About Island Lava Java Bistro

75-5799 Ali'i Dr.
Kailua, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. We proudly feature grass fed Big Island Beef, Big Island organic goat cheese and locally grown organic produce, freshly baked house made breads, desserts & goodies.

Island Lava Java, Bistro Grill is Kona's #1 Coffee House and Restaurant. We were voted to have the "Best Breakfast in Kona" by the readers of the West Hawaii Today. Island Lava Java Bistro & Grill's Island fare is inspired by everyday island cooking. You'll feel relaxed while savoring a great meal in our casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 6:30am - 5:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Palani

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 327-2161

Website:
http://www.islandlavajava.com/

Entertainment:
Live Hawaiian & acoustic music, weekends & evenings

Catering:
Delicious hot or cold options. Order from one of our menus or work with our chef to create a catering event specific to your taste!

Parking Details:
Free parking for our customers in the Ali'i Sunset Plaza.

Public Transit:
Public bus stop 300 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Johnny Loua

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

"Island Style" Pancakes - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Big Kahuna Fish Breakfast - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Luau Omelette - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Island Style Waffles - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Cafe au lait - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Waipio Stack Breakfast - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Vegetable omelette with fresh fruit - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Carrot Cake - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Island Omelette With Kalua Pork And Pineapple - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Guava Bbq Pork Ribs - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Ahi Poke Wrap - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Papaya with granola and yogurt - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Passionfruit Tart With Meringue - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Ham and Cheese croissant - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Giant Cinnamon Roll - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Kona coffee - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Big Island Beet Salad - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Ali'i Chicken Sandwich - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Cinnamon Rolls - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Oatmeal Brulee - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Drag It Through The Garden Sandwich  - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Papaya with Yogurt and Honey - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Latte - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Island Lava Java's Fresh Fish Tacos - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Fresh Island Fish Sandwich - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Guava Bbq Pulled Pork Sandwich - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Toast - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Kialuea Sandwich  - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Ginger Root Iced Tea  - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Cinnamon Bun - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Seaside Shrimp Pizza - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
"Koho" Poke - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Fresh Fish Tacos - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Blackened Ahi Bruschetta - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Croissant Sandwich With Eggs - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Bacon Cheeseburger - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Crèam Brûlèe - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Macadamia Crusted Fresh Catch - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI

Island Lava Java Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Hawaii / Big Island
Scenic View
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Restaurants in Kailua-Kona ›

Scenic View (13)
Casual (11)
Romantic (8)
See All
Waterfront (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Live Music (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another lovely breakfast at our favorite ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Another lovely breakfast at our favorite spot in Kona, Lava Java.We were seated by a lovely girl, Jenny. Sad to hear that our usual server Jamie had left but felt very much at home, Karen is still there.The island pancakes are to die for and the quick service, hot kona coffee and aloha spirit felt there , will keep us coming back again and again. Can't wait to see the new place ! Mahalo,the Phillips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and a fantastic view o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent service and a fantastic view of the sunset in Kona!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our last meal in Hawaii before heading b ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our last meal in Hawaii before heading back to the mainland. Great food and service, especially for it being Thanksgiving - I was concerned that quality and service would suffer; it didn't, they delivered. We will definitely be dining here again the next time we're in Kailua.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food, great service and live m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very good food, great service and live music was great !!

Can't beat it ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed the Island Pancakes. This was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We enjoyed the Island Pancakes. This was two pancakes with bananas and macadamia nuts. In addition, there was a side of Portuguese sausage. All was excellent. There was a live ukulele player on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great view of sunsets and the evening su ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great view of sunsets and the evening surf.Just ignore the traffic.

Tags: Organic, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We started our spiritual retreat with a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We started our spiritual retreat with a dinner for 9 people. I love the views, the service. The food had changed quite a bit since last time I was there - in 2012. It did not have the presentation it used to, the passion was kind of gone. The pizza which I loved (vegetarian) was dry and sticky. But the sunset was priceless. Service was super good too. I loved that the table was ready and we could do separate bills and we were not forced to do 20% of gratuity what many places around Alii Drive do - which often times feels like a little punishment for bringing many people over...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very Good. Seats out front ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was very Good. Seats out front over looking the water at sunset was nice. They don't serve alcohol, so if your wanting a drink with your meal, not your place. Our issue was service. Glasses were never refilled, and we had to finally ask for our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We go there and the table was so my wife ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We go there and the table was so my wife asked for a rag and cleaned the table.

We waited about seven minutes before we went to order and the server asked us to take a seat and i told her that we have been waiting and i showed her where we sat.

I ordered my food and it is not what ordered because it was missing half its order

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Island Lava Java, is our favorite. Havin ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Island Lava Java, is our favorite. Having lived on island for over 15 years, this is the best place for good food, great location, good prices and a great staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mac, banana pancakes with coconut sy ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The mac, banana pancakes with coconut syrup are delish. They were kind enough to sub the pork options for a turkey option. You'll have lots of company from the nearby birds that flock to this awesome little diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent! We didn't have ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was excellent! We didn't have to wait long on the food. The servers were exceptionally nice. The view of watching the sun set behind the ocean was awesome! I would definitely go back. It's like a family atmosphere. A great place to get good food and meet nice people.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is awesome

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The view is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Always love lava Java!

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Always love lava Java!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience at Lava Java Bistr ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our dining experience at Lava Java Bistro was very enjoyable. It was relaxing to see and hear the waves crashing on shore, and we found this to be a great spot for people watching as well. We especially loved the live music. Ample free parking in the lot behind the shopping center was definitely appreciated. Overall - good food and fun place to hang out!

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, People Watching, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went twice with our large family, sp ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went twice with our large family, spending over 200.00 and did not get any points. Very disappointed... Why is it an Open Table Restaurant if we don't earn points?!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

When we arrived, even though we had a re ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 13, 2016

When we arrived, even though we had a reservation, they had no idea we were on any sort of list for reservations. No table was available. After being sat we had a waitress promptly who took our drink and food orders. We never saw her again, not for refills, not for an extra to-go order we wanted to place, not for the bill...nothing. It took ages to get our food...as in over 45 minutes once the order was placed. Keep in mind this was breakfast and one of us ordered eggs while the other had a bagel. No one was rude but that is likely because we never actually spoke to anyone. Once we were ready to leave we had to track down a different waitress and she checked us out. I hope our own waitress is okay and wasn't abducted as she was never seen again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was excellent! There was 4 in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was excellent! There was 4 in our party and each of us had a different entree, boneless short ribs, New York steak, macadamia nut crusted fish (Ono), and pizza. They were all delicious meals, especially the fish. The service was great, very friendly and courteous. We sat inside with an open air area and a perfect view of the ocean right across the street. Even though it rained earlier, it had cleared up and was a very nice atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant. The price was also reasonable. I just wish I would have discovered this place sooner as we leave tomorrow for L.A. I'm sure breakfast or lunch would be great here. I'll be back next time! Aloha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful setting across from the ocean. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Beautiful setting across from the ocean. Most seating outside is near the sidewalk and Alii Drive, but surprisingly quiet.

Food is tremendous, had Ahi Bruschetta, Ahi poke, and Mac Nut crusted Ono. All dishes were excellent. Lily was our server and she was awesome! Also, no liquor license or corkage, so BYOB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. We go often. Nothing else t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great place. We go often. Nothing else to say, so I'll add the 5o0 characters here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent dinner. Dessert also fabulous. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent dinner. Dessert also fabulous. I've eaten there several times and I believe they have the best dinner selections... at least as good as Huggos. Breakfasts are also excellent and reasonably priced. The only minus is give is that our table was on a slant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything was good but the bathroom key ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was good but the bathroom key was attached to a colander so it was very weird walking to the bathroom with it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lava Java is a great restaurant. The vi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Lava Java is a great restaurant. The view is spectacular and the food is great, but it isn't a great place to hold a meeting. They are used to quick turn-arounds and tourists. We have tried several times to meet there because we love the food and atmosphere, but there just isn't a place we can all (8-12 people) sit comfortably. If the chairs have backs, there's no shade. If we have shade and are able to see each other, we have elderly and handicapped people sitting on backless benches. And usually we are allowed separate checks, but last week for some reason that was denied. Those of us who had plastic instead of cash had to borrow from others. It was awkward.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Rachel was fast and friendly, food was h ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Rachel was fast and friendly, food was hot and excellent flavor at a reasonable cost.The ocean view was amazing!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for breakfast. I had dinner this ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great for breakfast. I had dinner this time. Music was so loud we could not talk to each other. Food was just average - nothing special. Service was not very good. I'd pass on dinner here and only come back for breakfast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Lava Java is one of our favorite places ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Lava Java is one of our favorite places for our weekly gathering. The food and coffee are great, and separate checks for the group is never a problem. We have started making reservations because twice in the past we were told our group was too big and would have to separate. On our last visit the waitress was pretty hard to find. One person finally ordered at the counter and when it was time to leave the rest of us had to hunt down our checks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Lava Java is exceptional!! My favorite r ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Lava Java is exceptional!! My favorite restaurant when visiting the Big Island! Always a pleasure to visit - great food, great service and a spectacular view!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting. Friendly service. Good fo ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great setting. Friendly service. Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the views - great for people watc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Always the views - great for people watching.

Love the with perka you accumulate your free coffee and it does not expire. For us regulars it is pretty neat.

Also nice to see some favorites are still working here (since 10 + years)

The food is still good - not outstanding - but good.

Coffee could be warmer, and most and foremost - substitute the plastic straws with a better option for the environment.

Thank you

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Wife did not like the birds with outside ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wife did not like the birds with outside seating. Food and service were fine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Went here everyday...sometimes twice a d ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went here everyday...sometimes twice a day while vacation with the family. Great coffee drinks, food and sweet treats. View of the ocean is spectacular!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server ignored us. Food items not brough ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Server ignored us. Food items not brought to table in order. Level of concern for our meal & related items being delivered to our table in a timely fashion was nil. Won't be returning to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great location with view of the ocean ac ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great location with view of the ocean across the street, had great live music. The waitress forgot to take off $10 off our bill even though we showed her the discount on our iPhone and we ordered the Portugese sausage but was riven bacon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Best place for breakfast in Kona. We had ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Best place for breakfast in Kona. We had an ocean front view from our table. Loved the macadamia nut and banana waffles.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Never disappoints

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Always make a point to stop by Lava Java for breakfast or lunch every time we go to Kona (twice a year) and it never disappoints. If you haven't tried it, its a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful !

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Lava Java is one of our favorites when visiting Kona. The staff, especiallyJamie and Karen, are always friendly and helpful. The food is brought out piping hot , and the view is amazing. Our family and friends always buy us gift certificates from Lava Java for our anniversaries. We love this local find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good for breakfast or brunch; avoid dinner

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 1, 2016

The Sunday brunch was really good; I would recommend it. However, avoid the dinner. I am not sure what they are serving for "braised short ribs", but it is not short ribs. Neither my wife's dinner nor mine was worth the time or price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Fresh ingredients

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Although their entrance appears to be one of regular coffee shop, the quality of food is very high. We appreciated the freshness of their ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

gorgeous sunset

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 29, 2016

I met a friend for dinner and enjoyed the gorgeous sunset from our table outside. I had been told that the restaurant was the place to go for great food and to see the sunset. They also said the the waitstaff were really friendly. They were right on-everything was perfect. The waitress was a lot of fun and the food was great! Add the sunset and it was a perfect night!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scene was outstanding, the service w ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 27, 2016

The scene was outstanding, the service was good, the food was well done, and the music was enjoyable. Friends and tourists will have no problem finding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.