About Imperial

410 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

At Imperial, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and the culinary team will re-imagine and re-present Pacific Northwest culinary pathways. Exemplifying Oregon’s own James Beard's culinary philosophy, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and his culinary team will explore menu ideas that have historic significance while exploring cooking methods and ingredients from the diverse bounty of our region. The most prominent feature of Imperial's kitchen is an impressive wood fire grill and rotisserie that will incorporate the use of native hard and fruitwoods. Inspired by warm, primitive, burning campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial will concentrate on natural and uncomplicated preparations, serving the community by celebrating its past and providing a welcoming and generous place to eat.
Also check out our sister restaurant Paley's Place here.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Stark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-7222

Website:
http://www.imperialpdx.com/

Parking Details:
There are a wide variety of Parking options within a few blocks radius of The Imperial.

-Valet Parking is available at $10/car.

-Union Bank of California Garage
707 SW Washington
Portland, Or 97205
(located directly across the street from Imperial)

-Star Park
615 SW Alder St.
Portland, OR 97205

Should you need any assistance with group parking, please inquire.

Public Transit:
MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from The Imperial.

Executive Chef:
Vitaly Paley

Private Party Facilities:
The Imperial has two incredible event rooms available for rent. Our Monterosso Room, just off the artfully appointed Lucia lobby, accommodates up to 80 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail reception. The Monterosso features a built-in retractable screen and overhead sound-system, great options for enhancing your special occasion or meeting. The colorful Genoa Room features a one-of-a-kind photography collection and is a terrific choice for more intimate groups of 10-50 people. We offer a wonderful variety of menu options and we provide tables, chairs, linens, dishware and décor, making planning your event a breeze. If you are interested in using any of our event spaces, please contact our events department.

Private Party Contact:
Danika Duren: 5032412127x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Imperial
Oysters
Parker House Rolls
Flatbread
fried chicken
Tails And Trotters Barrel Planked Pork Secreto
French Toast With Fresh Apples And A Side Of Bacon
Grilled Ceasar Salad
Happy Hour Fried Chicken
Crispy Fried Pigtail
Beef and pork khinkali with melted butter, black pepper and dill
Grilled King Salmon
Farm Boy IPA
Spicy Greens With Chicken Liver Pate
Basket Of Fries
Grilled Caesar Salad
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Sauteed Mushrooms
Flank Steak
Cold Smoked Escolar
Venison Carpaccio W/ Shaved Foie Gras, Porcini Mushroom...
Bacon Chop
Jalapeno Tuna Tartar
Almond & Rhubarb Financier
Marinated Citrus Salad
Coca Cola & Pabst Blue Ribbon Braised Pork
Winter Citrus Salad With Grilled Albacore Tuna
Brooks Pinot Noir Rose Wine
Pork Chop
Ginger Beer and Jalapeno
Oregon Albacore Tuna Ceviche
Fried Rabbit
Roasted Beets And Smoked Mussels
White Russian
Grilled Brussel Sprouts With Harissa, Orange, Preserved Lemon.
Imperial Barrel- Aged Hot Sauce And Laurelhurst Honey
Steamer Clams
Rainbow Chard Gratin
Charcuterie plate
Oysters on the Half Shell
Beef Marrow With Shaved Vegetable And Confide Baby Octopus
Oregon Albacore On Corn Puree With Aged Balsamic And Oregon Olive Oil
Pecan Pie With Bourbon Sauce
Smoked Lamb Ribs
Seared Fish With Spinach And Amazing Sauce
Imperial Sundae
Grilled Lamb and Spoon Lamb
Banana Cream Pie
Berry Salad
Organic Half Chicken
Snap Peas, Wild Mushrooms, Radish
Fry Basket Of Fries
Quai
Carmelized Green Beans
Roasted Carr
Duck meatballs
Quail
Manila Clams
Oysters!
Ceviche
Menu
French Fries
Rye Cocktail
roasted cauliflower
Stan's Sausage du Jour
Beignets
Cheeseburger And Fries
Spit-Roasted Lamb Roll
Double Milk Flan
Steamed Clams, House Linguica, Fennel, Grilled Lemon Relish, Smoked Butter
Brown Butter Beignets
Vodka Martini
Steamer Clams W/ Chorizo
Padron Peppers
Turnips
Exit Through The Giftshop
Fry Bread With Chorizo And Eggs
Grilled Lamb Tongue
Fried Lamb Tongue
Lamb Loin Chop And Merguez Sausage
Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream
Imperial Fries
Grilled Romaine With Oregon Albacore
Corn Cakes
Begniets
Clams
Cocktail
Bread Roll
Grilled Romaine
Bloody Mary
Ricotta, Pears And Fry Bread
egg sandwich
Milk Chocolate Banana Icebox Cake W/ Foie Gras Mousse
Special App Confit Quail With Sous Vide Egg
Salmon
Coddled Eggs With Spicy Tomato Sauce And Ricotta

Imperial Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Northwest
Portland
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (218)
Special Occasion (121)
Hot Spot (107)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (85)
Good for Groups (81)
Great for Lunch (70)
Great for Brunch (65)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Romantic (36)
Notable Wine List (32)
Late-night Find (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Kid-friendly (7)
Scenic View (5)
Good for a Date (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Burger was delicious, home made pickles ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Burger was delicious, home made pickles a nice touch. Fries and fried chicken on the salty side. Great service, quite loud, not a date spot.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Overpriced with OK food. Not a lot of se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Overpriced with OK food. Not a lot of selection for lunch. More brunch options. Pancakes were small and something I could make at home. Fruit was good but waitress said there were delicious local berries. It came with no berries. We asked and they brought sad looking black and blue berries. Eggs Benedict were charged extra to swap in fish for the meat with no notice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

There are so many better options in Port ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

There are so many better options in Portland. Nothing was wrong or bad, but nothing stood out to distinguish it. OK the savory bread pudding was imaginative and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Had the pleasure of dining here recently ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had the pleasure of dining here recently. We've had fried chicken at other local restaurants but none can come close to Imperial's! Great service - we were greeted warmly and seated quickly. Very attentive and helpful server. Grilled caprese with peaches is a fabulous starter.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal and great cocktails! Livel ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous meal and great cocktails! Lively atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first trip to Portland and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first trip to Portland and had read a very favorable review, so wanted to give it a try. It has a very cool look to it and was bustling. The service was a bit slow, but it didn't detract too much from the experience. We started with drinks and then my fiancé had the pork chop and I had the Caprese/grilled peach salad. The salad was delicious. It's not a large portion (and was NOT an entrée type salad), the ingredients were very fresh. We had also ordered the Parker House rolls which were delicious and came with butter with flaked sea salt which was fantastic. The pork chop was the best my fiancé had every had. He loved it. The only criticism was that it came with absolutely nothing else. No starch, no veggie and the server never made that clear. So it was pretty pricy for having no accompaniment. But the pork itself was fabulous. I would definitely recommend this place, but just be prepared that it's fairly expensive and you have to really look into the details of what you order and what it comes with.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A bit noisy for my taste hard to have co ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

A bit noisy for my taste hard to have conversation. Food supposed to be great but was undercooked and everything was alacarte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Not up to Paley's level in either food o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Not up to Paley's level in either food or ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The food and service were very good. Th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food and service were very good. The noise level on a Tuesday evening at 6:45 was terrible. My husband said "It's so loud I can't hear the music." My response was "Oh, there's music?" It is clearly a very popular place, but there are other restaurants in Portland with good food where you can have a pleasant conversation over dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Overpriced and food was underwhelming. O ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Overpriced and food was underwhelming. Over rated for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Excellent all around. A "Portland" fine ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent all around. A "Portland" fine dining experience featuring excellent food, tasty drinks and the casual atmosphere you are seeking for a group of close family & friends. Best notes: the fried chicken, pork secretta, and grilled Caesar salad are to die for, while the dinner rolls, roasted potatoes, and perfectly-selected desserts are well worth the effort to complete the experience. Kudos to a great menu and friendly staff all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Great food, and Great craft cockt ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Always Great food, and Great craft cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good for a family outing. Good selectio ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Good for a family outing. Good selection. Unfortunately, very noisy.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Love brunch here. Get there early enoug ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Love brunch here. Get there early enough to snag one of the home made pop tarts, they go fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Halibut and was great. But fatty pork ch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Halibut and was great. But fatty pork chop was off the hook

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been wanting to try Imperial for so ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Have been wanting to try Imperial for some time, the food did not disappoint. the sound level was very high, and only due to a being seated next to a wall was I able to hear conversation. Tables for two are really small, considering how much service ware is needed to enjoy and split plates. Food was excellent - not an "off" dish in what we had - from appetizers to dessert - all GOOD!! Service was concise and we took recommendations that we appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was very good, my coulottes wer ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was very good, my coulottes were tasty and the fried chicken was delicious. The savory bread pudding was good but the presentation wasn't great. The panacotta was also very good. Wait staff was attentive, knowledgeable and responsive. It was very loud and the industrial design didn't help.

Tags: Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was absolutely amazing!! Waiter was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was absolutely amazing!! Waiter was probably one of the poorest I have had. I was a server for over 10 years and I grew up in my fathers restaurant so I am one of the most understanding when it comes to service. Especially if the restaurants is busy or the server seems overwhelmed, I totally get it. We were there around 515 on a Saturday. Our server was very flat affect and hard to read and understand. We explained it was our first time there and her mumbled a few recommendations then walked away. Ok, whatever, I don't get offended or anything. Where I was very disappointed was when he kept clearing things from the table when he assumed we were done. Once again, this dishes didn't bother me (or my husband who was also a server and bartender for over 5years). What bothered me was the rather brisk clearing of our drink glasses as my husband and I were talking. Mine of which had a very small amount of my drink remaining. I looked around and it didn't not appear to be overly busy as there were tables opened. During this time my husband had paid via CC and signed the slip and our server picked it up almost immediately (then our drink glasses were gone shortly after). This is a let peeve of both of ours. He seemed to be pacing around our area (understandably his other tables were in the same section). We felt as though we were being pushed to leave. At this point we hadn't been there a hour and a half. We both know how servers act when they want to turn a table quickly, we've been there. Especially at the end of the night or if it is busy. Both of which it was not at this time. We will return back cause everything else was great, but we would refuse this particular server again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great food and great service! We ordered ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food and great service! We ordered the watermelon salad, carprese, beef carpaccio and pork tenderloin! All were delicious

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was just ok. Duck meatballs were over ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was just ok. Duck meatballs were over seasoned and lacked seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The noise level hit us as we walked in t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The noise level hit us as we walked in the door. Our waitress apologized and explained they had 2 very loud parties who were close to leaving. They did eventually. My dinner was delicious we have been traveling for 2 weeks and this was undoubtedly my favorite dinner - halibut in a wonderfully tomatoey soup. Reservations are a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food & service. Very noisy so plan ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food & service. Very noisy so plan according to what your dinner needs are - conversation, etc

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, is all I can say. This will be my ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wow, is all I can say. This will be my 8 time eating there this year. I can't say enough great things about everything and everyone. Five Star!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the variety of the menu and the s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I love the variety of the menu and the surprises that I find each time I return. Try the fried chicken. It's great. This is a stable for lunch with friends and a special Sunday brunch (get the bloody mary).

Service is usually impeccable. Sometimes the room is too loud for me. But loud also signals a happy room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service and food was amazing. I hav ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The service and food was amazing. I have already recommended Imperial to friends and family.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best meal and experience we had in Portl ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Best meal and experience we had in Portland! Great restaurant with great food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner a few months ago that was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had dinner a few months ago that was good but brunch was a bust. Service was not good and food was disappointing. I won't be back for brunch but will give happy hour a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

It's been about two years since I dined ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It's been about two years since I dined here, and I came back for brunch to see what the buzz was all about since the chef was featured on "Top Chef." Well, Imperial has really stepped up its game. The breakfast potatoes were rustic and very crispy, and the melon and prosciutto flatbread was absolutely delicious. I will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I came in with high expectations based o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I came in with high expectations based on other's reviews. Unfortunately, I was disappointed.

The food didn't have much flavor at all. The best dish I had was the grilled caprese salad, which was a bummer.

The halibut, which was one of our mains, was pretty dry. We had to get extra aioli to help it not be as dry. The roasted potatoes were bland and had hardly any flavor.

While our food came pretty quickly, the table next to us, who arrived about 10 minutes later than us, still had not gotten their food after we had finished our appetizers and our main.

I was much disappointed. Over hyped restaurant. No where near as good as Andina or Toro Bravo!

Skip this place other than maybe to get a drink.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

We started with bloody marys, which are ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We started with bloody marys, which are among the best in town. We had the omelette, biscuits, and the ham steak. The accompanying eggs and potatoes were perfectly prepared. We also had very good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

There are a few dishes they really do we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

There are a few dishes they really do well. Pretty much any dessert is awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent wine, a good tomato and a dece ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent wine, a good tomato and a decent server. Very very loud, not cosy or comfortable. Apparently I do not like this style of "grilling". I normally love red meat but the rib eye here was inedible. My dining partner said is was saturated with a mesquite flavour. I am not sure what it was but I did not like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

This was my first visit to Imperial. Th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was my first visit to Imperial. The food and the service were fabulous. I will definitely return! I just wish it wasn't so loud!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing! Tomato bisque and f ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Tomato bisque and friend chicken. OUT OF THIS WORLD. Service equally as fabulous. Wonderful craft beer and wine selection. (Lots of local) beautiful ambience and decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food - we would certainly recomm ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Awesome food - we would certainly recommend this restaurants to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were lucky enough to get to sit at th ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We were lucky enough to get to sit at the counter that views the kitchen - what a great experience. This restaurant runs like a well-oiled machine and the food was magnificent. We had an excellent bottle of wine, too, as the restaurant was complete with a great wine list. Definitely try the bread pudding. It is like nothing we've ever had and both agreed it was the best thing of the whole dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing and service was fantast ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was amazing and service was fantastic. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion or a nice dinner out. The space is loud but not to the point of distraction. Very cool spot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were pretty disappointed by Imperial. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were pretty disappointed by Imperial. The waitstaff treated us with disdain, the food wasn't good enough to justify the price, and the atmosphere was joyless. We ended the night wishing we had gone to a food truck, at least then we would have gotten enough food. And it doesn't say this anywhere, but you can only order from the happy hour menu if you're seated in the bar or outside, which means we paid $8 for 3 bites of watermelon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

The halibut was too salty, although it w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The halibut was too salty, although it was cooked well, interesting combination with roasted peppers. The service was horrible, too slow, also the location was odd, they had to reach out from behind rubbing my head every time they did something. I have previously had better experience here. The folks who sat next to me hated their pork chops, for being too salty and sweet, they also said the experience was great the last time, perhaps the place has started to degrade ?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Food was inedible - worst overall experi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was inedible - worst overall experience for a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.