About Iozzo's Garden of Italy

946 S. Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46225
View Larger Map

Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm- 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ray Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 974-1100

Website:
http://www.iozzos.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in Our Courtyard on the Following Dates in 2013
Wednesday June 5, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Wednesday July 3, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Saturday July 13, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday August 7, 2013 - The Tides
Saturday August 17, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday Septemper 4, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz

Parking Details:
Free street parking is available on the East and West sides of Meridian Street.

Executive Chef:
Kathy Jones

Private Party Contact:
Kathy Jones: 317-974-1100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Courtyard Opening Party Thursday May 16, 2013

Restaurant Photos

Iozzo's Garden of Italy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Indiana
Best Food
Indiana
Best Service
Indiana
10 More
Best Ambiance
Indiana
Best Value
Indiana
Italian
Indiana
Best Overall
Indianapolis
Best Food
Indianapolis
Best Service
Indianapolis
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Best Value
Indianapolis
Romantic
Indianapolis
Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

special occasion (115)
neighborhood gem (107)
romantic (104)
See All
fit for foodies (75)
great for outdoor dining (67)
notable wine list (49)
good for groups (48)
great for lunch (37)
hot spot (13)
late-night find (11)
kid-friendly (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Anthony was my server and ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great service! Anthony was my server and he was amazing. Knew his stuff and told me and my girlfriend everything about the menu and options we could do for being first timers. Food was absolutely spectacular.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If the weather is nice, ask to sit in th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

If the weather is nice, ask to sit in the garden area - enclosed patio with umbrella tables, a fountain, cobblestone walk, couldn't be a better atmosphere. Anthony was the best waiter we've had in years. Impeccable service - his recommendations were spot on; her cheese ravioli was perfection; our salads were crisp and delicious with home made bleu cheese dressing; my gnocchi with morels and white sauce was fantastic; her sea salt caramel brownie decadent, and my key lime was unlike anything I've had - a heavier than usual mousse with almonds and other crunch on the bottom was sort of a Brule, sort of ice cream, hard to describe, but I wanted more. Of course the wine and cocktails were excellent. We will return. Many times. Thumbs up all around. Delightful place that I've driven past many times and didn't even know it was there. Who knew?

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. The Specials for the night ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Outstanding. The Specials for the night were Out-of-this-world. The regular menu is wonderful but the Gnocchi with mushroom and asparagus Special was to die for. (We ordered this as an appetizer and split it with the 5 at the table). The Entrees were incredible. Sea Bass and Veal were blow-me-away lite and good. Can't wait for the house band...Indy Nile debut when the rain stops falling.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

So so

Dined on May 20, 2016

Just wasn't as nice of a place as expected. Food was average at best, good service though.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful birthday lunch. Our server ma ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Wonderful birthday lunch. Our server made us feel so special and welcome. The food was excellent and we both had so much food that we had to take some home. We enjoyed spumoni and nice fresh coffee afterwards. The garden is really well done. You feel peace and the landscaping puts you in a good place. It was quick enough for lunch too

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the finest Italian Restau ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This is one of the finest Italian Restaurants in the Midwest. It is a must visit for locals in the Indianapolis area as it is for those visiting our fair city. Brian is an excellent server!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome food, knowledgeable and friendly ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Awesome food, knowledgeable and friendly staff. Great break from the conference and the perfect place to get a taste of an Indianapolis tradition!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Sauce-R-Us

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great place for lunch or dinner, although service was slow. I ordered cheese ravioli and received more sauce than ravioli. A little disappointing, because the last time I ordered, it was delicious! It looked like a bowl of soup.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Classic Italian

Dined on May 15, 2016

Iozzo's Garden is a quaint and classical Italian restaurant. I has an excellent bar and wine list that goes well with their menu. What has impressed me is the way the staff has worked around my gluten allergy with appropriate past substitutions - gluten free pasta or polenta. Their seafood dishes are exceptionally well prepared and are some of their less well known entrees. I highly recommend them for either casual dining or special occasions. Also, the wait staff is courteous and willing to make excellent suggestions and/or substitutions as the occasions may arise.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive service and the ease of custom ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Attentive service and the ease of customizing your order.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Iozzis!!!! Best food and servic ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We love Iozzis!!!! Best food and service around! Phil is an awesome server. So knowledgeable on wines and drinks. He always has us try his latest drink and is always great!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife and I each enjoyed a veal dish for ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Wife and I each enjoyed a veal dish for lunch - one piccata the other marsala. Excellent dishes executed flawlessly. Very tasty! Excellent service, as always -- this time with Miss Blake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went on a Wednesday eve ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

My husband and I went on a Wednesday evening, celebrating our anniversary. Absolutely loved the ambiance and quaintness of the restaurant. Service was outstanding. Food was very good. Not sure if opinion would change on a busy weekend but we will definitely be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't believe I'd never heard of Iozzo ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I can't believe I'd never heard of Iozzo's until a few weeks ago when my sister discovered it. This was a fantastic dining experience from start to finish. Five friends met for dinner. We all had different entrees and all were very pleased with our choices. The service was excellent. The waiter was friendly and engaged, but not in that overly familiar way that has become so common. I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was amazing, as always. We don't ea ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was amazing, as always. We don't eat here often, but have never been disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great patio

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

While the weather on Mother's Day was a bit too cool for Mom to sit outside, Iozzo's has one of the coolest patios in town. Gives one an Old World feel while enjoying great Italian food. 😋

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely outdoor patio

Dined on May 8, 2016

We found this place when we were looking for a restaurant to celebrate my daughters graduation from Butler University in 2014. All the fine dining restaurants were booked. We sat outdoors on the patio, lights were strung across the patio, it was a pleasant evening, and an all-around great meal. The servers are attentive and the food is very good. I live out of town, but have since been there 2 more times when I have been to Indy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an outstanding meal and fantastic ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We had an outstanding meal and fantastic service! Can't wait go back!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Had birthday dinner with my wife. Good food. GREAT SERVICE. Neat story behind the diner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Iozzo's

Dined on May 6, 2016

I've been to just about every local Italian restaurant during "peak" times (i.e., night before the Mini or Monumental Marathon). And, it has never failed that a 6:30pm reservation quickly becomes a 7:00-30 seating with food taking longer and service degrading. However, that has NEVER been the case with Iozzo's the past two years that I've been dining there. I'm always seated right on time and there has never been a degradation of service or service time. This visit was no different even with a packed house carbing up before the Mini. It's no wonder that I've already made my reservation for November the night before the Monumental Marathon. Great food and great service always gets my business!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a very nice dinner. Iozzo's had fine ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Had a very nice dinner. Iozzo's had fine food. The lobster ravioli was the best I've ever had, and I'm not a fan of ravioli normally. Service was great and that atmosphere unique and enjoyable.

food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Good for dinner, not lunch

Dined on May 4, 2016

We have had dinner here a hundred times but this was our first time in for lunch. The food itself was fine - the rock shrimp app was way more food than we expected and it was really tasty. we were in our usual table toward the back and I think our first server forgot about us a couple of times. we had to wait a good while to order and our drinks stood empty for a while as well. We tried to get the host's and our server's attention but to no avail, and once a different server did check on us and we asked for some bread (which comes automatically but they forgot for us), it took another 15 minutes for the bread to come out - by which time we had finished our meals and were ready to go. The food itself was great as usual, but the rhythm of service was not great and it made my weekly midday lunch with my wife less enjoyable than we had wanted it to be.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

First time to this restaurant - Joyce ou ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

First time to this restaurant - Joyce our server was excellent - spaghetti and meatballs were excellent- my wife had the fish special of Halibut "Cheecks" and was also excellent. The restaurant was packed with kids going to prom but service was not affected at all. We will add this restaurant to our list to attend regularly.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband had chicken Marsalia. Large ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband had chicken Marsalia. Large portion of chicken, tender asparagus but not overcooked. Also had house salad and potatoes. All delicious. I had fettuccine with crab cake (could have been a little larger but reasonably priced) Very delicious, excellent flavor great noodles. Authentic recipes and tasty ingredients. Large portion, enough for left over. We loved our homemade dressings I had caesar

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Our waiter did a very good job-his sugge ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Our waiter did a very good job-his suggestions for dinner were prepared well and served professionally. We will return-

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great food and service

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Romantic evening

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great place for an evening away from the kids. Very friendly atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was awesome! Perfect atmosphere

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was awesome! Perfect atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greatas always

Dined on April 23, 2016

Iozzi's has become our favorite restaurant and not just our favorite italian restaurant. Service is impecable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply Outstanding!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We celebrated my son's freshman registration at Butler with Iozzo's. The food and service were phenomenal. Elizabeth did a great job taking care of us and making my son feel important! The Aged Negroni was great. The sea bass oscar was one of the best entrees I have had anywhere. We will be back many times.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place! Always awesome!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Love this place! Always awesome!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in the city!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Iozzo's is, hands-down, the best Italian food in Indy--and probably the best restaurant overall. From cocktails to desserts, we've never had something we didn't love. And the staff is exceptionally friendly, engaged, and knowledgeable about their menu and drinks. It's a perfect hidden gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Best service in Indy

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

THe food here is great but if you are lucky enough to get Jay as your server you will love this place. I have been twice and had Jay both times. By far the best service I have had anywhere in Indy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible Italian Food

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were in town looking for an Italian Restaurant and found this place. It's locally owned and operated. All the food and noodles are made from scratch - incredibly fresh and flavorful. If you're looking for great Italian food, with the ambiance of Italy in a historic building with cobblestone courtyard, then this is the place. The service was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful evening

Dined on April 16, 2016

We enjoyed our first trip to Iozzo's. We were able to get a table outside which was beautiful! The only reason I didn't give 5 stars for service is that the restaurant had many prom couples which took up a lot of the server's time. Our waiter was excellent and definitely not his fault. I'm assuming it would have been different on another night. The atmosphere was so nice thought that it didn't bother us that dinner was a little slower. They were very happy to allow us to sample things before ordering them and were helpful in answering all questions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food!! Love this place!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food!! Love this place!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is not my first visit. I thoroughly ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

This is not my first visit. I thoroughly enjoy dining at Iozzo's, the music, the decor, the service...all are excellent. It is a great atmosphere for a relaxing dinner and quiet conversation. The waiter was very helpful in his suggestions for substitutions and attentive without constantly checking in. Love that.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian in city

Dined on April 10, 2016

If you are downtown and want Italian, there is no other place. There a few other family owned italian restaurants in indy but this is my favorite, the bar is excellent, and really, if you take the outside patio into the equation, it blows by many restaurants downtown. you really feel in Italy when you are outside and the lights are on and drinks are going. great place, come here a lot, will continue to do so.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Service was outstanding!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The meal was great, service attentive,

Dined on April 9, 2016

Creme Brule request you have more flavors. The best Old Fashioned drink ever. Prime Rib did not need a Knife, tasty a bit more seasoning would nice. Overall we will be back.

Tags: romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.