Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 21 times today

Restaurant IRON

4.8
838 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Southern
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Special Occasion
Executive Chef, Alex McPhail has returned to his hometown after 6 years studying under some of the finest chefs in the industry in New Orleans. Taking culinary tips he picked up at Commander’s Palace, Restaurant August & the Roosevelt Hotel, Alex has created a dining environment unlike any other nearby.
Restaurant IRON serves Southern contemporary cuisine fueled by local vegetables and herbs from the creative minds of true Southerners. We aim to bring together fresh local and regional specialties with the finest flavors and ingredients to deliver a dining experience you won"t soon forget.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Southern, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 4:30pm - 1:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(850) 476-7776
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Alex McPhail
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Garden Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Feel free to use the parking on North Palafox St directly in front of the restaurant. Should you need additional parking, there is space available a block north on Palafox as well.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 838 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

Best restaurant in all of Pensacola. Never had a bad meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Jessica is awesome! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great service and excellent food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

We were early fans of IRON when it was in another location on a golf course. We live quite a ways away so we can't go out to dinner in P'cola that often, but always considered IRON a special place with amazing food. I don't know if the chef has changed in the last 6-9 months because the food just wasn't up to par. We had a cobra with a coating of a kale and pistachio "dust" that, while it sounded good, just didn't complement the fish and my husband scraped it off. The appetizer of "three way" oysters was also disappointing...the raw oysters were good, and the fried were typical fried with a hot sweet sauce and the oyster bread pudding was incredibly bland. We each took a bite and decided "no thanks". Disappointing because we've always picked this place over everywhere else in town for special occasions. The wait staff were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

A wonderful place to dine for special occasions. Service was great and very accommodating thanks to Haiden. I much prefer the Escargot with just garlic and butter. I wouldn't order the gnoochi with mushrooms and potatoes again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Quail dish was very good, sent my red wine back for being chilled, service was ok.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Awesome. If you like upscale creative cuisine you have got to go!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Trying to be very ‘trendy’ with the food and limited menu. Food was ok but not very interesting or flavorful. Expensive for a rather bland experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We decided to give Iron one last shot, after a disappointing first experience.... and are so very glad that we did! Both the service and the food were excellent! This place is high $, but I'll pay it if every experience is like this one. Amber was our waitress this time and was excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Great atmosphere, cocktails, and service. As a vegetarian, my options were very limited (zero vegetarian main course options, which was disappointing since dishes the appetizers were delicious).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2018

It was too cold inside when we were there. HVAC was set on too low a temp. Thats the only complaint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Spectacular. It was a great experience of culinary excellence! Everything they prepared and served was unique and scrumptious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Another great visit! This was for my wife’s birthday and they certainly made us feel special!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Great food, great service. Haiden, our server, was very knowledgeable of the menu and ingredients. The Old Fashioned in a smoked glass with bacon is a must try. The escargot with gnocchi is truly unique.

You would never believe this quality of restaurant in Pensacola, rivals those in NYC.

We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Delicious food and a well curated drinks menu. The service was good and it was a nice atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Creative fare across the entire menu, paired with interesting wines and friendly service! Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Great meal and dining experience. Excellent service--highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

My son, his fiancé, and I had a delicious meal at Iron while I was visiting last weekend. We tried several dishes and all were very good! The craft cocktails were tasty as well. I’ll definitely be back when I visit Pensacola

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Pensacola has a cutting edge restaurant with Iron. We found the food to be excellent and fresh without the beach menu found in so many restaurants in the area. Our waiter, Nick, was excellent. We highly recommend this restaurant to somebody who wants a nice evening consisting of freshly prepared food with an edge to it. We currently live in Houston, Texas and have also lived in Chicago and this restaurant would be a welcome eatery in either of these cities. Congratulations on taking a chance on Pensacola .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Amazing food, fresh and prepared our front. Incredible
Presentation and excellent service. It is one of the best
In Pensacola and surrounding area!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

My group of 4 had 2 appetizers: the escargot with gnocchi, and the roasted brussel sprouts. Both were excellent. Our table had 3 different entrees: the duck breast, fish of the day (redfish with broccolini), and veal ravioli. The veal was great. Both of the other entrees were not acceptable. The duck was beautiful to look at but was so over salted that no one cold eat much of it. The redfish was over cooked (dry), did not taste fresh, and was also over salted. This is my first disappointment at Iron- I hope it does not happen again, although it will be a while before I try again.
As usual the service was excellent.
Overall I was embarrassed to have brought my out of town friends to Iron that evening (their first experience).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

My wife and I went to Iron for our sixth wedding anniversary and I gotta say I was impressed. From the personalized menus to the friendly staff, the service was top notch. The cocktails were excellent, as well as the appetizer (duck gravy fries)! The entrés were also outstanding, with beautiful presentations of classic ingredients prepared in creative ways. The highlight of the meal was definitely the dessert though, although I may be biased because of my sweet tooth! Cannot recommend the Nutella pie enough! Overall, Iron provides a great meal in a comfortable atmosphere! Be prepared to spend around $40 dollars for your entrés with drinks at around $9, unless you get there in time for happy hour.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

WOW!
Fabulous Food: we had the Brussels, Oysters Three Ways and the Fish Special and LOVED EVERY BITE. Best "Old Fashioned" EVER (They add the biggest hunk of yummy Smoked Bacon imaginable). HUGE PLUS: we saw several of their Special 24oz Rib Eye plates go by that we are hoping to sample SOON!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Our waitress was so awesome and the food was excellent! Alex did a wonderful job preparing our food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Certainly one of the best restaurants in the area. Another excellent meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Phenomenal food. Great value. Even better service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Nick did a great job

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Great food, bonus that they printed our names and Happy Anniversary on our menus. Nice calm atmosphere, extensive drink list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Iron was an amazing dining experience. The bar and waitstaff do a great job. The food was amazing. I’d go back again and again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

My favorite restaurant in Pensacola! The service is always outstanding and the menu is very clever and every changing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Great dinner. Shared Escargot app was terrific, Three main courses, all were terrific. Our youngster guest said to the staff that it was the best meal she had ever had. Pork, scallops and chicken dishes were all superb. Great night

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We have had several great meals here in the past. Very good wait staff, but the kitchen was very slow to deliver the meal. I guess happy hour overwhelmed them. Quail and fish were very good. The steak was tough and undercooked even with a long wait. This was not a typical meal here, and we will come again. Still the most creative restaurant in Pensacola

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

I didn’t believe all the amazing reviews about this restaurant. I’m a skeptic, and a foodie, so I decided to be hyper critical while dining at the Iron. I have been back, and let me tell you, it deserves the perfect five star score it has earned. In fact, it deserves six stars. It is the best restaurant I have been to in the southeast. The food, the cocktails, the divine flavor combinations. Go and make reservations. I have absolutely zero in making this recommendation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

The food and the service was very good. I would suggest that you offer the Duck Debris Gravy Fries year-round. we will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Iron was super good. We had redfish and scallops. Split banana bread pudding and coffee for dessert. Impeccable service. Great Mother's Day dinner. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Consistent quality & service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent service excellent food most definitely best place to eat in Pensacola downtown

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food is excellent. We had chicken dish, local fish, mussels, and specialty salad. All delicious. Waitress was great. Only complaint is when we walked in slow to respond to us, and then asked us a second time if we had a reservation while we stood at the front of the restaraunt.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Our evening at Iron was truly excellent. From the service, to the amazing food, to the staff, perhaps the best dining experience I’ve had in Pensacola in over 10 years. There are reviews about the menu prices, however, the food was well worth it!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21