About Iozzo's Garden of Italy

Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.

946 S. Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46225
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm- 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ray Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 974-1100

Website:
http://www.iozzos.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in Our Courtyard on the Following Dates in 2013
Wednesday June 5, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Wednesday July 3, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Saturday July 13, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday August 7, 2013 - The Tides
Saturday August 17, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday Septemper 4, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz

Parking Details:
Free street parking is available on the East and West sides of Meridian Street.

Executive Chef:
Kathy Jones

Private Party Contact:
Kathy Jones: (317) 974-1100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Courtyard Opening Party Thursday May 16, 2013

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Parmigiana - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
  • Ravioli - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
  • Lasagna Bolognese - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
  • Seafood Risotto - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
  • Spaghetti With Meatballs - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
  • Lobster Ravioli - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
  • Filet With Polenta - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN

Report a photo problem

Chicken Parmigiana - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
Ravioli - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
Lasagna Bolognese - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
Seafood Risotto - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
Spaghetti With Meatballs - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
Lobster Ravioli - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
Filet With Polenta - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN

Iozzo's Garden of Italy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for a Date (51)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
See All
Authentic (46)
Historic (46)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Romantic (41)
Worth the Drive (36)
Cozy (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Business Meals (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fun (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Casual (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Tasting Menu (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Family Style (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (3)
Live Music (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vegan (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1699 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our second visit. It was a goo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our second visit. It was a good as the first. As chance would have it we got the same table and waiter as the first time. He was really good. Knows the menu and made good recommendations. My wife had fried oysters as an appetizer and they were large and prepared just right and were among the best she had ever had. I had crab cakes appetizer and they were also very good, plenty of crab meat. The entrees were very good. Wife had Veal Piccata which was tender and tangy. I had spaghetti with a mixture of the family sauce and bolognese, recommend by our waiter to mix sauces and it was excellent. Iozzo's is on our list to return for a third visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service was truly outstandi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service was truly outstanding, and our server was the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Iozzo's was fantastic. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Our experience at Iozzo's was fantastic. Phil was our server and he made the most amazing suggestions. The drinks, the appetizer, the salad, the bread and the meal were all nothing short of amazing. I can't say enough good things about our experience. You have to eat here for good Italian.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Seasonal, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, atmosphere, and service was ph ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

The food, atmosphere, and service was phenomenal! I took my boyfriend for his birthday, and we split the Taste of Iozzos, which was perfect for both of us! I'm a a very picky eater, and I loved everything I tried😊

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently has great food and friendly ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Consistently has great food and friendly staff. This is our "go to" restaurant for casual dining and celebrations.

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always delivers! The food is always grea ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always delivers! The food is always great, the service amazing and friendly, and love the specials. Had the pesto crusted scallops to start, wedding soup, and crusted pork chop w/ the mushroom risotto for dinner. Then canolis for dessert. All of it was delicious and served perfectly. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fettuccine and lasagna were both ver ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The fettuccine and lasagna were both very good. We couldn't decide on desserts so we chose 3 instead of 2 and shared. They were all good. Our service was excellent!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow. Food was very good, service was ex ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Wow. Food was very good, service was excellent! The server was very accommodating and informative. Really enjoyed hearing about the history of the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere, outstanding servic ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, outstanding service, and delicious food.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this place. Have brought many fr ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I love this place. Have brought many friends here and they keep coming back too. The location is close to work. Soups are delicious. Entree's are delightful. Only been to lunch. Need to try dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in a really cool historic bui ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food in a really cool historic building! Can't wait to go back in the summer and sit on the patio.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, authentic Italian cuisine. Se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent, authentic Italian cuisine. Service was friendly and professional. Will definitely return.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. I highly r ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and great service. I highly recommend going. I had the shrimp diavolo and if you like spicy, it lives up to its name.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous as always! Love the family rec ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fabulous as always! Love the family recipes and the staff is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy going to Iozzo's for the ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We always enjoy going to Iozzo's for their great food, nice wine selection, and we love the atmosphere whether inside or out on the patio.

Last night we had Brian as our server as we often do. We enjoy his friendly, attentive care as he guides us through choices with much knowledge and personal touches that continue throughout the meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb experience again! Took out of t ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Superb experience again! Took out of town business guests for dinner and loved it! Good food is the focal point-- best fish I've tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent wait staff - engaging and know ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent wait staff - engaging and knowledgeable. The food was delicious for all members of my party. The noise level was high at our table impeding quiet conversation. The noise level did convey a lively atmosphere. I suspect tables around the edge of the venue are quieter. The wines were of a good mix and value. I definitely plan to return for more meals there.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food and service! Best Italian f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Awesome food and service! Best Italian food in Indy. We have been there 5 times in the last 6 months and highly recommend this restaurant as the food is fantastic!!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasant experience. My wife a ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a pleasant experience. My wife and I enjoy the staff and the comfortability of the dining experience. Great people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I couldn't have asked for a better exper ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I couldn't have asked for a better experience. The food. The service. The history. Go here now! I can't wait to return and experience the garden once the weather gets warmer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cicken Diavolo was excellent. Should ha ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cicken Diavolo was excellent. Should have ordered the tiramisu for shared dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We come to Iozzo's to celebrate our new ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We come to Iozzo's to celebrate our new year's the past 5 years. Shane was our server and he made us feel very special even though this was his final day as an employee there. We didn't know it at the time we were his very last party.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our experience was excellent and they ne ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our experience was excellent and they never disappoint with service and great food! One of our DT favorites!

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Healthy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply SPECTACULAR! A long-time family ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Simply SPECTACULAR! A long-time family restaurant tradition reinvigorated and new. FANTASTIC food - highly recommend the Pork Oslo Buco and the fresh Cannoli. Ask for Brian - he's fun, knows the history of the restaurant, and is a genuinely generous host. Love that they offer off-street parking ($0) and are just on the edge of downtown. We will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and atmosphere. I wo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for having our table ready for ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Thank you for having our table ready for us. It was a very busy night, but our waiter was great. Getting our food was a little slow, but do to the packed crowd it was fine. The food is always great. We will come for more great service and food soon.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great meal and overall dining e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always a great meal and overall dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We will definitely be returning to this ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We will definitely be returning to this restaurant. While not intimate in a romantic way, it is a cozy, friendly, intimate restaurant. Our server was very attentive and familiar with items on the menu, We loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a wonderful evening! Great se ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 28, 2016

As always a wonderful evening! Great service and the food never disappoints!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great place to celebrate!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food, great place to celebrate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This may be the most expensive meal my w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This may be the most expensive meal my wife and I have purchased in 20 years of marriage, we are frugal. We decided to splurge. The food and service were excellent. The atmosphere was nice. Our only complaint was hidden add ons; slight change to salads and entree increased the bill by over $10. Be sure to ask if there are extra charges for suggestions the waiter makes.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had eaten there before, but this time ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had eaten there before, but this time the food was really outstanding. We tried a number of items and all of them were excellent. The portions are just right and the preparation and presentation were great. The prices are really appropriate for the quality and quantity and I strongly recommend this place for special occasions for families and friends.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were there 12/24. The food, which is ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were there 12/24. The food, which is more traditional Italian fare, is quite good, and the ambience was inviting (though the room was a bit chilly). However, we had to wait more than half an hour for our table (we had reservations for 6 pm and arrived right on time); the hosts were pleasant about this, and they did have two large parties. Our waiter was not particularly good -- quick to loudly mispronounce Italian words ("buon natale" is not pronounced "boing natalie," but I heard him say this at least four times) but slow to put our order in. We have eaten there before and had a much better experience, though, and would recommend the restaurant to others.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Spicy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

My boyfriend and I love going to Iozzo's ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My boyfriend and I love going to Iozzo's for a romantic night out. This a great place to go for a special dinner. The food and service are incredible as well. We always look forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was fabulous, and I enjoyed ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The service was fabulous, and I enjoyed my special birthday dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food! Lunch is very affordable, d ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Great food! Lunch is very affordable, dinner is a bit pricier. Servers don't seem to be 'overly' friendly, but usually hospitable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great ambience and service. Not the most ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great ambience and service. Not the most flavorful Italian food I've had, but not bad.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant and food. Our waiter wa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great restaurant and food. Our waiter was not that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Great service as always. Good was terrif ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great service as always. Good was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had not been in for quite awhile, but ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I had not been in for quite awhile, but we visited before a Sunday afternoon Colts game. Love the food and the atmosphere. Plenty of selections for kids and adults alike. Not too crazy of a scene for a Colts game like some other downtown venues and of course not too long of a walk to the game. If I lived downtown, this would be my go to restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.