Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

About Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm

Please join us at our restaurant featuring delicious contemporary American cuisine - fresh farm to table - prepared by our Executive Chef Josh Homacki. The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is a hidden gem in Buckingham and features seasonal menus for dinner and brunch. Remember - we are also a BYOB!

5281 York Road
Holicong, PA 18928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Holicong Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 794-5104

Website:
http://www.barleysheaf.com/dining

Parking Details:
On Site parking is available for guests.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Homacki

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for a Date (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Worth the Drive (24)
Great for Brunch (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Cozy (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Scenic View (15)
Seasonal (12)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
445 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent, top quality cuisine in an elegant, yet somewhat casual atmosphere. Barley Sheaf's octopus is incredible. The food and service are top notch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Such a cool experience watching the chefs cook in the open kitchen! The staff and the owners were so friendly we had a great time! Can’t wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2018

My wife and I go the Barley a few times a year. What a great find as we love everything about it and the owners are wonderful people. A must try for that romantic night out.
It is a BYOB.
Enjoy

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Service was superb. Brunch food choices were excellent. They accommodated my grandchildren, and kept them interested. Atmosphere was first-class , as well as charming. We will return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Fabulous Brunch as always at this gem. Consistently superior in all respects. We have been enjoying "Barley Sheaf " for the past 4-5 years for both their weekend Brunch and Special Occasion Dinners and have never been disappointed. Service has been attentive but not oppressive, food always exceptional and the setting serene. With their recent high national ranking it is important to reserve ahead because they fill available reservations quickly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Outstanding food in a unique setting. Service was attentive, knowledgeable but not over-bearing. Food was well executed with high quality ingredients.

Definitely the best restaurant experience I've had in Bucks County, hands down. Will be back for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Why go anywhere else on Christmas Eve?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Always a excellent experience , food,drinks,service superb

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2017

As always a delicious meal at the Barley Sheaf.

The scallops and venison were superb but the
Brussels sprouts and octopus stole the show! The setting is magical.

The owners are lovely as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2017

What a charming and warm place for brunch. The brunch options were varied and delicious. We will be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Was seated away from the open kitchen and in the corner where there is a large island. The staff was drying and putting away glassware, plates and utensils. The noise from the utensils was at moments fairly ridiculous - it only lasted a few minutes so we just "waited it out". Had it recurred again I would've politely said something to the waiter. Just sort of a rookie error for such an otherwise very polished operation. Food was on the whole very good. Octopus was the best I've ever had - a triumph in itself. I will return just for the octopus.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is outstanding. Highly recommend for a very special evening out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

The Barley Sheaf Farm Restaurant is a unique place to dine. The grounds are very pretty and the restaurant is adorable and cheerful. The menu items are delicious and unique, but limited selections. The servers are very attentive and knowledgeable, so ask about the different choices. My husband and I have had special dinners here and I have had brunch with a group of girl friends. We all enjoy it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Amazing brunch! Can't wait to go back again. Service is perfect and loved the small portion sized plates so you can try a couple different items.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2017

A hidden gem of a restaurant. Beautiful ambiance, impeccable service and one of the most delicious brunches I've ever had. Everything fresh and made to order. Small plates so you can try different selections. The scallops with coconut risotto with a mango puree was heavenly!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

We first came to this restaurant with friends for a a birthday celebration and it has become one of our favorite restaurants. We have brought other family members to this restaurant and they too love it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

Enjoyed combining dinner and brunch with an overnight in one of their marvelous period rooms. Staff and atmosphere were perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Fabulous environment and really delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2017

This past Saturday evening my wife and another couple dined at The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm, and in a word, fabulous. The open kitchen setting is a rare treat, the food was fresh, creative and every bite seemed better than the one before. Each person had a different entrée, duck, wagyu beef, scallops and turbo, I had the duck, and it was the best duck I have ever had.

The service was impeccable, desserts divine, AND, this place is a BYO! Go for the food, go for the atmosphere, but do go. Our dinner was as fine a dining experience as you will get in Philadelphia or NYC.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We have been here several times for brunch and hope to try dinner soon. Just love the setting the food and the service. The menu has been different each time and each time novel and innovative and the invitation to try many different entrees for brunch is so tempting, that we often skip the dessert-although one of our party had the lemon tart which she described as heavenly! Little touches like the basket of breads and muffins really make this brunch feel special. Our server this time was particularly delightful making us all feel very welcome and the birthday girl really enjoyed speaking in French with her!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Very nice experience. Only live a few minutes from Barley but have never gone before. Very different menu .....gourmet all the way. Fine dining at its best. Staff was very professional and attentive. Certainly will return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

Probably the best venison and octopus I've ever had. One of the best restaurants I've ever eaten in.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Paired with an pre-noon viewing of wonderful impressionistic oil paintings depicting bucolic scenes of Bucks County, our arrival to the farm and inn continued our fun “get away” day. Our server was so gracious ( was able to practice my French) and with her explanation we were guided to order from both the breakfast and the savory sides of the menu. We said “yum” several times while taking first bites. Plans are already in the works to return with additional friends in the spring and summer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Highly recommend dining at the Barley Sheaf! The ambience was romantic, the service impeccable and the cuisine exquisite! The menu is small but plenty to choose from. The chef is creative and talented. A wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Best food for value in New Hope area😃.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Great food and great ambiance!! Will come back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Although our food, for the most part, was very good, we had a very inexperienced server. We were served soup without a spoon to eat it with. We were also served a shared dish with no serving utensil. When I asked for one, I was given a teaspoon which promptly fell into the dish. The server walked away and said “enjoy”. Also, I ordered a dessert which I did not care for. The server did not come by until much later to see if I was still working on it. When I said I did not care for it, he just took it away. At any other fine restaurant, I would have been offered something else or it would have been taken off the bill. But the part that annoyed me the most was having to pay an 18% tip that was already included in the bill. We were only four people so it was not a large party. This server did not deserve an 18% tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Location, ambiance, quality of food and passion of the owners makes this BYOB a must. Always quality meals topped off with housemade sweets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We love it here. The food is always fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2017

One rarely is made to feel this welcome in a fine restaurant. There is no pretense, no condescension, only friendly, sincere, engaged service. The food is wonderful — some of the most creative and adventurous in the Delaware Valley. The chef as a complex palette of flavors and ideas that he blends and combines into delicious, uncommon appetizers and entrees. I can’t imagine anyone enjoying this gem.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We had a delicious dinner as always. Our waiter was good,but not up to the usual standards. He may have been Neely hired. However, this restaurant is a gem and one of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We were very glad we decided to try the breakfast on a crisp autumn day. The service and food were exceptional. Beautiful setting with quiet ambience. We intend to return for dinner and even purchased a gift card for friends.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 9, 2017

My wife has celiac disease so must be gluten free in all foods. This place is our go to place because many dishes are gluten free...can be made gluten free...and they check before they tell you what you want to hear. Gluten free?? Sure...just order it. They don't do that...just the opposite. As long as they are here we will be also.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Very nice restaurant Will go back in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Our recent dining experience at this restaurant was lovely. Six friends who had not been together in quite some time decided to give this "hidden gem" a try. We had heard of the restaurant but had yet to try it. Our experience was great. The food was delicious and creative and our server was delightful. We lingered on and the staff was so accomodating to us. We hope to return soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Top drawer service and exciting, delicious food choices. This place is so special that my fiancé and I are planning our wedding there!

It is one of the real treasures in Bucks County... a beautiful country estate set on 200 lush acres. A total wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

It was a rainy Sunday. My friend is "brunch averse" and this place was welcoming, there were choices and it was all delicious. Would have liked to taken a stroll around the grounds, but it was too wet. The owner was on hand to discuss the unique history of this home. Very good experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2017

This is by far the best restaurant for brunch in the area.
The food is excellent as is the service. You don’t feel rushed, you feel catered to.
The atmosphere is so pleasant and comfortable.
I will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Our friends gave us a gift certificate and we went for brunch. The staff was
warm and welcoming. The food was very good. It was our first visit, it
won't be the last!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2017

At our table of 4 everything was excellent. The service was outstanding and I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.