About Itta Bena

145 Beale Street
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Located on the third floor of B.B. King's Blues Club overlooking historic Beale Street you will find Itta Bena "A unique delta experience". Whether entering from our private Second Street entrance via our valet service or walking through the secret hall from inside B.B. King's Blues Club, Itta Bena is sure to capture your senses. Modeled after the speakeasies from the 1920's, you are a true VIP as a friendly member of our staff escorts you to the third floor. The experience is further heightened when you step inside and find yourself surrounded by rich wood floors, vaulted ceilings, deep golden hued chandeliers and the faint sound of the bustling street below. Touching all the senses, we enrich your evening by offering a delta inspired menu of robust flavors and clean presentation. Itta Bena is a complete overwhelming of the senses that you must experience for yourself.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday from 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Second

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 578-3031

Website:
http://ittabenadining.com/memphis/

Entertainment:
Itta Bena is located just above B.B. King's Blues Club on historic Beale St. Live music captivates our guests and enhances the nearly surreal dining experience. On Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturday nights, Susan Marshall enchants her audience, performing arguably as the contemporary Memphis scene's most powerful and versatile pure singer yet (According to The Memphis Flyer). Visit our website to learn more.

Parking Details:
Valet is available seven days a week with rates similar to the parking garages nearby.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Quinnell

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Memphis’s most exquisite restaurant plays host to a myriad of rehearsal dinners, receptions, parties, and corporate events. Chef Kevin Quinnell will create a menu that will tantalize the taste buds of your guests as the ambience and service exceeds their expectations. Popular for intimate gatherings as well as large parties, Itta Bena can accommodate 130 persons for a seated dinner or 200 persons for a cocktail party or reception. Whatever your needs, our experienced event planners can create the best guest experience you could ever imagine! For more information, please fill out the form below or contact Ansley Smith at 901-578-3031 or email at salesmemphis@ittabenadining.com.

Restaurant Photos

  • Itta Bena
  • Itta Bena
  • Itta Bena
Itta Bena
Itta Bena
Itta Bena

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Consistent with Itta Bena’s rich rhythm and blues history our Private Dining Room overlooks Beale Street through blue tinted windows, discreetly tucked away in the corner of our restaurant. Walls decorated with intricate woodwork and a curtained entrance offer privacy to parties of up to 200.

Itta Bena Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
3 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (129)
romantic (116)
fit for foodies (74)
See All
scenic view (67)
neighborhood gem (59)
good for groups (47)
notable wine list (42)
hot spot (40)
late-night find (31)
vibrant bar scene (29)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Worth the trip. Food was above average, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined a day ago

Worth the trip. Food was above average, while the service lagged a bit. Be prepared for the noise level to skyrocket when the band starts downstairs, but hey, it's Beale St.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food is good with choices for chicke ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food is good with choices for chicken, fish and beef. The bar vibe is always good and the piano by Susan Marshall is just right! Not too loud. Service is extraordinary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was mediocre and rather bland, but ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was mediocre and rather bland, but the she-crab soup was AMAZING. Drinks were fabulous. Service was awesome.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Fantastic, as always! Their specialty c ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic, as always! Their specialty cocktail, Live at the Garden, was wonderful - clean, crisp, and beautiful, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fabulous, the lobster was to di ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was fabulous, the lobster was to die for. It's only open from 5:00-10:00 but it's a great place to start an evening. I would recommend it to anyone that will be in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience! Food and service ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fantastic experience! Food and service were great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service! Highly reco ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent food and service! Highly recommend the duck and waffles. And the grits are amazing as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Memphis. The food is ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Best restaurant in Memphis. The food is wonderful, but what makes this dining experience second to none is the exceptional service. At Itta Bena you are treated like an honored guest who is also family. The ambience and decor are beautiful, and the music is always fantastic. Don't leave Memphis without eating here. You won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Eric was the BEST !!! Superb ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter Eric was the BEST !!!

Superb attention to every detail.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been to Itta Bena before and had h ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I had been to Itta Bena before and had had a great meal, but our dinner on Thursday night fell short. I took my husband for a pre birthday celebration and the food was quite a disappointment. The fried green tomatoes we had for an appetizer were tasteless and hard. My husband's Gulf red snapper was over cooked and the andouille sausage Hash was also over cooked and even burned. He could not even eat it. They offered him a second entrée, and he chose the shrimp and grits. It was also tasteless. I had the lamb chops with spinach and risotto and it was good. However, I was not the one I was trying to impress. I tasted all of these entrées so this is personal experience. Unfortunately, we will not be going back to Itta Bena anytime soon. I must say that the service was wonderful. Our waiter was attentive and very courteous.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience !! Will definitely retu ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great experience !!

Will definitely return when in Memphis

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the ambiance created by the evenin ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved the ambiance created by the evening light through the blue windows, lending a soft blue cast to everything and bouncing off the white tablecloths! New Orleans barbecued shrimp appetizer was outstanding, although the dipping bread was too sweet -- needed a New Orleans baquette to sop up the wonderful broth. My entree was excellent -- can't go wrong with pasta, cream, and mushrooms. Dining companion loved his salmon. To reach the restaurant, you climb the stairs through the raucous B. B. King's Blues Club, or a fire-escape type stairway from the street. Melodious saxophonist provided the dinner music.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We love this place. The food is always ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We love this place. The food is always good, the staff is great. Love the blue tinted windows. Great for any occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot for special occasions

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great spot for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful find, unique , quiet , wonde ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A wonderful find, unique , quiet , wonderful food and service, hidden gem, sign, word of mouth...we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OK. Nice atmosphere. Good servi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was OK. Nice atmosphere. Good service. Food was OK, not great, I was hoping it would be better.

I had the shrimp and grits, shrimp was good but the grits where gummy, and all was not very hot. My dinner companions all had a similar experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I had a wonderful experience at Itta Ben ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I had a wonderful experience at Itta Bena celebrating my 40th birthday. I loved that finding the entrance was a bit of mystery, which also led to a quiet and enjoyable experience on the top of Beale. It was like our own little Memphis secret! The food was delicious and the service friendly and accommodating. They even threw in a lovely little birthday treat. Would absolutely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic Experience!! Wonderful food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic Experience!! Wonderful food and a literal 'blue' atmosphere, with a super cool vibe. Knowledgeable servers. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I cannot stress how amazing our dining e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I cannot stress how amazing our dining experience was in Itta Bena. Great romantic atmosphere, amazing service, out-of-this-world food... Even the owner, Christopher, came to our table to introduce himself and we had a casual warm conversation for a long time.

Definitely THE highlight to our Memphis visit. We will come back to have dinner again and again! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came to the restaurant for the first t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I came to the restaurant for the first time Monday for a date. The food was great the service was also great. i had flowers ordered to the restaurant and they were on the table before we got there overall 10/10. Will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly staff took time to speak with u ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Friendly staff took time to speak with us an make us feel wt home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem. Awesome food. Great service.

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Hidden gem. Awesome food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Difficult to find if you don't know wher ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Difficult to find if you don't know where to look. It is located above BB Kings. Entrance is on the side of the building up a stairway. Nice ambiance, blue tinted windows look out onto Beale Street. Food is very good. Our bottle of wine was very reasonable. Felt like we were away from the busyness of Beale which was nice!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Don't think the chief was there... Just ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Don't think the chief was there... Just the Frye Cook

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We were in Memphis for a few days to see ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We were in Memphis for a few days to see the sights. I chose Itta Bena from a listing of the better restaurants and we weren't disappointed. The food and service were great, the ambiance was interesting. It wasn't crowded when we ate at 7'ish but the noise level could be high if the restaurant were full. The 2 flights of stairs were difficult due to physical issues. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Like an old speakeasy, this place is wo ...

 
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Like an old speakeasy, this place is wonderful. Go into a club, go upstairs to a restaurant and bar, go out the exit, up the brick lined staircase to the large metal door around the corner. Inside is a beautiful, soft blues heavenly restaurant. We were seated on the outside wall next to the blue widows, down below we could see the people on Beal Street. First we had their she crab soup, it is not like the low country style but it is very good in it's on right. Next was the blackened red snapper, the flavor and taste were amazing

Would I go Back? IN A HEARTBEAT!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Itta Bena is an amazing gem of a restaur ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Itta Bena is an amazing gem of a restaurant. The food is exceptional as is the service and venue.

There's no signage and you have to know where to go to find it. Ask the bouncer of the BB King where to go. The we met the General Manager as he was out on the floor offering wine suggestions to diners; very nice guy who is serious about an amazing experience. Our server was awesome as was the hostess, bartender and kitchen staff. Wonderful people doing a wonderful job.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed, The waiter didn't ha ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was disappointed,

The waiter didn't have time for me is how I felt.

The food was not good I had blacked snapper and I think I was served grilled catfish.

I had been there before and really enjoyed it.

But I won't be going back

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

This was a fun treat on a recent trip to ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was a fun treat on a recent trip to Memphis. I love that it is hidden and above BB King's. Our service was excellent. I had the shrimp and grits and they were excellent. Overall, a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our dinner at Itta Bena! Foo ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Itta Bena! Food was great, and the atmosphere was wonderful. They helped us celebrate our anniversary with complimentary dessert! We would, most certainly, return if we ever return to Memphis. Thank you, Itta Bena, for a night to remember!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get a reservation to be sure you dine he ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Get a reservation to be sure you dine here. On top of BB Kings, with blue tinted windows that provide a nostalgic feel to view of street. Attentive servers. Started meal with special crab bisque which was not overly creamy and fresh garden salad with the right fixings. Blackened Gulf Red Snapper was not as blackened as I would have liked. However, we did not have the Spicy andouille hash that comes with the meal and maybe that would have provided the needed spice. Enjoyed the Creme Brulee in terms of taste and texture.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Itta Bena an ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This was our first visit to Itta Bena and we enjoyed the experience. We were celebrating a birthday and found the restaurant quite suitable for the occasion. We do plan to return soon to try some different menu items.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The good was good the service was okay. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The good was good the service was okay. He made a few mistakes like delivering the wrong order for one of our party of four. Other than that all was okay

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a great "secret " restaurant . I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is a great "secret " restaurant . It is not marked but it is on top of the BB King restaurant . Food was very tasty as we're our drinks. Atomsphere is really cool. If you are in Memphis I would suggest a meal here .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorites. Great menu from s ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

One of our favorites. Great menu from start to finish with great wine selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here the evening before my birthd ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I came here the evening before my birthday, during a weekend trip to Memphis - this place was amazing! It was a tiny bit hard to find since there isn't an exterior sign (that I was aware of) - it's above the B. B. King club on Beale Street, up two flights of stairs (contributes to the speakeasy feeling). Everything I ordered was tasty. The she-crab soup was delightful, and the scallops/grits appetizer was top-notch. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to eat but in future I would ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great place to eat but in future I would be out by 6 if conversation is a premium

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food and the service was exceptional. Our server Alexander was great and both managers Chris and David both came around to visit and make sure our experience was great. I have already recommended to many friends and coworkers and we will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything on the menu is delicious! Def ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Everything on the menu is delicious!

Definitely get the friend green tomato and also the avocado appetizers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a terrific find.

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We wanted to be in or around Beale Street, but also wanted to chat over supper and enjoy BB Kings afterwards. It really worked.

Make sure you enter through the side entrance ( a fire escape staircase)

Excellent venue and would use it again, if ever lucky enough to visit Memphis on another trip.

The food was great and the service was second to none.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, late night find, scenic view, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.