Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Imperial

At Imperial, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and the culinary team will re-imagine and re-present Pacific Northwest culinary pathways. Exemplifying Oregon’s own James Beard's culinary philosophy, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and his culinary team will explore menu ideas that have historic significance while exploring cooking methods and ingredients from the diverse bounty of our region. The most prominent feature of Imperial's kitchen is an impressive wood fire grill and rotisserie that will incorporate the use of native hard and fruitwoods. Inspired by warm, primitive, burning campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial will concentrate on natural and uncomplicated preparations, serving the community by celebrating its past and providing a welcoming and generous place to eat.
Also check out our sister restaurant Paley's Place here.


410 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Stark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-7222

Website:
http://www.imperialpdx.com/

Parking Details:
There are a wide variety of Parking options within a few blocks radius of The Imperial.

-Valet Parking is available at $10/car.

-Union Bank of California Garage
707 SW Washington
Portland, Or 97205
(located directly across the street from Imperial)

-Star Park
615 SW Alder St.
Portland, OR 97205

Should you need any assistance with group parking, please inquire.

Public Transit:
MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from The Imperial.

Executive Chef:
Vitaly Paley

Private Party Facilities:
The Imperial has two incredible event rooms available for rent. Our Monterosso Room, just off the artfully appointed Lucia lobby, accommodates up to 80 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail reception. The Monterosso features a built-in retractable screen and overhead sound-system, great options for enhancing your special occasion or meeting. The colorful Genoa Room features a one-of-a-kind photography collection and is a terrific choice for more intimate groups of 10-50 people. We offer a wonderful variety of menu options and we provide tables, chairs, linens, dishware and décor, making planning your event a breeze. If you are interested in using any of our event spaces, please contact our events department.

Private Party Contact:
Danika Duren: (503) 241-2127

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Imperial Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (64)
Good for a Date (55)
Handcrafted Cocktails (51)
See All
Special Occasion (51)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Open Kitchen (49)
Local Ingredients (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Modern Decor (35)
Hot Spot (34)
Wood Oven (33)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Business Meals (31)
Fun (28)
Comfort Food (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Happy Hour (24)
Casual (24)
Romantic (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Seasonal (21)
Authentic (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
People Watching (14)
Cozy (14)
Family Style (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Historic (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Healthy (8)
Private Room (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tapas (5)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fireplace (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Had great service from the hostess to our waitress, servers.. and our request for the quietest table was granted. While there was noise around us, sitting at the booth allowed us to not only enjoy our meal but had great conversations without the noise affecting us. The food was excellent! We'll definitely recommend the juicy fried chicken, grilled flat bread, pickled vegetables, the steelhead and the Coal roasted sweet potato. The pepita salsa was to die for. And don't forget to add the Parker House Rolls to your meal. Yummy!!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined 4 days ago

We visited as part of Portland Dining Month and tried two appetizers, two main courses and one desert. The dishes ranged from very good to excellent. The most outstanding dish was a very well seasoned pork dish but the . The tuna poke was also exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Fried chicken & biscuits are highly recommended. Don't miss the homemade pop tart!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Rude server despite how how much we spent on our meal, she had her mind made up about us from the get-go. Won't go back, won't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

My first time to the Imperial and thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was amazing. Awesome Old Fashions and loved, loved, loved the fried chicken. Actually loved my entire meal - grilled Caesar salad - ymmm. I will be back

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

So much happening in the kitchen creatively and at the table appreciatively.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice time with friends. Thanks. One small problem with a meal but it was taken care of with excellent service.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great late night meal after a long travel day! Good vibe! Even with a slight order snafu, still highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

59th wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Terrific roasted cauliflower starter and spice cake desert. Roasted lamb could have been better grade but cooked nicely. Overall very good and great service.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our reservation was for 8:30 PM, you would think that the service would be good because the crowd usually dies down by this time. This restaurant was still packed on a Monday night at 8:30 PM therefore our service was extremely poor. Because the restaurant was packed it was extremely noisy making it difficult to hear people even at a very small table. The pricing was appropriate or the food we ordered.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

An outstanding value for the Portland Restaurant Month. We'll definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our server Elle was absolutely the best.
imperial is my #1 choice to entertain clients from out of state.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Tried for Portland Dining Month. Delish!
Got us right in, speedy service, great food. Wine prices a little high, but was a Birthday...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

One of the best resturants in Portland hands down....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food is great. The portion for the Portland dinning month menu is small. The portion for the regular menu seems OK. But the price goes up significantly. Wine pairing for the dinning month menu is good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Been wanting to try this place forever. Got an early seating since I heard it can be very loud later in the night. Food and drinks were creative. We shared kale salad, gnocchi, steak and dessert. The gnocchi and steak were very salty! They were almost too salty to eat but were managed to finish them with lots of water. The flavors and textures were great but would have been better with so much salt. (And I am a salt lover so it takes a lot to turn me off). May try again in the future to see if this is par for the course or an off night.
Service etc were good. Not outstanding but no complaints at all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We all had delicious brunch options that were not ordinary. The smoked chicken hash with one egg was just the right size, and filled with wonderful flavors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great meal. Went there for brunch. I was surprised that it wasn't as busy as dinner time. I had fried chicken served with biscuit and gravy. It was very good. Especially the house made hot sauce. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

What going out to dinner should be: The whole package.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was delicious and delightfully proportioned. The noise level was a little louder than expected. Our table of five had trouble talking to anyone other than our elbow partner. Our food was a little slow to arrive, but we were well taken care of. The camera that was pointed out table and broadcast to the lobby of the hotel next door was a bit creepy. Still, I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I had the fried chicken, my wife had the wagyu coulotte. Both were amazing! Great service and ambience. We'll be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Best lunch in Portland !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Very friendly and attentive staff and delicious food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Dined here for Portland Dining Month 2017. Three-course meal with wine pairings was exceptional. We've dined here many times previously and my main complaint has been that it was difficult to find courses that went together. This prix fixe menu was, however, outstanding. The wine pairings were perfect. I only wish that one prix fixe menu with wine pairings was offered nightly. I don't want to have to wait another year to experience it again!

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Casual, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Of all the March Dining Month meals I've had so far, this one was the best! Each course was a treat combining wonderful flavors, especially the grilled cauliflower first course & my gluten-free dessert, Baked Alaska. The wine pairing for $16 included 3 glasses of great wine that complemented the meal perfectly. I'm very impressed with the quality of food & wine at Imperial!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had only been for lunch before and decided to try it for breakfast with my husband. We decided to split the eggs benedict and a poptart because we had dinner plans and didn't want to overindulge. Both items were delicious, and together with a mimosa for me and a bloody mary for my husband, was the perfect portion. Bonus points for taking reservations for a party of 2. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was simply amazing and everything from the steak to the side dish to the desert were put together perfect! A must if you're in Portland, definitely the best restaurant in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Absolutely OUTSTANDING!!! This is one of my favorite restaurants of all time, out of everywhere. The food is just absolutely incredible - and I'd say that probably includes everything on the menu. I've never had a dish I didn't like. Some wow more than others, but never a disappointment. Service is outstanding as well. 10 stars across the board.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food and service were excellent; the only flaw was the noise level. We did enjoy the meal, though, is spite of the noise.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We enjoyed a creative, wonderful meal at Imperial. We ordered everything with minimal salt and it made all the difference in the experience as compared with previous meals here which were arguably oversalted. The quality of the product is top-notch. We absolutely loved the food and the vibe. This is a must restaurant for anyone hanging out in Portland. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We went there for Portland dining month and thoroughly enjoyed the 3-course meal. The food was just outstanding. We also bought the wine pairing which was very well done and well worth it. We weren't impressed by the description of the dessert, but when the brown sugar cake with cashew nougat ice cream came it was superb - especially with the paired dessert wine. The service was friendly, attentive, and not obtrusive. Loved it all and had a great evening. I would highly recommend Imperial.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our party of four had: surf and turf, coulotte, and the black cod,
all were very well prepared and presented and delicious . Really appreciate a chef that knows how to prepare fish that's not dry. The highlight, though, was the baked alaska. OMG. I doubt it's always on the menu so go as soon as you can...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Happy Hour is deluxe.
Drinks and food are top notch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fun, Happy Hour, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I usually enjoy dinners at Imperial, but this time the service was poor and one of our dinners was disappointing (the wagyu coulotte was tough and lacked flavor). Our server mumbled and seemed disinterested. He didn't check on us during the meal at all, and delivered the check without a single word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding food and service!

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was on point, service was great. Definitely on our list of places we'll go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

On our recent trip to Portland, our hotel's staff recommended this place for brunch and we were not disappointed! Food and service were both fantastic! We were seated at the chef's counter, right in front of the wood stove, watching our food being prepared. Love seeing the energy in the kitchen staff, and the chef's methodical way of approaching every dish. Menu has a lot of comfort food dishes but all with a slight twist to them. Plus they use very fresh ingredients. I loved the roasted squash and my husband raved about his biscuit and gravy. Our server was friendly, efficient, gave us great food recommendations and with the right amount of attention. Would definitely return next time in Portland!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent service. Great food! We arrived late and thu made us totally welcome and sped the meal along when we needed to leave. Food had great local ingredients and was ecellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Best fried chicken ever!! It was so juicy that I neglected some of the gourmet meat dishes on my table till it was gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.