About Irish Whiskey Public House

1207 19th St NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Re-inventing the concept of a traditional Irish Pub by incorporating a modern flare, Irish Whiskey Public House opened with a mission to capture the essence of a traditional Irish pub while adding creative and progressive elements.

We feature modern Irish-American cuisine taking Irish classics and adding a modern spin. Executive Chef Sean McIntosh has created an exciting menu offering traditional Irish dishes that integrate unique and creative contemporary culinary components. Irish Whiskey serves lunch and dinner daily as well as a brunch menu on the weekends. Whiskey pairings will be included with a number of menu items to encourage guests to try whiskeys that complement each dish.

Our Dublin Room is the newest spot in the Dupont/Midtown area to offer private space for happy hours, company lunches, birthday parties, or any of your special events. Our relaxing and fun atmosphere is the perfect end to the work week with our nightly happy hour specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Irish, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday- 4pm - 2am
Friday- 4pm - 3am
Saturday- 10am - 3am
Sunday- 10am - 2am

Cross Street:
M St NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 463-3010

Website:
http://www.irishwhiskeydc.com/

Catering:
Please visit our website www.IrishWhiskeyDC.com to see our Catering menu

Executive Chef:
Sean McIntosh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Irish Whiskey Public House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

54% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Cozy (3)
See All
Bar Seating (2)
Live Sports (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Authentic (1)
Historic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It took 45 minute to get our food and th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It took 45 minute to get our food and then it arrived cold. Prices were good and it tasted great....after they heated it back up in the microwave. Pretty frustrating that we waited for cold food. Obviously it was ready.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

The restaurant wasn't even busy and the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The restaurant wasn't even busy and the three ordered entrees still took over an hour to arrive at the table. When it arrived, it arrived in three separate events over the course of fifteen minutes (meaning we weren't eating together, lest the food get cold).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Went for a friend's birthday for brunch. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went for a friend's birthday for brunch. The champagne deal is great but the food was just bad. There were 8 of us, and every one of us had our food come out cold. Most of us have worked in the restaurant industry so we understand. The waiter was good and accommodating for the most part but we ended up paying for every meal except one. Would have been nice to have them be more understanding. We just didn't complain enough to get our food for free. We're definitely not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

There was only 1 cook working, so we wat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

There was only 1 cook working, so we watched how the meals came out to those parties; at most 3 plates at a time, followed by another 5 minutes then maybe another 3. My burger came out well done and with cheese, despite asking for it medium rare with no cheese. The bun was so cold it felt still frozen, and the lettuce that was in it was a small piece, less than 1/2 the size of the bun. Neither friend liked their omlet either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Irish Whiskey never disappoints for brun ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Irish Whiskey never disappoints for brunch. The food is good and the value is AMAZING. Spend $10 on an entree, and get bottles of champagne for $1. I haven't found a place in DC yet that beats their deal!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our bartender was ah-mazing. The cockta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our bartender was ah-mazing. The cocktails were super tasty and made to please. Be sure to check out the very extensive whiskey menu - the largest I've seen. But the food....no, no, no. Be sure you eat first.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Bar tender was great. Recommended a cou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Bar tender was great. Recommended a couple very tasty whiskeys and the braised short ribs and potato cakes. Very nice meal. Dining room was a bit loud. Overall experience was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Doesn't get much better than a dollar bo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Doesn't get much better than a dollar bottle of champagne with an entree!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bartender didn't show us much attention, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Bartender didn't show us much attention, we had to come up to the bar and order several times. Perhaps the bartender should wait tables and tend the bar. Sincerely disappointed that steak n eggs ran out by 12:30.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

This is a fine spot for a whisky, or a b ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This is a fine spot for a whisky, or a beer, but the food is only fair. On the positive side, the food is relatively inexpensive.

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Very warm atmosphere, excellent service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very warm atmosphere, excellent service. Not a bad place for anyone seeking something like a traditional Irish or English breakfast except that the baked beans serving was a little on the small side and the sausage wasn't quite a banger.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed my experience at Irish ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I really enjoyed my experience at Irish Whiskey, never a disappointing time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, , Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Offers a very affordable brunch, includi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Offers a very affordable brunch, including mimosas!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, , Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A great spot for brunch! The $1 champagn ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

A great spot for brunch! The $1 champagne bottles with any $10 food purchase can't be beat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Guinness Stew and the Short Ribs M ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great Guinness Stew and the Short Ribs Melt in your mouth,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was good and the $1 champagne p ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was good and the $1 champagne per $10 brunch was great, but they ran out of champagne pretty early on. Its a good atmosphere if you are looking for a loud, rowdy place, but it was too loud to make normal conversation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Love their brunch! Prices are reasonable ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love their brunch! Prices are reasonable, food is delicious and it's only $1 for a bottle of champagne!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Came here to celebrate my birthday brunc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Came here to celebrate my birthday brunch. Dollar bottles of champagne! I got the steak and eggs. It was delicious! Can't wait for my next trip here :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible service and cold food. There wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Horrible service and cold food. There was a lot of noise and it took forever to get a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

It was nice and romantic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was nice and romantic service was amazing and so was the food

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch on a Saturday. Service w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went for brunch on a Saturday. Service was attentive and friendly. Food was fine but nothing special. Bloody Mary was fine but nothing special. Seems like a decent neighborhood joint but there are a lot of brunch options in DC and this wasn't one of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Knowledgable and friendly staff; true pu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Knowledgable and friendly staff; true pub atmosphere. Fun supper. Good Whiskey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not recommneded

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 28, 2016

My meal did not have the contents stated on the menu plus it was late and I was told the cook misunderstood the order plus my wife said her meal was not good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was absolutely terrible. The on ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was absolutely terrible. The only redeeming quality was the $1 bottles of champagne, but the food was barely edible. Do not go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Pub atmosphere.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We ate outside though as it was a pleasant day. Somewhat rustic! Seems like the $1 bottle champagne is the big draw.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great brunch spot for our group on twelve including two kids. Noise level was perfect for a talkative group and the $1 champaign was a great treat. Menu is not extensive, but the variety was perfect for us. Have been here in the evening as well and it's a great whiskey spot!!! B

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2016

I came here for $1 bottle of champagne... we were 5 of us, we had 5 bottles! We emptied them by 3pm. We had a blast!

It was a great experience. One of the best services ever!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't beat the champagne brunch deal

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Can't beat the champagne brunch deal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

garbage service-garbage time.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2016

I originally didn't get half my meal and had to remind the waitress for the remainder of my food almost halfway done consuming the first half,due to the fact she was missing for about 90% of the meal time.( but she did remind me since i was 10 min late to the reservation that i only had a 2-hr window to eat here- twice. Mind you i was only hear for about an hour and ten minutes) Can I remind you, I was one of the three tables on the upstairs level. The person sitting near me was talking so loud i couldn't even hear the person sitting across from me and had to tell her to quiet down multiple times.

I came to this place on a recommendation from a friend and do not plan on coming back for anything other to get a simple/half-assed breakfast and some 1$ champagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

At the Public House, we were seated in t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2016

At the Public House, we were seated in the basement by ourselves, even though we had an Open Table reservation. The featured item, corned beef, was not available. The wrap and sandwich that we ordered instead did not fit the description offered on the menu. A cod fish sandwich came on a hamburger bun rather than the brioche and no tartar sauce was in sight, making for a rather dry concoction. The BLT chicken wrap had no mayo and was obviously pre-made. Overall, aside from a cold Harp beer ( the Blue Moon was tepid at best!), the Public House dining experience was not what we expected!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Great food and good deals

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2016

I hosted my birthday brunch here and it was fantastic. Our server was helpful and quick. Not only is the food good but you cannot beat the brunch deal which is if you purchase a $10 entree you get a bottle of champagne for a $1. It is great for groups. There are three levels including a basement and they have a patio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy brunch at Irish Whiskey P ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2016

I always enjoy brunch at Irish Whiskey Public House. Today, the streak wasn't as flavorful as normal with fewer home fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Small but lively

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 7, 2016

This is a small restaurant/tavern. Few table available but food was good!

Small space with lots of Irish character!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Can't wait to return

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Very unique townhouse turned pub in DC, cool atmosphere, liked that they kept the original stonework and surroundings on the inside. Reservation making was easy and out table was ready upon arrival

Good food and good prices

Will was very friendly And kindly took several pictures for my friends and I

Mimosa deal at brunch sealed the deal! Can't wait to come back! !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$1 bottle of champagne bottles with food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2016

$1 bottle of champagne bottles with food purchase! Can't find this deal anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Quite a Find

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We really enjoyed our breakfast...and the champagne for $1.00 is unbelievable!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was great. The sta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The entire experience was great. The staff was personable and extremely attentive. The food was cook perfectly and tasted great. As for the selection of whiskey, they really stood by their reputation. It was hard to choose but the staff made a great recommendation. So good I had to go buy a bottle. We'll definitively be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch! $1 bottle of champagne with each ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Brunch! $1 bottle of champagne with each entree purchase!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Thank you for accommodating our large gr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Thank you for accommodating our large group!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Untimely Experience!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 6, 2016

We chose this place due to the rating of Open Table. Unfortunately, the day before we dined, there was a change of ownership and nothing was reordered/stocked. The draft beer system was broken and they were out of most all bottled beers. The waiter apologized after bringing out the Potato Soup, telling us it was actually just mashed potatoes with bacon and cheese. My "Drunken Chicken" was lukewarm and mediocre at best. The hamburger was overcooked and the French Fries were greasy. Until the new owners get a handle, I would stay clear for awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.