Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Iron

4.1
124 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Brunch
  • Good for Groups
Traditional American Food with a elegant setting inside, outdoor patio seating and ample parking.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: T-F 11:00am-3:00pm

Dinner: Su-Th 5:00pm-8:45pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:00pm-9:30pm

Brunch: Sa-Su 9:00am-2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(916) 737-5115
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Broadway
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 124 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
3.9
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Not from Sacramento and kept having bad experiences trying out different restaurants around town. But this hidden gem made up for it. Don’t judge from the outside. This place was awesome. Must try

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great meal! My friends and I did bottomless mimosas-it’s $11 for bottomless, and they come in a big wine glass. The breakfast also tasted great- I got the chicken apple scramble. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The ambiance was very nice. A little slow on mimosas service today. But overall very good service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

We were seated immediately and our server was helpful fast and efficient! The food was very good. The portion size is large. I had the steak salad which had big chunks of steak on it/ I am Iused to slices. You certainly get your money’s worth on the steak! I had a glass of wine which our sever suggested and it was lovely!
I would definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2015

The food is always on point and the staff is fantastic. Make sure you get Curtis as your waiter!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 27, 2015

Iron (or Iron Grill?) was surprisingly good. The food very tasty with service mostly attentive given how busy it was. The ambiance was cozy (decor could use some sprucing up), maybe a bit too noisy at brunch for our taste but, all in all, much better than we expected. A good choice for Sunday brunch. I loved my tomato-spinach-avocado combo with scrambled eggs and hash browns on the side. I chose a beignet on the side which was a taste treat. The prices are reasonable given that each dish is prepared with attention to taste and presentation. Iron will be on our go-to list now. Be sure to make reservations for peak times.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 6, 2015

We came for a birthday party and even though we had to wait an hour, we had a fun time getting a drink in the bar. We had a great meal and drinks at the table too. Definitely will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 15, 2015

Excellent service. We were there for brunch and our server came to refill the hot water and coffee frequently. Very attentive. Wide selection of brunch menu to choose from.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 14, 2015

Purchased gift cards from Costco - we thought we'd try a new place. The atmosphere was a bit cold and cafeteria like. The waiter was very nice, however after he took our order, we never saw him again. He never checked to see how the food was, or if we needed anything. It took my husband over 5 minutes to flag someone down to bring him parmesan cheese for his pasta dish. My prime rib was covered in chopped raw garlic. It appeared to have been pre-cooked and thrown on the grill to reheat. A poor menu selection on my part. We'll probably use the second gift card to grab a simple beer and burger. Overall, a disappointment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 2, 2015

We had the fried chicken and pork belly. It was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 24, 2015

Excellent food ! I ordered the steak salad medium rare and it was perfect t! My husband got the tri tip med rare but it was over cooked ! He will get my plate next time ! We will go back !
Waitress was way too busy to ask how everything was but she was nice !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 18, 2015

We were delighted with the varied menu and the specials were great. The beignets were so fresh and soft. This was our second experience at Iron and will not be our last.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2015

Off the downtown beaten tract but close to the new Golden 1Center.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 30, 2015

The baked brie appetizer was delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 27, 2015

We enjoyed a delicious Sunday brunch at the Iron Grill. We had reservations which we would recommend. We ordered spicy Bloody Mary's, the California scramble and the turkey/bacon/avocado omelet. We thought all of the food was very good. I regrt not ordering a beignet which is offered as a toast replacement. The restaurant was lively. Good place to add to a farmers market visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2015

Great place to dine for large or small groups. Friendly and courteous staff and great food always found at Iron!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 16, 2015

The food was wonderful, I had the crab cake and lobster tail combo and was fantastic. The service is always the best.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 8, 2015

Great menu options, excellent service, loved the food; we were a large group on a Saturday morning, would go there again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 5, 2015

Very flavorful steaks and chops, but my pork chop was ordered medium and came out well done. The dining room is lovely but the booths are a bit too large for comfortable conversation. The service was a bit rushed in style considering that there only two or three parties in the restaurant on the time. Altogether, a very pleasant dining experience but not quite five stars.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2015

Came for Mother's Day Brunch & my 84 yo mother ate all of her chicken & waffles, so that says something. Biscuits & gravy was good...eggs Benedict 3/5 (I'm an officionado). The blueberry ricotta pancakes were the bomb! My husband French toast had good flavor, but it came out cold, they reheated but then it got soggy. I would try again! I like the look & vibe along with an interesting menu. Service was a bit slow. Good mimosas.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 19, 2015

After reading other reviews we decided on a group brunch since Iron takes reservations. We asked for a received a table on the patio. The service was very friendly but a little random. Regular coffee came right away but decaf took longer. The problem was that it took the kitchen a long time from when we ordered. I even went inside to check. Everyone in our group liked their food. Don't go when you want to eat in a reasonable time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2015

Took a chance going for dinner after attending the Tower theater. Blue Cheese crusted ribeye was amazing. Done to perfection. Burgers/salads we also enjoyed. Abundant supply of big comfortable padded booths. All staff exceedingly anticipated our needs. We will go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2015

Had an early dinner at Iron this Monday. The service was very good and the server very knowledgable. We had appetizers from the happy hour menu - calamari and tempurs green beans. both were very good with the tempurs beans taking the prize for taste, enormous size and balance with the rest of our meal. The steak salad was fanbtastic and the surf and turf was excellent. All dishes were well prepared, fresh and very large portions. All in all, the restaurant is friendly, affordable, has excellent food and a fun place to dine. The only hangup was the poor wine list; if you want very good wine, bring your own. That said, the cocktails were great and well made. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2015

It was me and my dad's first time coming here and we barely missed the cut off time for brunch which is 2pm. However, they refused to make an exception even though it was Easter. The waitress put road blocks on every thing we asked....nope...nope...we're out of it...I don't know if I can change it from fries to baked potatoes....don't know what we have....etc...etc. Which for me was ruining our Easter. Even though it was not that busy by this time, she gave us very little attention and did the bare minimum....in fact she never once asked us how was our food. I had to ask her for refills on my coffee. Their lunch menu had very little to offer other than sandwiches. Since it was Easter I didn't want a sandwich, so I ordered NY steak for me and my dad. The guy that brought the food out to us didn't pay attention to which steak was the medium and which was the medium rare so me and my dad had to figure it out. The steak was perfectly cooked and we did enjoy it so that was the only plus side to coming here. I wouldn't recommend the place to other people if it were solely based on service. but the steak was really good. Maybe it was just having a really bad waitress that ruined it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2015

The food is always outstanding with an ever changing seasonal menu that is excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2015

Iron is a great place for creative and delicious food. And the beignets and sugar butter as the bread dish is freaking fantastic. Had to wait a bit- seemed a little short staffed but the waiter when we got seated was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2015

The menu was not as large as the one on the open table web page, but still nice. The beignet ?sp appetizer was a surprise and amazing. The only down side was being seated inside on a beautiful evening and the smell of frying oil is a little strong. My salmon was prepared perfectly and was delectible

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 7, 2015

We both had the prime rib which was really good. Both the side dishes that came with it were bland. The wine list had several reasonably priced wines by the glass. The seating and lighting weren't the best but it wasn't a deal breaker.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 31, 2015

The salads were fresh and plentiful. The dessert was very good, but no flow in the lava cake. The jambalaya was extremely flavorful, but there was no chicken in mine and my wife's had one piece the size of the dime. I guess the free range chicken flew the coup.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2015

Steak and lobster for only $28... It was delicious... Smaller portion but great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 4, 2015

Has become favorite breakfast place. Serves breakfast even at lunch. Great place to have a group luncheon. Food always good. Waiters are friendly and efficient.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2014

We have always had a good meal at the Iron. Whether for breakfast or dinner the food was great. We will definitely return for another tasty meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2014

Had reservations for 11 on 12/26. When we arrived, our table was waiting for us. We were promptly seated and drink orders were taken. Had a long wait for our bloody Mary's but when they arrived they were perfect. Very fresh, spicy but not too hot, great blend of alcohol and juices. Again, we had a long wait for our breakfast meals but when they arrived, they were excellent. Great quality, reasonable prices. Everyone agreed that their meals were outstanding.

We really loved the decor, the staff was great with our small children we had with us and even helped take a photo of the group at the end of the meal. If there was anything to be slightly critical of would have been the waits that we incurred through the meal. I don't think they were expecting as many people as they had and we had 4 different people help serve us. One took drink order, another took meal order, another delivered drinks and checked on coffee levels and finally a 4th delivered our bill and took payment.

I would not let this issue deter anyone from trying this great place. We loved it and will return often.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 26, 2014

After reading all the rave reviews we were completely disappointed in this restaurant. The menu was nothing if not eclectic. The appetizer was boring. My Louie salad was boring ( the kind you buy premade In a grocery store) and my husband's steak was undercooked and half gristle. The service was friendly. I can only assume they have regulars who give them great reviews. I would never recommend this to a friend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2014

This is a very patron friendly and relaxed restaurant that has a solid menu at fair prices. Good appetizers (roasted artichoke is great) steaks and lobster are reliable regulars. Service prompt and not pretentious. Lots of new competition in Land Park/Broadway/re-born Oak Park, but Iron should hold its own for quality of food and service .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 16, 2014

Living about a mile from the place, I've never made it to Iron before but after recently reading the article in the Sac Bee it made me want to check it out. It was a group of 9 of us, and we all enjoyed ourselves. The service was really friendly and prompt, the brunch was delicious and staff were really friendly. I would definitely go back another time and recommend to others as well.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 15, 2014

Quite busy place at 6:30 on a Saturday evening. Seated at a table with poor lighting next to a large party. Menu items were appealing and good. Ordered the pork chop which came with mashed potatoes and apple slaw, substituted a twice baked potato for the mashed and received it along with vegetable hash instead of the apple slaw! I need to give this place another try when they aren't so busy.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 11, 2014

Food was well above average but we had to wait 45 minutes between our salad course and our entree course (and we ordered the special of the night). Two other tables came after we did, ate and left before we got our entrees. NO EXCUSE FOR THIS - WON'T RETURN.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 11, 2014

We were here for dinner on Veterans' Day, and we had a Living Social coupon that was going to expire in two days. I don't know if these were reasons for there being such a full dining room and bar on a Tuesday night, but the staff definitely seemed to be unprepared for the crowd. Service was good--everyone from host to bussers to servers was friendly and fairly attentive. However, the kitchen was obviously overwhelmed; several tables waited quite a long while for food to arrive. We got our drinks and salads fairly quickly, but the appetizer arrived after the salad, and it was nearly an hour before we saw our entrees. The food was good, hot, and prepared as ordered; however, the folks at the table next to us had to take their food to go as the wait was longer than their child could tolerate peacefully and, on top of it all, the husband's steak was well done rather than medium rare. We were in the restaurant for two hours (and we were seated right away)--it was just a little too long for a simple app-salad-entree meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 6, 2014

This was my fourth time back to Iron Grill. The prices are extremely reasonable and the flavors are marvelous.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4