About Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm

5281 York Road
Holicong, PA 18928
View Larger Map

Please join us at our restaurant featuring delicious contemporary American cuisine - fresh farm to table - prepared by our Executive Chef Josh Homacki. The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is a hidden gem in Buckingham and features seasonal menus for dinner and brunch. Remember - we are also a BYOB!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Holicong Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 794-5104

Website:
http://www.barleysheaf.com/

Parking Details:
On Site parking is available for guests.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Homacki

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Special Occasion
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Bucks County
7 More
Best Food
Bucks County
Best Service
Bucks County
Best Ambiance
Bucks County
Best Value
Bucks County
Fit for Foodies
Bucks County
Romantic
Bucks County
Special Occasion
Bucks County
Best Restaurants in Lahaska ›

special occasion (62)
romantic (59)
fit for foodies (53)
See All
scenic view (39)
great for brunch (33)
neighborhood gem (30)
great for outdoor dining (16)
good for groups (11)
great for lunch (4)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is classy but n ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is classy but not stuffy. We went there for dinner. Our young server is very attentive and informative. The food is well prepared and presented elegantly. We not only feast on the food, we also feast our eyes on the flower in garden. At the end of the meal, we were offered 4 pieces of different candies made by the chef. Once again they are presently neatly on a plate. Before we left, we were given two little cinnamon donuts to take home. I normally do not like donuts. But these are delicious. All the little gestures add to our pleasant dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and service was impeccable. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The ambiance and service was impeccable. Would recommend to all for dinner or brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super happy with our experience. Will de ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Super happy with our experience. Will definitely go back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When the owners are on hand and truly ca ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

When the owners are on hand and truly care about your dining experience you know you are in for a treat. Excellent food, made to order creatively.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent, this time it was even ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Always excellent, this time it was even better, if possible. Mouthwatering octopus , delightfully moist sea bass . Great job, Josh!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every course was outstanding and the ser ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Every course was outstanding and the service was great. The fact that it is BYOB is also a great deal. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Duck and fish were perfectly prepared, n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Duck and fish were perfectly prepared, nicely presented and accompanied with an assortment of tasty and interesting selections. Service was attentive and friendly. A good city type restaurant tucked into a beautiful country setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

every thing very good but nothing struck ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

every thing very good but nothing struck us as outstanding. But in the area where it is located there aren't many other choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I didn't know what to exp ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My husband and I didn't know what to expect and Barley Sheaf exceeded all of our expectations! The ambience was warm and cheery. The service exceptional and the food truly gourmet. Our waiter was exceptionally knowledgeable and helpful. Each bite of food was an explosion of pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were outstanding. Own ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Owner Mark went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. Menu is different, with unusual items (e.g. elk entree and squid appetizer) . BYOB keeps the total price reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was amazing. I had the Waygu be ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was amazing. I had the Waygu beef and my boyfriend had the Elk and they were perfect. Do not skip desert!! I hope to be back someday!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole evening was perfect. The food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The whole evening was perfect. The food was excellent and so was the service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a perfect meal. The chef is alway ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a perfect meal. The chef is always creative and the presentation perfect.

The grounds are beautiful and a pleasure to stroll.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We regularly dine at Barley Sheaf. It i ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We regularly dine at Barley Sheaf. It is our favorite local restaurant and this time was no different. Mark and Dina, the owners are lovely, cordial and fun to be with and out server, sean is the best. Food is always great and I love that it is a byob.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Barley Sheaf fo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I went to Barley Sheaf for brunch for our anniversary.

The setting is charming and the woman at the front desk graciously shared

much of the history of the Inn with us. The brunch was lovely with a complimentary

mimosa,three courses, and unlimited requests from the menu. Our smoked salmon

plate was quite good and nicely presented and our entrees, although small

portions, were delicious. We were invited to order more, if we wished. The dessert

was a peanut butter mousse;however, I ordered the plum crepes instead. My husband

enjoyed the mousse; I found the crepes rather plain. The gratuity was included in the brunch price, and that was a pleasant surprise. Because they were a hosting a wedding that day, we were unable to dine outside. We were able to walk the grounds and that was delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great find

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The property is amazing. There was a rehearsal dinner going on while we were in the restaurant and we still received sensational service while being entertained at the same time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first visit to the Barley Shea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

It was my first visit to the Barley Sheaf. I will absolutely be returning and will be sharing the wonderful experience that I had with all. My palate was satisfied with each course up to and including dessert. How I wish I had discovered this hidden gem sooner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a pleasant surprise! The restaur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

It was a pleasant surprise! The restaurant was quite nice and comfortable. The food was outstanding and our waitress was very pleasant and informative. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

too little food for too much money

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This place came with a review of being one of the most romantic restaurants in the country. We were celebrating our anniversary so we went for romance. The noise level was such that we could not hear each other speaking from across the table. The lighting was very bright and the menu was so contrived as to make us have to ask what nearly everything was. I am a world traveler and while I don't speak all languages, I can navigate a menu in almost any country but not in this place. The portions were so very very small that we needed to stop on the way home for more to eat. And the final straw was when the dessert arrived, it was unrecognizable. It looked as though someone had taken a very large bite out of it, dropped it on the floor, swept it up and dumped it on the outer 1/3 of a dinner plate. There were even two random food bits on the plate that didn't belong, and this dessert was delivered by the owner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

WOW!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This place has it all! Great food, service, and ambiance. And it's a BYO, so bring a good bottle to pair with your meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good except thatthe menu is limited ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Very good except thatthe menu is limited and the portion on the small side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent, as always. We dined in the bl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Excellent, as always. We dined in the blue room for the first and loved the atmosphere.

Barley Sheaf is my favorite area restaurant, it never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We have returned and the food was just as good as the first time. A hidden gem.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fine dining gem

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Cozy indoor atmosphere, relaxing outdoor patio dining (if you are lucky enough to be there on a warmer night). Our wait person, Sean, was most accommodating and knowledgeable and the food was delightful and thoughtfully put together. Nice touches throughout the evening made it a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Truly an outstanding experience. Staff was welcoming, the food was well prepared and very good. Would like to return for a dinner sometime. The outside tables would be inviting when it gets warmer.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The inn is charming the food is great an ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The inn is charming the food is great and the owners are wonderful people .We look forward to coming here regularly because the menu is interesting and keeps changing .IT is our favorite place in the area .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner, as usual. Great serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Outstanding dinner, as usual. Great service, lovely ambiance. The chef, Josh, did an impeccable job as always.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A Jewel!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

This is everything you want and have not been able to get elsewhere. You are greeted at the door by a warm and friendly host. As you wait in a lovely sitting room, you are served a glass of your wine. The atmosphere is lovely, and inviting. The food is "always" delicious, and the menu changes frequently. The staff is courteous, and friendly - but not intrusive. A taste of heaven! Thank you for all the effort that went into making this dining experience "a night to remember."

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

birthday dinner with dear friend

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Although we are both residents nearby, neither of us had the pleasure of dining at Barley Sheaf.

We were impressed with the ambience, service and food selections. This was our first visit and

we do plan return visits as well as recommending the Farm to friends.

I do plan to return for a weekend brunch one day soon.

One was made to feel very welcome and comfortable immediately.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and beautiful setting

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

This was our 2nd visit and although the food was delicious and the setting beautiful, we had a very unpleasant waitress, who was very pushy and seemed more fit for a cheap diner than a high end Bucks County restaurant. I would go back but request another waitstaff member, as her demeanor soured our experience. She inappropriately approached the table within 2 minutes of us being seated & asked if we were ready to order, we were not - she then said if we were ready to order appetizers at least. Very brusque, and this same attitude continued through out the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Lovely Brunch!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

It was very easy to make reservations with Open Table and we were seated promptly upon our arrival. The grounds of the inn are lovely. The dining room was beautiful and the brunch was excellent. Service was efficient, friendly and helpful in making selections. Worth every penny. I plan to bring more friends here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Re-evaluating this charming restaurant

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Our second trip to Barley Sheaf and we were treated to one of the best meals we've ever eaten. Starting with the Sweet Pea Soup (out of this world) creamy with a touch of tarragon, sour-cream and lemon. y wife had the grilled lettuce, which I started grilling on our deck grill, as I enjoyed it on our last visit. Our main courses were , Lamb Loin and the Lancaster Ribeye. Both were cooked to perfection complemented by an assortment of mouth watering vegetables and fingerling potatoes. As always the desserts were to die for, brown sugar tart with lemon curd and the caramelized banana layer cake with peanut butter ice-cream were savored by my wife and I. For our trip home, Mark, one of the owners presented us with 2 cinnamon sugar donuts, a gift from the Chef. Needless to say, Barely Sheaf is on our regular calendar of great restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Great menu with traditional dishes with a unique flair, like adding black garlic. Service young (i.e., not up on all the food ingredients) but very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful surprise just around the corner

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We had driven by the Barley Sheaf Firm literally thousands of times. We knew it was a bed & breakfast, but never knew that they served dinner and weekend brunch to non-guests. Well, this was a pleasant surprise and wonderful dining experience. The dining room is small, probably a dozen or so tables, with a glass wall that looks out to the patio, garden and pool. While there were no events this evening, one could imagine the lovely setting for a wedding, anniversary, graduation or other special event. But while the environment is historic, charming and quaint, the highlight for us was the food. Every dish was marvelously prepared and presented. The octopus was notable for its tenderness and texture. The spaghetti with short rib appetizer was a slightly overwhelming portion, but was very tasty. The ribeye steak was excellent and prepared perfectly, but note that is not the giant portion you might expect when you order ribeye at a traditional steakhouse. The halibut was simply lovely. After three courses each, neither my wife nor I had room for dessert. But next time we'll plan better, as it was clear that other guests were enjoying their desserts immensely. We shall return in the not too distant future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sophisticated Food in Serene Setting

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I was so pleasantly surprised by the menu and cuisine at The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm. I would have to say that the octopus I ordered was the most tender and delicious octopus I have ever eaten. I sometimes feel badly about eating octopus because they are very intelligent creatures, but this one was as delicious as it was smart. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, the food, not so much

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Great appetizers and desserts, the beef and fish entrees were dry. The mashed potato side came as a lukewarm ball, not creamy or appetizing at all. Great service, friendly staff, but there are many restaurants in Bucks County with much better food preparation.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Barley Sheaf is my fav

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

As always, Barley Sheaf outdid itself with a wonderful brunch in a fabulous setting.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barley Sheaf is Amazing!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

I took my husband to Barley Sheaf for dinner and an overnight stay in the Inn and we had a fantastic time. The food was top notch. They even made homemade candies and cinnamon sugar donuts as a thank you to their patrons for dining with them. Their staff was knowledgable and service was smooth. We can't wait to go back in Spring. This will definitely be our new special occasion destination.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative Menu, Great Flavors

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Equivalent to eating at a top rated restaurant in Manhattan without the terribly heavy pricing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding Quaint Inn

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We dined on a Saturday Evening. This was our first, of many, quite enjoyable experiences at this gem of a restaurant. The lovely grounds are only out done by the quaint lovely decor of the inn and the outstanding service and food. We were early and invited to enjoy cheese and crackers in a lovely sitting room. The was decorated in a lovely decor with very comfortable chairs. The service was outstanding, from the attentive server to the professional yet friendly Host and Hostess. The open kitchen design allows guests to observe the talented and working chefs. The food was perfectly prepared and the presentation was exquisite. The food was outstanding. The inn is BYOB. Initially seemed a little noisy, but that barely detracted from a 5 Star dining experiemce. We highly recommend this Bucks County Gem!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.