable Wine List (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Cozy (21)
Casual (20)
Outstanding Value (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Fun (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Authentic (8)
Healthy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great Beer (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (2)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 2 days ago

J. Alexanders is one of the best restaurants in East Brainerd. It is always clean, the service is amazjng, and the food is wonderful! My family and I have been going there for years and have never had a disapointing meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

We eat at J's a couple times a month. Lunch is always good and we have clients that are always up for a meeting there. Great menu and staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent. Service was reasonable, but not great (which I would expect in this price range). Brought our food, but had to ask for silverware twice for our party of 4. Seating was prompt, booth seating was comfortable. I will go back because of quality of food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Have always come to rely on the competence of this chain whether in Birmingham, Alabama or in Chattanooga, Tennessee. It is always busy, the menu diverse, and the staff helpful, friendly and attentive. On this occasion I particularly enjoyed the Ahi tuna that was an ordinary menu item. I had never had tuna steak grilled and served in the manner as a beef tenderloin filet. The fish was fresh, and the seasoning just a bit underdone so that I could then tailor my flavoring with the wasabi mayo and dipping sauce. This preparation and presentation allowed for each bite to be individually perfect. Would have it again in a heartbeat as the cut was of a very generous proportion and cooked perfectly rare.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The waitress was rude. Didn't check on us. Other waiters/waitresses had to bring us drinks and our silverware after food was served. Waitress only came to table rushing us to take away place of food which she thought we were done with. She paid more attention to her other tables then us. Think we only saw her maybe two or three times the whole night. I think this a great place just a few bad apples.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and service. Our waiter was Ericka she was great and I like the way the restaurant works as a team. Everyone helped each other out whenever someone was attending another customer

Tags: Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Overall pleased with the whole experience. Food was phenomenal and service is bar none. Was a little disappointed we still had to wait 20 minutes even though we had a reservation. Also that the stoney river and j. Alexander gift cards are not interchangeable seeing how I was transferred to the j. Alexander website after trying to reserve a table for stoney river. But I was NOT upset that I could not use my gift card because the food was exceptional with great wine selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I surprised my girlfriend with a Valentine's dinner and I had a reservation. They were very busy, but we were seated in about 10 passed out reservation time. Which was very understandable. The server's and management were all working very efficiently and everything was going smoothly. We were very empresses.

The meals were awesome, everything was cooked the way that we had asked it to be.

And I surprised my girlfriend with a carrot cake that I had ordered ahead of time.

It was the best carrot cake that we have ever had.

Thank you J. Alexander's for an awesome experience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

omg!..first time there but FIRST IMPRESSION IS A LASTING ONE!..WILL BE BACK!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

An overall amazing dining experience.. excellent service and great food!! Best in Chattanooga!!!

Bravo

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I went here for Valentine's Day, the whole experience was outstanding, from the food, to the service, everything was outstanding. We will come back. Thank you for making this night even more special. I have and will recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food and service was great. Reservations for Valentine's Day gad us seated in 20 min with walk in guests willing to wait 2+ hours for a table. Great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I'm always pleased with the outstanding service and the beautiful atmosphere here at JALEXANDER's it's definitely a winner for every occasion. Marcus our server was very attentive even though it was very busy. He's awesome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I recently went to j alexanders for valentines but was also our anniversary it was a very good experience our service and food were excellent! We had a great evening and didn't feel rushed! We will definitely be back great staff , great food, great place to eat !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a reservation on Valentine's Day at 5:45pm. We were promptly seated at 5:48pm. The staff was very professional in greeting us and service. The manager even came over and asked if we needed more drinks. He took it upon himself to add that extra touch of class to their already outstanding service.

J Alexander's in Chattanooga sets the standard for service excellence!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding service and food. We booked the reservation two days ahead and we're seated immediately on Valentine's Day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was there for the carrot cake as much as anything and it is amazing....I ordered prime rib sandwich and it was very good...my wife ordered fish tacos...not warning her about how hot the sauce is on them is the reason I could not rate the food a five star...she was able to rake a lot of it off and made it through the meal but a little warning to start would have been nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was great and so was the food! Thank you for making our evening special

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service and quality of the food is always superior, for lunch, or dinner. The brunch is great and the bar service is always top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I made reservations for 845 pm. The restaurant was super busy when we arrived. We only had to wait about 10 minutes passed reservstion time which was amazing cause they really were busy. Our waitress was on her game. This was our 1st time here and we will definitely go back. Best experience at a restaurant hands down.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is one of the best places in Chattanooga to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We always have a wonderful time. We eat here about once every 3 months or so on our "date night" we've been married 22 years and this is our special getaway place.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall nice experience. Wish customers would respect dining and make it overall quieter dining. Way too noisy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

J. Alexander's is the best restaurant in Chattanooga in every aspect. We love to dine there.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food, great staff, always a great experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was a little pricy, I had the filet minion with potato, the steak was great but not very much of it

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Seated 20 mins after reservation, wife received wrong food, my steak was over cooked, too many excuses and no action. Over $100 and a terrible dining experience. Fix the service and the kitchen. When you order a $30+ steak you expect it to be at the very least cooked to the ordered temp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and the drinks were awesome. We made reservations and was seated quickly. The drinks were awesome... but I think I already said that !

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our server was very attentive. I enjoyed my cocktail before ordering. We never feel rushed. My steak was cook to perfection.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have dined at this restaurant weekly. I like how they meet special request and have good quality food. The ambiance is very nice also. I feel like the staff works together to make the meal perfect. Miranda is an exceptional server. She remembers what we order and is always very friendly. I'm not too crazy about the music.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our first time. Didn't regret choosing J. Alexanders. Celebrated Valentines Day (our27th) and really enjoyed the food, atmosphere, and the service. Our waitress was very accommodating and knowledgeable of the menu. We will return

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This had to be one of the best dining experiences I have ever experienced. The staff was amazing, never leaving empty dishes setting, drinks were always kept full, very very clean, THE FOOD WAS AMAZING and very well prepared and served. I will definitely be eating there on my next trip to Chattanooga, not anything negative to say at all about this facility or their employees. It made my entire trip to Chattanooga memorable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a pleasure to visit J's. Mr. Jacks crispy chicken platter with loaded baked potato and broccoli is my go to. Key lime pie = incredible. Thomas Brown is THE MAN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My husband and I went here while in Chattanooga for my 30th birthday. I can say that the service was outstanding, never had an empty cup. They also have a great wine list and decent atmosphere although a bit loud. I had the special which was the Tuscan Steak with their smashed potatoes. Steak was not seasoned well and extremely dry. Potatoes were just okay and nothing spectacular. Husband got the prime rib which he said was fantastic. He also got the mac n cheese which I had a bite of and was pretty good. We ordered the carrot cake for dessert. It came out warm and gooey with warm cream cheese icing. This was definitely the best part. All in all, I give it 3 out of 5 stars. I don't think their steaks are worth what you are spending there. You are better off at a Ruth Chris for the same amount of money.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We love J's. We would go every week if we didn't have such hectic schedules. Every time we arrive, we are greeted with a smile and an immediate table. Even if we have a special request or celebration, they are always accommodating and make our time with them enjoyable. Food was wonderful. Had the trout special, shrimp tacos, prime rib, and French dip. Great service as well.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our reservation was messed up but the manager gave us complimentary appetizers to make up for it. Service was very pleasant. The ribeye was divine. I will be returning!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The servers were friendly and made you feel welcome. Our steak was prepared perfectly, sides were excellent - and desert was the perfect end to an exquisite dining experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love J Alexanders! Made a reservation for 7:45, they were behind in seating us. Too long for a reservation. The overhead spotlights on upper level are a little bright. Still a favorite spot for us!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Traveling through TN from FL to OH, and stayed near J's. Chose this overnight spot, because we knew we could rely on the consistency and high quality of J's food and service, The food did not disappoint, the service on the other hand was much less than expected. The hostess told us, they were "running behind" with reservations. Ok, no worries, not unexpected on a Friday night. However, don't tell me there are 4 group ahead of me, and then seat 6 groups. Doesn't quite add up. As we were lead to our table, the hostess told us that we would receive complimentary appetizers. Well that didn't happen. We're not ones to complain just to get freebies, but when it is offered to us, it should be honored. The appetizer never was comped, and we were tired and had waited way too long for service during our meal, that we just wrote a little note on the receipt. And on top of that, we had to flag down another server to bring my husband silverware. Not the type of service we've come to expect from J's. Hoping this review is used constructively to ensure this bad experience isn't repeated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here for our two-year anniversary, and we loved it! The service was amazing, the food was delicious and the wine selection was fabulous. If you are planning on going on a Friday or Saturday night make sure you make a reservation. They can get busy fast and for good reason. This is the best J'Alexander's in TN hands down.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Healthy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Filet had a lot of tendons. Flavor and cook very good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Chattanooga location.

Coke is always, always, always flat.

Reserved seating in a walkway and very noisy spot. This has happened before and basically ruins the evening. No thought given to just adding a seat at the end of the table, placing that person in a direct pass thru.

Food was cold, but still very good.

For the money spent, disappointing overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I got there 10 minutes before my reservation and they seated us shortly there after. The food is fantastic and I plan on going back many times.

I put 4 stars on the value because I know some people that think the price is a little high but for the quality of food, service, and all around good time it's definitely worth it.

If it's only a special occasion then you can't go wrong with them. They NEVER disappoint.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We live in Columbus, OH. There are two J. Alexander's in our city. We like them both and frequent both. They are on our favorite restaurants list. But this Chattanooga restaurant is the best of all three. The service was outstanding, quality of food was excellent, and attractiveness at this facility was really superb. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

My wife had the BBQ ribs. They were excellent. I had the pork loin. It was without a doubt the best pork loin I have had anywhere. It cooked perfectly and was as tender and moist as a top grade steak.

I'd like to praise this facility for the team concept used by the wait staff. We received continuous service during out dining experience. W never had to ask for anything. There was always someone stopping by our table to make sure we had everything we wanted or needed. This was really impressive!

Too bad we live so far away. Otherwise we would frequent the Chattanooga J. Alexander's. We will definitely go back whenever we visit Chattanooga.

Tags: Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Fun, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Met friends for a long lunch. Waiter was awesome, didn't rush us. Food was brought quickly, presentation was nice, and food was very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The Food and service are always consistent. Servers are always attentive.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I surprised my husband for his birthday with a romantic dinner. Everything was wonderful. He loves the prime rib here better than other places on town. It,was worth the money.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 17, 2017

had a wonderful meal as always, and mkenzie is one of the best servers in the country bar none!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful beef filet and special entree. The food was excellent as well as the service. We had reservations and were seated immediately upon arrival.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Service was wonderful, Music was no so good, Drinks were wondeful

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.