About Indaco

526 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Genuine Italian flavors fill an airy, modern space accented by lime-wash, white brick, blonde butcher block and silver lighting pendants. An antique pizza peel dating to the 1850s hangs on the wall, portraying Indaco’s dedication to authenticity. The restaurant boasts a craft cocktail program featuring Italian classics such as the Negroni and amaro on tap and housemade Italian sodas. This concept introduces traditional Italian eating to Upper King’s booming, fine-dining scene. A 2,900 square foot restaurant, Indaco offers 100 seats inclusive of the bar and patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - WEDNESDAY: 5 TO 10 PM
THURSDAY - SATURDAY: 5 PM to 11 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1228

Website:
http://indacocharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking
Street Parking on King

Executive Chef:
Michael Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Indaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
South Carolina
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (89)
neighborhood gem (56)
special occasion (54)
See All
good for groups (51)
hot spot (48)
notable wine list (33)
romantic (33)
vibrant bar scene (24)
great for outdoor dining (24)
great for brunch (13)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (9)
great for lunch (9)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great sweet corn pizza! Best crust ever! ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Great sweet corn pizza! Best crust ever! Unique place with awesome food and service. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Eric was great. Food was fabulous. Drink ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Eric was great. Food was fabulous. Drinks excellent. A wonderful fine dining experience! Thank you Indaco staff and management!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot on Upper King with a really g ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great spot on Upper King with a really great blend of terrific food, vibrant and energetic atmosphere, polished service and reasonable prices (the pastas, despite their hand madeness and farm-to-tableness are each priced too high). We were seated within minutes of our reservation time, our server was knowledgeable and every dish was exactly as billed and described. I would go back here tomorrow if I could.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This was the second time for us dining ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the second time for us dining at Indaco, and our experience this time was just okay. We were celebrating Father's Day and my husband's entree for the price was ok at best. It had no flavor at all and for the $28 price was simply not good. The only reason we did not complain was because we were celebrating and the appetizers were great and consistent with our first visit a few weeks ago! We could have eaten at a number of our favorite Charleston restaurants and had a better entrees at a better prices.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We frequent Indaco about as often as any ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We frequent Indaco about as often as any Charleston restaurant, because we find the food very approachable and enjoyable, the servers gracious and vivacious and the patrons interesting. On this particular night everything did not go well. After sharing a salad, there was an extremely long delay having our entree pizzas served. Our server checked back with us as did someone from the kitchen to assure us that our entrees would be right out. The delay continued, but finally we were served and shortly afterward the chef came out to apologize for initially "messing up" our original entrees. Over our protestations, the restaurant comped our entire meal. While we greatly appreciated this gesture, the kitchen should have informed us much earlier about the problem. We realize that things happen, so in that case we would have enjoyed another drink and continued to enjoy our evening - we were in no hurry, and Things Happen. As it was, we kept wondering if we should continue waiting or just leave and catch something somewhere else. The pizzas were delicious and we certainly appreciated the magnanimity of the chef. Thus the 4-star rating.

Tags: hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

With so many choices in Charleston, we h ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

With so many choices in Charleston, we hadn't dined at Indaco in quite some time. We were entertaining out-of-town friends and had looked forward to a nice meal. Generally, I'd have to say we were disappointed with the very limited menu. Salads seemed bland and over-priced. My husband's sausage pizza was quite a mess with poorly prepared veggie toppings and under-cooked center. I didn't like the beer that the waiter suggested but he never came back to see what I thought even though it was barely touched. Limited selection of seafood and wine for that matter both of which were on the pricey side. Service was just okay. We so wanted to impress our friends but left underwhelmed.

food5
ambience5
service5

We both loved our dinner. My husband had ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We both loved our dinner. My husband had the octopus and it was the best he ever had. Our server Nate really knew the menu and selected the perfect wine to accompany our dinner. He was the best!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was simple but excellent. The b ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was simple but excellent. The branzino fish was served whole, and was quite unique. The homemade pasta was outstanding, although the portions were smaller than expected and would require an appetizer to be satisfied. The place can get noisy and crowded but was lively, as was the service. Would recommend going early before the crowds.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Hoped for more

Dined on June 5, 2016

I've been to Indaco before and enjoyed it, and found the food to be very good. On this trip which was for an anniversary -- we left very disappointed. Server seemed as if he wanted to be anywhere else but there and not very attentive at all. Drinks were very slow to come, and the food was mediocre at best. That includes the recommended appetizer, and both our entrees. Maybe we just hit an off night, but very sorry we chose them considering all the options.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and service absolutel ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was delicious and service absolutely impeccable! Great restaurant, I highly recommend it.

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Indaco - Bar is the focus and not the food

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

We picked this restaurant because of the reviews. We were greeted by a hostess with "attitude". We were a few minutes late because of lost keys and I had called and told her. At more upscale restaurants, the hostesses were lovely and hospitable. Needless to say, she wanted to give us the hottest table in the back. After waiting another 15 minutes, we were seated somewhere near a fan. Nothing appealed for summer on the cocktail menu. Dinner was a very salty pizza and an non descript pasta with saffron, mint, crabmeat and lemon. Ingredients that might go together but ended up being a very bland kids dish from Macaroni Grill. The waiter did remove it from the menu. We skipped dessert which also didn't appeal. It seems to be a place where the bar is the focus and not the food.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian !

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Loved Indaco. Menu was so good that it made decisions tough. Branzino was a stand-out, as was the duck pasta. Creative drink menu (excellent Moscow Mule adaptation called "Namaste here and drink" and delicious valpolicella by the glass). Romantic atmosphere and valet parking was a nice surprise. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great restaurant to share courses. Love ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Great restaurant to share courses. Love their wine selection.

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious and creative food items! Can't ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Delicious and creative food items! Can't wait to come back again soon!

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Good but not great

Dined on May 27, 2016

The ambiance was fantastic, great location on King Street. They have a nice covered patio area as well. The appetizers were fantastic, lamb belly was the best I have ever had. We really enjoyed the prosciutto and cheese platter. The pasta dishes were underwhelming. The service was ok. Our waiter would take a long time after we placed orders, didn't really follow up to make sure we were well taken care of.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

So so

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Food was good but atmosphere was much to be desired.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Indaco.

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was my second time and I would absolutely go back. The first was for dinner the second for brunch, perfect for either occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I have been to this resta ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I have been to this restaurant several times and have never once been disappointed. It's amazing food with an even better vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian in Charleston

Dined on May 21, 2016

I take my family and friends to Incadco every time I get the opportunity. The food is amazing the service is unparalleled and the chefs menu is to die for. One of the really cool options is to choose there family style meal where you don't have to think about what you want the chef chooses for you and brings you a carefully curated 3 course meal for $45. If you are in the area I would highly recommend trying this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolute Incredible ! The staff was soo ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Absolute Incredible ! The staff was soooo good , from Emily , to Jeremy to Jay , The Best ! Oh , by the way , the food is Excellent ! Better than Obstinate Daughter , hahaha !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

2nd time at Indaco and once again did no ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

2nd time at Indaco and once again did not disappoint. Service was prompt, professional, and courteous - attentive but not overbearing, pleasant and genuine. Food was terrific… looking forward to next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious as always and our wai ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was delicious as always and our waiter, Trevor, was terrific!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Third time excellent pasta a lot of va ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Third time excellent pasta a lot of variety menu always changing waiter very informative knowledgeable regarding Italian wines. Only negative was slow service and inatention to some of our needs Overall very good experience highly recommended. Good for groups

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This is the 5th time I have been to the ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This is the 5th time I have been to the restaurant and each time I have come away disappointed with the standard of the food. I love Italian food, but one word sums up Indaco - inconsistent. Either the apps are great and the main course bad or vice versa. I love the vibe, the interior and the bar, but the food is simply not that great.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Overall, I was disappointed. Each time ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Overall, I was disappointed. Each time I have come the food has been worse. I ordered the vegetable plate and it was a small portion of hummus with mostly carrots. There are less food choices, smaller portions and it is more expensive each time. I won't be returning. On the other hand, the wait staff was exemplary.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent service. R ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Really enjoyed the entire evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great staff

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance. The pizza is the best

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and service!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always pleased!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Always pleased with the food, service, and atmosphere of Indaco! One of my favorites--I always put this restaurant on my list of Charleston recommendations. Menu never gets old as seasonal items come and go. I've never been disappointed by a pizza or pasta dish here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The best service I have experienced in a ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The best service I have experienced in a very long time. Griffin was our waiter and he took so much time with us, telling us about the Italian food and wines we were unfamiliar with. The food and atmosphere was great too! I loved this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

This place appears modest, but the food ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

This place appears modest, but the food is surprisingly good! Pizzas and pastas were remarkable, drinks very well-made, and the two vegan guests in our party were happily and capably accommodated.

food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Good food but...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was bordering on excellent. Entree and both apps were great. My business associate who was a local agreed. Ambience was loud and noisy, hot and humid. Our servers seemed to think the HVAC was not working. I was uncomfortably hot and it was a major distraction. If they get the air conditioning fixed this place would be great.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Place is Special

Dined on April 26, 2016

Put this one on your list. Homemade pasta and wood fired pizza are spectacular. The charcuterie plate was amazing. This place is definitely on the "return" list. Don't forget to order a Negroni - probably the best in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant suprise!!!!

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

We visited Indaco for the first time last week and were really impressed with the food and especially with our server Griffin. He was as informative and helpful as any server we have encountered in our many years of dining. Everything he suggested was exactly as promised and the food was excellent. It has now hit my wife's top three in Charleston list and that is quite an accomplishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful experience...excellent food ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

A wonderful experience...excellent food - start to finish; attentive and well trained staff. We'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was incredibly well seasoned. ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Everything was incredibly well seasoned. Cocktails had several unique and delicious components. The burrata we started with was complex and refreshing, the pickled strawberries really shined. The tagliatelle, which is apparently a consistent part of the menu, was a delicious take on a carbonara. The farfalle we had was incredibly well balanced with pickled acidic mushrooms against a background of rich vegetal pasta. The dessert was about the only place there could be any complaints, as the budino was a little more a mousse than a pudding, and was served in a less than generous portion. Left very satisfied, with a desire to come back and try several other things on the menu.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice Italian.

Dined on April 17, 2016

A very authentic tasting pasta, close to a carbanara recipe. And a nice variety of dishes to try. The wine list is adequate, though not deep, with offerings by the glass being even more limited. The quality of the good was actually very good. Service was prompt. I would definately go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Dinner

Dined on April 17, 2016

I've been there before and really looked forward to eating there the other night. But, service was bad and the food was not what it normally is. I really hope this doesn't become a trend for their sake.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved it

Dined on April 15, 2016

Came here after some search along with my wife for our babymoon. A tiny bit pricey and the wait was somewhat long (friday and saturday 30min wait each arrived at 10am). But aside from that everything was great. Especially loved the sweet potato pancake

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

I think the experoemce was decent overal ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

I think the experoemce was decent overall. The food was good but nothing spectacular.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.