About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
11 More
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Best Value
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Romantic
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

special occasion (83)
fit for foodies (44)
romantic (44)
See All
great for lunch (41)
good for groups (33)
great for brunch (22)
neighborhood gem (22)
notable wine list (20)
hot spot (17)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (13)
kid-friendly (10)
great for outdoor dining (9)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

Can't miss as usual... Great job with o ...

Dined 4 days ago

Can't miss as usual... Great job with our table of eight!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have waited approximately 17 years to ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have waited approximately 17 years to return to eat at J. Alexander's. Well, worth the wait. Exquisite food, outstanding service, interaction with manager delightful. We have suggested J. Alexander's to many traveling friends. No fears of them ever being dissappointed. We look forward to returning sooner than another 17 years.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the 1st time we had dined at J ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was the 1st time we had dined at J Alexander's it was a Very enjoyable dining experience.. The food and service was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. Our waiter w ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent service and food. Our waiter was the best. The food was delicious and it was quick service for such a busy day. I hadn't eaten here in years and it still has great service and food. It's also kid friendly with it food selections.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there for our anniversary but it ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We were there for our anniversary but it was Father's Day so the place was rocking. The food was very good as usual and the meal was nicely paced despite the large crowd. Nice touch -- our waitress quietly but emphatically told us to split one dessert. It was very good advice!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hello Everyone. J.Alexander's is a fanta ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Hello Everyone. J.Alexander's is a fantastic restaurant for anyone to enjoy; no matter what the ages are. This is one of my husband and I favorite restaurants to din

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was recommended this place by a Chat loc ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Was recommended this place by a Chat local we met in a mall - very pleased they mentioned it. Smart but not fussy restaurant with a 'proper' menu, so different to the beige grease available in most American eateries. Had excellent squid starter, crab cake main course, friend had artichokes with dip which was a great find in the menu. Mojito at the bar was a bit average but everything else was really fresh, tasty and a bit of a joy after 4 days of Tennessee deep friedness.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We drive almost an hour and a half to ea ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We drive almost an hour and a half to eat at J Alexander's for special occasions and sometime.....just because we LOVE it. The food is always delicious. The service is always impeccable and the carrot cake is worth everything! We have brought all of our adult children as well as our grandchildren and they love it as well! We tell everyone, who will listen, about "our favorite place!"

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Cosmos do Manhattan were outstanding. M ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Cosmos do Manhattan were outstanding. Miranda did a great job. Food was excellent.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

All was good,until near end of meal.A la ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

All was good,until near end of meal.A large party was seated next to us for 10-12 . Evidently,there was more people than table spots.The one person moved very close to our table.One of our guest had to slide all way across to get out.Not a big deal,however when you spend a lot.I feel waiters or mgr.should have handled.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was excellent, the noise level w ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Service was excellent, the noise level was a little high and heard to hear and talk over. Overall, the food was great, but the sauces that were applied were hit or miss with a few in our party of 8.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was a great evening,great service and ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

It was a great evening,great service and great food. I would recommend dining here to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff is always great as well as the ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The staff is always great as well as the food. One of our top 3 places to go for any special dinners or lunch.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is always very good. The foo ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The service is always very good. The food is always too notch.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Nathan, was excellent! We we ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server, Nathan, was excellent! We were originally seated in another server's section, but we preferred a booth. He got permission from the other server to remain with us. He recommended some great beverages from the bar and was very attentive. He made the experience that much better. Our appetizer, salmon dip, and NY strip entrees and side dishes were good. All in all, we had a great dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, salad was outstanding. Bleu ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food, salad was outstanding. Bleu Cheese dressing is the best that I have ever eaten.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I went Tuesday evening for anniversary

Dined on June 7, 2016

Since it was for our 36th anniversary I had requested a more than normally private table. The person I spoke with by phone suggested the raised area. I was familiar with that part of the restaurant and thought that would be great, so he said he would make a note of it; however, when we arrived about 5 minutes early for our 6:45 reservation, we were seated in the main floor area of the restaurant. I was kind of disappointed that the gentleman either didn't make a note as he said or the hostess didn't check. I chose not to say anything not wanting to put a damper on the evening for my wife. Our server did a great job and the food as usual was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

carrot cake

Dined on June 3, 2016

The carrot cake is fantastic. We love this place always good food and service. My husband gets the prime rib every time and it is always perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service & atmosphere were excellent!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had the trout and it was a great value for the amount of food served. The carrot cake is the best ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife & I were celebrating our wedding ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

My wife & I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and picked Alexander's on line due in large part to their menu. We had never been in Chattanooga before so it was an unknown quantity. The noise level was high when we entered. We were seated promptly at an upper level corner table and I did not notice the noise being too distracting from then on. Both the service and food were excellent from the soup through desert. Our waiter was attentive without being obtrusive and was able to describe the menu. Overall it was a quite pleasurable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for old friends to reunite! ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Great place for old friends to reunite! Good food, pleasant folks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal. Great place for a very n ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent meal. Great place for a very nice dinner/special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Am definitely going back and recommend t ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Am definitely going back and recommend to everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael, the manager, went over the top ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Michael, the manager, went over the top to accommodate us and take care of our group for the birthday girl. We felt like he truly cared about our experience and was so kind!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Last time I wrote a review, I was not ha ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Last time I wrote a review, I was not happy about the service. This time the service was top notch! This is what we have come to expect when we come here. The food is outstanding. We had our usual grilled artichokes. I highly recommend trying these as they are the best I have had anywhere. I had the amberjack which was cooked to perfection. They always seem to cook fish to just the right texture for my taste. This is one of our favorite places, and we highly recommend trying it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an evening!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everyone there went out of their way to make us feel special. We went to celebrate our 34th anniversary, and we will be back. Special thanks to the Manager Andrew, Randy and Peyton. They welcomed us by name and treated us like the only customer they had. Thank you for a memorable evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful friendly professional service. ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Wonderful friendly professional service. Food is great. You've got to try the carrot cake.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. J Alexander's does it right!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved it. J Alexander's does it right!

food3
ambience3
service4

It was Mothers Day so was very crowded. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mothers Day so was very crowded. The orzo side dish was fabulous as always. I ordered a ribeye and it was very tough. The manager did offer to get another one for me, which I declined. so he removed it from our bill.

food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful place for quiet lunch. Menu ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

A wonderful place for quiet lunch. Menu extensive, delicious and presented well. Manager checked to see if everything was satisfactory. I would highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Consistently good, Emerald Coast Sh ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food Consistently good, Emerald Coast Shrimp, Filet & Salmon and wonderful desserts, carrot cake

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was Spectacular and food was fantastic

Dined on May 7, 2016

The server was the best ever in my life, and i have quite a bit of eating out experience. The appetizer Smoked Salmon Dip came out fast and was very tasty. Not a hint of fishy just delicious sea aromas, and very light and subtle. Dinner course came out right on time. Meat was prepared to the perfect temperature and was well seasoned. Dessert was a decadent carrot cake. Warm and not overly sweet. We have been to this restaurant before and enjoyed it but they were on top of their game that Saturday night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food

Dined on May 7, 2016

We are never disappointed with our meals at J Alexander's. The internet booking option worked great for us. We made our reservation online and our table was ready when we arrived. Great service. Great food. Consistent quality.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food, great service. Will go back ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Good food, great service. Will go back again. Good atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great birthday gathering

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food and service is always consistently good. One of my favorite places in Chattanooga to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was exceptional. Woul ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Food and service was exceptional. Would highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We eat at J Alexander's whenever we are in Chattanooga. It is consistently great food and a great value. Service is always good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great ambiance... Great exp ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food, great ambiance... Great experience!

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Not worth the money

Dined on April 23, 2016

Loud like a cafeteria, Food not worth the money, I've had a lot better for a lot less. Its supposed to be fine dining (shorts and hats shouldn't be allowed). Only ordered dinner and it took forever, wasn't busy at all. Should give you some type of bread/rolls. Only seen our waitress 3 times throughout the night, she took my order, asked about dessert and gave us the check.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.