Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

About Izakaya Den

Izakaya Den is Denver’s popular Japanese gastropub, modeled after the lively after hours establishments found throughout Japan. The restaurant is located on South Pearl Street and is the second restaurant of the Kizaki brothers, founders and owners of Sushi Den.



The menu is arranged in a tapas style, serving traditional Japanese small plates along with dishes infused with international flavors and textures. The more traditional Japanese offerings include sashimi and nigiri, sourced from daily fish shipments from around the globe, along with dumplings and noodle dishes. The global cuisine experiments with a bevy of different flavors including unique items such as Grilled Panzanella Salad (jumbo lump crab, toasted focaccia, local goat cheese, pistachios, plum wine vinaigrette), Kobe Beef Sliders (seared foie gras, pomme frittes). A gluten-free menu is also available along with a popular weekday happy hour from 5 to 6:30 pm.

1487 S. Pearl St
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday 5:00PM-10:00PM, Friday & Saturday 5:00PM-11:00PM,
Lunch: Saturday 11:30AM-2:30PM

Cross Street:
S.Pearl Street and Florida Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-0691

Website:
http://www.izakayaden.net/

Catering:
Menus custom designed for both business and social occasions. Available from 20-50 ppl. Please call to inquire.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet service is available in front of our sister restaurant, Sushi Den.

Public Transit:
Izakaya Den is conveniently located a few blocks from Light Rail and a 10 minute drive or taxi ride from downtown Denver and convention sites. A RTD transit stop is on the corner and B Cycle has a pick up and drop off site nearby.

Executive Chef:
Master Chef Toshi Kizaki

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room can accommodate up to 45 people sit down dinner. Private Party Contact Name: Yuki

Private Party Contact:
Yuki: (303) 777-0691

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SLICED! is the fun and educational sushi making class at Izakaya Den. Join the seasoned chefs behind the Den Corner restaurants- Sushi Den, Izakaya Den and OTOTO Food and Wine- for a tasty, informative culinary experience where you’ll learn to create all styles of sushi rolls and nigiri sushi. Held in the exquisitely designed private dining room at Izakaya Den, classes are taught by Yasu Kizaki, who has perfected the art of fish selection and sushi preparation with over 30 years of experience.



After the class, the group sits together for a meal that includes over 20 pieces of sushi, miso soup and traditional green tea. Sliced! offers a hands-on learning experience sure to be enjoyed by novice and veteran cooks alike. Price is $70 per person.



SLICED! is held every other Wednesday throughout the year. Call directly for reservations.

Izakaya Den Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (49)
Good for a Date (40)
Creative Cuisine (38)
See All
Hot Spot (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Romantic (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Healthy (25)
Fun (23)
Authentic (22)
Business Meals (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Happy Hour (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Casual (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
People Watching (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Tapas (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Cozy (6)
Family Style (6)
Scenic View (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Private Room (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (0)
Sort By:
S
1110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience first time dining upstairs would highly recommend roof top opening is wonderful

Only complaint Squid dish a bit too rubbery all other fishes esp Kama were superb

I love all of their restaurants

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Disappointed in the reservations and table. I requested in the notes "favorite table" as we were celebrating our anniversary. The host clearly did not read this as we were sat at probably the worst table in the restaurant between the bar (stools) and a table about 12 inches apart, in the corner. If this was my first time dinning I would not return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food very good. Beautiful setting on second floor, but service was lackadaisical.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambiance. We love Izakaya and look forward to coming back and trying more of their delicious dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Amazing as always. Best atmosphere and sushi in town.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. We were in town from Omaha, NE. This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend who is a sushi chef in Omaha and we were not disappointed at all. Delicious fish and awesome lobster ramen.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

So delicious!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Matt was an excellent waiter. We are regulars at Izakaya and this was by far the best service we've ever had!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Kyle made my boyfriend and my visit exquisite for a birthday dinner. Everything tasted lovely, it was not only dinner it was an experience.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Healthy, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food. Wonderful seating on second level.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I am a huge fan of both the Dens. The service and the food are all extremely good . I've never been disappointed . Just spectacular every time ! I took my son to celebrate his good grades he chose Izakaya den.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tapas, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Stellar preparation and quality. I have business associates who live in San Francisco and
Seattle who come here for the outstanding Sushi.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Food was delicious. I loved the lobster ramen. Sushi was fresh and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We love this restaurant. It's all sooo very good. I would go now.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My friends like it I do not

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We ate there with our two kids 2 and 4 year old. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. They gave us great recommendations on what would be good for the kids and what specials that are good at the min. Our kids loved it and so we had a fantastic experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food is delicious and service was very attentive. It's a beautiful space but noisy. Very expensive. We indicated that we were there to celebrate a birthday and it was ignored, not very classy given the $$$.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Loved sitting upstairs. Weather was very comfortable and almost like you are outside

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went with the Family for Mothers Day, and just had a great meal and a good time.
Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of our favorite spots!! We went with a party of six and were fortunate enough to squeeze in by the rail to the sidewalk - great people watching and a perfect Colorado evening. Food was great (as always), service as attentive (we had Matt) and the overall evening couldn't have been better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My third visit to this restaurant since moving to Denver. The sushi is the best I have enjoyed outside of Japan. The service is impeccable. The noise level is generally fairly high, however, which is the only negative about the place.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Finally made the leap from Sushi Den to next door Izakaya Den. Will never go back. Same or better menu. They take reservations so no more hour wait for a table and you can actually talk to your date. We kept ordering everything was sooo good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I was disappointed. It's pricey and the food was really mediocre. I think I'll stick with my regular sushi place where prices are more reasonable and the sushi is delicious every time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food! Great Ambience! Great Service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Top notch!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had been to the previous location many times. We preferred the open feeling of the previous space and the menu of the old Izakaya Den. The old menu included a great selection of sushi, but also enough "tapas" and entrees to make it a nice change from sushi Den.
The service was very slow. The martini wasn't anything special, certainly not chilled enough (they used to serve great martinis).
We wouldn't go back again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great lunch. Everyone found a favorite from katsu to sushi to soba noodles. Closest meal to Japan in Denver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were in the top floor near the bar, a lot of energy and decorated very modern and hip. Our server, Dante, was incredibly helpful with the menu selections on what to try. He made the experience extra amazing for us. The food was delicious, you should especially take a look at the seasonal nigiri and shashimi. Overall, the experience was great and we will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Last time I went I ended up getting really sick because something I ate was not gluten free. This time was fine

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Service was awful with waitress pushing us to eat fast even though the place was quiet. We got the bill while we were still eating!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great experience. Excellent food. Always enjoyable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had an amazing time at Izakaya - from the food to the scenery to the great service. Beautiful restaurant and would definitely come back. (I'd like to see the upstairs with the roof open!)

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Our server was fantastic! I wish I could recall her name but she was a young, slender gal with dark short hair and was so lovely and helpful and kind! She even brought out ice cream for my friend's birthday!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We love The Den. Especially that Japanese favorite, banana cream pie

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Ordered 5 different types of fish and each was fantastic. Melt in your mouth sashimi, amazing rolls, dynamic and savory flavors and attentive ( but not hovering) service. Absolutely the best sushi I have ever had, and I've traveled on 4 continents

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent sushi, nice wine list upscale decor/design inside. Great for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great as usual - including being fun for our 3 year old.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The service was exceptional and the omakase experience was unforgettable. A wonderful night with great friends and outstanding food! Adam was a wonderful waiter and provided excellent customer service, as well.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

One of our favorite places in town for several years now. We don't get there quite as often as we used to do but it's always an exceptional treat. We sat at the sushi bar this time--we sit at a table more often than not but saw one of our favorite sushi chefs working tonight and noticed that there was a spot for two in front of his area, so requested seating there.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Best sushi ever! We don't even look at the menu and let the server decide which sushi we are having. We've not been disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.