About Iozzo's Garden of Italy

946 S. Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46225
View Larger Map

Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm- 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ray Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 974-1100

Website:
http://www.iozzos.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in Our Courtyard on the Following Dates in 2013
Wednesday June 5, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Wednesday July 3, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Saturday July 13, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday August 7, 2013 - The Tides
Saturday August 17, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday Septemper 4, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz

Parking Details:
Free street parking is available on the East and West sides of Meridian Street.

Executive Chef:
Kathy Jones

Private Party Contact:
Kathy Jones: 317-974-1100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Courtyard Opening Party Thursday May 16, 2013

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Parmigiana
  • Ravioli
  • Lasagna Bolognese
  • Seafood Risotto
  • Spaghetti With Meatballs
  • Lobster Ravioli
  • Filet With Polenta
Chicken Parmigiana
Ravioli
Lasagna Bolognese
Seafood Risotto
Spaghetti With Meatballs
Lobster Ravioli
Filet With Polenta

Iozzo's Garden of Italy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Indiana
Best Ambiance
Indiana
Best Value
Indiana
8 More
Outdoor Dining
Indiana
Italian
Indiana
Best Overall
Indianapolis
Best Food
Indianapolis
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Best Value
Indianapolis
Romantic
Indianapolis
Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

special occasion (107)
neighborhood gem (104)
romantic (91)
See All
great for outdoor dining (77)
fit for foodies (75)
good for groups (50)
notable wine list (47)
great for lunch (34)
hot spot (15)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Did not enjoy our visit to Iozzo's. Noi ...

Dined 6 days ago

Did not enjoy our visit to Iozzo's. Noisy, battled fruit flies throughout our whole dinner and we dinned inside. Value was average for the cost.

food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent to outstanding entree, but ver ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent to outstanding entree, but very average to below average salad. Our table staff was very pleasant. However the kitchen was unbearably slow. Over 2 1/2 hours to prepare a salad and entree dinner. No excuse for that.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, good wine list, exce ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was delicious, good wine list, excellent friendly service!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places to eat especia ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat especially sitting outside during the summer.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met my son and girlfriend there. Good ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We met my son and girlfriend there. Good place to talk - very relaxing atmosphere. The wine list is very good. The best thing on the menu is the filet medium rare - always prepared great. They have great Italian dishes. At the table we had filet, risotto, spaghetti and meatballs and linguine with clam. All were outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service for our 46th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food and service for our 46th wedding anniversary, with complimentary prosecco. We love to return here.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster ravioli always excellent. Blacke ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Lobster ravioli always excellent. Blackened sea bass amazing! Zozo's shrimp is an excellent appetizer. We have never had a bad experience at this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great time. The food was great, ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

I had a great time. The food was great, the wine was good and the sevice was fabulous!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

What stood out was our waiter was rude. ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

What stood out was our waiter was rude. It was a business dinner but it also was my birthday so when he asked if it was a special occasion I said not but then said it was my birthday. His response was "sure". I then said you do not believe me. No response. Then I tried to order from the special menu and he said that is not on the menu. I said sure it is then his response was you were given the wrong menu. I asked were they out if the blackened mahi sandwich to which his response was no but I am not serving sandwiches now. At end of dinner I said I have a coupon for free dessert and again he ignored me and charged for the dessert. I wasnt eating it and it was on a business associate who ordered one to share. I then showed him the email coupon as I am a regular customer. He then took my phone to check with the manager. Also, my fish was dry and overcooked. I plan to return as this is my first bad experience but I hope to have a different server.

food5
ambience5
service5

1/2 priced wines by the glass on Wednesd ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

1/2 priced wines by the glass on Wednesday nights AND live music on the patio. Out that with the food and it can't be beat.

food5
ambience5
service5

Iozzo's treat customers like they are im ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Iozzo's treat customers like they are important. Service was great food was good and prepared correctly. The music was a bonus.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lived up to the reviews.

Dined on June 4, 2016

We managed to get Anthony, a well-recommended server and he was so lovely. My date and I had a wonderful, romantic evening. We also brought Anthony and his coworkers donuts to share for National Donut day and they were so thankful :) The ambience was pleasant with low-lighting and the food was fantastic. Would definitely eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on June 3, 2016

Anthony, our server, was very attentive. timely with refills and following up on any needs. The food was delicious. My husband and I love Italian food and Iozzo's is by FAR our favorite. I had the lobster stuffed ravioli but instead of red sauce, chose the alfredo sauce and I was NOT disappointed. My husband had the Chicken Diavolo, which was spicy although Anthony did a good job of describing how the spiciness is subtle but lingers and he was spot on. My husband LOVED it. We hardly ever order 4 courses, but splurged and had the sea salt brownie, it was phenomenal! We had our share of wine and cocktails as well. I was a little nervous to see the bill but couldn't believe how affordable it was with 4 courses and beverages. We were very please and will definitely be recommending and returning!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Can't think of a better place to celebrate such an occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is amazing and the staff is gre ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

The food is amazing and the staff is great! Best Italian restaurant in Indy!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Indy 500 special

Dined on May 26, 2016

Bricklined walls....old Italiana fotos....back yard garden..red sauce. What more do you want?? Service very very good. We had great night out.....what more do you want??

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

I chose Iozzo's to take my fiance at the ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

I chose Iozzo's to take my fiance at the recommendation of a friend. The atmosphere on the patio was great but the service was painfully slow, and they weren't even busy at the time we were there. For dinner, I had intended to only order an appetizer for my entre b/c I wasn't terribly hungy, but my finance misunderstood and ordered the appetizer first. I nursed it until he decided to order his meal, a pasta dish that came with a salad. The salad came our right away, which my fiance gave to me since I only had an appetizer. Then we waited - an waited - and waited for his meal to come out. We also had to wait a very long time between drinks, and our waters didn't get replenished the entire evening. Finally, after several attenpts to get our watier's attention by fiance walked over to him to ask about his meal. The waiter never turned in the order!! So my fiance canceled it and asked for the check. The waiter charged us for the salad, even though the salad was included with the entre and we never got the entre!! I would go back again but if the service was as slow the 2nd time around I probably wouldn't go a third time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Anthony was my server and ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Great service! Anthony was my server and he was amazing. Knew his stuff and told me and my girlfriend everything about the menu and options we could do for being first timers. Food was absolutely spectacular.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If the weather is nice, ask to sit in th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

If the weather is nice, ask to sit in the garden area - enclosed patio with umbrella tables, a fountain, cobblestone walk, couldn't be a better atmosphere. Anthony was the best waiter we've had in years. Impeccable service - his recommendations were spot on; her cheese ravioli was perfection; our salads were crisp and delicious with home made bleu cheese dressing; my gnocchi with morels and white sauce was fantastic; her sea salt caramel brownie decadent, and my key lime was unlike anything I've had - a heavier than usual mousse with almonds and other crunch on the bottom was sort of a Brule, sort of ice cream, hard to describe, but I wanted more. Of course the wine and cocktails were excellent. We will return. Many times. Thumbs up all around. Delightful place that I've driven past many times and didn't even know it was there. Who knew?

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. The Specials for the night ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Outstanding. The Specials for the night were Out-of-this-world. The regular menu is wonderful but the Gnocchi with mushroom and asparagus Special was to die for. (We ordered this as an appetizer and split it with the 5 at the table). The Entrees were incredible. Sea Bass and Veal were blow-me-away lite and good. Can't wait for the house band...Indy Nile debut when the rain stops falling.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

So so

Dined on May 20, 2016

Just wasn't as nice of a place as expected. Food was average at best, good service though.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful birthday lunch. Our server ma ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Wonderful birthday lunch. Our server made us feel so special and welcome. The food was excellent and we both had so much food that we had to take some home. We enjoyed spumoni and nice fresh coffee afterwards. The garden is really well done. You feel peace and the landscaping puts you in a good place. It was quick enough for lunch too

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the finest Italian Restau ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This is one of the finest Italian Restaurants in the Midwest. It is a must visit for locals in the Indianapolis area as it is for those visiting our fair city. Brian is an excellent server!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome food, knowledgeable and friendly ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Awesome food, knowledgeable and friendly staff. Great break from the conference and the perfect place to get a taste of an Indianapolis tradition!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Sauce-R-Us

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great place for lunch or dinner, although service was slow. I ordered cheese ravioli and received more sauce than ravioli. A little disappointing, because the last time I ordered, it was delicious! It looked like a bowl of soup.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Classic Italian

Dined on May 15, 2016

Iozzo's Garden is a quaint and classical Italian restaurant. I has an excellent bar and wine list that goes well with their menu. What has impressed me is the way the staff has worked around my gluten allergy with appropriate past substitutions - gluten free pasta or polenta. Their seafood dishes are exceptionally well prepared and are some of their less well known entrees. I highly recommend them for either casual dining or special occasions. Also, the wait staff is courteous and willing to make excellent suggestions and/or substitutions as the occasions may arise.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive service and the ease of custom ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Attentive service and the ease of customizing your order.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Iozzis!!!! Best food and servic ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We love Iozzis!!!! Best food and service around! Phil is an awesome server. So knowledgeable on wines and drinks. He always has us try his latest drink and is always great!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife and I each enjoyed a veal dish for ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Wife and I each enjoyed a veal dish for lunch - one piccata the other marsala. Excellent dishes executed flawlessly. Very tasty! Excellent service, as always -- this time with Miss Blake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went on a Wednesday eve ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

My husband and I went on a Wednesday evening, celebrating our anniversary. Absolutely loved the ambiance and quaintness of the restaurant. Service was outstanding. Food was very good. Not sure if opinion would change on a busy weekend but we will definitely be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't believe I'd never heard of Iozzo ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

I can't believe I'd never heard of Iozzo's until a few weeks ago when my sister discovered it. This was a fantastic dining experience from start to finish. Five friends met for dinner. We all had different entrees and all were very pleased with our choices. The service was excellent. The waiter was friendly and engaged, but not in that overly familiar way that has become so common. I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was amazing, as always. We don't ea ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was amazing, as always. We don't eat here often, but have never been disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great patio

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

While the weather on Mother's Day was a bit too cool for Mom to sit outside, Iozzo's has one of the coolest patios in town. Gives one an Old World feel while enjoying great Italian food. 😋

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely outdoor patio

Dined on May 8, 2016

We found this place when we were looking for a restaurant to celebrate my daughters graduation from Butler University in 2014. All the fine dining restaurants were booked. We sat outdoors on the patio, lights were strung across the patio, it was a pleasant evening, and an all-around great meal. The servers are attentive and the food is very good. I live out of town, but have since been there 2 more times when I have been to Indy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an outstanding meal and fantastic ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We had an outstanding meal and fantastic service! Can't wait go back!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Had birthday dinner with my wife. Good food. GREAT SERVICE. Neat story behind the diner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Iozzo's

Dined on May 6, 2016

I've been to just about every local Italian restaurant during "peak" times (i.e., night before the Mini or Monumental Marathon). And, it has never failed that a 6:30pm reservation quickly becomes a 7:00-30 seating with food taking longer and service degrading. However, that has NEVER been the case with Iozzo's the past two years that I've been dining there. I'm always seated right on time and there has never been a degradation of service or service time. This visit was no different even with a packed house carbing up before the Mini. It's no wonder that I've already made my reservation for November the night before the Monumental Marathon. Great food and great service always gets my business!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a very nice dinner. Iozzo's had fine ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Had a very nice dinner. Iozzo's had fine food. The lobster ravioli was the best I've ever had, and I'm not a fan of ravioli normally. Service was great and that atmosphere unique and enjoyable.

food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Good for dinner, not lunch

Dined on May 4, 2016

We have had dinner here a hundred times but this was our first time in for lunch. The food itself was fine - the rock shrimp app was way more food than we expected and it was really tasty. we were in our usual table toward the back and I think our first server forgot about us a couple of times. we had to wait a good while to order and our drinks stood empty for a while as well. We tried to get the host's and our server's attention but to no avail, and once a different server did check on us and we asked for some bread (which comes automatically but they forgot for us), it took another 15 minutes for the bread to come out - by which time we had finished our meals and were ready to go. The food itself was great as usual, but the rhythm of service was not great and it made my weekly midday lunch with my wife less enjoyable than we had wanted it to be.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

First time to this restaurant - Joyce ou ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

First time to this restaurant - Joyce our server was excellent - spaghetti and meatballs were excellent- my wife had the fish special of Halibut "Cheecks" and was also excellent. The restaurant was packed with kids going to prom but service was not affected at all. We will add this restaurant to our list to attend regularly.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.