Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

About Izakaya Den

Izakaya Den is Denver’s popular Japanese gastropub, modeled after the lively after hours establishments found throughout Japan. The restaurant is located on South Pearl Street and is the second restaurant of the Kizaki brothers, founders and owners of Sushi Den.



The menu is arranged in a tapas style, serving traditional Japanese small plates along with dishes infused with international flavors and textures. The more traditional Japanese offerings include sashimi and nigiri, sourced from daily fish shipments from around the globe, along with dumplings and noodle dishes. The global cuisine experiments with a bevy of different flavors including unique items such as Grilled Panzanella Salad (jumbo lump crab, toasted focaccia, local goat cheese, pistachios, plum wine vinaigrette), Kobe Beef Sliders (seared foie gras, pomme frittes). A gluten-free menu is also available along with a popular weekday happy hour from 5 to 6:30 pm.

1487 S. Pearl St
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday 5:00PM-10:00PM, Friday & Saturday 5:00PM-11:00PM,
Lunch: Saturday 11:30AM-2:30PM

Cross Street:
S.Pearl Street and Florida Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-0691

Website:
http://www.izakayaden.net/

Catering:
Menus custom designed for both business and social occasions. Available from 20-50 ppl. Please call to inquire.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet service is available in front of our sister restaurant, Sushi Den.

Public Transit:
Izakaya Den is conveniently located a few blocks from Light Rail and a 10 minute drive or taxi ride from downtown Denver and convention sites. A RTD transit stop is on the corner and B Cycle has a pick up and drop off site nearby.

Executive Chef:
Master Chef Toshi Kizaki

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room can accommodate up to 45 people sit down dinner. Private Party Contact Name: Yuki

Private Party Contact:
Yuki: (303) 777-0691

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SLICED! is the fun and educational sushi making class at Izakaya Den. Join the seasoned chefs behind the Den Corner restaurants- Sushi Den, Izakaya Den and OTOTO Food and Wine- for a tasty, informative culinary experience where you’ll learn to create all styles of sushi rolls and nigiri sushi. Held in the exquisitely designed private dining room at Izakaya Den, classes are taught by Yasu Kizaki, who has perfected the art of fish selection and sushi preparation with over 30 years of experience.



After the class, the group sits together for a meal that includes over 20 pieces of sushi, miso soup and traditional green tea. Sliced! offers a hands-on learning experience sure to be enjoyed by novice and veteran cooks alike. Price is $70 per person.



SLICED! is held every other Wednesday throughout the year. Call directly for reservations.

Izakaya Den Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (49)
Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Modern Decor (37)
Romantic (32)
Hot Spot (31)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Fun (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Authentic (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Healthy (20)
Business Meals (20)
Casual (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
People Watching (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Vegan (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Tapas (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Private Room (4)
Scenic View (4)
Family Style (4)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
1082 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined a day ago

Great lunch. Everyone found a favorite from katsu to sushi to soba noodles. Closest meal to Japan in Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

We were in the top floor near the bar, a lot of energy and decorated very modern and hip. Our server, Dante, was incredibly helpful with the menu selections on what to try. He made the experience extra amazing for us. The food was delicious, you should especially take a look at the seasonal nigiri and shashimi. Overall, the experience was great and we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Last time I went I ended up getting really sick because something I ate was not gluten free. This time was fine

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was awful with waitress pushing us to eat fast even though the place was quiet. We got the bill while we were still eating!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great experience. Excellent food. Always enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had an amazing time at Izakaya - from the food to the scenery to the great service. Beautiful restaurant and would definitely come back. (I'd like to see the upstairs with the roof open!)

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Our server was fantastic! I wish I could recall her name but she was a young, slender gal with dark short hair and was so lovely and helpful and kind! She even brought out ice cream for my friend's birthday!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We love The Den. Especially that Japanese favorite, banana cream pie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Ordered 5 different types of fish and each was fantastic. Melt in your mouth sashimi, amazing rolls, dynamic and savory flavors and attentive ( but not hovering) service. Absolutely the best sushi I have ever had, and I've traveled on 4 continents

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent sushi, nice wine list upscale decor/design inside. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great as usual - including being fun for our 3 year old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The service was exceptional and the omakase experience was unforgettable. A wonderful night with great friends and outstanding food! Adam was a wonderful waiter and provided excellent customer service, as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

One of our favorite places in town for several years now. We don't get there quite as often as we used to do but it's always an exceptional treat. We sat at the sushi bar this time--we sit at a table more often than not but saw one of our favorite sushi chefs working tonight and noticed that there was a spot for two in front of his area, so requested seating there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Best sushi ever! We don't even look at the menu and let the server decide which sushi we are having. We've not been disappointed.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Michael our server was great. The sushi never disappoints.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Super good, nice service, expensive but worth it! Went for our anniversary and it was great

Tags: Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The best place to eat sushi in Denver! I've been going to Sushi Den, the sister restaurant, attached to this one for 30 years or more. I love both restaurants but prefer the Izakya Den.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great food, great design, and great service! Came here for my wife's birthday and she loved it. Would gladly return. We ordered a mix of sushi and some ramen dishes and they were delicious. Server offered good recommendations. Our kids even tried sushi for the first time. Good job Izakaya Den!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Outstanding. Food & service were just great. We got a steak dish & sushi/sashimi dinners.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Awesome! The sashimi is amazing, so fresh! Try the Spanish mackerel, it's amazing. Service is excellent. This is a real gem of a restaurant!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Love everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a fantastic experience at Izakaya Den. Though I've come to anticipate an incredible meal and experience with Izakaya I was yet again blown away by how exceptional it is.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

outstanding food as usual. they can work on service a little

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great restaurant Dante was our server everything was wonderful and he was even better

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

New favorite for sushi. Cannot say enough good things about this place and it's location. Our server Stephen was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Steven was a perfect server; there when you need him, not there when you don't. The food was just fabulous. Really fresh, well prepared sushi and a virtually unlimited selection.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We order a katsu ramen, they forgot to add the egg. When they tried to fix it, the egg they added to our soup was ice cold. The tuna on the nigiri did not seem very fresh. The server forgot to order an item and we had to wait extra time after finishing the rest of the meal to receive the final item. The other time we came here everything was amazing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

As always the food is singularly distinctive and original. The sushi lives up to Izakaya's reputation for freshness; the best in the Rocky Mountain region. And of course the setting can't be beat: A modern take on traditional Japanese ambience in a low-rise Denver neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My boyfriend and I absolutely love Izakaya Den! We are big fans of Sushi Den, but prefer Izakaya atmosphere. You can get a lot of the same items on the menu since they share a kitchen and the best part is Izakaya takes reservations.

Our favorite thing about Izakaya is the service. The last two times we have dined here we had the pleasure of being served by Kyle D. Seriously Kyle is the best server we have had hands-down! Kyle knows the menu very well and is great at recommendations.
Kyle is extremely friendly and even remembered us from the previous time and items that we had ordered.

Izakaya Den is by far our favorite restaurant in Colorado

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We drive up from Colorado Springs just for the amazing food. We have travelled all over and are shocked to say this is our favorite nigiri ever!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We've been here several times audit's always been a good experience. Fish is always fresh and creatively prepared.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service. The sushi is high quality and, to me, very fresh for Colorado. Great saki selection and wait staff was on top of it. We had an amazing meal. The only issue is seating is too close together for comfortable conversation ( at least that was the case where we were seated). Guarantee that we will come back with friends or family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Wonderful small plates, excellent sushi, lively atmosphere with unique decor. Not overpriced considering everything. Reservations a must.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We love it here! Food is amazing and the service is good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Always a great meal at Izakaya!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Not really a review guy but.. The sushi was excellent. That's the good..

The hostess did not say hello or acknowledge us. She only looked up from a computer when we were directly in front of her after we said something.

Requested a wall or corner seat in the reservation and were sat dead center in high traffic walk way. Had to speak really loudly to be heard.

Waitress forgot about us, then said "I'm just being a little crazy" instead of apologizing.

Drinks and water were empty and waitress specifically looked at our table and moved on, like she had decided we were doing ok..

Maybe I am being picky but for a $100 date night I would expect excellent, this service felt pretentious and ambivalent. Expected romantic birthday dinner but was distracted by poor service..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We love this restaurant. The quality of the fish is A+. The service is strong as well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Absolutely fantastic meal! Service was terrific. Best mussels on the planet.....

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.