About Isa's Bistro

One Battery Park Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map


FREE VALET PARKING OUTSIDE THE HAYWOOD PARK HOTEL

Isa’s Bistro is located in the heart of downtown Asheville at One Battery Park Avenue. Our 90 seat dining room is complimented by a wine cellar event space that can accommodate from 10-120 guests. Isa’s also boasts a lively sidewalk patio on one of Asheville’s most interesting intersections.

Fresh, local, seasonal: Chef Duane Fernandes describes his menu as innovative. seasonally inspired, new American cuisine. Isa’s menus are printed daily in order to highlight the best local produce as well as outstanding product from around the world. Fernandes’ experience in some of America’s top kitchens has left him dedicated to and passionate about the authentic, memorable dining experience.

Isa’s combination of great food, service and wine in a comfortable, laid back environment make it a culinary destination for both locals and visitors.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch, Monday - Saturday: 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner, Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Dinner, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday Brunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM (brunch) 3PM-5PM (light fare)
5pm-9PM (dinner)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9636

Website:
http://www.isasbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available for our guests. Our valet service is located at the entrance of The Haywood Park Hotel next to the restaurant.

Public parking lots are located within a 1/2 block of the Bistro.

Executive Chef:
Duane Fernandes

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all special events please contact Rebecca Tomblin at rtomblin@isasbistro.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Isa's Bistro can accommodate all your special event needs.

Isa's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (24)
special occasion (18)
good for groups (14)
See All
great for outdoor dining (11)
great for lunch (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
notable wine list (7)
romantic (6)
hot spot (4)
great for brunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Always enjoyed Isa's with large group of ...

Dined 7 days ago

Always enjoyed Isa's with large group of friends or just 2 of us sitting at bar or outside but most recent visit was not pleasant due to the server. He kept wanting us to order when we wanted to enjoy our cocktail and talk with friends who were there for first time. When we did order, he was 'snippy' when asked questions about the menu. Then when I asked for sweet iced tea, he brought it but it was unsweetened so I asked for sweet again and he said, "Well, I will bring it but it will taste the same as the one I brought you that you don't like"..... My husband acknowledged it was unsweetened and told him but server was insistent he brought sweet.... next one was sweet. He was acting as if he was trying to prove a point and our guests even commented on his attitude and poor service. May not go back unless we sit at bar to avoid poor service..

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had s great evening and out out of to ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had s great evening and out out of towners loved it as well First time trying bang bang cauliflower... Mmmmm was it delish!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We enjoyed eating outdoors at Isa's. Th ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We enjoyed eating outdoors at Isa's. The food was very good. Drinks were pretty good. Service was efficient, not unfriendly but not notable either. Nice environment and bar inside and good seating area outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Our food was great at Isa's. We sat outs ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Our food was great at Isa's. We sat outside and it was a great location in close to downtown. The only complain is that our appetizer came out after our food but it was all still very good.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice change from uber casual AVL

Dined on May 28, 2016

We dined here before a concert at US Cellular Center. It's in the heart of downtown so the people watching from their outdoor patio is superb. The food was creative and upscale. The setting is modern and chic. I had 3 appetizers/small plates instead of a full meal and it was plenty. Each was beautiful as well as delicious (asparagus, beet salad like I've never seen before, and the Bibb salad which was exceptional). My husband had the bbq bison pasta and it was excellent. This plus one beer each came to $83 before tip, so it's pricey but worth it for special occasions. I was surprised at how noisy it was, even with the room only half full. But s good experience overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant. The food was fabul ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. The food was fabulous; we tried a variety of the small plates and they were all wonderful. Our favorite was the Bang Bang cauliflower. (I hate cauliflower but I would eat this every day!) Be sure to get dessert. Chocolate Pot was amazing! Great find on Open Table during Memorial Day weekend.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

On line did not show a kid's menu, but t ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

On line did not show a kid's menu, but they have one. My 9 year old enjoyed her meal which is a plus. The adults enjoyed their meals too. The valet parking is a plus in downtown. We will return to Isa's for sure.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantastic small plates. Octopus and tem ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Fantastic small plates. Octopus and tempura cauliflower were especially good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and outstanding service!!! We ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and outstanding service!!! We will definitely make this a "must" when we visit Asheville again.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food, Good Service

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was excellent along with a comparable wine list that includes nice by the glass and half-bottle selections. The service was friendly and attentive with a few lapses

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4

Really great food and beer selection. It ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Really great food and beer selection. It's in the base of a hotel though so it has that super open, empty feeling ambiance.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding food and service.

Dined on April 22, 2016

The waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and the wine pairings. the manager also came by to ask how we liked the bison pasta, which we had specifically requested for that night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Improvement Needed

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was good but took a long time even though the restaurant was not very busy- Service could use some work. Cocktails were awful - complained about the first one - second one was not much improved.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must when you visit Asheville!!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. The Bang Bang Cauliower is to die for. Faro Risotto was Outstanding. Chocolate orange cheesecake was phenomenal. Wonderful experience all around. AND complimentary valet parking!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Easter Brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

With all the wonderful restaurants in Asheville Isa's needs to up their game. Our brunch was below average at best. Nothing special about the delicious "sounding" breakfast sandwich and the quiche tasted dry and as if it had been frozen. We are locals and there isn't a reason to return.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great outdoor patio in the middle of Ash ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great outdoor patio in the middle of Asheville. Great for people watching. Smashed fingerlings were outstanding, worth returning for.

food3
ambience1
service4

Was expecting more from all the hype wri ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Was expecting more from all the hype written about this place. Great quality ingredients poorly executed. Dining room belongs somewhere on Bourbon St. Tone it down and be true to what you want to be.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Another 5 Star Dining Experience at Isa's Bistro!

Dined on March 12, 2016

As always, Isa's Bistro was outstanding. I had (again) the lamb ravioli and my wife had the trout. Both are excellent! Great ambiance, good vibes. A most enjoyable dining experience. By the way, the Bang-bang cauliflower is also wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed

Dined on March 10, 2016

My wife and I wanted to try Isa's for dinner; we went on a Thursday. It states on their website that bottles of wine are half-price that day. Our waiter told us, "no, we don't do that anymore". The first page of their website still says that they do! My bison pasta was good, but my wife's flounder was so over-salted. We finished the meal, enjoyed the ambiance and view of downtown, but wouldn't go back for dinner, didn't feel it was worth the prices. Not important, but the music playing, the most overplayed classic rock tracks, seemed out of place, and we're boomers.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Possibly the best fish in Asheville

Dined on March 10, 2016

Isa's has long been an underappreciated gem in the downtown dining scene -- in particular, I think they do seafood as well as anyone in town, but their meat entrees are great, too. Nice setting, good wine list. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed Isa's Bistro! The farro r ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Really enjoyed Isa's Bistro! The farro risotto, trout, flounder and shrimp, the gnudi. Everyone at the table was happy with the creative combinations, general deliciousness, and fresh, in season Ingredients. Loved the lemon tart, dark chocolate cheesecake and truffles and petit fours. The service was great and accommodating to food allergy issues.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. 'Could use a broader wine li ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

Great food. 'Could use a broader wine list.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Fast food

Dined on February 21, 2016

When we went out for dinner, we did not expect to be finished in 30 minutes. Sit down. Get water, menus, place order, and immediately get wine and food. Food was fair, but not great. Wait staff dressed in blue jeans and acted like this was a very casual and uncaring facility. Best thing was free valet parking. Good restaurant when raining and you want to get in without getting wet. Too many better options in Asheville to return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner for 3 before a show and our table ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Dinner for 3 before a show and our table was ready. Service was very good and food was out on time.....the very best thing was, we had three different dishes and all three where great .....we will be back.,..thanks for a great night

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, great locationtasty but not very warm

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

Isa's Bistro is a pretty good restaurant with a great location near the NC Stage and the convention center. We went there for dinner before a play at NC Stage. The service was prompt, the drink menu and wine/beer menus very acceptable and the food had potential. My wife had faro with shrimp which was very good. I had the lamb and goat cheese raviolis which were large but not very warm when served. We had a lemon tart for dessert that was excellent. We were there mid-week at 6:00 and the place was not busy at all. I think it would be worth another try.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First timers who will go back.

Dined on February 15, 2016

We have lived in Asheville for 5 years and this was our first visit to Isa's. We went with friends for Valentines Day and had a very delicious dinner and friendly service. We will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant

Dined on February 13, 2016

Isa's is reliably good. The menu has a great selection. The octopus appetizer and the braised pork cheeks were both excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmospherr

Dined on February 13, 2016

Eventually I would expect Isa's Bistro to be a difficult restaurant to get a reservation. The menu is always creative and the food is delicious. Our mushroom risotto topped with grilled chicken was superb and was beautifully presented. Service is attentive and the food is a good value. The sophisticated atmosphere has the feel of a much larger city.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meal at Isa's Bistro. We ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Isa's Bistro. We loved the Bang Bang Cauliflower. The Truffle Popcorn was good, but a very delicate flavor. Our favorite dish was the duck. The tender duck breast was sliced on top of risotto. We also enjoyed the Bison dish. Wine was half price on Thursday night - and the selection was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good First Impression

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at Isa and plan to return. The Bang Bang Cauliflower was the perfect starter for the three of us. We then had the trout, lamb cheeks and tile fish catch of the day. The tile fish preparation and the lamb were particularly delicious. Lemon tart divided among the three of us was the perfect end to the meal. The coffee could have been better. It was rather bitter.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food! The risotto is to die for.

Dined on January 16, 2016

We were looking for a place to have something different and could not have picked a better place. We had our 7 year-old grand daughter with us and even she was happy. Excellent service, the food was exceptional (risotto w/ wild mushrooms, wife had the gnudi). One of the best meals in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

classic

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

I love ISA's because I can almost always get a table or seat at the bar. They have excellent cocktails and a beautiful wine list. You easily eat big or small here and be satisfied. It is easy to manage a group of people here which is rare in Asheville. Valet parking recommended. Atmospheric street dining or quiet restaurant dining. Lovely bar. excellent service. They made special accomodations for handicap person and gluten intolerant person.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Luncheon visit

Dined on January 6, 2016

Visited this restaurant for lunch. Located in downtown it was quite busy. The food was adequate but not outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

A couple of great starters - Bang Bang C ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

A couple of great starters - Bang Bang Cauliflower, Beet Salad. Lettuce Salad & Curried Cauliflower ok. Entrees very good - Risotto, Burger, Chicken, Coq au Vin, NY Strip. Plus they had good ciders.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Asheville Newbies

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Isa's Bistro. It was a Saturday night and not busy at all which was a big surprise! The food was excellent and the service was very good. Our party of 4 really enjoyed the whole evening. Not sure if it would be a noisy place if it had been more crowded. Definitely would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomal food, great service. Caesar sal ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Phenomal food, great service. Caesar salad was a hit. Sizable glasses of wine and great bloodies. Great New Years meal.

food4
ambience4
service4

Dinner was very good and my husband got ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Dinner was very good and my husband got the wine parings and was pleased with their suggestions. This was for New year eve.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

New Year's Eve special menu dinner

Dined on December 31, 2015

We were a family group of 6 and had a great time at Isa's. Some of us did the recommended "wine pairing" and really enjoyed all that, getting a buzz on in the process. We shared our food with each other, and tasted all enthusiastically. Our favorite was the single mushroom ravioli with the amazing, slightly sweet, Parmesan chip on top. The filet mignon was about 4 star, the crab salad 3 star (tasted like canned crab with bits of lobster-fail), the beef brisket with black-eyed peas and scallops (with an interesting, light sherry vinegar), 5 star...the desserts: Tiramisu done uniquely - 3.5 star; the chocolate, strawberry dessert with the champagne "gel" was amazing and stunning, 5 star. Needless to say, a very FUN and memorable, night to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The trout was fantastic, polenta was a l ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

The trout was fantastic, polenta was a little on the heavy side in portion and dessert was not good. Service was prompt and friendly and ambience very nice. A bit loud. Think about black linen napkins for those wearing black.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great, small portions

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

Had the Christmas Prix-fix. Service was great. Food was delicious. The portions were on the small side.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.