Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.61mi

About Restaurant IRON

Executive Chef, Alex McPhail has returned to his hometown after 6 years studying under some of the finest chefs in the industry in New Orleans. Taking culinary tips he picked up at Commander’s Palace, Restaurant August & the Roosevelt Hotel, Alex has created a dining environment unlike any other nearby.
Restaurant IRON serves Southern contemporary cuisine fueled by local vegetables and herbs from the creative minds of true Southerners. We aim to bring together fresh local and regional specialties with the finest flavors and ingredients to deliver a dining experience you won"t soon forget.

22 N Palafox Street
Pensacola, FL 32502
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 4:30pm - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
Garden Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 476-7776

Website:
http://www.restaurantiron.com/

Parking Details:
Feel free to use the parking on North Palafox St directly in front of the restaurant. Should you need additional parking, there is space available a block north on Palafox as well.

Executive Chef:
Alex McPhail

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

50% Off Select Wines

Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. 50% off all wines by the glass and select bottles. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - May 9, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines

Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

45% Off Select Cocktails and Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. $5 for all menu cocktails. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - May 9, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:30 PM - 11:00 PM.

Restaurant IRON Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Handcrafted Cocktails (59)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Good for a Date (56)
Open Kitchen (49)
Bar Seating (48)
Romantic (44)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Modern Decor (39)
Notable Wine List (35)
Local Ingredients (34)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Business Meals (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Authentic (20)
Fun (20)
Cozy (19)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Seasonal (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Healthy (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (11)
People Watching (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Casual (9)
Organic (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 20 hours ago

Everything was fabulous! We had cocktails, appetizers, main courses and desserts. Everything tasted spectacular. Very original menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding food and great service. Chic environment that's comfortable and cool. Overall great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Best restaurant in Pensacola, never had a bad meal in the few years we've been going there.
Severs do a great job very attentive

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent meal. Service was great (Nick), and dinner was phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was our second time at Iron! Fabulous both times. We will not miss when in Pensacola!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Historic, Notable Wine List, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Better than good ...perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Enjoyed our evening very much at Iron for our anniversary. We requested to sit at the counter when I made the reservation and they did not accommodate the request. However, when we arrived we were greeted with a wonderful Happy Anniversary note on the menus, and finished dinner with the Nutella Pie (AMAZING). The Sea Bass was phenomenal and the Marcus Caeser is a favorite salad of mine.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We were passing through Pensacola on our way to New Orleans. Looked at Open Table for some restaurant suggestions. We picked Restaurant Iron and enjoyed one of the best meals of our life. Incredibly wonderful! What luck.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday. We made reservations ahead, and they had the menu personalized wishing her a happy birthday! They also made her a special desert. My wife had the sea scallops on squid ink pasta, and it was wonderful! I wanted to order for myself, but we try never to order same thing when we go out so we can share and in case one person doesn't like theirs but the other does. I had the lamb shank on risotto. It was also very good but rather heavy after an appetizer we shared of fried oysters and grouper cheats. Appetizer was a little salty but very good otherwise! Iron never disappoints on drink mixology. My wife loves the bacon bourbon tumbler. We would definitely recommend this as a go to mainstay.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My wife and I came for dinner to celebrate our 10th anniversary the other night. Restaurant Iron was an amazing experience. The food was the best we have ever had - absolutely delicious. All of the staff were friendly and just added to the amazing experience. We are so glad that we have such an excellent restaurant in Pensacola.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

First time dining at IRON and it was great! Loved the vibe there...yummy cocktails...delicious food and very good service!! Will definitely go again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great ambience throughout the restaurant. The menu was eclectic in flavours and variety. The presentation was delectable. The wait staff was very knowledgeable in the menu and in describing the dishes and/or cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very relaxed setting. Fantastic food. Great drink selection other than beer. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Never disappointed. This place is always amazing! The steak is unbelievable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Amazing!!! Second trip to IRON & even more impressed than before. Fabulous food & outstanding service!!! You've gotta try it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Such a great experience! Try the oysters and grouper cheeks for an appetizer! We also had the quail appetizer, amazing! The sea bass and the ribeye are wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

When I filled out the reservation form at open table, I mentioned that it was our anniversary, but no one at the restaurant made any mention of our anniversary. My husband also ordered the $45 steak and it was significantly under cooked. When you pay that much and wait a while for a steak, you expect it to be perfect. We had a fabulous waitress though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 7, 2017

No complaints except that there was an unusually long delay between appetizer and presenting the entree. Server apologized. Great drinks-good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was fantastic. Cocktails are excellent. Waiter was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Even though we are from New Irleans ,Absolutely one of best meals we have had in awhile. Food, service, and experience wonderful. Braised lamb w black garlic risotto great, chicken and dumpling uniquely good and dessert good. Will definitely be back

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was amazing and so was the service!! Will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

These guys do a terrific job - always something unusual and creatively put together. Food is amazing - staff is great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Stumbled upon this on open table. In Pensacola from New Orleans. Couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. Every sip and bite was amazing! Would definitely recommend and will go back when passing through.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This place is amazing! The food is delicious. If you are looking for a West coast vibe in a restaurant in Pensacola, this is your place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent and the service was equal to the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Best restaurant I've been to in Pensacola. We went on a Thursday night and the drink specials were amazing. The food was the best I've had in a while. Definitely a place with a different atmosphere you don't usually see in the south.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great service friendly and knowledgeable. Approachable bartender. Perfectly balanced cuisine. Can't wait to return

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Fish was good, steak was raw. Sent back but came back raw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed both of my visits to Iron. Food is creative and delicious, servings generous and yet not too much, and desserts are killer!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We went for my birthday. We were greeted at the front door with Happy Birthday and a smile. Our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable . We started with crispy fried oysters and snapper throats . Delicious and loved the cocktail sauce with a twist. Our entree was sea bass. Beautifully plated and cooked to perfection . We finished with Nutella pie . Amazing . The menu had my name and Happy Birthday at the top. This is our second time at this restaurant and we will definitely be back . BYW we drive an hour to this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Restaurant IRON is a reflection of the quality of both the staff and patrons...A combination of
big city modern and smaller city personal friendliness. Wonderful menu...complimented by
very, very experienced wait staff, bar staff, cooks and chef. Everything is so satisfying to the soul. We try to get there on a weekly basis.
Ed & Rosie Butler
Pensacola, FL

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Organic, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Best boudin balls I have ever eaten and I am from New Orleans. Once you eat their Caesar Salad, you won't want anyone elses. Warm, friendly efficient service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was a great place for our 20th anniversary. Our waitress, Amber, was friendly and helpful in explaining our food. The chef placed the food in a very delightful and appeasing manner on our plates. 😍👍

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This place was amazing. Me and my girlfriend enjoyed all of the food and the service. Even the drinks were far better than expected. Our waiter Matt provided us with an amazing knowledge of the menu and fast, quality service. Eat outside of your comfort zone and you won't regret it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food is delicious, and beautifully and creatively presented. All four of us enjoyed our meals. The restaurant is not large, but very modern and well appointed. Reservations are usually needed at popular times from my experience. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Tremendous meal. The lamb was delicious, and the desserts were fantastic! Server was just the right amount of attentiveness. She was helpful in making selections, but not pushing anything in particular.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We arrived in time for our reservation. We were sat immediately, and then sat there for 17 minutes with no service. We left and went to Union Public House. Wife was very disappointed she had been looking forward to Iron for some time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food - creative, beautiful to look at and even better to eat! Very creative! Ambience - very comfortable and warm - bar looked inviting, too. Service - perfect! A creative and delicious food experience, especially in Pensacola!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was amazing however the service was incredibly lacking...

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My girlfriend and I celebrated Valentines by dining at Iron. The menu selection was excellent! Highly recommend the crawfish etouffee fries as an appetizer. Our server was very friendly, attentive, and easily answered our questions about the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.