About Island Creek Oyster Bar

500 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Island Creek Oyster Bar is named simply after our farmer, built on the ideal of bringing guests closer to the farm. Chef Jeremy Sewall offers a daily changing menu with a raw bar featuring Island Creek Oysters and an updated, seasonal selection of New England seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Cross Street:
Kenmore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 532-5300

Website:
http://www.islandcreekoysterbar.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in and around Kenmore Square, or we offer valet for $16.

Public Transit:
Kenmore

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Sewall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Island Creek Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston / New England
Most Booked
Boston / New England
Seafood
Boston
1 More
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Kenmore Square / Fenway ›

fit for foodies (175)
special occasion (135)
hot spot (120)
See All
good for groups (110)
vibrant bar scene (83)
neighborhood gem (68)
romantic (60)
great for lunch (54)
notable wine list (53)
great for brunch (39)
late-night find (26)
kid-friendly (9)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2410 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service4

Great. Order the oysters.

Dined 3 days ago

Great. Order the oysters.

food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Not so special brunch!

Dined 7 days ago

We went to Island Creek for a graduation brunch, and were very disappointed. the brunch menu is limited, our waiter was horrible, inattentive, terrible listening, really slow. Other service was good, but could not make up for his lack of skills.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been trying for forever to get a re ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Have been trying for forever to get a reservation. Finally got one and wasn't disappointed. The service and food were excellent. Of course we had the oysters - delicious. Each of the 4 of us had a different fish entry and all licked our plates clean. Did find the menu limiting so would recommend you look online unless you a little picky. We had a lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

They have a variety of great oyster sele ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

They have a variety of great oyster selections. Very fresh oysters.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Second visit, disappointing

Dined on May 17, 2016

We were eager to share a previous positive experience with family who were visiting from abroad. While the female server was warm and lovely and the appetizers tasty, each of our entrees was just okay. Losbster rolls at $29 were too finely chopped claw meat, bouillabaisse lacking taste and sufficient soup stock, tautog fish dish bland and uninspired. A Tuesday nite so weekend crowds could not be the reason for an expensive and just okay meal.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had such a wonderful time celebrating ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I had such a wonderful time celebrating my birthday here last week. Amanda (the hostess) was incredibly accommodating for my older parents and Justin (our server) made the meal exceptional from start to finish. It was not my first trip to Island Creek and it most assuredly will not be my last.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. The staff was very ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food was excellent. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Was a real find. Would recommend to anyone looking for great food and a fantastic atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4

The oysters and other appetizers have al ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The oysters and other appetizers have always been. Dry good but now I have become a big fan of their fish. Cooked to perfection and interesting This is an excellent place for seafood ! Noise level is relatively high but to be expected Service is excellent. Your waitperson covers you but the other waitstaff and even the manager all come by frequently

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Much more than an oyster bar!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated our son's graduation at Island Creek - what a great choice!!! Extraordinary selection of oysters; had the Pete's Point and Bass Points. Couldn't decide which we liked best - both were glorious! Lots of sharing - loved the smoked bluefish pate with pickled celery and onions, a salmon over spaetzle was perfectly cooked and melt-in-your-mouth tender! All loved the crab fries and the oyster sliders got raves. We split an OK bottle of Muscadet Sevre et Maine - least successful part of the meal - but it paired well with all the food so good enough was just fine! We had planned dessert at home so can't comment on that but we will be back to try it next time - can't wait!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4

We were there for Sunday brunch. We've ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for Sunday brunch. We've had dinner in the past and the food was awesome especially the oysters. But brunch was disappointing. Oysters excellent but the egg dishes were unimaginative. I had the lobster omelette. Omelette not fluffy and light. Just eggs folded over lobster meat.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, slow service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and drinks were very slow to arrive, despite the restaurant not being full. When we finally did get our entrees, we felt rushed out shortly thereafter (waiter came by and very abruptly asked if I was finished with my half-full plate, busboys started clearing everything away before our bill was even paid). I get that they need to turn over the tables, but it's not our fault the meal took so long!

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

best oysters in town

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We go to ICOB when we are in the mood for oysters. They usually have 11-12 varieties and we each get one of each. They bring them set up in the same order so we can both taste the same oyster at the same time and talk about what we think of each one. It's really surprising how different oysters are from each other. The salads are really good too. You'll want to make reservations, it is always busy, especially on Sox home game days. ICOB is in the Hotel Commonwealth which also has the Hawthorne and Eastern Standard, which are both also good.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and service, even after we set the menu on fire!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time, good food.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great time, good food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic and Accessible

Dined on April 30, 2016

After a Friday Night Sox game, it can be very hard to find a place that can accommodate my friend who is in a wheelchair. Island Creek had no problem doing so, and was awesome about it. In addition, as always, the food was fantastic and the drinks were great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall greattttt

Dined on April 30, 2016

Overall greattttt

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great service.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food and service. The only issue we had was with the dessert. The mint chocolate chip ice cream was 90% chocolate chips. I usually don't return food, but it was just too much for me.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Entertainment Experiece

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Island Creek is the finest entertainment experience before a Red Sox game. The assortment of oysters,along with other great appetizers like fried oyster sliders and clams i white cream sauce are such a treat. Fresh fish entrees finishes it off. the management and wait staff are fantastic. This has become a regular for us and we always get rave reviews from our guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved it again

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

absolutely charming bartendars with great suggestions and service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

server was very good and allowed us to s ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

server was very good and allowed us to sample both white wines before choosing. he also did a great job recommending the perfect combo of oysters. Limited lunch menu -

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4

The food was good, though over priced sl ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was good, though over priced slightly. The service was friendly and timely. However, we were really surprised by the shabby state of the chairs. At least half of the chairs had ripped fabric which was noticeable before we even got to the hostess table. I wouldn't normally comment on this type of thing, but it looked so terrible...I wouldn't want to bring my Mom here because it makes what is otherwise a beautiful space look very run down.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect evening with old friends and new ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Perfect evening with old friends and new ones. Incredible food and super friendly, helpful staff.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place great service and great food ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Great place great service and great food! Did I say great? Yes great :) Oysters are excellent quality and the presentation excellent! I literally stopped eating the dozens at legals seafood because I could taste the difference. Pricing is good. I miss the HOT donut dessert, the more recent one is meh (disappointed). Go more amazing on the dessert menu. Seriously make it clash and different ... While abiding by your solid menu. Chowder was fine Bread started ho hum fine. I prefer more zesty crusty cheese salty over the unflare of pumpernickel ish like bread...but I digress. Wait staff was excellent ! All of them did great! I appreciate that very Much!

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Superb oysters and overall excellent sea ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Superb oysters and overall excellent seafood. Waitress was efficient but without pleasantries. Food arrived in a matter of minutes, which was too fast to enjoy our cocktails. Price point was aggressive. Very easy to reach from the city and right across from Kenmore T station. As we were in Boston only 2 days I was interested in trying one of the city's best seafood places, one that takes reservations and was easy to get to without a car, and it did not disappoint in any of those respects.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome

Dined on April 20, 2016

Everything was perfect. Good was amazing service was great and drinks were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious seafood.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Enjoyed dinner with friends and sharing seafood platter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pearls of Wisdom

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

I tried "pearls" (mezcal) in my oysters for the first time and was able to enjoy types of oysters I didn't like in the past. The lobster roll was amazing as advertised. The decor makes me feel like I am right next to sea. Very pretty and relaxing atmosphere, very delicious food, very enjoyable time. I'd definitely make another visit during my next trip to Boston!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters!!!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Sunday brunch is amazing. Try the biscuits and pork gravy with fried oysters.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great spot before the game

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

We grabbed brunch at Island Creek before the sox game. Food and drinks were great! Nice way to start a Sunday-funday at Fenway :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oyster Heaven

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was my second time at Island Creek, my husband's first. He was as impressed as I was, and he doesn't even eat oysters. He ordered the fish and chips and was totally in love - the garlic aioli putting him over the top. I ordered a sampling of raw oysters (the Island Creek was my favorite), two oyster sliders, and the mesclun salad with champagne vinaigrette. All was outstanding. Couple that with exceptional service, great wine, and we were in heaven. It was a great way to start Marathon Weekend!

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night on the town

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was amazing! This place was recommended by a friend who frequents Boston. Quality and presentation were wonderful. Can't wait to return for the marathon next year to have dinner here again!!

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pre -game!

Dined on April 16, 2016

My son and I had a late lunch before a Red Sox game. His birthday, so a bottle of Champagne - sommelier was summoned but didn't add much - very nice guy, though. Waiter knew his oysters and the selection we picked was outstanding! My son had the lobster roll which was excellent ( and we know our lobster rolls!). I had a fried clam special which was disappointing - Ipswich River, they claim, but pretty tasteless and not lots of belly. Too much chewiness. Also, they had two portion sizes, and the waiter suggested that the smaller size was tiny. It would have been plenty for me - I'm older! The fries were terrific, though. We like it there, and it is a great place before a game. I'd stick with the oysters and lobster roll, and probably the outstanding beer selection - better value.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

I wanted to live this place. I read grea ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

I wanted to live this place. I read great reviews and was super excited to try it. We had reservations for two at 9 PM. We arrived on time yet the hostess seated two couples ahead of us. When I asked her about it, she shrugged off my concerns. I ordered oysters which were very good. We also got the ceviche which was basically a mouthful for each of us. Although the flavor was very good. The salmon tartare had absolutely no flavor whatsoever. I could've gotten better at Trader Joe's. We also ordered the smoked pate. There was no smoke to this at all! I don't know why they described it as smoked. None of the food was bad, it just did not live up to the hype.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best oysters I've ever had!

Dined on April 14, 2016

we had a fantastic dinner for my birthday. Service was impeccable and the oysters were shucked perfectly. A bit expensive but worth every penny. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Where's the fish?

Dined on April 11, 2016

My husband and I had dinner after the Red Sox opener. We ordered 6 Island creek oysters, too briney, 2 shrimp, too dry, bowl of lobster bisque, more like a cup and tasteless, and a fish sandwich that we could hardly find the fish in. We had a couple of drinks and the bill was 105.00 before tip. Ouch! Don't mind spending the money if we left satisfied. Won't go back, won't recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Favorite Boston restaurant

Dined on April 10, 2016

We found this place the last time we visited Boston. The seafood is SPECTACULAR! We love the decor & the atmosphere too! We don't get to come to Boston much, but when we do - we make time for a stop here!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A seafood place that is not at all touristy

Dined on April 9, 2016

We have had so many good meals here, coming down from NH for various concerts and games in the Fenway neighborhood. It has never disappointed. On this particular day we sat in the back dining room for the first time and the service was so top-notch. Our waiter was very attentive but never once overbearing. And the chef managed to elevate a vegetable side dish to such elegant and exciting proportions....I often order the lobster roll which I did on this evening, and even throughout the rest of my night, I was delighting in the flavors and textures that had come together in something with as few ingredients as a lobster roll. We will return, as will the newbies that we brought with us this time (and they ordered burgers!!!)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Island Creek Oyster Bar - a hidden gem

Dined on April 7, 2016

This venue is hidden next to the hotel but once inside is inviting and delicious! Menu was varied and loaded with signature dishes. The staff was courteous, busy with all kinds of folks, and vibrant with conversation.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Delicious: oysters, lobster roll (solid ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Delicious: oysters, lobster roll (solid lobster, killer roll), monkfish. Look forward to returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Oysters and a Great Restaurant overall

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We had a great time at Island Creek, the staff was very helpful explaining the many choices of oysters, and we really enjoyed our picks, so fresh and tasty. The wine list was quite interesting, with great and out-of-the-ordinary choices. The rest of the menu was also creative, e.g. the cod was perfectly cooked and the accompaniment suited it well. We would happily go to Island Creek again and highly recommend it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.