Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Restaurant IRON

Executive Chef, Alex McPhail has returned to his hometown after 6 years studying under some of the finest chefs in the industry in New Orleans. Taking culinary tips he picked up at Commander’s Palace, Restaurant August & the Roosevelt Hotel, Alex has created a dining environment unlike any other nearby.
Restaurant IRON serves Southern contemporary cuisine fueled by local vegetables and herbs from the creative minds of true Southerners. We aim to bring together fresh local and regional specialties with the finest flavors and ingredients to deliver a dining experience you won"t soon forget.

22 N Palafox Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 4:30pm - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Garden Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 476-7776

Website:
http://www.restaurantiron.com/

Parking Details:
Feel free to use the parking on North Palafox St directly in front of the restaurant. Should you need additional parking, there is space available a block north on Palafox as well.

Executive Chef:
Alex McPhail

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant IRON Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Creative Cuisine (68)
Fit for Foodies (66)
See All
Good for a Date (59)
Handcrafted Cocktails (53)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Bar Seating (51)
Local Ingredients (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Romantic (34)
Open Kitchen (33)
Worth the Drive (30)
Notable Wine List (27)
Business Meals (26)
Modern Decor (25)
Authentic (22)
Fun (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Cozy (15)
Casual (14)
Seasonal (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Healthy (10)
Organic (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good for Groups (8)
People Watching (8)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tapas (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Family Style (2)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

It was okay, I think the chief tried too hard and felt the plates were too busy. It had way too many different flavors going on at the same time that really didn't all go together.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service. Enjoyed the evening. Great food very unique

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

I went with my family for Father's Day we tried two apps and all had different entrees. Overall, the food was just ok. I wouldn't recommend it when other great restaurants are right down the road.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 4 days ago

Memorable dining experience!! Service with Patrick was excellent!! Cocktails were delicious and beautifully presented! Very nice ambience with counter seating to watch the wonderful food and cocktail preparation! The fish and chicken and dumplings were great selections, ending the evening with the Nutella pie!! Definitely our BEST discovery in downtown Pensacola!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. Seemed to have trouble with gnats, but I think the door is a vacuum and sucks them in. They are bad everywhere in Pensacola right now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Still our favorite place in the Pensacola are. The most creative food around. Excellent salads and soups. Foie gras appetizer amazing. Excellent fresh fish dishes. Small and crowded. The bar takes over a little too much in the early evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was superb! The waitress was very helpful as this was our first time dining at the Restaurant Iron. The hostess was not very inviting or friendly. Our reservation was set for 7:00 and we weren't seated until 7:15. Overall it was a great place to eat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Phenomenal as always. Happy to have a go-to for dinner with family and friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary and had a wonderful time. Got the ribeye and shared it, PERFECT! Cooked to perfection, wine recommendation and service were excellent! Highly recommend for any occasion!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

we had heard good things about the food, they did not disappoint !- EXCELLENT ! was a swell place to have our 50 th --if they had a view, they would have it all .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Never disappointed. I always love the menu changes and the chef recommendations.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Amazing presentation & food! One of the top three restaurants in Pensacola. Great service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Everything was incredible! I ordered the pork dish and it was cooked perfectly. I got the Paloma and the iron goddess cocktails, both delicious. I always love dining at IRON.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Restaurant IRON is by far our favorite restaurant in Pensacola. The flavors in the food are so unique. While the prices are somewhat high for the area, the meals we've had have been worth every penny. Sitting at the kitchen bar also provides a unique experience you can't get anywhere else. The staff is friendly, accommodating, and will chat with you about the possibilities of the chefs at IRON.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food, atmosphere & perfect for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Wow. This was such a nice surprise while visiting Pensacola. The service was fantastic and perfectly timed. The food was very interesting and we enjoyed the southern take on all of the meals. I tried the red snapper and the flavors were very interesting - a dish I will remember. My husband and I enjoyed our time and will always remember that banana pudding... it was too good with a hot French press to end the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

IRON is an amazing place. My wife and I were in P'cola for 2 days and we randomly searched for an upscale restaurant. We decided on IRON where we were most impressed. The staff is very attentive for a neighborhood restaurant. They are extremely aware of what is happening with each customer and on top of any potential issues. The menu is outside the box creative and the food prepared flawlessly under the supervision of the head chef, who is the expediter. Therefore, quality control is exceptional. Prices are reasonable and the whole evening was just awesome. What a find!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was amazing. Our server Daniel was attentive, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the menu. The prices are higher than most restaurants, but you get great quality. Try the cocktails as well, you won't regret it! It wasn't just a dinner it was an experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent restaurant with first class service, food, and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Small space so tables are a bit close, superb food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 24, 2017

This was phenomenal experience and easily one of the best restaurants I've eaten at. The food preparation and presentation was outstanding and the flavors and textures were impeccable. Chef Alex has a winner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Creative, delicious and beautifully presented food. Waiter was too anxious to move the meal along - rushed our first course (said the kitchen wanted to get the entree out), picked up the check before I looked at it, again picked up the check before I completed the tab. Waiter really needs better training for a fine dining experience. Perhaps it was an exception.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We shared the Foie Gras appetizer, and we had the red snapper and salmon entrees, which were spectacular. I also had my smoked old fashion, which is my usual cocktail there. Everything was at the usual high level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 23, 2017

From beginning to end this was an excellent choice for our celebration dinner. the service was impeccable and the food divine. We will be back...sooner than later!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 22, 2017

I would like Sauterne with my Foie gras and perhaps a slightly larger piece of foie gras

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The "PB&J" fois grais was exceptional, would highly recommend it. The snapper cheeks and oyster starter was served on top of corn bread and was just okay. The fish enter was skin on snapper served over a fettuccini pink peppercorn pasta $38. I would not order this dish again , the snapper was very dry the noodles taste like they were out of a box. Because our reservation was at 6:00 table of two , we were expertly rushed along. One quick offer of dessert , no offer of after dinner drinks or coffee.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Everything was great from the food to the service. This place won't disappoint!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I took my wife here because it was her favorite. Had to sit at the counter instead of at a table like our previous visit. Too many distractions at counter to fully enjoy eachother's company. Duck was excellent. Steak was OK. Not cooked to consistent internal temp. I dont know about you, but my expectations are sky high when I drop $150 for dinner for two. Our first visit here was excellent and very much worth the price. This time - not so much.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I had heard so many good things from friends about how good the food was here. I had high expectations for a delicious meal but both mine and my husbands dinner were pretty bland. The dishes we ordered had little or no seasoning and not very satisfying as a meal. For the prices of the entrees, I expected top notch cuisine but was disappointed. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great start for Mother's Day Weekend. Mom has been bragging to all her family & friends. Highly recommended!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is the best place to get dinner in pencasola for sure !!!!!!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I've been to Iron several times with good experiences. This was definitely an off night.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We have eaten there several times this year . Great service. Food is delicious and plated beautifully . We had the Caesar salad, bollanaise spaghetti apps. The steak medium rare. Cooked perfectly . Nutella pie for dessert . I have never had a bad meal here . We drive an hour to dine at Iron. Worth the drive,

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food, using seasonal, local and high quality ingredients. Pricey for this area but worth every penny.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The lighting is very harsh and intrusive at some tables. The food was not up to par but we have been there when it's great. Bad night. They need to watch this because prices are very high for Pensacola and people will pay it until it's not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My wife and I went here for the first time this past week for our anniversary. To our surprise the menu's had happy anniversary on them which was a very nice touch. The service was fantastic and the drinks were incredible. I highly recommend the old fashioned with bacon in it. The meal was lights out. My wife had duck that was to die for and I chose he soft shelled blue crab. Both meals were spot on. Being it was our anniversary they provided a delicious complimentary desert. Again, not expected but a nice touch.

Absolutely will be going there again!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Absolute Greatest restaurant in town. Chef Alex McPhail is a brilliant artist. A dining experience that rivals anything I've experienced in New York, Chicago, New Orleans, San Francisco, Portland...this is THE place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Historic, Wood Oven, Fun, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Private Room, Casual, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We rendezvoused with friends and were not disappointed. Everything was prepared to order and served in a timely manner. On Tuesdays Iron has half price wine which was an unexpected pleasure. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Probably the best food I've tasted in awhile. I had the Pork Chop and sweet potato hash.
The waiter (Patrick) was professional and informative. A fancy restaurant without coming across as stuck up.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very good as always. Amber is great. Fish is super as are salads. Not a complaint, just an observation - the Brussels sprouts were way over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.