About Irish Whiskey Public House

1207 19th St NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Re-inventing the concept of a traditional Irish Pub by incorporating a modern flare, Irish Whiskey Public House opened with a mission to capture the essence of a traditional Irish pub while adding creative and progressive elements.

We feature modern Irish-American cuisine taking Irish classics and adding a modern spin. Executive Chef Sean McIntosh has created an exciting menu offering traditional Irish dishes that integrate unique and creative contemporary culinary components. Irish Whiskey serves lunch and dinner daily as well as a brunch menu on the weekends. Whiskey pairings will be included with a number of menu items to encourage guests to try whiskeys that complement each dish.

Our Dublin Room is the newest spot in the Dupont/Midtown area to offer private space for happy hours, company lunches, birthday parties, or any of your special events. Our relaxing and fun atmosphere is the perfect end to the work week with our nightly happy hour specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Irish, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday- 4pm - 2am
Friday- 4pm - 3am
Saturday- 10am - 3am
Sunday- 10am - 2am

Cross Street:
M St NW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 463-3010

Website:
http://www.irishwhiskeydc.com/

Catering:
Please visit our website www.IrishWhiskeyDC.com to see our Catering menu

Executive Chef:
Sean McIntosh

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Beer Battered Fish and Chips
  • Bangers and Mash
  • Sheperd's pie
  • Pretzel Bites
  • Corned Beef And Cabbage Spring Rolls
  • Potato Soup
  • Snakebite
  • Eggs Florentine
  • Dogfish Head 60
Beer Battered Fish and Chips
Bangers and Mash
Sheperd's pie
Pretzel Bites
Corned Beef And Cabbage Spring Rolls
Potato Soup
Snakebite
Eggs Florentine
Dogfish Head 60

Irish Whiskey Public House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Dupont Circle ›

Great for Brunch (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Great for Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (2)
Romantic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Came here to celebrate my birthday brunc ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Came here to celebrate my birthday brunch. Dollar bottles of champagne! I got the steak and eggs. It was delicious! Can't wait for my next trip here :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible service and cold food. There wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Horrible service and cold food. There was a lot of noise and it took forever to get a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

It was nice and romantic ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was nice and romantic service was amazing and so was the food

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch on a Saturday. Service w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went for brunch on a Saturday. Service was attentive and friendly. Food was fine but nothing special. Bloody Mary was fine but nothing special. Seems like a decent neighborhood joint but there are a lot of brunch options in DC and this wasn't one of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Knowledgable and friendly staff; true pu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Knowledgable and friendly staff; true pub atmosphere. Fun supper. Good Whiskey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not recommneded

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My meal did not have the contents stated on the menu plus it was late and I was told the cook misunderstood the order plus my wife said her meal was not good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was absolutely terrible. The on ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was absolutely terrible. The only redeeming quality was the $1 bottles of champagne, but the food was barely edible. Do not go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Pub atmosphere.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We ate outside though as it was a pleasant day. Somewhat rustic! Seems like the $1 bottle champagne is the big draw.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great brunch spot for our group on twelve including two kids. Noise level was perfect for a talkative group and the $1 champaign was a great treat. Menu is not extensive, but the variety was perfect for us. Have been here in the evening as well and it's a great whiskey spot!!! B

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I came here for $1 bottle of champagne... we were 5 of us, we had 5 bottles! We emptied them by 3pm. We had a blast!

It was a great experience. One of the best services ever!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't beat the champagne brunch deal

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Can't beat the champagne brunch deal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

garbage service-garbage time.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I originally didn't get half my meal and had to remind the waitress for the remainder of my food almost halfway done consuming the first half,due to the fact she was missing for about 90% of the meal time.( but she did remind me since i was 10 min late to the reservation that i only had a 2-hr window to eat here- twice. Mind you i was only hear for about an hour and ten minutes) Can I remind you, I was one of the three tables on the upstairs level. The person sitting near me was talking so loud i couldn't even hear the person sitting across from me and had to tell her to quiet down multiple times.

I came to this place on a recommendation from a friend and do not plan on coming back for anything other to get a simple/half-assed breakfast and some 1$ champagne.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

At the Public House, we were seated in t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

At the Public House, we were seated in the basement by ourselves, even though we had an Open Table reservation. The featured item, corned beef, was not available. The wrap and sandwich that we ordered instead did not fit the description offered on the menu. A cod fish sandwich came on a hamburger bun rather than the brioche and no tartar sauce was in sight, making for a rather dry concoction. The BLT chicken wrap had no mayo and was obviously pre-made. Overall, aside from a cold Harp beer ( the Blue Moon was tepid at best!), the Public House dining experience was not what we expected!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Great food and good deals

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I hosted my birthday brunch here and it was fantastic. Our server was helpful and quick. Not only is the food good but you cannot beat the brunch deal which is if you purchase a $10 entree you get a bottle of champagne for a $1. It is great for groups. There are three levels including a basement and they have a patio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy brunch at Irish Whiskey P ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I always enjoy brunch at Irish Whiskey Public House. Today, the streak wasn't as flavorful as normal with fewer home fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Small but lively

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

This is a small restaurant/tavern. Few table available but food was good!

Small space with lots of Irish character!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Can't wait to return

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Very unique townhouse turned pub in DC, cool atmosphere, liked that they kept the original stonework and surroundings on the inside. Reservation making was easy and out table was ready upon arrival

Good food and good prices

Will was very friendly And kindly took several pictures for my friends and I

Mimosa deal at brunch sealed the deal! Can't wait to come back! !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$1 bottle of champagne bottles with food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

$1 bottle of champagne bottles with food purchase! Can't find this deal anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Quite a Find

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We really enjoyed our breakfast...and the champagne for $1.00 is unbelievable!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was great. The sta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The entire experience was great. The staff was personable and extremely attentive. The food was cook perfectly and tasted great. As for the selection of whiskey, they really stood by their reputation. It was hard to choose but the staff made a great recommendation. So good I had to go buy a bottle. We'll definitively be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch! $1 bottle of champagne with each ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Brunch! $1 bottle of champagne with each entree purchase!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Thank you for accommodating our large gr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Thank you for accommodating our large group!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Untimely Experience!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We chose this place due to the rating of Open Table. Unfortunately, the day before we dined, there was a change of ownership and nothing was reordered/stocked. The draft beer system was broken and they were out of most all bottled beers. The waiter apologized after bringing out the Potato Soup, telling us it was actually just mashed potatoes with bacon and cheese. My "Drunken Chicken" was lukewarm and mediocre at best. The hamburger was overcooked and the French Fries were greasy. Until the new owners get a handle, I would stay clear for awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great Brunch Value

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

I went here with a group of friends for brunch on Sunday, it exceeded my expectations. It was lively and had a great atmosphere. There are plenty of TVs to watch sports but also had good music playing in the background. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal there. Gre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal there. Great food. Loved the local brew. Just an overall great experience and a highlight of the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely authenic pub

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

The absolute best bargain brunch in town with an authentic Pub atmosphere. Very friendly staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunching as always

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

I've been to Irish Whiskey several times for their brunch special - a $1 bottle of champagne with a $10 food purchase - and it never disappoints. Anywhere in the restaurant is cozy, but the upper level with the couches is my favorite.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Had a great brunch with friends here. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Had a great brunch with friends here. The only issue was that we were seated by the downstairs door, so we got a draft as each person went in and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great brunch place

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Friendly staff, great value, great atmosphere - a real Irish pub.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this hidden place on a recent trip ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Found this hidden place on a recent trip to DC! So great, excellent pretzel bites, fantastic bartender. Great cocktails. can't wait to go back next time in in DC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

great all around

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

I have been to Irish Whiskey for brunch a number of times now and it's always a great experience. The food prices are reasonable (well, comparatively) and the $1 bottles of champagne make it a great deal. This most recent visit was the first time I heard about their 2-hour seating limit for brunch, which is perfectly understandable. My husband and I were eating with friends from out of town and did end up lingering. We didn't feel rushed at all (the waiter pointedly drop the bill or hover) but very politely did inform us when the two hours was up and we happily paid quickly and left. Great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant Experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Came for a birthday brunch. Easy to reserve. Had to change time due to a glitch, but Stacy was sure to rectify it gracefully the night before. Day of, hostess was nice, wait staff was attentive. Definitely a poppin' place for brunch for the younger crowd. Overall, pleasant experience and good food - would return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bottomless Brunch, Endless Service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

I often go to Irish Whiskey in large groups. The staff is very accommodating. Our party was larger than expected, but they made the necessary arrangements. Also, Adrii the bartender downstairs is excellent. The staff walks around an engages with guest. You will never have to ask where your server is. And its $1 bottle of champagne.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was soo good! Everyone ordered ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

The food was soo good! Everyone ordered awesome things. And $1 bottles of champagne, c'mon. It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. Our group had a ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

The food was delicious. Our group had a good experience and our server was very good. The noise level was a little loud for our group, but the server did his best to quiet down a loud group at the bar.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Sunday Funday

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Irish Whiskey Public House is my own version of Cheers, but in DC. The staff is exceptionally spectacular week in and week out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent spot

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

We had dinner outside and the food and drinks were great. Attentive staff, able to answer questions about the food and offer suggestions. The whiskey list is impressive and the pour a perfect Guinness as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best boozy brunch in town

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

Irish Whiskey Public House offers $1 bottles of champagne when you spend $10 on food. Spending $10 is not difficult seeing as the entrees are around $12. Additionally, if you really want a mimosa, they will bring your table carafe of orange juice for $4.95. And you are not limited to one bottle of champagne if you and your friends are feeling particularly boozy that brunch! I believe the deal is per $10 spent.

The food on the brunch menu is a little limited, but tastes good. All in all, good find.

It is also accessible from the Dupont Circle Metro or from Farragut West, which helps if you and your friend(s) are coming from different parts of town.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great brunch spot

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Always lively and fun and the waiters and staff are incredibly nice and tolerant even when you are on your 7th bottle of champagne. Food is delicious and never had a bad experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was AMAZING. I WOULD EAT HERE E ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 24, 2015

The food was AMAZING. I WOULD EAT HERE EVERY DAY. All around great place. Its now a must go to whenever my family is in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.