Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Imperial

At Imperial, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and the culinary team will re-imagine and re-present Pacific Northwest culinary pathways. Exemplifying Oregon’s own James Beard's culinary philosophy, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and his culinary team will explore menu ideas that have historic significance while exploring cooking methods and ingredients from the diverse bounty of our region. The most prominent feature of Imperial's kitchen is an impressive wood fire grill and rotisserie that will incorporate the use of native hard and fruitwoods. Inspired by warm, primitive, burning campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial will concentrate on natural and uncomplicated preparations, serving the community by celebrating its past and providing a welcoming and generous place to eat.
Also check out our sister restaurant Paley's Place here.


410 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
SW Stark and Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-7222

Website:
http://www.imperialpdx.com/

Parking Details:
There are a wide variety of Parking options within a few blocks radius of The Imperial.

-Valet Parking is available at $10/car.

-Union Bank of California Garage
707 SW Washington
Portland, Or 97205

-Star Park
615 SW Alder St.
Portland, OR 97205

Should you need any assistance with group parking, please inquire.

Public Transit:
MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from Imperial.

Executive Chef:
Vitaly Paley and Matthew Jarrell

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Imperial & Hotel Lucia are widely recognized for our award-winning team of Chefs, attention to detail, unique Portland vibe, and commitment to impeccable, personalized service. We currently have three lovely Private Dining spaces that suit a variety of different event types.

Imperial Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (66)
Good for a Date (54)
Creative Cuisine (51)
See All
Local Ingredients (42)
Comfort Food (37)
Business Meals (36)
Special Occasion (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Casual (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Fun (29)
Authentic (28)
Good for Groups (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Bar Seating (26)
Great for Brunch (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Seasonal (21)
Happy Hour (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
People Watching (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Romantic (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Cozy (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Great Beer (9)
Healthy (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Tapas (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1862 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

If you're looking for a nice plate to eat that isn't too expensive, Imperial is the way to go. The food comes alone (meaning you won't get a side of fries) but it is plenty on its own. The side salad is enough to fill you up, the atmosphere is one where you feel welcome but not overpowered. Also, try the rolls. 100% the best in the States, hands down.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Fried chicken was amazing! Server was borderline rude. But overall we really liked this place. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Inventive delicious food! Great beer selection as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been here before and had a terrific meal, but this time it was just a massive fail. We went for a quick breakfast and ordered basic foods - eggs, potatoes, toast, bacon, etc. And every single thing was just off. The breakfast potatoes were absolutely the worst - dry, cold and inedible. Maybe they were having an off day, but I would not recommend this place for breakfast. There are far too many options for a delicious breakfast in Portland to risk an off day meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Very disappointed, peppers were too oily and the crispy chickenpox dry, too much breading and without taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We had less than an hour for dinner but I really wanted my friend from out of town to have a memorable meal. Our server cheerfully helped us make choices that we could enjoy fully but quickly enough to get to our event up the street (at the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall) on time. The four small plates we ordered all landed on the table within 10 minutes. Three out of four were excellent (duck meatballs, fried chicken, roasted Brussel sprouts that were the best Brussels I've ever had) and the fourth was good. We even ended up having enough time to split a slice of outstanding pecan pie. Oh, and we enjoyed our mocktails as well. Nice work, Imperial.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Cocktails so unique and food good, as well. Loved this place. Wait staff so knowledgeable. Will always come here when I am in Portland

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Chose to try Imperial because of others' ratings and proximity to the venue of our concert. Halibut and Surf n Turf were amazing. Loved the shared dishes and side. Tables are a little close together and got fairly loud. But our server was great and food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2017

A delightful experience all-around. We will be back soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great service and phenomenal food. I had the ricotta and blueberry french toast which was the best french toast I have ever had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was creative and tasty. The server was not keen and engaged. Busy with other tables. No smiling or attentive.
Forgot to give us our leftovers to go
Thanks

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

This is my second time eating here. The first time was with just one friend and we sat closer to the front window. This time we had a party of 4 and sat next to the grill which wasn't bad but the ambience is nicer in the front. The food was ok but the vegetable sides are way overpriced and small portioned. Our server was a bit too scarce and we had to flag him down for questions or to get another drink. This probably won't be my first choice next time we eat out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Overall I thought the food was quite good. I had the Rockfish sandwich, which is a bit like a Po' Boy, and I thought it was delicious. My wife had been very specific about how she wanted her meal cooked and it did arrive underdone, but when she sent it back it returned exactly to her original order. We've had experiences in other places where that kind of request results in an over-cooked inedible piece of tree bark. My only complaint was that the sound baffling could use a re-think. I could hear a lot of conversations around me, but not the people across the table with whom I was dining. General noise level was a bit loud for me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Good fried chicken and pickled veges!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Menu is fairly wide-ranging, from seafood to trotters. Best of all, they not only pay attention to gluten, but can readily handle dairy allergies as well without compromising taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We loved the creativity of the pork and the vegetable dishes. Having the optional seasoned butter, honey and sauces was fun! Oh, did I mention the delicious Parker House rolls with the salted butter?! :)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great menu. So many good choices on the vegetable section, it was hard to decide. Great for sharing! Still don't know how our server kept 10 orders straight for drinks and food! Quality of food was outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2017

this was our first visit to Imperial. We are east coaster and Imperial was recommended by a friend.
The food was eclectic and delicious. The small plates were often ample to share,

The noise level was high, it was a Saturday eve, though!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Normally I would rate the Imperial a 4 or even 5. However, my last visit was barely a 3. I gave it a 3 due to the service (always great) and my wife's dish (which she loved). However my Rib Eye was very tough and extremely fatty (more than it should be). I could barely cut it. 1/2 way through I gave up and simply let them take my dish. Normally the food is excellent and I don't normally order the Ribeye, so I would say "beware" of the steak. Get the fried Chicken or Sole. They are known for that!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Service was exceptional, the food was an unfortunate disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Imperial has been one of our faves, been there many times. Loved seeing Doug on Top Chef and he never disappointed. This is the first time we've had dinner at Imperial where it was majorly disappointing. The fried chicken was NOT Doug's fried chicken. The gnocchi was "just okay." The grilled Cesar salad was nothing like it used to be, I would never order it again. The corn polenta was good but not out of this world. Thinking that Doug leaving as head chef really had an impact on Imperial, and not for the good. I don't think we will be coming back since our $100 meal wasn't even close to worth it. It's very sad because we loved Imperial.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I remembered loving Imperial the first time I ate there, about a year ago. So I was excited to eat their again. But I was disappointed this time with the food. I have no complaints about the service. The food was just ok, but pretty pricey for not being super yummy. And the last thing we ate (s'mores cake) was a total let down- dry and boring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Thought the food was not that great. It was expensive for what it was. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, service and creative food choices. Would definitely recommend as a must try when visiting Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 19, 2017

It's my go-to for business lunch and Sunday Brunch! Consistently great food and service.

Tags: Organic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Had a great birthday meal! Food was delicious and service great. We had a terrific view of the semi-open kitchen (view of the fire pit with a glimpse into the kitchen), which was really fun. I wish I lived in the area because you can dine in many different ways at Imperial. While we had a larger, special occasion meal, I could easily eat from the side dishes, which were mainly vegetarian and looked fabulous -- we had the roasted artichoke to start and it was perfect! Oh, and the cocktails are worth a try! Thanks Imperial for a wonderful and special night!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

We chose Imperial because we enjoy Vitaly Paley's original restaurant, Paley's Place. On walking in, we were initially disappointed that Imperial didn't share Paley's Place's quiet, intimate atmosphere. In the end, it didn't deter us from enjoying our meal and our company, but we are more likely to return to Paley's Place than to Imperial.

The quality of the food and service were both excellent, but also a bit pricey for the relatively small portions. You are expected to order starters, sides, and desserts to compliment your entrée, which add to the price of your dinner. Dinner for three came to $175, and that was without wine. (Wines by the bottle start in the high $30s and quickly go up from there.)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

excellent choice downtown, creative & eclectic menu

plum sake panna cotta was spectacular

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Had to wait an hour to get our very average expensive good. NOT worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Everything in every bite was absolutely amazing!!
I can't want to come back for more special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Duck meatballs were fantastic! Great help selecting a wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Food was good. Server was excellent but our entree order was overlooked. Server insisted on giving us free desserts because of the delay, which were delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Absolutely delivers every time I go. The food is consistently great with some favorites and added seasonal specials. Food is equaled by the professional friendly service - so helpful.

I gave introduced Imperial to several friends and colleagues who always thank me for finding great food and great service in a casual atmosphere. Big fan.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Imperial never disappoints from the creative cocktails to the kale salad (my husband's favorite) and the seasonal watermelon was outstanding to the fresh salmon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was amazing and service was warm & welcoming.

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was lovely! We had the Imperial hash and Buttermilk fried chicken but it took a very long time for our entrees to arrive. The waiter did his job but the kitchen seemed fall behind.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I have had excellent meals here for dinner so I thought it would be a good place to take my 22 year old son for breakfast/brunch to celebrate his birthday. Limited menu, food was terrible. If you are not going to make an effort to match quality of the dinner offerings, then it would be better to just not offer breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Truly a fun place to visit for the ambiance, "buzz", creative, locally-sourced menu (Get The Pork Chop) and excellent Oregon sourced wine list (including Bergstrom & St. Innocent Pinot Noirs)...

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Little loud for my taste. Service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.