About Indaco

526 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Genuine Italian flavors fill an airy, modern space accented by lime-wash, white brick, blonde butcher block and silver lighting pendants. An antique pizza peel dating to the 1850s hangs on the wall, portraying Indaco’s dedication to authenticity. The restaurant boasts a craft cocktail program featuring Italian classics such as the Negroni and amaro on tap and housemade Italian sodas. This concept introduces traditional Italian eating to Upper King’s booming, fine-dining scene. A 2,900 square foot restaurant, Indaco offers 100 seats inclusive of the bar and patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - WEDNESDAY: 5 TO 10 PM
THURSDAY - SATURDAY: 5 PM to 11 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1228

Website:
http://indacocharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking
Street Parking on King

Executive Chef:
Michael Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Indaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
South Carolina
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (100)
good for groups (56)
neighborhood gem (56)
See All
special occasion (53)
hot spot (50)
romantic (42)
notable wine list (39)
vibrant bar scene (27)
great for outdoor dining (18)
great for brunch (13)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (6)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
499 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Great restaurant to share courses. Love ...

vip
Dined a day ago

Great restaurant to share courses. Love their wine selection.

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious and creative food items! Can't ...

Dined 4 days ago

Delicious and creative food items! Can't wait to come back again soon!

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Good but not great

Dined 4 days ago

The ambiance was fantastic, great location on King Street. They have a nice covered patio area as well. The appetizers were fantastic, lamb belly was the best I have ever had. We really enjoyed the prosciutto and cheese platter. The pasta dishes were underwhelming. The service was ok. Our waiter would take a long time after we placed orders, didn't really follow up to make sure we were well taken care of.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

So so

Dined on May 23, 2016

Food was good but atmosphere was much to be desired.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Indaco.

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was my second time and I would absolutely go back. The first was for dinner the second for brunch, perfect for either occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I have been to this resta ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I have been to this restaurant several times and have never once been disappointed. It's amazing food with an even better vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian in Charleston

Dined on May 21, 2016

I take my family and friends to Incadco every time I get the opportunity. The food is amazing the service is unparalleled and the chefs menu is to die for. One of the really cool options is to choose there family style meal where you don't have to think about what you want the chef chooses for you and brings you a carefully curated 3 course meal for $45. If you are in the area I would highly recommend trying this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolute Incredible ! The staff was soo ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Absolute Incredible ! The staff was soooo good , from Emily , to Jeremy to Jay , The Best ! Oh , by the way , the food is Excellent ! Better than Obstinate Daughter , hahaha !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

2nd time at Indaco and once again did no ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

2nd time at Indaco and once again did not disappoint. Service was prompt, professional, and courteous - attentive but not overbearing, pleasant and genuine. Food was terrific… looking forward to next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious as always and our wai ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was delicious as always and our waiter, Trevor, was terrific!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Third time excellent pasta a lot of va ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Third time excellent pasta a lot of variety menu always changing waiter very informative knowledgeable regarding Italian wines. Only negative was slow service and inatention to some of our needs Overall very good experience highly recommended. Good for groups

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This is the 5th time I have been to the ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This is the 5th time I have been to the restaurant and each time I have come away disappointed with the standard of the food. I love Italian food, but one word sums up Indaco - inconsistent. Either the apps are great and the main course bad or vice versa. I love the vibe, the interior and the bar, but the food is simply not that great.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Overall, I was disappointed. Each time ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Overall, I was disappointed. Each time I have come the food has been worse. I ordered the vegetable plate and it was a small portion of hummus with mostly carrots. There are less food choices, smaller portions and it is more expensive each time. I won't be returning. On the other hand, the wait staff was exemplary.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and excellent service. R ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Really enjoyed the entire evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great staff

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance. The pizza is the best

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and service!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always pleased!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Always pleased with the food, service, and atmosphere of Indaco! One of my favorites--I always put this restaurant on my list of Charleston recommendations. Menu never gets old as seasonal items come and go. I've never been disappointed by a pizza or pasta dish here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The best service I have experienced in a ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The best service I have experienced in a very long time. Griffin was our waiter and he took so much time with us, telling us about the Italian food and wines we were unfamiliar with. The food and atmosphere was great too! I loved this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

This place appears modest, but the food ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

This place appears modest, but the food is surprisingly good! Pizzas and pastas were remarkable, drinks very well-made, and the two vegan guests in our party were happily and capably accommodated.

food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Good food but...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food was bordering on excellent. Entree and both apps were great. My business associate who was a local agreed. Ambience was loud and noisy, hot and humid. Our servers seemed to think the HVAC was not working. I was uncomfortably hot and it was a major distraction. If they get the air conditioning fixed this place would be great.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Place is Special

Dined on April 26, 2016

Put this one on your list. Homemade pasta and wood fired pizza are spectacular. The charcuterie plate was amazing. This place is definitely on the "return" list. Don't forget to order a Negroni - probably the best in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant suprise!!!!

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

We visited Indaco for the first time last week and were really impressed with the food and especially with our server Griffin. He was as informative and helpful as any server we have encountered in our many years of dining. Everything he suggested was exactly as promised and the food was excellent. It has now hit my wife's top three in Charleston list and that is quite an accomplishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful experience...excellent food ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

A wonderful experience...excellent food - start to finish; attentive and well trained staff. We'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was incredibly well seasoned. ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Everything was incredibly well seasoned. Cocktails had several unique and delicious components. The burrata we started with was complex and refreshing, the pickled strawberries really shined. The tagliatelle, which is apparently a consistent part of the menu, was a delicious take on a carbonara. The farfalle we had was incredibly well balanced with pickled acidic mushrooms against a background of rich vegetal pasta. The dessert was about the only place there could be any complaints, as the budino was a little more a mousse than a pudding, and was served in a less than generous portion. Left very satisfied, with a desire to come back and try several other things on the menu.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice Italian.

Dined on April 17, 2016

A very authentic tasting pasta, close to a carbanara recipe. And a nice variety of dishes to try. The wine list is adequate, though not deep, with offerings by the glass being even more limited. The quality of the good was actually very good. Service was prompt. I would definately go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Dinner

Dined on April 17, 2016

I've been there before and really looked forward to eating there the other night. But, service was bad and the food was not what it normally is. I really hope this doesn't become a trend for their sake.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Loved it

Dined on April 15, 2016

Came here after some search along with my wife for our babymoon. A tiny bit pricey and the wait was somewhat long (friday and saturday 30min wait each arrived at 10am). But aside from that everything was great. Especially loved the sweet potato pancake

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

I think the experoemce was decent overal ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

I think the experoemce was decent overall. The food was good but nothing spectacular.

food5
ambience5
service5

For my first time in Charleston I took m ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

For my first time in Charleston I took my coworker's advice and dined at Indaco. The food was delicious. I ordered their dish that resembles a pasta carbonara (can't remember the actual name) and it was delicious. The homemade pasta makes all the difference and I would definitely recommend it. My fiancé ordered a sausage pizza topped with greens and he loved it. Meatball appetizer was delicious and a hefty serving. In our opinion, cocktails were just mediocre. I had a couple sips then switched to a lovely Sauvignon Blanc. We then received sweet limoncello shots to help celebrate our engagement! Dinner was lovely would definitely recommend this restaurant.

food4
ambience5
service5

I did a decent amount of research of whe ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I did a decent amount of research of where to eat prior to our trip to SoCar. We were only there for 3 evenings so I had to choose wisely. I am more than pleased with my decision to go to Indaco. I have no complaints to provide. The ambiance was current and appealing. The waitstaff was all beyond helpful, approachable and knowledgable. They kind of operate with a team serving approach, which I really liked as you truly never felt in need of anything. Your wine glass was never more than 1/4 empty. The food was also delicious. I happened to like the meal I ordered least, I believed it to be slightly bland/under seasoned. However, everyone else's meals, including the apps, were outstanding. The crowd was varied in age group: we were a (rowdy) group of 4, 30-somethings but there was also families, a large group of males (Bach party?), pretty much everything. We had asked one of our servers for a recommendation of where to go after and not only did he provide a response, he wrote them all down, in a progressive order and with a description of each. So. I had a lovely experience and would highly recommend to anyone who asks.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

It's ok. There are better restaurants s ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

It's ok. There are better restaurants serving similar fare in town with a better value.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is great. Our server was fantas ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

The food is great. Our server was fantastic. The manager came by to check in us, but the staff was not pushy or over involved.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great service. Server had great suggesti ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Great service. Server had great suggestions! Pickled shrimp appetizer and sausage pizza we great!

food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic meal. Wonderful flavored.

Dined on April 5, 2016

Fantastic meal. Wonderful flavored.

food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff and bartenders were some ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

The wait staff and bartenders were some of the friendliest and most knowledgeable I have experienced. My wife and I had the ham and pea pizza. Excellent.

food4
ambience3
service4

Unique Italian cuisine, very well prepar ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Unique Italian cuisine, very well prepared and taste

food5
ambience5
service5

This was my 3rd time eating at Indaco an ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

This was my 3rd time eating at Indaco and I might say just as enjoyable as the 1st two times. If you haven't gone, I suggest you call and get yourself some reservations. Everything is always on point!!!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great feel. service excellent. Very goo ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Great feel. service excellent. Very good food, especially the pizza. Recommended highly.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Truly delicious brunch. Atmosphere is a ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Truly delicious brunch. Atmosphere is a bit rambunctious but we loved it and will definitely go again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food!

Dined on March 27, 2016

My family and I went for Easter brunch and the food was incredible! Every dish was unique and delicious. Cant wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.