About Iozzo's Garden of Italy

Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.

946 S. Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46225
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm- 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ray Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 974-1100

Website:
http://www.iozzos.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in Our Courtyard on the Following Dates in 2013
Wednesday June 5, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Wednesday July 3, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Saturday July 13, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday August 7, 2013 - The Tides
Saturday August 17, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday Septemper 4, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz

Parking Details:
Free street parking is available on the East and West sides of Meridian Street.

Executive Chef:
Kathy Jones

Private Party Contact:
Kathy Jones: (317) 974-1100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Courtyard Opening Party Thursday May 16, 2013

Iozzo's Garden of Italy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (62)
Good for a Date (61)
Authentic (58)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Romantic (42)
Cozy (40)
Worth the Drive (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Historic (32)
Business Meals (31)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Notable Wine List (23)
Casual (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Fun (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Family Style (19)
Good for Groups (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Seasonal (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1789 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We love Iozzo's. Family place that makes us feel like family and keeps us coming back for more.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 19, 2017

WONDERFUL .....as always. Beautiful early evening in the courtyard with our " bubbly " young lady server. No hurry, no worries and great consistent food. BRAVO !!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The food was excellent. The service needs to be better. Lunch took too long.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love Iozzo's We are regulars & dine here at least twice a month. All the staff is super nice & treat us like family. We are hooked.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Family Style, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love this place. They just opened their seasonal patio and that may have caused a lengthy wait for apps (40 minutes). Food was great once it arrived and service was engaging and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Delicious good. Huge portions. Great ambience. All 5o jus got different things and everyone felt theirs was the best. Great staff. Hole in the all

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 13, 2017

birthday. very accommodating. perfect food and service, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our waiter was very attentive and informative and went out of her way to fulfill all of our requests. The food was excellent and we enjoyed ourselves. Would loved to have dined outside but the outside area wasn't open yet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I was so impressed with your food and service. It was seriously so amazing!! I wish I lived closer so I could come more often.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Belissimo! Nice piece of Italy close to the South Side!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Awesome food and friendly staff!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always a great meal to be had at Iozzo's. Brian always takes excellent care of us. The food is top notch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Cozy, Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Service was wonderful. It was our first time to this restaurant and we will definitely return. Food was great with good portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Server was amazing and engaging (Elizabeth) ... Food was obviously "family recipe" and made individually ... Drinks were also exquisite

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great Italian restaurant...our favorite Italian. Service could not be better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We are reguars at Iozzo's & cant say anything negative bout the place. Service is always friendly & top notch, food is amazing & the price is fair.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

As usual, food was excellent. We had requested a specific server but was unable to be in their section. Service was good but lacked a little in efficiency. Maybe next time we can get the server that we request then I will be confident that service will be top notch as the entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very good food, large portions and fantastic service. Made for a great birthday evening dinner with my family.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Brian was a great server!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My girlfriend (who is Italian) was in from out of town so I decided to take.here our. ABSOLUTELY the BEST italtian food in indy! An amzing dining experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The special oyster was the sweetest I have ever had. Finally a good restaurant in Indy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We round on open table and it was a great find! Original Italian food in a neighborhood environment although in a city!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We really like this place, and always order the scallops as our appetizer as well as the fresh fish. Everything was great as always, but I would have preferred lowered lights and maybe a bit quieter music. We asked our server about this but he said that's just how they've set it recently.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, great service, friendly employees, and reasonable priced food. Can't wait to go back when it is warm. Plan to dine on the patio,

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Hot Spot, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

First time to Iozzo's and loved it!! Our server was great, the food was amazing! Like seriously amazing!! We were celebrating my son's 18th birthday and he picked this place. He loved it too and the spumoni was imported from Italy. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This was our anniversary so it was special. I indicated on my Opentable reservation that it was my anniversary and the Restaurant sent me an invite acknowledging the anniversary days before. But I had to remind the waitress and I felt she didn't care one way or the other. Disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Very nice. Enjoyed the food. Great service!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The service was top class.They did not charge for a new dish we tried.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was outstanding. Our server, Anthony, was impeccable.
Could not ask for a more perfect experience. Staff was friendly and everyone displayed a team mentality that speaks volumes over other restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Enjoyed the great food and company. We had the front window table and our waiter staff Brian was "spot on" with great recommendations and even was able to help "create" a special request for two of our guest to get an entrée the way they like it! He was knowledgeable about the menu and what the kitchen staff was able to fix. Kudos to him and his expertise - he truly save the evening. Will certainly re-book this restaurant - especially for more that AWESOME Garlic basil cheesy bread. Yum !

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Little expensive for what you get but very good and unique

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Fantastic service and delicious well made and authentic Italian food.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was our second visit to Iozzo's and both have been great experiences. The food and knowledgeable servers made the visit enjoyable. They make each dish as ordered and do not object to special requests, which was helpful to my picky family. Serving sizes are large and can be easily shared. The restaurant is on the noisy side, but not so bad that we could not converse at the table. Great list of wines from Italy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Business Meals, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Our server, Sarah, was great! She was knowledgeable about the food and drinks. We took my mom here to celebrate her birthday and I was hoping they would decorate the table or bring out a dessert, but they didn't. That was the only downfall. Everything else was good.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Waited 10 min before someone came to take our drink order . Then had to wait 25 min to get our salads and soup. Finally after waiting another 40min got our dinner . Won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Went there for the first time for my husbannd's birthday. Best Italian food we've had in a long time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Historic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food and wonderful service. Certainly a south-of-downtown, neighborhood gem! Great ambiance with a mix of different wall textures, including brick and wood. If I lived in the area, I would be a confirmed regular. Brian, server extraordinaire, is exccellente!

Grazie!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We were on business and new to the area. What a great find! Wonderful food with a broad selection, and excellent service. Our waitress was friendly and attentive but never pushy or intrusive. Nice atmosphere. I would go back anytime I was in town!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Perfect place for business and family. The food was terrific and service was outstanding.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.