About Itta Bena

145 Beale Street
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Located on the third floor of B.B. King's Blues Club overlooking historic Beale Street you will find Itta Bena "A unique delta experience". Whether entering from our private Second Street entrance via our valet service or walking through the secret hall from inside B.B. King's Blues Club, Itta Bena is sure to capture your senses. Modeled after the speakeasies from the 1920's, you are a true VIP as a friendly member of our staff escorts you to the third floor. The experience is further heightened when you step inside and find yourself surrounded by rich wood floors, vaulted ceilings, deep golden hued chandeliers and the faint sound of the bustling street below. Touching all the senses, we enrich your evening by offering a delta inspired menu of robust flavors and clean presentation. Itta Bena is a complete overwhelming of the senses that you must experience for yourself.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday from 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Second

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 578-3031

Website:
http://ittabenadining.com/memphis/

Entertainment:
Itta Bena is located just above B.B. King's Blues Club on historic Beale St. Live music captivates our guests and enhances the nearly surreal dining experience. On Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturday nights, Susan Marshall enchants her audience, performing arguably as the contemporary Memphis scene's most powerful and versatile pure singer yet (According to The Memphis Flyer). Visit our website to learn more.

Parking Details:
Valet is available seven days a week with rates similar to the parking garages nearby.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Quinnell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Memphis’s most exquisite restaurant plays host to a myriad of rehearsal dinners, receptions, parties, and corporate events. Chef Kevin Quinnell will create a menu that will tantalize the taste buds of your guests as the ambience and service exceeds their expectations. Popular for intimate gatherings as well as large parties, Itta Bena can accommodate 130 persons for a seated dinner or 200 persons for a cocktail party or reception. Whatever your needs, our experienced event planners can create the best guest experience you could ever imagine! For more information, please fill out the form below or contact Ansley Smith at 901-578-3031 or email at salesmemphis@ittabenadining.com.

Restaurant Photos

  • Itta Bena
  • Itta Bena
  • Itta Bena
Itta Bena
Itta Bena
Itta Bena

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Consistent with Itta Bena’s rich rhythm and blues history our Private Dining Room overlooks Beale Street through blue tinted windows, discreetly tucked away in the corner of our restaurant. Walls decorated with intricate woodwork and a curtained entrance offer privacy to parties of up to 200.

Itta Bena Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
5 More
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (117)
Romantic (108)
Fit for Foodies (67)
See All
Scenic View (57)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Good for Groups (42)
Notable Wine List (34)
Hot Spot (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Late-night Find (24)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love, love, love this place! Service is ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 3 days ago

Love, love, love this place! Service is always exceptional and the food is fantastic. We never feel like the servers are trying to "hurry" us out the door!! Our favorite downtown restaurant, by far.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited menu but excellent meal. Manager ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Limited menu but excellent meal. Manager always comes by and visits with us. The music is nice but it makes it hard to carry on a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Itta Bena. The food was delicious and the ambience was outstanding. I would recommend Itta Bena to anyone celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a great experience at Itta Bena! ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Always a great experience at Itta Bena! Excellent food and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was very friendly and accommodatin ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. They check on us a few times and made sure were were ok. Great experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My friend and I took a last minute trip ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My friend and I took a last minute trip to Memphis. It was his first trip to Memphis. Let's just say he is now looking for a condominium close to Itta Bena now. We had dinner there three nights in a row. Cathy, Billy, and the waiter with the accent (sorry, I can't remember your name) but you were all awesome! We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was a fantastic stop on my tr ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This place was a fantastic stop on my trip to Memphis. The Maitre d' was great in helping us choose a wine, and even led us out into BB kings. It was a fun touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I chose this spot for my birthday dinner ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I chose this spot for my birthday dinner and the food as well as the service were both nothing short of superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best restaurant that I have d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of the best restaurant that I have dined at with my wife. The ambiance and live music was amazing. An evening to remember for long long time! I will call it the best of the Memphis!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice ambience and the service is to ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very nice ambience and the service is top notch. The manager was very friendly and went out of his way to make sure we were happy. The fried avocado and she crab soup are out of this world. I love this place and make a point of going every time I visit Memphis!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything about it! Was suggeste ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Loved everything about it! Was suggested by a friend who had "discovered" it just the night before. I suggested it to 7 family members who were in town for a wedding and wanted to eat somewhere "special" and not at just the typical places to go in Memphis. Itta Bena was perfect and everyone praised my choice. We loved the fact that it was so unique! All 7 entrees were beautifully prepared and delicious!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING! We were able to reserve "The C ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

AMAZING! We were able to reserve "The Cove", which is a quiet little corner nook for 2 with doors that actually close with bench seats and pillows. We look for great places with romantic ambiance good for conversation and time alone, A JEWEL! The staff is very friendly and the food is absolutely amazing. This will definitely be on our "Most Favorite" places list for date nights and special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The customerservice was amazing. I enjoy ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The customerservice was amazing. I enjoyed my food and the dance floor downstairs. I will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff are very attentive and Manger genu ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Staff are very attentive and Manger genuinely is concerned if you do not have a great experience

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was a pleasant surprise!! We ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This place was a pleasant surprise!! We had Scallops and Grits for an appetizer and it was amazing. The steak dinners were to perfection. Very intimate and cozy atmosphere. Chris, the manager, was very accommodating. Ashley, our server, was wonderful. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I bought an old friend from Minnesota th ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I bought an old friend from Minnesota that use to live in Memphis. He did not know you were there. I been several times with clients and with my honey. He really like the whole package. Wine was great as was the food and atmosphere. Two thumbs up!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find above BB King's restaurant. A ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great find above BB King's restaurant. A fantastic menu and also has live music, though on a quitter level than what is going on below you. I tried the duck grilled cheese, which was outstanding, the jambalaya pasta and the lamb dish. Worth a visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful service accomodated requests ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful service accomodated requests for 10th anniversary. Perfect atmosphere. God food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth the trip. Food was above average, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Worth the trip. Food was above average, while the service lagged a bit. Be prepared for the noise level to skyrocket when the band starts downstairs, but hey, it's Beale St.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

absolutely amazing experience at itta be ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

absolutely amazing experience at itta bena!! I have already recommended it to ALOT of people! thanks for everything!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it! It was really fun finding ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We loved it! It was really fun finding the way upstairs through the club, and the blue tinted windows added just the right ambience. Food was excellent as were the servers. An evening to remember in Memphis.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not many people know about this gem loca ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Not many people know about this gem located above BB kings! We took the secret entrance up the fire escape and that was really cool! Filet was tender and cooked perfectly. Definately worth going but make a reservation! The windows are tinted sky blue so it always looks blue outside, even at night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is good with choices for chicke ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food is good with choices for chicken, fish and beef. The bar vibe is always good and the piano by Susan Marshall is just right! Not too loud. Service is extraordinary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was mediocre and rather bland, but ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was mediocre and rather bland, but the she-crab soup was AMAZING. Drinks were fabulous. Service was awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

A hidden gem, worth finding. Ambiance i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

A hidden gem, worth finding. Ambiance is lovely, service good, food was terrific!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic, as always! Their specialty c ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fantastic, as always! Their specialty cocktail, Live at the Garden, was wonderful - clean, crisp, and beautiful, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fabulous, the lobster was to di ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was fabulous, the lobster was to die for. It's only open from 5:00-10:00 but it's a great place to start an evening. I would recommend it to anyone that will be in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience! Food and service ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fantastic experience! Food and service were great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service! Highly reco ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent food and service! Highly recommend the duck and waffles. And the grits are amazing as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Memphis. The food is ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Best restaurant in Memphis. The food is wonderful, but what makes this dining experience second to none is the exceptional service. At Itta Bena you are treated like an honored guest who is also family. The ambience and decor are beautiful, and the music is always fantastic. Don't leave Memphis without eating here. You won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Eric was the BEST !!! Superb ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter Eric was the BEST !!!

Superb attention to every detail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been to Itta Bena before and had h ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I had been to Itta Bena before and had had a great meal, but our dinner on Thursday night fell short. I took my husband for a pre birthday celebration and the food was quite a disappointment. The fried green tomatoes we had for an appetizer were tasteless and hard. My husband's Gulf red snapper was over cooked and the andouille sausage Hash was also over cooked and even burned. He could not even eat it. They offered him a second entrée, and he chose the shrimp and grits. It was also tasteless. I had the lamb chops with spinach and risotto and it was good. However, I was not the one I was trying to impress. I tasted all of these entrées so this is personal experience. Unfortunately, we will not be going back to Itta Bena anytime soon. I must say that the service was wonderful. Our waiter was attentive and very courteous.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great experience !! Will definitely retu ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great experience !!

Will definitely return when in Memphis

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the ambiance created by the evenin ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved the ambiance created by the evening light through the blue windows, lending a soft blue cast to everything and bouncing off the white tablecloths! New Orleans barbecued shrimp appetizer was outstanding, although the dipping bread was too sweet -- needed a New Orleans baquette to sop up the wonderful broth. My entree was excellent -- can't go wrong with pasta, cream, and mushrooms. Dining companion loved his salmon. To reach the restaurant, you climb the stairs through the raucous B. B. King's Blues Club, or a fire-escape type stairway from the street. Melodious saxophonist provided the dinner music.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We love this place. The food is always ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We love this place. The food is always good, the staff is great. Love the blue tinted windows. Great for any occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot for special occasions

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great spot for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful find, unique , quiet , wonde ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A wonderful find, unique , quiet , wonderful food and service, hidden gem, sign, word of mouth...we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OK. Nice atmosphere. Good servi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was OK. Nice atmosphere. Good service. Food was OK, not great, I was hoping it would be better.

I had the shrimp and grits, shrimp was good but the grits where gummy, and all was not very hot. My dinner companions all had a similar experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I had a wonderful experience at Itta Ben ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I had a wonderful experience at Itta Bena celebrating my 40th birthday. I loved that finding the entrance was a bit of mystery, which also led to a quiet and enjoyable experience on the top of Beale. It was like our own little Memphis secret! The food was delicious and the service friendly and accommodating. They even threw in a lovely little birthday treat. Would absolutely recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic Experience!! Wonderful food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic Experience!! Wonderful food and a literal 'blue' atmosphere, with a super cool vibe. Knowledgeable servers. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.