Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Island Lava Java Bistro

Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. You will feel relaxed while you enjoy our food and drinks in a casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants, bar and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!
Full Bar, Great Wine list

75-5801 Ali'i Dr.
Kailua, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 11:30am; Sunday Brunch: 6:30am - 5:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Palani

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 327-2161

Website:
http://www.islandlavajava.com/

Entertainment:
Live Hawaiian & acoustic music, mornings, weekends & evenings

Catering:
Delicious hot or cold options. Order from one of our menus or work with our chef to create a catering event specific to your taste!

Parking Details:
Free parking for our customers in the Coconut Grove Marketplace

Public Transit:
Public bus stop 300 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Jason Nigro and Trevor Buffington

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Island Lava Java Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (19)
Casual (16)
Waterfront (16)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
People Watching (12)
Local Ingredients (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Live Music (6)
Healthy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Romantic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to hang out with friends, client meal or just enjoying yourself!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Love the new location great service as always you can't go wrong with the papaya and granola. Cinnamon roll over the top!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Authentic, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Waterfront, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Delicious Homemade dishes! Known for their wonderful cinnamon rolls.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Reasonably good meal. My wife's chicken was very good, while my fish (Opah) was overcooked and a bit tough. The sauce was good.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Go there and have fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Booked this based on reviews and was very pleased! Best breakfast food we have had yet in Hawaii! Potatos are the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great service and location. The Island Eggs Benedict was amazing. The lattes with macadamia nut syrup was delicious. Both of my sons loved the waffles. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Friendly attentive service and great food featuring local ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Good food and a great view. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Had a light meal and great drinks at sunset before the red eye back to the mainland. Small plate/appetizer was more than enough. Nice features.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Beautiful location looking out at the water. Luau omelette was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Love the new location and full bar! Every visit it's a must stop ... at least once.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 28, 2017

New venue for established Alii Dr. Restaurant. More outside deck seating, but menu needs upgrading.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great location and venue. Lovely protected outdoor setting with lovely views of Kailua Bay. Our waitress was very good but there were other tables that were not as happy. I think they are still "fitting into" their new location and still have a few bumps to iron out. That being said we had a very nice meal with a great setting. Would definitely go back and would recommend it to our friends.

Tags: Waterfront, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They had lost my reservation, but were able to get me a table within a reasonable amount of time. But why use a service, if you cant look up reservations??

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Breakfast was fabulous, as usual. My husband's in love with the hollandaise sauce. "Best anywhere" he said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Good breakfast and great view and wonderful music! A little more space will be terrific. We'll be back.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We know to bring our chosen bottle of wine : Kelly, our waitperson supplied the winegasses and gave us time to enjoy the long boats, the waves, the people-watching and the beautiful sunset . Before long, songs of the 50's and 60's were strummed and sung by the talented duo. Another pair of diners performed a jitter-bug that was quite entertaining and were applauded by all. Both of us chose "Pulehu NY" Angus NY steak, seared to a perfect medium rare with asparagus, house-pickled onions, and mashed potatoes for him, extra vegetables for me, which we savored to the last bites. A shared slice of yummy carrot cake was our choice to finish our meal in fine style. Another great evening at Island Bistro Lava Java came to a satisfied close. A hui hou!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always love lunches at Lava Java...
Great location, great meals

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Live Music, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Oceanfront view. Very busy for brunch on Easter, but the services was spectacular. The food was promptly served. We had a great brunch here. Unbeatable location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have been to Lava Java many times and have usually had a good experience. This time was on Easter Sunday for brunch and the food suffered. I'm not sure why since they certainly knew they would be busy as they are every Sunday. I ordered the Belgian waffle with a berry coulis and a creme anglaise sauce but the waffle was doughy inside. It was already cut into quarters when presented and was sauced. There wasn't enough of the berries and I wish I had stuck with my tried and true order of banana/mac pancakes. My BF had an omelet with pulled pork filling and he said the pork was greasy.
All in all, we love the casual atmosphere of this sidewalk cafe and enjoy it for dinner too. But this particular morning, something was off and the food just wasn't up to par.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Had breakfast there. Excellent! There were five of us and we got four different things, all of which were great, along with the cinnamon pull-apart we got to start. I was surprised that coconut syrup on the banana pancake was so good. (I'm used to maple syrup., which they also have.). Pork and pineapple omelet excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The South Point pork chop was fantastic !! The srever was great and got to here Bobby G playing great music !!
What a great experience and dinner for a local diner.
Keep up the good work !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Had a reservation, hostess not accommodating, server preoccupied. I will say the bus boy was great 😒

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Beautiful setting watching the sun set while waiting for dinner. Service & food delivery was a bit slow but we were killing time until our late night flight, so no biggie. We went here because of the many gluten free selections, which cant be beat! Only thing I would change, would be to have a bathroom inside the restaurant rather than within the complex.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Unfortunately the Chicken Pesto Penne was soaked/laying in the pesto oil and not very good. Wouldn't recommend the dish. Service also was very slow - they seemed to be short staffed. Last year's experience was good, but not this year.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 20, 2017

A wonderful open air bistro with excellent food and great live music. Doubles as a coffee shop in the morning. The ahi bruschetta was delightful as were the fish tacos. We ate there two days earlier and the macadamia nut encrusted fish of the day was wonderful. You can bring your own wine and they will gladly serve it with no corking fee. Even provide a bucket of ice for white wine. One of our all-time favorites.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

When we arrived we were given a choice of tables outside. We went for the secluded one to the side where we could see the sunset and hear the live music. We started with a shared salad. The waitress and kitchen were accommodating of my dietary needs, ensuring that my meal did not contain any ingredients of which I am intolerant. My ahi was exceptional. The pork chop was a large serving with delicious house made applesauce. The creek brûlée was traditional and good. Overall, a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We love Lava Java for so many reasons, not the least of which is the perfect ocean and people-watching location. Add to the sight, sound and smell of the ocean (and, at dinner time, the sunset viewing) the ability to bring one's own wine (no corking fee: they will uncork and supply glasses and an ice bucket, if needed) to accompany the perfectly prepared and plated, scrumptious meal, served with aplomb. Thank you, Lava Java Island Bistro, for yet another lovely dining experience! See you again, soon.

Tags: Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Vegan, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

what more can you ask for, great view, good food, and excellent service.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Fair price for 100% Kona coffee. Friendly and helpful staff. Great view of Kailua-Kona harbor and a chance to see all the tourists and locals pass by.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The Island Lava Java in Kaiura-Kona is a great place for breakfast and dinner to sit out by the street and the sea wall. The staff is very friendly and the food is excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was a surprise that the ocean side dining included a sidewalk and a cruising street. OK, so it had a vib being in the city with a view of the sunset, but since they do not serve alcohol it was suggested since there was not a corkage fee if I wanted to hoof it two blocks to the
ABC store I could buy something.
Evening music was the hit: a nice soft jazz selection from a sax player. excellant Blackened Mahi Tacos, mediocre big Spinach salad with bacon.
This was the oddest dining experience only good for a humorous memory.
I hope the new digs improve with a wine selection.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food and experience. Loved, loved dining by the ocean.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great breakfast, good idea to make reservation, very busy place, great view of the water..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We dined outside for dinner with a view of the sunset. The macadamia encrusted fish of the day (ahi tuna) was very good. You can also BYOB/W as they don't have a liquor license.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The fish was very fresh and delicious . I loved the waterfront view. The guitarist was excellent and provided wonderful background music. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Make a reservation, there is always a wait for breakfast. The food and view are excellent! A great start to vacation or any day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always a favorite place to go when on the Big Island. Great food and fabulous view. I would recommend reservations, even for breakfast.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront, People Watching, Casual, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.