Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.02mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Imperial

At Imperial, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and the culinary team will re-imagine and re-present Pacific Northwest culinary pathways. Exemplifying Oregon’s own James Beard's culinary philosophy, Chef/Owner Vitaly Paley and his culinary team will explore menu ideas that have historic significance while exploring cooking methods and ingredients from the diverse bounty of our region. The most prominent feature of Imperial's kitchen is an impressive wood fire grill and rotisserie that will incorporate the use of native hard and fruitwoods. Inspired by warm, primitive, burning campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial will concentrate on natural and uncomplicated preparations, serving the community by celebrating its past and providing a welcoming and generous place to eat.
Also check out our sister restaurant Paley's Place here.


410 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Stark

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-7222

Website:
http://www.imperialpdx.com/

Parking Details:
There are a wide variety of Parking options within a few blocks radius of The Imperial.

-Valet Parking is available at $10/car.

-Union Bank of California Garage
707 SW Washington
Portland, Or 97205
(located directly across the street from Imperial)

-Star Park
615 SW Alder St.
Portland, OR 97205

Should you need any assistance with group parking, please inquire.

Public Transit:
MAX Light Rail: All Lines(Red,Blue, Green & Yellow) lines stop at Pioneer Square, a 2 block walk from The Imperial.

Executive Chef:
Vitaly Paley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Imperial & Hotel Lucia are widely recognized for our award-winning team of Chefs, attention to detail, unique Portland vibe, and commitment to impeccable, personalized service. We currently have three lovely Private Dining spaces that suit a variety of different event types.

Imperial Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (70)
Good for a Date (53)
Creative Cuisine (51)
See All
Local Ingredients (46)
Special Occasion (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (45)
Casual (37)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Hot Spot (34)
Fun (34)
Open Kitchen (32)
Business Meals (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Happy Hour (26)
Comfort Food (26)
Wood Oven (26)
Modern Decor (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Seasonal (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Romantic (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Authentic (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
People Watching (12)
Healthy (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Tapas (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Family Style (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Fireplace (5)
Private Room (5)
Great Beer (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

No accessible entrance except from the back entrance. Totally not impressed. They should remove the front step and remodel as a small ramp. However food is outstanding

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Ben picked a magnificent wine for a special dinner. Appetizers, famous fried chicken and rib eye entries were outstanding, as was the chocolate chip cookie with ice cream.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

The server and provided that the kitchen was backed up and the food was consequently rushed; potatoes were under cooked, fried chicken was mediocre, and the burger was overcooked. It was like the polish was missing; however, the service was great and I would likely try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Disappointed. Our server was beyond grouchy, everything had radishes on it- steak had no flavor and was undercooked for medium, very noisy, hard to have a conversation. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

One of the best wait staffs I have ever encountered.
Great friendly service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Great overall experience. Food was delicious, may be the best eggs benedict I've ever had. They use biscuits and the Yukon gold potatoes were amazing. I'll be back soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Terrific food and energy. The fried chicken was a highlight.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It's our first time to dine at this restaurant, everything was delicious. I had Alaskan halibut and my husband had pork tenderloin both excellent. Service was fast, attentive and friendly. The Parker rolls was very good. We will definitely return at our next portland visit .

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

After several years of operation Imperial continues to put out awesome food and cocktails. As a local, it continues to be my #1 go to spot for a drink (Vieux Carre--on tap), snack (fried chicken), or dinner (Halibut t-bone with grilled asparagus). Get any of those and thank me later.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Imperial is as advertised. Great service,great downtown vibe and most importantly excellent food and drinks. Mark our waiter did fantastic- not too much, not too little. Roasted chicken taste as good as it looks and burger was simple on purpose. Mocha cream pie....well done.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Ok meal. Loud noisy atmosphere. Waiter seemed rushed. Runners picked up two dishes before they were finished without asking. Seriously! Pull that stunt with Vitaly himself and see what happens.
Food was decent we sampled several dishes and shared everything. Gnocchi was our favorite. Bone in halibut had more bones than expected and was overcooked. Loved the kale salad and the soup of the day was a heavy cream base which some would love and some people might not enjoy. Desserts were unique, but we were so full from sharing we didn't order any. Would come again and try their Happy Hour if they offer one. Realize this is a very loud restaurant and if you are looking for quiet intimacy move on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Always a great meal. Took friends from Australia there. They loved it. Kudos to server Ashlyn. Very attentive and personable. Took pictures for us. Great recommendations. Lovely young woman.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Iwe went to celebrate my moms 85th birthday. The food was great although they messed up our drink order and my sons food order They comped the order and were very gracious. I would definitely go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We met some friends for brunch here and first of all, appreciate anywhere that takes reservations for brunch in Portland. Service was great- friendly and prompt. Our group had the shrimp and grits, imperial hash, crab omelette and classic breakfast. Everything was tasty and we were all happy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Well prepared and presentation was interesting but not too "twee". Delicious, and portions are normal (not too much or too little) size. Good service.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Brilliant food, inventive and perfectly executed. Great server - very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The fried chicken here is so good! We can't wait to go back and get it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Delicious food. Loved the fried chicken and everything else we ate. Creative flavor a.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I've been to that restaurant three times now first two times I've been there meals were delicious. This time around the food was way off, It was a little disappointing, I hope my next visit will be good, because if I get the same experience I'll probably won't go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The best meal we had in Portland!
Imperial is a winner. Great food, ambience and service. And no attitude.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Warm welcome from the moment we walked in the door: sign of a class act. And when we left the hostess called us by name. I mean, score a big one for gracious hospitality. Had the wood- fired options and crab salad. All excellent. Coffee, iced tea, soda, and water were all quietly and efficiently refilled or topped off. We took our time over lunch and never felt rushed. This will be my reliable treat for out of town guests and family and friends gatherings.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Fabulous server, lovely meal, old world elegance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 23, 2017

my pasta dish was delicious, but it was sold with Morels in the headline. Two of us ordered the dish and had a hard time finding any morels. Another person had the fried chicken and thought it was bland compared to past experiences. On top of that an ice tea was forgotten twice.
It felt like the whole experience was very sub par compared to past experience. If this had been my first visit, it would have been my last. Hoping for better next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great tasting and some unusual items too. Order from the appetizer menu and you will have plenty to eat....no problem!

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We actually had breakfast there the same day we had dinner. Breakfast was great; the coffee was wonderful and we went back with my son and his girlfriend for dinner. Great cocktails; good beer list and great food. We ordered a lot of small plates; the asparagus was delicious, kale salad was very different, whole charred sweet potato was my favorite. We were visiting Portland and it was our last night. I would go there a lot if I lived there. Great place!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The steak as beef itself was amazing but they over salted a steak. I didn't know that was possible as when I make steak, I'm liberal with my sea salt too. Overall, i would come try it once but never come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This is the second year we have been to Imperial for my daughter's birthday. She craves their kale salad. The smoked mushrooms and the fresh oysters were sublime. The fries are always good. This restaurant is loud and some of the portions are small.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Enjoyed Sunday Brunch at Imperial. The food and drinks were excellent. My wife loved the eggs benedict. Service seemed a bit slow and the waiter was slightly snarky with comments about how much alcohol we might drink, instead of ordering the extra food he was pushing. I would definitely go there again.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The service at Imperial is very, very good. Unfortunately, the food cannot compare. Of the four dishes we ordered three were terribly seasoned, with two of them containing so much salt as to nearly cause a pucker. Additionally, some of the out of town customers (Imperial is located in Hotel Lucia) we a bit on the boisterous and uncouth side for our taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Every time I've been there the experience has been amazing..one of my favorites in our great city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The food was great and very creative. They were great about accommodating us with our almost 1 year old and our 3 1/2 year old. The server and everyone were very nice even though the night we were here our children were crazy.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The Imperial accommodated a larger group very well with excellent food and beverages. Service was great. Definitely a place to go back to!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Reserved a table on short notice for two. Was looking for an honest NW inspired casual meal. Imperial nails it! I had the flat iron steak and shrimp, both cooked to perfection. My business partner had the meatballs and blackened salad. The desert of a spicy mocha creme brulee was the perfect finish.
Cool atmosphere, knowledgeable and friendly staff. This place is solid.
I live in Seattle, and there's nothing quite like Imperial here.
Greg

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I will tell you that the Salmon was tasteless. The fried chicken was good, but KFC is better.
Found a great bottle of wine.....went home and ordered a case. The manager was really attentive and comped the Salmon even though we didn't ask for that. Server was solid too.
Very noisy and over-rated food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went to the Imperial for an early Mother's Day dinner after an afternoon of walking around downtown. We had been there one previous time and enjoyed it. Service was pleasant but seemed like too many people involved. The food was varied......the smoked mushrooms were great but the grilled romaine salad was blah/pricey. Fried chicken was good, sausage OK but the gnocchi was very small and gummy. With so many amazing restaurants in Portland, no reason to return to have a mediocre experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great atmosphere and good food! Great place for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really fabulous food! Wow, was it good!! The fried chicken is the best I've had, and the asparagus was amazing! Wait staff was exceptional as well. Went here for Mothers Day and was not disappointed!! Will definitely go again!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved it. Went for Mother's Day brunch. The food was amazing and the service was excellent. Will definitely go back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great staff, funny, personable and very knowledgeable. Also, best steak I've ever tasted!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.