About Island Lava Java Bistro

75-5799 Ali'i Dr.
Kailua, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. We proudly feature grass fed Big Island Beef, Big Island organic goat cheese and locally grown organic produce, freshly baked house made breads, desserts & goodies.

Island Lava Java, Bistro Grill is Kona's #1 Coffee House and Restaurant. We were voted to have the "Best Breakfast in Kona" by the readers of the West Hawaii Today. Island Lava Java Bistro & Grill's Island fare is inspired by everyday island cooking. You'll feel relaxed while savoring a great meal in our casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 6:30am - 5:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Palani

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 327-2161

Website:
http://www.islandlavajava.com/

Entertainment:
Live Hawaiian & acoustic music, weekends & evenings

Catering:
Delicious hot or cold options. Order from one of our menus or work with our chef to create a catering event specific to your taste!

Parking Details:
Free parking for our customers in the Ali'i Sunset Plaza.

Public Transit:
Public bus stop 300 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Johnny Loua

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Island Lava Java Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
People Watching (16)
See All
Casual (14)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Scenic View (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (7)
Family Style (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Live Music (6)
Romantic (5)
Healthy (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The fish was very fresh and delicious . ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The fish was very fresh and delicious . I loved the waterfront view. The guitarist was excellent and provided wonderful background music. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Make a reservation, there is always a w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Make a reservation, there is always a wait for breakfast. The food and view are excellent! A great start to vacation or any day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite place to go when on th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always a favorite place to go when on the Big Island. Great food and fabulous view. I would recommend reservations, even for breakfast.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront, People Watching, Casual, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Ocean view were great. However ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food and Ocean view were great. However, the server was not present after the order. Had to get hostess to pay bill. No refills offered.

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

The fresh catch fish with macadamia nut ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The fresh catch fish with macadamia nut crust was really good but we unfortunately had very poor service. Did not fill the water once or ask how the meal was, which was unfortunate for us because my friend asked for her burger with no onion and it was supposed to come with bacon. It had lots of onion but no bacon. But since no one came to check on us it was too late to fix it. No apology and no discount in the mistake.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Food and service were great. Prices reas ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food and service were great. Prices reasonable. We booked via open table and had no issues with on time reservations and a special request to sit near the water. The pancakes were great and we also had a breakfast sandwich which was good as well. Service was attentive and the white table clothes were a nice touch. I would recommend it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends recommended this place in Kona. ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Friends recommended this place in Kona. It was small but did a great job of getting people in & out. Breakfast was really good & the wait staff was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my favorite place to take out of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This is my favorite place to take out of town guests for coffee and breakfast. The food is great and sitting bt the ocean watching the waves is an added treat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You don't expect this level of food from ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 24, 2017

You don't expect this level of food from a coffee house but the dinners were excellent and you can't beat the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We would have left as service was so poo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We would have left as service was so poor from the get go but we were enjoying sunset & wine. We were also hopeful service would improve, it did not. Very disappointed in lava java.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great atmosphere, wonderful hawaiian mus ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great atmosphere, wonderful hawaiian music..

Ono salads and fish tacos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants for break ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 16, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants for breakfast! Cool breezes, lovely local music and a live show courtesy of the Ocean!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Lava Java is the goto place along the Ka ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Lava Java is the goto place along the Kailua-Kona strip. We had breakfast several times, and an acai bowl with a 16oz Kona coffee (black) overlooking the surf are a great way to start the day. We also had 2 evening meals there as well and were pleased by the food and entertainment. They don't serve alcohol, but welcome you to BYO with no corkage charge.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Lava Java is the one constant in Kona; s ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Lava Java is the one constant in Kona; so many changes here but Lava Java is the same. Excellent food and we appreciate being able to bring our own wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are 2 branches.The Java Lava in W ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

There are 2 branches.The Java Lava in Waikoloa village is fresh, tasty,good and friendly and I would recommend.

This restaurant is crowded,difficultparking.The ahi tacos were over cooked and came with no salsa or anything at all including dressing on the salad.

The only thing positive is the view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Food was good. Service was much slower t ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was good. Service was much slower than previously experienced. Still very enjoyable to be able to watch the sunset, eat leisurely, and enjoy live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had 2 laid back and delicious breakfa ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had 2 laid back and delicious breakfasts at the Lava. Excellent value, great service, really very nice and hard working staff. Very friendly, warm and attentive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Big burgers- lots of food. We live off ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Big burgers- lots of food.

We live off island, so we are not used to paying so much for a hamburger dinner, with no alcohol.

Tags: Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Great breakfast with awesome view of the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great breakfast with awesome view of the Pacific. I made a reservation for 0930 and upon arrival hostess had just seen it. Our name was added to the list and still had to remind her after another 20 minutes. We did receive some complimentary juice for their mistake.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been several times before on prev ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had been several times before on previous visits to Kona. We were greatly disappointed with the food. My wife had a vegetarian risotto that we had to send back as it was highly salted and way too peppery. The replacement was still far too salty. I ordered a braise beef rib and it was salty, fatty and was grey looking . The food when we went was a real disappointment and we will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

When we arrived, there was a line for wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When we arrived, there was a line for walk ups and a 35 to 45 minute wait. When we showed the hostess our Open Table reservation, we were seated immediately and at a table in the shade with a great view of the water.

The service and the food was amazing with some unique menu items. One hint, if you see something you like in the display case, get it right then and there. We had our eye on some muffin choices, but we waited until after our meal to buy, and they were sold out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a 10:30am reservation and we were ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a 10:30am reservation and we were on time. We were seated around 10:45am. Our waitress came around 10 min later to take our order. We got our food around 11:30 but no drinks and no follow up from waitress to see if we needed anything. I went looking for our waitress and found her behind the bar. I asked her for our drinks (Iced tea & kona coffee) She said she would find our waitress and send her over. I told her she was our waitress. She said she was no longer on the floor and would send someone over. I sat down and a few minutes later another waitress came over and asked what we needed. We told her what our drinks were and I also told her my turkey sandwich was very dry and please get me some mayonnaise. Our drinks came a few minutes later and mayonnaise a few minutes after that. My husbands burger was good but both of our fries were barely warm. Overall food was ok, service was horrible, view is great!

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

BYOB. Lovely selection of inventive and ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

BYOB. Lovely selection of inventive and locally sourced dishes, but no one in party of 8 experienced anything very exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, good portions

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food, good portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank goodness for Open Table! We had b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Thank goodness for Open Table! We had breakfast reservations for Christmas morning and there was at least a 1 hour wait, but we were seated at a reserved table immediately. Good for, I had the triple berry waffle and it was excellent. Coffee is pure Kona and wonderful. It is across the street from the beach, but there is ample parking behind the restaurant. Recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Quick Bite, People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Three of us went for dinner. The servic ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Three of us went for dinner. The service was very slow. We were slightly disappointed that no alcohol was served at dinner. Realized we could have brought our own wine but we didn't know that ahead of time. However, the food was delicious. Especially the macadamia crusted ono. We sat right out along the walkway with a view to the waves just across the street. Overall it was a pleasant evening.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We've eaten here the last 2 times in Kon ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We've eaten here the last 2 times in Kona - for Christmas Eve dinner. Fabulous food and close to the condo we stay in. Great breakfast, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made a reservation using open table, arr ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Made a reservation using open table, arrived early and checked in. Got a great table. Eggs Benedict on a croissant was wonderful, the Hollandase excellent. Great coffee. Lovely view of the ocean from the seating. A Hawaiian musician played a guitar and sang. Great ambiance for Christmas Eve morning breakfast treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for brunch, ocean viewing, a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great place for brunch, ocean viewing, and people watching!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. Friendly service. Delicious ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great place. Friendly service. Delicious food. BYOB, with no corkage fee.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it. Great meal and fast service wit ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Love it. Great meal and fast service with an awesome view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great little bistro, menu was not too la ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great little bistro, menu was not too large, however good variety available to suit most guests. Good quality food at reasonable prices. Both servers were attentive and knew the menu, recommending menu items. Will definitely return when we re-visit Kona.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Healthy, Scenic View, , Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My visit was my first time but definitel ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 14, 2016

My visit was my first time but definitely not my last. I can't wait until they get into their new place! It will give them a lot more room. The staff was excellent! Very friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, People Watching, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We truly love Lava Java and make it a po ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We truly love Lava Java and make it a point to come at least several times during our stay on the big island. It is always great seeing our favorite servers again and the breakfasts are amazing. Island style pancakes with bananas and macadamia nuts , served with coconut syrup will be our choice tomorrow as we just had the yummy big island basic , along with their famous cinnamon pull apart. Try one and you will be hooked ! Another wonderful meal with the best view in town, Mahalo Lava Java

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another lovely breakfast at our favorite ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Another lovely breakfast at our favorite spot in Kona, Lava Java.We were seated by a lovely girl, Jenny. Sad to hear that our usual server Jamie had left but felt very much at home, Karen is still there.The island pancakes are to die for and the quick service, hot kona coffee and aloha spirit felt there , will keep us coming back again and again. Can't wait to see the new place ! Mahalo,the Phillips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and a fantastic view o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent service and a fantastic view of the sunset in Kona!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our last meal in Hawaii before heading b ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our last meal in Hawaii before heading back to the mainland. Great food and service, especially for it being Thanksgiving - I was concerned that quality and service would suffer; it didn't, they delivered. We will definitely be dining here again the next time we're in Kailua.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food, great service and live m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very good food, great service and live music was great !!

Can't beat it ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed the Island Pancakes. This was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We enjoyed the Island Pancakes. This was two pancakes with bananas and macadamia nuts. In addition, there was a side of Portuguese sausage. All was excellent. There was a live ukulele player on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great view of sunsets and the evening su ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great view of sunsets and the evening surf.Just ignore the traffic.

Tags: Organic, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.