About Restaurant IRON

22 N Palafox Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
View Larger Map

Executive Chef, Alex McPhail has returned to his hometown after 6 years studying under some of the finest chefs in the industry in New Orleans. Taking culinary tips he picked up at Commander’s Palace, Restaurant August & the Roosevelt Hotel, Alex has created a dining environment unlike any other nearby.
Restaurant IRON serves Southern contemporary cuisine fueled by local vegetables and herbs from the creative minds of true Southerners. We aim to bring together fresh local and regional specialties with the finest flavors and ingredients to deliver a dining experience you won"t soon forget.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner

Tuesday - Thursday 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 4:30pm - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Garden Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 476-7776

Website:
http://www.restaurantiron.com/

Parking Details:
Feel free to use the parking on North Palafox St directly in front of the restaurant. Should you need additional parking, there is space available a block north on Palafox as well.

Executive Chef:
Alex McPhail

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant IRON
Restaurant IRON

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. 50% off all wines by the glass, 50% select wine bottles. Special valid May 14, 2016 - Sep 14, 2016 on Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. $5 for all menu cocktails. Special valid May 14, 2016 - Sep 14, 2016 on Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

Restaurant IRON Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Florida
Best Food
Northwest Florida
Best Service
Northwest Florida
6 More
Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Best Value
Northwest Florida
Fit for Foodies
Northwest Florida
Romantic
Northwest Florida
Special Occasion
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Pensacola
Best Restaurants in Pensacola ›

Special Occasion (91)
Fit for Foodies (90)
Romantic (51)
See All
Hot Spot (48)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Notable Wine List (43)
Late-night Find (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I read reviews about Iron and overheard ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

I read reviews about Iron and overheard a conversation about it earlier in the week. The food was good although a little pricey for my taste. Every item is made in house, so it was disappointing not to have real ketchup. The amuse bouche was a great addition to my dining experience- unexpected and fun. My meal was good, but not the best place I've eaten at in Pensacola. I will say that my cocktails were unique and tasty - the bartenders were attentive and I felt feeling my business was valued.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I have never had a meal here I didn't en ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have never had a meal here I didn't enjoy. The food is creative, delicious, and artistically presented. I will come back whenever I'm in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Iron continues to wow on each visit. In ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Iron continues to wow on each visit. Inventive salads... entrees in two sizes... fish always freshest... and an enthusiastic and well modulated wait staff. Always a treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoy Iron but our experience ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We really enjoy Iron but our experience on Saturday night was not good. There were four of us eating, and two of us were served our main meal, but the waitress told us someone else had picked up the other two and they would have to wait. So two of us sat there for 10 minutes with our dinner, letting it get cold, waiting. We found the food a bit salty and they were out of two dishes we ordered. Must have just been an off night as usually it is top shelf!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was prepared perfectly and disp ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was prepared perfectly and displayed beautifully. Our server was unobtrusively attentive throughout the evening. The music was in the background and conversation at the table was easy to hear. Crisp modern feel in an historic setting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing! I had the cheese plate and the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing! I had the cheese plate and the ancho chili duck. The service was great and the drinks were delicious! Overall great food and a great experience in the Pensacola area!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my girlfriend here for her bir ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I brought my girlfriend here for her birthday. Our server was very well informed about the menu and made great suggestions. She had the salmon and I had the steak. Portion size was great and both dishes were cooked to our preference. Love that they put a candle on her dessert (Nutella cake w/ pretzel crust - so delicious!) so she could make a wish. Very positive experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful all around dining experience. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful all around dining experience.

The waitress explanation of each entree was perfect. She was pleasant, just the right amount of tentativeness and presented well.

The food presentation added to it's appeal and the quality was extraordinary. Restaurant IRON is a quality dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for our 26th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went for our 26th wedding anniversary. My wife went here for the first time with her sister back in May 2016. They both enjoyed their meal and service so much that we went back again. Finding a restaurant in this town that offers exceptional food is extremely difficult. The service is high class, the food is gourmet, the overall experience was phenomenal . If you're wanting a dining experience that meets all your expectations this is the place to go. .

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Iron numerous times and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have been to Iron numerous times and each time, they deliver the goods. The ambience, food and service are first class. Make sure you try the ceasar salad. All of the entrees are fabulous but personal favorite is the Duck. Can't go wrong with a dinner at Iron.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Iron delivers once again. We ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Restaurant Iron delivers once again. We made our reservation through OpenTable and the hostess had everything ready when we arrived. Our server was very knowledgeable about how each dish is prepared and gave us great recommendations. Although the restaurant always seems full, the whole operation is very efficient and courses come out at just the right time. We will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love to dine in Pensacola, Iron was reco ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love to dine in Pensacola, Iron was recommended by a friend. From the time we walked in the door to the time we left the service was outstanding. The menu was unique and exciting. My gumbo was as good as any I've eaten in New Orleans. Iron is a must try if you are in town!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service, amazing food and creati ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing service, amazing food and creative yummy drinks!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious regionally influenced food tha ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Delicious regionally influenced food that was well thought out, and paired with great service. All the cocktails from the bar were outstanding or better. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten here before. They had a p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We have eaten here before. They had a problem with gnats that night and they were annoying. Other than that, what a great place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Went to celebrate a Birthday! The drinks ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Went to celebrate a Birthday! The drinks were perfection! Our meals were delicious! Our service was great! We really love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The selection of whiskies--High West's S ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The selection of whiskies--High West's Silver, for example--is great. The servers are attentive and very know their food and drink. The Tuesday 1/2 off wines was a great value with fine wines. Foods are interesting and run from very good to great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our second visit and just as good. The ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Our second visit and just as good. The most creative food in Pensacola area today. Excellent cocktails. Very good wine prices in general and reduced prices on Tuesdays. Appetizers of foie gras, and salads excellent. We have now had most of the main courses and you cannot go wrong with any of them. Duck was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening! First time for us and won ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great evening! First time for us and won't be the last. Food and service were great. It's not a large place and can feel pretty "cozy", a private table not likely at the height of the evening traffic. However, that was part of the charm, we chatted with those tables next to us and it was really nice to share observations about the dishes we had ordered. All in all a wonderful evening, we will return very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Notably one of the best meals we have ev ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Notably one of the best meals we have ever had at a restaurant. Chef Alex McPhail is outstanding and we would recommend IRON to anyone desiring a fantastic meal. My wife has extensive food allergies that causes quite a bit of a challenge in dining out, let alone her meal having any flavor and her meal was so flavorful. My comment at the end of the meal was "I'm sorry that's over". Enough said. Go, go, go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed dinner very much. The food wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We enjoyed dinner very much. The food was very well done in attractive presentation. The service was excellent and the restaurant had an open, clean feel to it. The portions were a bit small, and the fresh fish preparation was not exceptional. All else was very enjoyable, finely prepared, great atmosphere that we would recommend to like-minded diners. We enjoy fine cuisine as much as possible and don't mind paying a bit more for great food and exclusive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our new favorite restaurant!!! Ambiance ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our new favorite restaurant!!! Ambiance, greeting, service, uniforms, drinks, kitchen, FOOD... nothing was wrong... at all!!! I want to go back every single weekend.

Worth the hour drive from Destin... beats every single restaurant around

-FEMfoodie

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bread pudding was on point. Everythi ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The bread pudding was on point. Everything on every plate had some thought behind it. Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. The local cheese ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was excellent. The local cheese some of the best we have ever had; the salmon was fresh and delicious; the caesar salad was beautiful and tasty; the duck was good; the espresso bread pudding and Nutella pie were awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything good. Server Nick was attenti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Everything good. Server Nick was attentive and very pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our Anniversary was made even more memor ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our Anniversary was made even more memorable by the server and the wonderful food, elegantly prepared with wonderfully diverse flavors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A little too trendy for old folks. We p ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A little too trendy for old folks. We prefer well-prepared, tasty, but ordinary food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The entree was superior. Considering the ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The entree was superior. Considering the price and the region a small dinner salad or green side would have been reasonable and appreciated. Most diners don't need a full head of romaine but would enjoy a small, chilled dinner salad. A small price to complete a comparatively expensive meal for the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely delicious new takes on southe ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolutely delicious new takes on southern favorites, well presented, nice ambience, and perfect noise level for conversation but bring a heavy wallet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best meal I have had in a very long ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The best meal I have had in a very long time. The food was akin to a fine art masterpiece. Every bite was an explosion of delicate mixtures of tantalizing flavors. Our waiter explained the menu in detail. Overall the best night out I can remember. I have already raved to everyone I know. You absolutely must check this venue out. I would highly recommend the duck. WOW!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my 2 favorite places to d ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is one of my 2 favorite places to dine. Service is outstanding, and the dishes are as delicious as they are aesthetically pleasing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What I loved the most was the twist the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

What I loved the most was the twist the chef puts on each dish. For example the Chicken N Dumplins are outstanding but definitely not your grandma's recipe! The Pork Schnitzel was also delicious. Oyster appetizer and Bread Pudding for dessert is my recommendation. Top notch service. Interesting bar area for cocktails or for dining. The drink list is unique and offers a variety of cocktails. Great atmosphere!

I can't wait to go back. This is definitely a must go to place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cobia on sweet corn and Summer veggies w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Cobia on sweet corn and Summer veggies was outstanding. As was the Florida Cantaloupe Soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alex is the real deal, his food is well ...

 
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Alex is the real deal, his food is well thought out and delicious. You eat with your eyes and the plate presentation is flawless. Campbell and Brett are amongst the finest bartenders in the area and the entire staff is very friendly and accommodating, hat's off to Mike for running a fantastic operation. This restaurant is a must if you are in the mood for great eclectic food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening. Wonderful food. Super s ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great evening. Wonderful food. Super service by well-trained, attentive, and smart wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Loved it!! Most innovative chef in Pensa ...

 
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Loved it!! Most innovative chef in Pensacola.... (And there are some good ones here)!

Just what we needed here.

Fresh food beautifully prepared. The menu changes constantly based on what is available fresh. No one else in Pensacola does that.

I am so happy to have a great, fresh approach to food here.

The service is impeccable, the bar tender an artist.

The chef and his kitchen staff a well oiled machine.

A must stop in Pensacola.

We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Iron was spot on Saturday night as alway ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Iron was spot on Saturday night as always. They never miss a beat. Chef Alex creativity is over the top. Really pleased with the entree option to choose between small plate/large plate based on your appetite. We are blessed to have a restaurant that ranks with the best of Atlanta and New Orleans in Pensacola.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dessert menu was pleasant.

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The dessert menu was pleasant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Wife birthday great experience second ti ...

 
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Wife birthday great experience second time at resturant will be back

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience as we cele ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a wonderful experience as we celebrated our 28th Wedding Anniversary. Our server was amazing and knew everything about the food. Prompt to serve and clear without being overbearing. The Host crew set us up with an out of the way table upon request and personalized the menus for our special occasion. The food was amazing...showing creativity and superb preparation. I'd highly recommend this establishment with reservations (as the walk-ins ended up at the bar) for a foodie or for a great night out with friends or a romantic occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.