About Itta Bena

145 Beale Street
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Located on the third floor of B.B. King's Blues Club overlooking historic Beale Street you will find Itta Bena "A unique delta experience". Whether entering from our private Second Street entrance via our valet service or walking through the secret hall from inside B.B. King's Blues Club, Itta Bena is sure to capture your senses. Modeled after the speakeasies from the 1920's, you are a true VIP as a friendly member of our staff escorts you to the third floor. The experience is further heightened when you step inside and find yourself surrounded by rich wood floors, vaulted ceilings, deep golden hued chandeliers and the faint sound of the bustling street below. Touching all the senses, we enrich your evening by offering a delta inspired menu of robust flavors and clean presentation. Itta Bena is a complete overwhelming of the senses that you must experience for yourself.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday from 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Second

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 578-3031

Website:
http://ittabenadining.com/memphis/

Entertainment:
Itta Bena is located just above B.B. King's Blues Club on historic Beale St. Live music captivates our guests and enhances the nearly surreal dining experience. On Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturday nights, Susan Marshall enchants her audience, performing arguably as the contemporary Memphis scene's most powerful and versatile pure singer yet (According to The Memphis Flyer). Visit our website to learn more.

Parking Details:
Valet is available seven days a week with rates similar to the parking garages nearby.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Quinnell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Memphis’s most exquisite restaurant plays host to a myriad of rehearsal dinners, receptions, parties, and corporate events. Chef Kevin Quinnell will create a menu that will tantalize the taste buds of your guests as the ambience and service exceeds their expectations. Popular for intimate gatherings as well as large parties, Itta Bena can accommodate 130 persons for a seated dinner or 200 persons for a cocktail party or reception. Whatever your needs, our experienced event planners can create the best guest experience you could ever imagine! For more information, please fill out the form below or contact Ansley Smith at 901-578-3031 or email at salesmemphis@ittabenadining.com.

Restaurant Photos

  • Itta Bena, Memphis, TN
  • Itta Bena, Memphis, TN
  • Itta Bena, Memphis, TN
Itta Bena, Memphis, TN
Itta Bena, Memphis, TN
Itta Bena, Memphis, TN

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Happy holidays! Join us on Christmas Eve for dinner and libations. Reserve your table today!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate New Year's Eve at the top of Beale Street with a delectable 4-course menu.
$79 per person + tax & grat., 5 & 5:30pm seating | $89 per person + tax & grat., 7 & 7:30pm seating | $99 per person + tax & grat 9 & 9:30pm seating. Reserve your table today!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Consistent with Itta Bena’s rich rhythm and blues history our Private Dining Room overlooks Beale Street through blue tinted windows, discreetly tucked away in the corner of our restaurant. Walls decorated with intricate woodwork and a curtained entrance offer privacy to parties of up to 200.

Itta Bena Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
3 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (63)
Romantic (60)
Good for a Date (52)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Scenic View (33)
Live Music (33)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Cozy (29)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fun (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Historic (22)
Authentic (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Late-night Find (16)
Business Meals (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Casual (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Private Room (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Modern Decor (9)
People Watching (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great Beer (4)
Tapas (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Spicy (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere, delicious food and exc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Great atmosphere, delicious food and exceptional service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server forgot to bring bread, then when ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Server forgot to bring bread, then when prompted to bring it forgot to bring butter or oil.

No salt and pepper on table had to grab it from another table. Tea glass ran empty half way through the meal with no further refills. Was a slow night only 5 tables seated so service should have been stellar. Pork was very tasty but just a little dry (subjective). Croutons in salad were actually stale. Crab cakes were a little dry (subjective) with more cake than crab (flavor was more weak than delicate). That being said, its a nice place overall food was much more on the good side than bad. It, was a rainy Monday night so, I will give it another chance as it is a cut above the tourist bar food on the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Went for my wife's birthday. Excellent a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday. Excellent atmosphere! Love the background music duo. And food is excellent! Service is impeccable!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Happy Hour, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant with great food, ex ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with great food, excellent wine and a delightful, romantic ambience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted a nice quiet place to celebrate ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I wanted a nice quiet place to celebrate my birthday and this restaurant was definitely the place for me. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a nice and quiet place to dine. It's not as big as it seems online.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

This was my 2nd visit to Itta Bena and t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was my 2nd visit to Itta Bena and the experience was very enjoyable. I would and have recommended this restaurant to friends. Great date night with piano, wine and unique ambience.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I visited Itta Bena fo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My girlfriend and I visited Itta Bena for the first time on October 16th. I initially was interested in visiting so we could listen to Susan Marshall, but when I learned that Itta Bena was actually a restaurant I decided to make reservations. I am so glad I did. The restaurant is cozy, the music wonderful and the food and wine delicious. We started with the crab-stuffed avocado and the she-crab soup; both amazing. My gf had the New Zealand lamb and I ordered the filet. My filet came to me medium, even though I had ordered it medium-rare, but that was quickly taken care of by our wonderful server. The GM, Christopher Leech, stopped by to apologize for the mistake and comped us a dessert. When my steak arrived it was perfect. For dessert we had creme brulee and the white chocolate, both delicious. I was able to introduce my gf to scotch with the help of Mr. Leech, as he was kind enough to bring both a blend and a Macallan for her to try, along with my own Laphraoig. We truly had a fantastic experience at Itta Bena and I would recommend the establishment to anyone looking for a special evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's the best kept secret on Beale Stree ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 16, 2016

It's the best kept secret on Beale Street. Fabulous meal, wonderful atmosphere and friendly staff. We will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately the appetizers came out af ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Unfortunately the appetizers came out after the second course. The whole night was off a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We dined before concert at FedEx Forum. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We dined before concert at FedEx Forum. Itta Bena was within easy walking distance on Beale. Entrance to restaurant a little tricky if you are not aware of entering through BB Kings. Restaurant setting was charming and cozy with tasteful decor. Cajun/Southern style cuisine. Food was excellent and well presented. Service was friendly and efficient. We had the Barbeque Shrimp appetizer - huge shrimp served in a sauce worthy of dipping with the Abita Beer Bread. I ordered the Grilled Salmon, my husband the Blackened Red Snapper. Both were wonderful. We enjoyed taking in Beale Street on our short walk to the Forum. Felt like a little trip to New Orleans!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and music. Would definite ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent food and music. Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and the perfect place t ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great atmosphere and the perfect place to start a fun night on the town or celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to Memphis for my Birthday and h ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went to Memphis for my Birthday and had dinner on Saturday at the Itta Bena. It was a great romantic setting which we enjoyed very much. If you make reservations request a window table!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere is fantastic, and the foo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The atmosphere is fantastic, and the food is even better. The Jambalaya Pasta, Filet and Salmon are flavorful and well-prepared. The atmosphere is dark, well appointed and cozy. We enjoyed the conversation buzz and live acoustic music, set against the lights and muffled activity of Beale Street below.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Fun, Cozy, Live Music, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Our waiter, Steven, was fant ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food! Our waiter, Steven, was fantastic!!!! Queit scene with great live music and good food. A bit pricey but its worth a good time!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music, Casual, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious! We started with the deep fri ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delicious! We started with the deep fried avocado. The avocado is stuffed with a crab meat mixture and deep fried. Don't know how they accomplish this, but it is tasty. I had the Lamb chops with parmesan risotto. Perfect! The lamb was juicy and the risotto creamy. Husband enjoyed red snapper on a hash. Dessert was a white chocolate bread pudding. Excellent. Service was great. Great ambiance. Located above BB King's on Beale. Go inside and ask how to get in or find the fire escape near the valet parking. Need reservations. Also Life jazz to make everything nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding venue (overlooking historic ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Outstanding venue (overlooking historic Beale Street) for a music business meeting.

Very pleased with food, attentive service and having the World Series on TV.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found this on the internet and we so ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We found this on the internet and we so very please. Wonderful food, very cozy atmosphere and the staff is delightful. Very nice spot for a quiet dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT PLACE ..GREAT FOOD..GREAT MUSIC... ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

GREAT PLACE ..GREAT FOOD..GREAT MUSIC...UMBIANCE IS MIND BLOWING....OH AN I LOVE THE RECEPTIONISST NAME CURSTON.... GREAT PERSONALITY..CUSTOMER SERVICE ON POINT...YOU MUST GO VISIT THIS RESTAURANT..I WENT 4 BDAY..AN ANNIVERSARY..

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Healthy, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I took a friend there for di ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My wife and I took a friend there for dinner before going to the Orpheum for Jersey Boys. The friend had never been there and was totally blown away. Great food...always, great service and great atmosphere. Our favorite in Memphis.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

One of my favorite restaurants in Memphi ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Memphis. Amazing food, excellent customer service, and great atmosphere!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything about this restaurant. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Loved everything about this restaurant. Ambiance is so nice & we loved our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dining experience could not have bee ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Our dining experience could not have been more perfect!!

We will return soon and request Eric again - his service was impeccable!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great food, great atmosph ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great service, great food, great atmosphere, best place to eat on Beale.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite spots! We lo ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This is one of our favorite spots! We love going for a quick bite before games, as well as celebrating special occasions. Food is always superb! And, it's a plus being right by Beale Street. Can't go wrong!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun ambience. Food just ok. Hard to fin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Fun ambience. Food just ok. Hard to find except knew it was above BB Kings.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service was outstanding. We ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. We plan to make this a regular place to dine in the future. There are not many top notch dining spots in Memphis that are on the same level as Itta Bena

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences we ha ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 24, 2016

One of the best dining experiences we have had in a while. This restaurant is tough to find.. there is NOT a street sign. You just go up the fire escape behind BB Kings.

The atmosphere is rustic, yet nice. All the staff were super friendly. Wife had the Red Snapper which she said was one of her best ever, and I had the filet which was done perfectly. The options for sides for the filet could have been better considering the price of the steak, but we ordered an additional side which rounded out the meal well. We also had the peach cobbler for dessert which was very good with a perfect crust. Even the rolls were good, although we would have liked more than a couple of rolls.

We did wait a bit more than comfortable for the waiter to check on us, but it wasn't really inconvenient. The only negative of the whole evening was the stemware on the table wasn't clean (lipstick on glass), but that got switched out promptly.

We are definitely going back here later this year when we are back in Memphis.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was exactly what we hope for. Hidden ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was exactly what we hope for. Hidden little gem in the heart of the Beale Street madness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall I would say that we had an ok ex ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Overall I would say that we had an ok experience at Itta Bena. The service was adequate but nothing to write home about. Our waiter was efficient but not particularly charismatic. I ordered a Malbec and he informed me that they had run out but didn't offer any other sort of suggestion which isn't necessarily bad but in a pricey place, I feel the waiter should know the menu well enough to make another suggestion. The food had some highs and lows. The Duck grilled cheese appetizer and she crab soup? Amazing. The Godiva liquer cheesecake? Amazing. The chicken marsala? eh. The lamb chops? They might have been good if I hadn't ordered them rare and received a solid Medium to Medium well. Overall, I thought it was good, but for the price, I expected a better overall experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

We were here for pleasure and pleasure w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were here for pleasure and pleasure we had.. Wow, what an incredible meal! Our server was very pleasant and just loved BBKings place and this incredible restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lamb chops were quire good; red fish was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Lamb chops were quire good; red fish was dry. Dessert was ok. Very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was slow and the food was co ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The service was slow and the food was cold. They took my salmon back and microwaved the entire dish because the rice was cold. The manager made excuses for the cold food, which just made it worse. They did comp the meal however, but it was a waste of one evening on our short vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great food and good service.

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time & loved the food, atmosphere ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Second time & loved the food, atmosphere, service just as much as first time!! We consider Itta Bena our favorite when in Memphis! 💙

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined a bit early, so the place fille ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We dined a bit early, so the place filled up and the noise level grew while we were there. Our good table looked down at Beale Street. Our waiter was attentive, and the food was good, but not superlative. The crab chowder was savory but had not much crab or anything else in the creamy soup. The lamb chops were tasty, but not the most tender or meaty. We did not order dessert. The speakeasy-atmosphere location and the piano player were the most memorable aspects.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our first visit, our 28th wedding annive ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our first visit, our 28th wedding anniversary, with a gift certificate. We cannot wait to go back. This is the stuff of which great memories are made!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, Itta Bena provides a wonderfu ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

As always, Itta Bena provides a wonderful dining experience. Great atmosphere, live music, delicious food. Great selection of appetizers like BBQ shrimp, crab cakes, and duck grilled cheese. Every bite is delicious. This is my restaurant of choice when out of town guests are visiting Memphis.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First 5 star rating I have ever given a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

First 5 star rating I have ever given a restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.