About IYASARE

1830 Fourth Street
Berkeley, CA 94710
View Larger Map

Inspired by the artisanal ingredients and simple, rustic flavors of his native Tohoku region, chef-proprietor Shotaro Kamio blends the obscure with the familiar for surprisingly extraordinary tastes. Craft beer, wine and sake. Seasonal, locally sourced ingredients. Comfortable, casual indoor and heated patio garden seating

If there is no reservation available at your desired time, please call the restaurant. We accept phone bookings for our communal table, Chef's table and patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Mon-Sun 11:30am-2:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Th, Sun 5:30pm-9:00pm
Dinner: Fri-Sat 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hearst Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 845-8100

Website:
http://www.iyasare-berkeley.com/

Executive Chef:
Shotaro Kamio

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

IYASARE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (46)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Healthy (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Worth the Drive (17)
Authentic (15)
Casual (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Romantic (13)
Seasonal (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
People Watching (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Family Style (5)
Organic (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been to Iyasare about 6 times, in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been to Iyasare about 6 times, including lunch and dinner. First several times, the food was outstanding, especially their tempura burdock with tiger prawns. The last two times, the dressing for their salads have not been as flavorful and the portions were smaller. Small complaints for an overall wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service here was excellent and every ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

The service here was excellent and everything I ordered was delicious. I started out with a miso caesar salad that had fried tofu croutons and crunchy red peppercorns. It was light, tangy, and an interesting take on a fusion salad. For my main course I ordered the grilled octopus with peppers and fingerling potatoes. It was incredible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

One of my most favorite restaurants. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

One of my most favorite restaurants. The food is excellent, wait staff engaging, menu interesting and it is easy to park on 4th Street in Berkeley. It is one of the few restaurants where a conversation can be had without having to contend with too much noise. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal with pleasant, a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We had a wonderful meal with pleasant, attentive and helpful service. The food is very original, beautifully presented, and delicious, which made the evening feel like a special occasion.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is my fourth visit to Iyasare, wher ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

This is my fourth visit to Iyasare, where the food continues to amaze (and definitely satisfy). Everything about this restaurant says Michelin Star — except the prices, which are an incredible bargain. The menu, the wine and sake and beer lists, the creative cocktails, the service, everything is clearly thought through. I can't recommend Iyasare highly enough.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, attentive staff and fun tapas ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful, attentive staff and fun tapas-style dining. Sitting near the kitchen, we were afforded the chance to be visually tempted by everyone dish presented by the chef to the awaiting servers! Wanted to try one of everything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I love that every time I eat here, it's ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I love that every time I eat here, it's better than the last time.

Each time they have creative dishes that are delicious to explore. The tempura is my favorite and sometimes I wonder why I order anything else!

Thank you Iyasare! Keep them coming!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Claire was very warm and frie ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our server Claire was very warm and friendly and she did a great job of explaining the dishes. She made for a very nice experience.

Menu selections were more than sufficient to meet three different food preferences, including vegan.

Wine selections were well thought out reasonably priced.

Fish dishes were excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vegan, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ramen and tempura cake were delicious!!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ramen and tempura cake were delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed our dinner here. We fe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner here. We felt that Iyasare offered something different. We loved all our dishes. Everything was amazing. Service was friendly but everyone was on top of it and bonus points for the waiter checking and seeing it was our anniversary and giving us a sparkly treat for a toast! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had an amazing crab risotto served ins ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I had an amazing crab risotto served inside of the shell topped with shaved truffles, uni and roe. Simply rich perfection. Crab legs were served on the side. Our server was awesome. The rest of the food was very memorable as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Iyasare has amazing Ramen. Some of the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Iyasare has amazing Ramen. Some of the best we have had outside of Japan. We were happy to be able to eat outside as it tends to be a bit noisy inside. Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We savored very bite of the unique offer ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We savored very bite of the unique offerings at Iyassare. It was my husband birthday, and though we had been there for lunch a week earlier we went back to enjoy the creativity and favors again. Totally satisfied, we will return often. The silky black cod appetizer, the crunchy pancake, the yellowtail cheeks were each prepared with exquisite care. Susan

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was prompt and fun (Sophia!) ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The service was prompt and fun (Sophia!) and the matre de let the two of us sit at a 4-top. So nice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Iyasare is always great. I have lunch t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Iyasare is always great. I have lunch there frequently and love the very unusual tempura with shrimp. The staff is flexible and cheerful. It can get very noisy but on a warm day, the outside tables are perfect for hearing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Casual, Healthy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, and we had a great ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was amazing, and we had a great time just enjoying each other's company. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I work nearby so had been there for lunc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I work nearby so had been there for lunch and thought lunch food was pretty good. This time was dinner with friends, one being vegetarian. They did have vegetarian options and my friend was pleased with her dinner. My other friend and I shared the kaki agi, grilled octopus and the scallops dish. The grilled octopus was really salty, we had to take the rest home to eat it with white rice! The scallops (3) were tasty but fermented garlic, seaweed, small turnips and shaved lemony daikon were just ok. The kaki agi is always tasty. Our server was really nice but our water glasses were empty often, bad when there is salty octopus. I think it is hit or miss here. I've eaten dinner here in in the past where the food was good, maybe we didn't order the right things this time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our second meal at Iyasare & I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was our second meal at Iyasare & I'm sorry to say we probably won't be back. We had both the ramen special (duck confit), and the pork belly ramen. The duck confit was sort of odd, with too many things going on: duck, jalapeños, shitake mushrooms, spinach & bamboo shoots in a shoyu broth. The duck had lost its essence & even with all the components the broth was just ok, not a lot of flavor. The pork belly ramen was slightly better but again just missed the flavor profile . We also had the tofu, avocado & seaweed salad. The dressing was good but not enough. The ingredients were pristine except for a too ripe avocado, but the dish fell flat again. It was a strange combo & we shouldn't have ordered it.

Service was good, it was busy & the food came out promptly.

To sum it up the restaurant generally just fell flat. I think good ramen is hard to do, and they just missed it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This place is too precious. Food was go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

This place is too precious. Food was good but a bowl of noodles for $24, not even a standard size udon bowl. Disappointed. With the wallet gouging there wasn't even leftovers to take home.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

I generally love the food at this restau ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I generally love the food at this restaurant. Been coming here for quite a while. I found out a couple things about it though: if you sit inside it can be really really noisy. They have outside sitting which are good when the weather is OK. Second thing is that I loved nasu miso and they took off the menu for quite a long time and then put it back on this weekend -- it was terrible. I mourned the loss of that item on the what is otherwise a great menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food is really interesting, and I th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food is really interesting, and I think the dishes are delicious but some of them is not really the "usual" taste that we expected. I do recommend the daily special that they offered.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend recommended this spot as her fa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

A friend recommended this spot as her favorite restaurant, and we weren't disappointed at all! I always feel that if I'm going to go out to eat, it had better be something I couldn't make myself, and this was it. Every mouthful was a taste explosion!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not as good as our previous ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was not as good as our previous visits. The food comes out two at a time, with a small table it was too tight.

We ordered 7 dishes plus dessert and we were done from start to finish within 45 minutes. The check came immediately after our dessert was served. Seems like the are in a rush to close down the restaurant even thru it is only 8pm.

And do require a credit card for the reservation and be charge 30 dollars each for no show. It is such a no taste policy with there caliber class of service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Really enjoyed the different dishes we o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Really enjoyed the different dishes we ordered, fresh, flavorful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Have been here several times but were qu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Have been here several times but were quite disappointed this time and not sure we we will be back. Food was generally good but we had reservations at 8:30 pm and by 9:10 without even being finished with the main course, we were asked if we wanted dessert and handed the check before we finished. Might work in a diner but not In an upscale restaurant that requires a credit card to book. It was a strange experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Everything is great about this restauran ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Everything is great about this restaurant EXCEPT its reservation policy. Seems like someone is a bit insecure about no shows. To commit to a $30 per person charge for canceling a reservation is a bit of an overkill. Things happen in this unpredictable world. Cancellations happen sometimes! I think all restaurants will just have to live with it. You can say you are going to give the table away if the party is 20 minutes late or something. But to say you are going to charge on that credit card used to hold the reservation is really really not ethical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A Sunday night birthday dinner. Welcome ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

A Sunday night birthday dinner. Welcome at the door was low-key to the point of mechanical. Menu is different and interesting. Cocktails were well-done, albeit a touch sweet. The raw tuna starter was outstanding. Grilled flying squid with squid-ink mashed potatoes was too heavy; the scallops were slightly smoked, and excellent. Sake menu was extensive and (for us non-sake drinkers) seemed well-chosen. Overall, we'll go back - but not a home run.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Fabulous. Enjoyed every bite. Great at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Fabulous. Enjoyed every bite. Great atmosphere and service. Will definitely return!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We wandered in to IYASARE a few months a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We wandered in to IYASARE a few months ago, sat at the bar to dine and were thrilled with every aspect of our experience. We've been back several times for Sunday lunch and have not been disappointed. We've tried just about everything on the menu and it's all been delicious. Most people go for the ramen but the other offerings are also delicious. Sake and wine list also great. Our favorite place on 4th St.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is not as Japanese as I t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The restaurant is not as Japanese as I thought it was going to be. Asian fusion restaurant... should be categorized as new American restaurant instead of Japanese.

The hamachi sashimi/octupus/ pancake/ eggplant/bun/ tofu (one of the best dishes)/all taste pretty yummy. Glad we only ordered one dessert (Sunday Sundate)... huge proportion... service is excellent/attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants in Berke ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 23, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Berkeley. We have never been disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food and atmosphere are fabulous. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food and atmosphere are fabulous. The staff are knowledgeable and attentive. My mom is Japanese and IYASARE gets her stamp of approval.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food. The service was not. Howe ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fabulous food. The service was not. However I have been here before and had great service. This was a birthday and I invited people and I wanted the service to be good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

The reservation was provided by the wind ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The reservation was provided by the window which was very nice. Service was prompt and efficient. A nice selection of both appetizers and entrees. The former were very good, the fish entrée was overcooked. The sake taster was a nice addition. Somewhat over priced but not excessive. Easy access from the freeway and adequate parking.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I love everything about this restaurant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I love everything about this restaurant EXCEPT the reservations policy. Threatening to charge $30per person for cancellation? That is unreasonable. Things happen!! Be more flexible!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

First visit. Beautiful, creative and del ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

First visit. Beautiful, creative and delicious food! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is meant to be shared, we enjoy ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food is meant to be shared, we enjoyed our choices. The flavors were deep and complex but also had a freshness to it. Each dish was plated beautifully and the plates themselves were hand made . The combinations of the different ingredients, their texture and the deep sauces made our time at Iyasare a food lovers delight. Our friends also loved the dinner and we will return!

We have also had lunch - ramen, it's the best broth ever rich and deep, complex...the noodles springy and chewy, and above all, HOT!

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was the nicest! I'm sorry I d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our server was the nicest! I'm sorry I didn't get his name. He let us try two different wines by the glass, and my cousin picked one and I picked the other. As always the Kakiage tempura and Okomo pancake were great. We tried the chicken udon and the chicken was fork tender and moist. The noodles toothsome and made in-house. The flourless chocolate cake w. kinako dusted graham crackers and rasberry gelee was very satisfying, but the chocolate coated marshmallows were not. All in all, a delightful experience. Thank you Iyasare!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my daughter-in-law here for lunch ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I took my daughter-in-law here for lunch. We'd asked for a quiet table so we could talk, and were offered a table on the outdoor patio, which was perfect. The food was wonderful--delicious and beautifully presented, and the service was thoughtful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited Iyasare over a year ago and I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I visited Iyasare over a year ago and I have to say the food is not quite as good as it was the first time I went. The flavors were not quite as crisp and clean -- seemed more formulaic this time around. I didn't get a feeling for the Japanese aesthetic that I so enjoyed the last time I was there. Still not happy with the $30 charge for no shows on reservations although encouraged to see that you can at least apply the charge to your next visit. Sometimes, things come up -- illness, accidents, etc. Am willing to give Iyasare another try -- I would suggest the owner take a look at who is in the kitchen and see if more training might be needed -- to capture that Japanese touch that is so hard to teach.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.