Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Island Lava Java Bistro

Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. You will feel relaxed while you enjoy our food and drinks in a casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants, bar and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!
Full Bar, Great Wine list

75-5801 Ali'i Dr.
Kailua, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 6:30am - 5:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Palani

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 327-2161

Website:
http://www.islandlavajava.com/

Entertainment:
Live Hawaiian & acoustic music, mornings, weekends & evenings

Catering:
Delicious hot or cold options. Order from one of our menus or work with our chef to create a catering event specific to your taste!

Parking Details:
Free parking for our customers in the Coconut Grove Marketplace

Public Transit:
Public bus stop 300 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Jason Nigro and Trevor Buffington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Island Lava Java Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (17)
Waterfront (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
See All
Casual (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
People Watching (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Fun (7)
Live Music (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great Beer (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Romantic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vegan (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server Michael was awesome. Fast and efficient service as well as friendly. I recommend sitting in his section or at the bar with Jessica if everyone is of age. Will be back for sure! My three year old loves it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful view and the food was wonderful! Perfect breakfast spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Food was very average and service was VERY slow. Took 45 minutes for fish taco and burger. Setting is nice.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food choices feature many vegetarian dishes, but that's the only plus. Sandwiches and burgers are at best mediocre, salads are unimaginative; all of these could easily be made at home in 3mins with better results. Sits on the main drag, so avoid the terrace (smells of exhaust and is very noisy), but that also means no sea views, so no good table.
Service was friendly, but incompetent.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Though we were too late for brunch, we had a couple of tasty sandwiches and a tangy Bloody Mary at a great price. This is a great place to watch both dolphins and people! Not a large menu, but there is a great variety of menu items.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Fun, Quick Bite, Casual, Great Beer, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The location is beautiful and the portion sizes are quite generous..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Good overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Came for a nice quiet birthday dinner,didn't really happen most tables are in a place that gets wet when it rains and it was raining after trying a table and getting a wet butt we had to move to big community high top bar type tables. Ordered drinks was told they were out of jack Daniels but they most likely have some upstairs I chose a beer instead. Dinner was tasty but we came for the spinach salad that they took off the menu, so actually menu is quite limited. I had ribs that were tasty wife had sesame ahi which was tasty. Big issue is when a local came in with a big hairy dog and most of the staff dropped what they were doing to pet this dog, isn't a restaurant suppose to be a relatively clean enviroment to have the servers petting a dog then serving food sounds like a pretty big health code violation. Don't think we will go back and since we live here part time that's to bad, will the restaurant care probably not as they cater to tourists that they will most likely never see again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Smack in the middle of downtown so location location location. Awesome for breakfast with fresh homemade muffins and delicious foods. Love sitting there having coffee and watching the waves. Good people Watcher spot too. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I hate to dis Lava Java since I have been there many times for breakfast and dinner. I was there on this occasion for lunch with a friend. We sat right up front at the new, improved facility where the tables sit flat! I rather liked the funky atmosphere of the former location but the new one is an improvement and quite a bit larger.
I ordered fish tacos which this day used Ono as the fish. Ono means "good" in Hawaiian and it usually is. This fish was served in 2 pieces (one in each of 2 tacos) that were about the size of a stick of gum but thicker. It was very overcooked, which was too bad, with a tiny smear of chipotle aioli. It could have used more to help moisten the dry fish. I really like black beans but these clearly were under-salted and were bland as could be. They had a bit of salsa on the top but the salsa would have been better on the tacos themselves.
I didn't bother to say anything since my friend and I were deep in conversation and I didn't want to spoil our time together by complaining. A disappointing experience, however.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Casual, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We have always favored Lava Java, with the new location and seating always get in without a wait. You can make a.reservation if needed. Great food. Probably the best cooked ahi in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Thank you Kylie for your warm Aloha welcome and service. This is our family favorite. My kids truly love the chocolate cake and the chicken tacos. Mahalo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Well, being local it was our first time to the new location only a few hundred feet from their old site which we really loved outdoor dining,live music ,and bring your own wine or beer... however the new site was great the food was very good like we were use to ....the same chef for the past year or so who was a big improvement over the one he replaced.
I had the Ahi which was out of this world !! My wife had Opah which she loved and we shared their little lava java salad.
They still had Bobby G playing music which we were greatful for ....light dinner music very good, singing his own music plus tunes you will know...
I missed bringing my own wine, however their new wine list is pretty good and reasonable prices.
You still get the beautiful Pacific view and sunsets !!
A must if you are looking for a great sunset dinner when you're in Kona !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

First time there for their brunch in their new location. VERY busy, but we had a reservation and it was honored and on time in a good location. Server was excellent as was the additional overlapping help...they pay attention to the customer! Spectacular view, of course, right on the Pacific. Food was excellent as was the "naked Mimosa" that we had along with Eggs Benedict and Island Style Waffle (the coconut syrup is special).

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (South Korea)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Besides the super-duper size of the brunch, everything including the service, taste and view was OUTSTANDING^^

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great water front breakfast joint, live Hawaiian music

Tags: Kid-friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wonderful lunch and service as usual! You just can't beat the view and comfort. We bring family and guests when they visit Big Island...breakfasts are awesome as well

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great place to hang out with friends, client meal or just enjoying yourself!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Love the new location great service as always you can't go wrong with the papaya and granola. Cinnamon roll over the top!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Waterfront, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Delicious Homemade dishes! Known for their wonderful cinnamon rolls.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Reasonably good meal. My wife's chicken was very good, while my fish (Opah) was overcooked and a bit tough. The sauce was good.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Go there and have fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Booked this based on reviews and was very pleased! Best breakfast food we have had yet in Hawaii! Potatos are the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great service and location. The Island Eggs Benedict was amazing. The lattes with macadamia nut syrup was delicious. Both of my sons loved the waffles. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Friendly attentive service and great food featuring local ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Started our trip here and ended it here. Everyone should make a stop for at least one meal if not more. Service is excellent and food amazing!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Good food and a great view. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Had a light meal and great drinks at sunset before the red eye back to the mainland. Small plate/appetizer was more than enough. Nice features.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Beautiful location looking out at the water. Luau omelette was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Love the new location and full bar! Every visit it's a must stop ... at least once.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 27, 2017

New venue for established Alii Dr. Restaurant. More outside deck seating, but menu needs upgrading.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great location and venue. Lovely protected outdoor setting with lovely views of Kailua Bay. Our waitress was very good but there were other tables that were not as happy. I think they are still "fitting into" their new location and still have a few bumps to iron out. That being said we had a very nice meal with a great setting. Would definitely go back and would recommend it to our friends.

Tags: Waterfront, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They had lost my reservation, but were able to get me a table within a reasonable amount of time. But why use a service, if you cant look up reservations??

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Breakfast was fabulous, as usual. My husband's in love with the hollandaise sauce. "Best anywhere" he said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Good breakfast and great view and wonderful music! A little more space will be terrific. We'll be back.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We know to bring our chosen bottle of wine : Kelly, our waitperson supplied the winegasses and gave us time to enjoy the long boats, the waves, the people-watching and the beautiful sunset . Before long, songs of the 50's and 60's were strummed and sung by the talented duo. Another pair of diners performed a jitter-bug that was quite entertaining and were applauded by all. Both of us chose "Pulehu NY" Angus NY steak, seared to a perfect medium rare with asparagus, house-pickled onions, and mashed potatoes for him, extra vegetables for me, which we savored to the last bites. A shared slice of yummy carrot cake was our choice to finish our meal in fine style. Another great evening at Island Bistro Lava Java came to a satisfied close. A hui hou!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always love lunches at Lava Java...
Great location, great meals

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Live Music, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Oceanfront view. Very busy for brunch on Easter, but the services was spectacular. The food was promptly served. We had a great brunch here. Unbeatable location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have been to Lava Java many times and have usually had a good experience. This time was on Easter Sunday for brunch and the food suffered. I'm not sure why since they certainly knew they would be busy as they are every Sunday. I ordered the Belgian waffle with a berry coulis and a creme anglaise sauce but the waffle was doughy inside. It was already cut into quarters when presented and was sauced. There wasn't enough of the berries and I wish I had stuck with my tried and true order of banana/mac pancakes. My BF had an omelet with pulled pork filling and he said the pork was greasy.
All in all, we love the casual atmosphere of this sidewalk cafe and enjoy it for dinner too. But this particular morning, something was off and the food just wasn't up to par.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.