About Izakaya Den

1487 S. Pearl St
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Izakaya Den is Denver’s popular Japanese gastropub, modeled after the lively after hours establishments found throughout Japan. The restaurant is located on South Pearl Street and is the second restaurant of the Kizaki brothers, founders and owners of Sushi Den.



The menu is arranged in a tapas style, serving traditional Japanese small plates along with dishes infused with international flavors and textures. The more traditional Japanese offerings include sashimi and nigiri, sourced from daily fish shipments from around the globe, along with dumplings and noodle dishes. The global cuisine experiments with a bevy of different flavors including unique items such as Grilled Panzanella Salad (jumbo lump crab, toasted focaccia, local goat cheese, pistachios, plum wine vinaigrette), Kobe Beef Sliders (seared foie gras, pomme frittes). A gluten-free menu is also available along with a popular weekday happy hour from 5 to 6:30 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday and Sunday 5:00PM-10:00PM, Friday & Saturday 5:00PM-11:00PM,
Lunch: Saturday 11:30AM-2:30PM

Cross Street:
S.Pearl Street and Florida Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-0691

Website:
http://www.izakayaden.net/

Catering:
Menus custom designed for both business and social occasions. Available from 20-50 ppl. Please call to inquire.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet service is available in front of our sister restaurant, Sushi Den.

Public Transit:
Izakaya Den is conveniently located a few blocks from Light Rail and a 10 minute drive or taxi ride from downtown Denver and convention sites. A RTD transit stop is on the corner and B Cycle has a pick up and drop off site nearby.

Executive Chef:
Master Chef Toshi Kizaki

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room can accommodate up to 45 people sit down dinner. Private Party Contact Name: Yuki

Private Party Contact:
Yuki: 3037770691

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SLICED! is the fun and educational sushi making class at Izakaya Den. Join the seasoned chefs behind the Den Corner restaurants- Sushi Den, Izakaya Den and OTOTO Food and Wine- for a tasty, informative culinary experience where you’ll learn to create all styles of sushi rolls and nigiri sushi. Held in the exquisitely designed private dining room at Izakaya Den, classes are taught by Yasu Kizaki, who has perfected the art of fish selection and sushi preparation with over 30 years of experience.



After the class, the group sits together for a meal that includes over 20 pieces of sushi, miso soup and traditional green tea. Sliced! offers a hands-on learning experience sure to be enjoyed by novice and veteran cooks alike. Price is $70 per person.



SLICED! is held every other Wednesday throughout the year. Call directly for reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Izakaya Den Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Denver / Colorado
Japanese
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
1 More
Best Food
Denver
Best Restaurants in Wash Park ›

fit for foodies (129)
neighborhood gem (97)
special occasion (97)
See All
hot spot (85)
good for groups (62)
romantic (60)
vibrant bar scene (31)
great for lunch (15)
late-night find (12)
notable wine list (11)
great for outdoor dining (11)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (6)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
810 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing as always

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing as always

food5
ambience5
service5

Izakaya is among Denver's very best. A ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Izakaya is among Denver's very best. Always great!

food4
ambience4
service4

It was a very inviting and fun atmospher ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

It was a very inviting and fun atmosphere. As for the food, it was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were vacationing in Den ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My husband and I were vacationing in Denver from Houston and love sushi so we decided to eat here our first night. Both of us were blown away with the quality and flavors. By far our favorite sushi place with only Cabo coming in close. We will definitely be visiting Colorado again and will make sure this is a mandatory stop!!! The service was also incredible! All around an outstanding experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2

My husband made it a point to let them k ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband made it a point to let them know that it was my Birthday Day and they didn't even acknowledge it! Staff is to QUICK to take your played away!! 😂

food4
ambience4
service4

The food was so very good. The quality w ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was so very good. The quality was crazy fresh. Our waitress was awesome.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my Birthday dinner at Izakaya ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

I enjoyed my Birthday dinner at Izakaya with family, and experienced lovely, high quality sushi and service. Definitely will be back & highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

John & Mary

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's Day dinner with daughter and her boyfriend from San Francisco. This was our 3rd time here and we love it! Love the menu and how you can mix it up, sushi and other specials.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Better than Nobu!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Better than Nobu!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious ambiance & food

Dined on May 7, 2016

The restaurant is very nicely decorated, the is beautiful, the noise level was pretty loud by 630 that night, our waiter was very knowledgeable and he suggested a couple of items of fresh fish that had come in that day and we decided to try all of them and it was fantastic

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always perfect

Dined on May 6, 2016

We dine at Izakaya Den when we are in Denver. It is wonderful everytime. The fish is always fresh, the service is always good and the food is always consistent. It is a must for Sushi. The prices are very reasonable for the quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Good but not for an anniversary.

Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife love sushi. So we to izakaya for our anniversary. I let them know it was our anniversary. I know they don't have do anything special. I thought maybe nice table. We got seeted at ok table. It wasa cramped. I asked if could get another spot and was told they could not that time. The server was great. The sushi was good. It is a little expensive but i knew that going in to it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our server, Kim.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Loved our server, Kim.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Always fantastic and one of the 5 best restaurants in the whole city.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The sushi is top notch!!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The sushi is top notch!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always awesome. Never inexpensive.

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Always awesome. Never inexpensive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely , fun and hip

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our waiter did a wonderful job of suggesting things to try and was on point with all of it. Love the ambiance and fun vibe here. It's hip without being trendy. I will go back again as the decor, food and people were all fantastic! Great night out

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Sean was fabulous & so was the food

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Loved the place. Service, food, Sake Everything was terrific. Only one hiccup, my friend ordered the crispy calamari and got forgotten. We pointed it to our waiter & he corrected quickly. The Manager brought it out hot & fresh & on the house. It was delicious and worth the wait. We were saddened to hear Sean is leaving in two weeks (following his dream-good for him!) We certainly will be going back and will miss not having him wait on us. I HIGHLY recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding, service was excellent.

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Had dinner on a Saturday and it was outstanding. We tried some of the reccomended Saki's and it really complimented the meal. The tuna is fresh and full of flavor the sauces are outstanding. The Black cod was out of this world. Can't wait to go back. If you're going get a reservation now because the word is out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steve Livingroom

Dined on April 22, 2016

Impeccable food, service, and atmosphere. Simply the best sushi we've ever had, and it's always that good!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

LOVE IT!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was very good. The service was strong as well. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We waited at the bar for more than 10 mi ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We waited at the bar for more than 10 minutes to order a drink because there were not enough bartenders to service the bar patrons. Finally the female bartender came to our rescue, however the male bartender avoid us as best he could. The food is the best but the service was really bad at the bar. This is the second time this has happened at the bar, the first time I did not post because I though maybe it was an off night.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We'll be Back

Dined on April 10, 2016

So much more than just sushi. Miso Black Cod outrageous. Lobster Ramen a complete meal. Roasted Vegies best we've ever had. Saki cocktails like no other. Our server Brendon was fantastic with great recommendations. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Prom dinner

Dined on April 10, 2016

We went here for prom dinner. They put us in the back room. It was wonderfulwonderful we were treated very nicely and the food was amazing! Great for special occasions and was so fun!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great ambience, great servic ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food, great ambience, great service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fresh & innovative and worth t ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Food was fresh & innovative and worth the price. Incredible service. Great ambiance.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor service

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We have been coming here and to Sushi Den for many years and usually have great food and very good service but we dined here with a friend to celebrate my husband's birthday last weekend and the service was just plain bad. The waiter did not explain the specials until we pressed him and seemed very inattentive. Everything we ordered was brought at once, with no sense of order or timing, and felt extremely rushed. I finally asked someone else to take the last dish back to the kitchen as she tried to put it down and give us time to enjoy the rest of the food. Meanwhile, the waiter disappeared and we had to flag down someone else for another round of drinks. We had a 6 p.m. reservation and the restaurant was not crowded when we arrived. There was no apology for this. It was somewhat embarrassing since we had raved about the place to our friend. For the price, I'm not sure I'd go back any time soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sushi in Colorado

Dined on March 31, 2016

This new upscale atmosphere has really taken Sushi Den to a new level. Sharing the kitchen and quality with Sushi Den and adjacent properties, was a brilliant idea. The staff is excellent in knowing about the best new choices of sushi/sashimi along with a comprehensive knowledge of the Saki choices. Wonderful food, great service and a fantastic place for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Best Japanese restauran ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Love this place. Best Japanese restaurant in Colorado by far!

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Worst time & one of favorite restaurants

Dined on March 25, 2016

I go here often and this was the worst experience I've had. The food was not good and the restaurant was freezing cold. It was the least knowledgeable server I've had at either of the dens.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an amazing restaurant!

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

We love eating here and highly recommend anyone wanting sushi to go here or the Sushi Den. The crispy tuna, red dragon and new style salmon rolls are my favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Underwhelmed

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Please beware that this restaurant is NOT fancy, I was really embarrassed to show up dressed to the nines and enter a cafeteria like atmosphere. Many reviews had said this was the most beautiful restaurant they had ever been in; while the decor was cool, this is not fine dining. Food was very good, service was nice but uncomfortably rushed and we are not slow eaters or lingerers. If I lived in the neighborhood I would consider it a gem, but it is not worth a special trip.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and knowledgeable waiters.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great food and knowledgeable waiters.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Fun spot, 30mins to make sushi

Dined on March 19, 2016

I was dining with you on a friday evening with a friend from out of town. Food was delicious. Unfortunately it came out in poor order: appetizer, then my friend's ramen, then 30 minutes later, the sushi platter which we planned to share but she had finished her ramen so sat and watch me eat. Generally when this happens at a restaurant of this caliber, something on the ticket is comped or a discount is applied to the bill, I was surprised that this was not the case.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Love the I-Den but experienced very comp ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Love the I-Den but experienced very complacent service. Sat for over 10 min without getting anyone to serve some water. Wanted meal coursed a certain way was throughly ignored Great food but hoping service matches it next time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My birthday treat

Dined on March 17, 2016

Love the beautiful atmosphere along with the outstanding Asian cuisine. Our server was very helpful in recommending both a sashimi appetizer and a special cocktail. Excellent experience all the way around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best sushi I've ever had.

Dined on March 17, 2016

We allowed our bartender Cho to recommend his favorite dishes and everything he brought to us was spot on!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Japanese Food

Dined on March 13, 2016

Many authentic Japanese dishes as well as serving sushi. More reasonable than Sushi Den and a nice variety of menu options for different tastes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Dining Nirvana

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Near perfection every time. Pairing the best sushi in the city with kobe been sliders that melt in your mouth with perfect seasoning, how could you go wrong?

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fanulous Meal, but Watch for Inflated Drink Prices

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We dined at Izakaya Den on Saturday evening and and enjoyed a fantastic evening of fresh sushi. The fish was incredibly tasty and fresh, and we feasted on varieties neither one of us have sampled before. The food was so fresh, the true flavors of each fish stood out. My only caution is that my dram of 12-year Yamazaki was a whopping $32 - more than twice what I normally pay at other whisky bars and Japanese restaurants in town such as Happa. That kind of price is usually reserved for the 18-year vintage. Be warned!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.