Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is permanently closed. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Sarabeth's EastSarabeth's East
(467)
$$$$
American | Upper East Side, Manhattan
Booked 31 times today
FiftyFifty
(63)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Greenwich Village, Manhattan
Booked 30 times today
Avra EstiatorioAvra Estiatorio
(2651)
$$$$
Seafood | Midtown East, Manhattan
Booked 175 times today
Le Midi Bar & RestaurantLe Midi Bar & Restaurant
(279)
$$$$
French | Union Square, Manhattan
Booked 4 times today
Crave Fishbar - MidtownCrave Fishbar - Midtown
(906)
$$$$
Seafood | Midtown East, Manhattan
Booked 61 times today
da Umbertoda Umberto
(375)
$$$$
Italian | Chelsea, Manhattan
Booked 32 times today
Boulton and WattBoulton and Watt
(208)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Booked 20 times today
Tavern on the GreenTavern on the Green
(3819)
$$$$
American | Midtown West, Manhattan
Booked 283 times today
Sea Fire GrillSea Fire Grill
(1066)
$$$$
Seafood | Midtown East, Manhattan
Booked 100 times today
Wine 30Wine 30
(411)
$$$$
American | Murray Hill, Manhattan
Booked 18 times today
DEGREZIA RESTAURANTDEGREZIA RESTAURANT
(518)
$$$$
Italian | Midtown East, Manhattan
Booked 11 times today
Root & BoneRoot & Bone
(331)
$$$$
Southern | East Village, Manhattan
Booked 44 times today
PocoPoco
(542)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | East Village, Manhattan
Booked 19 times today
TuomeTuome
(183)
$$$$
Contemporary American | East Village, Manhattan
Booked 31 times today
LavagnaLavagna
(699)
$$$$
Italian | East Village, Manhattan
Booked 23 times today

About Permanently Closed - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar

215 East 4th Street
New York, NY 10009
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Our menu is inspired by the culture of Italian cuisine, using fresh seasonal ingredients in both classic and innovative preparations.

The food is designed to complement our extensive wine program that encompasses all 20 regions of Italy as well as areas just beyond the borders in Croatia and Slovenia.

Our passionate staff is happy to share their intimate wine knowledge to ensure that you enjoy every glass regardless of your wine appreciation.

We offer the highest quality food and beverage in a rustic atmosphere with laid back yet attentive service.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Bet. Avenue A & B

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 539-1011

Website:
http://www.invino-ny.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available, though often limited. The nearest parking lot is at the corner of Houston St. and Essex St. (Ave. A continued south of Houston).

Executive Chef:
James Kelly

Private Party Facilities:
Make In Vino the home for your next private party! In Vino provides a unique atmosphere with authentic Italian food to make any party memorable. We offer a multi-course family-style dinner tailored to your wishes. Please contact us for pricing and more details.

Private Party Contact:
Keith Beavers: 2125391011x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us daily for our "Chalkboard Roulette" during happy hour. We uncork a new bottle of something GREAT every day and list it on the board for $5/glass from 5-7pm. Then every week we have "Sunday Gravy," our 3-course menu for $25 and a $15 bottle of wine, as well as "Tuesday Tastings," our $20 wine tasting class with four pours.

Restaurant Photos

  • Gnocchi - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
  • Uovo Benedetto (Poached Eggs On Rosemary Foccaccia Toast With Grilled Prosciutto) - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
  • Endive Salad - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
  • Rissotto - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
  • Beet And Butternut Squash Salad - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
  • Veggie Risotto - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
  • Insalata - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
Gnocchi - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
Uovo Benedetto (Poached Eggs On Rosemary Foccaccia Toast With Grilled Prosciutto) - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
Endive Salad - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
Rissotto - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
Beet And Butternut Squash Salad - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
Veggie Risotto - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
Insalata - In Vino Restaurant & Wine Bar, New York, NY
Sort By:
S
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent neighborhood spot

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2016

This block of 7th St in Manhattan has some excellent places, and In Vino did not disappoint. Truly spectacular pasta and wonderful appetizers. Very reasonably priced. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff, great wine, very accommmodating

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2016

They managed to accommodate my party of 15 or so on a Friday night, which was very nice of them since they room is better equipped for small groups. Food is great if a bit pricey (more sides and appetizer options under $15 would be welcome!), but the wine is excellent and a great value with many reasonably-priced bottles (some are downright bargains). Very romantic date spot. Try the polpette (meatballs)!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cozy and Creative

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2016

My family was very impressed with this cozy little restaurant in East Village. It is designed to look like an old fashioned wine cellar, giving it an interesting and unusual ambience. The friendly waitress was very attentive to us. I have celiac disease and she carefully went over the menu with me to find the best gluten-free options. (They even offer gluten-free pasta with any of their sauces!) They have great wine specials during their happy hour from 5-7 p.m. We will definitely be returning to In Vino many times! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not Romantic

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 10, 2016

I went here with my fiance to celebrate our anniversary. We are going to Italy on our honeymoon, and I wanted to find a place that felt like a preview of it.

In Vino was not in any way a preview of Italy, or Italian culture in general.

This restaurant (bar?) has some serious identity issues. While the decor felt european and romantic, the music and presentation was that of a sports bar. Loud rock and roll music was playing the entire time during our meal. The meatballs were good. The chicken parm was awful. The chicken was tough and rubbery to eat. Presentation seemed thrown together. The wine wasn't great. On top of that, we paid $100+ for a sub par experience and food. I felt robbed.

Needless to say, if you're looking for a place to have a casual drink, this place is just fine. If you want a nice dinner... go somewhere else.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

I highly recommend In Vino!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2016

The staff was well informed and helpful! The ambiance was cozy but still vibrant with all the wine and conversation flowing. We will definitely be visiting In Vino again in the near future!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for a night out

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Find Il Vino through online reviews and it did not disappoint. Let's start with the service -- very friendly, helpful and attentive. Truly exceptional.

The food was great -- and everything we had was tasty. Sunday night features a wine special that is a great deal. All the little things were handled with care -- and we left very happy with our meals.

Lastly, the ambience was lovely. Cute little place, touches throughout mimic the old countries. This is a wonderful place for a night out with a few friends, or a quiet meal with someone special.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, the waiter was awesome.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Amazing food, the waiter was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

misleading website, valentine's day dinner

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My fiancee and I were very excited to try in vino especially the valentine's day dinner tasting menu with wine pairings which was advertised on the website as being available 2/12 to 2/14. When seated we asked the waiter about the valentine's day dinner, as it was not in the menu and he seemed clueless but said he would ask his manager. Looking around I saw meals on several other tables that appeared to be the tasting menu main dishes with the expected wine pairings and heard another waiter offer the two dessert selections and dessert wine pairing I had seen online to another table. So we asked again (because waiter/host) never came back to answer the question. He said no and we explained what the website said and the Manager came over and seemed disgruntled because the website had been set up incorrectly. She did not offer us a drink or the ability to do the menu anyway only sarcastic apologies. The restaurant was not full at all and the rest of the meal we felt unwanted.

The food wasn't bad but the way we were treated for simply wanting to indulge in their testing menu (and spend a lot of money) was unacceptable and turned us off. We ended up going to Giano around the corner for dessert and more wine as I know how good their Tiramisu is and it did not disappoint. The atmosphere was lively and the service was great. Should have had dinner there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Wow

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2016

There were three of us and we all left saying that the pastas were the best we've had anywhere.

The gnocchi with Gorgonzola and pesto melted in my mouth.

The $15.00 bottle of wine was superb.

The gentleman, David, who took care of us could not have been nicer.

Next time we are in the city, that is where we will eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Becoming my go-to spot when I'm in NYC

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2016

In Vino has a carefully curated wine menu of wines from all over the world, and the prices for these wines are incredibly reasonable. Food is excellent. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. And there's an energy in this wine bar that's made it a place I must stop in if I can when I'm in NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food...ok service-wise

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2015

Food is always good here, but our server was disinterested in actually serving us. We were first seated by the window, which had a terrible draft on a cold night. As we were dining with our parents (in their early 70's) we asked to be seated at another table. The server gave the attitude that he didn't care in the least and that he was doing us a favor just being there. His tune did not shift until we got our bill and brought to his attention that he forgot to include our bottle of wine on the total bill, which he appreciated us bringing to his attention.

Overall ambiance is great here (feels like a wine cave in Italy) and the food is great (smaller menu, but stellar options).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Hidden Gem

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2015

I found this restaurant to be a hidden gem in the neighborhood recently discovered. Although it is a small menu, it is a wonderful menu and I recommend the Fettuccine with Funghi Trifolati and Parmesan. The tiramisu was also excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Go for it!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2015

We enjoyed our meal very much. One member of our party is a foodie and he seemed happy. When he identified a bottle of wine that had turned, the server gladly replaced it. Food was tasty and our waiter attentive but not overbearing at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great Food, Great Service

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 17, 2015

I love In Vino. It's a wonderful neighborhood find with great food, great wine and some of the nicest staff. I brought my girlfriends there for dinner and although it was quiet (Summer Sundays) it was nice to be able to talk to friends without having to scream and say "what" a bunch of times. The food was superb we ordered 3 dishes to share and the buratta, my personal favorite is the bolognese - perfect portion and makes you feel like you're at a proper sunday dinner. They also have a great pre fixe on sundays that's pretty affordable. Overall, it was a perfect dinner. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

oh em gee...new favorite in NYC

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2015

I brought my mom here for a late dinner, mostly because of In Vino's reputable wine list. As a gluten-free vegetarian, I thought the wine would be the only notable part of her experience, but we found plenty of options for her dietary restrictions. Both our wines were wonderful, hers in particular from Puglia. The space is very intimate, dimly lit with exposed brick and beams. I would recommend this to EVERYONE visiting NYC if they want a classic, cozy Italian meal. I was super impressed and plan to return shortly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small and romantic

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2015

This restaurant is on the smaller side in terms of space but that makes it even more intimate and romantic. They have a lengthy wine list and the food was really full of flavor. Great for date night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really good experience

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2015

Had dinner with my girlfriend on Wednesday and we both had a really nice time. The staff, Lacy and Matthew were great and helped create a nice low-key vibe like you were at home dining with close friends at the same time being professional.

The wine list is extensive and has a good price range for all pockets and the food was fantastic.

If you are looking for a cozy place with nice staff, wine and food you should check it out.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went for Valentine's Day. Reasonable & d ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Went for Valentine's Day. Reasonable & delicious prix fixe menu, beautiful presentation, great ambiance, and awesome wine list. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great litttle oasis for Italian in the E. Village.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2015

A great little oasis that we discovered in the East Village. Relaxed and comfortable decor. Great food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

so so all around

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2015

Nothing special in the way of food/wine and very slow, lackadaisical service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Cozy spot, tasty food.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2015

I love this neighborhood restaurant and everyone I take here loves it, too. The food is delicious and flavorful and you really can't go wrong with anything on the menu. The servers also let you try a couple different wines before making your selection if you're having a hard time choosing. The entire staff is friendly and helpful, although the only negative thing I will say is that I recently had a 9pm reservation and wasn't seated until after 9:30. I was a little late and that's never happened before, so I'll chalk it up to a fluke!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Disappointed - Did not live up to the past visit

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2015

I've been to In Vino before and had a very good experience. This time was a real let-down. First of all we got the table right by the door. On a cold Jan evening either don't have a table there or have one of those make shift double-doors outside so the person sitting at the table is not hit by a blast of freezing air every time someone walks in and out.

The wine I wanted was not available by the glass. Was given some convoluted explanation of why but that it could be - whatever, it either is or isn't, not sure I want to listen to a whole speil about this. Either way, the wine recommended in its place was pretty good so not a complete let-down.

The food though was really not very good. We had the sweet pumpkin ravioli and I've had it before. It's been amazing previously, this time it was lacking flavor - not sure what it was but it was just underwhelming. Even the sage butter didn't seem to do the trick. Then we had the gnocchi which was not bad (again not great) but the most disappointing dish was the mussels, again - completely lacking flavor. We barely ate half of it, just didn't have the will to finish the thing. The tiramisu at the end was pretty good - no complaints there.

Lastly the service - efficient for the most part. They were attentive without being too in your face which was nice. The waitress though was a little off her game - not unfriendly but definitely not friendly. My date had a piece of bread she was working through on her plate and we had finished sharing the ravioli, she cleared the plate with the ravioli and without asking took the side plate with the bread. Not even a question about are you finished? They took our menus after we ordered the wine and then she came to ask us for our orders without realizing we had no menus. Small things - but just overall it was not great.

They do have an amazing wine selection so I'd like to go back but not in a hurry to do so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

I've been here a few times now, but it's ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2015

I've been here a few times now, but it's always been for wine and a small appetizer. This was my first time dining.

Wasn't wowed by the food - the bucatini were far too al dente and the sauce over-salted. The burrata was quite good, but that's not so easy to mess up. Also, we had asked that they bring the burrata first and then the pasta, but both were brought out at the same time, which was a bit annoying as I prefer to eat slowly and enjoy each option.

Nevertheless, I LOVE the ambiance of In Vino and it's a terrific wine list. The waitstaff is also generally very cool.

For future though will probably just keep it to wine consumption when I come.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Great food & Great Wine!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2015

My husband & I had dinner at In Vino on Jan. 2nd with our friends who were moving to California. This was their last night in the city. The food and the wine were absolutely fantastic. I can't say enough about this place. The meatball appetizer was so good, we ordered 2. The pappardella was some of the best I have had. Matthew our server was absolutely fantastic. By the time we left I felt like he was family. My husband and I will definitely make this one of our favorites. Thanks again Matthew for a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice, Outstanding pastas, Service w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2014

Very nice, Outstanding pastas, Service was Excellent, Seating is very tight, but the food wine and service were the best I had while in NYC!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had the tasting menu which had a few ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2014

We had the tasting menu which had a few nice things, however, overall everything was too salty and oily. Very charming de cor and nice wine list. I would maybe go back but not in a rush

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Very European

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2014

The cave-like cellar setting is very special here, and it is matched by the delicious Italian food. A great night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent Italian Food!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2014

We ordered the tasting menu and the courses were delicious! The bottle of Chianti that the Sommelier helped us choose accompanied the meal perfectly. The restaurant is very rustic and perfect for a romantic date. My only complaint is that we were seated right next to the front door. I asked if we could sit at one of the other open tables in the restaurant but the hostess said they were reserved. However, many of the tables remained empty throughout the time we were there. Made no sense. Overall, it is an excellent restaurant, just make sure you don't get the table by the front door, especially on a cold evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Hidden Gem

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 11, 2014

In Vino is easily overlooked if you're walking by on 4th St. but once you've dined there, it's memorable. Great food, great service, great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In Vino

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2014

A cozy, rustic atmosphere. Delicious combinations of ingredients and flavors that are simultaneously innovative and homey. Knowledgable servers and host will help choose a wine, of which their are many.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Worth the walk past Avenue A

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2014

Discovered by our friends from Copenhagen who were in NY for the husband's 65th Birthday. The food was interesting and outstanding. The stuffed portobello appetizer was delicious and the pigeon entree was also excellent. Everyone else enjoyed their choices and there was very little left on the plates. We are wine collectors and their wine list, which is entirely Italian, truly covers the breadth of that country. We ordered two bottles off the list - a bubbly and a light red - and they allow BYO, so we finished with a bottle from my own cellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Family Visit

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2014

My BF and I fell in love with In Vino nearly a year ago and have been going back ever since. My parents were visiting from out of town and we wanted to take them to our Fave spot, both of my parents have some food allergies, but the chef was able to easily accommodate them and the food as amazing as usual!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not accommodating to groups

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2014

I made a reservation for 5 people, a week in advance. Upon arriving at the restaurant, they gave us two options: seating us at the small bar, with all 5 of us seated next to each other (meaning, no one would be able to catch up/hear another person/have a conversation with more than one person) OR at a table, with two chairs and a bench. The "bench" was sufficient for two people to sit, but not three people to sit, unless we wanted to be smushed next to the other person and elbow them every time we wanted to get a sip of water.

There was an open table in the back, which we had asked for, but they had denied us access, as they were "saving it for another reservation." Don't go here if you have >2 people in your party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

like being inside a wine bottle...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2014

InVino has a great atmosphere. Very small and intimate, the aesthetics of the interior make it look like you are inside a giant cork of a wine bottle. Very cool! The service was great, very attentive, and helpful with the menu. Menu items aren't your average ghetti and meatballs so it helps that they are knowledgeable and suggestive. The food was incredible, prepared with a passion for flavour! I suggest Nonna's Meatballs as an app. I had the Bucatini and the Octopus was so tender it was incredible. My girlfriend had the Pumpkin Ravioli and it was melt in your mouth delicious. Highly recommend this gem! Salute a Cent'ann!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Blew my engagement

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2014

I'm not sure what was going on last Friday. Maybe their AC was broken? If that's the case, as a guy from the industry, I understand those things happen. However, after being seated I quickly noticed everyone in the restaurant fanning themselves with their menus. I tried to suffer through it, but my would be fiance was too uncomfortable and wanted to leave. So we did, and the ring stayed in my pocket. I had a pretty sweet plan involving some other people but had to abort it. Back to the drawing board. Maybe I'll come back to try the food in the winter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

xyz

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2014

My only real complaint is that the music is too loud. It is loud enough that you need to shout to be heard, and this clashes with the overall "romantic" atmosphere. Otherwise it is a lovely restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Cozy Italian

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2014

What I love about In Vino is the dining experience and the food. It has big windows that open to the street for a nice summer night when you don't want to be stuck inside a dark restaurant. The rustic decor complements the food perfectly. The servers are modest, friendly and helpful; no pretension or arrogance here! The food is all homemade and delicious! My only complaint is that I wish there were more options for the second course! The comforting thing with that is that the few things they have on the menu they do Really well! Its an East Village must try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I'm in love ❤️

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2014

The most enjoyable dining experience I've had in a very long time. 10/10 hands down for everything from food-helpful server-ambiance ... Decor. Do yourself a favour, go there!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came for food; didn't stay

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2014

We made a reservation for 6pm early dinner, based on reviews from a search for restaurants in the East Village; we had theater tickets on 10th Street at 8pm. It was quite a walk from Astor Place subway, past several apartment complexes. We got there at 6. Place was dark and empty, and had a vague musty damp smell wafting onto the street from the open doors. We decided to cancel our reservation, and the young man at the door didn't seem surprised. I guess it's more of a later night wine bar than a restaurant. I was not inspired to come back for the food. Sorry, In Vino. We ended up going to Shabu Tatsu on 10th Street, which was fabulous.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Wow! Amazing spot for Italian

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2014

Went with a friend and had no expectations. Really cool spot with great service. Our waiter/bartender took amazing care of us. Recommended some popular pasta dishes. All the pasta is handmade in house. Recommend the bolognese and pappardelle. Would go back any day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.