About Iozzo's Garden of Italy

946 S. Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46225
View Larger Map

Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm- 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ray Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 974-1100

Website:
http://www.iozzos.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in Our Courtyard on the Following Dates in 2013
Wednesday June 5, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Wednesday July 3, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Saturday July 13, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday August 7, 2013 - The Tides
Saturday August 17, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday Septemper 4, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz

Parking Details:
Free street parking is available on the East and West sides of Meridian Street.

Executive Chef:
Kathy Jones

Private Party Contact:
Kathy Jones: 317-974-1100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Courtyard Opening Party Thursday May 16, 2013

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Parmigiana - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
  • Ravioli - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
  • Lasagna Bolognese - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
  • Seafood Risotto - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
  • Spaghetti With Meatballs - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
  • Lobster Ravioli - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
  • Filet With Polenta - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
Chicken Parmigiana - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
Ravioli - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
Lasagna Bolognese - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
Seafood Risotto - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
Spaghetti With Meatballs - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
Lobster Ravioli - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN
Filet With Polenta - Iozzo's Garden of Italy, Indianapolis, IN

Iozzo's Garden of Italy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Indiana
Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (65)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Good for a Date (54)
See All
Romantic (43)
Authentic (38)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Historic (36)
Cozy (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Good for Groups (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Casual (20)
Business Meals (19)
Fun (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Family Style (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Live Music (4)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Spicy (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed a great birthday celebration! Fo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed a great birthday celebration! Food, atmosphere & service were all top notch!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We keep coming back because of the staff ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We keep coming back because of the staff and food. This time the food was way off. The steak tasted like nothing. I think it was frozen for months before it was cooked. Disappointing for a favorite spot. Service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

The foodnat Iozzos is wonderful as is th ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The foodnat Iozzos is wonderful as is the service. The perfect spot for dinner prior to a concert or theatre.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Had such a great experience - ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing! Had such a great experience - food and wine delicious, server was a delight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service. Highly recomm ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, great service. Highly recommend giving the a try. You will be very happy you did.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service was good. Our only ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food and service was good. Our only problem was both my wife and I ordered lemon based meals with a side of pasta. We expected the pasta which had red sauce on it to be on a side plate. However, it was put right next to our main course so the red sauce ran into our lemon sauce meal. In fact my pasta had the lemon sauce and capers poured over the top of it.

So if you don't want your main course to have marinara sauce mixed in, then ask for it to be on a side plate.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had an absolutely perfect dinner experie ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Had an absolutely perfect dinner experience. Fantastic service, absolutely perfect food, warm and cozy atmosphere. Highly recommended!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Brian, was very good, funny ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our waiter, Brian, was very good, funny and professional! I left my credit card on the table and Brian came chasing me out into the street to return it! Now that's SERVICE! Great place to dine! We will return again, again, again ......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is a fun restaurant and we have be ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is a fun restaurant and we have been in several times. It is a place we like to take guests from out of town as well as go to just with local friends for a delicious Italian dinner. The food tastes so fresh, great menu and is very consistent. On Sunday they have a special value night menu with appetizer, main course and dessert for $30 which is always delicious. Ask for Jay --- he is an excellent waiter.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was top-notch! The staff here ar ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Service was top-notch! The staff here are some of the best I've ever seen. Our waiter was knowledgeable about the menu items and the way the dishes are prepared. He was johnny-on-the-spot with any request, had good recommendations, and expertly poured our wine for us. One of the hostesses even found a place for my phone to charge up front, and then brought itt o me when we were about to leave. I really can't gush enough about the staff here. They really shine well and made it a memorable visit.

The food was pretty good. Some of the linguine was a bit dried out, the lasagna was dry and had a crumbly quality that was a bit strange, and the veal was a bit mushy. However, the spaghetti, chicken, meatballs, and spumante were all outstanding and perfectly cooked.

The ambiance here is also a big plus. Very well laid out and cozy-feeling, perfect for a date night. It was a bit loud, but that's to be expected in a restaurant with a large group seated next to you.

One gripe...

One thing I always hate is to see a gorgeous bar in a cozy eatery with soft lights illuminating the gleaming glass and polished wood, and a big glaringly bright flat screen with a football game playing on it. This ruins the scenery for me. I would have maybe an opera showing, or maybe an old black and white movie.

To be fair, Iozzos is not the only place to do this, but it's so ugly to me.

I still give them 5 stars though. The service alone was worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I'd like to preface this by saying that ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I'd like to preface this by saying that the restaurant was VERY busy during our visit. There were a couple large parties. I know this can have a significant impact on the service staff and the kitchen.

Initially, it took a little longer than normal for our server to greet us. When he did greet us, he was very enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and helpful. He remained as such for the rest of our dining experience. He guided us through the menu, made helpful recommendations, and followed up within a very timely manner. Katie, the owner, was also very visible during our visit. She made sure to stop past our table to make sure everything was going well and thank us for coming in. She was noticeably busy, but still VERY friendly.

The pace of dinner was perfect. We were offered bread prior to appetizers or salads. The wine was presented to the table (in the correct manner). We were allowed enough time to enjoy a glass prior to our appetizer and salads. The rest of the meal did not feel rushed at all. Each course was given ample time before the next arrived.

The only down side to the experience was my wife's entrée was barely luke warm. The flavor was still amazing. We did not complain, because we have both spent time in the industry. I am sure it would have been taken care of immediately.

Overall, we were pleased. We will return again and would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great Beer, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful! Small Italian restaurant in ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delightful! Small Italian restaurant in a 100 year old building. Wonderful ambiance, and glorious food. There were four at our table and 4 different dishes. We all took leftovers home, jealously admonishing each other with the words, "MINE, MINE". Not only was the food plentiful, it was decadent in in it's rich flavors, balanced seasonings and sauces that were creamy beyond belief. If you're looking to stay on your diet, pass this one up, but if you want some comfort food for the soul, dig in. The service was attentive and fun, without being invasive which I admit is a tricky balancing act, but our waiter not only managed he made it seem easy. We had a reservation and were seated on time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TThat restaurant was recommended by a fr ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 4, 2016

TThat restaurant was recommended by a friend and coworker. When we arrived we were seated immediately, but no one came to take our order for 20 minutes. That's when we headed to the bar to get waited and served. Management came up and apologized for the mix up and gave us a free appetizer.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food and atmosphere. Not sure I wi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Not sure I will join Iozzos club again? Asked three times to add today's dining point and waiter never did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Iozzo's has consistently good food and s ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Iozzo's has consistently good food and service- the waiter we had a month ago remembered our name. The outdoor dining area is very cozy and is great for celebrating special occasions. Pricing is reasonable for the quality of the food. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Bryan, was incredible. We ha ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Our server, Bryan, was incredible. We had our anniversary dinner here last Thursday (Nov. 3rd), and he made our dinner such a special night to remember. Service was impeccable and the food was OUTSTANDING. We highly recommend the ZoZo shrimp for an appetizer and the Bella Sol martini. Every entree we've had has always been amazing. We can't wait to come back soon, and we thank Bryan for such a special evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleased with our meals and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We were very pleased with our meals and service. We plan to visit again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second visit. Best authentic souther ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Our second visit. Best authentic southern Italian food that we've found in the Midwest. We're from the Italian areas of the East Coast, so that's saying a lot. Only real Italian sausage we've had in 6 years. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Historic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner with friends. Fabulous ser ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Lovely dinner with friends. Fabulous service. We felt so welcome! Food is amazing and plenty to take home for tomorrow or the dog😊 (Lucky dog)

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with another couple and my meal (6 ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Went with another couple and my meal (6 oz filet Ozzaro style) was extremely tasty. Zo zo shrimp was a great appetizer as well as the blue point oysters. My wife had the Chicken piccata and her chicken was dry and she had a hair in her salad. Other couple had the chicken diavlo (spicey) and grilled halibut and they both said they were great and would order them again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely Spectacular. We have been VIP ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Absolutely Spectacular. We have been VIP Members for 6 years and have NEVER had a bad meal! The cuisine is excellent and the service is great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food and good service. We have ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very good food and good service. We have dined here several times. It can at times get loud. But overall very nice and we recommend it to anyone looking to have a nice Italian meal downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true staple of Italian cuisine in Indi ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A true staple of Italian cuisine in Indianapolis. Our family dines here 2-3 times a year and we always take out of town friends to this restaurant. They all have the same reaction....great food! The staff is excellent and very outgoing and knowledgeable about the food and specials.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was outstanding. Food was very t ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Service was outstanding. Food was very tasty and portions were healthy. Not fancy but very nice. Wait staff was awesome and knowledgeable. Portions large enough to share. Historic setting and great story for this old family run business. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful atmosphere and extraordinary f ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and extraordinary food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and atmosphere was great, however w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food and atmosphere was great, however we had to wait 15 minutes even with a reservation. Then after waiting we were sat in the back at a small table at the end of a hallway. The server came by to do the minimum. Food was great. I would go back again, but never again if I dont get sat at a decent table with a reservation.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Very very nice. Each time I visit I do b ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Very very nice. Each time I visit I do believe the experience gets better and better. Service was excellent, food was delicious. and the drinks just perfect. Seating was good with plenty of room to move around and be more than comfortable. I would highly recommend dining here whenever possible. I may just go back again tonight. Bravo! Salute!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing server named Jay! Can' ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had an amazing server named Jay! Can't say enough good things about him. Had wonderful food too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose Iozzo's for our anniversary din ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We chose Iozzo's for our anniversary dinner. The food was amazing, everything we ordered was fantastic. Maybe even better than the food though was Brian, our server. He was fantastic! He gave good advice, answered all our questions with a smile, and made our meal that much better. The only thing I wish was different was the atmosphere. It is pretty noisy and chaotic in the main dining area. If you are looking for some ambience to accompany your meal, this might not be the place.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

It was my wife 's birthday as well as fi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was my wife 's birthday as well as five other people, which made it a wonderful experience. The customer device was truly exceptional!!! Anthony our guest ambassador went above and beyond, as well as the bartender!

Best,

Emanuel Smith

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner and service were excellent. We w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Dinner and service were excellent. We will be back and soon.

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food. Great Atmosphere....buildin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great Food. Great Atmosphere....building has character! Friendly service.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

While we have had dinner here several ti ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 18, 2016

While we have had dinner here several times, we always look forward to the next opportunity.This particular evening we attended a wine and food pairing dinner. In a word...Incredible. Wine, food, service presentation were excellent. We joined two other couples (friends we hadn't met yet) and quickly got to know each other in this most pleasant surrounding. We took a case of wine home with us and can't wait for our next visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent the day at the zoo, and they we ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We spent the day at the zoo, and they were very accommodating to take us earlier than our reservation. One in our party has a very limited diet, and they were able to handle that with ease. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was wonderful. This is the fir ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The food was wonderful. This is the first time in 7 years in Indiana that we ate what we - as East Coast Italians - consider real Italian sausage. Once we were seated, the service was great.

However, being seated was difficult. We arrived at 7:15 p.m and were told there were no open tables in the main dining area, the patio was available and it would be 10 minutes. That waitress never told the hostess that we were waiting to be seated. 15 minutes later, a couple walked in, said that they did not have reservations and were seated inside while we were still waiting. I quickly went online, made a reservation for 7:45 p.m., then walked up to the hostess and explained that we had 7:45 p.m. reservations and were seated - inside - immediately.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The service and food were great. This wa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The service and food were great. This was our first time and I would definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome from start to finish!

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Awesome from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Iozzo's on multiple occas ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I have been to Iozzo's on multiple occasions and have always enjoyed my meal. This experience was no different.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing. Best garlic bread we ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Food was amazing. Best garlic bread we have ever had. Enjoyed the atmosphere and loved that the musical guest was a local, Zack Salaz. The entire staff was fun and inviting, all commenting on our 8.5 month old daughter and engaging with her as they passed by. Can't wait to return

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shane was our server and was outstanding ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Shane was our server and was outstanding! Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.