About IYASARE

1830 Fourth Street
Berkeley, CA 94710
View Larger Map

Inspired by the artisanal ingredients and simple, rustic flavors of his native Tohoku region, chef-proprietor Shotaro Kamio blends the obscure with the familiar for surprisingly extraordinary tastes. Craft beer, wine and sake. Seasonal, locally sourced ingredients. Comfortable, casual indoor and heated patio garden seating

If there is no reservation available at your desired time, please call the restaurant. We accept phone bookings for our communal table, Chef's table and patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Sun 11:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Th, Sun 5:30pm-9:00pm
Dinner: Fri-Sat 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hearst Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 845-8100

Website:
http://www.iyasare-berkeley.com/

Executive Chef:
Shotaro Kamio

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

IYASARE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (42)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Great for Lunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Healthy (17)
Romantic (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Casual (15)
Authentic (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Seasonal (11)
Fun (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Cozy (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Family Style (6)
Organic (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Spicy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tapas (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Spectacular food - everything was delici ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Spectacular food - everything was delicious. But REALLY noisy. We had difficulty understanding each other between the music and the reflective walls. The old wall decorations (when it was OChame) didn't have the same effect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were trying this for the first time, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We were trying this for the first time, for a birthday celebration with kids and were a bit cautious. Was a great hit with everyone - kids ate great, the food came promptly, service was great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All wonderful, keep it going!! I liked ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

All wonderful, keep it going!! I liked the artful arrangement of the Ramen and would be great if lower the salt in the soup.

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Iy ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time at Iyasare! The food was incredible, both in flavor and in presentation. The service team was attentive, informative, and very welcoming. All around, one of the best restaurants we've been to in the Bay Area.

Tags: Great Beer, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iasare is an excellent, creative, Japane ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Iasare is an excellent, creative, Japanese restaurant with reasonable prices, excellent service, and a very well thought out wine list. Until recently, I would recommend it to anyone. However, it has grown extremely, painfully, loud at dinner inside. It is very difficult for a party of four to conduct a conversation. On our most recent visit, even the barman was shouting to make himself heard.

If this is your thing, great. Otherwise, beware.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We have eaten at Iyasare several times a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We have eaten at Iyasare several times and have enjoyed the food every time. There were three of us and we shared dishes--always love the hamachi dish and the nasu miso (eggplant). Our guest enjoyed the okonomi pancake which comes with a very nice presentation -- in fact, we should have made a video to show her husband who couldn't come. Our other dish was the special for the day--branzino--delicious--The sauce they put on it or the vegetables around it, which included truffles, it was sooo good. Wait staff is very knowledgeable about the sake choices to pair with your dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Friendly staff, interesting food, little ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Friendly staff, interesting food, little slow otherwise a unique and enjoyable meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious, delicious every time! We nev ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious, delicious every time! We never get tired of eating here. There are favorites that always remain on the menu, but there are also new offerings. The miso cod was like butter and the hamachi sashimi was divine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love everything about this place. Can't ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love everything about this place. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have to say this is the most exquisite ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I have to say this is the most exquisite, impeccable restaurant I have been to in ages. I am so tired of other restaurants' expensive prices and poor quality. Iyasare has the most gracious, present staff as well as food which is as impeccable as the dishes on which they are served.

Even the glassware is perfectly clear, elegantly thin and beautifully shaped like fine crystal. It felt like a privilege to be at a restaurant which still respects quality, value and elegance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, everything was fantastic! Cou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual, everything was fantastic! Couldn't ask for more detail to service...never had to ask for anything :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Romantic, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always very delicious. Got the tempur ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

As always very delicious. Got the tempura with shrimp, one of my favorite items. The best ramen in Berkeley.

Tags: Organic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice lunch at Iyasare. We were ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a nice lunch at Iyasare. We were greeted right away and seated in a booth. It was ramen day so we ordered chashu ramen, the sendai miso ramen, the unagi donburi, and the kaki tempura. They were all very well prepared and we enjoyed it very much. The prices are on the high side so don't be shocked to pay $100 for a ramen meal for four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Innovative Japanese cuisine! Really en ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Innovative Japanese cuisine!

Really enjoyed our lunch here. Was super busy on a Boxing Day shopping trip. Place is very popular and easy to see why. The chicken kaarage was amazing and one of the best I've had (and I have had a lot!) The ramen was very good, rich with pork. They also had a duck confit ramen that I will try next time.

My friend had a crab donburi that was very delicious as well. Nice selection of drinks, reasonable prices.

I highly recommend and also suggest making reservations even for lunch.

I can't wait to come back and try their dinner menu.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was packed for an early F ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The restaurant was packed for an early Friday night date night. Made reservation for 2 and only requested to be seat away from restroom. My date had arrived earlier than I and of course was settled into the closes table to both kitchen and restroom. Thankfully the evening progressed and went very well! Menu can be intimidating but the service staff were great and accommodating. Started with tempura veggies and quickly onto the Brussels sprouts which were amazing. Black cod was also spot on. Will be back

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had the prickly pear margarita paired ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I had the prickly pear margarita paired with the octopus, while my husband had the fish and pork belly. Both were great except for my octopus wasn't as tender as expected and a bit chewy. They're very quick with getting our drinks and food. We also had the ice scream for dessert which was excellent! Iyasare is pricy but definitely worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is amazing and the service is e ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food is amazing and the service is excellent. As noted by others, it can be rather noisy when full but not so much that my table couldn't converse. Great place for shared dishes to quell my FOMO issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is great, however,my friend's d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food is great, however,my friend's dish arrived twenty minutes before my

dish arrived at the table. For people dining together, the food should arrive

at the table at the same time. Bad coordination.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Iyasare is, to my mind, the best restaur ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Iyasare is, to my mind, the best restaurant in Berkeley. Excellent food, very nice service. My only negative is that it can be on the noisy side and I like quiet conversations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I really love the food at Isayare. It i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I really love the food at Isayare. It is too noisy for me when it is full but I keep coming anyway because I like the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We very much enjoyed IYASARE. The servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We very much enjoyed IYASARE. The service was excellent and accommodating of a child. The food was really very unique and while we are not experts on Japanese food, it felt very authentic.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food here, and made it a spe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We love the food here, and made it a special point to come here for our birthdays with friends. We especially appreciate the pancake and tempura.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Never fails to impress with a creative a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Never fails to impress with a creative and delicious take on Japanese cooking

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite Berkeley restaurant ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This is my favorite Berkeley restaurant to take people to who appreciate something other than "California Cuisine."

My favorite course which everyone always thinks is extraordinary is the complexly composed shrimp tempura. Order a double portion and you won't be disappointed. The cook's creativity shines on this course which may be one of the Bay Area's ten best courses.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Spicy, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This place is expensive and overrated. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This place is expensive and overrated. I would NOT recommend it. Stuffy staff, limited menu, sub par food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Outstanding food with lovely, subtle Zen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Outstanding food with lovely, subtle Zen-like decor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times, it's always g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Have been here many times, it's always good food, good service and fun. Staff is attentive and they have a good sake selection.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been to Iyasare about 6 times, in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I have been to Iyasare about 6 times, including lunch and dinner. First several times, the food was outstanding, especially their tempura burdock with tiger prawns. The last two times, the dressing for their salads have not been as flavorful and the portions were smaller. Small complaints for an overall wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service here was excellent and every ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The service here was excellent and everything I ordered was delicious. I started out with a miso caesar salad that had fried tofu croutons and crunchy red peppercorns. It was light, tangy, and an interesting take on a fusion salad. For my main course I ordered the grilled octopus with peppers and fingerling potatoes. It was incredible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

One of my most favorite restaurants. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

One of my most favorite restaurants. The food is excellent, wait staff engaging, menu interesting and it is easy to park on 4th Street in Berkeley. It is one of the few restaurants where a conversation can be had without having to contend with too much noise. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal with pleasant, a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We had a wonderful meal with pleasant, attentive and helpful service. The food is very original, beautifully presented, and delicious, which made the evening feel like a special occasion.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is my fourth visit to Iyasare, wher ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

This is my fourth visit to Iyasare, where the food continues to amaze (and definitely satisfy). Everything about this restaurant says Michelin Star — except the prices, which are an incredible bargain. The menu, the wine and sake and beer lists, the creative cocktails, the service, everything is clearly thought through. I can't recommend Iyasare highly enough.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, , Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, attentive staff and fun tapas ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful, attentive staff and fun tapas-style dining. Sitting near the kitchen, we were afforded the chance to be visually tempted by everyone dish presented by the chef to the awaiting servers! Wanted to try one of everything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I love that every time I eat here, it's ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I love that every time I eat here, it's better than the last time.

Each time they have creative dishes that are delicious to explore. The tempura is my favorite and sometimes I wonder why I order anything else!

Thank you Iyasare! Keep them coming!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Claire was very warm and frie ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our server Claire was very warm and friendly and she did a great job of explaining the dishes. She made for a very nice experience.

Menu selections were more than sufficient to meet three different food preferences, including vegan.

Wine selections were well thought out reasonably priced.

Fish dishes were excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vegan, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ramen and tempura cake were delicious!!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ramen and tempura cake were delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed our dinner here. We fe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner here. We felt that Iyasare offered something different. We loved all our dishes. Everything was amazing. Service was friendly but everyone was on top of it and bonus points for the waiter checking and seeing it was our anniversary and giving us a sparkly treat for a toast! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had an amazing crab risotto served ins ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I had an amazing crab risotto served inside of the shell topped with shaved truffles, uni and roe. Simply rich perfection. Crab legs were served on the side. Our server was awesome. The rest of the food was very memorable as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Iyasare has amazing Ramen. Some of the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Iyasare has amazing Ramen. Some of the best we have had outside of Japan. We were happy to be able to eat outside as it tends to be a bit noisy inside. Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We savored very bite of the unique offer ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We savored very bite of the unique offerings at Iyassare. It was my husband birthday, and though we had been there for lunch a week earlier we went back to enjoy the creativity and favors again. Totally satisfied, we will return often. The silky black cod appetizer, the crunchy pancake, the yellowtail cheeks were each prepared with exquisite care. Susan

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.