About Izakaya Kou

1560 Fillmore Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
View Larger Map

Izakaya Kou is taking the idea of the traditional Izakaya and turning it into the modern gathering place where we offer high quality Japanese fusion tapas and various unique drinking beverages in a comfortable, modern and fashionable atmosphere. It is a place where people can linger with good friends, good food, and drinks in the heart of San Francisco.

*Happy Hour, Tues-Fri from 5:30 to 7:00p*

If you would like to reserve a Tatami Room, please be advised, each room requires a $200 minimum with 3 hours use of the space. The largest room, seating up to 8 is a $260 minimum.

Parties of 6 and more, please contact the restaurant directly between the hours of 4pm-10pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Asian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: T-Th 5:30pm-11:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:30pm-12:00am

Dinner: Su 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Fillmore Street and Geary Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 441-9294

Website:
http://www.izakayakou.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is metered until 6 pm or there is one neighborhood parking facility a block away at The Japan Center garage at 1610 Geary Blvd.

Public Transit:
We are located on the Southeast corner of Geary Street and Fillmore Street. Muni buses run regularly to the Japan town area.

Executive Chef:
Nick Yoon

Private Party Facilities:
Our space offers private tatami rooms with a minimum seating of four and up to eight. The rooms feature sliding doors that connect to an adjoining room for larger parties. Each room requires a $200 spending minimum and can be used up to three hours. The largest room seats up to 8 and requires a $280 minimum.

No shoes allowed in Tatami Rooms

Private Party Contact:
James: (415) 441-9294

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Izakaya Kou Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

56% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (2)
See All
Cozy (2)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Private Room (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Spicy (1)
Romantic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best place I've found in a year of livin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Best place I've found in a year of living in SF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was awesome! The hostess was so patie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was awesome! The hostess was so patience and nice with my group trying to figure out what we want to eat. It was a surprise birthday dinner so the restaurant threw in sparkling candles. We sat in the private rooms with a $300 minimum. The food was so good. Definitely should share all the food, very fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Otoro is now our 'go to' sushi spot. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Otoro is now our 'go to' sushi spot. The Uni from Japan is awesome! We enjoy all of their items and my girlfriend loves the sake sampler. All in all, excellent sushi/sashimi, reasonable prices, great service all packed into a great little spot. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

When i walked in, the restaurant was qui ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

When i walked in, the restaurant was quite full. I sat at the sushi bar, it was quite interesting. Sushi and sashimi were very fresh. The service was very nice and quick. I loved their happy hour menu too. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Really creative and delicious dishes. S ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Really creative and delicious dishes. Server was very hard to find.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Place was cold, barely had any attention ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Place was cold, barely had any attention to refil water or ask how we were doing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

This restaurant is very near to the Sund ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This restaurant is very near to the Sundance Cinema. I read the other reviews and it sounded like a nice option before the movie. The three of us were very pleased with the dishes, enjoyed the miso black cod and the gyozas especially. Udon noodle dish was quite good also. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess (the snobby Asian with blond ha ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Hostess (the snobby Asian with blond hair) was rude and unpleasant. Attitude sucked. If you hate your job, leave. Had a reservation but she made us wait 10 minutes for a table that was already ready. The temperature was awful, seemed like minus zero in there. It was also so dark in there you needed a flashlight to find your tea that you needed to drink to keep from getting frostbite. Waitstaff was slow and unorganized. Waited like 20 mins for someone to give us water and take our order. Apparently they also changed their menu so that when you have decided on your selections they tell you either they do not have anymore or they altered it so it barely resembles what it was supposed to be. What Japanese sushi house runs out of uni?? Spend some money to get your menu reprinted, and to get your inventory properly stocked, and your staff properly trained to be professional and courteous. And oh yeah spend a few bucks for heat. It helps with the dining experience to be able to feel your fingers and be able to use utensils. As probably fake reviews helped to hike your Yelp rating, this authentic review and others like mine can discourage other future patrons from dining with you. You can easily be rated the worse restaurant too. You will definitely never get a return from me. What a waste of time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent service, food and speed!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent service, food and speed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The desk at our hotel recommended Izakay ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The desk at our hotel recommended Izakaya Kou to us and we were so glad we dined here. Small plates, interesting cuisine as well as traditional Japanese sushi and sashimi. Great selection of beverages. The sushi was fresh and well crafted. We would definitely return if we were in the neighborhood.

Tags: Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Extremely poor service - long delay to p ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Extremely poor service - long delay to place order. Too tight seating. Drinks weren't refilled and servers barely acknowledged us or our signals.

No apology or gesture for poor service.

Ramen soup was served without a proper soup spoon. When I asked for a spoon, server brought out a metal serving spoon after a long delay.

I can't imagine any reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

Made reservation for 2 people. When I ch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Made reservation for 2 people. When I checked in the host told me to sit and wait. I waited for 20 mins and when I saw there are couple tables are empty I asked if my table is ready. The host asked is everyone here. I responded "you didn't mention I need to wait everyone here to be seated", and she just answered "SO?" without any further conversation. Waiting is inevitable but rude attitude is unbearable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Food was very unimpressive. Sushi tasted ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food was very unimpressive. Sushi tasted strange. Not fresh. Rubbery consistency. Miso grilled cod was great. Would not rec.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was awesome and the atmosphere ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was awesome and the atmosphere was also cute. However, we did not think they should automatically charge 20% service fee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Brought my boyfriend here for his birthd ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Brought my boyfriend here for his birthday. We had been before and loved the food. But this time a significant portion of our food came out 20 minutes after the rest of it including our drinks. They claimed it was because there wasn't space on the table but there was ample room. The food that was late was cold and clearly had been sitting for a while. I also ended up chugging my beer because we were done eating when it came out and I didn't want to waste it. Very disappointing since I really enjoyed the food and had good experiences before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was good before. It looks like ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The food was good before. It looks like they either changed the chef and/or the owner. The food tastes completely different now. The flavor is too strong and it tastes like the food you can find from the all you can eat sushi restaurant. Quite disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

We come here for all of our special occa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We come here for all of our special occasions. This time the Server was mediocre. Had undercooked miso black cod and he took a piece back to the kitchen and recooked it. We asked him to either give us a new one or take it off the order... he simply took it off the order, which was fine with us. But we have had better service here before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Service: it was the first time a restaur ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service: it was the first time a restaurant did not notify OpenTable that we did show up - I got an email from OpenTable later asking why I did not go (when I did). Although we had a reservation, it took some time for us to be seated. At the table, service was good.

Food: not authentic at all, but not bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

For the peons, one sits in the very publ ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2016

For the peons, one sits in the very public, noisy area looking upon those ensconced in the nearby rooms where only those who can afford $100 for dinner, may sit. Not only that, the service was lethargic and one of the wait people was absolutely -- not rude -- but "above it all." She was barely capable of smiling, no less exchanging a word. The one good dish was their eggplant in a great sauce. Everything else was tasteless, and when we mentioned not liking the chicken, he said, with a smile. "Oh that's too bad."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was amazing. However, the danc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was amazing. However, the dance beat at the background was pretty disturbing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Although the restaurant was not crowded, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Although the restaurant was not crowded, and our table was in the middle of the restaurant, the servers did not attent to us unless we waived vigorously when we could catch their eye. the food was excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

The hostess went above and beyond to mak ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The hostess went above and beyond to make our visit amazing in the very short time we had --- we had a movie within an hour of arrival. Our table wasn't immediately ready so she took our order in advance and our food pretty much arrived the moment we sat down. Everything was delicious and we truly felt well taken care of... will be coming back soon & frequently.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since it was our first time, we went wit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Since it was our first time, we went with half chef selections and then some of our tried and true faves... Should've kept to just tried & true. Their Kabocha Croquette was a little underwhelming given all the hype and I would've preferred to save the space for something less dense and, in my opinion, bland. The Hamachi Carpaccio, while usually a favorite, was not particularly special but the Spicy Tuna Toll was pretty average. The Tako Yaki octopus balls on the other hand were probably the best I've ever had, and I was very pleased with Buta Toro as well. (First 2 were chef selection, last 2 were my choice).

I love izakaya because of all the variety and there were plenty of dishes that we didn't get to try (I blame the Croquette). Will be back soon to try the Uni Onsen Tamago, Tako Wasabi, Hotate katsu... and so many more.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

If you want great food this is the right ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

If you want great food this is the right place. If you want to have a conversation while eating this is not the right place. If you really want to have a conversation here ask for one of the enclosed Japanese-style rooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I cannot say enough about how much I lik ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I cannot say enough about how much I like this place. My favorite dishes there has got to be the grilled eggplant and the kombucha croquette. Simply amazing what they can do with eggplant and the sauce for the croquette. Most of the time I would get Jinah as our server and I really like how fun she is, always a joy to see her.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was fine, nothing outstanding. A ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service was fine, nothing outstanding. Ambience was hip and nice. The pounding dance music was way too loud for conversation. However the food was overall too sweet. Everything had sugar in it! And some things had way too much sugar. The sushi rice was disappointing. It had a chewy texture and was too sweet. We were hungry but stopped after several plates because we were getting sick of dessert for dinner. Went to have food somewhere else after that to fill us up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The sushi selection is pretty good and f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2016

The sushi selection is pretty good and fresh. The skewers were a bit lacking. And the cooked items were decent. The service is spotty, probably because they are understaffed. Overall it's s good place for casual dining with friends or a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

REALLY great experience my first time. n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2016

REALLY great experience my first time. not so much my second time. good spot for before a movie!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

the food was bit much- overwelhming. to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

the food was bit much- overwelhming.

too much of sauce, not fully tasteful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We had a group of 16! Great place for a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a group of 16! Great place for a lively, foodie group. We had a wonderful time. Ambiance is cozy and rustic, the background music was hip and great for conversations. The food was perfectly paced, and everything tasted amazing. Would recommend if you wanna try some great Japanese dishes with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is probably good for drinking ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2016

This place is probably good for drinking sake with a couple of appetizers rather than having full dinner.

Food is not like awesome but ok.

Staffs were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent SF Izakaya

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2016

A few years ago, Izakaya Kou opened in the Fillmore area and offered high quality Izakaya fare at reasonable prices with a contemporary ambience. You can find great examples of Takoyaki, Yakitori, Ika Yaki, and a large selection of other dishes including sushi, sashimi, grilled and fried dishes. If you're a Shochu fan, they have a nice selection that are reasonably priced at $5 a glass, and they have over 20 sakes available, many that can be either ordered by the glass or in a 300ml bottle/carafe. The most remarkable thing about Izakaya Kou is that after a few years, the quality and value for money are still excellent. The food is still fantastic and you can walk out with enough money left in your pocket to not mind paying the cover at the Boom Boom Room across the street. I highly recommend Izakaya Kou.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in SF!

 
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The food is fantastic. Delicious and authentic. I can't recommend enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A local gem

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2016

An unusual Japanese menu with each delicious dish artistically served at a reasonable price--what more could you ask?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite Dinng

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 16, 2016

At the Izakaya Kou restaurant each dish is a work or art both culinary and visual. The ambience is reserved and stately. Wood paneling reduces the noise level so, despite background music (which my opinion was a bit loud) one can have a conversation without raising one's voice. Our favorite San Francisco outing has become a movie at the Kubuki Theater and dinner at this fine nearby restaurant (timed of course so as to take advantage of happy hour from 5:30-7:00).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Convenient location

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2016

This is a great place to grab a bite to eat before going to a show right across the street at the Fillmore. The chicken skewers were delicious as was the sashimi salad. Just don't be in a hurry. Even with reservations we had to wait, and then two servers were confused which one was "allowed to help us" so we had to order everything twice. Both servers were not familiar with any of the items we asked about on the menu. Both tables on either side of us sent their food back because it was not what they ordered.

The restaurant was cold, the seating in the front is right by the door and and drafty.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

My Gemstone

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2016

We love this spot. Daughter is intrigued by the private dining rooms with sliding doors. We are looking for an excuse to get a group together to book one of those spots.

Food is most XLNTE! Great twists on some traditional favorites always surprise and thrill me. Service is a bit lacking. They could hover a bit more to keep beverages topped and take orders for next set.

A bit noisy, so if you are catching up with an old pal, go early or do not expect to get a lot of in-depth discussion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Needs to work on customer service

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Food was good, I loved my Ramen. Service killed the night. When we asked our waiter for feedback on what he liked or what he thought about a item on the menus, he would say "uhh it is all good". Using grey language makes me feel like you are not confident in the restaurant food. You should feel passionate about the food you are serving and be able to give me your opinion. Our first appetizer came out immediately, our second one didn't come out till our dinner was served. My friends got their sushi and then had to wait 15 minutes for me to get my ramen. The food should have been served within a couple minutes of each other so we aren't all waiting there awkwardly for 15 minute for one persons food. Oh yeah and I had to ask when my food was coming after 10 minutes and he has to ask me what I ordered again. He even said I thought you guys were all set with the food. Clearly not when everyone has food except me. The waiter was not observant. Would not come back here or recommend to anyone. You are better off with sushi bistro in the inner Richmond.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Across from The Fillmore

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2016

I had dinner here with friends before going to The Fillmore. I chose it because of the high ratings and proximity to The Fillmore but will return because of the interesting (and long) sake menu, delicious and beautifully prepared dishes, the unique offerings on the menu, and the ambiance. It was a wonderful spot for dinner and we were well taken care of by the waitstaff. The private rooms are adorable and would be great for a larger group or a special occasion. Highly recommend the Black Cod, the Tuna Carpacchio, and the Caterpillar rolls but avoid the mushroom skewer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice dinner; service could be better

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food at Izakaya is delicious. Fresh fish and unique takes on traditional Japanese cuisine. Highly recommend it for the food. The service left a little to be desired. We spent a good amount of time with no food or drinks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.