About Isabella Restaurant and Bar

1140 Route 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18711
View Larger Map

Since opening its doors in July of 2003, the Tambur family has built one of Northeastern Pennsylvania"s most successful restaurants based on a winning combination of delicious food, friendly and knowledgeable staffing, and the owners' attention to detail and ambiance. All this is offered to our patrons in a relaxed atmosphere located not in New York City, but right in your backyard. Whether you're comfortable in jeans-and-t-shirt or your style is designer label, you'll be able to kick back and enjoy the unique experience Isabella has to offer.


We offer an eclectic dining experience, sure to please any palette. Our seasonally changing menu encompasses many styles of cuisine with offerings from comfort food to cosmopolitan fare. Come in for a light bite and a fantastic cocktail, a famous Isabella burger and a glass of red, or for a multi-course culinary adventure.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Cross Street:
Jumper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 270-9292

Website:
http://isabellarestaurantandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking, well lit and in front of the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Anthony Griffiths

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Isabella Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
9 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Fit for Foodies
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Fit for Foodies
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre ›

special occasion (14)
fit for foodies (9)
romantic (9)
See All
great for lunch (8)
good for groups (7)
great for brunch (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
notable wine list (3)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very good starting with the ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was very good starting with the calamari appetizer. The group ordered a variety of different items, scallops, tuna, penne pasta, et.al. and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. The service was quite good with my only criticism being that the entrees are a bit pricey. Other than that, our overall experience was quite good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Both our meals (i had the pasta Bologne ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Both our meals (i had the pasta Bolognese), drinks and the appetizer were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed a beautiful wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Enjoyed a beautiful wedding anniversary dinner. meals were outstanding!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food's the star, supported by excellent staff

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our lunch meeting was to bring together two couples who now live far apart who had a need for more than than phone calls. Our plans kept changing, Isabella's excellent new manager kept cheerfully adapting, and found us a quiet space in a roomful of celebrating new college graduates. Diet restrictions were easily accommodated, and the varied menu met the equally varied tastes of all four. The server was thoughtful and informative. My blackened mahi-mahi was memorably excellent. We dawdled over it all and were made to feel we were welcome to sit and talk. I'm sure we will all go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Had cheese and me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was excellent. Had cheese and meat platter the small one and it was delicious and more than enough for the two of us.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great!!!would go back.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great!!!would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cute decor in the restaurant and seated ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Cute decor in the restaurant and seated immediately. Anna the server was very attentive. Food and drink were delicious!! Would definitely recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seafood chowder is delicious.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Seafood chowder is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleased with our first visit. Would ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Very pleased with our first visit. Would highly recommend for anyone looking for a good fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wilkes-Barre's well kept secret!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Isabella's was a delightful discovery, that several of my fellow "Wilkes-Barreans" were only vaguely familiar with! There aren't many "non-chain" restaurants in W-B, and finding a place that takes reservations is also a victory! The food and drinks were quite good, and I would definitely go there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect evening

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Dinner with friends was great. We all had a special entree which was Grouper with puttanesca. I had the risotto as a side and hope Grouper is offered as a menu staple. Absolutely delicious! The staff is friendly and attentive. Great chef.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Good value.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This was a nice dining experience. The food was excellent, the service was very good. I would recommend Isabella very highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was really good.. My boyfriend n i were skeptical cuz it was just us and 2 other people in the restaurant but the food was so good the staff was not ehh she was more into her phone but none the less we jus loved the time alone we had.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was very poorly prepared

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

We ordered the duck, excited to try the almond crust, little did we know that with the almonds came an overwhelming amount of horseradish (that wasn't even listed in the item description). There was so much horseradish that you could not even taste the duck. The raspberry gastrique was a raspberry sauce that covered the entire plate. Everything tasted like raspberry. The side of truffle fries ended up being soggy raspberry potatoes, un edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great atmosphere, excellent service and ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

beckie

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

SOME TIME AGO WE STOPPED ON THE SPUR OF THE MOMENT FOR LUNCH ANSD WAS VERY SATISFIED WITH FOOD, PRESENTATION AND SERVICE...THIS PAST WEEKEND WE WENT FOR THE SUNDAY BRUNCH AGAIN VERSY SATISFIED.

WISH THIS PLACE WAS OPENED ON SATURDAYS FOR LUNCH AND ALSO DINNER ON SUNDAY WOULD BE GREAT

VERY NICE ATMOSPHERE AND SEATING IS EXCELLENT THAT YOU CAN ACTUALLY TALK TO THE PEOPLE AT YOUR TABLE ...

GREAT PLACE!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

shortie

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

the server was very helpful and attentive for the evening

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good restaurant

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

This is the 2nd time we've been to Isabella's recently. The food is very good and the service was outstanding. We felt there could be more vegetarian options and the vegetable portion could be larger. Our only criticism is that the bread and oil is truly terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fine food without the pretentious atmosphere.

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

We've visited Isabella three times and have never been disappointed. The great food and comfortable, unpretentious atmosphere make it perfect for a young couple like us on a special occasion. Even though it is a long drive for us, it's worth the trip especially considering it's close proximity to the casino. The only complaint we have is the limited choice of salad dressings, none of which are creamy, like a blue cheese or ranch. The house dressing is an overly sweet vinaigrette but is still tasty and not too acidic. We're looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great restaurant!

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

Isabella Restaurant and Bar is our favorite place in the Wilkes-Barre area. We go there about once a week. The menu is diverse and delicious, the drink list is excellent, and the service is consistently courteous, thoughtful and top notch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Meal was delicious, portion sizes was go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Meal was delicious, portion sizes was good, dessert was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good lunch

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

Really nice menu. Loved the food. Nice service although no one asked if we liked our lunch! The only negative is the salmon on top of my salad was so blazing hot I burnt the inside of my mouth. That was a first as most of the time when you order protein or fish on your salad, it's room temp.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed every last bite

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

We were in the area for an event and we normally live over an hour away, so we tried Isabella's since it had some nice reviews. We were not disappointed! We were ecstatic to see that they offered "gluten free" options on their menu. We have food allergies and this made it so nice. the service was great as was the wine. Food was great although we were kind of shocked to see that they charged a fee for sharing appetizers and/or entrees. Was not accustomed to seeing that on a menu! Regardless, it was a wonderful evening with great wine, apps, dinner and dessert. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Just a miserable experience

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

For Brunch Greeted by "We Are shorthanded, just take any table." Turns out there was 1 person to wait on all diners. Selections on the on-line menu were not available and we were informed the waffle iron just died. When food finally arrived, Eggs Benedict were cold, and the omelettes were over cooked and the toast was burned. Those in our party that drank decaf were offered a refill, those drinking regular were limited to one cup. First and last time for us - Beware!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Great find!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

We were looking for a restaurant while in town visiting our college student. Isabella's was an excellent choice. This eatery has a lovely, upscale atmosphere, great food and wonderful service. This restaurant would shine in any neighborhood. The roasted corn chowder was truly exceptional with an appetizer serving size that could have been an entree size! I was delighted with the option to order my entree, (delicious fettuccine bolognese), in appetizer size, which, again, could have been a full-sized dinner anywhere else. We had a great experience at Isabella's.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Everything was good at Isabella but it w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

Everything was good at Isabella but it was very pricey. There is no children's menu so a plate of plain noodles cost us $16. That being said, it was a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great local food

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

This restaurant is a gem. It is a perfect example of local people doing it the right way. Before you go to some chain restaurant, give this place a visit. The food is really good. The owners eat there a lot. The atmosphere is nice and the place is immaculate. Never had bad meal at Isabella's. The menu is mostly Italian with a twist. And there are some avant guarde dishes as well. The menu and specials shift with the seasons. Check this place out. You will be happy you did.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great evening

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on August 6, 2015

Took my family here when they visited this past week. We had a great time. The food was excellent. 2 in my family are gluten free and I was suprised at how many options there were for them. The appetizers we had were the cheese board and the mussels. My pork chop and spaetzel were a little salty but otherwise delicious. Ended with the mascarpone cheesecake. Will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable. My elderly p ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

The service was impeccable. My elderly parents had issues with the doneness of their pasta and complained - twice, but the server was compassionate and never lost her cool or showed irritation. Much appreciated! Wish I could remember her name!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

Isabella is outstanding in every way. The food is delicious, beautiful presentation, excellent quality ingredients and not the normal boring fare. I had a special that was Hangar steak and truffle fries. I went there for Lobster Tacos but couldn't resist the special. It was a delicious meal from salad, to bread to entree. The staff is very friendly and able to answer questions on the menu and wine list.

I will be back soon for the lobster tacos and I can't wait. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good but not memorable

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

We went to the restaurant because of all the great reviews. The food was good but the service was not. Our waitress tried hard but when we wanted something we never saw her. My husband wanted grated cheese for his pasta which should have been brought out after the pasta was served but she was mo where in sight. We saw another waitress at the other table grating cheese on their pasta and then asked her to come over to our table with the cheese. Upscale average.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Lucky Find

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

We found this place while we were staying at the Woodlands Inn. We were looking for an upscale restaurant and this place was our surprising find. Everything we ordered was very good. The mussels were tender and the broth begged to be sopped up with bread. I had 2 of the small plates, the fried eggplant with the Italian pork loin was a thin round of crispy eggplant topped with a generous portion of thinly sliced pork with some tomato. The contrast of the hot eggplant with the well seasoned pork was wonderful. The entrees ordered by my dining companions all were nicely plated and enjoyed. Portions were nicely sized and I especially liked the fact they came with veggies, not a 3 string bean garnish, but an actual serving of veggies. I really recommend this place.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Terrific find

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2015

On a recent roadtrip across country, we spent an evening at Isabella's (researched on Trip Advisor and had friend's recommendation). Thoroughly enjoyed shared appetizers of Soft Shell Crab AND Mussels...was disappointed that the Rabbit Empanada wasn't available. Will need to go back for that.

The Veal entrée was delicious. Highly recommend Isabella's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

NEPA's Best

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 24, 2015

I am a foodie and, after another great meal at Isabella, have come to the conclusion this is the best restaurant in NEPA. Wife had Veal Scallopini w colossal crab meat, roasted cauliflower and a creamed spinach side dish that was excellent. I opted for the Scallops with fava beans and spinach with a nice curled pasta. The scallops were done to perfection and there was just a small amount of pasta to keep the dish in balance.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Isabella's is an excellent venue for tha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2015

Isabella's is an excellent venue for that special occaison or event. Nice wine list along with great drinks mixed to perfection. Atmosphere is wonderful, serve staff helpful and food prepared to orde

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time there and we both said that it was okay

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on June 13, 2015

Yes, we would call again if in the area. Service was kind of slow. Glasses of wine could have been much larger.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Dinner for 8

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

We celebrated our daughters college graduation with a lovely dinner party. The food was delicious, and the service was attentive without being intrusive. The timing was leisurely yet well paced. Despite our groups large size, we never felt rushed and the service was accurate and pleasant . Our group ordered many different items from the interesting menu and everyone was well pleased with their selections. We all had a very good time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I think Isabella's is a great little res ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on May 28, 2015

I think Isabella's is a great little restrurant for what ever fits your needs. Great for lunch and dinner. You can also get a corner tablew if you rather be more private. If you have a large group, the Solano room would be a great choice. I also think the special theme nights are a great idea. Maybe outdoor seating on a patio would be in future plans.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Was a disappointment

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

I have been an occasional customer of Isabella's for some time, this time was much different. The two notable issue were service and food. The service was poor, our server had some other issues going on. She wasn't friendly and attentive enough to our table. She seemed focused on setting up the restaurant for the next day instead of our needs. The food was just OK, no one in my party "loved" their dish and I actually sent my veal dish back because it was so bland that I couldn't eat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.