About Island Lava Java Bistro

75-5799 Ali'i Dr.
Kailua, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. We proudly feature grass fed Big Island Beef, Big Island organic goat cheese and locally grown organic produce, freshly baked house made breads, desserts & goodies.

Island Lava Java, Bistro Grill is Kona's #1 Coffee House and Restaurant. We were voted to have the "Best Breakfast in Kona" by the readers of the West Hawaii Today. Island Lava Java Bistro & Grill's Island fare is inspired by everyday island cooking. You'll feel relaxed while savoring a great meal in our casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 6:30am - 5:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Palani

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 327-2161

Website:
http://www.islandlavajava.com/

Entertainment:
Live Hawaiian & acoustic music, weekends & evenings

Catering:
Delicious hot or cold options. Order from one of our menus or work with our chef to create a catering event specific to your taste!

Parking Details:
Free parking for our customers in the Ali'i Sunset Plaza.

Public Transit:
Public bus stop 300 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Johnny Loua

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

"Island Style" Pancakes
Luau Omelette
Island Style Waffles
Fresh Island Fish Sandwich
Island Lava Java's Fresh Fish Tacos
Papaya with granola and yogurt
Cafe au lait
Waipio Stack Breakfast
Vegetable omelette with fresh fruit
Carrot Cake
Big Kahuna Fish Breakfast
Island Omelette With Kalua Pork And Pineapple
Guava Bbq Pork Ribs
Ahi Poke Wrap
Passionfruit Tart With Meringue
Ham and Cheese croissant
Kona coffee
Giant Cinnamon Roll
Big Island Beet Salad
Ali'i Chicken Sandwich
Cinnamon Rolls
Oatmeal Brulee
Drag It Through The Garden Sandwich
Papaya with Yogurt and Honey
Latte
Toast
Guava Bbq Pulled Pork Sandwich
Ginger Root Iced Tea
Kialuea Sandwich
Cinnamon Bun
Seaside Shrimp Pizza
Fresh Fish Tacos
"Koho" Poke
Blackened Ahi Bruschetta
Croissant Sandwich With Eggs
Macadamia Crusted Fresh Catch
Bacon Cheeseburger
Crèam Brûlèe

Island Lava Java Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Hawaii
Great for Brunch
Hawaii
Great for Lunch
Hawaii
9 More
Outdoor Dining
Hawaii
Contemporary American
Hawaii
Best Overall
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Food
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Ambiance
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Value
Hawaii / Big Island
Neighborhood Gem
Hawaii / Big Island
Outdoor Dining
Hawaii / Big Island
Scenic View
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Restaurants in Kailua-Kona ›

great for outdoor dining (54)
scenic view (53)
great for brunch (45)
See All
great for lunch (34)
neighborhood gem (30)
fit for foodies (25)
kid-friendly (18)
special occasion (17)
romantic (16)
hot spot (14)
good for groups (13)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wife did not like the birds with outside ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wife did not like the birds with outside seating. Food and service were fine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here everyday...sometimes twice a d ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Went here everyday...sometimes twice a day while vacation with the family. Great coffee drinks, food and sweet treats. View of the ocean is spectacular!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Server ignored us. Food items not brough ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Server ignored us. Food items not brought to table in order. Level of concern for our meal & related items being delivered to our table in a timely fashion was nil. Won't be returning to this establishment.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great location with view of the ocean ac ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Great location with view of the ocean across the street, had great live music. The waitress forgot to take off $10 off our bill even though we showed her the discount on our iPhone and we ordered the Portugese sausage but was riven bacon.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Best place for breakfast in Kona. We had ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Best place for breakfast in Kona. We had an ocean front view from our table. Loved the macadamia nut and banana waffles.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Always make a point to stop by Lava Java for breakfast or lunch every time we go to Kona (twice a year) and it never disappoints. If you haven't tried it, its a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful !

Dined on June 2, 2016

Lava Java is one of our favorites when visiting Kona. The staff, especiallyJamie and Karen, are always friendly and helpful. The food is brought out piping hot , and the view is amazing. Our family and friends always buy us gift certificates from Lava Java for our anniversaries. We love this local find.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Good for breakfast or brunch; avoid dinner

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

The Sunday brunch was really good; I would recommend it. However, avoid the dinner. I am not sure what they are serving for "braised short ribs", but it is not short ribs. Neither my wife's dinner nor mine was worth the time or price.

Tags: brunch, child friendly, outdoor eating, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fresh ingredients

Dined on May 29, 2016

Although their entrance appears to be one of regular coffee shop, the quality of food is very high. We appreciated the freshness of their ingredients.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

gorgeous sunset

Dined on May 29, 2016

I met a friend for dinner and enjoyed the gorgeous sunset from our table outside. I had been told that the restaurant was the place to go for great food and to see the sunset. They also said the the waitstaff were really friendly. They were right on-everything was perfect. The waitress was a lot of fun and the food was great! Add the sunset and it was a perfect night!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The scene was outstanding, the service w ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The scene was outstanding, the service was good, the food was well done, and the music was enjoyable. Friends and tourists will have no problem finding.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

My Husband & I ate there last night & li ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

My Husband & I ate there last night & like always it was amazing. Food is fantastic & service is even better.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great view, even better food.

Dined on May 22, 2016

The view from the outside patio is amazing, but the food surpasses it. The special was delicious and every penny. The menu has enough to please anyone. The only issue for us was the proximity of those walking by on the sidewalk.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

must go

Dined on May 18, 2016

A great little spot that surprises with excellent food, coffee, and desserts. And the view just makes it better. The servers are awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Food!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Their menu is outstanding! Everything they cook, is healthy and fresh. My only complaint is we always reserve the Tree House table, and twice now - our table is given to another party. We arrive 5-10 mins. Early because of this error. But the staff is kind, and you can't be angry. One time they not only gave our table away, but they Also forgot to hand in our order. They did give us a small credit. So, they try.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Awesome view, good coffee and great breakfast.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great spot for good coffee, and one of the better breakfast spots wee found in Kona. Coffe is a bit over priced but you are paying for the amazing view. People were very nice and place is busy. Booking on open table worked great!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful fresh juice and yummy breakfas ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful fresh juice and yummy breakfast , both savory and sweet

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Our favorite neighborhood restaurant.

Dined on April 16, 2016

We always reserve the "Tree House", our favorite table. Although our table had been doubled booked, we happen to be early for our reservation, and were given priority. Well, the next party who arrived shortly after we did, was told of the double booking & was not happy, to say the least. The restaurant apologized, they left. On same visit, the waitress had a glitch with the computer and we waited 45 minutes before we were actually served. Their computer didn't even show our order. What a day! The restaurant apologizes once more, gives us % off our entire bill and gave us some cookies, too! My point is, this is Hawaii.... Relax, things happen! And, Lava Java Bistro is an excellent asset to our community! Mahalo, Lava Java for your patience, too!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The best breakfast in my Kona visit!👍🏼

Dined on April 10, 2016

The best breakfast in my Kona visit!👍🏼

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice Meal with a View

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I had a pleasant dinner at the Island Lava Java. The place is located near the beach so there is nice ocean view. There was also nice live entertainment when we were there to add to the ambiance. I had the Chef’s Fresh Catch, which was an excellent Ono.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to Satisfy

Dined on April 7, 2016

I've been coming here for decades, but don't usually write a review. I love LavaJava for breakfast, lunch, dinner and more. The flat cinnamon buns are terrific, and need to be shared with another person. Breakfasts are my favorite, and the wait staff takes care of everything I need. Keep it up!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great casual lunch spot

Dined on March 25, 2016

Stopped here for lunch and the food was fantastic! It's a funky little neighborhood place on the waterfront. Not fancy at all, flip-flops and shorts welcome. Nice outdoor seating and staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best on the Alii strip

Dined on March 20, 2016

Perfect location with the best staff anywhere in the world. Great food, and the best fish tacos I have ever found.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on March 20, 2016

We love lava Java. Great for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Best Breakfast in Kailua-Kona

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Went for breakfast and coffee here almost every day on our vacation. Love this place!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner

Dined on March 10, 2016

Our last night in the islands and the meal was perfect. Food was terrific and the service was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our very most favorite pl ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

This is one of our very most favorite places. This time we were seated quickly, informed that the food may take a bit longer due to unplanned staffing issue in the kitchen. The meals were quick, presentation was pretty, and the views cannot be beat. Very attentive service as well.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A good choice of menu and a fantastic ocean view

Dined on March 8, 2016

This is my favorite breakfast place in Kona where I know I can always go and have a good meal with a nice choice of food items. The view of the ocean and Alii Drive and the shoppers strolling about is hard to beat. Sometimes I am greeted with live music and other times I just enjoy my companions or the hustle and bustle around me. It is always a treat and I look forward to my visits. This day i met two others and we sat and had nice conversation. The service was slower than usual this day in that it was very crowded and there was a new waitress in training. We were not rushed to leave and had an enjoyable time catching up. The food was good as always. I used Open Table this visit which I had not done before, I'm glad I did because I got seated immediately upon arrival.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and wonderful staff

Dined on March 3, 2016

This is my favorite place to eat in Kona,HI. They have the best coffee, food and pastries. We love to have dinner there and watch the sunset. The entire staff is super friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Don't bother making a reservation

Dined on February 29, 2016

I made a reservation here two weeks in advance. When we arrived, the host didn't say anything at all, grabbed two menus and sat us at a table with an ocean view obstructed by another table. When I told him my name and that we had a reservation, he said he thought the couple sitting in front of us was my party of two with the reservation. He didn't make any attempt to fix the situation or apologize for not greeting us or mixing up the seating. Aside from that the food was overpriced for what we got.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Real home cooking!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Food always freshly made, not heated in a microwave!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Lovely spot overlooking the ocean in Kailua-Kona

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Island Lava Java manages to be relatively quiet and laid back in the middle of the Kailua-Kona strip. The food is very good, and the servers are friendly and helpful. BYOB and they will open and pour for you with no charge. We sat outside at a candlelit table and enjoyed a great view of the ocean, lovely Hawaiian live music, and delicious food. We ate breakfast there a couple of days before, and that was equally enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Very good food and service, but it's all ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Very good food and service, but it's all about the view! Sunday Brunch menu is limited compared to their usual lunch menu.

food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Horrible

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

This was just a disaster. The host had know idea what he was doing. There were several tables reserved yet he had know idea which tables belonged to whom. Our waitress could have cared less about us. She pretty much ignored us once she took our order. We had a 10 yr old with us and she forgot to place his order. Salad course was served at the same time as the entree.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful meal here. Beautiful ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Always a wonderful meal here. Beautiful view and delicious food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lava Java on Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food any meal time! Reserved for a group of 6 on Valentine's Day, minor wait as place was packed but it was well worth it. Great table set up on grassy area in front of restaurant overlooking the ocean! Just remember to bring your own wine. Lava Java moving a few buildings south of original spot to accommodate even more clients. Thanks for the great time! Walter & Helen Lima

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant, great value!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our favorite restaurant when we are in Kona. Great location , good food, great service, overall a really good experience. No liquor licence but you can bring your own wine and they will provide the glasses, a win win!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The oceanfront cafe was perfect for brea ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The oceanfront cafe was perfect for breakfast. We couldn't have been more pleased with the Kona coffee and our eggs and sausage!

food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Dave

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

What a find,outside side walk tables Looking directly across Ali'i Drive from the blue Pacific Ocean , great food, service is very good and the nightly music makes a perfect dinner. The fresh catch is out of this world . A must if you're in Kailua/Kona town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best in Kona

Dined on February 9, 2016

By far the best place for breakfast lunch and dinner. I stop by most mornings just for coffee. EXCELLENT staff!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.