About Iridescence

2901 Grand River Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Featuring spectacular views of the city skyline, Iridescence is Detroit's premier fine dining experience and has been awarded AAA's 4-Diamond rating year after year. Iridescence focuses on dishes prepared with intense local and natural flavors, creating a relaxed and broadly appealing menu. Paired with an extensive and award-winning wine list, Iridescence provides the ultimate culinary experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday and Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 237-6732

Website:
http://www.iridescencedetroit.com/

Entertainment:
Come join us Fridays and Saturdays for lively Piano music performed by Paul Ventamiglia, one of Detroit’s most recognizable pianists. Paul has played for some of the brightest stars, and he is always ready and willing to preform any request you might have.

Parking Details:
Free casino and hotel parking garage. Free valet available.

Executive Chef:
Dan Rutkowski

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Private Dining Room that offers secluded seating for up to 6 guests. We also have our upper tier dining area in the room which can accommodate up to 40 guests with spectacular views.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Petterson: 3132376732x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Peanut Butter Bar
Sliced Filet Mignon Over Truffle Risotto With Applewood Curred Lobster And Bernaise Sauce Over Red Wine Reduction
Yellowfin Tuna With Coconut Rice In A Yellow Curry Reduction With Edamame And Edible Coconut Rind
Foie Gras On Corn Chrisp Over Black Beans With Red Pepper Coulis And Advocado Puree
Aged Chesse And Pumpernickle Cracker With Wheat Beer
Peach Sorbet Amuse Bouche
Amuse Bouche
Seared Yellow Fin Tuna With Sea Urchin Infused Holandaise Sauce
Caviar In A Yukon Gold Potato With Fried Capers And Creme Freche
Bread Service
Arnold Palmer
Pear Salad
Cantaloupe Cloud
Stone Crab
Ahi tuna
Amstel Lite
Fried Confit Of Chicken
New York Strip
Bread
Onion Soup Gratin
Sauteed Jumbo Lump Crab Cake
Cucumber Melon Martini
Melon Sorbet
Cote Du Boeuf
Grilled Ribeye
Pinot Noir
A Tale Of Two Chickens Coq Au , Red Wine, Mushrooms, Pearl Onions Fried Chicken With Foie Gras Gravy
Pomegranate Cosmopolitan
Filet Mignon
Whitefish To Its Best
Hazelnut Bar
Salmon
Ribeye Steak

Iridescence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Scenic View
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
6 More
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Service
Detroit
Best Ambiance
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Special Occasion
Detroit
Contemporary American
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

Special Occasion (113)
Scenic View (110)
Romantic (98)
See All
Notable Wine List (45)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Late-night Find (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Authentic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful visuals from moment you walk t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful visuals from moment you walk thru door and city lights and those of the Ambassador bridge at night make great dining back drop. Food was hit or miss. Scallops were phenomenal and also pineapple upside down cake. But sides were too salty to eat!! Smothering everything in butter and salt does not make it gourmet. Service was high class so overall a nice experience but not Chef's Table caliber cuisine. A more discerning menu and it could be top shelf.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was impeccable.! The service wa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was impeccable.! The service was wonderful! They asked if we were going to the concert after dinner , which we were, and made sure we were served in plenty of time to get there. The view was awesome too😊

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I wanted a nice dinner, a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

My friends and I wanted a nice dinner, a really nice dinner, before one member moves out of state. We had requested a window table and watched Detroit come alive at night. Watched ships on the river as they passed. The food was wonderful. Portions are large so three of us were able to split a Caesar's Salad and asparagus while each had their own entrée.

This is what I categorize as a dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iridescence once again out did themselve ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Iridescence once again out did themselves with a last minute special date my girlfriend and I planned for a celebration, the atmosphere is awesome, and the food is fantastic. All the staff are professional, kind, polite, and make sure to have you smiling through out your entire dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience. Highly r ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. Highly recommended any occasion.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had dinner Sunday nite with my friends ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I had dinner Sunday nite with my friends and my wife. The food, overall, was good. However, I ordered a$49--10 oz filet mignon med.+(between medium and medium well) and it came out over cooked. That was a big turn off for me!! Due to time constrains, I disn't ask for another filet.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I would recommend that anyone who can ap ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I would recommend that anyone who can appreciate a good view visit this restaurant. If you time it right, you can catch both the late evening and nighttime views in the course of a meal. I found the food to be above average, but my expectations were perhaps too high after all of the 4-Diamond rating references online, in the restaurant, and at the hotel. The server was wonderful, however, the support staff was average to poor (mostly attentive, but loud and sloppy). I also noted that everyone around me was celebrating an anniversary, as was I -- special occasions only, I suppose.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

They decorated a large white plate with ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

They decorated a large white plate with black chocolate that said Happy Birthday and fancy decorations along with two cookies for us. Nice personal touch that really surprised us. The atmosphere and lighting is amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and celebrated our seventeenth w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and celebrated our seventeenth wedding anniversary and the view was excellent, food outstanding and the staff attentive. We recommend Iridescence!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very special experience. The food is ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

A very special experience. The food is delicious and the service compliments the food. Overall the experience is worth the price. Beautiful scenic views of our city.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing place for sharing great dishes w ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing place for sharing great dishes with special people. I am a visitor and definitely got lucky with going to this place for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef offered a "free" hors d'oeuvre, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The chef offered a "free" hors d'oeuvre, for which I was ultimately charged: it was a modest price, but it was not "free". The bread was delicious. The appetizer and salad were fair, but frankly have found better at more casual dining venues and at a better price. The cheesy scalloped potatoes were horrible. The entrees were pretty good. I would visit for drinks and perhaps different appetizers, but not a full meal. The post dinner macaroon was delicious. We paid for the "free" hors d'oeuvre by deducting that amount from the waitresses tip.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The food and service was excellent, but ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food and service was excellent, but compared to other times I have eaten at the Iridescence I felt it was below it's standards. The salad was not made at our table but in the kitchen which was disappointing and no sherbet was served between courses.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! This isn't a place you go just ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing! This isn't a place you go just to eat, it's an entire experience! From the spectacular city view, to the hospitality of the staff, to the knock-your-socks-off delicious meals, they made our anniversary evening an event to remember. 5-Star for sure! Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Right from the start, the wait staff ext ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Right from the start, the wait staff extremely attentive without being obtrusive. Offered free extras like the salmon sushi appetizer and free birthday dessert (pineapple upside-down cake was very good and the presentation, superb). 10 oz filets for both my wife and me - cooked exactly to order. Splurged on a cheese tray that turned out to be a new favorite. Overall - we will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice friendly staff, food was very well ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Nice friendly staff, food was very well prepared. I will definitely be back

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable food; well educated to the me ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Impeccable food; well educated to the menu and attentive wait staff .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for 25th anniversary...got a window ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Went for 25th anniversary...got a window seat at the very back of the restaurant....told the hostess it was our 25th and we have never been to this restaurant...we walked by two two seat tables near the middle of the restaurant and they sat us in the last table in the back of the restaurant. Not really a problem...but being our first time there...we couldnt see the rest of the restaurant. View was nice...the food was underwhelming..we ordered steaks and vegetables...everything except the asparagus seemed to have "died in the window" ie luke warm..Roast is ten times better. won't be coming back again considering the price and quality of food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The service is always wonderful but then ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service is always wonderful but then I always ask for the same server for the past 2 years.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed spending a special night with my ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Enjoyed spending a special night with my wife on her birthday. It would have been a nice touch if perhaps they could have acknowledged her birthday with a complimentary dessert or glass of sparkling wine, etc., given that they knew in advance that it was a birthday celebration.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Best Filet I have ever had. It is a cut ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Best Filet I have ever had. It is a cut above the rest of the local steak houses like ruths chris, mortons, etc.. I can't wait to go back and try the 16oz option!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fourth visit to this restau ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was our fourth visit to this restaurant. The first three visits were amazing.

This time the service was great, but the food was too expensive for the value. Our steaks were cooked to perfection, our au gratin potatoes were tasty, but very runny. Our asparagus looked like it belonged in a one star diner. It was under-cooked and poorly presented with no sauce. Not good quality for a four star restaurant. Onion soup was too salty.

We used to love this place! What happened? New kitchen crew? The prices are out of range just because they have a great view. We will be trying other places with as good a view that are worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My wife and I love coming here. Great fo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My wife and I love coming here. Great food. Great atmosphere. The whole staff is top notch. Our server Helios is one of the best and very informative. Hats off to Helios. My wife and I have been to Iridescence several times. Each time we come back it still feels like the first time. The menu options are outstanding. I have a sweet tooth so I always enjoy the desert offerings. Delicious! Plate presentation is also fun. Keep up the good work! Thank you, Rick and Gina Keesecker

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I had the12 oz 28 day dr ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My daughter and I had the12 oz 28 day dry age strip steak, did not taste like a 28 day dry age steak, not as tender or the taste. I have had better at a regular steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I can't say enough nice things about thi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I can't say enough nice things about this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The croutons in the Caesar salad last t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The croutons in the Caesar salad last time or warm. This time they were cold not sure if that's the new procedure but warm was way better

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always impressed with the chateaubriand. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always impressed with the chateaubriand. Melts in your mouth. Everything I've tried has been delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great experience. Dinner was perfect. I ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great experience. Dinner was perfect. I came here with my girlfriend to have dinner and I proposed to her (she said yes) she was very pleased with our evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, it was a great dinner. Braised ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overall, it was a great dinner. Braised short rib app was amazing. Wedge salad was ok. Filet and prime rib were outstanding. Asparagus was average. Window seat was great. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Dinner was satisfactory. Great restauran ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Dinner was satisfactory.

Great restaurant.

Good view.

Amicable atmosphere.

Palatable food .

Clean environment.

Good selection of drinks.

Some times Salty food .

Fish was too mushy.

Lamb chops was good but little too sweet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I really enjoyed eating at iridescence t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I really enjoyed eating at iridescence the food was outstanding our waiter was superb The atmosphere was perfect the views were spectacular I would definitely return again for a fine meal if a fre The atmosphere was perfect the views were spectacular I would definitely return again for a fine meal everything was beyond perfection it was a beautiful evening

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iridescence is always a special treat! T ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Iridescence is always a special treat! The food is second to none in the city and perhaps the state of Michigan. Top it off with the venue on the 16th floor of Motor City Casino Hotel overlooking the city with the Detroit River, the Ambassador Bridge, the RenCen and Canada in view makes for a memorable evening.

The staff is friendly and professional and all will provide excellent service however our waiter, Helios, was outstanding. He is very knowledgeable and personable and did a great job of explaining and describing menu items and options as well as anticipating our needs. He also made sure that my gluten intolerant girlfriend was completely accommodated, even finding her some gluten free bread.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome atmosphere. Jamey was our server ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Awesome atmosphere. Jamey was our server and did a phenomenal job. I had the NY Strip Au-Poive style w/ Au Gratin Potatoes on the side and my fiancé had the Chicken Iridescence; both were delicious. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I reserved a table for my wife's birthd ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I reserved a table for my wife's birthday. We loved everything about this place!

Service was a little slown,but with that view the time passes easily.

The meal was going great,until I look up and my wife had a hair in her chicken she ordered...I glanced at the kitchen staff to my surprise were not requested to wear hair nets on their beards...And everybody had beards..Not pleased at all!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Our experience at Iridescence was outsta ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our experience at Iridescence was outstanding; possibly the best dining experience we've ever had in the US, certainly the best in Detroit. Fine dining, in a scenic view that shows the best of Detroit and the gorgeous riverfronts of Detroit and Windsor. Our server, Helio, was well-informed, charming, and attentive. He recommended the Kaiseki menu, an experience I highly recommend - six small courses, spotlighting the best innovative small dishes the chef had to showcase. Each plate was elegantly presented, with a short overview of the features and tastes to be expected. Chef came by our table more than once to see how we liked his dishes, and even personally deboned a quail dish I could not manage (I had an injured arm at the time). As a very special surprise, we were presented with a dessert dish -- a pineapple upside-down cake with chocolate calligraphy saying "Happy Anniversary".

A very special dining experience, in a beautiful location. Could not recommend it enough!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, we were treated like family. B ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As usual, we were treated like family. Bao-Ly, our server, is world class and the food was absolutely delicious.........

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable and the food ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service was impeccable and the food was beyond five star. From being seated to the the final course we were waited on if we were the only patrons . Our waiter Helios was fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first trip to Iridescence an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was my first trip to Iridescence and I have to say I was extremely impressed! From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed and given a fantastic table that overlooked the Detroit and Windsor skylines.

Our waiter was Moisi and he was a consummate professional who delivered the finest service I have ever experienced. Just to have the pleasure of sitting at his table would be enough of a reason to come back to Iridescence however the excellent food and beautiful atmosphere would be right up there for a reason to return!

If you are looking for an amazing dining experience in a beautiful atmosphere coupled with some service that is second to none then I wholeheartedly recommend Iridescence and see if you can't get one of Moisi's tables!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding. The crab c ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The service was outstanding. The crab cakes appetizers were the best I have ever had, because there were chunks of crabmeat in the cakes—delicious. However, I should have sent my lobster tail back for more cooking because it was a little under cooked and chewy. The mashed potatoes were lukewarm to cool. The string beans were fresh and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was amazing food was not well co ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was amazing food was not well cooked the chicken was not done correctly the battery was still wet and not fried well and the race that was served with the salmon seem to be very dry we did not complain to the waiter because of the excellent job that he did

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.