About Restaurant IRON

22 N Palafox Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
View Larger Map

Executive Chef, Alex McPhail has returned to his hometown after 6 years studying under some of the finest chefs in the industry in New Orleans. Taking culinary tips he picked up at Commander’s Palace, Restaurant August & the Roosevelt Hotel, Alex has created a dining environment unlike any other nearby.
Restaurant IRON serves Southern contemporary cuisine fueled by local vegetables and herbs from the creative minds of true Southerners. We aim to bring together fresh local and regional specialties with the finest flavors and ingredients to deliver a dining experience you won"t soon forget.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner

Tuesday - Thursday 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 4:30pm - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Garden Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 476-7776

Website:
http://www.restaurantiron.com/

Parking Details:
Feel free to use the parking on North Palafox St directly in front of the restaurant. Should you need additional parking, there is space available a block north on Palafox as well.

Executive Chef:
Alex McPhail

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant IRON
Restaurant IRON

Restaurant IRON Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Florida
Best Food
Northwest Florida
Best Service
Northwest Florida
8 More
Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Best Value
Northwest Florida
Fit for Foodies
Northwest Florida
Neighborhood Gem
Northwest Florida
Notable Wine List
Northwest Florida
Special Occasion
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Pensacola
Best Restaurants in Pensacola ›

Special Occasion (86)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Romantic (48)
See All
Hot Spot (41)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Notable Wine List (37)
Late-night Find (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (4)
Vegan (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Cozy (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I had a great time at Iron. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I had a great time at Iron. We received the recommendation from a friend so decided to give Iron a visit. At no point were we disappointed. Our waiter, Matt, made it seem as if we were his only concern. His knowledge and descriptions of the items on the menu literally made our mouth salivate. Some may look at the price and think that its a little too pricey. We beg the differ. You're not just paying for delicious food that you can see prepared feets away, you are paying for extraordinary service in what I consider to be the most modern restaurant in Pensacola. My wife and I have our favorite places to celebrate our special occasions and Restaurant Iron just moved to NUMERO UNO. I strongly recommend that people give it a try. And if Matt is your server, you'll be begging for every dish on the menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our 15th Annive ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our 15th Anniversary at Iron. The staff was very polite, personable yet professional. The food was absolutely amazing. Our waiter, Matt, was on top of his game. Quick, friendly service, he knew the menu inside and out and his recommendations were on point. The food portions are moderate but we didn't leave hungry. We were very satisfied with our dining experience and will recommend Iron to all of our friends.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Restaurant Iron has become one of the cr ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Restaurant Iron has become one of the crown jewels of Pensacola dining. The menu is constantly changing with new additions and many of the old favorites as well. They are now open 7 days a week which gives Pensacola a great option instead of a chain restaurant. I had the Wagayu burger and my wife had the chicken and dumplins. Both wonderful dishes with perfect seasoning, and a great blend of sides. We have had most of the dishes that Chef Alex has created and have never had a bad meal. The bar is well stocked and the bartenders are creative and serve excellent drinks. The portions are plentiful. We have dined with other local chefs and they have rave reviews for the food here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit to Iron! I had heard rav ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My first visit to Iron! I had heard rave reviews so my expectations were high. They did not disappoint. Classy, top notch, amazing wine and the Salmon was delicious! Great date spot! And surprisingly affordable! Matt, our server, gave beautiful descriptions of the featured dishes for the evening. And was quietly solicitous and a wonderful server. I highly recommend going to Iron!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food I've ever tasted. Worth it! No ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Best food I've ever tasted. Worth it! No more to say.

Tags: Historic, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Organic, Healthy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Family Style, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very poor. Waited 15 min for ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was very poor. Waited 15 min for a server to come to the table just to even take a drink order. No one came so we departed. They were not busy and some servers were seen just talking to people and not working

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Having lived In Asheville NC for five ye ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Having lived In Asheville NC for five years and having dined all over this country and the world , I can say I was Very Impressed with this establishment. Food was A+ , get a seat at the Chef's counter and prepare to be wowed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After sitting for 15 minutes I had to ge ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

After sitting for 15 minutes I had to get up and ask if we were going to have a server. Once we got one, he did a fine job until the restaurant got busy then he kind of went slack on us, as happens in a lot of restaurants. The bar was really busy so I asked about happy hour - our waiter had to go ask someone.... not a great sign either. The food was good but a little pricey. The local cheeses on the cheese plate were really good but extremely small portions and the schnitzel was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

My meal and that of 2 guests was not usu ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

My meal and that of 2 guests was not usual favorful tastes.

Desert was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I read reviews about Iron and overheard ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I read reviews about Iron and overheard a conversation about it earlier in the week. The food was good although a little pricey for my taste. Every item is made in house, so it was disappointing not to have real ketchup. The amuse bouche was a great addition to my dining experience- unexpected and fun. My meal was good, but not the best place I've eaten at in Pensacola. I will say that my cocktails were unique and tasty - the bartenders were attentive and I felt feeling my business was valued.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I have never had a meal here I didn't en ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I have never had a meal here I didn't enjoy. The food is creative, delicious, and artistically presented. I will come back whenever I'm in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Iron continues to wow on each visit. In ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Iron continues to wow on each visit. Inventive salads... entrees in two sizes... fish always freshest... and an enthusiastic and well modulated wait staff. Always a treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoy Iron but our experience ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We really enjoy Iron but our experience on Saturday night was not good. There were four of us eating, and two of us were served our main meal, but the waitress told us someone else had picked up the other two and they would have to wait. So two of us sat there for 10 minutes with our dinner, letting it get cold, waiting. We found the food a bit salty and they were out of two dishes we ordered. Must have just been an off night as usually it is top shelf!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was prepared perfectly and disp ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was prepared perfectly and displayed beautifully. Our server was unobtrusively attentive throughout the evening. The music was in the background and conversation at the table was easy to hear. Crisp modern feel in an historic setting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing! I had the cheese plate and the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing! I had the cheese plate and the ancho chili duck. The service was great and the drinks were delicious! Overall great food and a great experience in the Pensacola area!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my girlfriend here for her bir ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I brought my girlfriend here for her birthday. Our server was very well informed about the menu and made great suggestions. She had the salmon and I had the steak. Portion size was great and both dishes were cooked to our preference. Love that they put a candle on her dessert (Nutella cake w/ pretzel crust - so delicious!) so she could make a wish. Very positive experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful all around dining experience. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful all around dining experience.

The waitress explanation of each entree was perfect. She was pleasant, just the right amount of tentativeness and presented well.

The food presentation added to it's appeal and the quality was extraordinary. Restaurant IRON is a quality dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for our 26th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went for our 26th wedding anniversary. My wife went here for the first time with her sister back in May 2016. They both enjoyed their meal and service so much that we went back again. Finding a restaurant in this town that offers exceptional food is extremely difficult. The service is high class, the food is gourmet, the overall experience was phenomenal . If you're wanting a dining experience that meets all your expectations this is the place to go. .

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Iron numerous times and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have been to Iron numerous times and each time, they deliver the goods. The ambience, food and service are first class. Make sure you try the ceasar salad. All of the entrees are fabulous but personal favorite is the Duck. Can't go wrong with a dinner at Iron.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Iron delivers once again. We ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Restaurant Iron delivers once again. We made our reservation through OpenTable and the hostess had everything ready when we arrived. Our server was very knowledgeable about how each dish is prepared and gave us great recommendations. Although the restaurant always seems full, the whole operation is very efficient and courses come out at just the right time. We will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love to dine in Pensacola, Iron was reco ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love to dine in Pensacola, Iron was recommended by a friend. From the time we walked in the door to the time we left the service was outstanding. The menu was unique and exciting. My gumbo was as good as any I've eaten in New Orleans. Iron is a must try if you are in town!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service, amazing food and creati ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing service, amazing food and creative yummy drinks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious regionally influenced food tha ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Delicious regionally influenced food that was well thought out, and paired with great service. All the cocktails from the bar were outstanding or better. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here before. They had a p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We have eaten here before. They had a problem with gnats that night and they were annoying. Other than that, what a great place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Went to celebrate a Birthday! The drinks ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Went to celebrate a Birthday! The drinks were perfection! Our meals were delicious! Our service was great! We really love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The selection of whiskies--High West's S ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The selection of whiskies--High West's Silver, for example--is great. The servers are attentive and very know their food and drink. The Tuesday 1/2 off wines was a great value with fine wines. Foods are interesting and run from very good to great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our second visit and just as good. The ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Our second visit and just as good. The most creative food in Pensacola area today. Excellent cocktails. Very good wine prices in general and reduced prices on Tuesdays. Appetizers of foie gras, and salads excellent. We have now had most of the main courses and you cannot go wrong with any of them. Duck was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening! First time for us and won ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great evening! First time for us and won't be the last. Food and service were great. It's not a large place and can feel pretty "cozy", a private table not likely at the height of the evening traffic. However, that was part of the charm, we chatted with those tables next to us and it was really nice to share observations about the dishes we had ordered. All in all a wonderful evening, we will return very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Notably one of the best meals we have ev ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Notably one of the best meals we have ever had at a restaurant. Chef Alex McPhail is outstanding and we would recommend IRON to anyone desiring a fantastic meal. My wife has extensive food allergies that causes quite a bit of a challenge in dining out, let alone her meal having any flavor and her meal was so flavorful. My comment at the end of the meal was "I'm sorry that's over". Enough said. Go, go, go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed dinner very much. The food wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We enjoyed dinner very much. The food was very well done in attractive presentation. The service was excellent and the restaurant had an open, clean feel to it. The portions were a bit small, and the fresh fish preparation was not exceptional. All else was very enjoyable, finely prepared, great atmosphere that we would recommend to like-minded diners. We enjoy fine cuisine as much as possible and don't mind paying a bit more for great food and exclusive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our new favorite restaurant!!! Ambiance ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our new favorite restaurant!!! Ambiance, greeting, service, uniforms, drinks, kitchen, FOOD... nothing was wrong... at all!!! I want to go back every single weekend.

Worth the hour drive from Destin... beats every single restaurant around

-FEMfoodie

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bread pudding was on point. Everythi ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The bread pudding was on point. Everything on every plate had some thought behind it. Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The local cheese ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was excellent. The local cheese some of the best we have ever had; the salmon was fresh and delicious; the caesar salad was beautiful and tasty; the duck was good; the espresso bread pudding and Nutella pie were awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything good. Server Nick was attenti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Everything good. Server Nick was attentive and very pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our Anniversary was made even more memor ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our Anniversary was made even more memorable by the server and the wonderful food, elegantly prepared with wonderfully diverse flavors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little too trendy for old folks. We p ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A little too trendy for old folks. We prefer well-prepared, tasty, but ordinary food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The entree was superior. Considering the ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The entree was superior. Considering the price and the region a small dinner salad or green side would have been reasonable and appreciated. Most diners don't need a full head of romaine but would enjoy a small, chilled dinner salad. A small price to complete a comparatively expensive meal for the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely delicious new takes on southe ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolutely delicious new takes on southern favorites, well presented, nice ambience, and perfect noise level for conversation but bring a heavy wallet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best meal I have had in a very long ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The best meal I have had in a very long time. The food was akin to a fine art masterpiece. Every bite was an explosion of delicate mixtures of tantalizing flavors. Our waiter explained the menu in detail. Overall the best night out I can remember. I have already raved to everyone I know. You absolutely must check this venue out. I would highly recommend the duck. WOW!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my 2 favorite places to d ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is one of my 2 favorite places to dine. Service is outstanding, and the dishes are as delicious as they are aesthetically pleasing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.