About Restaurant IRON

22 N Palafox Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
View Larger Map

Executive Chef, Alex McPhail has returned to his hometown after 6 years studying under some of the finest chefs in the industry in New Orleans. Taking culinary tips he picked up at Commander’s Palace, Restaurant August & the Roosevelt Hotel, Alex has created a dining environment unlike any other nearby.
Restaurant IRON serves Southern contemporary cuisine fueled by local vegetables and herbs from the creative minds of true Southerners. We aim to bring together fresh local and regional specialties with the finest flavors and ingredients to deliver a dining experience you won"t soon forget.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner

Tuesday - Thursday 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 4:30pm - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Garden Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 476-7776

Website:
http://www.restaurantiron.com/

Parking Details:
Feel free to use the parking on North Palafox St directly in front of the restaurant. Should you need additional parking, there is space available a block north on Palafox as well.

Executive Chef:
Alex McPhail

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. 50% off all wines by the glass, 50% select wine bottles. Special valid May 14, 2016 - Sep 14, 2016 on Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM.
45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. $5 for all menu cocktails. Special valid May 14, 2016 - Sep 14, 2016 on Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

Restaurant IRON Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Florida
Best Food
Northwest Florida
Best Service
Northwest Florida
6 More
Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Fit for Foodies
Northwest Florida
Romantic
Northwest Florida
Special Occasion
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Pensacola
Best Restaurants in Pensacola ›

special occasion (72)
fit for foodies (65)
romantic (49)
See All
notable wine list (32)
hot spot (32)
neighborhood gem (26)
vibrant bar scene (22)
late-night find (18)
good for groups (10)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The peanut soup was delicious and I enjo ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The peanut soup was delicious and I enjoyed the presentation and flavor of the Caesar salad. The staff were courteous and helpful. They even printed customized menus with a "Happy Birthday" message to my son (whose birthday we were celebrating). It was a great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iron blew my mined away, it really was s ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Iron blew my mined away, it really was some of the best tasting food I have ate in a long time, the service was exquisite, I reserved for my wife and I anniversary ahead of time and they made sure it was a little extra special even though there are no private areas. The restrooms were exceptionally clean, the atmosphere just was prime. I have and will continue to tell my friends and family about this place and will return, absolutely wonderful!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service by Danielle was awesome! Food w ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service by Danielle was awesome! Food was delicious!! Thank you!!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic. We love Iron.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Best ribeye I've ever had. Also highly recommend the oyster appetizer, and bread pudding for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

"Innovatively" good... Can't go wrong.. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

"Innovatively" good... Can't go wrong... We had the duck, salmon, foie gras pb&j... Awesome!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Some of the most amazing food I've had i ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Some of the most amazing food I've had in a long time. We ordered the fried oysters (amazing) and Red Eye Gravy Poutine (very salty, but creative take on the Canadian dish) for appetizers. The Muscovy Duck and "Chicken & Dumplings" were both amazing too. The wait staff at both the bar and table were super knowledgeable and very friendly. The wine list ranges from reasonably priced to Opus One caliber. The house made mixed drinks were extremely creative and flavorful. This rates in my top 10 restaurants of all time.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic dinner. My daughter recommend ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Fantastic dinner. My daughter recommended Iron, and she was right. A small place with the most creative and delicious menu in Pensacola. Presentation of the food is beautiful and the taste fantastic. Wide variation of flavors, including southern, Asian, and others. Politically incorrect foie gras is amazing. The duck, and lamb neck were excellent. My daughter enjoyed the deconstructed chicken and dumplings. Good cocktail and wine selections. A real gem addition to Pensacola

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If they have the Beet Ravioli - Order It

Dined on May 12, 2016

My wife and I went to Iron because they have Sazerac, a rye whiskey cocktail and it was our anniversary. The Sazerac was wonderful but the highlight of the dinner was the Beet Ravioli appetizer. Unfortunately, (or maybe not) Iron changes its menu with the available local ingredients. I checked today and the Beet Ravioli is not currently available. But, what can I say it was wonderful (or more so, since I have already raved about the Sazerac). It makes me sad to rave about something that was there then and gone today, but you can also find a similar fresh wonder when you go. Sort of lots of dollars, but great service, and wonders are there for your choosing. Enjoy!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Iron. The food is so wonderful an ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I love Iron. The food is so wonderful and everyone makes you feel like family.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dining experience!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food, service , and overall experience was simply outstanding. I definitely recommend IRON. Exceptionally well executed dishes with an extremely knowledgable staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This a 5 star restaurant.

Dined on May 6, 2016

The staff is well trained. No server speak, no joining the table conversation. Alex, the chef is outstanding. This is a gem. We go twice a month. The restaurant is very well run. Not common in Pensacola.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Innovative Menu

Dined on May 6, 2016

Iron emphasizes using fresh local ingredients and the menu shows it. Everything we had was delicious and prepared to order. The dessert menu is also clever and good. It was a delightful dining experience and we definitely will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Took my parents and brother and SIL. Was their first time at Iron. All enjoyed it immensely. The poutine and oysters were great starters. The lamb and triggerfish entrees were fabulous. All desserts were wonderful... Hard to choose a favorite. I love their cocktails and the wine list is extensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Dinner was truly amazing in every aspect ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Dinner was truly amazing in every aspect. From the vast foodie knowledge the waiter shared, to cocktails, to presentation, to dessert, it was a decadent experience overall. We had the Cobia dish that was a delicious work of art. The Marcus Caesar salad was carefully crafted with a homemade crouton ring around it, and I'm glad the dressing was authentic and house made; but wasn't fishy ( some folks get too pretentious with the anchovy). The house made ginger beer must be sampled. The ribeye steak was near perfect. The crust was crunchy and it was ordered medium rare and came out just right. It was served with Five different mushrooms, but I do wish the chef added more mushrooms... for a 20 oz steak...you need a little extra of green and shroom to keep the palate percolated. The fried cornmeal oysters with candied bacon was a hit! I only wish there was a bit more bacon to accompany 5 oysters...and I wish it was bit more candied. Otherwise, a perfect sea starter. The desserts were absolutely lovely. The burnt coffee bread pudding was just intoxicating. The pb cookie with raspberry milk was a flashback to being a kid again. I could do without the raspberry milk...it lacked thickness of milk and did not actually compliment the texture or flavor of peanut butter. Sometimes you just want regular milk or not at all. Restaurant Iron is geographically hard to pinpoint, and I love a place that keeps you guessing and yet transports you all over the map. Kudos...can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was very professional. Unique cuisine experience! You can tell right away with the first bite that this place knows what they are doing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a "10!"

Dined on April 22, 2016

I've eaten at Iron several times over the past few years. I love the relatively "new" location. Iron never disappoints. Danielle, our server, was her usual fantastic self. Very enjoyable time. I always recommend Iron.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Iron made our anniversary very special. ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Iron made our anniversary very special. They even printed "happy anniversary" on our menu with our name. By far our fav place to dine in downtown pcola! Food,service, and ambience is outstanding! Our waiter Patrick was amazing as usual! Great job Iron! Your the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A Real Pleasure

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our 26th anniversary! We were stunned to see at the top of our menus: Happy 26th anniversay, Mr&Mrs xxxxx! Followed be 5 star food,great service, and great ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'll be back!

Dined on April 19, 2016

I've heard how amazing this restaurant is and I'm so glad that I finally had a chance to try it out. I love how they support so many local businesses. Worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service

Dined on April 19, 2016

First time to the Iron. Can not wait to return. Matt our server was so knowledgable of the menu, very attentive even tho it seemed a sell-out. He earned a 30% tip for just two people. The food was fantastic with the Lamb dish being double outstanding. Catch of the day at half serving was very good and plenty of food. I could go on and on. I want to meet the chef next visit. He is so good with choice and presentation. Drinks were cold!! We have already told 8-10 people. Don and Connie

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was top notch. All of the food t ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Service was top notch. All of the food tasted amazing and was presented beautifully. The cocktails were delicious. I would definitely go back!

food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service were wonderful.

Dined on April 7, 2016

The food and service were wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iron

Dined on April 6, 2016

Went to Iron before a show at the Saenger. It was our first time but we are locals. The food was great and the service by Laura was excellent. Although different for Pensacola the atmosphere was very nice. The prices were reasonable for the quality of the food and service. We will come back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect night out!

Dined on April 5, 2016

We had reviewed the website - Intrigued we tried it on a Tuesday night. Great Bartender, great inventive dishes that were wonderful, great service and some good deals at reduced prices for selected wines from the wine list. We have been going to Pensacola for 40 years and now have a new by far most favorite restaurant. WE will go back

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was amazing and quite possibly the best food in Pensacola! My wife and I were there for our anniversary and they even printed custom menus off for us with our name on them! The food was presented in an incredibly professional manner and the service was as good as it gets. If you're in Pensacola, this restaurant is a must!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience...

Dined on March 22, 2016

We live quite a ways out of town, but IRON is our first choice for dinner with friends...interesting food without being goofy...great service...very nice wine (fun bar drinks, too). It's top of our list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Jessica is a godsend. Wonderful, helpful ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Jessica is a godsend. Wonderful, helpful and knowledgeable.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Entrees left a lot to be desired

Dined on March 12, 2016

Appetizers were great! (Kale salad and ravioli) The duck and shrimp and grits had a lot to be desired. Could just be my personal preference, the duck should have been cooked all the way thru vice the chef's recommendation of medium rare? The shrimp and grits were ok, both myself and my girlfriend felt that fish house has you guys beat by far in that department. The dessert (bread pudding) was out of this world. To be honest if it wasn't for your apps and dessert I would have given you guys a 2 out of 5 but both the dessert and apps left such a life altering effect on us we couldn't have been happier.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

This is now among my favorite venues in ...

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

This is now among my favorite venues in Pensacola. The dining was a very enjoyable experience and I highly recommend you give Restaurant IRON a try.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Food

Dined on February 24, 2016

The four of us opted for the small plate offerings - so we could try more things - and everything we ordered was delicious. Our server was friendly and very helpful in describing the selections. It was a lovely evening. We look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant wonderful staff & waiter!!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Prices were expected to be high when you have a cheat who prepares new foods weekly. Fresh food and ingredients wonderful ambiance and style to the restaurant great drink menu of you go ask for Matt he is super knowledgeable about the menu and attentive good personality enjoyed a lovely anniversary dinner here everything we tried wa amazing I recommend the veal and purple sweet potatoes yum also their French press coffee is smooth and rich If you do have room for dessert try the salted Carmel bread pudding you won't be disappointed large serving will eat here again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant in Pensacola!

Dined on February 20, 2016

My husband and I went to Restaurant Iron for the first time as a belated Valentine's day dinner. The service was superb. The food was fabulous. We would definitely go again. We had the fries and the PB&J foie gras as appetizers. The fries were the best I have ever had in my life. We went with the small order (at the wise recommendation of our server) and could not finish them, they were so rich. They are drizzled with truffle oil and are divine. The foie gras was also a treat -- I was expecting something different but it was tasty. If I had to choose between the two I would probably go with the fries (and that is a huge statement since I do not normally even like french fries that much.) For our meals i had the 1/2 portion of the veal tenderloin and the 1/2 portion of the shrimp and grits. My husband did the same. Everything was exquisite. We were expecting the portions to be miniscule like most high-end restaurants, that is why we ordered a full portion meal. We really should have just ordered a 1/2 portion, because we were stuffed by the time dessert came around. We went ahead and ordered it anyway. Best bread pudding ever (I believe caramel was involved?) with homemade ice cream too -- it was the perfect end to a perfect evening. We couldn't finish the dessert -- so we boxed it to go and enjoyed it as a delectable treat later. So my tips: if you are planning on apps and dessert, then definitely go with a 1/2 size portion. Also, if you want a quieter experience, book early in the evening . Our reservations were around 6 pm - -I believe we left around 8 or 8:30 pm. The restaurant was starting to get a little loud by the time we left. We were glad we had the quieter moments earlier in the evening. We will definitely be back -- enjoyed this so much more than Jackson's.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Welcome to downtown pcola!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Exceptional food and service (Matt took care of us). Dusted oysters for starters and the succulent duck for our main. Paired with an excellent value red blend Matt recommended. We will definitely be making Iron a regular habit.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Overpriced bison. Tasty beer.

Dined on February 20, 2016

I love that IRON uses fresh local produce and adds a fresh spin to classic dishes. The drawback is they are overpriced. My date and I both ordered bison ribeye. For $42 per plate, I thought maybe it would at least come with a side salad. Instead, it was just the ribeye with some mushrooms (and 2 pearl onions) on top. Instead of being medium rare they were very rare, "blue" in the center and were half fat. Also, for that price I thought at the very least it would be seasoned properly. I found it to be rather bland. Next time, I will stick to grilling my own bison at home (ordered from NebraskaBison.com) for better quality and a fraction of the price. If I return to restaurant IRON it will be strictly for their Back Forty Truck Stop Brown Ale and their white truffle fries.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding! ! Absolutely one o ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Food was outstanding! ! Absolutely one of the best places we've ever eaten!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I only gave them a four because they wer ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

I only gave them a four because they were out of the Buffalo tenderloin.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfection

Dined on February 13, 2016

Everything about Restaurant IRON, from the clean, urban interior to the service to the food on the plate, is simply perfect. Chef Alex's menu of locally-sourced ingredients, cunningly combined into deceptively straightforward yet complex flavor pairings, is incredible. The service was excellent and the bar menu whiskey list was surprisingly extensive. I would eat here every night if I could.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

A treat

Dined on February 13, 2016

Iron has great food and atmosphere . Our only quibble was that our waiter started out great but became scarce as the occasion wore on. Perhaps this was due to him having to take care of too many tables ?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice dinner out

Dined on February 13, 2016

We ate here the Saturday before Valentine's Day. They had a few specials which all seemed great, excellent wine menu, and very prompt service. It's pricey but good quality so be ready to spend $40 a person on entrees and $50 on wine at least. This is before tax and tip. We spent $220 for 2 people ( with tax and tip) and didn't go too crazy. Areas for improvement : - It was a little odd that we got there spot on reservation time and had to wait a few minutes for a table. Totally not a big deal ( realize you can't control all timing ) but the odd thing was they just left you stand there by the hostess stand ( no seating) and everyone kind of looked at you. They should tell you to sit at the bar or reconfigure that area in some way. - Also, there is one 2 top table about 10 feet from the door which I would have been horrified to get. Luckily we did not. They shouldn't have that table there. Make sure you request not to have that table. - i felt a little food shamed when I asked for equal with my French press. " we don't have any of the artificial sweeteners" was the response from our waiter and it was just a little snarky in the tone. I felt as if I had committed food sin by asking. - Chocolate flourless torte s a little dry. I compare everything to the Ruth Chris classic which is always spot on. This one was lacking. I realize these are nit picky suggestions but at a premium price point these are the kinds of things that can make a difference. I would clearly go back (good ratings).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Foodies delight

Dined on February 10, 2016

Gourmet in Pensacola. Fresh, local ingredients prepared with great skill, served by a knowledgeable wait staff. Great wine pairings and a quality stocked bar. Portions were reasonable with the focus on quality not quantity. Presentation confirmed you were in the hands of a chef who loves his/her work. The balance of flavors perfect in every dish. This was on a Tuesday night so not very busy and the food arrived fast and hot - I have a feeling it will be the same on a busy night. Not a huge menu (a positive thing) but varied so that there is something for everyone. The cheeses from a local small farm were an incredible find - European like in quality. Hats off to the chef - a gastronomic maestro. Why did we wait so long to go here?! Wonderful experience and highly recommended - in fact I would rate Iron as best in Pensacola.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.