About Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm

5281 York Road
Holicong, PA 18928
View Larger Map

Please join us at our restaurant featuring delicious contemporary American cuisine - fresh farm to table - prepared by our Executive Chef Josh Homacki. The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is a hidden gem in Buckingham and features seasonal menus for dinner and brunch. Remember - we are also a BYOB!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Holicong Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 794-5104

Website:
http://www.barleysheaf.com/

Parking Details:
On Site parking is available for guests.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Homacki

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Cozy (18)
Romantic (18)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Historic (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Scenic View (8)
Fireplace (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (4)
Private Room (4)
Casual (4)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love this place! We got married here ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We love this place! We got married here almost 2 years ago and continue to go back every chance we get. Fantastic owners, staff and atmosphere. Top notch food. A must visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent creative meal. Beautiful setti ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent creative meal. Beautiful setting.

Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food & interesting menu. Charm ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Terrific food & interesting menu. Charming, lovely atmosphere. The owner is attentive & really cares. Hard working staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Historic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an excellent brunch. Service was sup ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had an excellent brunch. Service was superb. We loved it so much we went back the next day!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dishes were creative and flavorful. Ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Dishes were creative and flavorful. Service was friendly and attentive. A quiet atmosphere for a couple or small group, would definitely visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our most recent visit to Barley Sheaf wa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our most recent visit to Barley Sheaf was much like our other visits--phenomenal! The owners are extremely accommodating and attentive. They always make you feel like you're a regular there. The food is always fantastic. We've done dinner and brunch and even stayed over night. Every experience has been top notch. We will absolutely be going back for years to come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch to celebrate our anni ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went for brunch to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious and plentiful! The atmosphere and service were lovely! We really enjoyed our meal and would recommend it to family and friends. We would also consider it as a gift for others, since this was a gift given to us!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delightful. Excellent lamb ragu, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always delightful. Excellent lamb ragu, perfect duck breast, creative tiramisu. Wonderful ambiance, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best restaurant in buck's county.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The best restaurant in buck's county.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was awesome as well as service, tr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

food was awesome as well as service, tries to make reservations for Christmas Eve but was booked full and this was early November We loved to much the past years, we had to return making it a few days before Christmas !!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Barley Sheaf could be my now favorit ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The Barley Sheaf could be my now favorite restaurant. The menu was seasonal, creative and interesting. Every dish was fantastic! Perfectly prepared. The grilled octopus appetizer was a standout! Loved the open kitchen and comfortable setting in a historic inn. Service was impeccable. An amazing dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Historic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant. Relaxing, friendly ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love this restaurant. Relaxing, friendly, great food and service. Amazing history.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. The best fine dining experien ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent. The best fine dining experience in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Barley Sheaf's brunch may seem pricey bu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Barley Sheaf's brunch may seem pricey but the option of having as many items off the menu as you like is very enticing. They'll even prepare small portions of each item so you get a "tasting" experience. Lots of options (both breakfast and lunch items) and they're all fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at barley sheaf farm was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our experience at barley sheaf farm was exceptional. As a business owner, I actually learned a lot from the experience. The attention to detail was incredible. The service, the food, the atmosphere, and the innkeepers were amazing ! I'm not one to write reviews often, but I was compelled to write this one. My wife and I went for the first time, but we left customers for life. I now know and understand the word dining experience better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit and again a ve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was our second visit and again a very enjoyable evening. The owners, chef and waitstaff are very friendly and go out of their way to make your visit special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is an amazing gem. The a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This restaurant is an amazing gem. The atmosphere is country elegant starting with the long driveway with grazing deer to the lovely facility and ample parking. We brought some fabulous California wine (the restaurant is BYOB) and the food was a perfect match to the quality. We had heard about this place from friends and decided to give it a try. WOW! It was a superb dining experience. We have not enjoyed a new restaurant that much in years. The owner greeted us at the door and invited us to have a seat in the "living room." He had our wine opened and we enjoyed a glass while waiting for our table. The kitchen is visible from the tables and the food prepared to order. The cuisine is world class and the prices reasonable. Be sure not to mention that since we are planning to return often and we don't want them to jack up their prices! In any case, this was an amazing find and I heartily endorse it to you.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the venue -- especially when we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We love the venue -- especially when we get the small room all to ourselves. Service is professional and excellent (even when our server appears to be in high school). With a group of 6, the only complaints were "for $14, it would be nice to get more than a 4 inch strip of octopus", and two in our party ordered the duck breast. One thought it undercooked and very tough, the other thought it was overcooked and very tough. But pretty tough in either case. I had a special cod dish with a smokey bacon broth that was simply wonderful. And in most cases, I'd suggest ordering a side or two. Although a number of things are listed with most entrees, those are very minimal embellishments, not really sides.

Still, we LOVE it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful time and a wonderful mea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Had a wonderful time and a wonderful meal. The Inn is so lovely and the staff pleasant and very informative.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have now dined at The Barley Sheaf for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I have now dined at The Barley Sheaf for both dinner and brunch. Both times I was extremely impressed with the delicious & creative menu. I have had two wonderful experiences enjoying top shelf dishes at prices far less than those in Center City. In addition, as a BYOB, it is hard to imagine much better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lamb chop was raw, not under but raw. P ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Lamb chop was raw, not under but raw. Pastries underwhelming. Everything else excellent - beets, sausage gravy, soup, smoked salmon plate and Benedict, pumpkin pancake. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Having had a very memorable wedding rece ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Having had a very memorable wedding reception on the grounds of the Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm in October, 2015, we were familiar with the quality, professionalism and attention to detail that our hosts, Mark and Deena, had created with their courteous and knowledgeable staff. This first-year anniversary dinner reinforced our views that this jewel of Bucks County, PA is deserving of visits year round. The inventive, seasonal menus and idyllic, historical setting create the perfect backdrop for casual meals or larger, celebratory events.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is always a winner in a beaut ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This place is always a winner in a beautiful, romantic setting

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time was not a charm as the food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Second time was not a charm as the food was bland and disappointing.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

This is my favorite restaurant in the ar ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the area and I dine here frequently. It has the most wonderful food and ambiance in Bucks County

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is consistently excellent. Quiet, r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food is consistently excellent. Quiet, relaxed and unrushed environment in a traditional but beautiful setting. Open kitchen with a great chef and team. Every menu item has a flavorful twist. Stars this time: daikon radish with crab and harissa with the octopus. And the venison was pretty darn good. Best fine dining in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great. Portions are a bit small ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food is great. Portions are a bit small though. Our waiter was very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always wonderful with new and creative d ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Always wonderful with new and creative dining options. Special.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience , excellent fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Always a great experience , excellent food, great service, romantic ambiance.

Home away from home.

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice meal. Nice room. We were visiting ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Nice meal. Nice room. We were visiting with friends from out of town and our server was trying to rush us..no reason restaurant was not full. Everything else was very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I was disappointed maybe due to my expec ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I was disappointed maybe due to my expectations. I thought they could have done a much better job in making this place a special, quaint country inn with a high-quality food to match. It turns out that the culinary skill of the chef has a lot to be desired.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Wonderful food and service equal to a Mi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful food and service equal to a Michelin three star . The flavors was absolutely wonderful This place not be issed

Tags: Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place, food was delicious and pre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Lovely place, food was delicious and presented beautifully

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I enjoyed the experience ver ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the experience very much. The friendliness of the service was outstanding. We thought the food was above average; but, it was the total experience of the place which will bring us back and recommend to others.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

What a fabulous experience!! The food ta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2016

What a fabulous experience!! The food taste, quality, selection and presentation were all superior! The service was equally great. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time guest at the restaurant. My ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

First time guest at the restaurant. My wife and I planned a nice anniversary dinner. We had a fantastic experience. Food, service and ambience all exceeded expectations. The staff were courteous and knowledgable. The coziness of an 18th century farm house makes for a great environment. We both had a scrumptious main course one pork tenderloin and the other New York strip. The apps of corn soup and octopi were both delicious. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this restaurant. We menu is dive ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We love this restaurant. We menu is diverse and the special are always different. The owners are very friendly and the staff is professional. We find ourselves dining there once a month. It is also a BYOB!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always, all throughout. Thank ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing as always, all throughout.

Thank you, Inn at Barley Sheaf!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sensational place with great Bucks Count ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sensational place with great Bucks County chic vibe. We still can't believe the minimal cost of an exquisite brunch with so many options. Private room, complimentary mimosa, gorgeous day. Marvelous service. And I live ten minutes away.

We brought our fourteen month old granddaughter and between courses, she saw her first butterfly while strolling on the grounds with Grammy. Oh, if these walls could talk and recall the days of Moss Hart, George S. Kaufman & Co. what stories they could tell!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great variety of items to select from on ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great variety of items to select from on the brunch menu. Enjoyed the fact that you could taste as many of the entrees as you wanted.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.