Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Restaurant IRON

Executive Chef, Alex McPhail has returned to his hometown after 6 years studying under some of the finest chefs in the industry in New Orleans. Taking culinary tips he picked up at Commander’s Palace, Restaurant August & the Roosevelt Hotel, Alex has created a dining environment unlike any other nearby.
Restaurant IRON serves Southern contemporary cuisine fueled by local vegetables and herbs from the creative minds of true Southerners. We aim to bring together fresh local and regional specialties with the finest flavors and ingredients to deliver a dining experience you won"t soon forget.

22 N Palafox Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 4:30pm - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Garden Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 476-7776

Website:
http://www.restaurantiron.com/

Parking Details:
Feel free to use the parking on North Palafox St directly in front of the restaurant. Should you need additional parking, there is space available a block north on Palafox as well.

Executive Chef:
Alex McPhail

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant IRON Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Creative Cuisine (62)
See All
Good for a Date (59)
Handcrafted Cocktails (54)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Bar Seating (51)
Open Kitchen (47)
Romantic (42)
Local Ingredients (39)
Modern Decor (37)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Notable Wine List (31)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Fun (25)
Business Meals (24)
Hot Spot (22)
Authentic (21)
Cozy (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Casual (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Seasonal (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Healthy (13)
People Watching (11)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Organic (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Tapas (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 4 days ago

The "PB&J" fois grais was exceptional, would highly recommend it. The snapper cheeks and oyster starter was served on top of corn bread and was just okay. The fish enter was skin on snapper served over a fettuccini pink peppercorn pasta $38. I would not order this dish again , the snapper was very dry the noodles taste like they were out of a box. Because our reservation was at 6:00 table of two , we were expertly rushed along. One quick offer of dessert , no offer of after dinner drinks or coffee.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Everything was great from the food to the service. This place won't disappoint!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I took my wife here because it was her favorite. Had to sit at the counter instead of at a table like our previous visit. Too many distractions at counter to fully enjoy eachother's company. Duck was excellent. Steak was OK. Not cooked to consistent internal temp. I dont know about you, but my expectations are sky high when I drop $150 for dinner for two. Our first visit here was excellent and very much worth the price. This time - not so much.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I had heard so many good things from friends about how good the food was here. I had high expectations for a delicious meal but both mine and my husbands dinner were pretty bland. The dishes we ordered had little or no seasoning and not very satisfying as a meal. For the prices of the entrees, I expected top notch cuisine but was disappointed. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great start for Mother's Day Weekend. Mom has been bragging to all her family & friends. Highly recommended!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is the best place to get dinner in pencasola for sure !!!!!!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I've been to Iron several times with good experiences. This was definitely an off night.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We have eaten there several times this year . Great service. Food is delicious and plated beautifully . We had the Caesar salad, bollanaise spaghetti apps. The steak medium rare. Cooked perfectly . Nutella pie for dessert . I have never had a bad meal here . We drive an hour to dine at Iron. Worth the drive,

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food, using seasonal, local and high quality ingredients. Pricey for this area but worth every penny.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The lighting is very harsh and intrusive at some tables. The food was not up to par but we have been there when it's great. Bad night. They need to watch this because prices are very high for Pensacola and people will pay it until it's not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My wife and I went here for the first time this past week for our anniversary. To our surprise the menu's had happy anniversary on them which was a very nice touch. The service was fantastic and the drinks were incredible. I highly recommend the old fashioned with bacon in it. The meal was lights out. My wife had duck that was to die for and I chose he soft shelled blue crab. Both meals were spot on. Being it was our anniversary they provided a delicious complimentary desert. Again, not expected but a nice touch.

Absolutely will be going there again!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Absolute Greatest restaurant in town. Chef Alex McPhail is a brilliant artist. A dining experience that rivals anything I've experienced in New York, Chicago, New Orleans, San Francisco, Portland...this is THE place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Historic, Wood Oven, Fun, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Private Room, Casual, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We rendezvoused with friends and were not disappointed. Everything was prepared to order and served in a timely manner. On Tuesdays Iron has half price wine which was an unexpected pleasure. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Probably the best food I've tasted in awhile. I had the Pork Chop and sweet potato hash.
The waiter (Patrick) was professional and informative. A fancy restaurant without coming across as stuck up.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very good as always. Amber is great. Fish is super as are salads. Not a complaint, just an observation - the Brussels sprouts were way over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It has maintained its excellent quality since the opening. Pleasant atmosphere, great food, excellent bar, even better baristas.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Compares with top flight restaurants in NYC! Pensacola is lucky to have Iron and Chef Alex McPhail.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 2, 2017

In the 10+ times I have eaten at Iron I have never had a bad meal or nearly as horrible of service as I did my last visit. The waitress hardly ever showed up at the table and spent most of the time standing at the hostest stand talking not bothering to even walk overall to ask if we needed anything. Meal wise it was extremely disappointing to the point I didn't eat my meal. I don't like sending food back but both times I received my order there was a problem. I ordered the steak medium rare received it closer to medium well, steak was sent back the second one had great color I was happy when I cut into it until I tasted it and it was cold not even luke warm. I would not have one issue with the time lapse from the waitress if the restaurant was busy and packed like noemal, but it wasn't it took the waitress over ten minutes to walk over and check once we received our main coarse. What upset me the most is that it took times twelve minutes from the time she gave the dessert menu to the time she walked back over to the table to check. The reason why that upset me the most is she literally stood at the hostest stand almost ten minutes as I am sitting there staring at her wanting to order a hot tea as she just ignored the fact I was trying to get her attention. Truthfully I felt the whole experience from the start she prejudge the table and thought they don't have any money and won't leave a good tip so I will give worse than mediocre service. I am a bartender and the person I was with has work in food his whole life and know the importance of good service equals good tip. It saddens me to ever have anything bad to say about Iron I truly love this restaurant and eat there before all my shows at the Saenger Theatre.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Restaurant IRON has an exquisite, playful attention to detail down to the little iron skillets holding your shaved table salt and candle. We tried IRON out for the first time last night for my husband's birthday. We were pleasantly surprised by the community ambiance and close seating with other friendly patrons (for those of you wanting to be less social, there are more separated table options). We started with cocktails, an artisan cheese plate, and boudin balls. For the cost of the cocktails, there could have been a heavier pour on the alcohol, but you're paying for house made juices, syrups, and herbal tinctures. Every cocktail we tried was deliciously balanced, but lacked that extra punch. The starters were on point; best we've had in Pensacola so far including house made mustards, aioli, and local honey and olive oils. Our entrees were tasty. I had a vegetarian plate with aged tofu, curried kraut, root veggies, and quinoa. The tofu lacked flavor (but tofu packed with flavor is an extremely hard thing to accomplish), but their accompanying veggies and sauces were fantastic, especially the curried kraut. My husband had the NY strip with Brussels; excellent use of spices and complementary flavors. Our desserts were layer cake, Irish coffee, and biscuits and jam. I can't rave about the dessert and coffee enough. The real show stealer to our evening was Haiden, our server. He was attentive, took the lead from us on how to time and space our meals, and made sure our dining experience was exactly what we wanted it to be. I'd highly recommend IRON, even if you're just looking to top off your evening with something sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Amazing experience. Definitely sit at chef's counter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Soft shell crab - amazing presentation! And the service is always top-rate. Celebrating birthday and while couldn't find candles, the thought counts!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I saw nothing in the list about "excellent food". The food is always unique and excellent and prepared with a very nice combination of sides. Certain a top Pensacola Restaurant

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We sat at the counter with a great view of the kitchen. The food was so good! The bread pudding is out of this world. The cocktails are unusual and different. And happy hour makes it easy to try something new.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My wife and I had dinner to celebrate our anniversary, we had fantastic night. The staff was incredible, and friendly! We sat right beside the kitchen watching the Chef's work their magic and could see the mixologist making some awesome drinks. The food was amazing, very creative dishes, I wish we could've tried everything while we there, but that's okay because we will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was our second visit. Very good food........creative.......not the same thing over and over again.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 25, 2017

This was an excellent choice for us. I highly recommend it. Great service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Good location in downtown Pensacola. Always make a reservation. Food is very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I love good food and Iron was good but I think my expectations were too high. Amazing service and wonderful handcrafted cocktails. Was told by the waiter that the steak was the best in town, even better than Jackson's. Well, the steak was cooked medium as ordered but the flavor fell flat. Was hoping for a nicely seasoned steak with a deep robust flavor. Very mildly seasoned and rather boring. The poached halibut was good but again, nothing to wow me over. Would go back for a drink and appetizers, but not for a full dining experience .

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fabulous new place! A must for anyone dining in Pensacola, FL

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our server Danielle was fantastic. The food and service is worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

As always a great meal. My husband,and 14 year old granddaughter had a unhurried meal along with some new menu choices. We are never disappointed in our choices , so that makes us willing to try new items.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great leisurely dining for special occasions. I would recommend that they do at least a little something extra for birthday or anniversary celebrants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Iron is my favorite restaurant. Food is awesome. So glad to have this in Pensacola .

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Awesome. Our fav in Pensacola. Had dinner there twice I 5 nights

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I was quite surprised by the effort put into the cooking and preparation of the food. We were seated at a counter overlooking the kitchen, so we were able to talk to the staff as they prepared their meal. My wife had the soft shell crab, which was two medium large crabs, cut in half, on grits. I had the seed crusted salmon. Both dishes were excellent. The bar was also quite creative. We had really great cocktails before dinner Winter Grapefruit Collins and a Pineapple Old Fashioned (wanted to see what they were doing with the Plantation Stiggins Fancy Pineapple that Wonderich had a hand in) a unique Spanish wine with dinner Honoro Vera, 2015 from Rueda, and, after dinner I had a surprisingly good German Reisling BA. For the price, I was expecting an Austrian, but the wine was actually a German BA from Nahe. No bereich, Großlage or Einzellage, but still a top quality Beerenauslese.

If you are in Pensacola, this is a great place to try.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

It was so good! The homemade bread in particular was amazing.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Organic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Thank you to Campbell and Brit excellent bartenders

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My friends from Tennessee came for a visit, and they had enjoyed going to this restaurant before. Friday, we sat at the counter and had Amber as our server. She was very engaging, and made the evening so much fun. I had the lamb, which was the best lamb I have ever had. My friends had the cod and salmon, both of which were perfectly cooked. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Superior in all respects A friend recommended it. I took my wife to celebrate our anniversary and we both enjoyed it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

You simply can't go wrong, here. That's all you need to know.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.