About Indaco

526 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Genuine Italian flavors fill an airy, modern space accented by lime-wash, white brick, blonde butcher block and silver lighting pendants. An antique pizza peel dating to the 1850s hangs on the wall, portraying Indaco’s dedication to authenticity. The restaurant boasts a craft cocktail program featuring Italian classics such as the Negroni and amaro on tap and housemade Italian sodas. This concept introduces traditional Italian eating to Upper King’s booming, fine-dining scene. A 2,900 square foot restaurant, Indaco offers 100 seats inclusive of the bar and patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - WEDNESDAY: 5 TO 10 PM
THURSDAY - SATURDAY: 5 PM to 11 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1228

Website:
http://indacocharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking
Street Parking on King

Executive Chef:
Michael Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Indaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Fun (24)
See All
Wood Oven (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Authentic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Casual (16)
Romantic (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Family Style (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great Beer (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Historic (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went during restaurant Week. Friday nig ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Went during restaurant Week. Friday night very busy at the bar and very loud.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was absolutely superb as was ou ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was absolutely superb as was our server Daniella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant week deal! Food is al ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome restaurant week deal! Food is always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner, everyone in our party ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent dinner, everyone in our party of four thoroughly enjoyed their food. Great balance of textures and bright fresh notes. Strong wine list, almond boudin was a great ending to the meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Indaco! Excellent food, great serv ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love Indaco! Excellent food, great service and a warm and very welcoming atmosphere!

The Burrata, The Ricotta Toast, The Black Papardelle with the Egg were all different and well prepared and presented! Our Waiter, Nate, was awesome and very patient and accommodating!

Can't wait to return!

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was AMAZING! New twists on Ital ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was AMAZING! New twists on Italian classics. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Authentic, , Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went in for restaurant week and because ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went in for restaurant week and because the server neglected to explain how they do it there, our bill was double what we intended to pay. Great food but our server was kind of a jerk about the whole situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Went for restaurant week to try Indaco f ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Went for restaurant week to try Indaco for the first time.. Our food was absolutely delicious!! But our service was not great as we felt rushed almost the entire time...

The beginning was all fine and dandy but during our appetizer course (that we were thoroughly enjoying), our server essentially told us we shouldn't eat the remaining of our appetizer because we had "a lot of food coming." So fine, we agreed to let him box it, so he took the remaining food and then immediately took mine & my friends plate not even giving her a chance to tell him she still wanted her last few bites. Again, whatever, fine.. "We have a lot of food coming." Because he took it away, we thought we were about to receive our meal. But it didn't even come for about another 5-10 minutes (so what was his rush?). After our meal was over, we got another round of drinks to have with dessert. As both were put down on our table and before we even took a bite/sip, he put our check down.... We both just sat there very awkwardly and confused.. Then as we were eating our desert, he tried to take the check away twice (rushing us even more) when we hadn't even put any form of payment yet.

I totally would've understood it more if they were just about to close or if there were no empty tables and a line at the door for a wait, but none of those were the case...

All in all the food is great and I will definitely be back, just hoping for a better more relaxed experience next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Tried Indaco for the first time last nig ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Tried Indaco for the first time last night, and now I have spent the day asking myself why we haven't been there before. will not have that regret again, will add it to the "got to go back" list.

ps. we were lucking enough to be there for Restaurant Week specials, I have been to several restaurants for RWeek, but the value that Indaco offers is over the top, hands down the best value in town for me. add it to your list for this week, before they catch on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was amazing! We loved everything. Se ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

It was amazing! We loved everything. Server was attentive; but not overly so. Food was creative and delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service! Trevor, ou ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great food and great service! Trevor, our server was fantastic as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time! Indaco never disapp ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a great time! Indaco never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a decent place. Upon arrival we ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall a decent place.

Upon arrival we were seated on high top tables between the restaurant tables and the bar: it was a very confined space with people around the bar area constantly pushing against our chairs, which was very uncomfortable. This also contributed to the restaurant being WARM. Very WARM. I took off my sportscoat, and even though I only wore a long-sleeved collar shirt I was feeling unseasonably hot.

On the positive side the food was lovely - simple yet sufficient. Pizzas are definitely to share as they are rather large. Decent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We had read good reviews so decided to c ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had read good reviews so decided to check it out during Restaurant Week. The staff was so attentive and amazing. The food was fabulous..the value during restaurant week was amazing! You order off their regular menu...same portion sizes, same menu. The bartender had given us great advice that a table of 4 should order 3 apps and one pizza for our first course and then each order a different 2nd course and share. We ended up ordering 2 pizzas and 2 apps. So much food! So good! We were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful everything was. Ended up taking food home, we were so full. The pizzas are fabulous. Loved the sausage pizza and the Brussels sprouts pizza. Pastas was amazing. We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Standing service and attention to detail ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Standing service and attention to detail made my wife's birthday and a wonderful occasion

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went with 4 friends and shared four appe ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Went with 4 friends and shared four appetizers and entrees so we could taste everything. Loved all the food and the service was excellent. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding pizza. Great service and des ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Outstanding pizza. Great service and dessert was really good. I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Happy Hour ( seating at the bar ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Went for Happy Hour ( seating at the bar only ) and had draft beer and wood fired oven pizza. Terrific! One of the best bargains in the city.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

8 of us enjoyed the tasting menu on NYE. ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

8 of us enjoyed the tasting menu on NYE. Amazing value- food was incredible and the tasting menu allows you to try almost everything and a very reasonable price. They were very accommodating to our party as our size changed. Emeline at the hostess stand was a doll!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food. Great atmosphere. This pla ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere. This place is a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & service is top shelf! Great place ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food & service is top shelf! Great place that I will continue to frequent in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After a short wait due to the fact that ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

After a short wait due to the fact that we were offered a high table, we were seated and it was fabulous from there on. Due to the sitting delay, we were presented with a butternut squash and pulled pork dish that was delicious. Truly great experience.

Tags: Wood Oven, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere. Service was ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Service was ok. Would definitely go back when in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

An excellent dining experience. There is ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

An excellent dining experience. There is no need to play music as nobody is listening to it and it is disturbing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The octopus was burnt, and the waiter hi ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

The octopus was burnt, and the waiter highly recommended it...I could barely stand to eat it, but wouldn't leave it behind, since it was expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Went for XmasEve dinner. Drinks were gr ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for XmasEve dinner. Drinks were great! Food was delicious. (including Octopus) One of us is a very adventurous diner! Service was well paced. Desserts were outrageously delicious! A great , although a bit pricey dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We ordered the octopus as a starter and ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

We ordered the octopus as a starter and it had a terrible burned taste. We told the waitress and she just shrugged and took it away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Excellent service, food and drinks were ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent service, food and drinks were amazing as usual. Always a downtown favorite when guests are in town!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter Teddy was amazing and very kn ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

The waiter Teddy was amazing and very knowledgeable. Great experience with the chefs table tasting. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my boyfriend here for a birthday ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for a birthday dinner. I called ahead to make arrangements for some sort of birthday surprise. I was told a champagne toast or a dessert could happen. I thought that was great. I gave them my reservation information. Upon arrival, we were seated at a high top. No champagne toast happened, so I thought dessert would. Nope. To boot, my boyfriend had a bone in his ravioli and my pasta was just okay. I was quite disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Absolutely LOVE Indaco. It is one of my ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Absolutely LOVE Indaco. It is one of my favorite places in Charleston. The house made Burrata melts in your mouth. The pizzas always are unique and delicious. We had the apple, prosciutto, ricotta pizza. Taste was perfect for a cold fall night. I can't leave a review without mentioning our server Maggie! She was personable, attentive & knows the menu inside / out. Her wine suggestion was spot on.

Thanks again for a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went to Indaco on our last night in Char ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Went to Indaco on our last night in Charleston and it ended up being my favorite of all the places that we had eaten. The Brussel Sprouts pizza was the best pizza that I have ever had. Such a unique and well thought out combination of flavors. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We desired an informal Italian restauran ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

We desired an informal Italian restaurant with good and innovative food. Indaco fit that description exactly. The pizza was outstanding and the pastas quite unique and tasty. Wine list was all Italian so we needed some guidance from our waiter, who also happened to be a sommelier. On a Friday evening, the noise level was more than energetic but did not bother us at all. Strive for a table along the wall, however, as the high tops in the middle of the room get crowded with a large standing bar crowd often looking over your shoulder.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I ordered the "For the table ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

My wife and I ordered the "For the table" family style option. It was a great decision as we were able to get a little of everything and it was well priced for the volume we received. The pizza is really good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always, top notch service and ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Amazing as always, top notch service and quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I couldn't have enjoyed it more! My girl ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

I couldn't have enjoyed it more! My girlfriend and I loved the half off bottles of wine and our waiter was incredibly informed and very chill. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the traditional Italian that we were ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Not the traditional Italian that we were hoping for. Lots of creative liberty in the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Tables close together and cramped. Food ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Tables close together and cramped. Food overpriced for lack of creativity. I do have to say, the pizza was good! Stick with that!

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

We sampled many items from the starters ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

We sampled many items from the starters and shared 4 main entrees and WOW a complete palate explosion. Will definitely return to experience the pizza

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waiter, Trevor, was friendly and eff ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our waiter, Trevor, was friendly and efficient. The ambience would've been fantastic had we been seated elsewhere. The high-top table wasn't my favorite but I try not to ask for re-seating. There were 3 men talking to two women at the bar that were interrupting our conversation because they were standing literally inches away from us. On the other side, patrons and servers were trying to squeeze by since the bar folks were blocking that access aisle. Perhaps an observant manager would've guided their guest away from our table and the walkway but that didn't happen. Therefore, do not accept seating at a bar high-top. The prosciutto di parma was fantastic. The margarita pizza had many good things going for it but in the end it was much saltier that any I'd had at other restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.