About Island Creek Oyster Bar

500 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Island Creek Oyster Bar is named simply after our farmer, built on the ideal of bringing guests closer to the farm. Chef Jeremy Sewall offers a daily changing menu with a raw bar featuring Island Creek Oysters and an updated, seasonal selection of New England seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Cross Street:
Kenmore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 532-5300

Website:
http://www.islandcreekoysterbar.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in and around Kenmore Square, or we offer valet for $16.

Public Transit:
Kenmore

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Sewall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Assorted Raw Oysters - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Oysters - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Lobster Roe Noodles - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
crabcake - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Island Creek oysters - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Banoffee - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Lobster Slider - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
buttermilk biscuit - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Fried Softshell Clams - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
No Shell Prince Edward Island Mussels - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Smoked Steelhead Trout - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Ethel's Lobster Roll - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Smoked Bluefish Pate - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Crispy Oyster Slider, Brioche Roll, Lime Chile Aioli - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Pineapple Dto - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Complimentary Cake With Peanut Butter Cream - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Lobster Roe Noodles, Braised Short Rib, Grilled Lobster, Oyster Mushrooms, Pecorino - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Fried Ipswich Clams - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Halibut With Ricotta Gnocchi - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Seared Sea Scallops - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Shrimp Cocktail - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Crispy Island Creek Oyster Sliders - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Brown Butter Roasted Lobster - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Lobster Omelette - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Kumamoto, Daisy Bay Oysters And Lobster Ceviche - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Island Creek And Rocky Nook Oysters - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Mimosa - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Donuts With Lavender Cream - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Ricotta Gnocchi With Lobster - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Monkfisk - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Lobster Roll (Sandwich) - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Lobster Roll Sandwich  - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Scallops - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
lobster noodles - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Oyster Slider - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Soft Shell Crab - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
raw oysters - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Monkfish With Lamb Ravioli - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Crispy Oyster Sliders - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Bloody Maria - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
lobster roll - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Sea Scallops - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Cod With Spring Vegetable Chowder - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
New England Clam Chowder - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Rhode Island Monkfish - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Burger With Fried Oyster - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Salmon Tartare - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Clam Chowder - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Lobster Bisque - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Fried Calamari - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
La Chouffe - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Fried Clams - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Oyster Shooter - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Mussels - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Belon Oysters - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Corn Parsnip Soup With Ancho Shrimp - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Strawberry Shortcake With Basil Ice Cream - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Bacon & Eggs - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Pan Fried Jonah Crab Cake - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Lobster Roe Pasta With Braised Short Rib And Poached Lobster Tail  - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Lobster Roe Pasta - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Bartlett Pear Huckleberry Crumble - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Scallop Ceviche - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Striped Bass Fritters - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Chicken - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Fried Oyster Sliders - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Chocolate torte - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Grilled Farrow Island Salmon - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Sriracha Fries - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Clover Club - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Chorizo Hash - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Fish Sandwich - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Soft Shell Crab Sandwich - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
First light Oysters - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Smoked Salmon Scramble - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
garden salad - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Oysters And Prawns - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Grapefruit Sorbet - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Doughnuts - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Bittersweet Chocolate Torte With Milk Stout Ice Cream And Candied Peanuts - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Jack Rose Cocktail - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Kumamoto oysters - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Cole Slaw - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Misty Point Oysters - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Harpoon IPA - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
East Coast Halibut, Mustard Spaetzle, Tasso Ham, Caviar Beurre Blanc - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Coconut And Pineapple Angel Food Cake - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Sweet Corn And Lobster Bisque - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Paper Schooner - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Raw Bar Platter - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Clams Casino - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Brussel Sprout Petals - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Seared New Bedford Sea Scallops - Nueske Bacon & Boniato Mash - Apple Guava Glaze. - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Roasted brussels sprouts - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Roasted Beets - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Striped Bass With Maitake Mushrooms, Sunchokes And Foie Gras Butter - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Oysters and Shrimp Cocktail - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Burger - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
Fried oyster slider @icobar - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA
monkfish - Island Creek Oyster Bar, Boston, MA

Island Creek Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (46)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Local Ingredients (38)
Special Occasion (35)
Fun (31)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Hot Spot (30)
Romantic (28)
Business Meals (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Casual (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Authentic (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
People Watching (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great Beer (12)
Healthy (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Seasonal (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2776 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food. Oysters are among the be ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food. Oysters are among the best offered. Knowledgeable service. Friendly staff. Wine list offers good selection, although some bottles in the $30 range would be appreciated. We'll be back, with enthusiasm.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went to Island Creek only to have oys ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Island Creek only to have oysters and were not disappointed. There were many varieties to choose from and the waiter did an excellent job describing them for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding.

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch with friends visiting ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for brunch with friends visiting from out of town. I got the baked beans with bacon and a fried egg and my bf got the egg white frittata. My meal was decently sized, though my bf's was pretty small in terms of brunch meals, it definitely could have used some additional eggs or a side. Overall the flavors were great and the cocktails were tasty too. A little on the expensive side for the amount of food you get, but overall a beautiful restaurant with good tasting food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive, knowledgeable service. Oyster ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Attentive, knowledgeable service. Oyster sliders are not to be missed. Waiter recommended lobster roe pasta, which was outstanding. Fish & chips top notch. Great wine list. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was visiting from St. Louis with some ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I was visiting from St. Louis with some colleagues for a business meeting and enjoyed our experience so much that we have already put a recommendation into our office for others who are traveling in the area to be sure to stop by to visit this neighborhood gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Am never disappointed here. Had the salm ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Am never disappointed here. Had the salmon - best ever.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Island Creek is always excellent, the fo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Island Creek is always excellent, the food is always good. Service is excellent. We have never had a bad meal here.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I had a great date on a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My boyfriend and I had a great date on a Sunday evening here. The service was wonderful and so was the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was attentive and friendly. F ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server was attentive and friendly. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We started off with a selection of delic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We started off with a selection of delicious oysters recommended by our server. Our other appetizer - fried oyster slider - was good but a bit light on the oyster. Clam chowder was OK, but could have had more clams. Our entrees of skate wing (nightly special) was presented well, but rather salty while the monkfish was very good and tender. We also had brown butter cauliflower and a honey/rosemary biscuit both of which are definitely worth a try. The service was very attentive for having a regular meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Vraiment excellent! Les nouilles au homa ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Vraiment excellent! Les nouilles au homard et bœuf, genre surf and turf, franchement mémorable!

Tags: , Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and great food

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate here New Year's Eve, and although ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ate here New Year's Eve, and although the earliest reservation I could get was 10pm, when we walked in the restaurant was half empty. Not sure what that was all about. If you love oysters, then you will love this place, but even if you don't (we don't) there is plenty else. The menu is very confusing, so I had to ask a lot of questions. I'm more impressed with great food than with a list of fancy ingredients, but once we got past the wording, and our server came down to earth, the food was excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

fresh oyster with perfect amount of brin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

fresh oyster with perfect amount of brine, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is amazing. The service is good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food is amazing. The service is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. Food was fantastic ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outstanding service. Food was fantastic as always. They made our engagement dinner so special with a number of personal touches. Consistently above and beyond and a flawless example of hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had a fantastic dinner ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband and I had a fantastic dinner here as part of our hotel stay at Hotel Commonwealth. Boston was in the midst of a freezing rain/blizzard storm and we loved how we never had to leave the hotel to get to Island Creek. One of our favorite spots and the food and wine didn't disappoint this time either.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Island creek and aunt dotty never disapp ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Island creek and aunt dotty never disappoint me. Pasta is really good, too.

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best seafood we have ever ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Absolutely the best seafood we have ever had, period. With tons of incredible seafood restaurants in Boston that's saying something. I will be back here as soon as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Island Creek Oyster Bar is an outstandin ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Island Creek Oyster Bar is an outstanding restaurant. The oyster selection never disappoints. They seem to always have some classic favorites combined with selections that are more rare. The staff are cheery and excited to talk about food, wine, and all things gastronomic. If you are looking for a great meal, a friendly atmosphere, and inventive cocktails, this is the place.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very salty. It was good to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was very salty. It was good to try once, but for the value, I probably wouldn't go back again. The lobster roe noodles had been over hyped in my mind, so while they were good, they didn't blow my mind as everyone described.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service were excellent but ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food and service were excellent but the food was quite pricey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was amazing - love the oyster slide ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was amazing - love the oyster sliders. Drinks were awesome too. Restaurant was fairly empty and was seated in the back near the kitchen. Regret not asking for another table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Nice place, great service but I found th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Nice place, great service but I found the food to be quite bland. Lobster was difficult to eat given that the choice of serving dish was an iced tray. The tail was tasty but the claws were tasteless and watery. Disappointing as Boston Lobster is so great normally. Fish & Chips were good but again hard to eat as served in a basket. Overall I felt it was quite expensive for the quantity and quality of food really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food is good.

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was amazing. The oyster sliders, clam ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It was amazing. The oyster sliders, clam chowder, and lobster bisque were incredible. Would come back again and again for delicious food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just ok.... There are a lot of restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Just ok....

There are a lot of restaurants serving oysters in Boston and I think Island Creek is not at the top of the list.

First of all, they seem to cater to large groups. Do they do that to get more $$$$? Do they not realize that parties of two spend a lot as well?

We (2) were shuffled to a table that was nondescript. We declined the first one the hostess showed us to.

The oysters were good but I already had a bad taste in my mouth. As we were eating, two girls came in for a pick up order and proceeded to stand right by our table along with a staff member chatting while they waited. We had to get a manager and explain this wasn't acceptable as we were sitting there trying to dine!

Just ok.... B&G blows it away as does Summer Shack!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My friend come to visit me from China. I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My friend come to visit me from China. It's always the best place to recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we went here for my birthday (a family ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

we went here for my birthday (a family brunch) and it was fantastic from start to finish. the service was especially on point, and we were treated extremely well, and given very good advice for menu selections, as well as pairings of wine with foods.

i would highly recommend this restaurant to my friends, and I will definitely be taking my mom here for high quality oysters when she's in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When I walked into the restaurant, the h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

When I walked into the restaurant, the hostess was very friendly, personable and had a great smile. She made me feel so welcomed. She escorted me to the end of the bar and told me to enjoy. I was excited. The bar was dimly lit as to intimate a more romantic setting. I'm not quite sure a romantic setting needs to be that dark, but maybe that's what they were shooting for. Anyway, the bartender greeted me, but I wasn't ready to order. He was a bit cold, no smile or friendly banter which is what I expect from a bartender, perhaps he was very busy. Well, I wasn't too familiar with the wine list, so I asked the bartender what could he recommend. He suggested a chardonnay that wasn't too oaky which I didn't care for. Then he suggested another, and although it was worse that the first, I took it anyway because I got the sense that he was annoyed.

I then proceeded to order a dozen oysters. They came out in a timely manner, and the food runner asked if I wanted horseradish, which I replied yes. The waiter came by and ask how was everything and I told him, everything was fine; still no smile. The oysters were cold and fresh, but not too memorable. I order the salmon, when it came the presentation was very nice and it was a good portion. The salmon was a bit overcooked, and the sides were mostly palatable. A piece of bread would have been nice, but since none was offered, I decided not to ask this bartender, who frankly looked like he'd rather be doing something else. The restaurant was busy, but not full, and the people at the bar seemed to be enjoying themselves.

The bartender that served me had stepped away, and after I had finished my meal, another I think handed me the check. Funny, no one bothered to offer dessert, then again maybe you don't serve that at your restaurant. I had heard wonderful things about this restaurant and had been anxious to try it. Unfortunately, my overall experience was not a pleasant one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great atmosphere, service and food. An ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great atmosphere, service and food. An energetic place with a fun vibe. Not for a quiet romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The host was so incredibly rude. Honestl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The host was so incredibly rude. Honestly I was pretty shocked. I have been many times before and had a wonderful experience but not this time. What a shame. Food was excellent as always though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Island Creek is a busy, well designed ve ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Island Creek is a busy, well designed venue, but the food failed to impress, and the servers seemed to be working very hard to keep up with everything. On our most recent visit, a swordfish entree was overcooked, and one of the fried dishes was overwhelmed with an excessive amount of batter. On a more positive note, they do serve a nice glass of wine. For a restaurant at this price point, I would expect a more consistently excellent product. I have to wonder if this spot isn't becoming a victim of its own success?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The oysters were great, as was the chowd ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The oysters were great, as was the chowder. I really loved that the staff was so knowledgeable about oysters and the other menu items. I just have to say that I felt like the staff was not as attentive to us as other tables near us, and just didn't get the wow experience I would rush back for for the expense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Very upscale and fancy ambiance when you ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very upscale and fancy ambiance when you walk into the establishment. Thank God I had placed a reservation a week beforehand, it looked so busy that I was afraid I wouldn't get a table with my friend. I had the calm chowder and she had the fried clams; we each had the crispy oyster slider. The clam chowder was good, but I think it had too much pepper or something because I kept feeling a burn when I eat. My friend liked her meal, but had thought the basket of clams would be bigger and therefore wasn't as satisfied as she would like. We love love love the crispy sliders, the combination just worked well together.

Atmosphere-wise, it would be best to come a little bit dressed up or at least business casual. Love the wall decor and the hanging lamps over the bar. The bathrooms were in the hotel and I had to make a small trip up some stairs to get there.

Overall, it's a nice experience that I would go again for an occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel C ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth for my birthday and the package came with a gift card to the restaurant. I've heard great things about this restaurant and wanted to try something different. The restaurant decor is very nice and has a romantic feel to it. My boyfriend and I have never tried raw oysters and we wanted to try to it. The waitress was helpful and recommended which oyster to try since it was a first time. I'm not going to lie, we were nervous trying the raw oysters.... and we loved it! We ordered another round of raw oysters and the chef gave us 2 additional complimentary raw oysters! Also, the lobster bisque and our entrees and dessert was amazing. On our menu it even said happy birthday with my name on it! They really made my birthday very special and memorable. I will definitely will be coming back. Great experience!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing very remarkable. I've been there ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Nothing very remarkable. I've been there last time a couple of years ago and there were Japanese, European and West Coast oysters, we liked them a lot. This time there were only Mass oysters, they were not bad really, just not as good as last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Two friends and I met at Island Creek O ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Two friends and I met at Island Creek Oyster Bar for a holiday get together. We enjoyed their cocktails We all ordered the lobster roll and it was excellent. There was a good portion of lobster and the rosemary focaccia roll added a nice hint of flavor. Our only complaint was that we felt the staff was rushing us out of the restaurant in order to turn the table. They started clearing our plates before one of person had finished her food and the didn't offer us dessert or coffee until we asked for the menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always great food but at a high price. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Always great food but at a high price. The ingredients they work with are xpensive so I guess it makes sense but it doesn't take much to run up a 100 per diner tab.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.