Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About Iridescence

Featuring spectacular views of the city skyline, Iridescence is Detroit's premier fine dining experience and has been awarded AAA's 4-Diamond rating year after year and in 2016 was rated a coveted "Recommended" by Forbes Travel Guide. Iridescence focuses on dishes prepared with intense local and natural flavors, creating a relaxed and broadly appealing menu. Paired with an extensive and award-winning wine list, Iridescence provides the ultimate culinary experience.

2901 Grand River Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday and Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm Closed Mondays and Tuesdays

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 237-6732

Website:
http://www.iridescencedetroit.com/

Parking Details:
Free casino and hotel parking garage. Free valet available.

Executive Chef:
Nick Geftos

Private Party Facilities:
We have a Private Dining Room that offers secluded seating for up to 6 guests. We also have our upper tier dining area in the room which can accommodate up to 40 guests with spectacular views.

Private Party Contact:
David Brown: (313) 237-6732

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Happy Hour menu featuring small plates exclusively for bar customers and special pricing on beverages. Available nightly from 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm.

Iridescence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (92)
Good for a Date (92)
Good for Anniversaries (86)
See All
Romantic (84)
Special Occasion (80)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Worth the Drive (39)
Notable Wine List (38)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Cozy (24)
Tasting Menu (23)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Fun (20)
Modern Decor (18)
Waterfront (18)
People Watching (13)
Casual (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Healthy (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Seasonal (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tapas (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Family Style (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
2999 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was perfect. Boa Lee was our server and she was the best. Going back again next week.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service, and delicious food. My wife and I both had the smaller filet, but after apps & salad it was perfect. And I highly recommend a side of the lobster mac & cheese with your steak. Truly some of the best I've had.

My filet was perfectly cooked and really quite memorable. I'll be back.
One disappointment: I was really looking forward to the view - but know that all of the tables right at the windows are high-tops. I'm just not comfortable sitting at a high-top (with legs kind of "dangling") for a nice, leisurely quality dinner. The dining room is quite nice, and the view from the (very comfortable) booth was ok - but not like being at the window.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a group of 8 and the view was still great! It was perfect for our get together, the food was great service was wonderful we had Oretha she was great. The drinks were great ambiance was perfect! I would defiantly go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

The service, food and the view were outstanding. We took advantage of fixed price four course dinner plus a glass of wine for $55. A great value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Iridescence is an absolutely beautiful restaurant with friendly wait staff and management that checked in at the right times throughout dinner. They were never intrusive, but made sure we never felt forgotten. Jamey our waitress was fantastic, made excellent suggestions and gave us all the help we could need.
As for the food, simply put, it was great. From beginning to end everything was met with satisfaction. My steak was cooked to perfection and seasoned very well and though I ordered and extra oil based seasoning with it, it definitely did not need it, and I did not use it. Even though I did try it the steak was perfect without it.
My girlfriend ordered lamb and her words were "it's delicious" that's about all I could get on that.
Our side dishes complimented the meal perfectly and there was enough for me and her. Which is saying something because I am a Super Heavyweight Strongman who can eat quite a lot in one sitting and often times walks away from a restaurant experience disappointed. Especially "higher end" establishments as the tend to charge a substantial fee and then leave you hungry.
Which brings me to the price. All in all I knew what I was going to spend waking in here so it was not shocking. Our bill totaled at around 250. Which is reasonable for this type of restaurant, and because I actually left full, it gets a full win from me. From there menu you can get a cheaper 4 course experience probably totaling around 120 for two people on their early menu, but we chose to go the à la carte route which will definitely end up more expensive but give you more food. So if you are someone who thinks a 8oz steak is more reasonable than a 24oz one, than the 55 dollar Menu may be the path for you.
Finally to finish this review, the desserts. They were a magnificent end to an exceptional meal. Light and flavorful they contrast, but complimented the meal just right.
I would go on but I've reached the typing limit.
To sum up it was amazing and we will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Helios is hands down the best waiter we have ever had and we have been to a lot of nice places. He makes everything better. Fantastic meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We are already great fans of this restaurant but bringing two new couples with us for the first time...well their reactions reminded us of just what a treat this place is. Extra treats offered by the chef, sorbet between courses and filets that keep us returning.. what's not to love? Think we've converted our 4 friends as well. We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The view is beautiful, but overall, not as nice as in the photos. Service was so-so, not as high-end as I thought

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner with an amazing view. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The filet was amazing. Only downer is they do not offer any steak entrees. The steak is a-la-carte.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I've never been disappointed. Both the food and service has been superb!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I loved every minute I was in there. The food is amazing as well as the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Atmosphere was nice, view was great, food was good. We started with the crab cakes and they were great. Wife ordered a filet medium-well. It came fully cooked, a little dry and lacked flavor. The side of lobster mac n cheese made up for the disappointing steak. The chicken dish was good and so was the creme brulee.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My husband and I ate dinner there for the first time ro celebrate our wedding anniversary. Everything was impeccable!! Can't wait to go there again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 1, 2017

For the most every time we go there the food was excellent bit this time we ordered steak ask for it to cooked medium and of course it was well done. Don't if you changed cooks ,but it was not good this time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Celebrated our Wedding Anniversary with dinner for two. Wait staff was great and the food was really tasty. We really enjoyed the meal from beginning to end and will be back. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I love this place. We happened to have early reservations. For 55 dollars, I had a huge delicious shrimp cocktail, a beautifully presented Greek salad and a steak that could be cut with a butter knife. Also included was a glass of wine and dessert. My meal was outstanding and the service at Irredecence is always excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Outstanding food quality! Great service! I would visit again in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 28, 2017

3rd time dinning. My number one choice for my wedding anniversary! The service and food is first class!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Overall nice experience. We were disappointed in our server throughout the dinning. He had no personality, made us feel rushed, and was awkward. For that reason, we may not be back. We expect high quality service when dinning at high quality.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This place is top notch. Every time my wife and I come here the food is to die for, and well worth the money you pay for it too. Highly recommended for their 7 course meals, and drink pairings, as well as their many other items on the menu. Go try it out and see for yourself!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We had a wonderful waiter take care of the too of us. His name was Hello very personal person. Food was outstanding and a very reasonable price.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We wanted a table by the window for the view but was full. Hostess could have checked to see how long the wait would have been because right when we sat down a table cleared up by the window. Service was kind of slow for initial drink order and the bread to come out. I guess if you are paying that much for food the service should be there as well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great atmosphere and amazing food! I came for my anniversary and it was very romantic.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Beautiful place with delicious food and cocktails. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

A gorgeous place, delicious food, very professional staff, an awesome place for our 5th Anniversary! Flowers were delivered and placed just before our seating. My Wife was surprised and very pleased, as was I. It was well worth the money!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the State of Michigan. Outstanding food and Outstanding service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Server Helios was outstanding. He knows the menu very well and makes excellent suggestions. Not only that but he is a very pleasant person. All in all just a very pleasant place to dine. One other thing that adds to the experience is the floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Detroit river front.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Me and wife we love this place it's our top restaurant

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We had the 4 course special. The food did not disappoint and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Excellent staff , superb food, and incredible views make this a great overall experience. They also have a great selection of wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Kitchen must have been having a bad day medium tenderloin was brown, dry sent back waited 30 minutes, rest of party was done eating, left, very bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I really enjoyed Dinner their as a surprise for my husband, we both loved the food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Loved every moment of it, even the complimentary hot towel at the end of the meal!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on June 16, 2017

It's an awesome place!! The best service of the world! The food is really good!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Our waitress's name was Bao and she was fantastic. My family and I came for my dads bday, they were all very impressed. The food was all amazing, same with the drinks and desserts. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Iridescence is the premier go to restaurant in Detroit for a special occasion. They went out of their way to make my son feel special on his graduation from high school- even bringing him a custom decorated dessert. A special shoutout to Helios, our waiter, who couldn't have done more to make this special occasion a memorable event! The food is outstanding, atmosphere very dynamic and the view is amazing. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We enjoyed ourselves. Food, service and ambiance were great. We will definitely go back. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I made reservations for my Fiancé birthday. The food was amazing, not to mention the view is beautiful!!! Definitely worth the money! We will be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our waiter, Helios, was the best server we have ever had. Food tastes as good as it looks. Fantastic!! Cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.