About Imperial

410 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

At Imperial, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and the culinary team will re-imagine and re-present Pacific Northwest culinary pathways. Exemplifying Oregon’s own James Beard's culinary philosophy, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and his culinary team will explore menu ideas that have historic significance while exploring cooking methods and ingredients from the diverse bounty of our region. The most prominent feature of Imperial's kitchen is an impressive wood fire grill and rotisserie that will incorporate the use of native hard and fruitwoods. Inspired by warm, primitive, burning campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial will concentrate on natural and uncomplicated preparations, serving the community by celebrating its past and providing a welcoming and generous place to eat.
Also check out our sister restaurant Paley's Place here.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Stark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-7222

Website:
http://www.imperialpdx.com/

Parking Details:
There are a wide variety of Parking options within a few blocks radius of The Imperial.

-Valet Parking is available at $10/car.

-Union Bank of California Garage
707 SW Washington
Portland, Or 97205
(located directly across the street from Imperial)

-Star Park
615 SW Alder St.
Portland, OR 97205

Should you need any assistance with group parking, please inquire.

Public Transit:
MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from The Imperial.

Executive Chef:
Vitaly Paley

Private Party Facilities:
The Imperial has two incredible event rooms available for rent. Our Monterosso Room, just off the artfully appointed Lucia lobby, accommodates up to 80 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail reception. The Monterosso features a built-in retractable screen and overhead sound-system, great options for enhancing your special occasion or meeting. The colorful Genoa Room features a one-of-a-kind photography collection and is a terrific choice for more intimate groups of 10-50 people. We offer a wonderful variety of menu options and we provide tables, chairs, linens, dishware and décor, making planning your event a breeze. If you are interested in using any of our event spaces, please contact our events department.

Private Party Contact:
Danika Duren: (503) 241-2127

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Imperial Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (55)
Good for a Date (51)
Special Occasion (50)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (47)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Open Kitchen (43)
Wood Oven (37)
Hot Spot (36)
Local Ingredients (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Business Meals (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Comfort Food (27)
Romantic (26)
Casual (26)
Modern Decor (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Fun (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Authentic (21)
Seasonal (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Happy Hour (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Groups (15)
People Watching (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Cozy (11)
Family Style (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Healthy (9)
Historic (8)
Private Room (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Organic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fireplace (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1568 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

This was a belated Valentine's Day dinner. The food was very good, as was the wine. But what made the most difference was the service. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. An altogether excellent experience. We are long time fans of this restaurant and this just reinforced the fact that nothing has changed! We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent but the service was very lacking. Had to wait a long time for drinks that we could see sitting on the bar. Asked for coffee more than once. No condiments offered. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

A friend and I popped in for lunch in this beautifully designed downtown restaurant. The burger was one of the best in my life! House made bun, pickles on grilled Kobe beef. Fries were ordinary. Dressing on salad very tart. My friend enjoyed her cobb salad with smoked chicken. Warmed chocolate chip cookies were fabulous! Great coffee.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Wait staff was spot-on at every turn. Beautiful restaurant and I loved the table they gave us. The food was tasty and aesthetically pleasing, but many portions not impressive for the pricetag.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Now we've enjoyed all 3 Paley's Portland restaurants. We'll be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant was in a great location and extremely easy to walk to from anywhere downtown. The food was very good, a little more like a tapas restaurant but still delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Food and service were fine. The Hazelnut sundae was a great finish.

The room is very live ( brick, wood, metal) and noisy. Some sound deadening would be nice.

Tags: Wood Oven, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

First time to dine at Imperial and we had the bone in ribeye for two and it was DELICIOUS!! Beet salad was incredible....cocktails were great!! Love the vibe

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

The entree (secretto pork) was delicious. Sides (crab salad, roasted mushrooms), not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Imperial is my go to brunch location... never lets me down

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Fabulously presented meals served by wonderful wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We selected Imperial for for our 25th anniversary based on its reputation and the fact that we had not previously eaten there. It did not disappoint! This was quite possibly the best meal we have had in Portland, and we have had some pretty impressive meals in Portland over the years. Every aspect of the evening was flawless, from the smart and knowledgable wait staff to the impeccably sourced ingredients, and exquisite execution. Every aspect was perfectly thought out and just right. Nothing was precious or pretentious. The staff was busy (it was Friday after all) but nothing ever felt rushed. Our server happily decanted the bottle of wine we brought with us too. Front and back of the house are both very well run and the love of good food permeates the place. It was thoroughly enjoyable evening and we look forward to returning.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Organic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I met my girlfriends at Imperial for lunch. This place always delivers. The kale salad is delicious but small. As a vegetarian i did not add Chicken so the portion didn't satisfy my hunger. I do wish they offered more hearty vegetarian options because what they do They do very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The fried chicken was amazing. We will definitely come back for more!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very good food overall, except the smoked mushrooms which tasted really odd--would not order those again. Our waitress also seemed somewhat unsure of herself. The night seemed slightly "off," but we eat at Imperial often and will definitely be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We LOVED the food. It took a long time before our waiter visited our table for the first time, but other than that she was excellent. It was on the more expensive side for the same quality restaurant in Portland, but not that far off from the average I suppose. It was pretty loud while we were there. The food and drinks were really excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made reservations for lunch and so glad that we did as it was packed when we arrived around 12:15. As soon as we were seated, we were promptly greeted by Emily T. We had already looked at the menu online and placed an order of the crab salad, fried chicken and fries with secret sauce. Our food arrived quickly and everything was stupid good! When I could finally tear myself away from the ridiculous fries, I was ready to tear into the steaming hot chicken. Unfortunately, Emily had not visited our table in a while and I had to flag down another waiter to bring us hot sauce. He told us that hot sauce and honey should have been provided...hmm...Emily was so not on her job. As soon as he brought the in house accoutrements we tore into it and it was delicious! The combo of the fresh made honey and hot sauce spoke volumes. Next it was on to the salad, which was wonderful; filled with lots of meaty fresh crab meat.

Of course, no meal is complete without dessert. I do not like fruit and cake combined, wasn't in the mood for pie, so we decided on the cookie. Emily finally showed up and told us the cookie was big enough to split. When it arrived, we were like really? I could have easily eaten that by myself. I wasn't to pleased, but the cookie was warm (the best) and the addiction of the chocolate chip ice cream was perfect. It wasn't your typical ice cream filled with bits of chocolate chip, but the actual cookie! I can't wait to come back here to dine for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good bar, good service, unexpected tastes but noise was a bit of a deterrent to easy conversation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We decided to celebrate Valentines day with breakfast instead of dinner because availability is so much easier. We thought it would be busier but it was downtown on a workday. When we got there they didn't have a booth and pointed us to a table that could have bene shared with someone.. We didn't want that so I asked if we could be on the end because it seemed a little more private. There was only a small section open for breakfast. I know this restaurant is amazing for lunch and dinner but breakfasts don't seem to be their main thing. Good service and nice people and good food though. :)

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great resturant, very nice atmosphere and excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The staff was very attentive and knowledgeable. Fun variations on classic cocktails and dishes.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Hair in my salad. Small portions.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food and service, but the customers provide more than enough ambient noise; the constant boom-boom-boom piped in noise is unnecessary and a irritant.What does it add except for frustration? Is this for the customers... or for the staff???

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very noisy. The food was just fair yet expensive. The waitress got too things wrong on the order that had to be corrected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Friends had told me about the Imperial, and we had a lovely brunch. I recommend the hash, and the eggs benedict were very good, if not the best in the universe. Nice horseradishy Bloody Mary, and the service was really terrific.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our reservation was at 7:15 on the Saturday before Valentine's Day..It was our Valentines meal. We didn't get sat till about 7:40 and they tried to seat us at the chefs tasting bar, both things we were not expecting. Luckily, my wide saw a little table for two and we were able to sit there. We had oysters, poke, a kale salad and the NY steak in that order and everything was fresh and well prepared. The drinks were good. I really liked the huge cube of ice in the "new money." We have been to Imperial a few times before and outside the wait with reservations and the attempt to sit us not facing each other the meal was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good food and excellent service! I expected to see bigger selection of foreign food but didn't:(

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding dinner with very unique combinations of flavors. Always fun to try dishes that you can't replicate exactly at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We got there 20 mins early before purchasing reservation and they seated us right away. The service was great, but they come to your table a lot. I MEAN A LOT. They give you new silverware each course which made it a little awkward during conversation. When the food came it was delicious. We had the bison short rib and the flavors were complex, I couldn't get enough of it. The fried chicken was also wonderful. Crispy, nice spice and the sweet pickles were a perfect touch. The only complaint is how often they clear and clean the table, it is excessive and should be limited. We will come back even for happy hour, the food was great!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our first visit back since Chef Doug moved on. I have to say: the food (which was exceptional before) is , dare I say, even better now. Well done. Your attention to detail is spectacular. And of course, we'll be back.

btw; my wife and I are both vegetarians and we can always find not only delicious options at Imperial, but interesting, well-thought out options. Something many restaurants don't bother with when throwing together the 'veg option'.

Thanks for that!

Jim Walker

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Romantic, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Energetic vibe - loud but we could talk just fine. Our food was beautifully cooked with nice accompaniments. I had seared steelhead and my husband had black cod - both delicious. Roasted beer starter was super good. I had a good Pinot Noir on tap and he had a cider from France. Left happy!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Private Room, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Entrees were great but the sides were just ok. Kale salad way too salty and the mushrooms smoky flavor took away the earthiness that you should taste with a mushroom.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 6, 2017

I had fried razor clams and french fries. Both were excessively salty. The clams were tough and I've had good razor clams properly prepared that were not tough. The batter on the clams was oily and thick. The sauce for the clams was boring. My friend had a crab omelette and had a hard time finding the crab. I have been here 3 times now and have found it overrated and not exceptional in any way, except maybe being able to sit near the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food at Imperial never disappoints! Prices are reasonable for the delicious dishes. Noise level is pretty high, so maybe not the best spot for a quiet romantic date. LOVE Imperial and will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Hi there! We enjoyed out outing at the Imperial, but it was terribly loud. The food was acceptable. Very small portions. Prices somewhat above value. VERY close proximity to another couple which was a wee odd. With reservations, we expected to be booth seated, but were located in the mid section next to another couple. Waitress attention was good.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My new favorite place! The BEST fried chicken since my Chicago days. Delicious sides, great drinks, fun decor, friendly servers.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Imperial is one of the best restaurant choices downtown. The food is always interesting, the service is excellent, and ambiance is very warm (if a little noisy).

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We have come here a number of times, and especially enjoy it when we are in the private party room, very few offer that.

The service is friendly, and helpful.

I would recommend the cocktail "a radish on the way to the bar". I stop whenever I can for that.

Best in Portland.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great service and very good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Very comfortable for a business lunch meeting. The food choices were great. We both ordered different fish items that were perfectly prepared and shared the grilled Caesar salad. The salad is delicious with flavorful tomatoes even this time of year. Service is always excellent and friendly. Imperial is my go to for business lunches.

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Everyone was on top of everything we needed, such as drink refills, clearing the table, setting it up for next plate. Very patient and helpful with menu choices. Good recommendations as well. I was very satisfied.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We've been to imperial many times and have never been dissapointed. Highly recommend to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Surprisingly a great brunch venue, reasonably priced. Great selection, when there are items you look forward to after you just ate there, it's a good restaurant in my books.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is by far my favorite Paley place. Maybe it is because we go here often and the waitstaff knows us and that is why the service is so stellar or maybe they are so stellar and that is why we keep coming. Either way, great service. Great food. I LOVE their french toast and their bloody Marys. I love that you can book on OpenTable so you don't have to wait in line for an hour at other places for subpar food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

An amazing experience from start to finish. A 5 star experience everytime we dine. The poke is the star of the small plates, followed by the fried chicken. Desserts a must, so leave room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Imperial is in my top 5 Portland restaurants. Excellent menu and food is always top notch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Horrible service, our waiter was not helpful whatsoever. And rude. Food was ok.. but not great!

Overall the waiter killed our dining experience.. I would not recommend this restaurant or kris the waiter at all. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The fried chicken was delicious as were the oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Warm Caesar salad, grilled flatbread and perfect ribeye steak with truffle mashed potatoes made a glorious dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great meal, beverages and good service. The food and cocktails are unique.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.