Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Island Lava Java Bistro

Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. You will feel relaxed while you enjoy our food and drinks in a casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants, bar and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!
Full Bar, Great Wine list

75-5801 Ali'i Dr.
Kailua, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 6:30am - 5:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Palani

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 327-2161

Website:
http://www.islandlavajava.com/

Entertainment:
Live Hawaiian & acoustic music, mornings, weekends & evenings

Catering:
Delicious hot or cold options. Order from one of our menus or work with our chef to create a catering event specific to your taste!

Parking Details:
Free parking for our customers in the Coconut Grove Marketplace

Public Transit:
Public bus stop 300 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Jason Nigro and Trevor Buffington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Island Lava Java Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (13)
Waterfront (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
See All
Casual (10)
People Watching (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Live Music (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Healthy (4)
Romantic (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort by
S
512 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant, food, and service. Only complaint is being seated as far back from ocean view as humanly possible. Restaurant was not terribly busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome! Great new location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Island Lava Java is a great place to have a reasonably priced bacon cheese burger for lunch and watch the waves crashing into the coast right on the other side of Alii Drive.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2018

this was disappointing. the restaurant was recommended by a high end hotel. not consistent with the quality of the hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Great place and a new location. I like their old menu with the Loco Moco better though. Great to have more space and parking.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Absolutely loved this restaurant, could not recommend it any higher, we were staying in kona for one week and found this gem through yelp-we had breakfast every morning here and then dinner also on our last night, 10/10, food, staff, location-every visit was fantastic!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 4, 2018

We go to Island Lava Java a lot. It never disappoints. We love the new building. Especially upstairs so that we have a view & are not surrounded by a lot of people.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2018

It took 33 minutes to get a round of cocktails after we sat down. Then my dinner arrived 12 minutes after everyone else was served. A pork chop for dessert was certainly unique

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Waitress seemed confused. Chicken on salad was inedible. Rest of food was subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Dinner here was our first meal in Hawaii, and the location couldn't have been more perfect! We had a table right at the edge of the patio for a stunning view on the sunset.
The cocktails were unique and delicious. The fish tacos were fresh and perfectly cooked. The fries were a bit cold, but both the tacos and my husband' prawn pizza were hot, so it seemed they plated the fries a little too early. But since we were dining on New Years Eve and the restaurant was packed, it wasn't a big deal. The pineapple mango lime cheesecake was light, fruity but not overpowering, and delicious!
It was loud, and they had live music on both the main floor and the second floor. From where we were sitting, we could hear both singers so it was hard to listen to just one. I don't know if that's a normal situation or if it was for New Year's Eve.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We had a nice time but they don't have their operation wired. The hostess mentioned her iPad died so she didn't have our reservation in front of her (but we did get a table right away) and the waitress was very nice but slow (overheard that she answered the phone, which put her behind.) A nice touch was a candle in the dessert for my son's birthday & the latte I ordered at the end (though I had to wait ages for it, with the waitress apologizing) was delicious!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Yummy food and great service for the first breakfast of our vacation.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

It took an hour to get our meal to the table. I had an empty water glass for a long time, and had to ask for water finally. The fish was overcooked and tasted like plastic. The sauce for the fish and asparagus was too sweet - tasted like it should be on a donut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Great Bellini and breakfast, roasted veggies omlette and half a papaya (w/lemon)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

I have visited Kona once or twice a year for the past 13 years.
My husband is a flight attendant and when he had a kona layover I jumped in it.
We both were excited for our usual breakfast at Lava Java. We ventured over to where the restaurant was and we discovered it had moved a half a block south.
Great new location, more of a restaurant now than a coffee shop.
So what had us both down is apparently quite a bit changed with their location.
The island style pancakes that use to have macadamia nuts in the pancakes now just had them sprinkled sparsely ontop, the coconut syrup was just sweet and didn't taste much like coconut as it has before.
My husband had a breakfast with the breakfast potatoes.
He use to hate potatoes for breakfast but many years ago java lava changed his mind. Today they didn't have rosemary on them and were just tasteless.

The bacon which has in the past been thick cut, has turned into Denny's bacon.

So apparently the recipes also changed along with a new address.... very sad.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Loved sitting under moonlight, palm trees, and tiki torches, and of course, the great ocean view. Great service and good food as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Good coffee drinks!
Pull aparts are fantastic.

For Breakfast lava java is our prefered choice in Kona.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Scenic View, Casual, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2017

The sea view is spectacular. The location is central to many shops and points of interest inn Kona. We were there Christmas Day afternoon. The vibe was festive and happy hours menu very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Christmas Eve
Service very poor
Waited super long to order then pupu came, then dinner then drink
Then waited a long time even for bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

クリスマスイブなのに空いていた。
ハンバーガーはボリュームがあり美味しかった。
地元のお客もハンバーガーをオーダーしている人が多かった。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Very nice. Great staff. Food was delicious. Will go back

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2017

“New”location is even better than the old. Great views; lots of outside dining and the floor is level! Pork chop was outstanding.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

Our lunch was delicious. The view spectacular here in Kailua-Kona, HI!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 12, 2017

This was our first tim eating at Island Lava Java in its new location. WE had a great view of the sunset, the fresh fish was great as was the ribs and the wait staff was very accommodating when I wanted to order a Keeki pizza from the kids menu. We'll be back & will bring friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

Our first time to have dinner at the new location for Island Lava Java Bistro, and we sure enjoyed it! Had hoped for an upstairs table, but not enough servers to accommodate it, according to the hostess. Food was delicious, well-priced, and we'll for sure be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2017

The atmosphere is really nice, sunset dining experience. Hostess appeared to be in a “Happy Mood” when we approached and talked to her.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Enjoyed fresh omlettes and macadamia nut banana pancakes with coconut syrup. Live music was fantastic!!! Loved the mimosas and kona coffee.

Tags: Live Music, Healthy, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 20, 2017

Such a lovely view, great people watching. Staff was friendly and helpful. Macadamia nut pancakes were a disappointment. I might try LJB again next time and order something different. Handicap ramp was inaccessible from handicap parking due to construction next door. This was a real issue for us.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

LOVE the new location! Excellent service. The food, as well as the coffee, were delicious! We dine at Lava Java each time we visit Kona.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Scenic View, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Rather underwhelming we thought! So many other very good restaurant's, will not go back anytime soon, need to get their act together!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

The view is fantatsic, despite the utility lines (upper deck issue only). Restaurant space is also beautiful in its aesthetic--use of woods and mats for laid back elegance in local style. Price for the place was surprisingly reasonable (Hawaii and waterfront). Food ideas are very good; some improvement needed in execution.
Note: breakfast menu orders cease at 11:15 and lunch orders can't be put in till 11:30, so if you arrive in that window, be prepared to wait. We didn't know this and were VERY hungry for breakfast/brunch. And even though we were seated and server came to us and explained this at 11:11, neither the hostess or server offered to give us a breakfast menu and get our order in at the bell.
Also, we made reservation through online Open Table and got confirmation; restaurant didn't have notice of it. However they happily seated us anyway and it was not a problem with space. We still had outdoor at railing table.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Island Lava Java Bistro, always a favorite, high quality ingredients and friendly atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2017

We have been here many times over the past several years and noticed that food and service has been steadily declining. We waited almost an hour for our appetizer and had the bidder find our server as she never came back to refill our drinks. The appetizer was actually very good, but told that the kitchen was slammed and that is why it took so long, they were maybe half full.

Then my fish entree was completely overcooked and instead of offering a discount we received a free dessert. Which is of course better than nothing but doesn't really make up for the $30 I wasted, the green beans were tasty though.

I might recommend coming for breakfast or lunch, they are polite and have the ability to serve good food but are getting neglectful in service and letting the food slip as well. I can no longer recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Well,it happened again... A very good restaurant loses its place to greed. After moving to a new fancy location next door from it’s great outdoor location... to pay for the higher rent they increased their prices a lot, however the quality of the food went way down....
I had the South point pork chop which has always
been a great meal and high quality meat...not anymore....it was tough as leather they must have ran that pig all the way from South Point to
Kailua /Kona couldn’t even chew it....or finish it.
The service also went down.... When we got there it wasn’t very busy and got a table right away but waited 20 mins. before we even got water from the bus boy took another 5 mins to even see the server..
And another 15 min to get drinks and another 20 to get our food.... that I couldn’t even eat!!!
To their credit they did keep the live music in Bobby G. very nice to listen to while wait to order and get our food......
too bad a very successful restaurant had to get greedy I guess it all amount the money...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Great breakfast space - tasty food - delicious fresh squeezed juices!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

After a day of sightseeing and the beach, we enjoyed a drink and appetizers. Sitting outside we could see the ocean and sunset, beautiful. Our dinners were great and there was live music too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Live Music, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great service, extremely friendly staff and the food was delicious! We went for brunch; make sure you try the pancakes - YUM! Also, enjoyed live music with a perfect view of the ocean.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great place - great location - and can't wait for the upstairs to become available-

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great time! Delicious foods, Good atmosphere, Live music, Kind staffs~
Wonderful time to my family!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Our server Michael was awesome. Fast and efficient service as well as friendly. I recommend sitting in his section or at the bar with Jessica if everyone is of age. Will be back for sure! My three year old loves it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.