About Izakaya Den

1487 S. Pearl St
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Izakaya Den is Denver’s popular Japanese gastropub, modeled after the lively after hours establishments found throughout Japan. The restaurant is located on South Pearl Street and is the second restaurant of the Kizaki brothers, founders and owners of Sushi Den.



The menu is arranged in a tapas style, serving traditional Japanese small plates along with dishes infused with international flavors and textures. The more traditional Japanese offerings include sashimi and nigiri, sourced from daily fish shipments from around the globe, along with dumplings and noodle dishes. The global cuisine experiments with a bevy of different flavors including unique items such as Grilled Panzanella Salad (jumbo lump crab, toasted focaccia, local goat cheese, pistachios, plum wine vinaigrette), Kobe Beef Sliders (seared foie gras, pomme frittes). A gluten-free menu is also available along with a popular weekday happy hour from 5 to 6:30 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday 5:00PM-10:00PM, Friday & Saturday 5:00PM-11:00PM,
Lunch: Saturday 11:30AM-2:30PM

Cross Street:
S.Pearl Street and Florida Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-0691

Website:
http://www.izakayaden.net/

Catering:
Menus custom designed for both business and social occasions. Available from 20-50 ppl. Please call to inquire.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet service is available in front of our sister restaurant, Sushi Den.

Public Transit:
Izakaya Den is conveniently located a few blocks from Light Rail and a 10 minute drive or taxi ride from downtown Denver and convention sites. A RTD transit stop is on the corner and B Cycle has a pick up and drop off site nearby.

Executive Chef:
Master Chef Toshi Kizaki

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room can accommodate up to 45 people sit down dinner. Private Party Contact Name: Yuki

Private Party Contact:
Yuki: (303) 777-0691

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SLICED! is the fun and educational sushi making class at Izakaya Den. Join the seasoned chefs behind the Den Corner restaurants- Sushi Den, Izakaya Den and OTOTO Food and Wine- for a tasty, informative culinary experience where you’ll learn to create all styles of sushi rolls and nigiri sushi. Held in the exquisitely designed private dining room at Izakaya Den, classes are taught by Yasu Kizaki, who has perfected the art of fish selection and sushi preparation with over 30 years of experience.



After the class, the group sits together for a meal that includes over 20 pieces of sushi, miso soup and traditional green tea. Sliced! offers a hands-on learning experience sure to be enjoyed by novice and veteran cooks alike. Price is $70 per person.



SLICED! is held every other Wednesday throughout the year. Call directly for reservations.

Izakaya Den Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (44)
Fit for Foodies (43)
See All
Modern Decor (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Hot Spot (33)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Romantic (28)
Healthy (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Fun (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Authentic (21)
Bar Seating (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Tapas (15)
Business Meals (14)
People Watching (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Casual (8)
Private Room (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Seasonal (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Spicy (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1019 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing sushi and service was spectacula ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing sushi and service was spectacular tonight!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Vegan, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently good sushi, never fishy tas ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Consistently good sushi, never fishy tasting. I prefer Izakaya den to Sushi den because 1) you can actually make a reservation under a party of 6, 2) the actual restaurant is more updated and cooler looking and 3) i think they share the same kitchen so they are pretty much the same restaurant?

Izakaya den all the way!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Izakaya is always the best atmosphere an ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Izakaya is always the best atmosphere and best sushi. Sushi Den and Izakaya share the same imported fish so if one is full try the other!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting from cHI town second time at th ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

Visiting from cHI town second time at this restaurant and we all agreed hand down that this is the BEST such We've had anywhere!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Matt our waiter was so sweet and helpful ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Matt our waiter was so sweet and helpful in guiding us through the menu. The food was delicious and came out in a timely manner. Loved the Volcano, pork belly and steak, so yummy!! Such a lovely experience. Plus they had complimentary valet... the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food but ridiculously slow service

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food but ridiculously slow service

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was Outstanding. We shared about 8 ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was Outstanding. We shared about 8 plates and all were great. Very attentive server who was really helpful. Restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great, as usual; best sus ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was great, as usual; best sushi in metro...

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food, service, and atmosphere! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Loved the food, service, and atmosphere! I highly recommend this place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing build out. Amazing menu. That's ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Amazing build out. Amazing menu. That's a recipe for success!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food and service were A+. Can't wait ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service were A+. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was amazing as always! My only ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was amazing as always! My only complaint would be, not having any sort of dress code... My husband and I made reservations a month ago for NYE. It kind of killed the vibe for us, when a group of guys came in, wearing sweats. I love the place, but that took Izakaya Den down a notch for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointing after many good visits. Fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Disappointing after many good visits. Food was poorly sequenced and service was not up to par. Miso black cod - a signature dish - was not nearly as good as it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

As with Sushi Den - Toshi Kizaki's resta ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As with Sushi Den - Toshi Kizaki's restaurants are excellently executed without pretension as seems common in newer trendier restaurants of the moment (many in LoHi) that don't have the same track record nor will be in business in 20 years most likely. I was at Linger for the first time the other day and was shocked that Open Table diners give it such high reviews (higher than Izakaya even) and it pales in comparison. Clearly not a very sophisticated clientele that would think such. Izakaya is fantastic. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect, as usual with this one exceptio ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Perfect, as usual with this one exception: the hot towels were cold. I can forgive them this.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upstairs is a whole different vibe compa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Upstairs is a whole different vibe compared to down, lots of energy upstairs. Always quality fish, best in Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always very good. Love the upstairs din ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always very good. Love the upstairs dining area and the ambiance

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish! they gave us a great table, food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Delish! they gave us a great table, food was excellent though a little slow and the server was a bit confused....so all our food came at once instead of in courses, but it was still great

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Trendy, beautiful food and atmosphere! R ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Trendy, beautiful food and atmosphere! Recently enjoyed an amazing Blood Orange Cocktail at the bar followed by a beautiful meal that included Brussel Sprouts with Pork Belly, Lobster Wontons and California Rolls made with real crabmeat! All perfectly prepared and presented by their amazing servers!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated Christmas Eve and had wond ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We celebrated Christmas Eve and had wonderful service and as always.... delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome in every way! Food was outstandi ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Awesome in every way! Food was outstanding, service perfect, atmosphere super cool and yet, warm and inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and even better service. W ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fabulous food and even better service. We had Christmas Eve dinner and had an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

i took a friend here ho had never had su ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

i took a friend here ho had never had sushi or sake before. The staff was wonderful and, as always, the sushi amazing. The evening was a huge success and couldn't have gone better.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had an enjoyable meal at Izakaya, but ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I had an enjoyable meal at Izakaya, but it was not the ecstatic experience i would have expected given the cost and reputation.

Went on a Wednesday night (we had a reservation), it was moderately lively but not unusually busy for this sort of place. Took awhile to get seated, even though we had a reservation.

When seated, our first two menu choices were sadly both rejected--we could not have the lobster ramen because the ramen chef was not in that evening, and evidently they'd run out of cod for the miso-marinated black cod. Perhaps bad luck, I understand. But since there is a whole section of the menu that is Ramen, wish they had a backup plan there. I ordered a similar miso-marinated dish, but with salmon collar. At $10 they gave me a surprisingly large portion: a good value. But very difficult to cut and eat with only chopsticks (there was no silverware on the table)--and you have to navigate around bones as well. I'm willing to pick up sushi by hand, but salmon collar is incredibly greasy and there needs to be a better utensil option for this dish.

$12 crispy tuna cake was pretty good--not out of this world, but not bad.

We had some sushi as well. A few rolls were very good (the asparagus, which was smoked and amply stocked). Some were meh: though I'm not going to hold a meh firecracker roll against them too much: my feeling is that you're going to a place for this for something more ambitious than firecracker rolls... something like Uni (sea urchin): which I got and was quite good.

The green tea tempura ice cream was slightly weird: I can't say much for the tempura breading on it, and while some might like chocolate sauce on that concoction, I sure don't!

I would like to try many other dishes on that menu. If i lived nearby, I'm sure I'd go there often. Given where I live and my experience with the dishes I had, if I'm going to venture 40 minutes to a restaurant, I'm more likely to try some of Denver's other highly regarded restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I think the atmosphere there is amazing. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I think the atmosphere there is amazing. But, every time I go the sushi and sashimi pieces get smaller and smaller. It's insulting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

I loved my overall experience at the sus ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I loved my overall experience at the sushi den, however for the price. The service was less than exceptional. Granted it was a very busy night. There should be no excuse for having a table come in after you and get out before you, due to an lack of service. Perfect if you love conversation, less than ideal if you don't.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Always fabulous...try the salmon aburi.. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Always fabulous...try the salmon aburi...TDF!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Santa came! Lovely time as always.

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Santa came! Lovely time as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a nice time and the food was grea ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We had a nice time and the food was great but the service was pretty slow this time. Also, why is it sooooo loud all of the time?!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent choice for a lively dining exp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent choice for a lively dining experience. Top notch sushi. The lobster wontons are memorable, sake at every price point. Servers are well informed and professional.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Modern Decor, Healthy, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service & food was spectacular ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent service & food was spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've. Eaten there many times with differ ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I've. Eaten there many times with different people and for different occasions , must say I've never been disappointed! Will be coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My parents were a little worried, but th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My parents were a little worried, but they liked the "catch of the day" and the teriyaki chicken, everything was very fresh and yummy.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This place was very great and accommodat ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This place was very great and accommodating. We had a large group and the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious meal and service. The ambiance ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Delicious meal and service. The ambiance is festive and alive and the food is outstanding. Highly recommend this restaurant. Great management. Very well run. Our server was really fun and attentive!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Casual, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good sushi--probably the best I've had i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good sushi--probably the best I've had in the Denver metro area. Service was a little off as we got a different roll than ordered, but they made good on it. Not unreasonably priced as these types of places go.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was superb! Waiter was so knowledge ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was superb! Waiter was so knowledgeable and helped us pick some outstanding dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a birthday. The food was delici ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went for a birthday. The food was delicious and the ambiance, delightful. A bit pricey, but you get what you pay for! We had sushi and the tofu appetizer. Everything was just wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I've been here before and had a great ex ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I've been here before and had a great experience, but this past time was NOT great. We waited 15 minutes for anyone to bring us water/offer drinks, and I saw several other tables share the same frustration. All while other tables who were seated after us got their drinks and food. I really hope this isn't a trend because I typically love this place. Food was good, although my boyfriend's sushi was less fresh-tasting as expected. Kobe sliders were great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

My friend was visiting out of town. And ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My friend was visiting out of town. And we decided to do sushi but somewhere new. Both of us were here for the first time and absolutely loved it! The restaurant is decorated in a trendy and unique way with bamboo trees and colorful lights. We liked their cocktails a lot. Our favorite sushi dish was Volcano. Those who like seafood will appreciate it. We left very happy and full.

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.