About Island Creek Oyster Bar

500 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Island Creek Oyster Bar is named simply after our farmer, built on the ideal of bringing guests closer to the farm. Chef Jeremy Sewall offers a daily changing menu with a raw bar featuring Island Creek Oysters and an updated, seasonal selection of New England seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Cross Street:
Kenmore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 532-5300

Website:
http://www.islandcreekoysterbar.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in and around Kenmore Square, or we offer valet for $16.

Public Transit:
Kenmore

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Sewall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Assorted Raw Oysters
Island Creek oysters
Lobster Roe Noodles
Oysters
buttermilk biscuit
No Shell Prince Edward Island Mussels
Ethel's Lobster Roll
Banoffee
Lobster Slider
Fried Softshell Clams
Smoked Steelhead Trout
Halibut With Ricotta Gnocchi
Smoked Bluefish Pate
Crispy Oyster Slider, Brioche Roll, Lime Chile Aioli
Fried Ipswich Clams
Lobster Roe Noodles, Braised Short Rib, Grilled Lobster, Oyster Mushrooms, Pecorino
Complimentary Cake With Peanut Butter Cream
Pineapple Dto
Crispy Oyster Sliders
Pan Fried Jonah Crab Cake
Clam Chowder
Seared Sea Scallops
Shrimp Cocktail
Crispy Island Creek Oyster Sliders
Brown Butter Roasted Lobster
Lobster Omelette
Kumamoto, Daisy Bay Oysters And Lobster Ceviche
Donuts With Lavender Cream
Island Creek And Rocky Nook Oysters
Mimosa
Ricotta Gnocchi With Lobster
Monkfisk
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Lobster Roll Sandwich
Scallops
lobster noodles
Oyster Slider
Soft Shell Crab
Monkfish With Lamb Ravioli
raw oysters
Bloody Maria
lobster roll
Sea Scallops
Cod With Spring Vegetable Chowder
New England Clam Chowder
Rhode Island Monkfish
Burger With Fried Oyster
Salmon Tartare
Lobster Bisque
La Chouffe
Fried Calamari
Oyster Shooter
Mussels
Fried Clams
Belon Oysters
Corn Parsnip Soup With Ancho Shrimp
Strawberry Shortcake With Basil Ice Cream
Bacon & Eggs
Lobster Roe Pasta With Braised Short Rib And Poached Lobster Tail
Lobster Roe Pasta
Bartlett Pear Huckleberry Crumble
Scallop Ceviche
Striped Bass Fritters
Chocolate torte
Chicken
Fried Oyster Sliders
Grilled Farrow Island Salmon
Sriracha Fries
Clover Club
Chorizo Hash
Fish Sandwich
Soft Shell Crab Sandwich
First light Oysters
Smoked Salmon Scramble
garden salad
Grapefruit Sorbet
Oysters And Prawns
Doughnuts
Jack Rose Cocktail
Bittersweet Chocolate Torte With Milk Stout Ice Cream And Candied Peanuts
Kumamoto oysters
Cole Slaw
Misty Point Oysters
Harpoon IPA
Coconut And Pineapple Angel Food Cake
East Coast Halibut, Mustard Spaetzle, Tasso Ham, Caviar Beurre Blanc
Sweet Corn And Lobster Bisque
Paper Schooner
Raw Bar Platter
Clams Casino
crabcake
Seared New Bedford Sea Scallops - Nueske Bacon & Boniato Mash - Apple Guava Glaze.
Roasted brussels sprouts
Striped Bass With Maitake Mushrooms, Sunchokes And Foie Gras Butter
Roasted Beets
Brussel Sprout Petals
Oysters and Shrimp Cocktail
Burger
monkfish
Fried oyster slider @icobar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Island Creek Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston / New England
Most Booked
Boston / New England
Seafood
Boston
1 More
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Kenmore Square / Fenway ›

fit for foodies (179)
special occasion (129)
hot spot (100)
See All
good for groups (98)
vibrant bar scene (79)
neighborhood gem (73)
notable wine list (57)
great for lunch (57)
romantic (54)
great for brunch (43)
late-night find (27)
kid-friendly (9)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We made a reservation for lunch to celeb ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

We made a reservation for lunch to celebrate our granddaughter's 16th birthday. On the menu, the restaurant printed a happy birthday, and wrote the same in chocolate on her dessert plate. She felt very special! The food was wonderful and we will definitely return.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. We'd been before ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. We'd been before, but at night. We love our first brunch there. Great Crispy Oyster Sliders. Yum!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu looked great and the food sound ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The menu looked great and the food sounded amazing, but it was not as good as it sounded. The Chocolate Croissant French Toast was doused in chocolate and extremely buttery to the point where both the chocolate and butter were somewhat nauseating. The fish sandwich and its bun were also quite buttery. While both items were quite tasty to begin with, attempting to finish our meals left us both a little sick from this heavy meal. Neither of us would get these items again. We'd recommend getting the chocolate on the side to leave its use to the diner's discretion and would suggest that the restaurant use less butters and oils and find ways to make these dishes a lot lighter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

First time and will be back.

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 7 days ago

First time and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent atmosphere, food and drink. Se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, food and drink. Service was great too. Loved it and we will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The raw bar is really good. We did the p ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The raw bar is really good. We did the platter and 2 dozen of other oysters. But the entries at lunch is just mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome oysters. Menu offers a variety ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Awesome oysters. Menu offers a variety of east coast oysters, various flavors. Didn't disappoint. Would have like some time at the bar to enjoy the ambiance but it's a full service bar...no place for drinkers.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very good and so was the s ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was very good and so was the service with one caveat. While our server was professional and polite, couldn't help but notice that he seemed disappointed that we did not order more oysters or a bottle of wine, and that one of the members of our 3 person party did not order an entry. Despite this, we enjoyed our meal, would come back, and would recommend Island Creek Oyster Bar. The oyster sliders and the lobster roll was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Another wonderful meal from the sea and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Another wonderful meal from the sea and the service was absolutely fabulous. I will keep coming back for more.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant! One of the best place ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great restaurant! One of the best places in Boston. The oysters are farm grown and it is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will never use open table again. Giv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Will never use open table again. Given no option to make a reservation after 2:00. When we arrived and for the next 1 1/2 hours, at least 33% of the tables were empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Loved everything about this restaurant. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved everything about this restaurant. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly slow service - we were there ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Incredibly slow service - we were there for a quick lunch and it took almost two hours. Not sure where the disconnect was... the waiter did recommend a great rose and give us the name, but we never got bread after sitting down, our drinks took a half hour to get, and the food over an hour. This was at noon on Saturday, the restaurant wasn't even overly busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Frequenter, incredible food, great servi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Frequenter, incredible food, great service, and even better ambiance! Favorite spot in the city

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are visiting Boston, do not miss ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

If you are visiting Boston, do not miss this place!!! Top seafood, great oysters, nice ambiance and great service (our waiter Justin)!!! We (my wife, daughter and myself) loved!!!

My tip in Boston: avoid Atlantic Fish Co!!! Nasty service and overpriced seafod!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Amazing food and we had really wonderful ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Amazing food and we had really wonderful service. I love to torment waiters and ours took it in stride. I would recommend highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic. Service was great. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service was great. Drinks from the bar were well made.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Islands Creek Oyster Bar was amazing fin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Islands Creek Oyster Bar was amazing find! Oysters are perfectly fresh and variety is excellent. Probably best New England clam chowder I had so far and that blackened tuna...mmm...I can have it every day! Great service also. Next time I'm in Boston, I'm definitely back there for dinner

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters and bluefin tuna was exceptional

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Oysters and bluefin tuna was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I haven't been there in years. When it ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I haven't been there in years. When it first opened and it was stuffy and fancy. I went back and the inside was amazingly redesigned - great balance between a really nice restaurent (tall ceilings - some real thought into the design and casually comfortable). The bartender was a great balance between friendly, helpful but not intrusive. He crafted cocktails for us off of his personal list. The food was great - biscuits and gravy, lobster roll, oysters and an oyster slider. I have already been recommending friends to go if they've pasted it over. really happy with the experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I am a long time fan of ICB. I am never ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I am a long time fan of ICB. I am never disappointed. We were celebrating my 60th birthday and it was wonderful. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner I had at Island Creek was ama ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The dinner I had at Island Creek was amazing . The service was exceptional and the food was world class. The oysters we had were fresh and delicious. The starter of smoked bluefish pate was not only tasty but also innovative. My entree of Hudson Canyon Tile fish was cooked to perfection. You don't often see Tile fish being served in restaurants so I was excited to see it on the menu. I have dined in restaurants around the world and this one of my favorites.

If your a seafood lover in Boston there is no better place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Awesome food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food here was exactly what we were hopin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food here was exactly what we were hoping for! Fried clams and fresh raw bar options were delicious. Beer and wine were both good too. Only thing holding this place back is the service. Which is not ok considering the dining bill for two people can easily reach $75-$100 if you are there for fresh raw bar. Not sure if it was just that specific server, but the gentleman we had didn't come back once to ask how things were, refill our drinks, nothing. He was awful and the worst part is we watched him walk by dozens of times. He literally wandered aimelessly. Too bad too because they totally could've talked us into several more beers and wines $$ had they been more attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

Food was impeccable, though portions are ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was impeccable, though portions are modest to right size. Prices are upper-end for cuisine and location but offset by food quality. Environment is bright, energetic and overly-infused with music volume. Would recommend for the under-50 crowd that has deep pockets and a penchant for good cuisine. Service came off somewhat snobbish this visit whereas last time it was real, genuine and enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The oysters were amazing! I would go ba ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The oysters were amazing! I would go back for the raw bar. The restaurant needed more servers. The table next to us complained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This restaurant has an excellent selecti ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This restaurant has an excellent selection of local native oysters. The lobster omelet, lobster roll and fish and chips plates all were attractive, tasted good and good portions.

The restaurant is in Kenmore Square which is

A great starting point for walking to the Charles River, the bridge or a Red Sox game.

Do check if there is a Red Sox game at the Fenway. If there's a game, leave more time to plan for parking.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent place! Best lobster roll!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent place! Best lobster roll!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid brunch spot near Fenway. Lobster o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Solid brunch spot near Fenway. Lobster omelet was very good, but I would stay away from the beans, bacon and egg platter. It wasn't bad, but was not filling and dish was rather ordinary. The Bloody Mary, on the other hand, was excellent! Also, the pastry basket is filled with heavy cake-like items (for example, a very rich banana chocolate bread and double glazed chocolate donought). We ate two of the 5 pastry offerings and brought the rest home as they were simply too rich to eat with brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was still good but not as except ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Service was still good but not as exceptional so to speak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I LOVE OYSTERS NOW BECAUSE OF ICOB. I've ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I LOVE OYSTERS NOW BECAUSE OF ICOB. I've never had a raw oyster experience before today. Absolutely amazing! Tasty! I hope to come by again!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had dinner here while visiting Boston ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We had dinner here while visiting Boston and knew the seafood would be delicious based on the favorable Yelp reviews. Our waiter was excellent - he went over each type of oyster with us even down to the taste. The oysters were absolutely delicious and true to his recommendations! If we lived in Boston this would be a regular spot for us. If you are visiting, this is a must!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Server is awesome! He help us with m ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our Server is awesome! He help us with my plan of surprising my husband. Food is great. Thank you Island Creek Oyster Bar

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic seafood; great location in Ken ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Fantastic seafood; great location in Kenmore Square.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were seated promptly for our 6 p.m. r ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We were seated promptly for our 6 p.m. reservation. Food was delicious - oysters, lobster roe noodles, fish and chips. The waiter recommended a white Burgandy wine which was delicious. Great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great selection of oysters! Wonderful s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great selection of oysters! Wonderful service. Hope to go back when we visit Boston in the future!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Oysters are so delicious. The price is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Oysters are so delicious. The price is reasonable.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Celebrated my 30th birthday here with fa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Celebrated my 30th birthday here with family and it was a great experience. I have been here before but the waitress provided great knowledge of all the fish and excellent service. Also knew her wine list and was able to recommend one to me that I loved. Will be coming back 100%!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite spots in Boston.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of my favorite spots in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding and memorable!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Outstanding and memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.