About Indaco

526 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Genuine Italian flavors fill an airy, modern space accented by lime-wash, white brick, blonde butcher block and silver lighting pendants. An antique pizza peel dating to the 1850s hangs on the wall, portraying Indaco’s dedication to authenticity. The restaurant boasts a craft cocktail program featuring Italian classics such as the Negroni and amaro on tap and housemade Italian sodas. This concept introduces traditional Italian eating to Upper King’s booming, fine-dining scene. A 2,900 square foot restaurant, Indaco offers 100 seats inclusive of the bar and patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - WEDNESDAY: 5 TO 10 PM
THURSDAY - SATURDAY: 5 PM to 11 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1228

Website:
http://indacocharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking
Street Parking on King

Executive Chef:
Michael Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Indaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
South Carolina
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for a Date (25)
Good for Groups (23)
See All
Fun (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (17)
Authentic (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Casual (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Wood Oven (10)
Family Style (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We sampled many items from the starters ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We sampled many items from the starters and shared 4 main entrees and WOW a complete palate explosion. Will definitely return to experience the pizza

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waiter, Trevor, was friendly and eff ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our waiter, Trevor, was friendly and efficient. The ambience would've been fantastic had we been seated elsewhere. The high-top table wasn't my favorite but I try not to ask for re-seating. There were 3 men talking to two women at the bar that were interrupting our conversation because they were standing literally inches away from us. On the other side, patrons and servers were trying to squeeze by since the bar folks were blocking that access aisle. Perhaps an observant manager would've guided their guest away from our table and the walkway but that didn't happen. Therefore, do not accept seating at a bar high-top. The prosciutto di parma was fantastic. The margarita pizza had many good things going for it but in the end it was much saltier that any I'd had at other restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Coming from Connecticut, it's hard to fi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Coming from Connecticut, it's hard to find good pizza/flatbread in South Carolina. My sister has lived there for 20 years and I can count on one hand (really, two fingers) the number of places that offer decent pizza. Pontiac House of Pizza (aka PHOP) in the Columbia area, and now Idaco. We had the brussel sprout pizza (really more of a flatbread) and I was really impressed.

Tags: Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The pizza and the pasta are always outst ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The pizza and the pasta are always outstanding; sad to say, so is the room noise. Plan to attend with people who tell boring, repetitive stories so that it won't matter that you can't hear them. The server had his hands full with a number of large parties -- our service level suffered accordingly -- but in general, this is a good restaurant that delivers good value.

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great restaurant for any occasion! We s ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great restaurant for any occasion! We sat outside on a beautiful fall night. Wait staff was professional and friendly. Food was amazing. The bolognese was some of the best I've had. Portion sizes are perfect. Will definitely go back when in charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had the chicken which looked ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My husband had the chicken which looked raw and was most un appetizing. I had the potato knoccki which had a questionable meat sauce that was very unappealing. My salad was delicious and a friend enjoyed her brussel sprouts. Really disappointed. Then to top it off, we got booted in the lot next door. Beware.. only one small sign. Make sure you use the valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Went for a date night. We had Trevor as ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Went for a date night. We had Trevor as our waiter and he really gave some great suggestions. We thoroughly enjoyed the prosciutto board and both had wonderful meals. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A little noisy (thanks to some small chi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

A little noisy (thanks to some small children in an adjacent area) but otherwise a good choice as a place to eat before a show. The food and drink were fine and our server was exceptional.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good service Good food. Noise level got ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Good service Good food. Noise level got high. Very knowledgeable server. Will go back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always delicious!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. Great food. Average se ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great atmosphere. Great food. Average service. Quite noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great happy hour! Half price pizzas and ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great happy hour! Half price pizzas and drink specials make this one of my favorites for a great dinner Friday night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Indaco's unique combination of ingredien ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Indaco's unique combination of ingredients is a pleasurable experience. Pastas are fresh and wholesome and accompaniments are packed with flavor. A little pricey but we split a plentiful appetizer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I gave Indaco 5 stars in every category ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I gave Indaco 5 stars in every category because they wouldn't let me give it 6 stars. I go every time I'm town and it's stellar every time with different choices on the menu and a staff that will accommodate you however you need, like for my vegetarian daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our dinner There were 4 of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner There were 4 of us and the service was excellent. Selections were different but all of them were great

Relaxing and enjoyable evening in charleston would definitely come back

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious. Wish portion sizes w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food was delicious. Wish portion sizes were bigger. Left hungry

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We each loved what we ordered-- the pizz ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We each loved what we ordered-- the pizzas, the lamb pasta and the roasted chicken. The wine list is all Italian and simply fantastic. The server could not have been any better. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We ordered only an appetizer and a pizza ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We ordered only an appetizer and a pizza--not a full meal. Both were put on the table at the same time. Neither was as flavorful or as outstanding as we had expected from other reviews. We did make our feelings known and they did comp the beer. I think the main courses would have been more interesting and there were some very chef-inspired combinations. Diners should focus on those rather than expecting a unique or truly special pizza.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This restaurant was amazing! Great atmos ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This restaurant was amazing! Great atmosphere, knowledgable service. The burrata is insane, and the menu varies based on seasonal produce. Definitely recommend if you are in Charleston.

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a really amazing tie at Indaco. Our ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Had a really amazing tie at Indaco. Our server (who's name is unfortunately escaping me at the moment) was amazing and really really enjoyed out experience. The food was incredible, and we loved sitting on the patio. It was our last night in Charleston and far and away our best meal - quality and value wise. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our experience at Indaco started off wel ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our experience at Indaco started off well. The brussel sprouts pizza and radicchio butternut squash salad were outstanding. It unfortunately fell apart from there. Our two pasta entrees took FOREVER to come out, and when they did they were really quite tasteless. At $27 for a crab pasta dish and $23 for what is essentially pasta carbonara, I expect it to be really delicious. I would have spoken to the waitress about making our entree right, but sadly she never came back to ask how our food was, not even when she brought the check and 90% of the pasta was uneaten. Based on appetizers I would have given a glowing recommendation, but the disappointing pasta dishes and lackluster service really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

While Indaco had to unexpectedly close d ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 28, 2016

While Indaco had to unexpectedly close due to a tragedy in their family, I know the experience they provide is always perfect. I did not dine there the night of my reservation but wanted to make sure I provided feedback to share about my consistent, delicious experience. The burrata, flatbreads, and tagliatelle are among our favorite dishes. We cannot wait to come back and hope that you have had time to head after the tragedy that impacted your team.

We love Indaco!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! Trout stuffed tortelli ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great experience!

Trout stuffed tortellini was the best!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy hour is a scam to get you in the d ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Happy hour is a scam to get you in the door! Won't go back again! Food wasn't that good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Excellent waiter who engaged us in conve ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Excellent waiter who engaged us in conversation and provided excellent recommendations for course dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. Our favorite of the weekend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't understand the poor reviews they ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I don't understand the poor reviews they had. We had a wonderful table, amazing server and great food. Menu is extremely creative without being off putting. Italian in style without having "spaghetti and meatballs" on the menu. Our server was a pure professional as was all of the people that came to our table. Our anniversary was enhanced by going here for dinner. Thank you Indaco.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great overall experience. the server was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great overall experience. the server was great he explained everything we asked in great detail. he even answered questions about the town and what to see and do.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Casual, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Everyone at our table finish ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent! Everyone at our table finished every bite!! I recommend the burrata appetizer and don't skip dessert!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu, attentive staff. Good was pr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great menu, attentive staff. Good was prepared perfeftly. You won't be disappointed. We will absolutely go back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous food experience and ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Absolutely fabulous food experience and great atmosphere. Wine list a little hard to decipher; could use details on each and would be nice if they offered a few wines other than all Italian. We started with a charcuterie tray of prosciutto, regiano parmigiana, peaches and flatbread with a honey drizzle. Refreshing! As main course, Tonnarelli, was our choice. The best homemade pasta we've tasted in quite some time tossed with light cream and mint and topped with lump crab. Add "Indaco" to your Charleston SC "to do".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server, Nate, was very helpful recom ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our server, Nate, was very helpful recommending his favorite dishes which were all stellar. Pickled shrimp were outstanding as well as the tuna We also had the garganielli and for a person who doesn't like lamb it was amazing. The fresh mint and roasted tomatoes were the perfect compliment. Next time, we save room for dessert!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful birthday meal at Indaco. Servi ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful birthday meal at Indaco. Service was attentive, atmosphere was great (even early on a Sunday night). Great addition to growing dining scene on Upper King St. Took advantage of fantastic half price wine special to taste a Barolo that ordinarily would only be for special, special occasions. Loved the pickled shrimp appetizer and the goat cheese salad to start.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great! We ordered some diff ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was great! We ordered some different dishes both from the starter, entree and pizza menu and everything tasted so so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Was on vacation

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Was on vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was second to none!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 30, 2016

The food and service was second to none!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Indaco proved to be a great Italian gem ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Indaco proved to be a great Italian gem in downtown Charleston. We have a small child and don't get many date nights, but we decided to give Indaco a whirl and it didn't disappoint. Their meatballs were amazing as a starter, the pasta with crab along with the rabbit were incredibly mouthwatering and the dessert pulled everything together. Great wine selection at reasonable prices. Thanks for a wonderful dinner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server and her helper were outstandi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our server and her helper were outstanding. The server was able to describe the dishes perfectly. The polpette were outstanding as was the bursts. Some of the main dishes were not as hot as they should be, but the flavor was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

App. and pasta good. Margarita pizza goo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

App. and pasta good. Margarita pizza good, sausage pizza not so good.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great spot on upper King. Staff friend ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great spot on upper King. Staff friendly and welcoming, great service, food and atmosphere. The cauliflower appetizer was an unexpected and delicious start and the crust on the pizza was divine! Thanks for a great evening...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.