About Iozzo's Garden of Italy

Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.

946 S. Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46225
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm- 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ray Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 974-1100

Website:
http://www.iozzos.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in Our Courtyard on the Following Dates in 2017
Wednesday October 11th Chad Mills 6:00-8:30pm
Wednesday October 18th Zack Salaz 6:00-9:00pm
Wednesday October 25th J. Elliott 6:00-9:00pm

Parking Details:
Free street parking is available on the East and West sides of Meridian Street.

Executive Chef:
Leroy Spells

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Live music in the courtyard every Wednesday evening.

Special Tailgate Menu available Sundays during Colts' home games.
The menu is offered from 10:30am-1:00pm.

Iozzo's Garden of Italy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (84)
Authentic (74)
Special Occasion (73)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Romantic (61)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Cozy (55)
Notable Wine List (51)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Worth the Drive (46)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Comfort Food (37)
Casual (37)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Business Meals (33)
Fun (31)
Bar Seating (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
Seasonal (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Tasting Menu (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Great Beer (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
People Watching (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Healthy (5)
Live Music (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (4)
Vegan (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2001 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 10 hours ago

Food was good but not amazing. Service was good and atmosphere was great but a little noisy. Loved the music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

We went for our 6th anniversary and everything was wonderful. We had a great table overlooking the garden seating, the service was great, everything came out at the right speed, and the entire dining experience was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The food was out of this world. We had a party of 6 adults and everyone got something different and all loved their meals. Wine pricing was reasonable as was or dinner. Staff was friendly and server was knowledgeable on all dinner entrees and wine selections. Will be going bake.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Our server, Kendra (?) was excellent. The recommendations for our appetizer were perfect, our drinks (Italian Margaritas) were delicious and the pacing of when our appetizer (prosciutto wrapped shrimp), salads (wedge & Cesar) , entrees (Chicken Penne & Portabella Orzo) and dessert (Italian coffee-sooo good!) arrived was excellent. We had plenty of time to enjoy our meal and conversation without ever wondering when our next item would arrive or feeling rushed. The atmosphere was festive but our table felt private and we thoroughly enjoyed our entire dining experience. It was exactly what he hoped it would be for our night out. They were especially accommodating when we called and needed to push our reservation back a bit as well. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent food, outstanding service. A little bit outside the downtown core, just a few minutes Uber ride. Large menu, outstanding waiters, lots of daily specials. Some of the best Italian around.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Dinner was FANTASTIC! I cannot recall having a better meal anywhere.
The cocktails were terrific, the lobster meatball appetizer was recommended by the host and it did not disappoint.
The three main courses in our group could not have been better & the dessert was on par with the rest of the experience.
It is easily our new favorite spot in Indy... can’t wait to return.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Went to Iozzo’s for a quiet anniversary dinner. They were very accommodating and seated us at a secluded table. Service by Anthony was excellent—just attentive enough. Food and cocktails were also excellent. Been there several times and never disappointed. Look forward to our next visit. Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Music was MUCH too loud for us to enjoy conversation with our friends! Not sure we will return for dinner if we are meeting friends and actually want to talk.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 11, 2017

As always great food, great service and we all had a great time!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Decided to try out this place for our 4th anniversary. Did not disappoint. Not fine dining but it was a lovely Italian setting. Tuscany style $100 for 2 plus our tip...we loved it we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Always a wonderful time. Great local family owned dining spot with a fun and professional atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Only a few places in Indianapolis are consistent for both service and cuisine. This is just that place. Food is great. Service is excellent. Our server, Anthony, is definitely in the top five in Indy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Food is incredible and service is fabulous. Waitresses Linda and Katie are terrific so is the whole staff. Patio is lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I love the character of this restaurant inside and I especially love the patio, where I just discovered that on Wednesday evenings they have live music. The food is good and the staff is very friendly, although each time I've been there the actual service is a bit sketchy. The servers are wonderful, the service is sketchy. Maybe it's a training issue, maybe it's a kitchen issue, or maybe it's both, but each time I've been there it takes forever from the time you order until the food comes out. And this time the server brought out our salads first and THEN brought out the appetizers, then while we were still working on our appetizers she brought out our pizza.. So first we waited forever to get our food and then they piled it all on the table at once. Oh well, we had a great time, the ambiance on the patio is always great and the live music was a nice surprise. I still recommend the place and will still go frequently.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Love this place. Been four years in a row for our anniversary and ready to make reservations for next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We love Iozzo’s. Wonderful food, great service, family owned and operated.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We had a great dinner at Iozzo's. Our waiter Brian had the table pre set & ready for our anniversary. Complimentary champagne for us both, which was really tasty. We typically don't like champagne. All our appetizers we off the charts, good soup & salads were perfect, as was our entrée.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 1, 2017

My boyfriend and I love Iozzo’s, it’s our special date night spot. The service is always great here and the food is delicious. In all the times we’ve been here, it’s never been a disappointment. This is the perfect cozy spot to enjoy a meal. I 100% recommend it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This is one of our favorite Italian restaurants but this was not one of our best experiences here. The service initially was slow (which to be fair is unusual here). Maybe the server was overloaded but there were long gaps between her appearances. We love the spicy shrimp appetizer and it did not disappoint this night. For an entree we split the platter for two. We liked everything on it and the portions were fair but we both agreed we would order our own entree next time. The Fettuccine Alfredo was a bit rich for my tastes but the veal more than offset it in my opinion.

We will definitely return but the service took some of the shine off of the evening.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2017

My wife and I were both celebrating work-related achievements. We wouldn't think to go anywhere else to celebrate with great food and wine that Iozzo's. Cent'anni!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I had a great filet and the halibut was excellent.
Chocolate pavlova. Need I say more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Friday evening was another great experience at Iozzo's. "Dr. Philthy" took great care of us. Everything was top notch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Our first time at Iozzos was exceptional. The atmosphere is great and service is individualized and attentive. We loved the romantic feel of both the indoor dining and back patio dining experience. The live music was my favorite. We celebrated my fiancees 30th birthday and was provided with complimentary wine and dessert. The food was great and menu is filled with the best and popular Italian dishes :)
do yourself a favor and visit Iozzos! don't forget to try their flute tiramisu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Iozzo's has by far exceeded my expectations. The ambiance is perfect and the service is second to none! The food is exquisite. My parents live in Florida, and my mom is Italian originally from New York, and this is by far her favorite Italian food. I Love this Restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Food and service was fabulous. Music, although I loved the playlist, was a bit too loud, so difficult to have conversation and catch-up with old friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2017

I went there with two of my associates. Apps and salad were really good. When it came to dinner, where I ordered the Veal Parmesan which was overcooked. The tomato sauce was extremely tasty.....just like mama's. I would repeat if I ever get back to Indianapolis.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Highly recommend. Food and service were great. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This was a return visit for our golf group. The food was outstanding as usual, and Anthony provided wonderful, attentive service. I will always dine at Iozzo's when visiting Indianapolis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

I love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Love it! It's indys best kept secret!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Typical Italian American cuisine...nothing special, especially for what we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 21, 2017

This longtime, family-owned Indy favorite is one of our "go to places" when close friends and family come to town. A consistent dining experience of great service, great food and good value. We've never been disappointed. All servers are great but our favorites are Nikki or Anthony.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 19, 2017

The food was delicious. Appropriately sized portions and priced correctly. Restaurant was located about a 4 minute taxi ride from Convention Center, so a good place to get away from other customers and competitors for a private lunch. I wish I had eaten more lunches there during my visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

God food and excellent service. Parking is some what of a problem.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Everyone at Iozzo's treats us like family. We love the place. The food was outstanding once again! The service is bar none the best we have had in Indy. Cant get enough of this place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Service was great it just took an extremely long time to get our food.

Tags: Seasonal, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My friends and I had a wonderful dinner out on the patio. It was a great evening and the food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 14, 2017

I always try spaghetti the first time I dine at an Italian restaurant to taste their sauce. The Iozzo's family recipe marinara sauce with meatballs was delicious, but there wasn't enough sauce for me - I had to ask for some extra on the side, although one of our friends had the same and he thought it was enough. So if you like sauce, ask for extra when ordering - I will next time.
Service was very good, but we were a little surprised that I was not asked if I wanted a refill on my soft drink and whether we wanted more bread for the table. Otherwise, I would rate the service excellent.
One of us had the pork chop and said it was delicious and one had the Linguine Carbonara. She thought the Pancetta in it was a little too salty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 14, 2017

After reading such great reviews we wanted to try it and like it! Sadly this was not the case. Service was very slow. Salads were average and chicken parmesan was fried so dark brown there were blackened spots. The whole dish tasted burned, including the bed of pasta beneath the chicken. Very disappointing. Server never brought extra cheese that we asked for and messed up my partner's order of (no sauce) pasta. Chianti and spumoni were very good, but not good enough to warrant a second trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Romantic and relaxing atmosphere. Great food and friendly staff. Excellent place for date night or a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.