About Island Lava Java Bistro

75-5799 Ali'i Dr.
Kailua, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. We proudly feature grass fed Big Island Beef, Big Island organic goat cheese and locally grown organic produce, freshly baked house made breads, desserts & goodies.

Island Lava Java, Bistro Grill is Kona's #1 Coffee House and Restaurant. We were voted to have the "Best Breakfast in Kona" by the readers of the West Hawaii Today. Island Lava Java Bistro & Grill's Island fare is inspired by everyday island cooking. You'll feel relaxed while savoring a great meal in our casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 6:30am - 5:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Palani

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 327-2161

Website:
http://www.islandlavajava.com/

Entertainment:
Live Hawaiian & acoustic music, weekends & evenings

Catering:
Delicious hot or cold options. Order from one of our menus or work with our chef to create a catering event specific to your taste!

Parking Details:
Free parking for our customers in the Ali'i Sunset Plaza.

Public Transit:
Public bus stop 300 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Johnny Loua

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Island Lava Java Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Hawaii
Great for Brunch
Hawaii
Great for Lunch
Hawaii
9 More
Outdoor Dining
Hawaii
Contemporary American
Hawaii
Best Overall
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Food
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Ambiance
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Value
Hawaii / Big Island
Neighborhood Gem
Hawaii / Big Island
Outdoor Dining
Hawaii / Big Island
Scenic View
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Restaurants in Kailua-Kona ›

scenic view (73)
great for outdoor dining (72)
great for brunch (53)
See All
great for lunch (48)
neighborhood gem (37)
fit for foodies (30)
romantic (28)
special occasion (28)
hot spot (24)
kid-friendly (19)
good for groups (16)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great view, even better food.

Dined 4 days ago

The view from the outside patio is amazing, but the food surpasses it. The special was delicious and every penny. The menu has enough to please anyone. The only issue for us was the proximity of those walking by on the sidewalk.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

must go

Dined on May 18, 2016

A great little spot that surprises with excellent food, coffee, and desserts. And the view just makes it better. The servers are awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Food!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Their menu is outstanding! Everything they cook, is healthy and fresh. My only complaint is we always reserve the Tree House table, and twice now - our table is given to another party. We arrive 5-10 mins. Early because of this error. But the staff is kind, and you can't be angry. One time they not only gave our table away, but they Also forgot to hand in our order. They did give us a small credit. So, they try.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Awesome view, good coffee and great breakfast.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great spot for good coffee, and one of the better breakfast spots wee found in Kona. Coffe is a bit over priced but you are paying for the amazing view. People were very nice and place is busy. Booking on open table worked great!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful fresh juice and yummy breakfas ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful fresh juice and yummy breakfast , both savory and sweet

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Our favorite neighborhood restaurant.

Dined on April 16, 2016

We always reserve the "Tree House", our favorite table. Although our table had been doubled booked, we happen to be early for our reservation, and were given priority. Well, the next party who arrived shortly after we did, was told of the double booking & was not happy, to say the least. The restaurant apologized, they left. On same visit, the waitress had a glitch with the computer and we waited 45 minutes before we were actually served. Their computer didn't even show our order. What a day! The restaurant apologizes once more, gives us % off our entire bill and gave us some cookies, too! My point is, this is Hawaii.... Relax, things happen! And, Lava Java Bistro is an excellent asset to our community! Mahalo, Lava Java for your patience, too!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The best breakfast in my Kona visit!👍🏼

Dined on April 10, 2016

The best breakfast in my Kona visit!👍🏼

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice Meal with a View

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and I had a pleasant dinner at the Island Lava Java. The place is located near the beach so there is nice ocean view. There was also nice live entertainment when we were there to add to the ambiance. I had the Chef’s Fresh Catch, which was an excellent Ono.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to Satisfy

Dined on April 7, 2016

I've been coming here for decades, but don't usually write a review. I love LavaJava for breakfast, lunch, dinner and more. The flat cinnamon buns are terrific, and need to be shared with another person. Breakfasts are my favorite, and the wait staff takes care of everything I need. Keep it up!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great casual lunch spot

Dined on March 25, 2016

Stopped here for lunch and the food was fantastic! It's a funky little neighborhood place on the waterfront. Not fancy at all, flip-flops and shorts welcome. Nice outdoor seating and staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best on the Alii strip

Dined on March 20, 2016

Perfect location with the best staff anywhere in the world. Great food, and the best fish tacos I have ever found.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on March 20, 2016

We love lava Java. Great for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Best Breakfast in Kailua-Kona

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Went for breakfast and coffee here almost every day on our vacation. Love this place!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner

Dined on March 10, 2016

Our last night in the islands and the meal was perfect. Food was terrific and the service was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our very most favorite pl ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

This is one of our very most favorite places. This time we were seated quickly, informed that the food may take a bit longer due to unplanned staffing issue in the kitchen. The meals were quick, presentation was pretty, and the views cannot be beat. Very attentive service as well.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A good choice of menu and a fantastic ocean view

Dined on March 8, 2016

This is my favorite breakfast place in Kona where I know I can always go and have a good meal with a nice choice of food items. The view of the ocean and Alii Drive and the shoppers strolling about is hard to beat. Sometimes I am greeted with live music and other times I just enjoy my companions or the hustle and bustle around me. It is always a treat and I look forward to my visits. This day i met two others and we sat and had nice conversation. The service was slower than usual this day in that it was very crowded and there was a new waitress in training. We were not rushed to leave and had an enjoyable time catching up. The food was good as always. I used Open Table this visit which I had not done before, I'm glad I did because I got seated immediately upon arrival.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and wonderful staff

Dined on March 3, 2016

This is my favorite place to eat in Kona,HI. They have the best coffee, food and pastries. We love to have dinner there and watch the sunset. The entire staff is super friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Don't bother making a reservation

Dined on February 29, 2016

I made a reservation here two weeks in advance. When we arrived, the host didn't say anything at all, grabbed two menus and sat us at a table with an ocean view obstructed by another table. When I told him my name and that we had a reservation, he said he thought the couple sitting in front of us was my party of two with the reservation. He didn't make any attempt to fix the situation or apologize for not greeting us or mixing up the seating. Aside from that the food was overpriced for what we got.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Real home cooking!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Food always freshly made, not heated in a microwave!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Lovely spot overlooking the ocean in Kailua-Kona

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Island Lava Java manages to be relatively quiet and laid back in the middle of the Kailua-Kona strip. The food is very good, and the servers are friendly and helpful. BYOB and they will open and pour for you with no charge. We sat outside at a candlelit table and enjoyed a great view of the ocean, lovely Hawaiian live music, and delicious food. We ate breakfast there a couple of days before, and that was equally enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Very good food and service, but it's all ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Very good food and service, but it's all about the view! Sunday Brunch menu is limited compared to their usual lunch menu.

food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Horrible

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

This was just a disaster. The host had know idea what he was doing. There were several tables reserved yet he had know idea which tables belonged to whom. Our waitress could have cared less about us. She pretty much ignored us once she took our order. We had a 10 yr old with us and she forgot to place his order. Salad course was served at the same time as the entree.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful meal here. Beautiful ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Always a wonderful meal here. Beautiful view and delicious food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lava Java on Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food any meal time! Reserved for a group of 6 on Valentine's Day, minor wait as place was packed but it was well worth it. Great table set up on grassy area in front of restaurant overlooking the ocean! Just remember to bring your own wine. Lava Java moving a few buildings south of original spot to accommodate even more clients. Thanks for the great time! Walter & Helen Lima

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant, great value!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our favorite restaurant when we are in Kona. Great location , good food, great service, overall a really good experience. No liquor licence but you can bring your own wine and they will provide the glasses, a win win!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The oceanfront cafe was perfect for brea ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The oceanfront cafe was perfect for breakfast. We couldn't have been more pleased with the Kona coffee and our eggs and sausage!

food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Dave

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

What a find,outside side walk tables Looking directly across Ali'i Drive from the blue Pacific Ocean , great food, service is very good and the nightly music makes a perfect dinner. The fresh catch is out of this world . A must if you're in Kailua/Kona town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best in Kona

Dined on February 9, 2016

By far the best place for breakfast lunch and dinner. I stop by most mornings just for coffee. EXCELLENT staff!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food perfect location . Island Lav ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great food perfect location . Island Lava Java is one of the best spots on the Island to eat. They offer a range of great food ideas with a very scenic locations

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty, unique food.....

Dined on February 6, 2016

A real gem for Kona.....unique and tasty. Reasonably priced. Good entertainment.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice view of the ocean especially at sunset.

Dined on February 3, 2016

The food was nicely presented and was very tasty. The wait staff on top, but not in the way of our dinner. The music was enjoyable and relaxing. I would go there again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The service we received, both from our h ...

Dined on February 1, 2016

The service we received, both from our hostess and the waitstaff was great! Very attentive even though it was really busy during that time. The food was delicious also and had just enough touches in it to set it truly apart from standard breakfast fare. Will definitely make it a point to come back again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good in all categories

Dined on February 1, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived and the greeting was pleasant and friendly. It's BYOB, but the host immediately brought glasses and did the pouring. Sitting outside gave a great view of a Kona sunset as well as watching people passing on the sidewalk. Our table was ours as long as we wanted it. No pressure to leave. The food was delicious and the staff was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place!

Dined on January 19, 2016

We made a reservation for 4 and upon arriving were told they saved a little table out of the way for us if we wanted it. It was outside and separated from the rest of the patio tables by a large tree. What a spot! You could still hear the life music but were far away from everyone else top feel like you were the only ones in the restaurant. And the view of the ocean across the street was virtually unobstructed. The entire place was packed that evening and the service was a bit slow, however, it didn't bother us. The food was amazing and our server was very friendly and definitely added to the positive experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Very good food - fresh! Classic nicoise ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Very good food - fresh! Classic nicoise salad with Ahi. Margherita pizza with more than a few cherry tomatoes. Island salad with lots of goodies and goat cheese. BYOB.

food4
ambience4
service4

Everyone in our party enjoyed their dinn ...

Dined on January 11, 2016

Everyone in our party enjoyed their dinner. Service was a little sporadic even though they weren't overly busy. But the servers were friendly and nice. Love the location for a sunset dinner. Although was a bit put off by being approached at our table by a homeless man asking for our leftovers. Will definitely come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and awesome view of the ocean

Dined on January 9, 2016

Excellent dinner and breakfast - came here multiple times during our vacation

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Weeknight Dinner

Dined on January 6, 2016

Decided to head to Lava Java for birthday dinner for the husband. We usually go there for lunch or brunch, but were looking for an outdoor dining spot with a view. The birthday boy had the Pulehu Filet and I had Chef's Fresh Catch ( Mahi Mahi this night) both of which are wheat/gluten free. We shared each other's entree to make our own surf and turf combo. Both entrees were well prepared and tasty served with fresh local produced vegetables. We started the meal by sharing a "Little Lava" salad which we both deemed superb. The goat cheese was very good not strong. They do provide glasses if you want to bring a bottle of wine or beer to enjoy with the meal. While the seats are not that comfortable, the evening there was very nice with a gorgeous sunset and good food. The husband enjoyed his birthday dinner out.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Kona partial open view restaurant

Dined on January 2, 2016

Not a great experience. Pizza had no taste and was extremely overpriced. We wanted to try the Ahi but they were sold out. Waitress was very unfriendly and rushed us. We read that they had entertainment but the music ended at 8pm. Also our table was completely on a slant and they would not move us even though we had a reservation. Only positive thing - they let you bring in your own wine or beer with no cork fee.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a good meal with great service.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Everything is fantastic at Lava Java. The service, food and ambience. We eat here at least twice a month and have never had a bad experience. The fact that you can byob and they don't charge you an extra fee is extraordinary, especially here in Hawaii where you get nickeled and dimed for everything!! Best brunch in Kona for sure!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.