About Restaurant IRON

22 N Palafox Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
View Larger Map

Executive Chef, Alex McPhail has returned to his hometown after 6 years studying under some of the finest chefs in the industry in New Orleans. Taking culinary tips he picked up at Commander’s Palace, Restaurant August & the Roosevelt Hotel, Alex has created a dining environment unlike any other nearby.
Restaurant IRON serves Southern contemporary cuisine fueled by local vegetables and herbs from the creative minds of true Southerners. We aim to bring together fresh local and regional specialties with the finest flavors and ingredients to deliver a dining experience you won"t soon forget.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner

Tuesday - Thursday 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 4:30pm - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Garden Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 476-7776

Website:
http://www.restaurantiron.com/

Parking Details:
Feel free to use the parking on North Palafox St directly in front of the restaurant. Should you need additional parking, there is space available a block north on Palafox as well.

Executive Chef:
Alex McPhail

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant IRON
Restaurant IRON

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. 50% off all wines by the glass, 50% select wine bottles. Special valid May 14, 2016 - Sep 14, 2016 on Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM.
45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. $5 for all menu cocktails. Special valid May 14, 2016 - Sep 14, 2016 on Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

Restaurant IRON Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Florida
Best Food
Northwest Florida
Best Service
Northwest Florida
5 More
Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Best Value
Northwest Florida
Fit for Foodies
Northwest Florida
Special Occasion
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Pensacola
Best Restaurants in Pensacola ›

special occasion (68)
fit for foodies (65)
romantic (45)
See All
notable wine list (35)
neighborhood gem (33)
hot spot (32)
late-night find (19)
vibrant bar scene (18)
good for groups (10)
scenic view (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Matt, our server was excellent. Very kn ...

Dined 4 days ago

Matt, our server was excellent. Very knowledgeable about how the food is prepared. Food was excellent .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I'd say that was one of the best bread p ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I'd say that was one of the best bread puddings I've ever had...and I'm from New Orleans. So, that's saying a lot. Our guests enjoyed everything about the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 8 year wedding anniversary, a ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

It was our 8 year wedding anniversary, and everyone has been talking about Iron. My husband is not a huge foodie, but he was up for the fun! Our menus were personalized with "Happy Anniversary Mr. and Mrs. Henry" at the top. Our waitress was so nice and knowledgeable of the menu. The cheese appetizer and the duck were delicious, I will definitely be going back to Iron!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and we had a gr ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our first visit and we had a great time. The food & drinks were AMAZING and our server Patrick was awesome and recommended the best items! The lamb was delicious! You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. This is definitely our next go to spot!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always outstanding and the c ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is always outstanding and the crafted cocktails are out of this world. They also offer a good wine list. Iron has created an inviting ambiance and it is a true art form to watch the cocktails being made and see the fabulous dishes coming from the kitchen! I consider Iron to the the BEST restaurant in Pensacola!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

I won a sizable gift certificate and cel ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I won a sizable gift certificate and celebrated a friend's birthday on a Saturday evening at Iron. We had a good dining experience. There were healthy food choices. As a rule, I don't spend that amount of money on my dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always solid. Food is best in town. Ba ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Always solid. Food is best in town. Bartenders are total pros

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Friendly, personable service. Food overrated.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Pensacola, Florida is not an area where excellent chefs are discovered. Here, most eateries are national chains, however there are few privately owned and operated establishments that put forth an effort worth talking about, and most of these places have 2 or 3 items on their menus that are truly delicious. It is my opinion that Iron, Global Grill and Maguire's are 3 very fine restaurants. Personally I have resigned my foodie fanatics and lowered the bar so I'm not so badly disappointed when I dine out in Pensacola. And I'm not crazy, but I know what I like.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place

Dined on June 2, 2016

This is one of if not the best restaurant in Pensacola. The food is delicious and unique. The service is the best you will find in any restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on May 31, 2016

Unique and very delicious for the experienced foodie!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Birthday Dinner location

Dined on May 29, 2016

Took my husband here for his 31st birthday last weekend. Oh my gosh. Best service we've had in a while, and the restaurant was completely full. All menu items we ate were unique, rich, quality, and delicious. I definitely recommend this place. They customized our menus to say Happy Birthday at the top which was special and comped the dessert which was an added bonus. Amazing cocktails and late night menu too. My husband was very pleased and so was I. Price was very reasonable for service and quality for food and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE!!!! Best restaurant in town!!!

Dined on May 28, 2016

LOVE!!!! Best restaurant in town!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable

Dined on May 28, 2016

Every aspect of our experience was over the top. Food quality, freshness, unique tasteful pairing of ingredients, artistic presentation, friendly attentive (but not too attentive) service, wine options, value, everything was exceptional. Really nice that with most entrees you are offered a small or large plate. Watching the communication and intricate coordination of all involved in the preparation of our meal from the chefs bar was truly a great experience! Pensacola is so very fortunate to have great talent like chef Alex McPhail and all of his outstanding team! Thanks chef Alex for a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our anniversary dinner was excellent!! J ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our anniversary dinner was excellent!! Jessica took great care of us. Highlyrecommend.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was delicious

Dined on May 27, 2016

The peanut soup was prepared with a spiciness that was a great balance of savory and sweet. The fish dishes were all prepared with complimentary sauces and cooked to perfection. Every visit to Iron has been a culinary wonder.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy going to Iron for a nice di ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Always enjoy going to Iron for a nice dinner. The atmosphere reminds me of some upscale restaurants you'd find in Beverly Hills or Manhattan. Artsy but not precocious. They provide full service and offer excellent appetizers, meal choices, and desserts. It's a nice experience--cozy and fancy. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The peanut soup was delicious and I enjo ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The peanut soup was delicious and I enjoyed the presentation and flavor of the Caesar salad. The staff were courteous and helpful. They even printed customized menus with a "Happy Birthday" message to my son (whose birthday we were celebrating). It was a great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iron blew my mined away, it really was s ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Iron blew my mined away, it really was some of the best tasting food I have ate in a long time, the service was exquisite, I reserved for my wife and I anniversary ahead of time and they made sure it was a little extra special even though there are no private areas. The restrooms were exceptionally clean, the atmosphere just was prime. I have and will continue to tell my friends and family about this place and will return, absolutely wonderful!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service by Danielle was awesome! Food w ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service by Danielle was awesome! Food was delicious!! Thank you!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fe

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is an upscale restaurant and that being said, the prices are similar to Global Grill or even Grand Marlin on the beach. Since their move to Palafox, Iron is no longer open for lunch which is a shame because Iron received the Best of the Bay "Best Sandwich" award (Cajun Reuben) and it was delicious. My husband and I made reservations two weeks ago, to dine at this fine establishment, located downtown next to the Rex Theatre. Reservations are recommended and you are seated accordingly. Upon entering, there are two tables (set for party of two) that are located near the entrance of the door. These are the worst seats in the house, and we happened to get stuck sitting there. We asked to move and that is when we were informed of their seating policy. I respect rules and honestly our dining experience would not have been better had we sat somewhere else; it didn't phase my husband and me. To start off, everyone in the restaurant was handed a mini appetizer, mainly to wet the appetite. Ours was a sauce over watermelon and it was refreshing. We ordered the soup (which changes so don't rely solely on the menu online) and it was a Thai peanut curry soup. It was thick, rich and delicious and I would recommend it to share, because it is a lot for one person. My husband and I also tried the beet ravioli which was amazing. I just wish that the appetizer had more. I had the salmon crusted with quinoa and the beets, and puree, and honestly, everything about that dish was perfect. Chef Alex, won the award for "Best Chef" a couple years ago, knows what he is doing. For dessert, we tried the bread budding and it was delicious. They did not have the banana pudding, but if they do I recommend getting that. It is the best banana pudding that ever had, though it is $8. I believe the cookies are ginger snaps and throughout the pudding there is little bits of burnt sugar. I am not sure if they even make it anymore (had it at the old location) but if you see it on the menu, order it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic. We love Iron.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Best ribeye I've ever had. Also highly recommend the oyster appetizer, and bread pudding for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

"Innovatively" good... Can't go wrong.. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

"Innovatively" good... Can't go wrong... We had the duck, salmon, foie gras pb&j... Awesome!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Some of the most amazing food I've had i ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Some of the most amazing food I've had in a long time. We ordered the fried oysters (amazing) and Red Eye Gravy Poutine (very salty, but creative take on the Canadian dish) for appetizers. The Muscovy Duck and "Chicken & Dumplings" were both amazing too. The wait staff at both the bar and table were super knowledgeable and very friendly. The wine list ranges from reasonably priced to Opus One caliber. The house made mixed drinks were extremely creative and flavorful. This rates in my top 10 restaurants of all time.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic dinner. My daughter recommend ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Fantastic dinner. My daughter recommended Iron, and she was right. A small place with the most creative and delicious menu in Pensacola. Presentation of the food is beautiful and the taste fantastic. Wide variation of flavors, including southern, Asian, and others. Politically incorrect foie gras is amazing. The duck, and lamb neck were excellent. My daughter enjoyed the deconstructed chicken and dumplings. Good cocktail and wine selections. A real gem addition to Pensacola

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If they have the Beet Ravioli - Order It

Dined on May 12, 2016

My wife and I went to Iron because they have Sazerac, a rye whiskey cocktail and it was our anniversary. The Sazerac was wonderful but the highlight of the dinner was the Beet Ravioli appetizer. Unfortunately, (or maybe not) Iron changes its menu with the available local ingredients. I checked today and the Beet Ravioli is not currently available. But, what can I say it was wonderful (or more so, since I have already raved about the Sazerac). It makes me sad to rave about something that was there then and gone today, but you can also find a similar fresh wonder when you go. Sort of lots of dollars, but great service, and wonders are there for your choosing. Enjoy!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Iron. The food is so wonderful an ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I love Iron. The food is so wonderful and everyone makes you feel like family.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dining experience!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food, service , and overall experience was simply outstanding. I definitely recommend IRON. Exceptionally well executed dishes with an extremely knowledgable staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This a 5 star restaurant.

Dined on May 6, 2016

The staff is well trained. No server speak, no joining the table conversation. Alex, the chef is outstanding. This is a gem. We go twice a month. The restaurant is very well run. Not common in Pensacola.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Innovative Menu

Dined on May 6, 2016

Iron emphasizes using fresh local ingredients and the menu shows it. Everything we had was delicious and prepared to order. The dessert menu is also clever and good. It was a delightful dining experience and we definitely will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Took my parents and brother and SIL. Was their first time at Iron. All enjoyed it immensely. The poutine and oysters were great starters. The lamb and triggerfish entrees were fabulous. All desserts were wonderful... Hard to choose a favorite. I love their cocktails and the wine list is extensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Dinner was truly amazing in every aspect ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Dinner was truly amazing in every aspect. From the vast foodie knowledge the waiter shared, to cocktails, to presentation, to dessert, it was a decadent experience overall. We had the Cobia dish that was a delicious work of art. The Marcus Caesar salad was carefully crafted with a homemade crouton ring around it, and I'm glad the dressing was authentic and house made; but wasn't fishy ( some folks get too pretentious with the anchovy). The house made ginger beer must be sampled. The ribeye steak was near perfect. The crust was crunchy and it was ordered medium rare and came out just right. It was served with Five different mushrooms, but I do wish the chef added more mushrooms... for a 20 oz steak...you need a little extra of green and shroom to keep the palate percolated. The fried cornmeal oysters with candied bacon was a hit! I only wish there was a bit more bacon to accompany 5 oysters...and I wish it was bit more candied. Otherwise, a perfect sea starter. The desserts were absolutely lovely. The burnt coffee bread pudding was just intoxicating. The pb cookie with raspberry milk was a flashback to being a kid again. I could do without the raspberry milk...it lacked thickness of milk and did not actually compliment the texture or flavor of peanut butter. Sometimes you just want regular milk or not at all. Restaurant Iron is geographically hard to pinpoint, and I love a place that keeps you guessing and yet transports you all over the map. Kudos...can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was very professional. Unique cuisine experience! You can tell right away with the first bite that this place knows what they are doing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a "10!"

Dined on April 22, 2016

I've eaten at Iron several times over the past few years. I love the relatively "new" location. Iron never disappoints. Danielle, our server, was her usual fantastic self. Very enjoyable time. I always recommend Iron.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Iron made our anniversary very special. ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Iron made our anniversary very special. They even printed "happy anniversary" on our menu with our name. By far our fav place to dine in downtown pcola! Food,service, and ambience is outstanding! Our waiter Patrick was amazing as usual! Great job Iron! Your the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A Real Pleasure

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our 26th anniversary! We were stunned to see at the top of our menus: Happy 26th anniversay, Mr&Mrs xxxxx! Followed be 5 star food,great service, and great ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'll be back!

Dined on April 19, 2016

I've heard how amazing this restaurant is and I'm so glad that I finally had a chance to try it out. I love how they support so many local businesses. Worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service

Dined on April 19, 2016

First time to the Iron. Can not wait to return. Matt our server was so knowledgable of the menu, very attentive even tho it seemed a sell-out. He earned a 30% tip for just two people. The food was fantastic with the Lamb dish being double outstanding. Catch of the day at half serving was very good and plenty of food. I could go on and on. I want to meet the chef next visit. He is so good with choice and presentation. Drinks were cold!! We have already told 8-10 people. Don and Connie

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was top notch. All of the food t ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Service was top notch. All of the food tasted amazing and was presented beautifully. The cocktails were delicious. I would definitely go back!

food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service were wonderful.

Dined on April 7, 2016

The food and service were wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iron

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Went to Iron before a show at the Saenger. It was our first time but we are locals. The food was great and the service by Laura was excellent. Although different for Pensacola the atmosphere was very nice. The prices were reasonable for the quality of the food and service. We will come back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.