Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

About Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm

Please join us at our restaurant featuring delicious contemporary American cuisine - fresh farm to table - prepared by our Executive Chef Josh Homacki. The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is a hidden gem in Buckingham and features seasonal menus for dinner and brunch. Remember - we are also a BYOB!

5281 York Road
Holicong, PA 18928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Holicong Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 794-5104

Website:
http://www.barleysheaf.com/

Parking Details:
On Site parking is available for guests.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Homacki

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Romantic (49)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Cozy (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Historic (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Scenic View (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Open Kitchen (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Authentic (14)
Fireplace (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Private Room (6)
Casual (6)
Organic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 12 hours ago

We are local and were celebrating 6 months of being married. We had a great experience. The service was excellent, the food was great and it was a perfect place to bring out of town guests for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife recently was diagnosed with celiac disease. At the BS she was treated so gracefully,nothing was overlooked in dealing with what she could and couldn't have. This has been the only restaurant we feel comfortable and safe coming to because they are very knowledgeable about the disease.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Organic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

What a find! We have passed by this beautiful spot tucked back off of busy York Road yet never ate here before. The Inn is charming and the grounds are lovely. Our server was Pat and he was excellent. We enjoyed a fresh beet salad and the interesting tête du porc. The light arugula gnocchi was excellent. Our entrees were the duck and a halibut cassoulet, both very good. Dessert was a chocolate dish with a pretzel ice cream, yum!
Can't wait to try the Inn again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Just love everything. Would love to stay over!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A very charming place! So glad I took a leap of faith and tried it for Easter Brunch. Would love to go back for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Private Room, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Barley sheaf is always fantastic. Service and food outstanding and byo is a plus.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

First time here. Very nice place overall. The portions are small, so you almost have to get the three courses they offer. The menu apparently varies daily, so it must diverse over time. Although most dishes were very good, some of the preps fell short. The duck was far too rare. The beet salad was just so-so. The chocolate pudding cake should have been accompanied by a larger scoop of ice cream. The gnocci, sword fish and arugula salad were all very good.The truffle assortment at the end was very nice. The price was typical for fine dinning in the area.

We'll probably give it another try.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The location was ideal and extremely scenic. The food was excellent and the service outstanding without hovering. We celebrated my wife's birthday and was she pleased. We will recommend to our foodie friends and will put this restaurant on our first class list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Several months ago my wife and I visited Barley Sheaf Farm and had an outstanding Sunday Lunch. We liked the ambiance and service, so we decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary by going back for dinner. The atmosphere was romantic and the service excellent, but the food was only fair. The salads we had were okay, but nothing out of the ordinary. My wife's entree (scallops) was good, but mine (lamb) was poor. The meat was of poor quality and the sides and presentation were bland. Overall, we did not think it was good value for what we paid. We will go back for lunch, but probably not for dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went for Anniversary Dinner and again they did not disappoint. Good food, service and ambience. Highly recommend for dinner and also we have done Sunday Brunch and it was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I was recommended by a coworker and boy does she know where to go for an amazing dinner. Everything from service to food was incredible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I absolutely LOVE this place. It is wonderful for brunch or dinner. It is lovely, relaxing, quiet, and the food is DELICIOUS!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

A hidden gem! We are in the Lambertville-New Hope area multiple times a year and somehow missed this dining establishment. We went for Sunday Brunch on an incredible spring day and were treated to a gourmet's delight for our meal. Each course (there are three to choose from) has hidden delights - a smoked salmon platter with capers, wild rice soup or a delicious spring salad of baby lettuces as a first course; beautifully prepared eggs benedict, avocado toast or a special pork dish as an entree (of course pancakes and french toast are options and must surely be heavenly) and a poached pear crepe or a buttermilk chocolate cake for dessert. Who could ask for more. The servers were very attentive and the view out onto the beautifully landscaped lawn and pool of the historic inn and farm was exquisite! The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is a must for those who savor delicious food!

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

overall the meal was fantastic! The beat Salad had such a presentation we did not want to mess it up by eating it; it was delicious. Artic Char was out of this world, very delicate, the sauces and flax seed crackers were unbelievable. The flavors were so subtle and finished with a luscious flavors. The octopus was cooked just right with a very tasty sauce, one of the best dishes I have had in a long time. We finished with the hanger steak that was so tender and cooked to perfection. It's a BYOB, so that was a nice to bring your favorite wine(s). The service could not have been better, Rochelle was fabulous and very attentive, to a certain extent, not intrusive. Desert was to die for, had the chocolate flourless cake that went perfect with the red wine we brought. Highly recommend this restaurant it's a great place to enjoy one of the best meals you will ever have. Definitely going back when we get a chance.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Really well rounded dining experience with excellent hosting, service and most importantly, outstanding execution of New American, farm to table cuisine. My only note would be that the tables and chairs are a bit dated, but comfortable and overall it's pretty nit-picky to even mention, but the two seater tables are a little lengthy if you're looking to have a quiet conversation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Date night with my wife. Great ambiance for intimate meal. Food was original and exceptional. As an ardent foodie who loves gourmet dining, tough to beat this gem out in the middle of Bucks County. Also, as a wine lover, I value BYOB locations that permit me the opportunity to bring my finer wines without having to pay ridiculous restaurant mark ups. We'll be back!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Inn at Barley Sheaf is the total (local/historic) package; good food, outstanding service, romantic ambiance. A true hidden Bucks County gem. CHECK IT OUT!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I took my lady friend for our first date. The service is very good, the owners help with service and make sure everything is satisfactory. We were not rushed and the brunch menu has a good array of options. You can order as much of anything that you like. I highly recommend the Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This restaurant does not disappoint in any aspect what so ever! It is amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Just spectacular, from the hosts through the meal to the little goodies that were offered as we left. A real find!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We heard wonderful things about the Inn and we were hook at the beautiful long driveway leading up to the main building. The owners greeted us upon entry and we were lead to a sun room type eating area with full view of the amazing chef. The food was amazing (as well as seasonal) and so was the staff. I would recommend this place to anyone and certainly be returning for more amazing food!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Never disappointed here! Every detail is attended too but the atmosphere is still comfortable . Mark does a great job of welcoming each guest. Food is always excellent with little surprises at the end of the meal! As we move from the area we will take very fond memories of the Inn at Barley Sheaf with us!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Chefs candy plate and donut gift made a special touch to the experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fabulous food, great atmosphere in a beautiful inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to dine. From the minute you enter the long driveway, to the warm greeting upon coming inside and then having a fantastic creative meal with wonderful service everything is perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Have lived in the area for many years and just discovered The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm Restaurant. If you want to be treated like you are celebrating a special occasion this is the place you want to come to. We were greeted by the very kind owner who chatted with us a bit before walking us to our table. Soon after our outstanding, friendly waiter, Nick, introduced himself and was very knlowedgeable about everything on the menu letting us know they like to use local goods available to them throughout the seasons. The dinners were some of the best we've ever had, scallops, halibut and elk all cooked perfectly accompanied by polenta, and vegetables. The desserts were all so delicious..light and flavorful. The chef not only pays attention to detail but also to flavor. Everything had a distinct flavor but never overwhelming. We were served several delicious treats following our dessert and then sent home with individual sugar glazed donuts that were so light and airy. What a nice touch! This restaurant is a true gem and we look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We decided to try a quiet early evening dinner at the Inn at Barler Sheaf after reading positive reviews and wanting to try some place new and local. We love BYO and found menu items that went well with the wine we brought with us. The menu had a nice variety of choices without being overwhelming and some interesting options like elk and rabbit. We enjoyed everything and look forward to coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Overall wonderful experience. Will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Enjoyable meal in a lovely atmosphere. Service excellent but not overbearing. Food is always unique and uses the local produce & farm products.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our first time to brunch there! The menu varies week to week. Order from a first course and second course, then you can add or repeat plates as desired, but leave room for their marvelous desert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our first time dining here. We have driven past the Barley Sheaf a ton of times, but never remembered to try it when looking for something new. Luckily we received the Birthday Pak in the mail & ventured out. The moment you walk in you notice how exquisite & romantic the place is. We sat along the windows expecting it to be cold, but it was not. DH & I started with soup (onion?) & for something different tried the Beet & Pear Salad Normally we do not like beets, but the mix of beet & pear flavors were a perfect way to begin the evening. The soup came out in a huge bowl which only made you feel like they forgot the soup. The portion of soup was perfect. It was creamy, delicious, had bacon pieces & had a nice smokey flavor. I had the East Coast Scallops for my meal. The scallops were perfectly cooked and came with slices of grapefruit. Believe it or not, the grapefruit mixed well with the scallops adding a pop of sweetness to the scallops. DH ordered the fish special which was served on wild rice. He really enjoyed his meal. We shared a side of the Smoke Potatoes. Wow those potatoes were fantastic & had a great smokey flavor. We cannot express enough how wonderful everything was. We finished our entire entrees as the food was just overly delicious. Lastly we ordered the Salt Baked Pineapple. We hoped it would have be as exquisite as the rest of the meal, but sorry to say this dessert was a big disappointment. It was just an ordinary slice of pineapple with vanilla ice cream & pieces of sponge cake. No wow factor there. They did serve a petit four dessert plate that included a wrapped caramel. The caramel was the best ever! More please!! Our server was attentive, friendly, and knew the menu well. Our server presented our bill with 2 wrapped cinnamon sugar donuts to take home which we ate the next day. They were so good, very light tasting. We dream about them. Overall, we cannot say enough good things. Definitely will come back & try other items on the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

WOW! we must have passed by this inn 1000 times on our way to lahaska or lambertville but didn't realize that such a GEM existed! and so close to my house! OMG!
So now there is a wonderful new restaurant on my very special (fussy) list! it's so lovely to see and then to find out that dinner is just as special! the service and the attention that we had at dinner was simply amazing . the meal was so beautifully presented and the tastes were PERFECT! i cannot wait to take friends to this dream of a restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We had a great dinner at the Barley Sheaf Farm and plan on going back . The service and food was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Was here for restaurant week. First time here, won't be the last
Everything perfect

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, uber quaint. The quintessential county inn. Very good service. Why was tip already on the bill- for party of 2?

Food was good, but not great. Definitely a place for special occasions where surroundings are more important than the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food didn't come to the table uniformly hot. Staff was very nice and accomodating. Perhaps they could have used a runner/busboy to get dishes out of the kitchen faster. It was a first visit with family for a dual birthday. A very nice country house/ Band B a little more effort with the food would have made it as smashing experience. Will go back and try dinner and see----

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Dinner was absolutely delicious and the service present and polite. Sitting in front of the open kitchen was so much fun, like watching a live show. We will go back. The BYOB policy is greatly appreciated by this group of food and wine aficionados.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Historic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our 4th time dining here. The occasion was my mother-in-law's birthday. The previous 3 times I went it was really good. THIS time it was AMAZING! I am not sure what the change was, but absolutely phenomenal meals (2 of us had Bronzino, 1 Ribeye & 1 Scallops). The service part has always been above average - it was specifically the food this time that blew us away. Appetizers we had were salmon tartar, grilled Romaine, & Octopus.

Thank you for such a fantastic meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best customer service I had ever received at a restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

As always, we find the Barley Sheaf an outstanding restaurant. We love the ambiance, the food is delicious and there are always new and interesting items on the menu. The waiter was very knowledgeable about every selection. You are never rushed at this restaurant and the setting is spectacular.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.