About Island Lava Java Bistro

75-5799 Ali'i Dr.
Kailua, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. We proudly feature grass fed Big Island Beef, Big Island organic goat cheese and locally grown organic produce, freshly baked house made breads, desserts & goodies.

Island Lava Java, Bistro Grill is Kona's #1 Coffee House and Restaurant. We were voted to have the "Best Breakfast in Kona" by the readers of the West Hawaii Today. Island Lava Java Bistro & Grill's Island fare is inspired by everyday island cooking. You'll feel relaxed while savoring a great meal in our casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 6:30am - 5:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Palani

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 327-2161

Website:
http://www.islandlavajava.com/

Entertainment:
Live Hawaiian & acoustic music, weekends & evenings

Catering:
Delicious hot or cold options. Order from one of our menus or work with our chef to create a catering event specific to your taste!

Parking Details:
Free parking for our customers in the Ali'i Sunset Plaza.

Public Transit:
Public bus stop 300 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Johnny Loua

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

"Island Style" Pancakes - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Big Kahuna Fish Breakfast - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Luau Omelette - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Island Style Waffles - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Cafe au lait - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Waipio Stack Breakfast - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Vegetable omelette with fresh fruit - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Carrot Cake - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Island Omelette With Kalua Pork And Pineapple - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Guava Bbq Pork Ribs - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Ahi Poke Wrap - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Papaya with granola and yogurt - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Passionfruit Tart With Meringue - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Ham and Cheese croissant - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Giant Cinnamon Roll - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Kona coffee - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Big Island Beet Salad - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Ali'i Chicken Sandwich - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Cinnamon Rolls - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Oatmeal Brulee - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Drag It Through The Garden Sandwich  - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Papaya with Yogurt and Honey - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Latte - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Island Lava Java's Fresh Fish Tacos - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Fresh Island Fish Sandwich - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Guava Bbq Pulled Pork Sandwich - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Toast - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Kialuea Sandwich  - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Ginger Root Iced Tea  - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Cinnamon Bun - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Seaside Shrimp Pizza - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
"Koho" Poke - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Fresh Fish Tacos - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Blackened Ahi Bruschetta - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Croissant Sandwich With Eggs - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Bacon Cheeseburger - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Crèam Brûlèe - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI
Macadamia Crusted Fresh Catch - Island Lava Java Bistro, Kailua, HI

Island Lava Java Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Scenic View (12)
See All
People Watching (11)
Waterfront (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fun (6)
Family Style (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Romantic (5)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Live Music (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Cozy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lava Java is the goto place along the Ka ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Lava Java is the goto place along the Kailua-Kona strip. We had breakfast several times, and an acai bowl with a 16oz Kona coffee (black) overlooking the surf are a great way to start the day. We also had 2 evening meals there as well and were pleased by the food and entertainment. They don't serve alcohol, but welcome you to BYO with no corkage charge.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Lava Java is the one constant in Kona; s ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Lava Java is the one constant in Kona; so many changes here but Lava Java is the same. Excellent food and we appreciate being able to bring our own wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are 2 branches.The Java Lava in W ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

There are 2 branches.The Java Lava in Waikoloa village is fresh, tasty,good and friendly and I would recommend.

This restaurant is crowded,difficultparking.The ahi tacos were over cooked and came with no salsa or anything at all including dressing on the salad.

The only thing positive is the view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Food was good. Service was much slower t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was good. Service was much slower than previously experienced. Still very enjoyable to be able to watch the sunset, eat leisurely, and enjoy live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had 2 laid back and delicious breakfa ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had 2 laid back and delicious breakfasts at the Lava. Excellent value, great service, really very nice and hard working staff. Very friendly, warm and attentive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Big burgers- lots of food. We live off ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Big burgers- lots of food.

We live off island, so we are not used to paying so much for a hamburger dinner, with no alcohol.

Tags: Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Great breakfast with awesome view of the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great breakfast with awesome view of the Pacific. I made a reservation for 0930 and upon arrival hostess had just seen it. Our name was added to the list and still had to remind her after another 20 minutes. We did receive some complimentary juice for their mistake.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been several times before on prev ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had been several times before on previous visits to Kona. We were greatly disappointed with the food. My wife had a vegetarian risotto that we had to send back as it was highly salted and way too peppery. The replacement was still far too salty. I ordered a braise beef rib and it was salty, fatty and was grey looking . The food when we went was a real disappointment and we will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

When we arrived, there was a line for wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When we arrived, there was a line for walk ups and a 35 to 45 minute wait. When we showed the hostess our Open Table reservation, we were seated immediately and at a table in the shade with a great view of the water.

The service and the food was amazing with some unique menu items. One hint, if you see something you like in the display case, get it right then and there. We had our eye on some muffin choices, but we waited until after our meal to buy, and they were sold out.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a 10:30am reservation and we were ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a 10:30am reservation and we were on time. We were seated around 10:45am. Our waitress came around 10 min later to take our order. We got our food around 11:30 but no drinks and no follow up from waitress to see if we needed anything. I went looking for our waitress and found her behind the bar. I asked her for our drinks (Iced tea & kona coffee) She said she would find our waitress and send her over. I told her she was our waitress. She said she was no longer on the floor and would send someone over. I sat down and a few minutes later another waitress came over and asked what we needed. We told her what our drinks were and I also told her my turkey sandwich was very dry and please get me some mayonnaise. Our drinks came a few minutes later and mayonnaise a few minutes after that. My husbands burger was good but both of our fries were barely warm. Overall food was ok, service was horrible, view is great!

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

BYOB. Lovely selection of inventive and ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

BYOB. Lovely selection of inventive and locally sourced dishes, but no one in party of 8 experienced anything very exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, good portions

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food, good portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank goodness for Open Table! We had b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Thank goodness for Open Table! We had breakfast reservations for Christmas morning and there was at least a 1 hour wait, but we were seated at a reserved table immediately. Good for, I had the triple berry waffle and it was excellent. Coffee is pure Kona and wonderful. It is across the street from the beach, but there is ample parking behind the restaurant. Recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Quick Bite, People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Three of us went for dinner. The servic ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Three of us went for dinner. The service was very slow. We were slightly disappointed that no alcohol was served at dinner. Realized we could have brought our own wine but we didn't know that ahead of time. However, the food was delicious. Especially the macadamia crusted ono. We sat right out along the walkway with a view to the waves just across the street. Overall it was a pleasant evening.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We've eaten here the last 2 times in Kon ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We've eaten here the last 2 times in Kona - for Christmas Eve dinner. Fabulous food and close to the condo we stay in. Great breakfast, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made a reservation using open table, arr ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Made a reservation using open table, arrived early and checked in. Got a great table. Eggs Benedict on a croissant was wonderful, the Hollandase excellent. Great coffee. Lovely view of the ocean from the seating. A Hawaiian musician played a guitar and sang. Great ambiance for Christmas Eve morning breakfast treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for brunch, ocean viewing, a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great place for brunch, ocean viewing, and people watching!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. Friendly service. Delicious ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great place. Friendly service. Delicious food. BYOB, with no corkage fee.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it. Great meal and fast service wit ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Love it. Great meal and fast service with an awesome view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great little bistro, menu was not too la ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great little bistro, menu was not too large, however good variety available to suit most guests. Good quality food at reasonable prices. Both servers were attentive and knew the menu, recommending menu items. Will definitely return when we re-visit Kona.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Healthy, Scenic View, , Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My visit was my first time but definitel ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 14, 2016

My visit was my first time but definitely not my last. I can't wait until they get into their new place! It will give them a lot more room. The staff was excellent! Very friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, People Watching, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We truly love Lava Java and make it a po ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We truly love Lava Java and make it a point to come at least several times during our stay on the big island. It is always great seeing our favorite servers again and the breakfasts are amazing. Island style pancakes with bananas and macadamia nuts , served with coconut syrup will be our choice tomorrow as we just had the yummy big island basic , along with their famous cinnamon pull apart. Try one and you will be hooked ! Another wonderful meal with the best view in town, Mahalo Lava Java

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another lovely breakfast at our favorite ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Another lovely breakfast at our favorite spot in Kona, Lava Java.We were seated by a lovely girl, Jenny. Sad to hear that our usual server Jamie had left but felt very much at home, Karen is still there.The island pancakes are to die for and the quick service, hot kona coffee and aloha spirit felt there , will keep us coming back again and again. Can't wait to see the new place ! Mahalo,the Phillips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and a fantastic view o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent service and a fantastic view of the sunset in Kona!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our last meal in Hawaii before heading b ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our last meal in Hawaii before heading back to the mainland. Great food and service, especially for it being Thanksgiving - I was concerned that quality and service would suffer; it didn't, they delivered. We will definitely be dining here again the next time we're in Kailua.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food, great service and live m ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very good food, great service and live music was great !!

Can't beat it ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed the Island Pancakes. This was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We enjoyed the Island Pancakes. This was two pancakes with bananas and macadamia nuts. In addition, there was a side of Portuguese sausage. All was excellent. There was a live ukulele player on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great view of sunsets and the evening su ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great view of sunsets and the evening surf.Just ignore the traffic.

Tags: Organic, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We started our spiritual retreat with a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We started our spiritual retreat with a dinner for 9 people. I love the views, the service. The food had changed quite a bit since last time I was there - in 2012. It did not have the presentation it used to, the passion was kind of gone. The pizza which I loved (vegetarian) was dry and sticky. But the sunset was priceless. Service was super good too. I loved that the table was ready and we could do separate bills and we were not forced to do 20% of gratuity what many places around Alii Drive do - which often times feels like a little punishment for bringing many people over...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very Good. Seats out front ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was very Good. Seats out front over looking the water at sunset was nice. They don't serve alcohol, so if your wanting a drink with your meal, not your place. Our issue was service. Glasses were never refilled, and we had to finally ask for our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We go there and the table was so my wife ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We go there and the table was so my wife asked for a rag and cleaned the table.

We waited about seven minutes before we went to order and the server asked us to take a seat and i told her that we have been waiting and i showed her where we sat.

I ordered my food and it is not what ordered because it was missing half its order

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Island Lava Java, is our favorite. Havin ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Island Lava Java, is our favorite. Having lived on island for over 15 years, this is the best place for good food, great location, good prices and a great staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mac, banana pancakes with coconut sy ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The mac, banana pancakes with coconut syrup are delish. They were kind enough to sub the pork options for a turkey option. You'll have lots of company from the nearby birds that flock to this awesome little diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent! We didn't have ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food was excellent! We didn't have to wait long on the food. The servers were exceptionally nice. The view of watching the sun set behind the ocean was awesome! I would definitely go back. It's like a family atmosphere. A great place to get good food and meet nice people.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun, , Disabled Access, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is awesome

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The view is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Always love lava Java!

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Always love lava Java!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience at Lava Java Bistr ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our dining experience at Lava Java Bistro was very enjoyable. It was relaxing to see and hear the waves crashing on shore, and we found this to be a great spot for people watching as well. We especially loved the live music. Ample free parking in the lot behind the shopping center was definitely appreciated. Overall - good food and fun place to hang out!

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, People Watching, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went twice with our large family, sp ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went twice with our large family, spending over 200.00 and did not get any points. Very disappointed... Why is it an Open Table Restaurant if we don't earn points?!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

When we arrived, even though we had a re ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 13, 2016

When we arrived, even though we had a reservation, they had no idea we were on any sort of list for reservations. No table was available. After being sat we had a waitress promptly who took our drink and food orders. We never saw her again, not for refills, not for an extra to-go order we wanted to place, not for the bill...nothing. It took ages to get our food...as in over 45 minutes once the order was placed. Keep in mind this was breakfast and one of us ordered eggs while the other had a bagel. No one was rude but that is likely because we never actually spoke to anyone. Once we were ready to leave we had to track down a different waitress and she checked us out. I hope our own waitress is okay and wasn't abducted as she was never seen again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was excellent! There was 4 in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was excellent! There was 4 in our party and each of us had a different entree, boneless short ribs, New York steak, macadamia nut crusted fish (Ono), and pizza. They were all delicious meals, especially the fish. The service was great, very friendly and courteous. We sat inside with an open air area and a perfect view of the ocean right across the street. Even though it rained earlier, it had cleared up and was a very nice atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant. The price was also reasonable. I just wish I would have discovered this place sooner as we leave tomorrow for L.A. I'm sure breakfast or lunch would be great here. I'll be back next time! Aloha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.