About Indaco

526 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Genuine Italian flavors fill an airy, modern space accented by lime-wash, white brick, blonde butcher block and silver lighting pendants. An antique pizza peel dating to the 1850s hangs on the wall, portraying Indaco’s dedication to authenticity. The restaurant boasts a craft cocktail program featuring Italian classics such as the Negroni and amaro on tap and housemade Italian sodas. This concept introduces traditional Italian eating to Upper King’s booming, fine-dining scene. A 2,900 square foot restaurant, Indaco offers 100 seats inclusive of the bar and patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - WEDNESDAY: 5 TO 10 PM
THURSDAY - SATURDAY: 5 PM to 11 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 727-1228

Website:
http://indacocharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking
Street Parking on King

Executive Chef:
Michael Perez

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Indaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (73)
Special Occasion (56)
Good for Groups (48)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Hot Spot (46)
Romantic (39)
Notable Wine List (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Great for Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (4)
Sort By:
Newest
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The pizza and pasta was absolutely delis ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

The pizza and pasta was absolutely delish, very upscale and tasty with unique flavors! The ambiance of the restaurant was super cool too, highly recommend this place to anyone looking for quality food in a cool, energetic restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trevor was the best! Food excellent! Ev ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Trevor was the best!

Food excellent!

Everything was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Staff was happy to l ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was excellent. Staff was happy to let us take our time with ordering while we chatted. Manager was very informed on pasta dishes. Server wasn't very familiar with wine list, but she managed through it well enough for our limited knowledge as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Second time at Indaco. First visit was w ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Second time at Indaco. First visit was with five people and we had chef's recommended three course dinner. Second time was with three people and we shared a couple of apps, then each ordered a larger dish. Indaco is all about sharing. Don't go thinking about a traditional "entree"-driven meal experience. The restaurant is best enjoyed by sharing a variety of small and large plates. Service is professional and unhurried, ambience is casual and friendly. I highly recommend the chef's selection - and I think the restaurant is ideally suited for four or more in a party. I will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as always

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fantastic as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I visited with my teenage children. We o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I visited with my teenage children. We ordered two pizzas to eat in restaurant and one as carry out for my wife.

We ordered the sausage and the margarita pizzas. The sausage was not your ordinary sausage. The pizza had very good quality sausage. The peporcini peppers made the pizza and gave it a nice zing. Crust was very good and pizza was topped with uncooked arugula. Awesome pizza. My daughter said the margarita pizza was the best version she has ever had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, however I wished they served ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food, however I wished they served bread like most Italian places. Their lamb pasta was fantastic, but a bit overpriced for the portion size. The pizzas, however, are great and a good deal.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Meh. It was just ok. Much better itali ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Meh. It was just ok. Much better italian at other places nearby on the peninsula. We split an lamb dish and a pizza. The lamb was good, the pizza needed work. The on tap gin and tonic was too bitter. Wine selection was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

On the plus side: Indaco serves up far b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

On the plus side: Indaco serves up far better-than-average Italian fare, especially its crunchy-chewy pizzas and pastas. And it's so trendy and filled with beautiful people that you might be tempted to imagine you are trendy and beautiful too. On the downside, there's nothing really special about Indaco, either. The atmosphere is reminiscent of a cafeteria with wood accents. Service is fast and perfunctory. The by-the-glass wine offerings are just so-so, and our waitress wasn't much help in navigating them beyond her memorized talking points. While we were there, a large party was enjoying themselves at the long elevated table at the center of the restaurant. I thought: if I came here again, I'd come with a big group and take that table. And I'd probably have a wonderful time. But if I wanted to concentrate on the food and the ambience and the wine, I'd go somewhere else.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Loved it. Nice and fresh modern industri ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Loved it. Nice and fresh modern industrial interior, comfortable seating - even the high stools at the bar tables - great wine list and delicious food. Creative dishes. The waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter very helpful. Wife was trying to ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Waiter very helpful. Wife was trying to remain gluten free and accomplished this with some great variations while I had some traditional foods.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Indaco's food was nothing short of amazi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Indaco's food was nothing short of amazing and the service we received was absolutely outstanding! I took my best friend for her birthday and they made it incredibly special and overall a wonderful experience. We will definitely be returning with more friends!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Indaco is always delicious, but this din ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Indaco is always delicious, but this dining experience was extra great because of the service. We had to wait for 20 minutes for our table as the previous diners were not in any hurry to get up. The staff was very apologetic, and upon finally arriving at our table the manager offered us complimentary cocktails. That was awesome! Then, during our appetizer course, they also sent out an order of meatballs (which were incredible). Although it was not their fault that we had to wait so long for our table, the staff certainly tried to make up for it and we greatly appreciated it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the ribeye . Noting the $52 cos ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Ordered the ribeye . Noting the $52 cost, (and the most expensive item), I asked about the tenderness of the cut of meat. I always eat filet, and was reassured that this would be excellent quality. The meal comes on a large butcher block on top of onions, jalapeños, and tomatoes. The large bone from the ribeye in on the block, and the meat has been sliced and arranged on top of the vegetables. I ordered mine "medium plus", expecting it not to be charred on outside, but pink and fully cooked on inside. The first time it was brought to me, I sent it back to be cooked further, as the meat slices had red, uncooked centers. Our waitress kindly took it back. When it was returned, it was still somewhat red in the center. The meat was so tough and full of fat, and I must say, did not have any flavor to it. I know it was a ribeye, so I took my chances, but the amount of fat was unappetizing and difficult to chew. I am shocked that this meal cost $52.....it does come with a wonderful twice-baked cheesy potato, which basically was my meal. I could have gone to Halls Chophouse and had a fabulous 8oz. filet for that price. We will not go back.....although, the others at the table had pasta dishes that they thoroughly enjoyed. Interestingly, my friend said she had reservations to go there on a recent visit to Charleston, and heard from others that the food was not that good and overpriced. They cancelled their reservation....they were smart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Delicious food and great service

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent meal again with super service, ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

excellent meal again with super service, love the valet parking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We particularly like the chef's menu. T ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We particularly like the chef's menu. That way we don't have to order and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Italian with a new twist...delicious fla ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Italian with a new twist...delicious flavors. The best route is to share!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening! We selected the chefs ch ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great evening! We selected the chefs choice dining option and it was fantastic. Food was delicious, timing of items was perfect and our server was very knowledgable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have enjoyed Indaco in the past becaus ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I have enjoyed Indaco in the past because it is in my business neighborhood and the Manhattans were great and the food was consistently good. My last few visits have been disappointing. The four of us were going to be seated on the banquette in the window but because the restaurant was fairly empty we asked for a table out of the sun and away from the front door. The host grudgingly let us move and unhappily explained she was trying to seat early diners on the banquette so she could get the table cleared for a party of 16 coming in. The food and general vibe of the restaurant have declined. For example: what was once great burrata is now a poor consistency burrata served on a messy plate with melon very few tomatoes and a couple of soft pita slices . The octopus appetizer was really disappointing with the soffritto overwhelming the small bit of octopus on the bottom. The cavolfiore was mostly cauliflower and had too much vinegar. The pizzas we ordered were okay but not what they once they once were. The Tonnarelli with crab was probably the best dish at the table that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

a gret place great food great service ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

a gret place great food great service great bar

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience at Indaco. The food was ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great experience at Indaco. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful! Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm Italian American, I cook, I love foo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I'm Italian American, I cook, I love food and I'm usually disappointed when I dine out. Not at Indaco. Our daughter was with us too, she works in the culinary industry and hates most everything she eats, except the meal we had at Indaco. Compliments to the chefs and crew for an all around perfect experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Griffen was fabulous as always…we've bee ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Griffen was fabulous as always…we've been to Indaco several times and we are never disappointed. Always easy to get reservations even last minute and it's our go-to place when we just want some really yummy food!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super knowledgeable server and amazing s ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Super knowledgeable server and amazing service. Ask for recommendations on the menu - will not let you down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

I liked the inside of the restaurant and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I liked the inside of the restaurant and how it was set up. I am not an Italian food junkie by any means, so I wasn't as familiar with some of the names and terminology they used on the menu. I ended up getting the ravioli, which I HIGHLY recommend. Maybe they could "dumb down" the menu descriptions so typical patrons can understand what they're ordering. It wasn't anything special, but I'd come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We brought friends from out of town who ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We brought friends from out of town who have sophisticated palates and wine expectations. They were completely impressed with the food, service and wine. Indaco has become our favorite restaurant to treat ourselves or our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Indaco is an excellent restaurant. The o ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Indaco is an excellent restaurant. The one draw back I find that lessens the dining experience is the noise level inside. The music needs to be low; since the louder the music, the louder patrons talk. Also, there is nothing to absorb the sound as it bounces of the ceiling. The food and service are topnotch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good Food, nice atmosphere, my pasta dis ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Good Food, nice atmosphere, my pasta dish was excellent. White wine Kerna was very good. Red Amarone was disappointing. Will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Indaco was amazing. Our waitress was ve ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Indaco was amazing. Our waitress was very helpful and recommended a pasta dish. We ordered a salad that was delicious. The pasta dish was a pasta bolognese with lamb. It was one of the best things I have ever tasted. We also ordered a margarita pizza that was very tasty. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best places in Charleston to ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

One of the best places in Charleston to eat. Delicious starters and tasty pastas. If you are looking for a lovely evening with great food I highly recommend Indaco. The servers are all lovely too.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was the worst dinner for the price ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was the worst dinner for the price we have had in Charleston. You can get much better food at a better price point anywhere else on King Street. Also the air conditioning died and it was WAY too hot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Attractive restaurant with a modern, ind ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Attractive restaurant with a modern, industrial look. Good wine list, delicious pizza and salad. Tonnarelli pasta dish was melt-in-your mouth incredible. Espresso torte dessert and coffee were also excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Indaco is an lively Italian restaurant w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Indaco is an lively Italian restaurant with a cool vibe (on a very energetic street). Lots of amazing-looking options on the menu. The table was split on their main courses. I thought the coco nip pappardelle was delicious, and another guest greatly enjoyed the black pepper tagliatelle. Two guests had the pork, and one found it good while the other thought it lacked flavor (he really liked my dish, though). We would definitely come back (I could eat the pappardelle daily, I think).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a great find! We were first ti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This was a great find! We were first timers in Charleston. When we asked local shop keepers for dinner suggestions, this place brought much praise. We liked the trendy ambiance and good people watching. The maitre D was SO friendly and helpful with the menu. Nice variety of wines by the glass. Every plate of food walking by was beautiful and plentiful. I thought the prices were excellent, except for the steak, which was out of line with the rest of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a special occasion-I was finish ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This was a special occasion-I was finishing nine weeks of radiation therapy. My wife and I can't speak more highlight of what we enjoyed. She had the lamb belly and I had the octopus to start off with. We shared a margarita pizza.

We arrived early and sat at the bar. The bartender was not only professional he was proficient and engaging. My wife had a dirty martini and I had Johnny Walker Black label.

The winds with our dinner or just excellent and well matched.

The way the octopus was prepared and cooked us over the top. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the lamb belly. The crust of the pizza was superb. We will definitely return.

Congratulations, the restaurant is excellent. Kathy and Wendell Gray

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great sweet corn pizza! Best crust ever! ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great sweet corn pizza! Best crust ever! Unique place with awesome food and service. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eric was great. Food was fabulous. Drink ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Eric was great. Food was fabulous. Drinks excellent.

A wonderful fine dining experience! Thank you Indaco staff and management!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot on Upper King with a really g ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great spot on Upper King with a really great blend of terrific food, vibrant and energetic atmosphere, polished service and reasonable prices (the pastas, despite their hand madeness and farm-to-tableness are each priced too high). We were seated within minutes of our reservation time, our server was knowledgeable and every dish was exactly as billed and described. I would go back here tomorrow if I could.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Indaco has an interesting menu and every ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Indaco has an interesting menu and everything we ordered was wonderful. Great place for friends to meet and enjoy a evening filled with good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.