About Iozzo's Garden of Italy

Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.

946 S. Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46225
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm- 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ray Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 974-1100

Website:
http://www.iozzos.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in Our Courtyard on the Following Dates in 2013
Wednesday June 5, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Wednesday July 3, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Saturday July 13, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday August 7, 2013 - The Tides
Saturday August 17, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday Septemper 4, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz

Parking Details:
Free street parking is available on the East and West sides of Meridian Street.

Executive Chef:
Kathy Jones

Private Party Contact:
Kathy Jones: (317) 974-1100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Courtyard Opening Party Thursday May 16, 2013

Iozzo's Garden of Italy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (73)
Special Occasion (67)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Romantic (43)
Casual (39)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Notable Wine List (35)
Worth the Drive (35)
Cozy (34)
Comfort Food (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Business Meals (28)
Fun (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Seasonal (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Live Music (7)
Historic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1919 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

You simply can't beat Iozzo's for a friendly, fun, family-run authentic Italian experience. It's no wonder that this place is buzzing all seven days of the week. Both food and service are consistently impeccable. And Grandma Betty's aged manhattans will always keep me coming back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

I never ever get lasagna. Table next to us had a serving. Looked so good, I ordered some. It's a cheese lasagna with the option of sausage or meatballs, or both. I chose both. Best lasagna I have ever had. Extremely tasty and very filling. I took home half the serving. I highly suggest it to vegetarians, without the optional sausage and meatballs of course. I will stick with the meats myself :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My daughter and I dined in the garden on our visit. The outdoor atmosphere was so inviting and the food was very good. Our waitress, Linda, was over-the-moon exceptional. We couldn't have asked for better service for our first dining experience at Iozzo's Garden of Italy. If you haven't tried this restaurant, it's a must. Request Linda as your waitress, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was awesome as usual!
We have been here several times and brought our neighbors who have never been here. They loved it, too!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Always great food! Loved sitting out back on a beautiful sunny dat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We had no idea that Iozzo's existed. Best kept secret in Indy. Our friends recommended it and we are glad they did. Excellent food and service. We always look for the small neighborhood restaurants with original "home-cooked" tastes. Iozzo's hits every target for us. Loved the brick walls and the lights. Although we ate inside, the outside patio is charming. Bravo Iozzo's! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

We love Iozzo's! Staff are superb! Atmosphere the best AND the food is always delicious!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

We took my parents for their 35th wedding anniversary and were not disappointed.
Our waiter was excellent. At one point he brought my husband more of the dish he ordered, simply because he felt it didn't look like a fair portion. That to us speaks volumes.
The food is always amazing. You can tell that everything is fresh and made in house.
We love sitting outside, the patio has such an amazing vibe- something that the newer places try to replicate but lose in the noise.
Skip your chains and support local. With places like Iozzo's, you won't regret it!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Another fantastic dinner at Iozzos! Chef made some amazing food and Blake took better care of us that after a 4 hr dinner, we still didn't want to leave. Thank you Iozzos for making us feel welcome and comfortable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Too loud for conversation in a group of 7. Everything else was fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 10, 2017

My boyfriend and I love going the Iozzo's for a special night out. We've taken family here as well and are always pleased. We look forward to going back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Good food, cocktails, excellent service! Will return again and again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

What this restaurant lacks in decor (a little rough around the edges), it more than makes up for with excellent food and service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We recently ate out on the patio and LOVED IT! There was live music. Doug Resendez played some great music while we ate a great meal and just celebrated being with friends. It was a very enjoyable evening. The music and the food were a great combination.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wonderful food, great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent food excellent service Linda our server was the best

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great place to visit. Only wish is that the catch of the day would have had a price listed.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

As usual, Iozzos did not disappoint, food and service were exceptional.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The service was Very, Very Good. The food was Wonderful. Value was Awesome.
My wife had a very nice Birthday.
Thank you very much.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Waiter was new and she didn't know anything about neither wine nor food. We received a wrong order, and three of our party had a veal that was thin cut, dry and tasted like chicken... usually we have a much better experience there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very, very good Italian restaurant. Can't believe we were unaware of it for so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Wonderful outdoor courtyard dining eirh live music! Great food, wonderful handcrafted cocktails, and great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a great meal & my aunt loved the place. See ya soon :)

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

It was lovely. But outside on the sidewalk lots of trash and a trail of liquid from the trash being take out to the dumpster.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Thank goodness this wasn't our first trip to Iozzo's ; sadly, there were people in our party that this was their first impression. We were told when we sat down that the kitchen was running slow that night . We weren't in a hurry so that wasn't a problem. I'm happy we ordered appetizers as our food took an hour and a half to come out. My steak was charred beyond recognition and there was a hair in my potatoes. Needless to say I didn't eat my meal. The server was very apologetic and removed two entrees from our bill.
I hope I can convince the people in our party to go back sometime. It's a lovely restaurant with great ambience and wonderful service. I wish they would have closed that evening instead of trying to pull it off, leaving a bad taste in my mouth.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Linda our waitress was great as was the food and atmosphere. Great place to have dinner! We will be going back soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 28, 2017

It was our first time there. The air was smoky- hazy and smelling of grill/grease smoke. It seemed to clear out while we were there. My daughter loved the brick interior walls and unique lighting. The food was good! We had the mushroom risotto, chicken Marsala, spaghetti with meatball (kids), and the kids cheese pizza. The Marsala was good, but not sweet like we prefer. The risotto was amazing, and everyone liked the pizza-very cheesy. The service was poor. Our server left with getting only part our table's drink orders (3 of 5). One by one our drinks came delivered by other wait staff, including someone who looked like the manager. I asked her to take the remaining drink orders which she did. Our server came by sparingly; she did bring refills for others at my table but never asked me if I wanted another one, I had to stop her to ask for one. Overall we would come back, just hope to get a different server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

It was my first time going to Iozza's and I know it will not be my last. Wonderful food and wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Anthony is a slow, inattentive server. It is the second time he has been our server and we were disappointed in his service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Ordered the veal Parmesan, Small portioned over cooked. Friend had veal piccata, wasn't very happy with his meal. Place is nice. Food not so much.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Excellent service and food so good you will swoon. Family owned and it has been a part of the Indianapolis food culture for at 4 generations. The Iozzos for two is a great way to taste a lot of different great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Friendly and attentive staff and good variety on menu. Nice wine and drink selection. All four of us enjoyed our meal: eggplant parm, two for Tour of Italy, and blackened fish of the day.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I loved the taste of my entree, but the only downside of it is that there was only 6 ravioli's...
My boyfriend got a pizza and half of it was burnt black on the crust. I got a glass of wine and it was halfway full, definitely not worth $10. We will not be going back and we won't recommend to anybody just because of the portions being small but so high in price, but the dining outside is pretty with the lights at night!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We love Iozzo's. It's a great family-run business. Wait staff very knowledgeable. Food is consistently good. Fun place to go for an intimate dinner or to meet friends. Get a reservation or you will have a wait at busy times. It's a little difficult to hear during busy times as the walls are brick (charming!) in the sound bounces. Eating outside in the brick courtyard is fun and quaint. If it's really hot outside it can get very toasty there as there's not much crossbreeze. But otherwise it is a lovely place to sit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

What an amazing first time, the food is incredible, the prices are very reasonable, and the list of fresh fish and crustaceans is impressive. I already can't wait for our next meal.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 20, 2017

This was our first time at Iozzo's and also my birthday. I read about the family history behind the restaurant and was anxious to try it. The evening exceeded our expectations. The food was absolutely delicious! (Try the scallops and goat cheese appetizer and, of course, the lasagna! Both were amazing!) The wine was a perfect compliment to the meal and it seemed like we were the only couple in the restaurant with our server being very attentive. You can always tell a difference when dining at a family-owned restaurant versus a chain. And the Iozzo family reinforced that. Thank you for a wonderful birthday celebration. We WILL return!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Very good italian food. Good service. Great deserts. Celebrated Vickie's Birthday. Friendly staff. Will go back again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great experience. We sat on the patio, and there was live music. Food was great and song selection was good. Could have turned the music down slightly, but pretty minor issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

average food quality and composition
no bread with starters
Chardonnay wine was too warm

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We went here to celebrate my sister's engagement and the staff was helpful and attentive, the food was delicious, and the dessert was divine. They event brought out complimentary champagne for my sister to celebrate her special night. I would definitely recommend this for special occasions or a date night.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.