About Indian Summer

405 Spray Avenue
Banff, AB T1L 1J4
View Larger Map

Everyone needs a little spice in their life, which is why dining at our seasonal pop-up restaurant Indian Summer should be at the top of your summer 'to-do' list.
From scrumptious Samosa's to aromatic Butter Chicken and everything spicy and delicious in-between your taste buds will be devouring your dishes while your eyes enjoy the amazing views of the Canadian Rockies!
So what are you waiting for? Curry on in!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Indian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 762-2211

Executive Chef:
j.W. Foster

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Indian Summer
  • Indian Summer
Indian Summer
Indian Summer

Indian Summer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

4.8

ambience

5.0

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

scenic view (3)
special occasion (2)
good for groups (1)
See All
hot spot (1)
fit for foodies (1)
romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
15 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Could have done better for Christmas Dinner

 
 (London)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

We booked the fairly expensive buffet dinner for Christmas Day and we were a bit disappointed. The food was served in a large gloomy area, and lacked two of the things we most look forward to at Christmas ... Baked ham and Christmas pudding! What?? Come on!! Turkey was just carved from a roll and there were few vegetables visible. On the plus side there was a reasonably-priced wine list, some interesting seafood, and more desserts than you (Or at least I ) could ever want (except Christmas Pudding), and I managed to get the final tiny bit of blue cheese. A manageress came and asked if we were all happy, and I mentioned the Christmas Pudding. She came back about twenty minutes later with two serves. Very, very good of her!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Way too crowded.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Nice for way too many families and we were crowed in with people constantly pushing past our chairs. Our table was about 36" round for FOUR ADULTS. Should not happen at the Castle.

The selection of food at the stations was impressive but the Christmas Turkey was dry and tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Drinks should've been included in the me ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Drinks should've been included in the meal price as $89 wasn't worth the experience. It was really easy to get server support to order specialty drinks at an additional cost, but took more time to get coffee, tea or water. Coffee ended up cold pretty quickly that I just skipped it. Buffet was an eclectic mix of international selections, which was fine. However, it would've been nice to have more traditional selections to accompany holiday meal like ham, candied yams or stuffing. Overall, other Fairmont locations do a better job on holiday buffet; i.e. Chateau Whistler, which was disappointing as I had never had a mediocre meal at the Fairmont Banff Springs before. Musicians should've been stationed in the dining area not near food stations. Would've been nice to hear live music while at table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Knowledgable waiter and excellent Indian food.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on October 12, 2015

Great view from restaurant. Food was served quickly. Waiter explained meals and condiments. Tranquil and refined atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

great menu and food!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Every food item was well prepared and hot to the table. The condiment trolley was superb. We had our whole family there with three kids and they were made to feel welcome too!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious and Beautiful View

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Unequivocally the best Indian food I've ever had. The view from the dining room was spectacular. We wanted to extend our trip just so we could return and have dinner there again (unfortunately we weren't able to do that).

Also had a food allergy that the restaurant easily accommodated. I can't say enough good things about the experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Dishes, the goat curry was sup ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

Delicious Dishes, the goat curry was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great experience

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 17, 2015

This is a seasonal restaurant, open in the summer on the second floor of the Rundle Lounge. The setting and views are beautiful. For a seasonal restaurant, I was really impressed with the quality of the food. Everything was quite good, in particular, the butter chicken. Portion sizes were small and prices high, however you are paying in part for the location and views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Indian Restaurant with a great view

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 10, 2015

My wife and I are relatively new to Indian food, but one in our party has recently "gotten into" the cuisine, and he said the food and selection were quite good. We all enjoyed our meals. Relatively small restaurant with a wonderful view in the very large Banff Springs Hotel, and considering the location, not very noisy. A nice little change in busy Banff.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was fantastic! Sauces/spices were awesome

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

I took my wife here after seeing an ad in the elevator at the hotel. Soooo glad we stopped in to eat! Challenging to find, but is well worth the hunt.

Amazing view. Awesome food. Nice waitress.

We had veggie pakoras, butter chicken Marsala, curry chicken and naan. Butter chicken was my wife's favorite. I'm torn.

Get all of the sauces and chutney (included). No regrets there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

For the most part everything was going r ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 3, 2015

For the most part everything was going really well (except for the part where the restaurant itself was a bit hard to locate) till I asked the server about a specific dish...I feel he vacillated so much in an effort to say what he thought I wanted to hear and in the end I paid a fortune for something I couldn't eat...my consolation? A free glass of milk!!!! I think if he had just been honest I may have had a meal I would have thoroughly enjoyed because up till that point I had truly been having a wonderful dinner

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Best Indian Food ever!

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

Indian Summer is wonderful! We had such a great dinner in the Rundle Lounge and would highly recommend this to anyone staying in Banff or at the Banff Springs. The view is amazing but the food quickly overshadows that! The spice level, the combinations...all of it was amazing. We had the samosas which were spiced perfectly and accompanied by a delicious mint chutney. We also got to try the mango chutney and it was perfect with the samosas. We also had the butter chicken and paneer tikka masala which were both such a nice combination. We were practically licking the plates...lol

Overall this is the best indian food I have ever eaten, hands down.

Go now before it's gone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Given the buzz about celebrity chef Vikr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 26, 2015

Given the buzz about celebrity chef Vikram Vij I expected to be blown away, and Indian Summer missed the mark.The food was good, but it didn't really stand out for me as a significant departure from what you would expect at your neighbourhood Indian Restaurant, except that it charged Fairmont prices. There were no surprises, no innovative interpretations on the cuisine.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Visit of Indian Summer on 17th May,2015

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 18, 2015

First of all the scenic view and the castel itself amazing. It is a great experience for me to be there and enjoy a dinner there. Though my expectation was very high regarding the food and services, but I will say its Ok. As it was a busy Sunday night we have to wait long for Main-course food though they apologize for it anyway the view is so good I never mind to wait there. But regarding food I will say its ok nothing special about it. We ordered special chicken curry that is one of the specialist item in the restaurant. I would say that's ok nothing extraordinary about it. Moktaits were also not that much tasty. So if you want to experience outstanding view with ok food this is the best option for you.Its worth to visit at least once.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

What a find!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2014

This restaurant was a real treat. Overlooking the Bow Valley from the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel, we enjoyed a fabulous Indian dinner. The tandoori chicken was perfectly prepared as was the garlic naan. Due to food allergies that I have, the chef came to the table to recommend dishes that I could eat. He prepared a special dressing for my salad. Everyone was so accommodating. Whether or not you are staying at a the hotel, we highly recommend this restaurant if you like Indian food.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.