Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today

Isa's French Bistro

4.2
574 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
FREE VALET PARKING OUTSIDE THE HAYWOOD PARK HOTEL

Isa’s French Bistro is located in the heart of downtown Asheville at One Battery Park Avenue. Our 90 seat dining room is complimented by a wine cellar event space that can accommodate from 10-120 guests. Isa’s also boasts a lively sidewalk patio on one of Asheville’s most interesting intersections.

Fresh, local, seasonal: Chef Duane Fernandes describes his menu as innovative. seasonally inspired, French Bistro Cuisine. Isa’s menus are printed daily in order to highlight the best local produce as well as outstanding product from around the world. Fernandes’ experience in some of America’s top kitchens has left him dedicated to and passionate about the authentic, memorable dining experience.

Isa’s combination of great food, service and wine in a comfortable, laid back environment make it a culinary destination for both locals and visitors.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu 11:30 am–9:00 pm
Tue–Sat 11:30 am–10:00 pm
Brunch
Sun 11:00 am–3:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(828) 575-9636
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Duane Fernandes
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Isa's French Bistro can accommodate all your special event needs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ashli Lagaly: (828) 575-9636
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet Parking is available for our guests. Our valet service is located at the entrance of The Haywood Park Hotel next to the restaurant.

Public parking lots are located within a 1/2 block of the Bistro.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For all special events please contact Ashli Lagaly at alagaly@isasbistro.com
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 574 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 5 days ago

service was slow but the food was great We kept running out of drink and it seemed like our waitress was having to wait on too many tables.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We had tickets to see Chicago and made a reservation for 2 prior to the concert. We were seated right away and had great service from the hostess and our wonderful, attentive waitress. We shared a bottle of delicious Malbec, scallops and the charcuterie board. The scallops were delicious and the board offered a plentiful variety of meats, nuts & cheeses. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Delicious snapper chowder!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Good fresh ingredients and very well prepared. The PEI mussels were delicious. The fried squid could have been a little crispier but nicely prepared with the peppers. Yummy snapper bisque or chowder.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

solid food, but nothing exceptional. The free valet parking is a plus. Good wines by the glass selections.
My wild boar bourginion was ok. Service was adequete

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Had friends in from out of town, many places to choose from but Isa's came through with oohs and ahh's from everyone in our party. Thanks to the Isa's chef and staff!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My server forgot about us then gave us wrong information about both our orders.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent dining experience for Mother's Day Brunch! We loved sitting out on the patio and experiencing great food with a vibrant Asheville street scene.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Outstanding downtown restaurant with great food selections: hors d'oeuvres; salads; entrees; and desserts. Free valet parking is a real plus in downtown Asheville, where parking is a real issue.
The dinner atmosphere would be enhanced with white table cloths in the area separated from the bar. A real shortcoming to the atmosphere presented currently.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

My husband & I ate brunch at Isa’s & sat outside. The street performers could get a bit annoying but it’s a great place to dine & people watch. They have interesting cocktails & the food was delicious. It took a while to get our food, but it was worth the wait. Tyler was a new server & did a fantastic job! We will return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Very disappointing. Food was not good and was not close to being French cooking. Almandine trout was overcooked and dry, and just sprinkled with a few shaved almonds. Ribeye steaks were tough and full of tough gristle. We ordered medium rare and It appeared to be cooked on one side and other side was raw.

Food was expensive and an incredibly poor value. We will never go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 2, 2018

We’ve dined here several times and this time was very disappointing. Maybe that’s why they were empty. The new menu is all French and being well versed in French cuisine I can say that our party of four all agreed that they wouldn’t go back. In short, we would not recommend this restaurant for a meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Always enjoy great meals and service. Its weird but this place is never crowded or noisy. Must be because its a hotel restaurant and people don't think the food is as good as other Asheville restaurants so it does not book up, but the food is great. My husband said his meal was the best one he has had in Asheville all year.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

One entre was not edible. Service staff was poorly informed but may have been new. Manager tried to make it all well and did a good job. But based on quality of food, will not return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Six of us dined at Isa's Bistro on a Saturday evening. We had a very attentive and helpful waiter, and we greatly enjoyed our meals. Our one disappointment was the lack of moderately priced wines.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Super service by waiter, excellent food and reasonable prices

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Very cool place with good food and great service but way too loud to have any kind of conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Top notch French food in a sophisticated environment! A wonderful addition to Asheville's dining scene. Highly recommend! It's wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Kevin our waiter was awesome. Food was very good. Would go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Fantastic meal!!! Loved everything about it!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The food at Isra’s was exceptional, the service beyond expectations. I was surprised there were not many people there but it was early. Fine restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Food was excellent and the service impeccable! Would highly recommend if you appreciate fine culinary dining.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We had a very nice experience at Isa's ... although the food was a tad expensive, it was worth the price!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

I ate here a few years ago, during my last trip to Asheville, and really enjoyed it. Our waiter explained that they have recently redone the menu to position themselves as a French bistro. Presumably they weren't drawing well (Asheville is full of really great restaurants, and it must be a struggle to compete at the high end), or fusion is falling out of grace.
The atmosphere is trendy, with multiple seating areas within a large space. This helps keep the noise level comfortable (although nothing can insulate you from a family with one or more undisciplined children). Pleasant, but typical of nearly all the downtown restaurants. Our waiter was charming and helpful, but not obtrusive. Very pleased with the service.
We started with calamari, based on his recommendation. It was served over a delectable blend of piquant vegedibles. Unfortunately the calamari itself was disappointing. A little greasy, not crisp enough.
My companion chose the duck and it was superb. Slow cooked, tender and moist, with a lovely presentation. I opted for venison tips. Venison is tricky to do well, and Isa's did it well. I ordered it medium rare, which really is a challenge, since venison is so highly vascularized it is a challenge to cook it right. I tip my had to the chef for a very good job. Unfortunately, it was accompanied with a baby spinach blend, with pine nuts, tiny morsels of apple. It could have been lovely, but it was so salty it was inedible. We hypothesized an absent minded chef kept forgetting whether or not he/she had remembered to add the salt, and kept adding more.
Overall, I would say they got the important things right, but the experience was tainted by a few disappointing fails. I give the high marks because they got the challenging things right. But...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Excellent and responsive service, excellent food.
( please bring back smashed fingerling potatoes)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The food and drinks were enjoyable as was the atmosphere. What I didn't realize was the fact that this is a hotel restaurant and unfortunately the prices were reflective of that. As a local, there are other French restaurants in Asheville with better price points and you don't have to sacrifice food quality.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We dined prior to a symphony performance. We made the reservation at 6, since the show started at 8. They started to get really busy with what appeared to be a pre-symphony crowd, and we didn't get our meals until 7:15. This gave us 15 minutes to eat before we had to leave to walk to the theater. We must have waited at least 30 minutes for our dinners to arrive. In addition, they were out of the bottle of wine we ordered. The food was disappointing. On the cheese plate, 3 out of the 4 had practically the same flavor. And the bistro chicken dish was a smoked grilled 1/2 chicken in a braised mixture of onions, potatoes and bacon, which was a weird combination. The chicken should have been braised with the vegetables. We won't return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Pasta for special was a gummy mess. We didn’t have time for them to fix this as it was Symphony night. No excuse for inability to properly cook and serve pasta, particularly when it is featured as a special. Scallops were not properly seared. How hard is it to sear opposite sides of scallops. Really, people. I have never been thrilled with Isa’ but it has been convenient for the Symphony. We will go elsewhere in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

On our last night in Asheville, the staff made us feel welcome. The risotto was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We tried Isa's for the first time Sunday, the food was delicious. I had duck with cassoulet, hubby got the duck burger and our son had the mushroom mustard chicken sandwich. Everything was tasty and the portions were good. We can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Excellent service, food was delicious, varied menu, attentive staff, elegant yet casual, exceeded my expectations for a French meal outside of Paris!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

All parties enjoyed their food from the wedge salad to the steak povre to the chicken dish and the steak fritts. Sauce on the povre was very good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

On the ground floor of the Historic Haywood Hotel. Great location in downtown Asheville with divided dining area from the bar. Valet or street parking. Food was excellent, good wine and local craft beer selection. Our server Arlene was knowledgeable, attentive without being intrusive, but was corporate and not heart felt in her conversations. Relax Arlene. Overall a great experience. We will return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We ate there on a Friday night - it was a girls weekend in Asheville. The restaurant, while not empty, was VERY quiet and not very busy, despite being a large space. The food was quite good, and the staff was helpful and friendly, but there was just no vibe going on - no buzz, no atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The filet and fingerling potatoes were amazing! I will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Had eaten here 2 years ago and decided to try again as they added "French" to Isa's Bistro. Mussels and steak tartare appetizers were excellent as was the chicken main dish. I would have given the overall and food ratings 5 stars but the chicken sandwich was requested with dressing on the side and they put it on so back it went. By the time it returned others had finished. Also I think the chef has too heavy a hand with salt as we were drinking water all night. We will return but will ask that no extra salt be added to the food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Mussels supper yummy. Service started off great but went down hill. Not sure we would go again not because it was bad but just not as good as prices and asheville has so many tasty choices.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The restaurant is right downtown. The staff were very courteous and quick. Good Atmosphere for a date. The menu was limited but food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Dinner was excellent. Our waiter was outstanding. Excellent choice!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Everything was very nice. The food was wonderful and the service was great.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15