Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.38mi

About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (56)
Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Good for Birthdays (38)
Romantic (37)
Casual (36)
Business Meals (35)
Worth the Drive (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Bar Seating (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Cozy (16)
Fun (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Notable Wine List (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
699 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Very good food and excellent, friendly service by Alexis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My son had tuna and said it was very good. I had the prime rib and had to rate it as mediocre.
Service was very good.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is always excellent!! I had the pork tenderloin and it was so moist ... and we had the chocolate cake dessert which is amazing!!!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

One of our personnel best places to go to eat. Everything is always great. The only reason I put just "good" for value is that most people cannot drop 150.00 a night for four people. It is the best place to eat in Chattanooga but just a little expensive for a family. That is why we only come out a couple times a year. .............Mike

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 5 days ago

It was our first date night out since the birth of our baby girl! Great food, excellent service, awesome date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

I absolutely love J's. Great food - wide variety and the service has always been great, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent food, and a great place for any occasion! With each and every visit the food is fresh and awesome!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Very enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Service and food were excellent! Would like availability of table instead of booths.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The food tastes very good, not fussy, homemade but still sophisticated. Our service has always been excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The ambience is not really my style- very dark and incredibly loud. But the food was very good, even though I had a little problem with mine. The manager fixed it, which took the kitchen about 20 minutes. The waiter was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Wedding group prior to wedding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

The meals were very good and our server, Chelsea, was outstanding with her knowledge of the menu and attentiveness. Reservations through Open Table were smooth. J. A's. host was accommodating, by seating us right away, when my party arrived earlier than scheduled. Overall good experience for business dinner and will repeat in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food! I eat there quite often. It's my favorite place to eat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our first visit will probably be our last. We went for Sunday lunch. Arrived at 1:15 with a reservation, seated 10 minutes later, took over 30 minutes to get food, and then it was mediocre quality and warm / not fresh and hot. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Every dinner at J Alexanders has been a great experience. It's our go to place when in Chattanooga.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Dine several times. Each time was very good. Great location, Great service, Great management .

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was excellent! I ordered the filet mignon , medium well and it was cooked to perfection . So tender ! The chocolate cake dessert was also delicious !!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great experience. Reaturant was busy but they were able to keep reservations moving along. Food was great and wait staff were very attentive. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our server Brian is outstanding!!! Regularly sit at his tables.
SPECIALS
Tuscan Steak
Seared Sea Scallops
Very Good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

There were 5 of us who got together for a birthday luncheon. I was disappointed in my Prime Rib. I ordered it medium and it was rare. I sent it back to be cooked longer. It had a funny taste but the rest of lunch was good. The server tried to take my Caesar salad away before I had even touched it. As far as I know, everyone else enjoyed their food but I was the hostess and the birthday girl.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

We eat there regularly and like it because the food and service are consistently good. The portion are substantial. The prices are reasonable for what is provided.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great food, kind of noisy, pretty crowded though. Had halibut, it was good, everyone else ate steak

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Service was very good. Food was so so but for their high prices it was not a good value. I ordered prime rib and it had no flavor at all. My wife ordered salad with chicken in it and she said it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This is a great spot but be prepared for very large portions. I ordered an appetizer and main course and was overly full. It caters to a crowd that is looking for quantity in addition to quality. Our service was outstanding except that the bill was divided incorrectly. This was quickly and easily changed. The atmosphere was terrific and the table was very comfortable. My only caution would be to be mindful of how much you order here!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This is the first time we have eaten at J. Alexander's. Great steak (I ate the NY strip, husband had the filet) Mac N Cheese, Desserts yummy ohhh my! I think this place is as good as Burn's Steakhouse and better pricing and the "air" is not stuffy (but, We have always known TN to be a people friendly place no matter what area we have visited). You must try....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I loved our waiter, but the halibut was too spicy for me, even though he had assured me it wasn't spicy. Turns out the mango salsa on top was the culprit. They brought me another, but honestly, the fish itself just wasn't that good. I like this restaurant chain, & know it's pretty expensive, but I'm usually happy with the food and ambiance. This was a noisy place with just OK food for top price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

This restaurant always has wonderful food. I eat here quite often and I'm never disappointed!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Our meal was very enjoyable. Food and service was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Prime rib outstanding. Don't normally eat that much meat but didn't leave a bite. Creamy horseradish sauce a must.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Would prefer a seasonal menu with more options other than beef...different poultry /fish dishes

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Awesome as always!! We love this restaurant! Our go to favorite.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was great! Service was great! We were celebrating my Moms 82nd birthday .... My Dad who is 84 was a little upset that he couldn't get his drink ( Arnold Palmer) half ice tea and half lemonade.... couldn't make him understand why... lol!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Took teens there for special occasion. Our waitress was wonderful'. The boys loved the food and experience. It was expensive but good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 1, 2017

It's smells like a dirty floor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, friendly service and well trained staff. Food was amazing! Highly recommended for just about any occasion. Especially for date night..

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal except for one thing. My prime rib was full of gristle. The few bites that I had were good but most was not. If this should happen again, I will return it to the chef

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 1, 2017

J's is always a dependable place for any kind of dining. We always invite our out of town friends to enjoy lunch or dinner at J Alexander's. The carrot cake is ALWAYS a delight!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Manuel is a great person! He's so knowledgeable and helpful and he such a awesome waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This was the worst experience we have ever had at J.Alexanders. We were embarrassed to be there with very important business guests. The food was cold and terrible. We ordered appetizers and when delivered to the table the wait staff sat the food down on top of our menus. We asked that they remove it so we could get our menus and they did not and walked away. It is unlikely we will return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.