Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

About Izakaya Den

Izakaya Den is Denver’s popular Japanese gastropub, modeled after the lively after hours establishments found throughout Japan. The restaurant is located on South Pearl Street and is the second restaurant of the Kizaki brothers, founders and owners of Sushi Den.



The menu is arranged in a tapas style, serving traditional Japanese small plates along with dishes infused with international flavors and textures. The more traditional Japanese offerings include sashimi and nigiri, sourced from daily fish shipments from around the globe, along with dumplings and noodle dishes. The global cuisine experiments with a bevy of different flavors including unique items such as Grilled Panzanella Salad (jumbo lump crab, toasted focaccia, local goat cheese, pistachios, plum wine vinaigrette), Kobe Beef Sliders (seared foie gras, pomme frittes). A gluten-free menu is also available along with a popular weekday happy hour from 5 to 6:30 pm.

1487 S. Pearl St
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday 5:00PM-10:00PM, Friday & Saturday 5:00PM-11:00PM,
Lunch: Saturday 11:30AM-2:30PM

Cross Street:
S.Pearl Street and Florida Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-0691

Website:
http://www.izakayaden.net/

Catering:
Menus custom designed for both business and social occasions. Available from 20-50 ppl. Please call to inquire.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet service is available in front of our sister restaurant, Sushi Den.

Public Transit:
Izakaya Den is conveniently located a few blocks from Light Rail and a 10 minute drive or taxi ride from downtown Denver and convention sites. A RTD transit stop is on the corner and B Cycle has a pick up and drop off site nearby.

Executive Chef:
Master Chef Toshi Kizaki

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room can accommodate up to 45 people sit down dinner. Private Party Contact Name: Yuki

Private Party Contact:
Yuki: (303) 777-0691

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SLICED! is the fun and educational sushi making class at Izakaya Den. Join the seasoned chefs behind the Den Corner restaurants- Sushi Den, Izakaya Den and OTOTO Food and Wine- for a tasty, informative culinary experience where you’ll learn to create all styles of sushi rolls and nigiri sushi. Held in the exquisitely designed private dining room at Izakaya Den, classes are taught by Yasu Kizaki, who has perfected the art of fish selection and sushi preparation with over 30 years of experience.



After the class, the group sits together for a meal that includes over 20 pieces of sushi, miso soup and traditional green tea. Sliced! offers a hands-on learning experience sure to be enjoyed by novice and veteran cooks alike. Price is $70 per person.



SLICED! is held every other Wednesday throughout the year. Call directly for reservations.

Izakaya Den Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Modern Decor (40)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Romantic (32)
Hot Spot (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Fun (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Authentic (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Healthy (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Bar Seating (16)
Business Meals (15)
Casual (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (11)
People Watching (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tapas (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Family Style (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Vegan (4)
Private Room (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1055 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Steven was a perfect server; there when you need him, not there when you don't. The food was just fabulous. Really fresh, well prepared sushi and a virtually unlimited selection.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We order a katsu ramen, they forgot to add the egg. When they tried to fix it, the egg they added to our soup was ice cold. The tuna on the nigiri did not seem very fresh. The server forgot to order an item and we had to wait extra time after finishing the rest of the meal to receive the final item. The other time we came here everything was amazing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

As always the food is singularly distinctive and original. The sushi lives up to Izakaya's reputation for freshness; the best in the Rocky Mountain region. And of course the setting can't be beat: A modern take on traditional Japanese ambience in a low-rise Denver neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My boyfriend and I absolutely love Izakaya Den! We are big fans of Sushi Den, but prefer Izakaya atmosphere. You can get a lot of the same items on the menu since they share a kitchen and the best part is Izakaya takes reservations.

Our favorite thing about Izakaya is the service. The last two times we have dined here we had the pleasure of being served by Kyle D. Seriously Kyle is the best server we have had hands-down! Kyle knows the menu very well and is great at recommendations.
Kyle is extremely friendly and even remembered us from the previous time and items that we had ordered.

Izakaya Den is by far our favorite restaurant in Colorado

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We drive up from Colorado Springs just for the amazing food. We have travelled all over and are shocked to say this is our favorite nigiri ever!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We've been here several times audit's always been a good experience. Fish is always fresh and creatively prepared.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Wonderful small plates, excellent sushi, lively atmosphere with unique decor. Not overpriced considering everything. Reservations a must.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We love it here! Food is amazing and the service is good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Always a great meal at Izakaya!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Not really a review guy but.. The sushi was excellent. That's the good..

The hostess did not say hello or acknowledge us. She only looked up from a computer when we were directly in front of her after we said something.

Requested a wall or corner seat in the reservation and were sat dead center in high traffic walk way. Had to speak really loudly to be heard.

Waitress forgot about us, then said "I'm just being a little crazy" instead of apologizing.

Drinks and water were empty and waitress specifically looked at our table and moved on, like she had decided we were doing ok..

Maybe I am being picky but for a $100 date night I would expect excellent, this service felt pretentious and ambivalent. Expected romantic birthday dinner but was distracted by poor service..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We love this restaurant. The quality of the fish is A+. The service is strong as well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Absolutely fantastic meal! Service was terrific. Best mussels on the planet.....

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our server Ryan and the other waitstaff made our visit wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The sushi here never disappoints. Pricey but worth it! Great atmosphere. We enjoy the open modern decor of Izakaya Den.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food here is consistently fantastic. The waiter was very helpful picking the best things on the menu. Great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Lots of different areas to dine in at this restaurant. There are 2 places on first floor and another upstairs. This visit we were seated in the room near the entry. Nice view of the street but kind of felt like we weren't part of the energy happening elsewhere in the building hostess stated that we could have requested in our reservations where we wanted to be seated. Upstairs is pretty loud as it's near the bar so if you want to get to know your date and easily understand the conversation at the table, eat downstairs. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing food, like the small plates and sushi was very fresh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always leave Izakaya with a happy belly. My husband and I go here when we want a tasty date night and we're never disappointed. Service was on point and we ate rather quickly and were out of there faster than we expected because the food was so delicious. Makes for a cheaper babysitter bill!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great atmosphere and fantastic service. We brought our children to experience sushi for the first time and they really did a great job

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Amazing night with friends enjoying a birthday dinner with wonderful food and service. Can't wait to hear back there. One of my favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our daughter choose Izakaya for her 18th b-day dinner as it is her FAV place- had
excellent sushi as always. They even brought her a really wonderful/unique dessert- thank you!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. It was a little crowded and felt like extra tables had been set up for Valentine's, which is understandable. It would have been nice to have been in a more private/intimate setting, but I understand why that business decision was made. Overall we had a wonderful meal and we will certainly return for more date nights.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a reservation and we're sat right away on a Saturday night. The food was outstanding and the server was even better. It made for a happy birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great fresh sushi but really over priced. New space offers a very cool ambiance that's open with a second level with an open cascading staircase and bamboo throughout.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Perfect experience. Our server was awesome.
Thanks :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

With the freshest fish in Denver and always an offering of "in season" fish, this is an exceptional place to eat sushi. Sushi Den, the next door sister restaurant, is more upscale by design. If you're looking for a slightly more casual setting, you'll get the same great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Absolutely impeccable service and decor, along with the finest sushi on the region.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

From the moment they opened their doors to thus elegantly appointed restaurant
I was in heaven

And it Still my favorite Sushi Restaurant anywhere!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Even with a reservation, we were given a terrible table. Service was slow even though the restaurant was half empty. When our food finally came, the tempura was not even warm. Nothing worse than cold fried food. The restaurant did comp the meal as it was so bad. Would rather pay for edible food any day. Won't go back, ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

There is no doubt this is the Best Restaurant in Denver---hands down! This Ownership knows what they are doing---every detail of dining is there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Amazing sushi and service was spectacular tonight!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Vegan, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Consistently good sushi, never fishy tasting. I prefer Izakaya den to Sushi den because 1) you can actually make a reservation under a party of 6, 2) the actual restaurant is more updated and cooler looking and 3) i think they share the same kitchen so they are pretty much the same restaurant?
Izakaya den all the way!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Izakaya is always the best atmosphere and best sushi. Sushi Den and Izakaya share the same imported fish so if one is full try the other!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Visiting from cHI town second time at this restaurant and we all agreed hand down that this is the BEST such We've had anywhere!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Matt our waiter was so sweet and helpful in guiding us through the menu. The food was delicious and came out in a timely manner. Loved the Volcano, pork belly and steak, so yummy!! Such a lovely experience. Plus they had complimentary valet... the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food but ridiculously slow service

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was Outstanding. We shared about 8 plates and all were great. Very attentive server who was really helpful. Restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was great, as usual; best sushi in metro...

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.