Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About Iridescence

Featuring spectacular views of the city skyline, Iridescence is Detroit's premier fine dining experience and has been awarded AAA's 4-Diamond rating year after year and in 2016 was rated a coveted "Recommended" by Forbes Travel Guide. Iridescence focuses on dishes prepared with intense local and natural flavors, creating a relaxed and broadly appealing menu. Paired with an extensive and award-winning wine list, Iridescence provides the ultimate culinary experience.

2901 Grand River Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday and Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 237-6732

Website:
http://www.iridescencedetroit.com/

Parking Details:
Free casino and hotel parking garage. Free valet available.

Executive Chef:
Nick Geftos

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Private Dining Room that offers secluded seating for up to 6 guests. We also have our upper tier dining area in the room which can accommodate up to 40 guests with spectacular views.

Private Party Contact:
David Brown: (313) 237-6732

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Happy Hour menu featuring small plates exclusively for bar customers and special pricing on beverages. Available nightly from 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us for a wonderful four-course brunch at Iridescence for this Easter! Just $55 per person, plus tax and gratuity. Seatings start at 10:30 am and run to 6:30 pm. Please note that we will only be serving our Easter menu on this day - our regular menu will not be available.

Iridescence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (106)
Scenic View (105)
Special Occasion (96)
See All
Good for a Date (95)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Modern Decor (47)
Notable Wine List (47)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Worth the Drive (44)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Cozy (29)
Tasting Menu (29)
Fun (25)
Business Meals (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Authentic (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Waterfront (11)
Healthy (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Casual (9)
Happy Hour (9)
People Watching (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Family Style (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Organic (4)
Private Room (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Live Music (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2875 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

I took a date here. The ambiance was classy. The food was incredible and the service was unmatched. I will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a nice dinner. The steaks were incredible--mouth watering, soft as butter. Jamie was a fantastic server and looked after us well. My only issue was that our courses were rushed. We were in no hurry, but felt hurried. Dishes came out too fast and before we'd finished our previous dish. Slow it down, please.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

I enjoyed the service and food, I will definitely go there again. Thank you

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

I order the crab legs was very good I was hoping
a side dish would come with it but everything
is sold a la carte. so of course that takes your bill
much higher. you do need a potato or vegetable to
compliment your Crab legs

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything was amazing, the service was incredible, the food was delicious and we will definitely come back. They made our 10-year anniversary extra special!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Organic, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

What an awesome place! The staff is extremely attentive and make you feel as if they were mind readers. The moment you think of needing something, the waiter will already have it. The food is very flavorful. Iridescence really makes it clear that presentation is priority. From the table settings to the chefs in the kitchen. Every time I've come here, I've been wowed. I finally thought it was time to write a review. Which is well deserved to say the least. Take my word and try this place! You can thank me later in your mind and I will receive the message.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Service and food was amazing!! We had a great view of the city of Detroit. Management was on top of things and we had a great experience

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Was very very good. Got a window table, overlooking downtown Detroit. Every part of the meal was 'classy', with staff attentiveness as good as could be asked for. Specialty Cocktails were great. Had the scallop appetizer 'Scallopscargo', made to be like an escargot. Winner. We split a wedge salad, they brought it out on 2 plates for us. Our Waite, Fayez, knew the menu inside and out. We had a bottle of wine; the manager came over to offer suggestions, but did not try to persuade us into higher priced wines, was more interested in making sure we got something we'd like. We ordered seafood entrée that included 3 types of fish, as well as a half rack of lamb. Both were out of this world good. Finished with a chocolate sphere that was melted over flourless chocolate cake. Need to have that when you go. We saw the raving reviews, didn't know if it would live up to the hype. It really does.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Amazing food and service! We will definitely be back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The view and ambiance at Iridescence are incredible. The food is amazing and the service is always wonderful. The menu is always changing and is very creative. The raspberry dessert and the salmon were so different and I would definitely reccomend both.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We are repeat customers. Love the restaurant and the food and service. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent dining experience, one to remember!
Great view of downtown, service was top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

There aren't enough superlatives to describe the restaurant or our server. Helios took our order and knew when to put the order in as we enjoyed our appetizers. Even though I have been there before it was a first for my guests and they were in awe as soon as we entered. The presentation was excellent. The chocolate sphere is a MUST for desert.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best food ever, worth the price. Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food did not meet the expectation that came with the price. The entree selection was very limited. The filet mignon was average, lacked seasoning, dry and was overcooked. The lobster bisque was delish the highlight of my meal. The complimentary amuse-bouche was a nice touch but not good enough to make me want to come back. The ambience and view while romantic was a welcomed distraction from disappointment.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was very good and the ambiance is fantastic - the view of Detroit from the restaurant is unbelievable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was excellent but a little over priced. The waiter was a little annoying, coming to our table every couple of minutes. Overall is was a great dinner the steak was so good!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

IT WAS AMAZING!!! If you could give me a giftcard from how enthusiastic I am about the restaurant, that would be great!:)

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great service and dining experience. I would go back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Absolutely the best service I've ever had. They are on top of their game and very knowledgeable. The food was absolutely perfect. I suggest going before 7pm for the 4 course meal with wine for $55 a person. Great deal! Helios is an amazing waiter.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I LOVE this place! It's beautiful! especially if you have a special occasion or just want a girls night or date night, love the food not too much to choose from but makes it easier to pick unlike big menus that make you feel overwhelmed, not to badly over priced but it is more higher end dining, great drinks, I recommend the lobster bibb salad! And you have to dessert! And make sure u have ur phone out and ready to snap some pics of food and the restaurant it's self both beautiful!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Iridesence was incredibly nice,a very classy restaurant. Took my wife here as a surprise and they made it absolutely special for her. The window seats were great to view the city of Detroit and eat your dinner. The food was first class. We will definitely be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Staff, food, view, everything was excellent! One of our favorite places to go!

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I enjoyed everything. It was the perfect place to go for a birthday
The drinks, food, dessert everything was delicious. The ambience was perfect
I just cannot say enough
Thank you for a wonderful experience

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The view was great and restaurant ambiance was inviting. When you walk in the bar is the first thing you see.. too bad there is no view from the bar area! Our seats were great.. definitely request window seats. The food was ok, definitely not worth the price. It should have knocked my socks off but they were still on when I left.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our first time visiting Motor City Casino. We had an amazing dinner. It was hard to make a choice so my husband and I ordered different items and shared. We will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Of course if Mrs. Marion Ilitch created this casino, you know it will be top notch and with style. The taste, the choices, the atmosphere in the casino and restaurant are to be expected from her, the BEST. I know this because I used to work for her on the 8th floor IT at the FOX. Great family, Great businesses, Great people. Love it, will be back many times.

Tags: Waterfront, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 2, 2017

outstanding service, spectacular view, the group was in awe

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 2, 2017

As usual, Iridescence exceeded our expectations. The atmosphere, the food and the service are always exceptional. On this visit the Fritto Misto appetizer and the filet of beef were absolutely perfect. Our server, Oretha, was not only a great server but was energetic and fun to interact with. The Wine and Dine special, served Wednesday through Sunday from 5:00pm to 6:30pm is a great way to try this fantastic restaurant. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The occasion was my daughter's birthday. I asked her to select a restaurant in the Detroit area where she wanted to dine. She had been to Iridescence once and wanted to return. My wife and I had never been to Iridescence. We are from East Lansing. My daughter lives in Farmington.

My wife, daughter and I chose the fixed price dinner. All of the options were outstanding. Each course was superb.

Our waitress, Chelsey was knowledgeable, attentive but not overly attentive, and made us comfortable from the beginning. My wife prefers a sweeter white wine. The white wine choice for the fixed price dinner was Chardonnay; which my wife doesn't like. I ordered a Riesling and a Muscato for her. My daughter doesn't drink alcohol. She didn't order wine. The Muscato was a dessert wine for my wife as she wasn't going to have dessert. I assumed I would be paying extra for the two glasses of wine. When the check arrived, the wine was not included on the bill. I asked Chelsey about it. She said she talked with her manager and got permission to waive the extra cost of the wine. This was an unexpected and thoughtful gesture which was much appreciated.

We dined at a booth which didn't allow us to look out the spacious windows. The outside view was very ordinary so nothing was lost.

The free valet parking was great. Every employee we asked for assistance was helpful and friendly.

It is very easy to recommend Iridescence as a restaurant of choice. My wife and I expect to return when we dine again in the Detroit area.

Thank you for an outstanding dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Food was excellent. Great scenery, friendly work cast and great music. I would definitely come again

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Enjoyed a deal on a four course dinner program, view was beautiful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great experience every single time we go! Service is always wonderful and food is exceptional! Hands down favorite place to eat in Detroit.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

What an amazing evening! the staff was very attentive and friendly. The food was amazing! A wonderful experience!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

As always the service and food was great! Love our waiter, he's the best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Another GREAT dinner as ALWAYS, we have had dinner here numerous times, trying different things on the menu along with getting some things that we've eaten there in the past, and we have NEVER been DISAPPOINTED.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service, atmosphere and food were superb. We were disappointed that we could not see the view out the window from our seat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had a nice nice nice nice very very very very very very good time. Thanks

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first experience in the restaurant itself, we have eaten at the bar before. The view and ambiance is beautiful! The service was over the top between our server and the other wait staff who assisted with refilling water (Fiji bottled water), clearing plates/crumbs. I believe our waiter's name was Horatio and he was amazing! He had great suggestions and was very attentive. We chose the 4 course offering called "Wine and Dine" which was very reasonably priced for 4 courses and a glass of wine ($55/person). The portions were pretty small for each course but everything was nicely presented and tasted great! Their cocktails were also very good. The view is spectacular, but window seating is limited. I loved the menus being on tablets as well. I would recommend for special occasions. They even personalized a dessert for my husband. The bar area, (although smaller) was nice when we stopped here before a show in the past. The other meals we saw going to other tables looked great as well. We will definitely go again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was such an amazing birthday dinner for my husband and consequently for me and my kids. From the moment we sat down to the parting words, the staff did everything possible to make this night special. It was the myriad little touches like the Fiji water being constantly refilled, the complimentary taste of the chefs appetizer creation, the beautifully decorated dessert plate saying happy birthday, holding the heavy glass doors open for us, giving us great recommendations on the best food choices and sides, letting me taste the wine to make sure I liked it before pouring the glass, I could go on. All the food - beef, fish, pork, lobster - was delicious. And the chocolate dessert can only be described as sublime - I've never seen such a beautiful display. The view was nice as we requested window seating. Even at the end, I almost messed up the tip (luckily rectified before we left) and the staff were still gracious and wanted to make sure we had a great night. Even though it was, for us, quite an expensive splurge it was so worth it. I can't imagine a more special and memorable night. My husband thanked me repeatedly for making him feel so appreciated and loved.

Be sure to have some money on hand for tips like coatcheck etc. I felt bad not having anything to give them when we left. This is the only negative feeling I had all night 😀

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.