About Iridescence

2901 Grand River Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Featuring spectacular views of the city skyline, Iridescence is Detroit's premier fine dining experience and has been awarded AAA's 4-Diamond rating year after year. Iridescence focuses on dishes prepared with intense local and natural flavors, creating a relaxed and broadly appealing menu. Paired with an extensive and award-winning wine list, Iridescence provides the ultimate culinary experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday and Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 237-6732

Website:
http://www.iridescencedetroit.com/

Entertainment:
Come join us Fridays and Saturdays for lively Piano music performed by Paul Ventamiglia, one of Detroit’s most recognizable pianists. Paul has played for some of the brightest stars, and he is always ready and willing to preform any request you might have.

Parking Details:
Free casino and hotel parking garage. Free valet available.

Executive Chef:
Dan Rutkowski

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Private Dining Room that offers secluded seating for up to 6 guests. We also have our upper tier dining area in the room which can accommodate up to 40 guests with spectacular views.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Petterson: 3132376732x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Peanut Butter Bar
Sliced Filet Mignon Over Truffle Risotto With Applewood Curred Lobster And Bernaise Sauce Over Red Wine Reduction
Foie Gras On Corn Chrisp Over Black Beans With Red Pepper Coulis And Advocado Puree
Yellowfin Tuna With Coconut Rice In A Yellow Curry Reduction With Edamame And Edible Coconut Rind
Aged Chesse And Pumpernickle Cracker With Wheat Beer
Peach Sorbet Amuse Bouche
Amuse Bouche
Seared Yellow Fin Tuna With Sea Urchin Infused Holandaise Sauce
Caviar In A Yukon Gold Potato With Fried Capers And Creme Freche
Bread Service
Arnold Palmer
Pear Salad
Cantaloupe Cloud
Stone Crab
Ahi tuna
Amstel Lite
Fried Confit Of Chicken
Pinot Noir
Melon Sorbet
Bread
Grilled Ribeye
Cote Du Boeuf
Sauteed Jumbo Lump Crab Cake
New York Strip
Cucumber Melon Martini
Onion Soup Gratin
A Tale Of Two Chickens Coq Au , Red Wine, Mushrooms, Pearl Onions Fried Chicken With Foie Gras Gravy
Pomegranate Cosmopolitan
Filet Mignon
Whitefish To Its Best
Hazelnut Bar
Ribeye Steak
Salmon

Iridescence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
9 More
Scenic View
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Contemporary American
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Service
Detroit
Best Ambiance
Detroit
Notable Wine List
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Special Occasion
Detroit
Contemporary American
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

special occasion (130)
scenic view (118)
romantic (109)
See All
notable wine list (54)
fit for foodies (47)
hot spot (20)
good for groups (16)
late-night find (15)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (11)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (8)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food! Amazing service! Really ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing food! Amazing service! Really great experience all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite restaurants-great fo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants-great for a special occasions. Service is always excellent. Very nice ambiance, too. Food is fabulous but on the pricey side. Seems every time we go there, prices have increased.

Overall still a wonderful place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was the perfect setting for a romanti ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was the perfect setting for a romantic date night with my husband. Our server Helius was excellent and took great care of us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iridescence is by far one of the best re ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Iridescence is by far one of the best restaurants in Detroit. Every detail was impeccable, the views scenic, the service top notch, and the food incredible. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love a trip to this restaurant. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always love a trip to this restaurant. The dress code is a little more casual for some, but you won't feel out of place if you are formally dressed. The food is always delightful, although I must say I do miss the favorites I have 'falling off' the menu for new options.

Dover sole---fantastic. Lamb chops---melt in your mouth.

Also had the Kobe sliders, and they were wonderful as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the kaiseki menu and it was fabul ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had the kaiseki menu and it was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is outstanding . The menu has ch ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service is outstanding . The menu has changed and is much better than the past.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wedding anniversary , which was acknowle ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wedding anniversary , which was acknowledged once we arrived , however after our meal we weren't offered the complimentary dessert nor were we given the opportunity to order any?

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Ambience was INCREDIBLE. Most fine-dinin ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Ambience was INCREDIBLE. Most fine-dining = dark, quiet, intimate. Iridescence was light, colorful, and fresh... even at 10pm! Luxury without the boring (who would have thought!). The menu options were just as fresh and unique. Views and food were 5 stars, but the ambience truly made it one-of-a-kind experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was top notch but the food was m ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was top notch but the food was mediocre at best and for the price I would expect a different experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Good food, but overpriced. Beautiful vi ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Good food, but overpriced. Beautiful view of Detroit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

My family was very disappointed in fhe q ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My family was very disappointed in fhe quality the food served. We had the special and salmon dishes. The sauce taste like it was straight out of the bottle with lawreys salt on top. The beef was dry and veggies over cooked. It was a total waste of money I looked at the reviews when I chosethis ant they were inaccurate I will never return to this restaurant!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Very nice menu !!! Staff was excellent!! ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice menu !!! Staff was excellent!!! View of downtown --River !! Ambassador Bridge !! All made a nice evening!! Food was GREAT!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. My veal chop ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent. My veal chop was not the temperature I requested. I stressed medium rare it was medium well. The Dover sole was over breaded could not taste the Dover flavor. Such a delicate fish really should not be breaded.

Maybe next time it will be better

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite service, delicious food, and v ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Exquisite service, delicious food, and views. Wish the tables were a little more private and intimate. Didn't care for the openness and conversations going on behind my table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Your restaurant over rated the food you ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Your restaurant over rated the food you serve its not worth the prices you charge out of all the casinos in the area MGM has the best restaurants and the best food .

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent Food and service. The servic ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent Food and service. The service is wonderful. The food is fabulous The view was amazing

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reading the good reviews on Irides ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

After reading the good reviews on Iridescence, I was very disappointed when we actually went there for dinner. Very limited menu and extremely over priced for what you get.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

always great service, excellent meals, a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

always great service, excellent meals, a great location to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was for a romantic birthday dinner. ...

 
 (München)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This was for a romantic birthday dinner. The food was superb from start to end and they even had bottle of one of our favorite Australian red wines on the menu! A lovely surprise!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience. Love the varie ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great dining experience. Love the variety of choices on the newer menu.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was great.. However; we did w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was great.. However; we did wait 45 minutes from the time we were sat until our server took our orders.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

I thought the food was okay at best. My ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I thought the food was okay at best. My wife and I are foodies, and are always up to trying highly rated resteraunts. There were a lot of hits and misses. The filet was good, but nothing special. Their house salad was surprisingly one note. It felt like there was something missing. Dessert was was over the top indulgence. The best part of the meal.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Splurge

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Food is pricey, but imaginative & executed w/ great care & served professionally. The view is one of the best in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

The chef Brian was outstanding!! We dine ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The chef Brian was outstanding!! We dined for a special occasion on June 5, 2016 and it was the finest experience i ever had. My friend stated "it was over the top" The chef Brian came out introduced himself and chatted for a bit, so personable!! Then he sent out a complimentary appetizer, which was perfection. The waitress was exemplary!!! And i apologize for not remembering her name but she was a perfect addition to the whole over the top experience!! We cannot say enough about the view, its stunning!! Thank you for providing an awesome dining experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went for our 1st year w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I went for our 1st year wedding anniversary and absolutely loved it! The moment we sat down, the service was perfect. My husband had the lamb chops and i had the miso salmon for dinner while sharing crab cakes for an app. and the milky walk chocolate for dessert. The view was amazing even though it was a rainy evening and perfect timing to go for reservations at 6:30pm. Overall, we would recommend this place to anyone who would like a great night out in the city!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for special occasions!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Had a great time and the food and service were excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot! Great food and service. Was ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great spot! Great food and service. Was surprised but the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love at first sight

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I absolutely loved this restaurant. Our waitress was awesome and I loved the iPad menu. Food was great and I'll definitely go again! Don't forget to tip your server!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great experience. From their ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was a great experience. From their amazing cocktail menu, all the way to dessert, you won't be disappointed with dinner at this place. This was my wife and my first experience with this restaurant so we tried it all. Their drinks were really good, great flavors I wouldn't have thought to put together, they turned out incredibly well. From there, we had fantastic appetizers (scallops & kobe sliders) but it was the "Duck, Duck, Goose" and Filet Mignon entrees that really made the night. Each were perfectly cooked and we've been talking about them for last three days now!

I should also mention the 30 foot floor to ceiling windows over looking the Detroit/Canada skyline was breathtaking. Our dinner reservations were for 8 pm, so we were able to see it during the daylight hours, during dusk/sunset and at night (during our 90 minutes meal). The restaurant sits atop the MotorCity Casino hotel tower (16 floors up) so you really do get a great view of the city/river/Windsor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We totally enjoyed our evening, very rel ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We totally enjoyed our evening, very relaxing and the view is spectacular. Congratulations to the new chef, for his wonderful new ideas on the menu. The scallops were outstanding the plain salad were very welcoming. Look forward to the next time we dine with you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful service

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to Iridescence for my husbands birthday and it was a marvelous experience. I did think that it was just a touch over priced, but the food was wonderful and our server was knowledgeable, attentive but overly and made great suggestions. The vanilla bean cheesecake was amazing. My husband hand the chicken and I had the salmon with a side house salad. We were stuffed when we left! We would definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is superb. The waite staff is e ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food is superb. The waite staff is extremely courteous and very knowledgeable. As one who dines there very often the spirit is outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. We love this restaurant. Al ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great place. We love this restaurant. All occasions we celebrate at Iridenscense

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always liked Iridescence in the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We have always liked Iridescence in the past, however I found the menu somewhat limited and the prices have increased. My fillet was a bit overcooked. Not sure if I would go back. For a Thursday night, it was quite empty. The service was good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Had a wonderful dining experience. The s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Had a wonderful dining experience. The staff was exceptional, attentive, and friendly. The electronic menu was a first for us. It provided a pictorial of all the menu items and was much appreciated. The prices were a little high, but were not out of line with the locale and atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and service. We were ver ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Wonderful food and service. We were very happy that we were able to get reservations at this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall a great experience . No complain ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall a great experience . No complaints . I would highly recommend this restaurant to friends and family .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely fine dining. Waiters are so helpf ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Lovely fine dining. Waiters are so helpful. Very knowledgeable about the menu. Food is varied and delectable. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dishes were wonderful, the service w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The dishes were wonderful, the service was excellent, our server, Nicole K, was great and the woman (her name is unknown to me) that brought out our bread and filled our water glasses was extraordinarily nice and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.