Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Island Lava Java Bistro

Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. We proudly feature grass fed Big Island Beef, Big Island organic goat cheese and locally grown organic produce, freshly baked house made breads, desserts & goodies.

Island Lava Java, Bistro Grill is Kona's #1 Coffee House and Restaurant. We were voted to have the "Best Breakfast in Kona" by the readers of the West Hawaii Today. Island Lava Java Bistro & Grill's Island fare is inspired by everyday island cooking. You'll feel relaxed while savoring a great meal in our casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!

75-5799 Ali'i Dr.
Kailua, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 6:30am - 5:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Palani

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 327-2161

Website:
http://www.islandlavajava.com/

Entertainment:
Live Hawaiian & acoustic music, weekends & evenings

Catering:
Delicious hot or cold options. Order from one of our menus or work with our chef to create a catering event specific to your taste!

Parking Details:
Free parking for our customers in the Ali'i Sunset Plaza.

Public Transit:
Public bus stop 300 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Johnny Loua

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Island Lava Java Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (26)
People Watching (18)
Casual (16)
See All
Scenic View (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Live Music (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (5)
Romantic (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Authentic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We know to bring our chosen bottle of wine : Kelly, our waitperson supplied the winegasses and gave us time to enjoy the long boats, the waves, the people-watching and the beautiful sunset . Before long, songs of the 50's and 60's were strummed and sung by the talented duo. Another pair of diners performed a jitter-bug that was quite entertaining and were applauded by all. Both of us chose "Pulehu NY" Angus NY steak, seared to a perfect medium rare with asparagus, house-pickled onions, and mashed potatoes for him, extra vegetables for me, which we savored to the last bites. A shared slice of yummy carrot cake was our choice to finish our meal in fine style. Another great evening at Island Bistro Lava Java came to a satisfied close. A hui hou!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always love lunches at Lava Java...
Great location, great meals

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Live Music, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Oceanfront view. Very busy for brunch on Easter, but the services was spectacular. The food was promptly served. We had a great brunch here. Unbeatable location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have been to Lava Java many times and have usually had a good experience. This time was on Easter Sunday for brunch and the food suffered. I'm not sure why since they certainly knew they would be busy as they are every Sunday. I ordered the Belgian waffle with a berry coulis and a creme anglaise sauce but the waffle was doughy inside. It was already cut into quarters when presented and was sauced. There wasn't enough of the berries and I wish I had stuck with my tried and true order of banana/mac pancakes. My BF had an omelet with pulled pork filling and he said the pork was greasy.
All in all, we love the casual atmosphere of this sidewalk cafe and enjoy it for dinner too. But this particular morning, something was off and the food just wasn't up to par.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Had breakfast there. Excellent! There were five of us and we got four different things, all of which were great, along with the cinnamon pull-apart we got to start. I was surprised that coconut syrup on the banana pancake was so good. (I'm used to maple syrup., which they also have.). Pork and pineapple omelet excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The South Point pork chop was fantastic !! The srever was great and got to here Bobby G playing great music !!
What a great experience and dinner for a local diner.
Keep up the good work !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Had a reservation, hostess not accommodating, server preoccupied. I will say the bus boy was great 😒

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Beautiful setting watching the sun set while waiting for dinner. Service & food delivery was a bit slow but we were killing time until our late night flight, so no biggie. We went here because of the many gluten free selections, which cant be beat! Only thing I would change, would be to have a bathroom inside the restaurant rather than within the complex.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Unfortunately the Chicken Pesto Penne was soaked/laying in the pesto oil and not very good. Wouldn't recommend the dish. Service also was very slow - they seemed to be short staffed. Last year's experience was good, but not this year.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 20, 2017

A wonderful open air bistro with excellent food and great live music. Doubles as a coffee shop in the morning. The ahi bruschetta was delightful as were the fish tacos. We ate there two days earlier and the macadamia nut encrusted fish of the day was wonderful. You can bring your own wine and they will gladly serve it with no corking fee. Even provide a bucket of ice for white wine. One of our all-time favorites.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

When we arrived we were given a choice of tables outside. We went for the secluded one to the side where we could see the sunset and hear the live music. We started with a shared salad. The waitress and kitchen were accommodating of my dietary needs, ensuring that my meal did not contain any ingredients of which I am intolerant. My ahi was exceptional. The pork chop was a large serving with delicious house made applesauce. The creek brûlée was traditional and good. Overall, a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We love Lava Java for so many reasons, not the least of which is the perfect ocean and people-watching location. Add to the sight, sound and smell of the ocean (and, at dinner time, the sunset viewing) the ability to bring one's own wine (no corking fee: they will uncork and supply glasses and an ice bucket, if needed) to accompany the perfectly prepared and plated, scrumptious meal, served with aplomb. Thank you, Lava Java Island Bistro, for yet another lovely dining experience! See you again, soon.

Tags: Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Vegan, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

what more can you ask for, great view, good food, and excellent service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Fair price for 100% Kona coffee. Friendly and helpful staff. Great view of Kailua-Kona harbor and a chance to see all the tourists and locals pass by.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The Island Lava Java in Kaiura-Kona is a great place for breakfast and dinner to sit out by the street and the sea wall. The staff is very friendly and the food is excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was a surprise that the ocean side dining included a sidewalk and a cruising street. OK, so it had a vib being in the city with a view of the sunset, but since they do not serve alcohol it was suggested since there was not a corkage fee if I wanted to hoof it two blocks to the
ABC store I could buy something.
Evening music was the hit: a nice soft jazz selection from a sax player. excellant Blackened Mahi Tacos, mediocre big Spinach salad with bacon.
This was the oddest dining experience only good for a humorous memory.
I hope the new digs improve with a wine selection.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food and experience. Loved, loved dining by the ocean.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great breakfast, good idea to make reservation, very busy place, great view of the water..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We dined outside for dinner with a view of the sunset. The macadamia encrusted fish of the day (ahi tuna) was very good. You can also BYOB/W as they don't have a liquor license.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The fish was very fresh and delicious . I loved the waterfront view. The guitarist was excellent and provided wonderful background music. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Make a reservation, there is always a wait for breakfast. The food and view are excellent! A great start to vacation or any day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always a favorite place to go when on the Big Island. Great food and fabulous view. I would recommend reservations, even for breakfast.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront, People Watching, Casual, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food and Ocean view were great. However, the server was not present after the order. Had to get hostess to pay bill. No refills offered.

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The fresh catch fish with macadamia nut crust was really good but we unfortunately had very poor service. Did not fill the water once or ask how the meal was, which was unfortunate for us because my friend asked for her burger with no onion and it was supposed to come with bacon. It had lots of onion but no bacon. But since no one came to check on us it was too late to fix it. No apology and no discount in the mistake.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food and service were great. Prices reasonable. We booked via open table and had no issues with on time reservations and a special request to sit near the water. The pancakes were great and we also had a breakfast sandwich which was good as well. Service was attentive and the white table clothes were a nice touch. I would recommend it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Friends recommended this place in Kona. It was small but did a great job of getting people in & out. Breakfast was really good & the wait staff was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This is my favorite place to take out of town guests for coffee and breakfast. The food is great and sitting bt the ocean watching the waves is an added treat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 24, 2017

You don't expect this level of food from a coffee house but the dinners were excellent and you can't beat the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We would have left as service was so poor from the get go but we were enjoying sunset & wine. We were also hopeful service would improve, it did not. Very disappointed in lava java.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great atmosphere, wonderful hawaiian music..
Ono salads and fish tacos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 16, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants for breakfast! Cool breezes, lovely local music and a live show courtesy of the Ocean!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Lava Java is the goto place along the Kailua-Kona strip. We had breakfast several times, and an acai bowl with a 16oz Kona coffee (black) overlooking the surf are a great way to start the day. We also had 2 evening meals there as well and were pleased by the food and entertainment. They don't serve alcohol, but welcome you to BYO with no corkage charge.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Lava Java is the one constant in Kona; so many changes here but Lava Java is the same. Excellent food and we appreciate being able to bring our own wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

There are 2 branches.The Java Lava in Waikoloa village is fresh, tasty,good and friendly and I would recommend.
This restaurant is crowded,difficultparking.The ahi tacos were over cooked and came with no salsa or anything at all including dressing on the salad.
The only thing positive is the view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was good. Service was much slower than previously experienced. Still very enjoyable to be able to watch the sunset, eat leisurely, and enjoy live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had 2 laid back and delicious breakfasts at the Lava. Excellent value, great service, really very nice and hard working staff. Very friendly, warm and attentive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Big burgers- lots of food.

We live off island, so we are not used to paying so much for a hamburger dinner, with no alcohol.

Tags: Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great breakfast with awesome view of the Pacific. I made a reservation for 0930 and upon arrival hostess had just seen it. Our name was added to the list and still had to remind her after another 20 minutes. We did receive some complimentary juice for their mistake.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had been several times before on previous visits to Kona. We were greatly disappointed with the food. My wife had a vegetarian risotto that we had to send back as it was highly salted and way too peppery. The replacement was still far too salty. I ordered a braise beef rib and it was salty, fatty and was grey looking . The food when we went was a real disappointment and we will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When we arrived, there was a line for walk ups and a 35 to 45 minute wait. When we showed the hostess our Open Table reservation, we were seated immediately and at a table in the shade with a great view of the water.
The service and the food was amazing with some unique menu items. One hint, if you see something you like in the display case, get it right then and there. We had our eye on some muffin choices, but we waited until after our meal to buy, and they were sold out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.