About Island Creek Oyster Bar

500 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
View Larger Map

Island Creek Oyster Bar is named simply after our farmer, built on the ideal of bringing guests closer to the farm. Chef Jeremy Sewall offers a daily changing menu with a raw bar featuring Island Creek Oysters and an updated, seasonal selection of New England seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Cross Street:
Kenmore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 532-5300

Website:
http://www.islandcreekoysterbar.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking is available in and around Kenmore Square, or we offer valet for $16.

Public Transit:
Kenmore

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Sewall

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Assorted Raw Oysters
Oysters
Lobster Roe Noodles
Island Creek oysters
crabcake
buttermilk biscuit
No Shell Prince Edward Island Mussels
Ethel's Lobster Roll
Banoffee
Lobster Slider
Fried Softshell Clams
Smoked Steelhead Trout
Halibut With Ricotta Gnocchi
Smoked Bluefish Pate
Crispy Oyster Slider, Brioche Roll, Lime Chile Aioli
Pineapple Dto
Complimentary Cake With Peanut Butter Cream
Lobster Roe Noodles, Braised Short Rib, Grilled Lobster, Oyster Mushrooms, Pecorino
Fried Ipswich Clams
Crispy Oyster Sliders
Pan Fried Jonah Crab Cake
Clam Chowder
Seared Sea Scallops
Shrimp Cocktail
Crispy Island Creek Oyster Sliders
Brown Butter Roasted Lobster
Lobster Omelette
Kumamoto, Daisy Bay Oysters And Lobster Ceviche
Island Creek And Rocky Nook Oysters
Mimosa
Donuts With Lavender Cream
Ricotta Gnocchi With Lobster
Monkfisk
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Lobster Roll Sandwich
Scallops
lobster noodles
Oyster Slider
Soft Shell Crab
raw oysters
Monkfish With Lamb Ravioli
Bloody Maria
lobster roll
Sea Scallops
Cod With Spring Vegetable Chowder
New England Clam Chowder
Rhode Island Monkfish
Burger With Fried Oyster
Salmon Tartare
Lobster Bisque
Fried Calamari
La Chouffe
Fried Clams
Oyster Shooter
Mussels
Belon Oysters
Corn Parsnip Soup With Ancho Shrimp
Strawberry Shortcake With Basil Ice Cream
Bacon & Eggs
Lobster Roe Pasta With Braised Short Rib And Poached Lobster Tail
Lobster Roe Pasta
Bartlett Pear Huckleberry Crumble
Scallop Ceviche
Striped Bass Fritters
Chicken
Fried Oyster Sliders
Chocolate torte
Grilled Farrow Island Salmon
Sriracha Fries
Clover Club
Chorizo Hash
Fish Sandwich
Soft Shell Crab Sandwich
First light Oysters
Smoked Salmon Scramble
garden salad
Oysters And Prawns
Grapefruit Sorbet
Doughnuts
Bittersweet Chocolate Torte With Milk Stout Ice Cream And Candied Peanuts
Jack Rose Cocktail
Kumamoto oysters
Cole Slaw
Misty Point Oysters
Harpoon IPA
East Coast Halibut, Mustard Spaetzle, Tasso Ham, Caviar Beurre Blanc
Coconut And Pineapple Angel Food Cake
Sweet Corn And Lobster Bisque
Paper Schooner
Raw Bar Platter
Clams Casino
Brussel Sprout Petals
Seared New Bedford Sea Scallops - Nueske Bacon & Boniato Mash - Apple Guava Glaze.
Roasted brussels sprouts
Roasted Beets
Striped Bass With Maitake Mushrooms, Sunchokes And Foie Gras Butter
Oysters and Shrimp Cocktail
Burger
Fried oyster slider @icobar
monkfish

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Island Creek Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston / New England
Seafood
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Kenmore Square / Fenway ›

Fit for Foodies (168)
Special Occasion (117)
Hot Spot (95)
See All
Good for Groups (82)
Vibrant Bar Scene (76)
Neighborhood Gem (68)
Notable Wine List (55)
Romantic (53)
Great for Lunch (47)
Great for Brunch (32)
Late-night Find (25)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Scenic View (4)
Authentic (2)
Fun (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2524 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really good food, especially the treatme ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Really good food, especially the treatment of the oysters (obviously). The service was highly efficient, to the point of being rushed. In that sense it lacked professionalism - no warmth, and always the sense that people are hovering over you.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We had Island Creek on our list to visit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had Island Creek on our list to visit for a while, and the wait was truly worth it! We celebrated our anniversary that evening, and were treated with delicious surprises through out our dinner. Our waitress was outstanding, friendly and had perfect timing when visiting our table.i have already told some friends, and they are looking forward to making their reservation as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an amazing dinner with friendly a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had an amazing dinner with friendly and informed service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Oyster sliders are a must. Crab cake was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Oyster sliders are a must. Crab cake was full of crab meat. The Ipswich clams were great. The lobster roe noodles, not so much. The noodles were bad but everything else on the plate was delish. The Cape Cop Striped Bass was perfectly cooked and we loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great overall experience. Our seconds d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great overall experience. Our seconds drink were made incorrectly and the waitress didn't acknowledge this but everything else was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great time with friends, friendly and kn ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great time with friends, friendly and knowledgable staff, terrific food and wine selection! One friend was running late and we never felt pressured by the waiter to hurry up! Truly enjoyable evening. Best lobster roll in Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing dinning experience! I wa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

What an amazing dinning experience! I was there for an early birthday celebration for my girlfriend and I and the experience could not have been more perfect. The service, food, and general vibe made for a truly memorable evening. If you haven't been here before I would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If I have my choice of restaurant in Bos ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

If I have my choice of restaurant in Boston, I go to Island Creek. I usually don't care for fish or seafood but when I go to Island Creek, I eat everything and finish every plate. The service is outstanding and the staff is friendly. The wine and beer list is extensive. Each dish is crafted with care. I always feel at home here. Is it a bit expensive? Sure, but it's worth every penny. The bread and house butter is really tasty. I really like that they serve sparkling water with no additional cost. I recommend the oyster sliders for an appetizer. If you like raw oysters, then this is the place to be at but I really think their fish dishes shine. I've had almost everything and never had something I didn't absolutely love. I've also had some of the best desserts ever here. We had the Banoffe Pie and it was just amazing. It doesn't get much better than this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the worst Lobster Rolls and Crab ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

One of the worst Lobster Rolls and Crab Cakes we have ever eaten...... Terrible after taste. We were beyond disappointed with the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Spent 30 minutes trying to find a parkin ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Spent 30 minutes trying to find a parking spot. Turned away by the valet because they were full and we didn't have a "valet reservation". Seriously! Manager not helpful, says they have no control over the valets. Isn't the whole purpose of valet to give patrons the ability to get to your restaurant even in busy downtown areas? How were we supposed to keep our reservation? Impersonal dining experience, will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food. Lots of seafood variety. G ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food. Lots of seafood variety. Good service and great oysters

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Came here for date night on a Wednesday ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Came here for date night on a Wednesday and the place was packed. Got to the restaurant 30 minutes early for the reservation and they seated us immediately. Oysters were very fresh, highly recommend the Island Creek and Ichabod Flat. We also ordered the oyster sliders, clam chowder, and lobster bisque. I prefer the clam chowder, but my boyfriend liked the lobster bisque. For entrees, we had the lobster roe noodles and fish sandwich. Lobster roe noodles were bomb, the fish sandwich was okay. The fries were a little salty and over seasoned. No dessert because we were stuffed. We will definitely be back and love that they take reservations!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First impressions are important. 3 of u ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

First impressions are important. 3 of us were put at a table for 2, so I sat at a corner - even the waitress said she'd have to bring 1 doze oysters at a time because our table was so tiny. Even sitting so close, the noise level was so loud that it was hard to have a conversation.

The food was mixed. Of the 8 varieties of oysters, the Island Creek were by far the best. Aunt Dotty's and another were way too salty. The rest were fine . The lobster roll and lobster noodle dishes were good. The mustard risotto was absolutely delicious but the salmon was bland, had to lemon and salt it up. For an expensive restaurant, it just was just an OK experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had a bottle of diet coke spilled on me. ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a bottle of diet coke spilled on me. Server just left without letting us know. Food was great though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The food was exceptional, table service ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was exceptional, table service was fantastic and raw bar was awesome. The hostess staff was probably the rudest I have ever encountered and the people patronizing the bar were not much better BUT everything else was so phenomenal it made us forget about those unfortunate initial interactions.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I brought a friend who was visiting from ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I brought a friend who was visiting from San Francisco, so it HAD to be awesome. And it was, in every respect - great service, fun atmosphere, terrific food menu and food that surpassed hopes, let alone expectations. Fantastic range of beverages, a cocktail menu that read like cool haiku, and a really cool upscale interior design--all combined it was an over-the-top excellent evening! My new go-to place to impress important people in my life.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a pre-game dinner before the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Perfect for a pre-game dinner before the RedSox game. Oyster selection and quality are terrific. Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best, freshest oysters in Boston! The s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Best, freshest oysters in Boston! The staff is very knowledgeable in explaining the different types of ousters and was very capable in recommending the type we like.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service, beautiful modern setting. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great service, beautiful modern setting. Glad I tried the Island Creek oysters because they're the best I've ever had. Waitress helped me get a cocktail I wanted that was not on the menu and it was perfectly prepared. The food was exceptional yet not fussy. There's a casual hip vibe and we felt very welcomed and relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great, food was great, ambie ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Service was great, food was great, ambience was great. Loved the Salmon tartar. Oysters were spectacular. Clam chowder also a must!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Popular spot pre-Six game. Convenient. U ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Popular spot pre-Six game. Convenient. Upscale. Packed. Very noisy. Food good not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food is fantastic; been there several ti ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food is fantastic; been there several times from out of town and never disappointed

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very good. We had clam chowder, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was very good. We had clam chowder, salad, fried clams and homemade sorbet. They served some very tasty bread, as well. We were looking forward to the fried clams and were very pleased. The service was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Everything we had on the menu was delici ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything we had on the menu was delicious but I would recommend the crab cakes and lobster roll!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The oysters were excellent! Our server w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The oysters were excellent! Our server was especially helpful in recommending a varied selection of oysters.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant came highly recommended ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This restaurant came highly recommended by friends as a must-do with my partner visiting from out of town. Oysters had previously been described to me as the best people have had and they did not disappoint for quality. Cocktails were great as well. Overall experience was excellent. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I love Island Creek. Great ambiance, the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I love Island Creek. Great ambiance, the service is impeccable (ask for Lindsay) and the lobster roll & oysters are bar none. Everything is fresh & crisp! And, when you ask for a recommendation you get one! Loved the fried oyster slider, the fish sandwich, everything we ate! We introduced our friends from New York to this gem and they loved it too! Thank you Lindsay, great night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went before the Pearl Jam concert and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We went before the Pearl Jam concert and good thing we had reservations. The place was busy. They took us right away, we had a fantastic dinner and drinks and made it to the convert on time. Loved the Crab Cake appetizer and the Lobster Roll.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to enjoy an extensive ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always a pleasure to enjoy an extensive oyster selection at Island Creek when we are visiting our daughter in Boston. Service is always friendly and knowledgeable. Lindsey is an extraordinary server!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here twice. We should have ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We have been here twice. We should have learned our lesson the first time around. The restaurant is in the Commonwealth Hotel and feels like it. In other words, a multimillion dollar build-out that still manages to lack character and feels very corporate/anywheresville USA despite being tastefully designed in a nondescript manner. Stick to the high top tables in the light-filled bar area rather than be dwarfed by the dark back dining room. As for service, our server was either newly enrolled in anger therapy or hungover. Either way, he mailed it in. And he dropped our mid-course order of oyster sliders (in btw raw bar and apps), then rushed them out with the apps instead. We waited to order forever. Plates sat on our table forever. We waited to reorder drinks forever. I can't remember the last time I tipped under 20% but this was a good occasion to send that kind of message. As for the food, superb oysters (duh) and chowder. Good, but not especially memorable fried clams. The herb-crusted cod was meh. Do yourself a favor and head to Neptune unless you enjoy cavernous rooms overseen by young mgmt with a poorly trained staff charging top dollar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

It is a busy place. I made a reservation ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It is a busy place. I made a reservation a month in advance- yes it fills that quickly! The waitress was very knowledgable and helped us navigate the many oyster choices and helped pair our meal with good wine. We had 3 types of oysters. We also has the striped bass which was excellent, the halibut which was nice but a bit over salted, the fish sandwich- yummy and the best by far was the mussels! It is an awesome place for seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A disappointment really. While the raw o ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

A disappointment really. While the raw oysters were great, the requested horse radish did not come until they were gone. Oyster sliders were cold, way too salty and contained a single piece of arugula and very little sauce. Salads were tasty but way over salted.

Friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

AMAZING!!! The lobster row noodles was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

AMAZING!!! The lobster row noodles was delicious! Best dish ever! Highly recommend!! We will come back for sure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The oysters here are amazing! Perfect si ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The oysters here are amazing! Perfect size and great flavor (we tried at least 1 of every kind!). Our entrees were great as well. The restaurant was full, but my fiance and I were still able to have a normal conversation. No screaming necessary, which is rare for such an large space. The decor is modern, but welcoming at the same time. Take a look at the back wall when you are there and look closely! What it is made out of is really neat!

We will DEFINITELY be going back here ASAP.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I absolutely loved this place! Our serve ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I absolutely loved this place! Our server was incredible, kept joking with my family, brought over everything we needed or asked for immediately, and brought out a desert for my moms birthday! Additionally, the food was incredible. The fish sandwich and the biscuit were my favorites- but absolutely everything was incredible- even the scrambled eggs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Though I can think of two or three place ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Though I can think of two or three places in Boston that offer Lobster Rolls that might be a little bit better, ICOB's Lobster Roll is gigantic! Regarding oysters ... what can I say? I want to sleep with oysters! Great ambiance and noise level but only if you pick the right time to come over.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Oysters are definitely the highlight and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Oysters are definitely the highlight and didn't not disappoint. My fish entree was a bit over salted but overall enjoyable. I had no place to be, so the slower service didn't bother me, but could see others get impatient.

Overall, I would recommend stopping by for oysters and light fare with a set of drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We made a reservation for lunch to celeb ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We made a reservation for lunch to celebrate our granddaughter's 16th birthday. On the menu, the restaurant printed a happy birthday, and wrote the same in chocolate on her dessert plate. She felt very special! The food was wonderful and we will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. We'd been before ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food and service. We'd been before, but at night. We love our first brunch there. Great Crispy Oyster Sliders. Yum!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.