About Indaco

526 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Genuine Italian flavors fill an airy, modern space accented by lime-wash, white brick, blonde butcher block and silver lighting pendants. An antique pizza peel dating to the 1850s hangs on the wall, portraying Indaco’s dedication to authenticity. The restaurant boasts a craft cocktail program featuring Italian classics such as the Negroni and amaro on tap and housemade Italian sodas. This concept introduces traditional Italian eating to Upper King’s booming, fine-dining scene. A 2,900 square foot restaurant, Indaco offers 100 seats inclusive of the bar and patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - WEDNESDAY: 5 TO 10 PM
THURSDAY - SATURDAY: 5 PM to 11 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1228

Website:
http://indacocharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking
Street Parking on King

Executive Chef:
Michael Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Indaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (83)
special occasion (58)
neighborhood gem (57)
See All
good for groups (52)
hot spot (45)
romantic (36)
notable wine list (34)
great for outdoor dining (25)
vibrant bar scene (20)
great for brunch (12)
great for lunch (10)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
527 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

a gret place great food great service ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

a gret place great food great service great bar

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience at Indaco. The food was ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great experience at Indaco. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful! Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm Italian American, I cook, I love foo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I'm Italian American, I cook, I love food and I'm usually disappointed when I dine out. Not at Indaco. Our daughter was with us too, she works in the culinary industry and hates most everything she eats, except the meal we had at Indaco. Compliments to the chefs and crew for an all around perfect experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Griffen was fabulous as always…we've bee ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Griffen was fabulous as always…we've been to Indaco several times and we are never disappointed. Always easy to get reservations even last minute and it's our go-to place when we just want some really yummy food!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super knowledgeable server and amazing s ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Super knowledgeable server and amazing service. Ask for recommendations on the menu - will not let you down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We brought friends from out of town who ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We brought friends from out of town who have sophisticated palates and wine expectations. They were completely impressed with the food, service and wine. Indaco has become our favorite restaurant to treat ourselves or our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Indaco is an excellent restaurant. The o ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Indaco is an excellent restaurant. The one draw back I find that lessens the dining experience is the noise level inside. The music needs to be low; since the louder the music, the louder patrons talk. Also, there is nothing to absorb the sound as it bounces of the ceiling. The food and service are topnotch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good Food, nice atmosphere, my pasta dis ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Good Food, nice atmosphere, my pasta dish was excellent. White wine Kerna was very good. Red Amarone was disappointing. Will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Indaco was amazing. Our waitress was ve ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Indaco was amazing. Our waitress was very helpful and recommended a pasta dish. We ordered a salad that was delicious. The pasta dish was a pasta bolognese with lamb. It was one of the best things I have ever tasted. We also ordered a margarita pizza that was very tasty. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the worst dinner for the price ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was the worst dinner for the price we have had in Charleston. You can get much better food at a better price point anywhere else on King Street. Also the air conditioning died and it was WAY too hot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Attractive restaurant with a modern, ind ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Attractive restaurant with a modern, industrial look. Good wine list, delicious pizza and salad. Tonnarelli pasta dish was melt-in-your mouth incredible. Espresso torte dessert and coffee were also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Indaco is an lively Italian restaurant w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Indaco is an lively Italian restaurant with a cool vibe (on a very energetic street). Lots of amazing-looking options on the menu. The table was split on their main courses. I thought the coco nip pappardelle was delicious, and another guest greatly enjoyed the black pepper tagliatelle. Two guests had the pork, and one found it good while the other thought it lacked flavor (he really liked my dish, though). We would definitely come back (I could eat the pappardelle daily, I think).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a great find! We were first ti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This was a great find! We were first timers in Charleston. When we asked local shop keepers for dinner suggestions, this place brought much praise. We liked the trendy ambiance and good people watching. The maitre D was SO friendly and helpful with the menu. Nice variety of wines by the glass. Every plate of food walking by was beautiful and plentiful. I thought the prices were excellent, except for the steak, which was out of line with the rest of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a special occasion-I was finish ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This was a special occasion-I was finishing nine weeks of radiation therapy. My wife and I can't speak more highlight of what we enjoyed. She had the lamb belly and I had the octopus to start off with. We shared a margarita pizza.

We arrived early and sat at the bar. The bartender was not only professional he was proficient and engaging. My wife had a dirty martini and I had Johnny Walker Black label.

The winds with our dinner or just excellent and well matched.

The way the octopus was prepared and cooked us over the top. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the lamb belly. The crust of the pizza was superb. We will definitely return.

Congratulations, the restaurant is excellent. Kathy and Wendell Gray

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great sweet corn pizza! Best crust ever! ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great sweet corn pizza! Best crust ever! Unique place with awesome food and service. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eric was great. Food was fabulous. Drink ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Eric was great. Food was fabulous. Drinks excellent.

A wonderful fine dining experience! Thank you Indaco staff and management!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot on Upper King with a really g ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great spot on Upper King with a really great blend of terrific food, vibrant and energetic atmosphere, polished service and reasonable prices (the pastas, despite their hand madeness and farm-to-tableness are each priced too high). We were seated within minutes of our reservation time, our server was knowledgeable and every dish was exactly as billed and described. I would go back here tomorrow if I could.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Indaco has an interesting menu and every ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Indaco has an interesting menu and everything we ordered was wonderful. Great place for friends to meet and enjoy a evening filled with good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was the second time for us dining ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the second time for us dining at Indaco, and our experience this time was just okay. We were celebrating Father's Day and my husband's entree for the price was ok at best. It had no flavor at all and for the $28 price was simply not good. The only reason we did not complain was because we were celebrating and the appetizers were great and consistent with our first visit a few weeks ago!

We could have eaten at a number of our favorite Charleston restaurants and had a better entrees at a better prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We frequent Indaco about as often as any ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We frequent Indaco about as often as any Charleston restaurant, because we find the food very approachable and enjoyable, the servers gracious and vivacious and the patrons interesting. On this particular night everything did not go well. After sharing a salad, there was an extremely long delay having our entree pizzas served. Our server checked back with us as did someone from the kitchen to assure us that our entrees would be right out. The delay continued, but finally we were served and shortly afterward the chef came out to apologize for initially "messing up" our original entrees. Over our protestations, the restaurant comped our entire meal. While we greatly appreciated this gesture, the kitchen should have informed us much earlier about the problem. We realize that things happen, so in that case we would have enjoyed another drink and continued to enjoy our evening - we were in no hurry, and Things Happen. As it was, we kept wondering if we should continue waiting or just leave and catch something somewhere else. The pizzas were delicious and we certainly appreciated the magnanimity of the chef. Thus the 4-star rating.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

With so many choices in Charleston, we h ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

With so many choices in Charleston, we hadn't dined at Indaco in quite some time. We were entertaining out-of-town friends and had looked forward to a nice meal. Generally, I'd have to say we were disappointed with the very limited menu. Salads seemed bland and over-priced. My husband's sausage pizza was quite a mess with poorly prepared veggie toppings and under-cooked center. I didn't like the beer that the waiter suggested but he never came back to see what I thought even though it was barely touched. Limited selection of seafood and wine for that matter both of which were on the pricey side. Service was just okay. We so wanted to impress our friends but left underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We both loved our dinner. My husband had ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We both loved our dinner. My husband had the octopus and it was the best he ever had. Our server Nate really knew the menu and selected the perfect wine to accompany our dinner. He was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was simple but excellent. The b ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was simple but excellent. The branzino fish was served whole, and was quite unique. The homemade pasta was outstanding, although the portions were smaller than expected and would require an appetizer to be satisfied. The place can get noisy and crowded but was lively, as was the service. Would recommend going early before the crowds.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Hoped for more

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I've been to Indaco before and enjoyed it, and found the food to be very good. On this trip which was for an anniversary -- we left very disappointed. Server seemed as if he wanted to be anywhere else but there and not very attentive at all. Drinks were very slow to come, and the food was mediocre at best. That includes the recommended appetizer, and both our entrees. Maybe we just hit an off night, but very sorry we chose them considering all the options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Food was delicious and service absolutel ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was delicious and service absolutely impeccable! Great restaurant, I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Indaco - Bar is the focus and not the food

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

We picked this restaurant because of the reviews. We were greeted by a hostess with "attitude". We were a few minutes late because of lost keys and I had called and told her. At more upscale restaurants, the hostesses were lovely and hospitable. Needless to say, she wanted to give us the hottest table in the back. After waiting another 15 minutes, we were seated somewhere near a fan. Nothing appealed for summer on the cocktail menu. Dinner was a very salty pizza and an non descript pasta with saffron, mint, crabmeat and lemon. Ingredients that might go together but ended up being a very bland kids dish from Macaroni Grill. The waiter did remove it from the menu. We skipped dessert which also didn't appeal. It seems to be a place where the bar is the focus and not the food.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent Italian !

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Loved Indaco. Menu was so good that it made decisions tough. Branzino was a stand-out, as was the duck pasta. Creative drink menu (excellent Moscow Mule adaptation called "Namaste here and drink" and delicious valpolicella by the glass). Romantic atmosphere and valet parking was a nice surprise. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant to share courses. Love ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great restaurant to share courses. Love their wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious and creative food items! Can't ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Delicious and creative food items! Can't wait to come back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good but not great

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The ambiance was fantastic, great location on King Street. They have a nice covered patio area as well. The appetizers were fantastic, lamb belly was the best I have ever had. We really enjoyed the prosciutto and cheese platter. The pasta dishes were underwhelming. The service was ok. Our waiter would take a long time after we placed orders, didn't really follow up to make sure we were well taken care of.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

So so

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Food was good but atmosphere was much to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Love Indaco.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This was my second time and I would absolutely go back. The first was for dinner the second for brunch, perfect for either occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been to this resta ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I have been to this restaurant several times and have never once been disappointed. It's amazing food with an even better vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Italian in Charleston

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I take my family and friends to Incadco every time I get the opportunity. The food is amazing the service is unparalleled and the chefs menu is to die for. One of the really cool options is to choose there family style meal where you don't have to think about what you want the chef chooses for you and brings you a carefully curated 3 course meal for $45. If you are in the area I would highly recommend trying this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolute Incredible ! The staff was soo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Absolute Incredible !

The staff was soooo good , from Emily , to Jeremy to Jay , The Best !

Oh , by the way , the food is Excellent !

Better than Obstinate Daughter , hahaha !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time at Indaco and once again did no ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

2nd time at Indaco and once again did not disappoint. Service was prompt, professional, and courteous - attentive but not overbearing, pleasant and genuine. Food was terrific… looking forward to next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious as always and our wai ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was delicious as always and our waiter, Trevor, was terrific!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time excellent pasta a lot of va ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Third time excellent pasta a lot of variety menu always changing waiter very informative knowledgeable regarding Italian wines. Only negative was slow service and inatention to some of our needs Overall very good experience highly recommended. Good for groups

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

This is the 5th time I have been to the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This is the 5th time I have been to the restaurant and each time I have come away disappointed with the standard of the food. I love Italian food, but one word sums up Indaco - inconsistent. Either the apps are great and the main course bad or vice versa. I love the vibe, the interior and the bar, but the food is simply not that great.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Overall, I was disappointed. Each time ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Overall, I was disappointed. Each time I have come the food has been worse. I ordered the vegetable plate and it was a small portion of hummus with mostly carrots. There are less food choices, smaller portions and it is more expensive each time. I won't be returning.

On the other hand, the wait staff was exemplary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.