About Iozzo's Garden of Italy

Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.

946 S. Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46225
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm- 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ray Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 974-1100

Website:
http://www.iozzos.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in Our Courtyard on the Following Dates in 2013
Wednesday June 5, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Wednesday July 3, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Saturday July 13, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday August 7, 2013 - The Tides
Saturday August 17, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday Septemper 4, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz

Parking Details:
Free street parking is available on the East and West sides of Meridian Street.

Executive Chef:
Kathy Jones

Private Party Contact:
Kathy Jones: (317) 974-1100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Courtyard Opening Party Thursday May 16, 2013

Iozzo's Garden of Italy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (59)
Authentic (53)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Romantic (42)
Cozy (40)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Worth the Drive (40)
Historic (36)
Business Meals (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Fun (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Casual (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Family Style (16)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Happy Hour (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Healthy (6)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1769 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Brian was a great server!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My girlfriend (who is Italian) was in from out of town so I decided to take.here our. ABSOLUTELY the BEST italtian food in indy! An amzing dining experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The special oyster was the sweetest I have ever had. Finally a good restaurant in Indy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We round on open table and it was a great find! Original Italian food in a neighborhood environment although in a city!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We really like this place, and always order the scallops as our appetizer as well as the fresh fish. Everything was great as always, but I would have preferred lowered lights and maybe a bit quieter music. We asked our server about this but he said that's just how they've set it recently.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, great service, friendly employees, and reasonable priced food. Can't wait to go back when it is warm. Plan to dine on the patio,

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Hot Spot, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

First time to Iozzo's and loved it!! Our server was great, the food was amazing! Like seriously amazing!! We were celebrating my son's 18th birthday and he picked this place. He loved it too and the spumoni was imported from Italy. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This was our anniversary so it was special. I indicated on my Opentable reservation that it was my anniversary and the Restaurant sent me an invite acknowledging the anniversary days before. But I had to remind the waitress and I felt she didn't care one way or the other. Disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Very nice. Enjoyed the food. Great service!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The service was top class.They did not charge for a new dish we tried.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was outstanding. Our server, Anthony, was impeccable.
Could not ask for a more perfect experience. Staff was friendly and everyone displayed a team mentality that speaks volumes over other restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Enjoyed the great food and company. We had the front window table and our waiter staff Brian was "spot on" with great recommendations and even was able to help "create" a special request for two of our guest to get an entrée the way they like it! He was knowledgeable about the menu and what the kitchen staff was able to fix. Kudos to him and his expertise - he truly save the evening. Will certainly re-book this restaurant - especially for more that AWESOME Garlic basil cheesy bread. Yum !

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Little expensive for what you get but very good and unique

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Fantastic service and delicious well made and authentic Italian food.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was our second visit to Iozzo's and both have been great experiences. The food and knowledgeable servers made the visit enjoyable. They make each dish as ordered and do not object to special requests, which was helpful to my picky family. Serving sizes are large and can be easily shared. The restaurant is on the noisy side, but not so bad that we could not converse at the table. Great list of wines from Italy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Our server, Sarah, was great! She was knowledgeable about the food and drinks. We took my mom here to celebrate her birthday and I was hoping they would decorate the table or bring out a dessert, but they didn't. That was the only downfall. Everything else was good.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Waited 10 min before someone came to take our drink order . Then had to wait 25 min to get our salads and soup. Finally after waiting another 40min got our dinner . Won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Went there for the first time for my husbannd's birthday. Best Italian food we've had in a long time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Historic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food and wonderful service. Certainly a south-of-downtown, neighborhood gem! Great ambiance with a mix of different wall textures, including brick and wood. If I lived in the area, I would be a confirmed regular. Brian, server extraordinaire, is exccellente!

Grazie!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Perfect place for business and family. The food was terrific and service was outstanding.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 2, 2017

As always, Iozzo's serves up the best. People who know good food fill the place - including celebrities. Dining in Italy is remarkable for the most ordinary dish tasting and served in extraordinary ways. So to with Iozzo's. Personal competent and friendly service. Great selection and variety with seasonal changes. And fun events, bring us back again and again. Best Italian in Indy and I have tried them all.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 2, 2017

A most enjoyable evening and meal with friends. Our table was at the back of the Restaurant next to the wall and windows. Due to the old single glazing, those by the window found it rather cold. A little glazing upgrade would go a long way to improve the winter time ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

I've brought several different groups to Iozzo's for dinner events at conferences, team meetings, etc. Never disappoints, always delights. Great Italian food, and really creative artisan cocktails. The aged Manhattan was a big hit with all of our guests at this dinner. Service was excellent, very attentive, without being disruptive to conversations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Celebrating selling of home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 21, 2017

My first visit to Lozzos but it will not be my last. Started with Smoked Salmon appetizer, with Capers...whoa !! Had red snapper special, wow was it good. Pared with a nice French wine, man oh man. Homerun for sure..... cant wait to go back & try more goodies.

Hats off to the kitchen staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I went to Iozzo's for dinner with my girlfriend. The atmosphere was great, the foot was amazing and the staff was very knowledgable about the menu. I would recommend stopping by.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Great atmosphere, service and food. Very good wine selection as well as other beverages

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We've been here several times and have always enjoyed the food, service has been attentive without being intrusive, the decor is quaint, etc. I broke away from my usual and tried the chicken diavolo and was disappointed, the chicken itself was good but the diavolo sauce had the consistency of tomato paste, was lukewarm and lacked any flavor (it had plenty of heat if you like spicey food). Won't be getting that one again but we'll be back. Everyone else enjoyed theirs and the salads and after dinner drinks were great. Ask for the Lazzaroni Amaretto, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Once again Iozzos does not disappoint. This visit was for my birthday dinner and Phil was our server. He was fantastic,, the food was amazing and the wine he recommended was divine. This remains my favorite restaurant for special occasions and im working on my next excuse to go back. Thank you Iozzos staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We came here for dinner while visiting our son who lives in Indianapolis. We started with fried calamari which was very good. I had the veal Marsala which was tender & a light taste. My husband had the chicken piccata which he enjoyed & was tender & juicy. My son had the shrimp with pasta but thought the dish had too much pepper in it. His girlfriend enjoyed her dinner of linguini with clams. It was a Saturday night so it was crowded & a little noisy. We had reservations so our wait was not too long. We will definitely return when we visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I looked this up on the internet. It was a great find. The service was excellent. The atmosphere was great and relaxing. The food was better than I thought it would be. The waiter was very animated. We loved his upbeat spirit. Go. Go. Go. It is worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was amazing food, the service was done of the best I've had and the creamy mushroom asparagus crab soup, was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in Downtown Indy! Wonderful local family history. The service & ambiance are always excellent! They have an excellent menu of speciality cocktails that are not to be missed. Stick with oysters or antipasto platter for appetizers. All soups and salads great. All Italian dishes, fish dishes, & polenta as a side are the bomb! This is a gem! My husband & I are Iozzo Club Members! Such a pleasure to eat here. Enjoy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have eaten at Iozo's many times over many years and still find each meal to be as good as the last. Service is always excellent and we enjoy ourselves very much. One request...on holidays that are not on a Friday or Saturday could you please make Osso Bucco?

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

When here on Valentine's Day and they had a very special menu just for the occasion comma the place is very very historic and the manager there was very good with the history of the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Unfortunately, Iozzos's luncheon food and menu on Valentine's Day did not meet up to the expectations I had from previous evening dining experiences. To be blunt, portion sizes were small and the taste was bland. Our waitress was excellent though, and apologized for the kitchen's slow pace. I will go back to Iozzo's for dinner, but cannot recommend it for lunch at this point.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Iozzo's did not surprise. While we have been fans of the authentic cuisine for some time, our guests had never been to the restaurant. They know about it now and already consider it a favorite.

Elizabeth - thank you for a wonderful experience. You rock!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Cocktails, wine, food and service were all excellent. Enjoyed our dinner for 2 w. spag/meatballs, fettuccine alfredo w.sun dried tomatoes, lasagna w. bolognese, chicken picatta and veal marsala. All were really good and loved the variety, just wish it came w a lid to keep it warmer. The Caesar salads were very good too and very fresh. The cocktails (Valentine's day signature drink - Yum!) were fresh and good as was the wine. Also, the homemade bread was wonderful as was the spumoni. (server said it was from Italy). Love the ambiance, it's small and cozy and also has a nice bar w. a wonderful and friendly bartender. Like the music they play too. With lots of people in there, can get a little loud w. brick walls. Had been there before for beer/wine and apps before Colts games but never for dinner...will definitely go back again!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had table of 8 on Valentine's Day. Our server did a great job. I had fish cooked to perfection. Everyone's meals came out on time and were tasty. Great evening! Great job!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.