About Isa's Bistro


FREE VALET PARKING OUTSIDE THE HAYWOOD PARK HOTEL

Isa’s Bistro is located in the heart of downtown Asheville at One Battery Park Avenue. Our 90 seat dining room is complimented by a wine cellar event space that can accommodate from 10-120 guests. Isa’s also boasts a lively sidewalk patio on one of Asheville’s most interesting intersections.

Fresh, local, seasonal: Chef Duane Fernandes describes his menu as innovative. seasonally inspired, new American cuisine. Isa’s menus are printed daily in order to highlight the best local produce as well as outstanding product from around the world. Fernandes’ experience in some of America’s top kitchens has left him dedicated to and passionate about the authentic, memorable dining experience.

Isa’s combination of great food, service and wine in a comfortable, laid back environment make it a culinary destination for both locals and visitors.

One Battery Park Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30 - 9:00
Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30 - 10:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:30 - 10:00
Sunday: 11:00 - 9 :00 (Brunch: 11:00 - 3:00)

Light fare only from 3:00 - 5:00 every day.
Dinner served until 9pm T-TH, bar open until 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9636

Website:
http://www.isasbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available for our guests. Our valet service is located at the entrance of The Haywood Park Hotel next to the restaurant.

Public parking lots are located within a 1/2 block of the Bistro.

Executive Chef:
Duane Fernandes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all special events please contact Ashli Lagaly at alagaly@isasbistro.com

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Isa's Bistro can accommodate all your special event needs.

Isa's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
See All
Bar Seating (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Casual (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
People Watching (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Romantic (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tapas (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Isa's food is fabulous! Try the specials of the day which are always a treat. Excellent bar and wonderful service. Right in the heart of downtown Asheville on one of the scenic corners. Get a table by the window to people watch.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Casual, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent location for dinner prior to a concert. Restaurant was very busy and orders came out slowly and sometimes incorrect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was great! We only had a couple of small plates but they were very well prepared. Our server was nice but wasn't attentive at all. Even though we were literally the only people in the restaurant at the time, she never bothered to come over and ask us how everything was. And when I walked to the bar to ask for our check, since the server was not around, it appeared all employees were huddled in the service station eating. A little disappointing to see, especially when you pay $19 for two sliders, service needs to match the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was fantastic! The small plates are not small so would order only one instead of two for dinner! The fried calamari was great and the fried green tomatoes with crab was wonderful! My husband loved the hamburger but way too many potatoes!

The best perk was free parking so we could venture downtown Asheville after dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Went there for dinner the other night before a show. Very good food and service. Wine btg is a bit pricey, but a very nice pour. Waitress was attentive, but not overly so, which we like.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Lunch was less than good. The grilled cheese that I spent extra for added mortadella arrived burnt and the tomato soup while tasty was barely warm. A Cuban sandwich that our server raved about was very average. Just not good food. A large table made for a very noisy experience in a cavernous space. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was impeccable as well as the service. Our server was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Organic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The restaurant overall was ok. My wife and I went on Valentine's Day. We weren't impressed by the food. The quality and flavor of the food we received didn't warrant the price we paid. The atmosphere is nice, but for a more intimate setting, request to sit downstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful Valentine's Day dinner. I recommend trying to get a table on the lower level, as it's very quiet and intimate.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Isa's is always spot on. We enjoyed a wonderful Valentine's Evening meal. The calamari was exceptional. Scallops with braised short rib pieces was simply delicious. Thanks everyone at Isa's!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service. Will eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Out with friends and really enjoyed a meal of risotto with swordfish. We had been there for lunch and really enjoyed the many choices. I would definitely recommend Isa's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great Sunday Brunch Spot in Downtown Asheville

Met my sisters here for a great Sunday brunch. If the weather had been a little warmer we would have sat outside, but opted for a nice corner booth inside. Great drinks from the bar with creative brunch items on the menu. We will be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great downtown restaurant perfect for viewing Asheville street activity in warm weather. Delicious dinner before NC stage. Creative menu, Bang bang cauliflower, Bibb lettuce salad and bison pasta all exceptionally good. Waitstaff (Aimee)extremely friendly and attentive and kept track of time so we had timely exit for the play.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

2nd time back. Great food, great service , good value. Overall worth the visit for a nice meal that doesn't break the bank.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My food had no flavor. Zero wow factor. Over priced for what I had. Waitress smock was filthy. Yuck! Never again

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The wine selection was very good. It was quiet and the service was good. The food was tasty and innovative. The salads were very tasty and the calamari was just right.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was terrible... we complained to the manager and he was very indifferent. We drank our cocktails and decided to leave and find another restaurant for dinner. There are so many wonderful restaurants in downtown Asheville... don't waste your time with Isa's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great atmosphere, service and food. We will absolutely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Did the 4 course dinner on New Years Eve. The service was amazing & food was delicious. Definitely a nicer place that would be great for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We've been meaning to try this place, but hadn't heard much about it. It was convenient to a New Year's Eve show, so we finally did. Most menu choices were tempting. Every course was prepared perfectly, displayed very nicely, and tasted wonderful. The wine pairing was nice. We'll go back!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have to say that the evening overall was a disappointment, largely due to the open table program itself. Because I made the reservation through open table, I was not aware that Isa's only offered a prix fixe menu for the evening, a fact that I'm sure would have been forthcoming if I had dealt directly with the restaurant. The problem was magnified by the fact that we only had 90 minutes for dinner, plenty of time for a drink and light dinner, but clearly insufficient for a 4 course meal. This experience will cause me to re-evaluate my participation in open table since the benefits are marginal and I now realize the penalty associated with not dealing directly with the restaurant. That said, the meal itself was a separate disappointment. The restaurant was uncomfortably noisy. NOT "energetic", it was LOUD. My steak was excellent, as good as I've had in the last year. However, the pasta was mediocre, both the desserts were uninspired and, of course, I could not comment on the second course since we had to omit this to make the concert. We have eaten here on several occasions in the past and have generally been very pleased, but this meal would have been overpriced even if we could have stayed for all four courses. Overall a very forget able dinner at a cost of $100.00 per person with tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food at this restaurant was fine but was not a standout like I thought it might be. The lobster and shrimp sliders were served cold and tasted like the two main ingredients were just mixed with mayo and a little seasoning...average. Similarly, the bibb salad and calamari were fine but average...nothing on the plate stood out as unique and we have definitely had better versions of calamari elsewhere. The bison pasta was flavorful and probably the highlight of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Celebrated New Year's Eve here with a large party and we could not have picked a better place. The food was incredible and the service was amazing. They made us all feel like family. Definitely a place we'll be back to again and again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It seems as if Isa's has gone downhill a bit. We went there for our anniversary again and was disappointed. Food not worth the money. The wine list was pedestrian and overpriced. The server started good but it went South pretty quick we sent a drink back. Still, a nice place but a shadow of its former self.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Modern looking venue. Nice art work. Was tasty and thankful it was open on a holiday night

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very nice fixed menu holiday dinner. Always a great central Asheville space to enjoy watching passers-by and interesting sights. Service could have been a bit friendlier and remained respectful, but all-in-all a pleasant experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A little bit pricy than what you can get for portion of dishes.

I had trout dish was not enough food for what I paid $26.

Liked the bar and ambience of the restaurant.

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We all agreed the food at Isa's was delicious; I can personally recommend the Farro Risotto (with added Gulf shrimp), the Fingerling Fries and the Bang Bang Cauliflower.

The service was beyond excellent. Our waitress was very friendly and checked on us, but didn't hover. She recommended dishes with sincere opinions but didn't push.

The atmosphere was elegantly relaxing with a charming view of the street. I would definitely eat there again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Once again Isa's Bistro was spot on in delivering exceptional food, service and ambiance. It is truly one of he best in Asheville and does not get nearly the accolades it unquestionably deserves. This restaurant is best described as classy without the pretense. Chef Duane is top tier and one of the most authentic culinary practitioners in this foodie town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I am seldom motivated to go back to a restaurant 2 nights in a row but Isa's was one of Asheville's great surprises. The food is amazing. The professionalism of the wait staff could use some attention. The first night it was great but the second night the waitress was not very conscious or knowledgable. It did not deter our having fun or enjoying the wonderful food. Isa's will become a staple for me when I am back home in Asheville.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always love Isa's Bistro. One of my 3

Asheville Favorites!!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Historic, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It's Thanksgiving. Your ready to relax and enjoy a special meal with your wife...the very first words from the waitress as she fills your water glasses are " Do you need more time with the menu?"

No welcome my name is...

No Happy Thanksgiving...

No can i answer any questions about the menu...

No would you care for something to drink besides water

It was downhill from there. Forgot to bring the asked for wine pairing being offered. All in all an exceptionally poor meal.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We dined their prix fixe menu for Thanksgiving. They had a traditional turkey option and the stuffing and mashed potatoes were AMAZING. Green beans weren't all that special but everything else was delicious. This was our second time dining at Isa's and we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The menu has changed and is quite limited. The service was not especially quick even though we were one of two groups in the whole restaurant. Cocktails were excellent, perfectly mixed and cold, the wine list is aweseome. I miss the glamor of the hanging beads.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good food, but not much of it. Relatively expensive entrees with small artistically arranged portions. While the quality of the food was very good and the service was fine the prices were well above average and virtually everyone in our party of 5 left somewhat hungary. Due to this imbalance I felt overall the value was low.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Enjoyed their celery soup for a starter very interesting composition. The bibb lettuce salad was fine but rather bland in flavor. The scallop and pulled pork entrée was excellent but for $25 a third scallop seemed appropriate. Take a pass on the chocolate assortment for dessert (get a truffle next door at Chocolate Fetish instead). Service was exceptional and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Delicious, generous salads and made-scratch daily soups. A great place for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I would have preferred a slightly larger menu to choose from.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, ambiance and service. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service and food. Nice atmosphere. Had the scallops...they were delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

loved our cocktails, they were exceptional, popcorn was a treat as usual, we were sorry to not have the gruyere biscuits and bacon jam. We also had the potatoes and the cauliflower which were enjoyable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It was a very quiet night at Isa's which shocked us because the food was OUTSTANDING! Service was great without be smothering. I had the pork chop served on a parsnip puree of and my husband had the catfish with poached oysters on a bed of black lentils. We shared a Bibb lettuce salad. Perfect evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Same outstanding experience as always...Just love this place in downtown Asheville...the food continues to inspire and be creative, the staff is friendly beyond compare, the ambiance is upscale NYC SoHo...It will stay on my list...

Tags: Private Room, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Two tries for an Americano and they both looked and tasted like coffee. This was for brunch mind you.

There were no sides listed on the menu but each dish came with a different side. How about some disclosure of sides and better yet options to choose.

The server was exceptional at least and agreed with these differences. The food was decent and good portion sizes.

The setting is great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was good, however my friend ordered the risotto...that's not what was served ..rather farro. It was good, but odd that wasn't pointed out....they could turn the lights down...felt a little "cafeteria like"....great wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful Meal great for people watching food and drinks were great

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great craft cocktails and splendid food menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This was the best meal I had in Chicago and I am still talking about it. When we arrived with a reservation made well in advance the hostess tried to push us in some ice cream table crushed next to a piano. I fought back and we got a proper seat for such extraordinary food. My advice don't seat anyone in that table for a dinner only coffee. Otherwise I am back there in a flash next time I am in town.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.