Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

About Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm

Please join us at our restaurant featuring delicious contemporary American cuisine - fresh farm to table - prepared by our Executive Chef Josh Homacki. The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is a hidden gem in Buckingham and features seasonal menus for dinner and brunch. Remember - we are also a BYOB!

5281 York Road
Holicong, PA 18928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Holicong Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 794-5104

Website:
http://www.barleysheaf.com/

Parking Details:
On Site parking is available for guests.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Homacki

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (54)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Cozy (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Scenic View (29)
Historic (27)
Great for Brunch (26)
Open Kitchen (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Authentic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Seasonal (12)
Fireplace (10)
Healthy (10)
Good for Groups (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Organic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Private Room (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fun (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Casual (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
340 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 3 days ago

Always five stars,never a disappointment.one of our favorite restaurants for dinning.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was well prepared and presented. All choices demonstrated cooking ability and creativity on the chef's part. The service was immediate and knowledgable. No need or question went unanswered. We wanted (or waited) for nothing during the entire meal. Our table overlooked a beautiful garden patio. Outdoor dining during the summer is to be looked forward to. All things considered, a totally enjoyable evening realistically priced. A unique value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wonderful from start to finish. Creative dinner menu and although the menu is small there is enough to chose from. A vegetarian option on the dinner menu would be nice though. Delicious food and the staff are very friendly without being obtrusive. Lovely atmosphere. Great place fore a special occasion. L

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Celebrated our Anniversary here. This is fine dining - exquisite food and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 18, 2017

Beautiful peaceful setting with excellent food and service! Delicious small plates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was outstanding. Creative and executed to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great experience. Wonderful presentations. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

From app to dessert amazing. And it is byob!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Charming, friendly, great atmosphere and always great food.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Awesome food-different--delicious-Foodie worthy. My husband & kids love it too! It was the 3rd visit for all but my son--he's a new fan. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Historic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent brunch. Our server Rachelle, made our meal fun and very enjoyable. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Beautiful ambiance, gardens in bloom, old farm house interesting to flip through books about George Kaufman the original owner and playwrite

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Appetizers very good but our guests were a bit disappointed in entrees. Duck was "too well done" and hangar steak "is better at Parc."

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Went for brunch, had a memorable experience. 5 * in all respects. You must go, enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great place for a date or anniversary. The property was interesting and great for a pre dinner walk. Service was wonderful, Nick our server was both knowledgeable and engaging.

If you have time get there early and enjoy the atmosphere and property

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This is our 2nd meal at Barley Sheaf. The first time for dinner and this one for Sunday brunch. Mark and his team have a winning combination... a gorgeous setting, charming ambiance and delicious cuisine. Dining here feels like having a meal in a lovely historic home or private club. I, without hesitation, recommend Barley Sheaf for a special occasion meal but also for an everyday meal when you are looking for a serene, more private environment. That you can bring your own wine is a plus.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We are local and were celebrating 6 months of being married. We had a great experience. The service was excellent, the food was great and it was a perfect place to bring out of town guests for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. A bit loud. The only complaint is we were never offered coffee.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were a group of 9 friends who gathered for a wonderful afternoon together. The weather was overcast and raining, a perfect day to be in a lovely interior looking out over gorgeous and expansive grounds. The food was good and our server was exceptional. She had a lovely French accent, was very patient and attentive. Everyone was so pleased with the experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My wife recently was diagnosed with celiac disease. At the BS she was treated so gracefully,nothing was overlooked in dealing with what she could and couldn't have. This has been the only restaurant we feel comfortable and safe coming to because they are very knowledgeable about the disease.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Organic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

What a find! We have passed by this beautiful spot tucked back off of busy York Road yet never ate here before. The Inn is charming and the grounds are lovely. Our server was Pat and he was excellent. We enjoyed a fresh beet salad and the interesting tête du porc. The light arugula gnocchi was excellent. Our entrees were the duck and a halibut cassoulet, both very good. Dessert was a chocolate dish with a pretzel ice cream, yum!
Can't wait to try the Inn again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Just love everything. Would love to stay over!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A very charming place! So glad I took a leap of faith and tried it for Easter Brunch. Would love to go back for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Private Room, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Barley sheaf is always fantastic. Service and food outstanding and byo is a plus.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I have dined here before and wanted to be guaranteed an amazing experience for my husbands birthday, so returned to celebrate with him. As always the dinner, service and ambiance did not disappoint! Everything was perfect!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

First time here. Very nice place overall. The portions are small, so you almost have to get the three courses they offer. The menu apparently varies daily, so it must diverse over time. Although most dishes were very good, some of the preps fell short. The duck was far too rare. The beet salad was just so-so. The chocolate pudding cake should have been accompanied by a larger scoop of ice cream. The gnocci, sword fish and arugula salad were all very good.The truffle assortment at the end was very nice. The price was typical for fine dinning in the area.

We'll probably give it another try.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The location was ideal and extremely scenic. The food was excellent and the service outstanding without hovering. We celebrated my wife's birthday and was she pleased. We will recommend to our foodie friends and will put this restaurant on our first class list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Several months ago my wife and I visited Barley Sheaf Farm and had an outstanding Sunday Lunch. We liked the ambiance and service, so we decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary by going back for dinner. The atmosphere was romantic and the service excellent, but the food was only fair. The salads we had were okay, but nothing out of the ordinary. My wife's entree (scallops) was good, but mine (lamb) was poor. The meat was of poor quality and the sides and presentation were bland. Overall, we did not think it was good value for what we paid. We will go back for lunch, but probably not for dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went for Anniversary Dinner and again they did not disappoint. Good food, service and ambience. Highly recommend for dinner and also we have done Sunday Brunch and it was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I was recommended by a coworker and boy does she know where to go for an amazing dinner. Everything from service to food was incredible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I absolutely LOVE this place. It is wonderful for brunch or dinner. It is lovely, relaxing, quiet, and the food is DELICIOUS!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

A hidden gem! We are in the Lambertville-New Hope area multiple times a year and somehow missed this dining establishment. We went for Sunday Brunch on an incredible spring day and were treated to a gourmet's delight for our meal. Each course (there are three to choose from) has hidden delights - a smoked salmon platter with capers, wild rice soup or a delicious spring salad of baby lettuces as a first course; beautifully prepared eggs benedict, avocado toast or a special pork dish as an entree (of course pancakes and french toast are options and must surely be heavenly) and a poached pear crepe or a buttermilk chocolate cake for dessert. Who could ask for more. The servers were very attentive and the view out onto the beautifully landscaped lawn and pool of the historic inn and farm was exquisite! The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is a must for those who savor delicious food!

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

overall the meal was fantastic! The beat Salad had such a presentation we did not want to mess it up by eating it; it was delicious. Artic Char was out of this world, very delicate, the sauces and flax seed crackers were unbelievable. The flavors were so subtle and finished with a luscious flavors. The octopus was cooked just right with a very tasty sauce, one of the best dishes I have had in a long time. We finished with the hanger steak that was so tender and cooked to perfection. It's a BYOB, so that was a nice to bring your favorite wine(s). The service could not have been better, Rochelle was fabulous and very attentive, to a certain extent, not intrusive. Desert was to die for, had the chocolate flourless cake that went perfect with the red wine we brought. Highly recommend this restaurant it's a great place to enjoy one of the best meals you will ever have. Definitely going back when we get a chance.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Really well rounded dining experience with excellent hosting, service and most importantly, outstanding execution of New American, farm to table cuisine. My only note would be that the tables and chairs are a bit dated, but comfortable and overall it's pretty nit-picky to even mention, but the two seater tables are a little lengthy if you're looking to have a quiet conversation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Date night with my wife. Great ambiance for intimate meal. Food was original and exceptional. As an ardent foodie who loves gourmet dining, tough to beat this gem out in the middle of Bucks County. Also, as a wine lover, I value BYOB locations that permit me the opportunity to bring my finer wines without having to pay ridiculous restaurant mark ups. We'll be back!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Inn at Barley Sheaf is the total (local/historic) package; good food, outstanding service, romantic ambiance. A true hidden Bucks County gem. CHECK IT OUT!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I took my lady friend for our first date. The service is very good, the owners help with service and make sure everything is satisfactory. We were not rushed and the brunch menu has a good array of options. You can order as much of anything that you like. I highly recommend the Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This restaurant does not disappoint in any aspect what so ever! It is amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Just spectacular, from the hosts through the meal to the little goodies that were offered as we left. A real find!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We heard wonderful things about the Inn and we were hook at the beautiful long driveway leading up to the main building. The owners greeted us upon entry and we were lead to a sun room type eating area with full view of the amazing chef. The food was amazing (as well as seasonal) and so was the staff. I would recommend this place to anyone and certainly be returning for more amazing food!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.