HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 81 times today

Imperial

4.5
2035 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Northwest
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
At Imperial, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and the culinary team will re-imagine and re-present Pacific Northwest culinary pathways. Exemplifying Oregon’s own James Beard's culinary philosophy, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and his culinary team will explore menu ideas that have historic significance while exploring cooking methods and ingredients from the diverse bounty of our region. The most prominent feature of Imperial's kitchen is an impressive wood fire grill and rotisserie that will incorporate the use of native hard and fruitwoods. Inspired by warm, primitive, burning campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial will concentrate on natural and uncomplicated preparations, serving the community by celebrating its past and providing a welcoming and generous place to eat.
Also check out our sister restaurant Paley's Place here.


icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Northwest, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 228-7222
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Vitaly Paley and Matthew Jarrell
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
SW Stark and Broadway
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There are a wide variety of Parking options within a few blocks radius of The Imperial.

-Valet Parking is available at $10/car.

-Union Bank of California Garage
707 SW Washington
Portland, Or 97205

-Star Park
615 SW Alder St.
Portland, OR 97205

Should you need any assistance with group parking, please inquire.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from Imperial.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Imperial & Hotel Lucia are widely recognized for our award-winning team of Chefs, attention to detail, unique Portland vibe, and commitment to impeccable, personalized service. We currently have three lovely Private Dining spaces that suit a variety of different event types.

View Private Dining Details
What 2035 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipEater10000 (Portland)
5.0  Dined 3 days ago

This place is very consistently excellent (or very close thereto). The service is superb and the food is delicious. We had the Impossible burger and the mushroom stroganoff. Very tasty!

Report
Helpful
ChrisE 
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

Great food and great cocktails. Servers were attentive and friendly. Had the flat iron steak and prawns which was phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
2.0  Dined 5 days ago

Our server was not friendly and was very unresponsive to our table. We had a reservation and the time to wait between ordering and receiving our food was very long. Food was very small portions with high price tags that was more mediocre in flavor. Wouldn’t go back. Had high expectations and it did not live up to them.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Seattle)
4.0  Dined 6 days ago

Love the food and innovation. But, the chicken sausage was much spicier than I like would have been nice to know as I wouldn't have ordered the biscuits and gravy. Biscuits were wonderful. My husband's pancakes were really good and my son's chicken he says was wonderful. Great service.

Report
Helpful
EmilyB (Portland)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Great service, enjoyed the meal, and fun to watch kitchen. A little loud.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Seattle)
5.0  Dined 7 days ago

Family getaway from seattle

This was our 3rd time here. Usually the first time here is the only good experience but 3 times is crazy. We love sitting at the chefs table.

Report
Helpful
ImperialP (Seattle)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Loved the cocktails. Had a nice selection of bubbles to finish with dinner.

Report
Helpful
Logolfgir (Portland)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

We had not been here before but have been to other VP restaurants. It was fun to see his menu in a more casual setting. Food was excellent as was the service. The cocktails were excellent. Would like to go back for Happy Hour sometime, but wish it was until 6 rather than 5 pm.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

I recommended my friends get the fried chicken (because I usually get that) and they loved it. I got the sausage of the day and it was delicious too. Great service and drinks on top of all that!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Seattle)
4.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

The food was superb. My friend had an allergy and they were fantastic in working around it. My ribeye was perfect. I was aware in advance that it was loud and confirmed it for myself. We were lucky to be seated in one of the two lone booths opposite the bar and that helped a lot. Looking forward to returning on a future visit to Portland.

Report
Helpful
vipLafree (Portland)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

We stopped for a casual late lunch date. Although it was very loud when we arrived, the lunch crowd left shortly after our arrival creating a nice atmosphere for the two of us! The options on the menu here are amazing. It was difficult to choose among so many delicious choices. Probably the best tomatoe soup I have had at a restaurant! We plan to return for a dinner date to try more of the menu!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

This place is a very noisy bar scene with some decent entrees on the menu. It is attached to a nice hotel but is nothing like most hotel restaurants: very noisy and mediocre service. It does have high prices, small portions and everything is al a carte - including bread! I will never return.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
3.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

I’ve wanted to try Imperial because I’m a huge fan of Vitaly Paley. We were underwhelmed by the food. Wine list is extensive, but lacks mid-range options. The Brussels sprouts were amazing. My pork was served cold and should have been hot.

Report
Helpful
emmettdigger (Portland)
2.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

We went to Imperial for dinner on a Saturday evening. We had reservations for 6:30 and were seated toward the back of the restaurant near the kitchen. The music was really loud and it was hard to hear my dining companion. I got the Sauvignon blanc and my partner ordered one of the house mocktails. We settled the pickle plate (pretty tasty) and a couple parker house rolls to start and ordered two entrees, the surf and turf steak and prawns and the bacon chop with the brussel sprouts. It took about 40 minutes between the time we ordered and when we got our entrees. We were famished and would have appreciated our server telling us what was going on - something like "the kitchen is a little backed up, sorry it's taking so long." When our entrees finally arrived, we were pretty disappointed. The surf and turf was pretty tasty but a pretty small portion (4 slices of steak and 3 prawns) for $38. The bacon pork chop was moist but so salty it was hard to eat; there was one slice that was completely raw in the center and I wasn't able to eat it. I'm not sure if it was intentional but the squash salad on top of the pork chop was cold. We decided to stay for dessert and ordered the raspberry cheesecake to share with a cup of decaf. This was the saving grace of our meal. I should say our server was helpful and friendly but she totally disappeared during the 40 minutes when we were waiting for our entrees.

Imperial was disappointing. There are too many other places in town where you can get a good meal for the same price and with much better food and a much shorter wait between ordering and eating.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
3.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

There were 4 of us for a Saturday night dinner out. All of us are in the food biz and eat out ofter. It had been several years since we visited Imperial. That being said, for the price, the portions were somewhat small, and and the flavors were unimpressive. It was disappointing. Not sure if we will go back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Excellent service. The grilled grapefruit was an excellent start to the meal. Meats were cooked to perfection. The shrimp and grits were amazing, although I’d lighten up on the cheese. Excellent experience!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Austin)
1.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

The menu and the prices promised a lot that the meals couldn’t deliver. Three of us ordered The Silent Partner cocktail and all three of us hated it. The rolls were good. My scallop dish came with 3 scallops in a barely there squash purée. They were cooked well, but way over salted. Others got the roasted chicken and the fried chicken. Fried chicken comes with toppings but no sides. The roasted chicken came with potato salad and corn. Nobody ate the potato salad. I also had an “our favorite “ appetizer. It was dumplings in a borscht sauce. The dumplings tasted like beef bouillon cubes and the sauce was a “just okay” stroganoff once you mixed in the sour cream. We were just completely underwhelmed by the food given the prices and the descriptions.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Orange County)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2018

Imperial offers a sophisticated menu without the snootiness. It is always a great dining experience and a go-to place for taking customers.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Portland)
4.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

A great dinner menu, with interesting variations on food combinations and presentation.

Report
Helpful
lsand (Portland)
5.0  Dined on February 5, 2018

I love bringing out of town guests here and have done so several times. Wonderful Portland vibe, nice interior, excellent food and fun drinks.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
102