Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Izakaya Kou

Izakaya Kou is taking the idea of the traditional Izakaya and turning it into the modern gathering place where we offer high quality Japanese fusion tapas and various unique drinking beverages in a comfortable, modern and fashionable atmosphere. It is a place where people can linger with good friends, good food, and drinks in the heart of San Francisco.

*Happy Hour, Tues-Fri from 5:30 to 7:00p*

If you would like to reserve a Tatami Room, please be advised, each room requires a $200 minimum with 3 hours use of the space. The largest room, seating up to 8 is a $260 minimum.

Parties of 6 and more, please contact the restaurant directly between the hours of 4pm-10pm.

1560 Fillmore Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Asian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: T-Th 5:30pm-11:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:30pm-12:00am

Dinner: Su 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fillmore Street and Geary Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 441-9294

Website:
http://www.izakayakou.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered until 6 pm or there is one neighborhood parking facility a block away at The Japan Center garage at 1610 Geary Blvd.

Public Transit:
We are located on the Southeast corner of Geary Street and Fillmore Street. Muni buses run regularly to the Japan town area.

Executive Chef:
Nick Yoon

Private Party Facilities:
Our space offers private tatami rooms with a minimum seating of four and up to eight. The rooms feature sliding doors that connect to an adjoining room for larger parties. Each room requires a $200 spending minimum and can be used up to three hours. The largest room seats up to 8 and requires a $280 minimum.

No shoes allowed in Tatami Rooms

Private Party Contact:
James: (415) 441-9294

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Izakaya Kou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Authentic (2)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Cozy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The service for tatami room is really sick!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I would like to give them points for customer service. We were not seated until 15 mins after the reservation time, understanding that the restaurant was busy, they took the sake on the house as a token.

Food was great, services was great too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food is just OK, not as good as expected. Won't come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food! Loved the scallop on the fire pit and also the jelly sparkling wine!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I. Adore. This. Restaurant.

Bok choi
Oyster mushrooms
Chicken Tsukune
Kou Sashimi
Volcano roll
Croquette
Etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I thought agedashi tofu should be a bit more crispy. I was disappointed that beef tongue was not on the menu, and restaurant ran out of uni at 6:30pm!!!!!!! 6:30 is very early to run out a major popular dish. Tako wasabi was amazing. I wish there were more grilled and yakitori items on the menu... we had to leave because we had ordered lots of dishes already and we felt like we haven't started eating yet... portions were way too small and not much variety on the menu so we had to leave and eat real dinner elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a reservation, but they were so short staffed, we had to wait 10-15 minutes. Also, they did not acknowledge the request I put in when I made the reservation, that we were celebrating a birthday and wanted a more private space. Instead, we were right next to 5 other couples and a drafty door. The food itself was pretty good and the service once we sat down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This restaurant mails it in - lackluster in every regard from service to ambiance and most of all the food. It's edible and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food was scrupulously and well priced. The hosted gave us a private room. She was very accommodating which made the 15 minutes wait from our reservation time worthwhile.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing food. Everything was delicious and such great flavor. Service felt a bit rushed but I'd come back here in a heart best. Great sake menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I think I was the oldest person in Izakaya Kou (and I am not that old!) It seems like a very popular place for young people. Most of people go there to drink Japanese / Korean sake or shouchu. If you want to have traditional Japanese food.... this is not that kind of place. This place is for more fun and party. I think I will go back there with my co-works for party.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I was totally blown away by the impeccable service and food! Perfect place for a date OR dinner with friends. Not to mention the decor was simply stunning. I highly recommend this place for honest Japanese food!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food and reasonable prices. The wine list is bare and overpriced but everything else is ok

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great spot. Cool interior design. Allowed server to have the chef "surprise us." Gave little or no direction other than enjoyment of seafood and no dietary restrictions. Ended up with a varied mix of wonderful favor in a great range of small plates at an all-in tab of under $60 for two.

Tags: Private Room, Outstanding Value, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Best place I've found in a year of living in SF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was awesome! The hostess was so patience and nice with my group trying to figure out what we want to eat. It was a surprise birthday dinner so the restaurant threw in sparkling candles. We sat in the private rooms with a $300 minimum. The food was so good. Definitely should share all the food, very fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Otoro is now our 'go to' sushi spot. The Uni from Japan is awesome! We enjoy all of their items and my girlfriend loves the sake sampler. All in all, excellent sushi/sashimi, reasonable prices, great service all packed into a great little spot. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

When i walked in, the restaurant was quite full. I sat at the sushi bar, it was quite interesting. Sushi and sashimi were very fresh. The service was very nice and quick. I loved their happy hour menu too. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Really creative and delicious dishes. Server was very hard to find.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Place was cold, barely had any attention to refil water or ask how we were doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This restaurant is very near to the Sundance Cinema. I read the other reviews and it sounded like a nice option before the movie. The three of us were very pleased with the dishes, enjoyed the miso black cod and the gyozas especially. Udon noodle dish was quite good also. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Hostess (the snobby Asian with blond hair) was rude and unpleasant. Attitude sucked. If you hate your job, leave. Had a reservation but she made us wait 10 minutes for a table that was already ready. The temperature was awful, seemed like minus zero in there. It was also so dark in there you needed a flashlight to find your tea that you needed to drink to keep from getting frostbite. Waitstaff was slow and unorganized. Waited like 20 mins for someone to give us water and take our order. Apparently they also changed their menu so that when you have decided on your selections they tell you either they do not have anymore or they altered it so it barely resembles what it was supposed to be. What Japanese sushi house runs out of uni?? Spend some money to get your menu reprinted, and to get your inventory properly stocked, and your staff properly trained to be professional and courteous. And oh yeah spend a few bucks for heat. It helps with the dining experience to be able to feel your fingers and be able to use utensils. As probably fake reviews helped to hike your Yelp rating, this authentic review and others like mine can discourage other future patrons from dining with you. You can easily be rated the worse restaurant too. You will definitely never get a return from me. What a waste of time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent service, food and speed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The desk at our hotel recommended Izakaya Kou to us and we were so glad we dined here. Small plates, interesting cuisine as well as traditional Japanese sushi and sashimi. Great selection of beverages. The sushi was fresh and well crafted. We would definitely return if we were in the neighborhood.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Extremely poor service - long delay to place order. Too tight seating. Drinks weren't refilled and servers barely acknowledged us or our signals.
No apology or gesture for poor service.
Ramen soup was served without a proper soup spoon. When I asked for a spoon, server brought out a metal serving spoon after a long delay.
I can't imagine any reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Made reservation for 2 people. When I checked in the host told me to sit and wait. I waited for 20 mins and when I saw there are couple tables are empty I asked if my table is ready. The host asked is everyone here. I responded "you didn't mention I need to wait everyone here to be seated", and she just answered "SO?" without any further conversation. Waiting is inevitable but rude attitude is unbearable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food was very unimpressive. Sushi tasted strange. Not fresh. Rubbery consistency. Miso grilled cod was great. Would not rec.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was awesome and the atmosphere was also cute. However, we did not think they should automatically charge 20% service fee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Brought my boyfriend here for his birthday. We had been before and loved the food. But this time a significant portion of our food came out 20 minutes after the rest of it including our drinks. They claimed it was because there wasn't space on the table but there was ample room. The food that was late was cold and clearly had been sitting for a while. I also ended up chugging my beer because we were done eating when it came out and I didn't want to waste it. Very disappointing since I really enjoyed the food and had good experiences before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The food was good before. It looks like they either changed the chef and/or the owner. The food tastes completely different now. The flavor is too strong and it tastes like the food you can find from the all you can eat sushi restaurant. Quite disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We come here for all of our special occasions. This time the Server was mediocre. Had undercooked miso black cod and he took a piece back to the kitchen and recooked it. We asked him to either give us a new one or take it off the order... he simply took it off the order, which was fine with us. But we have had better service here before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service: it was the first time a restaurant did not notify OpenTable that we did show up - I got an email from OpenTable later asking why I did not go (when I did). Although we had a reservation, it took some time for us to be seated. At the table, service was good.
Food: not authentic at all, but not bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2016

For the peons, one sits in the very public, noisy area looking upon those ensconced in the nearby rooms where only those who can afford $100 for dinner, may sit. Not only that, the service was lethargic and one of the wait people was absolutely -- not rude -- but "above it all." She was barely capable of smiling, no less exchanging a word. The one good dish was their eggplant in a great sauce. Everything else was tasteless, and when we mentioned not liking the chicken, he said, with a smile. "Oh that's too bad."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was amazing. However, the dance beat at the background was pretty disturbing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Although the restaurant was not crowded, and our table was in the middle of the restaurant, the servers did not attent to us unless we waived vigorously when we could catch their eye. the food was excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The hostess went above and beyond to make our visit amazing in the very short time we had --- we had a movie within an hour of arrival. Our table wasn't immediately ready so she took our order in advance and our food pretty much arrived the moment we sat down. Everything was delicious and we truly felt well taken care of... will be coming back soon & frequently.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Since it was our first time, we went with half chef selections and then some of our tried and true faves... Should've kept to just tried & true. Their Kabocha Croquette was a little underwhelming given all the hype and I would've preferred to save the space for something less dense and, in my opinion, bland. The Hamachi Carpaccio, while usually a favorite, was not particularly special but the Spicy Tuna Toll was pretty average. The Tako Yaki octopus balls on the other hand were probably the best I've ever had, and I was very pleased with Buta Toro as well. (First 2 were chef selection, last 2 were my choice).

I love izakaya because of all the variety and there were plenty of dishes that we didn't get to try (I blame the Croquette). Will be back soon to try the Uni Onsen Tamago, Tako Wasabi, Hotate katsu... and so many more.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

If you want great food this is the right place. If you want to have a conversation while eating this is not the right place. If you really want to have a conversation here ask for one of the enclosed Japanese-style rooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I cannot say enough about how much I like this place. My favorite dishes there has got to be the grilled eggplant and the kombucha croquette. Simply amazing what they can do with eggplant and the sauce for the croquette. Most of the time I would get Jinah as our server and I really like how fun she is, always a joy to see her.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service was fine, nothing outstanding. Ambience was hip and nice. The pounding dance music was way too loud for conversation. However the food was overall too sweet. Everything had sugar in it! And some things had way too much sugar. The sushi rice was disappointing. It had a chewy texture and was too sweet. We were hungry but stopped after several plates because we were getting sick of dessert for dinner. Went to have food somewhere else after that to fill us up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.