About Izakaya Den

1487 S. Pearl St
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Izakaya Den is Denver’s popular Japanese gastropub, modeled after the lively after hours establishments found throughout Japan. The restaurant is located on South Pearl Street and is the second restaurant of the Kizaki brothers, founders and owners of Sushi Den.



The menu is arranged in a tapas style, serving traditional Japanese small plates along with dishes infused with international flavors and textures. The more traditional Japanese offerings include sashimi and nigiri, sourced from daily fish shipments from around the globe, along with dumplings and noodle dishes. The global cuisine experiments with a bevy of different flavors including unique items such as Grilled Panzanella Salad (jumbo lump crab, toasted focaccia, local goat cheese, pistachios, plum wine vinaigrette), Kobe Beef Sliders (seared foie gras, pomme frittes). A gluten-free menu is also available along with a popular weekday happy hour from 5 to 6:30 pm.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday 5:00PM-10:00PM, Friday & Saturday 5:00PM-11:00PM,
Lunch: Saturday 11:30AM-2:30PM

Cross Street:
S.Pearl Street and Florida Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-0691

Website:
http://www.izakayaden.net/

Catering:
Menus custom designed for both business and social occasions. Available from 20-50 ppl. Please call to inquire.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet service is available in front of our sister restaurant, Sushi Den.

Public Transit:
Izakaya Den is conveniently located a few blocks from Light Rail and a 10 minute drive or taxi ride from downtown Denver and convention sites. A RTD transit stop is on the corner and B Cycle has a pick up and drop off site nearby.

Executive Chef:
Master Chef Toshi Kizaki

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room can accommodate up to 45 people sit down dinner. Private Party Contact Name: Yuki

Private Party Contact:
Yuki: 3037770691x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SLICED! is the fun and educational sushi making class at Izakaya Den. Join the seasoned chefs behind the Den Corner restaurants- Sushi Den, Izakaya Den and OTOTO Food and Wine- for a tasty, informative culinary experience where you’ll learn to create all styles of sushi rolls and nigiri sushi. Held in the exquisitely designed private dining room at Izakaya Den, classes are taught by Yasu Kizaki, who has perfected the art of fish selection and sushi preparation with over 30 years of experience.



After the class, the group sits together for a meal that includes over 20 pieces of sushi, miso soup and traditional green tea. Sliced! offers a hands-on learning experience sure to be enjoyed by novice and veteran cooks alike. Price is $70 per person.



SLICED! is held every other Wednesday throughout the year. Call directly for reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Izakaya Den
Agedashi Tofu
Chirashi
Miso Eggplant
Shrimp and Grits
Lobster Tempura Roll
Sake
Kobe Beef Roll
Shrimp Tampura
Izikaya Short Ribs
Lobster Potatata
Lobster Wonton
Kobi Beef Sliders
Oranges
Banana Cream Pie
Panzanella Salad
Crab Cakes
Dutch Chocolate Ice Cream
Bluefin Tuna Nigiri
Tuna Scollops And Yellow Tail
Saporro Beer
Octopus
Lobster Ramen
Gyoza
Beef Tenderloin Ala Oscar
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Nigiri
Miso Cod
Beet Salad
Nigiri Sushi
Ginger Sashimi
Maki Sushi
Kobe Beef And Foie Gras Sliders
Crispy Tuna
Sushi
Kobe Burger
Miso
Deluxe Sushi Platter
tan tan ramen
Duck Udon
Rocky Mountain Roll
edamame
Fried Brussels Sprouts
Hoisin Duck Crostinis
dynamite
Bacon Edamame
Pink Blossom
Twix Bar Gelato
Cod

Izakaya Den Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Denver / Colorado
Best Food
Denver
Best Restaurants in Wash Park ›

Fit for Foodies (84)
Special Occasion (72)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
See All
Hot Spot (56)
Good for Groups (40)
Romantic (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Great for Lunch (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Scenic View (9)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Healthy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server was new--she has to be. After ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our server was new--she has to be. After waiting for water for 5 minutes, I had to ask for water and a drink menu. My girlfriend wasn't over the moon with the drink menu options so she asked whether the bartender could make a drink with gin, some sort of citrus, and mint. The rest would be up to him to fill out. Server came back with a glass of gin with an orange and mint leaves in it. Lol.

I'll just stop there on the review, as I really think this was new server-related. But she definitely shouldn't have been on her own. We didn't trust her opinion on anything and would stop other servers instead. They were aware of our hardship and were gracious about it.

We'll come back, as izakaya is typically MUCH better than this. But I really hope it's not a trend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Superb in every respect. Definitely on ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Superb in every respect. Definitely on the 2-week rotation!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner experience, as always! Foo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Lovely dinner experience, as always! Food was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was top notch!!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was top notch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Sadly did not live up to reputation. Foo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Sadly did not live up to reputation. Food is good, not outstanding. Very pretentious. Waiter went on and on about how terrific everything was, explained in too much detail that left us bored, kept interrupting us with more information. Why not ask for questions instead of rambling on about how popular each dish is, which ones are favorites, how spectacular the fish is and so on. Izakaya has an inflated opinion of itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

First time there and we loved it! The fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

First time there and we loved it! The food was excellent and so was our waiter, Dante, and our server Kelsey!!!! Great restaurant, great employees and great food!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's hard to find a Japanese restaurant ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It's hard to find a Japanese restaurant in Denver with both excellent ramen and sushi, but I'd wager Izakaya comes the closest. However, I would go back for their signature menu items as opposed to ramen or sushi as these were just "fine." Very cool decor and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

As good as sushi den with some different ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

As good as sushi den with some different options and no wait, they take reservations!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is definitely one of the best resta ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is definitely one of the best restaurants in Denver. The sashimi is amazing as are the tapas. I would say that the service is definitely not as good as it was in the past. I go fairly often and the waitstaff have been less helpful and friendly over the past year or so. I still enjoy it since I live in the neighborhood and I love the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Absolutely amazing food and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Absolutely amazing food and atmosphere. Great and friendly service. If you're a sushi lover you have got to try this place. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved every dish we ordered. We were set ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Loved every dish we ordered. We were set on specific dishes, but were (happily) persuaded to try specials and the eggplant . Our server, Michael, read us perfectly, and we are thankful to him for his suggestions. We had a great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, as always. Our server, Michae ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent, as always. Our server, Michael,made it a priority to ensure our mealtime experience was phenomenal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi by far in the Denver area. I ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Best sushi by far in the Denver area. Incredible apps as well, pork belly Brussels sprouts were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service and food

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have always had a stellar experience ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have always had a stellar experience here, but this weekend's was nothing near stellar. The food was good but not exceptional (except the miso black cod) and our server was very scattered. He kept coming by and asking if we got dishes (we ordered 3 different apps, 2 sashimi plates, and several different rolls). When we told him we wanted another bottle of wine and could he bring the list, he just brought a second bottle of what we already had. Not very attentive. Too bad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We eat at Izakaya at least once a week. ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We eat at Izakaya at least once a week. It's like family to us! The food is always fresh and consist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is amazing.It is the best birth ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food is amazing.It is the best birthday dinner I ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice birthday celebration and our meal w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Nice birthday celebration and our meal

was delicious. Our server, Kim was attentive without hovering. My only complaint is the noise level upstairs.

We had 7pm reservations and were seated

next to an open sliding door which improved the noise level but we still found

it deafening. With today's technology there are many baffling options. Consider checking out what Tojo's in Vancouver did in their space, beautiful and very affective.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved the place. First time in! Will ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved the place. First time in! Will be back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was great and server was awesome. H ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was great and server was awesome. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always love Izakaya Den's quality and ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I always love Izakaya Den's quality and consistency. Hands down the best restaurant in Denver

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best service, best sushi, best atmospher ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Best service, best sushi, best atmosphere! I can't wait to go back and have the same stellar experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The setting is stunning. The food was gr ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The setting is stunning. The food was great, though we were disappointed there were no noodle dishes available on the day we dined. The service was not what we expect at these price levels--one of our dishes was forgotten, water and tea not filled until reminded, server disappeared for awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Fantastic from top to bottom! The tuna ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic from top to bottom! The tuna belly wrapped in sashimi tuna was one of the best items we've ever eaten. Amazing dinner.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really fantastic sushi. Loved the nigiri ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Really fantastic sushi. Loved the nigiri, live scallops, red dragon and rainbow rolls. Something for everyone. Great ambiance and decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable; never intru ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service was impeccable; never intrusive or lacking, food items were brought out at a very nice pace, never felt rushed, and there was always time in between dishes. My wife and I had a few nigiri orders and some small plates. Everything was delicious but I especially enjoyed the nigiri. The restaurant is beautiful on the inside. Both levels have a wonderful feel and the tables are spaced far enough apart that you feel like you can have a private dinner with your special someone.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

This restaurant is highly rated and had ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This restaurant is highly rated and had been recommended to me by several people. The staff was friendly and attentive, we were seated quickly, and able to order drinks immediately. The ambiance is nice, and could be a good date location, but could also be great for groups.

The downside for me was the excessive flies buzzing around the restaurant and our food. The sushi came out just slightly cooler than room temperature, which is too warm for sushi. The flies were constantly trying to land on the food. We were not the only ones dealing with them. For a higher end restaurant, this was unacceptable for me.

For those reasons I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We love Izakaya and specifically selecte ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We love Izakaya and specifically selected it because they do take reservations and this was a birthday dinner. Sadly, when we walked up to the hostess station we were told that they had just seated another party at our table. Not my problem. I was disappointed in how this was handled.

Other than that, the food was fantastic as always! Our server was attentive and did great. We had a good time and it was a successful birthday dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It took our waitress forever to take our ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It took our waitress forever to take our order for dinner. Then once we did they were out of one of their sushi specials. So we order another item from the special sushi menu and they were out of that as well. Kind of crazy they were out of two specials at 6:30 on a Saturday. I love Izakaya Den and have never had this kind of service before. But it was a shame.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Outstanding restaurant! Very satisfied w ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Outstanding restaurant! Very satisfied with the quality of food and service. Will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum! My favorite is the Brussels Sprouts ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Yum! My favorite is the Brussels Sprouts with pork belly. Unreal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

One of the best meals I've ever had. Inc ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever had. Including in Japan. Every morsel delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wish I could give a 4.5 star....We had g ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wish I could give a 4.5 star....We had gyoza, hamachi sashimi, and a few sushi rolls and really enjoyed all of them - all were fresh tasting, not fishy and not too much sauce which really let the fish shine. The only complaint I would have is the service was a bit lack luster. Probably not our servers fault, it was a Saturday night and really busy, however maybe they should consider getting a couple more servers for more attentive service. Overall, great spot and definitely will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Izakaya Den was really good. The sushi t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Izakaya Den was really good. The sushi tasted noticeably better than other places around town and the atmosphere was unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor value for sushi. Cooked food is bet ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Poor value for sushi. Cooked food is better than sushi. Noise level extremely loud. Located in a neighborhood with street parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The restaurant was training wait staff b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The restaurant was training wait staff but we were ignored for 20 minutes or until I complained to the hostess. Several staff looked right at us, amazing. Also the warm appetizers were never delivered with some lame excuse that diners prefer gyoza later. I have traveled extensively in Japan, gyoza is an appetizer or first plate.

Service aside the food is great and valet parking is a plus.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

The interior designs are amazing and sup ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The interior designs are amazing and super tall bamboo plants are adjacent to the staircase. A large glass window in the 2nd level ceiling mechanically opens to give diners the feeling of being outside. Food and service are "ichi ban" #1. It's much quieter than Sushi Den.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been here a number of times, most ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I have been here a number of times, mostly with my elderly mom and my kids (who are 8, 5 and 3). The food is excellent, the service is great and we have never had less than a stellar experience.

Our waitress (Toshimi) was awesome.

I don't know how it is for brunch or "hot spot" or "late-night" because we have been there in afternoons/ early evenings. I would imagine it gets noisier as it gets more crowded later on; it's a pretty big venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Adult bday celebration. Wed. dinner (6:3 ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Adult bday celebration. Wed. dinner (6:30pm), upstairs in seating against the open windows along Pearl.

Extremely loud - very difficult to hear each other speak normally. Outside noises were unexpectedly loud (cars, people standing outside on the sidewalk).

Food: miso soup perfect. house salad not "asian" in any way (despite the ginger tofu dressing) - really could just remove this from the menu - completely uninspiring. We ordered two sashimi dinners and one sushi deluxe platter. Sushi/sashimi were very good. Fresh, nice presentation. Delicious. Our bday boy ordered the sake flight (3 different sakes) and two of us ordered a hot sake to share. The flight choices were really nice. They give you a description of each and the waiter was very nice to add some comments about each of them.

We also ordered some a la carte items (toro, unagi, unakyu, ikura) to share. THESE DIDN'T ARRIVE AT OUR TABLE - we had to cancel the order because we asked several times and the a la carte items never arrived.

Dessert was great (although no discount or "happy birthday" or anything): pineapple upside down cake was outstanding, warm chocolate cake was more like a mousse cake (wondered what the choc. mousse cake on the menu was like...we speculated they sent the wrong cake).

Overall, the wait staff was very attentive and gave us great service. Sushi chefs let us down with the forever delay on our a la carte items.

I probably won't go here again. Sushi Den is better for reliability and consistency. There are also other far better sushi/sashimi grade fish restaurants in Denver.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Amazing as all Of his restaurants are. O ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Amazing as all Of his restaurants are. Our waiter just brought is whatever he wanted and we were delighted with the selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.