Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 1.24mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.63mi

About Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm

Please join us at our restaurant featuring delicious contemporary American cuisine - fresh farm to table - prepared by our Executive Chef Josh Homacki. The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is a hidden gem in Buckingham and features seasonal menus for dinner and brunch. Remember - we are also a BYOB!

5281 York Road
Holicong, PA 18928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Holicong Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 794-5104

Website:
http://www.barleysheaf.com/

Parking Details:
On Site parking is available for guests.

Executive Chef:
Joshua Homacki

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (49)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Worth the Drive (37)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for a Date (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Cozy (30)
Scenic View (30)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Brunch (23)
Local Ingredients (19)
Seasonal (17)
Authentic (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Historic (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Healthy (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Organic (5)
Fireplace (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Casual (3)
Private Room (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
361 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I had dinner on 7/15 and breakfast on 7/16. Two different chefs, both EXCELLENT! Both of us raved about the Basil Spaetzle (from the second course choices on the dinner menu ) as one of the best things we've ever tasted! I especially enjoyed the Smoked Salmon platter from the breakfast menu - beautifully presented and perfectly delicious. Service was prompt, courteous, and thoroughly friendly. What a place!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

As always fantastic food & atmosphere. Attentive waitstaff and very warmly welcomed by the owners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great dining experience all around. Attentive service, delicious foods, and it's a byob!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We celebrated our third anniversary here in the place where it all started. The food was superb and the service was great. The owners are awesome and superbly in touch with the guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The best kept secret in area! This gem is tops! Always a pleasure to dine here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our experience for brunch overall was wonderful cannot wait to try dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Whenever my husband and I decide to go out to dinner, we always select The Inn at Barley Sheaf. The ambience is welcoming; Dina & Mark (the owners) greet everyone with a smile - they do everything possible to make sure you have an enjoyable dining experience; Josh & Rob prepare the best meals you've ever had and present each dish as a work of art; Nick, Rachelle & Patrick's service is impeccable and friendly. It's a wonderfully joyous way to dine!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Organic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Everything from our greeting to paying the bill was First Class treatment.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Exceptional! The attention to detail, creative cuisine, phenomenal food - wait staff is top notch. Fantastic experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Last night was our first time here. Outstanding food, service and ambience. We were blown away by how perfect everything was. We will definitely be back and we will be bringing guests!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Our favorite place for a superb meal with friends. Top ingredients, excellent preparation beautifully presented. Great location overlooking the gardens. Quiet enough to enjoy an evening with friends. Top recommendation. Bring a good wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner and time at the Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm. The food was unique and elegant, the service was friendly and attentive (couldn't have been better), and the ambience was quiet, relaxing, and casual-classy. The outdoor views from the French doors add to the romantic atmosphere.

They serve unique menu items (or foods prepared in different ways, paired with unique sauces, etc). The menu changes often and features various seasonal ingredients/items. Even though we haven't tried it, the breakfast menu looks good too! We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

A delicious dinner with friends to celebrate two birthdays......we all loved everything we had....always a pleasure dinning at the Inn at Barley Sheaf.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Hubby and I went for our anniversary dinner. We've been here before so we knew it would be an incredible meal. The Inn and dining room are charming. Food is fabulous with interesting ingredients. We both had a different fish dish, salads, and second course and had a lot to eat. The candies and the donut that they serve to you at the end are so delicious. All I can say is Wow! We'll be back .

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Built in 1743, the historic inn has been thoroughly modernized, with an excellent menu, friendly and efficient service, and plenty of space between tables. Parking is somewhat limited, but you can park on the grass, if necessary (we did) and it all works out. Enjoy!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Truly amazing restaurant. The Sunday Brunch runs $35 a person and is completely inclusive, NO annoying uncharges for fresh juice or even mimosa. The menu is also UNLIMITED, meaning you can order any and all items as many times as you wish. Not only is the menu unlimited, but it is also made-to-order and you can taste the high quality of the ingredients. I was also pleasantly surprised by some of the upscale offerings, such as veal and filet mignon Oscar (while I did not personally order, we saw many come out and they were very decent sized steaks). A steak of this type would cost $35 itself at many steakhouses. The menu also included halibut (delicious), and your typical Sunday Brunch food, such as eggs Benedict (with ham or salmon), pancakes, French toast, and sausage gravy.

The restaurant has also perfected the wait time between courses. Instead of trying to fill you up with a huge first course to save money, the restaurant did not overload any plates and allowed time for your food to digest in-between. It was evident that the Barley Sheaf owners/staff did this because they enjoyed it, NOT because it was a money maker.

We enjoined 1 "First Course" dish, 3 "Second (main) Course" dishes, and 1 Desert dish. We also had water, coffee, and fresh squeezed orange juice throughout the meal.

All in all, well worth the price, COME HUNGRY, and enjoy the beautiful grounds!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We have dinner here at least once a month. Great food. Grounds are beautiful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Setting was very nice with good ambiance. I would recommend the Octopus for first or second course. Pocono trout and the halibu were moist and flavorful. First time I have seen pickled spruce tips. I love beet salad and this one was excellent. Service was knowledgeable and understated. Will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food was very tasty and the survive was good. Desert was interesting and the ice creams was delish. One thing that would be great to improve on is the temp of hot tea. Temp was just warm, and tea really needs hot boiled water to taste good. Would love t try their brunch, but lack of hot water for tea is a deal breaker. However, it should be an easy fix.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Exceptional food and service! The ambiance was very nice. We wandered the grounds after we ate and admired the baby horses and goat. We will certainly return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Always five stars,never a disappointment.one of our favorite restaurants for dinning.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Everything we experienced from service, food quality ,atmosphere, friendliness was all first class. This is a very special place to enjoy with friends and loved ones that enjoy a great dining experience. I Can't think of any other place in the Bucks County area that even comes close.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was well prepared and presented. All choices demonstrated cooking ability and creativity on the chef's part. The service was immediate and knowledgable. No need or question went unanswered. We wanted (or waited) for nothing during the entire meal. Our table overlooked a beautiful garden patio. Outdoor dining during the summer is to be looked forward to. All things considered, a totally enjoyable evening realistically priced. A unique value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wonderful from start to finish. Creative dinner menu and although the menu is small there is enough to chose from. A vegetarian option on the dinner menu would be nice though. Delicious food and the staff are very friendly without being obtrusive. Lovely atmosphere. Great place fore a special occasion. L

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Celebrated our Anniversary here. This is fine dining - exquisite food and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 18, 2017

Beautiful peaceful setting with excellent food and service! Delicious small plates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was outstanding. Creative and executed to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great experience. Wonderful presentations. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

From app to dessert amazing. And it is byob!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Charming, friendly, great atmosphere and always great food.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Awesome food-different--delicious-Foodie worthy. My husband & kids love it too! It was the 3rd visit for all but my son--he's a new fan. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent brunch. Our server Rachelle, made our meal fun and very enjoyable. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Beautiful ambiance, gardens in bloom, old farm house interesting to flip through books about George Kaufman the original owner and playwrite

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Appetizers very good but our guests were a bit disappointed in entrees. Duck was "too well done" and hangar steak "is better at Parc."

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Went for brunch, had a memorable experience. 5 * in all respects. You must go, enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great place for a date or anniversary. The property was interesting and great for a pre dinner walk. Service was wonderful, Nick our server was both knowledgeable and engaging.

If you have time get there early and enjoy the atmosphere and property

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This is our 2nd meal at Barley Sheaf. The first time for dinner and this one for Sunday brunch. Mark and his team have a winning combination... a gorgeous setting, charming ambiance and delicious cuisine. Dining here feels like having a meal in a lovely historic home or private club. I, without hesitation, recommend Barley Sheaf for a special occasion meal but also for an everyday meal when you are looking for a serene, more private environment. That you can bring your own wine is a plus.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We are local and were celebrating 6 months of being married. We had a great experience. The service was excellent, the food was great and it was a perfect place to bring out of town guests for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere. A bit loud. The only complaint is we were never offered coffee.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were a group of 9 friends who gathered for a wonderful afternoon together. The weather was overcast and raining, a perfect day to be in a lovely interior looking out over gorgeous and expansive grounds. The food was good and our server was exceptional. She had a lovely French accent, was very patient and attentive. Everyone was so pleased with the experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.