About Island Lava Java Bistro

75-5799 Ali'i Dr.
Kailua, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. We proudly feature grass fed Big Island Beef, Big Island organic goat cheese and locally grown organic produce, freshly baked house made breads, desserts & goodies.

Island Lava Java, Bistro Grill is Kona's #1 Coffee House and Restaurant. We were voted to have the "Best Breakfast in Kona" by the readers of the West Hawaii Today. Island Lava Java Bistro & Grill's Island fare is inspired by everyday island cooking. You'll feel relaxed while savoring a great meal in our casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 6:30am - 5:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Palani

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 327-2161

Website:
http://www.islandlavajava.com/

Entertainment:
Live Hawaiian & acoustic music, weekends & evenings

Catering:
Delicious hot or cold options. Order from one of our menus or work with our chef to create a catering event specific to your taste!

Parking Details:
Free parking for our customers in the Ali'i Sunset Plaza.

Public Transit:
Public bus stop 300 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Johnny Loua

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

"Island Style" Pancakes
Luau Omelette
Island Style Waffles
Fresh Island Fish Sandwich
Island Lava Java's Fresh Fish Tacos
Cafe au lait
Waipio Stack Breakfast
Vegetable omelette with fresh fruit
Carrot Cake
Big Kahuna Fish Breakfast
Island Omelette With Kalua Pork And Pineapple
Guava Bbq Pork Ribs
Ahi Poke Wrap
Papaya with granola and yogurt
Passionfruit Tart With Meringue
Ham and Cheese croissant
Giant Cinnamon Roll
Kona coffee
Big Island Beet Salad
Ali'i Chicken Sandwich
Cinnamon Rolls
Oatmeal Brulee
Drag It Through The Garden Sandwich
Papaya with Yogurt and Honey
Latte
Guava Bbq Pulled Pork Sandwich
Toast
Kialuea Sandwich
Ginger Root Iced Tea
Cinnamon Bun
Seaside Shrimp Pizza
"Koho" Poke
Fresh Fish Tacos
Blackened Ahi Bruschetta
Croissant Sandwich With Eggs
Bacon Cheeseburger
Crèam Brûlèe
Macadamia Crusted Fresh Catch

Island Lava Java Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Hawaii
Best Overall
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Food
Hawaii / Big Island
4 More
Best Ambiance
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Value
Hawaii / Big Island
Outdoor Dining
Hawaii / Big Island
Scenic View
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Restaurants in Kailua-Kona ›

Scenic View (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Great for Brunch (30)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Lunch (21)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Special Occasion (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Romantic (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
356 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went twice with our large family, sp ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went twice with our large family, spending over 200.00 and did not get any points. Very disappointed... Why is it an Open Table Restaurant if we don't earn points?!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

When we arrived, even though we had a re ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

When we arrived, even though we had a reservation, they had no idea we were on any sort of list for reservations. No table was available. After being sat we had a waitress promptly who took our drink and food orders. We never saw her again, not for refills, not for an extra to-go order we wanted to place, not for the bill...nothing. It took ages to get our food...as in over 45 minutes once the order was placed. Keep in mind this was breakfast and one of us ordered eggs while the other had a bagel. No one was rude but that is likely because we never actually spoke to anyone. Once we were ready to leave we had to track down a different waitress and she checked us out. I hope our own waitress is okay and wasn't abducted as she was never seen again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was excellent! There was 4 in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was excellent! There was 4 in our party and each of us had a different entree, boneless short ribs, New York steak, macadamia nut crusted fish (Ono), and pizza. They were all delicious meals, especially the fish. The service was great, very friendly and courteous. We sat inside with an open air area and a perfect view of the ocean right across the street. Even though it rained earlier, it had cleared up and was a very nice atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant. The price was also reasonable. I just wish I would have discovered this place sooner as we leave tomorrow for L.A. I'm sure breakfast or lunch would be great here. I'll be back next time! Aloha!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful setting across from the ocean. ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Beautiful setting across from the ocean. Most seating outside is near the sidewalk and Alii Drive, but surprisingly quiet.

Food is tremendous, had Ahi Bruschetta, Ahi poke, and Mac Nut crusted Ono. All dishes were excellent. Lily was our server and she was awesome! Also, no liquor license or corkage, so BYOB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. We go often. Nothing else t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great place. We go often. Nothing else to say, so I'll add the 5o0 characters here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent dinner. Dessert also fabulous. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent dinner. Dessert also fabulous. I've eaten there several times and I believe they have the best dinner selections... at least as good as Huggos. Breakfasts are also excellent and reasonably priced. The only minus is give is that our table was on a slant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything was good but the bathroom key ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was good but the bathroom key was attached to a colander so it was very weird walking to the bathroom with it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lava Java is a great restaurant. The vi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Lava Java is a great restaurant. The view is spectacular and the food is great, but it isn't a great place to hold a meeting. They are used to quick turn-arounds and tourists. We have tried several times to meet there because we love the food and atmosphere, but there just isn't a place we can all (8-12 people) sit comfortably. If the chairs have backs, there's no shade. If we have shade and are able to see each other, we have elderly and handicapped people sitting on backless benches. And usually we are allowed separate checks, but last week for some reason that was denied. Those of us who had plastic instead of cash had to borrow from others. It was awkward.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Rachel was fast and friendly, food was h ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Rachel was fast and friendly, food was hot and excellent flavor at a reasonable cost.The ocean view was amazing!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for breakfast. I had dinner this ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great for breakfast. I had dinner this time. Music was so loud we could not talk to each other. Food was just average - nothing special. Service was not very good. I'd pass on dinner here and only come back for breakfast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Lava Java is one of our favorite places ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Lava Java is one of our favorite places for our weekly gathering. The food and coffee are great, and separate checks for the group is never a problem. We have started making reservations because twice in the past we were told our group was too big and would have to separate. On our last visit the waitress was pretty hard to find. One person finally ordered at the counter and when it was time to leave the rest of us had to hunt down our checks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Lava Java is exceptional!! My favorite r ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Lava Java is exceptional!! My favorite restaurant when visiting the Big Island! Always a pleasure to visit - great food, great service and a spectacular view!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting. Friendly service. Good fo ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great setting. Friendly service. Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the views - great for people watc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Always the views - great for people watching.

Love the with perka you accumulate your free coffee and it does not expire. For us regulars it is pretty neat.

Also nice to see some favorites are still working here (since 10 + years)

The food is still good - not outstanding - but good.

Coffee could be warmer, and most and foremost - substitute the plastic straws with a better option for the environment.

Thank you

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Wife did not like the birds with outside ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wife did not like the birds with outside seating. Food and service were fine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Went here everyday...sometimes twice a d ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went here everyday...sometimes twice a day while vacation with the family. Great coffee drinks, food and sweet treats. View of the ocean is spectacular!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server ignored us. Food items not brough ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Server ignored us. Food items not brought to table in order. Level of concern for our meal & related items being delivered to our table in a timely fashion was nil. Won't be returning to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great location with view of the ocean ac ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great location with view of the ocean across the street, had great live music. The waitress forgot to take off $10 off our bill even though we showed her the discount on our iPhone and we ordered the Portugese sausage but was riven bacon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Best place for breakfast in Kona. We had ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Best place for breakfast in Kona. We had an ocean front view from our table. Loved the macadamia nut and banana waffles.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Never disappoints

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Always make a point to stop by Lava Java for breakfast or lunch every time we go to Kona (twice a year) and it never disappoints. If you haven't tried it, its a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful !

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Lava Java is one of our favorites when visiting Kona. The staff, especiallyJamie and Karen, are always friendly and helpful. The food is brought out piping hot , and the view is amazing. Our family and friends always buy us gift certificates from Lava Java for our anniversaries. We love this local find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good for breakfast or brunch; avoid dinner

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The Sunday brunch was really good; I would recommend it. However, avoid the dinner. I am not sure what they are serving for "braised short ribs", but it is not short ribs. Neither my wife's dinner nor mine was worth the time or price.

Tags: Brunch, Outdoor Eating, Child Friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Fresh ingredients

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Although their entrance appears to be one of regular coffee shop, the quality of food is very high. We appreciated the freshness of their ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

gorgeous sunset

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I met a friend for dinner and enjoyed the gorgeous sunset from our table outside. I had been told that the restaurant was the place to go for great food and to see the sunset. They also said the the waitstaff were really friendly. They were right on-everything was perfect. The waitress was a lot of fun and the food was great! Add the sunset and it was a perfect night!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scene was outstanding, the service w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The scene was outstanding, the service was good, the food was well done, and the music was enjoyable. Friends and tourists will have no problem finding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My Husband & I ate there last night & li ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

My Husband & I ate there last night & like always it was amazing. Food is fantastic & service is even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view, even better food.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The view from the outside patio is amazing, but the food surpasses it. The special was delicious and every penny. The menu has enough to please anyone. The only issue for us was the proximity of those walking by on the sidewalk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

must go

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

A great little spot that surprises with excellent food, coffee, and desserts. And the view just makes it better. The servers are awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Their menu is outstanding! Everything they cook, is healthy and fresh. My only complaint is we always reserve the Tree House table, and twice now - our table is given to another party. We arrive 5-10 mins. Early because of this error. But the staff is kind, and you can't be angry. One time they not only gave our table away, but they Also forgot to hand in our order. They did give us a small credit. So, they try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Awesome view, good coffee and great breakfast.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Great spot for good coffee, and one of the better breakfast spots wee found in Kona. Coffe is a bit over priced but you are paying for the amazing view. People were very nice and place is busy. Booking on open table worked great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful fresh juice and yummy breakfas ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful fresh juice and yummy breakfast , both savory and sweet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our favorite neighborhood restaurant.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We always reserve the "Tree House", our favorite table. Although our table had been doubled booked, we happen to be early for our reservation, and were given priority. Well, the next party who arrived shortly after we did, was told of the double booking & was not happy, to say the least. The restaurant apologized, they left.

On same visit, the waitress had a glitch with the computer and we waited 45 minutes before we were actually served. Their computer didn't even show our order. What a day! The restaurant apologizes once more, gives us % off our entire bill and gave us some cookies, too! My point is, this is Hawaii.... Relax, things happen! And, Lava Java Bistro is an excellent asset to our community! Mahalo, Lava Java for your patience, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The best breakfast in my Kona visit!👍🏼

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The best breakfast in my Kona visit!👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Meal with a View

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I had a pleasant dinner at the Island Lava Java. The place is located near the beach so there is nice ocean view. There was also nice live entertainment when we were there to add to the ambiance. I had the Chef’s Fresh Catch, which was an excellent Ono.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Continues to Satisfy

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

I've been coming here for decades, but don't usually write a review. I love LavaJava for breakfast, lunch, dinner and more. The flat cinnamon buns are terrific, and need to be shared with another person. Breakfasts are my favorite, and the wait staff takes care of everything I need. Keep it up!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great casual lunch spot

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Stopped here for lunch and the food was fantastic! It's a funky little neighborhood place on the waterfront. Not fancy at all, flip-flops and shorts welcome. Nice outdoor seating and staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always the best on the Alii strip

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Perfect location with the best staff anywhere in the world. Great food, and the best fish tacos I have ever found.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We love lava Java. Great for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Breakfast in Kailua-Kona

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Went for breakfast and coffee here almost every day on our vacation. Love this place!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful dinner

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Our last night in the islands and the meal was perfect. Food was terrific and the service was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.