About Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm

5281 York Road
Holicong, PA 18928
View Larger Map

Please join us at our restaurant featuring delicious contemporary American cuisine - fresh farm to table - prepared by our Executive Chef Josh Homacki. The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is a hidden gem in Buckingham and features seasonal menus for dinner and brunch. Remember - we are also a BYOB!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Holicong Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 794-5104

Website:
http://www.barleysheaf.com/

Parking Details:
On Site parking is available for guests.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Homacki

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Special Occasion
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
9 More
Contemporary American
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Bucks County
Best Food
Bucks County
Best Service
Bucks County
Best Ambiance
Bucks County
Best Value
Bucks County
Fit for Foodies
Bucks County
Romantic
Bucks County
Special Occasion
Bucks County
Best Restaurants in Lahaska ›

Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (36)
See All
Scenic View (25)
Great for Brunch (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Open Kitchen (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Historic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is consistently excellent. Quiet, r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food is consistently excellent. Quiet, relaxed and unrushed environment in a traditional but beautiful setting. Open kitchen with a great chef and team. Every menu item has a flavorful twist. Stars this time: daikon radish with crab and harissa with the octopus. And the venison was pretty darn good. Best fine dining in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great. Portions are a bit small ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food is great. Portions are a bit small though. Our waiter was very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always wonderful with new and creative d ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always wonderful with new and creative dining options. Special.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience , excellent fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Always a great experience , excellent food, great service, romantic ambiance.

Home away from home.

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice meal. Nice room. We were visiting ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Nice meal. Nice room. We were visiting with friends from out of town and our server was trying to rush us..no reason restaurant was not full. Everything else was very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I was disappointed maybe due to my expec ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I was disappointed maybe due to my expectations. I thought they could have done a much better job in making this place a special, quaint country inn with a high-quality food to match. It turns out that the culinary skill of the chef has a lot to be desired.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Wonderful food and service equal to a Mi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful food and service equal to a Michelin three star . The flavors was absolutely wonderful This place not be issed

Tags: Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place, food was delicious and pre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Lovely place, food was delicious and presented beautifully

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I enjoyed the experience ver ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the experience very much. The friendliness of the service was outstanding. We thought the food was above average; but, it was the total experience of the place which will bring us back and recommend to others.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

What a fabulous experience!! The food ta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

What a fabulous experience!! The food taste, quality, selection and presentation were all superior! The service was equally great. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time guest at the restaurant. My ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

First time guest at the restaurant. My wife and I planned a nice anniversary dinner. We had a fantastic experience. Food, service and ambience all exceeded expectations. The staff were courteous and knowledgable. The coziness of an 18th century farm house makes for a great environment. We both had a scrumptious main course one pork tenderloin and the other New York strip. The apps of corn soup and octopi were both delicious. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this restaurant. We menu is dive ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We love this restaurant. We menu is diverse and the special are always different. The owners are very friendly and the staff is professional. We find ourselves dining there once a month. It is also a BYOB!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always, all throughout. Thank ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing as always, all throughout.

Thank you, Inn at Barley Sheaf!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sensational place with great Bucks Count ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sensational place with great Bucks County chic vibe. We still can't believe the minimal cost of an exquisite brunch with so many options. Private room, complimentary mimosa, gorgeous day. Marvelous service. And I live ten minutes away.

We brought our fourteen month old granddaughter and between courses, she saw her first butterfly while strolling on the grounds with Grammy. Oh, if these walls could talk and recall the days of Moss Hart, George S. Kaufman & Co. what stories they could tell!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great variety of items to select from on ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great variety of items to select from on the brunch menu. Enjoyed the fact that you could taste as many of the entrees as you wanted.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Barley Sheaf is my favorite Bucks County ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Barley Sheaf is my favorite Bucks County restaurant. I try to frequent it often and love the food and ambiance. The owners Mark and Dina are wonderful and accommodating. It's the best.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious birthday brunch! We tried this ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious birthday brunch! We tried this b&b inn with a coupon but will definitely be back for more brunch and dinner. We were seated in the sun room/ dining room and were immediately served our free mimosa in the all inclusive menu. BYOB meant we could continue the mimosas ( with freshly squeezed orange juice) with our own champagne. We enjoyed the tast starter of smoked salmon plate and an arugula salad and went on to the delicious and filling entrees of avocado tomato toast and bacon and the birthday boy had cinnamon French toast. Then we were surprised with the fact that it was unlimited entree choice! We managed to squeeze in a round of crepes and the special of beef sliders. All were well prepared and though we wanted to try dessert we had no room! Of course the basket of fresh baked blueberry and apricot muffins and another basket of croissants did not help! Service was attentive if rather serious . The view of the gardens delightful. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Have been with friends, romantic dinner ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Have been with friends, romantic dinner and brunch.

For dinner try a salad, the octopus, follow with the duck and finish it with the s'mores dessert.

Always a great dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is classy but n ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is classy but not stuffy. We went there for dinner. Our young server is very attentive and informative. The food is well prepared and presented elegantly. We not only feast on the food, we also feast our eyes on the flower in garden. At the end of the meal, we were offered 4 pieces of different candies made by the chef. Once again they are presently neatly on a plate. Before we left, we were given two little cinnamon donuts to take home. I normally do not like donuts. But these are delicious. All the little gestures add to our pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and service was impeccable. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The ambiance and service was impeccable. Would recommend to all for dinner or brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super happy with our experience. Will de ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Super happy with our experience. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When the owners are on hand and truly ca ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

When the owners are on hand and truly care about your dining experience you know you are in for a treat. Excellent food, made to order creatively.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent, this time it was even ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Always excellent, this time it was even better, if possible. Mouthwatering octopus , delightfully moist sea bass . Great job, Josh!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every course was outstanding and the ser ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Every course was outstanding and the service was great. The fact that it is BYOB is also a great deal. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Duck and fish were perfectly prepared, n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Duck and fish were perfectly prepared, nicely presented and accompanied with an assortment of tasty and interesting selections. Service was attentive and friendly. A good city type restaurant tucked into a beautiful country setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

every thing very good but nothing struck ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

every thing very good but nothing struck us as outstanding. But in the area where it is located there aren't many other choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I didn't know what to exp ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My husband and I didn't know what to expect and Barley Sheaf exceeded all of our expectations! The ambience was warm and cheery. The service exceptional and the food truly gourmet. Our waiter was exceptionally knowledgeable and helpful. Each bite of food was an explosion of pleasure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were outstanding. Own ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Owner Mark went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. Menu is different, with unusual items (e.g. elk entree and squid appetizer) . BYOB keeps the total price reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was amazing. I had the Waygu be ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was amazing. I had the Waygu beef and my boyfriend had the Elk and they were perfect. Do not skip desert!! I hope to be back someday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole evening was perfect. The food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The whole evening was perfect. The food was excellent and so was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a perfect meal. The chef is alway ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always a perfect meal. The chef is always creative and the presentation perfect.

The grounds are beautiful and a pleasure to stroll.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We regularly dine at Barley Sheaf. It i ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We regularly dine at Barley Sheaf. It is our favorite local restaurant and this time was no different. Mark and Dina, the owners are lovely, cordial and fun to be with and out server, sean is the best. Food is always great and I love that it is a byob.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Barley Sheaf fo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I went to Barley Sheaf for brunch for our anniversary.

The setting is charming and the woman at the front desk graciously shared

much of the history of the Inn with us. The brunch was lovely with a complimentary

mimosa,three courses, and unlimited requests from the menu. Our smoked salmon

plate was quite good and nicely presented and our entrees, although small

portions, were delicious. We were invited to order more, if we wished. The dessert

was a peanut butter mousse;however, I ordered the plum crepes instead. My husband

enjoyed the mousse; I found the crepes rather plain. The gratuity was included in the brunch price, and that was a pleasant surprise. Because they were a hosting a wedding that day, we were unable to dine outside. We were able to walk the grounds and that was delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great find

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The property is amazing. There was a rehearsal dinner going on while we were in the restaurant and we still received sensational service while being entertained at the same time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first visit to the Barley Shea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

It was my first visit to the Barley Sheaf. I will absolutely be returning and will be sharing the wonderful experience that I had with all. My palate was satisfied with each course up to and including dessert. How I wish I had discovered this hidden gem sooner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a pleasant surprise! The restaur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

It was a pleasant surprise! The restaurant was quite nice and comfortable. The food was outstanding and our waitress was very pleasant and informative. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

too little food for too much money

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This place came with a review of being one of the most romantic restaurants in the country. We were celebrating our anniversary so we went for romance. The noise level was such that we could not hear each other speaking from across the table. The lighting was very bright and the menu was so contrived as to make us have to ask what nearly everything was. I am a world traveler and while I don't speak all languages, I can navigate a menu in almost any country but not in this place. The portions were so very very small that we needed to stop on the way home for more to eat. And the final straw was when the dessert arrived, it was unrecognizable. It looked as though someone had taken a very large bite out of it, dropped it on the floor, swept it up and dumped it on the outer 1/3 of a dinner plate. There were even two random food bits on the plate that didn't belong, and this dessert was delivered by the owner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

WOW!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This place has it all! Great food, service, and ambiance. And it's a BYO, so bring a good bottle to pair with your meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good except thatthe menu is limited ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Very good except thatthe menu is limited and the portion on the small side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent, as always. We dined in the bl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Excellent, as always. We dined in the blue room for the first and loved the atmosphere.

Barley Sheaf is my favorite area restaurant, it never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.