About Iron Bridge Wine Company - Columbia

10435 State Route 108
also known as Clarksville Pike
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Top notch restaurant and wine bar featuring a 35+ wine-by-the-glass offering, wine tasting flights, a full service restaurant highlighting small plate entrees, as well as a boutique retail wine shop that boasts an unusual collection of wines from around the world. Purchase a bottle to drink with dinner and pay just $10 over retail cost! A full bar with signature cocktails using house made infusions and bottled beers are also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: Dinner All Day from 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 997-3456

Website:
http://www.ironbridgewines.com/

Entertainment:
We conduct casual wine tastings on select Monday evenings from 6:00-7:00.

Parking Details:
Private, safe, lighted parking lot is available. On busy evenings the lot does get fairly full, so carpooling is recommended.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Skinner

Private Party Facilities:
Private Party availability changes with day and time requested. For more information please contact Jessica Barber at 410.997.3456

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Barber: 4109973456x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

rum cake
Bread Pudding
Key Lime Pie With Key Lime Panna Cotta
Chincoteage Oysters
Calamari
Scallops With Tomato Ragout Baby Spinach And Mashed Potatoes
Panna Cotta
Foie Gras Grilled Cheese
Scallops
Creme Brulee
Pumpkin Bread Pudding
Tuna Taco
Lamb Arancini
Burrata
Duck Confit
Hanger Steak
charcuterie
Caramel Apple Empanadas
Prince Edward Island Mussels
Mesclun Salad
Mahi
Olive Tapenade
Duck
Creme Brulee With Chocolate Ganache
MIXED CHEESES
Pecan Tart
Sangria
Blueberry Bread Pudding With Orange Rum Sauce
Ib Cheese Fries
Roasted Beet Salad
I Dont Remember
parapadelle
Pan Roasted Diver Scallops
Italian Sausage Flatbread
Frog's Leap Chardonnay

Iron Bridge Wine Company - Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
Contemporary American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore Suburbs
5 More
Best Service
Baltimore Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Baltimore Suburbs
Contemporary American
Baltimore Suburbs
Most Booked
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

notable wine list (166)
fit for foodies (145)
special occasion (131)
See All
neighborhood gem (114)
romantic (80)
great for lunch (51)
good for groups (37)
hot spot (36)
great for brunch (33)
vibrant bar scene (22)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drove by this restaurant many times but ...

Dined 3 days ago

Drove by this restaurant many times but never stopped in since I am not much of a wine drinker. I should have come here sooner. This was one of the best dining experiences I have had in a long time. Service: We were immediately greeted by Jeffrey who also ended up being our server. He was friendly and quickly seated us. Jeffrey was also very attentive. It seemed like nothing was missed. No chance was given to slurp loudly to indicate am empty glass of water since it was being refilled at its halfway point. Everything we ordered was brought to our table hot and in perfect timing. The staff bussing the tables was also in sync with our pace of eating, getting us from bread, apps, to entre seamlessly. Food: I honestly was not expecting much from a last minute lunchtime decision and I was pleasantly surprised. We started with grilled calamari and a watermelon capresse salad. The calamari was cooked perfectly. The salad was fresh and full of flavor. Entres were the Truffle Burger and Chicken and Waffles both of which were excellent. Did not have room for dessert but the choices were very enticing. The coffee was also excellent. I ordered two cappuccinos during the meal since they were so good. I look forward to returning for dinner.

food4
ambience4
service4

Consistently above good.

Dined 6 days ago

Consistently above good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing good food. 3 course meal for 40 ...

Dined 7 days ago

Amazing good food. 3 course meal for 40 dollars is great deal. Wine selection was obviously great. We went around 9 and there was not any noise at all. It feels like a $250 restaurant for half the price.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Iron Bridge Wine Company in Columbia is ...

Dined 7 days ago

Iron Bridge Wine Company in Columbia is a gem to say the least. The appetizers were delicious and unique. Our entrees were prepared with the utmost care and attention to detail. They have an expansive wine selection and several rare to find wines by the glass, if you care to spend that much. Its charm is in its small size, which can be a challenge to get a table but well worth it. Great location for early dinner before heading to a show at Merriweather because of proximity. They also have parking for their patrons.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Our meal was outstanding. The fish was a ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our meal was outstanding. The fish was among the best I've had, and my husband's steak melted in your mouth. The peanut butter chocolate cheesecake was so large and rich that I couldn't finish it. Our server was wonderful, though I wish I had understood the specials better that night. I ended up paying extra by ordering the 3 courses separately instead of using their special. Our romantic birthday dinner was compromised because we were seated in the same room as a bridal party, and they were so loud that we couldn't talk easily between the two of us. I'm not blaming the restaurant--how would they know the large group would be so noisy--but it definitely affected the quality of the night. On the other hand, I've been to this restaurant many times, and this is the first time we had a noise issue. The food is always sensational; the wine pairing superb. I'll still go back, but just ask for a quiet table if there is a large group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

Our food was the star of the night. Pick ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Our food was the star of the night. Picked this as a place to meet friends coming from DC as a half way point from Bmore. Everyone was truly impressed on how good the food was.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough wonderful things abou ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I can't say enough wonderful things about Iron Bridge Wine Company. Stacey, our server was great. She gave us the rundown on the menu, the wine tastings, the farm to table partnerships and the wine list. One of the owners stopped by our table and welcomed us. The bar looks like a fun place, and we'll be back. We bought a case of wine with a nice discount. And the food was so fresh, so tasty, and beautifully presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, great service and great creme ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Good food, great service and great creme brulee (a must have).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was Father's day. My wife and I ha ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was Father's day. My wife and I have been going to the Bridge since it's 1st year in business.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We ordered a Maryland surf-turf , burger ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We ordered a Maryland surf-turf , burger , and halibut because a waiter strongly recommended in spite of the price , $ 34. However, the piece of Halibut was 1 inch wide! I and other guests were under amazement and the taste didn't compensate our disappointment. Pretty boring garnish and uncooked broccoli . Burger is big but didn't have its own character. A surf -turf was a combination of soft shell crab and cooked pork belly steak and stir fried kimchee. Kimchee was too hard and tough to cut by teeth. I hoped it was bite size. I think a chef is trying to be creative by following the trendy California- Asian style, but food was lack of flavor and detail. I have always tried this restaurant and done now, but I won't go back .

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Iron Bridge Wine Company offered us a ve ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Iron Bridge Wine Company offered us a very memorable meal recently. We were celebrating my dining companion's birthday and were pleasantly surprised to receive a card that had been signed by all members of the staff -- a nice touch! The meal itself was excellent, and entrees were sized such that appetizers weren't necessary (although many of them sounded tempting). The restaurant's a bit small, so, unfortunately, there's really no place other than the bar to stand if you arrive before your table's ready. And the acoustics are such that you often need to speak with a raised voice in order to be heard by others at your table. But these are minor quibbles that, overall, don't really detract from a very nice restaurant and one that we intend to patronize again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was alright, but I have had bet ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was alright, but I have had better. We really go for the wine and their cream brulee is a real find.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Surprisingly, the restaurant was empty w ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Surprisingly, the restaurant was empty when we arrived at noon for lunch. It didn't take long for the place to fill up. Even with all the tables occupied the noise level was acceptable and didn't disturb our conversation. The service was great. Our server kept tabs on us without hovering and was able to make food recommendations based on our inquiries. Our specialty drinks were flavorful and refreshing. We ordered an appetizer to share, the buratta. It was fantastic with plenty for both of us! Our next course was a salmon pastrami sandwich and a pulled chicken sandwich both with french fries. First a comment on the fries; they were nicely seasoned, delicious and very plentiful. The salmon sandwich received a B+ rating. The salmon was fine but we were expecting a more intense pastrami flavoring. The pulled chicken sandwich with roasted grapes and walnuts received an A+ rating, very tasty!. We ordered the chocolate peanut butter cheesecake for dessert and it did not disappoint.... a dense texture of chocolate cheesecake with a peanut butter mousse-like topping and a ganache drizzle...it was delightful. Overall, a little pricey for lunch but definitely worth it to celebrate a special event!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vry nice meal with my daughters and gran ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Vry nice meal with my daughters and grandson for one of their birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Good food in a town that has very few de ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Good food in a town that has very few decent restaurants, but the price is astronomical for what you are getting. If Columbia had a better food scene they would never get away with it.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Looks can be decieving.

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

This restaurant looks like a local dinner from the outside. However, the food is top notch. Great appetizer of cheese/preserved meats (I had soprressa and sorrenton ham with cheddar and blue cheese), Fine steak perfectly cooked but could have used a touch of salt, and a great single malt selection. All this with a wonderful red wine in a comfortable atmosphere with good service. I do recommend this restaurant if you are in the area. I know when I'm there again, I'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Nite Out

Dined on June 10, 2016

Iron Bridge has never disappointed. Service and food are always great. The menu changes with what is easily and locally available. Food is always cooked and seasoned very well. We were well taken care of and can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iron Bridge is a 10/10, every time.

Dined on June 10, 2016

Refined yet unpretentious. The staff is extremely knowledgeable about food and wine but they don't care if you aren't sure about the difference between prosecco and prosciutto. The menu is constantly changing and involves fresh, local ingredients combined in way that makes you say "wow" every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is outstanding! It will ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

This restaurant is outstanding! It will exceed every expectation the minute you walk through the door. Let me first thank Open table because without this App we may have missed this hidden gem. We were in town for the Capitol Jazz Festival and it's my job to pick the restaurant for dinner because my quest is to search for a great culinary experience, especially when we travel. This dinning experience was by far one of the best, since returning from Sorrento, Italy! Iron Bridge Wine Company provides a great experience from their extensive wine selection, hand crafted cocktails and menu selection. Casey, thank you so much for making our outing great!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Omelettes or quiches are your best bet f ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Omelettes or quiches are your best bet for good lunch fare at a reasonable price. There are a lot of high priced items on the menu. The 5 oz. pour of Far Niente Chardonnay for $18 is a bit much. Our server was outstanding and the ambiance is always nice.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food, but...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Iron Bridge has very good food, I would not say great because the pricing at Iron Bridge deserves truly great quality. The prices rival the better places in New York City, but so does the quality of the food, rare in Maryland. The ambience is far from NYC and so is the service. Overall, I would recommend this Restorant for special occasions and if food is your guilty pleasure. They changed their delicious flat bred pizza, with something quite disappointing (Bree on bread), but other than that I recomend the food. This is not a family place. No high chair, no changing tables. Also, the tables are too close to each other making the place feel cramed and devoid of privacy, which detracts from the high end ambiance deserving such prices... 👍Food👌😄 Family 😩 Ambiance 😑

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and outstanding service!

Dined on June 2, 2016

Work going on outside, but very nice inside. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, "Casey" was excellent, very ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Our waiter, "Casey" was excellent, very personable, helpful with food selections and very knowledgable on all of the items on the menu. He was also very attentive. Our thanks to him and all the staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was simply outstanding. Staff ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was simply outstanding. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I will be coming back for sure.

food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Over-priced meal

Dined on May 25, 2016

We were contacted by e-mail to come to Iron Bridge for a wine tasting with Hartford Winemaker (special event) but when we arrived; there was no wine tasting outside of very expensive glasses of wine ($15-$17 for a Chardonnay) or 3 half glass flight for $24. I ordered the scallops, it was impossible to appreciate them for the high cost of $34.00. The next night at Clydes, they were half that exorbitant price. The iron Bridge food menu is so very, very limited. They need to add a crab cake.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kevin, our server, was fantastic. Very ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Kevin, our server, was fantastic. Very knowledgeable and personal without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our second visit. Our second v ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was our second visit. Our second visit CONFIRMED our earlier positive opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met some family here for dinner at the r ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Met some family here for dinner at the recommendation of my cousin's boss. Great cocktails, and a wonderful of doing wine by the bottle - they have a wine market where you can by a bottle to take home. Or for small additional corkage fee you can have the wine with dinner. They have nice wines, at much less than you'd normally pay in a restaurant. And the food - great from a charcuterie plate to begin, through my lamb duo entree to a (required by our server) creme brûlée for dessert. Great ambiance, great staff and a fantastic night all around with my family. Highly recommended on all fronts!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Iron Bridge Wine Company remains our ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The Iron Bridge Wine Company remains our favorite Maryland restaurant. The fact it's only 3 miles from home is an added bonus. This visit was to celebrate my wife's birthday. We arrived a few minutes early, but were seated promptly. Our hosts had a birthday card for my wife waiting for her at our table. Nice touch. Our servers were prompt, friendly, and knowledgeable. They provided many options for wine pairings. We finally settled on a red wine which went wonderfully with each course in our meal, including dessert. For the first course, my wife ordered a salad and I ordered bisque. Both were exquisite. Each of us ordered the fillet for our main course. The meat was buttery smooth and melted in our mouths. It rested on a bed of kale and mashed potatoes. This was a nice "down home" counterpoint to the fancy steak. Portion sizes were perfect -- neither too large, nor too small -- just right. Even early on a Monday evening, the restaurant was lively, filled with couples and small groups of lively, friendly patrons. As this is our go-to place for special occasions, we will definitely return. We recommend you visit often as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The PIE mussels appetizer at the Bridge ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The PIE mussels appetizer at the Bridge is exceptional. Unlike the small stringy mussels at many other restaurants, the ones here are plump and moist. The sauce is also superior as it balances a generous amount of garlic with several other ingredients so that none dominates. Among the entrees during brunch, a vegetarian pad Thai is a nice alternative to the many egg dishes. The service is consistently professional, but friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Iron Bridge continues to be an Excellent ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Iron Bridge continues to be an Excellent choice for Brunch or for Dinner! Appetizers, Entrees, Desserts and wines are superb!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious dinner

Dined on May 13, 2016

The hamachi cerviche appetizer was a great blend of flavor so fresh tasting. The stone bass we had for dinner was very tasty with a softer texture than rockfish. Creme brûlée with dark chocolate on the bottom was delicious as always

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Mother's Day Tuesday

Dined on May 10, 2016

Salmon perfectly done; pickled vegetables recipe must have changed -- not so good. House made charcuterie and duck mousse delicious. Calamari tender if a bit salty; Octopus on bed of cannellini was EXCELLENT. Server and trainee did a great job. Still have the best creme brulee around now that they've put the dark chocolate ganache back on the bottom! Aperitif recommendation was great (Episcopal -- yellow and green chartreuse) as was the suggested wine to pair with entree.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We love the Iron Bridge. Every time we ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We love the Iron Bridge. Every time we have gone the experience has been way above our expectations. They always have great specials, the portions are just right and the wine selections are terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Service was great. Room was a little co ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Service was great. Room was a little cold. Food was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Iron Bridge is a delight!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We are fortunate to have Iron Bridge located close to our neighborhood. Some might describe Iron Bridge as a "wine bar." However, their excellent food offerings expand the "Bridge's" identity to more of an intimate gourmet restaurant. Their wine selection is outstanding. There is at least one sommelier on staff who competently describes any of the wines, and answers questions. They serve brunch on Sundays, very nice lunch offerings (Sat and Sun?), and dinner is a special occasion anytime!! The menu changes frequently, and tends to include foods that are in season at any given time. I enjoyed the soft shell crab with grits and baby spinach!! There are also offerings of beef, other meats, and vegetarian options. Desserts are excellent! Several coffee drinks are available, as well as a full bar with many choices of aperitifs. As for the view, that is mostly out front of the restaurant, and not necessarily visible from inside. Some seats near or facing the large front windows can enjoy the green rolling pasture just across Rte. 108. Some love this place enough to visit at least weekly. Others might complain that it's pricey. The price is significant, but oh so worth it!! Enjoy!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Love this restaurant, but....

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Our server put our appetizer and salad order in together = no room for both at the table AND our food wasn't hot -- both times (we sent it back once) it came out of the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Duck confit was good. Service was great.

Dined on May 2, 2016

This is a great place to meet friends for dinner in the Columbia area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bridge!

Dined on May 1, 2016

A must dining stop on any trip through Maryland. Outstanding wine and food experience. Not too be missed. A little out of the way but worth finding. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

food does not taste good if cold

Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was wonderful until it was time to correct two of the three dinners that were served. Two steak dinner were served at room temp/cold. Returned them to the kitchen and were returned to us cold with additional sauce. Not happy at all with the food because of this.

Tags: notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.