About Iridescence

2901 Grand River Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Featuring spectacular views of the city skyline, Iridescence is Detroit's premier fine dining experience and has been awarded AAA's 4-Diamond rating year after year and in 2016 was rated a coveted "Recommended" by Forbes Travel Guide. Iridescence focuses on dishes prepared with intense local and natural flavors, creating a relaxed and broadly appealing menu. Paired with an extensive and award-winning wine list, Iridescence provides the ultimate culinary experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday and Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 237-6732

Website:
http://www.iridescencedetroit.com/

Entertainment:
Come join us Fridays and Saturdays for lively Piano music performed by Paul Ventamiglia, one of Detroit’s most recognizable pianists. Paul has played for some of the brightest stars, and he is always ready and willing to preform any request you might have.

Parking Details:
Free casino and hotel parking garage. Free valet available.

Executive Chef:
Nick Geftos

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Private Dining Room that offers secluded seating for up to 6 guests. We also have our upper tier dining area in the room which can accommodate up to 40 guests with spectacular views.

Private Party Contact:
David Brown: (313) 237-6732

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Iridescence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (97)
Special Occasion (90)
Scenic View (90)
See All
Good for a Date (88)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Worth the Drive (50)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Modern Decor (45)
Notable Wine List (43)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Cozy (30)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Tasting Menu (23)
Fun (22)
Business Meals (21)
Outstanding Value (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Authentic (13)
Waterfront (10)
Seasonal (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Casual (9)
Healthy (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Comfort Food (7)
People Watching (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Private Room (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2832 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our first time dining at iridescence and we decided to try it for our 10th anniversary. I was really looking forward to a high top table to get the city views, however we were seated in a booth with no real view. I would definitely ask for a table with a view next time. There was also a cold breeze the whole time right on top of me, didn't bother my husband, but I hate being cold! The food was pretty good, but I'm not sure it was worth the price. The service was okay, however the waiter inspected my glass before he poored the wine because he thought the glass was dirty. It looked ok to me initially, but after I noticed there was a particle of something on the inside (not just dust). Overall, I think it was good, just not really worth the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

I celebrated my 50th birthday and the food, the atmosphere, and especially the desert was amazing! My server was very attentive and we will definitely dine here again!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves. My husband usually finds something to complain about however he was very happy with service and the food. He even revealed to me we will return. Will recommend to others. We were celebrating my birthday and the chef inscribed in my favorite treat chocolate the words Happy Birthday. Yummy!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was extremely over cooked for the price. Both of our meals for that matter. This was a horrible experience for such a special occasion. I decided to just save my proposal for another time in another establishment as the night was ruined by the disappointment we experienced. It killed the mood for the evening. Very disappointing.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved it. Top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

l love this place, the booth table was comfortable and dishes was fantastic. the wine was also good and affordable. I took my husband and my son there for my husband's birthday. The scenery is beautiful to view, and I took picture of the view. The food, wine, water, and the scenery is worthy of recommendation.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Scenic View, Fun, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

It was my first time and I truly enjoyed myself

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall great experience! Food and service were both amazing!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

I have only one word to say about this restaurant "Outstanding "

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic food, really good wait staff. Took about 2 hours to eat our entire meal -- so just remember that in your planning!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was weird. Average at best. The restaurant itself is beautiful. Very overpriced for no reason.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great view. Flowers I ordered were waiting at our table. Service was always evident (filing drinks, picking up napkins, adding cutlery, clearing plates) and not chatty which we like. Food was phenomenal. Truly artistic, not just a good cut of meat. Bravo.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We came after the Lion King half and hour late and 25 minutes before closing time and still had a wonderful day.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our server Hellos was very polite and hospitalitable. He is our favorite server.

Great !

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The ambience was perfect! We were celebrating our anniversary/Valentines day and this was the perfect place. Every dish was cooked perfectly. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone celebrating a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and went for the first time for our Anniversary. Great food and service. Thumbs up if u want to make a special someone feel loved.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great place for an intimate dinner. Great view, nice ambiance.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing experience. Perfect setting and ambiance, food perfect. Jamey our server was wonderful!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had our anniversary dinner last night at this place and it was wonderful! the ambiance and the view was spectacular. the steak and salmon we ordered was delish! The Kobe Sliders are the bomb though, you have to try it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a great time! The service was good and the view is amazing. The staff was very accommodating. The food was just okay...we have definiately had better meals for the cost.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and ambiance was outstanding. The only thing I didn't care for was the electronic tablet to view menu options and the wine list. I don't expect that at a 4 Diamond restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Loved it. Service and food exceeded expectations, will be going back for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went for Valentines Day and experienced the Chef's Tasting which consisted of a 7 course meal that you don't have any idea on what's coming out next. Awesome!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great experience, food was amazing. Everything was impressive. I love the ambiance that is provided by the decor, lighting, and views from the river front. Highly recommend to anyone, but especially for a special occasion, anniversary, or date night. We will be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was much more than expected and we will definitely will return soon.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The most fantastic service I have encountered! The food was excellent too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I really enjoyed the food, service and ambiance. The food was so delicious that we look forward to our next grt together.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love the view! We had window seating. This is by far one of the best spots for a romantic dinner. I had the steak, which was a little charred for medium, but all sides and my wife's food was delicious! She had the chicken and we split a side of lobster mac & cheese. We had the chocolate dome for dessert. The presentation and ambiance make it worth it on occasion for a night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was great, food was excellent service was good, setting was nice had a great time

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Beautiful view and excellent food! Great choice for a special occasion. Intimate setting with very attentive staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was great The View was great the service was great had a great evening recommend anyone celebrating a special time

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The atmosphere at Irredescent is always great. However during our last dining experience the food lacked taste/flavor. Glad to see that they now offer a burger. Looking forward to trying it. One of our favorite servers Chelsea never disappoints.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was great,service was exceptional, had the 4 course special and it was wonderful and at a great price. We'll be back

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Very gorgeous restraunt with amazing view of the city. Very contemporary dishes with some of the best sea food I have ever had. The only thing that was stopping a 5 star review was our waiter deffinetly didnt seem proffessional nor did many of them at all. To be honest the younger more bus boy type who filled my water and took plates was more professional. Great place overall tho and perfect for dates and quite conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had heard great things about this restaurant. Went for an anniversary dinner. Setting is beautiful. The service was terrific. However the food was subpar. We had the seven course tasting menu and really nothing stood out to be terrific. The prices are extremely high when you consider the middle of the road flavors of the dishes. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I Would not recommend this restaurant, unless you were staying in the casino.

The service was very good, however the food quality was just ok, nothing great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was awesome! The crab cakes was delicious as well as the miso salmon.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This visit was for my Mom's birthday. The restaurant was fantastic containing an unparalleled view of the city's skyline and river. Our server Mai Lee ( I think) was 5 stars as she knew how to maneuver to keep the food ordering and course servings process going subtly with being imposing.

After the meal though we were full, she insisted we get a dessert. She kindly wrote a nicely artistic Happy Birthday well wish and picture on my mom's dessert plate. It was so well done my mom thought it was part of the plate itself...lol.

The dinner went better than expected and will definitely be back.

The only slight issue was that the whipped potatoes were too salty but that small issue wouldn't stop me from returning

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 25, 2017

First timer, food was excellent and service was top notch. Helios, our waiter, made it a great experience. He had excellent service, was very personable and gave great recommendations on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food was fantastic. Expensive, but not over-priced. Our server, Helios, provided excellent descriptions and recommendations for us, and was generally just a good dude. We will be returning to Iridescence, and hopefully the view will be better this time -- it was foggy out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Love the atmosphere. Best wait service. We love jamie.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Your waitstaff was informed and polite. My party or four were pleased with the service and the food. We did not leave hungry.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were seated perfectly on time according to our reservation and accorded a table with a beautiful view. Our waiter, Fayez, was very attentive to my wife's dietary needs. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection and the crab cake appetizer, lobster bisque soup, and macaroon dessert were awesome. Empty dishes were removed promptly and the meal was paced very nicely. A degustation menu was recommended to us, but it would have taken too long (2-1/2 hours), so we passed on that. I highly recommend Iridescence!

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Live Music, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I absolutely loved dinner with my fiancé here. We had a beautiful view. I highly recommend!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was great, food was excellent, the view is phenomenal. We did the wine and dine, food was done to perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Absolutely wonderful from the moment we walked in to the moment we walked out. Everyone was extremely welcoming and accommodating. Our anniversary dinner was made to be very special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

One of the best experiences we have ever had. The food and the service were amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great service and ambience

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Good food and quick service. Only issue is you are asked at least 9X how is dinner while eating . Gets a little annoying. Other than that great place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We waited an hour for food I asked for the manager who stated he heard they forgot about my lobster and the food would be out soon ! He promised I would leave happy and I did NOT! I waited forever just to get a tough lobster and boyfriend hated his steak ! $200 bill for a long wait and terrible food wouldn't recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.