Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About Iridescence

Featuring spectacular views of the city skyline, Iridescence is Detroit's premier fine dining experience and has been awarded AAA's 4-Diamond rating year after year and in 2016 was rated a coveted "Recommended" by Forbes Travel Guide. Iridescence focuses on dishes prepared with intense local and natural flavors, creating a relaxed and broadly appealing menu. Paired with an extensive and award-winning wine list, Iridescence provides the ultimate culinary experience.

2901 Grand River Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday and Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 237-6732

Website:
http://www.iridescencedetroit.com/

Parking Details:
Free casino and hotel parking garage. Free valet available.

Executive Chef:
Nick Geftos

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Private Dining Room that offers secluded seating for up to 6 guests. We also have our upper tier dining area in the room which can accommodate up to 40 guests with spectacular views.

Private Party Contact:
David Brown: (313) 237-6732

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Happy Hour menu featuring small plates exclusively for bar customers and special pricing on beverages. Available nightly from 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm.

Iridescence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (94)
Good for Anniversaries (90)
Special Occasion (88)
See All
Scenic View (87)
Romantic (82)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Worth the Drive (43)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Notable Wine List (30)
Business Meals (28)
Cozy (25)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Tasting Menu (23)
Good for Groups (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Fun (16)
People Watching (16)
Waterfront (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Casual (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
3070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Fayez is amazing and really made this a memorable experience! Top notch!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My boyfriend and I were looking for somewhere to indulge on ourselves and this fit the ticket

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great a bit pricey but we expected that. Great view, love the decor and service was great, will return again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great service. It was our anniversary and she gave us two dessert for the price of one. She always referred to us as Mr. And Mrs.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything with dinner great. Smoky smell of building unacceptable, probably won't return. Security of parking area questionable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

What a great experience! The view is awesome. Food was outstanding and the service was A+++. Can't wait to get to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Been here several times. Helios my waiter every time outstanding job. Always trust his suggestions. Food is always spot on. Just an overall great dining experience. Met thr chef was surprised how young he is he will
go places!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Was very disappointed. Heard amazing things. I was told it would be the best meal ever so I was not happy. They did give the birthday girl a free dessert which was nice.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Amazing service & great food! First time and we will be back. Enjoyed our evening with friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My husband and I came for our anniversary. The service and wait staff were so nice and friendly. They gave us samples of diffrent foods to try while we were waiting on our dinners. We had a cheesecake that said happy anniversary with chocolate writing we ate it soo fast it was soo good. Everything we ate was soo yummy, fresh and flavorful. We will deffinately be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Iridescence has a lovely view and is trying very hard to be a high-end restaurant. The drinks and food are very good, but somewhat underwhelming based on my expectations. A positive is that the steaks were obviously not put in a sous vide, but actually completely grilled by the chefs. The cocktails are interesting and have a theme, and my Elder-Fashioned was well made. I guess for a steakhouse, I leave Fleming's more impressed than I did Iridescence.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My friends and I simply enjoy Iridescence, my dining experience is always wonderful there. I will definitely be back. Also Jamey, our table host is amazing as well. She's very genuine about catering to her guests. We also absolutely love the four course $55 option. Had an awesome dinner tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Enjoyed this place beyond compare prior to this last visit. It's painfully obvious that there was in fact a chief change!! By far the worst 250 dollar dinner I've ever had. The service was still outstanding but I felt like i was eating a steak dinner from a 12.99 buffet will not return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I've had many wonderful dinners at Iridescence but Friday night was not one of them. It was my son's 21st birthday and I've been telling him about Iridescence for a long time and he's been waiting for the day when he could finally come out and see what I've been talking about. The food, as always, was delicious. Our server was what made the night not so great. Usually the service is beyond what you receive at any normal dining establishment; making every detail so nice. This server (of Indian descent) was just not friendly, didn't smile, didn't make any dining suggestions, just was not good. I had to call the manager over and have a chat just to tell him that we were having an unpleasant dining experience. They comped the dessert which was fine but I just have a bad taste in my mouth from the whole experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The restaurant was exceptional. The was delicious. The steaks were prepared to order. Surprised with an offering of a 4 course meal selection-reasonably priced because we were eating at 5:30. We actually received 6 courses pre-appetizer, appetizer from a choice of appetizers, bread-gluten free and gluten, salad/soup, entree, dessert and then macaroon cookies. Also included choice of a white/red wine all for $55.00!!

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food is always delicious. Our server was great, and the staff are polite and friendly. Kim and Kyle in the kitchen are the best!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Happy Hour, Casual, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 6, 2017

My husband and I went there for our Anniversary. Seemed to be appropriate and it was. We liked that there is free parking in the Motor City garage. We had great a view and the service was great also. The food was delicious, would highly recommend the bone in ribeye. The wine selection is fine. The whole menu is a bit pricey, that is why three stars on value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was very good service was good we will be back 👍

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The best dining experience I've had in years. Amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We enjoyed a great date night evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had no wait to be seated when we arrived at our reservation time. It actually didn't seem very busy for a Saturday night. We were celebrating a milestone anniversary. Everything we ordered was phenomenal. Hubby felt his steak was underseasoned but still tasty. Meal total for us with 1 drink each, appetizer, entrees and desert was around $170. We probably won't be back because it's out of our budget for regular dining but it was worth every penny for celebrating our special day. Definitely recommend it if you can afford it! Only bummer was we went at sunset expecting a great view and were seated at a booth with other diners as our only view. I'm sure if we had asked and been willing to wait we could've gotten a window seat but we didn't.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food and service was amazing! We ordered a steak that was perfectly prepared and so tender. The ambience and views were beautiful . I had not heard of this restaurant prior to our visit, but I have told several friends of my experience there and will return again very soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The staff was very knowledgeable and the food was fantastic . We will definitely come back again soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

are order was not right we had to send back 1 order and they had oven issues they said so we could not eat together not the experience we wanted

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

not worth the time, went for 16 yr aniver. spent $54 on a steak that I can get from meijers around the corner. Spent another $8 on some mashed potatoes. total bill with me and my wife $130, should have had a subway and gambled the rest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Did the 7 course tasting menu with my wife and we both really enjoyed it. It was quite fun, every dish was interesting or unique in some way and everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We have dined at Irredescence several times for different occasions. Anniversary, New Years and birthday. The food and the service have always been top notch. We have done the Early Diners menu several times and find the choices good and a great value. They accept casino comps which make it an ever better value. Will go back again!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great ambience.
Lighting was good.
Colors are awe
View was exquisite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Had a blast the food, service and wine was excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

I had not been to the restaurant in a few years and took my male friend because he had never been. The food was okay but I just did not enjoy myself. The prices are too high. My male friend was not impressed. I do not plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2017

It was a great experience. The chicken and salmon were delicious. Free tasty anniversary dessert with the most beautiful writing on the plate. Server Nichole was very attentive. Served pored Figi water from a bottle as the water choice however did not charge extra for it. All of the waterfront views are high top tables. Great ambiance.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was excellent but be ready to pay up. The service was on par for a 4 star restaurant. Wine selection was great and not terribly over priced. Great view of downtown Detroit at night as well as the bridge to Canada. Reserve your table days in advance. Do not expect to walk up and be seated.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Very good food from appetizer to dessert. One of our best dinner in Detroit. And excellent service the staff was really attentive and really nice. It was really a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

My husband and I went to the sound board for MMA fights and had a light night dinner here. My husband steak was over cooked from medium rare to medium well... they fixed the steak fast and took it off the bill. Mistakes happen. Was not expecting an 80 dollar steak off the bill. Nice surprise! Great service and I will return! Food was amazing! Also they gave him extra food to snack on while waiting! Service went above and beyond! Can't wait to return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The restaurant manager is incompetent. I have dined at this restaurant several times and have had issues with him before.it was our 25th wedding anniversary dinner. When we arrived the hostess congratulated us, our server congratulated us. The manager was walking around talking to all the customers but us! Never even Came you our table. I was so mad I will never dine there again (unless he is fired). All the other staff was excellent! What a shame....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

It was our first visit to Iridescence to celebrate my wife's birthday. The view and the service were fantastic as was her pre-dinner sangria and the salmon. Unfortunately, my Manhattan was a bit syrupy and the striped bass a tad dry. The wine pairing recommendation was perfect as were the sides, appetizer (scallops), and desert (pineapple upside-down cake). I was surprised by how low the noise level was considering there were at least three celebrations of eight or more people going on throughout our stay.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Excellent wait staff. It did seem the hostess was not pleased that we were early for our reservation. It was still a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Exceptional experience every time. I've been to iridescence several times and it never disappoints. It's a Detroit experience everyone should have.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything was great this evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.