About Iron Horse Grill

20 Wheeler Avenue
Pleasantville, NY 10570
View Larger Map

The Iron Horse Pleasantville is an intimate, 60 seat restaurant in the turn of the century Pleasantville, New York train station building. The restaurant has received accolades for its contemporary cuisine including an "Exellent" rating from the New York Times' M.H.Reed, a four and one half star review from noted food writer Gerry Dawes and has received an "A" from Judith Hausman in the Journal News.The 2011 Zagat Survey has described the food as "extraordinary to perfection".Zagat also says that the Iron Horse is a "class act" that "stands out"for it's"superb seasonal cuisine","dedicated staff" and "quaint setting".

The Iron Horse Pleasantville is open for lunch (12-3pm) Friday, Saturday, and Sunday and dinner (5pm-close) Tuesday to Sunday. Closed on Mondays. The restaurant is also available for private parties at other times. Our private dinning room, the"Iron Horse Room", can accommodate up to 15 for an intimate dinner or corporate event.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY: Lunch 12-3pm/Dinner 5pm-close
MONDAY: CLOSED
TUESDAY: Dinner 5pm-close
WEDNESDAY: Dinner 5pm-close
THURSDAY: Dinner 5pm-close
FRIDAY: Lunch 12-3pm/Dinner 5pm-close
SATURDAY: Lunch 12-3pm/Dinner 5pm-close

Thank you!




Cross Street:
MANVILLE ROAD

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(914) 741-0717

Website:
http://ironhorsepleasantville.com/

Entertainment:
Special dinners & concerts to be announced. Please check our website for special events.

Parking Details:
VALET PARKING FRIDAY & SATURDAY NIGHT
Limited street parking (Free after 6)
MUNICIPAL PARKING LOTS
Memorial Plaza/Pleasantville Train Station, behind the restaurant. Cross footbridge over railroad tracks to rear of building. Proceed around to the front entrance. (Permit needed before 3/Metered parking)
Behind Dunkin Donuts at Manville Rd and Wheeler Ave. Cross over Manville Rd to Wheeler Ave, restaurant is on your right. (Metered parking/Free after 6)

Public Transit:
Take the Metro-North Harlem line to the Pleasantville Station. Take the stair case at the north end of the station and turn right, you will see the rear of the building. Proceed around the building to the right to our entrance. For train schedules and MTA information visit www.mta.info or dial 511.

Executive Chef:
Jorge Madrid

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Iron Horse restaurant is available for private parties at special times. Our private dining room, the “Green Room”, can accommodate up to 16 for an intimate dinner or corporate event.

Iron Horse Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Romantic (8)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Friendly, quiet, small but interesting m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Friendly, quiet, small but interesting menu, very fair prices for quality and quantity, reasonable wine list all add up to a lovely experience. Will certainly return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Have dined at Iron Horse three times now ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Have dined at Iron Horse three times now. Have eaten same main dish all 3! 1000 degree black cod. Delicious & innovative. As is whole menu. Last time to start we tried calamari. It was amazing-good test of any restaurant. Other main course was the steak-delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came expecting the old owner's restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I came expecting the old owner's restaurant, with pris fixe menu to go with the Jacob Burns movie, so that was disappointing. The staff was very nice but the menu needed some work. The food was good, but not up to the prices yet. I would highly recommend this place for quiet adult talk and good food. It's rare that you can be heard these days.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was a creative menu with unusual tast ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was a creative menu with unusual tastes which we all liked. We appreciated that the server warned us of high spice in some dishes. We will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

New ownership. Great food and ambiance. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

New ownership. Great food and ambiance. Newly tastefully updated . So glad to have a good place in the neighborhood .

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was excexcellent...fresh and beauti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good was excexcellent...fresh and beautifully presented. Service was efficient and attentive. We were able to enjoy a light and tasty meal and catch our movie in plenty of time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was great but we suspect serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Everything was great but we suspect service suffered with only one wait staff serving close to a full house on a midweek visit. I would hope this doesn't happen often. Great food and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

My wife and I have eaten here several ti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My wife and I have eaten here several times, and the dining experience is consistently excellent. Its proximity to the Jacob Burns Cinema makes it a perfect choice after seeing a film.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Loved the dining experience at the iron ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Loved the dining experience at the iron horse grill. Disappointed that menu changes had not

Been posted on line.

Menu options are sparse, missed not being able to have the lamb!

Very "classey joint!"

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Limited menu Only an 8:00 reservation av ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Limited menu

Only an 8:00 reservation available on open table but there were many empty tables when we arrived

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The Iron Horse has been sold to the owne ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The Iron Horse has been sold to the owners of Village Social, another local restaurant, and is undergoing a transition. As a result they have reduced their menu to a few items and their wine selection to a handful. There seemed to be only 3 people working which was insufficient even for the four tables dining.

The waiter did not know what the new place would be, but the menu of the Village Social is nothing like the high-end that Iron Horse was known for, and did so well.

We are sorry to see it go. It was a fave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Nice and quiet on Tuesday evenings.

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Nice and quiet on Tuesday evenings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Place was pretty - asked if we had a res ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Place was pretty - asked if we had a reservation as they couldn't seat us without one. Only a few tables were occupied at 6 pm on a sat night.

Appetizer said crab cakes and we got one small cake for $14

Main course came out wrong. My dish got cold before my friends dish got served. Bread was taken off table after appetizer - would of liked it with dinner.

Expensive for what you got

Not planning to go back - hostess stated it was under new ownership

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Excellent food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The restaurant can be a little noisy but they have a small side room with glass walls that makes it a friendly and easy to talk location without feeling crowded. The food was excellent and everyone enjoyed their meal. Service was fantastic and there is valet parking

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, not great

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Was never here under previous owner so nothing to compare too, so...

Food is good, not great thus overpriced. Still the space is nice, it an ok place to have a meal before or after a movie. After rather than before as service is a bit slow. I don't drink but I did happen to notice that their wine cabinet which could hold a hundred bottles or so, was almost empty ~ not a good sign. Not a "special occasion" destination by any measure, pity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great! Would definitely recomme ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was great! Would definitely recommend and go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

A very enjoyable restaurant with excellent food at reasonable prices. The service was very friendly and attentive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Going through a transition but probably ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Going through a transition but probably should be closed until they have completed. No wine list. Restaurant was virtually empty when we arrived at 7:30 on Friday night yet a table was not available on opentable until 7:30. No specials and only a limited selection of wines by the glass -- no bottles at all. Crab cake app was good. Rest of the food was ok. It had that feeling of purchasing something that was discontinued but without the discount pricing to match. Would not recommend at this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Always good ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Iron Horse Grill has always been a favorite, but we hadn't been there in some time and it is great to say that the food has, if anything, gotten even better of late. Quality and presentation were terrific. And the service is wonderful, as well. The Maitre d' makes one feel like a regular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Highly recommend

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We were impressed by the food here. Kudos to the chef. Everything was top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Changes

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The changes of your Chef and your Manager has affected the experience and the quality of food. Your menu before was much more enticing, had more options and was more unique. The previous manager went out of his way to make you feel welcomed and stayed close to all your dining experience. You eliminated from the menu some of my favourite dishes such as your steak served in a sizzling plate. Your list of desserts is not enticing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic meal with friendly efficient s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Fantastic meal with friendly efficient service. Simple elegant menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Disappointment.... Once was a great restaurant,

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Iron Hose was our go to restaurant, but not any more. When Phillip owned the restaurant every meal was a delicious combination of tastes.

Our meal this time was such a disappointment. Two of us had rack of lamb, and two the duck entree. Both meals were plated with the same mixed carrots, peas and mushrooms, and a swipe of orange colored purée. The meat was sitting on a brown sauce. The lamb was tasty, the duck which was to be cooked medium rare was a grayish salty tasting meat indistinguishable in its origin. At 6:30 on a Saturday night the restaurant was out of beet salad and the dessert called chocolate mousse pie was a piece of cake.

The service was ok, nothing friendly and the food was delivered without any enthusiasm. No one checked to see if we were enjoying our meals, or if we needed anything. Although water glasses re refilled when empty.

No this is no a great restaurant any more. It is just an overpriced place hoping that the reputation it once had will keep it afloat. I see it sinking very quickly!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Unpleasant in Pleasantville

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I was looking forward to returning here after I heard about the reno and read the reviews. But was quite disappointed. A short pour on a glass of wine, a mediocre mixed salad, dry crab cakes, and a soggy and tasteless chicken breast with more wilted greens on the side. Not what we had expected. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Sub par

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Food peparation was overcooked and dry. Was expecting a continuity of quality from prior owner since venue name did not change. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Met another couple here on a Sunday night not knowing it was restaurant week. I usually don't order from that menu but the offerings were things I would be interested in eating even if it were a la carte. For $30 it was a great deal too. I had the grilled Caesar romaine, cassoulet and apple pie. Loved all three. One of us got the chicken, also very good. Will look forward to going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food, Uneven Service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The high notes at Iron Horse were stellar, but portions of the meal and service fell flat or were simply puzzling.

Portions of our meal were exceptional. The coconut cake was delicious: the cake was moist, and the duo of caramel sauce and berry compote was delightful. My cocktail (a sidecar) also was the most perfectly mixed drink I have had in a long time.

We were less thrilled by our entrees. Both of us had duck -- the cassoulet and duo of duck breast. They came out less than 5 minutes after we ordered them. It may be possible to cook duck properly in that period of time, but ours was not. The duck breast was the better of the two dishes, but it was very rare and the skin lacked the crispiness that is characteristic of that dish. The broth in the cassoulet lacked flavor, the lardons were unevenly cooked, and the skin on the duck leg was soggy. Both dishes on the whole were OK, but they are at a pretty high price point for just OK.

We might have brought this up with our waiter, but no one really talked to us until the very end of the meal. Seriously, the waiter just dropped the dessert menu on our table without saying a word. Service in other parts of the meal was similarly inconsistent. While the entrees came out in 5 minutes flat, it took us 10 minutes to get water after we sat down. It was a busy Saturday night, but they made it look difficult.

The one shining moment in the meal was when the maitre d'hotel came by and offered us two complimentary glasses of port to end our evening. That was the one point where we felt pampered and looked after -- which is really the standard we look for at this kind of restaurant. My partner noted as we departed that this gesture "saved the meal." If only the entire service had been at this level....

I don't think we would return for a full meal. It's too expensive not to be completely satisfied. Based on the quality of the bartending, however, we would definitely come back for a drink and small plates.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We have been to Iron Horse Grill a few t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We have been to Iron Horse Grill a few times now and it's consistently great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Went for lunch during Restaurant Week. Food and service were wonderful. Will be back .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generous portions for restaurant week lu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Generous portions for restaurant week lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not the old Iron Horse.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

It is a good restaurant but not the same as the old Iron Horse, not as vibrant, not as romantic.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Exceptional

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

I should concede that my small group visited the Iron Horse at an untypical restaurant moment--late afternoon on a weekday. But the experience was blissful. The large, comfortable room was mostly empty and exceptionally quiet. The reception and wait staff were unobtrusively attentive and affable. Dining was unhurried. And the food was remarkable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

to fast

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We sat down at 6:30 we where finished with appetizer and dinner by 7:30 I guess it was still early and they wanted to get in another customer .

Our waiter was excellent and the food was very .

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Worst Experience Ever

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Expensive, pretentious and tasteless. Four of us out to dinner. Ordered the cheese "plate" figuring I'd share it, but it was only three tiny triangles of tasteless cheese that wasn't big enough for one. The crab cake appetizers were good. Main courses: Risotto, Sword Fish, Chicken and Steak. Risotto was tasteless; Sword Fish and Chicken were tough and Steak was undercooked. Strawberry Shortcake was tiny for the price but tasty. Apple Pie was undercooked and gummy (sent it back). Sorbet had ice particles in it. The waiter bumped our chairs every time he went by. He wasn't familiar with the menu and not helpful with recommendations. All in all an expensive night with terrible food and poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Wonderful Valentines dinner event The qu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Wonderful Valentines dinner event

The quartet singers was a enjoyable

And the roses for the ladies was a nice touch.

As usual the food was wonderful.

The two couples I was with had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

DINNER AT IRON HORSE

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

IT WAS A WONDERFUL EVENING WITH SEVERAL SPECIAL ELEMENTS -- THE BARBERSHOP QUARTET, EXCELLENT SERVICE, VERY FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE AND THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS. THE OWNER MADE AN EXTRA EFFORT TO MAKE US FEEL WELCOME & COMFORTABLE.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very lovely and every ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant was very lovely and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The burrata appetizer was delicious. The sword fish was very good. Two of us ordered the rack of lamb. One rare and one medium. The lamb was delicious but it was cold. So cold that it must have been pre cooked and reheated. I might go back but I wouldn't order the lamb again. The desserts were very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Delicious fish

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had the salmon and the swordfish. Both were prepared well and tasted delicious. We shared a large crab cake for an appetizer. Scrumptious. All in all, a nice place for dinner after s movie at the Burns.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

excellent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

wonderful experience from start to finish. all plates were served beautifully and deliciously. wine was very good and well priced. there was a small issue with a main dish and without hesitation it was taken car of and they offered us free desserts...which were delicious. will definitely make tis one of our regular dinner spots

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious Food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

David and his staff always do a wonderful job of making us feel welcome and like we are part of the family. The food is fantastic, and the service attentive without being intrusive. In December, we had my husband's 50th birthday dinner in their private, glass-enclosed room, and it was wonderful. Looking forward to our next meal there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.