About Island Creek Oyster Bar

500 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Island Creek Oyster Bar is named simply after our farmer, built on the ideal of bringing guests closer to the farm. Chef Jeremy Sewall offers a daily changing menu with a raw bar featuring Island Creek Oysters and an updated, seasonal selection of New England seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Cross Street:
Kenmore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 532-5300

Website:
http://www.islandcreekoysterbar.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in and around Kenmore Square, or we offer valet for $16.

Public Transit:
Kenmore

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Sewall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Assorted Raw Oysters
Island Creek oysters
Lobster Roe Noodles
Oysters
buttermilk biscuit
Ethel's Lobster Roll
No Shell Prince Edward Island Mussels
Fried Softshell Clams
Banoffee
Lobster Slider
Smoked Steelhead Trout
Halibut With Ricotta Gnocchi
Smoked Bluefish Pate
Crispy Oyster Slider, Brioche Roll, Lime Chile Aioli
Fried Ipswich Clams
Lobster Roe Noodles, Braised Short Rib, Grilled Lobster, Oyster Mushrooms, Pecorino
Complimentary Cake With Peanut Butter Cream
Pineapple Dto
Crispy Oyster Sliders
Clam Chowder
Pan Fried Jonah Crab Cake
Salmon Tartare
Striped Bass Fritters
Seared Sea Scallops
Shrimp Cocktail
Crispy Island Creek Oyster Sliders
Brown Butter Roasted Lobster
Lobster Omelette
Kumamoto, Daisy Bay Oysters And Lobster Ceviche
Donuts With Lavender Cream
Island Creek And Rocky Nook Oysters
Mimosa
Ricotta Gnocchi With Lobster
Monkfisk
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Lobster Roll Sandwich
Scallops
lobster noodles
Oyster Slider
Soft Shell Crab
Monkfish With Lamb Ravioli
raw oysters
Bloody Maria
lobster roll
Sea Scallops
Cod With Spring Vegetable Chowder
New England Clam Chowder
Rhode Island Monkfish
Burger With Fried Oyster
Lobster Bisque
La Chouffe
Fried Calamari
Oyster Shooter
Mussels
Fried Clams
Belon Oysters
Corn Parsnip Soup With Ancho Shrimp
Strawberry Shortcake With Basil Ice Cream
Bacon & Eggs
Lobster Roe Pasta With Braised Short Rib And Poached Lobster Tail
Lobster Roe Pasta
Bartlett Pear Huckleberry Crumble
Scallop Ceviche
Chocolate torte
Chicken
Fried Oyster Sliders
Grilled Farrow Island Salmon
Sriracha Fries
Clover Club
Chorizo Hash
Fish Sandwich
Soft Shell Crab Sandwich
First light Oysters
Smoked Salmon Scramble
garden salad
Grapefruit Sorbet
Oysters And Prawns
Doughnuts
Jack Rose Cocktail
Bittersweet Chocolate Torte With Milk Stout Ice Cream And Candied Peanuts
Kumamoto oysters
Cole Slaw
Misty Point Oysters
Harpoon IPA
Coconut And Pineapple Angel Food Cake
East Coast Halibut, Mustard Spaetzle, Tasso Ham, Caviar Beurre Blanc
Sweet Corn And Lobster Bisque
Paper Schooner
Raw Bar Platter
Clams Casino
crabcake
Seared New Bedford Sea Scallops - Nueske Bacon & Boniato Mash - Apple Guava Glaze.
Roasted brussels sprouts
Striped Bass With Maitake Mushrooms, Sunchokes And Foie Gras Butter
Roasted Beets
Brussel Sprout Petals
Oysters and Shrimp Cocktail
Burger
monkfish
Fried oyster slider @icobar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Island Creek Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston / New England
Most Booked
Boston / New England
Seafood
Boston
1 More
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Kenmore Square / Fenway ›

fit for foodies (178)
special occasion (133)
good for groups (114)
See All
hot spot (102)
vibrant bar scene (81)
neighborhood gem (70)
great for lunch (58)
romantic (55)
notable wine list (53)
great for brunch (36)
late-night find (28)
kid-friendly (9)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated promptly for our 6 p.m. r ...

Dined 4 days ago

We were seated promptly for our 6 p.m. reservation. Food was delicious - oysters, lobster roe noodles, fish and chips. The waiter recommended a white Burgandy wine which was delicious. Great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great selection of oysters! Wonderful s ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great selection of oysters! Wonderful service. Hope to go back when we visit Boston in the future!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Oysters are so delicious. The price is ...

Dined on June 25, 2016

Oysters are so delicious. The price is reasonable.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my 30th birthday here with fa ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

Celebrated my 30th birthday here with family and it was a great experience. I have been here before but the waitress provided great knowledge of all the fish and excellent service. Also knew her wine list and was able to recommend one to me that I loved. Will be coming back 100%!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite spots in Boston.

Dined on June 24, 2016

One of my favorite spots in Boston.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect spot to go after th ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

This was the perfect spot to go after the Red Sox game!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place to go to before a Sox game. ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Great place to go to before a Sox game. Love the Oysters. Always a good selection.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Their eponymous raw oysters were super ( ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Their eponymous raw oysters were super (@$2.75), and super cold, as were their sauces; their Pan Fried Jonah Crab Cake (w/Pistachio Relish, Pickled Ramp Aioli)($16) was spot on; their Steamed Littleneck Clams (w/Rosemary Fennel Broth, ICOB bacon, Scallion Butter ($15) was largely successful, the broth a bit too salty; their honey-laden Buttermilk Biscuit ($5) gives Tiffany Faison's Sweet Cheeks a run for their money; the Lemon Balm Ice Cream was delicious ($3/scoop), and the Raspberry/Peach Cream Tart ($10) was ethereally rich and buttery, but with an unnecessary, excessively sweet sauce with hardened peach tidbits. The other "negative" was bland Fish & Chips ($21), w/Beer Batter and a Malt Vinegar Aioli that couldn't do enough to improve upon the blandness of the rest. The Orieux Muscadet and Wieninger Grun Veltliner were fine accompaniments, as was the decaf coffee. The rye bread was so good we asked for, and received, extras to go. Thanks to Lindsay for her service.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lobster rolls!

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Great lobster rolls!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Friday afternoon before game at Fenway. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Friday afternoon before game at Fenway. Excellent oysters as always, but otherwise not exceptional. Great bread, but plain butter would have been fine. Honey butter with whatever was in it seemed gimmicky. Interesting and good beverage recommendations (beer and Cava). Quahog chowder had few potatoes, fewer clams and a lot of bacon. Could have been listed as bacon chowder. Crab cakes ok, not bad. Overtly sweet desert. Good coffee. Good service, but waiter was probably covering more tables than optimal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an awesome experience! We were ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This was an awesome experience! We were promptly greeted and because we were a little early, we were seated at a great bar table where we could see everything including the oyster bar. Our server was great - very thorough and gave us just the right amount of attention and paced the meal perfectly. The oysters were amazing, of course, and it was great to have a sparkling and a still rose. The General Manager stopped by and thoroughly described the fish choices so we were able to try two things we've never eaten (tilefish and bluefish) and were completely besotted with both. The tilefish has just the perfect balance of savory and sweet and the gnocchi were the most tender things ever. Seriously, I was a little verklempt. We had to try dessert even tho we were headed to the Red Sox game and the sundae was great. When we make it back to Boston we'll definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A friend and I were in Boston for vacati ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

A friend and I were in Boston for vacation. We saw this place had really good reviews so we thought we would give it a try. It was amazing!!!! It is not only a beautiful restaurant but the food and service was A+++. My friend is a big raw bar fan and ordered the Island Creek oysters, said they were the best she's ever had. I don't eat seafood so I ordered the roasted chicken dish. It was definitely the best chicken I have ever had!! We still rave about this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

I already wrote a review on your web pag ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I already wrote a review on your web page on Facebook. We saw your restaurant had great reviews. We decided to celebrate our anniversary there with our oldest children and take in a Ted Sox game. We were not greeted nicely. When we sat down we had several waiters and never saw them. The clam chowder was burned and smelled of smoke the potatoes were not cooked. Our dinners were awful!!! No one ate a thing and we were never asked how our food was. The experience was just awful, totally not worth the money. For an anniversary dinner it was a huge disappointment. We will not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We ordered raw bar sampler. The oyster ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We ordered raw bar sampler. The oysters were the best I've had. They were the local catch. Our server was very knowledgeable and helpful with our beer selection. The menu is pric, but we would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for Sunday brunch. Oysters were ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch. Oysters were fresh & delicious. Oyster slider was great as well. The green salad was outstanding. Lobster bisque & lobster omelet were OK. The Bloody Marys were the standout. Veggie infused vodka, nice amount of horseradish. One of the best I've ever had! And a lovely atmosphere.

food4
ambience4
service4

Sat at the same table I was at the first ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Sat at the same table I was at the first time I was here. The oysters were fantastic and the soft shell crab excellent. The biscuit with honey and butter was sublime. Always a great meal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate my aunts 60th birth ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We came to celebrate my aunts 60th birthday, and it was WONDERFUL. We're from Duxbury so we've always loved ICOB, and we are never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, and nice atmosphere.

Dined on June 6, 2016

Not cheap, but absolutely worth it. perfect to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Food and service was great! I ordered fi ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Food and service was great! I ordered fish and chips for dinner. It was great and the bread for the table was so good also.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh seafood and thoughtful service

Dined on June 4, 2016

Island Creek Oyster Bar was wonderful for our party of 8 -- we were comfortable and got to try oysters, a salad and our lunch entrees. The oysters are a treat . Perfectly shucked and succulent, without sand or that fishy smell! Our favorite entree was the lobster roll. The warm buttery roll was lightly toasted and the lobster meat wasn't overwhelmed by seasoning or mayo. The portions are generous and we packed leftovers for a very enjoyable meal the next day!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a very nice lunch at Island Creek ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a very nice lunch at Island Creek. They were very accommodating when we showed up at 12:15pm and were told the reservation was for 11:30pm (this was very surprising since I had spoken to the host at 10:30am to confirm). The service staff was very attentive and the meal was timed very well. The lunch menu is pretty limited, but all party members found something we enjoyed. Food was excellent. After lunch, someone in the party left a cardigan at the table. Island Creek contacted us to let us know!!! This is unheard of!! Thank you so much!!!

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great way to kick off a Sox game!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Took the family (wife and 12 & 13 year old) for a pre-game meal and the food was great. Chatham oysters were really tasty and the biscuit was so good we ordered another! The service was so-so, didn't seem like they had their stuff together since the wine took a while to be served after the oysters (we had to ask).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food that is reasonably priced

Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband raved about the Oyster sliders. I absolutely loved the asparagus and mushrooms which we ordered for the table. Fresh, flavorful, and more than enough for two. We also got the 1/2 lobster which was bigger than most regular whole lobsters. It was chilled and very fresh. The drinks were perfect. I wish they served steamed oysters too, but other than that, it was a near perfect experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant in Boston

Dined on June 3, 2016

As always, never disappointed!! Best oysters in town!! Service was outstanding by all. Will return again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

outta towners

Dined on June 3, 2016

We saw it listed on tripadvisor, It was only okay. It was overpriced and a bit pretentious, and omg horribly loud. Our server was super awesome. (Wish I could remember her name, Partially shaved head, awesome, super funny). It was not worth the $.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressed every time!

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Without question, one of the consistently best restaurants in Boston! The oysters are wonderful, the cocktails are inventive and delicious, and the staff are outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

If you love oysters, this is the place ... BUT

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

We love oysters and enjoyed a wide selection. They truly have the best selection around. However, everything else that we have tried on the menu has been so-so to poor. We have come to the restaurant multiple times and consistently been very disappointed in the food. If we come back, we will just get oysters and then have a full dinner somewhere else. Much of the rather expensive food is poorly prepared, loaded with oils and fats, and not very tasty. They really need to a kitchen makeover.

food2
ambience3
service3

The restaurant is a beautiful modern tak ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

The restaurant is a beautiful modern take on a seafood joint. Seafood is what we wanted, so we started with oysters, ceviche, and a bowl of chowder. All good, but the food was downhill from there. Our entrees didn't take too long to come out, but the kitchen sent out a small amuse-sized fish croquette while we waited. It looked great but was terribly over-salted. Our main course came out moments later, but my bouillabaisse was not well-seasoned and the lobster and shrimp in it were overcooked. My girlfriend's monkfish was not flaky and also overcooked like it had been sitting under a heat lamp. Additionally, drinks took too long. A draft beer I ordered took too long and my martini took at least 20 minutes. Our server was fine, not great. Because of how hungry we were, we didn't send anything back because we didn't trust a replacement would come out quickly, and most of our food was still edible. Our server was too busy when the check arrived, so we provided our feedback to the hostess stand. We might've had a one-off experience, but we left quite disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lobster roll was amazing! The restau ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The lobster roll was amazing! The restaurant came highly recommended and didn't disappoint. My wife has celiac, so she needs to eat gluten-free. The kitchen made a slight mistep on her salad by leaving off some ingredients she could actually eat. When we told our waitress, she made it her mission to correct the situation. She brought the missing ingredients and brought us each a small scoop of sorbet as a peace offering. The way she handled the situation left us feeling great about the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place for late night dinner after ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great place for late night dinner after the game at Fenway. Oysters were excellent. Ipswich fried clams were good but it was topped on french fries & the qty was less than a handful. Biscuits with baked beans was excellent. Overall a nice place for family dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just fantastic, amazing oysters

Dined on May 27, 2016

I came in from Chicago, and asked my relatives to take me to a great seafood/oyster place, and they recommended Island Creek. Good thing we made reservations a month in advance because the place was packed! By far the Island Creek oysters were the best thing we ate, if not the best oysters I've had in a while! My brother and I shared the Lobster Roe Noodles and the Black Bass and we can't figure out what we liked best - both were delicious. All in all, this place ROCKED!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent place to dine. We got there ea ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent place to dine. We got there early and it took a bit to get service started. Once we were able to get started it was very good. Our waitress was seated 4 tables at once and was training so this contributed to the rocky start.

food4
ambience2
service4

Great. Order the oysters.

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great. Order the oysters.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Superb oysters

Dined on May 26, 2016

As a Californian, I never knew East Coast oysters could be so good. Served absolutely fresh, absolutely cold, these were some of the best oysters I've ever had. Also had the lobster roll: tremendous. Very little mayo, lots of lobster meat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Not so special brunch!

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to Island Creek for a graduation brunch, and were very disappointed. the brunch menu is limited, our waiter was horrible, inattentive, terrible listening, really slow. Other service was good, but could not make up for his lack of skills.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been trying for forever to get a re ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Have been trying for forever to get a reservation. Finally got one and wasn't disappointed. The service and food were excellent. Of course we had the oysters - delicious. Each of the 4 of us had a different fish entry and all licked our plates clean. Did find the menu limiting so would recommend you look online unless you a little picky. We had a lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

They have a variety of great oyster sele ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

They have a variety of great oyster selections. Very fresh oysters.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Second visit, disappointing

Dined on May 17, 2016

We were eager to share a previous positive experience with family who were visiting from abroad. While the female server was warm and lovely and the appetizers tasty, each of our entrees was just okay. Losbster rolls at $29 were too finely chopped claw meat, bouillabaisse lacking taste and sufficient soup stock, tautog fish dish bland and uninspired. A Tuesday nite so weekend crowds could not be the reason for an expensive and just okay meal.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had such a wonderful time celebrating ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I had such a wonderful time celebrating my birthday here last week. Amanda (the hostess) was incredibly accommodating for my older parents and Justin (our server) made the meal exceptional from start to finish. It was not my first trip to Island Creek and it most assuredly will not be my last.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. The staff was very ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food was excellent. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Was a real find. Would recommend to anyone looking for great food and a fantastic atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.