About Isabella Restaurant and Bar

Since opening its doors in July of 2003, the Tambur family has built one of Northeastern Pennsylvania"s most successful restaurants based on a winning combination of delicious food, friendly and knowledgeable staffing, and the owners' attention to detail and ambiance. All this is offered to our patrons in a relaxed atmosphere located not in New York City, but right in your backyard. Whether you're comfortable in jeans-and-t-shirt or your style is designer label, you'll be able to kick back and enjoy the unique experience Isabella has to offer.


We offer an eclectic dining experience, sure to please any palette. Our seasonally changing menu encompasses many styles of cuisine with offerings from comfort food to cosmopolitan fare. Come in for a light bite and a fantastic cocktail, a famous Isabella burger and a glass of red, or for a multi-course culinary adventure.

1140 Route 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18711
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm , Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Happy Hour: Wed, Thurs, Fri: 4-6 pm

Cross Street:
Jumper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 270-9292

Website:
http://isabellarestaurantandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking, well lit and in front of the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Danny Matechak

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Isabella Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Groups (6)
See All
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Enjoyeded an excellent dinner wth friends . The food was amazing! Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Lovely food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Nice atmosphere. Menu not huge, but entrées all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Everything about this dining experience was fantastic. The tuna carpaccio was outstanding and the flat steak was well prepared and delicious. We enjoyed our waitress and the pace of food delivery was well timed. We would definitely come back. Highly recommended !!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Good variety of items on the menu and all that we tried were good (party of 11 with all different items). The cheese and ham plates were excellent and they did not skimp on the quantity. They easily accommodated finicky children requests and had a good selection of wine and beer. The staff was extremely nice and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was absolutely outstanding. Lamb chops tender and spiced just right. Pork chop could be cut with a fork cooked perfectly. Great appetizer of delicately fried artichoke hearts that melt in your mouth served atop a lemon vinaigrette salad. Staff friendly and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My husband, 21 year old son, and I were staying in Wilkes-Barre after a day of hiking in the area. We found Isabella's through Open Table. While we were not originally planning on an "expensive" dinner that night, the menu looked like it had something for each of us. The food was delicious, and the wait staff was lovely. It was a wonderful meal, and I would recommend it to locals and those passing through town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We were greeted by a friendly hostess who escorted us quickly to our table. Service was excellent. The kitchen made an error with the accompaniments to one entree but it was quickly corrected. Salads were fresh. Desserts were tasty and had a lovely presentation. There was a small child at a nearby table who was frequently screeching but the restaurant had no control over that. This restaurant will be reserved for very special occasions as it is a bit pricey for my budget but I would recommend it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 3, 2017

One of the best meals I have had in the area. Very friendly staff. This may be my new go-to.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Nice atmosphere
Service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We enjoy Isabella Restaurant when we're in the area. Service is great, atmosphere is peaceful, the bar area is inviting, food is very good. I love the fact that you can get small plates, as we don't often want a big meal. Thanks for the nice meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Very impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great spot. Food and service were excellent. Great break from the craziness of the casino, but very close by!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Came here for a nice dinner with an old friend. The food was out of this world. Service was top notch. Prices were not bad considering the quality of the food. Very quiet, even though it was a busy saturday night. Will go back many more times. :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Met for lunch with some high school friends. Great service, good food and very special service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great place, highly recommend Isabella Restaurant and Bar. Drinks, meat and cheese plate with wonderful bread started us out. The salads were fresh, healthy and different. My husband had the ribeye with a side of delightful creamed spinach and truffle fries. I had the Dover Sole cooked perfectly over a bed of freshly made gnocchi that was so tender it melted in my mouth. The chef certainly pays attention to detail. If we return to this area we will definitely make it a point to return.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was great. Servers were very attentive. Enjoyed the visit. Will return in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 27, 2017

From the wonderful cocktail menu to dessert everything was prepared perfectly. The cocktail menu provided varied choices as did the wine list with not only prices for bottles but a pour by the glass. Along with small plates there was a varied list of soups and salads offered which included pricing for a house salad served with an entrée. There was a large selection of fish dishes but my steak was prepared to perfection. The addition of raspberries to the crème brule was an added treat. It is also nice to know that a solo female diner is going to be treated by the wait staff as attentively as couples or larger groups. From the hostess to the bread person to Anna the server, everyone added to the experience. Although it could be considered casual it made for a relaxed dining treat as opposed to the run-of-the-mill restaurant visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 26, 2017

An excellent, well-managed restaurant. Always outstanding food and service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The roasted beet salad was delicious. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Best restaurant in the area by far. Very romantic nice wines by the glass and creative menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We came before a play at the Kirby. Fran took our reservation and seated us. She was super nice both times. Don't see that often with a hostess. It was a little pricey but we had coupons from the Kirby. We didn't like only one dressing choice. It was good but too sweet. One girl couldn't eat it. We also ordered a $6 glass of wine and was charged $10. Didn't realize til we had left. Overall it was a good dining expierence. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made a reservation for Valentine's week. This was our first time here. Servers were friendly and knowledgeable. The lighting was perfect - not blindingly bright or too dark to see your food. Food was delicious and the menu had something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 14, 2017

food was over priced the oil for the bread was not good it was not extra virgin oil and had no taste the the fish was BRONZINO and normally is served as a whole fish they serve it as a small slice unacceptable the soup was ok the crab pasta was ok , the staff was 5 stars but the food was not worth the price atmosphere was nice bar cocktail well made. I will not go back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were not overly impressed with the food or service considering the cost of goods.
Wife ordered a sangria and it was horrible. Worst either of us have ever tasted. The beer was fairly priced and she liked the drink special of the day.
We both had the salmon and the risotto was great, and the fish was cooked properly, but we both would have preferred a little bigger piece of fish and maybe less risotto.
Soup was awesome, and we were served a bowl not a cup. That was nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Tried Isabella's for a Valentines dinner. Great ambience, service, food etc. We were happy with everything that night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great place for a date or special occasion. Great service and great food. Friendly wait staff.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I've been here several times and it was great. They really let me down this time. Service was beyond horrible. Brought us the wrong food. Forgot spoon for soup. Made us wait long enough for 2 other couples to sit down, eat, and leave, before we even ordered our entre, only to find out "oh we just ran out a minute ago". Had to settle for a second choice. 2 hour dinner for 2. Lots of waiting, and high price for mediocre food at best. Hostess came and apologized for making us wait, but didn't comp anything. Plenty of better places to go IMO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 10, 2017

THE MAIN DISH WAS SCALLOPS AND SHRIMP. IT WAS EXCELLENT. THE FRENCH ONION SOUP WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT. IT HAD VERY LITTLE FLAVOR. I AM FRENCH, AND I WAS EXPECTING SOUP LIKE I OR MY MOTHER MADE. I LIKED THE JARLSBURG CHEESE ON IT, BUT THE HEART OF THE SOUP WAS VERY BLAND. THE SALAD WAS EXCELLENT. I TRAVELED ALMOST 60 MILES TO GET THERE. IT WAS A NICE MEAL. THE MUSIC WAS RELAXING AND NOT OVERPOWERING. OVER ALL IT WAS A PLEASANT MEAL.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Isabella's is a great stop for any occaision with wonderful atmosphere, food and service. A nice
Selection of wines and spirits along with an ample menu will please any diner. A few minutes from the Mohegan Sun Casino, downtown Wilkes-Barre and a variety of hotels make it convenient as well as fun.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great menu options. Food was fantastic. Very comfortable atmosphere. Will definitely go there again.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great food and service. Relaxed and comfortable service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great place to enjoy a high quality meal - food and service was great - easy to find, great location from the hotel

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Isabella's is my go-to date night spot with a romantic vibe and calming atmosphere. Their food has yet to disappoint myself or my date. The cocktails are absolutely fantastic as well.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent service on New Year's Eve, interesting special menu, delicious lobster tail entree. Always a pleasure to dine there!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was very good especially on new years eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Had a wonderful business dinner here this week. Great food and service....an all around perfect experiences!👍

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent food and service in a relaxed atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 10, 2016

so happy Chef Danny is back...thrilled to be back to the Isabella we once knew!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The atmosphere is very good, service was attentive, but not invasive. The food was really great. We had not been there in a while due to distance, but now we will make it a point to visit more often. My wife's Filet Mignon was outstanding, my rack of Lamb was excellent. Do yourself (and your taste buds)a favor and give have dinner here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.