Iozzo's Garden of Italy

4.7
2272 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Authentic
  • Special Occasion
Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm- 8:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(317) 974-1100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Leroy Spells
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Ray Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free street parking is available on the East and West sides of Meridian Street.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music in the Courtyard Every Wednesday Evening 6:00-9:00

June 13th Dr. Philthy
June 20th J. Elliott
June 27th Dad Jeans

July 4th Monterey Zack
July 11th Dad Jeans
July 18th J. Elliott
July 25th Chad Mills

August 1st Monterey Zack
August 8th Dad Jeans
August 15th J. Elliott
August 22nd Chad Mills
August 29th Dr. Philthy

September 5th Monterey Zack
September 12th Dad Jeans
September 19th J. Elliott
September 26th Chad Mills
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions


Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2272 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed the food. Parking was challenging. Server was a little forgetful but very knowledgeable. We did not mind as we were enjoying our girls night out.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Service was great. Food is good price is also. Very welcoming atmosphere. The owner is very sweet and engaging. We will be back to try more dishes and have some more limoncello.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding Service and great food.
The noise level was very moderate and not annoying.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The gluten-free pasta is some of the best I’ve ever had and there were many options on the menu . I had the fettuccine Alfredo and it was incredible, shrimp were large. Our server was knowledgeable and very friendly as well as the hostesses and the host.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

We love Iozzo’s! The service has always been above par and the food never disappoints. We like that it is casual, yet has an elegant feel. Perfect for a date night or dinner with the family. The “Tour” is what my husband and I like to get, when it’s the two of us. You can’t beat a taste of their popular dishes. Iozzo’s is our go to for Italian. They can’t be beat!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Iozzo's Garden of Italy was our best dining experience during six days in Indianapolis. We were fortunate to be there on a beautiful evening and sat outside on the garden patio listening to Phil --great grandson of the founder and brother of the current owner-- singing and playing the guitar. Our waiter Anthony was knowledgeable about the menu and wine list, even offering to bring us tastes of two different wines to compare before buying a bottle. The scallop and artichoke appetizer was amazing, followed by our entrees--spaghetti with shrimp and spinach pesto and linguine with clam sauce, both of which were so incredibly delicious, we mopped up all the sauce with the crusty bread. If you want Italian food, this is the only place to go in Indy. We tried Osteria Pronto in the JW Marriott at the urging of the concierge there and were sorely disappointed. We have spent considerable time in Italy and Osteria Pronto was definitely not authentic--it was overpriced, and nearly all the entrees were in cream-based sauces. At Iozzo's Garden of Italy, you can have a white tablecloth fine dining experience inside or a casual experience outside on the patio. The prices are reasonable and the food is truly authentic, based on the owners' grandparents' recipes from the original restaurant which opened in 1930. Ask about the story behind it... it's a great one! We will definitely return whenever we visit Indianapolis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner at Iozzo’s and it was outstanding. Their Iozzos For Two option gave us a chance to try several dishes at a reasonable price. Such a great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

I had taken our business partner to IOZZOs last year during a prior visit. He loved it SO MUCH that when I asked where he would like to dine during this visit, it was without hesitation IOZZOs. Thank you so much!!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

It was lovely but extremely loud. We were told that we could not dine outside but then others were sat outside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Absolutely great food and service as always! I highly recommend this establishment for any and all occasions! Best Italian Food in town!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

This is one of our favorite Italian restaurants in Indy. Family owned and it shows in the service and the care they take of their guests. We had the Zo Zo shrimp and split a spinach salad, both excellent. I had the lasagna which was as good as ever. My wife had a pasta dish with chicken and a light cream sauce. She thought it was a little dry but had great flavor. Overall, a great meal and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

My husband and I loved our date night at Iozzos. The food was delicious and the staff were very attentive. We will be coming back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

always terrific! great service! delicious food!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Excellent service and delicious food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The weather was beautiful, so we sat out on their back patio! Our server was a delight! She brought everything we needed without asking twice. The food, delicious. Started with calamari, then Cesar salads, then lasagna and salmon piccata. The portions were so great we had no room for dessert! But the cocktails made up for that! Thank you Iozzo’s! We will see you soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

First time to Indianapolis and found this restaurant on the web with good reviews and had reservations available for 2 on a Saturday night. Menu looked great and wanted a casual but nice place to eat that had easy parking available. Atmosphere was great, lively but not too noisy. Active but not too busy. Location was easy to get to and parking was available on the street. Food excellent and because our entrees took longer than expected we received a free dessert which was delicious. Wine list very nice and service was excellent. Would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Every time I have eaten at IOSSO'S, I have enjoyed a marvelous meal. The wait staff is wonderful and the food fixed to perfection. I like sitting outside which a excellent for me but step down from the main building could present some mobility issues. All things considered I plan to return often.

I was told that I would receive any Open Table points for this visit. I am a bit confused about that since I made the reservation via open table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Dined with friends on a Saturday night. The food was superb as always: the Black and Blue Gnocchi, stuffed portabella, lasagna, and baked penne with chicken all got rave reviews. However, the service was a little slow and our guests have never heard the family story, which our waitress unexpectedly didn't offer. That's not typical of Iozzo's so we'll chalk it up to an off night. It's still easily the best Italian restaurant in the Indianapolis area and we'll be back soon, I'm sure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Took family there to see our son off to the Air Force Boot Camp. It was really outstanding food. Server was also outstanding. We all really enjoyed it. I would not hesistate to take anyone there. We will be back for sure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

The food was wonderful and the service was outstanding !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

All time favorite restaurant. Exceptional service, food, and wine...HIGHLY recommend!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Food was wonderful as was the service. Only challenge was proximity of other tables.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We love Iozzos! We have eaten here multiple times and have never had a bad meal or bad service. Our most recent visit was to celebrate my husband’s promotion. Kendra was our server and she was great! We also received a complimentary glass of champagne to toast to my husband’s accomplishment! We tell all our friends about how amazing the food and service are at Iozzos!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Nice restaurant, nice restaurant, nice restaurant, stupid words requirement!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

My Daughter and I were celebrating a belated Mother's Day. Everything worked out perfectly. I picked her up from work, and had her back in a timely manner. The food, and service were very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Excellent. Great place to eat great place to relax great food great environment overall excellent place for Romance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

As always, food was great! Brian did s fantastic job as our server! Typically, when my husband and I dine at Iozzo’s we eat at the bar. However, we were joined by a friend and therefore sat in the dining room. It was very loud (they need to dust the blinds. as well).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The service was great, the food was not as good as it normally is. Anyyone can have a off night.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Terrible service. The waitress clearly gave us less attention because of our age. It took almost 20 minutes just for her to take our drink order and almost an hour and a half for our food to come out. Plus I unknowingly got upcharged for my meal, which I found out when I got the bill. Never going back and never recommending to anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

One of our favorite restaurants. Whenever we are in Indy it’s the first reservation we make. The Italian food is incredibly authentic, the servers are wonderfully knowledgeable about not only the menu but the wine list as well and you always get a brief little history of this amazing landmark restaurant in Indianapolis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Was my first ever visit to this restaurant which is in an odd spot of town where it is somewhat isolated. That being said it was a great place, we were there to celebrate my Son's graduation, the wine list was very good, everyone loved the meals they selected and enjoyed the evening out in the garden/patio.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

i had the fettucine with a crab cake. the pasta was a little dry/not as creamy as expected but still really good. They put sundried tomatoes in their fettucine. i love those but again kind of dry and maybe not rehydrated well. The crab cake was great. I'll defininted go back again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The food and server were excellent (as always) however we were very disappointed that it took over an hour to be seated even though we had a reservation. We felt forgotten while waiting in the bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Anthony, our server was very professional and helpful. It was a great experience - why we keep coming back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 18, 2018

First time dinner, great ambience and was really looking forward to the experience. Service was great however, the food was lacking. Overall very disappointed, probably won’t go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The food is always delicious and the service is impeccable. This past visit I had the Lasagne, it was delicious but could have been a little hotter, it was served warm. The green salad is a tad boring, I will choose something different next time. The bread and dipping sauce is very tasty the with antipasto plate.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 17, 2018

While the service was great, although a bit leisurely, the food left a lot to be desired. None of us were amazed by our dishes. My friend’s veal was over cooked and the cut of steak with mine, while cooked well, was not a good cut of meat. The outdoor patio space is very nice and the live music added to a fun atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Third time dining here and all visits were excellent. Only travel to Indianapolis once a year but always make sure I dine at Izzo’s when in Indy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Love, love, love this Indianapolis gem! Always great food, great atmosphere and great service. We were there to celebrate my father-in-laws birthday and although we were late making reservations Tony was accommodating to our needs and seated us outdoors which made our dinner even more memorable. Thanks Iozzo's!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Our waiter turned dinner into an experience!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
57