About Imperial

410 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

At Imperial, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and the culinary team will re-imagine and re-present Pacific Northwest culinary pathways. Exemplifying Oregon’s own James Beard's culinary philosophy, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and his culinary team will explore menu ideas that have historic significance while exploring cooking methods and ingredients from the diverse bounty of our region. The most prominent feature of Imperial's kitchen is an impressive wood fire grill and rotisserie that will incorporate the use of native hard and fruitwoods. Inspired by warm, primitive, burning campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial will concentrate on natural and uncomplicated preparations, serving the community by celebrating its past and providing a welcoming and generous place to eat.
Also check out our sister restaurant Paley's Place here.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Stark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-7222

Website:
http://www.imperialpdx.com/

Parking Details:
There are a wide variety of Parking options within a few blocks radius of The Imperial.

-Valet Parking is available at $10/car.

-Union Bank of California Garage
707 SW Washington
Portland, Or 97205
(located directly across the street from Imperial)

-Star Park
615 SW Alder St.
Portland, OR 97205

Should you need any assistance with group parking, please inquire.

Public Transit:
MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from The Imperial.

Executive Chef:
Vitaly Paley

Private Party Facilities:
The Imperial has two incredible event rooms available for rent. Our Monterosso Room, just off the artfully appointed Lucia lobby, accommodates up to 80 for a seated dinner or 100 for a cocktail reception. The Monterosso features a built-in retractable screen and overhead sound-system, great options for enhancing your special occasion or meeting. The colorful Genoa Room features a one-of-a-kind photography collection and is a terrific choice for more intimate groups of 10-50 people. We offer a wonderful variety of menu options and we provide tables, chairs, linens, dishware and décor, making planning your event a breeze. If you are interested in using any of our event spaces, please contact our events department.

Private Party Contact:
Danika Duren: 5032412127x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Parker House Rolls - Imperial, Portland, OR
Flatbread - Imperial, Portland, OR
Oysters - Imperial, Portland, OR
fried chicken - Imperial, Portland, OR
Tails And Trotters Barrel Planked Pork Secreto - Imperial, Portland, OR
Grilled Ceasar Salad - Imperial, Portland, OR
Happy Hour Fried Chicken - Imperial, Portland, OR
Farm Boy IPA - Imperial, Portland, OR
Spicy Greens With Chicken Liver Pate - Imperial, Portland, OR
Basket Of Fries - Imperial, Portland, OR
Grilled Caesar Salad - Imperial, Portland, OR
Beef and pork khinkali with melted butter, black pepper and dill - Imperial, Portland, OR
Wagyu Beef Carpaccio - Imperial, Portland, OR
Sauteed Mushrooms - Imperial, Portland, OR
Crispy Fried Pigtail - Imperial, Portland, OR
French Toast With Fresh Apples And A Side Of Bacon - Imperial, Portland, OR
Grilled King Salmon - Imperial, Portland, OR
Venison Carpaccio W/ Shaved Foie Gras, Porcini Mushroom... - Imperial, Portland, OR
Bacon Chop - Imperial, Portland, OR
Jalapeno Tuna Tartar - Imperial, Portland, OR
Flank Steak - Imperial, Portland, OR
Cold Smoked Escolar - Imperial, Portland, OR
Almond & Rhubarb Financier  - Imperial, Portland, OR
Marinated Citrus Salad - Imperial, Portland, OR
Coca Cola & Pabst Blue Ribbon Braised Pork - Imperial, Portland, OR
Brooks Pinot Noir Rose Wine - Imperial, Portland, OR
Winter Citrus Salad With Grilled Albacore Tuna - Imperial, Portland, OR
Pork Chop - Imperial, Portland, OR
Oregon Albacore Tuna Ceviche - Imperial, Portland, OR
Fried Rabbit - Imperial, Portland, OR
Roasted Beets And Smoked Mussels - Imperial, Portland, OR
White Russian - Imperial, Portland, OR
Grilled Brussel Sprouts With Harissa, Orange, Preserved Lemon. - Imperial, Portland, OR
Imperial Barrel- Aged Hot Sauce And Laurelhurst Honey - Imperial, Portland, OR
Steamer Clams  - Imperial, Portland, OR
Rainbow Chard Gratin - Imperial, Portland, OR
Charcuterie plate - Imperial, Portland, OR
Oysters on the Half Shell - Imperial, Portland, OR
Beef Marrow With Shaved Vegetable And Confide Baby Octopus - Imperial, Portland, OR
Oregon Albacore On Corn Puree With Aged Balsamic And Oregon Olive Oil - Imperial, Portland, OR
Pecan Pie With Bourbon Sauce - Imperial, Portland, OR
Smoked Lamb Ribs - Imperial, Portland, OR
Seared Fish With Spinach And Amazing Sauce - Imperial, Portland, OR
Imperial Sundae - Imperial, Portland, OR
Ginger Beer and Jalapeno - Imperial, Portland, OR
Grilled Lamb and Spoon Lamb - Imperial, Portland, OR
Banana Cream Pie - Imperial, Portland, OR
Berry Salad - Imperial, Portland, OR
Organic Half Chicken - Imperial, Portland, OR
Snap Peas, Wild Mushrooms, Radish - Imperial, Portland, OR
Fry Basket Of Fries - Imperial, Portland, OR
Quai - Imperial, Portland, OR
Carmelized Green Beans - Imperial, Portland, OR
Roasted Carr - Imperial, Portland, OR
Duck meatballs - Imperial, Portland, OR
Quail - Imperial, Portland, OR
Manila Clams - Imperial, Portland, OR
Oysters! - Imperial, Portland, OR
Ceviche - Imperial, Portland, OR
Menu - Imperial, Portland, OR
French Fries - Imperial, Portland, OR
Rye Cocktail - Imperial, Portland, OR
roasted cauliflower - Imperial, Portland, OR
Stan's Sausage du Jour - Imperial, Portland, OR
Beignets - Imperial, Portland, OR
Cheeseburger And Fries - Imperial, Portland, OR
Spit-Roasted Lamb Roll - Imperial, Portland, OR
Double Milk Flan - Imperial, Portland, OR
Steamed Clams, House Linguica, Fennel, Grilled Lemon Relish, Smoked Butter - Imperial, Portland, OR
Brown Butter Beignets - Imperial, Portland, OR
Vodka Martini - Imperial, Portland, OR
Steamer Clams W/ Chorizo - Imperial, Portland, OR
Padron Peppers - Imperial, Portland, OR
Turnips - Imperial, Portland, OR
Exit Through The Giftshop - Imperial, Portland, OR
Fry Bread With Chorizo And Eggs - Imperial, Portland, OR
Grilled Lamb Tongue - Imperial, Portland, OR
Fried Lamb Tongue - Imperial, Portland, OR
Lamb Loin Chop And Merguez Sausage - Imperial, Portland, OR
Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream - Imperial, Portland, OR
Imperial Fries - Imperial, Portland, OR
Grilled Romaine With Oregon Albacore - Imperial, Portland, OR
Corn Cakes - Imperial, Portland, OR
Begniets - Imperial, Portland, OR
Clams - Imperial, Portland, OR
Cocktail - Imperial, Portland, OR
Bread Roll - Imperial, Portland, OR
Grilled Romaine - Imperial, Portland, OR
Bloody Mary - Imperial, Portland, OR
Ricotta, Pears And Fry Bread - Imperial, Portland, OR
egg sandwich - Imperial, Portland, OR
Milk Chocolate Banana Icebox Cake W/ Foie Gras Mousse - Imperial, Portland, OR
Special App Confit Quail With Sous Vide Egg - Imperial, Portland, OR
Salmon - Imperial, Portland, OR
Coddled Eggs With Spicy Tomato Sauce And Ricotta - Imperial, Portland, OR

Imperial Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (59)
Special Occasion (49)
Creative Cuisine (47)
See All
Good for a Date (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Open Kitchen (35)
Casual (34)
Hot Spot (33)
Wood Oven (32)
Local Ingredients (31)
Modern Decor (29)
Business Meals (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Fun (25)
Authentic (24)
Comfort Food (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Seasonal (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Romantic (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
People Watching (12)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Healthy (8)
Private Room (8)
Family Style (8)
Cozy (7)
Tapas (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Organic (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Great Beer (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fireplace (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1502 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a first time visit for brunch. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

This was a first time visit for brunch. We were impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff. The food was good, not exceptional. Prices very reasonable. The food was a bit slow getting to the table, but our overall experience was great. We will return!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Casual, Comfort Food, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

So, so, so very good. Sadly, I rushed it ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

So, so, so very good. Sadly, I rushed it a bit by having comedy tickets with a timetable to keep. Next time though, Imperial will be the main event of the evening. This is my new favorite Portland restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Imperial didn't live up to the recommend ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined 4 days ago

Imperial didn't live up to the recommendation - the SRF Wagyu Coulotte was disappointing. And the glass of Gamay was dreadful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

First two times were great for food, ser ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 10, 2017

First two times were great for food, service and atmosphere. Last three times (included a lunch) the food and service was not as good. Food is heavy on the salt and I like salt, but it's a bit much when it's heavy on all the food including the salad.

Wish it would stay consistent on the great end of the spectrum. It was such a great standout those first two times... over 1 year ago.

I wish them the best!

Thanks

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Focus is on wood-fired roasts & grills. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Focus is on wood-fired roasts & grills. The vegetable sides were all excellent- so was the roast chicken. Sitting at the Chef's counter is also fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

nice experience. good lunch and good di ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

nice experience. good lunch and good dinner. excellent menu. great server at lunch and again at dinner.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Casual, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I was disappointed. We had reservations ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I was disappointed. We had reservations and watched "walk-ins" be seated before we were. It was noisy -- happy hour time -- and we had expected a quieter environment. The menu was intriguing and enjoyable. The servings were small -- we intended to share the fries, and we did, but it wasn't the size I expect in a side serving. The $60 T-bone was chewy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The hot sauce with the fried chicken was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The hot sauce with the fried chicken was awesome, and the honey from the "rooftop" bee colony was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the1/2 of a roast chicken and it w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I had the1/2 of a roast chicken and it was under cooked. pin around the leg. very noisy difficult to hear. Not enough seafood on menu.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Great weekend breakfast

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great weekend breakfast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The noise level in this restaurant is ou ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The noise level in this restaurant is outrageous. To top it all off they continued to play some sort of music over the PA system with a heavy drum beat for the entire evening. We had to shout to be heard by our table. No reason to return to enjoy a meal here. The food was good and service slipshod. The waiter was less than attentive when we failed to accept the recommendations for the top priced items on the menu. This is the opposite of Pailey's Place where you can enjoy a quiet atmosphere and attentive service with great food.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Went to Imperial for New Years Eve Dinne ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went to Imperial for New Years Eve Dinner. Started with oysters, then steak & pork chop for entrees. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Wines a little on the high side. Would recommend for an evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband, another couple and I went to ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband, another couple and I went to Imperial for an early dinner on New Year's Eve. The food was well prepared from the initial tapas to the main entrees to the final desserts. Our wait staff was attentive without hovering. The restaurant was crowded, but the noise level was surprisingly moderate. We all said that we would return!

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, fun atmosphere, fried chi ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service, fun atmosphere, fried chicken to die for. Cannot wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our annual New Year's Eve afternoon lunc ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our annual New Year's Eve afternoon lunch was a huge disappointment. After ordering, we waited one full hour for the food which was under-whelming. Crab omelettes had brown edges with no garnish or plate appeal and my Eggs Benedict featured a flat hard cooked egg with a glop of room temperature hollandaise and dry petrified potatoes. I've been a regular patron of this restaurant since it opened. Regretfully, I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Went for Saturday brunch with friends. E ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for Saturday brunch with friends. Everyone loved their food and drinks. The homemade poptart wasn't good, but everything else was enjoyable. The service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good dishes but not particularly creativ ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good dishes but not particularly creative. I had a poke salad which was a very small portion. My husband has a half chicken. Both good but not great.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Use the valet parking. It's only $10 and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Use the valet parking. It's only $10 and will save you time and money. We had Parker House rolls (crisp outside with a tender center) duck meatballs (good and a little spicy), charred broccoli (delicious!) and the bacon chop. Service was prompt and polite. We ended up taking home left-overs. Plenty of food! The space is full of hard surfaces so noise is a problem, unless you get a booth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We went to the Imperial with friends and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went to the Imperial with friends and were disappointed.

The caeser salad was actually excellent, but the roasted chicken was extremely salty.

I did not care for the caramel crème brulee, either.

I just felt that the food was lacking. No bread was included in the meal.

My chicken was served with a salad and I ordered a salad, I would have liked to know that the chicken was served with a salad and I would have not ordered the caeser salad.

In a city with very good food, The Imperial was not special enough to return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The service was the highlight. They alw ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The service was the highlight. They always have excellent people in the front and back of the house. We had brunch with lots of eggs and potatoes (possibly the best breakfast potatoes in town). We then finished with some cocktails to celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent cocktail list. Simple prepara ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent cocktail list. Simple preparation Outstanding food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We planned a special trip to Portland ov ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We planned a special trip to Portland over the holidays and hoped for a super restaurant experience. We fell for the concept that a sister to the Headwater restaurant would be worthy. We were disappointed on every level. Noisy, rude waitress and overly salted food with small main portions 120 dollars poorer does not leave me feeling very generous in my reviews of the Imperial. I am a uber open table user and very disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Just the right level of creativity in fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Just the right level of creativity in food -- different combinations that actually worked, and everything perfectly prepared. I will return!

Tags: Spicy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding visit. Get a table within ey ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Outstanding visit. Get a table within eyeshot of the open kitchen. The roaring wood-fired grill provides great ambiance. Both of our dishes were outstanding -- fried chicken and pork chop. Also try the Grilled Caesar Salad. And the best cocktail ever -- "A Radish Walked into a Bar...."

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was slow and although the re ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The service was slow and although the restaurant wasn't very busy, food was served a little over an hour after the order was taken. We opted for the Fried Chicken based on reviews on Yelp but the chicken was extremely dry and felt like it was over cooked. The sauce was pretty good though, however, the experience we had with the chicken was horrid.

The one thing that was great was the Parker Rolls. They were amazing!!!

Our service was extremely slow and the experience we had the store was not particularly great.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Amazing service. Great recommendations ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Amazing service. Great recommendations and knowledge. And overall follow through on delivery. We are definite fans of Provenance establishments now, each one delivers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the first time here for our gue ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was the first time here for our guest, a fairly discriminating diner. We all loved the food. Great, inventive preparations and use of local ingredients. The dressing based on fish sauce on the shaved pear salad sounded weird to me but my wife, more adventurous than I, ordered it and it was delicious. Excellent help from the waiter re the beer and wine by the glass selection, which was good. Noise level a little more than I like but I'm more sensitive than most.

Tags: Happy Hour, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The perfect place for Christmas Eve dinn ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The perfect place for Christmas Eve dinner with our family of four. Warm, cozy and festive with delicious food and excellent service. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for the first time onChristmas ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went here for the first time onChristmas Eve for dinner. Food was fantastic, service was great, and the restraunt was wonderful. As a chef I highly recommend this Imperial, I plan to return as often as I can.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & service. On the expens ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent food & service. On the expensive side but a good choice for special ocassions. Cozy & comfortable booth with a sound level that allowed for easy conversation (unlike so many restaurants where it's hard to hear the person sitting across from you). Recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always great service, fast, friendly ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As always great service, fast, friendly and efficient; great food and comes quickly; reasonable price. Open floor plan can make this a little noisy at times. Recommend for relaxing brunch. Food was the best ever on our last visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. The fried chicke ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food and service. The fried chicken is to die for. Everything we ordered is cooked to perfection. Will definitely go back

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very overpriced for the very small porti ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very overpriced for the very small portions received, no bread nor salt and pepper. The only thing going for this place was attentive servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

The half chicken and clam pasta was both ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The half chicken and clam pasta was both salty. Charging for mediocre dinner rolls is kinda ridiculous considering the price on the meal. Would not recommend to anyone or go there again. My party and I are foodies and this is not a great find .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

My sister gave my wife Cheryl a $100 gif ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My sister gave my wife Cheryl a $100 gift certificate for graduating with B.A. Business from the University of Phoenix. We had a delicious celebration dinner with soup, parker rolls, fried chicken, black cod, hazelnut parfait and ginger bread. Very unique and flavorful spices, cooked on wood fired grill. The waiter was excellent and kept our water glasses and decafe coffee full.

The Imperial is crowded so you need a reservation. The atmosphere is joyful and boisterous. I strongly recommend the valet parking for $10. It is worth it and saves the hassle of trying to find parking or paying more. We reserve the private room for family Thanksgiving every year and I will take special business clients there for a power lunch or dinner.

Bruce S.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Private Room, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Spicy, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great table. It was a little lo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had a great table. It was a little loud but not uncomfortable. The Parker House rolls with the sea salt butter were fabulous. We also enjoyed the fried chicken. The coulotte steak was tough.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food. Great service. Grumpy ho ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Very good food. Great service. Grumpy hostess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food is consistently good, but the resta ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food is consistently good, but the restaurant is too noisy for me. With only 3 in our party, we couldn't hear each other- and that was during lunch hour- not a noisy bar time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Consistently delicious food and great se ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Consistently delicious food and great service. Quality of the food is outstanding and at a reasonable price. Really enjoyed the shrimp and grits at our last visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food descriptions better than the food. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food descriptions better than the food. Light pour on the drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.