Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

About Izakaya Den

Izakaya Den is Denver’s popular Japanese gastropub, modeled after the lively after hours establishments found throughout Japan. The restaurant is located on South Pearl Street and is the second restaurant of the Kizaki brothers, founders and owners of Sushi Den.



The menu is arranged in a tapas style, serving traditional Japanese small plates along with dishes infused with international flavors and textures. The more traditional Japanese offerings include sashimi and nigiri, sourced from daily fish shipments from around the globe, along with dumplings and noodle dishes. The global cuisine experiments with a bevy of different flavors including unique items such as Grilled Panzanella Salad (jumbo lump crab, toasted focaccia, local goat cheese, pistachios, plum wine vinaigrette), Kobe Beef Sliders (seared foie gras, pomme frittes). A gluten-free menu is also available along with a popular weekday happy hour from 5 to 6:30 pm.

1487 S. Pearl St
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday 5:00PM-10:00PM, Friday & Saturday 5:00PM-11:00PM,
Lunch: Saturday 11:30AM-2:30PM

Cross Street:
S.Pearl Street and Florida Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-0691

Website:
http://www.izakayaden.net/

Catering:
Menus custom designed for both business and social occasions. Available from 20-50 ppl. Please call to inquire.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet service is available in front of our sister restaurant, Sushi Den.

Public Transit:
Izakaya Den is conveniently located a few blocks from Light Rail and a 10 minute drive or taxi ride from downtown Denver and convention sites. A RTD transit stop is on the corner and B Cycle has a pick up and drop off site nearby.

Executive Chef:
Master Chef Toshi Kizaki

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SLICED! is the fun and educational sushi making class at Izakaya Den. Join the seasoned chefs behind the Den Corner restaurants- Sushi Den, Izakaya Den and OTOTO Food and Wine- for a tasty, informative culinary experience where you’ll learn to create all styles of sushi rolls and nigiri sushi. Held in the exquisitely designed private dining room at Izakaya Den, classes are taught by Yasu Kizaki, who has perfected the art of fish selection and sushi preparation with over 30 years of experience.



After the class, the group sits together for a meal that includes over 20 pieces of sushi, miso soup and traditional green tea. Sliced! offers a hands-on learning experience sure to be enjoyed by novice and veteran cooks alike. Price is $70 per person.



SLICED! is held every other Wednesday throughout the year. Call directly for reservations.

Izakaya Den Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Hot Spot (29)
Fun (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Authentic (25)
Romantic (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Healthy (21)
Good for Groups (17)
People Watching (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Business Meals (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Tapas (9)
Casual (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Cozy (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Seasonal (5)
Vegan (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

A coworker recommended my husband and I celebrate our anniversary at izakaya and we were not disappointed. Service, atmosphere and of course food were all amazing. I only wish we could have eaten more. We will definitely be back to try more from the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Nathan was an amazing server! We let him bring us his favorite dishes & he was spot on with all of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

The fish is always SO FRESH!!!! And the Kinpira salad is fantastic. We only eat sashimi, so the freshness really matters. Great space, great service, great fish. Who could ask for more?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I really look forward to my monthly "pilgrimages" to Izakaya/Sushi Den which have no equals in Colorado for fresh sushi, ambience, setting and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We love this restaurant. The food and service are always top notch.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food was amazing, but our waiter ruined the whole night for us. Just because we were probably the youngest people there (18 years old) doesn't mean you can forget about us and treat us with disrespect. Also the restaurant should state in bold print that they do not split checks because that would have been very nice to know before hand. We ended up having to do the math and write down each total for our waiter...really ruined an important night.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We had a great table for a birthday celebration. The service was outstanding and the food was great.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Way better than sushi den. None of the pretentious bs that is so prevalent there. Even the hostesses are arrogant. Menu is more creative at izakaya den. Interior design upstairs is awesome, way cool bat upstairs and much better counter service both upstairs and down. Promise you, no need to do sushi den anymore, same owners same great fish much better concept and service

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I have never been to Japan, but have eaten at dozens of Japanese restaurants. This was the best yet. Quality costs but it was so worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great happy hour specials that allows you to sample a variety of items on the menu as well as delicious cocktails! Amazing service and wonderful food!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The food, ambiance and service were outstanding. The Sushi was fresh, well prepared and presented. The waitress was knowledgeable and it was a totally enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Amazing service and food. Probably one of the two top Japanese places in Denver (the other being sushi den)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Best food ever. Creative, fun, absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The hostess forgot to find us for our table, but she was amicable.

The server didn't apparently know two of the four people in our part had birthdays even though I had specified it in the reservation. No ice cream was served and we didn't really want to have to ask for it again.

The server had too many tables to be especially amicable to any one table (apparently).

The sushi was excellent though the visual appeal of some of the rolls could have been better considering the price. The nigiri was spot on (just colder than room temp like we like). The lobster wantons were over done (chewy meat). The calamari/shishitos were not fried in hot enough oil, so they ended up soggy. The casserole-style seafood dish was nostalgic for me as I have been to Japan many times and appreciate their fusion of cheese and seafood; you pulled it off very well. The kobi beef stuffed roll was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great service and amazing sushi creations. Always enjoy going there and am never disappointed. I would advise reservations because everyone knows it is good and wants to eat there. Amazing place.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Sushi was excellent. Casual ambiance. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 20, 2017

My husband's Birthday... unfortunately, 2 out of four of us got severely sick after eating here. Been several times and never had that happen before.
Service was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Food and service were excellent; however, would not recommend for a date, business meal or quiet night out (unless you can secure a quiet table in the distant back room) because the front of the restaurant and bar area is an extremely noisy environment: concrete floors and walls and an open industrial ceiling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Outstanding fresh sushi, wonderful service, and great ambience. The tuna that the waiter recommended was superb. And of course, ending with banana cream pie!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 14, 2017

As always, FANTASTIC! Nobu-san is amazing and always is entertaining. The staff is super knowledgeable and the management is top notch.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Overall really good! The miso cod was amazing! The scallop risotto was ok but a bit of a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Amazing as always!!!! If you want the best sushi in Denver this is a must. Top 5 Resturants on Colorado!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We LOVE the food and atmosphere at Izakaya Den. Everything is always fresh, creative, and delicious. The staff is always knowledgeable and helpful. However, things are quite pricey, especially the liquor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wonderful sushi in beautiful upstairs dining room.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The tempura was not as crispy as we have had previously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great service, delicious food, and it is gorgeous in there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Terrific atmosphere and very good food. We love that Japanese favorite banana cream pie for desert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My favorite restaurant- love the atmosphere & sushi is always incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great Food. Great waiter, thank you Dante. Love the crispy tuna but definitely would skip the wontons...pungent and on the steamed spongy side. With all the skills in the kitchen the wontons could be replaced with something tasty???

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing food and service. Make sure to order at least a couple of things from the special section of overnighted seafood. The seared scallops were worth the cost of the meal by themselves.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Many friends had recommended Izakaya's Den and so we were anxious to try it. We had delicious food, the waiter was great and the atmosphere upstairs was superb. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Some of the best sushi in Denver with the atmosphere and service to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Anniversary dinner gone right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Simply incredible meal! Japanese Gnomefish sashimi was out of this world! Seriously! Never had a bad meal here. A little pricey but totally worth it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Only one sentence needed: Wonderful from top to bottom in terms of food, service and overall appeal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I've been here many times and I love it. We have never had bad service or bad food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The service and the food was amazing. Celebrated my birthday and it was memorable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We'll be back, though our latest visit was a bit underwhelming. The hostess could not find our Open Table reservation. (We had to show her the email and she still couldn't find it.) As a result, she put us in a not-so-great area for walk-ins that was noisy. The food itself was hit and miss--some stellar sushi and sashimi, but several of their appetizer and entree creations were either bland, or overpowered by one too many tricky ingredients. Our server forgot to put in the order for one of our rolls and by the time it arrived, we were 20 minutes past done. Every restaurant has "off" nights, so we'll give it the benefit of the doubt and hope that's all it was!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Dinner was great, terrific service, and fun atmosphere!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.