About Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm

5281 York Road
Holicong, PA 18928
View Larger Map

Please join us at our restaurant featuring delicious contemporary American cuisine - fresh farm to table - prepared by our Executive Chef Josh Homacki. The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is a hidden gem in Buckingham and features seasonal menus for dinner and brunch. Remember - we are also a BYOB!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Holicong Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 794-5104

Website:
http://www.barleysheaf.com/

Parking Details:
On Site parking is available for guests.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Homacki

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (28)
Cozy (25)
See All
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Historic (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Scenic View (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Authentic (9)
Fireplace (9)
Organic (5)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Private Room (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Best customer service I had ever received at a restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

As always, we find the Barley Sheaf an outstanding restaurant. We love the ambiance, the food is delicious and there are always new and interesting items on the menu. The waiter was very knowledgeable about every selection. You are never rushed at this restaurant and the setting is spectacular.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great time here. Service and both were both outstanding.. will def come back and would recommend to all.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great restaurant for special occasions or when you desire to treat yourself with a special experience. Menu is somewhat limited, but what you expect at a bed and breakfast inn. Food presentation, service and quality were all top drawer. Our first time, and we will certainly return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We dine often at Barley Sheaf and the service and the food have always been top notch. The owners are always there to ensure their customers have a great dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. Amazing food, nice atmosphere and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Tasty brunch and wonderful server. The chef was very friendly as was the owner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best romantic place in all of the PA region. Fine Cuisine and BYOB!

Owners are the nicest people you can meet.

Highly Recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was my 4th visit to Barley Sheaf Farm. All of my visits have been absolutely delightful. It is my go to place for bringing out of town guests.

For this visit, my friend and I enjoyed our appetizers and entrees. All were perfectly cooked and nicely seasoned. My only small complaint was the black dishes which took away from the visual beauty and artful plating that was lost in the dark background.

The BYOB portion is also a great treat to bring a special bottle of wine to enjoy with the complex dishes.

Management was very attentive and friendly as was the service.

I look forward to many more visits to this Bucks County gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food, service, and ownership provide a great dinning experience. I've lived in Bucks County nearly my whole life, never knew this gem was here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I love the owners and how they always make sure our night is special. A very romantic place for dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is such a beautiful place. Great food and staff. Feels like you are on vacation. The ceiling is painted like the sky with little butterflies and birds scattered throughout the clouds. There is also a fireplace and an open kitchen. We thoroughly enjoyed brunch here and it's definitely firmly on our list of favorites. Highly recommend checking this place out.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent as always.

We enjoyed a very nice smoked salmon tartare, sweet potato soup, perfectly cooked roast duck, and delicious pork loin served with a piece of pork belly (wow!).

Service was terrific.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was our second time dining at Barley Sheaf Farm and just loved our evening. The ambience of the dining room is wonderful, the food selections are exciting...so much so that it's hard to make a selection. We'd love to say, "one of each," but could never eat that much food. The staff is knowledgeable and all made is feel welcome and special. We look forward to going back again.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was our first time and it was spectacular. The food was outstanding and the restaurant was beautiful. We will be back with all of our friends. What a treat. The owners were so nice and really cared about our special time there. I can't say enough.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This is the hidden gem of Bucks County. The food is of the highest quality and quite creative. The menu is small as it makes use of things that are in season, so don't expect any tomatoes or the like in February, because they couldn't do that well. So they won't. Think squash and beets in February. As I am a small eater, I forwent the first course for the octopus second course. Awesome. My branzoni was perfectly cooked (and filleted). The pudding cake dessert was rediculously decadent. And the unexpected dessert treats kept coming. Including this rediculously awesome vanilla salted caramel. So go and try this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My husband and I had a really good dinner at The Barley Sheaf Farm on a week day evening. My husband's birthday fell midweek and I didn't want to cook! Our food was very good, I had an octopus course and my husband had grilled romaine salad. For dinner I enjoyed a hanger steak and he had elk. We both thought our entrees were excellent. I have one suggestion for the restaurant. The food is plated on very, very dark plates. They looked black, maybe navy. The food isn't very eye-appealing on such dark plates in a dark dining room. My husbands entree had both prunes and beets with very rare elk. Imagine how that looks on a dark plate. Just an idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was outstanding, a varied brunch menu. Unlimited options allowed us to sample across the menu. The only problem was a table by the window where the sun baked us, with window covering.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and i had a great time at this historic old farmhouse. Owners were warm and inviting, fiod was well seasoned and cooked perfectly. Peanut butter ice cream was so good we took some home with us. Our server was also great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great meal! Thank you Chef and kitchen staff! Lovely dining room and it's a byob, an awesome plus!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Relaxing atmosphere with excellent food.

Great brunch.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very attentive, fiendly, helpful waite staff. Management/Owner(?) very caring about all guests. Food preparation, presentation and quality are tops. The menu is very limited yet, with the several added specails of the evenng, more than enough selection to satisfy any taste. A warm country, open kitchem setting with limited seating and efficient erseravtion times which permits the kitchen the proper time to prepare and servee the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We love this place! We got married here almost 2 years ago and continue to go back every chance we get. Fantastic owners, staff and atmosphere. Top notch food. A must visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience. We have been here several times and each one was outstanding. The grilled octopus was the best my husband has ever eaten and the dinner specials were delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent creative meal. Beautiful setting.

Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Terrific food & interesting menu. Charming, lovely atmosphere. The owner is attentive & really cares. Hard working staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Historic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had an excellent brunch. Service was superb. We loved it so much we went back the next day!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Dishes were creative and flavorful. Service was friendly and attentive. A quiet atmosphere for a couple or small group, would definitely visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our most recent visit to Barley Sheaf was much like our other visits--phenomenal! The owners are extremely accommodating and attentive. They always make you feel like you're a regular there. The food is always fantastic. We've done dinner and brunch and even stayed over night. Every experience has been top notch. We will absolutely be going back for years to come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went for brunch to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious and plentiful! The atmosphere and service were lovely! We really enjoyed our meal and would recommend it to family and friends. We would also consider it as a gift for others, since this was a gift given to us!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always delightful. Excellent lamb ragu, perfect duck breast, creative tiramisu. Wonderful ambiance, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The best restaurant in buck's county.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

food was awesome as well as service, tries to make reservations for Christmas Eve but was booked full and this was early November We loved to much the past years, we had to return making it a few days before Christmas !!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The Barley Sheaf could be my now favorite restaurant. The menu was seasonal, creative and interesting. Every dish was fantastic! Perfectly prepared. The grilled octopus appetizer was a standout! Loved the open kitchen and comfortable setting in a historic inn. Service was impeccable. An amazing dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Historic, Open Kitchen
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love this restaurant. Relaxing, friendly, great food and service. Amazing history.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent. The best fine dining experience in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Barley Sheaf's brunch may seem pricey but the option of having as many items off the menu as you like is very enticing. They'll even prepare small portions of each item so you get a "tasting" experience. Lots of options (both breakfast and lunch items) and they're all fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our experience at barley sheaf farm was exceptional. As a business owner, I actually learned a lot from the experience. The attention to detail was incredible. The service, the food, the atmosphere, and the innkeepers were amazing ! I'm not one to write reviews often, but I was compelled to write this one. My wife and I went for the first time, but we left customers for life. I now know and understand the word dining experience better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our second visit and again a very enjoyable evening. The owners, chef and waitstaff are very friendly and go out of their way to make your visit special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This restaurant is an amazing gem. The atmosphere is country elegant starting with the long driveway with grazing deer to the lovely facility and ample parking. We brought some fabulous California wine (the restaurant is BYOB) and the food was a perfect match to the quality. We had heard about this place from friends and decided to give it a try. WOW! It was a superb dining experience. We have not enjoyed a new restaurant that much in years. The owner greeted us at the door and invited us to have a seat in the "living room." He had our wine opened and we enjoyed a glass while waiting for our table. The kitchen is visible from the tables and the food prepared to order. The cuisine is world class and the prices reasonable. Be sure not to mention that since we are planning to return often and we don't want them to jack up their prices! In any case, this was an amazing find and I heartily endorse it to you.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We love the venue -- especially when we get the small room all to ourselves. Service is professional and excellent (even when our server appears to be in high school). With a group of 6, the only complaints were "for $14, it would be nice to get more than a 4 inch strip of octopus", and two in our party ordered the duck breast. One thought it undercooked and very tough, the other thought it was overcooked and very tough. But pretty tough in either case. I had a special cod dish with a smokey bacon broth that was simply wonderful. And in most cases, I'd suggest ordering a side or two. Although a number of things are listed with most entrees, those are very minimal embellishments, not really sides.

Still, we LOVE it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Had a wonderful time and a wonderful meal. The Inn is so lovely and the staff pleasant and very informative.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I have now dined at The Barley Sheaf for both dinner and brunch. Both times I was extremely impressed with the delicious & creative menu. I have had two wonderful experiences enjoying top shelf dishes at prices far less than those in Center City. In addition, as a BYOB, it is hard to imagine much better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Lamb chop was raw, not under but raw. Pastries underwhelming. Everything else excellent - beets, sausage gravy, soup, smoked salmon plate and Benedict, pumpkin pancake. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Having had a very memorable wedding reception on the grounds of the Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm in October, 2015, we were familiar with the quality, professionalism and attention to detail that our hosts, Mark and Deena, had created with their courteous and knowledgeable staff. This first-year anniversary dinner reinforced our views that this jewel of Bucks County, PA is deserving of visits year round. The inventive, seasonal menus and idyllic, historical setting create the perfect backdrop for casual meals or larger, celebratory events.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This place is always a winner in a beautiful, romantic setting

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Second time was not a charm as the food was bland and disappointing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the area and I dine here frequently. It has the most wonderful food and ambiance in Bucks County

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food is consistently excellent. Quiet, relaxed and unrushed environment in a traditional but beautiful setting. Open kitchen with a great chef and team. Every menu item has a flavorful twist. Stars this time: daikon radish with crab and harissa with the octopus. And the venison was pretty darn good. Best fine dining in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food is great. Portions are a bit small though. Our waiter was very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.