About Isa's Bistro

One Battery Park Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map


FREE VALET PARKING OUTSIDE THE HAYWOOD PARK HOTEL

Isa’s Bistro is located in the heart of downtown Asheville at One Battery Park Avenue. Our 90 seat dining room is complimented by a wine cellar event space that can accommodate from 10-120 guests. Isa’s also boasts a lively sidewalk patio on one of Asheville’s most interesting intersections.

Fresh, local, seasonal: Chef Duane Fernandes describes his menu as innovative. seasonally inspired, new American cuisine. Isa’s menus are printed daily in order to highlight the best local produce as well as outstanding product from around the world. Fernandes’ experience in some of America’s top kitchens has left him dedicated to and passionate about the authentic, memorable dining experience.

Isa’s combination of great food, service and wine in a comfortable, laid back environment make it a culinary destination for both locals and visitors.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch, Monday - Saturday: 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner, Monday - Thursday: 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Dinner, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sunday Brunch: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM (brunch) 3PM-5PM (light fare)
5pm-9PM (dinner)

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9636

Website:
http://www.isasbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available for our guests. Our valet service is located at the entrance of The Haywood Park Hotel next to the restaurant.

Public parking lots are located within a 1/2 block of the Bistro.

Executive Chef:
Duane Fernandes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all special events please contact Rebecca Tomblin at rtomblin@isasbistro.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
  • Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro
Isa's Bistro

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Isa's Bistro can accommodate all your special event needs.

Isa's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Asheville
Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Romantic (7)
People Watching (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Scenic View (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was the worst dining experience I'v ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was the worst dining experience I've ever had with a restaurant on open table. The food and service were lousy. The shrimp tasted like soap, the risotto was undercooked, and everything took forever. This was a special occasion, and it really disappointed all of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We were a large group (15), and the staf ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were a large group (15), and the staff did a wonderful job of accommodating us. From the table being ready when we arrived, to the attentive service, everything was perfect. The food was delicious and a great value as well. The beer and wine selection was great, as well as the availability at the bar. We will definitely be recommending Isa's to friends and family while they visit Asheville.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I relocated from Australi ...

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

My husband and I relocated from Australia two months ago to live in NC. My Mum was visiting and we took her to Asheville for the weekend. The three of us absolutely enjoyed our dining experience at Isa's and rate it as the best that we have had yet in NC. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. Thanks to our waiter Jonathan and the team at Isa's for such a fabulous experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal in a great location in downto ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great meal in a great location in downtown Asheville. Sat in outdoor seating on a beautiful evening watching the vibrant people watching scene. Food was outstanding. I had an excellent roast duck and my wife had the trout. Both were great. Service was very good. Definitely will be back when the opportunity presents itself.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Issa's. Great octopus, trout a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We loved Issa's. Great octopus, trout and duck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptionally considerate service, which ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Exceptionally considerate service, which was delayed due to a large rehearsal dinner taking place at the time we were there. Worth the wait, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My 18.00 hamburger was over-cooked, but ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

My 18.00 hamburger was over-cooked, but I wasn't asked how I like it cooked. The smashed fingerlings were greasy. They would be better roasted with olive oil salt. My husband like his fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This was my second time at Isa's and I d ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was my second time at Isa's and I did find their food to be extremely pleasing as did everyone at the table . Dining is always a personal thing, but I believe most diners will be pleased by their dinner and service at Isa's

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very nice place to eat. Great location. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very nice place to eat. Great location. Great food presentation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The restaurant came highly recommended s ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The restaurant came highly recommended so we went. The service was great, the food was ok, but way too expensive.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I loved the atmosphere. Great natural l ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I loved the atmosphere. Great natural lighting. Service was excellent...but French toast was rather raw in the middle. I ate it anyways because I was starving, but will never order that again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Way overpriced for what was offered. Par ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Way overpriced for what was offered. Parking was a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

With the exception of one entree, the fo ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

With the exception of one entree, the food was quite good. The one seafood special entree was a joke and this spoiled the dining experience. The portion of fish was probably no more then 2 ounces and the price was $28.00. When we mentioned this to our server, she offered to bring us more fish but we were under a time constraint and that was not an option. She then said that she would speak to the manager and something would be done for us. Well, you guessed it, when the bill was presented there was no reduction. With so many outstanding restaurants in Asheville, and we are locals, we will probably never go back. Very disappointing in how this was handled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Three of us needed good meal prior to at ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Three of us needed good meal prior to attending event. Service was timely, food was excellent quality, with great presentation. My wife and daughter ordered a variety of appetizers in stead of an entry. I had Bibb Salad and fish entre. All were excellent, unique and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lacked atmosphere though was a Tuesday n ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Lacked atmosphere though was a Tuesday night. Delivered main course at same time as starter and seemed perplexed when we turned it back. What's that all about ?

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The best brunch I have had in years. Th ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The best brunch I have had in years. The service and food with top rate. The free valet is a wonderful touch in that parking in Asheville downtown is difficult. We strongly recommend and have plans to take family there over Labor Day.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat out a lot in Asheville, but this ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We eat out a lot in Asheville, but this was the first time we have been to Isa's Bistro. It has moved to the top of our list of favorites. We were seated right away (had a reservation), had a very personable server, and the food was outstanding. We enjoyed watching what was going on outside (musicians/mimes) as well as inside - a very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating parents anniversary. Noted ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Celebrating parents anniversary. Noted on reservations. Never mentioned by server or anyone we encountered. Fairly empty restaurant but service was still excruciatingly slow. Apparently one bartender on duty. Drinks took ages. Food was good and interesting. Can't see coming back here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was better than expected from the v ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food was better than expected from the very limited menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My husband scheduled our dinner at Isa's ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband scheduled our dinner at Isa's Bistro, and I am delighted that he did. The food is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fun place for good food in a beautiful b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fun place for good food in a beautiful but low-key environment that the tourists have not inundated yet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The menu features a number of farm to ta ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The menu features a number of farm to table and uniquely prepared options. Both of our meals were very good; wonderfully prepared and were delicious. However, we felt that the items were a bit over-priced for the size of the meal. Perhaps another side, or the addition of a salad would have offset the perception.

The service was friendly, but fairly slow and not as attentive as it could have been.

The location is great, with outdoor dining option to experience some of the eclectic street entertainers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

We were generally disappointed in our di ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were generally disappointed in our dining experience. We live in Asheville and have been to Isa's a few times and always thought it was OK to good. However, we found our meals overpriced and unsatisfying. My husband had the cheesesteak sandwich special for $20. There was very little meat (filet mignon) and it was extremely salty. A number of our friends have remarked on the saltiness of the meals at Isa's and have complained to the server. Somehow, the chef just doesn't get it. There are many excellent places to eat in Asheville so they really need to step things up.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always love a trip to Isa's. This was a ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always love a trip to Isa's. This was a business lunch and the waiter recognized it as such. She was attentive while not invasive of our limited time and the need to talk...very professional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoyed Isa's with large group of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always enjoyed Isa's with large group of friends or just 2 of us sitting at bar or outside but most recent visit was not pleasant due to the server. He kept wanting us to order when we wanted to enjoy our cocktail and talk with friends who were there for first time. When we did order, he was 'snippy' when asked questions about the menu. Then when I asked for sweet iced tea, he brought it but it was unsweetened so I asked for sweet again and he said, "Well, I will bring it but it will taste the same as the one I brought you that you don't like"..... My husband acknowledged it was unsweetened and told him but server was insistent he brought sweet.... next one was sweet. He was acting as if he was trying to prove a point and our guests even commented on his attitude and poor service. May not go back unless we sit at bar to avoid poor service..

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

We had s great evening and out out of to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had s great evening and out out of towners loved it as well

First time trying bang bang cauliflower... Mmmmm was it delish!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed eating outdoors at Isa's. Th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We enjoyed eating outdoors at Isa's. The food was very good. Drinks were pretty good. Service was efficient, not unfriendly but not notable either. Nice environment and bar inside and good seating area outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our food was great at Isa's. We sat outs ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our food was great at Isa's. We sat outside and it was a great location in close to downtown. The only complain is that our appetizer came out after our food but it was all still very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Nice change from uber casual AVL

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We dined here before a concert at US Cellular Center. It's in the heart of downtown so the people watching from their outdoor patio is superb. The food was creative and upscale. The setting is modern and chic. I had 3 appetizers/small plates instead of a full meal and it was plenty. Each was beautiful as well as delicious (asparagus, beet salad like I've never seen before, and the Bibb salad which was exceptional). My husband had the bbq bison pasta and it was excellent. This plus one beer each came to $83 before tip, so it's pricey but worth it for special occasions. I was surprised at how noisy it was, even with the room only half full. But s good experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful restaurant. The food was fabul ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. The food was fabulous; we tried a variety of the small plates and they were all wonderful. Our favorite was the Bang Bang cauliflower. (I hate cauliflower but I would eat this every day!) Be sure to get dessert. Chocolate Pot was amazing! Great find on Open Table during Memorial Day weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On line did not show a kid's menu, but t ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

On line did not show a kid's menu, but they have one. My 9 year old enjoyed her meal which is a plus. The adults enjoyed their meals too. The valet parking is a plus in downtown. We will return to Isa's for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic small plates. Octopus and tem ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Fantastic small plates. Octopus and tempura cauliflower were especially good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and outstanding service!!! We ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and outstanding service!!! We will definitely make this a "must" when we visit Asheville again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food, Good Service

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was excellent along with a comparable wine list that includes nice by the glass and half-bottle selections. The service was friendly and attentive with a few lapses

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really great food and beer selection. It ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Really great food and beer selection. It's in the base of a hotel though so it has that super open, empty feeling ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Outstanding food and service.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and the wine pairings. the manager also came by to ask how we liked the bison pasta, which we had specifically requested for that night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Improvement Needed

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was good but took a long time even though the restaurant was not very busy- Service could use some work. Cocktails were awful - complained about the first one - second one was not much improved.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A must when you visit Asheville!!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. The Bang Bang Cauliower is to die for. Faro Risotto was

Outstanding. Chocolate orange cheesecake was phenomenal. Wonderful experience all around. AND complimentary valet parking!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

With all the wonderful restaurants in Asheville Isa's needs to up their game. Our brunch was below average at best. Nothing special about the delicious "sounding" breakfast sandwich and the quiche tasted dry and as if it had been frozen. We are locals and there isn't a reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Great outdoor patio in the middle of Ash ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great outdoor patio in the middle of Asheville. Great for people watching.

Smashed fingerlings were outstanding, worth returning for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.