About Imperial

410 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

At Imperial, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and the culinary team will re-imagine and re-present Pacific Northwest culinary pathways. Exemplifying Oregon’s own James Beard's culinary philosophy, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and his culinary team will explore menu ideas that have historic significance while exploring cooking methods and ingredients from the diverse bounty of our region. The most prominent feature of Imperial's kitchen is an impressive wood fire grill and rotisserie that will incorporate the use of native hard and fruitwoods. Inspired by warm, primitive, burning campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial will concentrate on natural and uncomplicated preparations, serving the community by celebrating its past and providing a welcoming and generous place to eat.
Also check out our sister restaurant Paley's Place here.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Stark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-7222

Website:
http://www.imperialpdx.com/

Parking Details:
There are a wide variety of Parking options within a few blocks radius of The Imperial.

-Valet Parking is available at $10/car.

-Union Bank of California Garage
707 SW Washington
Portland, Or 97205
(located directly across the street from Imperial)

-Star Park
615 SW Alder St.
Portland, OR 97205

Should you need any assistance with group parking, please inquire.

Public Transit:
MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from The Imperial.

Executive Chef:
Vitaly Paley

Private Party Facilities:
The Imperial has two incredible event rooms available for rent. Our Monterosso Room, just off the artfully appointed Lucia lobby, accommodates up to 80 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail reception. The Monterosso features a built-in retractable screen and overhead sound-system, great options for enhancing your special occasion or meeting. The colorful Genoa Room features a one-of-a-kind photography collection and is a terrific choice for more intimate groups of 10-50 people. We offer a wonderful variety of menu options and we provide tables, chairs, linens, dishware and décor, making planning your event a breeze. If you are interested in using any of our event spaces, please contact our events department.

Private Party Contact:
Danika Duren: 5032412127x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Imperial
Oysters
Tails And Trotters Barrel Planked Pork Secreto
French Toast With Fresh Apples And A Side Of Bacon
Crispy Fried Pigtail
Happy Hour Fried Chicken
fried chicken
Beef and pork khinkali with melted butter, black pepper and dill
Grilled King Salmon
Flank Steak
Cold Smoked Escolar
Sauteed Mushrooms
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Venison Carpaccio W/ Shaved Foie Gras, Porcini Mushroom...
Almond & Rhubarb Financier
Jalapeno Tuna Tartar
Bacon Chop
Marinated Citrus Salad
Coca Cola & Pabst Blue Ribbon Braised Pork
Winter Citrus Salad With Grilled Albacore Tuna
Brooks Pinot Noir Rose Wine
Pork Chop
Ginger Beer and Jalapeno
Oregon Albacore Tuna Ceviche
Fried Rabbit
Roasted Beets And Smoked Mussels
White Russian
Grilled Brussel Sprouts With Harissa, Orange, Preserved Lemon.
Imperial Barrel- Aged Hot Sauce And Laurelhurst Honey
Steamer Clams
Rainbow Chard Gratin
Charcuterie plate
Oysters on the Half Shell
Oregon Albacore On Corn Puree With Aged Balsamic And Oregon Olive Oil
Beef Marrow With Shaved Vegetable And Confide Baby Octopus
Pecan Pie With Bourbon Sauce
Smoked Lamb Ribs
Seared Fish With Spinach And Amazing Sauce
Imperial Sundae
Parker House Rolls
Banana Cream Pie
Grilled Lamb and Spoon Lamb
Berry Salad
Duck meatballs
Fry Basket Of Fries
Quai
Snap Peas, Wild Mushrooms, Radish
Carmelized Green Beans
Roasted Carr
Organic Half Chicken
Oysters!
Manila Clams
Quail
Menu
Ceviche
French Fries
Rye Cocktail
Stan's Sausage du Jour
roasted cauliflower
Beignets
Cheeseburger And Fries
Double Milk Flan
Spit-Roasted Lamb Roll
Steamed Clams, House Linguica, Fennel, Grilled Lemon Relish, Smoked Butter
Steamer Clams W/ Chorizo
Brown Butter Beignets
Vodka Martini
Turnips
Exit Through The Giftshop
Padron Peppers
Fry Bread With Chorizo And Eggs
Grilled Lamb Tongue
Lamb Loin Chop And Merguez Sausage
Fried Lamb Tongue
Corn Cakes
Imperial Fries
Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream
Grilled Romaine With Oregon Albacore
Clams
Begniets
Cocktail
Grilled Romaine
Bread Roll
Bloody Mary
Ricotta, Pears And Fry Bread
egg sandwich
Milk Chocolate Banana Icebox Cake W/ Foie Gras Mousse
Special App Confit Quail With Sous Vide Egg
Salmon
Coddled Eggs With Spicy Tomato Sauce And Ricotta

Imperial Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Northwest
Portland
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (260)
special occasion (138)
hot spot (128)
See All
good for groups (103)
vibrant bar scene (91)
great for lunch (77)
great for brunch (76)
neighborhood gem (67)
notable wine list (46)
romantic (40)
late-night find (29)
great for outdoor dining (14)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was fabulous and the service wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 14 hours ago

The food was fabulous and the service was on point. Allie was a great guide to a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

In my top five places to eat in Portland ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

In my top five places to eat in Portland!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Quite noisy so conversation can be a cha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Quite noisy so conversation can be a challenge at times. But the food and service made up for it. Just relax and enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food had a great time not to loud ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food had a great time not to loud but not quite. Staff was great great knowledge of the menu and made great recommendations. Will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely Awesome need I say more

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely Awesome need I say more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend The Imperial, we took o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Highly recommend The Imperial, we took out of town guests and they were also quite impressed . Definitly on out to go back list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Don't go if you want to have a conversat ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Don't go if you want to have a conversation with other people at your table. The sound level is deafening. The food and service are very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The perfect pick for our last night in P ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The perfect pick for our last night in Portland, the service was awesome and I cannot say enough about the meal Superb

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent inventive food that is a uniqu ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent inventive food that is a unique addition to the Portland foodie scene. We thoroughly enjoyed the steak and salmon we ordered. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The white bean soup was spectacular - fu ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The white bean soup was spectacular - full of flavor, with navy beans, a bit of kale, a beautiful broth spiced just enough for a bit of zing. The green salad was surpringly poor. There was way too much lemon vinaigrette. Some pieces of lettuce were too big to handle with a fork and then tough to cut; there were bits of wilted spinach or kale that looked and tasted like an afterthought; and the shaved radishes and carrots were tough and tasteless. The delicious soup and Parker House roll and delicious iced coffee saved the lunch. The service was fine, and since my friend and I sat in a booth, we were spared some of the noise...very important ant because I am very hard of hearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress, Suzannah, was fantastic, v ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our waitress, Suzannah, was fantastic, very nice. The food was excellent. This was a very nice place to celebrate our anniversary, but too expensive for our blood.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was inventive and full of flavo ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food was inventive and full of flavor. Love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fried chicken was delicious. Staff was v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fried chicken was delicious. Staff was very friendly and on point.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I dream about the kale salad. Our knowle ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I dream about the kale salad. Our knowledgeable waitress said the hamburger was amazing - she was right! Their handmade Parker house rolls melted in our mouths. The only bad thing is that we were visiting Portland so I can't go back there until our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After riding his bicycle in the Seattle ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

After riding his bicycle in the Seattle to Portland ride, my husband wanted to celebrate his accomplishments with a good meal and that is what we had at Imperial. Another rider and his wife joined us and all four enjoyed the choices. We started with the assorted pickle plate - whoever knew green strawberries were delicious when pickled, the freshly baked Parker House rolls, and the grilled Caprese salad. I had the halibut, done to perfection with grilled little peppers and eggplant lemon preserve, my mate had the fried chicken, served with bee honey from the restaurant's own bee hives. Our friends shared the seared Albacore and the pork chop special both done to perfection. We will recommend Imperial as well as return the next time we visit Portland.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Not impressed. I found unusual to have ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Not impressed.

I found unusual to have only brunch sunday till 3pm but the waiter was nice. I can't remember what I had but it wasn't bad either and my bf had and WAY overcooked crab omelet (like a shoe insole).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

ran out of Frangelico for the Coffee Dri ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

ran out of Frangelico for the Coffee Drinks we were having then ran out of whipped Cream

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food is excellent! The servers are a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food is excellent! The servers are amazing!! They are very knowledgeable of what they are serving and the exact adult beverage that will go with each course. As long as they keep serving Chef Dougie's food, even after he is gone, they will succeed!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! We ordered the poke appetizer ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delicious! We ordered the poke appetizer, fried chicken and fries and ended the night with the pie of the day (chocolate pecan pie) a la mode. The poke showed up right away and we felt like we had to wait pretty long for our chicken and fries- the only setback to an amazing meal. The sauce for the fried chicken was really tasty as well as the flavors they used to season the poke. We had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We've been visiting Imperial for a quite ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We've been visiting Imperial for a quite a while now, and have always had a consistently great meal. The staff is friendly, and warm, especially Karen, who has grown into a wonderful friend. This is one of our favorite places in the city!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, and always unique twi ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful service, and always unique twists on dishes. We've been here multiple times and have never been dissapointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in Portland for a wedding and fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were in Portland for a wedding and fortunately secured a reservation. The meal was awesome. I had read about Doug Adams pork chop and asked our waiter, Chris, his thoughts. Chris shared that he had taken some friends to Imperial and ordered all his favorites. So we followed his lead and did the same. We had thevpork chop, pork loin, and the fried chicken. All were wonderful. We then had the panacotta with berries that was the perfect finish to a memorable dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My salmon was disappointing although the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My salmon was disappointing although the Parker House rolls were great! Our server was not very friendly and our water didn't get refilled very often. Sorry!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our server Joslynn was outstanding! The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our server Joslynn was outstanding! The food is always amazing at Imperial and I have never been disappointed. Bar service can go either way at times.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the food. I am a huge fan of Top ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved the food. I am a huge fan of Top Chef and had to eat at Doug Adams' restaurant and try his signature Fried Chicken. It was amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent breakfast fare with a nice var ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent breakfast fare with a nice variety of local options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It is a very small loud restaurant but t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It is a very small loud restaurant but the food was pretty good. Although, the rolls were not that great for $1 a piece reminded me of rolls I used to get for 20 cents in high school except I think those were better. Fried chicken was good pickles had a very interesting flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Always a favorite in Portland..

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Always a favorite in Portland..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good quality... But very si ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was good quality... But very simple and over priced for the amount you got. The dessert was awesome! I had high expectations and it didn't really meet them as far as flavors go. The flat bread was inediblely burned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Best fried chicken I've ever had! The se ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Best fried chicken I've ever had! The service was phenomenal, as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the combination of favors in all o ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Loved the combination of favors in all of dishes we tried. Fried chicken with honey and hot sauce was amazing. Just the right amount of spice. The watermelon salad was refreshing with a little kick. Will definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place! Food was good, was a bit in ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great place! Food was good, was a bit interesting to order meals and sides seperately, (Ie the burger doesn't automatically come with fries, you choose fries, or eggplant, or something from the appy menu) Great food the fried chicken was so good, two huge pieces. The pork chop we didn't enjoy as it was mostly fat, and had to hunt to find the meat. Cool to have hot sauce in little eye droppers and cute touches. Also a huge selection of local wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very noisy and over priced. Food was inc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very noisy and over priced. Food was inconsistent from inedible appetizer, soggy grilled salad, and overly seasoned meatballs to a perfect peach caprice and good halibut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

Imperial is totally over rated! The food ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Imperial is totally over rated! The food is "good" not "great". The overall "value" is carefully measured out by the bar tender as she pours and the chefs as they plate the food. They charge for everything...even the bread, although they make it in house. I felt as though they were very cheap with their customers. No special touches, nothing. We spent $235 for four for an average dinner and $100 dollars at the bar. I will go elsewhere where my business is actually appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great food, but horrible service. Waitr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, but horrible service. Waitress forgot items, food was late, some wrong choices delivered.

The waitress didn't care that she continued to make mistakes. Just said "oh sorry" each time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a great brunch at Imperial. The p ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a great brunch at Imperial. The portions were generous enough to share and the food was reasonably priced - and very delicious! We had the hash- which was yummy, but the fried chicken was the star of the show. You won't regret it! Our server let us linger for several hours without hovering or making us feel rushed. All in all, it was a great meal.

Tags: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food, the service, the drinks, and t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food, the service, the drinks, and the setting, were all exemplary. Our waiter was helpful and attendant, the drinks were tasty and the beer selection was excellent, and without being hyperbolic, the fried chicken ruined all other friend chicken for me. I guess the only bad part about the meal is that I can no longer eat fried chicken without thinking about THAT fried chicken.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service! I wou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food and excellent service! I would definitely go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food and great service.

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Awesome food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fried chicken is as good as it gets. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The fried chicken is as good as it gets. I had a tequila cocktail that was nice and strong. The pork dish that my wife had was nothing special as were the potatoes. I will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.