Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Imperial

At Imperial, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and the culinary team will re-imagine and re-present Pacific Northwest culinary pathways. Exemplifying Oregon’s own James Beard's culinary philosophy, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and his culinary team will explore menu ideas that have historic significance while exploring cooking methods and ingredients from the diverse bounty of our region. The most prominent feature of Imperial's kitchen is an impressive wood fire grill and rotisserie that will incorporate the use of native hard and fruitwoods. Inspired by warm, primitive, burning campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial will concentrate on natural and uncomplicated preparations, serving the community by celebrating its past and providing a welcoming and generous place to eat.
Also check out our sister restaurant Paley's Place here.


410 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Stark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-7222

Website:
http://www.imperialpdx.com/

Parking Details:
There are a wide variety of Parking options within a few blocks radius of The Imperial.

-Valet Parking is available at $10/car.

-Union Bank of California Garage
707 SW Washington
Portland, Or 97205
(located directly across the street from Imperial)

-Star Park
615 SW Alder St.
Portland, OR 97205

Should you need any assistance with group parking, please inquire.

Public Transit:
MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from The Imperial.

Executive Chef:
Vitaly Paley

Private Party Facilities:
The Imperial has two incredible event rooms available for rent. Our Monterosso Room, just off the artfully appointed Lucia lobby, accommodates up to 80 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail reception. The Monterosso features a built-in retractable screen and overhead sound-system, great options for enhancing your special occasion or meeting. The colorful Genoa Room features a one-of-a-kind photography collection and is a terrific choice for more intimate groups of 10-50 people. We offer a wonderful variety of menu options and we provide tables, chairs, linens, dishware and décor, making planning your event a breeze. If you are interested in using any of our event spaces, please contact our events department.

Private Party Contact:
Danika Duren: (503) 241-2127

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Imperial Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (69)
Good for a Date (65)
Local Ingredients (55)
See All
Creative Cuisine (54)
Special Occasion (51)
Open Kitchen (50)
Handcrafted Cocktails (50)
Hot Spot (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Wood Oven (35)
Casual (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Modern Decor (32)
Fun (32)
Business Meals (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Comfort Food (30)
Happy Hour (28)
Bar Seating (25)
Seasonal (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Romantic (23)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Authentic (17)
Cozy (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
People Watching (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Family Style (11)
Healthy (11)
Historic (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Tapas (8)
Private Room (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Fireplace (6)
Organic (6)
Quick Bite (4)
Great Beer (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1697 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined a day ago

my pasta dish was delicious, but it was sold with Morels in the headline. Two of us ordered the dish and had a hard time finding any morels. Another person had the fried chicken and thought it was bland compared to past experiences. On top of that an ice tea was forgotten twice.
It felt like the whole experience was very sub par compared to past experience. If this had been my first visit, it would have been my last. Hoping for better next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We actually had breakfast there the same day we had dinner. Breakfast was great; the coffee was wonderful and we went back with my son and his girlfriend for dinner. Great cocktails; good beer list and great food. We ordered a lot of small plates; the asparagus was delicious, kale salad was very different, whole charred sweet potato was my favorite. We were visiting Portland and it was our last night. I would go there a lot if I lived there. Great place!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

The steak as beef itself was amazing but they over salted a steak. I didn't know that was possible as when I make steak, I'm liberal with my sea salt too. Overall, i would come try it once but never come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

This is the second year we have been to Imperial for my daughter's birthday. She craves their kale salad. The smoked mushrooms and the fresh oysters were sublime. The fries are always good. This restaurant is loud and some of the portions are small.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed Sunday Brunch at Imperial. The food and drinks were excellent. My wife loved the eggs benedict. Service seemed a bit slow and the waiter was slightly snarky with comments about how much alcohol we might drink, instead of ordering the extra food he was pushing. I would definitely go there again.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

The service at Imperial is very, very good. Unfortunately, the food cannot compare. Of the four dishes we ordered three were terribly seasoned, with two of them containing so much salt as to nearly cause a pucker. Additionally, some of the out of town customers (Imperial is located in Hotel Lucia) we a bit on the boisterous and uncouth side for our taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Every time I've been there the experience has been amazing..one of my favorites in our great city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was great and very creative. They were great about accommodating us with our almost 1 year old and our 3 1/2 year old. The server and everyone were very nice even though the night we were here our children were crazy.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The Imperial accommodated a larger group very well with excellent food and beverages. Service was great. Definitely a place to go back to!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Reserved a table on short notice for two. Was looking for an honest NW inspired casual meal. Imperial nails it! I had the flat iron steak and shrimp, both cooked to perfection. My business partner had the meatballs and blackened salad. The desert of a spicy mocha creme brulee was the perfect finish.
Cool atmosphere, knowledgeable and friendly staff. This place is solid.
I live in Seattle, and there's nothing quite like Imperial here.
Greg

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I will tell you that the Salmon was tasteless. The fried chicken was good, but KFC is better.
Found a great bottle of wine.....went home and ordered a case. The manager was really attentive and comped the Salmon even though we didn't ask for that. Server was solid too.
Very noisy and over-rated food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went to the Imperial for an early Mother's Day dinner after an afternoon of walking around downtown. We had been there one previous time and enjoyed it. Service was pleasant but seemed like too many people involved. The food was varied......the smoked mushrooms were great but the grilled romaine salad was blah/pricey. Fried chicken was good, sausage OK but the gnocchi was very small and gummy. With so many amazing restaurants in Portland, no reason to return to have a mediocre experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great atmosphere and good food! Great place for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really fabulous food! Wow, was it good!! The fried chicken is the best I've had, and the asparagus was amazing! Wait staff was exceptional as well. Went here for Mothers Day and was not disappointed!! Will definitely go again!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved it. Went for Mother's Day brunch. The food was amazing and the service was excellent. Will definitely go back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great staff, funny, personable and very knowledgeable. Also, best steak I've ever tasted!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

So much good to say about food! Small plates were good portions. Flat bread, sweet potato, carpacio and duck meatballs all outstanding! Gotta try the Radish walked into​ the bar, unique and delicious drink. Everything prepared well and very fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food and service were quite good. The wine list while extraordinary was quite pricey, something we did not generally experience while touring Oregon. Still, the positives outweighed this downside. It is a solid restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Always an interesting menu, beautifully prepared, delicious food but quick too. Can be a little noisy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Vegan, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Terrible service. My toast was so stale. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Setting is very nice. We made a reservation and were seated immediately. Waitress was very friendly. We ordered the poke tuna ($17) and the gnocchi. Plates were very small. I finished the gnocchi in a handful of bites. The poke tuna was literally 5 slices on a bed of green. Worst of all was that we found a hair in the tuna. The waitress was nice and we received another complementary plate of tuna. However the tuna tasted fishy and after you find a hair, it kind of does a number on your appetite. We also ordered a plate of artichokes. All plates were too small for the price, and we left the restaurant hungry. Went back to the hotel and raided the mini bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Everything was amazing! I've been wanting to try this out for a long time! Food was beyond delicious and so was desert!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Vegan, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This was our first visit and we will definitely be back! Our food was perfectly prepared, the cocktails were fantastic and creative. Highly recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Very vibrant and a good addition to downtown Portland. Food was wonderful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Special Occasion, Historic, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Tasty food. Accommodating service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Was the most amazing meal we had in Portland. The flavors were perfect. Duck meatballs are a must try. Also the surf and turf. Service was spot on. We'll be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

An Uber driver and a friend recommended Imperial and they were so right. Everything we ordered was excellent. I wish we could have ordered more but we wouldn't have been able to walk out. The grilled pardon peppers were delightful, so tender. We would give service 5 stars but went with 4 as the servers seemed rushed but overall they did a good job.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I am a huge fan of anything Vitaly Paley does. Imperial is no exception! Great food, great ambience, great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great ambiance, great appetizers and not so great salmon entree. Other members of group enjoyed their main courses. Desserts were great.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food innovative and delicious. Everything is ala carte so can get pricey, even bread is a separate charge. Great cocktail recipes, but small. Service excellent, but very noisy, hard to hold a conversation. Had to turn hearing aids to lowest sound level.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very creative and unusual dishes. Like the duck meatballs and seafood dishes. That sounds like an odd mix but it was fine. Waiter was attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We love coming here, always good food and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A nice cozy place. Service was okay, our waiter wasn't around very much. The food is not that impressive. I had the chicken, this was okay. My hubby ordered the special, which was the boneless rib eye. He asked for medium he got medium rare. The appetizers were better than the meal, which was the oysters and poki.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Two of us had the grill skewers over rice. My prawns were completely overcooked, dry, hard to eat and tasteless with the rice crunchy and under cooked. My guest had the tofu and it was tasteless and dry, we both left most of it on our plate. The fish sandwich our other guest had was OK but she said not even close to worth the money.
I asked for a quiet table when I made the reservation as we had a lot to discuss in a short period of time. When I arrived the hostess had not read the request and I verbally asked her. The table she put us at (the restaurant was not even close to full at 12P on a Thursday) was smack in the middle of the room close to the kitchen. She hardly made eye contact and seemed bored with it all. Our server was nice enough but nothing exceptional.
I picked the Imperial because I've enjoyed the brunches before and had really good experiences. I wanted to impress our guests and have a wonderful dining experience. So disappointing, I certainly won't consider it again for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Consistent! Great food, service and atmosphere. Try the Chefs counter. I usually order the Cobb salad. Your choice of Smoked chicken or Crispy Pork Jowl. I was a little hesitant on the pork jowl. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Private Room, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent service, consistently good fresh food. Doesn't knock your socks off, but reliable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Twice within a month, but with different people, and the first time wasn't just a lucky fluke. This is a really good place to eat, drink, sit - ideally all of the above. I'm not sure whether a strict vegan diner would be happy, but there are ample GF, vegetarian, and pescetarian options, and plenty of meat. We usually have wine with meals, but the cocktails are good enough to stand on their own. Tap cocktails, Mile a Minute and Viuex Carre when we were there, were really tasty: the former is a great aperitif and the latter goes well with food, too. ¡No Poblano! offers some heat as well as flavor. Padron peppers and sweet potato soup were fine openers (and I couldn't pass on a Parker House Roll). Crab salad (emphasis on the crab) and planked pork secretto were the main courses (no leftovers), with a coal-roasted sweet potato. My guess is they waited a bit, as the pork arrived warm instead of hot, but all worked well. We enjoyed the smokey flavor in many of the dishes: that big wood fire isn't just for show.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

food is perfect. service is friendly. the fried chicken is out of this world with some amazing spices/

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Good food and service. The lemon chess pie tasted like it was store bought. Very noisy.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent meal. Loved sitting near the open kitchen with the huge wood-fired stove. Cocktails were very good. Try the "Radish walked into a bar..." Smoked mushrooms were to die for. Fried chicken was very tender. It was our second visit, and we want to go again with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.