About IYASARE

1830 Fourth Street
Berkeley, CA 94710
View Larger Map

Inspired by the artisanal ingredients and simple, rustic flavors of his native Tohoku region, chef-proprietor Shotaro Kamio blends the obscure with the familiar for surprisingly extraordinary tastes. Craft beer, wine and sake. Seasonal, locally sourced ingredients. Comfortable, casual indoor and heated patio garden seating

If there is no reservation available at your desired time, please call the restaurant. We accept phone bookings for our communal table, Chef's table and patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Sun 11:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Th, Sun 5:30pm-9:00pm
Dinner: Fri-Sat 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hearst Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 845-8100

Website:
http://www.iyasare-berkeley.com/

Executive Chef:
Shotaro Kamio

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

IYASARE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Restaurants in Berkeley ›

Fit for Foodies (100)
Special Occasion (63)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Great for Lunch (44)
Romantic (30)
Good for Groups (19)
Hot Spot (13)
Notable Wine List (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've been to Iyasare many times for lun ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

We've been to Iyasare many times for lunch the past few years. We really enjoy the exquisite, beautifully prepared Japanese food that is on the expensive side. My son and I went for lunch this past week and he had his usual unagi-don. The last time he had it, it was in a larger bowl and was a reasonable amount of food for $18. This time, the bowl is much smaller and thus less food and he was still hungry after his $18 entree and a side of egg like they serve for ramens($2). We are not happy with the value of our meal here anymore.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food is fabulous.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food is fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the ambience was nice, the waiter ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

While the ambience was nice, the waiter seemed rather distressed that we were not eating and drinking more. He encouraged us to order more with some frustration in his voice. The prices of all of the dishes were quite a bit higher than posted on the menu on the website and because of that we needed to exercise more discretion in our choices.

Overall the food itself was excellent. But $12 dollars for a large Sake (4" carafe) was a bit steep. Also, they serve room temperature tap water if you don't order bottled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Sashimi salad was outstanding. Great com ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Sashimi salad was outstanding. Great combination of greens and sashimi and just the right amount of dressing. Ramen was the best we've had so far (over Orenchi and Ippuku NY). The noodles were the right consistency, texture and doneness. The broth was delicious and there was a substantial amount of pork that was both tender and flavorful. The nori topping was a nice touch along with the other vegetables. I would skip the egg next time though. It was a bit too strong in flavor for us. We would've preferred a regular soft-boiled egg. Real loose leaf tea was an added bonus to the meal.

Service can be improved. We were confused about who was actually serving us since the servers kept changing. We were asked how we were doing a bit too often. They almost took away one of our bowls when we were still halfway done so we felt rushed. It was Sunday lunch and not crowded.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

I was really disappointed with the Ramen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I was really disappointed with the Ramen dish, not much flavor to the broth. Paid a fraction of the price elsewhere and it was very good broth, very disappointed, probably won't dine here again.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

My friend and I met for lunch and the in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My friend and I met for lunch and the interior noise level was uncomfortable. We expressed a desire to sit on the patio and immediately arrangements were made to provide comfortable heat. The service was outstanding -- superb. The food, delicious and special. Our new favorite "haunt"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It took a little too long to be greeted ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It took a little too long to be greeted on arrival and much too long before our waiter gave us menus. It was also annoying to watch people who arrived after us get service before we did. But once our order was placed and the meal began to arrive, the experience was wonderful. The Hamachi yellowtail sashimi and Maguro Oroshi appetizers were extremely interesting and tasted great. Seared wild scallops were divine and the Okonomi pancake was unique and very good - if a little filling. This was our third visit and the food is always interesting, different and very delicious.

The house sauvignon blanc was perfect to accompany our meal and the ability to order a 500 ml carafe is a very good idea and quite affordable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My aunt, elderly grandmother and I all g ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My aunt, elderly grandmother and I all got food poisoning. Very disappointed, it was scary due to my grandmother who is 83 getting sick. We were all sick for a few days, i had to take time off work. Be careful eating here.

We all had miso soup, shrimp tempura, and scottish salmon.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent food and beautifully presented ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and beautifully presented. It's always a joy to come to Isayare.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food flavors were excellent. Enjoyed a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food flavors were excellent. Enjoyed all dishes that we shared

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very good lunch here last week. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a very good lunch here last week. We both had a fresh green salad and shared the veggie tempura which was amazing! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The interior seating area was excessivel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The interior seating area was excessively loud. We opted to sit on the patio which was lovely and serene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The special for the day was a duck ramen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The special for the day was a duck ramen. It was wonderful. There were four of us, and we all enjoyed it equally. The wait staff also suggested the tempura. It is something that they recommend to all first time guests. It was also a pleasant surprise. It was a tempura cake cut into quarters. We picked it up to eat like a slice of pizza. The food and special cocktails along with the friendly staff make it a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best ramen ever! Great service. Beautifu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Best ramen ever! Great service. Beautiful interior.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is quite unique. We ordered one ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The menu is quite unique. We ordered one too many main dishes. The server suggested two small dishes and two main dishes and that is what we ordered. In the future would order two small dishes and one main dish to share.

Dessert was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have had lunch at Iyasare before and l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have had lunch at Iyasare before and loved it, but the menu at night is completely different and I found it a bit fussy, too many ingredients in a dish that muddle the whole. O'chamie was simple and elegant and I found Iyasare that way too when it first opened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great service. Make sure to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food. Great service. Make sure to get the spaghetti and the tempura is a MUST! Beautiful restaurant in a fun neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very attentive & food was gr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was very attentive & food was great, too! This was the second time we dined at Iyasare. We were impressed the first time; that's why we brought our friends to try this place.

We love the Ocean Umami (Scallops) & the Kakiage Tempura with Tiger Shrimps. Our friends also enjoyed the special corn soup for the night. Coffee was very nice and we loved our Corn Ice-cream and "Summer Camp" chocolate cake.

Thanks Iyasare, we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We made a reservation for 8:30pm and cal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We made a reservation for 8:30pm and called to say we were running 5 minutes late. Although everyone was pleasant, it was clear that they wanted to leave early that evening. There were at least 3 other tables that were still being served when we left a short time later, but every other part of the restaurant had been dismantled and prepped for the next day while we were attempting to relax and enjoy our dinner. The food was truly delicious and our server was quite pleasant, I just would have enjoyed my meal more if I hadn't felt the need to cram it down my throat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I wish they served their ramen and agada ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I wish they served their ramen and agadashi at both dinner and lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

As always, the food was incredible!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

As always, the food was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful lunch at Iyasare. Our ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Another wonderful lunch at Iyasare. Our first time with our server, Sabrina. Great experience! I shared the edamame, had the seaweed salad as my starter and the unagi don as my main. Skipped dessert and went across the street to the chocolate shop for a dark chocolate cone. A fun lunch with my "cooking wife." We cook at C.U.R.A.s SLE in Oakland every Wednesday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic. The place is ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was fantastic. The place is very well run, with a careful owner and good service. Congratulations on a great work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous dinner. Every dish w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Absolutely fabulous dinner. Every dish was exquisitely prepared and creative. Delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely meal, service was wonderful and w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Lovely meal, service was wonderful and warm. Interesting flavors, beautiful presentations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is our new go-to Japanese restauran ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is our new go-to Japanese restaurant which, sadly, is 50 miles away from home. On our next visit, I am having the Ramen, which looked like a huge meal on the table next to ours. I guess one sign of the authenticity of the cuisine, was the presence of many customers of Japanese origin. A word about the service: I had a mishap and spilled a lot of tea on our table. The clean-up was done with grace and style and spared me any embarrassment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tempura with shrimp was outstanding ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The tempura with shrimp was outstanding , the grilled octopus with a corn silk fritter miso peach sauced aioli was an unusual delicious dish

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Had lunch with my bride. My bride had b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Had lunch with my bride. My bride had black tea and the Japanese Fried Chicken. I had the green tea (Sancha) and the wasabi salad as a starter and the Sashimi Don as my main. Good service and delightful weather with the outdoor seating. Great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Have been there several times in the pas ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Have been there several times in the past, and the lunch was great, especially the salmon dish, and the tofu-eggplant dish, and the mixed veggie and tiger shrimp kakiage tempura.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every bite was more delicious than the l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Every bite was more delicious than the last. My cocktail was amazing, and our server was attentive. We love this place for our anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is pretentious to require a credit ca ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It is pretentious to require a credit card deposit to make a reservation.

Dining room too loud; hard to have conversation (on a Saturday).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

It is absolutely fantastic restaraunt, l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It is absolutely fantastic restaraunt, loved it, we went twice on Friday and Sunday this week. I was thinking about asking for political asylum at this place. it is terrific. My favorite non-sushi place in Berkeley now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Put your dessert order in early so that ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Put your dessert order in early so that the wait for it to arrive is not so long.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was amazing! The best Ramen I g ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was amazing! The best Ramen I gave had outside of Japan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. And the menu has ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was great. And the menu has a good selections. I like the ambiance too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

An attractive setting with excellent ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

An attractive setting with excellent service and advice about the menu.

The food presentation was outstanding and very creative and good tasting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having had a great lunch here, we went w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Having had a great lunch here, we went with winemaker friends to Iyasare for dinner, and had a truly memorable meal. Every course was a revelation: inventive (but never arbitrary or "random"), beautifully executed (but not overly fussy), and with astonishing and beautifully balanced flavors. Surprised that Iyasare doesn't have a Michelin star. And the moderate prices make this a real bargain. The only thing that could be better is the wine list (concentrating as they do on sake) which though decent and way overpriced could be more extensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love everything about this restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I love everything about this restaurant but the noise level is a bit high for conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Iyasare does it again. This was my 4th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Iyasare does it again. This was my 4th visit here, and aside from the growing pains in the first visit, it's been exceptional every time since.

The food is great, always try whatever tofu they have (I do not like tofu, and I go nuts over their preparations), fresh seafood, and prices aren't ridiculous, good cocktails.

Definitely recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not Japanese food. It's just a bunch of ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Not Japanese food. It's just a bunch of gringos and their impression of it with a bit of fusion.

The uni (sea urchin) wasn't fresh. The eel was decent. They need to figure out what the hell they're doing with the tempura cuz it was a mess.

Not worth the price. Gone in a year or two.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.