About Izakaya Den

1487 S. Pearl St
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Izakaya Den is Denver’s popular Japanese gastropub, modeled after the lively after hours establishments found throughout Japan. The restaurant is located on South Pearl Street and is the second restaurant of the Kizaki brothers, founders and owners of Sushi Den.



The menu is arranged in a tapas style, serving traditional Japanese small plates along with dishes infused with international flavors and textures. The more traditional Japanese offerings include sashimi and nigiri, sourced from daily fish shipments from around the globe, along with dumplings and noodle dishes. The global cuisine experiments with a bevy of different flavors including unique items such as Grilled Panzanella Salad (jumbo lump crab, toasted focaccia, local goat cheese, pistachios, plum wine vinaigrette), Kobe Beef Sliders (seared foie gras, pomme frittes). A gluten-free menu is also available along with a popular weekday happy hour from 5 to 6:30 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday 5:00PM-10:00PM, Friday & Saturday 5:00PM-11:00PM,
Lunch: Saturday 11:30AM-2:30PM

Cross Street:
S.Pearl Street and Florida Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-0691

Website:
http://www.izakayaden.net/

Catering:
Menus custom designed for both business and social occasions. Available from 20-50 ppl. Please call to inquire.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet service is available in front of our sister restaurant, Sushi Den.

Public Transit:
Izakaya Den is conveniently located a few blocks from Light Rail and a 10 minute drive or taxi ride from downtown Denver and convention sites. A RTD transit stop is on the corner and B Cycle has a pick up and drop off site nearby.

Executive Chef:
Master Chef Toshi Kizaki

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room can accommodate up to 45 people sit down dinner. Private Party Contact Name: Yuki

Private Party Contact:
Yuki: 3037770691x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SLICED! is the fun and educational sushi making class at Izakaya Den. Join the seasoned chefs behind the Den Corner restaurants- Sushi Den, Izakaya Den and OTOTO Food and Wine- for a tasty, informative culinary experience where you’ll learn to create all styles of sushi rolls and nigiri sushi. Held in the exquisitely designed private dining room at Izakaya Den, classes are taught by Yasu Kizaki, who has perfected the art of fish selection and sushi preparation with over 30 years of experience.



After the class, the group sits together for a meal that includes over 20 pieces of sushi, miso soup and traditional green tea. Sliced! offers a hands-on learning experience sure to be enjoyed by novice and veteran cooks alike. Price is $70 per person.



SLICED! is held every other Wednesday throughout the year. Call directly for reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Izakaya Den
Agedashi Tofu
Chirashi
Miso Eggplant
Shrimp and Grits
Lobster Tempura Roll
Sake
Kobe Beef Roll
Shrimp Tampura
Lobster Potatata
Lobster Wonton
Izikaya Short Ribs
Banana Cream Pie
Oranges
Panzanella Salad
Kobi Beef Sliders
Crab Cakes
Dutch Chocolate Ice Cream
Bluefin Tuna Nigiri
Tuna Scollops And Yellow Tail
Saporro Beer
Octopus
Lobster Ramen
Gyoza
Beef Tenderloin Ala Oscar
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Nigiri
Beet Salad
Miso Cod
Nigiri Sushi
Ginger Sashimi
Maki Sushi
Kobe Beef And Foie Gras Sliders
Crispy Tuna
Sushi
Kobe Burger
Deluxe Sushi Platter
Miso
tan tan ramen
edamame
Fried Brussels Sprouts
Rocky Mountain Roll
Hoisin Duck Crostinis
Duck Udon
Twix Bar Gelato
Bacon Edamame
Pink Blossom
dynamite
Cod

Izakaya Den Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Denver / Colorado
Best Food
Denver
Best Restaurants in Wash Park ›

fit for foodies (106)
special occasion (85)
neighborhood gem (77)
See All
hot spot (65)
good for groups (45)
romantic (39)
vibrant bar scene (23)
great for lunch (17)
great for outdoor dining (16)
scenic view (9)
kid-friendly (8)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best service, best sushi, best atmospher ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Best service, best sushi, best atmosphere! I can't wait to go back and have the same stellar experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The setting is stunning. The food was gr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

The setting is stunning. The food was great, though we were disappointed there were no noodle dishes available on the day we dined. The service was not what we expect at these price levels--one of our dishes was forgotten, water and tea not filled until reminded, server disappeared for awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Fantastic from top to bottom! The tuna ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic from top to bottom! The tuna belly wrapped in sashimi tuna was one of the best items we've ever eaten. Amazing dinner.....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really fantastic sushi. Loved the nigiri ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Really fantastic sushi. Loved the nigiri, live scallops, red dragon and rainbow rolls. Something for everyone. Great ambiance and decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable; never intru ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service was impeccable; never intrusive or lacking, food items were brought out at a very nice pace, never felt rushed, and there was always time in between dishes. My wife and I had a few nigiri orders and some small plates. Everything was delicious but I especially enjoyed the nigiri. The restaurant is beautiful on the inside. Both levels have a wonderful feel and the tables are spaced far enough apart that you feel like you can have a private dinner with your special someone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

This restaurant is highly rated and had ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This restaurant is highly rated and had been recommended to me by several people. The staff was friendly and attentive, we were seated quickly, and able to order drinks immediately. The ambiance is nice, and could be a good date location, but could also be great for groups.

The downside for me was the excessive flies buzzing around the restaurant and our food. The sushi came out just slightly cooler than room temperature, which is too warm for sushi. The flies were constantly trying to land on the food. We were not the only ones dealing with them. For a higher end restaurant, this was unacceptable for me.

For those reasons I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We love Izakaya and specifically selecte ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We love Izakaya and specifically selected it because they do take reservations and this was a birthday dinner. Sadly, when we walked up to the hostess station we were told that they had just seated another party at our table. Not my problem. I was disappointed in how this was handled.

Other than that, the food was fantastic as always! Our server was attentive and did great. We had a good time and it was a successful birthday dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It took our waitress forever to take our ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It took our waitress forever to take our order for dinner. Then once we did they were out of one of their sushi specials. So we order another item from the special sushi menu and they were out of that as well. Kind of crazy they were out of two specials at 6:30 on a Saturday. I love Izakaya Den and have never had this kind of service before. But it was a shame.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Outstanding restaurant! Very satisfied w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Outstanding restaurant! Very satisfied with the quality of food and service. Will definitely return!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum! My favorite is the Brussels Sprouts ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Yum! My favorite is the Brussels Sprouts with pork belly. Unreal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

One of the best meals I've ever had. Inc ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. Including in Japan. Every morsel delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wish I could give a 4.5 star....We had g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wish I could give a 4.5 star....We had gyoza, hamachi sashimi, and a few sushi rolls and really enjoyed all of them - all were fresh tasting, not fishy and not too much sauce which really let the fish shine. The only complaint I would have is the service was a bit lack luster. Probably not our servers fault, it was a Saturday night and really busy, however maybe they should consider getting a couple more servers for more attentive service. Overall, great spot and definitely will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Izakaya Den was really good. The sushi t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Izakaya Den was really good. The sushi tasted noticeably better than other places around town and the atmosphere was unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was training wait staff b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The restaurant was training wait staff but we were ignored for 20 minutes or until I complained to the hostess. Several staff looked right at us, amazing. Also the warm appetizers were never delivered with some lame excuse that diners prefer gyoza later. I have traveled extensively in Japan, gyoza is an appetizer or first plate.

Service aside the food is great and valet parking is a plus.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

The interior designs are amazing and sup ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The interior designs are amazing and super tall bamboo plants are adjacent to the staircase. A large glass window in the 2nd level ceiling mechanically opens to give diners the feeling of being outside. Food and service are "ichi ban" #1. It's much quieter than Sushi Den.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been here a number of times, most ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I have been here a number of times, mostly with my elderly mom and my kids (who are 8, 5 and 3). The food is excellent, the service is great and we have never had less than a stellar experience.

Our waitress (Toshimi) was awesome.

I don't know how it is for brunch or "hot spot" or "late-night" because we have been there in afternoons/ early evenings. I would imagine it gets noisier as it gets more crowded later on; it's a pretty big venue.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Adult bday celebration. Wed. dinner (6:3 ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Adult bday celebration. Wed. dinner (6:30pm), upstairs in seating against the open windows along Pearl.

Extremely loud - very difficult to hear each other speak normally. Outside noises were unexpectedly loud (cars, people standing outside on the sidewalk).

Food: miso soup perfect. house salad not "asian" in any way (despite the ginger tofu dressing) - really could just remove this from the menu - completely uninspiring. We ordered two sashimi dinners and one sushi deluxe platter. Sushi/sashimi were very good. Fresh, nice presentation. Delicious. Our bday boy ordered the sake flight (3 different sakes) and two of us ordered a hot sake to share. The flight choices were really nice. They give you a description of each and the waiter was very nice to add some comments about each of them.

We also ordered some a la carte items (toro, unagi, unakyu, ikura) to share. THESE DIDN'T ARRIVE AT OUR TABLE - we had to cancel the order because we asked several times and the a la carte items never arrived.

Dessert was great (although no discount or "happy birthday" or anything): pineapple upside down cake was outstanding, warm chocolate cake was more like a mousse cake (wondered what the choc. mousse cake on the menu was like...we speculated they sent the wrong cake).

Overall, the wait staff was very attentive and gave us great service. Sushi chefs let us down with the forever delay on our a la carte items.

I probably won't go here again. Sushi Den is better for reliability and consistency. There are also other far better sushi/sashimi grade fish restaurants in Denver.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Amazing as all Of his restaurants are. O ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Amazing as all Of his restaurants are. Our waiter just brought is whatever he wanted and we were delighted with the selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always excellent. Service is spo ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food is always excellent. Service is spotty. One of our fav sushi places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Izakaya Den has a fantastic atmosphere a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Izakaya Den has a fantastic atmosphere and exceptional food. It is always a treat to dine there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and food. Waitress was ve ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great ambiance and food. Waitress was very friendly and patient. Only critique I have is that when we arrived at the restaurant, the hostess did not give us the option to sit upstairs in the beautiful open area although there were tables open upstairs. We were seated downstairs, but once we requested a table upstairs, we were able to move up there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good food. Tokyo class sushi (no s ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very good food. Tokyo class sushi (no surprise- it is flown in every other day from Japan) Service was excellent, and we enjoyed everything. Very expensive, so be warned, but worth it.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Took out-of-town relatives who are reloc ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Took out-of-town relatives who are relocating here. They love sushi and were very happy to know such a great restaurant exists not far from them. We come up from Colorado Springs just to eat here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Any louder would be too loud. A special ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Any louder would be too loud.

A special place indeed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Japanese food in Denver! Izakaya D ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Best Japanese food in Denver! Izakaya Den is for lunch, Sushi Den for dinner. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is incredible and thoughtful. S ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is incredible and thoughtful. Service is nice. Ambience works. One of my favorite places to go for a guaranteed worthwhile evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second visit in a month, have been seve ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Second visit in a month, have been several times and enjoyed everything about Izakaya prior to the last two visits. Food and decor and ambience are still great.

I had the same server on these last two visits and am hoping that it is just this server that is the problem. The poor timing of the food and lack of attention in replacing plates, dinnerware and drinks put quite a damper on both visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We have had anything but a wonderful exp ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We have had anything but a wonderful experience at Izakaya Den. The food is outstanding and the service people are professional, knowledgeable and friendly. One of our favorite places for early dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere can't be beat. Beautifully d ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Atmosphere can't be beat. Beautifully designed. Large glass ceiling on 2nd floor that slides open. Food and service are amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love everything about Izakaya. Best sush ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love everything about Izakaya. Best sushi in town. Our server, Adam, took great care of us...friendly, attentive and very knowledgable about the menu. We definitely appreciated his bringing our sashimi on ice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The truffled mushroom with blue cheese a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The truffled mushroom with blue cheese and waygu beef was amazing. We also loved the California roll, and the Brussels sprouts. My husband loved his dish... some sort of noodle soup..with a side of suhsi. Thank you for also honoring our request to sit on the top with the open roof for our anniversary dinner. It made it very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

delicious

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food and wait staff were great. I have been here a couple time before and have never been disappointed. Went on a Saturday night at 8pm and it was packed. The kitchen got backed up so dinner ended up taking a little longer than expected but the food was worth the wait. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We sat at the open window on the sidewal ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We sat at the open window on the sidewalk. ordered mostly Sahimi...very generous beautiful slices of fish. Waitperson was exceptional..flight of Sake was fun..a great evening

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have always had a great experience, w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We have always had a great experience, with the exception of this last visit. We took our 5 year olds to celebrate their kindergarten graduation and for their first visit. There was no acknowledgment by the wait staff. No candle or comment. The service was rushed (not the waitress per se, but the person clearing the table took away our unfinished plates without asking if we were done). Even the neighborhood diner where we had breakfast put a candle in their waffle to celebrate.

A bit disappointed this time.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Amazing as always

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Izakaya is among Denver's very best. A ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Izakaya is among Denver's very best. Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a very inviting and fun atmospher ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

It was a very inviting and fun atmosphere. As for the food, it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

we wanted to order everything on the men ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

we wanted to order everything on the menu- absolutely delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I were vacationing in Den ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My husband and I were vacationing in Denver from Houston and love sushi so we decided to eat here our first night. Both of us were blown away with the quality and flavors. By far our favorite sushi place with only Cabo coming in close. We will definitely be visiting Colorado again and will make sure this is a mandatory stop!!! The service was also incredible! All around an outstanding experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite sushi in Denver

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We've been here SO many times I can't count! Same sushi as Sushi Den (also our favorite), but since they share a kitchen, we much prefer Izakaya Den, especially sitting upstairs! Absolutely beautiful restaurant upstairs.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.