About Iozzo's Garden of Italy

946 S. Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46225
View Larger Map

Originally established in 1930 Iozzo's Garden of Italy is the Newest Oldest Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis. The high quality menu features a mix of traditional Iozzo Family Italian fare along with a modern twist on Italian dishes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm- 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Ray Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 974-1100

Website:
http://www.iozzos.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music in Our Courtyard on the Following Dates in 2013
Wednesday June 5, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Wednesday July 3, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz
Saturday July 13, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday August 7, 2013 - The Tides
Saturday August 17, 2013 - Indy Nile
Wednesday Septemper 4, 2013 - Jaden Street Jazz

Parking Details:
Free street parking is available on the East and West sides of Meridian Street.

Executive Chef:
Kathy Jones

Private Party Contact:
Kathy Jones: 317-974-1100

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Courtyard Opening Party Thursday May 16, 2013

Restaurant Photos

  • Chicken Parmigiana
  • Ravioli
  • Lasagna Bolognese
  • Seafood Risotto
  • Spaghetti With Meatballs
  • Lobster Ravioli
  • Filet With Polenta
Chicken Parmigiana
Ravioli
Lasagna Bolognese
Seafood Risotto
Spaghetti With Meatballs
Lobster Ravioli
Filet With Polenta

Iozzo's Garden of Italy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Indiana
Italian
Indiana
Best Value
Indianapolis
2 More
Outdoor Dining
Indianapolis
Italian
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (91)
Neighborhood Gem (82)
Great for Outdoor Dining (72)
See All
Romantic (61)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for Groups (40)
Great for Lunch (32)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Historic (15)
Authentic (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Casual (9)
Fun (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Scenic View (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Family Style (6)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

For scratch Italian food it was not very ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

For scratch Italian food it was not very flavorful. Too expensive.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Took my 11-yr-old grandson here before t ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

Took my 11-yr-old grandson here before the Colts game. Food was excellent--he had a chicken and pasta dish and I had the halibut special. We were a little late, but our table was ready and waiting. Service was excellent! The server even put my grandson's leftovers in the frig for us to pick up after the game! Would like to go back sometime when we can relax and enjoy the outdoor patio!

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I treated my grandson to a birthday dinn ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

I treated my grandson to a birthday dinner before going to a football game. Brian, our server, was very informative about the menu and specials of the day. I thought the food was very good. My grandson really enjoyed his meal which was a traditional Italian meal. I had the seafood special which was outstanding. I would recommend Iozzo for any occasion or just for a night out for a meal.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome. They could have opened before ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome.

They could have opened before 2:00. People were waiting outside

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place! Authentic Italian family r ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great Place! Authentic Italian family restaurant. Shrimp appetizer was incredible. Ribeye steak was one of the best I've had, and lasagna was really good as well. Don't miss this unique place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Deliciousness from the bar to the dining ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Deliciousness from the bar to the dining room! Loved the freshness of the cypress!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening as usual and ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful evening as usual and our server Shane was attentive and knowledgeable

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and an amazing server who ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful food and an amazing server who offered suggestions, was very attentive, and just fun to have stop by the table! The Taste for Two menu option is an incredible value, and we enjoyed hearing about all of the specials that are offered throughout the week. We'll definitely be coming back, for a weeknight cocktail, date nights, and special occasions :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have dined at Iozzo's a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My husband and I have dined at Iozzo's a couple times after trying them out during Devour Downtown. Every time the service and food as been FANTASTIC! The great-grandchildren have really revitalized the restaurant while still incorporating the original heritage of their family and restaurant history. Last week, we brought our friends and they all loved it- especially the mushroom risotto, lobster ravioli, and creme brulee. One person had to be gluten free and they were so accommodating and informative about what options she had. We will definently be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Indy once a year - - and have e ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We go to Indy once a year - - and have eaten here two years in a row. Great server and food was very good. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love this place. I can't seem to get ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I love this place. I can't seem to get beyond ordering the Chicken Marsala, but I also enjoy the side spaghetti and fresh vegetables on the side. The house salad is delicious also. My friends usually get pasta and they love it also. The waiters and waitresses are wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would eat there before every Colts gam ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I would eat there before every Colts game if I

Could park...:((((

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had been there on two previous occasions ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had been there on two previous occasions and everything was very good. This visit not so much. The place was totally empty when we arrived and they put us in the very back table against a wall with little room to spread out for 4 of us. We had to stand up and move our chairs if anyone needed to get out to go to the restroom.

The food was only "ok" at best this trip. I ordered Lasagna, and it had WAY too much Ricotta in it and very little tomato sauce, which is one of the best attributes of the restaurant. I left half of it on the plate. It was very disappointing. Our other 3 guests each had different items and they all indicated it was "good" to just "ok".

I will not let this one event keep me from going back, as our other two visits were exceptional. However, this visit was a major disappointment and we took friends for their first visit and they likely will never go back again. I'm sure I won't order lasagna again unless the recipe is changed. Maybe it's my own fault. I should have asked for extra tomato sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Wonderful service. The outside garden is ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful service. The outside garden is spectacular and a great place for a special occasion. Food was great and the Gluten free pasta was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my wife there for a birthday cele ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I took my wife there for a birthday celebration (delayed) because she had wanted to try it and heard good reviews. We were not disappointed as the food was excellent along with the wine.

I am sure we will be coming back there soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great service and really liked th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had great service and really liked the outside patio dining. The food was okay but there was no taste or flavor that made me want more. We had the taste of italy for 2. Maybe it would have been different if we tried a specific dish.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Our server, David, was wonderful -- we w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our server, David, was wonderful -- we will definitely ask for him the next time we go.

The food took forever to come out . Kind of surprised as it was just pasta. But that was okay as we wanted to talk and drink wine for a bit before eating. I had the Fettucini Alfredo with the crab cake. The crab cake was pretty good; however, the pasta was very dry. Hardly any sauce on it. But when I asked them to take it back for additional sauce, they were happy to do so.

Tags: Family Style, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely old-style setting with attentive ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Lovely old-style setting with attentive service and great Italian ambience and food preparation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had eaten here 4 times in the past an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had eaten here 4 times in the past and really enjoyed it. It had been a few years since our last time and we were looking forward to it. We got the scallop appetizer to start and it was just ok, nothing special. Then we had the caprese salad which was again just ok. The tomatos didnt taste fresh. I had the osso bucco soup which was pretty good. I then for my entree I had the spaghetti with the family sauce and two meatballs. The family sauce was described as a hearty sauce cooked with shortrib stock. I didnt get a sense of it being hearty mostly tangy from the tomatos. Overall we were disappointed and decided the dinner from Mesh the night before was much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

It was a wonderful atmosphere. The food ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was a wonderful atmosphere. The food was incredible and the service was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was a bit distracted and we h ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our server was a bit distracted and we had to request water more than once, bread a couple of times, and the wine steward had never offered a "tasting" before because he poured a full class versus just a sip. i love Iozzo's and it was a first time for a few of my guests. The weather was perfect for outdoor dining, though we became very aware of how close a dumpster is as we got unpleasant smells whenever anyone took garbage out. The wine list is delightful, the food was very good, but I just didn't get that special feel that I did the first few times that I visited. Half of the party selected off the Devour Downtown menu and half ordered off the traditional menu, so I don't feel like we were treated like poor relatives. Just something to think about and look into.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great server, great food and overall suc ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great server, great food and overall such a great resturant with great history.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner at Iozzo's based on a frie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had dinner at Iozzo's based on a friend's recommendation. She knew what she was talking about!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When the people that came in 10 minutes ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

When the people that came in 10 minutes after you get waited on first, you know it is going to be a frustrating evening. Not a good thing when you get your drinks almost 30 minutes after you arrive. However, the food was delicious. Service not so good.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Best server we've had in a long time! V ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Best server we've had in a long time! Very friendly, attentive and responsive to our needs (without having to ask). Great job!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, great service. Has an aw ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Fantastic food, great service. Has an awesome garden area that adds to the dining experience.

Love to gather here with family and friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING!! Heard a lot about this place ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

AMAZING!! Heard a lot about this place before we visited. It was everything I hoped for, and more! The food was DELICIOUS, the setting was nice and cozy, but the SERVICE!! The service was unbelievable! Shane took such good care of us! He is a big reason we will definitely go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blake our server was wonderful. The foo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Blake our server was wonderful. The food is amazing. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Honestly we aren't real sure how dinner ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Honestly we aren't real sure how dinner was. We took time to drive downtown and arrive prior to our reservation to see that they were closed due to a power outage from storms the night before. We get it, but a phone call or email would have been nice. We were really looking forward to having dinner there, for weeks actually. I understand things happen that are out of their control but a heads up would have been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We showed up for our reservation to find ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We showed up for our reservation to find the restaurant was closed. We would have greatly appreciated them letting us know so we could have made other arrangements ahead of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We came here for our anniversary and it ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We came here for our anniversary and it happened to be Devour Downtown Indy. The food was great had a wonderful time here.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual Iozzo's did NOT disappoint. The ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

As usual Iozzo's did NOT disappoint. The food and wine were exquisite and the service was superb.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The kale was so good, it was grilled or ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The kale was so good, it was grilled or something was done too it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is such a great downtown Indy gem. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is such a great downtown Indy gem. I love this place so much. Lots to offer. I have never had a negative experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Hadn't been back for a ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Love this place. Hadn't been back for a few years since we moved away and it was as great as ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic dining experience! Food was gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Fantastic dining experience! Food was great (I got the lasagna, highly recommend). Our waiter was outstanding, and he gave us a great history of the restaurant. I look forward to returning the next time I'm in Indianapolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were able to sit outside and it was a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were able to sit outside and it was a very nice evening to dine outside. The only negative was we were in the very back and the trash dumpster was just outside of the fence. So if the wind blew just right, the smell wasn't very pleasant. Otherwise it was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food. Great service. Been her ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Delicious food. Great service. Been here several times now but never for lunch until today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of our places but our lunch ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

This is one of our places but our lunch devour experience was not positive. Slow service and subpar food quality.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We love this place!! Love the staff!! ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We love this place!! Love the staff!! The atmosphere is amazingly comfortable, casual & friendly. The menu is fantastic! We've been coming here for a few years now & have truly enjoyed every meal we've had. Oh, and the Aged Manhattan with Smoked Iced Cherries is spectacular!!

This time, I took a couple managers from out of town for their first visit. Before the meal ended, we were gathered in a group, with other new patrons, to listen to the story of Iozzo's narrated by one of the original wait staff. Experiences like these are common here. I truly believe it's special moments like this one that make Iozzo's it such a magical & wonderful place to be.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.