Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Restaurant IRON

Executive Chef, Alex McPhail has returned to his hometown after 6 years studying under some of the finest chefs in the industry in New Orleans. Taking culinary tips he picked up at Commander’s Palace, Restaurant August & the Roosevelt Hotel, Alex has created a dining environment unlike any other nearby.
Restaurant IRON serves Southern contemporary cuisine fueled by local vegetables and herbs from the creative minds of true Southerners. We aim to bring together fresh local and regional specialties with the finest flavors and ingredients to deliver a dining experience you won"t soon forget.

22 N Palafox Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 4:30pm - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Garden Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 476-7776

Website:
http://www.restaurantiron.com/

Parking Details:
Feel free to use the parking on North Palafox St directly in front of the restaurant. Should you need additional parking, there is space available a block north on Palafox as well.

Executive Chef:
Alex McPhail

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant IRON Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (61)
Special Occasion (60)
Good for a Date (60)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (51)
Bar Seating (47)
Local Ingredients (45)
Romantic (40)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Worth the Drive (31)
Business Meals (28)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Authentic (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Fun (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Cozy (14)
Tasting Menu (11)
Casual (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Seasonal (10)
People Watching (9)
Organic (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Outstanding dishes with Pork Chop and Chicken and Dumplings. Waiter Patrick was excellent. Only criticiszm is that I wish there was more intimate seating for a date, like more of a high back booth for example.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was outstanding. Special old fashioned drink was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our dinner was excellent! My date and I split the ribeye for two. The couple next to us ordered the ribeye and it looked so good that we also ordered it. This was my first visit after hearing positive things from friends. Jessica was our waitress. She was pleasant, knowledgeable and attentive just enough but not too much. I also enjoyed sitting at the counter watching the plates be artistically prepared. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Exceptional food and service! Our server made great recommendations and obviously knew the menu very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I really liked when you had the option for smaller portion sizes; I think you need a chocolate dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I live in Pensacola and have never heard of this restaurant before and honestly selected Iron due to my 1st choice for dining was closed on Mondays. I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival and even more so with the level of service, cocktail selection and the menu. The service was outstanding and the food equally rivaled the service. I will definitely come back to Iron again as well as recommend it to friends and business associates.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We eat there on a regular basis. I literally don't think I've had a bad bite of food in that establishment. Just wonderful. Staff is top-notch as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Restaurant Iron is a do not miss! Beautiful food, great ambiance, and the cocktails were on point! We came for our two year anniversary and they customized the menus for us (I know its not a huge deal but my wife loved it!). All around a wonderful experience, our server Jess was wonderful and hats off to the chef!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Amazing food beautiful combination of flavors and great service!

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Went for my 10th anniversary and the food was incredible. We sat at the chef's bar and was able to watch our culinary experience being crafted. We will visit this restaurant again. Also, the food was reasonably priced when comparing them to other restaurants of this caliber.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

My first trip to Pensacola and Iron. What a lovely surprise on both counts. When my server recommended the Chicken & Dumplings, I stared at her! Trust me, it's not Gramma's Chicken & Dumplings. Sumptuous organic chicken breast, stuffed with Boursin cheese & served with feather light gnocci drizzled with a rosemary velvety sauce. Artistically plated with bright & colorful pea & carrot purees....it was a work of art. Just wish I had taken a photo. Paired with a lovely chardonnay & I was in heaven. Thanks to Chef Alex for a memorable dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Beautifully presented plates, but fell short in taste.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Tremendous food. Wife and I shared the Chicken and Dumplings and the Pork. The chicken was as flavorful as any chicken I've ever had. This is in my top 2 restaurants in Pensacola.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The visit to Iron was wonderful from start to finish! There was a limited menu but a wide variety on it that covered a wide range of flavors. Our server was Amber Powell and she was the best server we've ever had. she was very accommodating, great with explaining the plates and menus, and showed great personality! We will definelty be back and are excited to see what the team at Iron has to offer!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

We are frequent diners at Iron and we are never disappointed. This was a business meal and our guests were impressed. We had innovative cocktails and nice wines by the glass and bottle. The oysters/grouper cheeks were a hit as usual and all the entre's well received. Our server was attentive, friendly, and obviously experienced at Iron. We will of course be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

My wife and I chose Iron to celebrate our 24th Anniversary. The restaurant was welcoming and gracious in how they handled the occasion. The cocktails and all food were fantastic. We will be back. This was our first visit to Iron.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Went here for an anniversary. They personalized the menus for us to celebrate which was very sweet. Great food and drinks with the perfect amount of attentiveness from the wait staff. I had the duck while my significant other got the flank steak. We were a little surprised to find that the steak came out like nachos. An interesting twist. The bread pudding was delicious. They did not charge us for dessert, again making the anniversary night special. We will definitely be going back some time, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Anniversary of friends. Restaurant recognized and gave complimentary dessert. Excellent service. Very good food. Just a little pricey. Good happy hour specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Absolutely divine. The duck is the best duck I have ever eaten, anywhere. It is the kind of dish you have dreams about. Will most definitely be returning

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food, drinks, server, and atmosphere were great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Best place in Pensacola easily; fantastic people, food, music. I've never had a bad experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This is a Pensacola treasure and never disappoints you Will get nice surprises each visit
If it's on the menu and you think you want to try something; order it!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Awesome time great food drinks appetizers the best in pensacola

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very accommodating even with some guest arriving late. Dinner served was delicious and looks as beautiful as a piece of art . We had an excellent server and she was knowledgable of menu and very attentive to service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Restaurant Iron was spectacular as always. The chile rubbed Grouper with avocado, compressed watermelon, pickled onions in a lime/red wine vinegar jus was incredible. Light, healthy, spanking fresh, combination of flavors sent our taste buds into orbit. May try to replicate at home until I can get back to Iron again. Service was to perfection. Great balance of attention by their outstanding wait staff. Each and every plate passes Chef Alex' approval before it reaches your table. Chef Alex McPhail is a great talent Pensacola is so blessed to have. Many thanks Restaurant Iron!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Restaurant Iron. We arrived and were promptly seated for our anniversary. The dinner menu we both receieved had a heading congratulating us which was a nice touch. Service was good and attentive. Cocktails great. Food was good not great. Prices were way too high for value.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is the second visit to Iron and it has been great both times. My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and everything was perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Another fabulous meal! Great food & cocktails... Thank you Chef Alex, Campbell, Amber, Nick and the entire Restaurant Iron team of professionals!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Iron is one of our favorite restaurants in the Pensacola area. The service is always great and the food is terrific. You are made to feel very special when you dine at Iron. This occasion was a birthday celebration and the Iron staff treated the four of us very special, including a wonderful free dessert. I would recommend Iron as the place to go for any occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 10, 2017

It was perfect, food was really delicious, awesome drinks and really friendly stuff, I'm going back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This was quite possibly the best meal that we've ever experienced. This place is known for its great food and service, but I think they may have actually outdone themselves tonight. Our server Hayden had incredible suggestions for each course. Appetizers were to die for, cocktails from the bar were nothing short of extraordinary, desert was out of this world. Just not really sure how you could top the experience we had tonight. Would HIGHLY recommend to any traveling visitors or locals who haven yet to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Excellent menu and service. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Iron continues to be one of the best restaurants in the Pensacola area. The starters were exceptional. The entrees were good. The steak & fish were excellent. However, the pork was a bit dry and the "chicken n dumplings" needed more seasoning. Desserts were worth the calories, especially the Nutella ice box pie. Our server was fantastic!!

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Never disappointed with Iron! Great take on Southern dining.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Iron continues to be Pensacola's best restaurant. The truth is it does not have competition as it is in its own category of excellent. Great innovative meals and drinks. I highly recommend Iron. Even the Caeser Salad is unique and amazing. Please give this restaurant a try. The Bread pudding dessert is a work of art.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We started with the grouper cheeks and oysters which were good and I had the chicken and dumplings which was wonderful. My husbands meal was NOT GOOD. He had the pork chop which he had to send back. It was so TOUGH he couldn't cut it with a steak knife. They brought him another that was not cooked as much but it still was not good and was just a bad piece of meat:(. The atmosphere and wait staff were great. Would go back just DO NOT GE THE PORK CHOP.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Still best restaurant in Pensacola, Fl. (I've been saying that for the last several years now) Best Presentations hands down, nice use of local ingredients, knowledge staff . The only negative thing is It's difficult to have large parties.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The Iron Restaurant is a elegant and wonderful atmosphere. The food is superb and delicious. An expensive meal, but well worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a wonderful first experience! Great southern food served in perfect portions. The service was phenomenal- from our waitress, to the cooks, and the bartenders. I recommend sitting at the counter where you are able to observe the cooks preparing meals or the bartenders crafting cocktails. Save room for dessert, I highly recommend the Ice Box Nutella Pie- served with candied pecans and salted caramel sauce! Perfect balance of salty and sweet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.