About Isabella Restaurant and Bar

Since opening its doors in July of 2003, the Tambur family has built one of Northeastern Pennsylvania"s most successful restaurants based on a winning combination of delicious food, friendly and knowledgeable staffing, and the owners' attention to detail and ambiance. All this is offered to our patrons in a relaxed atmosphere located not in New York City, but right in your backyard. Whether you're comfortable in jeans-and-t-shirt or your style is designer label, you'll be able to kick back and enjoy the unique experience Isabella has to offer.


We offer an eclectic dining experience, sure to please any palette. Our seasonally changing menu encompasses many styles of cuisine with offerings from comfort food to cosmopolitan fare. Come in for a light bite and a fantastic cocktail, a famous Isabella burger and a glass of red, or for a multi-course culinary adventure.

1140 Route 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18711
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm , Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jumper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 270-9292

Website:
http://isabellarestaurantandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking, well lit and in front of the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Danny Matechak

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

HAPPY HOUR

Wednesdays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

HAPPY HOUR

Wednesdays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

HAPPY HOUR MENU AND SPECIALLY PRICES DRINKS WEDNESDAY, THURSDAY AND FRIDAY 4-6 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 22, 2017 - Jun 23, 2017 on Wednesdays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Isabella Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
See All
Romantic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Business Meals (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Private Room (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The roasted beet salad was delicious. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best restaurant in the area by far. Very romantic nice wines by the glass and creative menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We came before a play at the Kirby. Fran took our reservation and seated us. She was super nice both times. Don't see that often with a hostess. It was a little pricey but we had coupons from the Kirby. We didn't like only one dressing choice. It was good but too sweet. One girl couldn't eat it. We also ordered a $6 glass of wine and was charged $10. Didn't realize til we had left. Overall it was a good dining expierence. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made a reservation for Valentine's week. This was our first time here. Servers were friendly and knowledgeable. The lighting was perfect - not blindingly bright or too dark to see your food. Food was delicious and the menu had something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 15, 2017

food was over priced the oil for the bread was not good it was not extra virgin oil and had no taste the the fish was BRONZINO and normally is served as a whole fish they serve it as a small slice unacceptable the soup was ok the crab pasta was ok , the staff was 5 stars but the food was not worth the price atmosphere was nice bar cocktail well made. I will not go back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were not overly impressed with the food or service considering the cost of goods.
Wife ordered a sangria and it was horrible. Worst either of us have ever tasted. The beer was fairly priced and she liked the drink special of the day.
We both had the salmon and the risotto was great, and the fish was cooked properly, but we both would have preferred a little bigger piece of fish and maybe less risotto.
Soup was awesome, and we were served a bowl not a cup. That was nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Tried Isabella's for a Valentines dinner. Great ambience, service, food etc. We were happy with everything that night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great place for a date or special occasion. Great service and great food. Friendly wait staff.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I've been here several times and it was great. They really let me down this time. Service was beyond horrible. Brought us the wrong food. Forgot spoon for soup. Made us wait long enough for 2 other couples to sit down, eat, and leave, before we even ordered our entre, only to find out "oh we just ran out a minute ago". Had to settle for a second choice. 2 hour dinner for 2. Lots of waiting, and high price for mediocre food at best. Hostess came and apologized for making us wait, but didn't comp anything. Plenty of better places to go IMO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 10, 2017

THE MAIN DISH WAS SCALLOPS AND SHRIMP. IT WAS EXCELLENT. THE FRENCH ONION SOUP WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT. IT HAD VERY LITTLE FLAVOR. I AM FRENCH, AND I WAS EXPECTING SOUP LIKE I OR MY MOTHER MADE. I LIKED THE JARLSBURG CHEESE ON IT, BUT THE HEART OF THE SOUP WAS VERY BLAND. THE SALAD WAS EXCELLENT. I TRAVELED ALMOST 60 MILES TO GET THERE. IT WAS A NICE MEAL. THE MUSIC WAS RELAXING AND NOT OVERPOWERING. OVER ALL IT WAS A PLEASANT MEAL.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Isabella's is a great stop for any occaision with wonderful atmosphere, food and service. A nice
Selection of wines and spirits along with an ample menu will please any diner. A few minutes from the Mohegan Sun Casino, downtown Wilkes-Barre and a variety of hotels make it convenient as well as fun.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great menu options. Food was fantastic. Very comfortable atmosphere. Will definitely go there again.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great food and service. Relaxed and comfortable service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great place to enjoy a high quality meal - food and service was great - easy to find, great location from the hotel

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Isabella's is my go-to date night spot with a romantic vibe and calming atmosphere. Their food has yet to disappoint myself or my date. The cocktails are absolutely fantastic as well.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service on New Year's Eve, interesting special menu, delicious lobster tail entree. Always a pleasure to dine there!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was very good especially on new years eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Had a wonderful business dinner here this week. Great food and service....an all around perfect experiences!👍

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent food and service in a relaxed atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 11, 2016

so happy Chef Danny is back...thrilled to be back to the Isabella we once knew!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The atmosphere is very good, service was attentive, but not invasive. The food was really great. We had not been there in a while due to distance, but now we will make it a point to visit more often. My wife's Filet Mignon was outstanding, my rack of Lamb was excellent. Do yourself (and your taste buds)a favor and give have dinner here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is a nice place. The food is very good and the service is excellent. I recommend it highly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Slow service, bland food, overpriced. I would avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Highly recommend. Outstanding cuisine and friendly service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Pleasantly surprised at the food and service. Would definitely come again.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 27th wedding anniversary. We asked our hotel what would be a great restaurant they recommended Isabellas. There's not enough words to describe how wonderful it was great atmosphere people were so friendly. The food was absolutely delicious! My husband is still talking about how good it was. The waitress even brought out a little dessert with a candle in it to celebrate our anniversary. We would definitely recommend Isabellas restaurant!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The food was excellent. Everything from the salad to dessert. We will definitely be back . The only thing I didn't care for was the $2 splitting fee for appeztiers . I think appeztiers are suppose to be split . Besides that everything was great and we can't wait to go back .

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

went for comfort food night. chicken and biscuits were great- as the food normally is!
please add that dish to the winter menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Six of us ate at Isabella for a birthday celebration before a concert. The food and service were memorable. Everyone was very accommodating of our schedule. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Chopped salad was outstanding. Ravioli done correctly but filling was very salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Three of us had dinner prior to attending a show at The Kirby Center. We told our server our time frame and she kept us on track and we arrived at the show right on time. Service was terrific. The food here is outstanding! We shared the Italian Hoagie Spring Roll and meatball appetizers and they were delicious. The Crab pasta dish was fabulous as was the chicken marsala. The highlight was the Tuna I ordered. I love Tuna and must say it was the best I've ever had. We will be back again and again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was quite disappointed. This restaurant was recommended by a friend who said it was a little pricy, but worth it. There were five of us and several split a appetizer, salad and entree. I ordered a Caesar salad and the small plate special. The salad a very good, but when my meal came it wasn't what I ordered and when I told them they said they would only charge me the cost of the small plate special. That was nice, but I didn't want the meal I was served. The others had the chicken Marsala, which was bland and cold. Maybe is was just an off night, but someone said they just changed chefs. Hopefully this is not a new phenomenon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We found this spot on a Thursday night as we were passing through the area. The hostess was very nice and the staff was extremely attentive. Very clean and decor was welcoming. We even had our baby there and they were accommodating. To top it off, the food was excellent and flavorful. Crab Cavatelli was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food and presentation. Wonderful service. Our appetizer was taken off the bill because iwe mentioned it wasn't hot, although it was still delicious. First class.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everyone seem to enjoy their food. One exception Sushi Tuna . Was over cooked. The chief makes mistake of doing to much .It had two different sauces one something soy I think was awful . Service was pleasant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was very good starting with the calamari appetizer. The group ordered a variety of different items, scallops, tuna, penne pasta, et.al. and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. The service was quite good with my only criticism being that the entrees are a bit pricey. Other than that, our overall experience was quite good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Both our meals (i had the pasta Bolognese), drinks and the appetizer were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Enjoyed a beautiful wedding anniversary dinner. meals were outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our lunch meeting was to bring together two couples who now live far apart who had a need for more than than phone calls. Our plans kept changing, Isabella's excellent new manager kept cheerfully adapting, and found us a quiet space in a roomful of celebrating new college graduates. Diet restrictions were easily accommodated, and the varied menu met the equally varied tastes of all four. The server was thoughtful and informative. My blackened mahi-mahi was memorably excellent. We dawdled over it all and were made to feel we were welcome to sit and talk. I'm sure we will all go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was excellent. Had cheese and meat platter the small one and it was delicious and more than enough for the two of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.