Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Isabella Restaurant and Bar

4.8
215 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Worth the Drive
Since opening its doors in July of 2003, the Tambur family has built one of Northeastern Pennsylvania"s most successful restaurants based on a winning combination of delicious food, friendly and knowledgeable staffing, and the owners' attention to detail and ambiance. All this is offered to our patrons in a relaxed atmosphere located not in New York City, but right in your backyard. Whether you're comfortable in jeans-and-t-shirt or your style is designer label, you'll be able to kick back and enjoy the unique experience Isabella has to offer.


We offer an eclectic dining experience, sure to please any palette. Our seasonally changing menu encompasses many styles of cuisine with offerings from comfort food to cosmopolitan fare. Come in for a light bite and a fantastic cocktail, a famous Isabella burger and a glass of red, or for a multi-course culinary adventure.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm , Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Happy Hour: Wed, Thurs, Fri: 4-6 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(570) 270-9292
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Danny Matechak
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Jumper Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of Parking, well lit and in front of the restaurant
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

The service was excellent and the meal was very nicely presented. There were some very happy tables with a little noise; however, it did not detract from the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The service was outstanding and everyone in my party of 7 enjoyed their meal, however my wild salmon entree needed more seasoning. Overall it was a good experience and we will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Really wonderful in all regards

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Finally got to try this local restaurant. Their spring menu featured a sea bass over lentils and Brussels sprouts. It was excellent, flaked perfectly. Nice piece of fish, fresh sprouts. I added the beet carpaccio as my starter. Nice selection of golden and red beets with a goat cheese croquette on top. For the shared appetizer, we did the choice of 5 charcuterie board... tired the 5 haze harvest moon cheese that had a soft hint of butterscotch. It was smooth and creamy. The flavor was very mild and quite tolerable. Would purchase again! Nice dinner out without any celebration, just family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The Cacio e Pepe was better than NYC

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

MY NAME IS ANGELO AND THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITES, I LIKE TO TRY EVERYTHING ON THE MENU AND MORE BECAUSE I HAVEN'T HAD A BAD MEAL HERE YET, THEY CHANGE THE MENU SEASONALY AND YOU GET TO TRY CHEF DANNY'S CREATIONS WHICH ARE OUT OF THIS WORLD, WE WERE GRACEFULY GREETED BY THE OWNER OF THE RESTAURANT BOB TAMBUR WHICH MADE OUR VISIT EVEN MORE INTERESTING, EVERYONE THERE IS SO FRIENDLY AND RESPECTFUL AND WE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK, THERES NO REASON TO DESCRIBE THE FOOD BECAUSE IT'S ALL FANTASTIC, I ENCOURAGE EVERYONE TO TRY IT JUST ONCE AND YOU WILL BE HOOKED FOR LIFE, Angelo G.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 20, 2018

My wife and I hadn't been to Isabella for a while but in the past it was always very good. Not so much on this occasion. It started with the wine pours. Maybe the bartender should recognize that a white wine glass and a red wine glass don't hold the same number of ounces just because they are filled to the same level. The crab appetizer was good but the Ribollita soup was mediocre (BTW, it's spelled Ribollita, not Robillita per the menu). The small portion of veal was accompanied with Buratta cheese. It was okay, but they didn't seem to pair well together. The fish was accompanied with the most tasteless gnocchi I've ever eaten, truly awful since the texture was mushy as well. This was mentioned to our server but evidently she could care less. I rarely complain about food in a restaurant but when I do there's a reason and I expect someone in authority to at least acknowledge my displeasure. It will be a while before we return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

NEW MENU, EXCITING, DELICIOUS, WE WERE GREETED BY A WONDERFUL HOST FRAN, SHE MADE US FEEL SO WELCOME AS SOON AS WE ARRIVED, ITS SO NICE TO ACTUALLY MEET SOMEONE WHO CARES ABOUT YOU AND THE RESTAURANT, THE FOOD, WHAT CAN I SAY ? TERRIFIC !! I HAD THE SUSHI, ABSOLUTELY SCRUMPTIOUS, VEAL MEDALLIONS, PERFECT, LIGHT AND TASTY, AND THE LOBSTER CANNELLONI WAS DELICIOUS, OK, NOW FOR THE JUICY PART, I HAD TOLD FRAN ABOUT THE SOILED TABLE CLOTH ON OUR TABLE WHEN WE SAT DOWN, AND SHE WAS SO EMBARRASSED, SOMEONE SCREWED UP, AND I HAVE TO SAY, FRAN DIDN'T WASTE ANY TIME FINDING OUT WHO WAS RESPONSIBLE.( Of all the tables to have a problem ) OF COURSE SHE PROBABLY WISHED IT WAS ANY OTHER TABLE BUT MINE AND I KNOW SHE WOULDN'T WANT THAT TO HAPPEN TO ANY OTHER TABLE, ANYWAY, ONE THING THAT BOTHERS ME IS WHEN THE FOOD RUNNER BRINGS OUT THE FOOD TO THE TABLE AND THEY AUCTION IT OFF TO SEE WHO GETS WHAT, IT'S SO EASY TO DRAW A GRID FROM LEFT TO RIGHT AND WRITE DOWN THE PERSONS FOOD IN THERE BOX AND THE FOOD RUNNER WOULD KNOW WHO HAS WHAT INSTEAD OF STANDING THERE WITH THE FOOD IN HAND AND SAYING, WHO GETS THE FISH? ANOTHER THING THAT BOTHERS ME IS WHEN THE SERVER GREETS EVERYONE AS GUYS, THIS RESTAURANT IS TRYING TO BE THE BEST, GREET THE PEOPLE AS SIR, MADAM, FOLKS, LADIES, GENTLEMEN, BUT THEY HAVE TO GET RID OF THE WORD GUYS, I'LL WORRY ABOUT THE PONYTAILS NEXT WEEK, I GIVE THIS RESTAURANT 5 STARS ON FOOD, 4 STARS ON SERVICE, & 3 STARS ON APPEARANCE, ANGELO G.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Highly recommended, The service was outstanding. The food is fresh. The interior is upscale, modern decorating and very clean. We ate everything they put in front of us. Next time I'm visiting Wilkes-Barre, we will return to try some different menu items.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

This place is a gem. Worth a drive. Great menu, food is terrific, very nice staff. Check it out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The Blackberry Bourbon Smash was excellent I had the Shrimp and Scallop Cavateli perfect my husband had the salmon he said was perfect love this restaurant recommend highly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

THIS RESTAURANT IS ONE OF OUR FAVORITES, STUPID ME HAD SPILLED MY GLASS OF WATER ALL OVER MY SALAD AND MY SERVER IMMEDIATELY SEEN THAT AND WITHOUT FUSS WENT INTO THE KITCHEN AND HAD ANOTHER SALAD THERE WITHIN 3 MINUTES, VERY ATTENTIVE !!! THE FRUTTI DE MARE IS THE BEST, THE CHARCUTARY BOARD IS SO AUTHENTIC, MEATS & CHEESES FROM AROUND THE WORLD ARE SO DELICIOUS, I USUALLY PICK 7 OR 8 CHOICES SERVED ON A SEASONED CUT WOODEN LOG, 5 STARS !!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

I order the shrimp and calamari appetizer, which was quite large but mostly calamari. My husband entree was the Frutti de Mare and was also mostly calamari and lacking crab. My entree was Branzino, which was very good. I would go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

THIS IS GOT TO BE THE BEST PLACE YET, EVERYTHING IS ABSOLUTLY FANTASTIC, THE SERVICE IS VERY ATENTIVE, THE AMBIANCEIS SO WARMING AND RELAXING, VERY COMFERTABLE, I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS, WE HAVE DINED THERE ABOUT 6 OR 7 TIMES IN THE LAST 5 MONTHS AND IT JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER, ABSOLUTLY DELISIOUS !!!! 5 STARS FOR THIS ONE, ANGELO

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

I would never have anticipate the little oasis Isabella’s was based on the exterior building it is situated in. When I walked in I was warmly greeted by everyone. The staff is attentive, but not hovering. The food is exceptional and I couldn’t have asked for a better atmosphere for a dinner with friends or colleagues. Go to Isabella’s, you’ll love it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Food, staff, atmosphere always great! One of our favorite restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

This would be a "top" restaurant in any city. Delicious, authentic Italian cuisine . . . very clean and comfortable ambiance with friendly and attentive staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

The food was wonderful and the service was fantastic I would highly recommend this restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Our experience was great. It was the first time for us and we were very impressed. We started with Oysters Rockefeller and the Fig Flatbread both were outstanding. The I had the Short Ribs Bourgeoisie very good, my husband had the Coral Cod he said it was perfect, our daughter had Frutti and not sure the whole name but she said it was very good. All the staff was great thank you so much for a great dining experience. Will recommend your beautiful restaurant to all.

Joan Reynolds

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Very pretty trendy feel to it ! Great service & very good food !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The entire staff is very friendly, attentive but not hovering, very clean, nice décor AND the food is to die for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

For was excellent and well cooked. Service lol vice was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

WE WERE THERE ON VALENTINE DAY, WE ARRIVED AT 7:30 AND WAS QUICKLY SEATED WITHOUT DELAY, WE HAD TRIED SOMETHING DIFFERENT THIS TIME, I HAD ORDERED THE OYSTERS ROCKEFELLER, THEY WERE SO DELICIOUS I HAD ASKED FOR ANOTHER ORDER DURING DINNER, MY WIFE HAD ORDERED THE BEET SALAD WITH AVOCADO, THEY COULD HAVE CALLED IT THE ARUGULA SALAD WITH HINTS OF BEET AND AVOCADO, WE ALSO HAD ORDERED THE LOBSTER CAPPUCCINO APPETIZER, IT WAS GOOD, BEING THE LOBSTER WAS THE MAIN INGREDIENT THEY SHOULD HAVE HAD MORE IN IT, I HAD THE LAMB RACK WHICH WAS SUPPOSED TO BE BACKED UP WITH SOME TERIYAKI FLAVOR BUT WAS SHY AND DRY, AND A TOUCH TOO GENEROUS ON THE LIME SAUCE ON MY POTATOES, MY WIFE HAD ORDERED THE LOBSTER TAIL, IT WAS DONE EXACTLY HOW SHE LIKED IT, NO COMPLAINTS, THE BAND WAS GREAT, VERY ROMANTIC, THEY STARTED TO PLAY AT 8:00 AND TOOK A BREAK AT 8:30 TO EAT THERE DINNER AND THEN THEY STARTED TO PLAY AGAIN AS WE WERE LEAVING AT 8:50 I FEEL BAD GIVING THIS REVIEW BUT I FEEL THAT I AM QUALIFIED AFTER EATING IN ALL THE BEST RESTAURANTS FOR THE LAST 40 YEARS, MAYBE I'M TOO SENSITIVE OR JUST TOO OBSERVANT, BUT TRUTHFUL, WOULD I DINE THERE AGAIN, ABSOLUTELY,!!! IF THEY DON'T THROW ME OUT.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT, ALTHOUGH MY DINNER WAS NOT CONSISTENT WITH THE LAST TWO TIMES I HAD EATEN THERE, THE SHORT RIB DINNER WAS ABSOLUTELY THE BEST WHEN I HAD IT THE FIRST TIME, SO I HAD MY WIFE ORDER IT THE 2ND TIME AND IT WAS CUT UP AND DIFFERENT. THEN I ORDERED IT THE 3RD TIME AND IT HAD DIFFERENT FLAT CHINESE NODDLES, DIFFERENT CARROTS AND NO PEARL ONIONS, NOT AS TASTY , CHARCUTERIE BOARD USUALLY IS ACCOMPANIED WITH TOAST POINTS OR SOME KIND OF CRISPY BREAD, NOT THIS TIME, WOULD I DINE THERE AGAIN ? YES !! ABSOLUTELY,

LOVE IT

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

My fiancé and I had a wonderful, relaxing dinner. I loved the atmosphere. It was refined yet casual. We even shared a dessert, which is something we often skip at restaurants. The cheesecake was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

A great place to have dinner before seeing a show at FM Kirby!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

We received an email advertising German Night. As there are not many authentic German restaurants in the area, the chance to have good German food sounded appealing. We were not disappointed. Can't wait to return for a regular menu night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2018

Food, ambiance, and service were all exceptional!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was superb and the service excellentmi thought the total Bill was somewhat pricey compared to other fine restaurants in the area. Did not like the small glass in which a vodka drink was served. The excellent cuisine was appreciated. And considering it was New Years Eve perhaps the prices were somewhat inflated

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

The atmosphere was amazing and so were the cocktails. We had some trouble with a few lobster dinners being undercooked but they took them back and fixed them quickly and offered a round of drinks or desserts on the House. Great place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Friendly staff and great food nice ambiance would definitely come back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Some of the entrees were on the pricey side but for a special occasion it's a great place to go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Really enjoyed the food great place for lunch and dinner staff very friendly highly recommend this place

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Isabella is a little understated but have very good menu and cooking. Specialize in Italian and seafood among other good choices. The restaurant was surprisingly quiet for Friday night but I’m told the lunch service is robust. We enjoyed our meal here especially the seafood and will return soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2017

My brother and I went here for Thanksgiving dinner. It is a nice atmosphere and the food was very tasty. Also I had a pumpkin pie martini which was very good and a great addition to the Thanksgiving meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2017

THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT !!! MY NEW FAVORITE RESTAURANT, MY 3rd TIME THERE IN THE LAST 6 WEEKS, CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Excellent menu, attentive service from Tracy, very high quality cuisine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2017

I had dinner with my parents and, as always, the food was excellent and so was the service. I ALWAYS enjoy my experience there and cannot wait to eat there again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 25, 2017

Overrated and overpriced.
There were loud screaming children there at dinner time but we were told they were the owners kids so not much they could do. Hostess was considerate enough to seat us away from the noise but it’s not s huge restaurant so ...
Fig piadina appetizer was inedible. Toppings were drowning in balsamic (I’m guessing it was balsamic) and you couldn’t taste anything but vinegar. And eating vinegar soaked anything is irritating to your throat.
We didn’t complain, we simply ordered a second appetizer, the beef short rib ravioli. The flavor was delicious, however the beef was dry and chewy and the ravioli dough was thick and somewhat hard.
My fiancé had the grouper special. The fish was very good and the lemon sauce was also but the caponata that was on the plate was not. He had never had it so I simply thought he was being finicky. I make caponata so I know it well and the stuff on his plate had a weird unpleasant flavor and tasted nothing like any caponata I’ve ever had before.
My entree from the Autumn menu was salmon with butternut squash risotto, pancetta brussel sprouts, maple brown butter. Salmon was ok flavor wise but the top was browned so much that it was like a crust on top that you couldn’t even get your fork through. Risotto was fine except the brown butter was lost under it. Brussel sprouts ... ummm ... brussel SPROUT. It was the equivalent of 1 brussel sprout sliced super thin and lost in the risotto.
Our waitress was friendly and mostly attentive... although she got lost a couple times.
Might I add that this was our second time there. Our first experience was lunch a few months back and that was a disaster as well. Needless to say we won’t be back. And I’m surprised by all the fabulous reviews. We did get the feeling that a lot of the people there knew each other somehow... mostly everyone that walked in was called upon or gestured by other patrons. Maybe these friends/family are the ones writing the great reviews.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Restaurant was quaint, waitress was great and food was excellent!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6

Tweets by Isabella Restaurant and Bar