About Island Creek Oyster Bar

500 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Island Creek Oyster Bar is named simply after our farmer, built on the ideal of bringing guests closer to the farm. Chef Jeremy Sewall offers a daily changing menu with a raw bar featuring Island Creek Oysters and an updated, seasonal selection of New England seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Cross Street:
Kenmore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 532-5300

Website:
http://www.islandcreekoysterbar.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in and around Kenmore Square, or we offer valet for $16.

Public Transit:
Kenmore

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Sewall

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Assorted Raw Oysters
Oysters
Lobster Roe Noodles
Island Creek oysters
crabcake
buttermilk biscuit
No Shell Prince Edward Island Mussels
Ethel's Lobster Roll
Banoffee
Lobster Slider
Fried Softshell Clams
Smoked Steelhead Trout
Halibut With Ricotta Gnocchi
Smoked Bluefish Pate
Crispy Oyster Slider, Brioche Roll, Lime Chile Aioli
Pineapple Dto
Complimentary Cake With Peanut Butter Cream
Lobster Roe Noodles, Braised Short Rib, Grilled Lobster, Oyster Mushrooms, Pecorino
Fried Ipswich Clams
Crispy Oyster Sliders
Pan Fried Jonah Crab Cake
Seared Sea Scallops
Shrimp Cocktail
Crispy Island Creek Oyster Sliders
Brown Butter Roasted Lobster
Lobster Omelette
Kumamoto, Daisy Bay Oysters And Lobster Ceviche
Island Creek And Rocky Nook Oysters
Mimosa
Donuts With Lavender Cream
Ricotta Gnocchi With Lobster
Monkfisk
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Lobster Roll Sandwich
Scallops
lobster noodles
Oyster Slider
Soft Shell Crab
raw oysters
Monkfish With Lamb Ravioli
Bloody Maria
lobster roll
Sea Scallops
Cod With Spring Vegetable Chowder
New England Clam Chowder
Rhode Island Monkfish
Burger With Fried Oyster
Salmon Tartare
Clam Chowder
Lobster Bisque
Fried Calamari
La Chouffe
Fried Clams
Oyster Shooter
Mussels
Belon Oysters
Corn Parsnip Soup With Ancho Shrimp
Strawberry Shortcake With Basil Ice Cream
Bacon & Eggs
Lobster Roe Pasta With Braised Short Rib And Poached Lobster Tail
Lobster Roe Pasta
Bartlett Pear Huckleberry Crumble
Scallop Ceviche
Striped Bass Fritters
Chicken
Fried Oyster Sliders
Chocolate torte
Grilled Farrow Island Salmon
Sriracha Fries
Clover Club
Chorizo Hash
Fish Sandwich
Soft Shell Crab Sandwich
First light Oysters
Smoked Salmon Scramble
garden salad
Oysters And Prawns
Grapefruit Sorbet
Doughnuts
Bittersweet Chocolate Torte With Milk Stout Ice Cream And Candied Peanuts
Jack Rose Cocktail
Kumamoto oysters
Cole Slaw
Misty Point Oysters
Harpoon IPA
East Coast Halibut, Mustard Spaetzle, Tasso Ham, Caviar Beurre Blanc
Coconut And Pineapple Angel Food Cake
Sweet Corn And Lobster Bisque
Paper Schooner
Raw Bar Platter
Clams Casino
Brussel Sprout Petals
Seared New Bedford Sea Scallops - Nueske Bacon & Boniato Mash - Apple Guava Glaze.
Roasted brussels sprouts
Roasted Beets
Striped Bass With Maitake Mushrooms, Sunchokes And Foie Gras Butter
Oysters and Shrimp Cocktail
Burger
Fried oyster slider @icobar
monkfish

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Island Creek Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston / New England
Seafood
Boston
Best Restaurants in Kenmore Square / Fenway ›

Fit for Foodies (150)
Special Occasion (102)
Hot Spot (85)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (72)
Good for Groups (71)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Notable Wine List (51)
Romantic (49)
Great for Lunch (37)
Great for Brunch (33)
Local Ingredients (19)
Late-night Find (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Fun (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
People Watching (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2560 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

overall It's Ok, staff were friendly, ju ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 2 days ago

overall It's Ok, staff were friendly, just want to complain about the temperature indoors, I got almost frozen and had to put on my sweater, just wanna get cosy on a Sunday morning , obviously one could not do it here at the oyster bar. The lobster omelet served with a large portion of undercooked potatoes. I ordered three oysters, highlight of the day. ate em raw, and I felt like in heaven! would consider a second visit as long as they make it warmer inside the restaurant.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Awesome oysters. Pretty standard pricing ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome oysters. Pretty standard pricing (those things ain't free/cheap), but huge variety for oysters. Great wine, good times. Will be back to eat off the actual menu

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had reservations for two. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I had reservations for two. We sat at the bar while we waited for or table but enjoyed the bar so much we gave up our table and eat at the bar. The place is beautiful and the service is great. Very talented bartenders that definitely know what they are doing. The food was delicious. They had a great selection of oysters which we enjoyed. I strongly recommend the lobster roe noodles. They are a staple there and I completely understand why! If you're in town for a couple of days you have to try this place for sure. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing and server was awesome. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing and server was awesome. Service is a huge part of how I value an experience so I would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've organized multiple business and fri ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

I've organized multiple business and friend/family gatherings here. My biggest take away ? You can never ever go wrong.....Always so fresh, unique food pairings and the food presentation itself is perfect! (I live minutes from where Island Creek Oysters are farmed, I'm an oyster addict, but even for those who are not this is the perfect place!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sevice is good,but food is just soso

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Sevice is good,but food is just soso

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

food was very good but slow in coming. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

food was very good but slow in coming. we had 16 oysters plus ceviche which came out quickly followed by the sliders. Then the smoked fish pate took quiet a bit of time to come out. They apologized for the delay. our entre was the halibut and it also took a little longer than we expected. We enjoyed our experience and I think that the complimentary cake bites made up for the delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Will be back again and again. Best oyst ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Will be back again and again. Best oysters in Boston!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The oysters were fantastic, the cocktail ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The oysters were fantastic, the cocktails were made perfectly. Our waiter Nate was knowledgeable and friendly, never rushing us. Considering the Yankees were in town for a night game the noise level was never to loud and we never felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2pm Sunday had only brunch. Very disapp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

2pm Sunday had only brunch. Very disappointing. Very expensive. Cold atmosphere. Fair service. Oysters were good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Was very excited to celebrate a birthday ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Was very excited to celebrate a birthday lunch with my family at Island Creek. We had a reservation for 1:00pm and all they were serving was a very limited brunch menu. This was surprising as there was no mention on their website what the brunch hours were. I made an assumption that there are other people with food allergies and they would have a gluten free menu. Nope. When I asked our server if they had any gluten free options, it was as if we were asking for the moon - she was like "sorry". Maybe she was having a bad day but Island Creek can do better. I don't have a food allergy but I've dined with many who do and almost every restaurant these days is at least aware and offers options.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was good, service was great.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was good, service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Oyster Sliders and raw Island Creek ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The Oyster Sliders and raw Island Creek oysters were nothing short of amazing. Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable about all of the dishes. Overall very good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've always had positive experiences her ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I've always had positive experiences here and Sunday lunch with my family was no exception. Good service, great oyster selections and a changing menu to keep repeat visits interesting, and fun and modern atmosphere. Just a note that while I appreciate the addition of mocktails on the drinks menu, they should be larger given the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great atmosphere and excelle ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and excellent locations. The menu was a little too pricey for the service that was given. Waitress didn't visit often and wasn't very pleasant. Not what you expect when you pay 5 star prices. Also they ran out of bread for the evening which was a disappointment since I heard great things about the addicting bread. Overall however it was a great restaurant and would definitely go back again. Just please work on the service and the amount of bread you stock.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Leading up to the dinner, we had a very ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Leading up to the dinner, we had a very good experience. We had to add a person to the reservation and had to change the time and they were very accommodating.

The oysters were excellent. The rest of the entrees were pretty good. We got lobster rolls, crab cakes, soup, and one person ordered the halibut. They didn't blow us away but were all very good.

Our main problem was with the service. From the beginning, it seemed like our waiter was displeased with us, despite really trying to be nice to him. Maybe he was having a bad day, but I could see him rolling him eyes at us and talking about us to the other staff under his breath. For the price you're paying I would expect better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Fabulous food, excellent wine suggestion ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fabulous food, excellent wine suggestions and several bonus items made our lunch here so special even though it was simply a day trip to Boston. Both the sommelier, Lindsay and server, Justin made the experience special balancing her vast knowledge with his attentive follow through. It was our best meal out in a long time and we are so

grateful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place always has the most interesti ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This place always has the most interesting and vibrant list of fresh local oysters. Why would you go anywhere else? And the Biscuit -- which is drenched in honey is to die for!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We live an hour or so from Boston but we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We live an hour or so from Boston but we were in town for a Red Sox-Yankees game. We invited my daughter who works in Cambridge to join us for dinner before the game. It was easy for her to get there as the T is right next door to the restaurant. Also, she is not currently eating fish so we were a little worried what she would find. After an appetizer of our favorite oysters, my husband and I ordered the night's special of Bluefin Tuna with a risotto cake--yummy. The good news was my daughter had a hamburger and said it was fantastic. A seafood restaurant that can also do a great burger--really good!!! The server was very helpful in picking out a good beer and was exceptionally knowledgeable about the entire menu. The atmosphere here always seems festive. Oh ,,,,and yes the Sox won.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Must have is the lobster roe noodles! It ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Must have is the lobster roe noodles! It has to be the best thing I have ever eaten.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional as always! Their oysters are ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Exceptional as always! Their oysters are the BEST! Seafood is always fresh and perfectly cooked. This time i got Tilefish for the first time, and i loved it. Flaky white fish with potato gnocchi, finished everything till the last drop. Wish I could eat like that every day... You will never go wrong with this restaurant!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. delicious food, great ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great as always. delicious food, great service, great wine.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for an early dinner before the H ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We went for an early dinner before the Huntington Theater's 7:30 show. We were very happy with the service and the food. They even accommodated us early as we arrived earlier than we had originally intended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Seafood is very fresh, but way too expen ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Seafood is very fresh, but way too expensive for what it's worth. Overrated.

Will not come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Creative dishes with very fresh local se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Creative dishes with very fresh local seafood. Wonderful oysters and terrific service. Kudos !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Every time we visit Boston, we eat at Is ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Every time we visit Boston, we eat at Island Creek and we go 3 times a year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, atmosphere and service excellent a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food, atmosphere and service excellent as usual. It's a must have when we are in Boston!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Normally we love and rave about Island C ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Normally we love and rave about Island Creek. However, this time the service and experience was a little rocky. Our server was new and didn't know the menu, and we had to have our order fixed a few times. Mix that with a large party of intoxicated people directly behind us who made it feel like a sports bar rather than a fine dining establishment. After asking to be moved as far away from the party as possible and getting a different server, the rest of the meal was relatively enjoyable. The manager comped our drinks and our oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

My second visit. Just as good as the fir ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

My second visit. Just as good as the first and would go again,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Have been to Island Creek a number of ti ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Have been to Island Creek a number of times, and it always exceeds expectations. Food, services, beverage offerings are always outstanding!!

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First off, Island Creek is a beautifully ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

First off, Island Creek is a beautifully decorated restaurant, has a great vibe, and the food is usually delicious. That being said, this was my second time going to Island Creek for brunch and my second time having incredibly slow waitstaff. Our brunch took 2+ hours (on a Sunday afternoon when the restaurant was NOT full) simply because our waitress refused to come back to check on us after we said we needed "a few more minutes" to look over the menus. Not sure why a few minutes turned into 30+ minutes of trying to get her attention, but it did. And then, when we finally did order, the food took at least 30 more minutes to come out. I requested eggs over easy instead of scrambled, and the yolk came out completely overcooked. The waitress was accommodating in putting in a new request, but by the time I got my new (slightly less cooked but still over cooked) eggs, I had finished the majority of my meal. Probably will not return for brunch in the short term, despite being in such a great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We had a terrific time at Island Creek, ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a terrific time at Island Creek, which was nice, because our first experience left something to be desired in terms of service. This time we had lots of great Oysters, Elana & Lindsay were both incredibly helpful and friendly, and we also had some great other dishes, including the salmon tartar, shishito peppers & eggplant, clams & clam chowder, etc. We'll be back, soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Island Creek Oyster Bar befor ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went to Island Creek Oyster Bar before a Red Sox game. Most of the people in there were going to the game so it was very lively and the bar was packed! The food was excellent! My husband had oysters(2 kinds) and said they were really good and fresh! I ordered the salmon tarte which was fresh and light. For dinner I had the halibut and he had the lobster noodle dish. Both were good but they came out way to fast to be freshly cooked. Our waiter was outstanding and made dinner a great experience!!! I would definitely recommend going especially if you like seafood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, People Watching, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were told to eat here when we arrived ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were told to eat here when we arrived for a baseball weekend in Boston. It was fabulous. We could not get dinner reservations, but our lunch on Saturday was so much fun. Beautiful restaurant, great waitress, my husband said the Island Creek Oysters, which he had not had before, were the best he had ever eaten. I had a delicious lobster roll. Desserts were also very good. Don't miss this great seafood restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are from NJ and whenever we visit fam ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We are from NJ and whenever we visit family in the Boston area, Island Creek is at the top of our list. In 3 days this past weekend we ate there twice, their sister restaurant Row 34 once and Island Creek catered out nieces wedding, wonderful! Can't say enough good things, try the oyster sliders, the noodles with short ribs and lobster and they have the best fried clam strips ever.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really good food, especially the treatme ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Really good food, especially the treatment of the oysters (obviously). The service was highly efficient, to the point of being rushed. In that sense it lacked professionalism - no warmth, and always the sense that people are hovering over you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had Island Creek on our list to visit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We had Island Creek on our list to visit for a while, and the wait was truly worth it! We celebrated our anniversary that evening, and were treated with delicious surprises through out our dinner. Our waitress was outstanding, friendly and had perfect timing when visiting our table.i have already told some friends, and they are looking forward to making their reservation as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an amazing dinner with friendly a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had an amazing dinner with friendly and informed service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Oyster sliders are a must. Crab cake was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Oyster sliders are a must. Crab cake was full of crab meat. The Ipswich clams were great. The lobster roe noodles, not so much. The noodles were bad but everything else on the plate was delish. The Cape Cop Striped Bass was perfectly cooked and we loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great overall experience. Our seconds d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great overall experience. Our seconds drink were made incorrectly and the waitress didn't acknowledge this but everything else was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.