Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Imperial

At Imperial, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and the culinary team will re-imagine and re-present Pacific Northwest culinary pathways. Exemplifying Oregon’s own James Beard's culinary philosophy, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and his culinary team will explore menu ideas that have historic significance while exploring cooking methods and ingredients from the diverse bounty of our region. The most prominent feature of Imperial's kitchen is an impressive wood fire grill and rotisserie that will incorporate the use of native hard and fruitwoods. Inspired by warm, primitive, burning campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial will concentrate on natural and uncomplicated preparations, serving the community by celebrating its past and providing a welcoming and generous place to eat.
Also check out our sister restaurant Paley's Place here.


410 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Stark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-7222

Website:
http://www.imperialpdx.com/

Parking Details:
There are a wide variety of Parking options within a few blocks radius of The Imperial.

-Valet Parking is available at $10/car.

-Union Bank of California Garage
707 SW Washington
Portland, Or 97205
(located directly across the street from Imperial)

-Star Park
615 SW Alder St.
Portland, OR 97205

Should you need any assistance with group parking, please inquire.

Public Transit:
MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from The Imperial.

Executive Chef:
Vitaly Paley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Imperial & Hotel Lucia are widely recognized for our award-winning team of Chefs, attention to detail, unique Portland vibe, and commitment to impeccable, personalized service. We currently have three lovely Private Dining spaces that suit a variety of different event types.

Imperial Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (79)
Good for a Date (61)
Creative Cuisine (51)
See All
Special Occasion (48)
Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Local Ingredients (43)
Casual (38)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Comfort Food (35)
Fun (35)
Business Meals (34)
Great for Lunch (33)
Bar Seating (30)
Hot Spot (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Great for Brunch (29)
Happy Hour (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Authentic (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Romantic (19)
Seasonal (19)
People Watching (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Cozy (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Wood Oven (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Tapas (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great Beer (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Vegan (3)
Organic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Waterfront (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Sadly, this restaurant experience was terrible. Service for brunch was really bad and the food was inconsistent. Can not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful meal at the Imperial. The food was excellent and the service efficient and friendly. We look forward to coming back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

All four in our party loved what they ordered. The kale salad was exceptionally good as were the Parker House rolls. The duck meatballs were a big hit. It was a bit difficult to hear conversation. The wait staff was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a delicious meal at the chefs counter to celebrate a birthday. Incredible ambiance and amazing food. The recommendations from the chefs were spot on and the cheesecake dessert was unforgettable. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Great dinner at Imperial- loved the food and atmosphere. Kitchen worked to accommodate the menu to fit the two vegans in our party. Cocktails were great. Only slight negative was we felt a bit rushed - drinks, appetizers and dinner, and we were done and out in 45 minutes. Minor point - still recommend highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

On the recommendation of a friend, we went to Imperial for our 35th anniversary with another couple. To say it was one of the best restaurant experiences we’ve had would be an understatement. From our waitress, Allie, to the nine dishes we ordered and shared, everything was perfect! We would order every dish again—especially the grilled padron peppers and the charred sweet potato, finishing with the Barley Malt Caramel Sundae that was huge and easily shared between the four of us.

We complimented the manager and she was gracious and spent a number of minutes talking with us. This is the sort of place that when you say, “We ought to go back there,” what you mean is “We will definitley be going back there!"

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere and service. We've eaten at a number of 5-star restaurants and this was right up there with the best but had a more casual feel. My wife's salmon and my steak (rare) was cooked perfect and the flavor combinations were unique but delicious. I would highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best fried chicken and hash we have ever tried. Very good value for the quality. Paley's enterprises all are to please.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was excellent but the service was a little unreliable. Simple errors and bad process by the waiter put awkward pauses in the meal. Coffee with sugar but no cream to add even when it was suggested. Given the wrong check... just little things. I will however return as the food is excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I thought the food was overpriced and not very filling for what it was. The waitress served my wife's food long before my cousin and I were served. As such, my wife waited for us and had cold food. I think there are better choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I came for the grilled grapefruit, which was very good. The rest of the experience was meh. Having to flag down the disappearing waitstaff for salt, pepper, ketchup, jelly, and more coffee was ridiculous considering that I was there before the brunch rush. Also being told they can't make substitutes because they're too busy (the place was at about 25% capacity at the time) is ridiculous too. Last time I go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed mixing the small plates. In general, these were excellent. The wait staff was superb in terms of helping with the menu and wine list. A great evening all around except for the steady beat of loud music and even louder conversation of patrons trying to have a conversation above the music. Our suggestion: the food is great, let is speak. Turn down the music. People enjoy talking to one another.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Birthday - asked for window seat and they were able to do that. Asked for any special decoration or dessert in the note through Open Table and that did not happen. Would have thought better since most places would do some type of little decoration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Best fried chicken, pickles, hot sauce and Parker house rolls like grandma made! Staff is great, remember their regular clients and take special care of all customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Enjoyed the cocktails, not sure the rolls are worth a dollar each. Fried chicken seemed a bit overcooked, a side with it would have made it look less skimpy. Other people loved the ribeye steak and surf and turf. We were too full for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The restaurant is a bit loud for business dinner meeting but the food was very good!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Despite making a very last-minute reservation, we were welcomed with genuine warmth and treated extremely well. The staff and service were exceptional. Loved the food. Some dishes were needlessly heavy on the salt; I'd simply ask them to go light on it next time. The acoustics amp up the noise level a lot, but it calmed down while we were there… Or perhaps we just got used to it. In any event I look forward to a return visit very soon. Thanks, Imperial!

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food was amazing. Went there for our anniversary but it was so loud, really hot, and the tables were too close. The waiter's backside actually touched our table while taking the next table's order (as we ate). Next time we will ask for a booth in the front of the restaurant. Highly recommend the kale salad as it has brittle chunks on it!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great service, unique foods! Everything was fresh and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My favorite Portland restaurant with spectacular food and excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Incredible brunch, obsessed with the overall look and feel of the restaurant and bar. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent fried chicken dinner!!! So good we went back for brunch and had the day's special sausage Soooo good!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Good food, so loud it was hard to hear each other at times.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great ambiance, wonderful food, and amazing service made this an overall great experience. Highly recommend Imperial....will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The place is great as always. However very loud, not a great place for intimate conversations. Bring back the watermelon salad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

It was my boyfriend's birthday as well as his brother's birthday. The service was less than impressive, being left to our meal without much further comment. Our meals were good but less than impressive for what was expected. My favorite item was the roll as part of our appetizer selection. For their birthday, our dessert selection was sold out. And we had to ask about dessert menus.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We have been to Imperial many times for dinner and it has been awesome. Tried it this Sunday for Brunch. Made a reservation for 12:00pm but didn't get food until 1:15... overall service was really poor which is sad because the fried chicken is amazing.
It would have been okay if the restaurant was really busy but it wasn't, there were tons of open tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a fantastic expirience! Food, wine and atmosphere was all as great as expected. Serving-wise it's slower paced, but with friends it doesn't matter and the place is so inviting you want to hang out and not rush through dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

First time at Imperial. Noise level was a bit high, it was hard to hear the waiter respond to our questions. Waiter was knowledgeable but somewhat disengaged. It was a special night for us but just seemed like another day at the office for him. My wife had the pork secreto which was excellent and I had the halibut which was fine, not off the chart great. The openers, however, were terrific - the seared Cesar and the duck meatballs. All in all a fun night at Imperial - will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Outstanding Salmon and surf and turf. Handcrafted cocktails were unique.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We flew in from the SF Bay Area and were in downtown Portland for the night. We decided to try Imperial based on rave reviews for their kale salad, among other items. Kale salad was meh....Pricey for the portion size and grossly over-dressed. We eat kale salads regularly, and there was just nothing special about this one.

The rest of the meal, while decent, was nothing to write home about. Personally I felt this place was quite over-priced based on the quality and quantity of the menu items we ordered. We had the kale salad, duck meatballs (super salty), grilled asparagus topped with a poached egg (underseasoned), flat top burger, fries, and lastly the fried chicken (tasty but come on....$19 for two small pieces??!).

Wouldn't make a special trip to try this place--particularly with so many other great restaurants in the downtown area.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 26, 2017

This was my first time dining at Imperial for lunch. It's just not the same when I have to be back at work afterward and can't have one of the stellar cocktail offerings from the bar! The food was fine - I had the prawn skewers, which were tasty, but the prawns were a bit overcooked and the pasta was a bit undercooked - surprising, since all dishes we have had at happy hour or dinner have been perfect. One less than perfect meal will not keep us away, though. Imperial is especially fun at happy hour.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, People Watching, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Dinner was excellent, as always; Service is consistently exceptional too, but this time was well above and beyond. Our out-of-town business associates want to come back to Portland just for another run at the menu.

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Healthy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food here was exceptional! From reading the menu, it sounded delicious but not out of the ordinary. But, when the dishes arrived at our table, we were blown away. We ordered the duck meatballs, the polenta and the fried chicken. Everything arrived at the table piping hot, and the flavors of each dish were just a little unexpected and more delicious than we had anticipated. The prunes were a nice touch with the duck meatballs, the fresh corn in the polenta converted it from a side dish to a dish that stood on its own, and the honey (from their rooftop beehives) drizzled over the fried chicken was just the perfect accent. We ended our meal with the malted chocolate sundae - the best malted chocolate anything that I've had in years. The flavor was spectacular. It took me back to my childhood and the local frozen custard stand that was so finicky with its flavors that it wouldn't serve hamburgers because the grease would alter the taste of its frozen custard. We also ordered two bourbon cocktails, an Old Fashioned and a New Money. Both were expertly prepared and good. Our server was great. We received excellent service from the moment we walked into the restaurant. And, we liked the ambiance. We had a full view of the kitchen and enjoyed looking over at the activity now and then during our meal. We would love to dine here again on our next visit to Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Food was great and service was good. Bar was slow and the noise inside was very loud. Ended up selecting a table outside because of the noise. Just made it a little hard to have a private conversation but the food and service were definitely worth the cost. Very reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Went as a party of 4. The food was exceptional, and the cocktails were quite good. Unfortunately the noise level made conversation a bit difficult, and our server seemed to wish he was elsewhere. Might go again with just one person so we could sit near enough to each other to have a conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Service was lackluster, food was okay, drinks were great. Won't be returning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Everything was well composed and had a great balance of protein and vegetable dishes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

My husband and I ate two dinners here while staying at the Hotel Lucia. Both were excellent and we would recommend both the food and service. Especially loved the fried chicken and manila clams. For dessert you've got to try the "honey pie", if it's available. So decadent and delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We had a reservation but chose to wait a little for an outside table. Inside was way too loud for us but outside worked well and the weather was great. While waiting for the table, I had probably the worst vodka martini EVER from the bar (wrong glass, not cold, too much vermouth, wimpy old olives), so should have ordered one of the specialty drinks as my husband did and his was great. Our server outside was wonderful. I wish I could remember his name, but he was very upbeat and knowledgeable about the food, very into wine, and very helpful without food and wine selections. Poke and crab salad were great as was the steak/shrimp combo. Best roasted sweet potato ever! Noticed our bar drinks were not on our bill when we went to pay so pointed it out to the server and he was very appreciative. Figured karma might get us if we did fess up.... Great time and would go back!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.