About Isa's Bistro

One Battery Park Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map


FREE VALET PARKING OUTSIDE THE HAYWOOD PARK HOTEL

Isa’s Bistro is located in the heart of downtown Asheville at One Battery Park Avenue. Our 90 seat dining room is complimented by a wine cellar event space that can accommodate from 10-120 guests. Isa’s also boasts a lively sidewalk patio on one of Asheville’s most interesting intersections.

Fresh, local, seasonal: Chef Duane Fernandes describes his menu as innovative. seasonally inspired, new American cuisine. Isa’s menus are printed daily in order to highlight the best local produce as well as outstanding product from around the world. Fernandes’ experience in some of America’s top kitchens has left him dedicated to and passionate about the authentic, memorable dining experience.

Isa’s combination of great food, service and wine in a comfortable, laid back environment make it a culinary destination for both locals and visitors.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 - 9:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:00 - 10:00
Sunday: 11:00 - 9 :00 (Brunch: 11:00 - 3:00)

Light fare only from 3:00 - 5:00 every day.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9636

Website:
http://www.isasbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available for our guests. Our valet service is located at the entrance of The Haywood Park Hotel next to the restaurant.

Public parking lots are located within a 1/2 block of the Bistro.

Executive Chef:
Duane Fernandes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all special events please contact Ashli Lagaly at alagaly@isasbistro.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
  • Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
  • Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
  • Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
  • Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
  • Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC
Isa's Bistro, Asheville, NC

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Isa's Bistro can accommodate all your special event needs.

Isa's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Special Occasion (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
People Watching (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Casual (8)
Romantic (7)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Scenic View (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (4)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Cozy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always love Isa's Bistro. One of my 3 ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

Always love Isa's Bistro. One of my 3

Asheville Favorites!!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Historic, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's Thanksgiving. Your ready to relax a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It's Thanksgiving. Your ready to relax and enjoy a special meal with your wife...the very first words from the waitress as she fills your water glasses are " Do you need more time with the menu?"

No welcome my name is...

No Happy Thanksgiving...

No can i answer any questions about the menu...

No would you care for something to drink besides water

It was downhill from there. Forgot to bring the asked for wine pairing being offered. All in all an exceptionally poor meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We dined their prix fixe menu for Thanks ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We dined their prix fixe menu for Thanksgiving. They had a traditional turkey option and the stuffing and mashed potatoes were AMAZING. Green beans weren't all that special but everything else was delicious. This was our second time dining at Isa's and we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu has changed and is quite limite ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The menu has changed and is quite limited. The service was not especially quick even though we were one of two groups in the whole restaurant. Cocktails were excellent, perfectly mixed and cold, the wine list is aweseome. I miss the glamor of the hanging beads.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, but not much of it. Relative ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good food, but not much of it. Relatively expensive entrees with small artistically arranged portions. While the quality of the food was very good and the service was fine the prices were well above average and virtually everyone in our party of 5 left somewhat hungary. Due to this imbalance I felt overall the value was low.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Enjoyed their celery soup for a starter ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Enjoyed their celery soup for a starter very interesting composition. The bibb lettuce salad was fine but rather bland in flavor. The scallop and pulled pork entrée was excellent but for $25 a third scallop seemed appropriate. Take a pass on the chocolate assortment for dessert (get a truffle next door at Chocolate Fetish instead). Service was exceptional and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious, generous salads and made-scra ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Delicious, generous salads and made-scratch daily soups. A great place for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I would have preferred a slightly larger ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I would have preferred a slightly larger menu to choose from.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, ambiance and service. Would ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, ambiance and service. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. Nice atmosphere. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service and food. Nice atmosphere. Had the scallops...they were delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

loved our cocktails, they were exception ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

loved our cocktails, they were exceptional, popcorn was a treat as usual, we were sorry to not have the gruyere biscuits and bacon jam. We also had the potatoes and the cauliflower which were enjoyable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very quiet night at Isa's which ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

It was a very quiet night at Isa's which shocked us because the food was OUTSTANDING! Service was great without be smothering. I had the pork chop served on a parsnip puree of and my husband had the catfish with poached oysters on a bed of black lentils. We shared a Bibb lettuce salad. Perfect evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Same outstanding experience as always... ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Same outstanding experience as always...Just love this place in downtown Asheville...the food continues to inspire and be creative, the staff is friendly beyond compare, the ambiance is upscale NYC SoHo...It will stay on my list...

Tags: Private Room, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two tries for an Americano and they both ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Two tries for an Americano and they both looked and tasted like coffee. This was for brunch mind you.

There were no sides listed on the menu but each dish came with a different side. How about some disclosure of sides and better yet options to choose.

The server was exceptional at least and agreed with these differences. The food was decent and good portion sizes.

The setting is great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Food was good, however my friend ordered ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was good, however my friend ordered the risotto...that's not what was served ..rather farro. It was good, but odd that wasn't pointed out....they could turn the lights down...felt a little "cafeteria like"....great wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Wonderful Meal great for people watching ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful Meal great for people watching food and drinks were great

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great craft cocktails and splendid food ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great craft cocktails and splendid food menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was the best meal I had in Chicago ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This was the best meal I had in Chicago and I am still talking about it. When we arrived with a reservation made well in advance the hostess tried to push us in some ice cream table crushed next to a piano. I fought back and we got a proper seat for such extraordinary food. My advice don't seat anyone in that table for a dinner only coffee. Otherwise I am back there in a flash next time I am in town.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a super lovely evening. Party of ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a super lovely evening. Party of five, cocktails, food, wine, all delightful. Service was great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the food and the service. Nice s ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Enjoyed the food and the service. Nice setting. Server was pleasant and knowledgeable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The charcuterie meats were way too salt ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The charcuterie meats were way too salty - we hardly touched them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

This is a large room in a hotel setting. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This is a large room in a hotel setting. The food was good, but not near the top of Asheville dining. Service was attentive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Very satisfying meal with only a few gli ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very satisfying meal with only a few glitches. First the positives: the strip steak was beautifully conceived and prepared, as was the duck breast. We ordered three desserts, all extremely good. Service was generally prompt, efficient, and friendly. On the downside, the pappardelle with bison brisket was light on brisket. The bottle of red we ordered retails at about $12 and was sold here for $38; that's a pretty steep markup IMHO. All that said, we would return.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I took a group of folks when we were in ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I took a group of folks when we were in town. Loved that the restaurant took a reservation. And the food was amazing! A nice choice of options and everything ordered was delicious. Service was outstanding and the server very pleasant. The rest rooms were downstairs which might cause a problem for those who have trouble with stairs.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the worst dining experience I'v ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was the worst dining experience I've ever had with a restaurant on open table. The food and service were lousy. The shrimp tasted like soap, the risotto was undercooked, and everything took forever. This was a special occasion, and it really disappointed all of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We were a large group (15), and the staf ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were a large group (15), and the staff did a wonderful job of accommodating us. From the table being ready when we arrived, to the attentive service, everything was perfect. The food was delicious and a great value as well. The beer and wine selection was great, as well as the availability at the bar. We will definitely be recommending Isa's to friends and family while they visit Asheville.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I relocated from Australi ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 16, 2016

My husband and I relocated from Australia two months ago to live in NC. My Mum was visiting and we took her to Asheville for the weekend. The three of us absolutely enjoyed our dining experience at Isa's and rate it as the best that we have had yet in NC. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. Thanks to our waiter Jonathan and the team at Isa's for such a fabulous experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal in a great location in downto ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great meal in a great location in downtown Asheville. Sat in outdoor seating on a beautiful evening watching the vibrant people watching scene. Food was outstanding. I had an excellent roast duck and my wife had the trout. Both were great. Service was very good. Definitely will be back when the opportunity presents itself.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Issa's. Great octopus, trout a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We loved Issa's. Great octopus, trout and duck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptionally considerate service, which ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Exceptionally considerate service, which was delayed due to a large rehearsal dinner taking place at the time we were there. Worth the wait, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My 18.00 hamburger was over-cooked, but ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2016

My 18.00 hamburger was over-cooked, but I wasn't asked how I like it cooked. The smashed fingerlings were greasy. They would be better roasted with olive oil salt. My husband like his fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This was my second time at Isa's and I d ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was my second time at Isa's and I did find their food to be extremely pleasing as did everyone at the table . Dining is always a personal thing, but I believe most diners will be pleased by their dinner and service at Isa's

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very nice place to eat. Great location. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very nice place to eat. Great location. Great food presentation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The restaurant came highly recommended s ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The restaurant came highly recommended so we went. The service was great, the food was ok, but way too expensive.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I loved the atmosphere. Great natural l ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I loved the atmosphere. Great natural lighting. Service was excellent...but French toast was rather raw in the middle. I ate it anyways because I was starving, but will never order that again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Way overpriced for what was offered. Par ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Way overpriced for what was offered. Parking was a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

With the exception of one entree, the fo ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

With the exception of one entree, the food was quite good. The one seafood special entree was a joke and this spoiled the dining experience. The portion of fish was probably no more then 2 ounces and the price was $28.00. When we mentioned this to our server, she offered to bring us more fish but we were under a time constraint and that was not an option. She then said that she would speak to the manager and something would be done for us. Well, you guessed it, when the bill was presented there was no reduction. With so many outstanding restaurants in Asheville, and we are locals, we will probably never go back. Very disappointing in how this was handled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Three of us needed good meal prior to at ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Three of us needed good meal prior to attending event. Service was timely, food was excellent quality, with great presentation. My wife and daughter ordered a variety of appetizers in stead of an entry. I had Bibb Salad and fish entre. All were excellent, unique and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lacked atmosphere though was a Tuesday n ...

 
 (London)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Lacked atmosphere though was a Tuesday night. Delivered main course at same time as starter and seemed perplexed when we turned it back. What's that all about ?

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.