About Isa's Bistro

One Battery Park Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map


FREE VALET PARKING OUTSIDE THE HAYWOOD PARK HOTEL

Isa’s Bistro is located in the heart of downtown Asheville at One Battery Park Avenue. Our 90 seat dining room is complimented by a wine cellar event space that can accommodate from 10-120 guests. Isa’s also boasts a lively sidewalk patio on one of Asheville’s most interesting intersections.

Fresh, local, seasonal: Chef Duane Fernandes describes his menu as innovative. seasonally inspired, new American cuisine. Isa’s menus are printed daily in order to highlight the best local produce as well as outstanding product from around the world. Fernandes’ experience in some of America’s top kitchens has left him dedicated to and passionate about the authentic, memorable dining experience.

Isa’s combination of great food, service and wine in a comfortable, laid back environment make it a culinary destination for both locals and visitors.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 - 9:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:00 - 10:00
Sunday: 11:00 - 9 :00 (Brunch: 11:00 - 3:00)

Light fare only from 3:00 - 5:00 every day.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9636

Website:
http://www.isasbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available for our guests. Our valet service is located at the entrance of The Haywood Park Hotel next to the restaurant.

Public parking lots are located within a 1/2 block of the Bistro.

Executive Chef:
Duane Fernandes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all special events please contact Ashli Lagaly at alagaly@isasbistro.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
  • Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
  • Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
  • Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
  • Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
  • Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC

Report a photo problem

Specials

50% Off Select Wines by the bottle

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Select Wines by the bottle

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines by the bottle. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 8, 2016 - Feb 23, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Isa's Bistro can accommodate all your special event needs.

Isa's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Modern Decor (6)
People Watching (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Business Meals (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Romantic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tapas (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Organic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Historic (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was terrible... we complained to ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was terrible... we complained to the manager and he was very indifferent. We drank our cocktails and decided to leave and find another restaurant for dinner. There are so many wonderful restaurants in downtown Asheville... don't waste your time with Isa's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great atmosphere, service and food. We ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere, service and food. We will absolutely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Did the 4 course dinner on N ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Did the 4 course dinner on New Years Eve. The service was amazing & food was delicious. Definitely a nicer place that would be great for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We've been meaning to try this place, bu ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We've been meaning to try this place, but hadn't heard much about it. It was convenient to a New Year's Eve show, so we finally did. Most menu choices were tempting. Every course was prepared perfectly, displayed very nicely, and tasted wonderful. The wine pairing was nice. We'll go back!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have to say that the evening overall w ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have to say that the evening overall was a disappointment, largely due to the open table program itself. Because I made the reservation through open table, I was not aware that Isa's only offered a prix fixe menu for the evening, a fact that I'm sure would have been forthcoming if I had dealt directly with the restaurant. The problem was magnified by the fact that we only had 90 minutes for dinner, plenty of time for a drink and light dinner, but clearly insufficient for a 4 course meal. This experience will cause me to re-evaluate my participation in open table since the benefits are marginal and I now realize the penalty associated with not dealing directly with the restaurant. That said, the meal itself was a separate disappointment. The restaurant was uncomfortably noisy. NOT "energetic", it was LOUD. My steak was excellent, as good as I've had in the last year. However, the pasta was mediocre, both the desserts were uninspired and, of course, I could not comment on the second course since we had to omit this to make the concert. We have eaten here on several occasions in the past and have generally been very pleased, but this meal would have been overpriced even if we could have stayed for all four courses. Overall a very forget able dinner at a cost of $100.00 per person with tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

The food at this restaurant was fine but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food at this restaurant was fine but was not a standout like I thought it might be. The lobster and shrimp sliders were served cold and tasted like the two main ingredients were just mixed with mayo and a little seasoning...average. Similarly, the bibb salad and calamari were fine but average...nothing on the plate stood out as unique and we have definitely had better versions of calamari elsewhere. The bison pasta was flavorful and probably the highlight of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Celebrated New Year's Eve here with a la ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Celebrated New Year's Eve here with a large party and we could not have picked a better place. The food was incredible and the service was amazing. They made us all feel like family. Definitely a place we'll be back to again and again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It seems as if Isa's has gone downhill a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It seems as if Isa's has gone downhill a bit. We went there for our anniversary again and was disappointed. Food not worth the money. The wine list was pedestrian and overpriced. The server started good but it went South pretty quick we sent a drink back. Still, a nice place but a shadow of its former self.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Modern looking venue. Nice art work. Was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Modern looking venue. Nice art work. Was tasty and thankful it was open on a holiday night

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice fixed menu holiday dinner. Al ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very nice fixed menu holiday dinner. Always a great central Asheville space to enjoy watching passers-by and interesting sights. Service could have been a bit friendlier and remained respectful, but all-in-all a pleasant experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

A little bit pricy than what you can get ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A little bit pricy than what you can get for portion of dishes.

I had trout dish was not enough food for what I paid $26.

Liked the bar and ambience of the restaurant.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We all agreed the food at Isa's was deli ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We all agreed the food at Isa's was delicious; I can personally recommend the Farro Risotto (with added Gulf shrimp), the Fingerling Fries and the Bang Bang Cauliflower.

The service was beyond excellent. Our waitress was very friendly and checked on us, but didn't hover. She recommended dishes with sincere opinions but didn't push.

The atmosphere was elegantly relaxing with a charming view of the street. I would definitely eat there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again Isa's Bistro was spot on in d ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Once again Isa's Bistro was spot on in delivering exceptional food, service and ambiance. It is truly one of he best in Asheville and does not get nearly the accolades it unquestionably deserves. This restaurant is best described as classy without the pretense. Chef Duane is top tier and one of the most authentic culinary practitioners in this foodie town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am seldom motivated to go back to a re ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I am seldom motivated to go back to a restaurant 2 nights in a row but Isa's was one of Asheville's great surprises. The food is amazing. The professionalism of the wait staff could use some attention. The first night it was great but the second night the waitress was not very conscious or knowledgable. It did not deter our having fun or enjoying the wonderful food. Isa's will become a staple for me when I am back home in Asheville.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always love Isa's Bistro. One of my 3 ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always love Isa's Bistro. One of my 3

Asheville Favorites!!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, , Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Historic, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's Thanksgiving. Your ready to relax a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It's Thanksgiving. Your ready to relax and enjoy a special meal with your wife...the very first words from the waitress as she fills your water glasses are " Do you need more time with the menu?"

No welcome my name is...

No Happy Thanksgiving...

No can i answer any questions about the menu...

No would you care for something to drink besides water

It was downhill from there. Forgot to bring the asked for wine pairing being offered. All in all an exceptionally poor meal.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We dined their prix fixe menu for Thanks ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We dined their prix fixe menu for Thanksgiving. They had a traditional turkey option and the stuffing and mashed potatoes were AMAZING. Green beans weren't all that special but everything else was delicious. This was our second time dining at Isa's and we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu has changed and is quite limite ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The menu has changed and is quite limited. The service was not especially quick even though we were one of two groups in the whole restaurant. Cocktails were excellent, perfectly mixed and cold, the wine list is aweseome. I miss the glamor of the hanging beads.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, but not much of it. Relative ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good food, but not much of it. Relatively expensive entrees with small artistically arranged portions. While the quality of the food was very good and the service was fine the prices were well above average and virtually everyone in our party of 5 left somewhat hungary. Due to this imbalance I felt overall the value was low.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Enjoyed their celery soup for a starter ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Enjoyed their celery soup for a starter very interesting composition. The bibb lettuce salad was fine but rather bland in flavor. The scallop and pulled pork entrée was excellent but for $25 a third scallop seemed appropriate. Take a pass on the chocolate assortment for dessert (get a truffle next door at Chocolate Fetish instead). Service was exceptional and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious, generous salads and made-scra ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Delicious, generous salads and made-scratch daily soups. A great place for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would have preferred a slightly larger ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I would have preferred a slightly larger menu to choose from.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, ambiance and service. Would ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, ambiance and service. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. Nice atmosphere. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service and food. Nice atmosphere. Had the scallops...they were delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

loved our cocktails, they were exception ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

loved our cocktails, they were exceptional, popcorn was a treat as usual, we were sorry to not have the gruyere biscuits and bacon jam. We also had the potatoes and the cauliflower which were enjoyable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very quiet night at Isa's which ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It was a very quiet night at Isa's which shocked us because the food was OUTSTANDING! Service was great without be smothering. I had the pork chop served on a parsnip puree of and my husband had the catfish with poached oysters on a bed of black lentils. We shared a Bibb lettuce salad. Perfect evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Same outstanding experience as always... ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Same outstanding experience as always...Just love this place in downtown Asheville...the food continues to inspire and be creative, the staff is friendly beyond compare, the ambiance is upscale NYC SoHo...It will stay on my list...

Tags: Private Room, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two tries for an Americano and they both ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Two tries for an Americano and they both looked and tasted like coffee. This was for brunch mind you.

There were no sides listed on the menu but each dish came with a different side. How about some disclosure of sides and better yet options to choose.

The server was exceptional at least and agreed with these differences. The food was decent and good portion sizes.

The setting is great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Food was good, however my friend ordered ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was good, however my friend ordered the risotto...that's not what was served ..rather farro. It was good, but odd that wasn't pointed out....they could turn the lights down...felt a little "cafeteria like"....great wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Wonderful Meal great for people watching ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful Meal great for people watching food and drinks were great

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great craft cocktails and splendid food ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great craft cocktails and splendid food menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was the best meal I had in Chicago ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This was the best meal I had in Chicago and I am still talking about it. When we arrived with a reservation made well in advance the hostess tried to push us in some ice cream table crushed next to a piano. I fought back and we got a proper seat for such extraordinary food. My advice don't seat anyone in that table for a dinner only coffee. Otherwise I am back there in a flash next time I am in town.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a super lovely evening. Party of ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a super lovely evening. Party of five, cocktails, food, wine, all delightful. Service was great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the food and the service. Nice s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Enjoyed the food and the service. Nice setting. Server was pleasant and knowledgeable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The charcuterie meats were way too salt ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The charcuterie meats were way too salty - we hardly touched them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

This is a large room in a hotel setting. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This is a large room in a hotel setting. The food was good, but not near the top of Asheville dining. Service was attentive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very satisfying meal with only a few gli ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very satisfying meal with only a few glitches. First the positives: the strip steak was beautifully conceived and prepared, as was the duck breast. We ordered three desserts, all extremely good. Service was generally prompt, efficient, and friendly. On the downside, the pappardelle with bison brisket was light on brisket. The bottle of red we ordered retails at about $12 and was sold here for $38; that's a pretty steep markup IMHO. All that said, we would return.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I took a group of folks when we were in ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I took a group of folks when we were in town. Loved that the restaurant took a reservation. And the food was amazing! A nice choice of options and everything ordered was delicious. Service was outstanding and the server very pleasant. The rest rooms were downstairs which might cause a problem for those who have trouble with stairs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the worst dining experience I'v ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was the worst dining experience I've ever had with a restaurant on open table. The food and service were lousy. The shrimp tasted like soap, the risotto was undercooked, and everything took forever. This was a special occasion, and it really disappointed all of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.