About Indaco

526 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Genuine Italian flavors fill an airy, modern space accented by lime-wash, white brick, blonde butcher block and silver lighting pendants. An antique pizza peel dating to the 1850s hangs on the wall, portraying Indaco’s dedication to authenticity. The restaurant boasts a craft cocktail program featuring Italian classics such as the Negroni and amaro on tap and housemade Italian sodas. This concept introduces traditional Italian eating to Upper King’s booming, fine-dining scene. A 2,900 square foot restaurant, Indaco offers 100 seats inclusive of the bar and patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY - WEDNESDAY: 5 TO 10 PM
THURSDAY - SATURDAY: 5 PM to 11 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(843) 872-6828

Website:
http://indacocharleston.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking
Street Parking on King

Executive Chef:
Michael Perez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Indaco Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (71)
Special Occasion (52)
Hot Spot (44)
See All
Good for Groups (41)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Romantic (37)
Notable Wine List (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Fun (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Authentic (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
568 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent waiter who engaged us in conve ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Excellent waiter who engaged us in conversation and provided excellent recommendations for course dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. Our favorite of the weekend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't understand the poor reviews they ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I don't understand the poor reviews they had. We had a wonderful table, amazing server and great food. Menu is extremely creative without being off putting. Italian in style without having "spaghetti and meatballs" on the menu. Our server was a pure professional as was all of the people that came to our table. Our anniversary was enhanced by going here for dinner. Thank you Indaco.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great overall experience. the server was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great overall experience. the server was great he explained everything we asked in great detail. he even answered questions about the town and what to see and do.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Casual, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Everyone at our table finish ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent! Everyone at our table finished every bite!! I recommend the burrata appetizer and don't skip dessert!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu, attentive staff. Good was pr ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great menu, attentive staff. Good was prepared perfeftly. You won't be disappointed. We will absolutely go back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous food experience and ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Absolutely fabulous food experience and great atmosphere. Wine list a little hard to decipher; could use details on each and would be nice if they offered a few wines other than all Italian. We started with a charcuterie tray of prosciutto, regiano parmigiana, peaches and flatbread with a honey drizzle. Refreshing! As main course, Tonnarelli, was our choice. The best homemade pasta we've tasted in quite some time tossed with light cream and mint and topped with lump crab. Add "Indaco" to your Charleston SC "to do".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server, Nate, was very helpful recom ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our server, Nate, was very helpful recommending his favorite dishes which were all stellar. Pickled shrimp were outstanding as well as the tuna We also had the garganielli and for a person who doesn't like lamb it was amazing. The fresh mint and roasted tomatoes were the perfect compliment. Next time, we save room for dessert!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful birthday meal at Indaco. Servi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful birthday meal at Indaco. Service was attentive, atmosphere was great (even early on a Sunday night). Great addition to growing dining scene on Upper King St. Took advantage of fantastic half price wine special to taste a Barolo that ordinarily would only be for special, special occasions. Loved the pickled shrimp appetizer and the goat cheese salad to start.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great! We ordered some diff ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was great! We ordered some different dishes both from the starter, entree and pizza menu and everything tasted so so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service was second to none!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The food and service was second to none!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Indaco proved to be a great Italian gem ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Indaco proved to be a great Italian gem in downtown Charleston. We have a small child and don't get many date nights, but we decided to give Indaco a whirl and it didn't disappoint. Their meatballs were amazing as a starter, the pasta with crab along with the rabbit were incredibly mouthwatering and the dessert pulled everything together. Great wine selection at reasonable prices. Thanks for a wonderful dinner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server and her helper were outstandi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our server and her helper were outstanding. The server was able to describe the dishes perfectly. The polpette were outstanding as was the bursts. Some of the main dishes were not as hot as they should be, but the flavor was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

App. and pasta good. Margarita pizza goo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

App. and pasta good. Margarita pizza good, sausage pizza not so good.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great spot on upper King. Staff friend ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great spot on upper King. Staff friendly and welcoming, great service, food and atmosphere. The cauliflower appetizer was an unexpected and delicious start and the crust on the pizza was divine! Thanks for a great evening...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Crazy great. From Cullen , to Sara (e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Crazy great. From Cullen , to Sara (excellent ), and Liz.. Great food, awesome service,

Great wine recommendations, Perfect night..

Tags: Outstanding Value, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pizza and pasta was absolutely delis ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The pizza and pasta was absolutely delish, very upscale and tasty with unique flavors! The ambiance of the restaurant was super cool too, highly recommend this place to anyone looking for quality food in a cool, energetic restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trevor was the best! Food excellent! Ev ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Trevor was the best!

Food excellent!

Everything was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Staff was happy to l ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was excellent. Staff was happy to let us take our time with ordering while we chatted. Manager was very informed on pasta dishes. Server wasn't very familiar with wine list, but she managed through it well enough for our limited knowledge as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Second time at Indaco. First visit was w ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Second time at Indaco. First visit was with five people and we had chef's recommended three course dinner. Second time was with three people and we shared a couple of apps, then each ordered a larger dish. Indaco is all about sharing. Don't go thinking about a traditional "entree"-driven meal experience. The restaurant is best enjoyed by sharing a variety of small and large plates. Service is professional and unhurried, ambience is casual and friendly. I highly recommend the chef's selection - and I think the restaurant is ideally suited for four or more in a party. I will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic as always

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fantastic as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I visited with my teenage children. We o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I visited with my teenage children. We ordered two pizzas to eat in restaurant and one as carry out for my wife.

We ordered the sausage and the margarita pizzas. The sausage was not your ordinary sausage. The pizza had very good quality sausage. The peporcini peppers made the pizza and gave it a nice zing. Crust was very good and pizza was topped with uncooked arugula. Awesome pizza. My daughter said the margarita pizza was the best version she has ever had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, however I wished they served ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food, however I wished they served bread like most Italian places. Their lamb pasta was fantastic, but a bit overpriced for the portion size. The pizzas, however, are great and a good deal.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Meh. It was just ok. Much better itali ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Meh. It was just ok. Much better italian at other places nearby on the peninsula. We split an lamb dish and a pizza. The lamb was good, the pizza needed work. The on tap gin and tonic was too bitter. Wine selection was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

On the plus side: Indaco serves up far b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

On the plus side: Indaco serves up far better-than-average Italian fare, especially its crunchy-chewy pizzas and pastas. And it's so trendy and filled with beautiful people that you might be tempted to imagine you are trendy and beautiful too. On the downside, there's nothing really special about Indaco, either. The atmosphere is reminiscent of a cafeteria with wood accents. Service is fast and perfunctory. The by-the-glass wine offerings are just so-so, and our waitress wasn't much help in navigating them beyond her memorized talking points. While we were there, a large party was enjoying themselves at the long elevated table at the center of the restaurant. I thought: if I came here again, I'd come with a big group and take that table. And I'd probably have a wonderful time. But if I wanted to concentrate on the food and the ambience and the wine, I'd go somewhere else.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Loved it. Nice and fresh modern industri ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Loved it. Nice and fresh modern industrial interior, comfortable seating - even the high stools at the bar tables - great wine list and delicious food. Creative dishes. The waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter very helpful. Wife was trying to ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Waiter very helpful. Wife was trying to remain gluten free and accomplished this with some great variations while I had some traditional foods.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Indaco's food was nothing short of amazi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Indaco's food was nothing short of amazing and the service we received was absolutely outstanding! I took my best friend for her birthday and they made it incredibly special and overall a wonderful experience. We will definitely be returning with more friends!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Indaco is always delicious, but this din ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Indaco is always delicious, but this dining experience was extra great because of the service. We had to wait for 20 minutes for our table as the previous diners were not in any hurry to get up. The staff was very apologetic, and upon finally arriving at our table the manager offered us complimentary cocktails. That was awesome! Then, during our appetizer course, they also sent out an order of meatballs (which were incredible). Although it was not their fault that we had to wait so long for our table, the staff certainly tried to make up for it and we greatly appreciated it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the ribeye . Noting the $52 cos ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Ordered the ribeye . Noting the $52 cost, (and the most expensive item), I asked about the tenderness of the cut of meat. I always eat filet, and was reassured that this would be excellent quality. The meal comes on a large butcher block on top of onions, jalapeños, and tomatoes. The large bone from the ribeye in on the block, and the meat has been sliced and arranged on top of the vegetables. I ordered mine "medium plus", expecting it not to be charred on outside, but pink and fully cooked on inside. The first time it was brought to me, I sent it back to be cooked further, as the meat slices had red, uncooked centers. Our waitress kindly took it back. When it was returned, it was still somewhat red in the center. The meat was so tough and full of fat, and I must say, did not have any flavor to it. I know it was a ribeye, so I took my chances, but the amount of fat was unappetizing and difficult to chew. I am shocked that this meal cost $52.....it does come with a wonderful twice-baked cheesy potato, which basically was my meal. I could have gone to Halls Chophouse and had a fabulous 8oz. filet for that price. We will not go back.....although, the others at the table had pasta dishes that they thoroughly enjoyed. Interestingly, my friend said she had reservations to go there on a recent visit to Charleston, and heard from others that the food was not that good and overpriced. They cancelled their reservation....they were smart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Delicious food and great service

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent meal again with super service, ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

excellent meal again with super service, love the valet parking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We particularly like the chef's menu. T ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We particularly like the chef's menu. That way we don't have to order and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Italian with a new twist...delicious fla ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Italian with a new twist...delicious flavors. The best route is to share!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening! We selected the chefs ch ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great evening! We selected the chefs choice dining option and it was fantastic. Food was delicious, timing of items was perfect and our server was very knowledgable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have enjoyed Indaco in the past becaus ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I have enjoyed Indaco in the past because it is in my business neighborhood and the Manhattans were great and the food was consistently good. My last few visits have been disappointing. The four of us were going to be seated on the banquette in the window but because the restaurant was fairly empty we asked for a table out of the sun and away from the front door. The host grudgingly let us move and unhappily explained she was trying to seat early diners on the banquette so she could get the table cleared for a party of 16 coming in. The food and general vibe of the restaurant have declined. For example: what was once great burrata is now a poor consistency burrata served on a messy plate with melon very few tomatoes and a couple of soft pita slices . The octopus appetizer was really disappointing with the soffritto overwhelming the small bit of octopus on the bottom. The cavolfiore was mostly cauliflower and had too much vinegar. The pizzas we ordered were okay but not what they once they once were. The Tonnarelli with crab was probably the best dish at the table that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

a gret place great food great service ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

a gret place great food great service great bar

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience at Indaco. The food was ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great experience at Indaco. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful! Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm Italian American, I cook, I love foo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I'm Italian American, I cook, I love food and I'm usually disappointed when I dine out. Not at Indaco. Our daughter was with us too, she works in the culinary industry and hates most everything she eats, except the meal we had at Indaco. Compliments to the chefs and crew for an all around perfect experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Griffen was fabulous as always…we've bee ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Griffen was fabulous as always…we've been to Indaco several times and we are never disappointed. Always easy to get reservations even last minute and it's our go-to place when we just want some really yummy food!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.