About Isabella Restaurant and Bar

1140 Route 315
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18711
View Larger Map

Since opening its doors in July of 2003, the Tambur family has built one of Northeastern Pennsylvania"s most successful restaurants based on a winning combination of delicious food, friendly and knowledgeable staffing, and the owners' attention to detail and ambiance. All this is offered to our patrons in a relaxed atmosphere located not in New York City, but right in your backyard. Whether you're comfortable in jeans-and-t-shirt or your style is designer label, you'll be able to kick back and enjoy the unique experience Isabella has to offer.


We offer an eclectic dining experience, sure to please any palette. Our seasonally changing menu encompasses many styles of cuisine with offerings from comfort food to cosmopolitan fare. Come in for a light bite and a fantastic cocktail, a famous Isabella burger and a glass of red, or for a multi-course culinary adventure.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm , Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jumper Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 270-9292

Website:
http://isabellarestaurantandbar.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of Parking, well lit and in front of the restaurant

Executive Chef:
Danny Matechak

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Isabella Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
9 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Wilkes-Barre ›

Special Occasion (10)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
See All
Romantic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Business Meals (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Private Room (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The atmosphere is very good, service was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The atmosphere is very good, service was attentive, but not invasive. The food was really great. We had not been there in a while due to distance, but now we will make it a point to visit more often. My wife's Filet Mignon was outstanding, my rack of Lamb was excellent. Do yourself (and your taste buds)a favor and give have dinner here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a nice place. The food is very g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is a nice place. The food is very good and the service is excellent. I recommend it highly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow service, bland food, overpriced. I ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Slow service, bland food, overpriced. I would avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Highly recommend. Outstanding cuisine ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Highly recommend. Outstanding cuisine and friendly service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasantly surprised at the food and ser ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Pleasantly surprised at the food and service. Would definitely come again.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our 27 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 27th wedding anniversary. We asked our hotel what would be a great restaurant they recommended Isabellas. There's not enough words to describe how wonderful it was great atmosphere people were so friendly. The food was absolutely delicious! My husband is still talking about how good it was. The waitress even brought out a little dessert with a candle in it to celebrate our anniversary. We would definitely recommend Isabellas restaurant!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. Everything from ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The food was excellent. Everything from the salad to dessert. We will definitely be back . The only thing I didn't care for was the $2 splitting fee for appeztiers . I think appeztiers are suppose to be split . Besides that everything was great and we can't wait to go back .

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

went for comfort food night. chicken and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

went for comfort food night. chicken and biscuits were great- as the food normally is!

please add that dish to the winter menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Six of us ate at Isabella for a birthday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Six of us ate at Isabella for a birthday celebration before a concert. The food and service were memorable. Everyone was very accommodating of our schedule. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chopped salad was outstanding. Ravioli d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Chopped salad was outstanding. Ravioli done correctly but filling was very salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Three of us had dinner prior to attendin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Three of us had dinner prior to attending a show at The Kirby Center. We told our server our time frame and she kept us on track and we arrived at the show right on time. Service was terrific. The food here is outstanding! We shared the Italian Hoagie Spring Roll and meatball appetizers and they were delicious. The Crab pasta dish was fabulous as was the chicken marsala. The highlight was the Tuna I ordered. I love Tuna and must say it was the best I've ever had. We will be back again and again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was quite disappointed. This restau ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was quite disappointed. This restaurant was recommended by a friend who said it was a little pricy, but worth it. There were five of us and several split a appetizer, salad and entree. I ordered a Caesar salad and the small plate special. The salad a very good, but when my meal came it wasn't what I ordered and when I told them they said they would only charge me the cost of the small plate special. That was nice, but I didn't want the meal I was served. The others had the chicken Marsala, which was bland and cold. Maybe is was just an off night, but someone said they just changed chefs. Hopefully this is not a new phenomenon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

We found this spot on a Thursday night a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We found this spot on a Thursday night as we were passing through the area. The hostess was very nice and the staff was extremely attentive. Very clean and decor was welcoming. We even had our baby there and they were accommodating. To top it off, the food was excellent and flavorful. Crab Cavatelli was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and presentation. Wonderf ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food and presentation. Wonderful service. Our appetizer was taken off the bill because iwe mentioned it wasn't hot, although it was still delicious. First class.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everyone seem to enjoy their food. One e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everyone seem to enjoy their food. One exception Sushi Tuna . Was over cooked. The chief makes mistake of doing to much .It had two different sauces one something soy I think was awful . Service was pleasant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was very good starting with the ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was very good starting with the calamari appetizer. The group ordered a variety of different items, scallops, tuna, penne pasta, et.al. and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. The service was quite good with my only criticism being that the entrees are a bit pricey. Other than that, our overall experience was quite good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Both our meals (i had the pasta Bologne ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Both our meals (i had the pasta Bolognese), drinks and the appetizer were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed a beautiful wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Enjoyed a beautiful wedding anniversary dinner. meals were outstanding!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food's the star, supported by excellent staff

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our lunch meeting was to bring together two couples who now live far apart who had a need for more than than phone calls. Our plans kept changing, Isabella's excellent new manager kept cheerfully adapting, and found us a quiet space in a roomful of celebrating new college graduates. Diet restrictions were easily accommodated, and the varied menu met the equally varied tastes of all four. The server was thoughtful and informative. My blackened mahi-mahi was memorably excellent. We dawdled over it all and were made to feel we were welcome to sit and talk. I'm sure we will all go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Had cheese and me ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was excellent. Had cheese and meat platter the small one and it was delicious and more than enough for the two of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great!!!would go back.

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great!!!would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cute decor in the restaurant and seated ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Cute decor in the restaurant and seated immediately. Anna the server was very attentive. Food and drink were delicious!! Would definitely recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seafood chowder is delicious.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Seafood chowder is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleased with our first visit. Would ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Very pleased with our first visit. Would highly recommend for anyone looking for a good fine dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wilkes-Barre's well kept secret!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Isabella's was a delightful discovery, that several of my fellow "Wilkes-Barreans" were only vaguely familiar with! There aren't many "non-chain" restaurants in W-B, and finding a place that takes reservations is also a victory! The food and drinks were quite good, and I would definitely go there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect evening

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Dinner with friends was great. We all had a special entree which was Grouper with puttanesca. I had the risotto as a side and hope Grouper is offered as a menu staple. Absolutely delicious! The staff is friendly and attentive. Great chef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Good value.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2016

This was a nice dining experience. The food was excellent, the service was very good. I would recommend Isabella very highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was really good.. My boyfriend n i were skeptical cuz it was just us and 2 other people in the restaurant but the food was so good the staff was not ehh she was more into her phone but none the less we jus loved the time alone we had.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was very poorly prepared

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2016

We ordered the duck, excited to try the almond crust, little did we know that with the almonds came an overwhelming amount of horseradish (that wasn't even listed in the item description). There was so much horseradish that you could not even taste the duck. The raspberry gastrique was a raspberry sauce that covered the entire plate. Everything tasted like raspberry. The side of truffle fries ended up being soggy raspberry potatoes, un edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great atmosphere, excellent service and ...

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 23, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

beckie

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 7, 2016

SOME TIME AGO WE STOPPED ON THE SPUR OF THE MOMENT FOR LUNCH ANSD WAS VERY SATISFIED WITH FOOD, PRESENTATION AND SERVICE...THIS PAST WEEKEND WE WENT FOR THE SUNDAY BRUNCH AGAIN VERSY SATISFIED.

WISH THIS PLACE WAS OPENED ON SATURDAYS FOR LUNCH AND ALSO DINNER ON SUNDAY WOULD BE GREAT

VERY NICE ATMOSPHERE AND SEATING IS EXCELLENT THAT YOU CAN ACTUALLY TALK TO THE PEOPLE AT YOUR TABLE ...

GREAT PLACE!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

shortie

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on January 10, 2016

the server was very helpful and attentive for the evening

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good restaurant

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 17, 2015

This is the 2nd time we've been to Isabella's recently. The food is very good and the service was outstanding. We felt there could be more vegetarian options and the vegetable portion could be larger. Our only criticism is that the bread and oil is truly terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fine food without the pretentious atmosphere.

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 29, 2015

We've visited Isabella three times and have never been disappointed. The great food and comfortable, unpretentious atmosphere make it perfect for a young couple like us on a special occasion. Even though it is a long drive for us, it's worth the trip especially considering it's close proximity to the casino. The only complaint we have is the limited choice of salad dressings, none of which are creamy, like a blue cheese or ranch. The house dressing is an overly sweet vinaigrette but is still tasty and not too acidic. We're looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great restaurant!

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on November 13, 2015

Isabella Restaurant and Bar is our favorite place in the Wilkes-Barre area. We go there about once a week. The menu is diverse and delicious, the drink list is excellent, and the service is consistently courteous, thoughtful and top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Meal was delicious, portion sizes was go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Meal was delicious, portion sizes was good, dessert was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good lunch

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2015

Really nice menu. Loved the food. Nice service although no one asked if we liked our lunch! The only negative is the salmon on top of my salad was so blazing hot I burnt the inside of my mouth. That was a first as most of the time when you order protein or fish on your salad, it's room temp.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed every last bite

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 20, 2015

We were in the area for an event and we normally live over an hour away, so we tried Isabella's since it had some nice reviews. We were not disappointed! We were ecstatic to see that they offered "gluten free" options on their menu. We have food allergies and this made it so nice. the service was great as was the wine. Food was great although we were kind of shocked to see that they charged a fee for sharing appetizers and/or entrees. Was not accustomed to seeing that on a menu! Regardless, it was a wonderful evening with great wine, apps, dinner and dessert. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Just a miserable experience

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on October 18, 2015

For Brunch Greeted by "We Are shorthanded, just take any table." Turns out there was 1 person to wait on all diners. Selections on the on-line menu were not available and we were informed the waffle iron just died. When food finally arrived, Eggs Benedict were cold, and the omelettes were over cooked and the toast was burned. Those in our party that drank decaf were offered a refill, those drinking regular were limited to one cup. First and last time for us - Beware!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.