About Iron Bridge Wine Company - Columbia

10435 State Route 108
also known as Clarksville Pike
Columbia, MD 21044
View Larger Map

Top notch restaurant and wine bar featuring a 35+ wine-by-the-glass offering, wine tasting flights, a full service restaurant highlighting small plate entrees, as well as a boutique retail wine shop that boasts an unusual collection of wines from around the world. Purchase a bottle to drink with dinner and pay just $10 over retail cost! A full bar with signature cocktails using house made infusions and bottled beers are also available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: Dinner All Day from 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 997-3456

Website:
http://www.ironbridgewines.com/

Entertainment:
We conduct casual wine tastings on select Monday evenings from 6:00-7:00.

Parking Details:
Private, safe, lighted parking lot is available. On busy evenings the lot does get fairly full, so carpooling is recommended.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Skinner

Private Party Facilities:
Private Party availability changes with day and time requested. For more information please contact Jessica Barber at 410.997.3456

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Barber: 4109973456x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Iron Bridge Wine Company - Columbia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
Contemporary American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore Suburbs
7 More
Best Food
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Service
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Baltimore Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Baltimore Suburbs
Contemporary American
Baltimore Suburbs
Most Booked
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

notable wine list (206)
fit for foodies (188)
special occasion (156)
See All
neighborhood gem (128)
romantic (120)
great for lunch (63)
hot spot (51)
good for groups (51)
great for brunch (44)
vibrant bar scene (29)
late-night find (20)
scenic view (9)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2051 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Met some family here for dinner at the r ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Met some family here for dinner at the recommendation of my cousin's boss. Great cocktails, and a wonderful of doing wine by the bottle - they have a wine market where you can by a bottle to take home. Or for small additional corkage fee you can have the wine with dinner. They have nice wines, at much less than you'd normally pay in a restaurant. And the food - great from a charcuterie plate to begin, through my lamb duo entree to a (required by our server) creme brûlée for dessert. Great ambiance, great staff and a fantastic night all around with my family. Highly recommended on all fronts!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Iron Bridge Wine Company remains our ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The Iron Bridge Wine Company remains our favorite Maryland restaurant. The fact it's only 3 miles from home is an added bonus. This visit was to celebrate my wife's birthday. We arrived a few minutes early, but were seated promptly. Our hosts had a birthday card for my wife waiting for her at our table. Nice touch. Our servers were prompt, friendly, and knowledgeable. They provided many options for wine pairings. We finally settled on a red wine which went wonderfully with each course in our meal, including dessert. For the first course, my wife ordered a salad and I ordered bisque. Both were exquisite. Each of us ordered the fillet for our main course. The meat was buttery smooth and melted in our mouths. It rested on a bed of kale and mashed potatoes. This was a nice "down home" counterpoint to the fancy steak. Portion sizes were perfect -- neither too large, nor too small -- just right. Even early on a Monday evening, the restaurant was lively, filled with couples and small groups of lively, friendly patrons. As this is our go-to place for special occasions, we will definitely return. We recommend you visit often as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The PIE mussels appetizer at the Bridge ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The PIE mussels appetizer at the Bridge is exceptional. Unlike the small stringy mussels at many other restaurants, the ones here are plump and moist. The sauce is also superior as it balances a generous amount of garlic with several other ingredients so that none dominates. Among the entrees during brunch, a vegetarian pad Thai is a nice alternative to the many egg dishes. The service is consistently professional, but friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Iron Bridge continues to be an Excellent ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Iron Bridge continues to be an Excellent choice for Brunch or for Dinner! Appetizers, Entrees, Desserts and wines are superb!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious dinner

Dined on May 13, 2016

The hamachi cerviche appetizer was a great blend of flavor so fresh tasting. The stone bass we had for dinner was very tasty with a softer texture than rockfish. Creme brûlée with dark chocolate on the bottom was delicious as always

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Mother's Day Tuesday

Dined on May 10, 2016

Salmon perfectly done; pickled vegetables recipe must have changed -- not so good. House made charcuterie and duck mousse delicious. Calamari tender if a bit salty; Octopus on bed of cannellini was EXCELLENT. Server and trainee did a great job. Still have the best creme brulee around now that they've put the dark chocolate ganache back on the bottom! Aperitif recommendation was great (Episcopal -- yellow and green chartreuse) as was the suggested wine to pair with entree.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We love the Iron Bridge. Every time we ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We love the Iron Bridge. Every time we have gone the experience has been way above our expectations. They always have great specials, the portions are just right and the wine selections are terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Service was great. Room was a little co ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Service was great. Room was a little cold. Food was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Iron Bridge is a delight!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We are fortunate to have Iron Bridge located close to our neighborhood. Some might describe Iron Bridge as a "wine bar." However, their excellent food offerings expand the "Bridge's" identity to more of an intimate gourmet restaurant. Their wine selection is outstanding. There is at least one sommelier on staff who competently describes any of the wines, and answers questions. They serve brunch on Sundays, very nice lunch offerings (Sat and Sun?), and dinner is a special occasion anytime!! The menu changes frequently, and tends to include foods that are in season at any given time. I enjoyed the soft shell crab with grits and baby spinach!! There are also offerings of beef, other meats, and vegetarian options. Desserts are excellent! Several coffee drinks are available, as well as a full bar with many choices of aperitifs. As for the view, that is mostly out front of the restaurant, and not necessarily visible from inside. Some seats near or facing the large front windows can enjoy the green rolling pasture just across Rte. 108. Some love this place enough to visit at least weekly. Others might complain that it's pricey. The price is significant, but oh so worth it!! Enjoy!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Love this restaurant, but....

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Our server put our appetizer and salad order in together = no room for both at the table AND our food wasn't hot -- both times (we sent it back once) it came out of the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Duck confit was good. Service was great.

Dined on May 2, 2016

This is a great place to meet friends for dinner in the Columbia area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Bridge!

Dined on May 1, 2016

A must dining stop on any trip through Maryland. Outstanding wine and food experience. Not too be missed. A little out of the way but worth finding. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

food does not taste good if cold

Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was wonderful until it was time to correct two of the three dinners that were served. Two steak dinner were served at room temp/cold. Returned them to the kitchen and were returned to us cold with additional sauce. Not happy at all with the food because of this.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We like it

Dined on May 1, 2016

Rib eye was great. Skip the hanger steak and kale. Yuca not quite cooked through but outside nice and crisp. "Sundae" was a brownie with a scoop of ice cream. Not what we expected. Service good. Did not the 2 wines I tried but I am not a connoisseur. Ambiance great. Relaxing, not feel rushed.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

A little disappointed

Dined on April 29, 2016

Went here for my husband's birthday based off a recommendation from a co-worker. The ambiance was pretty nice for a romantic evening out (less the screaming kid in the corner). We were seated right near the door, so a lot of people walking past us. The food was decent, although I was a little underwhelmed. We ordered the scallops and I was expecting the nice crisp outside and soft inside, whereas the texture was pretty uniform across the board. My husband ordered the salmon and said he has had better salmon at home. I had the duck and overall it wasn't bad. Dessert was probably the best, as well as the bottle of wine. Our primary server was not the best. My husband's wine glass was often unfilled. The other servers seemed to be a lot more attentive to their guests than ours. He was friendly when he was at the table, but I didn't feel earned the tip we left. I will most likely not return.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

O-M-G Delicious!

Dined on April 25, 2016

everything was amazing. Wine list was incredible. Even have flights. Started with the pork belly which was the best ever, huge cube of pork belly with a BBQ sauce and a peanut slaw. Perfect pairing with sweet and salty and creamy. Friend had Beet Bisque which was yummy and i dont even like beets! Duck confit leg was fall off the bone. Skin was crispy! Friend had the petite garlic steak, cook perfect at a warm rare centre. Couldn't help it, but got dessert. Not regretting that decision. Brownie with chipolte spice and a raspberry puree. SPICY and Sweet and so good. Friend had chocolate ganache creme brulee (served room temp when asked, like in France) and great. ABSOLUTELY loved this place. Waitstaff was super nice and helpful. My water glass was NEVER less than 1/3 full. As we finished flights of wine, glasses was swept off the table gracefully. Incredible food, wine, environment. Will come back even when i move to Rockville!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Enjoyable, as always

Dined on April 24, 2016

Friends and I met at Iron Bridge last weekend for a lovely dinner. The food was great and the service helpful. I always have a bit of sticker shock when I get the bill: the 3-course menu, which used to be $30 not so long ago, has jumped to $40 for the same three courses. With a glass of wine or two, it really adds up. But the experience is enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful food and great wine slection. Make sure you make a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Just plain ok

Dined on April 22, 2016

Nothing remarkable.So many more better choices in annapolis and hampden.service was good.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The place if you enjoy wine with your meal

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is the place for foodies and wine enthusiast. Very friendly knowledgeable staff. Outstanding wine selection at all price levels. Excellent appetizers, entries and desserts. Not a wide selection but what is there is fresh and excellent. Seating is tight so not for romantic conversation. Not for kids.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous

Dined on April 21, 2016

Great dining experience. Service staff was very knowledgeable of the menu & wines. We were not rushed from appetizer to entree to dessert. Nor were we rushed with the bill. And the food....very tasty. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Go in the evening

Dined on April 21, 2016

Way too loud at lunchtime due the pounding on the roof. Go in the evening or wait until the expansion of the kitchen is finished. Detracted from my meal.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

new menu items were great

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

It had been a few months since we had been to the Iron Bridge and the menu had changed. Everything looked good and what we chose was excellent. We ended up with lamb two ways, cod and pasta. The creme brulee was also excellent. Looking forward to going back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the Best

Dined on April 19, 2016

Iron Bridge's superb chef always offers a seasonal menu that is creative, beautiful, and delicious. Top it with a great wine, and you are truly golden. The staff treats us like family, and the crème brulée is heavenly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere and great time

Dined on April 18, 2016

Had a very good dinner my wife and I were very happy with the service, and glad they could accommodate our 5 month old. Food was excellent and wine list was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and attentive service....espec ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Excellent and attentive service....especially for a party of 9!

food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Anniversary

Dined on April 17, 2016

We went here for our Anniversary on a Sunday evening. The food was very good and they had a special where you could order an appetizer, entree, and dessert for $40. per person. This made it more reasonable, as the prices are on the higher end. They have a good selection of wine and if you order a bottle of wine and can not drink it all, you can take the rest home which is nice.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Relaxing brunch

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The brunch menu changes but always features light delicious fare. I had a simple beet salad with delicious dressing and veggie/cheese omelet .The most consistent and attractive feature of this restaurant is the attention of the staff. The welcome by the host/hostess at the door is always warm. The wait staff is knowledgeable about the menu and check in frequently without becoming annoying or intrusive. My water glass was never empty ( and I drink plenty of water). This neighborhood gem never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure

Dined on April 16, 2016

Dining at Iron Bridge is always a treat. The wine choices are excellent and the food is great. There are terrific daily specials. The service we had from Nick, and everyone else who kept us in water and food, was very good. I had the steak and it was cooked to perfection. Love Iron Bridge.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Tuesday night steak night is well worth ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Tuesday night steak night is well worth the visit. Ordered the Bistro Steak which was cooked perfectly to a medium rare! The vegetables that came with were great too. Their soups are typically fantastic and today's edamame and pea soup was no exception! Excellent service too!

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food Served Cold

Dined on April 10, 2016

Our meal was just ok. The food was served cold. Since we met friends there that we hadn't seen in quite awhile we did not want to complain.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious as always! Spanish octopus app ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Delicious as always! Spanish octopus appetizer and rum cake dessert were the standouts of the night. Service was excellent too!

food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Went there twice in one ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Love this place. Went there twice in one week while on business. Service is great and food is delicious. I will be back

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Modern rustic in middle of nowhere

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Precious little place kind of in the no man's land between Columbia proper and Clarksville, quaint unassuming house-like storefront, go slow, you might miss the turn. We had a late dinner on a Saturday night, place was pretty full and very, umm, "suburban" (OK, totally white and higher income horsey-set). Food is New American, mostly small plates. We started with a cheese plate. These were very safe and pretty standard. There were "suggested pairings" like accoutrements listed on the menu, which sounded wonderful but we wouldn't know. Our cheese plate came with none of these things. I started with the Bibb Salad with plenty of chopped hard-boiled egg, shaved crisp radishes, Gorgonzola, well-dressed with a lighter creamy, garlicky buttermilk vinaigrette. The Crispy Pork Belly came with Carolina Gold Congee, mussels, and smoked pork jus. Smokiness was light, not overpowering. Pork belly meat skin was crispy, meat was crusted over with a few hard edges. The mussels were moist and not overcooked, but confusing. I enjoyed eating them separately, but found them extraneous. Grilled Spanish Octopus was a very nice balance of flavors between the smokey and the tart. I enjoyed the crunch of raw cucumber and onion in the mix. I think I like my cannellini beans a little more cooked, though (a few of those had a little crunch to them, too). The Roseda Farms Burger was one of the better burgers eaten in our history of burgers, but came a little cooler than the requested. The side of Hand Cut Fries with Rosemary Garlic Aioli were addictive, crispy, fluffy, salty, perfection. Our lone vegetarian got the Roasted Cauliflower Steak with butternut squash puree; it pretty boring overall. Dessert was a Chocolate Chip Bread Pudding, which you really can't mess up. Overall we had a lovely time, service was spot on (except for the forgotten sides of Crispy Brussels Sprouts). I wouldn't exactly call this place a good value, but it's splurge-worthy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

LOVE Iron Bridge!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

I've loved Iron Bridge since my husband and I discovered it about 3 years ago. The food is reliably great, the service very attentive and the atmosphere is cozy and welcoming. Our visit for an early dinner on 4/2/16 was no different. We always have to get the burratta appetizer because it's delicious and never fails to dissapoint. My husband got a ribeye special and it was cooked perfectly. He really enjoyed it. The standout for me was the salmon I got as an entree. It was AMAZING! The flavor was delicate and fantastic, not the slightest bit fishy-tasting (which is a tough thing to achieve when it comes to salmon). The skin was light, crispy and perfectly seasoned. Lastly, the sides of baby potatoes and asparagus in a very flavorful, tangy sauce were ideal accompaniments. It was definitely one of the best salmon dishes I've ever had. I cleaned my plate, which is pretty rare for me. My only (slight) complaint is the cost of the cocktails. The drinks themselves were okay, but at $15 a pop I feel like they should have had a bit more wow factor. Apart from that I will absolutely be returning for the burratta and salmon, or whatever other fantastic things might be on offer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome time!

Dined on April 1, 2016

As usual, we love going to Iron Bridge. One of our favorite places.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

I had a reservation for 8:00 but we were ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

I had a reservation for 8:00 but we were not seated until 8:20 or so

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Go for the wine list!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Their wine list is exceptional: large selection, very reasonable prices, unusual wines; the 2 bottles we tasted were outstanding. It being understood that you go there for the wine, the food is quite acceptable (except my cauliflower steak, very blah...), the atmosphere is pleasantly ordinary, the noise level very bearable. Additional reason to go there: the service is extremely friendly and efficient. I will definitely go back.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the Drive

Dined on March 24, 2016

We've been to Iron Bridge Wine Co. about 10 times since they opened, and everything just keeps getting better: the food, wine and service can't be beat. It is a bit of a hike (30 minute drive), but definitely worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on March 20, 2016

I have several allergies and food intolerances. The wait-staff at Iron Bridge have always been very attentive and careful, and the kitchen staff have always been extremely knowledgable about the exact ingredients in the food. It's a great place to eat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.