Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Isa's Bistro


FREE VALET PARKING OUTSIDE THE HAYWOOD PARK HOTEL

Isa’s Bistro is located in the heart of downtown Asheville at One Battery Park Avenue. Our 90 seat dining room is complimented by a wine cellar event space that can accommodate from 10-120 guests. Isa’s also boasts a lively sidewalk patio on one of Asheville’s most interesting intersections.

Fresh, local, seasonal: Chef Duane Fernandes describes his menu as innovative. seasonally inspired, new American cuisine. Isa’s menus are printed daily in order to highlight the best local produce as well as outstanding product from around the world. Fernandes’ experience in some of America’s top kitchens has left him dedicated to and passionate about the authentic, memorable dining experience.

Isa’s combination of great food, service and wine in a comfortable, laid back environment make it a culinary destination for both locals and visitors.

One Battery Park Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30 - 9:00
Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30 - 10:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:30 - 10:00
Sunday: 11:00 - 9 :00 (Brunch: 11:00 - 3:00)

Light fare only from 3:00 - 5:00 every day.
Dinner served until 9pm T-TH, bar open until 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9636

Website:
http://www.isasbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available for our guests. Our valet service is located at the entrance of The Haywood Park Hotel next to the restaurant.

Public parking lots are located within a 1/2 block of the Bistro.

Executive Chef:
Duane Fernandes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all special events please contact Ashli Lagaly at alagaly@isasbistro.com

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Isa's Bistro can accommodate all your special event needs.

Isa's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Groups (13)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Business Meals (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Romantic (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Fun (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (7)
Healthy (7)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Scenic View (4)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vegan (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Historic (2)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 2 days ago

Nice. Sunday very quiet. We walked by Saturday and it was packed. Only a few people on Sunday. Waitress was exceptional. Food was very good. My wife loved it. Duck very good. Drinks were great. Sat outside and could watch the surroundings and people. Good weather and covered patio. If it rains, your protected. It was on 50th anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a nice meal with friends. Ambiance was pleasant. Server seemed bored with her job.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed the food and atmosphere tremendously. Must try the Bang Bang Cauliflower.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Casual, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Had a great dinner outside on a quiet night!
Even was entertained by the street performers.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My wife said the chicken was the best she had ever had, and we are not spring chickens. Local catch was excellent. Would definitely come again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

A great place to meet old friends and celebrate a birthday. The crab eggs benedict and Benton's bacon were outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Valet parking next door is a huge bonus since parking is so difficult in downtown Asheville. The server was very prompt and attentive. The presentation was very creative and attractive. The main course I ordered was very good, not outstanding. Everyone seemed pleased with their orders. Great vibe.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The menu was somewhat limited, but the food was fabulous and the server was very helpful, attentive and friendly. The atmosphere was comfortable and the location was good. It advertised valet parking, but we did not find that, so I had to drop my elderly mom off at the door and find a spot about 5 minutes away. I would eat there again if I go back to Asheville.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Historic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Delicious food and very attentive service. One of the best downtown.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Sunday Brunch...delicious! Enjoyed outside seating in downtown Asheville!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, lovely location, friendly staff, creative food choices! We were not disappointed in any aspect.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Only negative was that I was told the men's restroom on lower level was dirty with toilet seats half off and deplorable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Muchas gracias, Isa. It was a pleasure to meet you, esposo y amigos. The Pata Negra was muy delicioso & much appreciated! We know it was a treat to have here in "los montañas" of WNC!!! Katey&Carol of CG

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great restaurant right downtown near Pritchard Park. Tables are nicely spaced so it does not feel cramped. Food and service were excellent. It was a perfect meal from beginning to end.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had a great dinner with my husband. The Bang Bang Cauliflower was to die for. Thank you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Awesome food. Everyone in our party of eight was delighted. Don't visit Asheville without trying their Bang Bang Cauliflower!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our first time dining at Isa's, where we'd had drinks at the bar once or twice. The decor is sleek but comfortable, the service good, the wine and beer lists very good, and the food from great to good. We were there on an unusual night, when unseasonable cold in Asheville had thinned the downtown crowds, and when there was a theme menu ("New Zealand style"), so the dining room was almost empty and very quiet (we've seen it much busier). Starters were excellent: the "creamy broccoli soup" was very thick, rich and a little sweet; the crayfish salad with avocado and citrus on microgreens entirely fresh and delicious. My partner's rack of lamb was top of the line, with delicious mushrooms on the side. I chose the creamy leek pie, which was tasty and just what I wanted, but only "good" in terms of what such a dish might have been. Isa's does not feature as much local food as many Asheville restaurants, but the quality of the food was nonetheless very fine. We sat by the window that looks onto the entrance into Wall Street--if it hadn't been so cold, it would have been even more fun to watch people go by. You can go elegant or casual here, so a good choice anytime.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was the first night of a mini-vacation for my wife and I. Isa's Bistro was in the same building as the Haywood Park Hotel where we were staying. We were seated promptly and our server took drink orders. (A nice glass of Spanish red for myself and a local craft beer for the wife.) Our small plate choices were Sicilian olives and the chargrilled Spanish octopus. Both were nice size portions and delicious. The octopus was tender and its sauce of chorizo, white bean puree and vinaigrette was perfect. My wife had the 828 burger and it was both a bit unusual and delightful with Vidalia onions and bacon jam. The burger came with a side of the smashed fingerling fries and they were cheesy and delicious. I had the roasted duck breast on risotto and it was tender and delicious. Service throughout was attentive, friendly and professional. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Asheville and staying in the downtown area.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I went to Isa's with my friends for the Argentinean dinner, part of Isa's Goes Global promotion and we loved the food and service. They had also Tango Dancers performing through the dining room. The decor is impeccable, the food outstanding and the service superb. I will definitely come back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Dancing, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Fireplace, Private Room, People Watching, Vegan, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

All right in general, but a bit pricey for what you get.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Isa's food is fabulous! Try the specials of the day which are always a treat. Excellent bar and wonderful service. Right in the heart of downtown Asheville on one of the scenic corners. Get a table by the window to people watch.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Casual, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent location for dinner prior to a concert. Restaurant was very busy and orders came out slowly and sometimes incorrect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was great! We only had a couple of small plates but they were very well prepared. Our server was nice but wasn't attentive at all. Even though we were literally the only people in the restaurant at the time, she never bothered to come over and ask us how everything was. And when I walked to the bar to ask for our check, since the server was not around, it appeared all employees were huddled in the service station eating. A little disappointing to see, especially when you pay $19 for two sliders, service needs to match the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was fantastic! The small plates are not small so would order only one instead of two for dinner! The fried calamari was great and the fried green tomatoes with crab was wonderful! My husband loved the hamburger but way too many potatoes!
The best perk was free parking so we could venture downtown Asheville after dinner!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Went there for dinner the other night before a show. Very good food and service. Wine btg is a bit pricey, but a very nice pour. Waitress was attentive, but not overly so, which we like.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Lunch was less than good. The grilled cheese that I spent extra for added mortadella arrived burnt and the tomato soup while tasty was barely warm. A Cuban sandwich that our server raved about was very average. Just not good food. A large table made for a very noisy experience in a cavernous space. Won't be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was impeccable as well as the service. Our server was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Organic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The restaurant overall was ok. My wife and I went on Valentine's Day. We weren't impressed by the food. The quality and flavor of the food we received didn't warrant the price we paid. The atmosphere is nice, but for a more intimate setting, request to sit downstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful Valentine's Day dinner. I recommend trying to get a table on the lower level, as it's very quiet and intimate.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Isa's is always spot on. We enjoyed a wonderful Valentine's Evening meal. The calamari was exceptional. Scallops with braised short rib pieces was simply delicious. Thanks everyone at Isa's!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service. Will eat here again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Out with friends and really enjoyed a meal of risotto with swordfish. We had been there for lunch and really enjoyed the many choices. I would definitely recommend Isa's.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great Sunday Brunch Spot in Downtown Asheville
Met my sisters here for a great Sunday brunch. If the weather had been a little warmer we would have sat outside, but opted for a nice corner booth inside. Great drinks from the bar with creative brunch items on the menu. We will be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great downtown restaurant perfect for viewing Asheville street activity in warm weather. Delicious dinner before NC stage. Creative menu, Bang bang cauliflower, Bibb lettuce salad and bison pasta all exceptionally good. Waitstaff (Aimee)extremely friendly and attentive and kept track of time so we had timely exit for the play.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

2nd time back. Great food, great service , good value. Overall worth the visit for a nice meal that doesn't break the bank.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My food had no flavor. Zero wow factor. Over priced for what I had. Waitress smock was filthy. Yuck! Never again

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The wine selection was very good. It was quiet and the service was good. The food was tasty and innovative. The salads were very tasty and the calamari was just right.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was terrible... we complained to the manager and he was very indifferent. We drank our cocktails and decided to leave and find another restaurant for dinner. There are so many wonderful restaurants in downtown Asheville... don't waste your time with Isa's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great atmosphere, service and food. We will absolutely be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Did the 4 course dinner on New Years Eve. The service was amazing & food was delicious. Definitely a nicer place that would be great for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.