Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.90mi
  3. Distance: 1.32mi
  4. Distance: 1.38mi

About Izakaya Den

Izakaya Den is Denver’s popular Japanese gastropub, modeled after the lively after hours establishments found throughout Japan. The restaurant is located on South Pearl Street and is the second restaurant of the Kizaki brothers, founders and owners of Sushi Den.



The menu is arranged in a tapas style, serving traditional Japanese small plates along with dishes infused with international flavors and textures. The more traditional Japanese offerings include sashimi and nigiri, sourced from daily fish shipments from around the globe, along with dumplings and noodle dishes. The global cuisine experiments with a bevy of different flavors including unique items such as Grilled Panzanella Salad (jumbo lump crab, toasted focaccia, local goat cheese, pistachios, plum wine vinaigrette), Kobe Beef Sliders (seared foie gras, pomme frittes). A gluten-free menu is also available along with a popular weekday happy hour from 5 to 6:30 pm.

1487 S. Pearl St
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday 5:00PM-10:00PM, Friday & Saturday 5:00PM-11:00PM,
Lunch: Saturday 11:30AM-2:30PM

Cross Street:
S.Pearl Street and Florida Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-0691

Website:
http://www.izakayaden.net/

Catering:
Menus custom designed for both business and social occasions. Available from 20-50 ppl. Please call to inquire.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet service is available in front of our sister restaurant, Sushi Den.

Public Transit:
Izakaya Den is conveniently located a few blocks from Light Rail and a 10 minute drive or taxi ride from downtown Denver and convention sites. A RTD transit stop is on the corner and B Cycle has a pick up and drop off site nearby.

Executive Chef:
Master Chef Toshi Kizaki

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room can accommodate up to 45 people sit down dinner. Private Party Contact Name: Yuki

Private Party Contact:
Yuki: (303) 777-0691

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SLICED! is the fun and educational sushi making class at Izakaya Den. Join the seasoned chefs behind the Den Corner restaurants- Sushi Den, Izakaya Den and OTOTO Food and Wine- for a tasty, informative culinary experience where you’ll learn to create all styles of sushi rolls and nigiri sushi. Held in the exquisitely designed private dining room at Izakaya Den, classes are taught by Yasu Kizaki, who has perfected the art of fish selection and sushi preparation with over 30 years of experience.



After the class, the group sits together for a meal that includes over 20 pieces of sushi, miso soup and traditional green tea. Sliced! offers a hands-on learning experience sure to be enjoyed by novice and veteran cooks alike. Price is $70 per person.



SLICED! is held every other Wednesday throughout the year. Call directly for reservations.

Izakaya Den Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Hot Spot (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Fun (27)
Romantic (25)
Authentic (25)
Good for Groups (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Business Meals (14)
Tapas (13)
Happy Hour (13)
People Watching (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Casual (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Scenic View (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Cozy (5)
Open Kitchen (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vegan (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (0)
Sort By:
S
1148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

The hostess balked when i asked if we could sit up stairs. " no one put that down as your preference" im sorry but no one aaked my preference and i think it goes without saying that thats everyone whose made a reservations preference. Also, my guess is we had originally had a seat up there because she said (before the comment about the preference) " I'm sorry but its been a crazy evening and a lot of things have been changed up"- anyways she told us to wait to be seated and then her minion came ovee (who i had actually checkef in with and talked too) and was completely confused about if we had a reservation and whete she was sitting us. Long story short - food and service staff good. I've seen better hostessing at an applebees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The sashimi is the best in Denver. Amazing fresh and tender fish with delicious flavors. I can't get enough!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Have been to Izakaya Den twice before, both excellent experiences. This time, we were extremely disappointed in both the quality of the food (only average, on all sushi), and the service. Very sorry to see it is not consistent. Had been looking forward to going all week, but every single roll we got was only average sushi. And for the premium you pay at Izakaya Den, average just doesn't cut it. The brussel sprouts were fantastic, but all the fish seemed to fall flat. Not sure what was off about it that day. Service was also poor, but I think that was because they were very busy and the servers seemed stretched a little thin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The staff was knowledgeable and made great menu suggestions. The live sea urchin was a terrific start to our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My partner and I came here for my birthday dinner on Saturday and loved our meal from start to finish. Brittany was our server and was so kind and helped us navigate the menu. My partner is vegan and I asked for help choosing sushi and wine. Not only were her choices spot on and delicious, but she made us feel very comfortable and took the time to explain each item in great detail. We thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait to visit again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 3, 2017

I've been going to Sushi Den for over 15 years, and I absolutely love it. So, for my birthday, I thought we would go to Izakaya since they take reservations. I was very disappointed. Sushi Den is my favorite restaurant in CO, but this was way different. We were rushed to order, then brought out food very randomly. The sushi was falling apart, and the lobster tempura had shells. The wagyu carpaccio was slimy and had an unpleasant flavor with extreme, inconsistent spice. For dessert, the green tea ice cream was pleasant, and the banana cream pie is the absolute best, but the strawberry shortcake tasted old, as it was very wet and incredibly sweet. I'm so happy I was able to get the Sriracha shrimp from Sushi Den while there. They are always exceptional. Also, absolutely love the crispy tuna; however, tonight it lacked sauce and the rice was over cooked. I probably came in with too high of expectations because I adore Sushi Den and felt it would be the same. I'm very disappointed and next time, I'll just wait for Sushi Den.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 3, 2017

A wonderful sushi experience. Don't miss the sake flight. A truly knowledgeable and attentive server made great recommendations that added to our evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My boyfriend and I absolutely love Izakaya Den it is hands-down our favorite restaurant. We love that you can make reservations on OpenTable and can eat from anything from neighboring restaurant Sushi Den. We always try to request to sit in Kyle D's section. He is the best server we have ever had and adds to the overall experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food here is absolutely amazing! The service and staff are wonderful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

As always the food, service and setting are exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary by going to this awesome sushi restaurant. The atmosphere is upscale modern and the food is noticeably better than your typical sushi joint.
It's a little pricey, but I guess you get what you pay for cause it was excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Five of us gathered for a birthday dinner. We sat upstairs - lovely modern setting with tall green bamboo. We sampled many dishes and liked them all --veggie dumpling appetizer was so good we ordered another...lobster and gnocke was very tasty...several different kinds of seaweed salad and sushi pleased the group. Attentive and helpful waiter. Added up to a special, very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Amazing as always....Ryan took amazing care of us!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I definitely recommend having a reservation. The food was outstanding. My friend had the Lobster ramen and i had the Sushi deluxe plate. The sushi is always great and my friend raved about the ramen. Everything was perfect, not too expensive, fantastic service and food was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 26, 2017

This is my fourth or fifth time at Izakaya Den, and as always the food did not disappoint. This restaurant is such a neighborhood gem. I went to an early-ish (6:30 p.m.) dinner on a weekday night and our waitress was trying to push us out the door from the second we arrived. We weren't even seated before she asked us what we wanted to drink and which appetizers we wanted, before she returned with our drinks she came back to bug us about appetizers and putting in a food order, and while we still had full glasses of wine and food on our plates, she dropped off the bill. This is not the normal experience, so it won't keep me from returning, but for the price and quality the service should be better!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Poor service: slow, inattentive and unfriendly. We would expect more from a restaurant in this price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food was terrific. The crispy tuna bun was a wonderful melange of flavor and texture with each bite. The seasonal toro, mackerel and yellowtail were so fresh we had to order a second round. Highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 19, 2017

LOVE IT! Tasty apps and fantastic sushi! The setting is beautiful, has very Japanese stylings.
Recommend sitting on 2nd level. One of my favorite places in Denver. Valet parking a plus in this little neighborhood.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We had high hopes....first mistake. Apparently an Izakaya restaurant can run out of ramen at 7p? Sushi was mediocre. And the service was lacking. The upstairs dining is real great though but for a $200 meal I expect more.
Go to Sushi Den or Ottoto next door instead.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Best sushi we found in Denver! It's situated in a cute and bustling little neighborhood and the restaurant is decorated impeccably. Our waiter was a little flippant and dismisive, but he got the job done. Get the lobster tempura spring rolls!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great food, a little noisy. The sashimi is very fresh. Try the yellow tail collar and the miso eggplant. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 11, 2017

this place was great. It had solid beer options and the food was awesome. we were upstairs - i'd suggest dining upstairs as it is a better atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Nathan was great! He was attentive, listened and also gave us space!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Had a great time here. Started with a drink at the downstairs bar while we waited for our reservation time. Enjoyed dinner upstairs with an open glass roof. The food was very good and we will certainly return. This was our first visit and we're referred by a friend.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fantastic vibe and great great food. Fish are flown in everyday and food menu is completely authentic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Izakaya Den never disappoints! Easily the best sushi in Colorado!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Excellent fresh sushi - good service, beautiful restaurant

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

This place rocks. The chefs are fast, fun to watch. I eat sushi several times a month in different cities. Izakaya's is one of the best. Specials are a treat. I had live giant scallops served in the shell...best scallops EVER! Sushi is fresh well served and a good sake assortment. Try a sake flight to help choose. Reservation is recommended.It fills up quick BEST IN Denver.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I frequent this restaurant. Typically it's worth the money. How ever I took my nephew there last night and the sushi was all marginal. I have had much better meals in the past at Izakaya. Not sure what the deal was but sushi was mostly bland. Spider roll was dry and had no flavor. Unfortunately it was a subpar night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great atmosphere. Loved the upstairs... open air. Great, fresh fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It is too bad their service is not excellent like their food. After we were seated, we waited about ten minutes for a server to show up. Since we had to wait so long, we were able to make our food and wine selections. We attempted to order wine and dinner at the same time. The server would only take our wine order and told us she would be right back to take our dinner selections. "I'll be right back " must be a matter of definition because we had to wait another ten minutes or so to order our dinner. Bad service seems to be the norm here because this was not the first time something like this has happened. We are regulars. Too bad service isn't as good as at Sushi Den. The music was too loud.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Got seated immediately. Great ambiance and outstanding service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great experience first time dining upstairs would highly recommend roof top opening is wonderful

Only complaint Squid dish a bit too rubbery all other fishes esp Kama were superb

I love all of their restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Fantastic service, by far the best service I have received from a restaurant here in Denver. He was knowledgeable, friendly and on top of everything. He was the highlight of our dinner.

Food was excellent, the sushi flown in from Tokyo was equal to the quality and taste you get in Tokyo.

It was a very expensive dinner but we will be back for our next special occasion.

Keep up to good work!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Felt very rushed.. one course after another kept coming before previous was finished.. table very cramped. Felt like they were trying to rush courses to clean table for next party while we were eating!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Disappointed in the reservations and table. I requested in the notes "favorite table" as we were celebrating our anniversary. The host clearly did not read this as we were sat at probably the worst table in the restaurant between the bar (stools) and a table about 12 inches apart, in the corner. If this was my first time dinning I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food very good. Beautiful setting on second floor, but service was lackadaisical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambiance. We love Izakaya and look forward to coming back and trying more of their delicious dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Amazing as always. Best atmosphere and sushi in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.