Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

About Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm

Please join us at our restaurant featuring delicious contemporary American cuisine - fresh farm to table - prepared by our Executive Chef Josh Homacki. The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is a hidden gem in Buckingham and features seasonal menus for dinner and brunch. Remember - we are also a BYOB!

5281 York Road
Holicong, PA 18928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Holicong Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 794-5104

Website:
http://www.barleysheaf.com/

Parking Details:
On Site parking is available for guests.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Homacki

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Worth the Drive (23)
Cozy (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Historic (19)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Open Kitchen (16)
Scenic View (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Authentic (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Fireplace (8)
Seasonal (5)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Organic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fun (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fabulous food, great atmosphere in a beautiful inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to dine. From the minute you enter the long driveway, to the warm greeting upon coming inside and then having a fantastic creative meal with wonderful service everything is perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Have lived in the area for many years and just discovered The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm Restaurant. If you want to be treated like you are celebrating a special occasion this is the place you want to come to. We were greeted by the very kind owner who chatted with us a bit before walking us to our table. Soon after our outstanding, friendly waiter, Nick, introduced himself and was very knlowedgeable about everything on the menu letting us know they like to use local goods available to them throughout the seasons. The dinners were some of the best we've ever had, scallops, halibut and elk all cooked perfectly accompanied by polenta, and vegetables. The desserts were all so delicious..light and flavorful. The chef not only pays attention to detail but also to flavor. Everything had a distinct flavor but never overwhelming. We were served several delicious treats following our dessert and then sent home with individual sugar glazed donuts that were so light and airy. What a nice touch! This restaurant is a true gem and we look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We decided to try a quiet early evening dinner at the Inn at Barler Sheaf after reading positive reviews and wanting to try some place new and local. We love BYO and found menu items that went well with the wine we brought with us. The menu had a nice variety of choices without being overwhelming and some interesting options like elk and rabbit. We enjoyed everything and look forward to coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Overall wonderful experience. Will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Enjoyable meal in a lovely atmosphere. Service excellent but not overbearing. Food is always unique and uses the local produce & farm products.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our first time to brunch there! The menu varies week to week. Order from a first course and second course, then you can add or repeat plates as desired, but leave room for their marvelous desert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our first time dining here. We have driven past the Barley Sheaf a ton of times, but never remembered to try it when looking for something new. Luckily we received the Birthday Pak in the mail & ventured out. The moment you walk in you notice how exquisite & romantic the place is. We sat along the windows expecting it to be cold, but it was not. DH & I started with soup (onion?) & for something different tried the Beet & Pear Salad Normally we do not like beets, but the mix of beet & pear flavors were a perfect way to begin the evening. The soup came out in a huge bowl which only made you feel like they forgot the soup. The portion of soup was perfect. It was creamy, delicious, had bacon pieces & had a nice smokey flavor. I had the East Coast Scallops for my meal. The scallops were perfectly cooked and came with slices of grapefruit. Believe it or not, the grapefruit mixed well with the scallops adding a pop of sweetness to the scallops. DH ordered the fish special which was served on wild rice. He really enjoyed his meal. We shared a side of the Smoke Potatoes. Wow those potatoes were fantastic & had a great smokey flavor. We cannot express enough how wonderful everything was. We finished our entire entrees as the food was just overly delicious. Lastly we ordered the Salt Baked Pineapple. We hoped it would have be as exquisite as the rest of the meal, but sorry to say this dessert was a big disappointment. It was just an ordinary slice of pineapple with vanilla ice cream & pieces of sponge cake. No wow factor there. They did serve a petit four dessert plate that included a wrapped caramel. The caramel was the best ever! More please!! Our server was attentive, friendly, and knew the menu well. Our server presented our bill with 2 wrapped cinnamon sugar donuts to take home which we ate the next day. They were so good, very light tasting. We dream about them. Overall, we cannot say enough good things. Definitely will come back & try other items on the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

WOW! we must have passed by this inn 1000 times on our way to lahaska or lambertville but didn't realize that such a GEM existed! and so close to my house! OMG!
So now there is a wonderful new restaurant on my very special (fussy) list! it's so lovely to see and then to find out that dinner is just as special! the service and the attention that we had at dinner was simply amazing . the meal was so beautifully presented and the tastes were PERFECT! i cannot wait to take friends to this dream of a restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We had a great dinner at the Barley Sheaf Farm and plan on going back . The service and food was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Was here for restaurant week. First time here, won't be the last
Everything perfect

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, uber quaint. The quintessential county inn. Very good service. Why was tip already on the bill- for party of 2?

Food was good, but not great. Definitely a place for special occasions where surroundings are more important than the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food didn't come to the table uniformly hot. Staff was very nice and accomodating. Perhaps they could have used a runner/busboy to get dishes out of the kitchen faster. It was a first visit with family for a dual birthday. A very nice country house/ Band B a little more effort with the food would have made it as smashing experience. Will go back and try dinner and see----

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Dinner was absolutely delicious and the service present and polite. Sitting in front of the open kitchen was so much fun, like watching a live show. We will go back. The BYOB policy is greatly appreciated by this group of food and wine aficionados.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Historic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our 4th time dining here. The occasion was my mother-in-law's birthday. The previous 3 times I went it was really good. THIS time it was AMAZING! I am not sure what the change was, but absolutely phenomenal meals (2 of us had Bronzino, 1 Ribeye & 1 Scallops). The service part has always been above average - it was specifically the food this time that blew us away. Appetizers we had were salmon tartar, grilled Romaine, & Octopus.

Thank you for such a fantastic meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best customer service I had ever received at a restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

As always, we find the Barley Sheaf an outstanding restaurant. We love the ambiance, the food is delicious and there are always new and interesting items on the menu. The waiter was very knowledgeable about every selection. You are never rushed at this restaurant and the setting is spectacular.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a great time here. Service and both were both outstanding.. will def come back and would recommend to all.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great restaurant for special occasions or when you desire to treat yourself with a special experience. Menu is somewhat limited, but what you expect at a bed and breakfast inn. Food presentation, service and quality were all top drawer. Our first time, and we will certainly return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

2/15/17
Will definitely return. Everything was tremendous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We dine often at Barley Sheaf and the service and the food have always been top notch. The owners are always there to ensure their customers have a great dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. Amazing food, nice atmosphere and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Tasty brunch and wonderful server. The chef was very friendly as was the owner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best romantic place in all of the PA region. Fine Cuisine and BYOB!
Owners are the nicest people you can meet.

Highly Recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was my 4th visit to Barley Sheaf Farm. All of my visits have been absolutely delightful. It is my go to place for bringing out of town guests.

For this visit, my friend and I enjoyed our appetizers and entrees. All were perfectly cooked and nicely seasoned. My only small complaint was the black dishes which took away from the visual beauty and artful plating that was lost in the dark background.

The BYOB portion is also a great treat to bring a special bottle of wine to enjoy with the complex dishes.

Management was very attentive and friendly as was the service.

I look forward to many more visits to this Bucks County gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food, service, and ownership provide a great dinning experience. I've lived in Bucks County nearly my whole life, never knew this gem was here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I love the owners and how they always make sure our night is special. A very romantic place for dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is such a beautiful place. Great food and staff. Feels like you are on vacation. The ceiling is painted like the sky with little butterflies and birds scattered throughout the clouds. There is also a fireplace and an open kitchen. We thoroughly enjoyed brunch here and it's definitely firmly on our list of favorites. Highly recommend checking this place out.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent as always.

We enjoyed a very nice smoked salmon tartare, sweet potato soup, perfectly cooked roast duck, and delicious pork loin served with a piece of pork belly (wow!).

Service was terrific.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was our second time dining at Barley Sheaf Farm and just loved our evening. The ambience of the dining room is wonderful, the food selections are exciting...so much so that it's hard to make a selection. We'd love to say, "one of each," but could never eat that much food. The staff is knowledgeable and all made is feel welcome and special. We look forward to going back again.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was our first time and it was spectacular. The food was outstanding and the restaurant was beautiful. We will be back with all of our friends. What a treat. The owners were so nice and really cared about our special time there. I can't say enough.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This is the hidden gem of Bucks County. The food is of the highest quality and quite creative. The menu is small as it makes use of things that are in season, so don't expect any tomatoes or the like in February, because they couldn't do that well. So they won't. Think squash and beets in February. As I am a small eater, I forwent the first course for the octopus second course. Awesome. My branzoni was perfectly cooked (and filleted). The pudding cake dessert was rediculously decadent. And the unexpected dessert treats kept coming. Including this rediculously awesome vanilla salted caramel. So go and try this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My husband and I had a really good dinner at The Barley Sheaf Farm on a week day evening. My husband's birthday fell midweek and I didn't want to cook! Our food was very good, I had an octopus course and my husband had grilled romaine salad. For dinner I enjoyed a hanger steak and he had elk. We both thought our entrees were excellent. I have one suggestion for the restaurant. The food is plated on very, very dark plates. They looked black, maybe navy. The food isn't very eye-appealing on such dark plates in a dark dining room. My husbands entree had both prunes and beets with very rare elk. Imagine how that looks on a dark plate. Just an idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was outstanding, a varied brunch menu. Unlimited options allowed us to sample across the menu. The only problem was a table by the window where the sun baked us, with window covering.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and i had a great time at this historic old farmhouse. Owners were warm and inviting, fiod was well seasoned and cooked perfectly. Peanut butter ice cream was so good we took some home with us. Our server was also great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great meal! Thank you Chef and kitchen staff! Lovely dining room and it's a byob, an awesome plus!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Relaxing atmosphere with excellent food.
Great brunch.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very attentive, fiendly, helpful waite staff. Management/Owner(?) very caring about all guests. Food preparation, presentation and quality are tops. The menu is very limited yet, with the several added specails of the evenng, more than enough selection to satisfy any taste. A warm country, open kitchem setting with limited seating and efficient erseravtion times which permits the kitchen the proper time to prepare and servee the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We love this place! We got married here almost 2 years ago and continue to go back every chance we get. Fantastic owners, staff and atmosphere. Top notch food. A must visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience. We have been here several times and each one was outstanding. The grilled octopus was the best my husband has ever eaten and the dinner specials were delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.