About Restaurant IRON

22 N Palafox Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
View Larger Map

Executive Chef, Alex McPhail has returned to his hometown after 6 years studying under some of the finest chefs in the industry in New Orleans. Taking culinary tips he picked up at Commander’s Palace, Restaurant August & the Roosevelt Hotel, Alex has created a dining environment unlike any other nearby.
Restaurant IRON serves Southern contemporary cuisine fueled by local vegetables and herbs from the creative minds of true Southerners. We aim to bring together fresh local and regional specialties with the finest flavors and ingredients to deliver a dining experience you won"t soon forget.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner

Tuesday - Thursday 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 4:30pm - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Garden Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 476-7776

Website:
http://www.restaurantiron.com/

Parking Details:
Feel free to use the parking on North Palafox St directly in front of the restaurant. Should you need additional parking, there is space available a block north on Palafox as well.

Executive Chef:
Alex McPhail

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant IRON
Restaurant IRON

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Restaurant IRON Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Florida
Best Food
Northwest Florida
Best Service
Northwest Florida
5 More
Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Best Value
Northwest Florida
Fit for Foodies
Northwest Florida
Special Occasion
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Pensacola
Best Restaurants in Pensacola ›

special occasion (88)
fit for foodies (87)
romantic (57)
See All
hot spot (44)
notable wine list (42)
neighborhood gem (40)
late-night find (23)
vibrant bar scene (21)
good for groups (11)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The bread pudding was on point. Everythi ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined 4 days ago

The bread pudding was on point. Everything on every plate had some thought behind it. Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The local cheese ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent. The local cheese some of the best we have ever had; the salmon was fresh and delicious; the caesar salad was beautiful and tasty; the duck was good; the espresso bread pudding and Nutella pie were awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything good. Server Nick was attenti ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything good. Server Nick was attentive and very pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our Anniversary was made even more memor ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our Anniversary was made even more memorable by the server and the wonderful food, elegantly prepared with wonderfully diverse flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little too trendy for old folks. We p ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A little too trendy for old folks. We prefer well-prepared, tasty, but ordinary food.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The entree was superior. Considering the ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The entree was superior. Considering the price and the region a small dinner salad or green side would have been reasonable and appreciated. Most diners don't need a full head of romaine but would enjoy a small, chilled dinner salad. A small price to complete a comparatively expensive meal for the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely delicious new takes on southe ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolutely delicious new takes on southern favorites, well presented, nice ambience, and perfect noise level for conversation but bring a heavy wallet!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best meal I have had in a very long ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The best meal I have had in a very long time. The food was akin to a fine art masterpiece. Every bite was an explosion of delicate mixtures of tantalizing flavors. Our waiter explained the menu in detail. Overall the best night out I can remember. I have already raved to everyone I know. You absolutely must check this venue out. I would highly recommend the duck. WOW!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my 2 favorite places to d ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is one of my 2 favorite places to dine. Service is outstanding, and the dishes are as delicious as they are aesthetically pleasing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What I loved the most was the twist the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

What I loved the most was the twist the chef puts on each dish. For example the Chicken N Dumplins are outstanding but definitely not your grandma's recipe! The Pork Schnitzel was also delicious. Oyster appetizer and Bread Pudding for dessert is my recommendation. Top notch service. Interesting bar area for cocktails or for dining. The drink list is unique and offers a variety of cocktails. Great atmosphere!

I can't wait to go back. This is definitely a must go to place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cobia on sweet corn and Summer veggies w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Cobia on sweet corn and Summer veggies was outstanding. As was the Florida Cantaloupe Soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alex is the real deal, his food is well ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Alex is the real deal, his food is well thought out and delicious. You eat with your eyes and the plate presentation is flawless. Campbell and Brett are amongst the finest bartenders in the area and the entire staff is very friendly and accommodating, hat's off to Mike for running a fantastic operation. This restaurant is a must if you are in the mood for great eclectic food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening. Wonderful food. Super s ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great evening. Wonderful food. Super service by well-trained, attentive, and smart wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Loved it!! Most innovative chef in Pensa ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Loved it!! Most innovative chef in Pensacola.... (And there are some good ones here)!

Just what we needed here.

Fresh food beautifully prepared. The menu changes constantly based on what is available fresh. No one else in Pensacola does that.

I am so happy to have a great, fresh approach to food here.

The service is impeccable, the bar tender an artist.

The chef and his kitchen staff a well oiled machine.

A must stop in Pensacola.

We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Iron was spot on Saturday night as alway ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Iron was spot on Saturday night as always. They never miss a beat. Chef Alex creativity is over the top. Really pleased with the entree option to choose between small plate/large plate based on your appetite. We are blessed to have a restaurant that ranks with the best of Atlanta and New Orleans in Pensacola.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dessert menu was pleasant.

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The dessert menu was pleasant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Wife birthday great experience second ti ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Wife birthday great experience second time at resturant will be back

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience as we cele ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a wonderful experience as we celebrated our 28th Wedding Anniversary. Our server was amazing and knew everything about the food. Prompt to serve and clear without being overbearing. The Host crew set us up with an out of the way table upon request and personalized the menus for our special occasion. The food was amazing...showing creativity and superb preparation. I'd highly recommend this establishment with reservations (as the walk-ins ended up at the bar) for a foodie or for a great night out with friends or a romantic occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wife and I went there for our 10 year an ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wife and I went there for our 10 year anniversary. It was really nice, super staff, great food and drink. A pleasant surprise for a night out. Recommend for your next occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fabulous as always. My favorite restaura ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Fabulous as always. My favorite restaurant in Pensacola. Love their salmon. To die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Matt, our server was excellent. Very kn ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Matt, our server was excellent. Very knowledgeable about how the food is prepared. Food was excellent .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd say that was one of the best bread p ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I'd say that was one of the best bread puddings I've ever had...and I'm from New Orleans. So, that's saying a lot. Our guests enjoyed everything about the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our 8 year wedding anniversary, a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It was our 8 year wedding anniversary, and everyone has been talking about Iron. My husband is not a huge foodie, but he was up for the fun! Our menus were personalized with "Happy Anniversary Mr. and Mrs. Henry" at the top. Our waitress was so nice and knowledgeable of the menu. The cheese appetizer and the duck were delicious, I will definitely be going back to Iron!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and we had a gr ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was our first visit and we had a great time. The food & drinks were AMAZING and our server Patrick was awesome and recommended the best items! The lamb was delicious! You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. This is definitely our next go to spot!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always outstanding and the c ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is always outstanding and the crafted cocktails are out of this world. They also offer a good wine list. Iron has created an inviting ambiance and it is a true art form to watch the cocktails being made and see the fabulous dishes coming from the kitchen! I consider Iron to the the BEST restaurant in Pensacola!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I won a sizable gift certificate and cel ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I won a sizable gift certificate and celebrated a friend's birthday on a Saturday evening at Iron. We had a good dining experience. There were healthy food choices. As a rule, I don't spend that amount of money on my dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Always solid. Food is best in town. Ba ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Always solid. Food is best in town. Bartenders are total pros

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly, personable service. Food overrated.

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Pensacola, Florida is not an area where excellent chefs are discovered. Here, most eateries are national chains, however there are few privately owned and operated establishments that put forth an effort worth talking about, and most of these places have 2 or 3 items on their menus that are truly delicious. It is my opinion that Iron, Global Grill and Maguire's are 3 very fine restaurants. Personally I have resigned my foodie fanatics and lowered the bar so I'm not so badly disappointed when I dine out in Pensacola. And I'm not crazy, but I know what I like.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

A great place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This is one of if not the best restaurant in Pensacola. The food is delicious and unique. The service is the best you will find in any restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Unique and very delicious for the experienced foodie!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect Birthday Dinner location

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Took my husband here for his 31st birthday last weekend. Oh my gosh. Best service we've had in a while, and the restaurant was completely full. All menu items we ate were unique, rich, quality, and delicious. I definitely recommend this place. They customized our menus to say Happy Birthday at the top which was special and comped the dessert which was an added bonus. Amazing cocktails and late night menu too. My husband was very pleased and so was I. Price was very reasonable for service and quality for food and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE!!!! Best restaurant in town!!!

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

LOVE!!!! Best restaurant in town!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Every aspect of our experience was over the top. Food quality, freshness, unique tasteful pairing of ingredients, artistic presentation, friendly attentive (but not too attentive) service, wine options, value, everything was exceptional. Really nice that with most entrees you are offered a small or large plate. Watching the communication and intricate coordination of all involved in the preparation of our meal from the chefs bar was truly a great experience! Pensacola is so very fortunate to have great talent like chef Alex McPhail and all of his outstanding team! Thanks chef Alex for a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our anniversary dinner was excellent!! J ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our anniversary dinner was excellent!! Jessica took great care of us. Highlyrecommend.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The peanut soup was prepared with a spiciness that was a great balance of savory and sweet. The fish dishes were all prepared with complimentary sauces and cooked to perfection. Every visit to Iron has been a culinary wonder.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always enjoy going to Iron for a nice di ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Always enjoy going to Iron for a nice dinner. The atmosphere reminds me of some upscale restaurants you'd find in Beverly Hills or Manhattan. Artsy but not precocious. They provide full service and offer excellent appetizers, meal choices, and desserts. It's a nice experience--cozy and fancy. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The peanut soup was delicious and I enjo ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The peanut soup was delicious and I enjoyed the presentation and flavor of the Caesar salad. The staff were courteous and helpful. They even printed customized menus with a "Happy Birthday" message to my son (whose birthday we were celebrating). It was a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Iron blew my mined away, it really was s ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Iron blew my mined away, it really was some of the best tasting food I have ate in a long time, the service was exquisite, I reserved for my wife and I anniversary ahead of time and they made sure it was a little extra special even though there are no private areas. The restrooms were exceptionally clean, the atmosphere just was prime. I have and will continue to tell my friends and family about this place and will return, absolutely wonderful!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service by Danielle was awesome! Food w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Service by Danielle was awesome! Food was delicious!! Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fe

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This is an upscale restaurant and that being said, the prices are similar to Global Grill or even Grand Marlin on the beach. Since their move to Palafox, Iron is no longer open for lunch which is a shame because Iron received the Best of the Bay "Best Sandwich" award (Cajun Reuben) and it was delicious. My husband and I made reservations two weeks ago, to dine at this fine establishment, located downtown next to the Rex Theatre. Reservations are recommended and you are seated accordingly. Upon entering, there are two tables (set for party of two) that are located near the entrance of the door. These are the worst seats in the house, and we happened to get stuck sitting there. We asked to move and that is when we were informed of their seating policy. I respect rules and honestly our dining experience would not have been better had we sat somewhere else; it didn't phase my husband and me. To start off, everyone in the restaurant was handed a mini appetizer, mainly to wet the appetite. Ours was a sauce over watermelon and it was refreshing. We ordered the soup (which changes so don't rely solely on the menu online) and it was a Thai peanut curry soup. It was thick, rich and delicious and I would recommend it to share, because it is a lot for one person. My husband and I also tried the beet ravioli which was amazing. I just wish that the appetizer had more. I had the salmon crusted with quinoa and the beets, and puree, and honestly, everything about that dish was perfect. Chef Alex, won the award for "Best Chef" a couple years ago, knows what he is doing. For dessert, we tried the bread budding and it was delicious. They did not have the banana pudding, but if they do I recommend getting that. It is the best banana pudding that ever had, though it is $8. I believe the cookies are ginger snaps and throughout the pudding there is little bits of burnt sugar. I am not sure if they even make it anymore (had it at the old location) but if you see it on the menu, order it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.