Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Izakaya Kou

Izakaya Kou is taking the idea of the traditional Izakaya and turning it into the modern gathering place where we offer high quality Japanese fusion tapas and various unique drinking beverages in a comfortable, modern and fashionable atmosphere. It is a place where people can linger with good friends, good food, and drinks in the heart of San Francisco.

*Happy Hour, Tues-Fri from 5:30 to 7:00p*

If you would like to reserve a Tatami Room, please be advised, each room requires a $200 minimum with 3 hours use of the space. The largest room, seating up to 8 is a $260 minimum.

Parties of 6 and more, please contact the restaurant directly between the hours of 4pm-10pm.

1560 Fillmore Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Asian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: T-Th 5:30pm-11:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:30pm-12:00am

Dinner: Su 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fillmore Street and Geary Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 441-9294

Website:
http://www.izakayakou.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered until 6 pm or there is one neighborhood parking facility a block away at The Japan Center garage at 1610 Geary Blvd.

Public Transit:
We are located on the Southeast corner of Geary Street and Fillmore Street. Muni buses run regularly to the Japan town area.

Executive Chef:
Nick Yoon

Private Party Facilities:
Our space offers private tatami rooms with a minimum seating of four and up to eight. The rooms feature sliding doors that connect to an adjoining room for larger parties. Each room requires a $250 spending minimum and can be used up to three hours. The largest room seats up to 8 and requires a $350minimum.

No shoes allowed in Tatami Rooms

Private Party Contact:
James: (415) 441-9294

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Izakaya Kou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (3)
See All
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Romantic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Tapas (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This most recent visit, the food quality slipped a bit. The menu has a seafood noodle soup, but the waitress said they don't serve the ramen with seafood. so ordered an assortment of vege, meat and other tapas. They tend to use a bit too much salt and some of the dishes have a little bit too much butter or oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was very good although they are all on the salty side. We particularly liked the grilled pork and the uni rice in hotpot. The waitor was really rushing us. We were taking second seating (and there shouldn't be any more seating), so why the rush?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Can't miss. Consistently excellent food and a fun vibe.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 5, 2017

It was our first time here, we are from out of town. The place is hot and muggy, the water was warm with no ice...seriously? Sorry locals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Went here for dinner and absolutely loved the place. They took very good care of us.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great sushi! Every dish was wonderful, creative, fresh and amazing!

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Horrible. We waited for 20 minutes after being seated and no one even came to offer water or menus so we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I had a reservation for 8:30 that I got at 7:00 same day. When I arrived with my party to Izakaya Kou it was like madness inside. So many people waiting around. We waited at least 10 minutes to check in with the non-existent hostess to have her tell us that we didn't actually have a reservation and that they were fully booked. I showed her my OpenTable confirmation and she told us to wait a few minutes after saying again that she's fully booked. She then disappeared again and tons of other people were also frantically trying to get a table or checkin. We waited another 15-20 minutes before talking to another person at the host counter. Same response, told us to "wait a minute". We overheard her ask a group who had been sitting in the waiting area if they wanted to sit at the bar. They asked how long it would be for a table, explaining they'd already waited 1.5 hours! We left disappointed and hungry. Worst OpenTable experience I've ever had- and embarrassing to be with a group of friends and not actually have a reservation according to them!? That's the whole point of OpenTable- to have a reservation and things go smoothly. They also never apologized or seemed to care at all. They were so in over their heads they forgot to say something as simple as "sorry for the inconvenience and we hope to have you return a different day"... They offered none of that. Just "wait a minute" with deer in headlights looks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Stopped in here as part of a day in the Western Addition exploring the different pockets of businesses, and was seated quickly. Once there, and after extremely attentive service to get us tea and take our order, the problems began.

Everything. Is. Sweet.

Kou sauce, the house specialty, gives everything a sugary before-, middle-, and after-taste. Seafood salad was sweet, tuna tartare was sitting in sweet sauce which the poached egg couldn't save us from, and almost all skewers had an encounter with a brush of the by-now-blasé sauce. There was quite a variety of food of all types, and almost all of it was cooked well, but the sweetness just killed it for us since it shows up in every marinade, sauce, and dish.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great value sushi, very reasonably priced and delicious. Also had pretty cheap sake- fun evening vibe for a group, definitely on the louder/more partying side which was exactly what we were looking for. Would recommend before a fun night out!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fun, Hot Spot, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Yay! Softer music would help keep the noise down. Food and service were amazing though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Medicore food but cool ambiance, wouldn't go there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The service for tatami room is really sick!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I would like to give them points for customer service. We were not seated until 15 mins after the reservation time, understanding that the restaurant was busy, they took the sake on the house as a token.

Food was great, services was great too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food is just OK, not as good as expected. Won't come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food! Loved the scallop on the fire pit and also the jelly sparkling wine!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I. Adore. This. Restaurant.

Bok choi
Oyster mushrooms
Chicken Tsukune
Kou Sashimi
Volcano roll
Croquette
Etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I thought agedashi tofu should be a bit more crispy. I was disappointed that beef tongue was not on the menu, and restaurant ran out of uni at 6:30pm!!!!!!! 6:30 is very early to run out a major popular dish. Tako wasabi was amazing. I wish there were more grilled and yakitori items on the menu... we had to leave because we had ordered lots of dishes already and we felt like we haven't started eating yet... portions were way too small and not much variety on the menu so we had to leave and eat real dinner elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a reservation, but they were so short staffed, we had to wait 10-15 minutes. Also, they did not acknowledge the request I put in when I made the reservation, that we were celebrating a birthday and wanted a more private space. Instead, we were right next to 5 other couples and a drafty door. The food itself was pretty good and the service once we sat down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

This restaurant mails it in - lackluster in every regard from service to ambiance and most of all the food. It's edible and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The food was scrupulously and well priced. The hosted gave us a private room. She was very accommodating which made the 15 minutes wait from our reservation time worthwhile.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Amazing food. Everything was delicious and such great flavor. Service felt a bit rushed but I'd come back here in a heart best. Great sake menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I think I was the oldest person in Izakaya Kou (and I am not that old!) It seems like a very popular place for young people. Most of people go there to drink Japanese / Korean sake or shouchu. If you want to have traditional Japanese food.... this is not that kind of place. This place is for more fun and party. I think I will go back there with my co-works for party.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I was totally blown away by the impeccable service and food! Perfect place for a date OR dinner with friends. Not to mention the decor was simply stunning. I highly recommend this place for honest Japanese food!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food and reasonable prices. The wine list is bare and overpriced but everything else is ok

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great spot. Cool interior design. Allowed server to have the chef "surprise us." Gave little or no direction other than enjoyment of seafood and no dietary restrictions. Ended up with a varied mix of wonderful favor in a great range of small plates at an all-in tab of under $60 for two.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Best place I've found in a year of living in SF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It was awesome! The hostess was so patience and nice with my group trying to figure out what we want to eat. It was a surprise birthday dinner so the restaurant threw in sparkling candles. We sat in the private rooms with a $300 minimum. The food was so good. Definitely should share all the food, very fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Otoro is now our 'go to' sushi spot. The Uni from Japan is awesome! We enjoy all of their items and my girlfriend loves the sake sampler. All in all, excellent sushi/sashimi, reasonable prices, great service all packed into a great little spot. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

When i walked in, the restaurant was quite full. I sat at the sushi bar, it was quite interesting. Sushi and sashimi were very fresh. The service was very nice and quick. I loved their happy hour menu too. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Really creative and delicious dishes. Server was very hard to find.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Place was cold, barely had any attention to refil water or ask how we were doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This restaurant is very near to the Sundance Cinema. I read the other reviews and it sounded like a nice option before the movie. The three of us were very pleased with the dishes, enjoyed the miso black cod and the gyozas especially. Udon noodle dish was quite good also. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Hostess (the snobby Asian with blond hair) was rude and unpleasant. Attitude sucked. If you hate your job, leave. Had a reservation but she made us wait 10 minutes for a table that was already ready. The temperature was awful, seemed like minus zero in there. It was also so dark in there you needed a flashlight to find your tea that you needed to drink to keep from getting frostbite. Waitstaff was slow and unorganized. Waited like 20 mins for someone to give us water and take our order. Apparently they also changed their menu so that when you have decided on your selections they tell you either they do not have anymore or they altered it so it barely resembles what it was supposed to be. What Japanese sushi house runs out of uni?? Spend some money to get your menu reprinted, and to get your inventory properly stocked, and your staff properly trained to be professional and courteous. And oh yeah spend a few bucks for heat. It helps with the dining experience to be able to feel your fingers and be able to use utensils. As probably fake reviews helped to hike your Yelp rating, this authentic review and others like mine can discourage other future patrons from dining with you. You can easily be rated the worse restaurant too. You will definitely never get a return from me. What a waste of time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent service, food and speed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The desk at our hotel recommended Izakaya Kou to us and we were so glad we dined here. Small plates, interesting cuisine as well as traditional Japanese sushi and sashimi. Great selection of beverages. The sushi was fresh and well crafted. We would definitely return if we were in the neighborhood.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Extremely poor service - long delay to place order. Too tight seating. Drinks weren't refilled and servers barely acknowledged us or our signals.
No apology or gesture for poor service.
Ramen soup was served without a proper soup spoon. When I asked for a spoon, server brought out a metal serving spoon after a long delay.
I can't imagine any reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Made reservation for 2 people. When I checked in the host told me to sit and wait. I waited for 20 mins and when I saw there are couple tables are empty I asked if my table is ready. The host asked is everyone here. I responded "you didn't mention I need to wait everyone here to be seated", and she just answered "SO?" without any further conversation. Waiting is inevitable but rude attitude is unbearable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was very unimpressive. Sushi tasted strange. Not fresh. Rubbery consistency. Miso grilled cod was great. Would not rec.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was awesome and the atmosphere was also cute. However, we did not think they should automatically charge 20% service fee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.