Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (47)
See All
Romantic (39)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Casual (36)
Business Meals (34)
Worth the Drive (31)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Cozy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place to eat. Great for special occasions and group events

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 3 days ago

Always great. Consistent quality, great service. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

As always my dining experience was amazing. Your glass never goes below half full, the wait staff always goes above and beyond. I highly recommend this Resturant to anyone looking for a fine dining experience. I will also add I do take my small son in because he is very well mannered and they do have a “secret kid menu”

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 7 days ago

We have been to JAlexanders in Chattnooga many time and have always found the food and service to be outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Perfect as always. The staff at J. Alexander's are pure perfection when it comes to taking care of their guests and the food is second to none. We always love visiting J. Alexanders. I HIGHLY recommend the Alex salad with the champagne vinaigrette. Delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 8, 2017

This used to be my favorite restaurant. Maybe they were having an off night but based on the dinner there on this date I wouldn’t go back. We ordered the emerald coast shrimp. The fryer was not working so we were offered grilled shrimp instead which we said yes to expecting regular size grilled skewered shrimp. We got miniature sautéed shrimp which did not look at all appetizing. The prime rib is usually awesome. It was dry and not much taste. The cocktail was mostly melted ice. Overall a disappointing experience this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 7, 2017

There was nothing special about the food, and the wait staff was very friendly, just not very quality oriented. My observation of the restaurant seem like it was an upscale Applebees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2017

The food was good, however, the service was AMAZING. Our server was attentive, polite and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Great food and good service. So incredibly noisy though. It was hard to hear across the table. Great restaurant though!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Went for my birthday. They are a little pricy, but worth it. Had the prime rib, it was perfect. Then got the carrot cake for dessert. Awesome!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

My husband and I was always celebrate our anniversary here but this year the management and staff went out of their way to make our night special. Seated us away from the crowd, came by and asked if our meal was OK, then ended it with a complimentary dessert. It was wonderful!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Great restaurant. We enjoyed our time and meal there.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Excellent service and the food is cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 30, 2017

We have started dining on a regular basis at J. Alexander's after a long layoff. Our meal was tasty, the service was good and drinks were promptly refilled, even with the restaurant being busy. The only mishap was lukewarm fries, but that can happen when they are plated too soon before the entree or sandwich is ready. A replacement order was prompt in its arrival and piping hot.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 28, 2017

Awesome food and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2017

J alex is always good. It is our go-to for any occasion

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful family dinner while vacationing in the Chattanooga area. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

It was my daughters 18th birthday celebration! It went well and our waitress was excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2017

J alex is one of those places that you can always count on being good. The sunday brunch menu has a quiche that is absolutely delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Server was somewhat inattentive. My steak was overcooked and somewhat flavorless. Love the atmosphere but it is always extremely noisy. I was with friends and didn't want to complain so I let it slide.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

I hope your future menus will include more Gluten Free choices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 16, 2017

Wonderful choice for celebrating our anniversary! The staff is wonderful and very attentive. The food was great! We've been eating at this establishment for more than 10 years for both casual meals and special occasions and they don't disappoint. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 16, 2017

Fantastic food and amazing service! Maria is very engaged.

Food is out in 14-16 minutes! Everything was great!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 13, 2017

As always, the food and service was exceptional! We had 10 people and everyone loved their dinner. We asked for 5 separate bills and every one of them was done right. This is our go to place for a fun evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent! Loved the food and service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

J Alexander’s never fails. The food is always great! Service is top notch. This trip I had a Cesar Salad, the Filet and the carrot cake. All were amazing!!! The sauce on the side of the steak was so good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The atmosphere, service, and company was fantastic. The food was delicious, too, however I ordered the fish special which happened to be grouper. It was served with couscous, and was delicious, but the portion was so small for a $27 lunch special! I had the most expensive meal of the three of us, and received the least amount of food, ended up leaving still hungry. Definitely NOT a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Awesome as always!!! We love this place!!!
Never disappoints!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Our service was awesome! Food was great. All servers seem to watch and pick up empty glasses, bring refills, etc. our particular server was very attentive and very friendly.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 6, 2017

There were 5 of us, everyone's meal was excellent, large portions. We had carrot cake for dessert and it was amazing! We will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Sevice was awful!! This place ruined my anniversary night. Had to send our chicken back twice it was undercooked . then my wife just said nevermind so i did wait mine after sending it back twice they still charged full price the manager didn't give a crap neither did. The server i wish he would have told his name i would list it we never coming back there or there location in birmingham

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We made a reservation and there was a bit of a delay checking in as the restaurant's system was down. In spite of a number of people waiting, we were seated with little delay. Our food and service was excellent, we will be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

We’ve never had a bad experience here but on this particular day our waiter got almost everything wrong my husband ordered well done steak he bought him medium well . We had to ask for straws and water refills we were there for our anniversary and the experience was just horrible !!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

This was for a group of 10 (my daughter's 25th birthday). We brought a cake (which they did not have a problem with) and they supplied plates and ice cream. The food was very good. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Great food and service . Price was jest for the value received.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

The people were very nice. We were taken to a table quickly and served quickly. Both the Prime Rib and Crab Cakes were Excellent!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

I enjoyed the food really good i feel the service could have been better. But its really a very nice place for dinner

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

The atmosphere, food, and the service was excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.