About Imperial

410 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

At Imperial, Chef/Owner Paley and Executive Chef Doug Adams will re-imagine and re-present Pacific Northwest culinary pathways. Exemplifying Oregon’s own James Beard's culinary philosophy, Chef/Owner Paley and Executive Chef Doug Adams will explore menu ideas that have historic significance while exploring cooking methods and ingredients from the diverse bounty of our region. The most prominent feature of Imperial's kitchen is an impressive wood fire grill and rotisserie that will incorporate the use of native hard and fruitwoods. Inspired by warm, primitive, burning campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial will concentrate on natural and uncomplicated preparations, serving the community by celebrating its past and providing a welcoming and generous place to eat.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Stark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-7222

Website:
http://www.imperialpdx.com/

Parking Details:
There are a wide variety of Parking options within a few blocks radius of The Imperial.

-Valet Parking is available at $10/car.

-Union Bank of California Garage
707 SW Washington
Portland, Or 97205
(located directly across the street from Imperial)

-Star Park
615 SW Alder St.
Portland, OR 97205

Should you need any assistance with group parking, please inquire.

Public Transit:
MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from The Imperial.

Executive Chef:
Vitaly Paley and Doug Adams

Private Party Facilities:
The Imperial has two incredible event rooms available for rent. Our Monterosso Room, just off the artfully appointed Lucia lobby, accommodates up to 80 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail reception. The Monterosso features a built-in retractable screen and overhead sound-system, great options for enhancing your special occasion or meeting. The colorful Genoa Room features a one-of-a-kind photography collection and is a terrific choice for more intimate groups of 10-50 people. We offer a wonderful variety of menu options and we provide tables, chairs, linens, dishware and décor, making planning your event a breeze. If you are interested in using any of our event spaces, please contact our events department.

Private Party Contact:
Danika Duren: 5032412127x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Imperial
Oysters
French Toast With Fresh Apples And A Side Of Bacon
Tails And Trotters Barrel Planked Pork Secreto
Crispy Fried Pigtail
Grilled King Salmon
Happy Hour Fried Chicken
fried chicken
Beef and pork khinkali with melted butter, black pepper and dill
Flank Steak
Cold Smoked Escolar
Sauteed Mushrooms
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio
Almond & Rhubarb Financier
Venison Carpaccio W/ Shaved Foie Gras, Porcini Mushroom...
Marinated Citrus Salad
Jalapeno Tuna Tartar
Bacon Chop
Coca Cola & Pabst Blue Ribbon Braised Pork
Brooks Pinot Noir Rose Wine
Winter Citrus Salad With Grilled Albacore Tuna
Pork Chop
Ginger Beer and Jalapeno
Oregon Albacore On Corn Puree With Aged Balsamic And Oregon Olive Oil
Beef Marrow With Shaved Vegetable And Confide Baby Octopus
Smoked Lamb Ribs
Oregon Albacore Tuna Ceviche
Fried Rabbit
Roasted Beets And Smoked Mussels
White Russian
Grilled Brussel Sprouts With Harissa, Orange, Preserved Lemon.
Imperial Barrel- Aged Hot Sauce And Laurelhurst Honey
Steamer Clams
Rainbow Chard Gratin
Charcuterie plate
Oysters on the Half Shell
Pecan Pie With Bourbon Sauce
Seared Fish With Spinach And Amazing Sauce
Imperial Sundae
Parker House Rolls
Banana Cream Pie
Grilled Lamb and Spoon Lamb
Berry Salad
Duck meatballs
Fry Basket Of Fries
Quai
Snap Peas, Wild Mushrooms, Radish
Carmelized Green Beans
Roasted Carr
Organic Half Chicken
Oysters!
Manila Clams
Quail
Menu
Ceviche
French Fries
Rye Cocktail
Stan's Sausage du Jour
roasted cauliflower
Beignets
Cheeseburger And Fries
Double Milk Flan
Spit-Roasted Lamb Roll
Steamed Clams, House Linguica, Fennel, Grilled Lemon Relish, Smoked Butter
Steamer Clams W/ Chorizo
Brown Butter Beignets
Vodka Martini
Turnips
Exit Through The Giftshop
Padron Peppers
Fry Bread With Chorizo And Eggs
Grilled Lamb Tongue
Lamb Loin Chop And Merguez Sausage
Fried Lamb Tongue
Corn Cakes
Imperial Fries
Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream
Grilled Romaine With Oregon Albacore
Clams
Begniets
Cocktail
Grilled Romaine
Bread Roll
Bloody Mary
Ricotta, Pears And Fry Bread
egg sandwich
Milk Chocolate Banana Icebox Cake W/ Foie Gras Mousse
Special App Confit Quail With Sous Vide Egg
Salmon
Coddled Eggs With Spicy Tomato Sauce And Ricotta

Imperial Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Northwest
Portland
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (279)
special occasion (152)
hot spot (132)
See All
good for groups (108)
vibrant bar scene (104)
great for lunch (81)
great for brunch (77)
neighborhood gem (65)
notable wine list (57)
romantic (48)
late-night find (39)
kid-friendly (9)
great for outdoor dining (9)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service1

We were greeted with a Luke warm welcome ...

Dined 2 days ago

We were greeted with a Luke warm welcome and offered seats at the bar while we waited for our friends to show. We were then asked to leave the bar so that two others could sit there and told our table was ready. It wasn't. So we stood around for 15 mins. We were then scowled at by the hostess. Not a good start. And from there the service was just ok. Food was good.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We are visiting Portland and it's the be ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We are visiting Portland and it's the best dinner we have had so far. The grilled Caesar salad was to die for as were the duck meatballs with prunes and carrots. We also had the roasted half chicken served on top of aioli which was smoky, juicy and delicious. Would definitely recommend for dinner.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This place is special, perfect for every ...

Dined 6 days ago

This place is special, perfect for everyday dining and special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Really good service. Just an ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food. Really good service. Just an overall excellent restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My meal was superb, as always at the bes ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My meal was superb, as always at the best restaurant in Portland. I had French toast with lemon curd, so tender and succulent, with a side of thin, crisp-tender bacon, fresh fruit starring sweet, locally-sourced blackberries and cherries, and a smoked-tomato Bloody Mary. It was a sumptuous feast, served by a friendly, efficient bartending and wait staff. I can't rave enough about Imperial!

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Took them TOO LONG to serve. They forgot ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Took them TOO LONG to serve. They forgot to bring some items. Poor communication between servers & kitchen. No vegan choices. Really bitter, bad house salad.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Maybe our favorite restaurant! Food is a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Maybe our favorite restaurant! Food is amazing, always familiar but unique. Like bone marrow fire roasted mushrooms. Delicious mushrooms with a dense extra flavor. Great ambiance and service ha always been exemplary. (Only once did we have a server that was a little more "official" than we like, all others have been laid back but knowledgable and efficient). And if you are a desert person, you will be very happy with the choices, especially their homemade pies, ala mode with house made vanilla but they can run out early so make sure your server saves you some. Whenever we travel to Portland, we visit the Imperial at least twice.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall the experience was great. The fo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Overall the experience was great. The food was spectacular, the service was ok. It wasnt bad, a little standoffish but nothing I would complain about. I guess I would normally expect better service for that type/level of restaurant. The food was amazing and is highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. We had a lovely ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and service. We had a lovely time. The simple kale salad with sunflower seed brittle was AMAZING and I could've eaten it all night...but it was also a perfect compliment to the rest of our meal. Their cocktails on tap were also actually surprisingly very good and half the price!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took friends from Florida, they loved i ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Took friends from Florida, they loved it Ore waitress from Pendleton Or was the best

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I had the watermelon gazpacho, and the p ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

I had the watermelon gazpacho, and the pork loin, both were outstanding. We had a window seat the faces Broadway at lunch time, and the people watching was great too.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A simple beautiful meal. Flavorful veggi ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

A simple beautiful meal. Flavorful veggies, salad and flank steak divine! Definalty a hot spot with great ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely the best friend chicken I hav ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely the best friend chicken I have ever had. I have been to Imperial about 6 times now and am a one-trick-pony as I can only order the fried chicken. It is incredible. Other people in my party ordered the pork chop and other dishes and they all raved about the deliciousness of the food. From the cocktails to the grilled Caesar Salad, to the entrée and the dessert, this place serves fine food deserving of praise.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

The server was knowledgeable. High price ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The server was knowledgeable. High price for small plates, à la carte style so you'll most likely leave a little hungry but the food was amazing. I recommend the Pork

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was the best! Service was pr ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our waiter was the best! Service was prompt and all of our food was delicious. We arrived at 11:00 for brunch. Noise level moderate but it did get louder during our meal. Not crazy. Would definitely come back!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in a group of 6 and we're seated ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We were in a group of 6 and we're seated in a semi private room. We started sharing one sticky bun with smoked pecans but the highlight was their house made pop tarts with fresh raspberry filling. The pastry was so flaky. We ordered several entrees and shared. The favorite was their steak and eggs. The steak was seasoned just right and cooked to perfection. Their brunch menu was amazing and their coffee was good too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Some of the best food in Portland period ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Some of the best food in Portland period. Service is effecient, the menu has a great mix of seasonal and favorite items. Elevated comfort food for sure. Vitaly Paley can't miss.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Favorite Portland stop

Dined on June 11, 2016

This may be my 4th or 5th time at The Imperial. Breakfast this time, but in the past both Lunch and Dinner. Yes the fried chicken is amazing. The Chef seems to embrace the N.W. ingredients and keeps the menu interesting. Truly a fantastic place.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my meal at Imperial. I had the ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I enjoyed my meal at Imperial. I had the Portland Poke and it was very good. I have never had a fish salad before, and my first experience was phenomenal. I am very glad I chose this restaurant as one of my stops on my short visit to Portland.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

The food has gone down in quality and cr ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

The food has gone down in quality and creativity since the change of chef, sadly.

food5
ambience5
service4

A local star! The ambience was awesome.. ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

A local star! The ambience was awesome...hip, lively, attached to the beautiful Hotel Lucia. The logo looks like an old mid century beer can logo, and the interior is inviting with natural shades of wood. The chandeliers were made with bicycle chains! The cocktails were lovely, while the wine selection was a bit limited. The open kitchen allows you to feel like a part of the action. The food was great. You could taste the smokiness in almost all the dishes. The chef used fresh, local ingredients that made this place unique. After sharing a few small plates to start, I had the tagliatelle with Cremini mushrooms, the secreto with romesco. The secreto (pork tenderloin from an Iberian pig) was a tad overdone, but I like mine really pink. The use of hazelnuts in the romesco was creative and tasty. The place is packed...get a reservation early.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All round winner

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We were lucky enough to be seated at the bar in front of the kitchen so could watch all the action. Fantastic food including the beat flank steak I've ever had. Rounded off by our server Ally who was absolutely terrific

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Energetic

Dined on June 7, 2016

The food selection and preparation were first rate. The place looks very hip. The noise level will not allow conversation, at all.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the Fried Chicken!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Hands down the best fried chicken I have ever had. Everything we had was great and server was very friendly and helpful. Started with the crudo and grilled romaine salad, both were outstanding. Had the fried chicken next, which is by far some of the best fried chicken you will ever have. We were too full to venture into the wood grilled items, but they all looked great. Finished up with the pecan pie that was outstanding as well! Only downside is would have liked a few more choices of wine by the glass, but I think Portland is more of a beer and cocktails town...beer selection very good and nice cocktail list as well. This place is a must when visiting Portland!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Imperial was one of my favorite meals in ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Imperial was one of my favorite meals in Portland with the exception of Paley's Place, which is a real gem. Food and drinks were excellent, and the atmosphere and location were hip and vibrant without feeling pretentious. Imperial is laid back enough for casual dining, but the food is so delicious it could be for a more special occasion as well. For a truly special meal though, it's worth the trek to Paley's place, where the fare is similar though a bit fancier, but the atmosphere is infinitely more intimate and romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The fried chicken and watermelon salad g ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

The fried chicken and watermelon salad go great together. Delicious food as always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Brunch!

Dined on June 5, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary with a Sunday brunch here. It was a nice day and so we sat out front and were entertained watching the valets working for the neighboring boutique hotels running to retrieve and park cars. We split the house-made pop-tart, and then I got the french toast and my husband got the potatoe latkes. It was all so delicious! The service was friendly and attentive (the espresso machine wasn't working, so they even got me a cappuccino from a nearby coffee shop). I will definitely be back and recommend to friends!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not what we thought it would be

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

I read so many great reviews that I was really looking forward to our breakfast. The service was good and we were greeted right away. The only issue we had was the food itself. The fruit plate came with molded grapes and molded raspberries that we couldn't eat yet we were still charged for the overpriced fruit plate. The main meal came but was skimpy and lacked much flavor. We cancelled our reservation for the next morning after this visit. It just wasn't worth our time, wasted calories, or money.

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service. Pretty Noisy

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

The title says it all - absolutely outstanding food and service. We were very pleased with those aspects. The dining room was definitely loud; we were seated off to the side which helped a bit and were able to have conversations. Imperial management should look into some sound baffling materials as the ceiling is a hard surface. But.....I'd still come back because the food and service are top-notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

Great food, small portions

Dined on June 3, 2016

I adored the food. I am a good cook myself, and it doesn't happen often that restaurant blows me away. That said, the portions were incredibly small and both me and my husband were still hungry after spending $80 in food here. I am not sure if I would dine here again because of that, which is a shame.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Doesn't live up to hype

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Heard great things about Imperial, however service was poor (cold coffee and espresso drink and "fixed" it by re-steaming the milk vs making a new drink and coffee then tasted burnt and horrible. Server was noticeably irritated). Food was nominal at best. Portland has amazing restaurants and Imperial looked great, but doesn't live up to hype.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Tasty bites

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Duck meatballs are a must have, especially when enjoyed with a glass of wine and a homemade roll - fabulous food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed breakfast and the service was amazing.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Get the crab omelette on our recommendation. Lots of fresh crab and so much flavor. Loved that they make their own hot sauce too!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Brunch before airport

Dined on May 29, 2016

Had a reservation so we were seated quickly but not immediately seen by server, had to ask for one. Food came quickly and open kitchen is fun to observe. Good food, noisy but not obnoxiously so- a baby slept the whole time at a table nearby.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Terrific meal and great service. We got ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Terrific meal and great service. We got great wine advice from our server after enjoying cocktails with our oysters. The watermelon salad was amazing, but I needed one of their Parker House rolls to put the fire out from the heat. The freshness of the salad and roll made the pain well worth it. My wife had the sausage and sauerkraut while I had the pork secreto. We fought over who had the better dish - I am certain I won, but it was a close race. There is a reason this place is getting so many accolades. I highly recommend a visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, small portions, especial ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent food, small portions, especially since the sides are all separate from the entrees. Very attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious. As usual, the n ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was delicious. As usual, the noise level was high, but not deafening. The wine selection is a bit intimidating and expensive. Perhaps more mid-range wines should be included?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was really good. Waiter graciously moved us to a table further from the kitchen since it was a bit loud and warm from the oven.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great

Dined on May 25, 2016

Always great

food5
ambience5
service5

Halibut was amazing!!

Dined on May 25, 2016

Halibut was amazing!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.