About Imperial

410 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

At Imperial, Chef/Owner Paley and Executive Chef Doug Adams will re-imagine and re-present Pacific Northwest culinary pathways. Exemplifying Oregon’s own James Beard's culinary philosophy, Chef/Owner Paley and Executive Chef Doug Adams will explore menu ideas that have historic significance while exploring cooking methods and ingredients from the diverse bounty of our region. The most prominent feature of Imperial's kitchen is an impressive wood fire grill and rotisserie that will incorporate the use of native hard and fruitwoods. Inspired by warm, primitive, burning campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial will concentrate on natural and uncomplicated preparations, serving the community by celebrating its past and providing a welcoming and generous place to eat.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Stark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-7222

Website:
http://www.imperialpdx.com/

Parking Details:
There are a wide variety of Parking options within a few blocks radius of The Imperial.

-Valet Parking is available at $10/car.

-Union Bank of California Garage
707 SW Washington
Portland, Or 97205
(located directly across the street from Imperial)

-Star Park
615 SW Alder St.
Portland, OR 97205

Should you need any assistance with group parking, please inquire.

Public Transit:
MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from The Imperial.

Executive Chef:
Vitaly Paley and Doug Adams

Private Party Facilities:
The Imperial has two incredible event rooms available for rent. Our Monterosso Room, just off the artfully appointed Lucia lobby, accommodates up to 80 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail reception. The Monterosso features a built-in retractable screen and overhead sound-system, great options for enhancing your special occasion or meeting. The colorful Genoa Room features a one-of-a-kind photography collection and is a terrific choice for more intimate groups of 10-50 people. We offer a wonderful variety of menu options and we provide tables, chairs, linens, dishware and décor, making planning your event a breeze. If you are interested in using any of our event spaces, please contact our events department.

Private Party Contact:
Danika Duren: 5032412127x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Imperial Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Northwest
Portland
1 More
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (300)
special occasion (152)
hot spot (140)
See All
vibrant bar scene (104)
good for groups (104)
great for brunch (78)
great for lunch (74)
notable wine list (67)
neighborhood gem (57)
romantic (47)
late-night find (35)
 (7)
kid-friendly (7)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, small portions, especial ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, small portions, especially since the sides are all separate from the entrees. Very attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious. As usual, the n ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious. As usual, the noise level was high, but not deafening. The wine selection is a bit intimidating and expensive. Perhaps more mid-range wines should be included?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food.

Dined 5 days ago

Food was really good. Waiter graciously moved us to a table further from the kitchen since it was a bit loud and warm from the oven.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great

Dined 6 days ago

Always great

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Slow Service, Food underwhelming

Dined on May 24, 2016

Our group was very excited to try Vitaly's newer restaurant Imperial. While we were seated rather quickly service at this establishment was very slow. Our waitress/kitchen forgot multiple items (a screwdriver that we ordered when we made or initial beverage order that she even repeated back to my table mate. Roasted mushrooms for that table for the entree course arrived after everyone had finished their entree's. We asked where they were when our waitress first came back to check on our table, she said that they were coming right up. They arrived 10 to 12 minutes after that. They were comped) that we had ordered. While the appetizers were pretty good the entrees were very small and mostly underwhelming other then the fish dish one of our table mates had. I ordered the special of the day which was marketed as a 32oz T-bone for two. We ordered the steak medium rare. We were never presented the steak before it was cooked or even after it was cooked. They went ahead and sliced it for us to eat and arranged the meat next to the bone as it would have been in full "T-bone form". While the strip loin side of the T bone was cooked adequately, the filet side when it arrived to the table was well done. Not only that, the steak was no where even close to being 2 pounds even including the bone. I have worked in kitchens for well over 14 years and know what a 32oz (2 pounds) T-bone steak looks like. This steak was maybe 22 to 24oz. When I told our waitress my issue with the temperature of the tenderloin side of the steak she brought that portion of the steak back to the kitchen. When she came back, she said and I quote "the chef is happy with the temperature of the color (tenderloin side) by the bone." Well that's fantastic, the problem was that it wasn't that color in the sliced meat. Who knows how long the meat sat where it was after it was cut from the bone? Possibly even under a heat lamp? It was well done, plain as day. Nothing was done, no apology. Manager never sent over.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience1
service2

To loud to have dinner conversation. Gr ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

To loud to have dinner conversation. Great place to eat alone or with your phone. Service was slow, and it was a Monday night. I ordered the crab pasta, it had no crab in it. Very disappointed. My companion liked their meal so I split the difference on the stars. Overall underwhelmed.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

For the non-meat eater, this restaurant ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

For the non-meat eater, this restaurant has plates of different vegetables cooked in a variety of ways, so get a few and you'll be satisfied. Their house-made hummus is incredible!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For Sunday brunch- the restaurant was li ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

For Sunday brunch- the restaurant was lively with lots of couples, adult groups, and some families. The menu is more limited but that allows for more inventive dishes. The food was excellent and service was professional and friendly. There is also seating at the bar and at a "kitchen counter" so a nice variety if you just want to stop in for something without the full table experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great and food was amazing!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was great and food was amazing!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Brunch

Dined on May 21, 2016

I had a nice brunch with a loved one for my birthday. Great food. Wonderful cocktail.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

We love Imperial!

Dined on May 21, 2016

We love Imperial!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Neat new hot spot

Dined on May 21, 2016

Neat place, super friendly staff and amazing food and drinks. I recommend the drink A radish walks into a bar. The potato latkes with duck egg and salmon was delicious. The chorizo and fry bread were also amazing. And the pop tart is a must.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and creative food in nice atmo ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent and creative food in nice atmosphere.

food3
ambience4
service5

The Fried Chicken is a must, with their ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The Fried Chicken is a must, with their home made hot sauce and honey! Drinks were also excellent. Otherwise it was mediocre. The potatoes were undercooked and unremarkable, duck meatballs were just ok and the ceviche was too watery.

food4
ambience4
service4

Tasty seasonal meal. Excellent service.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Tasty seasonal meal. Excellent service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. The food w ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. The food was spot on. Loved the watermelon salad! Waiter was terrific, unfortunately did not get gentleman's name. Would dine here again. Can't go wrong with anything you order. Ambiance/vibe is fun and upbeat!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal!! Service was great, meetin ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Awesome meal!! Service was great, meeting our very need, including seating us at a different table and turning the spot down above our table. The streak special for two was a steal on price, 32oz!! Great wine, desert, just a wonderful time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Rhondairis

Dined on May 15, 2016

The restaurant was fun and buzzing with energy. The food is unique. We also ate breakfast there. A totally different experience. While dinner was busy, the breakfast was relaxed. The croissant with honey were especially yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Came back again to try some more dishes ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Came back again to try some more dishes - we had oysters, duck meatballs, fried chicken, watermelon salad. Solid meal. Noting that it was fairly cold inside the restaurant this time around so it kind of made our food go cold quickly.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Mixed Bag

Dined on May 14, 2016

Salads were both great. The watermelon salad was unique, spicy and delicious. Same goes for the grilled caesar salad. Entrees were a mix. The fried chicken was delicious although the breading was a little heavy. The special of the night was a pork chop that was way too salty, it just dominated the pallet

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the food, and service was good. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Enjoyed the food, and service was good. Price for lunch was also reasonable.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Duck meatballs w/ delicious spicy heat, ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Duck meatballs w/ delicious spicy heat, mushrooms that delivers deep wood grilled flavor, sublime king salmon, crunchy hot moist fried chicken w/ homemade pickles, onions, hot sauce, honey. Excellent food and experience!

food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 9, 2016

We visited Portland for the weekend and chose this place as it was reviewed as the No 1 restaurant by a magazine we found in the hotel. We disagree completely. Of the four things we ordered only the ceviche was interesting, the others were nothing special at all - the octopus salad had a dressing reminiscent of the sauce on a Big Mac!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food, esp. the fried chicken was ama ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

The food, esp. the fried chicken was amazing!! Fun place and great wait staff. Front of the house was terrific also Will be at the top of our list!!! So fun:)

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Happy Hour On Broadway

Dined on May 8, 2016

Appetizers And Cocktails while enjoying the PDX city charm all for a fantastic price.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

The fried chicken was the best I have ev ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The fried chicken was the best I have ever eaten.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

How can you complain when the food prepa ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

How can you complain when the food preparation, selection and service meet your expectations. A must go to for locals and visitors.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best brunch ever

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dungeness crab omelette, pop tart and a gift certificate from the manager for Mother's Day. Friendly, efficient service. Original and perfect food. A Portland treasure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Tasty Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a fun brunch. Would go back! A bit spendy but the$20 gift card was a nice touch.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Imperial

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had such a wonderful brunch at the Imperial for Mother's Day. The service was incredible and the food was delicious, especially the dungeness crab omelette. It is a perfect location downtown, close to everything, and at the end of the meal the manage gave my Mom a gift card for our next fantastic dining experience at the Imperial! Highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Fried chicken and tails and trotters wer ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fried chicken and tails and trotters were amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, especially the tagli ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was delicious, especially the tagliatelle.

food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding brunch! A poptart for the ta ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Outstanding brunch! A poptart for the table is a must for a starter. The wife and I split an order of Eggs Bendict and French Toast. Geat flavors from both. Highly recommend both dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great find!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Awesome meal! Fantastic service and a great plethora of options, which are all tasty!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Dessert needs work

Dined on May 5, 2016

Dinner was great but the dessert was terrible. The cake was dry and tasted like it was store bought.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fried Chicken

Dined on May 4, 2016

This place has the best fried chicken I've ever tasted.kind of made me want to cry

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing fried chicken!! Love Imperial

Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing fried chicken!! Love Imperial

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Lots of energy!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Took a friend visiting from NC to Imperial for dinner and this was also my first time at the restaurant. I had only heard great things and it all lived up to my expectations! The food was wonderful! Highly recommend the bruschetta for aptzr! I had to kale salad and poke for my meal - it was plenty and tasty! Service was friendly and attentive, atmosphere was fun and lively. Will definitely go back and add it to my list of places to take out of town guests.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Imperial is a favorite place of mine, an ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Imperial is a favorite place of mine, and Ialways have such an amazing experience when I visit. The staff is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is always fantastic. We especially loved the ceviche appetizer, the special pasta dish with clams, and the fried chicken. The only miss was the fruit pie--the filling was just okay, and the crust was burnt. The service was amazingly attentive yet unobtrusive. This is one of our favorite places to dine, both for lunch and dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.