Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Restaurant IRON

Executive Chef, Alex McPhail has returned to his hometown after 6 years studying under some of the finest chefs in the industry in New Orleans. Taking culinary tips he picked up at Commander’s Palace, Restaurant August & the Roosevelt Hotel, Alex has created a dining environment unlike any other nearby.
Restaurant IRON serves Southern contemporary cuisine fueled by local vegetables and herbs from the creative minds of true Southerners. We aim to bring together fresh local and regional specialties with the finest flavors and ingredients to deliver a dining experience you won"t soon forget.

22 N Palafox Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 4:30pm - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Garden Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 476-7776

Website:
http://www.restaurantiron.com/

Parking Details:
Feel free to use the parking on North Palafox St directly in front of the restaurant. Should you need additional parking, there is space available a block north on Palafox as well.

Executive Chef:
Alex McPhail

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant IRON Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (57)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Creative Cuisine (53)
See All
Special Occasion (50)
Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Local Ingredients (44)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Bar Seating (37)
Romantic (37)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Business Meals (22)
Cozy (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Authentic (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Fun (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Casual (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Seasonal (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Healthy (7)
People Watching (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Spicy (5)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Alex Mc Phail (chef/owner) & his team consistently update a creative menu that "pops" with imagination and use of local & seasonal ingredients, with inspired combinations, e.g., gnocchi with escargot; a marrow bone "canoe" with crawfish. The team also excels at dessert inventiveness, like a tasting trio of rose water, "Dreamsicle", and honeyed ice creams. Presentation is inspired & paralleled by excellent service.

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Uniquely delicious cuisine. The best place to eat on the Emerald Coast!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I cannot say enough about this restaurant. My sister and I reserved a table for our parents for their anniversary. Their hostess, Sam, did an amazing job helping coordinate the details over the phone. Our parents were thrilled with the little details that the staff wove into their experience to make the night special and loved the food. I'd recommend Iron to anyone for any occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

The food was amazing. And Danielle was fabulous! Could not ask for better service or food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

My wife and I had an exceptional experience at Restaurant Iron! We are new to town and were wonderfully pleased to find this amazing spot. Not only were the menu options diverse and creative, but the execution was worthy of high praise. I whole-heartedly recommend Restaurant Iron!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Sat at the counter and enjoyed seeing the food prepared. The staff was attentive and the food was divine. A completely enjoyable experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 13, 2017

IRON is one of the few truly creative restaurants in town. The food and drinks are very well prepared and with extra care which is visible in every presentation. Staff are well trained and match the quality of the food for an overall excellent dinning experience. Easily one of the top three fine dinning restaurants in Pensacola and surrounding area.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2017

been to iron every weekend since they've opened, we absolutely love it! we finally got to try their dinner menu, amazing. usually we go for the late night menu, but the dinner menu was just as delicious! we love Restaurant Iron

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The four of us orderd the same thing , The Ribeye for two . We all thought we would end up taking some home due to the portion size . But it was absolutely one of the best steaks we have ever had. That speaks volumes since my parents were in the grocery business , my father , meat cutter , took great pride in " prime beef , marbeling etc . This steak was that good ! Needless to say , not a morsel left . Would not hesitate to return again & plan to in the near future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We enjoy Restaurant Iron every time we go. The menu is creative and delicious. The cocktails are inventive and fabulous. The culinary, service and management team are friendly and professional. Consider sitting at the Counter to watch the Culinary team prepare your meal or the bar and get to know some great bartenders.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 2, 2017

This is one of the few restaurants open on an Sunday evening, so it was extra special to be there. We were worried about a night where Chef Alex was off, but his sous chef did a wonderful job of maintaining high quality food. We enjoy sitting at the Chefs counter and watching the pros in action. The Marcus Cesar salad is always delicious and my wife enjoyed the escargot. It was late in the evening so we didn't order entrees but just split the Buffalo Fried Oysters, which were excellent. Don't miss the Nutella pie for dessert.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 30, 2017

From the initial greeting at the door, to dinner, cocktails, dessert, and coffee, everything was exceptional. Service, food, and drinks couldn’t have been any better!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Always creative & delicious menu.
Somewhat disheartening to pay $50 for a plate and then look around and see people wearing jeans and shorts, but the food is amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

One of the best meals I've had in my life. Service was outstanding and made a wonderful night for my girlfriend and I.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Chef Alex and his staff always do an amazing job! The counter is a great experience to watch the kitchen and get a unique perspective on the restaurant. Amber took great care of us and the bartenders always make memorable cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our food was superior. We had the pork which we shared. The portion was huge. The boudin mash was incredible. We had the escargot appetizer which was delicious. We were there for my husband's birthday. The restaurant is small, so getting a reservation is not easy, especially on the weekend, so calling in advance is essential. We had tried to go there previously but had never been able to get in. I called two weeks in advance to get a Friday night reservation. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2017

A fantastic birthday meal!! Clever and tasty menu along with a wonderful cocktail menu. We had a late seating and there were a couple of snafu’s with our orders, but ultimately All was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Awesome! Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We met friends for dinner and loved the relaxed atmosphere, the wonderful food, and the excellent service. The menu choices are outstanding and we were happily surprised to find out that all cocktails are $5.00 all evening on Thursday. A wonderful place for a special occasion or just a fun dinner out!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

First anniversary. Iron made it very memorable, they even printed personalized “happy anniversary” menus for us. Food was amazing and plated perfectly. Will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always amazing! Well crafted dishes with balanced flavors that will leave you savoring every bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Absolutely delicious! Great wine and exceptional dinner. Alex definitely knows what he's doing and so happy for his success!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

All in all had a great experience
Will certainly be back

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Seasonal, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The best piece of beef I've ever had in my mouth. The food was amazing. My steak was undercooked and I still loved it. If you haven't been book your reservation now and book another because once you go you'll have to keep going to try more because you will want to try it all. Go try it all then Thank me for convincing you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Had an incredible experience at Restaurant Iron. There was such attention to detail. It was my husband's birthday and the menu was customized with his birthday. The drinks were fabulous and the food was well thought out with unique flavors and textures. Beautiful job! Iron will be on our regular rotation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

My husband and I dined at Restaurant Iron on August 30, 2017, for our 20th wedding anniversary. It was our second visit, and we ended up sitting at the very same place with the very same server as the first time! Upon sitting down, we discovered that we had a menu wishing us a happy anniversary! How thoughtful!
Our server was excellent, and very witty, making us laugh several times during the evening! Also, she was very knowledgeable about the wine list, the cocktail list, and the menu, and had no problem working with my allergy to mushrooms/truffles! My dinner was a chili lime gulf catch (grouper) escabeche and was so phenomenal, I drank all of the liquid out of the bowl! My husband had a pork dish three ways, and the bites that I sampled were incredible!
At the end of the night, one of our desserts was comped, which was incredibly generous, totally unexpected, and greatly appreciated!! Thank you for making our anniversary dinner so special, delicious, and relaxing! I can't wait to see what you cook up next!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Fantastic find! Cannot wait to try again when we're in the area. IRON is a must try! Amazing menu, not large, every detail attended to in the most caring manner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

One of my favorite Pensacola restaurants! We began our most recent visit with two of the specialty cocktails -- the Iron Goddess was almost too pretty to drink; the Smoked Old Fashion hit the spot -- bacon in your drink seems a little peculiar, but the house-made bacon was delicious. All of our entrees were fabulous -- the sous vide pork chop with peaches was pronounced the best pork chop ever; the "chicken and dumplings" were succulent -- the gnocchi melted in your mouth, and the peas and carrots were two strips of colorful puree; the seeded serranos in chili the spiced lime grouper gave a nice flavor without being too hot. Our server Danielle was attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable. We will definitely be back the next time we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Probably the best retaraunt in Pensacola at the moment.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Unique, rather eclectic menu with great service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Third time eating here. Last time was only a few months after they opened in this location. As good as the best we've had at top restaurants in New York. Muscovy Duck was wonderful. Peach turnover was as good as my Aunt Annie's when I was a child. Root beer ice cream was deliciously home made. Service was excellent--just the right amount of friendly attention and knowledge about the menu and wine list without being the least bit pretentious or intrusive. I look forward to my next visit. I especially want to try the late night menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Always a Great dining experience, Alex is on top of his game! Service was spot on!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

My husband and I took his parents out for dinner here. We loved the atmosphere and the menu with a Southern flair but modern interpretations that were fun and tasty. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Spicy, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Healthy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

My daughter felt the fish was not cooked enough

Failed to serve second glass of wine with the meal.

Ambiance superior

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Outstanding dishes with Pork Chop and Chicken and Dumplings. Waiter Patrick was excellent. Only criticiszm is that I wish there was more intimate seating for a date, like more of a high back booth for example.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was outstanding. Special old fashioned drink was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our dinner was excellent! My date and I split the ribeye for two. The couple next to us ordered the ribeye and it looked so good that we also ordered it. This was my first visit after hearing positive things from friends. Jessica was our waitress. She was pleasant, knowledgeable and attentive just enough but not too much. I also enjoyed sitting at the counter watching the plates be artistically prepared. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Exceptional food and service! Our server made great recommendations and obviously knew the menu very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I really liked when you had the option for smaller portion sizes; I think you need a chocolate dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.