Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 77 times today

Izakaya Den

4.7
1363 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
Izakaya Den is Denver’s popular Japanese gastropub, modeled after the lively after hours establishments found throughout Japan. The restaurant is located on South Pearl Street and is the second restaurant of the Kizaki brothers, founders and owners of Sushi Den.



The menu is arranged in a tapas style, serving traditional Japanese small plates along with dishes infused with international flavors and textures. The more traditional Japanese offerings include sashimi and nigiri, sourced from daily fish shipments from around the globe, along with dumplings and noodle dishes. The global cuisine experiments with a bevy of different flavors including unique items such as Grilled Panzanella Salad (jumbo lump crab, toasted focaccia, local goat cheese, pistachios, plum wine vinaigrette), Kobe Beef Sliders (seared foie gras, pomme frittes). A gluten-free menu is also available along with a popular weekday happy hour from 5 to 6:30 pm.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday-Thursday 5:00PM-10:00PM, Friday & Saturday 5:00PM-11:00PM,
Lunch: Saturday 11:30AM-2:30PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(303) 777-0691
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Master Chef Toshi Kizaki
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Menus custom designed for both business and social occasions. Available from 20-50 ppl. Please call to inquire.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
S.Pearl Street and Florida Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet service is available in front of our sister restaurant, Sushi Den.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Izakaya Den is conveniently located a few blocks from Light Rail and a 10 minute drive or taxi ride from downtown Denver and convention sites. A RTD transit stop is on the corner and B Cycle has a pick up and drop off site nearby.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
SLICED! is the fun and educational sushi making class at Izakaya Den. Join the seasoned chefs behind the Den Corner restaurants- Sushi Den, Izakaya Den and OTOTO Food and Wine- for a tasty, informative culinary experience where you’ll learn to create all styles of sushi rolls and nigiri sushi. Held in the exquisitely designed private dining room at Izakaya Den, classes are taught by Yasu Kizaki, who has perfected the art of fish selection and sushi preparation with over 30 years of experience.



After the class, the group sits together for a meal that includes over 20 pieces of sushi, miso soup and traditional green tea. Sliced! offers a hands-on learning experience sure to be enjoyed by novice and veteran cooks alike. Price is $70 per person.



SLICED! is held every other Wednesday throughout the year. Call directly for reservations.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
8.5

Izakaya Den is straight up sexy. If you’ve been looking for a new date spot, you can stop looking.

Ratings 8.0-8.5:The best way to think about restaurants in the low to mid 8′s is that these are the places you would absolutely go back to, anytime. These restaurants are ones that you want to bring a friend to, just so they can also experience the duck carnitas, or burger, or whatever dish the place is known for.
What 1363 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.5
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Everything was great except they ran out of menu items and the server could have been more accommodating. Besides that the food and the atmosphere was tremendous.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

It was pretty good, I was in from New York and I feel the sushi in New York is always a bit better. Maybe just closer to the water. It is decent and even good but not a value restaurant and if you are going top dollar go somewhere in Miami or New York or LA. The sushi in those cities is simply better. The neighborhood is super cool though and the restaurant is nice and attractive and a decent ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary and it was lovely!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Girls night! Just perfect! Service was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

If you want to learn and taste high quality sake, this is the place. Food excellent. Kim out server was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Our waiter, Nathan, was fantastic. We asked him to choose our menu that evening and we wound up eating one of the best meals of our lives! The fish is so fresh and the flavors are bright, bold and absolutely delicious. The architecture of the restaurant itself is beautiful, and the atmosphere is lovely. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough. It is a gem!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers Day lunch reservation for originally a party for three and the hostess did a wonderful job accommodating two more to our party. ...It was an okay lunch, good, but not great. Table service was just meh, especially compared to other experiences I had there. Same with our food—nothing too special. I have had amazing dinners there in the past, but I felt underwhelmed this day and had wished we went somewhere that made more of an effort on a big dining day for families. It wasn’t that busy either....we were all pretty surprised about the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

It takes me an hour drive to get there...always worth it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The sushi was Very good, as always. We were with another couple; if we had been on our own, we would have definitely sat at the sushi bar, where everything is fresher. Also, there was a Very loud table of 20 people right next to us, which was a negative.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Expensive($600 for 6) but amazing. Semi-outdoor upstairs dining alfresco. My only critique would be as the waiter guided the meal (we did not order anything he brought it all) the sushi he picked was a bit “amateur.”
Not really his fault but I had to take over to get more unique offerings.
Overall 10 out of 10 going back next week!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

LOVE this place. Never lets us down. The service and food are to die for!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Our server, Hana, made the experience a 5-star experience. She knew the menu to a "T" and made great recommendations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I go here at least twice a year. The staff is professional and the best you will find at any restaurant. The atmosphere is perfect. The sushi chefs are polite and genially care about you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Delicious as usual! Always fresh and prepared perfectly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food was amazing. I tried to order two dishes, but they ran out of both. Overall, it wasn’t a huge problem, and we had a very good time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Izakaya Den is without a doubt one of the best Japanese restaurants in Colorado. The food was outstanding, the ambiance was unique and beautiful, and the prices were surprisingly reasonable for the quality. We definitely will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

One of our favorite restaurants. Came here for our anniversary. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Beautiful and serene atmosphere at this Susi Den neighbor restaurant. The food was very good, but beet salad dressing very oily for a balsamic and asparagus sushi not very creative for us vegan/vegetarian diners. Everything else delish and def worth the drive!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

This place has the great sake selection. There is not such Japanese restaurant except their sister joint of Sushi Den. The menu has both very authentic Japanese food & good fusion for any people friendly choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Awesome in every way!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Good food as usual. Sushi, eggplant, and brussels sprouts excellent.Very busy and service lacking. Extremely loud dining room made dining with friends difficult.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Wonderful sushi, love the atmosphere. It never disappoints. Although they were out of my favorite miso cod this time!! :-(

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

This is our absolute favorite restaurant in Denver! Went there with another couple and everybody at the table kept saying how Izakaya never disappoints and is always exceptional!

We love to sit upstairs it is absolutely beautiful! I always request Kyle D. to be our server he is hands-down the best server we have ever had. He always makes great suggestions for the menu and he’s so much fun to be around.

Cannot say enough good stuff about this place, I love every aspect about Izakaya Den!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We met with some good friends on Saturday afternoon - it was a reunion for us and we ordered a lot of food, because we had heard about what a great restaurant Izakaya is, we were hungry, and we wanted to have a nice long, leisurely lunch. We had a wonderful time and Izakaya did not disappoint, everything was fresh and sophisticated. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

It takes me approximately 1 hr to gt here and I try to eat here at least 3 times a month...its that good. Food is good, wait staff is professional and friendly, the ambiance reflects some good design elements.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

It was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Best sushi in the US!! But It is expensive so make us a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Over hyped ! I m still looking for a good sushi place in Denver

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We love this restaurant. The food and service are always wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

I loved this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Best sushi I have eaten, fresh, great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The service was phenomenal! Our server made great recommendations and everything was absolutely perfect!! Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Beautiful interior. Some of the tastiest food I have ever had.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The food was great, but we were getting together with friends that we don’t see very often and it was very difficult to talk because of the noise level.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We went for a birthday lunch and were very pleased with the food and service. We will return to this sweet sushi spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food is always amazing. Freshest fish. Incredible flavors. Knowledgeable staff.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food is very good; however, the wine pours are inconsistent. One glass was ridiculously small and the bartender ignored me. Another bartender agreed with me. It put a damper on the evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Best sushi anywhere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Went for my wife's 32nd birthday. Love sushi, but haven't had Izakaya or Sushi Den before. Sushi was fantastic, as were the drinks (Ginger something and Chrysanthemum Mist Sake were incredible). Do get the pork belly, as the sauce with that is next level (it really should accompany all meats imo). Didn't love toro as much as I thought I would, but that was personal taste, not due to any issues with the fish itself. The smoked salmon with avocado was fantastic, and the thing I could never order enough of.

Pricey, but only because we had to try different toro options available, as well as order multiple cocktails. No single dish felt like it wasn't worth the price point on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Service was a bit slow. Bar seemed fairly backed up and our server had a hard time answering questions regarding the menu. Food was exceptional as always.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
35

Tweets by Izakaya Den