About Restaurant IRON

22 N Palafox Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
View Larger Map

Executive Chef, Alex McPhail has returned to his hometown after 6 years studying under some of the finest chefs in the industry in New Orleans. Taking culinary tips he picked up at Commander’s Palace, Restaurant August & the Roosevelt Hotel, Alex has created a dining environment unlike any other nearby.
Restaurant IRON serves Southern contemporary cuisine fueled by local vegetables and herbs from the creative minds of true Southerners. We aim to bring together fresh local and regional specialties with the finest flavors and ingredients to deliver a dining experience you won"t soon forget.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 4:30pm - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Garden Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 476-7776

Website:
http://www.restaurantiron.com/

Parking Details:
Feel free to use the parking on North Palafox St directly in front of the restaurant. Should you need additional parking, there is space available a block north on Palafox as well.

Executive Chef:
Alex McPhail

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Restaurant IRON, Pensacola, FL

Report a photo problem

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. 50% off all wines by the glass and select bottles. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - May 9, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Chef Alex will prepare a fixed price, six course tasting menu. The cost per person is $95, with an optional wine or cocktail pairing for $30. The seatings will be at 5:30PM and 8PM. Credit Card required for reservations. $50 charge assessed per person if you cancel within 72 hours of the event.

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. $5 for all menu cocktails. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - May 9, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

Restaurant IRON Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (51)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Open Kitchen (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Romantic (31)
Modern Decor (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Bar Seating (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (18)
Business Meals (15)
Fun (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Cozy (13)
Seasonal (12)
Healthy (12)
Organic (11)
Comfort Food (9)
People Watching (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tapas (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was outstanding, the chef super ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was outstanding, the chef superb at creating a tasty masterpiece that focuses on seasonally fresh foods. Most impressed with the wait staff. They were exceptional. For a small restaurant they moved quietly to and from tables. Their knowledge of the wine list, pairing and menu was hands down the best I've had in a very long time. Excellent 360 dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A real disappointment. Found food just n ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A real disappointment. Found food just not good. Not a fan and cannot recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The foie gras appetizer was one of the b ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The foie gras appetizer was one of the best I've ever had. Each course was thoughtfully created and beautifully presented. Bravo Chef McPhail you certainly learned from your New Orleans experience and made it your own.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative fine food with attentive but ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Innovative fine food with attentive but casual service

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent though they were out ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was excellent though they were out of the two entrees I really wanted. My wife does not meat so her entree choices were limited as well as they only had two fish options. That being said she very much enjoyed the grouper. The service was amazing and our waitress was very knowledgeable about all of the dishes, she was happy to talk us through the menu and offer recommendations. She was there when we needed her but never in the way. You pay for the quality of the food but you also get generous portions so you wont leave hungry. I will be back though cant afford to go on a regular basis.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was unique with great new flavo ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The food was unique with great new flavors. I would rate the food as excellent. The service was superb and this was my first time eating here. I will be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time in Iron since Marcus Pointe. ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

First time in Iron since Marcus Pointe. It was Outstanding. Had a great time. Great Job by everyone there.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an amazing restaurant with a ble ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is an amazing restaurant with a blend of

Flavors that is amazing!

Service is very nice it is definitely a gem!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Organic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great all around restaurant that brings ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great all around restaurant that brings a unique taste and ambiance to the Pensacola area. Restaurant reminds me of the taste and atmosphere found in the Austin, TX area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best restaurants in P ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in Pensacola I have eaten at! Please make sure you bring all your friends and family here at least once. It will blow you away from the drinks, to the hospitality and best quality local food you will put in your mouth!! Quit reading this review and reserve a table NOW!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter, Nick was upbeat and informat ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The waiter, Nick was upbeat and informative. Great service! The food was incredible! Took one bite of the cheeses ruffle fries and thought "WOW"! The chicken and dumplings was excellent and I rarely ever order chicken in a restaurant. It had complementing flavors without a lot of spice. The dumplings dipped in the rosemary sauce was a Noel idea and very flavorful. The chicken was cooked to perfection and paired with the Boursin cheese and carrot purree. Wonderful flavors! My husband had the lamb shank. Tender and flavorful. He headed the other half up the ne t morning and the whole house smelled like the restaurant and we were ready to go back that night.

Try the Nutella pie. It is mild and creamy.

Overall a great experience! We will be back the next time we are in town.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and cocktails. Love food pre ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food and cocktails. Love food presentation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As long time local residents, we are ama ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 5, 2017

As long time local residents, we are amazed that we have not taken the opportunity to dine here before!! A Christmas Gift Card led the way; and we will definitely go back. Loved the Lamb Shank entree and the Iron Goddess cocktail. A memorable evening- Many Thanks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall the food was excellent. The beet ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall the food was excellent. The beet carpaccio course was the weakest. The balance was off and the cheese accompanying it was most of the problem. The course size was perfect, however I expected a little more luxurious ingredients for a 125 price tag. The paired wines were fabulous except the last one served. Undrinkable. The dessert course was also poor. All in all worth the price tag (barely). Service was totally excellent and would do it again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Stupid Good. It's hard to believe you ar ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Stupid Good. It's hard to believe you aren't in NYC - where the food would be almost this good and 3 times the cost. I've been wowed twice now here!! The services has been excellent as well. I can't say enough good things!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were greeted immediately and shown to ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We were greeted immediately and shown to our seats by a very nice hostess team. Our server was with us right away and made great drink suggestions as well as appetizers. We tried them and they were great. I had the wagyu Burger and highly recommend it. My wife had the lamb shank and said it was the best she ever had! We cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing - Very different but re ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was amazing - Very different but really enjoyed it. Not crazy expensive like everyone made it sound the prices were really good! Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal. Table ready on time. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had a great meal. Table ready on time. Nice waitress. Great ribeye and grouper.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef McPhail is the most innovative culi ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Chef McPhail is the most innovative culinary mind in Pensacola right now. We had a Tagliatelle dish with a buttery satsuma sauce that was as compelling as anything we ever had in Italy when we lived there. His Elk Chop was impossibly tender and perfectly cooked. Just go here. You'll never be disappointed by this menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy to see Pensacola gain a new fine d ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Happy to see Pensacola gain a new fine dining venue. Very creative food, well trained service at the kitchen bar craft drinks, small but interesting wine list and all very reasonable. That's from someone who eats in New Orleans!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Fabulous wait staff and. The lamb shank ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fabulous wait staff and. The lamb shank was out of this world

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved it. A very special Christmas Eve d ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Loved it. A very special Christmas Eve dinner. Everything was rich and light simultaneously. Exquisite creative cuisine by a chef whose creations are culinary art. The off the cuff vegetarian plate was a masterpiece. I also recommend dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decor is understated and minimalist but ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Decor is understated and minimalist but not to get point of being stark, just definitely very simple and all about the food. We enjoyed hearing our favorite Portishead songs being played so this music and atmosphere definitely feels geared toward twenty and thirty somethings. Especially nice that the restaurant didn't play xmas songs (this was 12.23) though we enjoy Christmas and it's music it is nice not to hear it everywhere, everyday. Our server was very efficient, pleasant and knowledgeable and made for a well orchestrated evening. Cocktail list was nice and what we tasted was very good but considering the caliber and style of food, more old world wines would be nice on the wines list by the glass, especially those from France, Spain and maybe Germany. Starters were very underwhelming and I would definitely not recommend the grouper cheeks. Entrees made up for this as they were spectacular. Lamb shank was the best we've ever tasted and my duck was also fantastic. Icebox Nutella pie closed the evening very well and my glass of tokaji was a welcome addition since this is very hard to find on dessert lists in bigger cities much less in pensacola. Would definitely go back but we will forgo first courses unless the menu changes.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent, especially the f ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was excellent, especially the fried oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went to Iron for a date ni ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My wife and I went to Iron for a date night. Our reservation was ready when we arrived. We had a great table away from the counters, as I requested in my online reservation. Our server was excellent. He recommended cocktails and went over the appetizers and dinner menu. I was particularly fond of the Gold Rush cocktail. We decided to get two different entrees and share them. We ordered the porkchop and the grouper. Both were excellent, although the porkchop was a bit dry. I think it needed a sauce on top, not necessarily around the plate. Overall, a wonderful dining experience. Iron definitely ranks in my top three restaurants for the downtown area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Another outstanding culinary experience. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Another outstanding culinary experience. We had the chicken and dumplings, pork chop and duck. All were very good and presentations creative. We really like this restaurant as it consistently top notch. The front of the house wait staff is as good as it gets too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a restaurant for foodies. The c ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This is a restaurant for foodies. The chef is top shelf and Patrick who attended to us provided outstanding service. The food is outstanding and the service matches the quality of the food. The Chefs presentation skills rival those of Michelin Stars restaurants. I only wish we lived in the area, we would be regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been wanting to try this place for ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Have been wanting to try this place for a long time and finally made the plunge. Was fantastic and would highly recommend. We thought the portions would be too small since it is a nicer place, but they were the perfect size and I even had to take some of the lamb home because I could not finish it all. Would highly recommend and chicken and dumplings that my girlfriend got!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Great service. Always is the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food. Great service. Always is the case at IRON. Super consistent and always first class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

NEVER disappoints. Most sophisticated ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

NEVER disappoints. Most sophisticated menu in town - by far. Superb wait staff. Could take a bath in the chocolate Brulé and live on the root salad and tagliatelle. Would love to see a couple of vegetarian entrée options .

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iron is a fantastic restaurant where Che ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Iron is a fantastic restaurant where Chef Alec cares about the quality and artistry of the food. Matt, our server's attention to detail was second to none. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made reservations for a birthday dinner. ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Made reservations for a birthday dinner...when we arrived our table was ready. We noticed the menu...was personalized... with Happy Birthday & and date printed in RED. Our server was knowledgeable and personable...all of our requests were met and exceeded in most cases.

Each dish we ordered was incredible...we were not served anything that would be considered average...this was truly a wonderful dining experience!

We highly recommend IRON...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love Iron. Chef McPhail is to ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Absolutely love Iron. Chef McPhail is top notch with everything he does. Friendly staff, amazing cocktails from the bar. The food is phenomenal. Love the creativity from beginning to end. You leave the restaurant ready to return as soon as possible!

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Iron several times and ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have dined at Iron several times and have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is little left to be desired with ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

There is little left to be desired with Alex and his entire well-trained staff. The menu is always innovative, maximally using local options. The creativity of the offerings strikes just the right note of gastronomy, whimsy and brilliant execution. It is our only stop when we overnight in Pensacola.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, again! Our meal was amazing ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Outstanding, again! Our meal was amazing and Pat our server was a pleasure to work with and was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list . My wife had Elk and it was amazing!! I had pork chop and I was equally impressed. The entire staff from the hostess, wait staff and bartenders always make you feel like you are there only priority and the restaurant is packed.

You will not be disappointed here!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite Pensacola places. Not ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 8, 2016

One of my favorite Pensacola places. Noted the lack of perfect on service was due to crowd overwhelming the wait staff . Our bottle of wine missed our meal.He comped one of the two glasses that we purchased when he eventually remembered or got to us. They missed a full bottle sale because we were practically finished when he came to us. Very polite, concerned and knowledgeable about everything on the menu. But when you purchase the the two most expensive things on the menu , Pairing the perfect wine speech looses its relevance if it shows up for your last two bites. This will not effect my opinion at all on the place, I may time my dinning experience for less popular time slots so wait staff isnt so in the weeds.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Organic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Outstanding duck and pork and our waiter ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Outstanding duck and pork and our waiter was very intuitive, always sensing our needs and delivering to accommodate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Nutella icebox dessert was the perfe ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The Nutella icebox dessert was the perfect ending to our meal. It had just the right combination of salty/sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had Caesar salad, seasonal salad and ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We had Caesar salad, seasonal salad and we shared the large ribeye. I really like the sangiovese by the glass and Matt took good care of us. I think buying a gift card on the way out pretty much establishes how we feel about Iron.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.