About Itta Bena

145 Beale Street
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Located on the third floor of B.B. King's Blues Club overlooking historic Beale Street you will find Itta Bena "A unique delta experience". Whether entering from our private Second Street entrance via our valet service or walking through the secret hall from inside B.B. King's Blues Club, Itta Bena is sure to capture your senses. Modeled after the speakeasies from the 1920's, you are a true VIP as a friendly member of our staff escorts you to the third floor. The experience is further heightened when you step inside and find yourself surrounded by rich wood floors, vaulted ceilings, deep golden hued chandeliers and the faint sound of the bustling street below. Touching all the senses, we enrich your evening by offering a delta inspired menu of robust flavors and clean presentation. Itta Bena is a complete overwhelming of the senses that you must experience for yourself.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday from 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Second

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 578-3031

Website:
http://ittabenadining.com/memphis/

Entertainment:
Itta Bena is located just above B.B. King's Blues Club on historic Beale St. Live music captivates our guests and enhances the nearly surreal dining experience. On Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturday nights, Susan Marshall enchants her audience, performing arguably as the contemporary Memphis scene's most powerful and versatile pure singer yet (According to The Memphis Flyer). Visit our website to learn more.

Parking Details:
Valet is available seven days a week with rates similar to the parking garages nearby.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Quinnell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Memphis’s most exquisite restaurant plays host to a myriad of rehearsal dinners, receptions, parties, and corporate events. Chef Kevin Quinnell will create a menu that will tantalize the taste buds of your guests as the ambience and service exceeds their expectations. Popular for intimate gatherings as well as large parties, Itta Bena can accommodate 130 persons for a seated dinner or 200 persons for a cocktail party or reception. Whatever your needs, our experienced event planners can create the best guest experience you could ever imagine! For more information, please fill out the form below or contact Ansley Smith at 901-578-3031 or email at salesmemphis@ittabenadining.com.

Restaurant Photos

  • Itta Bena
  • Itta Bena
  • Itta Bena
Itta Bena
Itta Bena
Itta Bena

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Consistent with Itta Bena’s rich rhythm and blues history our Private Dining Room overlooks Beale Street through blue tinted windows, discreetly tucked away in the corner of our restaurant. Walls decorated with intricate woodwork and a curtained entrance offer privacy to parties of up to 200.

Itta Bena Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
9 More
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (105)
Romantic (95)
Fit for Foodies (55)
See All
Scenic View (48)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Good for Groups (37)
Hot Spot (31)
Notable Wine List (27)
Late-night Find (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Live Music (12)
Fun (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Authentic (9)
Historic (9)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great restaurant . One of our favorites ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant . One of our favorites in Memphis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, outstanding service. The ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Delicious food, outstanding service. The fried avocado with stuffed crab was a treat. Both shrimp dishes were very good also.

I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fun adventure just getting up to rest ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

A fun adventure just getting up to restaurant thru doors and up 2 sets of steps. Sets the stage and makes you feel a part of the "speakeasy" days. Great service, food, and ambiance. Nice bar. Quiet and tables not crowded together so you can enjoy conversation with your dinner. Blue colored windows and low lighting add to the effect. Great wine selection and tho menu is not large it has a variety of seafood, lamb, steak, etc. Wished I had room for dessert as it sounded wonderful. Would go back and recommend to anyone traveling to Memphis. For couples, adults. Don't see as a children's place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Tapas, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to surprise a someone visiti ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great place to surprise a someone visiting Beale Street. Very descreet place, no signs nor its own entrance..

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved that over BBKings Bar was this ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We loved that over BBKings Bar was this door that you thought was going to take you to the back alley…instead you follow through the door to the 3rd floor and Whala! This hip modern restaurant appears with fun decor. The tapas were fabulous, the dinner was soso. With a little tweek on the menu , it will be a place that peole will seek out

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Couldn't believe what a fantastic night ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Couldn't believe what a fantastic night we had at at Itta Bena. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The manager thanked us for dining there, the waiter we had was absolutely superb & the food was out of this world!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Alexander was outstanding and ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our server Alexander was outstanding and hats off the kitchen staff for wonderful dishes. On my list for all future Memphis visits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been here several times, and it ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have been here several times, and it is just as good as it was the first time. The chef is incredible, the atmosphere is laid-back, but formal and the drink menu is great. It's not the least expensive restaurant around, but it is worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great Beer, Historic, Romantic, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Server forgot my salad. My soup and my s ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Server forgot my salad. My soup and my sisters grits were luke warm but other than that, the meal was very enjoyable.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Love the Red Snapper & the Lettuce Wedge ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Love the Red Snapper & the Lettuce Wedge. Great food & service every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

An enjoyable casual business dinner, foo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

An enjoyable casual business dinner, food was very good. Atmosphere on Beale Street in Memphis was appealing.

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The most unique entryway into a restaura ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The most unique entryway into a restaurant that we have ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was a great evening. Food was delicio ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

It was a great evening. Food was delicious. Fifty words hmmmm

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had people in from Denver, Nashville and ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Had people in from Denver, Nashville and St. Louis. My party enjoyed the meal immensely. I was very pleased that the manager accommodated an addition to my party once we were seated. We all had a great time and I would return again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was romantic, the staff was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The ambiance was romantic, the staff was friendly and professional. Unfortunately, the food was not the best that night. The salads were small, and if you split a salad you maybe got 4 bites each. The shrimps were over cooked, there was too much grits. I would have appreciated less grits and maybe some summer vegetables.

The duck was somewhat dry and the waffle tasted stale. The flavor was good, but we had some fried chicken earlier that day and thought that was more moist than the duck.

The best part of the night was the club downstairs where they had a great band. I could have stayed there all night listening to the music.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great meal in a wonderful venue with fri ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great meal in a wonderful venue with friends! The wedge salad and salmon entree were prepared well and served at the proper temperature. Our server, Stephen, was knowledgeable and friendly. He even closed the curtains behind us when the setting sun was in our guests eyes. We can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding every time we've been. Riva ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Outstanding every time we've been. Rivals the best restaurants we've ever been to.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish that Itta Bena would have been as ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I wish that Itta Bena would have been as good as it was rated and recommended. We were there early (5:30 PM). They were not busy. One of their premier appetizers was served so over done that it was returned. Once ordered, some of the side dishes served were not as ordered. The dinner bread was "not ready yet". The wait service was nice but not attentive. There are many nice/good restaurants in Memphis. This one is just not one of my favorites and I will not return.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

It was awesome. The manager made some s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

It was awesome. The manager made some special drinks which paired nicely with dinner. Our waiter suggested great things to eat. I highly recommend the fried stuffed artichokes. The place is hard to find but once you are there you feel like you are special. Cool place to have a great meal, unique drinks and great music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaur ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant; it's a wonderful contrast to the first two floors of the building. Both the food and the service was outstanding. We will be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is not very good. Jambalaya was mai ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food is not very good. Jambalaya was mainly pasta... One shrimp.

Cajun red fish tasted old, was supposed to be served on top of a andouille sausage hash which turned out to be a greasy potatoe hash brown (similar to frozen) with very little sausage.

Was told the vegetable of the day by the server but wasn't told it wasn't included and needed to be ordered specifically.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Celebrated my anniversary here and it wa ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Celebrated my anniversary here and it was wonderful! Food, service, view, atmosphere. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We chose Itta Bena for our anniversary d ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We chose Itta Bena for our anniversary dinner--our first visit to this restaurant. Our table location was fine, next to a window looking down on Second Street. However, it was too warm--almost uncomfortably so.

Although our waiter was attentive, he had no personality at all. He was professional, just not personable. In fact, the waiter for the table next to us spoke to us more than our own. For the prices you pay here, I expect the full treatment--like the table next to us received.

For appetizers, my wife had crab cakes and I had a bowl of she-crab soup. The soup was excellent--I highly recommend it. My wife said the crab cakes were good, but probably not the best she ever had.

For entrees, my wife selected the shrimp and grits and said they were excellent. I chose the 8oz filet mignon, ordered medium. Unfortunately, it arrived well-done--no hint of pink whatsoever. Even so, it was the most tender steak I've ever eaten and it was well seasoned. If it hadn't been so tender, I probably would have complained, especially considering the price. The accompanying garlic mashed potatoes were over-seasoned--too much garlic. Creamed spinach was very good.

For dessert, we shared the bread pudding. It was excellent.

We liked the ambiance. It's very different from most any other restaurant in Memphis. The piano player was very good and was later accompanied by a blues guitarist, who also quite talented. It was a bit loud at times, making conversation a little difficult.

All things considered, we enjoyed it and will likely return. If the temperature had been a few degrees cooler, our waiter had been friendlier, and my steak cooked correctly, our first visit to Itta Bena would have been nearly perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

It's hard to find and you can feel the n ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It's hard to find and you can feel the noise from BB King's through the floor. Otherwise outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful. Great food and ser ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Absolutely wonderful. Great food and service. Love the blue tinted windows looking down on Beale St. You must visit!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A little hard to locate on Beale Street ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

A little hard to locate on Beale Street (3rd floor above BB King's BUT, no signage!) but, well worth the effort. Nice wine list. Good service. And the food was good!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We dined at Itta Bena on a vacation date ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We dined at Itta Bena on a vacation date night. The restaurant isn't well labeled as it is on the third floor above a dive bar and you MUST tell the first floor bar doorman you're dining upstairs or else they'll try to charge a cover charge for the downstairs bar (there is NO sign outside marking the restaurant). Ambiance was very cool, service was great and the cocktails were awesome as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love, love, love this place! Service is ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love, love, love this place! Service is always exceptional and the food is fantastic. We never feel like the servers are trying to "hurry" us out the door!! Our favorite downtown restaurant, by far.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited menu but excellent meal. Manager ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Limited menu but excellent meal. Manager always comes by and visits with us. The music is nice but it makes it hard to carry on a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

enjoyed the experience overall.......... ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

enjoyed the experience overall...........great place. Exciting place city, club and dining. Would make it a point to revisit when I return to the area. Staff were outstanding and so was the food. The entire evening was one to remember. Enjoyed myself from the moment I entered to the moment I left the table.......great place to dine. Loved it all.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Itta Bena. The food was delicious and the ambience was outstanding. I would recommend Itta Bena to anyone celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Always a great experience at Itta Bena! ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Always a great experience at Itta Bena! Excellent food and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was very friendly and accommodatin ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. They check on us a few times and made sure were were ok. Great experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My friend and I took a last minute trip ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My friend and I took a last minute trip to Memphis. It was his first trip to Memphis. Let's just say he is now looking for a condominium close to Itta Bena now. We had dinner there three nights in a row. Cathy, Billy, and the waiter with the accent (sorry, I can't remember your name) but you were all awesome! We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was a fantastic stop on my tr ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This place was a fantastic stop on my trip to Memphis. The Maitre d' was great in helping us choose a wine, and even led us out into BB kings. It was a fun touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I chose this spot for my birthday dinner ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I chose this spot for my birthday dinner and the food as well as the service were both nothing short of superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best restaurant that I have d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of the best restaurant that I have dined at with my wife. The ambiance and live music was amazing. An evening to remember for long long time! I will call it the best of the Memphis!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice ambience and the service is to ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very nice ambience and the service is top notch. The manager was very friendly and went out of his way to make sure we were happy. The fried avocado and she crab soup are out of this world. I love this place and make a point of going every time I visit Memphis!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything about it! Was suggeste ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Loved everything about it! Was suggested by a friend who had "discovered" it just the night before. I suggested it to 7 family members who were in town for a wedding and wanted to eat somewhere "special" and not at just the typical places to go in Memphis. Itta Bena was perfect and everyone praised my choice. We loved the fact that it was so unique! All 7 entrees were beautifully prepared and delicious!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING! We were able to reserve "The C ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

AMAZING! We were able to reserve "The Cove", which is a quiet little corner nook for 2 with doors that actually close with bench seats and pillows. We look for great places with romantic ambiance good for conversation and time alone, A JEWEL! The staff is very friendly and the food is absolutely amazing. This will definitely be on our "Most Favorite" places list for date nights and special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.