Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About Iridescence

Featuring spectacular views of the city skyline, Iridescence is Detroit's premier fine dining experience and has been awarded AAA's 4-Diamond rating year after year and in 2016 was rated a coveted "Recommended" by Forbes Travel Guide. Iridescence focuses on dishes prepared with intense local and natural flavors, creating a relaxed and broadly appealing menu. Paired with an extensive and award-winning wine list, Iridescence provides the ultimate culinary experience.

2901 Grand River Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday and Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 237-6732

Website:
http://www.iridescencedetroit.com/

Parking Details:
Free casino and hotel parking garage. Free valet available.

Executive Chef:
Nick Geftos

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Private Dining Room that offers secluded seating for up to 6 guests. We also have our upper tier dining area in the room which can accommodate up to 40 guests with spectacular views.

Private Party Contact:
David Brown: (313) 237-6732

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Happy Hour menu featuring small plates exclusively for bar customers and special pricing on beverages. Available nightly from 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm.

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Celebrate Father's Day at Iridescence. We will be featuring a special dish for Dad, and our regular menu will be available.

Iridescence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (109)
Romantic (99)
Good for a Date (93)
See All
Special Occasion (88)
Good for Anniversaries (77)
Creative Cuisine (59)
Quiet Conversation (51)
Notable Wine List (45)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Modern Decor (40)
Worth the Drive (37)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Cozy (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Fun (25)
Tasting Menu (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Business Meals (20)
Hot Spot (17)
Waterfront (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Healthy (16)
Late-night Find (15)
Casual (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Happy Hour (12)
Authentic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Comfort Food (10)
People Watching (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Family Style (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great Beer (7)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Organic (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
 (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2940 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Just marvelous food. Great flavors and portions. Good service!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service as always!! We will be back soon!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

I'm Scott from Georgia. I chose this restaurant for my first date Detroit because of The View and the atmosphere. It didn't disappoint. We both had a phenomenal time the service was great and the food was exquisite. I recommend at figure desert you get coffee. The presentation even down to the coffee is impressive. Thank you Kristen and I will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Another absolutely spectacular visit. Perfect from the moment we walked in. Everything about the experience was excellent. The staff and the food were top notch as always. Cannot say enough about the time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The atmosphere is wonderful, hip, and the food and service are top-notch. It's a classy place where everyone is well-dressed and you feel like you're in a special place...because you are.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

We return to iridescence for most birthdays and anniversaries. The spectacular view, the impeccable service, the outstanding menu and the special dining experience all make it the only place to go in Detroit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

Just like last time, it was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Overall, everything was great. Cheese tray was not anything special for the price.
Our server,Aretha, was superb. The ambiance and view were spectacular.
I would recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Cozy, Happy Hour, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was excellent, the ambiance was very fancy, quite for a great conversation, and the food selection was enough. The person serving us didn't seem like he wanted to be there though. Very stand offish, did his job but made us a bit hesitant to ask him for anything. Other than that it was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was terrible. My steak (Oscar style) looked like it had funny scrambled eggs on top and my husband's chicken was dry. He also had clam chowder with musty clams and I had a lobster salad with rubbery lobster. Our meal ended up being comp'd because it was so bad. Over-rated and would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I think this is a good restaurant for the Casino that it's in, but in comparison to stand-alone fine dining restaurants, I was pretty underwhelmed. While the view and decor are beautiful and the service is good, the food was just unimpressive and I had four courses. Not one stood out or evoked any "mmmmm's". And for that to be the case, there was little value at all, seeing as though the bill was a couple hundred dollars for my mother and I. That's my last trip there. I think it's better suited to casino patrons with comps, not regular diners.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Have visited Iridescence many times, the food service and ambiance are always great. I love to bring out of town guests, its always a great experience. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Solid for a fixed menu. Will come back for dinner,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Expensive dishes not worth the expense ...................nice servers

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Iridesence never disappoints. Service and food are always exceptional. We love going early enough to enjoy the daytime view of Detroit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Had the best time in a long time. Top treatment from staff and chef. Awesome awesome job!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My wife, daughter and I had yet another wonderful dinner at Iridescence Saturday night. As usual, we were treated like family, the food was absolutely delicious and, it goes without saying, our server Bao was world class. We can't wait until our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My overall experience was great and our waitress was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and had great suggestions. The food was good with the exception of the asparagus. It was overcooked and "slimy" per se. Also took a very long time for our dinner to come out. There was only two of us and we had plans afterward which we were late for because dinner was well over 2 hours, mostly waiting for the food to arrive. However the chocolate sphere for dessert was delicious! Honestly, I've had better food at cheaper establishments. Here you are simply paying for the ambiance and the view. (Restaurant is a lot smaller than the pictures depict online.)

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Went out for an early Mother's Day dinner our server Orteha (please excuse if I misspelled her name) was absolutely fabulous, food was excellent had a very good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything was fantastic, from the ambiance, the impeccable service, the wonderful food and the physical area of the restaurant itself. Definitely earns it's 4 diamond rating. We had a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable dinner to celebrate our friend's birthday. The view really impressed, and made Detroit shine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our Waiter Hollis was excellent. He made our visit wonderful! Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were able to get a table here on an evening when the sunset golden on downtown Detroit. Beautiful view of the city and the bridge. In our experience, many times the view is amazing, the food not so much. However, we were very pleasantly surprised! Menu had plenty of choices for all tastes and budgets. Our meals were excellent (side dishes too!). Our server was friendly, helpful, giving us just enough attention as to not be intrusive but there if we needed anything. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was wonderful the chef greeted me at my table also the cooks wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This place was spectacular. The views was phenomenal. The waitstaff was attentive and knowledgeable. The food preparation was top knotch.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing view of the city and nice romantic ambiance for our date night. The food was very good, but not amazing. I like some other steak houses in the area better. Paying more for experience in my opinion.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I am not from Detroit, but my best friend currently resides there. Decided to do my research and came across this establishment for her birthday dinner. The restaurant is beautiful, the view is fabulous. The support staff were attentive and kind. The issue for us began as we noticed the manager and the chef conversations with 95% of the tables, asking about their dining experience as well as their meal selections. Okay no problem right? WRONG, the 5% of tables that were NOT approached including my friend and myself were tables with African American patrons (in total about 3). When lack of regard is that blatant I become extremely annoyed. We paid our check and promptly left to continue our evening elsewhere. I will never return to this establishment again, nor will I recommend it to anyone I know, nor will she.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was great. My salmon was prepared medium - very fresh, moist, and full of flavor. Crab cakes were excellent, we ordered them three times as an appetizer, as a side with our entrees, and again before dessert.

The service was great. Our waiter was Moise - very attentive, very pleasant and patient, always nearby but never on top of us. He knows the menu well, and will give honest opinions and recommendations (not necessarily on the menu).

The management was great, the hostess not so great. They hostesses/gatekeepers were cold, unaccommodating, terse would be a compliment, and probably had their boxing gloves below the counter. We made a reservation over a week in advance and requested a table by the windows. When we arrived, Heather the hostess bluntly told us that it would not be possible, and walked us right past two tables by the windows and sat us in a comfortable low booth (plenty of daylight but not much of a view, except of the sky and tables by the windows). In short, a manager pleasantly took care of us and did fulfill my request when I asked him during our appetizer course. It seems that all the restaurant staff has that "go-out-of-their-way" Las Vegas-style customer service skills, except the hostesses.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I didn't really love this restaurant by any means. The food was very average. I had a filet and mashed potatoes. The bread was as hard as rubber. Our server rushed us through the entire evening. Very average experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food, great service! Every employee would introduce them self as well as continued follow up and wine and water constantly kept in our glasses. Great experience for me and my date!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great and innovative food, service was thoughtful and considerate. The Oysters Rockefeller were particularly innovative and tasty. I recommend them, especially if you enjoy a little salt on the side....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent staff. The lump crab cakes were amazing. The lobster Mac/cheese was to die for!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our dinner was delicious, service was attentive and the view was lovely.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had a fantastic experience. First, our waitress, Bao, was fantastic. She was attentive but not overbearing. My mother-in-law has a gluten restriction and Bao made a specific point to make sure she got gluten free bread and gave her a separate butter and oil so she did not have to use ours. She also made sure to make sure the amuse-bouche was also gluten free for her. She really was great. Those small things can make a big difference.
Second, basically the entire menu is gluten free. This made our night out much better. My mother-in-law was then able to eat whatever she wanted without concern. This included the desserts. It really meant a lot to her because then she did not have to struggle.
Finally, the food was simply amazing. It really was. You could taste the quality of the ingredients and what they did with those ingredients was perfect. The food is just simply good. You absolutely get what you pay for. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

had not been for years. service was excellent, although with all the tip money our server makes, she really should consider spending some of it on getting her teeth fixed. steaks were delicious as always, but everything else was substandard. asparagus was so bad, we sent it back and it was taken off our bill. pasta dish we had was disgusting, and for $30 we were lucky if it had 6 pasta noodles in the entire dish. amuse bushe was not bad though. the server helper with the Fuji water was very attentive filling our water glasses but while actually eating the meal, he needed to easy off, almost became a pain. for such outrageous prices at your typical "fine dining" eatery, not sure if it will be another couple of years before we would consider returning. thank you

Tags: People Watching, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food and service. Jamey is an excellent server. Would definitely go back for dinner with friends or on a date .

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Next time we're in Detroit we are definitely eating here again!

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Having dined at Iridescence on numerous occasions, we are totally satisfied with everything, food, service and everything in between. We can not say a bad word about Iridescence and we look forward to our next visit there, and special thanks to Bao, our server and the rest of the most capable staff that took such wonderful care of us on our recent visit . Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Love the place nice view ,great for esp occasion,affordable & comfortable

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Casual, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Highly recommend this restaurant. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our waiter was fabulous!!!!!! the food was OK I've had better there and I was a little disappointed had to send plate back because it was not warm as well as one of the cocktails.it was just OK but not the greatest Easter Sunday dinner 😢

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.