About Isa's Bistro

One Battery Park Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map


FREE VALET PARKING OUTSIDE THE HAYWOOD PARK HOTEL

Isa’s Bistro is located in the heart of downtown Asheville at One Battery Park Avenue. Our 90 seat dining room is complimented by a wine cellar event space that can accommodate from 10-120 guests. Isa’s also boasts a lively sidewalk patio on one of Asheville’s most interesting intersections.

Fresh, local, seasonal: Chef Duane Fernandes describes his menu as innovative. seasonally inspired, new American cuisine. Isa’s menus are printed daily in order to highlight the best local produce as well as outstanding product from around the world. Fernandes’ experience in some of America’s top kitchens has left him dedicated to and passionate about the authentic, memorable dining experience.

Isa’s combination of great food, service and wine in a comfortable, laid back environment make it a culinary destination for both locals and visitors.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch, Monday - Saturday: 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner, Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Dinner, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday Brunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM (brunch) 3PM-5PM (light fare)
5pm-9PM (dinner)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9636

Website:
http://www.isasbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available for our guests. Our valet service is located at the entrance of The Haywood Park Hotel next to the restaurant.

Public parking lots are located within a 1/2 block of the Bistro.

Executive Chef:
Duane Fernandes

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all special events please contact Rebecca Tomblin at rtomblin@isasbistro.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Isa's Bistro can accommodate all your special event needs.

Isa's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (16)
Special Occasion (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
See All
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Notable Wine List (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Romantic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Way overpriced for what was offered. Par ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Way overpriced for what was offered. Parking was a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Three of us needed good meal prior to at ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Three of us needed good meal prior to attending event. Service was timely, food was excellent quality, with great presentation. My wife and daughter ordered a variety of appetizers in stead of an entry. I had Bibb Salad and fish entre. All were excellent, unique and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lacked atmosphere though was a Tuesday n ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Lacked atmosphere though was a Tuesday night. Delivered main course at same time as starter and seemed perplexed when we turned it back. What's that all about ?

Tags: Group Bookings
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The best brunch I have had in years. Th ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The best brunch I have had in years. The service and food with top rate. The free valet is a wonderful touch in that parking in Asheville downtown is difficult. We strongly recommend and have plans to take family there over Labor Day.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat out a lot in Asheville, but this ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We eat out a lot in Asheville, but this was the first time we have been to Isa's Bistro. It has moved to the top of our list of favorites. We were seated right away (had a reservation), had a very personable server, and the food was outstanding. We enjoyed watching what was going on outside (musicians/mimes) as well as inside - a very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating parents anniversary. Noted ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Celebrating parents anniversary. Noted on reservations. Never mentioned by server or anyone we encountered. Fairly empty restaurant but service was still excruciatingly slow. Apparently one bartender on duty. Drinks took ages. Food was good and interesting. Can't see coming back here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was better than expected from the v ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food was better than expected from the very limited menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My husband scheduled our dinner at Isa's ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband scheduled our dinner at Isa's Bistro, and I am delighted that he did. The food is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fun place for good food in a beautiful b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fun place for good food in a beautiful but low-key environment that the tourists have not inundated yet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The menu features a number of farm to ta ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The menu features a number of farm to table and uniquely prepared options. Both of our meals were very good; wonderfully prepared and were delicious. However, we felt that the items were a bit over-priced for the size of the meal. Perhaps another side, or the addition of a salad would have offset the perception.

The service was friendly, but fairly slow and not as attentive as it could have been.

The location is great, with outdoor dining option to experience some of the eclectic street entertainers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We were generally disappointed in our di ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were generally disappointed in our dining experience. We live in Asheville and have been to Isa's a few times and always thought it was OK to good. However, we found our meals overpriced and unsatisfying. My husband had the cheesesteak sandwich special for $20. There was very little meat (filet mignon) and it was extremely salty. A number of our friends have remarked on the saltiness of the meals at Isa's and have complained to the server. Somehow, the chef just doesn't get it. There are many excellent places to eat in Asheville so they really need to step things up.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always love a trip to Isa's. This was a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always love a trip to Isa's. This was a business lunch and the waiter recognized it as such. She was attentive while not invasive of our limited time and the need to talk...very professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoyed Isa's with large group of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always enjoyed Isa's with large group of friends or just 2 of us sitting at bar or outside but most recent visit was not pleasant due to the server. He kept wanting us to order when we wanted to enjoy our cocktail and talk with friends who were there for first time. When we did order, he was 'snippy' when asked questions about the menu. Then when I asked for sweet iced tea, he brought it but it was unsweetened so I asked for sweet again and he said, "Well, I will bring it but it will taste the same as the one I brought you that you don't like"..... My husband acknowledged it was unsweetened and told him but server was insistent he brought sweet.... next one was sweet. He was acting as if he was trying to prove a point and our guests even commented on his attitude and poor service. May not go back unless we sit at bar to avoid poor service..

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

We had s great evening and out out of to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had s great evening and out out of towners loved it as well

First time trying bang bang cauliflower... Mmmmm was it delish!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed eating outdoors at Isa's. Th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We enjoyed eating outdoors at Isa's. The food was very good. Drinks were pretty good. Service was efficient, not unfriendly but not notable either. Nice environment and bar inside and good seating area outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our food was great at Isa's. We sat outs ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our food was great at Isa's. We sat outside and it was a great location in close to downtown. The only complain is that our appetizer came out after our food but it was all still very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Nice change from uber casual AVL

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We dined here before a concert at US Cellular Center. It's in the heart of downtown so the people watching from their outdoor patio is superb. The food was creative and upscale. The setting is modern and chic. I had 3 appetizers/small plates instead of a full meal and it was plenty. Each was beautiful as well as delicious (asparagus, beet salad like I've never seen before, and the Bibb salad which was exceptional). My husband had the bbq bison pasta and it was excellent. This plus one beer each came to $83 before tip, so it's pricey but worth it for special occasions. I was surprised at how noisy it was, even with the room only half full. But s good experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful restaurant. The food was fabul ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. The food was fabulous; we tried a variety of the small plates and they were all wonderful. Our favorite was the Bang Bang cauliflower. (I hate cauliflower but I would eat this every day!) Be sure to get dessert. Chocolate Pot was amazing! Great find on Open Table during Memorial Day weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On line did not show a kid's menu, but t ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

On line did not show a kid's menu, but they have one. My 9 year old enjoyed her meal which is a plus. The adults enjoyed their meals too. The valet parking is a plus in downtown. We will return to Isa's for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic small plates. Octopus and tem ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Fantastic small plates. Octopus and tempura cauliflower were especially good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and outstanding service!!! We ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and outstanding service!!! We will definitely make this a "must" when we visit Asheville again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food, Good Service

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was excellent along with a comparable wine list that includes nice by the glass and half-bottle selections. The service was friendly and attentive with a few lapses

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really great food and beer selection. It ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Really great food and beer selection. It's in the base of a hotel though so it has that super open, empty feeling ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Outstanding food and service.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and the wine pairings. the manager also came by to ask how we liked the bison pasta, which we had specifically requested for that night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Improvement Needed

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was good but took a long time even though the restaurant was not very busy- Service could use some work. Cocktails were awful - complained about the first one - second one was not much improved.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A must when you visit Asheville!!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. The Bang Bang Cauliower is to die for. Faro Risotto was

Outstanding. Chocolate orange cheesecake was phenomenal. Wonderful experience all around. AND complimentary valet parking!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

With all the wonderful restaurants in Asheville Isa's needs to up their game. Our brunch was below average at best. Nothing special about the delicious "sounding" breakfast sandwich and the quiche tasted dry and as if it had been frozen. We are locals and there isn't a reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Great outdoor patio in the middle of Ash ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great outdoor patio in the middle of Asheville. Great for people watching.

Smashed fingerlings were outstanding, worth returning for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Was expecting more from all the hype wri ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Was expecting more from all the hype written about this place. Great quality ingredients poorly executed. Dining room belongs somewhere on Bourbon St. Tone it down and be true to what you want to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

Another 5 Star Dining Experience at Isa's Bistro!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

As always, Isa's Bistro was outstanding. I had (again) the lamb ravioli and my wife had the trout. Both are excellent! Great ambiance, good vibes. A most enjoyable dining experience. By the way, the Bang-bang cauliflower is also wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

My wife and I wanted to try Isa's for dinner; we went on a Thursday. It states on their website that bottles of wine are half-price that day. Our waiter told us, "no, we don't do that anymore". The first page of their website still says that they do! My bison pasta was good, but my wife's flounder was so over-salted. We finished the meal, enjoyed the ambiance and view of downtown, but wouldn't go back for dinner, didn't feel it was worth the prices. Not important, but the music playing, the most overplayed classic rock tracks, seemed out of place, and we're boomers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Possibly the best fish in Asheville

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Isa's has long been an underappreciated gem in the downtown dining scene -- in particular, I think they do seafood as well as anyone in town, but their meat entrees are great, too. Nice setting, good wine list. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really enjoyed Isa's Bistro! The farro r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Really enjoyed Isa's Bistro! The farro risotto, trout, flounder and shrimp, the gnudi. Everyone at the table was happy with the creative combinations, general deliciousness, and fresh, in season Ingredients.

Loved the lemon tart, dark chocolate cheesecake and truffles and petit fours. The service was great and accommodating to food allergy issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. 'Could use a broader wine li ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Great food. 'Could use a broader wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fast food

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

When we went out for dinner, we did not expect to be finished in 30 minutes. Sit down. Get water, menus, place order, and immediately get wine and food. Food was fair, but not great. Wait staff dressed in blue jeans and acted like this was a very casual and uncaring facility. Best thing was free valet parking. Good restaurant when raining and you want to get in without getting wet. Too many better options in Asheville to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Dinner for 3 before a show and our table ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Dinner for 3 before a show and our table was ready. Service was very good and food was out on time.....the very best thing was, we had three different dishes and all three where great .....we will be back.,..thanks for a great night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great locationtasty but not very warm

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Isa's Bistro is a pretty good restaurant with a great location near the NC Stage and the convention center. We went there for dinner before a play at NC Stage. The service was prompt, the drink menu and wine/beer menus very acceptable and the food had potential. My wife had faro with shrimp which was very good. I had the lamb and goat cheese raviolis which were large but not very warm when served. We had a lemon tart for dessert that was excellent. We were there mid-week at 6:00 and the place was not busy at all. I think it would be worth another try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

First timers who will go back.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We have lived in Asheville for 5 years and this was our first visit to Isa's. We went with friends for Valentines Day and had a very delicious dinner and friendly service. We will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great restaurant

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Isa's is reliably good. The menu has a great selection. The octopus appetizer and the braised pork cheeks were both excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmospherr

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Eventually I would expect Isa's Bistro to be a difficult restaurant to get a reservation. The menu is always creative and the food is delicious. Our mushroom risotto topped with grilled chicken was superb and was beautifully presented. Service is attentive and the food is a good value. The sophisticated atmosphere has the feel of a much larger city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.