About Iozzo's Garden of Italy

946 S. Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46225
View Larger Map

Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm- 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ray Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 974-1100

Website:
http://www.iozzos.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in Our Courtyard on the Following Dates in 2013
Wednesday June 5, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Wednesday July 3, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Saturday July 13, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday August 7, 2013 - The Tides
Saturday August 17, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday Septemper 4, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz

Parking Details:
Free street parking is available on the East and West sides of Meridian Street.

Executive Chef:
Kathy Jones

Private Party Contact:
Kathy Jones: 317-974-1100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Courtyard Opening Party Thursday May 16, 2013

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Parmigiana
  • Ravioli
  • Lasagna Bolognese
  • Seafood Risotto
  • Spaghetti With Meatballs
  • Lobster Ravioli
  • Filet With Polenta
Chicken Parmigiana
Ravioli
Lasagna Bolognese
Seafood Risotto
Spaghetti With Meatballs
Lobster Ravioli
Filet With Polenta

Iozzo's Garden of Italy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Indiana
Best Value
Indiana
Outdoor Dining
Indiana
9 More
Italian
Indiana
Best Overall
Indianapolis
Best Food
Indianapolis
Best Service
Indianapolis
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Best Value
Indianapolis
Outdoor Dining
Indianapolis
Romantic
Indianapolis
Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

special occasion (106)
neighborhood gem (104)
romantic (88)
See All
great for outdoor dining (87)
fit for foodies (78)
good for groups (54)
notable wine list (42)
great for lunch (35)
hot spot (15)
kid-friendly (12)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1466 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jay was our waiter and he was awesome. T ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Jay was our waiter and he was awesome. The food was some of the best Italian I have ever had in Indy. We met mama D and all of us including the doctor's enjoyed the the time mama spent at our table telling jokes and making us feel like a part of the family. This restaurant is a gem hidden away from a lot of us first timers. We plan on spreading the word. The only reason I gave a rating of good is because the air conditioner wasn't cooling the place very well. I would suggest ceiling fans. I think that would help keep it cool in the summer. See you soon! Elaine R.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We love Iozzi 's!! Shane is the best wai ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

We love Iozzi 's!! Shane is the best waiter ever. The only reason I marked it down a little was because their air conditioner wasn't working that evening but that is not a reflection of this great place!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food and cocktails were great. The a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and cocktails were great. The ambient temperature was very warm. A temporary spot cooler has brought into to attempt to cool the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Jay was a informative positive waiter. H ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Jay was a informative positive waiter. He was observant of our needs without being intrusive.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Server was very pleasant and helped ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our Server was very pleasant and helped recommend some items from the menu, good sense of humor and good wine and dine with my hubby.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Iozzo's several times in ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 7 days ago

We have been to Iozzo's several times in the past and enjoyed our experience. Unfortunately that was not the case this time. We arrived before our reservation time and decided to wait at the bar. We each had a cocktail and the ordered an appetizer which was good. We the ordered the house wine which the bartender forgot to bring us. He was too busy attending to some older men thT were buying more expensive wine than us. It was extremely hot because of inadequate air conditioning. 15 min after our reservation time there was still no table available. We decided to move to a bar table instead of wait anymore. We ordered. My chicken Marsala was good but by then I was so hot I could barely eat any of it. My husband's entree was just so-so. He said the chicken was over cooked. We will be trying out some new Italian eestaurants instead of coming here in the future. If we do come back it won't be in the summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

This was our first opportunity to dine a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was our first opportunity to dine at Iozzo,s. Very impressed with all the food we ordered. We shared an appetizer, each had an entrée and the house salad. Finished off with the salted caramel brownie and a creme brûlée. They have excellent take home packaging. More than enough food even for someone hungry. Can't wait to go back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Wonderful. As a first timer ... a wonder ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wonderful. As a first timer ... a wonderful find. Will be back again and again until blazing through the entire menu. That is, once you get the freaking A/C fixed. Only reason for scoring ambiance as average was air temperature.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I got a chicken penne pasta dish and the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I got a chicken penne pasta dish and the chicken was very dry. The bread was average, but the salad was good. Overrated based on the dish that I had. Good thing we had a coupon! :)

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

We love Iozzo's and never hesitate to ta ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We love Iozzo's and never hesitate to take friends there or just go there for a night out. Food is always good. Love the scallops with goat cheese appetizer. The pasta is consistently good; my favorite is the chicken diavalo. Can get a little loud when it's full, but we are still able to carry on a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brought family of 6 here for first time. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Brought family of 6 here for first time. Recommended by friends. We were not disappointed. Service was excellent and food, drinks were delicious. Great atmosphere for local neighborhood restaurant. It's the jewel of Indy's near south side.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It is a great place to enjoy dinner and ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It is a great place to enjoy dinner and linger for a lovely evening. Great menu and wine list. Service is personal and superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent service - wasn't very busy- waitr ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Decent service - wasn't very busy- waitress was pleasant- Summer Rose and ZOZO shrimp were Delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I always think I am in Little Italy (NY) ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I always think I am in Little Italy (NY) every time I go to Iozzo's.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think I just had the best salad I have ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I think I just had the best salad I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoy dining at Iozzo's because it is ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We enjoy dining at Iozzo's because it is such a consistent experience - consistently good food, consistently good service and consistently good ambiance. They have innovative menus and drink solutions - more than the typical Italian restaurant. This is always our go-to place for dining out. On this particular night, I had the banana leaf wrapped mahi-mahi and my husband had the traditional spaghetti and meatballs. Both were excellent. We went on a Wednesday night when we were offered the opportunity to listen to live music. All in all, it was an enjoyable evening and we look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT place, live music was awesome, foo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

GREAT place, live music was awesome, food was great, service very good, owner always there and that shows in many positive way. Only negative thing I can say is that hostess had a bit of an attitude and acted like it was troubling her to find us a table. She was fairly young so maybe just needs some training!!! If you haven't been to this place go!!! Live music every Wed. in the summer!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We drove to Indianapolis on short notice ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We drove to Indianapolis on short notice July 3, were looking for a casual place for dinner. The service was good, good food, but kept having to bat away nagging gnats :(

To get a good feel for the food there, we ordered the dinner for 2 which included 5 different dishes. We were very happy with it!

They were out of the bottle of Primitivo I selected, but suggested a similar wine which I liked, too. Would definitely go back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good Italian food with good service ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very good Italian food with good service ... just a little slow. Great homemade specialties and sauces!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and delicious pasta! In ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great atmosphere and delicious pasta! Indoor and outdoor seating and a small, but delicious set of barrel-aged cocktails (try the negroni!). This place is great, and they have lots of easy, free parking for those driving in.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This may have been one of the best meals ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This may have been one of the best meals I've eaten in Indianapolis.

Do yourself a favor and order the Filet Mignon Iozzo's Style. Delicious.

My wife ordered the lobster ravioli. That was also very, very good.

The place has great ambiance, including the outdoor dining area in back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is starting to slip in our mi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This place is starting to slip in our minds. Have been going for years now and LOVE the back patio and look forward to it a couple times every summer with friends. The last couple times we have been, the food hasn't been as great. If it wasn't for the patio and the wine, it would be a bust! The staff is friendly, but on the fence these days if we would recommend it to others.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Excellent food!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy the food. Wish that there w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always enjoy the food. Wish that there were fewer flying insects in the indoor dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

This restaurant was one of the best I've ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This restaurant was one of the best I've ever been to. Our waiter so nice to us, probably the nicest I've ever had. The food was also perfect. I recommend the Italian Wedding Soup, it is delicious, and the lasagna bolognese, that is also amazing. The overall experience was phenomenal, and I would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food but even better service. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very good food but even better service. The only bad part was the fruit fly problem. Otherwise, very good date.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was my second visit to Iozzos. Unfo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my second visit to Iozzos. Unfortunately, I was not overly impressed. We arrived at 7pm and did not receive our entrees until almost 8:45. They were lukewarm and my mahi was tough. Our calamari appetizer was also very chewy. The service was just really lacking and the food quality was not up to its standards. However, the outside patio really is beautiful and the wine selection is lovely. But, overall...pretty disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

We love it there!! We would go more if i ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We love it there!! We would go more if it was just a little closer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my fourth visit and once again ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was my fourth visit and once again I feel compelled to praise the superb food and excellent service. My salmon piccata was perfection. The spumoni is the best I've tasted anywhere locally. I look forward to returning and can highly recommend this establishment to anyone who appreciates authentic Italian cuisine in an authentic-feeling setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Iozzo's because we like the food, the ambiance of the old building and the friendly staff. My only complaint would be the gnats, they enjoyed our wine as much as we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I tried to make a reservation on the pho ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I tried to make a reservation on the phone and was told "no, sorry, we can't accommodate you", when I made the reservation through Open table and left a special request, I got a phone call FROM Iozzos and they not only made the reservation, when we showed up with 2 extra people in our party, they made that work as well. It was a very nice night, the food was great, as usual. Friendly wait staff, and the patio is so nice , even a brief shower didn't ruin the mood!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Did not enjoy our visit to Iozzo's. Noi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Did not enjoy our visit to Iozzo's. Noisy, battled fruit flies throughout our whole dinner and we dinned inside. Value was average for the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent to outstanding entree, but ver ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent to outstanding entree, but very average to below average salad. Our table staff was very pleasant. However the kitchen was unbearably slow. Over 2 1/2 hours to prepare a salad and entree dinner. No excuse for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious, good wine list, exce ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was delicious, good wine list, excellent friendly service!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places to eat especia ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat especially sitting outside during the summer.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met my son and girlfriend there. Good ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We met my son and girlfriend there. Good place to talk - very relaxing atmosphere. The wine list is very good. The best thing on the menu is the filet medium rare - always prepared great. They have great Italian dishes. At the table we had filet, risotto, spaghetti and meatballs and linguine with clam. All were outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service for our 46th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food and service for our 46th wedding anniversary, with complimentary prosecco. We love to return here.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster ravioli always excellent. Blacke ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Lobster ravioli always excellent. Blackened sea bass amazing! Zozo's shrimp is an excellent appetizer. We have never had a bad experience at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a great time. The food was great, ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I had a great time. The food was great, the wine was good and the sevice was fabulous!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What stood out was our waiter was rude. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

What stood out was our waiter was rude. It was a business dinner but it also was my birthday so when he asked if it was a special occasion I said not but then said it was my birthday. His response was "sure". I then said you do not believe me. No response. Then I tried to order from the special menu and he said that is not on the menu. I said sure it is then his response was you were given the wrong menu. I asked were they out if the blackened mahi sandwich to which his response was no but I am not serving sandwiches now. At end of dinner I said I have a coupon for free dessert and again he ignored me and charged for the dessert. I wasnt eating it and it was on a business associate who ordered one to share. I then showed him the email coupon as I am a regular customer. He then took my phone to check with the manager. Also, my fish was dry and overcooked. I plan to return as this is my first bad experience but I hope to have a different server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.