About Imperial

410 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

At Imperial, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and the culinary team will re-imagine and re-present Pacific Northwest culinary pathways. Exemplifying Oregon’s own James Beard's culinary philosophy, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and his culinary team will explore menu ideas that have historic significance while exploring cooking methods and ingredients from the diverse bounty of our region. The most prominent feature of Imperial's kitchen is an impressive wood fire grill and rotisserie that will incorporate the use of native hard and fruitwoods. Inspired by warm, primitive, burning campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial will concentrate on natural and uncomplicated preparations, serving the community by celebrating its past and providing a welcoming and generous place to eat.
Also check out our sister restaurant Paley's Place here.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Stark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-7222

Website:
http://www.imperialpdx.com/

Parking Details:
There are a wide variety of Parking options within a few blocks radius of The Imperial.

-Valet Parking is available at $10/car.

-Union Bank of California Garage
707 SW Washington
Portland, Or 97205
(located directly across the street from Imperial)

-Star Park
615 SW Alder St.
Portland, OR 97205

Should you need any assistance with group parking, please inquire.

Public Transit:
MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from The Imperial.

Executive Chef:
Vitaly Paley

Private Party Facilities:
The Imperial has two incredible event rooms available for rent. Our Monterosso Room, just off the artfully appointed Lucia lobby, accommodates up to 80 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail reception. The Monterosso features a built-in retractable screen and overhead sound-system, great options for enhancing your special occasion or meeting. The colorful Genoa Room features a one-of-a-kind photography collection and is a terrific choice for more intimate groups of 10-50 people. We offer a wonderful variety of menu options and we provide tables, chairs, linens, dishware and décor, making planning your event a breeze. If you are interested in using any of our event spaces, please contact our events department.

Private Party Contact:
Danika Duren: 5032412127x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Imperial
Oysters
Parker House Rolls
Flatbread
fried chicken
Tails And Trotters Barrel Planked Pork Secreto
Grilled Ceasar Salad
Happy Hour Fried Chicken
French Toast With Fresh Apples And A Side Of Bacon
Beef and pork khinkali with melted butter, black pepper and dill
Crispy Fried Pigtail
Farm Boy IPA
Spicy Greens With Chicken Liver Pate
Basket Of Fries
Grilled Caesar Salad
Grilled King Salmon
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Sauteed Mushrooms
Flank Steak
Venison Carpaccio W/ Shaved Foie Gras, Porcini Mushroom...
Cold Smoked Escolar
Bacon Chop
Jalapeno Tuna Tartar
Almond & Rhubarb Financier
Marinated Citrus Salad
Coca Cola & Pabst Blue Ribbon Braised Pork
Winter Citrus Salad With Grilled Albacore Tuna
Brooks Pinot Noir Rose Wine
Pork Chop
Ginger Beer and Jalapeno
Oregon Albacore Tuna Ceviche
Fried Rabbit
Roasted Beets And Smoked Mussels
White Russian
Grilled Brussel Sprouts With Harissa, Orange, Preserved Lemon.
Imperial Barrel- Aged Hot Sauce And Laurelhurst Honey
Steamer Clams
Rainbow Chard Gratin
Charcuterie plate
Oysters on the Half Shell
Beef Marrow With Shaved Vegetable And Confide Baby Octopus
Oregon Albacore On Corn Puree With Aged Balsamic And Oregon Olive Oil
Pecan Pie With Bourbon Sauce
Smoked Lamb Ribs
Seared Fish With Spinach And Amazing Sauce
Imperial Sundae
Grilled Lamb and Spoon Lamb
Banana Cream Pie
Berry Salad
Organic Half Chicken
Snap Peas, Wild Mushrooms, Radish
Fry Basket Of Fries
Quai
Carmelized Green Beans
Roasted Carr
Duck meatballs
Quail
Manila Clams
Oysters!
Ceviche
Menu
French Fries
Rye Cocktail
roasted cauliflower
Stan's Sausage du Jour
Beignets
Cheeseburger And Fries
Spit-Roasted Lamb Roll
Double Milk Flan
Steamed Clams, House Linguica, Fennel, Grilled Lemon Relish, Smoked Butter
Brown Butter Beignets
Vodka Martini
Steamer Clams W/ Chorizo
Padron Peppers
Turnips
Exit Through The Giftshop
Fry Bread With Chorizo And Eggs
Grilled Lamb Tongue
Fried Lamb Tongue
Lamb Loin Chop And Merguez Sausage
Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream
Imperial Fries
Grilled Romaine With Oregon Albacore
Corn Cakes
Begniets
Clams
Cocktail
Bread Roll
Grilled Romaine
Bloody Mary
Ricotta, Pears And Fry Bread
egg sandwich
Milk Chocolate Banana Icebox Cake W/ Foie Gras Mousse
Special App Confit Quail With Sous Vide Egg
Salmon
Coddled Eggs With Spicy Tomato Sauce And Ricotta

Imperial Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Northwest
Portland
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (198)
Special Occasion (115)
Hot Spot (93)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (75)
Good for Groups (74)
Great for Lunch (68)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Great for Brunch (45)
Romantic (32)
Notable Wine List (32)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Late-night Find (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Business Meals (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Casual (14)
Fun (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Authentic (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
People Watching (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Seasonal (6)
Family Style (6)
Cozy (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Private Room (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The fried chicken and sausage entree wer ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined a day ago

The fried chicken and sausage entree were intoxicating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were seated in the private dinning ro ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were seated in the private dinning room for 7 convention associates . The food was Great!! The service was good but thankfully they put us in private room because the rest of the restaurant was very noisy. I don't know if I would come back unless we had that private room.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Private Room, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We decided to eat at the bar and what a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

We decided to eat at the bar and what a treat! Our bartender was SO knowledgeable about the food and wine that we just asked her to pair all our plates for us. Amazing! I fee awful that I can't recall her name but what an ambassador for this place. The poke, pork, fried chicken, oysters - all divine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, though tasty, lacked serious i ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food, though tasty, lacked serious invention--there was nothing out of the ordinary, not even a spin on ordinary. The one exception was the cocktails, which were unusual, and very inventive. Overall the place, with its somewhat dated design elements, has a distinct lack of soul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

we were so pleased with the entire expe ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

we were so pleased with the entire expeience at Imperial--the menu was diverse and interesting, the food was outstanding and the service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

not great, just a so-so meal with decent ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

not great, just a so-so meal with decent service. The food used to be very good here, seems to have slumped into mediocrity - and over priced for what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Not sure why all the hype. Food is ok bu ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Not sure why all the hype. Food is ok but nothing special. They know how to describe a dish but bringing it is a different story, just ok. Nose level off the charts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

My cousin and I met for our mutual birth ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

My cousin and I met for our mutual birthday lunch. I now understand why the fried chicken is a signature dish! Bravo!!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding flavors and menu offers a wi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Outstanding flavors and menu offers a wide (but not weird) variety of choices, small plates or larger meals.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was great, along with the service a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food was great, along with the service and the price was reasonable for what you get. It is quite noisy though so it makes it difficult to hear if you are in a larger group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food not great, not enough to choose fro ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food not great, not enough to choose from. I will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Extremely great food, and amazing cockta ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Extremely great food, and amazing cocktails. Actually the best cocktail is 'New Money'

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant in the Po ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant in the Portland downtown area. It has very good food, excellent service staff, well-designed interior, and overall good vibe. The only drawback: This is a very lively and noisy room.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food, but extremely noisy. G ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful food, but extremely noisy. Good for snacks and drink with colleagues, but not the place for a "special dinner."

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The fried chicken, watermelon salad, and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The fried chicken, watermelon salad, and mushrooms are all to die for. This restaurant is truly the best in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good drinks. We sat outside so I'm not s ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Good drinks. We sat outside so I'm not sure about the noise level or ambiance inside. Our waiter was ok...we ordered the expensive beef to be medium rare and it came overcooked.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I love going there!

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I love going there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken sausage was really good. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The chicken sausage was really good. Their house made hot sauce and jam was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Super salty.

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Super salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

The Pork was out of this world, as was t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The Pork was out of this world, as was the fried chicken. One of the best dinners I've had in Portland. The atmosphere was nice. The service was also excellent, which as anyone from Portland knows, is a rarity. Would recommend Imperial to anyone looking for a top meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal! It's true, the Duck Mea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent meal! It's true, the Duck Meatballs are divine!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had dinner at Imperial on Friday nigh ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had dinner at Imperial on Friday night. It was date night!

We enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant. We made a reservation and did not have to wait. The service was friendly, and helpful.

We had the grilled caprese salad, Parker house rolls, king salmon, fried chicken, and the warm corn cake for dessert (server recommended, and it was good!). We would definitely order these items again. Everything was wonderful.highly recommend. Simple, well prepared food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first time dining at The Imperial le ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our first time dining at The Imperial left a wonderful impression on us. The food was incredible. The service was incredible. The best part of the entire night is that we were seated in our own private room off of the main restaurant. No request on my part when I made the reservation for our party of 6. The room had a sliding glass doors so you had privacy plus you felt connected to the rest of the restaurant. What a great dining experience in every way. Thank you Imperial!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and atmosphere was worth the medioc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food and atmosphere was worth the mediocre service we received. We couldn't have got a better table! We would come back again to try some more off the menu even if we didn't have the friendliest service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Unfortunately my reservation was lost du ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Unfortunately my reservation was lost due to a computer glitch. The hostess was a little put off when I asked her what happened, ok no big deal they found us a table. Once seated we were lost in the shuffle of service. I'm not sure how we were forgotten considering we were sat next to the kitchen. We asked for help from a passer by server who took care of us by taking our food order and answering a couple of questions. Then another server came over profusely apologizing for the mistake. Once our food arrived my grilled cheese was burnt on one side and a mistake was made with with a soup order. The mistake was fixed and all in all the food was ok. For such a well reviewed restaurant I was greatly disappointed with my experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

We went for our anniversary dinner on a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We went for our anniversary dinner on a weekend in Portland. The service was warm and friendly, not stuffy or pretentious. The food was excellent, and when the main course took a while to come out they sent a free veggie side dish which was both thoughtful and delicious. Our meal started with the savory bread pudding which was fantastic and enough to share. I had the salmon, which was supposedly cooked medium rare but came out more like medium well. No matter as it was flavorful despite being overcooked. My wife had the ribeye which was cooked perfectly to the recommended medium and tasted wonderful. Side of mushrooms hit the spot as well. Our server recommended a very good local wine. Overall it was a very good experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Too salty! I am a salt lover and even ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Too salty! I am a salt lover and even for me this was way over the top. Unfortunate because everything we ordered was very creative. Lovely flavor combinations but all overpowered be salt, especially the pork chop. With salt cut by 50% this could be my favorite place.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Really great menu and food! Our server ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Really great menu and food! Our server was excellent! Cocktails good. Try the rolls. Delicious!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So excited to visit Paley's latest place ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

So excited to visit Paley's latest place, but service was ho-hum (waiter could make no recommendations of food or wine; just said it was all on the menu) and the noise level made it impossible to have a meaningful conversation with old friends. Also, we felt rushed on completing our meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We had a larger group and had the privat ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had a larger group and had the private room which was quite nice. Made a great impression on my boss and business colleagues and our server was wonderful!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place used to be good - but the foo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This place used to be good - but the food has gone downhill.

I had the halibut special of the day - over cooked and dry, even the fingerling potatoes were dried out.

Just not what it used to be ...

also it's so loud in there that you cannot hear the conversation at your own table without yelling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

I ate at this restaurant when I was in P ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I ate at this restaurant when I was in Portland in March and it was outstanding. This visit did not live up to the last one. The food was very good, but not outstanding. The service was just okay and the acoustics in the room made conversation very difficult. Poke, caprese salad with peaches and t-bone were very good. Dessert was disappointing.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

After hearing great things about Imperia ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

After hearing great things about Imperial, we were excited for dinner. Upon arrival the host was dismissive and rude to the point we considered leaving. However, we stayed hopeful the food and service would counterbalance the first impression. Our server was equally rude, taking a great deal of time to take our order. The food took over an hour to arrive with other diners who arrived after us getting their meals before we did. The food was bland, cold and unimpressive, definitely not worth the wait. I would tell anyone to save their money and dine elsewhere. In a city filled with amazing restaurants, don't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Had a very enjoyable diner and drinks. A ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Had a very enjoyable diner and drinks. A nice and different menu. Only minor issue it's a bit noisey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great local food and great service!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great local food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Imperial really got our attention. Food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Imperial really got our attention. Food was inspired. We really appreciated the effort put forward. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around good experience. Cocktails ar ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

All around good experience. Cocktails are a little small and pricey for the Portland marketplace. Parker house rolls, what a treat. Bacon chop and blistered beans as a main were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a great brunch at Imperial.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We enjoyed a great brunch at Imperial.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were visiting Portland this Labor day ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We were visiting Portland this Labor day weekend and read excellent reviews on the restaurant. The restaurant is in a great location in downtown Portland an easy to walk from our hotel.

I ordered half a dozen oysters on the half shell, which were served with house made horseradish. Never, would have put horseradish on oysters, but it worked. The horseradish was delish. My partner had the watermelon salad, which was a beautiful presentation. It was a clean, light and refreshing start to the meal. We also ordered two Parker house rolls, nice and good. Our waiter was apologetic that the food took a long time to arrive. We are both ok with waiting, as long as the food is good. We enjoyed the starters and were anticipating excellent entrees. Again, our waiter had to come by to let us know our food would arrive soon.

Finally, the entrees. Boy were we disappointed. I had the SRF wagyu Coulotte, it looked beautifully cooked, but wow was it tough. The meat was under seasoned. I only finished half of the meal, because it just was not worth it to continue. My partner had the fried chicken and it was mostly fried batter and not a lot of chicken. He did finish the chicken, but left plenty of batter on the plate. We had also ordered the savory bread pudding. Needless to say this pudding was not savory. The pudding was an unbalanced and under seasoned side dish.

Our waiter asked if everything was good, if we wanted to take the leftovers and did we have in interest in dessert. No thank you to the leftovers and dessert and the food was ok being our response. I genuinely think he was surprised by our response! Maybe we should have sent the dishes back, but considering the length of time to prepare we just did not think it was worth the fuss. Not a recommendation on the next visit to Portland.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was good and I can not say that ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was good and I can not say that the service was bad but our wait time was 1.5 hours. We were not very hungry so it was not hard to wait for food but I think that it is too long by any standards. Also even in the most expensive restaurants some bread served before the meal. At the Imperial it is $1 per piece. Seriously? Just bump the price of your appetizers $1 up but do not make your customers feel that you are squizing them for every dollar. It is so not an Imperial tactics.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.