About Iridescence

2901 Grand River Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Featuring spectacular views of the city skyline, Iridescence is Detroit's premier fine dining experience and has been awarded AAA's 4-Diamond rating year after year. Iridescence focuses on dishes prepared with intense local and natural flavors, creating a relaxed and broadly appealing menu. Paired with an extensive and award-winning wine list, Iridescence provides the ultimate culinary experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday and Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 237-6732

Website:
http://www.iridescencedetroit.com/

Entertainment:
Come join us Fridays and Saturdays for lively Piano music performed by Paul Ventamiglia, one of Detroit’s most recognizable pianists. Paul has played for some of the brightest stars, and he is always ready and willing to preform any request you might have.

Parking Details:
Free casino and hotel parking garage. Free valet available.

Executive Chef:
Dan Rutkowski

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Private Dining Room that offers secluded seating for up to 6 guests. We also have our upper tier dining area in the room which can accommodate up to 40 guests with spectacular views.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Petterson: 3132376732x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Iridescence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
8 More
Scenic View
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Contemporary American
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Service
Detroit
Best Ambiance
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Special Occasion
Detroit
Contemporary American
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

special occasion (146)
scenic view (142)
romantic (137)
See All
fit for foodies (60)
notable wine list (59)
hot spot (27)
good for groups (21)
late-night find (18)
neighborhood gem (17)
vibrant bar scene (11)
great for brunch (8)
great for lunch (8)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is superb. The waite staff is e ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food is superb. The waite staff is extremely courteous and very knowledgeable. As one who dines there very often the spirit is outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. We love this restaurant. Al ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great place. We love this restaurant. All occasions we celebrate at Iridenscense

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We have always liked Iridescence in the ...

Dined 5 days ago

We have always liked Iridescence in the past, however I found the menu somewhat limited and the prices have increased. My fillet was a bit overcooked. Not sure if I would go back. For a Thursday night, it was quite empty. The service was good.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful dining experience. The s ...

Dined 6 days ago

Had a wonderful dining experience. The staff was exceptional, attentive, and friendly. The electronic menu was a first for us. It provided a pictorial of all the menu items and was much appreciated. The prices were a little high, but were not out of line with the locale and atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful food and service. We were ver ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Wonderful food and service. We were very happy that we were able to get reservations at this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great experience . No complain ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall a great experience . No complaints . I would highly recommend this restaurant to friends and family .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely fine dining. Waiters are so helpf ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Lovely fine dining. Waiters are so helpful. Very knowledgeable about the menu. Food is varied and delectable. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The dishes were wonderful, the service w ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The dishes were wonderful, the service was excellent, our server, Nicole K, was great and the woman (her name is unknown to me) that brought out our bread and filled our water glasses was extraordinarily nice and helpful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Iridescence for our 10-year wedd ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Went to Iridescence for our 10-year wedding anniversary. The wait staff was very attentive, but not rushed. Dinner was excellent, between courses the staff kept producing little taste size appetizers from the chef. The view of Detroit was spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our dinner waitress very friendl ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner waitress very friendly and attentive. Our dessert was a 42nd anniversary cake very kind and thoughtful surprise!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Wasn't impressed

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was cold, portion size was small and lamb chops came out charred. Went for Mother's Day, food not worth the price. Service was good and nice scenery but could've gotten that and a better meal at coach insignia.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't Be Happier

Dined on May 6, 2016

My boyfriend and I decided to surprise our mothers with a nice dinner to Iridescence for Mother's Day. I've been here a couple times before and it has not disappointed me once. The waiter, ambiance, especially the food and wine made it a remarkable evening. I'm not even a huge fan of lamb, however, their lamb chops were phenomenal! I cannot wait to return to Iridescence!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful and tasty!

Dined on May 5, 2016

We loved the ambiance of the restaurant and the excellent food! What a great place for a special event!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!! Gorgeous!! Delicious!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We came to Iridescence for our 10 year wedding anniversary. It was perfect. The food and wait staff were amazing. The wait staff were very knowledgeable about the food and gave great recommendations. We weren't rushed and were able to enjoy ourselves. I would highly recommend Iridescence.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

View of city was great. Food was indiffe ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

View of city was great. Food was indifferent and over priced. Oysters very small. Had to return overcooked steak. Server and management very accommodating. Very nice people. Electronic menus confusing. Server not knowledgeable in how to find certain wines.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Our anniversary

Dined on April 24, 2016

We went here after reading all the good reviews. It was our anniversary so we decided to splurge. Our waitress was very good. Our beginning cocktail and the wine we choose was excellent. Everything else was ordinary. We were very disappointed in the food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my favorite detroit restaurant

Dined on April 24, 2016

Very friendly staff and nice quiet place with unusual food presentation.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 24, 2016

I loved the atmosphere from day to night was Amazing. The food was good an great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Not bad

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was ok. Server moisi was great. Food was subpar for being so fancy. Not enough selection. Very seafood based.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Still very good, but . . .

Dined on April 23, 2016

no longer exceptional. After our anniversary dinner last year we thought we vowed to return this year in hopes of another 5* meal and experience. I understand that the chef changed since last year and unfortunately it shows. Everything was very good and in fact the appetizers and soup were excellent, but the entrees were just average for a restaurant of this caliber and the desert was uninspired. We love the atmosphere and the service was good, but it is a bit of let down from a year ago.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Date Night!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our waiter Helios was the best. Food was outstanding and the view was amazing. Very professional staff and chefs are top notch. We have an amazing pre-opera evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service by Moisi (sp) was beyond excelle ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Service by Moisi (sp) was beyond excellent. Food was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

very nice evening

Dined on April 22, 2016

Was much nicer than I expected and I will return. Loved the window two top table.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Best

Dined on April 21, 2016

We took are old friends, who were from out of town, and Iridescence did not disappointment, as it never does. We wanted to impress them with a nice view of the city, while they enjoyed some delicious food, and this is definitely the best restaurant for that. Everything is always amazing, from service, to food, to ambiance. We all enjoyed our bread, salads, Salmon, perfectly prepared Filet Mignon, and how could we forget the finishing touch of Cheesecake, while we shared childhood memories and enjoyed the most beautiful view in all of Detroit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Date Night

Dined on April 16, 2016

Overall a good experience...Food was very good, wouldn't say great...Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Large wine list, nice atmosphere, great view. Just felt the price's were a little high for the quality of food. It was a one-time date night with the wife, so I expected to pay high prices. I would do it again, but I would go with a group of people instead just a date, didn't have that "romantic" feel to it.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding dinning experience

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food quality was excellent with a varied menu. We enjoyed the appetizers and bread basket were very fresh and tasty. The salads were very good and the amounts that they served was so large that we could only finish half of it. The dinners are expensive but certainly one of the best meals I have had in years. I cannot say enough about the customer service experience. Everyone from the bussers to the wait staff and management were cordial and seemed very interested in us as patrons. Very friendly staff and the service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must!

Dined on April 14, 2016

I have nothing bad to say about this dining experience. Excellent from the moment we walked in to the moment we (reluctantly) left. Fantastic service. Unique, delicious, modern cuisine. Breath taking view. A must try in the world of fine dining!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the BEST dining experience I've ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

This was the BEST dining experience I've ever had. Bao Ly was an amazing waitress. We will definitely be back to see her!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Impressive dining experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

Was there for a very special occasion and the dinner was excellent. I ordered the New York Strip Steak and it was cooked to perfection. The Lobster Bisque was excellent. The wine list is impressive. The service was top notch. Ask for Helios. Restaurant is pricey but well worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on April 9, 2016

The place was nice. The view was amazing. The food tasted phenomenal. Everything was on point and was great experience overall

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Dining

Dined on April 2, 2016

My husband and I had planned on "date night" for a few months now. It was difficult to have a romantic night out because the both of us work a lot and we have two children that keeps us busy. Therefore, this was the first time that my husband and I had been to Iridescence and it was the perfect romantic dining experience. The atmosphere was wonderful and the staff was extremely polite and professional, from the two ladies at the front desk to the ones pouring our water. Our waitress Jamie was really kind and she was very attentive, making sure we had an excellent dining experience. The food was delicious and my husband really loved the cranberry bread. My husband and I have already decided that we will be back to experience the American Kaiseki. We are looking forward to returning to Iridescence for another romantic dining experience and would certainly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is up for a spectacular fine dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. The view is bea ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Service was outstanding. The view is beautiful & the new chef is the best thing for this restaurant. He prepared a special dish for my guest. We will be back because of him & our server.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner

Dined on April 2, 2016

This place is amazing. You get what you pay for and its worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

Dined on April 2, 2016

Iridescence offers excellent food and the best service I've received at a restaurant. Always accommodating and 5 star service. I highly recommend it for the beautiful view of Detroit as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Wonderful Gem!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Iridescence is Detroit's best kept secret! The food was amazing! We had mouth watering salmon, lobster pasta and beautifully cooked filets!! The staff and service was amazing and unforgettable. Will definitely recommend to people!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AWESOME

Dined on April 1, 2016

Great dinner and service. Food was excellent. Always a pleasure to eat there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu and service

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great menu and service

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Brunch menu was well balanced and the food was good. I think the price was high for a fixed menu.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Mediocre

Dined on March 27, 2016

My party and I visited while in town visiting. We ordered steaks medium rare and all but one of the steaks were well done. The appetizers were forgettable and disappointing. It's incredible that this restaurant has been so highly rated. This restaurant does not warrant more than one star at best.

food5
ambience5
service3

Really good views of Detroit. The entree ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Really good views of Detroit. The entrees and cheese plate were both excellent.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.