About Iozzo's Garden of Italy

Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.

946 S. Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46225
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm- 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ray Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 974-1100

Website:
http://www.iozzos.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in Our Courtyard on the Following Dates in 2013
Wednesday June 5, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Wednesday July 3, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Saturday July 13, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday August 7, 2013 - The Tides
Saturday August 17, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday Septemper 4, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz

Parking Details:
Free street parking is available on the East and West sides of Meridian Street.

Executive Chef:
Kathy Jones

Private Party Contact:
Kathy Jones: (317) 974-1100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Courtyard Opening Party Thursday May 16, 2013

Iozzo's Garden of Italy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (63)
Special Occasion (57)
Good for a Date (55)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Romantic (39)
Casual (37)
Worth the Drive (37)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Business Meals (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Cozy (34)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Comfort Food (29)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Fun (23)
Bar Seating (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Historic (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Family Style (12)
Healthy (11)
Seasonal (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Live Music (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

We completely enjoyed our visit.
Our server Brian made the evening special.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant is wonderful. It is a newly discovered, but quick favorite of my wife and me. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is good for our date nights.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Good food. Well presented. Good size portions for each dish. Nice place for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Husband's birthday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I will never go back. Terrible service, food was less than mediocre, courtyard next to the interstate was ridiculously noisy.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great food with wonderful service. Iozzo's dinner was just what we needed for our anniversary celebration.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We have been several times & love it here. Food & service is always great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everything is always fresh & very tasty. Our favorite water is no longer there but we were well taken care of by Dana. Cant wait to return

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was our second trip to this restaurant... last time was Mother's Day... this time was Father's Day...we loved the ambiance, the service was wonderful both times and the food was superb. My husband was born and bred in NY so he is not easy to please.. we moved to Indy 4 years ago and have been searching for a real Italian restaurant, and were so happy to find them!! We can't wait to bring our children when they come to visit from NY!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everything wad great, food was so good. Joe was our server and he was great

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Really enjoyed the food and found it to be cooked well and very flavourful. The dishes were nicely prepared and service was good. A mistake was made in one of the orders and it was promptly corrected. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I go their ever year for my Birthday. I am retired but a group of us from work meet for lunch and or dinner. We always get good service and the food choices are very good. The waiters are very helpful with making the best selections and always let us know what the house specials are.
They also never rush you through your evening or lunch

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We were seated outside, soon to be forgotten about for 15-20 minutes. Would have been longer had I not gone back inside to inquire. They brought us an appetizer as an apology, which was thoughtful, but not the appetizer we wanted or eventually ordered (which would have been much more appreciated if it had been comped). An available waiter, but not our eventual waiter, took our drink and appetizer order, while our waiter was helping a large party inside. When we were finally greeted by "our" waiter he was apologetic and stated that our service would be great going forward, but it was only average. He would ask a question, and would be turned around, headed back inside before I had completed my response. In another thoughtful gesture he provided us with desert, but once again not remotely what we had considered and also the cheapest desert on the menu, if on the menu at all. We picked at it but left the majority. Previously this had been one of our most favorite places, not so sure now. They should have simply told us that they were not offering outside seating for dining. It was a Monday, I'm sure that is the worst possible day to go out to dinner. They did not bring their "A" game, for sure!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We enjoyed celebrating our 47th anniversary here with our son. The food, as always, was excellent, and we received two glasses of complimentary champagne for the occasion. We have never been disappointed having a meal at Iozzo's. It has a quiet family atmosphere, the wait staff is friendly, the food is excellent, and we are always happy to return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My third time here in 6 months, love this place. Great food, superb service and I'm so glad we found Iozzo's. If. There are two of you highly recommend the sampler platter. A ton of food and a little bit of their awesome menu.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 11, 2017

amazing food as usual. always love to go, recommend this place. Service was slow this night but has never been in the past. just more time for conversation and wine.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Never am disappointed. Iozzos has been a long time favorite. The food is always good, and the atmosphere is special. The food is artistic enough to let you know that you are not at a chain, but still unpretentious enough to enable you to enjoy a favorite. It is a great place to take a date, especially when you want to show them in deeds that they are special to you.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This was a classic experience in every sense of the word. Distinguished and crenatively prepared foods, exquisitely flavorful, from start to finish. Service was professional and attentive, while constant but unobtrusive, and the place was full. This is a restaurant to eagerly return to.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had excellent service from Jay. We are in town from Memphis to run the She Power Half Marathon Sunday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fantastic food as always. Scallops were delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food is always excellent, the atmosphere is great and our waiter Anthony made the experience even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Went to Iozzo's on a Tuesday evening & everything was on point! Cant say enough good about the food, the service, the staff. Everything about Iozzo's is top notch.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Wonderful food and atmosphere on the patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The service and food where amazing as well as the manager personally came to my table to talk as well as ask about our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We had an excellent waiter. He gave great suggestions. We ordered a sampler platter for 2 that had a variety of pasta and chicken dishes. All were really delicious. The Italian wedding soup and cesar salad were fantastic. Of course it was way too much to finish.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent service and food! Really enjoy the cozy and romantic ambience of the place. Perfect for a date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Another fantastic experience at Iozz's. Everything was fresh & tasty. Can't say enough good about the place. We will return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This is one of our top three restaurants in Indianapolis. Great service and staff.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We attended after the Indy 500. We enjoy the meal, the new wine (their blend) and the food was great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent service; reasonable prices; family owned; nice outside eating area

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were all delighted in every aspect of our meal. Everyone was cheerful and attentive. The food was outstanding right down to the desserts.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

First visit for 5 from out of town. Food as advertised. Outstanding, unique tastes. Family recipes spot on! Read up online about the "unfortunate incident" in restaurant in 1940 to add to mystique.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The place was PACKED!! They had a large group in for the race, & the weather turned bad so all 50 people had to move inside. It was hectic for a moment but the staff pulled it off. The food was outstanding as always.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We have gone to Iozzo's for many years. This was to celebrate my birthday, early, so we could get Osso Buco (on served on Friday and Saturday). It was excellent as was our service.
Going to Iozzo's means we'll always have an enjoyable dinner, great service, and a relaxed atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on May 25, 2017

From the service, to the food all was great. Authentic Italian. Definitely the best in town.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We have eaten here several times and the experience has always been great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Service was great! Calamari was rubbery. Overcooked. But all our other food was perfect.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Everything was amazing as always. Cant wait till our next trip to Iozzo's.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Everything was delicious, service was superb! Can't wait to go back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Once again this restaurant did not disappoint. If you are looking for great Italian food along with great service, this is the place. We arrived early and they were running behind on the reservations, but no worries, hung out in the bar and had great service and conversation with the bartender.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.