About Iozzo's Garden of Italy

946 S. Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46225
View Larger Map

Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm- 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ray Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 974-1100

Website:
http://www.iozzos.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in Our Courtyard on the Following Dates in 2013
Wednesday June 5, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Wednesday July 3, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Saturday July 13, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday August 7, 2013 - The Tides
Saturday August 17, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday Septemper 4, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz

Parking Details:
Free street parking is available on the East and West sides of Meridian Street.

Executive Chef:
Kathy Jones

Private Party Contact:
Kathy Jones: 317-974-1100

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Courtyard Opening Party Thursday May 16, 2013

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Parmigiana
  • Ravioli
  • Lasagna Bolognese
  • Seafood Risotto
  • Spaghetti With Meatballs
  • Lobster Ravioli
  • Filet With Polenta
Chicken Parmigiana
Ravioli
Lasagna Bolognese
Seafood Risotto
Spaghetti With Meatballs
Lobster Ravioli
Filet With Polenta

Iozzo's Garden of Italy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Indiana
Italian
Indiana
Best Value
Indianapolis
3 More
Outdoor Dining
Indianapolis
Romantic
Indianapolis
Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (97)
Neighborhood Gem (88)
Great for Outdoor Dining (84)
See All
Romantic (70)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Good for Groups (49)
Notable Wine List (36)
Great for Lunch (32)
Hot Spot (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We came here for our anniversary and it ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

We came here for our anniversary and it happened to be Devour Downtown Indy. The food was great had a wonderful time here.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual Iozzo's did NOT disappoint. The ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 3 days ago

As usual Iozzo's did NOT disappoint. The food and wine were exquisite and the service was superb.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is such a great downtown Indy gem. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is such a great downtown Indy gem. I love this place so much. Lots to offer. I have never had a negative experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Hadn't been back for a ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place. Hadn't been back for a few years since we moved away and it was as great as ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dining experience! Food was gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic dining experience! Food was great (I got the lasagna, highly recommend). Our waiter was outstanding, and he gave us a great history of the restaurant. I look forward to returning the next time I'm in Indianapolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were able to sit outside and it was a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were able to sit outside and it was a very nice evening to dine outside. The only negative was we were in the very back and the trash dumpster was just outside of the fence. So if the wind blew just right, the smell wasn't very pleasant. Otherwise it was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food. Great service. Been her ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious food. Great service. Been here several times now but never for lunch until today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our places but our lunch ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 7 days ago

This is one of our places but our lunch devour experience was not positive. Slow service and subpar food quality.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We love this place!! Love the staff!! ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We love this place!! Love the staff!! The atmosphere is amazingly comfortable, casual & friendly. The menu is fantastic! We've been coming here for a few years now & have truly enjoyed every meal we've had. Oh, and the Aged Manhattan with Smoked Iced Cherries is spectacular!!

This time, I took a couple managers from out of town for their first visit. Before the meal ended, we were gathered in a group, with other new patrons, to listen to the story of Iozzo's narrated by one of the original wait staff. Experiences like these are common here. I truly believe it's special moments like this one that make Iozzo's it such a magical & wonderful place to be.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too many gnats. You're constantly tying ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Too many gnats. You're constantly tying to kill them while you eat. Please have your exterminator treat your walls to kill. Clean your drains. We stopped going to Rathskeller's where it it much worse and has been a problem for a very long time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was very good, and service was dece ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was very good, and service was decent. I felt like the service lacked due to something internal all the employees seemed very uptight not exactly comfortable in their roles. Could've been better but wasn't bad over all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely loved the bake Chicken penne. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely loved the bake Chicken penne. Paired quite Well with the dry cider that they have on the beverage menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good as always, our service wa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was good as always, our service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we visit, we're greeted by a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Every time we visit, we're greeted by a friendly staff and quickly seated. Food is excellent. I've not had anything I haven't liked. All of this for a very reasonable price.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant inside is extremely noisy ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The restaurant inside is extremely noisy but fortunately we were able to sit out in back in a sweet garden. That made for a lovely quiet relaxed dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to wait for over 30 minutes for a re ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had to wait for over 30 minutes for a reserved table, had requested outdoor which was opened when we arrived (we had 6pm reservations and a party about our size had 6:30 reservations and were seated on the outdoor patio that we had requested after we had already waited 30 minutes past our reservation time). We also did not get the waiter we had requested and service was just average.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

A group of us recently dined at Iozzo's ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A group of us recently dined at Iozzo's and had a great time eating on the patio. The food and service were great. I look forward to going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Casual, Organic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter, Anthony, was outstanding. T ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our waiter, Anthony, was outstanding. The food and wine were excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's not very often I say this... I didn ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It's not very often I say this... I didn't have one single complaint. Everything was fantastic! I wish I could remember our servers name- he was a gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our very Favorite we take friends any ch ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our very Favorite we take friends any chance we get, love the food love the service. We have not ever been disappointed in anything we order. The wait staff is attentive and very knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first experience at Iozzo's ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our first experience at Iozzo's and definitely will not be our last! The owner and our server exceeded our expectations with their customer service and the food was outstanding! Highly recommend the lasagna Bolognese. Delicious!! Highly recommend!! This is our favorite Italian restaurant 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having made a reservation on Tuesday for ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Having made a reservation on Tuesday for Friday night, I was more than disappointed to be seated at the table by the hosted stand in the immediate walkway from the dinning room to the bar/kitchen. Although the food was outstanding, I felt as though i were eating in a food court, not at a quaint establishment. In addition the building either lacks central air or it was broken - which makes for a rather warm dinning experience when the weather outside is 90 degrees.

I would love to go back, but will either choose a more climate time of year to sit outside or be more direct in my request when making a reservation to not be sat in the middle of the restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Food was very good. I had Chicken Piccat ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was very good. I had Chicken Piccata and it was moist, flavorful and tender. The Raspberry Romanov and the Limoncello flute were fabulous. Would recommend this restaurant highly. Only downside was that the restaurant was very warm, don't know if there was AC problems.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Second visit here for our Anniversary; f ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Second visit here for our Anniversary; food excellent I had the pasta carbonara at the recommendation of our server Phil-outstanding. Wife had chicken marsala, very good as well. Highly recommend this restaurant for its cozy atmosphere and excellent dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For our 30th anniversary, my wife and I ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

For our 30th anniversary, my wife and I considered several very good restaurants in the Indianapolis downtown area. After several considerations, we decided to have dinner at Iozzo's again (we celebrated our 29th here as well). It's a very intimate place and the food is outstanding. We also like the fact that they have a nice wine list and usually have special deals on the wines. This night it was 25% off wines on the list! I recommend Iozzo's for special occasions and business dinners as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Can only speak to outdoor dining experie ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Can only speak to outdoor dining experience. The patio is a nice option for seating. We were there before sunset, but I think it would be especially romantic after dark (lights are strung from above.) Very attentive waiter. We enjoyed the seared scallops with goat cheese for our appetizer. The halibut I ordered was extremely salty in some bites and was a small cut for a main course. My husband's dish was Chicken Piccata; the meat was somewhat overcooked/dry. I was looking forward to trying the Affogato for dessert, only to be told they were sorry, but they had just sold the last one. Overall, we felt this was a nice alternative to chain restaurants offering Italian fare and we would return to try again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a pleasure to eat here. We go for ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always a pleasure to eat here. We go for any number of occasions and when people aska recommendation. I alwayssuggest

Here

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice experience and great food! We ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very nice experience and great food! We will definitely be returning. The staff knew the menu very well and were very friendly. We were trying out someplace new to us, didn't know what to expect and were very impressed with whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The shrimp Alfredo is a favorite but was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The shrimp Alfredo is a favorite but was not as creamy this time and it only came with 3 large shrimp verses the smaller shrimp before. I felt it was overpriced for this dish. I still love the restaurant but may try something different next time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always have a great time here. The food ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always have a great time here. The food is wonderful Nd the servers are always so attentive and personable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner of exceptional food and great service. He had spaghetti with Iozzo's red sauce and I had the Red and White Lasagna. It was fantastic. Very different. The wine and server were excellent as well. We will definitely return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FABULOUS!!! Our server was friendly & p ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

FABULOUS!!! Our server was friendly & professional, offering great advice on several menu items. The food was fantastic, from the wine selection, to the Lobster Ravioli ending with the Raspberry ice cream dessert. Wow!! I found this on my Open Table app and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took my sister in law for her birthda ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We took my sister in law for her birthday....this was her first time at Iozzos and we had a wonderful time all around. great service at the bar and had a fabulous server who was very helpful and knowledgable.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Iozzo's food and service is always excel ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Iozzo's food and service is always excellent! We love going there. The outside seating is so fantastic and relaxing.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Very relaxed ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food and service. Very relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband, Bill, LOVES your restaurant. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My husband, Bill, LOVES your restaurant. I'm a big fan too. The food is always tops and we enjoy your good wine. All the servers are great. It always feels like we're part of your family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, food and atmosphere was ver ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The service, food and atmosphere was very good! The only complaint is that the night we were there, the air conditioner wasn't working. So dinner was very sweaty. We will return when the a/c is working.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our favorite go-to place to eat. LOVE t ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our favorite go-to place to eat. LOVE the menu and the staff!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

first time, overall enjoyable. great wai ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

first time, overall enjoyable. great waiter. will revisit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our overall experience was great...frien ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our overall experience was great...friends on an out of town weekend get away. The classic eggplant Parmesan was underwhelming. Kind of a let down for a small "authentic" restaurant. The fish of the day, change out of white sauce for red, were hits. Again this was overall a great experience, would go again but likely stick to specials and features.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.