About Izakaya Den

1487 S. Pearl St
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Izakaya Den is Denver’s popular Japanese gastropub, modeled after the lively after hours establishments found throughout Japan. The restaurant is located on South Pearl Street and is the second restaurant of the Kizaki brothers, founders and owners of Sushi Den.



The menu is arranged in a tapas style, serving traditional Japanese small plates along with dishes infused with international flavors and textures. The more traditional Japanese offerings include sashimi and nigiri, sourced from daily fish shipments from around the globe, along with dumplings and noodle dishes. The global cuisine experiments with a bevy of different flavors including unique items such as Grilled Panzanella Salad (jumbo lump crab, toasted focaccia, local goat cheese, pistachios, plum wine vinaigrette), Kobe Beef Sliders (seared foie gras, pomme frittes). A gluten-free menu is also available along with a popular weekday happy hour from 5 to 6:30 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday and Sunday 5:00PM-10:00PM, Friday & Saturday 5:00PM-11:00PM,
Lunch: Saturday 11:30AM-2:30PM

Cross Street:
S.Pearl Street and Florida Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-0691

Website:
http://www.izakayaden.net/

Catering:
Menus custom designed for both business and social occasions. Available from 20-50 ppl. Please call to inquire.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet service is available in front of our sister restaurant, Sushi Den.

Public Transit:
Izakaya Den is conveniently located a few blocks from Light Rail and a 10 minute drive or taxi ride from downtown Denver and convention sites. A RTD transit stop is on the corner and B Cycle has a pick up and drop off site nearby.

Executive Chef:
Master Chef Toshi Kizaki

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room can accommodate up to 45 people sit down dinner. Private Party Contact Name: Yuki

Private Party Contact:
Yuki: 3037770691

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SLICED! is the fun and educational sushi making class at Izakaya Den. Join the seasoned chefs behind the Den Corner restaurants- Sushi Den, Izakaya Den and OTOTO Food and Wine- for a tasty, informative culinary experience where you’ll learn to create all styles of sushi rolls and nigiri sushi. Held in the exquisitely designed private dining room at Izakaya Den, classes are taught by Yasu Kizaki, who has perfected the art of fish selection and sushi preparation with over 30 years of experience.



After the class, the group sits together for a meal that includes over 20 pieces of sushi, miso soup and traditional green tea. Sliced! offers a hands-on learning experience sure to be enjoyed by novice and veteran cooks alike. Price is $70 per person.



SLICED! is held every other Wednesday throughout the year. Call directly for reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Izakaya Den
Agedashi Tofu
Chirashi
Miso Eggplant
Shrimp and Grits
Lobster Tempura Roll
Sake
Kobe Beef Roll
Shrimp Tampura
Lobster Potatata
Lobster Wonton
Izikaya Short Ribs
Banana Cream Pie
Oranges
Panzanella Salad
Kobi Beef Sliders
Crab Cakes
Dutch Chocolate Ice Cream
Bluefin Tuna Nigiri
Tuna Scollops And Yellow Tail
Saporro Beer
Octopus
Lobster Ramen
Gyoza
Beef Tenderloin Ala Oscar
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Nigiri
Beet Salad
Miso Cod
Nigiri Sushi
Ginger Sashimi
Maki Sushi
Kobe Beef And Foie Gras Sliders
Crispy Tuna
Sushi
Kobe Burger
Deluxe Sushi Platter
Miso
tan tan ramen
edamame
Fried Brussels Sprouts
Rocky Mountain Roll
Hoisin Duck Crostinis
Duck Udon
Twix Bar Gelato
Bacon Edamame
Pink Blossom
dynamite
Cod

Izakaya Den Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
Best Food
Denver
1 More
Hot Spot
Denver
Best Restaurants in Wash Park ›

fit for foodies (119)
special occasion (91)
neighborhood gem (88)
See All
hot spot (70)
romantic (49)
good for groups (49)
vibrant bar scene (23)
great for lunch (16)
great for outdoor dining (15)
notable wine list (10)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Izakaya Den has a fantastic atmosphere a ...

Dined 4 days ago

Izakaya Den has a fantastic atmosphere and exceptional food. It is always a treat to dine there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambiance and food. Waitress was ve ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great ambiance and food. Waitress was very friendly and patient. Only critique I have is that when we arrived at the restaurant, the hostess did not give us the option to sit upstairs in the beautiful open area although there were tables open upstairs. We were seated downstairs, but once we requested a table upstairs, we were able to move up there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good food. Tokyo class sushi (no s ...

Dined 4 days ago

Very good food. Tokyo class sushi (no surprise- it is flown in every other day from Japan) Service was excellent, and we enjoyed everything. Very expensive, so be warned, but worth it.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Took out-of-town relatives who are reloc ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Took out-of-town relatives who are relocating here. They love sushi and were very happy to know such a great restaurant exists not far from them. We come up from Colorado Springs just to eat here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Any louder would be too loud. A special ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Any louder would be too loud. A special place indeed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Japanese food in Denver! Izakaya D ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Best Japanese food in Denver! Izakaya Den is for lunch, Sushi Den for dinner. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is incredible and thoughtful. S ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is incredible and thoughtful. Service is nice. Ambience works. One of my favorite places to go for a guaranteed worthwhile evening.

food4
ambience4
service2

Second visit in a month, have been seve ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Second visit in a month, have been several times and enjoyed everything about Izakaya prior to the last two visits. Food and decor and ambience are still great. I had the same server on these last two visits and am hoping that it is just this server that is the problem. The poor timing of the food and lack of attention in replacing plates, dinnerware and drinks put quite a damper on both visits.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have had anything but a wonderful exp ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We have had anything but a wonderful experience at Izakaya Den. The food is outstanding and the service people are professional, knowledgeable and friendly. One of our favorite places for early dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere can't be beat. Beautifully d ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Atmosphere can't be beat. Beautifully designed. Large glass ceiling on 2nd floor that slides open. Food and service are amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Love everything about Izakaya. Best sush ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Love everything about Izakaya. Best sushi in town. Our server, Adam, took great care of us...friendly, attentive and very knowledgable about the menu. We definitely appreciated his bringing our sashimi on ice.

food5
ambience5
service5

The truffled mushroom with blue cheese a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The truffled mushroom with blue cheese and waygu beef was amazing. We also loved the California roll, and the Brussels sprouts. My husband loved his dish... some sort of noodle soup..with a side of suhsi. Thank you for also honoring our request to sit on the top with the open roof for our anniversary dinner. It made it very special.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

delicious

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food and wait staff were great. I have been here a couple time before and have never been disappointed. Went on a Saturday night at 8pm and it was packed. The kitchen got backed up so dinner ended up taking a little longer than expected but the food was worth the wait. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We sat at the open window on the sidewal ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

We sat at the open window on the sidewalk. ordered mostly Sahimi...very generous beautiful slices of fish. Waitperson was exceptional..flight of Sake was fun..a great evening

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2

We have always had a great experience, w ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We have always had a great experience, with the exception of this last visit. We took our 5 year olds to celebrate their kindergarten graduation and for their first visit. There was no acknowledgment by the wait staff. No candle or comment. The service was rushed (not the waitress per se, but the person clearing the table took away our unfinished plates without asking if we were done). Even the neighborhood diner where we had breakfast put a candle in their waffle to celebrate. A bit disappointed this time.

food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing as always

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing as always

food5
ambience5
service5

Izakaya is among Denver's very best. A ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Izakaya is among Denver's very best. Always great!

food4
ambience4
service4

It was a very inviting and fun atmospher ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was a very inviting and fun atmosphere. As for the food, it was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

we wanted to order everything on the men ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

we wanted to order everything on the menu- absolutely delicious

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were vacationing in Den ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My husband and I were vacationing in Denver from Houston and love sushi so we decided to eat here our first night. Both of us were blown away with the quality and flavors. By far our favorite sushi place with only Cabo coming in close. We will definitely be visiting Colorado again and will make sure this is a mandatory stop!!! The service was also incredible! All around an outstanding experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Favorite sushi in Denver

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

We've been here SO many times I can't count! Same sushi as Sushi Den (also our favorite), but since they share a kitchen, we much prefer Izakaya Den, especially sitting upstairs! Absolutely beautiful restaurant upstairs.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2

My husband made it a point to let them k ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband made it a point to let them know that it was my Birthday Day and they didn't even acknowledge it! Staff is to QUICK to take your played away!! 😂

food4
ambience4
service4

The food was so very good. The quality w ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was so very good. The quality was crazy fresh. Our waitress was awesome.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my Birthday dinner at Izakaya ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

I enjoyed my Birthday dinner at Izakaya with family, and experienced lovely, high quality sushi and service. Definitely will be back & highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

John & Mary

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day dinner with daughter and her boyfriend from San Francisco. This was our 3rd time here and we love it! Love the menu and how you can mix it up, sushi and other specials.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Always. A. Treat. Sushi was extraordinar ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Always. A. Treat. Sushi was extraordinary. Service was just right. A delightful lunch, all in all!

food5
ambience5
service5

Better than Nobu!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Better than Nobu!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious ambiance & food

Dined on May 7, 2016

The restaurant is very nicely decorated, the is beautiful, the noise level was pretty loud by 630 that night, our waiter was very knowledgeable and he suggested a couple of items of fresh fish that had come in that day and we decided to try all of them and it was fantastic

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always perfect

Dined on May 6, 2016

We dine at Izakaya Den when we are in Denver. It is wonderful everytime. The fish is always fresh, the service is always good and the food is always consistent. It is a must for Sushi. The prices are very reasonable for the quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Good but not for an anniversary.

Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife love sushi. So we to izakaya for our anniversary. I let them know it was our anniversary. I know they don't have do anything special. I thought maybe nice table. We got seeted at ok table. It wasa cramped. I asked if could get another spot and was told they could not that time. The server was great. The sushi was good. It is a little expensive but i knew that going in to it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our server, Kim.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Loved our server, Kim.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Always fantastic and one of the 5 best restaurants in the whole city.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The sushi is top notch!!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The sushi is top notch!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always awesome. Never inexpensive.

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Always awesome. Never inexpensive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely , fun and hip

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our waiter did a wonderful job of suggesting things to try and was on point with all of it. Love the ambiance and fun vibe here. It's hip without being trendy. I will go back again as the decor, food and people were all fantastic! Great night out

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Sean was fabulous & so was the food

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Loved the place. Service, food, Sake Everything was terrific. Only one hiccup, my friend ordered the crispy calamari and got forgotten. We pointed it to our waiter & he corrected quickly. The Manager brought it out hot & fresh & on the house. It was delicious and worth the wait. We were saddened to hear Sean is leaving in two weeks (following his dream-good for him!) We certainly will be going back and will miss not having him wait on us. I HIGHLY recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding, service was excellent.

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Had dinner on a Saturday and it was outstanding. We tried some of the reccomended Saki's and it really complimented the meal. The tuna is fresh and full of flavor the sauces are outstanding. The Black cod was out of this world. Can't wait to go back. If you're going get a reservation now because the word is out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steve Livingroom

Dined on April 22, 2016

Impeccable food, service, and atmosphere. Simply the best sushi we've ever had, and it's always that good!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

LOVE IT!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was very good. The service was strong as well. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We waited at the bar for more than 10 mi ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We waited at the bar for more than 10 minutes to order a drink because there were not enough bartenders to service the bar patrons. Finally the female bartender came to our rescue, however the male bartender avoid us as best he could. The food is the best but the service was really bad at the bar. This is the second time this has happened at the bar, the first time I did not post because I though maybe it was an off night.

Tags: great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.