About Itta Bena

145 Beale Street
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Located on the third floor of B.B. King's Blues Club overlooking historic Beale Street you will find Itta Bena "A unique delta experience". Whether entering from our private Second Street entrance via our valet service or walking through the secret hall from inside B.B. King's Blues Club, Itta Bena is sure to capture your senses. Modeled after the speakeasies from the 1920's, you are a true VIP as a friendly member of our staff escorts you to the third floor. The experience is further heightened when you step inside and find yourself surrounded by rich wood floors, vaulted ceilings, deep golden hued chandeliers and the faint sound of the bustling street below. Touching all the senses, we enrich your evening by offering a delta inspired menu of robust flavors and clean presentation. Itta Bena is a complete overwhelming of the senses that you must experience for yourself.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Everyday from 5pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Second

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 578-3031

Website:
http://ittabenadining.com/memphis/

Entertainment:
Itta Bena is located just above B.B. King's Blues Club on historic Beale St. Live music captivates our guests and enhances the nearly surreal dining experience. On Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturday nights, Susan Marshall enchants her audience, performing arguably as the contemporary Memphis scene's most powerful and versatile pure singer yet (According to The Memphis Flyer). Visit our website to learn more.

Parking Details:
Valet is available seven days a week with rates similar to the parking garages nearby.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Quinnell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Memphis’s most exquisite restaurant plays host to a myriad of rehearsal dinners, receptions, parties, and corporate events. Chef Kevin Quinnell will create a menu that will tantalize the taste buds of your guests as the ambience and service exceeds their expectations. Popular for intimate gatherings as well as large parties, Itta Bena can accommodate 130 persons for a seated dinner or 200 persons for a cocktail party or reception. Whatever your needs, our experienced event planners can create the best guest experience you could ever imagine! For more information, please fill out the form below or contact Ansley Smith at 901-578-3031 or email at salesmemphis@ittabenadining.com.

Restaurant Photos

  • Itta Bena, Memphis, TN
  • Itta Bena, Memphis, TN
  • Itta Bena, Memphis, TN

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Consistent with Itta Bena’s rich rhythm and blues history our Private Dining Room overlooks Beale Street through blue tinted windows, discreetly tucked away in the corner of our restaurant. Walls decorated with intricate woodwork and a curtained entrance offer privacy to parties of up to 200.

Itta Bena Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (54)
Good for a Date (51)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
See All
Special Occasion (46)
Cozy (36)
Scenic View (31)
Live Music (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Fun (20)
Authentic (19)
Historic (19)
Business Meals (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Casual (15)
Private Room (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Modern Decor (9)
People Watching (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Started with an appetizer of fried green ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Started with an appetizer of fried green tomatoes It was nothing more than a fried cornmeal patty with no tomato. Very dry. Next came the salad. Field greens with goat cheese crumbles and pecans. Salad would have been good but my salad only contained 2 pecans and 2 goat cheese crumbles. Can only surmise that it doesn't get ordered very often.

My main course of salmon with wild rice and green beans was a mixed bag. I had the salmon blacken. It was delicious. However, while the salmon was hot in temperature the rice pilaf was mildly warm. Made for and odd combination of tastes.

Overall the dinner was just ok. Not bad but certainly not a great experience. The staff was pleasant and welcoming, the ambiance of the room with the blue windows, very nice but the food....meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Great atmosphere, mediocre food. Field g ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great atmosphere, mediocre food. Field green salad was all lettuce. Only 1 pecan per salad, a few very tiny pieces of goat cheese. The crab bisque was just straight cream with a few pieces of crab at the bottom. Very dissapointing. Fried green tomatoes were bad, almost inedible. Shrimp and grits were good but shrimp was overlooked.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

It was our anniversary. We had a reserva ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was our anniversary. We had a reservation for a specific table but the couple before us "lingered" a bit too long. The staff was so courteous to give us an option of waiting 15 more minutes or sitting at another, quite lovely table, by the window. Management also offered to move us to the more private table for our dessert if we wanted and offered the dessert on the house. That was very kind considering it wasn't really their fault. They brought us complimentary champagne for our anniversary. My husband had the lamb which was truly amazing. I had the shrimp and grits which was a little blah. Could have used more of the lemon beurre blanc I think. Still, we would love to go back again because overall it was a wonderful experience. The singer was super and very much what you want while enjoying dinner. Love the fun decor and the private dinner club feel. After dinner we went downstairs to BB's and danced. Great fun having the restaurant up the fire escape and special feeling, then switching to full-on music mode to top off the night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't waste your time telling them you'r ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Don't waste your time telling them you're celebrating a special occasion because they don't do anything to make you feel special. Our waiter was fine, but the hostess was extremely uninterested in making us feel welcome. While the wild mushroom pasta was very good, the signature she-crab soup, fried avocado with crab salad, and shrimp and grits were all below average. I think the bar downstairs would have provided a better experience for my 50th birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food is outstanding and service is impec ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food is outstanding and service is impeccable! Definitely will return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date, Live Music, Worth the Drive, , Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic meal and a cool place. Wait st ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Fantastic meal and a cool place. Wait staff was a little slow but very polite and a great place for a date. Had a unique selection of wines as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for NYE- originally did not know th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for NYE- originally did not know they would have a set menu when we made the reservation but they did call to tell me about it. After looking at it and weighing our options, our group decided to keep the reservation. The menu went up $10 for the 7 pm seating and $20 for the 9- which we thought was weird and actually overpriced for the area. When we arrived they had given out slotted table away to a different group and had to redress something else for us. Awkward wait.

The appetizer course was delicious and the soup was solid. The main courses were lacking, as was dessert. Server was not very engaging and we had to ask for the champagne toast and favors that were suppose to be included in that seating. We were two couples and the ladies ordered the same drinks and the guys ordered the same drinks, yet when we asked the server to bring two separate checks (by couple), he put almost all the drinks on one of the tabs, and when we explained that we had literally ordered the same drinks, he was surprised when he brought ten tickets back with the same amount on each (um, duh?). Overall not impressed- we would have much rather tried their regular menu and wished we would have skipped on their overpriced set menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

My husband and 4 daughters and I are her ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and 4 daughters and I are here on New Years Eve Eve. The staff were all very accommodating of our children and three different people told us about the kids items that weren't actually printed on the menu. Our server was very attentive and also just seemed like a nice, relatable, person. Food was good, but not outstanding over the top. The entire experience as a whole was wonderful. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service was excellent. People were ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our service was excellent. People were so friendly. We were early and they apologized more than once that they couldn't seat us right away. Enjoyed meeting the manager.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the ambience of this place, got to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love the ambience of this place, got to sit in the cozy closet table with my date. Great service but good is just meh. Second time I have been here, same experience with so-so food. Want to love it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Fantastic atmosphere is countered by the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere is countered by the very poor food and service. Portions are fine, but food lacks flavor and presentation. The service was very poor in both attitude and follow up. It was not worth the money or time - too many other good options in Memphis. It's riding on coattails, but not sustainable if the food remains this bland and service has such an attitude with no follow through: Itta Bena will be Itta Been.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Private Room, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

A real gem of a find in downtown on Beal ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A real gem of a find in downtown on Beale Street. Good wine list. She-crab soup is a must have. Beautifully cooked lamb chops and salmon served with aplomb and care. Absolutely would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit to this off the beaten y ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our first visit to this off the beaten yet middle of everything Resturant. Can't wait to go back. Everything was above expectations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had dinner at Itta Bena du ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Itta Bena during a short vacation to Memphis. We thoroughly enjoyed the mealand the service was very good. I would recommend both the fried avocado and the duck and waffles.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We loved Itta Bena! It was a great date ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We loved Itta Bena! It was a great date night spot. Love that the manager came to the tables and welcomed us and asked if he could do anything for us. Very intimate nice setting. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My honey wanted to do something special ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My honey wanted to do something special and elegant for Christmas...It was such a great atmosphere.The food was Grand and the waiter Tim (went to HS with my Guy) he took great care of us...I loved it.Out reservation was for 730 we were early 645...WE WERE DONE EATING BY 730 .just sat and talked until after 10....I'LL BE BACK

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am from out of town and my date lives ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I am from out of town and my date lives there in Memphis, but had never been there. What a classy place! The ambiance of the whole place, the music, the view, everything was superb! The waiter was respectful and kind to our privacy of being on a date and I give him (Alex) a 10 for a job well done! Enjoyed it very, very, much! I will not hesitaye to go again!

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the evening dinner experience ov ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Enjoyed the evening dinner experience overall. One of our favorites for special occasions. Unfortunately, two of us who ordered the lamb found it to be tough to cut and eat. All the appetizers and other meals were delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Comfort Food, Authentic, Late-night Find, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I started coming here whe ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My husband and I started coming here when they first opened for our anniversary. The ambience, service and the food is excellent. We love this place and also go often on the weekends.

Tags: Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, , Historic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My fish was over cooked. dried out. Soup ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My fish was over cooked. dried out. Soup was very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Itta Bena's service was first class. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Itta Bena's service was first class. The food was good. But, the service was excellent. My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The staff was attentive and made sure we were very comfortable. We were treated with champagne and dessert. I could not ask for more. Highly recommended for special occasions!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant in Memph ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Memphis and we come here on all occasions where we want to have a quiet celebration for the two of us. The Cajun influenced food is great and the service is impeccable. Desserts are "to die for."

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved the atmosphere, but thought the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We loved the atmosphere, but thought the food was ok. Was expecting a little more. Great wine menu and the service was great.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food and waiter!!!! I would come b ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food and waiter!!!! I would come back again when I visit Memphis again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect every time I visit. Love the at ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Perfect every time I visit. Love the atmosphere, food, and wait staff. I highly recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Live Music, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, , Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped at Itta Bena before going to ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We stopped at Itta Bena before going to a show. The service was excellent. Our waiter was very helpful and attentive. The food was delicious! I had the wild mushroom pasta and ate every bite. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On our second visit, we ate different di ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

On our second visit, we ate different dishes but had the same experience. Great food in an amazing place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love to dine here. One of our favorit ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We love to dine here. One of our favorite restaurants in Memphis .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We drove 3.5hrs for a special birthday d ...

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We drove 3.5hrs for a special birthday dinner. I was very disappointed. The restaurant did not have our reservation, which was a surprise because they called earlier to confirm. The food was cold and under seasoned,very bland. The only positive thing about the "experience " was the ambiance and beauty the restaurant held.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic meal and service. The discret ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Fantastic meal and service. The discreteness of the restaurant adds so much to the experience!

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lamp chops and snapper were deliciou ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The lamp chops and snapper were delicious! The crab cake appetizer was small but also good. The shrimp on top of the fried green tomatoes tried to save this appetizer since the tomatoes themselves appeared to have no seasoning. Overall great ambience and perfect for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had a great dinner and after a great ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We had a great dinner and after a great time at BB KINGS

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Had never been in iitta Bena before and ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Had never been in iitta Bena before and took a business trip in had an outstanding meal Mark B our server couldn't of been better and the meal was phenomenal

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, delicious food and exc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great atmosphere, delicious food and exceptional service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Great food, service, and ambi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Delicious! Great food, service, and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server forgot to bring bread, then when ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Server forgot to bring bread, then when prompted to bring it forgot to bring butter or oil.

No salt and pepper on table had to grab it from another table. Tea glass ran empty half way through the meal with no further refills. Was a slow night only 5 tables seated so service should have been stellar. Pork was very tasty but just a little dry (subjective). Croutons in salad were actually stale. Crab cakes were a little dry (subjective) with more cake than crab (flavor was more weak than delicate). That being said, its a nice place overall food was much more on the good side than bad. It, was a rainy Monday night so, I will give it another chance as it is a cut above the tourist bar food on the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Went for my wife's birthday. Excellent a ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday. Excellent atmosphere! Love the background music duo. And food is excellent! Service is impeccable!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Happy Hour, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant with great food, ex ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with great food, excellent wine and a delightful, romantic ambience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted a nice quiet place to celebrate ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I wanted a nice quiet place to celebrate my birthday and this restaurant was definitely the place for me. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a nice and quiet place to dine. It's not as big as it seems online.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, , Live Music, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

This was my 2nd visit to Itta Bena and t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was my 2nd visit to Itta Bena and the experience was very enjoyable. I would and have recommended this restaurant to friends. Great date night with piano, wine and unique ambience.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.