Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Jake's Grill & Oyster House
272 reviews
Seafood | Burlington, Halton
Reserve Now
Stone House Restaurant
779 reviews
Steak | Burlington, Halton
Reserve Now
Canyon Creek - Burlington
1334 reviews
Steakhouse | Burlington, Halton
Reserve Now
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Burlington
34 reviews
Steakhouse | Burlington, Halton
Reserve Now
Spencer's at the Waterfront
1919 reviews
Continental | Burlington, Halton
Reserve Now
Paradiso Burlington
49 reviews
Mediterranean | Burlington, Halton
Reserve Now
Fraticelli's Italian Grill - Appleby
257 reviews
Italian | Burlington, Halton
Reserve Now
Rib Eye Jack’s Ale House - Burlington
109 reviews
American | Burlington, Halton
Reserve Now
Jackson's Landing
32 reviews
Canadian | Burlington, Halton
Reserve Now
Dymond's Social Kitchen & Bar
38 reviews
Canadian | Burlington, Halton
Reserve Now
Chop Steakhouse & Bar - Burloak
257 reviews
Steakhouse | Oakville, Halton
Reserve Now
Jack Astor's - Burlington
4 reviews
Canadian | Burlington, Halton
Reserve Now
Turtle Jack's Muskoka Grill - Mapleview Burlington
68 reviews
Comfort Food | Burlington, Halton
Reserve Now
Plank Restobar
233 reviews
Tapas / Small Plates | Oakville, Halton
Reserve Now
Turtle Jack's Muskoka Grill - Appleby
60 reviews
Comfort Food | Burlington, Halton
Reserve Now

About Ivy Bar & Kitchen

3330 South Service Rd.
Burlington, ON L7N 3M6
View Larger Map

Ivy Bar + Kitchen is a Contemporary, Cosmopolitan, Restaurant and Bar located in Burlington Ontario, Canada.

Ivy’s approachable modern elegant design and inviting ambiance, combined with a fun, fresh, and genuine approach to great food and service-make Ivy a favorite spot for upscale casual dining, cocktails, or weekend nightlife.

Ivy’s appetizing cuisine ventures through approachable American and International chef-driven classics, with a touch of modern flair – perfect for a weekend brunch, dinner, or after work cocktails.
A world-class wine list combined with a fun creative cocktail program; and the best of domestic, craft, and international beers – make Ivy ‘s warm and inviting spaces a first choice for discerning libation seekers of every taste.

The nightlife on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays is created with accents of sophistication, to appeal to a classier adult taste.

Your new favourite contemporary restaurant and bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:


Current Hours

Monday-Wednesday: 4pm - 10pm

Thursday: 4pm - 11pm

Friday-Saturday: 4pm - 2am

Sunday: 9:30am -4pm*


*Open select Sunday's for brunch, please contact us for details Note: Closed long weekend Mondays all year

Cross Street:
Between Walkers and Guelph lines on South Service Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 333-4891

Website:
http://ivybar.ca/

Entertainment:
Thursday, Friday and Saturday after 10pm we have a bustling bar scene with great music from our in-house DJ. We are proud to be continually nominated as the destination of choice for evening guests ranging from late twenties, thirties, forties, and on.

Private Party Facilities:
Our gorgeous Private Dining Room seats 10-14 people comfortably for an intimate dinner or lunch. It can also accommodate up to 18 people for share plates and cocktails.

Private Party Contact:
Guest Services Manager: 9053334891

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ivy Bar & Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

4.5

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (2)
fit for foodies (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
See All
neighborhood gem (1)
romantic (1)
special occasion (1)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service was great

Dined on February 23, 2016

the best service ever. The food was outstanding and well priced. we will be back. Jamie was the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Quiet dinner with the gals

Dined on December 17, 2015

Other than the burnt out lightbulb right above our table, the atmosphere was very intimate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4

My experience

Dined on June 23, 2015

Service and ambiance was great. A bit price and portions are rediculous. I got the chicken surpreme ($26) and there was nothing supreme about it only two bite sized pieces of dry flavourless chicken. My date however got the burger ($17) and enjoyed it.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
food2
ambience3
service3

Mother's Day letdown

Dined on May 10, 2015

Me & my family have been to Ivy several times for brunch but not recently. Had to book online- almost impossible to talk to anyone to secure the reservation and/or to try to add one person (my mother/my children's grandmother). I finally got through the day before & was told they could not allow 8 people & one high chair because the table couldn't accommodate & when we arrived there was an extra chair but it was too late to travel to get my elderly mother. Also - had no idea the price was $45 per person. Couldn't find online and certainly the price has gone way up. But the biggest disappointment was the change in menu and quality of food. No crab legs or scallops as before & the oysters were terrible, only 2 salads but lots of breakfast food. Not a menu or quality of food that would have me come back or ever recommend to anyone. A real shock

food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch

Dined on May 10, 2015

Food was outstanding, although the brunch was quite expensive!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Wish I had been there earlier

Dined on February 11, 2015

What a great find. The food was incredible. The wine was excellent and the service was top notch. Although it was a very quiet Wednesdsy night, Ivy Bar is inviting and will get me back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience1
service3

Very disappointing!

Dined on January 15, 2015

The live soloist was so loud, we couldn't have a conversation at our table. The food was tasty and well presented but was lukewarm and served on cold plates. There were only 10 diners during our visit but the service was disappointingly slow albeit entertaining when he did show up. The best meal was the vegan cauliflower steak which was delicious and quite hot. Lastly, the cavernous room was so cold, we had our coats over shoulders or laps. Not planning to return.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Inattention to Seating Request

Dined on November 30, 2014

The on-line reservation process offers the opportunity to make special requests. I requested an area that would be quiet and comfortable for three seniors. The restaurant was probably less than one third full when we arrived. We were directed to seating alongside a large family with small children.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience2
service5

Tasty Food

Dined on November 16, 2014

This restaurant has a great variety of excellent quality, tasty food and there is a great two piece ensemble to accompany the meal.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dinner

Dined on November 5, 2014

Service was excellent and our waiter was friendly and attentive and the food was great. I expected the appetizers to be small but there weren't. There were 3 of us for dinner and everything we ordered was outstanding. I am recommending the Ivy Bar to all our friends. Our guest from Toronto said he would make the trip again to this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great sunday brunch!

Dined on November 2, 2014

I had a great time and good food. I will definitely be going back for Ivy bar and kitchen's sunday brunch! Thanks.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Sunday Birthday Brunch

Dined on October 26, 2014

After looking at a couple places, seen some reviews and decided to book at Ivy Bar for a Birthday Brunch - now will recommend to everyone for any occasion or just for an amazing brunch experience. Food selection and spread offered many breakfast to lunch options for everyone's taste - eggs done every way, toppings for waffles to pancakes, roast beef and fresh seafood to choose from. Service was amazing, quick drinks and coffee refills to no end - everyone was friendly and personable. All that attended comment on the experience, amazing music and ambiance, and would have to come back soon

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Brunch enjoyed

Dined on October 12, 2014

The food was just enough. A huge variety even made to order items. Enjoyed the shrimp, crab legs, mini chocolat croissants, and banana bread french toast. Great service. The bartender played a joke with my mom who ordered a mimosa for $5 and brought it in a shot glass. She loved it, and laughed saying this is what it would beblike to be on candid camera. Very attentive staff but not overbaring.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service1

great potential

Dined on September 21, 2014

Great concept for brunch but very few people and food was not fresh. Very nice patio.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5

Monday at Ivy

Dined on September 8, 2014

Greeted well, only ones in the restaurant that night, except for a small business meeting. Exceptional service, amazing "small plates"--OMG 'Marc's Mushrooms'!!--and overall great ambiance. Dessert, however, was lacking greatly. Coffee was so-so. Came cold and muddy the first time but our awesome server got me another, better, one. I sure won't rush back for dessert (my friend had the donuts and I had what was supposed to be toffee carrot--it was a simple carrot cake that anyone could make). However, I'm looking forward to seeing how staff manage when it's really busy, and to try some larger entrees!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3

Modern. Good food & value

Dined on September 7, 2014

Had brunch on Sun. Didn't realize it served buffet only. Good ambiance, live unplugged music, quality food, small sushi bar prepared in person was superb. Service was a bit slow and passive. No bowl nor spoons at food station when cereals were offered. Had to request them one by one. Would be a good hangout spot for drinks at night.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Susan

Dined on August 17, 2014

It is a beautiful restaurant. A real scene. Good food. Great service. Amazing decor. Expensive. Go and enjoy. Definitely ask to sit outside.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Pleasant for Brunch

Dined on August 17, 2014

The live music is a warm welcome! Our server was very friendly, attentive and accomodated us when we asked to move to an inside table due to a pesky wasp! We were approached with a friendly smile and recognition of our past visit. We will definately recommend Ivys' to our friends and family! Our beverages were always attended to and our brunch selection was very healthy & delicious. My only suggestion would be to accomodate the eggs benedict temperature hotter!

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service3

Brunch on Sunday

Dined on August 10, 2014

The brunch was great. The sushi table and the sushi chef Misook were the best we have ever tried. We basically ate sushi the whole time. Our kids asked for ice cream, something that a restaurant should have especially in August, but were disappointed. The food was more like breakfast and very little for lunch. We found it a bit limited on desserts. Our table was right next to the kitchen door and we couldn`t take any good pictures. Thank you

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good experience

vip
Dined on July 29, 2014

I went to Ivy with some friends. Very creative menu, and my two dishes were great. We didn't get a chance to sample many dishes as two of us ordered the same thing, and two only ordered appetizers. Our server was amazing - she went and arranged for a special order, and left us to have a long catch up, only bringing the cheque when we asked. We'll go back for sure

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience1
service1

12:30 brunch time

Dined on July 27, 2014

Could not say enough about Ivy Bar! Food was top notch and service was excellent. Waitress was extremely pleasant and very attentive. Roast beef was by far the best that I have ever had at a buffet setting. It would even have been served in a formal restaurant setting. thank-you for a great experience

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4

I've been to Ivy a few times for brunch ...

Dined on July 27, 2014

I've been to Ivy a few times for brunch and both food and service have been great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1

Loved the Place and the Food

Dined on July 20, 2014

Other than the poor service we experienced this was a very good outing. The food was very good and the place itself very interesting. They had live music which was perfect (not too loud but very good). We will return..........just get a better server than last time! Thanks to the management for making the experience one we want to repeat!

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience4
service1

Sunday brunch. Wait staff was very poor ...

Dined on July 6, 2014

Sunday brunch. Wait staff was very poor with an attitude. Food was medicore with few selections. Food staff did not know about ingredients in food. Asked if one dish contained meat. Was told no. Then asked again and it contained duck. Live music was very good, great band but a little too loud for a Sunday brunch. I wouldn't go back again. Not worth the money.

food4
ambience5
service4

First time and it was a sensational brun ...

Dined on July 6, 2014

First time and it was a sensational brunch. There was a nice variety of food for all age groups as we went with our two young children aged 3 & 5. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. The live music was a wonderful touch which we all enjoyed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

great restaurant for a nice dinner!

Dined on June 30, 2014

I took my boyfriend to ivy kitchen and bar for our anniversary and it was the right decision. Food was great and drinks were especially superb! I was pleased with the service as well. The portions aren't the usual size like other restaurants, but it was expected because the place is more upscale than others. We sat out on the patio that Friday evening, but their indoor space is so beautiful with lots of room! Worth checking it out!

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4

Ambiance good; appetizers fair

Dined on June 30, 2014

I have been to Ivy before and am reminded that their appetizer/sharing menu is not great. I guess you are going for a more upscale crowd, but sharing plates are not great. The mushroom toast was rock hard and the calamari was rubbery. Why don't you scale it down for the appetizers so that they are items that are easier to share and less "upscale" and more hearty with better taste. Wine list and cocktails are great. Service very good and outside patio is awesome.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

Reservation - and never got seated

Dined on June 29, 2014

11am for a 2 person reservation for brunch - We were asked to wait a moment and the host left????, when he came back, he proceeded to lead us outdoors. It was very humid out, so I asked to be seated indoors. The host then led us back to the "wait to be seated area" as we waited, the party behind us were seated to a table indoors. A female then came to seat us, she said she had a table but it would be a tight squeeze, she brought us to a table of 4, that we would have to share with another party. I said I wasn't going to share a table with others, she brought us back outside. Both hosts looked lost and still didn't know where to seat us. The place was empty! We said we were just going to leave, neither said anything to us!! Terrible service!

food4
ambience4
service4

Ivy's brunch

Dined on June 8, 2014

Went for brunch on Sunday June 8th and had a really good time. Food was very good (except the roast beef - very dry). Not a lot of selection, but enough for an enjoyable meal. Music was a little to loud. Could barely have a conversation at the table. Really nice atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service3

great brunch - service somewhat slow in ...

Dined on June 8, 2014

great brunch - service somewhat slow in ters of picking up plates or bringing coffee etc

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful brunch

Dined on June 1, 2014

Group of girls took a friend there for her birthday on June 1st. The food was all excellent sushi bar was amazing, waffles and eggs Benny outstanding, too bad they ran out of oysters so soon especially when not so busy. We all had a few different drinks they even offered some $5 drink specials. I would recommend it highly for brunch and have already told a few people, who are planning to go. Just go early enough for the oysters! Oh and make sure you try the creme freche and chocolate cAramel sauce you had 4 women drooling!

food3
ambience3
service1

Poor service

Dined on May 25, 2014

When I ordered a chai tea the waitress said all they had was black pekoe and nothing else. When my friend arrived she asked for peppermint as she was not feeling well again to be told only have black pekoe. At that point I had to tell her that I was there last week and that waitress was rhyming off a long list of various teas. So she says oh we have changed our kitchen maybe we do have let me check and there was chai and peppermint. there was no toaster for the bread although there was one on display last week it didn't work. The perogies were made weird. Looked baked. Took a long time to refill the shrimp cocktail bowl.the music is a nice added touch and they are very talented, found it too loud as we had to yell to have a conversation.

food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful Brunch!

Dined on May 18, 2014

My partner and I visited the Ivy Bar for the first time to explore their brunch. We were not disappointed! In fact it was better than we had anticipated. Quality food and good ambience with live mellow music from the duo who were playing. The environment was classy, relaxed and friendly. Price point for brunch was reasonable. We plan to go again! Thanks for a great first experience!

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Brought a friend who was visiting from B ...

Dined on May 13, 2014

Brought a friend who was visiting from BC. She had a great time, good food and because it was a Tuesday night, it was very quiet, so we didn't have to tell over each other, bit still had an amazing ambiance setting. Have been in the past on the weekend and the place can get packed. Great for special occasions

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2

Disappointing

Dined on May 4, 2014

I had been to IVY before for brunch and this visit was far inferior. Juices were obviously from concentrate and very watery. Lack of selection of food; no bacon or scrambled eggs on a brunch menu? There was a lack of utensils; nothing to remove hot veggies from their plates. It took 5-10 minutes to get a cup of coffee, without a spoon. Omelet station was staffed by someone who was not qualified. There was a hair in the juice glass. Overall experience was horrible and so different from a previous experience. It seems that they have scaled down the selections and really need to keep an eye on their staff.

food2
ambience4
service3

Good as your last experience!

Dined on April 13, 2014

In the highly competitive food service business consistency is key. This visit the key did not fit. Signature dishes no longer available with no replacements. Poor selections.

food1
ambience3
service3

we had the seafood fettucine

Dined on March 27, 2014

we had the seafood fettucine and the rib dinner. We thought both entrees were over priced. My huband did not like the ribs. For the price, he did not receive a fair size portion for the ribs. The ribs were also tough and there was barely any meat on the bone.

food1
ambience1
service1

Would never recommend this

Dined on March 9, 2014

Would never recommend this place to anyone. I visit new restaurants for groups I put together and I would never utilize this establishment. Noise level for a brunch was unbearable. My party and several couples around us left. Bench seating extremely uncomfortable and you could hardly get between tables or get up from the bench seating. I will be letting anyone that listens not to go there.

food4
ambience4
service2

First Time

Dined on February 13, 2014

I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. A group of friends had raved about the Sunday Brunch, and coincidently Groupon offer was available at the same time. I didn't know what to expect. The ambiance was lovely and the quite of foo was very good. Our server was the only. There were limited seating options through Open Table, hence I assumed the restaurant would have been busy. Not so. There were only 3 couples already dining when we arrived. Two other patrons who arrived very shortly after us, made the same comment. The reservation options seams to be limited through Open Table (I assume that is the choice of the restaurant), and it's difficulty to book reservation directly with the restaurant because the phone isn't answered.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Jazz brunch a real treat.

Dined on February 9, 2014

Jazz brunch a real treat. Enjoyed with girlfriends. The live music is amazing and relaxing like being at a resort. I am a big foodie, its the best deal out there!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.