About Iridescence

2901 Grand River Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Featuring spectacular views of the city skyline, Iridescence is Detroit's premier fine dining experience and has been awarded AAA's 4-Diamond rating year after year. Iridescence focuses on dishes prepared with intense local and natural flavors, creating a relaxed and broadly appealing menu. Paired with an extensive and award-winning wine list, Iridescence provides the ultimate culinary experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday and Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 237-6732

Website:
http://www.iridescencedetroit.com/

Entertainment:
Come join us Fridays and Saturdays for lively Piano music performed by Paul Ventamiglia, one of Detroit’s most recognizable pianists. Paul has played for some of the brightest stars, and he is always ready and willing to preform any request you might have.

Parking Details:
Free casino and hotel parking garage. Free valet available.

Executive Chef:
Dan Rutkowski

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Private Dining Room that offers secluded seating for up to 6 guests. We also have our upper tier dining area in the room which can accommodate up to 40 guests with spectacular views.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Petterson: 3132376732x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Peanut Butter Bar
Sliced Filet Mignon Over Truffle Risotto With Applewood Curred Lobster And Bernaise Sauce Over Red Wine Reduction
Yellowfin Tuna With Coconut Rice In A Yellow Curry Reduction With Edamame And Edible Coconut Rind
Foie Gras On Corn Chrisp Over Black Beans With Red Pepper Coulis And Advocado Puree
Aged Chesse And Pumpernickle Cracker With Wheat Beer
Peach Sorbet Amuse Bouche
Amuse Bouche
Seared Yellow Fin Tuna With Sea Urchin Infused Holandaise Sauce
Caviar In A Yukon Gold Potato With Fried Capers And Creme Freche
Bread Service
Arnold Palmer
Pear Salad
Cantaloupe Cloud
Stone Crab
Ahi tuna
Amstel Lite
Fried Confit Of Chicken
New York Strip
Bread
Onion Soup Gratin
Sauteed Jumbo Lump Crab Cake
Cucumber Melon Martini
Melon Sorbet
Cote Du Boeuf
Grilled Ribeye
Pinot Noir
A Tale Of Two Chickens Coq Au , Red Wine, Mushrooms, Pearl Onions Fried Chicken With Foie Gras Gravy
Pomegranate Cosmopolitan
Filet Mignon
Whitefish To Its Best
Hazelnut Bar
Salmon
Ribeye Steak

Iridescence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
10 More
Scenic View
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Contemporary American
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Service
Detroit
Best Ambiance
Detroit
Notable Wine List
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Scenic View
Detroit
Special Occasion
Detroit
Contemporary American
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

Special Occasion (123)
Scenic View (120)
Romantic (101)
See All
Fit for Foodies (49)
Notable Wine List (49)
Hot Spot (18)
Late-night Find (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2481 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I love coming here. Great fo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My wife and I love coming here. Great food. Great atmosphere. The whole staff is top notch. Our server Helios is one of the best and very informative. Hats off to Helios. My wife and I have been to Iridescence several times. Each time we come back it still feels like the first time. The menu options are outstanding. I have a sweet tooth so I always enjoy the desert offerings. Delicious! Plate presentation is also fun. Keep up the good work! Thank you, Rick and Gina Keesecker

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I had the12 oz 28 day dr ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My daughter and I had the12 oz 28 day dry age strip steak, did not taste like a 28 day dry age steak, not as tender or the taste. I have had better at a regular steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I can't say enough nice things about thi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I can't say enough nice things about this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The croutons in the Caesar salad last t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The croutons in the Caesar salad last time or warm. This time they were cold not sure if that's the new procedure but warm was way better

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always impressed with the chateaubriand. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always impressed with the chateaubriand. Melts in your mouth. Everything I've tried has been delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great experience. Dinner was perfect. I ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great experience. Dinner was perfect. I came here with my girlfriend to have dinner and I proposed to her (she said yes) she was very pleased with our evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, it was a great dinner. Braised ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overall, it was a great dinner. Braised short rib app was amazing. Wedge salad was ok. Filet and prime rib were outstanding. Asparagus was average. Window seat was great. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Dinner was satisfactory. Great restauran ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Dinner was satisfactory.

Great restaurant.

Good view.

Amicable atmosphere.

Palatable food .

Clean environment.

Good selection of drinks.

Some times Salty food .

Fish was too mushy.

Lamb chops was good but little too sweet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I really enjoyed eating at iridescence t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I really enjoyed eating at iridescence the food was outstanding our waiter was superb The atmosphere was perfect the views were spectacular I would definitely return again for a fine meal if a fre The atmosphere was perfect the views were spectacular I would definitely return again for a fine meal everything was beyond perfection it was a beautiful evening

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iridescence is always a special treat! T ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Iridescence is always a special treat! The food is second to none in the city and perhaps the state of Michigan. Top it off with the venue on the 16th floor of Motor City Casino Hotel overlooking the city with the Detroit River, the Ambassador Bridge, the RenCen and Canada in view makes for a memorable evening.

The staff is friendly and professional and all will provide excellent service however our waiter, Helios, was outstanding. He is very knowledgeable and personable and did a great job of explaining and describing menu items and options as well as anticipating our needs. He also made sure that my gluten intolerant girlfriend was completely accommodated, even finding her some gluten free bread.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome atmosphere. Jamey was our server ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Awesome atmosphere. Jamey was our server and did a phenomenal job. I had the NY Strip Au-Poive style w/ Au Gratin Potatoes on the side and my fiancé had the Chicken Iridescence; both were delicious. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I reserved a table for my wife's birthd ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I reserved a table for my wife's birthday. We loved everything about this place!

Service was a little slown,but with that view the time passes easily.

The meal was going great,until I look up and my wife had a hair in her chicken she ordered...I glanced at the kitchen staff to my surprise were not requested to wear hair nets on their beards...And everybody had beards..Not pleased at all!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Our experience at Iridescence was outsta ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our experience at Iridescence was outstanding; possibly the best dining experience we've ever had in the US, certainly the best in Detroit. Fine dining, in a scenic view that shows the best of Detroit and the gorgeous riverfronts of Detroit and Windsor. Our server, Helio, was well-informed, charming, and attentive. He recommended the Kaiseki menu, an experience I highly recommend - six small courses, spotlighting the best innovative small dishes the chef had to showcase. Each plate was elegantly presented, with a short overview of the features and tastes to be expected. Chef came by our table more than once to see how we liked his dishes, and even personally deboned a quail dish I could not manage (I had an injured arm at the time). As a very special surprise, we were presented with a dessert dish -- a pineapple upside-down cake with chocolate calligraphy saying "Happy Anniversary".

A very special dining experience, in a beautiful location. Could not recommend it enough!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, we were treated like family. B ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As usual, we were treated like family. Bao-Ly, our server, is world class and the food was absolutely delicious.........

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable and the food ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service was impeccable and the food was beyond five star. From being seated to the the final course we were waited on if we were the only patrons . Our waiter Helios was fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first trip to Iridescence an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was my first trip to Iridescence and I have to say I was extremely impressed! From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed and given a fantastic table that overlooked the Detroit and Windsor skylines.

Our waiter was Moisi and he was a consummate professional who delivered the finest service I have ever experienced. Just to have the pleasure of sitting at his table would be enough of a reason to come back to Iridescence however the excellent food and beautiful atmosphere would be right up there for a reason to return!

If you are looking for an amazing dining experience in a beautiful atmosphere coupled with some service that is second to none then I wholeheartedly recommend Iridescence and see if you can't get one of Moisi's tables!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding. The crab c ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The service was outstanding. The crab cakes appetizers were the best I have ever had, because there were chunks of crabmeat in the cakes—delicious. However, I should have sent my lobster tail back for more cooking because it was a little under cooked and chewy. The mashed potatoes were lukewarm to cool. The string beans were fresh and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was amazing food was not well co ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was amazing food was not well cooked the chicken was not done correctly the battery was still wet and not fried well and the race that was served with the salmon seem to be very dry we did not complain to the waiter because of the excellent job that he did

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Beautiful restaurant, reminded me of Car ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, reminded me of Caribbean resorts. Celebrated our 11th anniversary here. I ordered the Dover Sole, could not finish, off taste, my throat began to itch and tingle. My husband ordered the lobster (to me it was a little undercooked). Probably will not return nor recommend.

Positive note, wait staff, Jamie, was very professional and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Everything was good. Service was a littl ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was good. Service was a little poor and no one serving could speak or understand any English so communication was very hard. My chatubraind $90 was suppose to be cooked medium rare and come out well done which had to be sent back, which the server wanted to argue about and took my knife and fork out if my hand and started cutting it at the table himself after I just did that. Which he then finally realized it was way way over cooked. Nothing was said or done about that no apology even. The macaroon cookies had small chunks of METAL in them which a picture was taken and later sent to the manager which again nothing was done at all. Very scary and we are all lucky we didn't break our teeth. Other then that the food was good not great but way way over priced for the quality. You can get much better food and service for a better price many places down town... Top of the ponch, roast, joe muer, coach insignia just to name a few we dine at weekly which are a better meal and service. Spending almost 2,000 plus smother 1,000 in limo fee to get there was an expensive night. Not to mention motors city casino was very dirty inside. That doesn't help the atmosphere of a very pricy restaurant. Better service would help a lot. Addressing the reason for metal being in your macaroons would help a lot to lots of people could of been harmed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Service was good, however the food not s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was good, however the food not so much. The steaks were not that good. Wife had the Filet and I had the NY Strip. Neither one was any good and definitely not worth the price. You are essentially paying for the view, which is not all that spectacular when it is still light out.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Super service. We will be back to enjoy ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Super service. We will be back to enjoy all of the fine food, wine, and service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our 56 ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 56th Wedding Anniversary. We had a 6 o'clock reservation, and there were very few people seated when we entered. We selected a table with a view which happened to be opposite an elevated level which had about three steps where waitstaff picked up orders and came down these steps to deliver their orders. I noticed a man dressed in a blue suit circulating around the room , stopping to greet the guest. He would come down these steps opposite our table; but he never spoke to us. He would drop his eyes and look at the floor or would simply look off when he came down these steps. When we asked for our bill after dining for three hours, I asked our waitress who the man was in the blue suit and she replied, "Oh, that's the general manager." I replied, "I noticed that he has stopped to greet all of the white guest; but he has never recognized us." She replied, "Oh, he will greet you before you leave." (We are a Black couple) When our waitress left our table to get our bill, the general manager mysteriously appeared at our table and gave a sheepish greeting. As we exited the restaurant, he appeared again with sheepish exiting words. It made us feel as if Black people are not welcome at Iridescence. We not only felt snubbed but as if we had entered unwanted territory. I have lived in Detroit for 79 years, and I have never experienced anything like this.

In spite of being snubbed by the general manager, we had a superb waitress named Chelsia who was very personable and met our every need.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant for dating with ur part ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great restaurant for dating with ur partner. Nice food and loved the blueberry brammer drink. Waitress Chalsea is awesome with her service and suggestions.I really loved their restrooms:-) Dont miss to make a trip to restroom here...

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible food terrible ambiance. Big dis ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Terrible food terrible ambiance. Big disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Food could not be worse. My sisters chic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food could not be worse. My sisters chicken was raw mine undercooked. They made new dishes never an apology

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Iridescence was more than either my wife ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Iridescence was more than either my wife or I expected. The incredible hospitality begin while we sat in the waiting area where we were served a chilled beverage, and it did not end until my wife and I left. The food was absolutely the best. Both my wife and I paused after our first bite to be sure we let the other know that we had just taken a bite of something incredibly scrumptious. My wife has commented on our waiter, Helios, several times. He served us marvelously, explained how our meal had been prepared, brought us a sample of another dish, designed a special plate of dessert for our tenth anniversary, all without making our night seem the least bit rushed. My meal was the absolute best, and I feel comfortable speaking for my wife when I say it was the best she has ever had too. The decor was regal and the lighting exquisite. Thank you Iridescence cooks and crew, we definitely plan to visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my visit to iridescence throug ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I enjoyed my visit to iridescence throughly. Thank you all for the wonderful food andamazing service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant setting on 16th floor of Motor C ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Elegant setting on 16th floor of Motor City Casino. Excellent wedge salad, Dover sole delicious. Pricey wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

our waitress on sunday 7-24-16 was grea ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

our waitress on sunday 7-24-16 was great very friendly and helpful and made the dining experience really great

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb service and menu recommendations. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Superb service and menu recommendations. I look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service was wonderful, view ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food, service was wonderful, view spectacular, looking forward to returning. The new menu is outstanding and hats off to the new chef.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Amazing service! Really ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing food! Amazing service! Really great experience all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite restaurants-great fo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants-great for a special occasions. Service is always excellent. Very nice ambiance, too. Food is fabulous but on the pricey side. Seems every time we go there, prices have increased.

Overall still a wonderful place to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was the perfect setting for a romanti ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was the perfect setting for a romantic date night with my husband. Our server Helius was excellent and took great care of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iridescence is by far one of the best re ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Iridescence is by far one of the best restaurants in Detroit. Every detail was impeccable, the views scenic, the service top notch, and the food incredible. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love a trip to this restaurant. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always love a trip to this restaurant. The dress code is a little more casual for some, but you won't feel out of place if you are formally dressed. The food is always delightful, although I must say I do miss the favorites I have 'falling off' the menu for new options.

Dover sole---fantastic. Lamb chops---melt in your mouth.

Also had the Kobe sliders, and they were wonderful as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the kaiseki menu and it was fabul ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had the kaiseki menu and it was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is outstanding . The menu has ch ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service is outstanding . The menu has changed and is much better than the past.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wedding anniversary , which was acknowle ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wedding anniversary , which was acknowledged once we arrived , however after our meal we weren't offered the complimentary dessert nor were we given the opportunity to order any?

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.