Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Restaurant IRON

Executive Chef, Alex McPhail has returned to his hometown after 6 years studying under some of the finest chefs in the industry in New Orleans. Taking culinary tips he picked up at Commander’s Palace, Restaurant August & the Roosevelt Hotel, Alex has created a dining environment unlike any other nearby.
Restaurant IRON serves Southern contemporary cuisine fueled by local vegetables and herbs from the creative minds of true Southerners. We aim to bring together fresh local and regional specialties with the finest flavors and ingredients to deliver a dining experience you won"t soon forget.

22 N Palafox Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 4:30pm - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Garden Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 476-7776

Website:
http://www.restaurantiron.com/

Parking Details:
Feel free to use the parking on North Palafox St directly in front of the restaurant. Should you need additional parking, there is space available a block north on Palafox as well.

Executive Chef:
Alex McPhail

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. 50% off all wines by the glass and select bottles. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - May 9, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. $5 for all menu cocktails. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - May 9, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

Restaurant IRON Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Fit for Foodies (67)
Creative Cuisine (63)
See All
Good for a Date (61)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Handcrafted Cocktails (58)
Bar Seating (52)
Open Kitchen (51)
Romantic (48)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Modern Decor (40)
Local Ingredients (39)
Notable Wine List (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Fun (25)
Business Meals (23)
Hot Spot (20)
Authentic (19)
Cozy (19)
Seasonal (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Healthy (16)
Late-night Find (13)
People Watching (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Casual (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Organic (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Tapas (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
502 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server Danielle was fantastic. The food and service is worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 3 days ago

As always a great meal. My husband,and 14 year old granddaughter had a unhurried meal along with some new menu choices. We are never disappointed in our choices , so that makes us willing to try new items.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 4 days ago

Great leisurely dining for special occasions. I would recommend that they do at least a little something extra for birthday or anniversary celebrants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 5 days ago

Iron is my favorite restaurant. Food is awesome. So glad to have this in Pensacola .

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome. Our fav in Pensacola. Had dinner there twice I 5 nights

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

I was quite surprised by the effort put into the cooking and preparation of the food. We were seated at a counter overlooking the kitchen, so we were able to talk to the staff as they prepared their meal. My wife had the soft shell crab, which was two medium large crabs, cut in half, on grits. I had the seed crusted salmon. Both dishes were excellent. The bar was also quite creative. We had really great cocktails before dinner Winter Grapefruit Collins and a Pineapple Old Fashioned (wanted to see what they were doing with the Plantation Stiggins Fancy Pineapple that Wonderich had a hand in) a unique Spanish wine with dinner Honoro Vera, 2015 from Rueda, and, after dinner I had a surprisingly good German Reisling BA. For the price, I was expecting an Austrian, but the wine was actually a German BA from Nahe. No bereich, Großlage or Einzellage, but still a top quality Beerenauslese.

If you are in Pensacola, this is a great place to try.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

It was so good! The homemade bread in particular was amazing.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Organic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Thank you to Campbell and Brit excellent bartenders

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My friends from Tennessee came for a visit, and they had enjoyed going to this restaurant before. Friday, we sat at the counter and had Amber as our server. She was very engaging, and made the evening so much fun. I had the lamb, which was the best lamb I have ever had. My friends had the cod and salmon, both of which were perfectly cooked. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Superior in all respects A friend recommended it. I took my wife to celebrate our anniversary and we both enjoyed it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

You simply can't go wrong, here. That's all you need to know.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The duck and the pork were out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Wonderful food and service. We've never been disappointed!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Outstanding restaurant, the food was delicious and the service is outstanding. Would recommend this restaurant to ever single one of my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Wonderful food and presentation. Service was exceptional

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was our first dining experience at this restaurant--and it won't be our last. We celebrated our anniversary with another couple. We all had cocktails. I had the Pineapple Old Fashioned which was delicious. We shared a plate of boudin balls which we all loved. Just enough to take the hungry edge off, but full of tasty yumminess. I had the wild salmon with red quinoa as my entree. It arrived as a beautiful work of art and was beautifully cooked to perfection. My dinner partners also raved about their selections which included the scallops, lamb chop, and pork chop. We finished the night with coffee and chocolate Creme brûlée. Very special evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Overall, a fantastic dinner experience. Oddly enough, I was a little surprised at how quickly the food was prepared. For a Saturday night, ordering appetizers, entrees, dessert and coffee- we were in the restaurant for about 90 minutes. I might have liked to stay a little longer, but each course was delicious and executed flawlessly. Our waiter was excellent and knew/sold the menu well- Nick, if I recall.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

always a treat to dine at restaurant Iron. This time was especially nice due to our most attentive and great waiter. Food terrific as always. Look forward to the next meal there!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great food, location, and service. This is one of the best 3 restaurants in Pensacola! The perfect anniversary location!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The Caesar salad was the best I had ever had.....so interesting and good!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Every dish - from apps to salads to entrees - was amazing.
Unique combinations of ingredients and presentations.
Portion sizes were generous.
We will be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our dinner was fantastic and our server Hayden was outstanding. I would highly recommend dinning at Iron.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Everything was fabulous! We had cocktails, appetizers, main courses and desserts. Everything tasted spectacular. Very original menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

food was perfect!!! taste and presentation
the waitor was great as well- made us feel important and was easy to talk to

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Outstanding food and great service. Chic environment that's comfortable and cool. Overall great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Best restaurant in Pensacola, never had a bad meal in the few years we've been going there.
Severs do a great job very attentive

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent meal. Service was great (Nick), and dinner was phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was our second time at Iron! Fabulous both times. We will not miss when in Pensacola!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Historic, Notable Wine List, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Better than good ...perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Enjoyed our evening very much at Iron for our anniversary. We requested to sit at the counter when I made the reservation and they did not accommodate the request. However, when we arrived we were greeted with a wonderful Happy Anniversary note on the menus, and finished dinner with the Nutella Pie (AMAZING). The Sea Bass was phenomenal and the Marcus Caeser is a favorite salad of mine.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We were passing through Pensacola on our way to New Orleans. Looked at Open Table for some restaurant suggestions. We picked Restaurant Iron and enjoyed one of the best meals of our life. Incredibly wonderful! What luck.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday. We made reservations ahead, and they had the menu personalized wishing her a happy birthday! They also made her a special desert. My wife had the sea scallops on squid ink pasta, and it was wonderful! I wanted to order for myself, but we try never to order same thing when we go out so we can share and in case one person doesn't like theirs but the other does. I had the lamb shank on risotto. It was also very good but rather heavy after an appetizer we shared of fried oysters and grouper cheats. Appetizer was a little salty but very good otherwise! Iron never disappoints on drink mixology. My wife loves the bacon bourbon tumbler. We would definitely recommend this as a go to mainstay.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My wife and I came for dinner to celebrate our 10th anniversary the other night. Restaurant Iron was an amazing experience. The food was the best we have ever had - absolutely delicious. All of the staff were friendly and just added to the amazing experience. We are so glad that we have such an excellent restaurant in Pensacola.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

First time dining at IRON and it was great! Loved the vibe there...yummy cocktails...delicious food and very good service!! Will definitely go again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great ambience throughout the restaurant. The menu was eclectic in flavours and variety. The presentation was delectable. The wait staff was very knowledgeable in the menu and in describing the dishes and/or cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very relaxed setting. Fantastic food. Great drink selection other than beer. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Never disappointed. This place is always amazing! The steak is unbelievable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Amazing!!! Second trip to IRON & even more impressed than before. Fabulous food & outstanding service!!! You've gotta try it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Such a great experience! Try the oysters and grouper cheeks for an appetizer! We also had the quail appetizer, amazing! The sea bass and the ribeye are wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

When I filled out the reservation form at open table, I mentioned that it was our anniversary, but no one at the restaurant made any mention of our anniversary. My husband also ordered the $45 steak and it was significantly under cooked. When you pay that much and wait a while for a steak, you expect it to be perfect. We had a fabulous waitress though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.