Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Isa's Bistro


FREE VALET PARKING OUTSIDE THE HAYWOOD PARK HOTEL

Isa’s Bistro is located in the heart of downtown Asheville at One Battery Park Avenue. Our 90 seat dining room is complimented by a wine cellar event space that can accommodate from 10-120 guests. Isa’s also boasts a lively sidewalk patio on one of Asheville’s most interesting intersections.

Fresh, local, seasonal: Chef Duane Fernandes describes his menu as innovative. seasonally inspired, new American cuisine. Isa’s menus are printed daily in order to highlight the best local produce as well as outstanding product from around the world. Fernandes’ experience in some of America’s top kitchens has left him dedicated to and passionate about the authentic, memorable dining experience.

Isa’s combination of great food, service and wine in a comfortable, laid back environment make it a culinary destination for both locals and visitors.

One Battery Park Ave
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11:30 - 9:00
Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30 - 10:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:30 - 10:00
Sunday: 11:00 - 9 :00 (Brunch: 11:00 - 3:00)

Light fare only from 3:00 - 5:00 every day.
Dinner served until 9pm T-TH, bar open until 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 575-9636

Website:
http://www.isasbistro.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking is available for our guests. Our valet service is located at the entrance of The Haywood Park Hotel next to the restaurant.

Public parking lots are located within a 1/2 block of the Bistro.

Executive Chef:
Duane Fernandes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For all special events please contact Ashli Lagaly at alagaly@isasbistro.com

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Isa's Bistro can accommodate all your special event needs.

Isa's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Modern Decor (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Bar Seating (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Casual (9)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Healthy (5)
Fun (5)
Great Beer (4)
Cozy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vegan (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (3)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
478 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The menu was somewhat limited, but the food was fabulous and the server was very helpful, attentive and friendly. The atmosphere was comfortable and the location was good. It advertised valet parking, but we did not find that, so I had to drop my elderly mom off at the door and find a spot about 5 minutes away. I would eat there again if I go back to Asheville.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Historic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Delicious food and very attentive service. One of the best downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Sunday Brunch...delicious! Enjoyed outside seating in downtown Asheville!

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, lovely location, friendly staff, creative food choices! We were not disappointed in any aspect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Only negative was that I was told the men's restroom on lower level was dirty with toilet seats half off and deplorable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Muchas gracias, Isa. It was a pleasure to meet you, esposo y amigos. The Pata Negra was muy delicioso & much appreciated! We know it was a treat to have here in "los montañas" of WNC!!! Katey&Carol of CG

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great restaurant right downtown near Pritchard Park. Tables are nicely spaced so it does not feel cramped. Food and service were excellent. It was a perfect meal from beginning to end.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had a great dinner with my husband. The Bang Bang Cauliflower was to die for. Thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Awesome food. Everyone in our party of eight was delighted. Don't visit Asheville without trying their Bang Bang Cauliflower!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our first time dining at Isa's, where we'd had drinks at the bar once or twice. The decor is sleek but comfortable, the service good, the wine and beer lists very good, and the food from great to good. We were there on an unusual night, when unseasonable cold in Asheville had thinned the downtown crowds, and when there was a theme menu ("New Zealand style"), so the dining room was almost empty and very quiet (we've seen it much busier). Starters were excellent: the "creamy broccoli soup" was very thick, rich and a little sweet; the crayfish salad with avocado and citrus on microgreens entirely fresh and delicious. My partner's rack of lamb was top of the line, with delicious mushrooms on the side. I chose the creamy leek pie, which was tasty and just what I wanted, but only "good" in terms of what such a dish might have been. Isa's does not feature as much local food as many Asheville restaurants, but the quality of the food was nonetheless very fine. We sat by the window that looks onto the entrance into Wall Street--if it hadn't been so cold, it would have been even more fun to watch people go by. You can go elegant or casual here, so a good choice anytime.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was the first night of a mini-vacation for my wife and I. Isa's Bistro was in the same building as the Haywood Park Hotel where we were staying. We were seated promptly and our server took drink orders. (A nice glass of Spanish red for myself and a local craft beer for the wife.) Our small plate choices were Sicilian olives and the chargrilled Spanish octopus. Both were nice size portions and delicious. The octopus was tender and its sauce of chorizo, white bean puree and vinaigrette was perfect. My wife had the 828 burger and it was both a bit unusual and delightful with Vidalia onions and bacon jam. The burger came with a side of the smashed fingerling fries and they were cheesy and delicious. I had the roasted duck breast on risotto and it was tender and delicious. Service throughout was attentive, friendly and professional. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Asheville and staying in the downtown area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I went to Isa's with my friends for the Argentinean dinner, part of Isa's Goes Global promotion and we loved the food and service. They had also Tango Dancers performing through the dining room. The decor is impeccable, the food outstanding and the service superb. I will definitely come back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Dancing, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Fireplace, Private Room, People Watching, Vegan, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

All right in general, but a bit pricey for what you get.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Isa's food is fabulous! Try the specials of the day which are always a treat. Excellent bar and wonderful service. Right in the heart of downtown Asheville on one of the scenic corners. Get a table by the window to people watch.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Casual, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent location for dinner prior to a concert. Restaurant was very busy and orders came out slowly and sometimes incorrect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was great! We only had a couple of small plates but they were very well prepared. Our server was nice but wasn't attentive at all. Even though we were literally the only people in the restaurant at the time, she never bothered to come over and ask us how everything was. And when I walked to the bar to ask for our check, since the server was not around, it appeared all employees were huddled in the service station eating. A little disappointing to see, especially when you pay $19 for two sliders, service needs to match the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was fantastic! The small plates are not small so would order only one instead of two for dinner! The fried calamari was great and the fried green tomatoes with crab was wonderful! My husband loved the hamburger but way too many potatoes!
The best perk was free parking so we could venture downtown Asheville after dinner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Went there for dinner the other night before a show. Very good food and service. Wine btg is a bit pricey, but a very nice pour. Waitress was attentive, but not overly so, which we like.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Lunch was less than good. The grilled cheese that I spent extra for added mortadella arrived burnt and the tomato soup while tasty was barely warm. A Cuban sandwich that our server raved about was very average. Just not good food. A large table made for a very noisy experience in a cavernous space. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food was impeccable as well as the service. Our server was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Organic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The restaurant overall was ok. My wife and I went on Valentine's Day. We weren't impressed by the food. The quality and flavor of the food we received didn't warrant the price we paid. The atmosphere is nice, but for a more intimate setting, request to sit downstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful Valentine's Day dinner. I recommend trying to get a table on the lower level, as it's very quiet and intimate.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Isa's is always spot on. We enjoyed a wonderful Valentine's Evening meal. The calamari was exceptional. Scallops with braised short rib pieces was simply delicious. Thanks everyone at Isa's!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and service. Will eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Out with friends and really enjoyed a meal of risotto with swordfish. We had been there for lunch and really enjoyed the many choices. I would definitely recommend Isa's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great Sunday Brunch Spot in Downtown Asheville
Met my sisters here for a great Sunday brunch. If the weather had been a little warmer we would have sat outside, but opted for a nice corner booth inside. Great drinks from the bar with creative brunch items on the menu. We will be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great downtown restaurant perfect for viewing Asheville street activity in warm weather. Delicious dinner before NC stage. Creative menu, Bang bang cauliflower, Bibb lettuce salad and bison pasta all exceptionally good. Waitstaff (Aimee)extremely friendly and attentive and kept track of time so we had timely exit for the play.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

2nd time back. Great food, great service , good value. Overall worth the visit for a nice meal that doesn't break the bank.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My food had no flavor. Zero wow factor. Over priced for what I had. Waitress smock was filthy. Yuck! Never again

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The wine selection was very good. It was quiet and the service was good. The food was tasty and innovative. The salads were very tasty and the calamari was just right.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was terrible... we complained to the manager and he was very indifferent. We drank our cocktails and decided to leave and find another restaurant for dinner. There are so many wonderful restaurants in downtown Asheville... don't waste your time with Isa's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great atmosphere, service and food. We will absolutely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Did the 4 course dinner on New Years Eve. The service was amazing & food was delicious. Definitely a nicer place that would be great for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We've been meaning to try this place, but hadn't heard much about it. It was convenient to a New Year's Eve show, so we finally did. Most menu choices were tempting. Every course was prepared perfectly, displayed very nicely, and tasted wonderful. The wine pairing was nice. We'll go back!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have to say that the evening overall was a disappointment, largely due to the open table program itself. Because I made the reservation through open table, I was not aware that Isa's only offered a prix fixe menu for the evening, a fact that I'm sure would have been forthcoming if I had dealt directly with the restaurant. The problem was magnified by the fact that we only had 90 minutes for dinner, plenty of time for a drink and light dinner, but clearly insufficient for a 4 course meal. This experience will cause me to re-evaluate my participation in open table since the benefits are marginal and I now realize the penalty associated with not dealing directly with the restaurant. That said, the meal itself was a separate disappointment. The restaurant was uncomfortably noisy. NOT "energetic", it was LOUD. My steak was excellent, as good as I've had in the last year. However, the pasta was mediocre, both the desserts were uninspired and, of course, I could not comment on the second course since we had to omit this to make the concert. We have eaten here on several occasions in the past and have generally been very pleased, but this meal would have been overpriced even if we could have stayed for all four courses. Overall a very forget able dinner at a cost of $100.00 per person with tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food at this restaurant was fine but was not a standout like I thought it might be. The lobster and shrimp sliders were served cold and tasted like the two main ingredients were just mixed with mayo and a little seasoning...average. Similarly, the bibb salad and calamari were fine but average...nothing on the plate stood out as unique and we have definitely had better versions of calamari elsewhere. The bison pasta was flavorful and probably the highlight of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Celebrated New Year's Eve here with a large party and we could not have picked a better place. The food was incredible and the service was amazing. They made us all feel like family. Definitely a place we'll be back to again and again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It seems as if Isa's has gone downhill a bit. We went there for our anniversary again and was disappointed. Food not worth the money. The wine list was pedestrian and overpriced. The server started good but it went South pretty quick we sent a drink back. Still, a nice place but a shadow of its former self.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Modern looking venue. Nice art work. Was tasty and thankful it was open on a holiday night

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very nice fixed menu holiday dinner. Always a great central Asheville space to enjoy watching passers-by and interesting sights. Service could have been a bit friendlier and remained respectful, but all-in-all a pleasant experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.