Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

About Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm

Please join us at our restaurant featuring delicious contemporary American cuisine - fresh farm to table - prepared by our Executive Chef Josh Homacki. The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is a hidden gem in Buckingham and features seasonal menus for dinner and brunch. Remember - we are also a BYOB!

5281 York Road
Holicong, PA 18928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Holicong Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 794-5104

Website:
http://www.barleysheaf.com/dining

Parking Details:
On Site parking is available for guests.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Homacki

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Quiet

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (43)
Romantic (40)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Cozy (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Local Ingredients (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Scenic View (20)
Great for Brunch (17)
Seasonal (14)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Amazing food and terrific atmosphere. Love this place! Highly recommended BYOB. Reasonable prices for such outstanding cusine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We had great service and amazing food! We definitely will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We have been going here for several years several times a year and have always had a great time with wonderful food and great service. Beautiful dining room and open kitchen.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very impressive! Beautiful setting, loved the open kitchen. Loved the gnocchi appetizer sorry that we shared it I wanted the whole portion.
Dinners were also very nice. I had the scallops nicely seared but the broth was a bit bland and too thin. Desert was amazing. We want to return soon.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food was bland-temp was tepid-overall dinner was not quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I almost don't want to write this review because we would like to keep this hidden gem to ourselves - that's how good foo is! Remarkable menu and fabulous surroundings. Excellent service and not too expensive

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Beautiful place, fantastic food! Small dining room that looks out into the patio and grounds beyond. Also a view of the kitchen from most tables. Try the octopus, it's thick and not at all chewy. The steaks we had were perfectly cooked, tender and full of flavor. The chocolate pudding desert was good too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

As always perfect. Incredible foie gras, moist and tasty breast of pheasant with mushroom risotto , halibut divine. Great crust on the fruit tartlet. Best restaurant in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always excellent. Gracious host. Professional wait staff!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Been at Barley Sheaf several times for brunch. We love the setting, the service, and the food. We'll go back many more times. The owners always welcome us. Don't miss Barley Sheaf.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Barley Sheaf has the best food in the area - no question. The food was outstanding. The plating was a work of art. We were very impressed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

If you are looking for a true culinary and dining experience.....this is the place! What a treasure in the heart of Bucks County! The grounds are exquisite and the service was top shelf!!

A unique, delicious, creative meal, as well as an artistic presentation! Kudos to the chef!! The fact that it is a BYOB is a real plus and the decadent complimentary treats at the end of the meal were an unexpected bonus!!

So......Whether you are looking for a quiet romantic evening, a celebration or just enjoying friends and family....I highly recommend this restaurant to all!!

We will be back!! :-)

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

MY husband and I were there this past Saturdayto celebrate his Birthday.He is a tremendous fan of the Bucks County area and history. We had never been here but when I read about your restaurant I thought it might be perfect ...someplace he had never experienced in Bucks ( highly unusual)....it turned out to be really special..he loved it...Thankyou for a wonderful evening!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Barley Sheaf is always good. Attentive Service and fantastic food. Best restaurant in Bucks County.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

First of all.. WOW! This place is seriously a beautiful hidden gem in Bucks County. The food was spectacular and unbelievably fresh. Our server Pat so super sweet and very attentive. The inn itself was beautiful and made me want to stay forever! My boyfriend and I came for date night and had a blast. I got the duck which was perfectly cooked and just the right size. You don't leave this place hungry but you don't leave overstuffed; how perfect! We both got an appetizer and entree with a surprise desert from the chef. I highly recommend this place for dates, special occasions, and parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Bit disappointed actually - the starters were fantastic but the $38 filet was over cooked and tough. My wife is disabled and the bathroom is .. is .... well its a thing that was put in under some stairs
I like the place but I don't think we will go back as there are so many other places around that are just as nice and the food is cooked as it was asked for
.. and a waiter that treats you like you don't exist after the bill is presented just leaves a feeling of 'it's just about the tip'

There more I think about it the less I like the place lol

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Food was incredible! Service was outstanding. Beautiful setting.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Sunday Brunch was utterly delightful! This was my second time there and I would go back again and again. You are made to feel really special and the food is superb!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Lovely inn with pretty gardens. Service was outstanding and selections on brunch menu were all delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

An absolutely exceptional dinner experience. Superior food and a beautiful dining room. Excellent service. Bucolic location.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Beautiful inn. Went for Saturday brunch and had wonderful service and delicious food. The pre-fixe 3-course meal had limited options and is pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My husband's duck breast was impossible to cut and not edible. My home made spaghetti was overcooked. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed their dinners. I thought my raspberry gazpacho was great. Desserts were excellent. Overall, it was a very nice time with our guests celebrating their wedding anniversary. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Get together with long time very dear friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Delicious food. Attentive wait staff and owner. No detail missed. Great fun to watch chefs at work. Lovely surprises at end of meal. A perfect 10 time and again.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Loved our first Barley Sheaf experience! Beautifully presented and delicious tasting food. We were a little disappointed initially that the menu we viewed online was not what was offered that evening, but the dishes we chose more than made up for it. The homemade gnocchi appetizer w bacon and corn was my favorite. Very nice staff- the friendly owner and wait staff helped create a "small town" feeling. We'll be looking for a reason to return soon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Very, very nice - Food and Service were both great - It's a BYOB, which saves a great deal on fine wine. Grounds are lovely. Had salmon, grilled romaine salad, buffalo steak (which was tender) desserts were great, service was attentive. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food was excellent as usual. We had the scallops and the Tri-Tip. The owners are very nice and always make sure to say hello and check if everything is okay. It's a little pricey but worth the splurge.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

It is difficult to imagine a better combination of charming ambience, excellent and creative food, and and exceptionally friendly, welcoming staff. There are not enough stars on the rating system to honestly represent how far above the rest of the pack this wonderful restaurant is.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 26, 2017

This must have been my third or fourth time at Barley Sheaf. Everyone I bring loves it for a number of reasons, food, service, setting, and the history of the location. This visit we had a delightful server who made excellent recommendations and gave us the time and space to enjoy our evening. The food is always excellent and the the little touches from the chef always a delight.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We go there every week. We totally love it. We are fortunate we only live 10 minutes away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Absolutely a top class venue. A BYOB, whose owners take great pains to create a food experience. Top notch chef and service. Had excellent heirloom tomato salad, spouse enjoyed her gnocchi appetizer. The buffalo entree was cooked to perfection, with mushrooms and cippolini onions. Duck entree with beets was another pleasure. This is a great experience for foodies and romantic dinners. Bring a good wine and enjoy the view. Owners are very interested in your dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Superior ambiance at this secluded B&B, noted as well for it's dinner experience. Limited but enticing, seasonal menu selections. Attentive service heightened by the owner's constant participation.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Excellent in every respect! A charming and delightful "dining experience"! Great staff, outstanding chef, and FUN (if you want it to be!) Beautiful "country" venue to boot! 👍👍

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My husband and I had dinner on 7/15 and breakfast on 7/16. Two different chefs, both EXCELLENT! Both of us raved about the Basil Spaetzle (from the second course choices on the dinner menu ) as one of the best things we've ever tasted! I especially enjoyed the Smoked Salmon platter from the breakfast menu - beautifully presented and perfectly delicious. Service was prompt, courteous, and thoroughly friendly. What a place!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As always fantastic food & atmosphere. Attentive waitstaff and very warmly welcomed by the owners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We loved Barley Sheaf Farm. The food was wonderful and the service was great. The grounds are beautiful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great dining experience all around. Attentive service, delicious foods, and it's a byob!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We celebrated our third anniversary here in the place where it all started. The food was superb and the service was great. The owners are awesome and superbly in touch with the guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The best kept secret in area! This gem is tops! Always a pleasure to dine here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our experience for brunch overall was wonderful cannot wait to try dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.