About J. Alexander's - Chattanooga

2215 Hamilton Place Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
View Larger Map

J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 855-5559

Website:
http://www.jalexanders.com/

Executive Chef:
Scott Tucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

J. Alexander's - Chattanooga Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (37)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Business Meals (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Romantic (26)
Good for Groups (18)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Casual (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Fun (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Family Style (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Authentic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
491 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed a wonderful beef filet and speci ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed a wonderful beef filet and special entree. The food was excellent as well as the service. We had reservations and were seated immediately upon arrival.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was wonderful, Music was no so ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was wonderful, Music was no so good, Drinks were wondeful

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love J's. It is our absolute favorite go ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

Love J's. It is our absolute favorite go to restaurant in town. Always consistent and fantastic service that is lacking in other restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, , Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, our service was excellent. I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food, our service was excellent. I prefer a better cut of beef for the money and less pepper everything was good including apps and salad

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always enjoy food at JA but Friday was a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always enjoy food at JA but Friday was an off night, very cold in the restaurant as well as outside. We had an odd table located outside of our server's assigned range so we didn't see much of her making for poor service. No cheesecake or creme brûlée, my two favs. Disappointing visit for me this time!!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Usually the service is great but this vi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Usually the service is great but this visit the service was off. I went to restroom and came back to see that my plate, utensils and drink had been removed. When I received my entree salad it didn't have any dressing on it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Very disappointed my wife and I were cel ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very disappointed my wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary I had left a comment stating so. And no one acknowledge it at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Seated early. Great food, great service ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Seated early. Great food, great service, never disappointed at J's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. Always great service ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love this place. Always great service and will recommend to anyone

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, , Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came for New Year' Eve ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I came for New Year' Eve dinner. The food was excellent as always. The service was outstanding as always. We love coming to J. Alexander's because we know we'll have a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We do New Years Eve dinner here every ye ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We do New Years Eve dinner here every year and have never been disappointed. In fact this year we arrived a little early and was seated immediately. Great job as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was great as always. Steak Maui is ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was great as always. Steak Maui is truly a great steak. We felt a little rushed like they were trying to turn as many tables as they could since it was the holiday but the food was perfect again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was absolutely amazing. Our server ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was absolutely amazing. Our server was one of the best we've ever had. I got the prime rib with french fries and it was delicious. The carrot cake was to die for.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They were out of shrimp on a Friday nig ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

They were out of shrimp on a Friday night. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our waitress was outstanding and made th ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our waitress was outstanding and made the whole experience very enjoyable.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been to the restaurant four times everyt ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Been to the restaurant four times everything has always been great the transfer

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J Alexanders never disappoints. With man ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

J Alexanders never disappoints. With many choices in Chattanooga, I choose J's every time! Service and food consistently excellent....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our party of four included one in a whee ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our party of four included one in a wheelchair. The table held for us was comfortable and was positioned where we could see much of the restaurant. Our server was attentive but allowed us plenty of time to make our selections. My drink from the bar was very good, as was the craft beer my son ordered. Our nachos and cheese was better than average, and the entrees were great. My only complaint would be the noise level, but it was a very busy Friday evening. We were celebrating my son and his wife's rare visit home for Christmas. I probably spent double what I normally spend for a dinner out for four, but I feel the meal and service were excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, , Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service, large portion ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food, great service, large portions, and priced accordingly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband took me Wednesday for my birt ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My husband took me Wednesday for my birthday and I really enjoyed it. We had reservations so we only waited a few minutes to be seated. They were busy, but the service was still good. I had the tiger shrimp and slaw and it was delicious! My husband had the steak and mac and cheese and he said it was very good. Since it was a special occasion, we got the carrot cake. It was warm and melt in your mouth goodness! One of the best versions of carrot cake I have ever had! We will definitely return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

one of our favorite. a little pricey but ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

one of our favorite. a little pricey but worth saving up for it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Open table worked perfectly,seated as so ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Open table worked perfectly,seated as soon as we arrived,thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great ambience. Good food. Very little ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great ambience. Good food. Very little for vegetarians. But the Israeli Couscous and Wild Rice (both side orders) were excellent. Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were great as always. L ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food and service were great as always. Love the French dip - best I have had anywhere!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J.Alexander is our favorite restaurant a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 17, 2016

J.Alexander is our favorite restaurant and we try to go to a different one when we can. This was our first time visiting the restaurant in Chattanooga. The food was still great. Our server was not very personable. Not sure if she was new, but we did not let that spoil our experience there. Overall, we enjoyed out meal!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

J's has been our "go to" place for years ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 14, 2016

J's has been our "go to" place for years. They offer a good variety on the menu and the quality of both the food and the service is very good. There were four of us on this visit and we had steak, trout, fish tacos, and ahi tuna Asian salad - we took full advantage of the breadth of the menu and all of our meals were nicely done. Pricing has edged up over the last few months, but as long as the total package remains this good we'll keep going back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

J. Alexander's is always great. I do ha ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

J. Alexander's is always great. I do have a complaint about the reservation system. Our last visit was for my wife’s birthday. She expressly wanted to set in one of the curved booths in the back of the restaurant. There was no way to convey preferences via the reservation system. I telephone the restaurant and requested they append our preference to our reservation. Another member of our party arrived before me. We were seated at a table in the noisy center of the restaurant. Obviously the request for a curved booth in the back was not appended to the reservation.

Suggestion / request, add a space for special request in the reservation process and assign a host or hostess to read and heed the requests.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great for my birthday! Thank you so much ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great for my birthday! Thank you so much it was wonderful from cocktails to carrot cake! Was nervous about bringing my niece who is 2 but she did great and enjoyed the food! Thank you again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never had a bad experience and eat here ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Never had a bad experience and eat here alot. I love the atmosphere and the friendly staff. The food is always hot. Need to go down a few bucks on prices.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alexander's delivered once again a great ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Alexander's delivered once again a great dinner to the family. The shrimp as an appetizer was plentiful and perfectly done. One order was filet which was prepared rare as ordered and was outstanding. My wife ordered the pork tenderloin with spicy sauce which she really enjoyed and my daughter ordered the prime rib which she thought was perfect. Wine list is extensive which we ordered a couple glasses of Cabernet also very good. All in All a perfect dinner out. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steak and great service with just ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great steak and great service with just the right ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first trip to J Alexander's ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was my first trip to J Alexander's and I was overly impressed. Everything from the greeting at the door to the bill pay was wonderful. I will definitely return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistently good food and servic ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always consistently good food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The waitress was amazing. She made sure ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The waitress was amazing. She made sure we were happy with everything, kept our drinks full, and at the end of the meal boxed our food up for us. The food was delicious! I had the New York Strip medium well and it was cooked perfectly and my date had the salmon and she loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for my oldest son's birthday dinner ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Went for my oldest son's birthday dinner. The food and service was second to none.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service. The pumpkin ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fantastic food and service. The pumpkin pie was amazing and I don't like punkin.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy JAs. My favorite go to for ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Always enjoy JAs. My favorite go to for the Hamilton Place Mall area!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time at this particular locat ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our second time at this particular location. While the food was good and the best cup of coffee I've had in some time, the service was lacking. We had to ask multiple times for bread and it finally arrived after we finished our salads. I believe we should be asked if we want bread rather than the other way around and it should be brought out shortly after being seated. We also had to ask for drink refills each time. This place would get 5 stars from me across the board if the service were better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Ate at the bar this particular time. Lo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ate at the bar this particular time. Love Travis and everyone that works the bar. They are the best. Excellent service as well as wine pairing suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had a late, quiet dinne ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My husband and I had a late, quiet dinner here on a Saturday night after running some errands. Still crowded at 7:45, but reservation was honored promptly. We have had lunch here many times but I had forgotten that this is a great place for a glass of wine and a cozy dinner. Food was good, service was lovely.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.